Reading Reviews From Member: love_is_magic_
  
69 Reviews Found

Review #1, by love_is_magic_Shades of Red: Auburn

6th June 2014:
Hey there!

Wow, so this title of this chapter really caught my attention from the beginning. Ginny meeting Aragog; I honestly don't know what to expect from a story with this title... but I guess that's what actually reading the story is for, right? Right. HERE WE GO!

Hmmm, see! This is the unexpectedness I am talking about! I totally thought this was gonna be set during CoS. I mean, 'Harry and Ginny's cottage', being the first words of this story, clearly indicate that this story is set post-Hogwarts, when Aragog isn't even alive. I will now again emphasize the fact that I have no idea what to expect. Is this an AU? Once again, I must remind myself to just keep reading so all my questions may be answered.

Okay, so I can already tell that this is really well written. Also, I should really stop being so in awe of this every time I read one of your stories, but I honestly can't help it, so I guess I'll just keep telling you. You're awesome, I can already tell this story's awesome, you write amazingly (I'm jealous), keep up the good work!

Unless I'm mixing up my stories, the mention of Angelina's ended career due to injury was a nice tie-in with the shared universe of your stories; I love it!

Quick correction: In the line starting with "That's sweet", I think you meant to say "jealous of (a or his) 168 hour workweek". Also, another one: in the line starting with "to be Ginny." I think you meant to say "You and Ron are (not and) rising in the Auror office".

I love what you did with the quick little miscommunication. As sad as it also is, it was sweet to see Harry's frantic reaction when he thought Ginny wanted a divorce.

Upon reaching the end of this story, I am now just haunted with figuring out the title (a very, very good type of haunted). Is it the equivalent of Ginny being forced to face her greatest fear - choosing between her family and Quidditch - as Aragog was for Ron? Interesting... I have no final answer at the moment, but have no doubt that this will be picking away at the back of my mind for quite some time...

Anyways, I really did love this story. In fact, Im seriously considering favouriting it! Thanks so much for adding this to the HPFF world and I can't wait to read more!

Christy
x

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for reviewing!!

The reason for the summary... the story was inspired by the song Meeting Aragog from the CoS soundtrack. All of the chapters of this will be a one-shot about each of the Weasley children inspired by a song from the movies.

You're so nice!!! I love your reviews!!

With what happened to Angelina... not all of my stories take place in the same universe, but that's headcanon for me that I included. There will be other things in this story that might not jive with my other stories.

The next chapters (Ron's. It's inspired by A Window to the Past) should be up sometime next week. Hopefully. It'll be in the queue by a week from tomorrow. I can commit to that.

Thank you so much for such a nice review!! It means a lot to me!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #2, by love_is_magic_When Skies Are Grey: You Are My Sunshine

2nd June 2014:
Okay, wow. So that was really well written and just amazingly developed altogether. It has just the right balance and buildup; giving the reader time to fall in love with the characters, then slowly burning that happiness to the ground :P

I just have a few typo corrections (sorry, I feel like I always do this to you...):

In the paragraph starting with 'In the winter', you wrote 'You sparkling dress robes of deep purple that hung perfectly off of your narrow frame' and I think you meant to make that 'your' or 'you wore'.

You also said 'you'd became something of a school celebrity' and I think you meant 'become'.

Last one, I promise! You said, 'every time to try to kill yourself' and I think you meant 'you' instead of 'to'.

Anyways, I don't know how, but the slow twist of the plot honestly still shocked and surprised me. Literally, as I was reading, I wrote "Oh gosh... I should have seen this coming. The whole intro was about the pain of having someone you love contemplate suicide. That was the intro, and I still didn't see this coming." Yeah, I should have anticipated it... but it definitely got to me :,(

I'm really not sure what else to say, other than to emphasize once again how much I loved this one-shot. I honestly think it's far outside anything I've ever read before and I really want to know what ends up happening (Though I expect Katie does end up killing herself... sadly... and little though I want her to)... on that happy note... Great job! I loved it :D

Christy
x

 Report Review

Review #3, by love_is_magic_Spectacular Now: Spectacular Now

22nd May 2014:
Gosh, okay, so I already love this!

I obviously haven't experiences the awesome/painful experience that is parenthood yet, but I can imagine you captured it pretty spot on here. I love how you draw it into Mr & Mrs Weasley (... Or I guess Molly and Arthur... Since there seem to be several Weasley marriages lately...) and how Fred can now totally relate and understand on a new level.

Quick typo, in the line that starts with 'she's beautiful' (adorable, by the way), I think you meant to say 'more than one mystery stain' instead of 'stains'. But disregarding that, this scene is just perfect. I love the way you capture both the struggles and simple beauty of everything, it's a great touch.

OH MY GOSH! Do you want to make me cry? 'When he laughs, it's like I'm hearing my brother again'. *cries for days* But really, though, I'm slowly becoming more and more amazed at the little touches you added in here. The conversation with Angelina's mum and George's reflection on them are just a continuation of the crazy awesomeness this story is just gushing with. I really can't describe it and put it into words... but lemme just try to tell you how awesome it is so I can stop gushing from here on out... IT'S PRETTY DANG AWESOME! Okay, I will try to move on now...

Ahhh FRED!! What an awesome twist :D

Hmmm I love what you did with the whole ghost aspect. The mechanics of all that is left blatantly open by JK and you did a great job of taking your creative liberties with it, then explaining your take :D

Well, that was great. And I soo mean that. You made this so realistic and added in so many great touches, I am super impressed by this one-shot!

Well done!

Christy
x

Author's Response: Hello!!

I haven't experienced having children, either... and even more, haven't ever had twins.

Thanks for pointing that out! I'll go fix that!

Awww, I'm not trying to make you cry! A little sad, maybe... but not to sad. You're so sweet!

Fred! Yes! The line that I had to include was the bit about the figure under the tree, so I immediately thought Fred.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by love_is_magic_My Girl: My Girl

22nd May 2014:
Hiya! Just stopping by to leave one of my very belated challenge prizes! (sorry...)

Wow, okay! This was a very different writing style, but I loved it. It really spoke to the seriousness with which Ron was approaching the situation... especially as it is Ron who was saying all of this and the tone so juxtaposed what we normally see from him.

I also really felt like this came from the heart and was therefore reached a sincere level in the reader.

I love the way you connected Rose to Hermione. I'm sure that for Ron - who I have always imagined to be very protective of his children - the realisation that Scorpius' situation is the same as Ron's was with Hermione would be helpful for him in getting through the letting-go stages.

Anyways, I'm not really sure what else to say other than well done! This was such a different take and I think it turned out well for you :D

Christy
X

Author's Response: Hey! It's okay! I don't mind waiting.

The writing style came mostly from not being able to use "the". I ended up liking writing a more matured Ron, though.

I can imagine Hermione and Rose being on the same side of an argument, and then Ron and Scorpius joining forces with Hugo and still probably losing.

Thanks for such a nice review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by love_is_magic_The End of an Era: The Prank

9th May 2014:
Hiya there!!! Yes, it has taken me ages to get around to this, but thanks for your amazing patience as I've been away from home. You're basically the greatest. Ever.

Okay, so now for this awesome story!

Really quick correction; In the paragraph that starts with 'They climbed out of bed...', I think you meant the next line to read 'They each brought their wands to it...'. I am sure everyone reading this knows what you mean, but I thought I'd point it out just in case you ever did an edit (:

I don't know why, but I love that you had them say they'd need to have Dean design some packaging. I think it's just my nerdy respect for you knowing/remembering his artistic talents from JK's books.

Another quick correction for [the -> they] after Fred and George totally lie to poor ole Lee about their devious plans.

HA! I know you warned me about Lee's rhyming predicament before, but I'm glad I've had enough distance from that to forget before I read this. Brilliant!

Ginny! I've missed her. I really have.
Another correction, sorry! It's in the paragraph that starts with 'With that command, the room went dark...'. I think you meant to say, 'This would be the last time...'. Okay, moving on to much more important things.

I love the dynamic you gave Lee's relationship with the twins. You never see much of that in the books, so I love what you've done with it here. Obviously - with these events particularly - Lee would be having a hard time. I'm glad you added that in here and didn't just skim over that bit.

I also love the way that you give McGonagall the unique ability to tell Fred and George apart. That was some awesome character development and really added to the story.

I also can't help but admire how much you keep in line with the books. Having her mention being busy with career advice was a great touch.

Ah! The Marauders! I always find it crazy that Harry never gave Fred and George the full back story. So it's great to see the way George is just soaking it all in here.

Another correction. '... if they he hasn't connected the dots...' -> '... if he hasn't connected the dots...'

Blimey, London. They have got a long way to fly. I never thought about that before.

Well... this was just awesome. You've done a terrific job and added such a unique perspective to this scene! I love what you've done with the characters and how you've tied everything in. Great job!!!

Anyways. YOU'RE THE OFFICIAL WINNER!!! YAYYY!!! *throws confetti*

Seriously, great job! I loved reading it, I'm just sorry it took me so long to give you some feedback! You've been awesome and so patient with me :D I can't wait to give you your review prizes! Luckily, it looks like you've been busy while I've been away! I have plenty to catch up on and I honestly can't wait to read more of your awesome stories! I was genuinely concerned that there wouldn't be enough things I hadn't already reviewed!

YOU ARE AWESOME!

Okay bye!!

Christy
x

Also, sorry for the rather stream-of-consciousness review o.O

 Report Review

Review #6, by love_is_magic_A Midwinter’s Proposal: A Midwinter’s Proposal

13th March 2014:
Hey there!!

This was SUCH a sweet one-shot. I love Ron and Hermione and you truly did a great job with them :D

As for your A/N questions, I liked Ron's speech. The only thing I would suggest is maybe a little more lead-in in the beginning. We all know their history, but some more of Ron's thoughts or flash-backs would have made this a little more realistic and less rushed. Honestly though, I'm really searching for any CC to give you. It was absolutely amazing :D I loved it!

Christy

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry for the delay in responding...

Thank you very much! That is a very good suggestion of adding a little more of their history from Ron's viewpoint and I will consider how to include it into the story.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!
LEP:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by love_is_magic_Impossible: Impossible

7th March 2014:
Hello! I just couldn't get enough of your writing, so I came back for more!

Again, I find myself wondering how it is that you've only written two one-shots. This was absolutely amazing! Do you write somewhere else? Honestly, you have some great talent and I can tell you really put effort into what you're writing. It's great.

As much as James and Lily will forever be together in my head, I still love feeling bad for Snape. He really does have such a tragic life, whatever questionable choices he made within it. You did such a good job of capturing the progression of their relationship and the emotions he was undoubtedly experiencing through it all. It was heartbreaking but wonderful at the same time.

I sincerely hope you write more sometime. This story is going in my favourites :D I really am glad that the Blackout Battle has caused me to discover your writing, you've got talent! Great job!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 15/15

Author's Response: Hello again!
I'm glad you like my writing! I don't really write anywhere else though. I do like James, but he seem quite - arrogant sometimes? I don't know, but Sev seems a little more insecure, which makes my heart melt for him.
Yay, I'm so happy! Thank you for your lovely reviews Christy!


 Report Review

Review #8, by love_is_magic_Obliviate: Decisions

7th March 2014:
Hello! So immediately, even from your AP, this story drew me in. I was always interested in poor Hermione having to obvliviate her own parents, so I was eager to see your take on it.

Needless to say, I was not disappointed. You did an amazing job. If I hadn't seen your AP, I would never have guessed this was your first story. It was really well done and your use of description, dialogue and plot was great.

I love the idea of the Grangers having another daugher. That would certainly add to the complexity of the situation and definitely added to this story.

I also love the insight you provide into Hermione's past. The bits about her childhood. It's interesting that we never see that side of her in JK's books.

Overall, you did a great job. I can't wait to read your other one-shot!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 14/15

Author's Response: Hi Christy!
Nice to meet you, and I'm glad you liked it! Huh, I didn't think my dialogue was very good, so thank you indeed! I do like Kenzie, I think she is a little contrast to Hermione who is so quiet most of the time. Thank you for the praise, and for reviewing. Am I allowed to wish the lions luck? Hmm. You did win the first round... Oh well, good luck!


 Report Review

Review #9, by love_is_magic_Of Tacos And Firemen: Of Tacos and Firemen

7th March 2014:
Back yet again! This one looks like it promises to be a little bit more cheery! At least, if the title is any indication.

Okay, so I think I was right in deeming this one to be cheerier! Aside from the beginning, that is. You do have a really great way of showing the loss of somebody close to you, especially when it's a life partner. The little bit about her being pregnant was really the straw that broke the camels back for me, though. How heartbreaking. At least she gets a little piece of Marcus, though!

Okay, so there were a few typos, but those are easily fixed by yourself or with the help of a beta if you ever felt like going back and editing.

I really enjoyed reading this one and was so impressed at the diversity you showed in your writing of different genres. This one was definitely a break from your others and was done very well!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 13/15

 Report Review

Review #10, by love_is_magic_The Thunder Rolls: The Thunder Rolls

7th March 2014:
Wow! You're right! That is a rather dark ending! But powerful nonetheless!

Okay, so I love the way you have connected the storm and Rose and Scorpius's relationship. It is such a beautiful metaphor, especially when you add in the poem that just fits so perfectly with this story.

I also love how you've done such a good job of switching between your two Scorpius/Rose fics. Obviously, their relationship is in equal (possibly) amounts of disarray in both, but they are also different, and you did a good job of balancing that.

I felt so bad for Rose when she was waiting tirelessly for Scorpius to come home, hoping that he was alright, when really we know why he was out so late. Heartbreaking, really.

I loved this one, as well, especially in the way you tied in the poem! Great one-shot, I can't wait to keep reading.

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 12/15

 Report Review

Review #11, by love_is_magic_I've Already Walked Away: I've Already Walked Away

7th March 2014:
Hey, just stopping by for a quick review!

So wow, what a different take on Rose and Scorpius, eh? Usually we only see them fighting in their really early relationship stages, then all cutesy later. It was nice to see a different side of them and good for you, being brave enough to risk such a new take!

I love the references to Draco, Ron and Hermione. You're right in saying that Ron would have warned Rose about an angry Draco, and I'm sure that would have been something to be avoided. I also love that Hermione came in to be an awesome mother and protect/save Rose.

Overall, this was done really well! The only little bit of CC was that the all caps probably wasn't necessary. If you had just left it with the exclamation points, I think the yelling would have come across fine. As it is, I think the all caps is a tad distracting. However, this is entirely a personal opinion and you are free to take it or leave it!

I really did this this was a great one-shot and I can't wait to read some more of your other stuff!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 11/15

 Report Review

Review #12, by love_is_magic_Noble: Noble

7th March 2014:
Hello! I just thought I would stop by to leave a quick review for this amazing fic, especially since it was written for the Blackout Battle!

So I thought this was an amazing idea. The memory with the Gaunts, in my opinion, is one of the most haunting in the Harry Potter series. It is clear that the characters of the Gaunts are just so deep and complex, it's crazy to think that JK tackled them in only that one scene. I also think that makes the need for fics focused around them even greater and you did an amazing job with this one!

It was just truly written so so well. You have an amazing grasp of description and, though it is admittedly a dark place, you really take the reader into Morfin's world. You offer a new insight into his character and it was very well done. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 10/15

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm pleased you liked it! I agree - the Gaunts are fascinating, and I've had them pop up in some of my other stories as well. It was so disappointing when that scene was excluded from the movies. I'd love to read more fics about them if they're out there, and I'm so pleased you liked how I portrayed them.

I'm pleased you liked the description and looking into Morfin's world, even if it is a rather bleak one. I'm so glad you liked it, and really appreciate all the wonderful comments.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by love_is_magic_Making Memories: The People Who Live In The World

7th March 2014:
Wow! Let me just start by saying I can't believe you wrote and uploaded this entirely on your phone! That's crazy and I never would have guessed it by how well this is written!

Unfortunately, I have no clue what will happen to the girl, though I obviously want her to wake up! Honestly, I think there's a chance she will make some miraculous recovery and Victorie will adopt her... though maybe that's wishful thinking!

Another quick correction (though now that I know this was written on your phone, I can understand its existence even more):'Within the next hour Victoire had Emmaline bathed, dried, in bed, and asleep' This sentence reads a tad weird, I'm fairly certain you meant to write it another way (: Just thought I would point that out!

Oooh so I have a random prediction that I'm sure is false. Is something fishy going on with Paris?? Victorie questions why Van would have gotten in. That sounds to me like there's something else going on here! I guess I'll just have to wait for an update!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 9/15

Author's Response: I do this a lot, actually! XD It is just the first time I've done it with this story. :) now I've done it with my fifth chapter, and it's getting worrisome because I keep catching mistakes! XD

Haha "and Victoire will adopt her." XD I don't know why, but this made me laugh so much! Haha Though, I can't give anything away, so I'll just leave you to see what happens. :)

Hmmm, I don't think it's weird. Well, what I mean is I don't think I meant it any other way. Maybe a comma placement after 'Within the next hour' ? Or else I'm so used to the phrase I'm not catching on haha. :) That's very possible!

Haha I've not been asked that, but I can assure you nothing like that is in the plans. Not now at least. Victoire is just feeling the anxiety of all these things being piled on her, that she definitely feels like a hard worker. Van being such a 'slacker' just has her a little miffed. She's just nitpicking the small details though. Van is great! :)

Thanks for the reviews and for all the concerns! I love that you've become so engaged with the story and what's happening/going to happen! It makes me super happy! I hope to see you stick around! :D

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #14, by love_is_magic_Making Memories: The Ending of the Book

7th March 2014:
Wow! So I love the idea of a question at the end of the story! I might borrow that one! Well, yes, actually! I did think she was pregnant, but as soon as she mentioned being sick, I chalked it up to my media brainwashing that nausea=pregnancy. However, now that you ask the question... it makes me think she is pregnant!

Also, you addressed the concern of these chapters being boring. NO! Just... just no! I understand the fear, but I wouldn't say they are boring at all! It's normal for a story to take a while to get started, and I am very well entertained!

I really can't wait to see what this stuffing crumbs in the spaces between the floorboards thing is about! Honestly, when she walked into the room and heard her daughter speaking in what she perceived to be a not-so-innocent way, I was totally creeped out!

I can't wait to see where this is going! Great job, so far!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 8/15

Author's Response: Haha, go ahead :). Insure I've stolen it from someone, too. :) Hm. Preggers of not? That is that question. ;)

Yay! It's not boring! :D I get a little worried if you can't tell ;)

Haha, the stuffing comes with a chapter two updates from my recent entry! :D (Not the next, but the next!) I'm glad this is appropriately concerning xD. Emmaline is strange, yet so friggin' adorable! :D

Thank you, again, for such a lovely review and such nice compliments! :D I'm glad you're entertained and love the story as much as I do. :) I hope you'll stick around to see how it all goes down! :)

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #15, by love_is_magic_Making Memories: Somewhere, Everyone Goes Right

7th March 2014:
Hello! Back yet again!

Okay, so this was just more of the greatness that was the first chapter. You mentioned in you A/N that you love this story... it shows! It shows in the love that you have poured into the characters. There was yet even more amazing characterisation going on here, and it was absolutely terrific! I love the way you're writing Teddy's character! He's so sweet and selfless, I can't help but adore him. Speaking of adoring your characters, could Emmaline be any cuter?! That little monkey is just too much for my poor heart!

Again, you've done a terrific job with the description. The pace of this story is so well set up, I feel like I really am a part of everything that's going on, and that's not to be understated!

Once again, amazing job! You really are an amazing writer. I honestly don't know how you do it! I love where this is going, I've loved reading it, and I can't wait to continue on!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 7/15

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! You're seriously too sweet! :D just everything you've said has me in all smiles! :D I'm so glad it hasn't gotten boring, and that my love shows through and just. Aaaah! You're too kind! :3

I just want to thank you for coming over and checking out my story! It's my big baby right now (though every story when I'm currently writing it is my big baby ;)) and I just can't stop thinking about it! :)

You really spoil me with such kind words! Thank you so much, dear! I hope you like what's to come with the next chapter! And that I continue not to disappoint!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #16, by love_is_magic_Making Memories: Some Personal Lives Can Do With A Little Bothering

7th March 2014:
Darn it! I knew the mail meant there was gonna be a cliff-hanger! At least you have plenty of chapters up, though! Muhahahahaha! Anyways, I'm back for moreee! What can I say, I couldn't help myself!

I love the title of this chapter by the way! It's hilarious, really sets the mood for the story, and generally kicks things off to a great start :D

You do a great job of characterisation here. Going into a Next-Gen, you never know what to expect from the characters, which I suppose is a large part of the beauty of this genre. However, it can be a bit scary and you really did do such a great job not only of introducing the characters, but introducing the story and their lives. First chapters have the danger of becoming boring, just because of all the set-up etc., but this one was honestly terrific! I laughed so hard at Victorie and Louise's conversation! It really was well done! I can't wait to read on!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 6/15

Author's Response: Hey, the important thing is you started with Just One Memory! :D It's not important to do so, but this story is just sort of a continuation, or a follow up in should say, on Teddy. Just to show that he's done OK ;). So I'm thrilled you've come over to this story!

I hope you stick around for those more ;) I just posted chapter five!

I'm glad you like the titles. I haven't come up with original titles in a while, and I wanted them to sort of capture the essence of the chapters themselves, so I'm glad it worked and you liked it. :)

I love this generation so much, and I must say, this is my proudest Next-Gen :). I usually try doing them with these huge setups and introductions to everyone, but I think this went over smoothly, without having to go into great lengths of saying who is who. :) Again, such a wonderful compliment! :) I'm glad it wasn't boring! :D

I'm glad you laughed! When the scene first popped into my head, I laughed a lot, too! :D It sort of inspired the story in a way. I wanted the conversation, and I was wondering why Louis would need to watch Victoire's daughter, and of course the challenge I had, so everything led to this! :) I'm glad you liked it! :D

Thanks again for the read and review! And, as a double bonus, you get cookies just for coming over to this story in the first place! :D Thank you! :D

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #17, by love_is_magic_Just One Memory: Just One Memory

7th March 2014:
Hiya!

This looks like such a great story, I'm just gonna jump right in!

I love the connection between Harry and Teddy, neither of them knowing their parents and having to rely on what others tell them. That is such a heartbreaking but somehow consoling fact, that I'm so glad you pointed out.

One thing I noticed, though, was that you refer to Harry as Uncle Harry, when in fact Harry wouldn't be Teddy's Uncle... That's just a picky detail, though. I just thought I would let you know (:

I love the bit about Andromeda being able to see Tonks and Lupin in Teddy, looking past his ability to change appearance so willingly. That was a great touch.

Another random correction, and this one is super small, I'm not even sure why I'm mentioning it, but when Andromeda is talking about Teddy's birth she says 'Weasley's' and I don't think there's a need for the apostrophe. Again, SUPER small correction, but I thought I'd point it out if you ever did an edit (:

I love the sneaky mention of Harry and Ginny's adorable-ness! Exchanging sweet, loving looks and whatnot... are you trying to murder me with adorable?!

Ooooh, a hankerchief with A.B., eh? How mysterious! Hopefully I figure out what that means by the end of this story!

Another quick correction! Sorry, but I feel like, now I've started, there's no stopping... Here, you wrote 'happiest event any of had witnessed in a long time'. I think you mean any of them, or something along those lines.

Awww Teddy finally got his memory, and an adorable one, at that! I love the way you ended it, and just the entire story, for that matter! Well done, you really do have a talent for writing!

Christy

P.S. Totally didn't figure out what A.B. stood for, though I really feel like I should know... It'll probably come to me in the middle of the night or something ridiculous, like that!

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 5/15

Author's Response: Haha well thanks for jumping in! :D I hope you enjoy the ride!

In glad you liked the connection. In reality, they're the reason I wanted to write it. To show another side of Harry in a way, but through Teddy, and in a very Teddy way! :)

I know he's not really his uncle. It's more of one of those things where you're really close to an older figure that isn't related to you, so you call them Aunt or Uncle. Like, I'm my godson's "Aunt", but I'm in no way related to him. I don't know if that's just something we folks do around here, but that's what I meant by it ;). Sorry for any confusion!

They are adorable aren't they? I love them as a couple and just want more people to like them! :) I'm glad you do!

Oops, small typo! Thanks for pointing it out ;). I'll fix it when I go through my editing spree here soon. :)

I'm so glad you liked it! :D That makes me so happy! And that comment! I'm blushing :3. Thank you so much! :D. And thank you for the review! It's so lovely, and helpful! :D

I'll ease your mind on the A.B thing. It stands for her initials, Andromeda Black. Something old she's had for a while and keeps as an old keepsake, even with her changed last name ;).

Thank you for reading/reviewing!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #18, by love_is_magic_Dramione Lust: In The Library

7th March 2014:
Hey there!

So this is officially my first Dramione. Here goes nothing.

Hahaha Hermione's song! I don't even know what to say about that! She's so silly, I can already tell you took a different take on her and I can't wait to see what other crazy things you'll make her do... Snog Draco Malfoy, perhaps?

I love Hermione's thoughts through this whole thing! She really is hilarious. 'Curiosity killed the cat, right?' haha brilliant! I'm so glad Hermione finally stood up for herself and came to her senses! I also love the bit about Hermione seriously thinking she was hidden. That was another one that made me laugh :D

Aw Harry and Ron are just adorable. When Harry see's Hermione crying and stops midsentence to get Ron and go cruciate Malfoy, I nearly died of adorableness.

Hahaha 'never again'. I have a feeling that ending was meant to be questioned a little.

Overall, great job. I loved it!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 4/15

Author's Response: Hi Christy!

Oh, your first Dramione - whew, I'm so glad you liked it!
Since it's a senseless one-shot, I wouldn't want it to negatively influence the view of the pairing! I went along with quite a few cliches and there's not really a plot besides the snogging, hehe.

Hermione's song! You know, on a good day when she's a good mood, a song in her heart... I'm thinking Hermione could sing out her thoughts to herself :D
I wanted a light buffer before Draco comes in and a way for him to talk to her ;)
Well she has to, doesn't she? It's a senseless Dramione, hehe

Haha, I'm happy you liked Hermione! :D It was fun to write her like that, rather random - a bit freeing!
That made you laugh! ♥

Yeah, Harry and Ron! It was hard to make them interesting in a few lines! I'm glad they come across so great!!

Hehehe... Yeah, I'm leaving that ending open, just in case.
I'm thinking the next step to senseless would be a secret meeting in the Astronomy Tower under the moonlight and the shining stars and long, soppy dialogs about forbidden love and how wrong it is.
What's a painful write is often a painful read, so I don't think there's going to be a sequel.
Yet.
Hehe.

Aaww! Thanks a lot!
And thank you for reviewing!
Congrats to Gryffndor on the win ;)

Iellwen (Gee)


 Report Review

Review #19, by love_is_magic_A Halloween Visit: A Halloween Visit

7th March 2014:
Wow, so scrolling through your AP, I was torn between so many of the stories, but when I saw this one... let's just say I clicked on it immediately.

So here we go :D Wow, I love that he's coming back on Halloween - the day his parents died - that was a nice touch… though incredibly sad at the same time. Again, here's another heartbreakingly amazing touch; burying the Marauders (with the obvious exception of Peter) together! My heart is already in pieces, I can't imagine the state it will be in by the end of this chapter!

I love his little speech about proposing to Ginny. I think it's great that you had him tell them first and you're right, those probably would be Ron's possible reactions (:

That bit about Teddy was so smart. I never thought about how a toddler's metamorphology would affect his life in the Muggle world! That was a nice touch!

I also love his comment about wanting to get home before Ginny gets home and thinks he's done a runner (: So great! If you can't tell, I'm just a sucker for Ginny and Harry, so any mention of their adorableness is fine by me :P

Overall, such a great one-shot! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 3/15

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for choosing to read this. It is one of my more recent pieces and I am more anxious about it because it features Harry.

I always felt like Halloween was a very important day for the Potters so it only seemed fitting for Harry to go back on this day. I am pleased you also liked the idea of the marauders being buried together. *hugs* Hope your heart gets better soon xP

It's nice to know that you liked the little 'speech' about the proposal to Ginny, and also the bit about Teddy. I love writing such little details and it makes me happy when they're noticed.

"So great?" Haha thank you so much, I am so flattered you liked the whole Harry/Ginny dynamic I presented here especially since I'm not much of a harry/ginny fan and it took me some time to write this xP

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #20, by love_is_magic_A Flakey Tragedy: A Flakey Tragedy

7th March 2014:
So, after your amazing Neville fic, I just NEEDED to read more of your stuff (: but also needed a bit of a pick-me-up from the sadness that is the Battle of Hogwarts. Hence, I'm here! Hopefully I'm not jumping the gun in figuring that a food-themed story should be lighter... but I guess we'll see!!

Wow, so again I can't believe how amazing your use of description is. It is just SO AMAZING. I honestly want to start taking notes so I can use it in my own writing! I know you mention in your A/N that this is your second one-shot and you think it shows... Please, let me reassure you... it doesn't! This is great :D

Hahaha so, random note, but this sort of reminds me of a Drapple! In no way other than in its connection to food, though (:

Haha I love the 'Twenty points to Gryffindor at the end' :D

I came into this story with much excitement and I was not disappointed :D This was so great and I am more sure now - if that were even possible - that you are an amazing author!

Twenty points to Slytherin!!!
Christy :D

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 2/15

 Report Review

Review #21, by love_is_magic_Face for the Brave: Face for the Brave

7th March 2014:
Hello!!

Wow, this was just amazing. Neville is such a great character, and I love the way JK wrote him; growing from a timid boy to an amazing leader of an army, eventually revealing that he could have been in Harry's place. You did a great job with him. You even put in some of that inner development in this story! He develops from a boy who didn't think he belonged in Gryffindor, to one who finally realises his potential, killing Nagini like the awesome person we knew he was all along! I think his character is horribly underwritten in fanfiction and you definitely did him justice with this piece :D You somehow made me love Neville even more!

You use such great description. We all know this scene, but you somehow make it new. It's amazing!

Random bit of CC, when Voldemort is speaking into Neville's mind, you wrote 'then' and I think you meant 'than'.

Honestly, though, that's all the critique I have for you! This was such an amazing one-shot, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 1/15

 Report Review

Review #22, by love_is_magic_Enduring: Enduring

7th March 2014:
Hello!

Okay, so wow! What a powerful beginning. You do such an amazing job with the description, I really can't praise the first couple of paragraphs enough! Also, how adorable that seeing Lily makes James wake up and try to sit, forgetting he can't move?! Pretty incredibly adorable, if you ask me! Such a great touch to add to the tragedy of the situation.

Let me just pause this amazing reading experience to say that you write James and Lily SO SO SO adorably. Like... SO ADORABLY. I love them, and you do a great job of making me love them even more :D The bits about her trying to get into his hospital room, not to mention his being worried that she's alright and There was no way in a million years he would have left her, not even for a second. Like I said, adorable.

Damn right he thought no one messes with James Potter and Lily Evans. HA! Such a great touch, and a brilliant bit of characterisation.

Wow, so I can't help but see the parallels of Lily and James' Malfoy Manor experience, and the Malfoy Manor scene from DH. I don't know if you did it on purpose, but there are a ton of similarities and it was brilliantly done!

Okay, then you top it off with an adorable ending. Of course, shattering what remains of my heart into a billion little pieces.

I am favouriting this story. It's happing. I just loved it way too much! Well done :D

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 3/15

 Report Review

Review #23, by love_is_magic_waterfall.: truth be told.

7th March 2014:
Hey there!

So starting out, this story does an amazing job of catching your attention. I love the very beginning, about everything beginning and ending with water. It's just written very well and is very thought provoking.

Oh no, Molly has OCD, doesn't she :( Well, I must say again, you really make me want to keep reading!

Wow, such a powerful connection to the water reference earlier. Actually, the reference runs all through here, doesn't it!

Okay, so I'm not really sure what to say on this besides it was amazing! In only 500 words, it was so powerful and truly made you feel everything Molly was feeling. You did such a great job here, I absolutely loved it!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 2/15

Author's Response: Hey Christy! ♥ So sorry for the late response!

Yes, Molly does have OCD :)

Yeah, water was the key element. How something that gives life also can give death, whether be lack of or used in a different way.

Aw, thank you so much for your kind words!! I am flabbergasted that you thought it was powerful, thank you so so much ♥

- Nadia


 Report Review

Review #24, by love_is_magic_Free : The Master

7th March 2014:
Hey there!

Wow, so I love the way you jump right into the action :D I mean, poor Lily and Hugo, but the beginning was great.

Okay, so the beginning of the next portion is also amazing. You use some great description to make the reader really feel what it would be like to be in Lily's situation. It's very well done. I also love the comparison of Lily to a flat, used up piece of paper with no further purpose in life. That was great and actually made me start to feel bad for used pieces of paper... I know I'm weird...

DOBBY!!! OH MY... Oh my goodness... well, this is certainly canon crazy! :D I am so torn between horror that Dobby is evil and extreme joy that he somehow is alive! What a crazy plot twist! I can't wait to see where this goes!

I'm reading like crazy right now, but I have a quick typo (I think?) correction. When Lily is talking to Dobby, I think she meant to say 'house elf' instead of 'elve'. Just a quick suggestion (: Also, I think you're missing a quotation mark at the very, very end!

Awww Dobby is still wearing mismatched socks! That was a great detail and really sent another pang through my heart for poor Dobby :/

I love that Lily and Hugo stand up to Dobby in the end. It gives the reader hope for a moment, and it is just great characterisation for the pair and is definitely how I picture their characters.

Overall, this was just great. I loved the way you wrote the characters and gave Dobby his motivation for being evil. His reasoning had just enough of the Dobby we know, it made the whole canon change a little more believable. Great job!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 1/15

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing, even though you weren't supposed to for bingo. You're awesome!! Especially for doing a whole other fifteen! You rock! *snugs*

I'm glad you like the description! I was hoping that I could give my dear readers a little bit of connection to Lily, so I'm glad you thought it worked :)

Yep.Dobby. :P When I got him for the challenge, it took me so long to come up with how to make him canon crazy! But it was fun, in a weird kind of way.

Thanks for pointing out those errors! I'll get on them asap

Thanks again for your awesomeness!

Sam


 Report Review

Review #25, by love_is_magic_The Unknown: 1

7th March 2014:
I love the way you open this story. The description is lovely and you can automatically tell where the character is coming from and feel their pain. The first bit is just beautiful.

Awww this is gonna be a Snily isn't it?

Oh wait, she has dark hair... maybe not! Hmmm I can't wait to see where this is going!

Green and silver blanket, eh? Alright, so she's a Slytherin! More clues! (P.S. wow, Christy. Of course she's a Slytherin. That's what the prompt for the story was *slaps self on forehead*) Also, yes, I do realise I could probably easily find out who this story is about by just going back and reading the pairings... but I've come this far; it feels like cheating! Forgive my weirdness! On another note, this is amazing so far :D I love it!

This is just too adorable! I love the scene of him comforting her after her nightmare. Slowly, however, I am coming to realise that this story's gonna end with him not being able to protect her. Is he going to die?! Was that dream foreshadowing his life's end?!

Wow, this poor girl has had a pretty traumatic life... being attacked on her way to the common room! Was that gang-leader Tom Riddle?! Totally speculating now. But... maybe! The mystery boy/protector has a dark mark!! Plot twist!!!

Okayyy, so it's Hogwarts Era! I got there in the end :D Is it Pansy?! Is the boy Draco?! So many questions!!!

Okay, so I never figured it out. They must be OCs *heads back to story page to check* Yupp, OCs! At least they weren't some super obvious canon characters that I was just dumb for not figuring out!

Wow, so the ending was just unbelievably powerful. I really can't describe it, but you do an amazing job of making me feel her pain. You also do a great job overall of portraying Slytherin in a new light, which it really needs.

Overall, great job! I really enjoyed this. The description was spot on, as was the flow of events and just... just everything!

I loved it :D

Christy

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>