Reading Reviews From Member: lightthecandle
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lightthecandleThe Last Snowy Feather: Biding Her A Silent Farewell

22nd July 2014:
Hey there! I'm finally getting round to reviewing your story for the challenge! :)

Can I just say that I wholeheartedly agree that Hedwig was Harry's first friend when he discovered that he was a wizard because I always got the vibe that the bond between Hagrid and Harry only occurred later on in the Philosopher's Stone! And I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot from beginning to end!

Hedwig was the only thing that reminded Harry of his magical side during the horrendous summers at the Dursley's and obviously that's so important to him that it seems a bit disappointing that this wasn't actually in the story. Because it deserves to be! It captures the relationship between Harry/Hedwig perfectly and it's a brilliant variation on Philia. Rather it being between two humans, a man and his pet. It's brilliantly genius!

Another thing is that description of him finally letting the feather go was just so beautiful to read and I completely understand that he would be unwilling at first to let go of the one thing he had left of his best friend. And the portrayal of Hermione/Harry's relationship is really good too! I like how Harry assumed she'd be irritated or exasperated like she usually would be because that's just how their relationship is when it's not serious, like this.

Such a lovely and sentimental ending to this one-shot! I genuinely and honestly enjoyed this story so much, and it describes Philia so aptly! Well done!

Good luck in the challenge!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Hi!

Yay! I'm happy to know that! Yeah, you're right! Hagrid and Harry's friendship occurred later. :D I'm also glad to know that you really enjoyed this as I really put my all into that fic!

I fear of going out of character and that I'm weak in the description area, but it's great to hear from you saying otherwise!


Thank you so much for the challenge, for reading this, and for reviewing! And thank you!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #2, by lightthecandleLily Evans' Tale: Tea Time

15th July 2014:
Okay, review #2! This one was for Ludus, yes? I keep getting confused! I hope it is for Ludus otherwise I'm getting it all muddled up haha :))

OMG, the beginning with Petunia and Lily was hilarious. Petunia's reactions were just perfect generally in this chapter, you could sense the jealousness of the fact Lily is magic and she isn't. Poor Petunia!

James and Lily's interactions were funny too, especially the ending! OMG, Jily is like my OTP and the amount of Jily-ness in this chapter was too much! It literally had me squealing like a pig from happiness and mush. Such a good entry for Ludus too, you could feel the playfulness between James and Lily and also between Lily and Petunia which works for this type of love perfectly!

Really enjoyed reading this chapter and I might go and read the first one now!

Good luck!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Yes, it's Ludus. :) {I keep almost typing Lumos, because that's obviously the closest REAL word. ;) }

Heehee some of the dialogue still makes me smile! :) I'm really glad you liked it and James/Lily so much!

That's so exciting that you liked it enough to read the other chapter! :D Just a note, since it's in the middle of OWLS it's a bit more on the Drama side and a bit less on the Humor side.

We had a blast writing this chapter. Thanks for the lovely review!

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #3, by lightthecandleThe Un-Date: Valentine's Day

15th July 2014:
Hey! It's me, finally getting round to reviewing your stories for the challenge! Sorry it took a while! :)

First off, can I just say how cute Dylan and Dominique's relationship is? I think it's even better that there isn't any obvious romance between the two and it's just platonic friendship! And what Dylan does for Dom, knowing she hates Valentine's is just awesome and he really is a good friend :)

Dominique's reaction to having Veela blood is exactly how I'd picture it to be, she wasn't overly ecstatic with it because of all the attention she receives! And I think it would be more of a Victoire thing to show off the fact they are part Veela :) It's just brilliant!

All throughout this story I was held in suspense of what this surprise would be and I honestly expected Dylan to have set up a surprise date between the two but then again, it wouldn't be Philia would it? And this surprise was so much better in my opinion! And the fact he had organised it ages ago just made it better and shows how thoughtful Dylan is.

You really have a talent for writing conversation because each one flows really well, there's no sudden changes and it felt like I was witnessing a real conversation in front of me. So congrats for that! And you handled the time changes really well too, most of the time when people skip time periods in one chapter it doesn't read very well but this is just amazing!

Anyway, enough of my rambling... this is a really well-written entry and I'm sorry for such a lengthy review, just had to say everythin that I loved about this one-shot! Such a good entry for Philia!

~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Pfft. You took only a couple days, that's nothing. Don't worry about it. :) First off, your review absolutely made my day! :D I'm keeping my fingers crossed for the challenge. Well, when they aren't typing. ;)

Aww! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it! Yeah, Victoire and Louis never struggled with their veela heritage like Dominique does. Mainly because Victiore had Teddy, and Louis was always dating one girl or another.
That's why it's called an UN-Date! ;) And yup, we really like writing these two. We have another story called Chasing Beauty on these two, that when paired with this story it would make a nice Storge story, but alas it's 3 chapters. Yes I freely self-advertise in review responses. ;)

Thank you so much! Daw, that's fantastic to hear! :D I'm so glad you enjoyed it! No worries about the review length, it's lovely. :)

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #4, by lightthecandleSnakes & Ladders: Seven - Ten Weeks

18th June 2014:
Hello!
I usually don't leave reviews that much but honestly, you literally don't understand how much I really love this story! I know a lot of people will be a bit bummed that Al didn't just swoop in and change Emilia's mind on keeping their baby but it was so much more realistic this way. No matter how much I adore Al Potter and think he's such a nice guy, I really don't think he would have immediately rushed to her side if he found out she was about to have an abortion, I think he's still trying to figure this mess out by himself. And you write all this so brilliantly, it just makes it even more realistic! I honestly and genuinely love this story so I hope you update soon with the next chapter because this is like my new addiction!
~Aimee :) xxx
P.S. I already hate Marin and she reminds me so much of my best friend who ALWAYS tries to make my decisions for me so that was brill as well! I really wanted to reach into my computer screen and slap her for calling her supposed 'best friend' a wh*re -.- She's just so horrible to her. Poor Emilia! :(

Author's Response: Hey! Oh wow, I feel honoured that you chose me to leave a review for then :p I'm so glad you like it, it makes me smile like crazy when I receive positive feedback like this! So thank you so much! I definitely wanted to write a more realistic approach with the whole abortion scene, yes. Even though I adore clichés, sometimes you just gotta leave them out for the sake of the story.
I promise to update soon! I'm really excited to write this, so don't worry about be abandoning it :D
Sorry about your friend though, she doesn't seem very nice : I had a friend kind of like Marin once too, whom the character is loosely based upon, but we're not friends anymore :)
Anyway, thank you again for the read + review! :3
- Jess xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by lightthecandleFluorescent Adolescent : unbroken and wild

19th May 2014:
I was so happy when I saw The Naked and Famous lyrics on the description-y bit! I love that song!! And I loved this chapter, I've been reading this from the beginning and just haven't thought to review (unless I have and I've forgotten) until but I really loved Effy in this one, she's such a relatable character and the moment between James and her was super cute! Please update soon! I'm in love with this story!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: they're one of my favourite bands! thank you so much for reviewing, it means so much! im so glad you find effy relatable, that was so important to me hahaha- thanks again! xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by lightthecandleJust Fly With It : Problem #3

8th April 2014:
Oh wow, this chapter made me nearly wet myself from laughing! The food fight was hilarious! Can't wait to read the next chapter!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Aw thank you! haha I'm glad you enjoyed it! xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by lightthecandleA Not So Normal Life (After All): A Night Spent Playing Hookey

8th April 2014:
EK!! I have literally been checking everyday whether you had updated yet or not and when I saw you had, I nearly wee'd myself in excitement! O... M... G! They nearly kissed!! Holy hell! So good, I actually love this story, it's so different! Please keep writing more! I need more James/G!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Your reviews always make my day! I am so glad you liked the chapter! Sorry about it taking so much time to update, I started working on some other stories as well as life getting extremely busy. Hopefully the next chapter will come much sooner :)
xoxo


 Report Review

Review #8, by lightthecandleJust Fly With It : Problem #2

28th March 2014:
I just love this story! Please keep writing, I had a smile over my face as I read the whole chapter :) I just love Addie's banter with James!
~Aimee xox

Author's Response: Ah, I'm glad you like it!
I'm really glad you're liking Addie and expect more and more banter!
xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by lightthecandleDirty Diana: Dirty Diana

1st March 2014:
I don't know whether you still log in or not? But I'm going to write this anyway because holy hell... I just... wow, is the only word coming to my mind right now. The James in this is absolutely amazing, I love how you made it clear that he hated what he was doing but couldn't stop. You made it sound like a genuine addiction and that's amazing! You are a talented writer! :D
Aimee
xoxo

 Report Review

Review #10, by lightthecandleA Not So Normal Life (After All): A Boy

20th February 2014:
I'm hyperventilating! I nearly had a heart attack when I saw that another chapter had been added! This was just so good and I was screaming at G to realise that it was James?! I will be forever (im)patiently waiting for the next chapter! Something better happen between the two of them, I don't care if it's too early, I just want something to happen to them :D

Author's Response: Haha! Thank you so much! This review has made my day :). And I know, I know, I just wish that G would figure it out too, but I feel like I should make it at least a little believable (or at least as believable as a fantasy story written by a non professional writer can be). And as to the next update, I unfortunately cannot make any promises as to when it will be out since I haven't even planned it out as well as the fact that school is about to bombard me with work :(. But I will try my hardest to get it out in a reasonable amount of time :). Thank you again for this wonderful review!
xoxo


 Report Review

Review #11, by lightthecandleThe Father who Died: 31 October, 1981

18th February 2014:
OMG! You don't understand the shivers that ran down my spine when Voldemort turned up at the house and this moment,
"All the blood drained from James face as the figure withdrew a wand, glancing about once more before turning and opening the small iron front gate that lead straight to the house." that just... I'm literally speechless. So many people have done fluffy romantic stories about Lily and James and they are absolutely lovely to read because it takes your mind off the reality of what happens to them. But... stories like this, I love and hate them at the same time. You put so much emotion in this story and I love how you portrayed James whilst still showing him to be quite immature. I started crying at the end of this and I feel so sorry for James. They really didn't do James justice in the films in my opinion and this makes up for that.
Brilliant, just brilliant!
Aimee
x

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! I'm sorry/happy that you cried?! Lol. This has made my day, thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much. +]

This is the first time James has been a main character of mine, and I'm pretty happy with the way things turned out too.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by lightthecandleA Not So Normal Life (After All): A Surprise

3rd February 2014:
I just... I just love, love, love this story! It's so interesting and I can't wait to hear what happens! Please, please update soon! :D
Aimee
xxx

Author's Response: Why thank you so much!! Haven't even started writing the next chapter but I know what will happen. Hopefully it will be out by next week :) Thanks for reading and reviewing!
xoxo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login