Reading Reviews From Member: theblacksisters
  
383 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksistersHarry Potter & the Second Chance: Chapter 11

10th April 2014:
I think this review is going to be for all eleven chapters. First of all, I'd like to say that I love the plotline. I've always had a weakness for alternate universes, and I really like this one. I'd really like to meet the Ron and Hermione of this world.
I do notice a good deal of grammar mistakes that are really easy to make (homophones switched out for each other, the occasional sentence fragment, etc.), and, though not to the point to make the story hard to read, are quite distracting. Another suggestion I would have is to use either italics or bold exclusively, though this is probably just me.
Any errors in conventions, however, do not negate my appreciation of the story drastically. I will be looking forward to the next installment, so do write it soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksistersThe Boy in Slytherin: Prologue

10th April 2014:
I love how you were able to refer to what we already knew happened in just a few paragraphs without having it be an overly long or overly short monologue. Harry's personality does seemed to have changed a little bit, but he also has a great deal in common with the original so it's quite believable. Also, in all truthfulness, your writing is very, very good. I'm really looking forward to reading the next chapter, so please get it up soon!

Author's Response: thank you so much! what a kind and motivating review. thanks for taking the time out to leave it! c:

 Report Review

Review #3, by theblacksistersSuperhero: In a Name

29th March 2014:
I definitely did not see that coming, so please avoid puffing up. (If you did, it would probably be a bit harder for you to write any more chapters to this story, which I wouldn't like at all, because I like to read this.)
I think it would make the interview at the beginning of the chapter a bit easier to understand and look more like what they put in the newspaper if you replaced the 'Question' with the name of whoever was writing the article and made only the questions bold or the person speaking's name bold. (I hope that was understandable.)
Again, that particular revelation was quite surprising: I wasn't expecting it at all. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: *does a happy dance* puffing up avoided! :D yeah, yeah that does make sense actually... hmm. Gonna have to think up a name now! The next one is going up now-ish, so it should only be a couple of days unless something goes wrong. :) Thank you for reviewing again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by theblacksistersThe Stories History Never Told: My Enemy, My Friend

2nd March 2014:
asdl;fkjdflsffjkld
Sorry. I had to do that. This is just . . . well, I'm still digesting the idea right now. It's a fascinating idea that seems like it'll be fun to read if you decide to continue it. I mean, if all of them are just as imaginitive as this chapter . . . I'll definitely be coming back for more. Keep writing, especially another chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! I think this is the first review I've ever gotten for this story, so I thought it had crashed and burned. I appreciate you taking the time to comment. It's a series of one-shots, and I can post more soon.

 Report Review

Review #5, by theblacksistersBroken: Prologue

2nd March 2014:
Gah! It's beautiful. Seriously. There is a couple of minor mistakes ('death eaters' is capitalized), but the writing was seriously awesome!
One thing I don't understand is why Lucius Malfoy is not happy that Voldemort is dead. I mean, the Dark Lord would've probably eventually killed him and his family, so I'm kind of confused here. Did I miss something?
And why is there not a second chapter to this? It's a totally fantastic start to what looks like will be something good. It's a shame to abandon it like this.
Keep writing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by theblacksistersThe Problem is Him: The Problem is Him

2nd March 2014:
Okay, so here I am for the Gryffindor vs. Slytherin blackout battle, and all the stories I'm reviewing are Draco/Ginny. (so far)
But anyways. To the actual review. I like the story. It does seem to me, though, that you characterize Lucius Malfoy as not being on Draco's 'side' in the war; being all for Voldemort. (Feel free to correct me if I perceived it wrong.) Why did you make him that way, just out of curiosity?
Quite an enjoyable one shot. Keep writing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by theblacksistersSee Me Use You: Chapter 1

2nd March 2014:
There needs to be a second chapter to this. I like how the first scene is written: it really got across the desperation of the situation. (Apparently, like me, Ginny curses a lot when she's wound up.) It's interesting how she's wondering about Harry and what she meant to him when he left; that seems like it's going to get a bit more angsty later on and pave the road for other romance.
And you do well, as far as I'm concerned, with the characterization of both Draco and Ginny so far. Keep writing, because I'd love to read the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by theblacksistersContradiction: The beginning of the End

18th February 2014:
So glad you got the next chapter up! I've been waiting forever . . . and now you have the nerve to leave me on a cliffhanger! You'd better update soon, you know that, right? :)
I've decided I like Warren and Lillian together. I really like how you're bringing in an antagonist: having a werewolf after Harry is a good idea. And where did you get the name Skorponok? Is that his first name or his sirname? (if you mentioned this before in the story then I'm an awful reader and you don't have to answer the question).
I did notice a one slight mistake in the conventions,
"Because you are way out of your league," Came Hermione's voice . . . (the 'C' should be lowercase)
but that's all. I like your similies (is that metaphor that I mean? Is the word even spelled right? I mean comparing one thing to something else) like when you compare Dean Thomas's expression to one of a child eating a bad flavored bean. Speaking of Dean Thomas, I like your characterization of him a lot. I never really imagined him as such a jerk-ish person, but then again, I don't usually read fics featuring Dean.
I think you should be on the forums more. I left something on your MTA page. :)
I hope your writer's blocks stays far, far away for a very long time because as I said before, the cliffhanger is already killing me. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Yikes! I know, cliffhangers drive me nuts! The chapter was initially MUCH longer, but I had to find a place stop, otherwise the next one would be SUPER short! (So I'm sorry! HAHA LOL)

(*EXCLUSIVE INFO*) Skorponok is a character I created as a right-hand (or paw...?) to Greyback. Though his first name is unknown in Contradiction, the authorities know that he was brought to Britain by Fenrir from Siberia. I didn't mention it earlier, so I'm sorry for any confusion!

WOW... I'll fix that as soon as the next chapter is published, thank you!

Ah yes, Dean. He was a very subdued character in the original story, but I needed a kind of antagonist in the beginning! Therefore I created the scenario of his father leaving, and thereby his reaction to Ginny leaving him.

I'll get the next one up as soon as I'm able!

Thank you so much for the awesome review!

*FenrirGreyback


 Report Review

Review #9, by theblacksistersJust Give Her the Stinkin' Rose! ~ Speed Dating Entry: Enough Power to Power a Shake Weight

16th February 2014:
This one made me laugh. :) I'm usually more of a fan of Bellatrix/Voldemort.
I'm fairly sure in the books (at least the US version), it's spelled 'Rodolphus', but I may be wrong. Enjoyed reading!

Author's Response: Oh Lordy. I'm silly! I've been reading it completely wrong for years! I've gone back and changed it, LOL!

Thank you so much for this review and for the tip, haha!

Liz


 Report Review

Review #10, by theblacksistersThe Ever Amazing Harry Potter: My First Diary Entry

15th February 2014:
Are you sure Lockhart hasn't recovered his memories and is impersonating Harry Potter? Or was there a personality switch? :D
Greatly awful story! (or whatever. I've been reading the stories from this challenge for the last half hour. I think it's rubbing off on me. I'm getting kind of crazy. Ugh. I just realized I'M the one starting to sound like Lockhart. Aren't I awesome?!)
-my sincere apologies for this ridiculous review. I think I need more sleep and less sugar and caffeine. And your story is good in an awful way. Which is to say I enjoyed it-

 Report Review

Review #11, by theblacksistersSuperhero: So-Called 'Superhero'

12th February 2014:
Cheri refers to the superhero as 'this girl' - wouldn't she assume it male?
Keep writing!! :)

Author's Response: You're absolutely right, I did- whoops! I've corrected it now :)
I am! Thank you for all your reviews, by the way.


 Report Review

Review #12, by theblacksistersEvil Will Prevail: Phase One Complete

10th February 2014:
I'm liking this story a lot more than I expected, so get the next chapter up soon! :)

Author's Response: Oh yay! *does a little dance*
I surely will!


 Report Review

Review #13, by theblacksistersEvil Will Prevail: Camouflaged Red

7th February 2014:
Enjoying this a lot. :) Is this going to be Draco/Ginny? I hope so . . . but it doesn't seem like a romance. Anyway, keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing again! I'm glad you decided to read on. :) No there isn't going to be a Draco/Ginny, sorry!

~Erin


 Report Review

Review #14, by theblacksistersSuperhero: Wait for the Flames

6th February 2014:
Ah, the plot thickens! Get the next chapter up soon. :)

Author's Response: It does indeed! I will do :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by theblacksistersTwo Worlds Collide: Gossip

5th February 2014:
I you think it's awful, why don't you just delete it? The only reason I clicked on this story is because you told me not to.
(It's probably not as awful as you think.)

 Report Review

Review #16, by theblacksistersEvil Will Prevail: The hooded figure

3rd February 2014:
Pretty good. I did notice a few minor mistakes (the past tense of 'kneel' is 'knelt'), but other than that it's good. I'd like to read more, definitely. I think the hooded figure is Hermione, but maybe I've just seen too many stories like that. I hope it isn't Hermione, though - I'd like to see something new. I'll definitely read the next chapter. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for the review!

As far as I know, both kneeled as well as knelt can be used, but I'll have to look that up. Thanks for pointing it out!

The hooded figure is Hermione...I hope that doesn't disappoint you though, and you keep reading on. It's for the Canon Craziness Challenge and I hope the plot interests you enough to want to keep reading.

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by theblacksistersSuperhero: Control

29th January 2014:
Enjoying the story! I think that you should add in some sub-plots along with the main one. It would make the story more interesting. (Not that it isn't already.)

Author's Response: I'm glad you are! My lovely little subplots are beginning to develop, but you're right, I probably should have brought them in earlier. I'm always learning when I write :) N'aww, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by theblacksistersShadows in the Mirror: Shadows in the Mirror

28th January 2014:
I liked it - nicely creepy.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 7.

27th January 2014:
I nearly cried. :' But I liked the ending. And the story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 5.

27th January 2014:
So canon (ish) is a dream and the other stuff is real (maybe?). This is getting more confusing than I thought . . .

 Report Review

Review #21, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 4.

27th January 2014:
I love the dialogue-you write the ship very well, and the conversations are so funny.

 Report Review

Review #22, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 3.

27th January 2014:
This story is incredibly hooking. I can't wait to see how it turns out. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 2.

27th January 2014:
I laughed so hard at the 'Minister Riddle' part - I have wondered about that happening in an AU. This is a fascinating fic: I'm really enjoying it! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by theblacksistersThe Satellite Heart: 1.

27th January 2014:
I don't usually read slash, but I saw this recommended in the 'original idea' thread in the forums. It's definitely something I'll be reading the rest of.

 Report Review

Review #25, by theblacksistersSalted or Unsalted?: Salted or Unsalted?

27th January 2014:
This was absolutely hilarious. I also find Harry/Ron sort of ewish, though not as much as the thought of Harry/Voldemort (seriously, who's brilliant idea was that?).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>