Reading Reviews From Member: Rumpelstiltskin
  
594 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RumpelstiltskinDark Beginnings: An Odd Child

19th March 2016:
Hello again! I'm here once more with team: Sassy Six, representing the Slytherin House over on the Forums.

It kills me to see such a low review count when your writing is so lovely.

At any rate, this is brilliant. I love how you've tied in the stark and dreary scenery description to set the mood for the rest of the chapter. It's one of my favorite places to start when beginning a chapter, especially with writing. It gives me solid ground to start from.

Your characterization of Tom as a boy is amazing. I love his creepy xenophobia and antisocial tendencies. I think you've hit the nail on the head with his apparent psychopathic behavior, especially when he (possibly accidentally) breaks the other boy's arm.

The speech patterns you've given him -- that clipped, formal way of speaking, the older form of subjugative etiquette -- is eerie and fitting. It also is thrilling to see it give way to this more powerful and commanding voice that he uses when he feels needed. It's really fantastic.

The level of complexity to him is truly fascinating. Helping Herbert with his washing, but obviously being the cause of him falling onto his already broken arm, and then receiving a treat for his 'good' behavior, and the pure level of manipulation is once, more, creepy. But it's absolutely perfect for Tom Riddle.

Anyway, fantastic job! I loved this. I will definitely stop by some time to read some more!

R E N C L M

Author's Response: Sorry I haven't replied before now, new grandchild kept me occupied.

Thank you for your very kind review of my work.

Tom has been a very interesting and, quite frankly, easy character to write. I work in a middle school and see a great many "Toms" in the halls. Thankfully they don't have the abilities that he possesses.

As my story progresses, I used what I thought a logical progression of his powers and his awareness of how different he is.

Yes, I watched the movies and read the book passages about him and then based his speech patterns on that material as well as on the language used in a number of other children in orphanages (Oliver Swift comes to mind not the same person but around the same era).

I have been building to this in the hopes that it will get recognition (Dobbys?) although I am also puzzled by the lack of interest in it (review and otherwise). I will continue to write because, like I said, he is a fascinating character to write.

Thanks again for your praise for my work and a new chapter shall be posted in the next day or so.


 Report Review

Review #2, by RumpelstiltskinThe Curious Case of Luna Lovegood: Chapter 1: The Incident

19th March 2016:
Hello. I'm here with team: Sassy Six, representing Slytherin House on the Forums.

I absolutely love that you're taking a look into the workings of Luna Lovegood. She's definitely one of the characters that stands out in the original series, and she's most definitely odd. I'm especially excited, despite the tragedy that follows, that you've given the reader a look into who her mother was.

The characterization of Pandora was phenomenal. I absolutely love the way you've portrayed her -- just as sweet and odd as Luna, and I can definitely see just what she and Xenophilius had in common
(what drew them together).

I love her exuberance, the air that she gives off. I adore that she may come across crazy, but her work is important to her. I love that she's trying to find out the answer to the question, "What is magic?". It's all so perfect.

Which makes the ending of this chapter particularly sad. Her own research was her own demise, and it's heartbreaking, especially when Luna was there to witness it.

Fantastic job!

R E N C L M

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I hope you continue to enjoy my most curious tale. The tale is already 30 chapters and 100 000 words and a lot happens. Yet Things have only just begun, I can't wait to share the rest of my story with you as I continue to upload it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by RumpelstiltskinTrainwreck of 1978: Early Mornings

18th March 2016:
Alrighty, I'm back with Team: Sassy Six (formerly Seven), representing the Slytherin House on the Forums.

Evy's wake-up call is a thing from my nightmares, but it was just too funny to have skipped. Between the boys' gripes of protest (save Remus), the seeker pun, and Evy 'assulting' Remus, I was absolutely dying. I love the humor brought into this, and I think you did an amazing job with it.

Of course, the tension between Sirius and Evy could be cut with a knife. I wonder what'll happen there. ...or was this a Remus/Oc? I can't remember the pairings, and that's terrible of me. Either way, I'm dutifully satisfied. I do love the description of his eyes darkening -- I feel like that little piece alone really speaks about his personality. Given the typical 'playboy' persona, I think it hits the nail right on the head.

Also, poor James. Being tricked into waking up, believing that the Lily Evans is in his dorm, must have been disappointing ;).

I must admit, the chapter image was killing me. I had to find out why exactly Remus Lupin was the bacon police. Now that I have...my goodness, you certainly have humor down. Laughing aloud in a public area, and then being unable to stop the giggling has earned me some strange looks, but it was definitely worth it.

I mean, that entire conversation was perfect. "Growing what? Body hair?" Oh my goodness. The bacon fight will be immortalized in my mind. I also want to say that I really appreciated your dialogue in this scene. I loved the quick-action it created.

I'm very curious as to what exactly Evy did to earn that warning from McGonagall ;).

Oh Aiden. It's not his fault, but the fangirl and shipper in me is automatically saying, "nope". :p For now, he seems nice enough. :)

Truly fantastic chapter!

R E N C L M (*Go Slytherin!*)

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked this chapter and that you're enjoying my story so far! :) Thank you, again, for taking the time to read and review this story. The chapter images are always one of my favorite things because it helps give a quick glimpse as to what you'll be reading, as well as being a small physical portrayal of what I imagine the characters to look like.

Evy definitely has a rebelious side that will come out more as the chapters continue. Right now her and the boys are enjoying adolescence and being teenagers before the chaos of the upcoming war comes. Aiden is one of my favorite characters for multiple reasons that we'll see more of later. He's a Slytherin for a reason even if his pretty face is charming. ;)

Have a great week! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by RumpelstiltskinTrainwreck of 1978: Welcome Back to Hogwarts

2nd March 2016:
Hello! I'm here with team: the Sassy Seven from Operation Green with Envy, representing the Slytherin House over on the Forums.

I love AUs and Sirius ships so this should be a lot of fun!

Ahh, I love your descriptions, where do I start? There's something classic about describing the main characters up front, from the narrator/MCs perspective -- it's kind of like stretching before you exercise. Because James is so in love with Lily, I exactly blame Evy for being sick of her. I'm sure that James has completely driven Evy up a wall when it comes to Lily.

I do love that, though James and Evy are twins, they've those differences that set them apart. I think that it is an important aspect in stories to separate twins in some ways, as they aren't the same person (because I've read plenty of stories involving twins that haven't).

"...our baby werewolf..." I love how much this one line reveals about how Evy feels about Remus. It makes it feel like she has a nurturing feeling towards him, like she should protect him. It also minimizes the effect of the word werewolf, and I absolutely love this line and its effects.

Oh and then there's Sirius. Who broke her heart. Poor Evy, I've heard that Sirius has that effect on people. It must have been even more upsetting that she couldn't exactly avoid him, given her twin is his best mate. Those steps seem fairly rational, as girls tend to go through those stages as they grow (at least, my friends and I did). I can imagine James having temper tantrums because of this, though.

I do love the banter at the table, to James' absolute horror. I can't help but feel bad for the poor guy ;). Girls CAN be vile sometimes...the rumors that come out of their mouth's can be absolutely vicious and absurd!

Aiden seems...nice. ;) That was a hot kissing scene, for sure!

Thanks for the fun intro! I'll be back soon.
RENCALM

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for taking the time to drop by this story and I love your team name by the way. :)

Your review made me smile and I'm glad you like this so far! I feel like I need to go through and do some edits for the earlier chapters because I published them in my excitement when I originally finished them. I just went through chapter two and submitted the edited version to the queue but it makes me really happy to know that new readers are still coming through!

I try to make my characters stand out in their own way so I really wanted Evy to be different from her brother while still struggling with usual adolescent stuff: boys, puberty, etc. We all know that this is the year in which the war begins to rise so I wanted to capture how life is like before everything hits the fan while still keeping it a bit AU. I think it's important to see everyone in their teenage stages because that's exactly what they were.

Evy loves the Marauders even if she'll never exactly admit to how much they really mean to her. Aidan is certainly on the list of people she cares about too, but in a different way. He's a complete dish. ;) I'm glad you liked the makeout scene!

You're welcome back any time! Happy reading. :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by RumpelstiltskinHackneyed on the rocks: Raining

2nd March 2016:
Yay! An update! (Of course, I'm back again with team: Sassy Seven, from Slytherin House on the Forums).

Yes, I'm sure there was a vast majority of female population who were sad to see Sirius leave. The war must have been terrible. It's awful to lose loved ones, and I'm sure that Charlie has suffered from it greatly. Actually, this line in particular really summed up (to me) what kind of an impact that a war can really have, "It brought us closer to some things while making us distant from some others". It was kind of perfect, in my opinion.

Charlie and Charles. Yeah, that is fun :). Wow, her father may have been a serial killer? That's scary business for a kid to have to deal with and grow up with. I'm not surprised that she's not sure if she really wants to know the truth, because I'm not sure I would either.

Then, having her parents both die, her brother run away, and then having her brother come back into her life briefly while he was ill... that's a lot of things for one person to deal with. I'm surprised that she's managed to hold onto her sanity through the years.

Oh right, the boyfriend she had once her sister left school. I'd almost forgotten! Unfortunately, he was a waste of time for her. Now I just want her to find some happiness -- hopefully Sirius will be able to help.

The quote also fit nicely into the chapter, it was a great way to emphasize the mood.

This chapter was particularly insightful to Charlie's characterization, with all of the background information provided.

Great job!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Thank you Rumpel for you kind and patient review.

I'm liking how you are coincidentally picking out my favorite lines from the chapter. :)

I have something fun planned for ahead, pls read and review. :)

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #6, by RumpelstiltskinLand of a thousand dances: Chapter 3

2nd March 2016:
It's Rumpel, back again with team: Sassy Seven from Op. GwE on the Forums.

I'm sure that the view from the Gryffindor tower must be absolutely breathtaking, and I can imagine why Lily would find solace in its tranquility.

I have never read a Marlene/Remus -- but you've just cracked open a whole new can of worms (typically I see Marlene/Sirius). I can totally dig a Marlene/Remus (where has this ship been all my life)! I also think that its sweet that Marlene came to Lily for advice. My headcanon says that they were friends. I absolutely agree with your Lily, that Marlene might bring Remus out of his shell a bit. I wonder what Marlene will think about Remus' lycanthropy, if she finds out.

Poor Lily. I know losing a loved one is difficult, and at least Petunia will be decent enough to put the picture on the grave for her. I think that you've exemplified Lily's kindness in her characterization many times, but it's highlighted (to me) especially while she tries to connect with her sister, even though it's repeatedly not reciprocated.

While Remus being gay crushes my little Marlene/Remus fantasy, it's totally cool. Now I'm rooting for WolfStar ♥ I am sad though that James really overreacted to finding out the news, and I feel bad that the news was found out and spread so quickly. Ideally, this will end up working in Remus' favor, and hopefully James gets over himself ;).

With the amount of kindness that Lily has in her, I'm certain that she will accept him for being a werewolf (or will she)? I certainly am excited to see what Sirius thinks about Remus' situation.

Another lovely chapter!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Hi again!
Remus described Lily as uncommonly kind in the Prisoner of Azkaban, so I thought that her kindness should be explored. Lily definitely isn't a flawless character. I won't comment on possible future relationships, but I will be making them as true to life as possible.

Thanks for reviewing!

All the best, Kat.


 Report Review

Review #7, by RumpelstiltskinLand of a thousand dances: Chapter 2

2nd March 2016:
Back again with team: Sassy Seven from Slytherin House on the Forums.

(As a quick aside, I forgot to mention that if you are looking for a beta reader, there's an entire section on the Forums dedicated to finding one, if you're interested!)

I feel bad for Severus. His home life certainly is something that any child should be subjected to, and yet sadly are. I did enjoy that you added a reason for Severus' dad's action -- having been in the army. I haven't read many stories that justify his father's actions, and PTSD is a very real and terrifying thing to experience. Understandably, Severus wants him to stop, but I know that addiction is terribly difficult. Perhaps, in this AU, things will be looking up for Severus and his family. Who knows?

A Common Room for all Houses? That sounds like it could either be fantastic or complete chaos, and I'm really curious to how that turns out. Sev and Lily are such good friends, and I'm really glad that they have each other, especially given Severus' not-so-ideal life at home.

Since they have this wonderful inter-house friendship, I love that they tell Charlie that not all Slytherins are bad, even though he wants to be in Gryffindor. In fact, I know quite a few Slytherin's who are actually fantastic ;).

Professor Riddle is SO kind! There's a crazy difference here between what he was like in canon, and what he'd be like if he'd had a stable, loving home.

Can't wait to see what happens!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I never liked JK Rowling's explanation of Voldermort being unable to love because of a love potion. I thought the more human reason of being unable to love because he didn't know how to was better.

I'm glad you liked my story!

All the best, Kat


 Report Review

Review #8, by RumpelstiltskinLand of a thousand dances: Chapter 1

2nd March 2016:
Hey there! I'm here with team: Sassy Seven from Operation Green with Envy (Slytherin House) on the Forums!

Understandably, Petunia is jealous of Lily's extraordinary life at Hogwarts, but I can't help but feel bad for Lily. It's obvious that Lily loves her sister, and it's heartbreaking that Petunia can't attempt to be happy for her. (And making me feel bad for your characters so early in a story is a fantastic thing!)

Severus and Lily's friendship is so, so sweet, and I'm wodering if Merope's death (or rather, lack thereof) will change the outcome of that friendship. I have to admit, as much as I enjoy James/Lily, there's a special place reserved in my heart for Snape/Lily, even if its the friendship part.

So, this was a nice introduction, and I'm excited to see how things turn out! What's going to change from canon and how much? This is why I love 'What ifs' and AUs so much, because they always keep me guessing!

Lovely start!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. I've always been interested in the interactions between characters and how that influences behaviour, which is why I chose to include Lily's relationship with Petunia. The relationship between the sisters isn't something that you see very often. I'm thrilled that you like my story.

Best, Kat


 Report Review

Review #9, by RumpelstiltskinHackneyed on the rocks: Teaching Assistant

2nd March 2016:
Hello again! Back with team: Sassy Seven!

I really love the depth and complexity that you're giving to Sirius, here (through Charlie, of course). His good looks and charm seems to have landed him in two categories, loved or hated (willing that most of the people who hate him are his family and his ex girlfriends).

His tattoos are interesting as well, and add another layer onto that complexity. The lion and the 'Mischief Managed' make a lot of sense to me, but when it comes to the tattoo of the burn mark, I'm just as clueless as Charlie is. It's definitely a mystery that I'm interested in finding out.

It must have been hard on Charlie to have Sadie be at Hogwarts first, and feeling as though she was living in her shadow. It's completely understandable that Charlie was ecstatic that Sadie didn't do as well as she did when it came to academics, it probably felt like a HUGE win for her.

Ooh, it sounds like the major arch of the plot is about to take off -- and, of course, that means I've run out of chapters to read! I'll just have to wait.

Great job!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Hello again! :D

Yeah, I always wanted to write a Sirius based story- he is such a lovely character! And I ALWAYS wanted to give him fun tattoos.

Once again, thank you for being so patient!

My next chapter is almost up- its awaiting validation. Pls read and review! I hope you like it, I'm a bit worried that it might be a tad bit slow. *Fingers Crossed*

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #10, by RumpelstiltskinHackneyed on the rocks: Of course

2nd March 2016:
Hey there! I'm here with team: Sassy Seven for Operation Green with Envy over on the Forums!

I LOVE 'What ifs' and AUs, so I'm really excited for this! I'm really curious as to what's going to happen here, I'd I'd definitely like to get to know Charlie a little more. She seems like she'll be a fun character, as she's already made me chuckle a few times. I think my favorite aspect of her (right now) are the small asides she has in the narration (eg. the aside about her legs being quite nice, actually).

I'm also really interested to see a relationship blossom between Charlie and Sirius, and what kind of relationship. Will it be a love/hate, a love/love, an amazing friendship, a one-sided kind of love? I suppose I'll have to keep reading.

Lovely introduction!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Hey Rumpelstiltskin! (Hope I got that right :p)

Thank you so much for such a generous review. It totally made my day. I have something planned for the two of them. You will have to keep reading to find out, indeed. :)

I also hope you leave more reviews! :D

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #11, by RumpelstiltskinOn Top of Things: Want to hear My Side of Things?

2nd March 2016:
Hey there! I'm here with team: Sassy Seven for Operation Green with Envy on the Forums (because Slytherin House is amazing)!

I love this idea! I can honestly say I've never had the pleasure of reading a story told from the Sorting Hat's point of view. The Sorting Hat does have an important job, and I laugh that it knows that about itself. I do feel bad for it, though, being ignored all term long until its needed to sort the students.

I haven't thought about the consciousness of the Hat until now, and it's doing those strange things like making me emphasize with it. It's a fantastic feat to affect your audience like this with an otherwise inanimate object. I keep laughing at my sympathy throuought, while the Hat tells of how difficult it is to think up a new song for every new year (but I suppose since it IS being ignored for the rest of the year, it has time to think), and especially because of all of the minds its had to peer into. That sounds like a tedious task.

I also really enjoy that sense of self-importance that it has, specifically at the end, where it pardons the reader to do its job.

Thanks for a great read!
RENCALM

Author's Response: Thanks for your very kind review. Actually, the idea for this story came about the time that I was finishing the third story in my Quidditch trilogy. The four stories all revolve around the thoughts of the objects involved.

I had wondered how the hat came up with the songs that we see in the books (but unfortunately not in the movies).

I often laughed while I was writing the story.

Thank you for your compliment about affecting my audience, it gives me the encouragement that I need to continue writing.

If you enjoyed this story please give my other stories a try and let me know how you feel about them.

Thanks for your kind words!
Evil Otter


 Report Review

Review #12, by RumpelstiltskinSecrets: Chapter 1

17th February 2016:
How does a welcome to HPFF review sound?

I think that your characterization of Draco Malfoy is very believable. His animosity towards his actions in the war (and that towards Harry) is made evident in the first few paragraphs.

The way Harry responds to Draco's revelation of his sexual orientation was fantastic, because who could have ever suspected that Draco Malfoy preferred men?

It's terrible that Draco felt that he couldn't be who he truly was -- a man who liked other men -- because of what he father thought. I'm glad that Harry was there to change his mind.

THAT WAS SUCH A SWEET KISS!! ♥

You've done a great job with your first fanfiction! Welcome to HPFF!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi rumpel!

thank you so much for this review it made me so happy to have such a nice welcome to HPFF!


 Report Review

Review #13, by RumpelstiltskinIntroducing...: Introducing... James Potter

14th February 2016:
Hello, again! I'm here with prize review 2:2!

Ooooh I LOVE James' immediate arrogance! He's cool and cocky and reminds me a lot of what my head-cannon is for his two namesakes (James Potter I and Sirius Black). And why *wouldn't* he be awesomely amazing and fabulous at Quiddich d life in general! As he's (you've) said, he's the son of Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley! I adore his characterization.

I was really excited to find out what this problem would be, and I love how it's extended just a little longer so that the readers don't immediately know what the problem is. I also find it quite interesting that James doesn't like to talk to his friends and family about his problems, but rather, complete strangers. It's a great little quirk to his personality.

See? Meghan only *thinks* she's not good at anything! She's a good listener :). I think the huge, clashing characteristic differences is a fantastic piece of the story. It creates a highly humorous contrast.

I find it even more funny that James Potter, as awesome as he is, is having a problem impressing a girl that he likes. James' response to the ghost bit was particularly hysterical, might I add.

The fact that he wants to impress the girl by trying to raise his Muggle Studies grade is priceless, but I'm sure that Meghan can help him out with that.

I sense so many troublesome shenanigans ahead! This is going to be a riot.

Another lovely chapter! Great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #14, by RumpelstiltskinIntroducing...: Introducing... Meghan Abrams

14th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here with your two reviews that you've won during the "Guess the Present" game on the Forums! (1:2)

First of all, I love how absolutely ordinary the main character Meghan, is. There's something special about an ordinary character that makes the story a little more extraordinary. It also makes it a lot easier for readers to connect with the character, which is a special feat. For me, it especially happened with the talent for plant killing -- I have that "wonderful" talent, too ;).

I also really enjoyed the bit of sarcastic edge that is emanating through your character and into the narration. It really brings her personality to life. It also adds this special brand of humor, and I absolutely love that you broke through that fourth wall for just a moment. It's a personal favorite technique.

I thought her reaction to the panicking, help-seeking James was perfect! It was an amazing end to this introductory chapter and a very nice hook into the next chapter. I can't wait to see what it is that James urgently needs help with, and from somebody who has been described as someone who is not particularly exceptional in any way!

Brilliant job!
-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #15, by RumpelstiltskinDrive: Drive

12th February 2016:
Hello, I'm here with review 1 of 2 that you've one for correctly guessing the picture in the "Guess the Present Graphics" Challenge!

Wow, your ability to write beautiful descriptions is amazing! I mean the opening was an incredibly strong hook that not only set the scene, but the mood as well (like some serenity after the storm, which I think is an accurate theme for the story that follows).

Pairing Oliver Wood with Lavender Brown wasn't something that I had even thought of, to be quite honest. After reading this, however, I'm definitely waving the Oliver/Lavender banner on my top ships (at least, your version of them anyway).

Being brought together by such a horrendous tragedy could definitely have it's positives and negatives. The negatives of course would be that they're lives were forever altered and somewhat damaged by being bitten, but having someone who understands -- who truly understands -- must feel like a godsend.

While his Quiddich career is in the gutter, Lavender looks at him like he's the champion of the world. Although she's been physically marred by Fenrir, Oliver looks at her like she's the most beautiful goddess he'd ever laid eyes on. It's so sweet that I almost want to cry!

Finally, I love the message this gives off: the sense of freedom, being with somebody who you love and who loves you as you leave everything else behind. It sounds absolutely magical!

This was incredible! I loved it so much! ♥

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #16, by RumpelstiltskinNot My Own: The Ultimatum

12th February 2016:
Hey Marshal, I'm here with the second of your reviews that you won for the "Guess the Present Graphics" Challenge :).

You are doing an absolutely spectacular job with James and the position he's in. The amount of empathy he's building for Remus -- given being able to feel the pain and fatigue that Remus is constantly struggling with, not to mention dealing with the nightmares, the living situation, and the people he has to be around -- is spot on, in my opinion.

As a character, I think it also assists in James' development once he's finally able to understand what exactly has been happening with Remus ("
For the first time, he began to realize that while he and Sirius had made a game of things, it wasnt as much of one for Remus as they thought.") What kills me though is the foreshadowing in that same paragraph, where James wants to apologize to Remus when he sees him again (and then later, when he wants to speak to Remus about his living situation). I'm getting the sneaking suspicion that James will never actually see Remus again... *Sigh* I'm also getting the suspicion that this story will eventually result in tears (for me).

It's also drawing in the reader's empathy, which as great feat.

I like the idea of the hierarchy within the werewolf society. It reminds me of the natural order of things in a wolf pack and, given Fenrir's stance on his purpose and power behind being a werewolf, it's no surprise that he and his followers would adhere to this instinctual want/need for a hierarchy.

Rhea is an awesome character. I mean, I hate her, obviously, she's a villain, but she's a villain done right. She has this sort of sensually quiet evil to her and it makes her *terrifying*. It's no wonder why she's second-in-command.

I hate the awful predicament that James has been placed in, too. He has to now live in fear of Fenrir's wrath (and God knows what he'll do) or appease him/Rhea by turning a child (or someone). Obviously Remus wouldn't do it, and neither would James. It's just an awful predicament.

And that was quite a suspenseful hook into the next chapter! I wonder what'll happen...

Lovely chapter!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #17, by RumpelstiltskinTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: The First Victim

12th December 2015:
Hello!

That's quite clever, being able to make the Muggles believe that the Aurors were baton-toting police officers. The case that they're working on seems peculiar -- I wonder what the culprit's intentions actually were! That's exciting!

Draco is in a catastrophic predicament, for sure! I'm glad that Albus (as well as Rose and Scorpius) are beginning to unravel the Kappa eggs secrets, but I'm terrified of what will happen if those threatening Draco get their hands on them!

Hopefully, the information about the tree that the Kappa keep their eggs beneath will help, and I do hope that he can get in touch with the Magizoologist! I'm sure he'd be of great assistance.

Neville's right, Ablus and Scorpius do fight just like Harry and Draco used to, perhaps even a little more vehemently! I'm glad the three of them received top marks, and I'm also SUPER curious as to what is going to transpire!

Fantastic chapter, Kenny!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi, Rumpel! Thank you so much for coming back again.

When I write the incident involving the Muggles, I feel I need description the way how to have them distracted not to let them find the magical world.

About the secret of the Kappa eggs, I can't tell you. Please keep reading, the secret will be revealed bit by bit.

The movie of Newt Scamander will be in public, right? So I felt excited when I wrote about his grandson. If you keep reading this, you'll find out how Draco gets information about the Kappa.

When I wrote chapter 4, naturally I set Neville as a intermediary between Scorpius and Albus.

Thank you again for your kind review and encouragement. I hope you'll enjoy the next chapter as well.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #18, by RumpelstiltskinChristmas Magic: Home

10th December 2015:
Hello, lovely! Sorry for the delay!

Oooh, there's so much in this that I love! The introduction is fantastic -- you really set up the wintry feel. What I enjoyed most about it is that it has that disembodied narrative feel to it, like the voice-over at the beginning of a Christmas film, as it takes us into what's happening. I was already excited to see what was going on with the three relationships.

Reading about Rose and Scorpius was heartbreaking, but I understand her confusion. Love is a ridiculously confusing thing, especially in those teenage years. I really hope that, when the story progresses, he'll be able to answer her question (about why he loves her) and she'll find an answer of her own. I love the idea of ScoRose, so hopefully that ship will sail!

Then, I loved the transition from what appears to be a crumbling relationship (or at least a rough spot) to a relationship that has already ended, but becomes mended again ♥ ! It's really a brilliant transition.

The way Teddy and Victoire got back together was so lovely! A fond memory can certainly ignite such strong memories! It really was sweet, and I love that their love was reignited. Maybe Rose and Scorpius need the same kind of dose "of a little Christmas magic.

Anyway, I'm definitely interested in seeing who the next couple will be and what will be going on with them, and I also hope that there's more on the ScoRose!

Thanks for the swap, dear, and great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #19, by RumpelstiltskinFree: g tala ekki slensku

8th December 2015:
Hello! I'm glad you translated that chapter title, because I don't speak Icelandic either. ^.^

I've seen a few members of the Next-Gen crew working with the newspapers, but I think this is the first time I've been witness to James Potter dabbling in the profession. I also love that he's been placed in the gossip section, while he's trying to pursue a more serious writing career for what I assume is a Quiddich paper.

Alia seems quite sweet, and a Godsend for James, who can speak Icelandic just as well as I can! I also do want to mention the absolutely stunning imagery -- that was quite brilliant, if I do say so myself! I love shades of blue and grey (and rain), so using them while painting the picture of the day made it quite vivid.

Awe, perfect timing for a lunch break! Now they can go out to lunch together! Do I sense a potential romance? ^.^ I love potential romance.

Jame's characterization is wonderful -- I love his cocky-but-sweet attitude, and the exchange between the two is great! I also really love the altering points of view! That's absolutely fabulous! It keeps things fresh and interesting.

The only CC I can give is this line, "Gluggavedur, for instance, was the exact for to use for the day easily visible " -- I think that there's just a word missing. Otherwise, it's pretty fantastic!

Lovely job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I just hope I translated it correctly as google translate is not right in many circumstances ;)

Thank you!!! It seemed to ridiculous to me, you know? The ever popular James Potter writing a gossip section?? And I'm glad you liked it because I personally love that :P

Hahaha, thank you!! I love grey days and rainy days and I'm so glad I was able to portray that well!! :)

YES POTENTIAL ROMANCE OF COURSE!! Its me Rumpel!! Everything is potential romance for me!!! ;)

Thank you!! I honestly think I just got lazy with writing the same point of view :P But yay it worked well in the end!!

Thank you rumpel!!

-Curry xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by RumpelstiltskinIf Only in His Dreams: Winter's Solstice

4th December 2015:
Hello!

(I accidentally reviewed this with the staff account -- oops! I had to delete and start again! Thank goodness for Copy and Paste!)

"His customary scowl was more forbidding than usual." -- That's a frightening thought, but is it so wrong to be attracted to a man with a permanent frown? Nah, I didn't think so, either.

This was so bittersweet! That kiss was absolutely amazing, so chaste and sweet -- and his memories, looking back at it, were entirely too heartbreaking!

There are so many things that I love about this piece which, after reading somethings via validation, were much different from your 'typical style' (again, I can't say too much about your usual style because I've only read the Narcissa/Peter story and a couple chapters of your horror). You've really captured the mood of the story, and I found myself smiling, despite the sinking feeling of sadness in the pit of my stomach.

Your descriptions are lovely between hints of personification and beautiful word choice (I mean, come on now, just look at this line, " the wind that teased and touched his cheeks with frigid caresses whispered of snow" or this "pale gossamer curtain that separated the past from the present"!).

This was absolutely beautiful to read, though it did break my heart a little! ♥ Oh, feels.

Also, I apologize for a completely rambling, off-kilter review that may make very little to no sense. ^.^

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Heya Rumple!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm so glad you liked my little Snilly ficlet. Seriously, this is my one and only time writing Snilly. It's thrilling to think folks like it. As for the kiss, I couldn't imagine it any other way. Something innocent, reflective of a moment in time Severus would cherish, before everything went to crap and he lost Lily forever. I could totally see that memory being what Severus would recall when calling forth his Patronus. Just because he typically keeps a tight rein on his emotions doesn't mean Severus didn’t have intense feelings for Lily.

Anyways, you bring up an interesting point with regards to my style of writing. I honestly don't know to describe my style other than I enter the story, like walking through a door in my mind, and simply write from that perspective. Severus here does not feel or sound like Aislinn's dark story or Peter with his tale of betrayal and obsession. They are very distinctive characters, inhabiting unique circumstances. The best analogy I can think of is going to the movies, with each theater playing a different film. They are all in the same building, but the movies themselves are different. That's how I feel when it comes to writing.

The downside to this approach is it's quite difficult for me to jump from writing one story to the next. There has to be a period of stillness where I walk away from writing one tale completely before stepping into another story. In the case of Aislinn's story, that took a week of not writing at all.

I think music also plays a role. To me, stories really are like movies, and the best movies have awesome soundtracks. This story was written while listening to Sting's 'Gabriel's Message' on repeat mode. I didn't listen to anything else. When I wrote Aislinn's tale, it was all soundtracks to horror films or games. The music helps to center me in the story, locking me into the feelings the character is experiencing. The drawback is that I end up associating the music to that particular story.

Thank you for reading and for your kind words. Your rambling off-kilter review honestly made my day! :p

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #21, by RumpelstiltskinAreopagitica: Prologue

4th December 2015:
Coming back at ya for the Day Three Event of the Advent Calendar ;).

Awe, I love Luna. I think you've captured her quite well. The details you've added are great, from Filch's destruction of Luna's package's wrapping via 'inspection', to Ernie's smile, to Susan's excitement -- and the blue light.

I do love those special quills and what they mean to people. I'm overly curious about the blue light -- obviously, in this time of darkness, it must be something very special to the students to make them so excited to receive them!

I love this idea and I'm definitely curious to find out what's going on!

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hello Rumpel!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

I'm glad you like the prologue of Areopagitica. It took me a long time to get confident enough with it to share. There's a lot happening in this story, as a lot of happening at Hogwarts.

I do hope you continue reading, the first two chapters are up as well!

Anyway, thanks again for dropping by!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #22, by RumpelstiltskinSpirited Away: First Contact

17th November 2015:
I love Spirited Away. You and your Snagall ;).

Talk about your mixed up universes! Severus Snape being nice, and Head of Slytherin, while McGonagall seems to have swapped personalities (and houses) with him! This is fantastic! Furthermore, I absolutely adore Hermione's characterization-switch! This is really just too cool! I mean it's totally messing with canon and my head canon, but it's meant to, so that's okay :D.

I really am attempting to appreciate the ship -- I'm sure it will grow on me. I love Hermione's reaction (erm, you know, the typical universe Hermione) when she sees Severus and McGonagall ;).

With her hair in this state, I can't just bring her to the Hospital Wing now, can I? -- Oh my Godric, that line was pure genius! I'm dying, really... can't stop laughing!

And despite how brilliantly humorous this all is, I can't help feel bad for Hermione (our Hermione)!

Between the change in everyone's personalities and the utter confusion, I'm absolutely enthralled!

Fantastic job, Gee!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #23, by RumpelstiltskinThe Worst: Decisions and Discoveries

17th November 2015:
It's been quite a while since I've read this story :).

Oh I just feel so bad for Dominique! She must be absolutely beside herself between having to live with becoming a werewolf and having to choose to give up her right to bear a child, someday. What's more is that even if she were to choose to *have* a child, she has no way of knowing what will happen to the babe :(. She's very lucky to have her family to support her, but I just can't imagine the grief she must be going through.

It's no secret that Dom and Teddy's relationship has been a little rocky, but I'm glad that they are trying to work things out. They're so great together ♥ and Teddy truly does have a fantastic heart in this!

I love how the plot thickens, with the potential that somebody was targeting her out -- that somebody meant to have her attacked. It's a terrifying thought for Dominique, but it adds the extra suspense to the plot and I'm just loving it!

Who is this mysterious woman who set Dom up to be bitten?

Great chapter, and fantastic cliffhanger!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumpel, thank you for the lovely review! I'm glad you could come back to this story. I am pleased you felt for Dominique here. Her grief is definitely very big.

Teddy is amazing, isn't he?

I'm happy you liked the plot twist (of sorts) as well as the cliffy. Thanks for the kind review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by RumpelstiltskinBeautiful: Alone

17th November 2015:
Heya, Angie :)!

I have to say that there's so much packed into this little 500 word one-shot that I'm pretty blown away, to be honest!

First of all, I love the second person POV, and I think you've done a good job with it. It really draws the reader in to empathise, or in the very least sympathize, with Dominique in her suffering. You're delivering a feeling of restlessness, as Dominique awaits her change with the moon.

Her bitterness toward her situation is not only understandable, but very real. "So young, and yet so old," and having the ten years cursed with lycanthropy feel like a thousand stuck out to me quite a bit. Suffering always seems to feel longer, and no doubt has a dramatic ageing effect. I love the connection to canon with Remus, who ages before his time as well.

Lastly, I really enjoyed the way you used the word beautiful in describing who she was. Furthermore, the ending was brilliant, tying into the idea of beauty with the line, " a beautiful chained monster".

You've done a lovely job with this! ♥

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Aw Rumpel. Thank you so much for the lovely review. It made my day! I am glad you liked this, from the POV to the emotions to the descriptions. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumpelstiltskinturn to dust. : five.

12th November 2015:
*Gasp*

This was awesome, and tragic.

Section I. (James)

Their illusion ideal life as husband and wife, also as mother and father, has been shattered by the war. I think you captured this brilliantly

Section II. (Sirius)

Not to mention, wolfstar? :D I love this section. The pain that Sirius is experiencing is raw and real, as is his love.

Section III. (Uhm...)

I want to say Remus with the sick mother portion, but I'm also drawn to Peter. I want to lean on Peter a little more with this, feeling neglected between the Jily and the Wolfstar happening. They're blind with love, and Peter is feeling overwhelmingly alone.

Section IV: (Voldemort)

His voice comes through the most clear over the others, most probably because he's the big bad guy. His hatred for love is immutable.

Section V: (Dumbledore)

I find it extremely difficult to write Dumbledore, but I think you've done a fantastic job with him. My favorite lines are in this section, "But alas, now there is nothing left. Nothing to cast our hearts towards"

I love the way you've written this. Each section has its own distinct voice, and I think that is very clever. Fantastic job, this absolutely blew me away!

-Rumpel

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>