Reading Reviews From Member: Rumpelstiltskin
  
596 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RumpelstiltskinTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: The First Victim

12th December 2015:
Hello!

That's quite clever, being able to make the Muggles believe that the Aurors were baton-toting police officers. The case that they're working on seems peculiar -- I wonder what the culprit's intentions actually were! That's exciting!

Draco is in a catastrophic predicament, for sure! I'm glad that Albus (as well as Rose and Scorpius) are beginning to unravel the Kappa eggs secrets, but I'm terrified of what will happen if those threatening Draco get their hands on them!

Hopefully, the information about the tree that the Kappa keep their eggs beneath will help, and I do hope that he can get in touch with the Magizoologist! I'm sure he'd be of great assistance.

Neville's right, Ablus and Scorpius do fight just like Harry and Draco used to, perhaps even a little more vehemently! I'm glad the three of them received top marks, and I'm also SUPER curious as to what is going to transpire!

Fantastic chapter, Kenny!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi, Rumpel! Thank you so much for coming back again.

When I write the incident involving the Muggles, I feel I need description the way how to have them distracted not to let them find the magical world.

About the secret of the Kappa eggs, I can't tell you. Please keep reading, the secret will be revealed bit by bit.

The movie of Newt Scamander will be in public, right? So I felt excited when I wrote about his grandson. If you keep reading this, you'll find out how Draco gets information about the Kappa.

When I wrote chapter 4, naturally I set Neville as a intermediary between Scorpius and Albus.

Thank you again for your kind review and encouragement. I hope you'll enjoy the next chapter as well.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #2, by RumpelstiltskinChristmas Magic: Home

10th December 2015:
Hello, lovely! Sorry for the delay!

Oooh, there's so much in this that I love! The introduction is fantastic -- you really set up the wintry feel. What I enjoyed most about it is that it has that disembodied narrative feel to it, like the voice-over at the beginning of a Christmas film, as it takes us into what's happening. I was already excited to see what was going on with the three relationships.

Reading about Rose and Scorpius was heartbreaking, but I understand her confusion. Love is a ridiculously confusing thing, especially in those teenage years. I really hope that, when the story progresses, he'll be able to answer her question (about why he loves her) and she'll find an answer of her own. I love the idea of ScoRose, so hopefully that ship will sail!

Then, I loved the transition from what appears to be a crumbling relationship (or at least a rough spot) to a relationship that has already ended, but becomes mended again ♥ ! It's really a brilliant transition.

The way Teddy and Victoire got back together was so lovely! A fond memory can certainly ignite such strong memories! It really was sweet, and I love that their love was reignited. Maybe Rose and Scorpius need the same kind of dose "of a little Christmas magic.

Anyway, I'm definitely interested in seeing who the next couple will be and what will be going on with them, and I also hope that there's more on the ScoRose!

Thanks for the swap, dear, and great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #3, by RumpelstiltskinFree: ég tala ekki íslensku

8th December 2015:
Hello! I'm glad you translated that chapter title, because I don't speak Icelandic either. ^.^

I've seen a few members of the Next-Gen crew working with the newspapers, but I think this is the first time I've been witness to James Potter dabbling in the profession. I also love that he's been placed in the gossip section, while he's trying to pursue a more serious writing career for what I assume is a Quiddich paper.

Alia seems quite sweet, and a Godsend for James, who can speak Icelandic just as well as I can! I also do want to mention the absolutely stunning imagery -- that was quite brilliant, if I do say so myself! I love shades of blue and grey (and rain), so using them while painting the picture of the day made it quite vivid.

Awe, perfect timing for a lunch break! Now they can go out to lunch together! Do I sense a potential romance? ^.^ I love potential romance.

Jame's characterization is wonderful -- I love his cocky-but-sweet attitude, and the exchange between the two is great! I also really love the altering points of view! That's absolutely fabulous! It keeps things fresh and interesting.

The only CC I can give is this line, "Gluggavedur, for instance, was the exact for to use for the day easily visible " -- I think that there's just a word missing. Otherwise, it's pretty fantastic!

Lovely job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I just hope I translated it correctly as google translate is not right in many circumstances ;)

Thank you!!! It seemed to ridiculous to me, you know? The ever popular James Potter writing a gossip section?? And I'm glad you liked it because I personally love that :P

Hahaha, thank you!! I love grey days and rainy days and I'm so glad I was able to portray that well!! :)

YES POTENTIAL ROMANCE OF COURSE!! Its me Rumpel!! Everything is potential romance for me!!! ;)

Thank you!! I honestly think I just got lazy with writing the same point of view :P But yay it worked well in the end!!

Thank you rumpel!!

-Curry xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by RumpelstiltskinIf Only in His Dreams: Winter's Solstice

4th December 2015:
Hello!

(I accidentally reviewed this with the staff account -- oops! I had to delete and start again! Thank goodness for Copy and Paste!)

"His customary scowl was more forbidding than usual." -- That's a frightening thought, but is it so wrong to be attracted to a man with a permanent frown? Nah, I didn't think so, either.

This was so bittersweet! That kiss was absolutely amazing, so chaste and sweet -- and his memories, looking back at it, were entirely too heartbreaking!

There are so many things that I love about this piece which, after reading somethings via validation, were much different from your 'typical style' (again, I can't say too much about your usual style because I've only read the Narcissa/Peter story and a couple chapters of your horror). You've really captured the mood of the story, and I found myself smiling, despite the sinking feeling of sadness in the pit of my stomach.

Your descriptions are lovely between hints of personification and beautiful word choice (I mean, come on now, just look at this line, " the wind that teased and touched his cheeks with frigid caresses whispered of snow" or this "pale gossamer curtain that separated the past from the present"!).

This was absolutely beautiful to read, though it did break my heart a little! ♥ Oh, feels.

Also, I apologize for a completely rambling, off-kilter review that may make very little to no sense. ^.^

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Heya Rumple!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm so glad you liked my little Snilly ficlet. Seriously, this is my one and only time writing Snilly. It's thrilling to think folks like it. As for the kiss, I couldn't imagine it any other way. Something innocent, reflective of a moment in time Severus would cherish, before everything went to crap and he lost Lily forever. I could totally see that memory being what Severus would recall when calling forth his Patronus. Just because he typically keeps a tight rein on his emotions doesn't mean Severus didn’t have intense feelings for Lily.

Anyways, you bring up an interesting point with regards to my style of writing. I honestly don't know to describe my style other than I enter the story, like walking through a door in my mind, and simply write from that perspective. Severus here does not feel or sound like Aislinn's dark story or Peter with his tale of betrayal and obsession. They are very distinctive characters, inhabiting unique circumstances. The best analogy I can think of is going to the movies, with each theater playing a different film. They are all in the same building, but the movies themselves are different. That's how I feel when it comes to writing.

The downside to this approach is it's quite difficult for me to jump from writing one story to the next. There has to be a period of stillness where I walk away from writing one tale completely before stepping into another story. In the case of Aislinn's story, that took a week of not writing at all.

I think music also plays a role. To me, stories really are like movies, and the best movies have awesome soundtracks. This story was written while listening to Sting's 'Gabriel's Message' on repeat mode. I didn't listen to anything else. When I wrote Aislinn's tale, it was all soundtracks to horror films or games. The music helps to center me in the story, locking me into the feelings the character is experiencing. The drawback is that I end up associating the music to that particular story.

Thank you for reading and for your kind words. Your rambling off-kilter review honestly made my day! :p

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #5, by RumpelstiltskinAreopagitica: Prologue

4th December 2015:
Coming back at ya for the Day Three Event of the Advent Calendar ;).

Awe, I love Luna. I think you've captured her quite well. The details you've added are great, from Filch's destruction of Luna's package's wrapping via 'inspection', to Ernie's smile, to Susan's excitement -- and the blue light.

I do love those special quills and what they mean to people. I'm overly curious about the blue light -- obviously, in this time of darkness, it must be something very special to the students to make them so excited to receive them!

I love this idea and I'm definitely curious to find out what's going on!

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hello Rumpel!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

I'm glad you like the prologue of Areopagitica. It took me a long time to get confident enough with it to share. There's a lot happening in this story, as a lot of happening at Hogwarts.

I do hope you continue reading, the first two chapters are up as well!

Anyway, thanks again for dropping by!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #6, by RumpelstiltskinSpirited Away: First Contact

17th November 2015:
I love Spirited Away. You and your Snagall ;).

Talk about your mixed up universes! Severus Snape being nice, and Head of Slytherin, while McGonagall seems to have swapped personalities (and houses) with him! This is fantastic! Furthermore, I absolutely adore Hermione's characterization-switch! This is really just too cool! I mean it's totally messing with canon and my head canon, but it's meant to, so that's okay :D.

I really am attempting to appreciate the ship -- I'm sure it will grow on me. I love Hermione's reaction (erm, you know, the typical universe Hermione) when she sees Severus and McGonagall ;).

“With her hair in this state, I can't just bring her to the Hospital Wing now, can I?” -- Oh my Godric, that line was pure genius! I'm dying, really... can't stop laughing!

And despite how brilliantly humorous this all is, I can't help feel bad for Hermione (our Hermione)!

Between the change in everyone's personalities and the utter confusion, I'm absolutely enthralled!

Fantastic job, Gee!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #7, by RumpelstiltskinThe Worst: Decisions and Discoveries

17th November 2015:
It's been quite a while since I've read this story :).

Oh I just feel so bad for Dominique! She must be absolutely beside herself between having to live with becoming a werewolf and having to choose to give up her right to bear a child, someday. What's more is that even if she were to choose to *have* a child, she has no way of knowing what will happen to the babe :(. She's very lucky to have her family to support her, but I just can't imagine the grief she must be going through.

It's no secret that Dom and Teddy's relationship has been a little rocky, but I'm glad that they are trying to work things out. They're so great together ♥ and Teddy truly does have a fantastic heart in this!

I love how the plot thickens, with the potential that somebody was targeting her out -- that somebody meant to have her attacked. It's a terrifying thought for Dominique, but it adds the extra suspense to the plot and I'm just loving it!

Who is this mysterious woman who set Dom up to be bitten?

Great chapter, and fantastic cliffhanger!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumpel, thank you for the lovely review! I'm glad you could come back to this story. I am pleased you felt for Dominique here. Her grief is definitely very big.

Teddy is amazing, isn't he?

I'm happy you liked the plot twist (of sorts) as well as the cliffy. Thanks for the kind review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by RumpelstiltskinBeautiful: Alone

17th November 2015:
Heya, Angie :)!

I have to say that there's so much packed into this little 500 word one-shot that I'm pretty blown away, to be honest!

First of all, I love the second person POV, and I think you've done a good job with it. It really draws the reader in to empathise, or in the very least sympathize, with Dominique in her suffering. You're delivering a feeling of restlessness, as Dominique awaits her change with the moon.

Her bitterness toward her situation is not only understandable, but very real. "So young, and yet so old," and having the ten years cursed with lycanthropy feel like a thousand stuck out to me quite a bit. Suffering always seems to feel longer, and no doubt has a dramatic ageing effect. I love the connection to canon with Remus, who ages before his time as well.

Lastly, I really enjoyed the way you used the word beautiful in describing who she was. Furthermore, the ending was brilliant, tying into the idea of beauty with the line, " a beautiful chained monster".

You've done a lovely job with this! ♥

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Aw Rumpel. Thank you so much for the lovely review. It made my day! I am glad you liked this, from the POV to the emotions to the descriptions. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumpelstiltskinturn to dust. : five.

12th November 2015:
*Gasp*

This was awesome, and tragic.

Section I. (James)

Their illusion ideal life as husband and wife, also as mother and father, has been shattered by the war. I think you captured this brilliantly

Section II. (Sirius)

Not to mention, wolfstar? :D I love this section. The pain that Sirius is experiencing is raw and real, as is his love.

Section III. (Uhm...)

I want to say Remus with the sick mother portion, but I'm also drawn to Peter. I want to lean on Peter a little more with this, feeling neglected between the Jily and the Wolfstar happening. They're blind with love, and Peter is feeling overwhelmingly alone.

Section IV: (Voldemort)

His voice comes through the most clear over the others, most probably because he's the big bad guy. His hatred for love is immutable.

Section V: (Dumbledore)

I find it extremely difficult to write Dumbledore, but I think you've done a fantastic job with him. My favorite lines are in this section, "But alas, now there is nothing left. Nothing to cast our hearts towards"

I love the way you've written this. Each section has its own distinct voice, and I think that is very clever. Fantastic job, this absolutely blew me away!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #10, by RumpelstiltskinWhen the Wind Blows...: Cradle and all

29th October 2015:
Hello!

Wow! What a unique concept. I'm totally in love with this idea!

Narcissa being upset that she'd birthed a girl makes logical sense (you know, in the Pureblood mindset, not for normal, sane people ;) ). Lucius, of course, would want a boy to carry on the Malfoy name -- without a son he'd have no heir, and the Malfoy lineage may very well die out.

That fact that Narcissa went to such extreme lengths -- swapping her daughter for the Abbott's baby -- to put right what she thought was wrong was monumentally wicked of her. I love the light you've portrayed her in, because I don't typically get to see that side of her in fanfiction, and I love it when people break my head canon with a sound argument!

Fantastic one-shot. I'd like to add it to my November Story Recs on my Profile Page on the Forums, if you don't mind!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi Rumpel!

I have started and stopped writing my response to this email several times because I just don't know how to say thank you enough for such a wonderful review!

I am very happy that you enjoyed this and that I was able to make this believable. I really wanted to show Narcissa in a different way and I am excited to know that it worked and payed off.

Darkness seems to know no bounds even in those that are already wicked.

I would be more than honored for it to be one of your November Story Recs! :)

Thank you again a million + 1 times for such a lovely review!!! It truly means the world to me!

-Jenn


 Report Review

Review #11, by RumpelstiltskinTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Two Tribes

29th October 2015:
Back again!

I always love the stories within the story -- it makes things so much fun! I think it was clever that the Tengu's transformation was painful, because it shares the likeness to transformation associated with lycanthropy.

Also, Shota's been put in quite a position, with Saki being the daughter of the Kouga Ninja. I wonder if he'll ever remember their betrothal. I hope that Scorpius' clue will be enough to help Draco find the eggs before the “Dark Lord’s famulus” causes harm. What do they want with them, anyway? What are they up to...?

Yes, luckily Draco does have the monetary means to help him (and Neville's connection might come through)!

"He flinched at her stare, as if she could discover his secrets just by looking at him." -- I like this concept a lot, and I think that it applies well to McGonagall's personality!

Draco's so hard on himself, with the nostalgia about being unable to save Snape and not being fit to teach his students :(. Poor Draco.

O.O Scorpius and Albus really were having at it! Luckily Neville intervened! I wonder what Harry will say if Albus tries to talk to him about Draco...

Another fun chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi, Rumpel.

Your review always makes me notice what I've not realized. Lycanthropy and painful transformation! I didn't notice that. I just tried to make Tengu's transformation very magical one, so I'm glad you caught it in your way. :)

Yes, their relationship is very complicated and hard for Shota and Saki. As you noticed, Scorpius will try to help his father with help from his friends.

Neville is also a key person in this story. His role will be big till the end.

It's about time for McGonagall to retire but I didn't want to let her leave from Hogwarts so I set her to watch Draco.

I feel sympathy for Draco from the book 6 so the feeling is reflected in my stories. As you expect, Albus and Harry will enter more often.

Thank you again for wonderful review!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #12, by RumpelstiltskinTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Broken Heart

29th October 2015:
Hello, Kenny :)!

Information on kappa breeding habits is difficult to find, apparently! I hope that Rose and Albus will be able to find the information for their essays. I think it's clever to have Rose write a very factual essay (and it reminds me of her mother) and to have Albus write his story-like essay.

Wow, that's a great plot twist! I didn't expect Draco to be under threats to find kappa eggs -- and, as a teacher, it was a great idea to assign it to his class in hopes that they might be able to obtain some information that he can't. He's really been put in a difficult position!

Oh, and Scorpius found the threatening letter! Poor Scorp, he has to live in the shadow of his family's wrongdoings :(. I feel bad for him. OH! So, *that's* why he was so short with Albus and Rose in the library -- he just didn't want them to see him crying!

Great chapter -- I'll take my tea, thank you :).

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi, Rumpel!
I always happy to hear your thoughts. As I read your mystery, I am glad you seem to feel interesting about Kappa's mystery. I am planning to have the new trio solve the problem, so your feedback is really helpful.

I also try to portray the relationship between Draco and Scorpius, so please follow me to the end of the story. I'm working on the way how the three of them will be the new trio.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumpelstiltskin(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

28th October 2015:
I didn't know where to start -- this seemed particularly heart shattering.

WHY?!

I don't want Remus to go either -- I know how this ends :(. Between the post-partum hormones, the war, and her husband going off to war, I can't blame her for putting up a fight about him leaving, and leaving her behind as well.

"You’re ditching us for Harry and the battle,” a moment of cold silence fell before she finished with, “just like you’ve ditched me at every other opportunity, Lupin.” --Ouch. Ouch, ouch, ouch, ROSE! How could you even write this, did you die a little inside? I'm dying a whole lot inside :(. I mean, yes, there's evidence that he *did* try to skip out when he thought she was pregnant, and the whole not wanting a relationship bit but -- WHY must you break my heart!?

“There’s so much I have to make up to you and we have the rest of our lives for that but…” --GOOD GOD, ROSE! Stahp! *closes eyes* SO it was because he *didn't* choose her that he died, and it was because she chose him that she died. :( Yeah, that makes sense, but stop making heart ache logical! You're such a Ravenclaw.

:( It's awful that they fought right before the battle. I am glad that she did go after him, at least then her last words to him wouldn't have been not to come home. And then Andromeda with Teddy -- and I'm like NO, NOT POOR TEDDY :(. There'll never be enough milk.

And this is where I need to take a break so I don't hyperventilate.

Dawlish. My favorite. ;) Breaks over. I can do this now (I think). It would drive me crazy waiting like that, which is why the other girls left, too.

THEN WITH THE RUNNING AND THE HOPE AND THE GREEN FLASHES :(. Yup, there it goes. There goes my heart, splintering, shattering, :(. WHY ROSE?! Why do you do these things to me! :(

I mean, yeah, I loved it. But I also hated it, because my heart!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: *hangs head in shame* I'm so sorry for doing this to you. Except that I was excited thinking about you reading this. ♥

I think anyone who has gone through postpartum emotions would definitely udnerstand tonks here. She's just not in a good state to have a logical discussion there.

I did die a lot inside writing their fight. I BREAK ALL HEARTS. IT'S A COMPULSION. :(

I am proud of making the heartache logical. :D ravenclaw ftw!

I did put Dawlish in there for the throwback to Epitaph. I still need to write a fic where he gets his in the end.

I'M SO SORRY FOR THE ENDNG THE JUST THE MOMENT AND YOUR POOR HEART.

thank you for the wonderful review my dear
-rose


 Report Review

Review #14, by RumpelstiltskinThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

27th October 2015:
I'm so running behind this month! (But I made it *cheers*)!

Yeah, hiding is something I would do if that happened to me -- I still feel so bad for her! She does have a point, though. James COULD have found her in the great hall or something. That would have been super embarrassing!

I hadn't thought about the certainty of James' potion-induced declaration of love spreading around Hogwarts. Oh goodness. Michelle needs to lay on the hugs and not so much on the teasing. Though, while Abigail's life is emotionally collapsing, there is a hint of humour in the situation that maybe she'll laugh about several years from now.

Me? I'd be mortified. I'd be holed up in my dorm until some archaeologist found my dusty old bones.

"I, er... I just want to assure you that I'm not under a Love Potion," --Yeah, that would be my first question ;). Oh poor James, trying to make up poems. His apology is so awkward and sweet, it's definitely cute. I love how sceptical she was of the chocolate bar and how bumbling his explanation was ♥ . All I can do is smile.

I would totally eat the chocolate, too. Because...well. It's chocolate!

:D Awesome chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: RUMPEL!!!

I am so glad that you're hear to read my story :D It brings me such joy to hear what you think.

Haha I think that we would all hide, oh god, can you imagine if he did find her in the hall?

She really does, but Michelle is sadly not that nice of a person, or friend. :(

Hahahaha me too!

I would be so sceptical of the chocolate too, but seeing James being all awkward would make me think that maybe it wasn't, unless he was lying.

Thank you so much!!! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #15, by RumpelstiltskinWords and Silence: Words and Silence

21st October 2015:
Hello! :) I'll pull out my fancy reviewing template, so that it'll be easier to make sense of my rambles! (But I'm exhausted, so be warned that I'll probably ramble anyway.) But we'll start here in saying that I loved it :D

Right, onwards!

Plot/Arc: This was definitely a heavy piece, so excuse me if I'm a little scattered. Your introduction was a terrific way to transition from how words can cause terrible harm, to how lack thereof can cause even more harm, and then directly into the major storyline. Furthermore, I think you've done an excellent job on paralleling Sirius' experience from his terrible childhood to his personality, which I'll address more in the "Characterization" category. It was terribly sad to see Sirius' abusive home life, and how nobody would help him. I also think that it does send out a strong message on how abuse can't be stopped by ignoring it. That's why I was so glad to see James' reaction to Sirius' situation; he embraces him not only physically, but emotionally, as a brother, as well. I think that may have been a great contributing factor in helping Sirius finally being capable of escaping his mother's wrath -- he had someone to turn to. The part concerning Severus I *really* want to cover in the next section, so we'll skip that, here. Of course, then his friendship that kept him together -- that gave him strength to overcome -- completely crumbles and it's disastrous :(. Your conclusion tied perfectly into your introduction, and I think it was an amazing way to end (and Rumpel's heart shattered like Sirius and the china).

Characterization: Sirius is shown in a very dark light, and it's done fantastically. I really think you nailed his personality, and his hatred for people like his family, like Snape, because of what he had endured for a large, impressionable portion of his life. His absolute rage he felt for Snape seems to have been a vicarious way to inflict pain on his family, the ones who had caused him so much pain. Snape became the perfect proxy because of who he was and what he valued, and Sirius needed the outlet for hatred, to exact payback of what he had to go through. I think you've portrayed that very nicely, and have given an excellent reason why Sirius would tell Snape how to get into the Shrieking Shack during the full moon. He was so blinded by rage, wanting to fulfil his need for vengeance, that he neglected to realize the repercussion it would have on his friendship with Remus. I also really appreciated the idea that friendship was the glue that held Sirius together. This was a fantastic take on Sirius.

Style: I think you've done a great job with second-person perspective. It took me a couple tries to get the hang of it, but I do believe that you've captured it nicely. I also think that this style help emphasize the horrors that Sirius had to endure during his life.

Detail: The first thing I noticed was the connection with the theme of "words" in this, and how you used some powerfully descriptive words that appropriately tie into the theme. I thought I'd mention it, because I found it quite clever.

Flow: Mostly, it worked. Because of the style that this was written in, the flow was meant to be a tad bumpier than in, say, something written from third-person. However, here are a couple suggestions that might make it work slightly better (and do keep in mind that these are just suggestions, and are meant to be taken lightly ;) ). "Worse than words is the silence." - You can probably eliminate the article "the". "..sowing needle last she visited..." -There's just a couple typos here: "sowing" to "sewing" and I do believe you're missing either an article before "last" or a word (such as "time" or the like after). "Toujours Pur always pure." -This may work a little better if you put a comma between French and English ("Toujours Pur, always pure").

CCs (with love): Are included in the other categories :). ♥

Notes/Other: Ouch! Yep. Those were my feels. Why is that all of you HPFF writers try to break my heart? Oh yeah, and this line, "
The white sheep of the Black family, an anomaly they can't control." is amazing -- I thought I'd let you know :D. Also, I think that this is nicely written and constructed excellently.

Fantastic job, I truly did enjoy this (through my tears). You definitely have some excellent writing skills, so thank you for sharing this with me.

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #16, by RumpelstiltskinChildren of Stardust: Children of Stardust

13th October 2015:
Hello!

Wow, this was definitely a fantastic look into Luna's thoughts and feelings surrounding sadness and death.

Luna has always been this oddly optimistic character, and I do admire that about her. I think you've captured that, especially given her rationale around why sadness just shouldn't exist, and how things -- when put into proper perspective -- can be turn into happiness.

Becoming stars is a beautiful way to look at death, and I also appreciated her take on what happened to evil people when they died. They simply could be the darkness in between the stars. It's really lovely, and Luna is a living tribute to her mother's memory.

This is a fantastic one-shot about Luna, I loved it! Thanks for sharing!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Thanks Rumpel! I love Luna, and I got the idea about spaces in between stars from a book I read a long time ago, but it wasn't about death, but the person who was talking grew up somewhere where they didn't make constellations from stars, but places between stars. So I did take just a bit for the idea. :P

Really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #17, by RumpelstiltskinThe Next Great Adventure: Happenings

13th October 2015:
Hello!

I was in tears by the end of the first chapter, so I'm so glad that there was a second chapter to lighten things up a bit. It was a sweet kind of sad, that first chapter. Harry, living to a very ripe, old age, and knowing it was his time. Being surrounded by his large, loving family in his final moments -- it was so sad, but like I said, a sweet sort of sad.

I read your author's note at the end of the chapter, and while it would have made a terrific one-shot, I definitely appreciate this next chapter with the afterlife!

I love how Dumbledore was the one to call them all together! It just fit perfectly into when they were all alive, and I was flying high reading all of my favorite characters existing happily in the afterlife.

The trials to pass over are awesome -- I absolutely adore that idea! I think Dobby is a very fitting choice as a guide, and I do believe that he will serve Harry very well!

This was fantastic! I hope that there's more soon. I would like to see what this test entails!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #18, by RumpelstiltskinTraitorous Hearts: The Lady of Greengrass Hall

13th October 2015:
Hello!

Fancy chapter image you have, there :).

Wow, first of all I *loved* the backstory for Lavinia Greengrass! I love how she used her position and her abilities to become a spy for Voldemort, and earn a rank amongst the Death Eaters. This line, "Secrets were spilled before women like seed before birds" was lovely as well, and emphasized how easy it was for her to obtain information by way of mere gossip! Her loyalty is noteworthy, and I can definitely see why Astoria feels bilked.

Of course, she's terribly angry -- her mother's dead, someone who had confided in her for years. I feel for her, I really do. I can only imagine that the form of compensation she's looking for from Draco is assistance in her plot against the Death Eaters.

This is very exciting!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hey Rumpel! Congratulations on your 600 reviews! That is so awesome!

Isn't the chapter image *gorgeous*?! katharos @ TDA is brilliant. I was so excited when I saw it. Frankly, I'm still fangirling. That *smoke*! :D

Yay! Lavinia is a really interesting character to write, and I'm so excited that you liked her backstory. She's very complex, and she casts a long shadow over the story, even though she's dead the entire time. OOoh! I love knowing what quotes people enjoy. It's fun to see what people pick out. Thank you!

I think Astoria's anger is very understandable. Most people would have an angry phase after a parent's death--it's part of the mourning process. But not only did her mother die, and not only was the news broken to her family in a very coldhearted manner, but then she figures out that her mother was probably *murdered*?! And that it was an inside job? Yeah. Astoria has a lot to be angry about. I'm glad to hear that you could understand her anger and feel for her loss.

At this point, Astoria isn't really looking for help. She's looking to survive, and she sees Draco as a threat. Which, to be fair, he is. However, what actually unfolds...

Well, I really couldn't say ;)

Thank you SO MUCH for stopping by, and for this lovely review. And congratulations again on hitting such a big reviewing milestone! That's so fantastic!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #19, by RumpelstiltskinTrapped: trapped

13th October 2015:
Hello!

You were definitely correct in saying that this was heavy. Egahd. Absolutely genius, but heavy all-the-same.

"He has always been trapped." -- Sirius' feeling of imprisonment, even after being released from Azkaban is a deep sentiment. In a sense, he is trapped, having to hide as an escapee due to his wrongful imprisonment. He held out onto hope and his innocence when he was in Azkaban, but in that house, it's like he's useless.

Everyone around him, pitying him, is obviously not helping him. He's losing his mind, and it's easy to see. He *needs* to help, and he needs to feel useful. His anger towards Dumbledore isn't entirely unjustifiable -- Sirius feels as if he's the one who's keeping him locked away.

"He'd be better off dead than innocent-" I think you've carefully given a very active example of the horrors of PTSD, here, and you've written it in a beautiful manner.

Style is the major element I want to point out. The way you've purposefully set *this* particular style, to fit Sirius' thought process assisted this greatly, in my opinion.

Fantastic work, thank you for sharing.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hey Rumpel!

There is definitely an element here of Sirius being literally trapped - otherwise he would just leave the house, right? But on top of that, there's this element of how he's ALWAYS felt so trapped, like he's barely felt freedom in his life, and that makes it so much worse.

I think that line is one of my favourite parts of this story!

I'm very happy you liked the style this was written in. It was pretty experimental for me, so it's a relief every time I get a review saying it worked out.

Thanks for the review!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #20, by RumpelstiltskinSpotlight: Spotlight

13th October 2015:
Holy guacamole. I didn't see that coming.

(Oh, yes...hello!)

Theo's love for Lavender seems almost tragically sweet at first, but the signs of obsession are most definitely there (counting down the seconds on the clock). Initially, I feel so bad for Theo, because I want to trust my narrator and almost immediately know that he loves her. I do, however, *love* the thrill of an unreliable narrator, which you've given me.

I also loved the section where Theo's looking at the old photograph and reminiscing. The exchange of vows, playing as children of course, was oh-so sweet. When Blaise brings him the parchment with Ron's name, I can only fear the worst. He immediately snaps from fond memories to bitter resentment. Then, of course, this ominous bit, "For me, it's always been real" left me with goosebumps!

His realization, due to her bluntness, that she was in love with Ron, and his anger that followed was very intense. Theo's mind is a racing psychopathic hotspot in this, and I love every second. When Lavender and Ron come to an end, I almost, *almost* expected Theo to reel back from his psychotic meltdown. "I smile at this news, and I wait." Silly me.

Then, of course -- holy guacamole. I just didn't expect it, this was an expertly crafted plot twist that came out of nowhere. It definitely blew me away. He killed Padma so that she wouldn't break Lavender's heart -- "I am your knight in shining armour". THIS is brilliant! I'm speechless!

Fantastic job! ♥

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #21, by RumpelstiltskinActions Speak Louder than Words: Bitter: Scorpius POV

13th October 2015:
Hey Beth :)!

Oooh I love the warm, fuzzies happening between Rose and Scorp, though (as he said) they haven't come right out with any sort of "term" for their hanging out. It's clear that Scorpius absolutely adores her, I mean, he's said that he wants to see her again (and again, and again), even after being dragged to a wax museum ;). She's carrying a ton of baggage right now, though, so I'm sure this ship will be sailing on some rocky seas.

I really like how intricate you've made the auror-training program. I hadn't thought much about it, but I would expect that they would have to go through some highly extensive training before dedicating their lives to fighting evil and the dark arts. Also, Harry's dispersion of the idea glory-seeking among aurors was definitely a good thing. I'd hate to have to rely on someone to protect *me*, when they'd only be seeking fame.

Al is quite the trouble-maker. I laughed when Harry called him out on it, too ;). That should have set him straight, having to duel his father. That's true, though, it must have been tough having Harry Potter as his father, *especially* when he's trying to become an auror and Harry is in charge. Woah, boy.

That was a fantastic action scene, with the duel. The tension was thick; it had me worried for a moment. I am glad that Scorpius stepped in though, it probably saved some trouble on Al's end, it looked like he needed a bit of assistance.

The confrontation between Harry and Al was also really tense. I can't help but feel that Harry really is trying to help Al out by being extra hard on him. Al's not going to have to go through everything Harry had to deal with in order to become a great auror, so some extra pushing probably doens't hurt. Of course, I can see why Al feels like this is an injustice.

I'm totally glad that things were resolved :). Oh, yeah, and I'm also totally glad that Al said this while running out of the room, " “Scorpius has something urgent he must tell you!""

:D Oh poor Scorpius!

Another wonderful chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi there Rumpel!

Oh - thanks SO much for leaving this review - I'm so happy you made your review goal. It was so kind of you to offer.

And this REVIEW IS SO AMAZING!

Yeah - Harry and Al have their own issues. It isn't unsurmountable, but the two of them need to see each other's POV a bit more. I'm happy you thought the duel scene played off well. I always get nervous that the images in my head aren't translating in the words.

Haha - I love to end the chapter with a little bit of humor.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by RumpelstiltskinThe Company You Keep: The Company You Keep

12th October 2015:
Wohoo! Snape and Lily! :)

(Sorry it took me so long to get here, I'm a super slow reviewer!)

Lily's point of view is so heartbreaking! Their friendship just crumbles because of one word. I mean, I can completely understand why Lily would want to break off their friendship -- she's been witness to the darkness growing within him throughout their friendship, the specific people he's hanging around, and it was just the final straw.

She's totally right, too. He directed his hatred towards her, and not towards James (who deserved it). Lily was only trying to be his friend and defend him, but he lashed out at her. And the worse part is, is that she gave him a chance (and ultimatum of sorts). She said that *if* he continued hanging out with Malfoy and his friends, feeding off of their hatred for Muggle-borns, then she couldn't be friends with him. AND he walked away! :( It's tragic.

Then, when we get to Severus' POV, when he's taking the Dark Mark, I can't help but feel even more upset! He's realized too late that he is, indeed, becoming what Lily warned him about, and that he should have listened to her.

Ouch, my Snily feels! Great one-shot, though. I highly enjoyed the theme of the company that you keep, and the cause and effect of Severus and Lily's fight and his alliance with the Death Eaters.

Thanks!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #23, by RumpelstiltskinThe Gifts: Harry: The Gifts: Harry

12th October 2015:
Hello!

This was very sweet!

I hadn't thought about when or if Harry would ever buy another owl after Hedwig died. It makes perfect sense why he'd prefer to say that she'd simply left, rather than died. Harry had experienced so much death before and during the war that...well, I'm not sure how he handled it all, really.

You've displayed so much love in such a small amount of space, so kudos for that! The Weasley-Potter clan is shown as such a warm, caring family, and anyone would be extremely lucky to be a part of that!

Like I said, this was so sweet ♥ ! It most definitely made me smile! Thanks for sharing!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hello Rumpel!

Thank you!
I find it heart-warming to hear that in the situation I've grown up in, I can still bring joy to others around the world.
I loved sharing it with you!
Caity
x


 Report Review

Review #24, by RumpelstiltskinUnconventional: Un

12th October 2015:
Hello!

Immediately I found myself chuckling during the beginning interaction, and that's a great way to start out. I also enjoyed the hook into the story, where we immediately know that the main character has had too much to drink, and she's not feeling so hot the morning after ("Just let me die,").

At any rate, the banter between the two was hilarious. I actually was unsure of which two characters were interacting at first, which I then realized may have been intentional. Obviously, I was quick in discovering that this was being told from Victoire's POV, but I actually thought that she was with Teddy in the beginning. Then, once she and Dom begin talking, I began realize that she was actually with Logan (who is her hot coworker -- ouch, that's gotta hurt).

The backstory about her job, her boss, Rory, and Logan was placed in a very considerate spot for the reader, in my opinion. It provided some awesome information and, because of Vic's first person POV, it was told in a way that I found amusing, especially that direct characterization about who Logan is ;).

I really enjoyed Dom and Vic's interaction in the end. What was more fun is that Dom is so witty and Vic's a bit snarky, and they make a great pair of sisters as you've written them.

I am incredibly interested to find out why she wouldn't want to see Teddy, given this is a Teddy/Victoire story! :D I love relationships that bloom from enemies.

Oh, yes, and Vic's characterization is great. She's real, cool, funny, and a bit cheeky and I love that in a female character. The best part is that she has this tragic flaw of continuing to get back together with Logan, who has an 'on-again-off-again' girlfriend, and is obviously someone that she shouldn't be wasting her time on (but I mean, I get it, he's hot) :).

Anyway, this was very entertaining! Thanks for sharing!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all of these comments. Admittedly, getting the dialogue between characters confused in the beginning wasn't my intent, but having readers assume it was Teddy in the beginning was. I'm happy you noticed. :) I'm so connected to the Dom/Vic relationship, so it's great to see your feedback on Dom - we'll be getting a lot more of her. Again, thank you for all the feedback. I'll be taking all of your compliments into consideration for future chapters (and make sure my dialogue is a little more clear) so I can make sure I'm hitting on the highlights, particularly consistent characterization. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by RumpelstiltskinIllicit Obsessions: Illicit Obsessions

12th October 2015:
Hello! I'd been meaning to stop by your AP at some point ;).

Ah, this was beautifully dark and sensual. Where do I even begin?

You've shone a unique light on Peter's path to betrayal, diverging from anything else I've red yet. That alone deserves praise. I always enjoy when Peter is characterized as something other than solely a coward or a traitor. The Marauders had such a tightly woven friendship which included Peter, and I highly doubt that if Peter were a complete imbecile the others would have given him the time of day.

I find so much appeal in the manner in which he's set up for failure! It's tragically perfect: the collapse of that tightly knitted friendship in combination with the opportunity to have the one woman he's desired above anyone else was the perfect opportunity for him to be tricked into 'serving' Voldemort.

Other than plot, your descriptions are gorgeous, and I'm in love with your delicately woven love scenes. Characterization I briefly mentioned with Peter, but I love the cynicism you've bestowed upon Narcissa as well. One last thing, this last line, "Caught between fear and illicit lust, Peter clung to the thin strands left of his principals for a brief moment before surrendering to his obsession." was an absolutely amazing way to end.

Stunning one-shot! I absolutely loved it!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumple!

Hey, sorry it took me bit to get back to your oh-so-lovely review. I needed time to gather my scattered thoughts. Anyways, thank you so much for the review. This story was one of those lightning strikes from my muse that demanded I write immediately or lose. And you're right, Peter had to be more than just the bumbling follower. But what would it take to get him - a Gryffindor - to turn against his closest friends? Oh, but it was fun listening to my muse answer that question.

As for the love scenes, that took some work. The first draft (originally submitted elsewhere long ago) was rejected because I didn't handle the scenes subtly enough (and that site accepted mature-rated stories). So what you read was actually thanks to that rejection. I had to strike a balance what my muse showed me (some of it explicit) with what only needed to be implied. It took a bit of effort, but I'm glad it worked out.

The ending is one of those cases where my muse wrote the line and then firmly told me, 'stop - that's it - I have nothing more to say.' So that's where I left it.

Anyways, thanks for taking time out of your busy day to read and leave such a lovely review. It really made my day!

*hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>