Reading Reviews From Member: sweetredrose
  
1,229 Reviews Found

Review #1, by sweetredroseLike a House on Fire: Home

18th August 2014:
So its rare for me to read incomplete fics (despite all mine being abandoned years ago, hypocrite I know) but I figured I'd give yours a chance - and god am I glad I did! Initially I thought the story was developing fairly slowly and couldn't warm to the characters very well but I persevered and again, I'm glad I did as I'm now in love with Millie and Sirius, and its also great to see how your writing style and the story in general have developed so well! I genuinely squeaked with happiness when Sirius finally blurted out that he loves her! I will be checking back regularly to see if you've updated which is rare for me as like I say, I only tend to read completed fics as I'm an impatient little sod :) so please please please update soon! x

Author's Response: I am also very glad that you gave this story a chance! It's my first fic, and I do plan to finish it, hopefully in the very near future. The story does move quite slowly (due to the lack of a coherent plot). I'm just so impressed and humbled that you decided to persevere! Thank you so much! And I was so proud of Sirius in that moment! Finally! Someone said it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by sweetredroseThe Guardian: So It Begins

3rd February 2013:
Great little story, it had an eerie magical almost fairytale feel to it which I enjoyed - I really liked the idea 10/10! xxx

 Report Review

Review #3, by sweetredroseThe Con: Chapter Eight

7th October 2012:
Love this story so far, it's so much different from what I expected! :-) Looking forward to finding out about the plan! x

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm happy to hear that you were pleasently surprised. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by sweetredroseThin Ice: Doctor visits and Mary Jane

26th August 2011:
I liked this chapter however a few things sprang to mind. Firstly, in England we call them 'crisps' rather than 'chips'. Here, we refer to fries as 'chips' so it's a little confusing. I'm not sure if we have Cheetos in England either, as I've never seen them, but don't quote me on that. Also, I did like the fact that they were all getting stoned but I don't think Sirius would be happy about it if he wasn't happy with the idea of Avery drinking whilst pregnant, as it's advised that women don't take drugs whilst pregnant too.
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you for the British-isms :) And drugs weren't as common knowledge back then, especially in the wizasrding world.

~Lauren


 Report Review

Review #5, by sweetredroseDuck and Cover: The New Heavy

23rd August 2011:
Oooh! They kissed! :) I always love reading the moments before the 'first kiss', when you know it's going to happen but you want to read every single word before it does. Makes me feel more excited and nervous than I actually feel when I'm about to kiss someone myself. I like the relationship between Avery and Sirius, can't wait to see how it blossoms! xx

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it still!

~Lauren


 Report Review

Review #6, by sweetredroseDuck and Cover: These Things Move in Threes

23rd August 2011:
I'm really enjoying the plot line of this story so far & can't wait to find out what happens next. :) Two things though - Bellatrix wasn't in Hogwarts when the Marauders were in their seventh year, as she's a few years older than them, and if I remember correctly Colin Creevey was a muggleborn, so although the idea was nice, there wouldn't be any Creevey's at Hogwarts at this time. I could be wrong though, I haven't checked and can't quite remember off the top of my head. Other than that though, the story flows well and I'm enjoying reading it. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so far! And I know there were a few things off cilter, I'm gonna go back and fix them! thank you so much!

~Lauren


 Report Review

Review #7, by sweetredroseThe Art of Breathing.: Endings.

22nd August 2011:
The perfect ending to a perfect, heart breaking story.

I think you have an exquisite way with words, which I can't quite describe as I'm not as talented as you are. The way you can put yourself inside each characters frame of mind, clock into their emotions and write them so beautifully, it's amazing. It must be difficult to write about the issues this story has dealt with. Love, death, friendship. You have them all down perfectly though, and it's inspirational. You make the reader feel as though they can relate to each and every character. The story just fit together so perfectly, and I suppose in a way Mary's death was the perfect climax. A lot of writers become so attached to their characters, or worry about what the reader will think, and when it comes to the death of a main character, they themselves cling onto the hopeful delusion that the character will miraculously come back to life, or the characters will meet in heaven or their spirit will appear before them, something like that. I admit that part of me was hoping that Mary would come back to life, but I much prefer the way you have ended the story. The way you described her final days was also, perfect. It was perfect. All of it. Just in case I haven't told you, your story is perfect. :P At the end I felt satisfied - the story is complete, there are no loose ends.

It even made me think of my own life, relating it in a strange sort of way to the lesser problems I have to deal with. I've realised that life is worth living every second, and myself, and my friends and everyone I care about, are lucky to be here and should cherish every moment. You have helped me to find a way to reason with a suicidal friend, and I thank you for that.

Thank you :)
xxx

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thank you so much for this lovely heart-stoppingly beautiful review. Honestly, each one of these reviews just makes my life and I'm sorry for not being able to respond to it before now.

Really, I don't know anytihng about half the things I'm writing about. Its stupid. I care about life a lot though, I think, so that must have rubbed off onto this... but, gosh, thank you so so so much.

I'm really proud that I managed to get you think of your own life. I began this story with the aim of getting myself to man-up about my own problems (yeah, you can see I'm as eloquent as ever) but I'm honored to have helped you and I'm honored that you've read and review my story. Thank you so much.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #8, by sweetredroseThe Art of Breathing.: Perspective.

21st August 2011:
Oh man. :( I've been glued to this story for the past few days, it's been breaking my little heart into pieces. I've grown really attached to Mary, and how you've portrayed Sirius and the other characters. I don't want Mary to die!

You have a great talent for writing, I especially like how the occasional chapter is written in a different character's point of view, as it gives the reader an idea of each character's perspective. I love the story to bits and am completely hooked! I want to say so much to you but I can't seem to find the words as it's late and I'm tired lol.

But yeah, fantastic job! :) Can't wait to read the last few chapters. 10/10!

xxx

 Report Review

Review #9, by sweetredroseA Bittersweet Memory: Holding Onto Her

16th August 2011:
Aah :) I really liked this side-story! I think it presents Sirius' love for Isis in a way that was not fully shown in Double Trouble. Don't get me wrong, it was obvious Sirius loves her but I just wasn't sure to what extent. It was nice to read, yet quite saddening at the same time.

Author's Response: I am really glad that the extent of their relationship and how deeply Sirius loves Isis comes across in this side story. I do agree with you that in Double Trouble you do not really get a full understanding of Sirius's and Isis's love and having that come across with so many characters to work with can be difficult.

This story was very much packed full of emotion and I intended it to be so. I wanted the food, bacon, to be super important, but at the same time not detract from the story.

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by sweetredroseTo Love is to Destroy: White Dove

11th August 2010:
I enjoyed this opening, however I felt it could be a little longer. I do like the idea of the plot though. I'm a fan of Tom Riddle fics. :D

Just to point out though, Felix Felicis can't be brewed in one potions lesson - it takes six months as it needs to stew.

Author's Response: Yes, I did write the opening a bit short. But I didn't want to go on and on about things before the real story gets started! The chapters will gradually start getting longer :D

Ohhh. You're absolutely right! Haha, I forgot about that. Well I guess I'll have to come up with something else! Ha, thanks for the reminder!

I hope you keep reading (:


 Report Review

Review #11, by sweetredroseFlavor of the Month: In Which Quidditch is Played and Kenna and Oliver are Locked Inside a Dormitory

5th April 2009:
Finally. We're rid of Aiden. Aaaand Oliver&Kenna are locked aloneyy in a roomy. :D *excited about tidbit from chapter 24* :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you're happy!! And that you liked the tidbit. =] Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by sweetredroseFlavor of the Month: In Which Nefertiti is Demanding, Oliver is Anxious, and Kenna is Still Confused

30th March 2009:
:O naughty! cheat! oh noo poor aidan :(

Author's Response: I know, I know. Had to happen, though.


Okay, well I suppose it didn't HAVE to happen, but this makes the plot make more sense.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by sweetredroseFlavor of the Month: In Which Kenna Gets a Letter, Penny Gives it Up, and Nobody is in Love

7th March 2009:
Cliffhanger! :O Oh snap, I want more :(.

Author's Response: Hahahaha, you'll have more soon, I promise. =]

 Report Review

Review #14, by sweetredroseHide and Seek: Riffraff Reserves

19th February 2009:
Oliver's parents are mean :( Cute end though :D

Author's Response: Too right you are. Though his mum is a bit better. Sad, though, right? Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by sweetredroseKeep Away: After the Game

21st December 2008:
Yayyy. :D They kissedd! :D Yayy!! They're togetherrr!!! Yay they won the cup. :') I'm getting a wee bit excited here. :D Aha. Hahaha. Yay. ^_^ This muchly cheered me up. && strangely has helped me get over my ex. :') Don't ask me how, I don't know myself. Maybe I fancy Oliver now instead. Or Jane. *wiggles eyebrows* Haha. :D yay!

Author's Response: I'm so glad this cheered you up and helped you get over your ex. That means a lot considering HP in general helped me through some really hard times in my life. I'm really glad. If you have any ideas for my next story let me know via author topic or your next review, I'm very open to ideas :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by sweetredroseFinster, Ella: Tales from the Locker Room

7th November 2008:
I love it. :D Its a nice twist.

Author's Response: Hehe thanks. I really enjoyed writing the handcuffs idea, although it was hard to write in Ch 11.
Thanks for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by sweetredroseFinster, Ella: Midnight

11th October 2008:
When they're having the meeting, you say it's at 3:30, but then you go on to say that it's at 2:34 which confuzzles me muchly :P

apart from that, i loved this chapter hugely. :D

Author's Response: oooh thanks for pointing that out, I'm really bad at remembering what i'e said already :( I'll go and change it soon, but I think updating without a new chapter atm will upset everyone again :P
Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by sweetredroseFinster, Ella: The Unlucky Four Leaf Clover

11th October 2008:
LOLL. 'Last time I trust a short man in green'. :P

Author's Response: Ah the wise words of Miss Nouvelle - it's very true, never trust short men in green.
Thanks for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by sweetredroseKeep Away: Reserved

11th October 2008:
Oh dear. Looks like that's the end of Libby & Ollie ey? ;) update soon! pwease? :D xx

Author's Response: haha thanks :) I'm working hard on the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #20, by sweetredroseMake Out Kids: Cocktails and Miniature Mistakes

11th October 2008:
Cor blimey! A lot went on in this chapter didn't it? Haha. Ooft. So is that the end of Roger & Mel? :O I prefer Eddie anyway ^.^

 Report Review

Review #21, by sweetredroseAll Hail The Heartbreaker: A Plot Set To Destroy

13th June 2008:
Ooh interesting. :D Update son? :D x & also I love Twilight. Stephanie Meyer stole yr ideas if you started writing this before she PUBLISHEDD the book. :D haha. x

Author's Response: Haha, that'd be funny.

Sadly she got to it first. Maybe we just think along similar lines?

Update soon :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by sweetredroseAll Hail The Heartbreaker: She'll Tear You To Pieces

13th June 2008:
Ohmm. :P It was very.. epic. I likey mucho.

Author's Response: Thankyou mucho.

Pree epic yourself. x)


 Report Review

Review #23, by sweetredroseAll Hail The Heartbreaker: Fifty for a Twenty

13th June 2008:
Ooh jealousy please. ;)

Author's Response: :) Just a tad.

 Report Review

Review #24, by sweetredroseAll Hail The Heartbreaker: Medicating

13th June 2008:
REMUSREMUSREMUS. REMUS IS A WEREWOLF SWEETTIEE! :D

Author's Response: :D Mega awesome werewolf.

 Report Review

Review #25, by sweetredroseAll Hail The Heartbreaker: Can you hear my pain?

13th June 2008:
Sheesh. Deep stuff. :P Hope she's okay!

Author's Response: Things shall work out!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>