Reading Reviews From Member: SilverDarkHorse
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #26, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Serpent Sworn

9th December 2013:
Helllo! Great to hear that nothing is wrong - and thank you for another marvelous chapter! Well, this is an interesting plot twist - The Serpent Sworn.

Do I sense a bit of Harry/Ginny in there? I did sense something like it when she did the dragon drawing for Harry during the trial fiasco, and it is nice to see something like that again. I do love Harry/Ginny!I enjoyed your portrayal of Ron as well, you brought out his empathetic side very well despite his brief appearance.

And I was happy to be partially right about the itching - it was a Fred and George thing! :D

What was Scrimgeour talking to Remus about? Poor Remus - hopefully there isn't anything wrong :S

Interesting to note that Harry thinks of Marlene as "McKinnon".

So thanks once again for this chapter, and I'm looking forward to next week more than ever!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. :)
Haha, no, nothing yet - I haven't decided on any of the kids' pairings - but I definitely won't rule it out as a possibility. ;) I'm glad you liked Ron, and his empathetic side. :D
Haha, yes, you were right. :P
Time will tell...
It is, but Sirius probably doesn't talk to Harry about her all that much, and when he spent time with her at the Manor, during the trial, he knew her as McKinnon. :)
You're very welcome. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #27, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Needing A Friend

1st December 2013:
"You're the least complicated person I've ever met, and it's a nice change. You do a perfect Draco! I think Draco would do very well in Ravenclaw - he thinks about things, and has an exceptional vocabulary for a ten-year-old. It's nice that Draco and Harry are friends, but I do hope you will keep the original trio intact.

Nice to see something like a bit of civility between Sirius and Snape. The sparring is always fun to read, though.

Hmmm Remus is having lunch with a friend, then? :D What have they got planned for Sirius's birthday? Should be something good.

I enjoyed the Ron-Ginny interaction as well. Ron appears to more perceptive than is depicted in cannon, and it is a very pleasant change. Poor dear Luna - I do hope she will feel better soon. And was it itching powder that affected them? From Fred and George's room, I bet! That sort of small detail really brings the story alive.

Will you be writing the Sirius and Harry parent-teacher meeting scene? It ought be very interesting - Sirius and muggles :D

Thank you very much for this brilliant chapter, and I look forward to next Sunday, as usual! And also, I guess you're at uni, so have a great summer holiday!

Author's Response: Haha, I had a lot of fun with Draco in this chapter. :P He has some fantastic lines, I think, along with Snape. :P He would do well there, yes... his Sorting will be interesting, that's for certain. I don't think they've got a conventional friendship, nor will they ever be best friends, I don't think, regardless of how close they get. But they will be friends. :)
I have fun with their awkward not-friendship. It's very interesting to write, I find. :P
He is - Matt. :) A few things - that'll be apparent in a few chapters' time. :)
I really like Ron as a character, and I really dislike it when he's portrayed as a stupid boy with bad manners. Regardless of whether a Ron-Harry friendship features in this, I do intend to do Ron's character justice. :)
I feel so sorry for poor Luna, but I really feel that her mother's death is one of the things that makes her such a strong character, and I thought it was an important life event to keep in. :S
Haha, close, but not quite... :P
I will - it's coming up. :)
You're very welcome! Thank you for your patience with my slow review-responses; I've been so short on time with exams (you guessed correctly about uni) but I've got a bit more time now, so hopefully I'll get better at them. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #28, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Things To Say

23rd November 2013:
THIS WAS ABSOLUTE PERFECTION. I really have no words to say what I feel right now! Remus and Dora kissed, Sirius and Marlene are on the right road, and Harry seems to be doing well too. I guess I could quote Browning - "All's right with the world!" :D

I'd like to hear a bit more on the progress of the horcrux and Harry's Animagus transformations. There was a nice bit of Remus-Sirius bonding here, and I'd love to see some more, I'm a sucker for Remus-Sirius-Harry bonding. And what were Remus and Harry working on? Something for Sirius' birthday? 10th of November, isn't it? Coming soon :D Also a bit about Draco too?

This was definitely my favourite chapter! Thank you for this amazing read. Now I shall go do some extreme fangirling and victory dancing. See you next week! :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! :D Haha, it's been a long time coming, and I'm so glad it's finally happening! :) Sirius and Marlene are... well, not friends, and not even friendly, really, but they are, as you've said, on the right road. We'll see where it takes them. :)
I have plans for the Horcrux, but not for a few chapters yet... and there is Animagus stuff coming up in three or four chapters' time, so hopefully that's what you want to hear. :)
I'm glad you think so - I love the Marauders, and even though Remus and Sirius are the only two really left, I still feel that they have such a wonderful friendship, and I love giving them time together. :)
You'll find out eventually... :P
Yes, Sirius is almost thirty one... getting on in age, poor old Padfoot. :P His birthday scene is coming up. :) And, (though you've read that part) yes, there's some Draco ahead, haha. :P
Aww, thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and you're very welcome. :D
Thank you for your patience with my slow review responses, as well - I'll try to be better in the future. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #29, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Return

16th November 2013:
Yay - Sunday again! And that was a splendiferous chapter as usual :D

So Remus - thank goodness he's back. Kudos to Sirius for calling him selfish, self-pitying and cowardly. Much as I love Moony, he deserves every single word of it. Of course, he should discuss it with Dora (and I hope she knocks some sense into him). Dating seems like a good idea, but living together might not be great just yet; Remus has self-worth issues to sort out and it might be difficult for him to stop retreating into himself and open up to Dora in a serious relationship.

Oh and Remus seems to be having a bit of trouble reading Sirius lately - their dynamic is not working as well as usual.

On to Marlene - happy to see she's using her brains and thinking things through! And looking for cures for the Longbottoms? That is so very, very sweet :D I maybe getting well ahead of the story here, but she'd truly make an excellent step-Godmother to Harry :)

Hermione got her letter, did she? Are you planning to keep the original trio H-HR-R? I hope you are, it just feels right for the story.

And I do hope you read these reviews cos I've got a request - could you pleeeaaase do a Christmas one-shot that fits into this story? Pretty sure all of us adoring readers would love to read one! Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Ebony's Hunt

9th November 2013:
Awesome Sunday morning reading! Loved the interaction between Marlene and Sirius. So we now have a very confused Marlene, I wonder what she will do henceforth. Sirius was just amazing as usual, he's fairly mature and analytical in his thinking now, and much more sensitive in his speech and approach to others.You make me love him more everyday :D

Pettigrew is getting his just desserts, the little rat, but somehow, the way you wrote his point of view made me feel sorry for him.

On the negative side, I really,really,really missed Moony today! PLEASEEE have him in next week, I don't think I can survive without him for an entire fortnight!

Thank you for a great chapter, and hope to see you (and Moony) next week :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by SilverDarkHorseFour-Word Phrases: Four Word Phrases

5th November 2013:
This was incredibly beautiful! I love Remus/Nymphadora, and this actually had me in tears. I also loved the Sirius-Tonks interaction, it was so heartwarming. Well done, and thank you for brightening up my day :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Plates And Plans

2nd November 2013:
Oh Moony Moony Moony Moony!!! I was alternately fangirling/cursing at the screen when I was reading this. Oh Moony you insecure, self-deprecating, wonderful, amazingly endearing GIT. I could sock him on the jaw right about now. The last part of this chapter gave me hope, though. I do hope Moony comes back, and that Padfoot knocks some sense into him. Padfoot is doing a brilliant job, and you are doing a wonderful job of character portrayal :)

Of course, I'm excited about what Padfoot will do to bring Marlene back into the wizarding world. Robards is quite wonderful, is he not?

Looking forward to next Sunday. For now, I guess I'll go do some more Moony-and-Padfoot fangirling :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Monsters In The Manor

26th October 2013:
Remus and Dora - YESYESYESYESYES! Aaah I'm dancing around my room right now! Looking forward to many blissful hours of Remus-Doraness to come :D

Ha looks like Padfoot is turning into a mother-hen if Remus' impressions are anything to go by. Hope he finds Marlene. I hope he marries her at the end too :P It's about time both my favourite boys found love. If I could, I'd jump right into your story and marry both Padfoot AND Moony - although that would make me polygamous - or perhaps polyandrous :D

Also looks like Hermione is starting to show magical abilities if she's taken to reading magical fantasy fiction as a form of reference; sounds like something most bookworms would do!

Can't wait till your next update. I've been reading this story for the thousandth time; it's a blessing to escape into Moony's and Padfoot's world - Architecture School is kicking my posterior these days :(

 Report Review

Review #34, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Harry Evans

20th October 2013:
Hermione! Yessir!! Will she be starting to show signs of magic soon? Should be interesting to see Harry's reaction to that. I got a pleasant surprise to see Blaise in school. He seems fairly free of prejudice as of now, if a little tactless, and I am curious to see how his character develops.

Anything more regarding the horcruxes? It has been a bit quiet on that front. I also hope you have lots more Moony and Padfoot next chapter.

Amazing chapter as always, I eagerly await to devour the next one :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: A Safe Place

12th October 2013:
Thank you for another wonderful chapter! Merlin's skinny ankles - this just made me laugh :D I love how Sirius calls his brother "Reg", just shows how much he really loves the boy.

The comment about Harry being Lily's son reminded me strongly of what Lupin tells Harry in the third film: "She was not only a singularly gifted witch, but an uncommonly kind person".

Sirius's handling of Harry in regards to questioning him about his life was superb - just the right amount of gentleness and persuasion,and he really knows when not to push it. I'll be taking lessons in tact and reticence from Padfoot henceforth :D

Padfoot made me cry too :'( ! I do love my Paddy, almost as much as my Moony :)

Bye for now, and thanks once again!

 Report Review

Review #36, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: An Offer Of Assistance

5th October 2013:
Thank you, thank you, thank you for putting this up so early! Great chapter, as always. So Harry is off to muggle school, eh? I guess Remus is happy to have some time teaching him before he goes to school.

I expect Sirius will have a hard time finding Marlene. Will they get together later on in the story? I can't wait to find out!

 Report Review

Review #37, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Evaluating Options

2nd October 2013:
I was going to review all the chapters in order, but I simply could not wait, so I'll jump the queue and review this one. YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY, AMAZINGLY, ASTOUNDINGLY, STUNNINGLY STUPENDOUS. This might have some very personal questions, please don't be offended, I'm just really interested!

I am more touched than I can say that you wrote that Padfoot and Moony believe in afterlife. Such a change from the usual world-view today. Do you believe in religion, or any form of after-life? I guess if you do, it makes it easier to write about it, especially as these things are so deep down it is often difficult to articulate.

So Padfoot thinks that Harry needs a guardian more than a sibling for the moment, eh? And Remus thinks he's doing both well? Brilliant! Looking forward to seeing how those relationships develop down the line. School for Harry - are you planning to bring Hermione in to the equation at any point? And since he's already learning quite a bit of wizardry at Padfoot's and Moony's capable hands, I'd like to see him learn some normal stuff like English and Maths as well.

Adding to that, can we get some more Moony-Padfoot bonding, too? I just adore those two!

Moving on to the Moody-Tonks-Florence fiasco, you did a wonderful job of it. Tonks's portrayal was just exquisite. Her fairness, honesty and actual willingness to think things through and lack of prejudice is very apparent. Moody's good heart just shines through his tough exterior. And Florence's line - "Azkaban's a prison, not a correctional facility" brings forward questions that have been plaguing many countries for a long time, especially during war.

I love the way you've kept this story going, and your writing is really wonderful. You've portrayed all the smaller children well, and the young characters like Pads, Moony and Tonks so perfectly, with real feeling, so I guess you must be quite young as well? 18? 19? 20? 21? And are you a girl or a boy? Extremely sorry for those embarrassingly personal questions, but I'd really like to know. You've written both genders so well, was it difficult to write about those who are not of your own gender?

I hope you are not offended by these questions. Your writing has inspired me to take up my own pen and half-done stories and poems again. So very well done, and thank you more than I can say!

 Report Review

Review #38, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Boy Who Disappeared

2nd October 2013:
Awww Moony my love! I'm so heartbroken to see him crying. Loved that Remus uses "Sirius" at this juncture in time - fear of a name and all that...It's wonderful that you bring out the emotions he feels, as opposed to the slightly washed-out character he appears to be in most other stories of this kind.

The description of the dust bunnies was absolutely smashing! How on earth do you think of things like that?? Pure genius on your part :D

Padfoot and Harry have a lovely relationship, don't they? Part sibling, part guardian - lucky that Sirius is still young at heart in spite of his time at Azkaban, and Harry is quite mature for eight and a half, isn't he? I would love to see the way their relationship develops in the future, especially when Harry starts schooling and becomes a teenager! Also, I am hoping for lots of Remus - Harry bonding as well.

 Report Review

Review #39, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Padfoot's Tale

27th September 2013:
Once again, I enjoyed your characterization of Padfoot. The pause when he says " My...father" really tugged at my heartstrings.

Harry seems to have a very advanced vocabulary for a nine year old, though. I'm not quite certain that average nine year olds are familiar with words like "aura" and "propaganda" unless they read good books, and it doesn't seem like the Dursleys encourage reading at all!

Your portrayal of Dumbledore is great, too! It's such a refreshing change to see him acting calmly, using his brains and being open-minded, as opposed to the usual Dumbledore-bashing we find in so many other Sirius-raised-Harry stories.

 Report Review

Review #40, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Gringotts Wizarding Bank

14th September 2013:
Another amazing chapter! I loved the level of detail, specially the description of the treasures in the Black family vault. Really enriches the story.
The characterization of Padfoot is fantastic - he wasn't one of my favourite HP characters to begin with, but after reading this story, he's gone to number 2 on my list, right behind Moony :D
He's just got the right balance between maturity and playfulness to be a good Godfather to Harry; he's honest with Harry, and can manage awkward situations with remarkable composure, while still being fun and has the ability to put Harry at ease. I guess the fact that he's still quite young at 29 helps too. And the fact that he calls Harry kiddo just melts my heart.
You're from Australia? Wow that's amazing! I'm in Aussie too for uni :D I promise that I will reread every chapter and review them all, even if it takes me 10 years to do it. I absolutely love this story.

 Report Review

Review #41, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Escape From Privet Drive

1st September 2013:
Great chapter! I've got a question: What exactly happens to the protection, now that Harry no longer calls Privet Drive home? Does it still continue due to the fact that Harry is not yet of age?

Author's Response: Thank you! :D Good question: the protection fades/ceases to exist. Harry has to consider it 'home' in order for it to work, so the spells are more or less non-existent at this point, despite the fact that Harry's underaged. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #42, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Prisoner

1st September 2013:
Hi there! I'm a new member and actually a need to review this story is what motivated me to create an account. I love this story. I am reading it for the second time. It's very well written, with no grammar errors (that I could spot, anyway :D) and has a smooth, even tempo. I was enthralled!

Just out of curiosity, are you British, or English-educated? Your style seems somewhat British.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you! :D In that case, welcome to HPFF! :D I'm so glad you're enjoying the story, and flattered that you think it merits a re-read! :)
I'm Australian, actually, and we're a bit of a mix of cultures here, so I suppose I've managed to channel the British side! :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>