Reading Reviews From Member: SilverDarkHorse
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #26, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Breached Borders

14th February 2014:
Firstly, congratulations on this remarkable novel. I enjoyed each and every chapter, though you did give me a heart attack over the Remus affair! I've come to regard your books as cannon. The development of your writing style is very clear, and I pray it will be even better in the future.

The development of your characters was wonderful - Sirius being the masterpiece, of course. Strong, active, sensitive and deep and of course, deliciously Sirius :P Very satisfying. Nice takes on Harry and Draco, too. Marlene and Dora were great. I would have liked a bit more exploration of Remus - but then, I can never get enough of him :D I loved your empathetic Ron, and hope to see more of him. You've persuaded me to view Snape with neutrality too :P I loved your OCs; Matt Rosier was brilliantly done, and Keith and Tom Durban were good.

The plots were riveting, the details well thought out and informative. (In this chapter, was the skeleton either Bloody Baron or Helena?)

I still have 60-something chapters to review - so expect them well into the next decade :P But I promise I WILL do them all :D

So: Onwards and Upwards!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D I'm glad. :) Haha, yes, a lot of people were very worried about Remus. :P Aww, really?! :D I must admit, sometimes I forget what I've written, and what's in the originals. :P I hope so too. :)

He certainly was. :P I've really loved watching him grow as a person, and as a guardian. :) That's the beauty of the sequel; more time for them all to change and develop. :) And Remus will certainly feature in the sequel. :) And, some of the OCs will definitely return. :)

It's wonderful you think so. :) It was Helena - well guessed. :)

Haha, I look forward to them. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #27, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Fallen Soldier

2nd February 2014:
OMG OMG OMG I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU! YOU ABSOLUTELY MINDF*D ME! :D

Auror Sirius Black - Three cheers!!! :D :D

When I saw the heading "Fallen Soldier" my heart leapt into my mouth :O

When I came to the end of the chapter, I ran through the house screaming - my parents now think they have a crazy hoyden for a daughter. I've been on tenterhooks this entire week waiting for this chapter!

I am incredibly happy that I trusted Remus - you know, it being a "test" after all, so he musn't help Padfoot to cheat :P

Sirius and Marlene hugged - yesyeysyesyes!!! Things are moving on. I am extremely interested in Harry's reactions to what may be yet to come.

So Florence is alive? Great! Scrimgeour is pure brilliance.

I vaguely remember wondering in a review if this was not some elaborate plot to make Sirius an Auror, then dismissing it as too farfetched. Grrr. Does this mean I am a good detective, anyhow? :D

And the bit of maraudering at the end was a lovely characteristic way to finish off the chapter.

So Moody took Polyjuice, it was not an imposter :P You deserve a medal for pure genius! How long did it take you to work out the finer details of the plot?

Luckily for me it is the summer holidays, so I can afford to spend a rather large amount of time Mooning about this story. I don't know what I'll do when I fly back to Adelaide for uni in March!

This was definitely one of the best chapters you have ever written! Hope to see many, many more (even better) plotlines from you!

On a different note, how much more is left of this story? When Harry goes to Hogwarts, will the onus shift away from the two Marauders a bit more? I hope not - they are my favourites, much more so than even Harry. Do you plan a sequel? I hope you do - I could read your stories for an eternity.

Also, are you on Ao3 - Archive of our Own? If you are not, would you consider putting your stories up there as well? They have some very good quality fics; all your stories would make fine additions to that collection.

And finally, thank you for your replies to our reviews. It was wonderful to hear back, and to know you take time to read them all.

Looking forward to the next update, and maybe some Padfoot-Moony-Harry or Marlene/Sirius and Remus/Dora? :D

Author's Response: Firstly, wow, what an incredibly long review! :) I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. :)

Haha, yes, he's done well. :P

It was a cruel chapter, but if I'd named it "Auror Black" it would have given things away. :P So I went with the ominous one, thinking it could refer to Marlene's 'death' or Tonks pretending to be Sirius at the end. :P

Hahaha, sorry to keep you waiting. :P

Yes - good instincts to trust him; it was very interesting to see how people reacted to the possibility of Remus' betrayal. :)

Yes, they hugged. :P I really thought this was a good opportunity to force them together, and make some progress there. It'll be slow, but I think most of the awkwardness will be gone after this. :)

She is alive - she'll be back in the next chapter. :) And Scrimgeour is a clever character, yes. :P

Haha, it was a good guess; I did drop hints from the beginning about it being a set-up, but I also worked very hard to try to cover that up, and make it seem unlikely. :P So yes, excellent detective skills. :P

I thought there had to be some family time after the whole battle/conspiracy ordeal, and I also thought I needed to give everyone a chance to warm toward Remus again. :P

Haha, he did, yes. :P Only Moody could have given Dora that speech to send her away with the other trainees. :P Aww, thank you. :) The bit with Moody was actually something I made up on the spot. :P Other bits I had planned. :)

Haha, it's summer holidays for me too, haha, which means I can dedicate more time to writing, haha. :P You go to uni in Adelaide?! Which one are you at?! I'm at the Uni of Adelaide, haha! :P

Aww, thank you! :D There's more to come, I promise! :D

Of this story... one chapter, haha. :P I'll start on the sequel 'Initiate' pretty much immediately, and likely pick up in June/July, just before school starts. :) The POVs will be where interesting things are happening; obviously Harry will get a bit of page time because he's learning and making friends, etc, but Sirius is an Auror now, and will have a very interesting (and rather personal) case to chase up, and Remus will have his own plot arc. Characters like Marlene and Dora will show up too, so don't worry that I'll leave the adults out; they'll have plenty of appearances. :)

I'm not, no; I've heard a bit about Ao3, but not branched out there yet, though I have gone to FF,net. :P Maybe it's time to spread again, haha. :) Aww, thank you. :)

You're very welcome. :) I get so many fantastic questions, and I enjoy answering them; it's incredible to see how engaged readers get with my work. :)

Definitely some Marauder-Harry stuff, and definitely a bit of Tonks, but I'm not sure about Marlene yet. :P You'll see on Sunday. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #28, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Comrades In Arms

25th January 2014:
Thank you for the early update. A superbly written action chapter as usual.

What on earth IS it with Remus? What does he mean all for the best? He is my very favourite character so I cling to the scant hope that he is a hero and not a villain. If he turns out to be a rotter I'll be devastated :'(

Next the Sirius/Marlene dynamic is quite kinetic at the moment- yay! Sirius is bothered about the change in her patronus which is sweet. But tis the thought of Him that enables her to conjure one :D

Kreacher knows what is happening, eh? "Master is wise to be cautious but not of his friends" hmm maybe I WILL trust Remus.

Well that's an end to Florence too, then? A sad storyline. I feel that it is a tad incomplete but maybe you'll have some surprises along the way. Florence saving Tonks was very touching!

What was it that horrified Sirius so much? I am dying to find out! His thought processes, along with Marlene's were very well written.

Harry's mouth was set into a grim line - does he suspect Remus? I hope we find out soon.

A great chapter overall, I hope you throw some light on the mysteries with your next update. I even dream of these things at night!!!

Author's Response: You're very welcome! :D Aww, thank you! :D

Exactly that; he might not be right, but he thinks his actions are justified... :S

They are, haha; they've always been very good together, and this sort of situation really brings out their teamwork. :) Haha, ah, so you picked up on that? :P

Kreacher was acting strangely in this chapter, but whether he actually knows what's happening or not... I won't say. :P

She's had a very sad story. :( But she redeemed herself (at least in Tonks' eyes) by saving her. :S

Haha, you'll find out in the next chapter. :P Thank you. :)

Harry will appear in the next chapter... :)

I will; I think I've probably tortured everyone with cliffies and vague answers for long enough. :P Aww. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #29, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Trapped In The Training Room

23rd January 2014:
I'm a bit late with this review, but I hope you like it, all the same :)

First up - Yay Marlene and Sirius! This is goodgoodgood!!

I have to say that I do agree with GinnyPotterForever - I thought about James Potter immediately when you mentioned hazel eyes! However, as this is a sequel to your White Flags, it's a pretty safe bet that James is dead... I can't think of anyone else with dark hair, hazel eyes and tanned skin.

Dora needs to trust Sirius more. And as for anybody who calls Sirius a "civilian", they need a good punch in the face :P

And what on earth DOES Remus have to do with the Serpent Sworn? He says he is sympathetic to their ideas; he's a good person and I trust his judgement for now so I still think he is a good guy. But it's time for some answers!

The action was very well written. I hope Sirius doesn't get seriously injured, or Marlene, either. Looking forward to the next chapter as usual, and I do hope you give us answers :)

Author's Response: That's all right; I'm late with the response. :) And I appreciate it very much indeed! :D

Haha, yes, I thought it was about time I forced those two together again. :P

So you thought it too? :P It's not him, sadly; I wish I could bring James back, though. :S

She does, but remember she's young, and, while she's good friends with Sirius again, she grew up hearing stories of how reckless he could be. She'd trust him with her life, but she's a Hufflepuff, and feels safer with the group. :) Haha, yes, he's definitely not a civilian. :P

I can't say! :P He is sympathetic, and he's doing what he thinks is right... but it's not looking good, is it? :S Soon, I promise! :P

Thank you! I really enjoyed writing the change of pace. :) No promises, I'm afraid... :(
It's up now! :D
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #30, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Dystopian December

11th January 2014:
Firstly, did I mention how much I love you? An early update - you spoil us all sooo much! Thank youu =) Hope you had a great holiday, and that your New Year was wonderful, too.

Happy to see that Padfoot and Moony have reconciled. They both needed that very badly.

Next. you surprised me completely with Sirius's reaction to Harry's escapade. You had Harry's heedless hero-mode and incoherence down pat. Sure, I expected Sirius to be worried, maybe a little exasperated; but not to be so incredibly calm, articulate and well...authoritative. It was great - I loved it! I didn't expect him to punish Harry either, but it was wholly deserved. Never thought Sirius was a line-giving type of guy, though :P The touch of humour was exactly right; "Poor frail Mooney and brilliant dear Godfather Padfoot". It was vintage Sirius, and the much needed lightening touch to his authority.

Most Sirius-raise-Harry fics have Sirius as either overly strict or a complete pushover. This one is just perfect.

The episode where Moony's insecurity comes out when he thinks Harry saw him through the mirror was a super bit of imagery.

Dumbledore's visitor seems like the one at your first meeting of the SS. Cool, calm and rather satirical.

Dora-the-snowwoman was a nice touch.

To be frank, the sneakoscope incident scared me.

Finally, I love your portrayal of Sirius more everyday. We've seen him as a father, warrior, Auror, detective and now an authority figure. He really got through to Harry this time! I hope you keep it up. Snape's development is awesome as well, but I think Remus is a little lacking in that aspect. He was coming along well, but dropped off a bit recently. Would love to see some in-depth exploring there, too.

A splendiferous chapter. When is your next update? I am sitting on hot coals till then, so pleease have mercy on me and update soon!

Author's Response: Aww. :) Haha, you're very welcome; you deserve it! :D It was, thank you. :)

They did; things were getting strained between them. :S

Thank you; Harry's still similar to canon in that respect but he's younger, so I had to try to make his reasoning and responses seem younger, without being too dramatic or immature. :P It was tricky, so I'm glad you think I managed. :)
Sirius has been through a lot of stressful situations, and shouting at Harry's never going to get him anywhere; once he knew Harry was okay, he went into full-parent-mode, and I think calm and authorative was exactly the right way to go about it. :) Haha, I didn't either, but Sirius can't use his own parents as role-models for discipline methods, and I don't think he's able to be quite as strict as the Potters were (they were dealing with teens by the time Sirius came along, not kids), and so he used his only real frame of reference; the staff at Hogwarts. :P I agree, it definitely lightened the mood, which was sort of the aim. :)

I know. :P I can't see Sirius as too strict - he's too fun-loving, and frankly, too reasonable. :P And I have too much respect for Sirius to make him a pushover. :P I'm glad you like my take.

Originally, I had the idea that Remus wouldn't even go, because he thought that he was what Harry'd seen, but I liked it better this way; it didn't take the focus off Harry and Sirius, but Remus and Sirius also got to be all Maraudery together again. :P

It was the same person - well picked. :)

Haha, I'm glad you liked her. I have fun coming up with ideas for her appearance. :P

It freaked me a bit too; I didn't plan that; it literally went into the chapter as a last minute thing. :P

Aww. :) I like him for that exact reason; he's so versatile, but doesn't really change any of his key traits to do so. :) I will keep it up! :D
Haha, I'm having fun with Snape, too; it's nice to show a less evil side. :P
Remus has dropped off a bit; mainly it's because I'm likely to give things away if I spend too much time in his head and I don't want to risk that. :P He'll have some time soon, though, don't you worry! :)

Thank you! :D As always, Sunday is the official update day, but it's always possible I'll be early. :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #31, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Suspicion And The Scar

29th December 2013:
Well, Mr. Remus John Lupin ruined Christmas week for me. I am all impatience to see where this is heading. Is he sympathetic to werewolf rights or something similar? I hardly think he would be a real dark arts supporter. I hope somebody gives him a good smack upside the head.

Poor Harry, he must be incredibly scared. So he's got his "saving people thing" on has he? I think I am most interested to see Sirius's reactions to Harry when he finds the boy.

And poor dear Padfoot. Give him a hug from me. Deserted by both his best friend abd godson - this chapter really broke my heart!

Enjoy your holiday, and hope you have an awesome New Year!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry to hear that. :( I can't give anything away about Remus, I'm afraid. :S

He does; it's not canon, but Harry's saving-people-thing is still here. It'll be interesting to have them reunited, that's for certain. :S

I know. :( He's having a bit of a rough time at the moment. :S

I have a great time, thank you! :D I hope you enjoyed your New Year as well. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #32, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Quest For Answers

16th December 2013:
Oookay - you have me utterly bamboozled this time, and incredibly excited too. So, the obvious choice is that the SS is some sort of Voldemort organisation that was active during the first war.

But then:
1) why would Remus be reluctant to talk to Sirius?
2) Unless Scrimgeour told Remus that it was dangerous for Sirius, and he doesn't want to worry Sirius about it. But that doesn't sound like Remus!
3) But it explains why Harry calmed down when he was "foisted" on to Remus, if Remus told him.

Snape's hesitating makes me think he DOES know something.I get a feeling that Narcissa knows something too!

From Dumbledore's info we know the following (and I agree with Delusionist that he maybe keeping his cards close to his chest):

1) They are talented
2) Have a good level of organisation
3) A reasonably large membership

So if Sirius talks to someone that Mad-eye trusts, wouldn't the most likely person be Dora? And indirectly, that ties Remus into it, too. Urgh I am going in circles!

The conversation between the two SS members offers much information too.

The seated man "king on a throne" is
1)Of a high standing (Sounds like Lucius!)
2)Has a dry wit and sense of humour
3)A strange sense of fairness? or an ability to admit the truth(!)
4)Keeps his cards close to his chest

But if they were Death Eaters, they wouldn't worry about anybody getting hurt, not even their lot, would they?

And who are these trustworthy sources? Rattler?( He looked cheerful the day Scrimgeour got the letter), Prewett? Dawlish? Umbridge?

Oh no! They coudn't have inperiused Remus, could they - werewolves aren't afraid of the dark, right? My mind is running crazy...

And "you of all people" to be afraid of the dark? Does that give us any hints? I am dying of curiosity here!

All for Black, after all? That sounds like some twisted sort of humour! I hope neither Sirius or Remus get hurt - that would just kill us all, I think!

My mind is going crazy, and I'll probs dream about this at night! Awesome job, and I am absolutely dancing with impatience for next Sunday!

Author's Response: Haha, yes, I've been very careful about what information on the SS I've let lose so far... :P I'm glad to hear you're excited though! :D I am too; it's (hopefully) going to be intense. :)
It would be the obvious answer, yes. :)
Interesting ideas, about Remus and about Narcissa knowing something, but I won't/can't confirm anything. Same goes for Dumbledore. :P
Yes, I did indicate that Sirius and Dora will have a bit to talk about soon, and yes, that does have the potential to involve Remus.
It does offer a fair bit, yes, but I daresay, the clues will be better spotted in hindsight.
Yes, the comment about "you of all people" is a clue...
No promises about them getting hurt, I'm afraid. :S
Haha, only a few days to go now!
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #33, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Serpent Sworn

9th December 2013:
Helllo! Great to hear that nothing is wrong - and thank you for another marvelous chapter! Well, this is an interesting plot twist - The Serpent Sworn.

Do I sense a bit of Harry/Ginny in there? I did sense something like it when she did the dragon drawing for Harry during the trial fiasco, and it is nice to see something like that again. I do love Harry/Ginny!I enjoyed your portrayal of Ron as well, you brought out his empathetic side very well despite his brief appearance.

And I was happy to be partially right about the itching - it was a Fred and George thing! :D

What was Scrimgeour talking to Remus about? Poor Remus - hopefully there isn't anything wrong :S

Interesting to note that Harry thinks of Marlene as "McKinnon".

So thanks once again for this chapter, and I'm looking forward to next week more than ever!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. :)
Haha, no, nothing yet - I haven't decided on any of the kids' pairings - but I definitely won't rule it out as a possibility. ;) I'm glad you liked Ron, and his empathetic side. :D
Haha, yes, you were right. :P
Time will tell...
It is, but Sirius probably doesn't talk to Harry about her all that much, and when he spent time with her at the Manor, during the trial, he knew her as McKinnon. :)
You're very welcome. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #34, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Needing A Friend

1st December 2013:
"You're the least complicated person I've ever met, and it's a nice change. You do a perfect Draco! I think Draco would do very well in Ravenclaw - he thinks about things, and has an exceptional vocabulary for a ten-year-old. It's nice that Draco and Harry are friends, but I do hope you will keep the original trio intact.

Nice to see something like a bit of civility between Sirius and Snape. The sparring is always fun to read, though.

Hmmm Remus is having lunch with a friend, then? :D What have they got planned for Sirius's birthday? Should be something good.

I enjoyed the Ron-Ginny interaction as well. Ron appears to more perceptive than is depicted in cannon, and it is a very pleasant change. Poor dear Luna - I do hope she will feel better soon. And was it itching powder that affected them? From Fred and George's room, I bet! That sort of small detail really brings the story alive.

Will you be writing the Sirius and Harry parent-teacher meeting scene? It ought be very interesting - Sirius and muggles :D

Thank you very much for this brilliant chapter, and I look forward to next Sunday, as usual! And also, I guess you're at uni, so have a great summer holiday!

Author's Response: Haha, I had a lot of fun with Draco in this chapter. :P He has some fantastic lines, I think, along with Snape. :P He would do well there, yes... his Sorting will be interesting, that's for certain. I don't think they've got a conventional friendship, nor will they ever be best friends, I don't think, regardless of how close they get. But they will be friends. :)
I have fun with their awkward not-friendship. It's very interesting to write, I find. :P
He is - Matt. :) A few things - that'll be apparent in a few chapters' time. :)
I really like Ron as a character, and I really dislike it when he's portrayed as a stupid boy with bad manners. Regardless of whether a Ron-Harry friendship features in this, I do intend to do Ron's character justice. :)
I feel so sorry for poor Luna, but I really feel that her mother's death is one of the things that makes her such a strong character, and I thought it was an important life event to keep in. :S
Haha, close, but not quite... :P
I will - it's coming up. :)
You're very welcome! Thank you for your patience with my slow review-responses; I've been so short on time with exams (you guessed correctly about uni) but I've got a bit more time now, so hopefully I'll get better at them. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #35, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Things To Say

23rd November 2013:
THIS WAS ABSOLUTE PERFECTION. I really have no words to say what I feel right now! Remus and Dora kissed, Sirius and Marlene are on the right road, and Harry seems to be doing well too. I guess I could quote Browning - "All's right with the world!" :D

I'd like to hear a bit more on the progress of the horcrux and Harry's Animagus transformations. There was a nice bit of Remus-Sirius bonding here, and I'd love to see some more, I'm a sucker for Remus-Sirius-Harry bonding. And what were Remus and Harry working on? Something for Sirius' birthday? 10th of November, isn't it? Coming soon :D Also a bit about Draco too?

This was definitely my favourite chapter! Thank you for this amazing read. Now I shall go do some extreme fangirling and victory dancing. See you next week! :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! :D Haha, it's been a long time coming, and I'm so glad it's finally happening! :) Sirius and Marlene are... well, not friends, and not even friendly, really, but they are, as you've said, on the right road. We'll see where it takes them. :)
I have plans for the Horcrux, but not for a few chapters yet... and there is Animagus stuff coming up in three or four chapters' time, so hopefully that's what you want to hear. :)
I'm glad you think so - I love the Marauders, and even though Remus and Sirius are the only two really left, I still feel that they have such a wonderful friendship, and I love giving them time together. :)
You'll find out eventually... :P
Yes, Sirius is almost thirty one... getting on in age, poor old Padfoot. :P His birthday scene is coming up. :) And, (though you've read that part) yes, there's some Draco ahead, haha. :P
Aww, thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and you're very welcome. :D
Thank you for your patience with my slow review responses, as well - I'll try to be better in the future. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #36, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Return

16th November 2013:
Yay - Sunday again! And that was a splendiferous chapter as usual :D

So Remus - thank goodness he's back. Kudos to Sirius for calling him selfish, self-pitying and cowardly. Much as I love Moony, he deserves every single word of it. Of course, he should discuss it with Dora (and I hope she knocks some sense into him). Dating seems like a good idea, but living together might not be great just yet; Remus has self-worth issues to sort out and it might be difficult for him to stop retreating into himself and open up to Dora in a serious relationship.

Oh and Remus seems to be having a bit of trouble reading Sirius lately - their dynamic is not working as well as usual.

On to Marlene - happy to see she's using her brains and thinking things through! And looking for cures for the Longbottoms? That is so very, very sweet :D I maybe getting well ahead of the story here, but she'd truly make an excellent step-Godmother to Harry :)

Hermione got her letter, did she? Are you planning to keep the original trio H-HR-R? I hope you are, it just feels right for the story.

And I do hope you read these reviews cos I've got a request - could you pleeeaaase do a Christmas one-shot that fits into this story? Pretty sure all of us adoring readers would love to read one! Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Ebony's Hunt

9th November 2013:
Awesome Sunday morning reading! Loved the interaction between Marlene and Sirius. So we now have a very confused Marlene, I wonder what she will do henceforth. Sirius was just amazing as usual, he's fairly mature and analytical in his thinking now, and much more sensitive in his speech and approach to others.You make me love him more everyday :D

Pettigrew is getting his just desserts, the little rat, but somehow, the way you wrote his point of view made me feel sorry for him.

On the negative side, I really,really,really missed Moony today! PLEASEEE have him in next week, I don't think I can survive without him for an entire fortnight!

Thank you for a great chapter, and hope to see you (and Moony) next week :D

 Report Review

Review #38, by SilverDarkHorseFour-Word Phrases: Four Word Phrases

5th November 2013:
This was incredibly beautiful! I love Remus/Nymphadora, and this actually had me in tears. I also loved the Sirius-Tonks interaction, it was so heartwarming. Well done, and thank you for brightening up my day :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Plates And Plans

2nd November 2013:
Oh Moony Moony Moony Moony!!! I was alternately fangirling/cursing at the screen when I was reading this. Oh Moony you insecure, self-deprecating, wonderful, amazingly endearing GIT. I could sock him on the jaw right about now. The last part of this chapter gave me hope, though. I do hope Moony comes back, and that Padfoot knocks some sense into him. Padfoot is doing a brilliant job, and you are doing a wonderful job of character portrayal :)

Of course, I'm excited about what Padfoot will do to bring Marlene back into the wizarding world. Robards is quite wonderful, is he not?

Looking forward to next Sunday. For now, I guess I'll go do some more Moony-and-Padfoot fangirling :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Monsters In The Manor

26th October 2013:
Remus and Dora - YESYESYESYESYES! Aaah I'm dancing around my room right now! Looking forward to many blissful hours of Remus-Doraness to come :D

Ha looks like Padfoot is turning into a mother-hen if Remus' impressions are anything to go by. Hope he finds Marlene. I hope he marries her at the end too :P It's about time both my favourite boys found love. If I could, I'd jump right into your story and marry both Padfoot AND Moony - although that would make me polygamous - or perhaps polyandrous :D

Also looks like Hermione is starting to show magical abilities if she's taken to reading magical fantasy fiction as a form of reference; sounds like something most bookworms would do!

Can't wait till your next update. I've been reading this story for the thousandth time; it's a blessing to escape into Moony's and Padfoot's world - Architecture School is kicking my posterior these days :(

 Report Review

Review #41, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Harry Evans

20th October 2013:
Hermione! Yessir!! Will she be starting to show signs of magic soon? Should be interesting to see Harry's reaction to that. I got a pleasant surprise to see Blaise in school. He seems fairly free of prejudice as of now, if a little tactless, and I am curious to see how his character develops.

Anything more regarding the horcruxes? It has been a bit quiet on that front. I also hope you have lots more Moony and Padfoot next chapter.

Amazing chapter as always, I eagerly await to devour the next one :D

 Report Review

Review #42, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: A Safe Place

12th October 2013:
Thank you for another wonderful chapter! Merlin's skinny ankles - this just made me laugh :D I love how Sirius calls his brother "Reg", just shows how much he really loves the boy.

The comment about Harry being Lily's son reminded me strongly of what Lupin tells Harry in the third film: "She was not only a singularly gifted witch, but an uncommonly kind person".

Sirius's handling of Harry in regards to questioning him about his life was superb - just the right amount of gentleness and persuasion,and he really knows when not to push it. I'll be taking lessons in tact and reticence from Padfoot henceforth :D

Padfoot made me cry too :'( ! I do love my Paddy, almost as much as my Moony :)

Bye for now, and thanks once again!

 Report Review

Review #43, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: An Offer Of Assistance

5th October 2013:
Thank you, thank you, thank you for putting this up so early! Great chapter, as always. So Harry is off to muggle school, eh? I guess Remus is happy to have some time teaching him before he goes to school.

I expect Sirius will have a hard time finding Marlene. Will they get together later on in the story? I can't wait to find out!

 Report Review

Review #44, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Evaluating Options

2nd October 2013:
I was going to review all the chapters in order, but I simply could not wait, so I'll jump the queue and review this one. YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY, AMAZINGLY, ASTOUNDINGLY, STUNNINGLY STUPENDOUS. This might have some very personal questions, please don't be offended, I'm just really interested!

I am more touched than I can say that you wrote that Padfoot and Moony believe in afterlife. Such a change from the usual world-view today. Do you believe in religion, or any form of after-life? I guess if you do, it makes it easier to write about it, especially as these things are so deep down it is often difficult to articulate.

So Padfoot thinks that Harry needs a guardian more than a sibling for the moment, eh? And Remus thinks he's doing both well? Brilliant! Looking forward to seeing how those relationships develop down the line. School for Harry - are you planning to bring Hermione in to the equation at any point? And since he's already learning quite a bit of wizardry at Padfoot's and Moony's capable hands, I'd like to see him learn some normal stuff like English and Maths as well.

Adding to that, can we get some more Moony-Padfoot bonding, too? I just adore those two!

Moving on to the Moody-Tonks-Florence fiasco, you did a wonderful job of it. Tonks's portrayal was just exquisite. Her fairness, honesty and actual willingness to think things through and lack of prejudice is very apparent. Moody's good heart just shines through his tough exterior. And Florence's line - "Azkaban's a prison, not a correctional facility" brings forward questions that have been plaguing many countries for a long time, especially during war.

I love the way you've kept this story going, and your writing is really wonderful. You've portrayed all the smaller children well, and the young characters like Pads, Moony and Tonks so perfectly, with real feeling, so I guess you must be quite young as well? 18? 19? 20? 21? And are you a girl or a boy? Extremely sorry for those embarrassingly personal questions, but I'd really like to know. You've written both genders so well, was it difficult to write about those who are not of your own gender?

I hope you are not offended by these questions. Your writing has inspired me to take up my own pen and half-done stories and poems again. So very well done, and thank you more than I can say!

 Report Review

Review #45, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Boy Who Disappeared

2nd October 2013:
Awww Moony my love! I'm so heartbroken to see him crying. Loved that Remus uses "Sirius" at this juncture in time - fear of a name and all that...It's wonderful that you bring out the emotions he feels, as opposed to the slightly washed-out character he appears to be in most other stories of this kind.

The description of the dust bunnies was absolutely smashing! How on earth do you think of things like that?? Pure genius on your part :D

Padfoot and Harry have a lovely relationship, don't they? Part sibling, part guardian - lucky that Sirius is still young at heart in spite of his time at Azkaban, and Harry is quite mature for eight and a half, isn't he? I would love to see the way their relationship develops in the future, especially when Harry starts schooling and becomes a teenager! Also, I am hoping for lots of Remus - Harry bonding as well.

 Report Review

Review #46, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Padfoot's Tale

27th September 2013:
Once again, I enjoyed your characterization of Padfoot. The pause when he says " My...father" really tugged at my heartstrings.

Harry seems to have a very advanced vocabulary for a nine year old, though. I'm not quite certain that average nine year olds are familiar with words like "aura" and "propaganda" unless they read good books, and it doesn't seem like the Dursleys encourage reading at all!

Your portrayal of Dumbledore is great, too! It's such a refreshing change to see him acting calmly, using his brains and being open-minded, as opposed to the usual Dumbledore-bashing we find in so many other Sirius-raised-Harry stories.

 Report Review

Review #47, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Gringotts Wizarding Bank

14th September 2013:
Another amazing chapter! I loved the level of detail, specially the description of the treasures in the Black family vault. Really enriches the story.
The characterization of Padfoot is fantastic - he wasn't one of my favourite HP characters to begin with, but after reading this story, he's gone to number 2 on my list, right behind Moony :D
He's just got the right balance between maturity and playfulness to be a good Godfather to Harry; he's honest with Harry, and can manage awkward situations with remarkable composure, while still being fun and has the ability to put Harry at ease. I guess the fact that he's still quite young at 29 helps too. And the fact that he calls Harry kiddo just melts my heart.
You're from Australia? Wow that's amazing! I'm in Aussie too for uni :D I promise that I will reread every chapter and review them all, even if it takes me 10 years to do it. I absolutely love this story.

 Report Review

Review #48, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Escape From Privet Drive

1st September 2013:
Great chapter! I've got a question: What exactly happens to the protection, now that Harry no longer calls Privet Drive home? Does it still continue due to the fact that Harry is not yet of age?

Author's Response: Thank you! :D Good question: the protection fades/ceases to exist. Harry has to consider it 'home' in order for it to work, so the spells are more or less non-existent at this point, despite the fact that Harry's underaged. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #49, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Prisoner

1st September 2013:
Hi there! I'm a new member and actually a need to review this story is what motivated me to create an account. I love this story. I am reading it for the second time. It's very well written, with no grammar errors (that I could spot, anyway :D) and has a smooth, even tempo. I was enthralled!

Just out of curiosity, are you British, or English-educated? Your style seems somewhat British.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you! :D In that case, welcome to HPFF! :D I'm so glad you're enjoying the story, and flattered that you think it merits a re-read! :)
I'm Australian, actually, and we're a bit of a mix of cultures here, so I suppose I've managed to channel the British side! :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>