Reading Reviews From Member: SilverDarkHorse
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: Aches And Pains

22nd September 2014:
Your update was quite late last night! I waited around for ages, but finally fell asleep :P

I believe that Sirius is alive. You've given us fair reason to think so in your information about how the veil works two chapters ago.

IMHO, killing Sirius off would be a great loss to your story. J.K. did so to deprive Harry of all father figures, and reinforce the "lone hero" ideal; as far as I can see, your story follows a different moral compass. I, for one, read the story ONLY because of Sirius and Remus - it's the best Sirius-and-Remus-are-actually-explored-to-their-full-potential story out there, and the loss of one or the other would make me stop reading the story pronto.

You've invested such a lot into Sirius, he's come such a long way, developed so well as a person throughout your series, that I refuse to believe that he's dead.

Moving on, McGonagall is so irritating. She wantonly refuses to see past the end of her nose. Bleh.

A pox upon the person of King. An even worse pox upon the person of Umbridge.

As ususal, your writing in those areas was superb. It was nice to see Florence again, too. I did feel, however, that the scenes with Remus and Harry could have been a little more emotional - the thought of losing your best friend/father would generate more angst than I felt the scenes displayed.

Other than that, it was brilliant. Please don't keep us waiting for ages (Serpent Sworn times, anyone?)but bring Sirius into the picture again, soon! Maybe an early update?

 Report Review

Review #2, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: King And Croaker

13th September 2014:
Hello there! Long time. I've spent this entire morning catching up on the story so far, and it's just as delightful as I always remembered.

The minute Croaker took Sirius into the Department of Mysteries, my spidey sense started tingling. I'm going to trust my instincts though, and say that Sirius is most certainly Not Dead. If you went to the trouble of resurrecting him after J.K killed him, only to end up offing him halfway through your book, it's a pretty poor lookout for us! So HE IS ALIVE.

I wonder who whispered to him from beyond the veil. James? Regulus? I would wish :P

Poor Snape, too. And poor Draco. He must be very frustrated.

Does Harry know yet that Sirius is "dead?" I guess unless Sirius found very soon in the next chapter, Remus will have to look after Harry - poor Harry! I can't bear to think of how he'll feel :'(

I would actually have felt much more sorry for Snape, but my quota of feels is thoroughly invested in Sirius.

Your ingenious (and cruel) penchant for cliffhangers is torturing me. Please give us a happy ending to next week's chapter - at least as a start to the mid-sem break :/

SO good to be back with a review! Sirius, I believe you are alive!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverDarkHorseMarius: The Tale of Martin Corner

11th June 2014:
Hello there! I saw your post asking for help with cricket, and as an obsessive cricket-freak, came here to scout out your stories :)

This one-shot was very enjoyable. A nice glimpse into Marius' life - and also a beginning to Michael Corner's line, I guess? It was well-written, but a bit more detail like fleshing out Professor Pendlebury's and Christopher's reactions to Martin wouldn't go amiss, I think.

Btw, you can spell cricket with a simple "c" :)

I've also added a reply with a few links on cricket to your forum post - I hope you'll find it helpful :) And there is another author here named Sheriff who is actually a cricket coach - so if you ask him he might help you out :)

All the best with your writing! I look forward to more cricket :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverDarkHorseSnake Bites: The Borthwick Ward

1st May 2014:
Hello again, and here is one of my promised reviews :)
You've described the action at the beginning vividly, I was able to visualize it as I read, so well done on that.

Now Charlie has a magical imprint? That certainly opens up a field of plot arcs. Should be interesting if you decide on a sequel.

Ha I love angry Greg! I would love to see a confrontation where Greg emerges victorious, but I certainly wouldn't want to be in the line of fire. Greg is rather mature for a twenty three year old.

Some more Lucas - I like him. It must be awful to have a brother like Kevin.

Thanks for the French-English translation at the end, as I am from a country where we don't learn French at all.

Lastly, how did you come up with the name "Borthwick" for the ward? I immediately thought of Scott Borthwick, legspinner for Durham :D

It was a brilliant chapter as always, and I'll be back soon to review some more :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for another review and glad you picked out the description and scene setting as I know that's one thing I've tried to work on in recent chapters as my stories can often end up being heavy on dialogue and reaction and light on atmosphere.

Charlie's magical imprint is a definite candidate for experiment with a sequel or perhaps a one-shot (Snakes and Ladders needs finishing before I start any new epics!) as I'd like to explore Charlie and Connor's next steps in coping with the magical world.

This Lucas has helped a good deal with the characterisation of the younger Lucas and vice versa. I can definitely see the little boy fascinated by healing spells becoming a Healer on leaving school. Also I think Greg gets angrier before too long.

Finally, yes, that's pretty much it, although "leg spinner" is pushing it. It's named after the wizarding relatives of Scott Borthwick who placed a Confundus charm of such strength on the England selectors that they got young Scott confused with an Test-standard cricketer. Sadly it also convinced them that Jade Dernbach was good enough, too.

Thanks again

Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #5, by SilverDarkHorseSnakes and Ladders: Water Leapers

28th April 2014:
Hello :)
Nice to see you're back again. I enjoyed your story Snake Bites very much, although I haven't got around to reviewing it yet - sorry about that.

I love Greg's character. You've done a good job of changing people's perceptions about Slytherin through him. I'm intrigued by Lucas Brand as well - he has the potential to become an important character in your universe.

I like this twelve year old Greg, but I like the twenty three year old Greg better!

Although this would be better said in a review for SB, I really love the dynamic between Greg and Dan. It's more a fraternal bond, I feel, than a student-teacher relationship. In your chapter Stygian Flames, when Greg is trapped inside the house, Dan says "and it's my...my teacher who's trapped". Am I right in thinking that he wanted to say "brother" or "father" or perhaps "friend" in place of teacher, as hinted by the pause?

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for the review; always nice to have some positive unsolicited feedback! Greg's very much the heart of my universe and having written 2.3 books about him now his character is really starting to get the depth. You can also spot a little bit of reverse foreshadowing with Lucas' interest in healing spells leading to his future employment at St Mungo's.

You'd also be pretty much spot-on with your observations about Dan and Greg in Stygian Flames, though I'm not really sure Dan knew what he want to say in the heat of that particular moment. I look forward to the full review of Snake Bites that follows... ;-)

I'm not sure how much writing I'll get done over the next few months as the cricket season will kick off and dominate my life - but I will keep chipping away at Snakes & Ladders... I've managed three paragraphs of the next chapter so far, but I know what's going to happen!

Thanks again
Sheriff


 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverDarkHorseThe Function of a Rubber Duck: Discovering the Function

29th March 2014:
Hello :)

I loved this one-shot! Very sweet. The Arthur-Ginny interaction was heartwarming, as it is not something we see much of in canon.

I like the analogy of Charlie's dragon toy. Adds interest to the story, as do the little details like Molly's fluffy pink bathrobe and matching slippers.

You've got the same great eye for detail and ability to invoke emotions that I noticed in your story about the Potters' wedding, but this story is much better paced, and is altogether more successful.

Great job!

Cheers, mate :)

Author's Response: First off - so sorry for the late response! I had a mini vacation.
And thank you so much for your review! I am particularly proud of this one shot, and it's been received very well. I like it so much more than The Wedding, which was really just my attempt to write something Marauders era.
I'm glad you liked the bit about Charlie's dragon and the interaction between Arthur and Ginny! I wanted to make it interesting, as it is so short, so I'm glad those both worked.
Thank you again very much for your review, it makes my day to see people enjoying what I write. :)

-the ghost of his last laugh


 Report Review

Review #7, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: The Professor's Intervention

29th March 2014:
Hello :)

This is a very late review because uni has been throttling me, but here goes...

I loved the Harry - Ron - Draco interaction. Particularly Ron, you've done an amazing job with him! I absolutely love the way you introduced Morgana and James' card collection - it was from Brothers, if my memory is correct?

Erh Hydrus is an awful, irritating little prat. So Ron caught Hermione when she was about to fall...do I sense a bit of Romione in the making? I like the way Harry and Ron defended her - a glimpse of the golden trio :)

Classic Moony - a sixth sense for detecting trouble! Hydrus is quite the coward behind his arrogant demeanour. I also loved the way you've brought "Brothers" into this again, with the silver skin because Reg was so pure :P That sort of small detail really enriches the story.

It was nice to have a bit of time in Moony's head - you haven't given us much of that lately. I do think however, that Remus' character development so far is a tad slow in comparison to Sirius', for example. I have not seen any marked development after he got his act together and asked Dora out. You've shown clearly how Remus sees Harry's and James' differences. I feel that Remus could be a bit more assertive, however.

Poor Harry - it's a reality check for him to rediscover the fact that he is famous :(

Frankly, I'm not fussed about Draco's sorting. My personal opinion is that he would do well in Ravenclaw, but I do know that you'll have an amazing plot arc for him regardless of the house you choose for him!

I'm more worried about Harry's and Ron's sorting. I pray that they are in Gryffindor! We could all do with some golden trio awesomeness :)

I missed Sirius in this chapter. Hopefully he'll make an appearance tomorrow - and how about a bit of Sirius/Marlene soon, please?

Altogether a brilliant chapter. Looking forward to more.

Cheers, mate :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SilverDarkHorseWide Awake : I Shot the Sheriff

18th March 2014:
Hello :)

I first came across this story some months ago on Mugglenet fanfiction, and read it with interest, but lost track of it after some time. Imagine my delight when I accidentally stumbled across it here!

I love your characterisation of James, and of Peter. The sensitive side of the former is something that you have written well. I also appreciate the fact that you've given Peter a bit of a brain and an ability to think - without making him the usual moron :)

I look foward to reading the rest of the chapters, and a sequel, should you decide to write one!

Author's Response: Hello!

Are you sure you read it on Mugglenet fanfiction? I don't think I've posted this story there ... maybe you're thinking of fanfictiondotnet? Whatever, that's beside the point. Thank you for coming back :DDD

James is such a little goofball, but I love it. I feel like a lot of fics portray him as "boy wonder" but I wanted to show his sensitive side. And Peter, oh Peter! He's probably my favorite character to write, simply because he hides in plain sight. If you continue to read on to the latest chapters, you'll see what I mean ;)

I've actually decided not to write a sequel, but believe me, this story will still be action packed and full of drama. There will a JK style epilogue, tho.

Thanks for the review, I really appreciate it XD


 Report Review

Review #9, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: Aboard The Hogwarts Express

16th March 2014:
Hello :)

This is a very short review as I bunked my schoolwork for this, and should be getting back to it soon :(

Padfoot was great - ever the parent. Brilliant advice - cause trouble, but don't get caught! You've shown the softer, less secure side of him so well here - it's evident that he is going to miss Harry very, very much :')

It was lovely to see Ron - he's one of my favourites, and you've done a great job with him :) I'm so happy that he and Harry are friends. I always loved the golden trio.

No Blaise yet? I'm sure we'll be seeing him at the sorting, though?

Draco is an interesting character. If I were Ron, I would not have been able to abstain from punching his face in :P

Looking forward to the sorting - I do hope Harry is in Gryffindor! I think it suits him best :)

Brilliant chapter, as usual, and I eagerly await more. Oh well, back to shadow calculations for me now :(

Cheers, mate! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: A Place To Belong

9th March 2014:
Oooh yippeee! Almost Hogwarts :D I really enjoyed this chapter, particularly the last part :P

Lovely to see Ron again. Your portrayal of him is absolutely smashing. His self-esteem issues were very evident. No Ron, you are NOT nothing - you're brilliant, empathetic, genuine and an awesome person! And Ginny was very well done, too - not just a stupid fangirl like many make her out to be, but a complex person. The twins' mockery of Percy was hilarious :D I feel a stab of sympathy for ol' Weatherby there.

Blaise would fall right into Slytherin house - except for the fact that love, and not ambition, is his driving power. (But of course, there were Snape and Regulus who had plenty of loving abilty too). I still think Ravenclaw would suit Blaise well. Oh Giovanna is a cold-blooded murderess - that part of the story was particularly chilling.

The interaction between Hermione and her mother was heartwarming! I can identify with it - both my parents were anxious when sending their only daughter off to uni in a far-away country :'(

Looks like Snape's lessons are paying off on Draco :) I've come to enjoy your portrayal of Narcissa - particularly the dynamic between Narcissa and Snape.

And of course the Marauders - MY FAVOURITE PART YAYYY :D Hmmm looks like Remus is going to have some fun :P I hope Sirius will drop by to visit often - I'm dying for more Remus-Sirius banter :)

As usual, I enjoyed the little details - Hagrid carrying the Marauders, Padfoot's doggy breath, Blaise's bolognaise etc, really livens up the story :)

Can't wait for next week! I presume the sorting will be either next week or the week after?

Cheers, mate! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by SilverDarkHorseAdvising Sirius: Chapter 1

8th March 2014:
Hello :)

I REALLY enjoyed this! The last line was perfect :D Aaaah Blackinnon! Write more and more and more and more, please - especially Sirius/Marlene ones!

Author's Response: Hello :)

Glad you enjoyed this one too, I shall see about the more thing...

Thanks for the review
LR
x


 Report Review

Review #12, by SilverDarkHorseConsoling Sirius: Consoling Sirius

8th March 2014:
Hello :)

I really enjoyed this one-shot. A refreshing take on the famous "day-after".

I'm a huge Sirius/Marlene fan, so it was a treat to read such a well-written story. I like the idea of Marlene being a Ravenclaw - people generally sort her into Gryffindor.

The process of Marlene talking to and consoling Sirius is easy to read, methodical, and makes a lot of sense - in fact, it is comforting to the reader as well as Sirius! :)

Good job, and keep it up :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, I very much enjoyed writing it for your pleasure :P

I've role-played versions of her in both houses, this was just the one I rolled with for this fic and it works quite well for me, so I'm glad it does for you too!

Thanks for the review :D
LR
x


 Report Review

Review #13, by SilverDarkHorseThe Wedding: I Do

7th March 2014:
Hello :)

I enjoyed this one-shot. Jily is my OTP, and I am always on the lookout for new stories.

James, Lily and Sirius were all well written. I thought a little more Remus would not have been amiss.

The little details at the beginning - the sweat on James's forehead, the leaves falling from the trees etc were lovely, and add interest to the story. The latter half of the tale would benefit from a few similar touches.

The tempo at the end is a bit rushed - pace it out a bit more, and perhaps you could switch between different POVs? It would add interest to an already good story.

Overall, it is quite good for a first attempt. Keep it up, and you could throw out some great one-shots soon!

Cheers, mate :)

Author's Response: Hi!
First off, thank you so much for the review. It seriously brightens my day.

I tried so hard to write them well! I'm glad you noticed, and that I even got close haha. And I wanted to write Remus in a little bit more. When I had the idea, he wasn't in it at all. But what's a marauder wedding without Moony? I agree that he could've been in it more, but I really wanted to focus on James in particular.

The ending is where I sort of got lost...because I wanted it to be relatively short, which it definitely is, and the tension is the main focus. But looking back, I think I might edit a bit, especially with description.

Thank you so much for your critique! I find it very helpful, and I'll tinker with the ending. And thank you for even reviewing at all. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: The Break-In

2nd March 2014:
A brilliant chapter! Three cheers for the Remus-Sirius bits :D

I was excited to see the birthday Harry scene! At least he got his letter. Incidentally, it is my birthday too today - 21 years old and still no letter for me! I REFUSE to be a muggle :'(

The exchange with Draco was a nice contrast to that same scene in cannon. Also, the comparison between Hydrus and Draco - one like Lucius, the other like Narcissa - was interesting. Did Harry's face fall because Draco's statement came across as an insult to the Weasleys?

An inferius goblin - that is very dark and scary. At least Brown didn't hash anything up this time.

Poor dear Moony. Was it Quirrel trying to dispose of Remus so he can bag the Defence job at Hogwarts? Or kill Remus and use his hair for Polyjuice and pretend to be Remus teaching DADA...

I admit it was rather odd at first to think of Dora and Remus sharing...What was the rude hand gesture Remus did? Did he flip Sirius the finger or something similar? And Dora hitting her head on the bed side table - that exchange with Sirius was hilarious.

The Animagi-Inferius-mind-link explanation was enlightening.

Overall, an awesome chapter! Well, considering that uni starts again this week, hope you'll have time to read and respond to reviews :)

Cheers, mate, and here's to many more exciting chapters :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: New Names

27th February 2014:
Well, here's a very late review :)

Engaging chapter, as usual. Hermione was brilliant - all eager to learn and discuss the magical world :) Harry is such a careless diddums - errrhhh... muggle-ish indeed :P Poor Sirius; he is one heck of a brilliant Auror, and his godson has to slip-up so!

Blaise appears to be holding his own rather well. Interestingly Slytherin characteristics, I would say. He and Draco seem to have a bit of common ground. I also think both of them would do well in Ravenclaw - they are observant, and their thought processes are very advanced for eleven-year-olds.

Overall, the sorting scene should be interesting - I am definitely looking forward to that!

Were Astoria and Draco the cannon couple you were referring to? I know you can't give anything away yet :P Just a rhetorical question :) I did see smacks of Harry/Ginny too, earlier on (when Harry keeps Ginny's drawing in his pocket during the Padfoot-trial scenario)...I am rather fond of the cannon couples, I hope you would consider them :) And I absolutely despise Draco/Hermione - it just seems so very wrong...

Crabbe eating soup with his fork - hahaha!! I am ashamed to admit I tried that out :P Didn't work out too badly :P

Of course, I missed Sirius and Remus very badly this chapter. However, even if you spend the next ten years writing ONLY about them, I would still ask for more :D !

I forgot to ask earlier, in the final chapter of Innocent, what is the dream that Sirius has? The one he "makes a conscious decision" not to tell Marlene about?

Spiffing chapter! I eagerly await to devour more-and more-and more... :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverDarkHorseFurry Little Problem: Moony

25th February 2014:
Hello :)

Aaaah this was so sweet! I loved the as-sertive Remus - would love to see more of him in Initiate *hint*. It was also incredibly cute when he began to cry haha :')

Peter is an insensitive jerk...James and Sirius have an inordinate amount of patience to put up with him! I would have chucked him out of the window ages ago!

I take it that this is the Aunt Catherine that Sirius impersonated in Innocent? I love that kind of throwback :D

The interplay when Remus snipes about Sirius' family was interesting. Oof.

Skateseer...Shakybeer...how did you come up with those names?!

This was Brilliant! I would love to read something focusing on Sirius and Mr. and Mrs. Potter. I'm sure you'd write it excellently :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: Keira And The Kettle

23rd February 2014:
I enjoyed the return of Moony and Padfoot - thank you for that! I missed them both far, far too much.

Nice to see Keira again. She is a lovely addition to the story. What news of Harry's scar? Did Sirius eventually speak to Dumbledore about it?

I like your impression of Hermione! I would love to see Hermione interacting with Ron - I have a feeling it would be very interesting :)

I would definitely accuse Brown of stupidity - what idiot calls Sirius a civilian *snort*. However I do agree that he is not unintelligent!

Very heartwarming when Moony introduces himself as "Patrick's" brother. He used his own second name too - nice :D And his "teacher" voice - haha, good practise for the coming year at Hogwarts.

Three cheers for Marlene! You've done a great job of showing her softer side. Haha trust Padfoot to be nervous :P Hoping to see lots more of their interaction soon!

Also, could we have some Padfoot-and-Moony teasing and banter, please? I mean real, substantial verbal banter. I guess Moony can do excellently in that department, and we haven't seen much of that from him.

I enjoyed the chapter as always, but this time, something seems a little...off. There were a few mistakes - HarryHarry in paragragh 6, Sirius and Hemsley instead of Sirius and Brown in Knockturn Alley, and a few dodgy punctuation marks. The tone of the chapter seems more hurried than usual. Only very subtle differences, but the overall impression is a wee bit off.

Sorry that this review is rather odd, and I didn't review last week's chapter yet; I'm just back in Adelaide after two days of air travel, and am very jetlagged and stiff.

Looking forward to next week's chapter. Cheers, mate! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by SilverDarkHorseInitiate: Family And Friends

14th February 2014:
Yay! Thank you for the very early update! Brilliant first chapter to start off with.

I love the small details that bring out Sirius's development as a parent - worrying about safety on the staircase, Harry's spelling test etc :D

Yay for Remus - he is now a Professor! This changes things with regard to the Philosopher's Stone, does it not? I hope nothing bad happens to Remus - I'm worried about the jinx on the DADA job. It would actually break my heart if something happens to him :'(

So Sirius is going on looong coffee breaks with Marlene, is he? :P And he hasn't told Remus about it? Either he is acting like a sneaky teenage boy or there's a breakdown in communication between the two Marauders - and that thought makes me uneasy :( I hope the Sirius/Marlene dynamic quickens up, we've all waited ages for them :P

I forgot to mention it earlier but Brown is getting comeuppance for that "civilian" jibe - muahaha!

Also very randomly, I remember Sirius drew a picture of Padfoot peeing on the Serpent Sworn symbol - so ironic in hindsight considering they were who gave him his job back! :D

A great first chapter. Would you fill us in on what happened in the interim between Innocent and this? I would love to know!

Cheers mate! (thought it was about time I used Australianisms) :D

Author's Response: You're welcome - I thought it would soften the blow of finishing "Innocent" so suddenly. :P I'm glad you liked it. :)

Haha, lots of people have picked up on that. :)

He is, yes! :D Yes, they certainly will! :P No promises; the curse is very much intact. :S You'll just have to wait and see how things pan out. :)

Haha, yes, he is. :P No - things are still quite fragile between him and Marlene (they'll show up again soon) and he's trying to keep it to himself. :P Remus (rightly) would mock him about it as payback for everything Sirius has said about Tonks. :P It's not a breakdown in communication, it's just Sirius being sneaky. :P

Haha, yes, he is, and excellent memory! :P I was wondering if anyone would pick up on that. :P

Haha, not a huge amount happened, which is why I chose to cut things off where I did; it was mostly Sirius settling into his job, Remus and Tonks spending time together, and with the boys, Harry at school, and working on his incantation, Draco still with Snape, etc. But there will be references to things that happened. :)

You're welcome, mate! :D

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #19, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Breached Borders

14th February 2014:
Firstly, congratulations on this remarkable novel. I enjoyed each and every chapter, though you did give me a heart attack over the Remus affair! I've come to regard your books as cannon. The development of your writing style is very clear, and I pray it will be even better in the future.

The development of your characters was wonderful - Sirius being the masterpiece, of course. Strong, active, sensitive and deep and of course, deliciously Sirius :P Very satisfying. Nice takes on Harry and Draco, too. Marlene and Dora were great. I would have liked a bit more exploration of Remus - but then, I can never get enough of him :D I loved your empathetic Ron, and hope to see more of him. You've persuaded me to view Snape with neutrality too :P I loved your OCs; Matt Rosier was brilliantly done, and Keith and Tom Durban were good.

The plots were riveting, the details well thought out and informative. (In this chapter, was the skeleton either Bloody Baron or Helena?)

I still have 60-something chapters to review - so expect them well into the next decade :P But I promise I WILL do them all :D

So: Onwards and Upwards!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D I'm glad. :) Haha, yes, a lot of people were very worried about Remus. :P Aww, really?! :D I must admit, sometimes I forget what I've written, and what's in the originals. :P I hope so too. :)

He certainly was. :P I've really loved watching him grow as a person, and as a guardian. :) That's the beauty of the sequel; more time for them all to change and develop. :) And Remus will certainly feature in the sequel. :) And, some of the OCs will definitely return. :)

It's wonderful you think so. :) It was Helena - well guessed. :)

Haha, I look forward to them. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Fallen Soldier

2nd February 2014:
OMG OMG OMG I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE YOU! YOU ABSOLUTELY MINDF*D ME! :D

Auror Sirius Black - Three cheers!!! :D :D

When I saw the heading "Fallen Soldier" my heart leapt into my mouth :O

When I came to the end of the chapter, I ran through the house screaming - my parents now think they have a crazy hoyden for a daughter. I've been on tenterhooks this entire week waiting for this chapter!

I am incredibly happy that I trusted Remus - you know, it being a "test" after all, so he musn't help Padfoot to cheat :P

Sirius and Marlene hugged - yesyeysyesyes!!! Things are moving on. I am extremely interested in Harry's reactions to what may be yet to come.

So Florence is alive? Great! Scrimgeour is pure brilliance.

I vaguely remember wondering in a review if this was not some elaborate plot to make Sirius an Auror, then dismissing it as too farfetched. Grrr. Does this mean I am a good detective, anyhow? :D

And the bit of maraudering at the end was a lovely characteristic way to finish off the chapter.

So Moody took Polyjuice, it was not an imposter :P You deserve a medal for pure genius! How long did it take you to work out the finer details of the plot?

Luckily for me it is the summer holidays, so I can afford to spend a rather large amount of time Mooning about this story. I don't know what I'll do when I fly back to Adelaide for uni in March!

This was definitely one of the best chapters you have ever written! Hope to see many, many more (even better) plotlines from you!

On a different note, how much more is left of this story? When Harry goes to Hogwarts, will the onus shift away from the two Marauders a bit more? I hope not - they are my favourites, much more so than even Harry. Do you plan a sequel? I hope you do - I could read your stories for an eternity.

Also, are you on Ao3 - Archive of our Own? If you are not, would you consider putting your stories up there as well? They have some very good quality fics; all your stories would make fine additions to that collection.

And finally, thank you for your replies to our reviews. It was wonderful to hear back, and to know you take time to read them all.

Looking forward to the next update, and maybe some Padfoot-Moony-Harry or Marlene/Sirius and Remus/Dora? :D

Author's Response: Firstly, wow, what an incredibly long review! :) I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. :)

Haha, yes, he's done well. :P

It was a cruel chapter, but if I'd named it "Auror Black" it would have given things away. :P So I went with the ominous one, thinking it could refer to Marlene's 'death' or Tonks pretending to be Sirius at the end. :P

Hahaha, sorry to keep you waiting. :P

Yes - good instincts to trust him; it was very interesting to see how people reacted to the possibility of Remus' betrayal. :)

Yes, they hugged. :P I really thought this was a good opportunity to force them together, and make some progress there. It'll be slow, but I think most of the awkwardness will be gone after this. :)

She is alive - she'll be back in the next chapter. :) And Scrimgeour is a clever character, yes. :P

Haha, it was a good guess; I did drop hints from the beginning about it being a set-up, but I also worked very hard to try to cover that up, and make it seem unlikely. :P So yes, excellent detective skills. :P

I thought there had to be some family time after the whole battle/conspiracy ordeal, and I also thought I needed to give everyone a chance to warm toward Remus again. :P

Haha, he did, yes. :P Only Moody could have given Dora that speech to send her away with the other trainees. :P Aww, thank you. :) The bit with Moody was actually something I made up on the spot. :P Other bits I had planned. :)

Haha, it's summer holidays for me too, haha, which means I can dedicate more time to writing, haha. :P You go to uni in Adelaide?! Which one are you at?! I'm at the Uni of Adelaide, haha! :P

Aww, thank you! :D There's more to come, I promise! :D

Of this story... one chapter, haha. :P I'll start on the sequel 'Initiate' pretty much immediately, and likely pick up in June/July, just before school starts. :) The POVs will be where interesting things are happening; obviously Harry will get a bit of page time because he's learning and making friends, etc, but Sirius is an Auror now, and will have a very interesting (and rather personal) case to chase up, and Remus will have his own plot arc. Characters like Marlene and Dora will show up too, so don't worry that I'll leave the adults out; they'll have plenty of appearances. :)

I'm not, no; I've heard a bit about Ao3, but not branched out there yet, though I have gone to FF,net. :P Maybe it's time to spread again, haha. :) Aww, thank you. :)

You're very welcome. :) I get so many fantastic questions, and I enjoy answering them; it's incredible to see how engaged readers get with my work. :)

Definitely some Marauder-Harry stuff, and definitely a bit of Tonks, but I'm not sure about Marlene yet. :P You'll see on Sunday. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #21, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Comrades In Arms

25th January 2014:
Thank you for the early update. A superbly written action chapter as usual.

What on earth IS it with Remus? What does he mean all for the best? He is my very favourite character so I cling to the scant hope that he is a hero and not a villain. If he turns out to be a rotter I'll be devastated :'(

Next the Sirius/Marlene dynamic is quite kinetic at the moment- yay! Sirius is bothered about the change in her patronus which is sweet. But tis the thought of Him that enables her to conjure one :D

Kreacher knows what is happening, eh? "Master is wise to be cautious but not of his friends" hmm maybe I WILL trust Remus.

Well that's an end to Florence too, then? A sad storyline. I feel that it is a tad incomplete but maybe you'll have some surprises along the way. Florence saving Tonks was very touching!

What was it that horrified Sirius so much? I am dying to find out! His thought processes, along with Marlene's were very well written.

Harry's mouth was set into a grim line - does he suspect Remus? I hope we find out soon.

A great chapter overall, I hope you throw some light on the mysteries with your next update. I even dream of these things at night!!!

Author's Response: You're very welcome! :D Aww, thank you! :D

Exactly that; he might not be right, but he thinks his actions are justified... :S

They are, haha; they've always been very good together, and this sort of situation really brings out their teamwork. :) Haha, ah, so you picked up on that? :P

Kreacher was acting strangely in this chapter, but whether he actually knows what's happening or not... I won't say. :P

She's had a very sad story. :( But she redeemed herself (at least in Tonks' eyes) by saving her. :S

Haha, you'll find out in the next chapter. :P Thank you. :)

Harry will appear in the next chapter... :)

I will; I think I've probably tortured everyone with cliffies and vague answers for long enough. :P Aww. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #22, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Trapped In The Training Room

23rd January 2014:
I'm a bit late with this review, but I hope you like it, all the same :)

First up - Yay Marlene and Sirius! This is goodgoodgood!!

I have to say that I do agree with GinnyPotterForever - I thought about James Potter immediately when you mentioned hazel eyes! However, as this is a sequel to your White Flags, it's a pretty safe bet that James is dead... I can't think of anyone else with dark hair, hazel eyes and tanned skin.

Dora needs to trust Sirius more. And as for anybody who calls Sirius a "civilian", they need a good punch in the face :P

And what on earth DOES Remus have to do with the Serpent Sworn? He says he is sympathetic to their ideas; he's a good person and I trust his judgement for now so I still think he is a good guy. But it's time for some answers!

The action was very well written. I hope Sirius doesn't get seriously injured, or Marlene, either. Looking forward to the next chapter as usual, and I do hope you give us answers :)

Author's Response: That's all right; I'm late with the response. :) And I appreciate it very much indeed! :D

Haha, yes, I thought it was about time I forced those two together again. :P

So you thought it too? :P It's not him, sadly; I wish I could bring James back, though. :S

She does, but remember she's young, and, while she's good friends with Sirius again, she grew up hearing stories of how reckless he could be. She'd trust him with her life, but she's a Hufflepuff, and feels safer with the group. :) Haha, yes, he's definitely not a civilian. :P

I can't say! :P He is sympathetic, and he's doing what he thinks is right... but it's not looking good, is it? :S Soon, I promise! :P

Thank you! I really enjoyed writing the change of pace. :) No promises, I'm afraid... :(
It's up now! :D
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Dystopian December

11th January 2014:
Firstly, did I mention how much I love you? An early update - you spoil us all sooo much! Thank youu =) Hope you had a great holiday, and that your New Year was wonderful, too.

Happy to see that Padfoot and Moony have reconciled. They both needed that very badly.

Next. you surprised me completely with Sirius's reaction to Harry's escapade. You had Harry's heedless hero-mode and incoherence down pat. Sure, I expected Sirius to be worried, maybe a little exasperated; but not to be so incredibly calm, articulate and well...authoritative. It was great - I loved it! I didn't expect him to punish Harry either, but it was wholly deserved. Never thought Sirius was a line-giving type of guy, though :P The touch of humour was exactly right; "Poor frail Mooney and brilliant dear Godfather Padfoot". It was vintage Sirius, and the much needed lightening touch to his authority.

Most Sirius-raise-Harry fics have Sirius as either overly strict or a complete pushover. This one is just perfect.

The episode where Moony's insecurity comes out when he thinks Harry saw him through the mirror was a super bit of imagery.

Dumbledore's visitor seems like the one at your first meeting of the SS. Cool, calm and rather satirical.

Dora-the-snowwoman was a nice touch.

To be frank, the sneakoscope incident scared me.

Finally, I love your portrayal of Sirius more everyday. We've seen him as a father, warrior, Auror, detective and now an authority figure. He really got through to Harry this time! I hope you keep it up. Snape's development is awesome as well, but I think Remus is a little lacking in that aspect. He was coming along well, but dropped off a bit recently. Would love to see some in-depth exploring there, too.

A splendiferous chapter. When is your next update? I am sitting on hot coals till then, so pleease have mercy on me and update soon!

Author's Response: Aww. :) Haha, you're very welcome; you deserve it! :D It was, thank you. :)

They did; things were getting strained between them. :S

Thank you; Harry's still similar to canon in that respect but he's younger, so I had to try to make his reasoning and responses seem younger, without being too dramatic or immature. :P It was tricky, so I'm glad you think I managed. :)
Sirius has been through a lot of stressful situations, and shouting at Harry's never going to get him anywhere; once he knew Harry was okay, he went into full-parent-mode, and I think calm and authorative was exactly the right way to go about it. :) Haha, I didn't either, but Sirius can't use his own parents as role-models for discipline methods, and I don't think he's able to be quite as strict as the Potters were (they were dealing with teens by the time Sirius came along, not kids), and so he used his only real frame of reference; the staff at Hogwarts. :P I agree, it definitely lightened the mood, which was sort of the aim. :)

I know. :P I can't see Sirius as too strict - he's too fun-loving, and frankly, too reasonable. :P And I have too much respect for Sirius to make him a pushover. :P I'm glad you like my take.

Originally, I had the idea that Remus wouldn't even go, because he thought that he was what Harry'd seen, but I liked it better this way; it didn't take the focus off Harry and Sirius, but Remus and Sirius also got to be all Maraudery together again. :P

It was the same person - well picked. :)

Haha, I'm glad you liked her. I have fun coming up with ideas for her appearance. :P

It freaked me a bit too; I didn't plan that; it literally went into the chapter as a last minute thing. :P

Aww. :) I like him for that exact reason; he's so versatile, but doesn't really change any of his key traits to do so. :) I will keep it up! :D
Haha, I'm having fun with Snape, too; it's nice to show a less evil side. :P
Remus has dropped off a bit; mainly it's because I'm likely to give things away if I spend too much time in his head and I don't want to risk that. :P He'll have some time soon, though, don't you worry! :)

Thank you! :D As always, Sunday is the official update day, but it's always possible I'll be early. :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #24, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: Suspicion And The Scar

29th December 2013:
Well, Mr. Remus John Lupin ruined Christmas week for me. I am all impatience to see where this is heading. Is he sympathetic to werewolf rights or something similar? I hardly think he would be a real dark arts supporter. I hope somebody gives him a good smack upside the head.

Poor Harry, he must be incredibly scared. So he's got his "saving people thing" on has he? I think I am most interested to see Sirius's reactions to Harry when he finds the boy.

And poor dear Padfoot. Give him a hug from me. Deserted by both his best friend abd godson - this chapter really broke my heart!

Enjoy your holiday, and hope you have an awesome New Year!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry to hear that. :( I can't give anything away about Remus, I'm afraid. :S

He does; it's not canon, but Harry's saving-people-thing is still here. It'll be interesting to have them reunited, that's for certain. :S

I know. :( He's having a bit of a rough time at the moment. :S

I have a great time, thank you! :D I hope you enjoyed your New Year as well. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #25, by SilverDarkHorseInnocent: The Quest For Answers

16th December 2013:
Oookay - you have me utterly bamboozled this time, and incredibly excited too. So, the obvious choice is that the SS is some sort of Voldemort organisation that was active during the first war.

But then:
1) why would Remus be reluctant to talk to Sirius?
2) Unless Scrimgeour told Remus that it was dangerous for Sirius, and he doesn't want to worry Sirius about it. But that doesn't sound like Remus!
3) But it explains why Harry calmed down when he was "foisted" on to Remus, if Remus told him.

Snape's hesitating makes me think he DOES know something.I get a feeling that Narcissa knows something too!

From Dumbledore's info we know the following (and I agree with Delusionist that he maybe keeping his cards close to his chest):

1) They are talented
2) Have a good level of organisation
3) A reasonably large membership

So if Sirius talks to someone that Mad-eye trusts, wouldn't the most likely person be Dora? And indirectly, that ties Remus into it, too. Urgh I am going in circles!

The conversation between the two SS members offers much information too.

The seated man "king on a throne" is
1)Of a high standing (Sounds like Lucius!)
2)Has a dry wit and sense of humour
3)A strange sense of fairness? or an ability to admit the truth(!)
4)Keeps his cards close to his chest

But if they were Death Eaters, they wouldn't worry about anybody getting hurt, not even their lot, would they?

And who are these trustworthy sources? Rattler?( He looked cheerful the day Scrimgeour got the letter), Prewett? Dawlish? Umbridge?

Oh no! They coudn't have inperiused Remus, could they - werewolves aren't afraid of the dark, right? My mind is running crazy...

And "you of all people" to be afraid of the dark? Does that give us any hints? I am dying of curiosity here!

All for Black, after all? That sounds like some twisted sort of humour! I hope neither Sirius or Remus get hurt - that would just kill us all, I think!

My mind is going crazy, and I'll probs dream about this at night! Awesome job, and I am absolutely dancing with impatience for next Sunday!

Author's Response: Haha, yes, I've been very careful about what information on the SS I've let lose so far... :P I'm glad to hear you're excited though! :D I am too; it's (hopefully) going to be intense. :)
It would be the obvious answer, yes. :)
Interesting ideas, about Remus and about Narcissa knowing something, but I won't/can't confirm anything. Same goes for Dumbledore. :P
Yes, I did indicate that Sirius and Dora will have a bit to talk about soon, and yes, that does have the potential to involve Remus.
It does offer a fair bit, yes, but I daresay, the clues will be better spotted in hindsight.
Yes, the comment about "you of all people" is a clue...
No promises about them getting hurt, I'm afraid. :S
Haha, only a few days to go now!
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>