Reading Reviews From Member: milominderbinder
  
150 Reviews Found

Review #1, by milominderbinderEvent Three - Saving Teddy: Saving Teddy

1st October 2014:
QTR story search round four! dude, this was absolutely AWESOME. such an incredibly sweet slice of life. i hardly ever read fics which show Ron as a good dad, which is sad because I think he'd be amazing, just like he is here! this had me giggling out loud in several points of it - I love how he was hoping Hermione would come to the rescue! it's amazing how brave we can be when a little kid is depending on us, so I loved how you showed that here! you also write the kids really well which can be hard to do! yeah I thought this was just brilliant and adorable ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by milominderbinder21 Guns: 21 Guns

1st October 2014:
here for the QTR story search round four! i love this song so i was intrigued by this story. and god, you used it in the most heartbreaking way ever! i honestly don't think i will ever recover from Fred's death - it hit me harder than any other death in all the books. you totally captured how just impossibly sad i think all the Weasleys would be, and the way George has basically lost half of himself and will never be the same. you incorporated the song really well, too. i'm so sad - well done! haha ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by milominderbinderI Know: I Know

1st October 2014:
here for the QTR story search round four! oh, this was SO creepy, i loved it. it caught my eye on your page because i made the banner for it, obviously! but i never got around to reading it and i'm super glad i did now. you write mystery really well, i never would have predicted how this turned out! i thought it was going to be parvati who was crazy or evil, but finding out what ginny had done, even if it was an accident... it was so creepy and brilliantly written! well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by milominderbinderDudley Departing: A cup of tea

1st October 2014:
hiya! here for the QTR story search round four! i loved reading this ♥ for some reason i am really intrigued by dudley, and i love imagining that one day him and harry have a good relationship. i actually headcanon dudley ending up with a magical child one day, heehee. you captured the sweeter side of him so well without it being ooc, and i think you had harry's voice totally down too! well, done, this was fab :P ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by milominderbinderLife is Good: Life is Good!

1st October 2014:
hiya! here for the QTR story search round four! this was really sweet! after so much tragedy in canon and so much conflict in most things, it's nice to read a fic that's just so totally sweet and happy, haha! i really liked your OCs, they were lovely, felt very real and relatable. i also liked how you used some german in here - for some reason that felt like such a nice touch :D lovely read!

 Report Review

Review #6, by milominderbinderSolace: Comfort

30th September 2014:
QTR story search round three! oh, god, this just about broke my heart D: i rarely read about these characters so i wasn't sure how much this would affect me going in, but, wow, it was a LOT. the scene in the hospital, Wood was so hopeless but adorable and the incredible depth of his caring for her shone through so much, i kind of forgot that you had set up his death in the beginning and then it hit me doubly hard in the last section D: the line about her not needing mascara at the funeral, so she could be the woman he had loved, was incredible and hard-hitting. well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by milominderbinderDon't Mean a Thing: Not the One to Stay Around

30th September 2014:
hi darling! here for the qtr story search round 3! this was absolutely FAB! i have only read maybe one or two sirius/lily fics before and honestly i don't seek them out as they obviously never have a happy ending, which i struggle with as i'm a sap ;P but you really wrote the twisted way a relationship would work between them so well, i loved reading it. this gives such a darker side to sirius's 'playboy' ways that are often shown in fic, and i think that's so interesting and you pulled it off perfectly! well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by milominderbinderVinco Vici Victum: Conquer and Destroy

30th September 2014:
qtr story search round 3! wow, this was just... wow. SO creepy, i'm having a little trouble trying to figure out what to say. I mean, i absolutely LOVED it! i feel like writing mindless horror can be pretty easy but finding this perfect balance of creepy, plotty, evil is very difficult and you pulled it off perfectly! this has really changed my perspective of canon and it's so cool, wow. well done :O

 Report Review

Review #9, by milominderbinderFreshly Mown Grass: Freshly Mown Grass

30th September 2014:
qtr story search round 3! i mean, what can i say about your writing that hasn't already been said perfectly a hundred times before? you're amazing. this was just adorable, such a sweet little slice of life. i hardly ever read about ron and hermione but i should try to more as they're one of my favourite couples in the series ♥ you really captured hermione so perfectly here, which can be very hard to do! this was just gorgeous ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by milominderbinder( [ { final destination } ] ): the end

30th September 2014:
qtr story search round 3! holy wow, dude. just. holy WOW. i was drawn into this story by the gorgeous banner (love seraphine) since i'm shallow, but also the title and summary intrigued me so much. and i was NOT disappointed. your writing is incredible - it was so stream-of-consciousness here and even disjointed, but in a way that seemed to flow together and felt seamless. every single word choice felt deliberate and expertly chosen, like the story was an elaborate piece of art. this was a true pleasure to read; well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by milominderbinderThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: The Spice of Life

29th September 2014:
i am so addicted to this story! i wanna write a big long review but i am so ill right now so i don't think i can manage it ahahha, but reading this was a fab distraction from feeling terrible :P your Audrey is just one of my favourite characters ever really! i will write a proper review on the next chapter, when you post it ;) but yeah this was amazing as always ♥♥♥♥♥

~Maia

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for stopping by, I'm glad that you're still enjoying it so much. I wasn't sure how this reboot was going to do but you guys have been so amazing. :3

Aw, I hope you feel better soon! I know just how you feel, I have allergies right now and they are kicking my butt.

Audrey is my wild child, I really adore her and I'm happy that so many people like her too! Well, you can leave a chunky review for the second chapter but I'll have the fourth chapter posted pretty soon, right after one of my other stories is up. :D

Thanks so much!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #12, by milominderbinderHowling: Howling

29th September 2014:
QTR story search round two! wow, this was so amazing to read. i never read this era really so it felt extra interesting and fresh to me. this whole thing was so intense and gorgeously described, and i loved getting this little glimpse into history, which is a moment which actually affected huge amounts of canon! well done wow ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by milominderbinderslowly: and then all at once

29th September 2014:
hi sarah! here for the qtr story search round 2! this is GORGEOUS. i love tfios so i knew it would make me emotional even before i started reading, haha! you write that feeling of dizzy love so absolutely perfectly, i could feel every second of Lily's nerves and excitement and joy and terror - you're so talented! well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by milominderbinderHate: Andromeda Tonks

29th September 2014:
QTR story search round 2! wow, this was so, so sad ;n; at first i thought it was gonna be a story about them being at school together or something, but this was so much more emotional. i really felt andromeda's pain and it's crushing, you wrote all the emotion so well & it's really affected me! my heart is broken for andromeda ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by milominderbinderI Love You: Always Have, Always Will

29th September 2014:
QTR story search round two! wow, this made me so sad ;n; I sometimes forget how many feels i have about tonks and lupin but you just reminded me! you wrote this beautifully - i can't believe it's unedited! her conflicting feelings came across perfectly, and how you showed her love for teddy felt very powerful. well done! ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by milominderbinderEvent Three: Irreparable: Irreparable

29th September 2014:
QTR story search round two! i love stories which explore minor characters, and I've always wondered about Marietta, and I think you explored her amazingly here. the way the darkness of the war was the only thing which could get her to properly live again is such a beautiful thing to show, and feels very realistic. i loved this! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by milominderbinderErised Stra Ehru Oy: The Mirror of Erised

27th September 2014:
story search round 1! wow in so few words you managed to make this so meaningful. i've always wondered what he really saw in the mirror & i'm sure you've got it right here. you showed his grief perfectly. & i loved how you touched on how often he lies to people he cares about; it's such an interesting part of his character that isn't explored enough!

 Report Review

Review #18, by milominderbinderMy Brother: The Stages of Grief

27th September 2014:
story search round one! i thought i had read this back when i made the banner for it but apparently not so i'm so glad i read it now!! i love how you wrote this, you captured the horrible feeling of grief so perfectly in all these little moments, like a collage of Dennis's life after Colin's death, but you also showed the positive side of moving on which i loved ♥

Author's Response: Hey Maia! :D

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really happy that you liked the story! I enjoyed writing about the stages of grief, and I'm glad you think I did well. Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #19, by milominderbinderThe Marauder Years: An Expected Letter

27th September 2014:
story search round one! I really loved this! i started off my days in the HP fandom reading only marauders era stuff but it's been years since i read any now, and this was great. you captured what we know of lily & petunia as kids so well, and i loved how you portrayed their parents, and you actually made me feel bad for petunia! well done!

 Report Review

Review #20, by milominderbinderA Hundred Bloodied Sunsets: we will remember

27th September 2014:
story search round one. wow, i feel like i will never be able to say how much i loved this story in five lines. your writing is absolutely gorgeous, you managed to paint the most amazing picture of loss but also beautiful remembrance, shining a warm light on sadness. this really was just incredibly moving to read ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by milominderbinderTruth Will Out: Breathe.

27th September 2014:
story search round one! Wow this was great! I ADORE the book speak so i was super excited to read this seeing it was inspired by it. You really captured the dark feeling of helplessness about not being able to speak up when you want to, and that momentary relief that comes with finally speaking up even if only a little. this story was beautifully done! ♥

 Report Review

Review #22, by milominderbinderPlum Velvet: Blue Leather

26th September 2014:
oh my god, Laura, this story was incredible :O

My mind is so blown by the ending. The whole time I was convinced Hyperion was a vampire... all the little subtle hints you put in about it, like his old fashioned clothes and enchanting beauty and the marks he leaves on Albus which seem to put Albus in a daze... AND THEN YOU TURN AROUND AND PUT THAT INCREDIBLE TWIST AT THE END LIKE SERIOUSLY I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING AT ALL AND IT WORKED PERFECTLY

you are so, so talented. I could really feel the depths of Albus' obsession and every single piece of description was beautiful. In a strange way this reminded me of 'Lolita', just because of the twisted obsessive sort of love that's portrayed.

I have never seen Albus portrayed remotely like this before and it was beyond fascinating to read. Talk about an original idea!!

I am trying to hard to pick out favourite quotes but i just loved the whole thing!! Okay, here are a few lines I thought were especially amazing:

Light shimmers out of his skin, gold and silver in tandem, the heavens themselves focusing on him, clouds parting over his head to reveal sky, pale blue and clear. He is crowned in a beam of sunlight, untouched by the breeze and the faint shower.

^I mean, what a way to introduce someone! Albus' obsession is clear right from the start, and you show it so beautifully. This description really just created a vivid picture in my mind, of the most incredible shimmering light and Renaissance-painting type handsomeness, everything already seeming almost dream-like.

Apollo reborn, I think, and resolutely do not wonder what (or whom) that would make me.

^I just adored all the references to mythology throughout the whole thing, they worked perfectly and really reflected this idea that Albus is more obsessed with the idea of love, of having this perfect relationship, the kind you can only find in myths and fairytales - the fact that he' constantly comparing their relationship to fiction is so telling!

He is Dorian Gray in the flesh: the high-collared white shirt covering the base of his neck, sealed with a cravat tie and pin. Perhaps on others it would have looked old-fashioned, out of place, but on him it looks right, strangely fitting, as though he had been created out of wind and light, just as he is, with those clothes on his back.

^You honestly set up this kind of 'bluff' where I thought Hyperion was the vampire so well with every bit of this line (and so many others), so it made the twist at the end so incredibly, delightfully surprising

Oh, but I want that: the romance with the candles and flowers, the sighs and swoons and knights in armour on pure white stallions, who hold have determination for shields and love for lances. I want for nothing more than to be the Hephaestion to his Alexander, Patroclus to his Achilles, Hyacinthus to his Apollo.

^Again with the mythology comparisons which I just adore!

I remember the white tomb, how it shone incandescent in the sunlight and moonlight same, and how it had always comforted me to sit there and relay my life, good and bad, to the man I was named for, the man I had always admired, even loved, for putting my future before his own; I think of the small, arched tombstone in a graveyard with the other war heroes, under the branches of a yew tree, and how there had been something solemn about laying a lily there every year eight days after New Yearís.

^I honestly don't think I've ever seen a fic which shows Albus having a relationship with his namesakes. Even though he never knew them you manage to link them to him so beautifully here, and I feel like this paragraph was really intense for some reason. It also kind of foreshadowed the ending - showing the dead Albus and Severus, us not knowing the Albus we're reading about is kind of dead too! (In case you can't tell I'm still not over how amazing this ending was)

On his throat, the marks I have made, two identical punctures, are already starting to heal; I make sure to clean them thoroughly, reluctant to let him be when the taste of him still lingers in my mouth.


^This line sent shivers down my spine

Itís more permanent this way, less fragile than any ceremony could ever be, and I brush the curls from his brow and kiss him as I take him through to my room, prepared for this very moment with the blinds drawn shut and the cloyingly sweet scent of flowers to smother Deathís presence.

^ I think I've run out of ways to compliment you. This is just too amazing.

And oh my god I'm running out of characters remaining in the review box. First time that's ever happened. I just love love love this story, and I can't believe you wrote it for me, I am honoured to be linked to it! You're so wonderful ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

~Maia xxx

 Report Review

Review #23, by milominderbinderBackground Noise: The Curse of Carkett Close

15th September 2014:
teh

this is actually too amazing for words

okay just a teeny tiny review because i am skipping off to read the next chapter immediately! i can't believe it's taken me this long to read this - i've had it open on my computer for several weeks and never found a moment to read, but now i am here and i am never leaving this story, okay?

geez, i seriously thought i was gonna pee myself laughing at several parts of this. dry absurdity is my alltime absolute favourite kind of humour, and of course you pull it off perfectly, you stupidly talented author you. wow, i wish i could write humour like this.

i loved the nods to canon characters throughout it! the 'creevey' at the end was so hard hitting, it was insane. and!!! padma and lavender's daughter!!! i mean she would be fab already if she was just another OC, but the fact that she's /padma and lavender's daughter/ is just... it's beyond perfect. you made me ship those two so hard i will never recover from it tbh.

okay i'm heading onto the next chappie now!!

~Maia

Author's Response: asldkjlkasd Maia ♥

Gah, thank you for stopping by!! AND reading this completely daft fic of mine AND leaving such a lovely surprise review! I don't care how long it takes anybody to read my stories, I'm just so happy that my writing is being read at all! THANK YOU!

I am fairly sure that you'd be a brilliant humour writer if you ever give the genre a try! You're an absolutely fabulous writer! ♥

And yay for Padma and Lavender's daughter! I'm quite surprised at how excited some reviewers (including you) are about this. Now I really want to write Padma and Lavender again. Hmmm, maybe...the plunnies are beginning to form...

Ah, thank you so much, Maia! I hope you enjoy the next chapter! :)

-teh


 Report Review

Review #24, by milominderbinderSeek and Chase: Arithmancy (Jacob)

10th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for team blue again! Since I already read chapter one of this I thought it would be interesting to read the next chapter!

At first I didn't realise you had switched POV from Lily to Jacob, but it become obvious pretty quickly when he started talking about his old school! Haha. I think it was good that you switched to his POV because it removes the 'mysterious' air he had in the first chapter and instead lets us get to know him as a character. Seeing right into his mind is a great way to let the readers get to know him as a character.

Also, I really like him! I think you've got his characterisation spot on to make him seem very likable and sweet. I also liked how you portrayed his motivations - as in, he works hard at school and is prepared, but only because he wants a chance to play as much quidditch as he can! obviously him and Lily are going to bond over quidditch so it was nice hearing him talking about that!

It was nice that you gave them a bit of a relationship before quidditch started, though. Showing their bond through studying and bumping into each other a few times here will just give them more chemistry when the romantic sparks start flying, which I presume will happen through Quidditch! But it's nice that their whole bond won't be about quidditch, as it makes their relationship seem more rounded.

I also found it sweet that he wrote home to his parents! I think I said in my review of the first chapter that I didn't think many teenagers would sit down and write home a lot at school, so that really makes him stand out to me, and emphasises how nice he seems to be.

Also the end made me laugh. "Only 1500?" That's basically me, ahaha. Nobody understands that that's a normal length book for me! So I can definitely relate to Lily there... although I'm not athletic AND bookish. Just bookish. No athletics for me :P

Overall I think this was a really good chapter! It followed on really nicely from the first one and I liked your use of changing POVs. Well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi Maia! Did you know I've spent over a week trying to write this response? Apparently the writer's block I have for this story also extends to its reviews.

I thought it would be good to switch POVs every other chapter - people need to know who Jacob is. I personally have found that random guys coming up and taking an interest in me is creepy, so I needed to remove the 'random guy' part so people get to know who he is.

I'm glad you like Jacob. He was incredibly hard to write - apparently I don't understand teenage boys' brains - and all the time I spent trying to write that chapter is worth it if it comes across well. His personality was borrowed from a lot of people I know, including myself - he works hard so he can play Quidditch, I work hard so I can spend time on here.

The main purpose of the letter he wrote was to ask for the broom, but at least he added more stuff in, unlike some people. *cough* Lily *cough*

The section about the 1500 page book is directly from conversations I have with my friends ALL THE TIME, so it was relatively easy to write dialogue for it. Only one sport - ultimate Frisbee - for me. No others (can't play them with embarrassing myself.)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #25, by milominderbinderThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

8th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

Wow, this was SUCH an interesting start to this story! So much seemed to happen in these three scenes, but you wrote it really well so it wasn't overwhelming at all - it was as if three totally separate facets of the story were all portrayed here, if that makes sense, which means that we already have a rounded and relatable impression of Cress, as we've seen her in different settings. That's a really nice way to start a story.

Of course, though it seemed like there was a lot happening here, so much of it is still mysterious!! I was so shocked when you revealed it was Ginny who had gone missing - I assumed Hermione's 'best friend and family member' would be an OC, but this is so much more interesting. You really did an amazing job of creating suspense and intrigue by introducing the fact that it's Ginny who's missing, but then not going into much detail about it, so the whole thing is so mysterious!

I really like Cress. For starters, her name is great XD Also she already seems like a great character - she feels relatable, and something about her seems very practical and down-to-earth which is always a great aspect of a character and can make it seem much more realistic. I like how she made Hermione open up about Ginny, she is clearly good at her job and she knows what will help her on the case.

The very first scene was even more mysterious than the rest of it, of course, and I think that worked really well to add to the mystery of it all. I really want to know if that mysterious woman had something to do with Ginny's disappearance - I'm assuming she did!

Overall this was a super interesting first chapter, well done! I hope you like 'bloom' as much as I liked this! :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey, Maia! :D

I'm so happy you thought this was an intriguing start! I've read tons of mysteries since childhood, so I kind of knew that the first chapter has to have enough to intrigue the reader but not too much so that the mystery gets spoiled. I tried to do the same with this story and I feel like it's worked. Thanks! :)

Haha, yes, it's Ginny who is missing! ;) The second chapter explains much more about when and how she exactly went missing. It's from Teddy's pov who will be Cress's partner in investigation.

Cress is my favorite OC too! She's inspired from Nancy Drew, as Nancy's the best female detective I've read about. :D

The first scene is written to a mysterious aura to the whole story. The story is peppered with more of such scenes in italics from the pov of this mysterious woman.

Thanks for the wonderful review! I really enjoyed reading 'bloom' and it was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>