Reading Reviews From Member: milominderbinder
  
128 Reviews Found

Review #1, by milominderbinderBackground Noise: The Curse of Carkett Close

15th September 2014:
teh

this is actually too amazing for words

okay just a teeny tiny review because i am skipping off to read the next chapter immediately! i can't believe it's taken me this long to read this - i've had it open on my computer for several weeks and never found a moment to read, but now i am here and i am never leaving this story, okay?

geez, i seriously thought i was gonna pee myself laughing at several parts of this. dry absurdity is my alltime absolute favourite kind of humour, and of course you pull it off perfectly, you stupidly talented author you. wow, i wish i could write humour like this.

i loved the nods to canon characters throughout it! the 'creevey' at the end was so hard hitting, it was insane. and!!! padma and lavender's daughter!!! i mean she would be fab already if she was just another OC, but the fact that she's /padma and lavender's daughter/ is just... it's beyond perfect. you made me ship those two so hard i will never recover from it tbh.

okay i'm heading onto the next chappie now!!

~Maia

Author's Response: asldkjlkasd Maia ♥

Gah, thank you for stopping by!! AND reading this completely daft fic of mine AND leaving such a lovely surprise review! I don't care how long it takes anybody to read my stories, I'm just so happy that my writing is being read at all! THANK YOU!

I am fairly sure that you'd be a brilliant humour writer if you ever give the genre a try! You're an absolutely fabulous writer! ♥

And yay for Padma and Lavender's daughter! I'm quite surprised at how excited some reviewers (including you) are about this. Now I really want to write Padma and Lavender again. Hmmm, maybe...the plunnies are beginning to form...

Ah, thank you so much, Maia! I hope you enjoy the next chapter! :)

-teh


 Report Review

Review #2, by milominderbinderSeek and Chase: Arithmancy (Jacob)

10th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for team blue again! Since I already read chapter one of this I thought it would be interesting to read the next chapter!

At first I didn't realise you had switched POV from Lily to Jacob, but it become obvious pretty quickly when he started talking about his old school! Haha. I think it was good that you switched to his POV because it removes the 'mysterious' air he had in the first chapter and instead lets us get to know him as a character. Seeing right into his mind is a great way to let the readers get to know him as a character.

Also, I really like him! I think you've got his characterisation spot on to make him seem very likable and sweet. I also liked how you portrayed his motivations - as in, he works hard at school and is prepared, but only because he wants a chance to play as much quidditch as he can! obviously him and Lily are going to bond over quidditch so it was nice hearing him talking about that!

It was nice that you gave them a bit of a relationship before quidditch started, though. Showing their bond through studying and bumping into each other a few times here will just give them more chemistry when the romantic sparks start flying, which I presume will happen through Quidditch! But it's nice that their whole bond won't be about quidditch, as it makes their relationship seem more rounded.

I also found it sweet that he wrote home to his parents! I think I said in my review of the first chapter that I didn't think many teenagers would sit down and write home a lot at school, so that really makes him stand out to me, and emphasises how nice he seems to be.

Also the end made me laugh. "Only 1500?" That's basically me, ahaha. Nobody understands that that's a normal length book for me! So I can definitely relate to Lily there... although I'm not athletic AND bookish. Just bookish. No athletics for me :P

Overall I think this was a really good chapter! It followed on really nicely from the first one and I liked your use of changing POVs. Well done!

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #3, by milominderbinderThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

8th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

Wow, this was SUCH an interesting start to this story! So much seemed to happen in these three scenes, but you wrote it really well so it wasn't overwhelming at all - it was as if three totally separate facets of the story were all portrayed here, if that makes sense, which means that we already have a rounded and relatable impression of Cress, as we've seen her in different settings. That's a really nice way to start a story.

Of course, though it seemed like there was a lot happening here, so much of it is still mysterious!! I was so shocked when you revealed it was Ginny who had gone missing - I assumed Hermione's 'best friend and family member' would be an OC, but this is so much more interesting. You really did an amazing job of creating suspense and intrigue by introducing the fact that it's Ginny who's missing, but then not going into much detail about it, so the whole thing is so mysterious!

I really like Cress. For starters, her name is great XD Also she already seems like a great character - she feels relatable, and something about her seems very practical and down-to-earth which is always a great aspect of a character and can make it seem much more realistic. I like how she made Hermione open up about Ginny, she is clearly good at her job and she knows what will help her on the case.

The very first scene was even more mysterious than the rest of it, of course, and I think that worked really well to add to the mystery of it all. I really want to know if that mysterious woman had something to do with Ginny's disappearance - I'm assuming she did!

Overall this was a super interesting first chapter, well done! I hope you like 'bloom' as much as I liked this! :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey, Maia! :D

I'm so happy you thought this was an intriguing start! I've read tons of mysteries since childhood, so I kind of knew that the first chapter has to have enough to intrigue the reader but not too much so that the mystery gets spoiled. I tried to do the same with this story and I feel like it's worked. Thanks! :)

Haha, yes, it's Ginny who is missing! ;) The second chapter explains much more about when and how she exactly went missing. It's from Teddy's pov who will be Cress's partner in investigation.

Cress is my favorite OC too! She's inspired from Nancy Drew, as Nancy's the best female detective I've read about. :D

The first scene is written to a mysterious aura to the whole story. The story is peppered with more of such scenes in italics from the pov of this mysterious woman.

Thanks for the wonderful review! I really enjoyed reading 'bloom' and it was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #4, by milominderbinderSeek and Chase: Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

8th September 2014:
reviewing for team blue!

This was a good first chapter!

I like your characterisation of Lily. She seems funny and down to earth, which is nice to read and makes her quite relatable.

I laughed at how she says she's only written to her parents once, in second year - and then it was just to ask for them to send her a textbook! that's very realistic tbh, I can't imagine all these teenagers at Hogwarts sitting down to write a letter home every week explaining every little thing they've done. Lily's definitely a more realistic teenager!

I like Sagitta, too. She seems like a good friend for Lily. It's always interesting to see Wotter/Malfoy friendships in next gen fics, since it's so different to what we see in canon.

Interesting introduction of Lily's love interest, too! I like how she changed completely around him and felt awkward - again, a very realistic portrayal of a teenager, haha. I didn't talk in class for about a month when the girl I had a crush on was in it, because I knew I'd say something dumb XD I can definitely feel Lily's teenage crush and you portrayed it well!

Overall I think this is a good start to the story so well done!

~Maia

Author's Response:

Hi Maia!

I thought that Harry and Ginny would raise kids uninflated by their parents' fame. I also thought that Harry's kids had to have a sense humour (look at all the amazing lines he had in the books.)

Teenagers don't tell their parents a lot, do they? I'm no exception - "How was your day?" "Fine." - and I think this generation as a whole doesn't communicate to adults any more than we (they?) have to. Also, at 15, Lily would start to grow up and yearn for that independence. Writing to mommy and daddy doesn't really provide that.

I'm glad you like Sagitta. I thought it would be ironic that they became friends through her Potions error, considering Draco really like Potions when he was at Hogwarts (mostly because of Snape, but still.)

I have first-hand experience with trying to not mess up a conversation with someone you have a crush on, so that part of the chapter was easy to write. It's all clear in my memory. Your heart gets faster, your tongue won't work properly, and you can't think straight. Trying not to look stupid in front of them is really hard, isn't it? The guy I like is in band with me, so I can hopefully get rid of the stupid reaction we both know so much about.

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #5, by milominderbinderDon't Confess: Chapter 1

8th September 2014:
Hiya! I found this story via the forums, and I saw it was a Teagan and Sara songfic, so I decided to have a look because they're my favourite band! This was a lot of firsts for me - the first songfic I've read on this site, the first story about Draco and Luna I've EVER read, and I think you did it all really well!

I love Luna more than words can say but I'm not the biggest fan of Hogwarts era stuff so it's rare I get to read about her. This was a perfect reflection of her personality, and you characterised her wonderfully. She was her quirky odd self without being over the top 'random' like some people write her, and that basic compassion she has for everyone, regardless of who they are or what they've done, is such an amazing trait that really made this story so sweet to read.

Your writing is lovely, too, and well done with working in the song lyrics so well! I just adore this song and I could hear it playing in my head as I was reading, and you really perfectly wrote for the mood of the song.

Thanks for the lovely read!

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #6, by milominderbinderThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: A Bad Taste

7th September 2014:
Hi hon! Here for our review swap!

So, this is one of the first times or possible THE first time that I've read something for a review swap on the forums and ended up favouriting it because I want to read the rest! I have never read a single story about Percy and Audrey before, but if I had, I am sure it would have been NOTHING like this.

This is seriously such an unexpected take on Audrey and the way they meet, I couldn't have predicted it in a million years. I have never read a fic about a strip club on this site (or actually on any site, I think, but especially here where the fics tend to be lower rated so it's rare to find something as real world 'gritty' as this). But what could seem wildly unlikely in another fic seems to work perfectly here, and you pull it off so well.

I adore Audrey. Her fiery personality and rebellious nature are so different to how everyone else writes her, but it works so well here. She was so complex and realistic, and you really conveyed so much of her personality in just this one chapter that it was very easy to identify with her.

You also described her pull to Percy so well. The way she doesn't even think he's really handsome but just finds something about him so attractive is something we can all relate to, I think. The first girl I ever fell for was conventionally pretty ugly but I had never been so madly attracted to anyone, just because of the way her personality shone through in her face - I can tell that's kind of what Audrey's going through here, which is incredibly interesting to read, and you described that feeling perfectly.

Percy is very in character, and I think that works really well to contrast to how you portrayed Audrey. He's so grouchy and stuck-up, just like the books, but also undeniably complex and interesting, and likeable in such a strange way. I was never a real fan of his in canon and I haven't really thought about him much, ever, but you've suddenly got me so interested in him here.

I loved the appearances by George and Lee, and hope they, and other characters we know and love, crop up again!

I feel like I have so much more to say about how interesting this whole chapter was, but I'm probably just repeating myself at this stage, but I really did love it so much!

I noticed one typo - 'She was certain that the exchange between them had been noticed by the other dancers but I would have been beyond foolish to think that they would have offered any help" unless you suddenly changed to first person I think you mean 'it' ;) But that's the only one I noticed!

I can't wait to read more of this! I am so glad I got to read this because of our review swap! I hope you like 'bloom' :D

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #7, by milominderbinderReincarnation: Hello

7th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

This is such an interesting concept for a story! I have never come across something like this, and I've been on HPFF for a lot of years, so this was incredibly refreshing to read!

I love how you distinguish between Rhea and Rose. They are the same person but also really not the same person, and Rhea is a great character in her own right.

I like how she can only access a few of Rose's memories and now she has this Rose-voice in the back of her head but it's not really clear, so she does have to figure things out for herself. It would be kind of lazy storytelling if she remembered everything, and this way you're writing it is much more interesting!

I liked her interactions with Al a lot. You really portrayed their relationship well, and Rhea's confusion about that. The division between her and Rose is confusing that relationship, obviously, which is an incredibly interesting dynamic to read.

I liked how you characterised Rhea. She seemed very cheerful and like she's really making the most out of her situation, but she also has a deeper side to her, and isn't just blindly optimistic. She seems quite sensible and I think that makes her relatable, as she seems more realistic.



Also this is just a random note but Rhea is one of my favourite names! It's rare I see an OC's name I like so much, haha.

There were a couple of small mistakes I noticed. One was when Rhea is talking to Al about reasons for him not picking her up she says "So sometimes, I wonít be ready by the time you get there". 'Sometimes' doesn't really make sense in this context? I think you mean something like 'i might not be ready by the time you get there' or 'so there's a chance i won't be ready' or something like that! A few times some of your sentences were worded a little oddly, and I think I would recommend looking into beta readers. There are some awesome people offering to Beta on the forums, and this story has such an original and interesting plot idea, I'd love to see it at its full potential, just by correcting a few grammar mistakes!

Overall though, I don't think those few mistakes took much away from the story, as this was still very interesting to read.

So yeah, I really enjoyed this! Well done on the great plot idea, and thanks for the review swap! I hope you like 'bloom' ;)

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey Maia!

Just read 'bloom', and so I'm still trying to come back to the present.

Thank you for those amazing compliments! I'm so glad that you liked it!

And yeah, Rhea is one of my favorites too!

Yikes... I hate those mistakes... I wasn't really here when I was writing this chapter had some free time, and all I was thinking was that I had to get this done, while actually I was supposed to work on my project. After this story is completed, I would think about looking for a Beta, so that I can work freely.

Thank you so much again, and absolutely LOVED 'bloom'!

~Sana


 Report Review

Review #8, by milominderbinderA Few Minutes More: A Few Minutes More

7th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

This was so, so incredibly adorable. I chose this one because I love Ginny, and from the summary I was expecting it to be something from when she was a kid, or at Hogwarts or something, but this was so much better.

You gave all the kids such distinct personalities already, and they were so realistic! A lot of people write kids really badly but you had the perfect tone for each of their ages. James already at the age where he won't call her 'mummy', and Albus in that transition stage, was great.

I really liked how there wasn't some huge conflict or plot here, it was just a happy, if not totally ideal for Ginny, slice of life. Even though she wanted time to herself and was annoyed by the interruptions, you could see she had so much love for her kids, and was a great mum. This is really how I picture Ginny parenting - you characterised her wonderfully, slightly more mature than when she's a teenager in canon, but still with hints of that redhead temper I love about her!

The glass of water at the end was absolutely adorable. I really can't convey enough how great you wrote the kids here - it was so realistic, and so family centred, it's made me really happy to read.

My favourite line was James's very first practical joke - and his very best one to date - was that he had been a completely wonderful and easy baby.

I really loved reading this! I think you captured the whole thing perfectly. I wish I could write happy scenes like this. Well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hello Maia,

No one's picked this story in ages, so it was really nice to see a review for it. I'm glad you liked the rather mundane topic. Ginny does indeed love her kids AND she loves being a mum, but there are some days when she would just like to do something for herself.

I was super excited that you caught that line about James - no one else has mentioned it and I loved slipping it in there as an explanation as to why they had three children so close together.

Aw, thanks for the compliment. I had fun writing this one!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by milominderbinderThe Sorting of Cormac Mclaggen: The Soring of Cormac Mclaggen

7th September 2014:
Review tag! I actually sent you a message on the forums because I couldn't find a link to your author page, but then I was going through my unanswered reviews and saw you had sent me one, so I could get onto your profile that way. I still recommend you put a link in your sig though ;)

So I chose to review this because you left such a nice review on my entry for this challenge! And I'm trying to read all the other entries for the uncharismatic character challenge - I find it so interesting to see how differently people respond to essentially the same prompt. Well done on getting an honourable mention! This story definitely deserved it.

I think you wrote Cormac really well. You got the perfect balance of keeping him in character from what we've seen of him in canon, but also showing a younger version who could develop into that canon character rather than just writing an eleven year old like a seventeen year old. I find it really hard to write kids but I think you did a great job here - he felt very juvenile, and arrogant in a different way than he is when he's older, but still similar.

I enjoyed the mentions of his home life most of all. It makes it much easier to understand how Cormac can be the way that he is, when he's dealing with all that pressure. I actually felt bad for him that he was sorted into a house he didn't want.

I noticed one typo in the second paragraph - ' Cormac liked being talk very much', I think that should be 'being tall', and there were a couple of other typos as well, but nothing too major, and I don't think they detracted from the story too much!

Well done :D

~Maia

Author's Response: I'm so sorry it was hard to find my page. I'm supper new on the forums and I have been trying to figure out how to make a signature.

I'm glad you liked the story. I was disappointed when I got Cormac, because he didn't feel as interesting as some of the other characters, but after I started working with him I really enjoyed it. It's good to know I pulled off that child narrator. The character reminded me a little of my sister, so I just channeled her. I hope the troubled family didn't seem cliche. I know that gets done a lot.

Sorry about all the typos. I forgot about the challenge until the last second and wrote the whole story at 2 in the morning. I'm glad they didn't distract from the story too much. I'm really busy right now but I will get around to fixing them.

Thank for reviewing. I hope you liked my story enough to consider checking out some of my other stuff.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #10, by milominderbinderKiller in Me and the Killer in You: Killer in Me and the Killer in You

7th September 2014:
Reviewing for Team Blue!

This was a really interesting story. I can honestly say I've never read a story about Rodolphus before and I hadn't even really thought about him much, but this has suddenly made me so curious about his life.

I suppose I always imagined he would be very similar to Bellatrix, in that sort of twisted and evil and single minded way - and I suppose he sort of is, but you also gave him redeeming qualities here with his love for Bellatrix, which made this really interesting and complex to read.

Even though he is a killer, and admits that he thought they would fall in love because they are both killers, he is almost nurturing towards her. Trying to get her to eat and helping her survive even if it means manipulating her emotions slightly, shows a deep care for her which actually made me feel for him.

It's so sad that he accepts she will probably not love him back the same way he loves her, but continues to love her anyway, and try and look after her. It's so interesting to see such an evil person portrayed in a loving way, and it just goes to show how complex people can be, with so many different facets to their personalities. That made this feel very realistic, so I loved your characterisation of him.

My favourite lines were:

Now, what he didn't know was whether she had been insane before and it was just starting to show now. - this was really interesting because his love for her didn't diminish at all even when he thought she might have always been crazy.

Even if she was going to hate him again, he could still love her privately, the way he had loved her ever since they got married (and before that). - this sentiment is so sweet and also sad!

So yeah, I thought this story was good, well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi Maia!

Yes, Rodolphus is a rather overlooked Death Eater, isn't he? He would be similar to Bellatrix - anyone sadistic enough to torture Frank and Alice would definitely belong in the Death Eater camp.

I thought since we didn't know Rodolphus's side of the marriage I would come up with this. He definitely has more than one part to him - I really don't like characters who are evil through and through (so I suppose if you rationalize enough Voldemort had a reason for going bad - he was really mad about being abandoned in a Muggle orphanage.)

I think a part of him always knew that something wasn't quite right with Bellatrix. If he was married that long to someone like her he would definitely know their mind.

There is definitely a bit of sadness in this, especially since we know how this ends - Bellatrix dies and we don't know what happens to Rodolphus - if Tonks kills him in the Battle of the Seven Potters, or if he was defeated at the Battle of Hogwarts.

Thank you for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #11, by milominderbinderLuna : Encounter

1st September 2014:
review tag!

wow, this was gorgeous. You really captured young Luna so well, her innocence but also her wisdom at the same time, which is very hard to do, especially in so few words!

The use of second person worked really well, too. It can be hard to pull off right sometimes, but here it just totally made me feel more connected to Luna, as if I was going through this with her, and it totally suited the dreamy, artsy feel of her character.

While this was pretty happy on the surface, you really made it emotional too by talking about how Xenophilius had been affected by Luna's mum's death, and linking back to the reason she can even see the thestral in the first place. I think that was great because it added a lot of complexity to the story - it wasn't just happy or just sad, which made it feel real because life is a mixture of both.

So yeah, this was great, well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Gah, thank you for such a lovely review :) I feel all fuzzy inside. I'm really glad you liked it! Just, thank you.
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #12, by milominderbinderDoing the Right Thing: Doing the Right Thing

22nd August 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

I really enjoyed reading this! I don't read a lot
of Draco stories - mostly because they usually
have pairings I don't like, haha - but I'm glad I
read this one. I think you got Draco's
characterisation spot on.

I love how you got right to the point at the very
beginning. Starting with those three short,
fragmented sentences - his orders - really set the
tone of urgency for the story, and showed the
importance of the mission. It was a great way to
start as it really draws the reader in and has
them feeling that tense atmosphere from the very
start.

I'm also so impressed you managed to write this in
exactly 1000 words! I wrote an exactly 500 words
story and it almost killed me, it's so hard to cut
it down to the exact right amount! So yeah extreme
kudos there.

My favourite quotes were:

Get in, cause a distraction, then get out of
the way. I repeated my orders to myself again.


^I love the repetition of his orders, it really
gives an insight into his mind and how focused he
is at the start here.

Killing a man in his sleep? Where was the
honor in that? There was none.


^We rarely get to see a moral side of Draco in
canon but there is always the sense that he DOES
have these moral qualms so I think it's really in
character for him to think like this, and I really
liked it.

I had been predestined for this life before I
was conceived. I was born a Death Eater, and I
should die as one as well.


^I love stories which explore the idea of fate and
people going against what should be their 'fate'.
It's always so powerful because it shows that at
the basis of everything is personal choice, even
if that choice is incredibly hard to make, and
that's something I really strongly believe in. I
loved how you used that theme here.

You have about one minute to prepare yourself,
Minister.


^I loved this ending! I think it ended at the
perfect moment. We get to see Draco's decision to
warn the minister, without seeing the
consequences. Because it's not about what happens
next, it's about him making that choice, no matter
what the outcome. Even though it ends suddenly
and we don't know what happens next, it's not
really a cliffhanger, because we've had resolution
on Draco's choice and seen him make the right
decision, which is incredibly lovely to read.

So yeah, I thought this story was really good!
Well done, and thanks for the swap!

~Maia

Author's Response: Haha, I may be a bit biased about that whole Draco-pairing statement, as I have only ever seen him with Roxi, lol!! But anyways, I do know what you mean there. If you ever DO wanna know more about where Draco's story goes from here, however, then I encourage you to check out my Novel: :Love, Not War: also. =)

Hitting the 1000 word mark, and hitting it perfectly was SOOO hard!!! There was SO MUCH more that I wanted to add in here, and then I wanted the ending to be longer to show that Rudolphus was captured too. But, alas, there was just not enough space to allow all that, haha. XD

So I basically agree with everything you just said about people going against their supposed "fate". This one particular choice definitely causes Draco quite a bit of grief later on down the road tho. If you do decide to read the Novel, you will see the outcome of this mission first-hand. But it also ends up being his salvation, as he ends up getting a second-chance to change himself by the end of everything. You'll just have to read on if you wanna know anything more that that tho, haha!! ;)

I would love to review-swap with you again some time, if you are interested. Thank so much for the great read, and again for this wonderful review. I love it when people point out what their favorite moments in my stories are!! (:

~Deana~


 Report Review

Review #13, by milominderbinderHow to Fly: How to Fly

21st August 2014:
Review tag!

Wow, this was SO sweet. I've written a 500 word story and I don't feel I managed to put NEARLY the amount of emotion you did into it. That last line had be almost tearing up, it was incredible.

So many fics I read are about Rose as a teenager and seem to completely ignore her relationship with Hermione. But Hermione is one of my favourite characters in the universe and I think she would be an amazing mother; I wish there were more fics that showed her relationship with Rose.

I could also really feel the love between Hermione and Ron just in the way she saw parts of him in Rose, which was so sweet, and it worked really well.

You used the repetition and motif of flying perfectly. Not too often so that it lost meaning, but enough that it reinforced the idea, and just turned it into an incredibly poignant sentiment.

This was amazing, well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi Maia,

Thank you for this. I'm so touched by this review, you don't even know. I actually think that Hermione would find motherhood really challenging, she was so book smart - and most of the stuff you need to know when you're a mom (I can attest from experience - haha), isn't in any book.

I'm so glad you mentioned about Hermione's and Ron's relationship. Seeing your partner in your child is one of the best things about being a parent.

Thanks again for this review! It really made my day!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by milominderbinderComplicated: In Which Draco Malfoy Makes A Joke

21st August 2014:
Review tag!

I actually reviewed chapter one of this for review tag the other day too, haha, and I really liked it so I'm glad I got to read the next chapter now!

The howler thing was great! Weirdly I hardly ever see them crop up in fics... you'd think they'd be a much more popular device, haha.

I really like Cassie and Scorpius. I think you introduced them really well here, and we really got a feel for their relationship and their relationship with Olivia, too. It's obvious they're all really close, and you can feel the loyalty in that friendship, even though they kind of tease each other you can feel that they love each other too. I'm glad Olivia has friends like that, when she's going through something so tough!

You write dialogue very well! Though there wasn't a ton of plot in this chapter really, I feel like we really got to know the characters well through their dialogue. That can be a hard thing to make sound natural, so well done.

One thing I'd mention is that formatting wise, there were some pretty big spaces between lines here? But it doesn't detract from the story too much, and I know extremely well how tricky hpff's editor can be about things like that, so I wouldn't worry about it too much! But if you ever edit this chapter that's one thing to think about.

~Maia

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the howler. I think they're so much fun and am surprised they're not used here more often.

Cassie and Scorpius are some of my favourites to write and I think their friendship with Olivia is (while not uncomplicated0 something special so thank you for picking up on that :)

The spacing is definitely something I need to edit. I just can't quite bring myself to do it...but I will one day, I promise.

Thanks for the lovely review!

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #15, by milominderbinderLike So Much Red Wine: shattered glass, cracked porcelein, buckled steel

20th August 2014:
review tag!

I liked this! I don't read many Snape stories and I always find them interesting, especially seeing his POV on events we already have seen in canon. It was really interesting to see how you wove this whole story out of just those few lines we have in canon, yet it never felt drawn out or unnecessary at all. It totally felt like a whole separate scene, in a way, but also not because it linked to the original so perfectly.

You characterised Snape really well. I could totally see his canon character here, but expanded on perfectly. You showed him in such an interesting way, I really love it. It kind of emphasises just how much he's always lived in denial about certain things.

So yeah, I loved this! Well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Ah! So glad you mentioned denial! That was a BIGGIE here.

Me and Snape--oh man. I don't ship him, because I LOVE him horrible and old and petulant and bitter (and heroic). SO MUCH. He's my favorite character for being so complicated.

THANK YOU for your wonderful interpretation of this--it's so great to see that what I intended came across!

AND PS: I'm having SUCH a hard time not reading/reviewing all your stuff, because I REALLY wanna. BUT CHALLENGE ENTRIES. I promise I'm not playing favorites, but in the event you win, I want something left for the prizes!!!

PPS: Your sig on the forums super makes the song "Never Forget You" by the Noisettes get stuck in my head! Check it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by milominderbinderPlaying for Keeps: Shooting Star, After Midnight

20th August 2014:
Hiya! I'm here from the Ravenclaw review battle!

Wow, I REALLY loved this. I pretty much just chose the most recent thing on your author's page to review without thinking about it, so the awesomeness of this kind of took me by surprise!

This is such an original idea, which is something that you don't find so much in next gen stories. I had never even thought of the possibility of a wizarding casino before!

You captured the atmosphere perfectly. It all felt so tense, glamorous somehow with with a dark side. Your description of the game was great - sometimes when describing a game like this people slip into, like, 'and then i hit the ball and then i hit another ball and then i won', but you wrote it in such an interesting way, you could really feel the weight of each shot, and were eager to see the outcome.

I also love how your character uses her femininity against the guy. That'll teach him to get cocky just because she's a woman! She totally played it up right to the end, which I think is great. Women using misogyny to their advantage is always amazing to me, ahaha.

Overall I loved this, and I love your writing style! Well done!

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #17, by milominderbinderComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

19th August 2014:
Hiya! Iím here from review tag on the forums!

I really liked reading this. Olivia is so funny, her internal monologue had me laughing so much. This is probably a random thing to pick up on but I really liked that sheís a Slytherin. Thatís somehow still pretty rare in Next Gen fics, I think, and I always find it really refreshing to read Slytherin OCs who arenít just mindlessly evil antagonists.

I also found it so interesting to see the parents - especially how the Oliver and Katie were getting on now, but also your take on Pansy! It was so interesting and I think you really realistically developed them from their characters in the novels into adults here. And I actually felt so bad for Pansy when the whole cheating thing came out :( It reminded me of the scene in Love Actually where the wife thinks he is going to give her a diamond necklace or whatever and heís replaced it with a CD! So heartbreaking. You wrote Oliviaís reaction to the whole thing really well.

Of course, I didnít feel totally bad for Pansy because of how she treats Olivia ;) Focusing so much on her daughterís appearance is awful and I was really annoyed by it! Itís very in character for Pansy, though, and you wrote it well. Iím glad it doesnít seem to have given Olivia bad self esteem or anything. I liked how despite not having a great relationship with her mother, there is still love there - you portrayed a complex relationship between them very well.

Over all I really liked this! I will read the rest at some point!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi Maia,

Thanks so much for such a thoughtful and kind review. I'm really glad you liked Olivia and thought the canon character were in character.

The next chapter should be in the queue later today or tomorrow.

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by milominderbinderRomeo In Ivory: Icarus in Mourning

18th August 2014:
OH. MY. GOD.

LAURA. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

This is one of the best things I have read in a really, really long time. Everything about it was perfect. The style, the way you alternated scenes , the symbolism, the setting, the progression, the ending... just when I thought it was about to get happy, it turned into basically a horror story, and I loved it.

I swear I'm usually so much better at reviews than this but I can't think how to describe anything I just read, so here's my favourite lines instead!

A few yellow petals, ripped from their heads, fluttered to the ground behind him. Hansel and Gretelís trail, for mourners and lost lovers.

It was ugly and ungainly and yet, there was a strange sort of melancholic beauty about it; a strength written though it, as though he was a statue where the paint has not quite dried, and has run, chased by raindrops.

"If it's a girl," he told the grave, and there was a sincerity, a desperation in his voice which stung. "Iíll name her after you. For you, I mean. She'll be for you."

"He was never going to be happy," the middle sister corrected her. "He was never meant to be happy."

It was a Thursday, two weeks later, when the family came again, this time to bury a coffin Ė white and silver Ė underneath a black marble stone. The sisters watched, veiled with lilies and dark crimson roses in their hair, from their bower, as the inscription was carved.

Then, once it was done, and they had left, leaving ivy wreaths and bouquets of marigolds and irises, the sisters turned back to the wheel and the scissors and the threads, and time, as ever, ticked on.


Umm, yeah, if I put all my favourite lines I would basically just be copy pasting the whole fic into the review box, so I'll stick with those. Seriously though. Wow. Your writing is just incredible. This is why I shouldn't go away from HPFF, I miss stories like this!!

Anyway, excuse my flailing, sorry this wasn't more coherent! 10/10

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #19, by milominderbinderJust for this moment: See how bright we shine

18th August 2014:
hiya, here for our review swap!

So, first of all - wow, this just about broke my heart! I've never read much Remus/Sirius but it's always a pairing I've been interested in, and I love Rose's story 'Love in Three Acts' (I actually made the banner for it, haha) so that's what made me decide to pick this story off your page to review!

Your writing is absolutely lovely. I don't think I've actually read any of your stories before, but I definitely want to read more now! I totally adored your take on their relationship. What little fic I've read of these two is often focusing on their teenage years, or in this era but without mention of the fact that they were separated for all those years and that Remus thought Sirius was a killer. Exploring that more serious side of their relationship - that belief that borders on a betrayal - made this fic so intense to read, and I loved it.

You really captured both of them perfectly. You showed a more serious side to Sirius (oops I accidentally punned) that I think reflects how his inner self would feel, even when he's joking on the outside. It's a testament to how close he is to Remus that he lets Remus see this side of him. And I loved how you showed Remus, too, how he was so apologetic and just... I don't even know how to describe it, but he was just perfectly in character.

Even though this ended on a happy note, I feel heartbroken, because I just keep thinking how happy Remus must be here and how broken he would be when Sirius dies D:

Some of my fave lines were:

He seems weak, as if he's coming down after a Full Moon. I know that the Full Moon was two weeks ago.

^it seems so right to me that Sirius tracks the full moons, and that he knows Remus so well as to know what his voice sounds like after one...

I kiss him, and slowly, he comes back to me. Just for the night, we let the years vanish and we're young again, young and whole and together.

^this is just such a beautiful line, heartbreaking because it emphasises how broken they both are now compared to when they were young.

Overall I loved this story! I'm so glad I got to read it :D

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #20, by milominderbinderThe Diary Of Marietta Edgecombe: The Diary Of Marietta Edgecombe

18th August 2014:
Hiya! Maia from the forums here :P

I really, really loved this. I was intrigued when I made the CI for this the other day and made a mental note to read it at some point, but this just gave me the proper shove to get around to it, haha! I can honestly say I've never read a fic about this character before - which is kind of the point of the challenge - and I think you did an AMAZING job exploring her!

You really caught her indecision between being loyal to her mother or to Cho. I especially loved how you showed her relationship with Cho; the way Cho forgave her for betraying the DA really shows how close their bond is.

Marietta isn't a character I've ever really thought a lot about but I've always disliked her when I have thought about her, because obviously all we really see of her in canon is her betraying the DA, which is bad! But you actually made me empathise with her decision here. We've all been in that situation where we've done something we're not proud of to try and be loyal to someone, and it's especially hard when your parents are the ones asking you to do something you don't want to. I'm so glad she had Cho to stick by her side - after their short time of not talking - because that relationship clearly means so much to her, too.

The end just about broke my heart, even though you left it kind of ambiguous I think she died? But I'm glad there's someone who will be remembering her, and maybe she will finally lose her reputation as a 'Sneak', when people find out she fought on the right side of the battle this time.

I really loved this, well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey Maia!
Can I say this: your review just made up for the worst day I might have had in history! After hours and hours of writing for those practice competition, I finally set down and this just lightened me up!

I really used to dislike Marietta too, because of the betrayal. But when I got her for the challenge, I started wondering, 'No one is bad, and Marietta must have had a valid reason for the betrayal.' Some surfing on the internet and half a dozen soppy movies later, I finally decided to write her diary. What other way to show someone's inner thoughts? From the surfing, I knew that Marietta was having the pressure of her parents and the difficulties she had in her friendship with Cho. I just could relate to Marietta so much in someways. And of course, if it was not for stillroisin, who made this amazing challenge, Marietta might never have got justice in my eyes.

Thanks again for the lovely review!

~Sanaa


 Report Review

Review #21, by milominderbinderPure Intentions: Red Line

6th February 2014:
AHHH I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE'S ONLY ONE MORE CHAPTER!

Even though this is a short story I feel like it's been a novel; I'm so invested in it and I feel like I know all the characters so well, you've developed them all perfectly.

Scorp and Rose's breakup was great. I love how their relationship didn't end because she found out about him and Al, and that she was the one to end it, because they wanted different things. I was so worried she was going to end up heartbroken and I love this version of Rose so much, I didn't want to see that happen to her. She's such a lovely free spirit.

Also Astoria, so sweet. It's sad that she can't completely stand up to Draco and that she can't stop Scorpius from being thrown out, but so sweet that she tries to help him anyway. It must be such a horrible situation she's in.

Loved seeing Scorpius so resolved, realising it wasn't right to date girls when he just wasn't attracted to them. Standing up to his parents was the right decision, even if it had bad consequences it's healthier and will make him happier in the long run, so I was very proud of him in that moment!

Can't wait to see the next chapter :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Maia!!!

Your excitement is making me so happy!!! I just posted the last chapter (dun dun dun!)

Im really glad the characters and story got you invested - I wanted them to be memorable so it's really nice to know that came through in the story.

It was hard to avoid having Albus' relationship with Scorpius not be an issue for Rose. I wanted to avoid lasting awkwardness/tension between her and Al. Ultimately, they were going down different paths. I thought making her a free spirit would shield her from some of the clinginess teenage girls can go through.

Astoria is starting down a path to stand up to Draco a bit more. Im really glad her help was touching.

Getting Scorpius to a point where he could stand up to his parents was a a key goal for me in this story. If he had this same resolve at the start of the story, well, he wouldn't ahve broken anyone's heart and there would just be a nice, sweet Al/Scor story. :D

Thank you so much for a spectacular review! I hope the ending is up to par!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #22, by milominderbinderPure Intentions: Red Letter

6th February 2014:
*is in love with your french soup humour*.

*is in love with everything else about this, also*

Seriously, this story just keeps getting better and better!

I love the little nods to canon throughout the whole thing - Rose taking Hermione's beaded bag on holiday made me so happy!

Also omg Brandon Savage :D

Okay this is just a teeny review since I'm skipping off to read the next chapter now :D :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Maia!

I'm glad so someone got my French soup joke!! I'm extremely happy you like this story. I wanted it to be something you'd enjoy. :)

I think I had to include little nods to canon because I'm so out of my element writing next gen. I'm glad you were excited to see another Savage!!!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by milominderbinderEvil Will Prevail: The hooded figure

5th February 2014:
Hiya! Here reviewing for the Ravenclaw review battle :D

I really loved this start. It's just so intriguing and unlike pretty much anything I've read before. I'm usually a stickler for canon but one of the great things about the review battle is being exposed to things you might not necessarily choose to read by yourself, and I'm really glad I clicked on this story when I looked at your page!

Your writing has just the right amount of suspense and intrigue to really make me want to read on. I love your descriptions a lot. The ones in the first paragraph actually really stood out for me.

A sudden draft made the hairs on his neck stand on end. He could hear the faint rustling of the nearby trees. A werewolf howled at a distance, as the full moon shone overhead. Nothing seemed out of place, with the calm hills silhouetted along the horizon and the moonís reflection casting a pale glow on the nearby stream. It would have been hard to guess that this peaceful spot was doomed to witness the most atrocious acts in the weeks to come.

Forgive the long quote, but that really is all just perfect. You Totally set the scene, but also leave a lot up to the readers imagination, which I think makes it creepier. Just by naming a few things like the werewolves howl, but not necessarily elaborating on it, you really set the tone of unease.

I love Draco's POV as well. You really get into his head and I think you've characterised him perfectly. It's interesting, because he's used to this kind of thing, this is basically the environment he's grown up in - the fear and cruelty - yet he's not at home in it totally. It's very lovely to read because it makes him very relatable, and it also contrasts with the extreme comfort Hermione seems to show in that environment - when in canon you'd expect it to be the other way around.

Overall I loved this, well done :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! This must be one of the best reviews I've received so far!

I'm so happy you like the descriptions and the characterizations. It's such a compliment to have you say they're perfect. *does a crazy happy dance*

Well it is the Canon Craziness Challenge. :D I hope Hermione's crazy enough in this. And I really hope you keep reading! Thanks again for the amazing review.


 Report Review

Review #24, by milominderbinderNo Matter What: Lily

2nd February 2014:
Hi hon! Sorry for the wait haha, but I'm finally here to review your challenge entry!

Some quotes I loved were:

The house is wordless, not a moan or groan escapes the depth of night. Everything is still, asleep and dreaming of wonderful worlds, death, and magic, magic of all levels of power and rage.

He's scared of telling dad something? What is so frightening? Dad would never be disappointed in any of us, unless we involved ourselves with dark magic. James is far too soft for that, I think, laughing silently.


I really loved how you told this from a different pair of eyes - focusing on the whole thing through Lily worked so well. It could really concentrate down to the reactions James could expect, and showed how that kind of thing can affect a family. But you also did a great job of conveying all James' emotions through his conversations with ivan and Lily, and also just from the things Lily saw. You did a great job of making his emotions shine through his actions.

Ivan seemed really nice. I like that he was a serious relationship, and not just some random guy, because it makes it more significant when James comes out to Lily. I also love how you didn't quite clarify James' sexuality, but implied that he's bi. There is such an incredible lack of bi boys in fic, it's always so refreshing to read!

Anyway, I really loved this. You did a great job of addressing all the issues around this, and the POV especially made it really interesting and made it stand out.

Thanks so much for entering my challenge hon!

~Maia

Author's Response: Maia!

I am SO relieved that you loved this. Like I cannot even begin to explain how relieved I am. I am only truly exposed to stuff like this through reading, and I have never really written Slash, like, straight-forward. Because I am not exposed to it in real life, I was terrified that I didn't write it correctly!

Anyway, thanks for the kind words! It was no problem entering your challenge!

Thanks!

-Janelle


 Report Review

Review #25, by milominderbinderfalling away with you: falling away with you

2nd February 2014:
Kiana. Okay. Like. First - W O W.

Second, I want to quote every single line of this story to show you how perfect it was. It truly was like you painted this, only you were, like, Leonardo Da Vinci or something, and not a single brush stroke was out of place. If my stories were paintings they'd be like, interesting finger paintings improvised in ten seconds, but this here is a MASTERPIECE.

Okay, a few lines of the MANY that stood out:

You had always thought of things in terms of paint. The colour would never be red, it would be crimson or scarlet. Your motherís hair would never be bushy, but painted onto her with a thick brush in need of being thrown away. The things falling out of your eyes now wouldnít be tears, but drops of water slipping over the edge of the pot. It drew you into obscure things.

You know what Andrea, the other curator, thinks of him. You know what other people think of him. But then it almost makes you want to think differently. One person canít be the subject of everyoneís hate, itís too much for them.

Dusk has already fallen across the city, the slight warmth of February is taken with it, and a chill has fallen among the streets. The only comforting thing is that unlike London, where the shadows tower over you as night falls, the buildings here are low, allowing some sort of light to seep through the dark.

A canvas is mounted on a stand, taking up most of your bedroom. The paintingís nearly done. The swaths of black are clouded over by the white, merged into something less threatening, less harsh, but you know there still needs to be something more.

Your breath is intermingled, you can smell the peppermint of his and the strawberry of yours. Theyíre merging though, coagulating, not like the black and white of Draco and the red of you. Perhaps things arenít as defined as you thought them to be.

Okay quote time over, and now to the bit where I SOB ABOUT HOW THIS ENDED. I mean, I accept it, and I can see why it had to end this way, but still. I've never been a fan of Draco and I was so wary of this story going in but you had me rooting for them nearly straight away, and their ending just broke my heart.

Okay, I apologise for the nonsensicalness of this review, but yeah I really did just love this, well done!! Thanks so much for entering my challenge, this is an incredible entry.

~Maia

Author's Response: Maia! Can I just say wow to this review because it really was fantastic!

Ahahahahah, yeah, I don't really know how to respond to the Da Vinci comment because I always thought your description was like that so for you to say that to me is sort of jaw-dropping time for me :P I feel as if I need to start flailing around or something because that feels the most fitting thing right now!

I found it really interesting that you picked out those quotes because they were rather different ones to the ones other people have picked out, so it's great that the rest of it was interesting and descriptively good (if that makes sense...?) too!

Bahahaha, yeah, I love angst so I was just like nah happy endings are boring let's make it never work out! I'm so glad I did manage to make you root for them though because I personally didn't like the ship that much beforehand it was more of an experiment when I decided to write it, but it was so much fun I couldn't resist!

The review wasn't nonsensical, but rather fabulous if I'm being modest! Thank you so much for this fantastic review and the challenge, it was so much fun to enter and such a different and entertaining one too!

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>