Reading Reviews From Member: Leonore
  
103 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LeonorePlum Velvet: Blue Leather

25th September 2014:
Hello! Leo is going to break out of her usual habits and actually admit she's been here.

How do you do it? Everything you write is so beautiful. Poetic, even. The way you build the picture slowly, innocent at first and then gradually revealing that it's darker than it seems at first glance.

There's one sentence that doesn't quite read right for me: "They'd like that, I think, and smile; cat-like and contented." The semicolon especially seems to break it in the wrong place, and there's a tiny bit of ambiguity regarding which person the "smile" actually fits with ("they'd smile" or "I smile").

Your descriptions! Argh! They're just SO SO BEAUTIFUL. The room, with the moonlight... it paints this picture, and it's beautiful and creepy at the same time, and I can imagine it perfectly. The bite at the end is in the same style as everything else, and if flows in perfectly, and you're lost in the story and it suddenly occurs to you what's going on and you wonder why you didn't realise earlier.

Chocolate-and-firewhiskey apricot drops. I'm not sure why that stood out to me, but it did. It's such a gorgeous tiny detail. Your writing is full of these tiny details, and maybe that's what makes it so gorgeous.

That ending. Beautiful and creepy. Like the rest of it. The way you've just captured the thoughts and the mood. Shocking things seem natural. Your writing is so beautiful and unique and perfect. TELL ME YOUR SECRETS.

Ahem. Yes, I'm in awe of you.

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by LeonoreThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Sudden Sickness.

24th September 2014:
Madame Pomfrey says Blackburn will be fine. :D Though that's physically, not mentally.

STOP APOLOGISING, LYDIA. AND STOP SNORTING, DORA, YOU'RE NOT A HORSE. Rose is being nice and sympathetic and for once not getting too distracted by crazy ideas about revenge on Dora. Dora, who's doing Charms homework... and if she fails Transfiguration, Blackburn gets the blame...

Yeah, betting whoever's responsible for the potion failing also nicked the ingredients. And I very much doubt whatever potion's being brewed is going to be entirely innocent. Yeah, and it wasn't James and Robin.

Stop jumping to conclusions, Rose. Just because you don't like Dora.

Yeah, Fairfax really sucks at keeping things locked up.

Now I'm thinking Felicity has something to do with the missing supplies, because Rose thinks she doesn't.

Mind your own business, Rose. And haha, Rose got told. *cheers Kate*

I know you were worried about it but you've done a good job of covering such a long time frame in this chapter.

Oh. Oh no. I can't say this makes me like Felicity (in fact it shows she was only calming down about Blackburn because she thought this mysterious potion would protect her, not because Rose managed to convince her), but the poor kid doesn't deserve to be poisoned. And I'm desperately trying to guess why someone might target her. Maybe to frame Rose or Albus or Blackburn... the logical thing to do would be to read on, so I'll do that...

It's not just Felicity? I'm guessing it's all the people who were really scared about Blackburn. But who... why... I'm trying to come up with insane theories but I don't know, I only know there's a guy involved so not Dora (unless polyjuice, which I really doubt). YOU HAD TO LEAVE IT THERE, DIDN'T YOU? NOW GET ON WITH WRITING THE NEXT CHAPTER - YOU CAN'T LEAVE US HANGING LIKE THIS! Oh hang on, you can and you are... I bet you're laughing so hard right now...

Author's note - yay, thank you! *hugs* (Au Clair de la Lune, by the way - you missed the "la", translation I'm using is "By Moonlight" ;) )

All your little hints about this chapter and it was so unexpected and ARGH! Get on with that next chapter! I'm waiting very impatiently because I need to know what's going on!!!

Author's Response: Yeah, Blackburn will be fine physically. The potion didn't even fail this time. It's just been a tough transformation because she's tired and stressed and really didn't need a transformation on top of all that. Mentally might be a bit harder to predict. She has a LOT going on in her head.

I actually laugh every time I read your comment to Dora that she's not a horse. THAT amuses me.

Hmm, yes, Fairfax certainly seems lax about security. Maybe it's because he's so obsessed with his potions that he doesn't notice mundane details like that. Or maybe there's something more to it. Maybe he's not lax about security at all. Maybe somebody's figured out a way past his security. *confuses the issue*

*laughs at your reaction to Kate telling Rose off*

I think you've put together more than Rose has. Although she's busy taking care of Felicity.

Yeah, framing Blackburn seems like something the A.W.L. might do.

I was originally going to put all the stuff about Felicity and the others getting sick into one chapter, then I thought where's the fun in that. I have to give people a chance to speculate.

And you're a great one to talk about cliffhangers.

Like I said, I don't DO French. *laughs*

I was looking forward to your reaction, and that of my other reviewers, to this chapter, as the events are so unexpected. The people who are ill are the last ones you expect to be victims.


 Report Review

Review #3, by LeonoreFanged Revolution: Chapter the Second

15th September 2014:
Yes! Osbert makes an appearance in this chapter! I'm a sucker for wizarding politicians, and he looks to be an especially interesting one.

I feel like this would flow better, but might just be my personal opinion: "The Auror to whom he told his story followed him dubiously into the alley."

The end of that first section... yeah, that's effective. Really effective. Something is quite clearly wrong. We know what from the story summary, but still effective.

Ah, Septimus Malfoy. His presence makes so much sense.

You might want to capitalise 'head' in order to indicate that it's a title and not Malfoy's head (which I thought it was at first, especially coming straight after the word 'blond') "The tall blond Head of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement stood to Osbert's right." And I feel like 'Osbert's right' flows better than 'to the right of Osbert' but again, my opinion.

'scum that live there'. Ooh yes. Lovely evidence of his opinions towards a certain segment of society - and his openness about his hatred. To treat them with no respect shows a level of overconfidence (that's not the right word to describe it but it'll have to do).


Septimus Malfoy guides his hatred of vampires. Yes, that makes so much sense. And dirty tactics to get himself the positition of trust... dirty politics, the best kind (in fictional settings, that is). Ah, note Malfoy is the one drafting the bill...

I definitely like Nightstalker. He might have killed the Minister's daughter casually and with no respect for the body or anything, but he's not going to run away from something he's caused. That last section, the dialogue is bang on. Gorgeous descriptions scattered right through, too.

Amazing so far. Well done. I absolutely love the setting you've come up with - originality and dirty politics! Yes!

~ Leo xx

Blue v. Bronze review battle.

 Report Review

Review #4, by LeonoreFanged Revolution: Chapter the First

7th September 2014:
Hi! Leo here from BvB.

I love the premise for this story. I've never seen anything like it before, and this is an amazing first chapter. Really well done.

I've got a suggested revision of a sentence, mainly for reasons of tenses: "He'd viciously defeated Septimus Malfoy in a duel, so now the entire Auror force was out looking for him."

Scene well explained. And that encounter with the woman at the end - that's brilliantly written. I can feel the instincts in him, the draw to bite, the fact that while in many ways he's like a man he's also very different. Carefully chosen words get some great tension up. And that line "The horror on her face made him angry." Yes, I can imagine why that would make him angry. There's a certain amount of sympathy, despite what he's doing.

Caught a little typo, in the second to last line - it should be "and slept the SLEEP of the content."

Ooh, amazing final sentence.

Brilliant. And really original.

~ Leo xx

Author's Response:

Hi Leo!

About the sentence revision, and the typo: I thought I caught all the errors. Guess not.
*frowns*

I'm glad you thought the scene was explained well. I spent quite a bit of time on it, so it's nice to see positive feedback :)

Having someone being horrified at Nightstalker just because of something he couldn't control would definitely have made him mad. When I get my muse back I'll go more in-depth into his backstory, about how he became a vampire, and his motivations, but for now I'll just respond to reviews. Stupid writer's block. *sighs*

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #5, by LeonoreThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Ghostly Information.

7th September 2014:
OK. So you've been hinting at dire things. And I'm about to find out what...

Oh no, those two are talking. One's bad enough, but both Dora and Felicity together?

That Felicity kid is an idiot. I blame the mother.

NO, ROSE, NO. DON'T SAY IT. NO.

She said it. Rose is an idiot. OK, whatever I predicted, I didn't expect that. I didn't expect her to actually tell anyone that it was Dora last year. Rose needs to think before she opens her mouth. Seriously. She's going to regret this later.

Don't let the potion fail. Don't let the potion fail...

Rose is still being an idiot and needs to shut up right now.

She's still bitter about Albus? Yeah, I can see why. But she's actually admitted it to herself, while I think she was above that before. She's admitted to herself that she's determined to prove Dora's involvement for vengeance and not just because she thinks it's the most likely option. And she doesn't even seem to be feeling guilty about it.

Yay, the sweets! That must be a pretty big owl, 'cause they ordered quite a lot.

Aww, Fionnuala's off in her own world. She's still my second favourite character. OK, I probably shouldn't let on to you about that, but I've mentioned it before anyway...

The Grey Lady keeping her company? That is an amazing idea. One I'd never have thought of. Well done McGonagall. *cheers*

YES THE POTION WORKED!

Oh. Poor Blackburn. Vicious cycles - bad transformation means she worries more about the next, so is tired and the transformation is worse...

I love your characterisation of the Grey Lady. Spot on.

Nobody likes Dora. But Rose doesn't deserve to have people like her the way she's acting now either.

*hugs Blackburn* Aww, yay, at least she knows someone cares now.

"Well, almost everybody." NO ROSE. Rose needs to keep her mouth shut and leave the talking to Angie. Chance would be a fine thing.

Sugar. Yes, Blackburn needs sugar. That will make everything alright. And don't try to tell me otherwise, 'cause I'm not going to listen.

"There was something about Madame Pomfrey that made obey any instruction she gave immediately." - spot the missing word!

I've decided I'm not going to hurt you. I like the ending, and even if you're an evil person at least you're not being all mean to Blackburn and she at last knows people care and I'm a bit worried about why Pomfrey's here and I'm sure that's what you want but it's as happy an ending as I can hope for and a lot happier than I expected. I've decided the potion is just for energy or a calming draft or something innocent and to be expected which will help her. And that IS all it is. I will refuse to accept it being anything more serious.

Summary: Rose is an idiot and she's going to regret saying all that. Angie is awesome. Fionnuala is also awesome, in a different way. And Blackburn is not as badly off as I was expecting from your hints.

I like this chapter. You said I wouldn't, but I do. It is maybe my favourite chapter, even though you said I wouldn't like it, because I interpret that as a nice ending. Rose is an idiot and is going to regret saying so much, but whatever, it's only Rose and I don't like Rose.

It's really well written to, and things like the moment Blackburn takes out the sugar quill and stuff are small but perfect. 'Clawesome.

Don't know how to end this review. Oh well, you know I'm random by now...

Bye.

Author's Response: OK, I've inserted the missing word, so that's that sorted.

And yeah, I probably made this chapter out to be a little worse than it really was. I just thought you mightn't be too pleased to see Blackburn unwell.

To be fair, Felicity could find out from just about anybody about Dora being behind what happened the previous year, as it's pretty well-known. Most of the Ravenclaws from 2nd years up would have figured out who'd lost them the points and Scorpius was passing it around too.

And yeah, she sorted of admitted it's Albus she's concerned about more than Blackburn, but doesn't seem to notice that that means she's not really stopping to think whether or not there's even any evidence Dora is involved in whatever might be going on this year.

And yes, I was thinking "the poor owl", but they seem to deliver a fair amount in the books, so it's one of those things I figure I can justify by canon. And the fact they are magic and the parcel could probably be enchanted to weigh less.

The Grey Lady thing was yet more stuff I planned about Blackburn's off-screen time. After all, she was pretty upset before the full moon and probably shouldn't have been alone. She'd probably get herself pretty worked up, waiting for the transformation to take place. OK, she was going to do that anyway, but it might help a bit to have somebody to talk to. And I thought the Grey Lady being the Ravenclaw ghost and a young woman, probably around Blackburn's age or a bit younger, wouldn't be a bad choice (I mean, around Blackburn's age when she died - clearly she's been around about a thousand years. And then I thought I should make some reference to it here.

And I'm glad you think I characterised her well. It was one of the things I found hard. I was even questioning whether she would put herself out like that, but she does seem like a nice person behind her reserved persona.

And yeah, Angie sort of knows what it's like to be stressed out, so she's a little more careful about what she says than Rose is, as Rose has had a comparatively easy life.

And yes, sugar might help Blackburn, either because of the energy boost or just because it might make her feel a little better, psychologically.

I will reassure you there's nothing too serious about the potion Madame Pomfrey brought her. It's probably slightly more serious than the options you're hoping for, but not by much. She's just generally feeling pretty unwell from a combination of stress and the effects of the transformation, but she'll be fine in a couple of days.


 Report Review

Review #6, by LeonoreEmpty Promises: Out of the Shadows

5th September 2014:
Hiya! Leo here from BvB!

First up, I love your opening. There's this immediate sense that there's something different, more mature, about the MC than the people around them. And that line, "I take another sip", is so effective.

Absolutely gorgeous description. These little lines which just create a picture. Of Rose, the cigarette, the atmosphere of the party...

Wow. The sudden change in atmosphere when James turns up and ruins everything. I really caught the anger. And that "Bang!" in the middle, so sudden, absolutely no warning!

You have a beautiful style here, really lovely to read, incredible descriptions. It flows so nicely, and I can't really think of anything to pick up on!

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by LeonoreThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Reactions.

15th August 2014:
Right. I have my teddy bear. You've been scaring me about this chapter.

Um, uh oh. This is really not a promising start.

Missing apostrophe - "From the looks on her classmates' faces,"

Dora's smirking again. Surprise surprise.

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO BLACKBURN? CUT THE SUSPENSE!

*laughs at Neville having dropped his wand*

I would expect a question mark here, to indicate the way it's spoken: "Yes, Rose?"
Missing word: "...and that if she just waited..."

Phew. I mean I don't like that Blackburn's not sleeping well but at least Dora isn't directly responsible (again).

Oh. Oh no. Here's the bit you were talking about.

"Rose had the impression she was quite stressed." This sentence isn't really necessary. The previous sentence shows very effectively that Blackburn's stressed, so you don't need to state it explicitly. In fact stating it like that detracts a little from the effect.

Oh no, she's blaming herself for being on edge. Vicious circles.

That kid is unbelievable: "On edge about what, Professor?" Dora asked slyly. "Turning into a werewolf tonight?"
Good response from Blackburn, at least. But really? Dora is a disgusting creature with no sense of decency.

Missing word: "Can you just get on with your transfigurations, please?"

Punctuation: "How could anybody, even Dora, ask something so hurtful?"

"She looked pretty upset." Well duh! Genius, Rose. Maybe more effective to "show, not tell"? Although why I'm encouraging you to torture her in even more description I don't know. Plenty of that already. But yes, write what makes her look pretty upset to Rose, rather than simply stating it.

DORA IS SMIRKING AGAIN. HEX HER, ROSE. But then Blackburn would have to give Rose detention. But Rose would then have time alone with Blackburn to maybe talk to her. Blackburn would probably feel so much guilt about having to give Rose detention for protecting her, but she'd do it because that's her job (and Dora would get her fired otherwise). But Rose could point out she didn't care, that it was worth it. But then Blackburn would feel the professional sense that she hadn't given an appropriate punishment. But... ARGH, THIS IS CONFUSING. JUST HEX DORA, ROSE, AND NOT IN FRONT OF BLACKBURN.

HEX HER

No, Rose. Don't mention Dora's parentage. That would just be hypocritical.

NO BLACKBURN, STOP FEELING GUILTY ABOUT BEING TENSE. IT'S PERFECTLY UNDERSTANDABLE. *squished Blackburn in a giant hug*.

"I think Blackburn's pretty stressed," GENIUS, Rose. I mean seriously.

Chocolate. Yes, she needs chocolate. Aww, they're all so sweet. PLEASE DON'T LET THIS GO WRONG. CAN THIS PLEASE JUST BE A NICE GIFT?

Fionnuala made a good suggestion. That's character development! She's aware of what's going on! Nathan's still stumbling around, though! Aww, they're so cruel to him. :P

"a small pile of gold" - if they've only got 14 sickles and 5 knuts, the pile is mostly silver, no gold. (Technicalities :P )

Fionnuala is very involved in this! Fully awake and conscious and making very sensible suggestions! (CHOCOLATE!!!)

Yay, it hasn't lead to disaster! (at least not yet) Those kids are so sweet. Please can this make Blackburn happy? Or at least a bit less miserable? Pretty please? *Dobby eyes* (Apparently Dobby eyes work on JKR herself; so they must work on you too, right?)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this awesome review. *hugs you*

I've corrected those mistakes. I don't usually make so many. I just ended up rewriting most of this chapter as a lot of it sounded REALLY bad the first time and then got so fed up with it that I couldn't be bothered editing properly. So I knew there'd be a few words and punctuation missing, but I decided to post it anyway. *laughs* I've been working on this chapter for a couple of weeks, so got to a point beyond caring.

The parts about Rose thinking she's stressed or upset were more to show what Rose is worrying about, but you're right; apart from anything else, it flows better if I leave out that "Rose had the impression she was quite stressed" line, so I've removed it. Plus, there are too many of those comments. Something else I'd have noticed if I'd read it through in one go, rather than writing a few hundred words at a time.

*prods self over the gold/silver thing* I actually meant to check that, but forgot.

And yes, Blackburn is working herself up into a complete state, isn't she? But you know, it's one of the hard parts of being a teacher (and one you don't think of until you're in the situation) - you're supposed to be the adult and the person responsible, which can add extra pressure if you're already stressed or upset about something.

Hmm, I'm not entirely sure about Blackburn's response. In a way, it is letting Dora know how much it's getting to her.

Oh, believe me, a certain amount of that stuff about Blackburn seeing Rose hex Dora occurred to me too. I definitely think she'd be torn between knowing that as their teacher she should punish Rose, being grateful that at least somebody is concerned about her and feeling guilty for having set the whole thing in motion, so to speak. And I think that if Rose said it was worth it, she'd both think Rose was just saying that and also that she should be discouraging her from thinking that way.

I agree it would be hypocritical to give away Dora's family background and while there are many things Dora should be blamed for, her family isn't exactly something she can help. Rose just finds it hard to keep quiet Dora is mocking others for not mentioning stuff, when she isn't herself. And Rose can be somewhat impulsive.

*laughs at your comment that Blackburn needs chocolate*

And do you really think I'd make them giving her sweets go wrong? *grins evilly* No, seriously, that is just a gift, that's all. I'm not even sure how it COULD go wrong.

You really expect me to be consistently nasty, don't you? With good reason, I expect.


 Report Review

Review #8, by LeonoreThe New Pride of Portree: Friends Again

6th August 2014:
Hmm, has Mariah given up or is she planning something? So she was shocked to find out that Fitz and Molly were actually serious... but I'd almost say jealousy is more likely than acceptance in that situation. I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Ooh, Fitz does care about Mariah. If he'd really moved on, he wouldn't be wanting revenge or being keen to not look at her. It's that it's revenge for the affairs - not just for being the cause of his injury. I guess it might be a pride thing, that he's embarrassed that she wasn't happy with him but felt the need to have those affairs. *shrugs* Well, something tells me there's going to be some Mariah trouble later.

Good ol' Percy. Getting thing sorted out. And making Fitz actually think about Molly's feelings rather than just making assumptions. I love the way he hints at his own experience of coming back into the family for the battle.

Love the cottage pie thing - it's just so normal and relatable.

Molly and Fitz, just friends? Mmm, not sure about that. No, Molly, you're more than friends, as everyone except you can tell...

I'm half surprised that nobody made a sarcastic comment about Hilarion "watching" the game on the wireless. I guess it's not my family, and they aren't really in the mood for picking up on technicalities like that.

Hilarion's so sweet.

Hold the baby. The cure for everything :)

Love it, as always.

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by LeonoreHead Girl Evans: Lily

1st August 2014:
Hi Grace! Dropping by from BvB!

That list of all the ways she's been bullied... poor Lily! And worried that she's not a Gryffindor because she runs away, because even though she knows logically that it's the sensible thing to do she's still got that doubt that maybe it makes her a coward.

Something I spotted: "when the meeting resumed" - as it hasn't get begun, I think you mean "began" ("resumed" implies there's a break in the middle of the meeting).

Yes, Lily! Definitely a proper Gryffindor! Bravery isn't necessarily about standing up for yourself and picking fights. It's about refusing to give up and sticking to your beliefs no matter what, and that's what she does. She deserves that badge.

A general comment - some of your sentences drag on quite a lot and can be a bit confusing. Maybe break them up a bit? A lot of the long ones, it's just a case of having the right punctuation to make it work, like this one I'd makes something like: "She couldn't question him about why he'd been chosen as her partner - the meeting was due to start any minute. She could express her shock for as long as she wanted afterwards."

Yes, Lily! Well and truly in charge. She showed those bullies what she's capable of! And in regards to your A/N - nope, not dark! I'd say it's happy, not pure fluff but very positive. Just keep an eye on your sentence length and punctuation to keep the flow smooth. Otherwise, lovely story! And great choice of topic!

~ Leo xx

Author's Response: Hey Leo! Thank you for stopping by and I'm glad that I caught you in Crit mode.

I can't really blame Lily for having that doubt that running away from the threat because she's from Gryffindor and I don't doubt that she had heard people say that running away from a threat made you a coward and that would've probably stuck with her.

I took your suggestions about the sentences and I cut some of them up into two sentences to make them shorter.

Lily is my baby so I really wanted to write about her overcoming the trouble that she must've gone through while attending Hogwarts.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LeonoreThe New Pride of Portree: Widdershins

26th July 2014:
Hi! Dropping by with another classic Leo-review (nonsensical rambling and all)

I LOVE the superstitions bit in the middle, and the comparison to 'The Scottish Play'.

Ooh, awkward parents/Fitz stuff!

Poor Fitz. Practically the first thing anyone mentions to him is his shoulder. And he screwed up in front of Molly's family.

Yay, Prides! Haha, Jinks and "Chariots of Fire". Definitely a good move on Fitz's part, showing them those films. And they get on so amazingly, with their inside jokes and friendly insults.

Great press interview technique - "please don't print that" "don't print that" "or that". If it was anyone but Ginny...

Yes! Don't let Rakes get away with it. Though if he hadn't cursed Fitz then Fitz and Molly probably wouldn't have ended up as coach and captain...

Fitz + Molly = :D

I think you're the only author who's made me really care about the romantic side of the story. I guess this one works for me because their relationship is pretty complicated - injury, manager, temper, OCD, being coach and captain, worrying about the team, and of course the parents. It actually seems realistic, which is something I hardly ever feel.

By the way, I'm jealous of them getting to spend so much time on Skye. I went camping a few years ago, just for a couple of days, and it is the loveliest place. It may have helped that in out week going round Scotland, we had the best weather for those days, but even ignoring that it's lovely.

Yeah, it genuinely does rain a lot in Scotland. Not all the time, but a lot. And they get a lot of snow in winter. Though there are many days when it's beautifully sunny, there are also many with atrocious visibility due to light rain/mist.

And Brits do talk about the weather a lot. It's not just a cliche. I am living proof (and I'm not the only one obsessed with it, either) :)

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by LeonoreThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Howling at the Moon.

22nd July 2014:
*gathers Blackburn into a big hug* You're not having her back unless you promise to play nicely! *glares*

Yes! That bacon! They definitely did deserve it.

"Roosters aren't animals," she pointed out. "They're birds."
Honestly, Rose... Considering the official scientific definition of an "animal" (with assistance, as ever, from Wikipedia): Animals are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms of the kingdom Animalia (also called Metazoa). Animals are divided into various subgroups, including vertebrates (birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles, fish). Roosters are birds. Therefore Rose is actually incorrect: roosters ARE animals (just not mammals).

Ahem. Yes. I have a habit of picking out things like that (I wrote a short essay brit-picking on washing machines in a review for someone not that long ago).

Poor Scorpius. He's making stupid decisions, but I can see why. I suppose you can make his life hard, and Angie's, and anyone else's you feel like, but I'm keeping Blackburn. *glares again*

I want to say at least Dora'll fail Transfiguration, but then she'd blame Blackburn and there'd be charges of incompetence not just of being a werewolf.

Haha, Binns is a useless teacher.

I'm all caught up now :D (I just reviewed this chapter not the next one because what I have more to say about it specifically). Bye bye! *waves*

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you for this review. It made me laugh out loud and cheered me up on a somewhat stressful day.

And I LOVE your nitpicking. LOVE you proving Rose wrong. You need to have a conversation with her. She needs to be proven wrong occasionally, I think. She's a little too sure of herself. And Albus isn't sure ENOUGH of himself. *laughs*

Please feel free to Brit-pick anything that isn't quite right in these stories. Sentence structure is what can be most difficult actually as I am progressively beginning to reaise we use a fair bit of Irish-language sentence structure directly translated into English, one of the most obvious being "I'm after doing..." instead of "I have done..." I once spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out how non-Irish people would say "it's after snowing." "It has snowed?" "It's has been snowing?" "It's snowed?"

Scorpius was actually about the hardest character for me to characterise, as it seems like both the idea of him being a repeat of Draco and the idea of him being completely different and having to prove himself have been used so often. I've seen both done fantastically, but that's the point. I didn't want to just copy something I'd already seen somebody else do. I guess he is different and trying to prove himself a bit in this, but mostly he's too caught up in Quidditch to even bother about proving himself.

And I liked the idea of a Slytherin who is ambitious in a non-typical way. It's not wealth he wants or to be the centre of attention, but rather to excel in his chosen area. We haven't seen much of that kind of ambition in the series, probably because most of the main characters - Harry, Ron, Sirius, Hagrid - are rather biased against Slytherins.

And yeah, Dora and her father would probably blame Blackburn if she fails Transfiguration. She can't really win on that one, because if she tries to make Dora work, she's setting herself up for hassle. Of course what she SHOULD do is report Dora whenever she makes comments. And people like Flint too. But considering she can barely hear the word "werewolf" without getting upset, I don't think she'd find it too easy to discuss their behaviour.

And yes, Binns is useless.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #12, by LeonoreThe New Pride of Portree: Let Us Break A Few Heads

12th July 2014:
I thought I'd finally let you know that I'm reading and loving this story. I found it during diadem voting, then a few days later opened about ten tabs with different chapters to read while stuck waiting in a place with no internet. It definitely kept me from getting bored!

OK, I read this chapter and went to watch a bit of the World Cup third-place play-offs before reviewing and found myself just sitting there watching and thinking "Falcons" every time the Brazilians fouled (which was a lot, even in just half an hour). Although unlike the Prides, the Dutch seem to be pretty good at keeping their play clean (I may be biased, being 1/4 Dutch...). Anyway, going off on a slight tangent. I like tangents. *Insert dumb mathematical ramble here*

Yay, Molly and Fitz! Ignore managers and ex-wives and all of that. This fic has the perfect balance of romance and other stuff. Just romance really isn't my thing, but there's so much backstory and other factors and complications and their relationship is more than just "she is so beautiful and I gaze into her eyes and feel something stir inside me and we are soulmates" but all of the arguments and her kind of looking after him and worrying about him and then feeling guilty because the manager says no relationships in the team and trying to keep it secret and... *list gets out of hand* And then all the training and match details, not blow-by-blow accounts because that would get boring but all of the key events and bits of information like drills and archive footage and fouls and seeker search patterns and stuff. But yeah, action and drama and angst and Molly's OCD as well as well as the romance. And technical details! I LOVE technical details! (Like all of the medical stuff.)

Just like any muggle professional sports team, with the management and coaching and the healer team. And the ice baths and painkillers and everything. I love the way they've got the team drinking culture, going to the pub and having too much and all that. They're not perfect, they don't sacrifice everything to play on the team, they're people who happen to love Quidditch, be amazing at it, and do it for a career.

Urgh, I hate Rakes. It's one thing for it to be some random member of the public... OK, that would be horrendous too, to attack just because their team was being beaten. But he was already in the wrong being with Fitz's wife and then he convinces himself he's being wronged in some way - or just curses Fitz because he's used to getting his own way, or just wants an excuse. Whatever, it's horrible.

Good old Ron. He scared Fitz a bit talking about the Cannons, but he doesn't really hold a grudge. (To be honest if he held a grudge against every player who played against and beat the Cannons he'd have a lot of grudges). And he lets Molly know about the fight so she can come pick him up, knowing it's not worth a scandal.

Now I want to know why Rose and the random guy are covered in treacle. There has to be a story in that...

Yay, the Prides won! *doesn't actually dance round room celebrating because that would be a bit weird and my family might notice, especially as it's past 11pm* I like Hugo. That's all I'm going to say about him. All your characters are amazing. OK a couple are amazingly unpleasant, but they're all nice and complicated and like real people.

I hope you like long inane rambly reviews with lots of tangents. I am in that mood. And I'm making it long because this review partly covers my love of the whole story so far not just this chapter.

OK, I have no idea how much of that consists of my random comments and how much is actually relevant to, well, anything. Shall I stop talking (typing) now? ;)

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by LeonoreHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

12th July 2014:
Hi Amy!

Awww. And yay! And awww again. I love the moment you've chosen to do! Sad, that he never went back to the shop after Fred's death, but at least he kept on inventing - which I would actually expect to be harder. I mean the shop is just a shop, but inventing is something they always did together. But then he doesn't have to go to the shop, and he does have to keep inventing if he doesn't want it to close.

Some of your sentences need some extra commas to break them up, like this one: "He opened his eyes and pushed himself into a sitting position, which was easier to do than he had expected." Just to make them a bit easier to follow.

Um, I think I'll have to ask you to explain the joke because I've thought a bit and I can't see it. "Pre-gorgeous" Yeah, probably me being slow ;)

I LOVE THE ENDING SO MUCH. Together again. Forever. Yay!

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I couldn't see him stopping altogether, even if Fred is gone. He would want to keep the shop alive even if he couldn't stand to be there.
I shall keep an eye out in the future for missing commas!
Drop-dead gorgeous. It's a terrible joke and you're not the only one who didn't get it :P
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #14, by LeonoreSolace: Comfort

12th July 2014:
'm all sad now. Poor Oliver, poor Katie. Absolutely beautiful descriptions, natural-sounding dialogue. And the first section is too sad.

Gorgeous characterisations - they're such normal people, Oliver all awkward asking her out, the nurses not superheroes knowing exactly what to do but scared of anything new. I love how Oliver just talks about Quidditch, not knowing what else he can mention. He doesn't know what else to talk about so he just falls back on Quidditch as a safe option. And she reminds him that she wants to know about other things too, like how her friends are.

I WANT A NIFFLER. It's so cute! All fluffy and calm and snuffling around.

Sad and beautiful and sweet and 10/10.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey Leo!

Yeah, I always try to make my characters as normal as possible. I read back my dialogue and see if I can picture it coming out of the character's mouth or if it flows naturally, the way normal speech would.

Glad you enjoyed the story! Thanks!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #15, by LeonoreOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
"The Haggis is on the fire now". I love that - a nice demonstration of her Scottish roots. Poor McGonagall, and well done her for trying to remain professional and follow the rules. And she can remember the numbers of the decrees! I suppose she has to know so she can warn students of violating them.

And the fact she's protecting her House. They broke the rules, but she's sticking with them. And good old Flitwick, offering to take the blame. Umbridge deserved that Canary Cream - you've presented her as suitably ghastly and right in character.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks!! I read on Pottermore that she was a hatstall between Ravenclaw and Gryffindor, so her intellect and memory would make it easy for her to remember the decrees. Plus, I can only imagine what staff meetings were like under Dolores.

And Flitwick? Yeah, I have no problem imagining him trying to outsmart Dolores. Especially film Flitwick, and that little hand gesture he did when the Weasley twins made their exit.


 Report Review

Review #16, by LeonoreHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Hi Lisa

This is perfect in so many ways, there's no surprise at all that it won overall! Seriously, I'm jealous of your writing.

Their relationship... just the right level of complexity. Ex-student - I adore how he can't call her by her first name, and how she doesn't force him to, and how he can't help but feel nervous sitting in her office. And the professional side, as colleagues - talking about lessons, in particular the extra ones he's giving Harry, and referring to Snape politely as a colleague. And then the friendship that grows, the way she looks after him when all of that stuff happens. It starts off cute and quickly gets sad, and all the way through is that little bit of normality: the biscuit. A truly great friendship. Gah, can you share your talent please?

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #17, by LeonoreThe Last Tomorrow: The Last Tomorrow

10th July 2014:
It's just sooo sweet! Little baby Teddy, with his changing-colour hair.

The way Remus refers to the moon like it's capitalised, The Moon. He's afraid of it, and kind of fascinated. Remus is one of my favourite characters (he was my absolute favourite, but I'd have to give that to Hugo in my novel now). It's such an interesting situation, the way he's stuck with Lycanthropy, hating that part of him and terrified of passing it on, desperate but also afraid to be accepted. Anyway, I'm waffling now.

You've captured him beautifully, and that ending... I know he was reluctant to marry Tonks, and he tried to run away when he found out that she was pregnant, but he had to go back and despite all of his fears he's happy to have the baby. Really, really sweet.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #18, by LeonoreA Child's Cry: A Child's Cry

9th July 2014:
Meh. Can't even...

I read this a while ago, voting for the diadems, but that description of George at the end just gets me. And of Molly as well. The pair of them. Gah.

Going back... haha, I love how the descriptions of their first cries indicates their later characters. And Molly, calmly understanding them. I like that little touch that she had complications during the pregnancy - she didn't just pop out kid after kid, she had difficulties like any other woman. And she found it easier with practise (ie. when it came to Ginny) suggesting she didn't get the hang of it straight away.

Beautiful, happy then so sad at the end! Excuse me while I go cry.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #5

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, both then and now +]

I don't think anyone just get's the hang of it right away. And every baby is different, so you end up just trying to figure out which shortcuts work best for everyone. (Oldest of 8 siblings by 7 years. I had PB&Js down to a science!)

Haha. It's ok. My hubby only read it once, and refuses to read it again. +] Thank you so much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by LeonoreThe Riddle of Lord Voldemort.: The Riddle of Lord Voldemort.

9th July 2014:
Helllo! It's ME! (I know, me actually reviewing, shock horror!)

Today is not a "coherent" day, sorry in advance. This is not going to flow at all.

Voldemort seems so normal, so logical, and it's the calm way his ambitions are presented that gets to me. His calm belief that muggles are beneath wizards. Urgh, this shows it rather clearly. "He wanted to be more than human; more even than a wizard." Wizards are more than humans.

"Lord Voldemort was the smartest boy in my class" - haha, yes! Definitely not the reputation he's looking for!

Just catching a comma which I don't think should be there, after the word "although" in this sentence: "It sounded slightly disrespectful, although, of course it pleased him that people did know who." And perhaps it could do with a little more detail on his rebirth, on how he feels when he's inhabiting the snakes in Albania.

But I really like your characterisation, on a character I see a lot of people struggling with. His calm certainty of his own superiority (ignore my grammar, I'm speed reviewing). He's often portrayed in a slightly mad way, but he's charming on the surface while entirely sure of himself inside. And his pride in being a descendant of Salazar Slytherin! That's definitely very important to him, and I really like the way that's mentioned at various points right through the story.

A joy to read, like all of your stuff!

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 - Educational Decree #5

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. *grins*

I'll take out that comma. Actually, I'll do it after responding to this, before I forget.

Characterising him for this story felt easier than it should have. Actually, I think this might interest you, he comes across as a textbook case of RAD to me, although I wrote this story before I even heard of RAD, so it hasn't much to do with that.

I was thinking of the fact Tom Riddle grew up in the English equivalent of an industrial school and while I don't think things were as bad there as here, nonetheless books like Agatha Christie's show that orphans were pretty much looked down on there too. Miss Marple's employing of young girls from the orphanage as servants is pretty much seen as charitable, although she likely couldn't afford a maid otherwise.

So imagining how it would feel for somebody who was looked down upon by all of society to then find out they belonged in another world where they were descended from one of its most famous historical characters and where those who looked down on them are themselves looked down upon. I think it is easy to see how he could have bought into that.

Although of course, it's not an excuse. He could just as easily have decided he'd never look down on anybody, knowing how it felt when people looked down on him.

Thanks again. I'm glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #20, by LeonoreThe Black Dress: The Black Dress

9th July 2014:
Awww, this is so beautiful! I'm not sure whether I can find words for it. Cho's fiance is such a lovely guy, she're really lucky to have him. And the point where she remembers those lines he said to her - especially the last one! Because of course he doesn't stay safe in the maze and come back to her.

You are a talented person! The flow is gorgeous, like the description - I can just imagine that dress! And the sort of person she is, that being the only simple piece of clothing she has. And then the watch - a bit of the muggle world. It makes Cho's feelings seem even more relatable, realising that it doesn't matter that she's a witch or that Cedric was killed by Voldemort, just that she's lost something like that.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #21, by LeonoreThe Fatal Flaw: The Fatal Flaw

8th July 2014:
Hi (again) Lisa!

This line is so Sirius: "He liked to think they’d had a connection." I love all the 'favourite dementor' type remarks.

And the pretend hate but actually liking for the hippogriff, calling Buckbeak names and telling himself that Buckbeak isn't self-aware, and that he's just an animal but actually knowing Buckbeak is self-aware and a good friend.

And then accepting that they were both in trouble for being proud! They relate beautifully, a lovely friendship.

"If I die, look after my Hippogriff," LISA NO! TAKE IT BACK! YOU MADE IT SAD AND IT WAS SO KIND-OF-HAPPY

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #22, by LeonoreViolet Hill: a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hi Kiana!

So short, and so pretty! Absolutely gorgeous description - and likening him to the thestral! So much lovely imagery, lovely description, beautiful flow... beautiful everything. The way it's sharp and angular and flawed but despite all it's generally considered to indicate he finds it peaceful and a sign of hope. Lovely.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Hi Leo!

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad that you liked the description as I really did work hard here to make it etherealy if that even makes any sense :P Thanks for a great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #23, by LeonoreThe Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

8th July 2014:
Poor, mischievous Fwooper. Stuck in the cage. Although it's hardly the best behaved of birds. It's understandable, wanting to be free, and horrible to think of the poor thing stuck in a cage with a silencing charm on. Good Roxanne! It might not be legal, and she'd certainly get in trouble of she was caught, but she sees that the treatment of it is wrong. And she even has the sense to cover her ears after removing the silencing charm, not underestimating it!

Aww, so sweet.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #24, by LeonoreThe Start of Something: Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

8th July 2014:
Hi!

This is so sweet! It starts off kind of like a passage from a non-fiction book about fairies. Especially until you refer to a specific fairy. It's a lovely opening.

It's all so sweet! Short, and really cute. And how at the end Clary says that Lily would make a good fairy. And fairies and Christmas are the perfect combination. So sweet, I loved it!

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Hey!

If fairies are real, maybe this is how the books start. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by LeonoreStatue of Us: Autumn, 1978

8th July 2014:
Hi again!

Naughty Lily! Not such a good girl after all...

"Pick another facet, then." Good retort!

Honestly, Sirius! As we agreed in the cabin, he's an idiot. And James isn't very happy with him. Um, NOT a good moment to go interrupting...

Your marauders banter (in fact all your banter) puts a smile on my face. Witty comebacks, more witty comebacks, and sass. James HAS changed quite a bit, gotten a lot more responsible, and I think the death of Fenwick is actually a great cause of that (not just trying to prove to Lily he's not an idiot), shocking him into realising that at the end of the year he'll be at risk of the same happening to him. It's shocked him into seriousness - although of course not enough to make him boring!

A joy to read, as ever. And I can't even find any washing machines to give CC over... :P

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #3

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>