Reading Reviews From Member: Cannons
  
193 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CannonsThe Sorting of Cormac Mclaggen: The Soring of Cormac Mclaggen

23rd October 2014:
Review Tag!

I think you have done a good job with this one shot. There were some lovely moments like this one - The great hall could never feel lonely with all of the stars. Yes Cormac decided. He would find a way to force his mother to give him the stars. - I thought that was a really powerful image.

He seems as if he looses Declan at the end which is sad but believable.

I like how you have written Cormac, there is something chilling about him even at eleven. For instance when he is noting that he is taller then everyone and that he may as well use it to intimidate other people. There is a nice balance as well with loyalty to his brother and Slytherin towards the end with the hat.

Cannons

 Report Review

Review #2, by CannonsHarry Potter and the Summer After the War: The Yule Ball

22nd October 2014:
I just want to say how much I enjoyed reading the story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by CannonsBound by Love: Things Least Expected

21st October 2014:
Hi,

This was a really great first chapter in my opinion and just the right length. You wrote Neville well and the scrapbook idea was intriguing.

I hope his children end up in Slytherin! :L

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow my very 1st review yay! :)

Thank you very much--I wanted to do something unique and I always try to do a decent lead-in as it were :). I-love- the Longbottoms and I often feel for those characters that don't get a lot of love--theirs is both an interesting and tragic story that (imho) deserves to be told in some way. I'm hoping that I'll be able to do them justice. I'm looking forward to seeing how this will turn out in the long run.

Thank you very much again for reading and reviewing--I truly appreciate it. :)

P.S. -- hahahaha I don't think Neville does! lol He might end up being like 'I was ONLY kidding!'


 Report Review

Review #4, by CannonsYear Five: Cleaner, More Brilliant

21st October 2014:
Hey,

I read this a couple of weeks ago in about two days, you had me totally hooked. I felt like I knew all the characters personally by the end of the story. It is amazing how you have given each character so much depth and such a strong identity.

You have sculpted something incredible whilst using Hogwarts and the magical world as a backdrop. My first thought when I finished this was that you should take it down and turn it in to OF and try and get it published. I thought it really was that good.

Initially it took me a while to get around to this story but there was a lot of people recommending this story over on the forums so I eventually decided to give it a shot and I am pleased I did.

Keep writing!

Cannons (harrypotterlover1 on the forums)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh thank you SO MUCH!!!1! You ABSOLUTELY just made my day :D

I really hadn't expected to actually PULL OFF this story, and finish it, and then end up being proud of it! And then, when I decided to throw it at the internet, I didn't think it would get so much positive feedback, or that I would discover such an AMAZING community with so many incredibly talented and inspiring writers!

Just, AH!!

ThankYouThankYouThankYou for taking the time to read this story and leave a review! I appreciate it so much!

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #5, by CannonsWhen Summer Fades: equinox

20th October 2014:
Hey, here from the review tag thread. :)

I really enjoyed this story, those 5000 words flew by and I didn't have to stop once. I thought you did a good job of conveying all of Regulus' contrasting thoughts and how he warmed to Summer. It was really believable because it didn't happen straight away and he was rude to her as well.

I have never read a story about Regulus but now that I think about it he is such a complex character, and I would love to read more stories about him. He had the pressure of his parents and his friends on his back and grew up believing everything he had been taught to be true and still gave up everything to make the right choice, sacrificing himself in the process.

I love how you have portrayed his as being kind and good natured at heart. He wants to everyone to be happy, his parents and Sirius and yet he can't quite make the right choice in the beginning. The fact that he wants everyone to be happy falls perfectly in line with the personality of someone who would later willingly sacrifice himself for the good of others. An interesting thought when you compare him to Peter.

Summer is a totally awesome character and a total breath of fresh air, exactly what Regulus needs. Someone to balance out his parents and friends. Their meetings in the Astronomy tower are really sweet. A death eater watching the sun go down with a mudblood... obviously Summer is able to see something in him which Regulus isn't able to see in himself at the start. Even when he calls her a mudblood she still wants to be around him which shows how much she believes in him. I really loved the part where she managed to get a smile out of him.

Persistence is obviously key for Summer gaining Regulus' trust. I had to smile when I thought of Regulus playing Gobstone's in the Room of Requirement with her her friends. There is also the fact that he doesn't even judge her friends straight away by wondering about the whole blood status thing, it is more of an after thought, which is awesome.

There is a recurring theme here with Sirius and Summer that shows just how little Regulus needs to be able to see which side is wrong. He defiantly needs someone to balance him out and maybe Sirius should have tried harder!

It has been ages since I had reviewed something from the review tag and I really enjoyed this first chapter. I noticed it is already finished at the third chapter so I am really excited to see where this is going to go and how you are going to deal with the inevitable if at all. Your writing was flawless and I loved the way you portrayed Summer and Regulus.

Cannons.

Author's Response: Cannons, hi! What an amazing review! ♥

Yay for reading your first Regulus story! I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote him with his lost-ness and the way he gradually became friends with Summer. I like what you pointed out about how his wish to please everyone really connects with his self sacrificing nature later on - honestly I hadn't even considered that, but it's so true!

Really glad to hear you like Summer, as well! Heh, yeah she sure is persistent, even when Regulus insults her - she can still see good in him. I'm really glad you liked the development of their friendship out on the Astronomy tower :)

Ahh, yes - things would probably have been so different if Sirius kept trying. So sad thinking that it could have turned out so much better for the two of them if they weren't so stubborn. :(

Ee, thanks so much! I'm so thrilled you happened to stop by review tag, then - this was such a lovely review! Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by CannonsNever Look Back: Bed Time Revelations

14th October 2014:
Sadly there are no more chapters for me to read :(

Update soon please!

 Report Review

Review #7, by CannonsNever Look Back: Introductions - Part : 2

14th October 2014:
This is so awesome, such a long chapter as well. It was so fun to read. Ron's reaction was interesting !

 Report Review

Review #8, by CannonsNever Look Back: Chapter 2 - Introductions : Part 1

14th October 2014:
Another awesome chapter :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by CannonsNever Look Back: The Unexpected Visitors

14th October 2014:
Hey!

I just stumbled across this and I have to say that I really enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by CannonsLying Josephine: Eye of the Storm

13th October 2014:
It has been a long wait. A very long wait indeed. BUT, it is okay because this chapter made up for it. :D

There was so much angst in this chapter, the tension was practically smashing my computer screen from the inside.

I think this is quite possibly the best chapter so far.

I challenge you to have another chapter up before January...

;)

Author's Response: LOL Cannons. This review. Hahaha I know, I know, I'm the slowest!!! But omg, thank you so, SO much; I am just beyond thrilled and relieved that you feel that way! Ah!!! *hugs* :-D

SO. MUCH. ANGST! LOL Yeah, Jo and George have some bumps to get through, that's for sure, and they just might be going after your computer screen again pretty soon... hehehe ;)

I am dead. Thank you. Like... blown away. Just... thank you.

HAHAHA! You're too funny. Okay! I swear! Really! I mean, with NaNo approaching, I literally have no excuse! It will absolutely happen, and I'm even gonna go ahead and say that it will happen SOONER than January! *crosses fingers*

You're wonderful. Thank you for the phenomenal review. I'm so sincerely and ridiculously grateful for the support! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #11, by CannonsChicks Before Broomsticks: Fast Life

8th October 2014:
So, I did promise I would read this!

I like Hollie. :) Her personality literally jumps out at you from the pages. (screen)

However, I'm not sure I like Roxanne after her, er, 'performance' in the toilets. Classy...;)

Haha, honestly I have never read a fic with Quidditch being so important to the plot, so it is going to be really interesting to follow this story as you update.

Also I thought you did a really good job of introducing all the team members, I didn't get overwhelmed by all the information at all and you've given them each a personality. Which is sometimes hard when introducing so many characters at once.

I think I like Sal the best so far, and the bit with Alec was a funny moment.

I have a second chapter to read now so I will no doubt leave you a review in the near future!

Author's Response: Hey Fin you made it! (sorry this took me so long to reply to!)

Ah, I'm glad you like her! That's so nice... that's so wonderful to hear that her personality is shining through for you.

haha.. Roxanne was intoxicated and definitely not acting like herself there.

I base it off of professional Soccer... football? That one sport. How they set up and play against eachother and then select members get selected for the country team to play for the World Cup. Well.. I base it off of a fanfiction I read about soccer once. hahah.

Ooh, that's actually really great to hear. I was a bit worried that I had thrown too many characters in.. good to hear!

hahah! I love Sal. Mexican big brother, I call him. Alec is also very fun for me, he's been a challenge and I've found it fun to write him.

Thanks so much for reading, Fin! I'll talk to you soon.

Julie


 Report Review

Review #12, by CannonsBall Date: Proposals

5th October 2014:
Hey, as promised I said I would check it out! I thought it was a fun easy read which I really enjoyed. Can't wait for the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CannonsAlbus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince: On the Hogwarts Express

18th September 2014:
Hey!

I saw you asking for a review on the forums so I thought I would stop by. I am really intrigued by the title, 'prince' already has a lot of history in HP so I can't wait to see how it is relevant to the story. I was also interested to read this because I am also writing a next gen story (it hasn't been posted yet)so it was interesting to see what ages you have made the characters and stuff.

I really liked the Albus gave Scorpious a chance and was getting sort of annoyed at James at the end. In my mind Scorpious is either like you have made him, quite reserved and embarrassed about his family or really cocky and arrogant and I don't usually see stories where he is just a normal kid. It really was fun to read and it really did seem like a first year conversation where things are a lot more simpler then they get the older you get. Albus could look past Scorpious' name and that was awesome of him.

I felt really nostalgic when reading this because it reminded me of the first train ride to Hogwarts with Harry meeting Ron and them eating all the sweets from the trolley and Rose being a bit bossy.

I wanted them to take Goyle down! If only they had an animagus rat to take him down, that would have been epic.

Your writing is also really good, the chapter was smooth and it was interesting enough that I just read straight through, you were clever enough to leave the cliff hanger of which house they are going to be in because now I simply have to check out the second chapter!

Cannons (harrypotterlover1)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for coming by and I really enjoyed your story as well! I hope we continue swapping each other's work. Ah, Next Gen stories are really fun to write and it's always funny to see what other author's do when it comes to the kids.

I'm pretty sure that Albus isn't nearly as prejudiced as James is when it comes to Slytherins/Death Eaters. I wanted to write him as being more understanding and since he's kind of nervous about going to Hogwarts in the first place, I didn't think that he would make much of a fuss about Scorpious's background. I wanted to make Scorpious as normal as possible but later on, he does get a bit of a temper. Hahaha.

Yay! I tried to make this a bit similar to Ron and Harry's first meeting on the Express. I thought that it would give you guy's a great chance to get used to them as friends and I'm glad that you liked them.

Goyle gets beaten up later. Hahaha.

By a girl.

Anyway, thanks so much for the swap and I hope we see each other again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #14, by CannonsHow Does One Find Life After So much Death?: She Thinks It's My Fault

13th September 2014:
Hey,

So fics set straight after the war are undoubty my favourite and this one gripped me in straight away. I was a little surprised that the ending of this chapters came so soon , but at least I have a few more chapters to look forward to

Author's Response: Hello,
Thanks for your review! Yes this chapter ended at a very strange point. I did not want to end it there. I, however, did not like the second half of the conversation that I had written so I scrapped that and decided to post the first half so I could have some more time to deeply consider when they talk about their futures- as this will layout much of the plot for the rest of the novel.

I also really like fics set straight after the war. It's something about keeping the world alive that draws me. I am glad you like my story and I plan to write many, many more chapters. A separate one-shot is in the works which details what happens in this story from Ron and Hermione's POV.

Thanks!
BleedRedandGold


 Report Review

Review #15, by CannonsComplicated: In Which Questions Are Asked

13th September 2014:
Hey,

I'm really enjoying this so far and I'm pleased to say that this chapter was no different. I'm glad that this chapter addressed Cassie's disappearance because I was starting to get a little suspicious.

I do like how she is having to give other people a chance now though, like Albus.

I don't like her Mum though, with all these digs at her about slimming solutions and what not. It's defiantly a different parenting method though, I will give her that.

Author's Response: Hiya,

Thanks so much for the review. Cassie's disappearance is definitely going to continue to be discussed. I think an underage witch going missing would definitely be taken seriously.

And you're right, Olivia's starting to give people more of a chance than she would have done in the past.

Pansy's a pretty dreadful parent, but I think she's got a lot of her own problems that make her than way.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by CannonsComplicated: In Which There Are Prefect Patrols

11th September 2014:
No more chapters to read!! :( I really like how you've written al very believable and I did not expect them two to be in the cupboard ... Drama !

Author's Response: Haha, the next chapter's in the queue so should be up in the next few days.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by CannonsComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

11th September 2014:
Hi !

I am on my iPad so I can't leave a really long review but I have to say I really enjoyed this opening chapter. It was quite a Christmas wasn't it! Jason seemed a really interesting character even though I can't help hoping the two of them get along a lot better in the future :P

On to the second chapter now!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for having a read! I'm really really glad you're enjoying it. It really means a lot, especially given how impressed I've been with your own ideas :)

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by CannonsHarry Potter and the Wizard's Portrait: The Recapture of the Carrows

1st July 2014:
Hi!

Here for the review tag! I thought this was an interesting start to the story and a realistic one at that. Your description was good enough that I could clearly see what was happening during the battle scene which was good as I know battle scenes can be hard to get right at times.

The only weird thing I found was Harry's nerves when he was about to fight them with his wand hand shaking etc I would have though that just after defeating Voldemort he would have been so pumped up he wouldn't have any nerves. That's just me being pedantic though I suppose!

I loved the section with Peeves, it was such a clever idea and somehow made it feel more like Hogwarts.

Anyway keep writing you defiantly have talent.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading. I enjoyed all your comments. This was my first fanfic and also my first finished novel-length story. It was also the first action scene I ever wrote (eek!) - so I'm thankful to hear you thought it wasn't bad, because I did struggle with it. And because it was one of the first scenes of the story, I knew it could either draw the reader in or turn them off. You're so right to say that battle scenes are hard to get right - they really are.

I can see your point about Harry not having nerves after just killing Voldemort, and I agree that he wouldn't be nervous about just fighting Death Eaters. But I was looking at it from a slightly different angle - my thought was that Harry was nervous about the Cruciatus curse the Carrows might cast and hit him with - or his friends - since Ron had just pointed out the Carrows were known for liking to use it, and no one wants to get hit with torture. So that's where I was coming from. But I'm glad you mentioned it, because it lets me know that the story might not have made my reasoning clear to every reader.

Thanks for letting me know you liked the scene with Peeves. I was so glad I got that idea, and hoped the humor would work for readers.

Thanks for a lovely review. I appreciate your reading this and commenting on it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by CannonsOut of the Darkness: Into the Sun

7th June 2014:
Hey,

I don't know what to congratulate you on first. So I'm going to go with...congratulations on conveying so much emotion through so little words. That is a talent in itself. It was sad and when she was going through her speech to Harry I was imaging all the moments she was talking about that we know she won't see.

At first I thought that this was going to be the moment when Voldemort burst through and kills her but somehow it's even sadder this way. It's like you've delayed the inevitable.

Awesome.

Cannons

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks so much! You're right, knowing what's going to happen makes the atmosphere heavier. :)


Thank you again for reading and reviewing!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #20, by CannonsTo Prevent An Unfortunate Series of Events : This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

26th May 2014:
Hey, I'm here for our review swap!

I really, really enjoyed it and am so pleased that there are 19 chapters for me to read! I have never read a Hermione time travel fic so I have no expectations and the plot will be like nothing I have read before.

I thought you wrote Hermione really well and I liked how you didn't make her say 'goodbye' to Harry and Ron and that she avoided them before going in to the past because I feel like that would be an easy thing to do. It made her feel more like Hermione to me that she didn't say anything.

Dumbledore was written brilliantly aswell. I think that he is one of the hardest characters to write and it really stands out if he isn't written well so you did a great job there.

I found myself hating Peter without giving him a chance and I can't wait to see how you make him interact with everyone that he eventually betrays.

Your writing has a great flow to it and it's super easy to read and you can't help but get drawn in. I'm going to be honest and say that I probably wouldn't have given this story a chance if I had stumbled across it but your writing is so good and your plot is so awesome that you have changed my mind!

I will defiantly be reading on, you're a great writer.

Cannons!

Author's Response: Hiya! Thank you for doing the review swap with me! That is really cool of you! :) So I'm really happy to hear that you're enjoying it!! After I read my first Hermione time travel fic, I was hooked. It's my favorite storyline, to be honest, so I hope you like it!

Hermione is definitely my most favorite out of everyone. So I am incredibly thrilled to hear you think I wrote her well! I really did feel like it would be more her to just avoid Harry and Ron and not make a big spectacle out of what was going on. Basically, what I felt her mindset would be, is that she would only appear to be gone seconds, so why worry them.

Dumbledore is tough. So thank you for that! I've read so many stories where he was just.. off. I really didn't want to do that with him. So, again, thank you. I was very much hoping to do him justice.

What I can say regarding Peter is, don't judge him too harshly yet. He may surprise you... :)

You are far too kind! Thank you so very much!! I'm so happy that you answered my review swap and found my story. I hope you continue to enjoy it the rest of the way through! :)

*hugs*
Meg


 Report Review

Review #21, by CannonsDead Ringer: Preparing for Departure

21st May 2014:
Hey, I have read this story and the previous one in a couple of days! You really are a talented author, you pace out your plot incredibly well nothing ever seems rushed.

I don't know if you will ever continue with this story but I will check back to see if you do.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I do intend to continue; I'm focusing on one of my other fics at the moment, but eventually this one will be updated. I apologize for the wait! Hope it's worth it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by CannonsDisclosure: Bonding with the Pages

12th May 2014:
HEY! :D

I love a good missing moment story and although it was short and sweet it did the job wonderfully! I always enjoy your writing and I see you have a couple more stories since I last visited your page so I will have to check then out!

Cannons

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Thank you haha! Really?! You enjoy my writing! XD That's awesome to know! ^_^

Hehe, thanks for reading! Hope you like my other stuff - though it's not as quite as good. -^_^-



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #23, by CannonsMy Little Secrets: Villas in France

27th April 2014:
Hey, I love this story but it's so depressing at times ( in a good way )hopefully there is a happy ending , but I know how hard these things are so at least it's realistic. Your writing is really engaging and I keep coming back for more even if I haven't reviewed it in a while which I apologise for.

Keep it up!

Cannons

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you liked the story. I can't tell you how the story will end, you just have to keep reading to find out. I'm flattered that you think my writing is engaging. Don't worry about it, thanks for taking the time to leave a review now!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by CannonsThe Quiet Outcast: Hugo Weasley: Part II

29th March 2014:
Hi!

I don't normally leave reviews if I'm honest but it would have been rude if I hadn't on this amazing story.

It's hard to find a story that I can't put down on here atm so I was so pleased when I found this one! I saw your blog post on the forums (congrats on 10 years btw!) so I thought I'd have a look at it and I'm so pleased I did!

I loved Hugo and how he isn't like any main character I've read, he isn't a natural leader, star Qudditch player or insanely popular, he's just himself and that's the best bit about him. I was rooting for him throughout the whole story.

All off your characters are relatable and believable, which is what made it seem so real to me.

I really do wish you would write more about Hugo and the others! Good luck with getting published I know you can do it.

:)

Cannons

 Report Review

Review #25, by Cannonscast my shadow, shine your light: 1.2: Amelia

11th March 2014:
Put me out of my misery and put another chapter up please! This is amazing

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Next chapter should only be a couple of days away, I hope to see you back!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>