Reading Reviews From Member: Abhorsen
  
660 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AbhorsenInto the Darkness of the Grave: she is a lion

14th June 2012:
I really enjoyed your writing style. You are direct even in your metaphors - which is unique and wonderful.

I also loved the setting of this - even being a Marauder-loving reader, I have never really spent much time considering what it would like in the fall-out of the attack on Lily and James.

Great job

Author's Response: Thank you. I am very much a Marauder lover too, though, it's been years since I've really read too much. It seems like a lot of fics now are Dramiones or Next Gen. I'm sure I must've read fics before that dealt with the aftermath of Halloween 1981, but probably not too many, and very few from McGonagall's POV...so I wanted to bring something new to the table. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Abhorsen2012 Writer's Duel: A Fresh Spin: In One Safe Piece by Toujours Padfoot

17th January 2012:
Ouch. This one certainly tugged at my heart-strings. And it was very realistic, I think. You could've easily let her mom let up on her but I think you did better than that by maintaining the tone of the piece and keeping her mother shamed and mad. I particularly liked that you put in the stuffed bunny as the only thing waiting for the child.

Great job.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AbhorsenBird: Fly Away

7th December 2010:
I really enjoyed this. I was a sweet little fic about letting go and all the things that go with that. I liked the way you incorporated Harry. He wasn't obtrusive to the meaning of the story.

Very good job!

Author's Response: Thanks. Good to hear that Harry just aided the story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AbhorsenWith the Devil: Chapter One

5th December 2010:
I really think this is a unique idea. I love historical-type fiction and this was no exception. I like her voice too. She seemed to have this irony about her that is wonderful for a minister's daughter who turned out to be a witch. Really original premise. Fantastic job overall.

Author's Response: Thanks a million for the kind and thoughtful review, Abhorsen! I'm so glad you liked the first chapter.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by AbhorsenRunaway: Chapter Two: Visitor

5th December 2010:
Very disruptive, isn't he? It's obvious that Hermione is not pleased with this turn of events at all. I liked that she isn't perfect at healing gashes. Most writers would've made her as adept as a healer. It was a good choice not to do that.

Good job.

 Report Review

Review #6, by AbhorsenRunaway: Chapter One: Isolation

4th December 2010:
You have captured what I feel the war soon have been like beautifully. JKR is amazing, but she was writing a book that millions of children read and she was aware of that. She wrote it accordingly, but war is often uglier than children can handle and you worked that in.

Hermione is how would expect her to be if all that you say had happened to her. You did an excellent job conveying that. I also can't wait to read about what happens with Draco.

 Report Review

Review #7, by AbhorsenRunaway: Prologue

4th December 2010:
I really enjoyed this opening chapter. It was very vivid and full of description. You really succeeded in drawing me in with the premise of Hermione as an author, which is something I've never really seen done in a story. She certainly has the personality and the brains for it. Very well written. Good job.

 Report Review

Review #8, by AbhorsenDelicate: Prologue: The Test

30th November 2010:
Wow. That was entertaining. But a realistic way to act if you have a unique view of things, which any daughter of Hermione and Ron would have to. She's got some growing up to do and fast though, if she's going to do this thing properly.

 Report Review

Review #9, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Epilogue - Thirteen Years Later

28th November 2010:
I loved the link of the purple hair to the green hair in this survey of a chapter. I enjoyed being able to see how things turned out for them after it was all over.

I have loved reading this story. Thank you very much for putting it out there.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Meant To Be

28th November 2010:
I feel bad for Ron, but that's what he gets for jumping to his own conclusions without talking to Hermione first. Also, how did he know Rose was ill? Did he tell that from a distance?

Good ending!

 Report Review

Review #11, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: The Hard Truth

27th November 2010:
I loved the ironic twist of Hermione's use of daddy - echoing what Rose just said.

I hope that Skeeter doesn't twist this every which way, but I know she's got to since that's basically what she does. I just hope Draco's plan doesn't backfire on him.

 Report Review

Review #12, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Daddy Who?

27th November 2010:
Ah the rush of a coming storm. You can hear it a mile away. Rita Skeeter's gonna have a field day with this Hannah situation if Draco doesn't handle it well.

I loved to get down on Rose's level and hear her reasoning through the swirling events. Such an innocent question, isn't it?

 Report Review

Review #13, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Your Own Fault

27th November 2010:
I love the title of this chapter. I don't know if this is what you intended, but my eyes caught it just before I started to fill this review box and incidentally, just as I finished reading about that kiss. Very good job there.

 Report Review

Review #14, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: The End

27th November 2010:
I like that you're developing everyone's life. Blaise gets his own section to have important life developments. It's not just Hermione and Draco who get the important parts of the story.

I also liked the confrontation with Ron. He had the feel of someone who had had time to think. Which was good.

 Report Review

Review #15, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: A Helping Hand

27th November 2010:
Yay! I can't wait to read about their escapades in the manor. I'm very unhappy with Ginny and Molly. I suppose that is in their character and it is what they would do if things went down that way. I must say, I'm really falling in love with the Malfoys. They're just so much more deep here.

 Report Review

Review #16, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Opening Up

27th November 2010:
It was good to see them come to an understanding about things for Rose's sake. And fantastic to see Daphne have her come-uppance. I guess I understand Hermione's parents' point of view, but I must confess being a little bit annoyed that they didn't take her side. Parents are supposed to be on your side when nobody else is.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Deceit

27th November 2010:
My goodness, that was so intense. The sense of impending doom from the banging outside was really amazing. I'm really worried about this situation with Ron. He's really dangerous when he's angry. He's always been that way. You've really nailed that.

I liked Hermione's decision with the house elf. It was very practical and she's nothing but practical.

 Report Review

Review #18, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Malfoy or Weasley?

27th November 2010:
The interaction between Molly and Narcissa was priceless. I really do enjoy the sorts of barbs that Malfoys throw at people like it's the easiest thing in the world.

And presents! My goodness! So many and so nice but also pretty suspicious. I mean, buying a child's heart is easy, but really earning it isn't. I'm reserving judgement there.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Early Morning Discussions

27th November 2010:
Narcissa and Luna make interesting bookends for this chapter. Each of them is a really strong person in her own way. And they both explained so much to Harry and to Hermione respectively. I don't know if you constructed it that way on purpose, or it just suited your plot, but well done.

 Report Review

Review #20, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: A Malfoy

26th November 2010:
I guess this will have to be the last chapter I read tonight. I just wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed this story so far. From scene to scene you bring so much to the dialogue, the characterization and the plot's development that it has been a charming and easy read so far. Thank you for that.

In this chapter, I really liked Daphne's scene. I guess she doesn't realize yet that her goose is cooked if she turns up pregnant with another man's child. I hope that's the way it works out, anyway.

 Report Review

Review #21, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Shocking Discoveries

26th November 2010:
You handled that interrogation very well. I think Blaise will make a magnificent Auror. He put two and two together so fast.

I also enjoyed meeting her Healer and seeing her wake up a bit disoriented. Very good from a story telling standpoint. Amazing once again.

 Report Review

Review #22, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Blood

26th November 2010:
I love Luna. Can I say that? She relieved the tension in this scene magnificently.

I really hope Lucius, Narcissa and Draco don't get into trouble. After all, they were only trying to help. Surely there's some magical way to determine what happened there? Any muggle detective with an open mind could.

 Report Review

Review #23, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Turbulent Explanations

26th November 2010:
Uh-oh. I liked the way you set up that magical object. Like magic in general, it depends on the way you use it as to whether it's good or bad.

But I'm worried about Rose. Surely, Ron couldn't do anything to her? Not after recently believing she was his daughter.

 Report Review

Review #24, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: Will You Hate Me?

26th November 2010:
Wow. Harry would choose that way, I think. Especially if he had a particularly loving and perceptive wife like Luna. As to her telling Ron, I can't believe you made this a cliff hanger! I would have been so angry with you if I'd been reading it when it came out. But a good kind of angry, because I would want to know what happened next.

Great job. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #25, by AbhorsenA Clandestine Reality: A Disconcerting Visit

26th November 2010:
Your eyes are leaking is a really cute way for a little girl to point out that she's crying. I loved the way Lucius acted in this chapter. Very Slytherin and very odd at the same time. Kind of coming to terms with the fact that he's a grandfather.

Once again, great chapter. The only thing I have to point out is that you used slanderous in Hermione's dialogue describing Rita Skeeter. Technically, that's libelous. Which Hermione would know, if she's a lawyer. But that's just nit-picky.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>