Reading Reviews From Member: Wiccan
  
770 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WiccanHarry Potter and the Elixir a Lumina: Epilogue

23rd December 2010:
OK, I hated this story...so much so that I suffered for 300,000 or so addictive words. Some of it was just too outre! Shooting someone 80 meters in a trunk that was 200 percent larger...just how many feet long was the trunk? Just a little too much 'super' Harry. You really did go over-board or dumb on some things. Like 'a pool size pool'. The whole trunk thing was over the top. Beyond belief or magic. I almost stopped reading there.

On the other hand...sometimes you wax poetic. Truly beautiful wordscraftmanship. Somerimes I would gasp or sigh at your emotional interludes. I love your way of delving into psyches and emotions. Your descriptions are superb and lyrical. Loved how you got Snape back in. Great plots and sub-plots.

Really, I did enjoy these stories very much, except for the too 'super' of things. Tone it down a bit and you will be one of the best authors out there. I generally hate action scenes, but yours were understandable and graphic.

Since you are a 'sick puppy', like me I think you may like something I came up with for an army. Instead of saying "Duck", say "Quack"! "Duck" would warn the enemy, but if you train your army to hit the dirt at "Quack" you have the element of surprise.

I thank you for the entertainment and the release from 'real life'. Please keep writing...you have an enviable talent. You have grown as a writer and I would love to see more from you.

Author's Response: If I was to start this story series again, I would definitely dial back on Harry's power and the quickness with which he gained it, though I'm actually a fan of the 'Super Harry' theme as long as he doesn't become more powerful than Voldemort (I think it makes sense for Harry, as the chosen one, to be a powerful wizard but he still needs to be the underdog for the stories to work). I'm glad you enjoyed some of my writing style and the stories overall and I will look at improving the mistakes you've pointed out, with which I agree. The 'Quack' idea is also a good one and I'll try and incorporate it in the future. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #2, by WiccanAnd the Greatest of These...: Epilogue

30th March 2010:
Now, dang...that was a really good story and wonderfully written

I am totally impressed.

Sorry I was not more erudite in the review, but just wanted to let you know your efforts were truly appreciated. The highest compliment I can give is...thank you for the entertainment!

Although I may have sucked up 4 years of your life-blood in three days, I have to admit that those three days were truly enjoyed. For a disabled old grump, that is saying a lot.

Wonderful job.

Author's Response: thanks. i am happy that you liked it. Have you read my others? Happy reading.

 Report Review

Review #3, by WiccanA Serpent's Sacrifice: I Think I'm Ready Now

14th March 2010:
LOL, well...since I left a rave review for the final chapter Dec 2006, I couldn't do it again!

I can do it here though!

I'm not really sure what you refined from the original, although I think the word 'flow' comes to mind.

This is still one of my favorite of all time fics.

Masterful...talented...enchanting...engrossing...superb, etc., etc. etc

Again thank you so much for the entertainment!

Author's Response: So nice to hear from you again, and it's nice just to get a review, they come so rarely now.

Most of the changes were improvements to my writing, especially in the early chapters when I was still rusty from years of not having written creatively. Therefore use of the word "flow" makes me happy, as that indicates that the writing improved as a result of my changes.

I also made several small but significant changes to Harry and Hermione's moments together in the last ten chapters or so. The biggest one is the kiss before Harry leaves for Godric's Hollow. That scene is significantly different from before. You can compare the two if you like as I have never taken the time to repost the new version on fan fiction, so that still has the original version. I'd be interested especially if you would compare those two scenes and let me know your thoughts.

Thanks for reading it again and for taking the time to let me know. G.


 Report Review

Review #4, by WiccanA Postlude for Severus: New beginnings

5th February 2010:
So sorry you have dropped out...hopefully just because of RL and not problems. I know this is late, but I have to tell you I just loved these stories. You are truly a gifted writer. Wish I could read more, but don't want to seem like a vampire sucking your blood and talent.

I do want to thank you so much for the entertainment you have generously provided.

 Report Review

Review #5, by WiccanA Serpent's Sacrifice: You'll Never Be Normal

21st December 2006:
Lovely...absolutely lovely. A wonderful story in all respects. Plot...characters...dialogue. It thrills me to see a completed 'novel' length, but most of them leave me cold after the first two chapters, (Harry with eyeliner?) When I actually find one like this, it gives me at least two days of escapism pleasure. Thank you so very much for a great tale. You should feel very proud to have produced such an enjoyable and well-written story.

Author's Response: Believe me, when I started this story, I wondered what I was getting myself into, and in fact writing a novel-length story is a major commitment. I tried my best to make it complete: action, angst, romance, adventure, and even a little fluff. And I NEVER considered Harry with eyeliner! LOL. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and I hope you'll join me for my next (and final) one. I have just started writing it and will start to post in January or February. Thanks for taking the time to review. G.

 Report Review

Review #6, by WiccanA Second Prophecy: Lily Potter

19th December 2006:
Excellent story. Very well written and you obviously put a lot to thought into it. Not wild about how you killed off so many of my favorites, but, well JKR does that too, so it's not an insult. You kept the characters very cannon, but 'grew' them to more depth. Plot...great. Dialog...supurb. All in all, truly excellent. Thank you for a good read.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm having such trouble coming up with enough stuff for a sequel from this. Everything except the last 3 paragraphs is completely wrapped up! ;D I would like to write in a few edits to explain a little more about the deaths that were sudden but I'm not sure where to put it. I'm really glad that you enjoyed what I have right now, it was a lot of outlining and plotting and arguing with myself over things! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Galatea Merrythought

14th October 2006:
I would so love to read much more of Merrythought. You have captured a lovely lady that I would like to know more of. Perhaps you will do this some day.


This story gave so much thought and texture to the character that I am truly sad we didn't see more of her before. I am serious...I would love to get to know the person you have created in more detail. You make me want to know how she achieved her dueling skills...why she feels old before her time. Well, I guess your story has done a superb job of making me want more. Perhaps, that was your intent...to tell us so very much with so few words that you have us enchanted and wanting more.


If so, you have done a superlative job!

Author's Response: I'm a bit overwhlemed by the requests to do a more in depth story about Merrythought's life and more then flattered at the same time. This was one of the hardest one-shots I've ever had to write and the fact that all of the reviews have been so positive and wonderful has made it more then worth the tears and frustration that went into creating the story.

I'll definately give a considerable amount of thought into working with Merrythought again after this. Not that I really need another project...

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your review! - Jenn


 Report Review

Review #8, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Ogg

13th October 2006:
Although, understandably antisocial...I love the fact that Ogg is intelligent, somewhat educated and an insightful being. The name, alone makes us want to think of him as less that human, but you have given him a persona far beyond what we skimmed over. You have made him a real person with true emotions. Thank you so much for this story. It adds so very much to a few casual mentions that JKR made and have given us so much more...another character that we can come to know and love.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Jacki!!! And thanks also for all your help with this fic. His "educated and insightful" voice, as you so eloquently put it, would never have come across without all your edits and suggestions. Thanks again for taking the time to do that for me. I'm glad you're still enjoying the story. ~Lena

 Report Review

Review #9, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Sir Nicholas de Mimsy Porpington

13th October 2006:
Really wonderful! I loved it. The time frame all fits and you really (ahem...pardon) fleshed out his character. Super job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely - and amusing - comment. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much!!! *hugs* ~Mona =)


 Report Review

Review #10, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Helga Hufflepuff

11th October 2006:
Ah, the mother lioness defending her cubs has never been so perfectly protrayed. I loved the prophecy winding itself throughout! This was wonderful. I absolutely love the way the founders have been portrayed here. Real people! Real emotions! You limned a unique and relevent person here. Wonderful job! You gave Helga a depth and multi-faceted personality that I have never seen before. Even with her small faults (to a shallow person), I see her as a beautiful, strong witch who deserves her house's admiration and respect. As you have mine...

 Report Review

Review #11, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Godric Gryffindor

11th October 2006:
Oh, what an original, novel point of view. Totally refreshing after so many cookie-cutter founder fics. I'm not sure they had tobacco in England circa 1000, wasn't that discovered in the New World around 1492?

I especially love the way you used the language of those times and worked it into a form we could understand today. The whole thing made me feel I was present during this story. The texture of the dialogue was outstanding. Oh, so wonderfully done. I am impressed...truly! How you implied so many 'back stories' without actually fleshing them out was masterful. It's almost like there were six stories we were almost told here in a one-shot! I, personally, would LOVE to read more of them! Wonderful, marvelous job, Prop! But, then, I've known from your first effort you were this good.

Author's Response: Wull, get a red crayon and color me embarrassed! I had no IDEA that tobacco originated in the New World. Sheesh, I guess that's another bit of nastiness we Americans have brought to the world, along with nukes and MTV. ;-) I was especially tickled that you liked the language/mood I tried to create, which was a bit of a challenge for a modern-day US farm country gal. I also liked your comment about the backstory issue; I think too many people get caught up on providing too many details when just a few hints are often enough (I think I learned that from timeturner). It's a useful skill too cuz you can get lazy and not write so much! I'm glad you liked it, Wic, your words mean a lot to me!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Welcome Aboard

11th October 2006:
Jessi, even though I knew most of what was coming...I have to admit that your intro made me want to dive in! That was simply lovely and intriguing! Plus, by reading your reviews, I finally know what WPSS means! LMAO! I was too embarrassed to actually ask after so many months. All your hard work...and Wow, have you worked hard...has been beautifully displayed. You are to be congratulated. I look forward to the rest! Although I am far too old for this expression....You rock, girl!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks Wiccan! I really appreciate that! I was so worried about how the Prologue would do - it's the first thing anyone reads (most of the time) and it terrified me to know that I could turn people away from the rest of this fantastic story! Ahh, WPSS - Elfy made a post about it a while ago in the secret alcove that we hid in... But, it's been so long since someone asked, she made a game of everyone guessing it. She's probably shaking her head at me now for telling. :P Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments and, by the way, you rock too!! ~Jessi

 Report Review

Review #13, by WiccanFantastic Staff and Where to Find Them: Severus Snape

11th October 2006:
Oh my Gawd! That was absolutely superb!!! I was really looking forward to reading the 'Snape' entry, hoping that someone understood him enough to write him. You have done a marvelous job and still not 'given' him away. You left us just where JKR left us....waiting and wanting more! Oh, I am so pleased with this! Thank you so much for doing him the credit he deserves...be it good or evil. But, we do know it will be good...*smirk*

Author's Response: Oh yes, good or evil is still good for him. ;) I'm really flattered by your review -- I was afraid that I wasn't doing Severus justice with this piece, and that someone might be disappointed with my portrayal of him. Thank you so much for the uplifting review. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by WiccanThe Balin Connection: A Lesson in Historical Bias

1st July 2006:
I just found 'you' yesterday and have gleefully munched through VI and this. I must say that I have seen definate growth as a writer during this saga. Your plots are intriguing and your characters fully formed. I have really enjoyed this and am so very glad to see you haven't abandoned this and have recently updated! Yes...you do need a Beta...or just more proofing before posting. I have found that if you read it aloud to yourself almost all errors or omissions magically pop up! Try it. Not to say that you have beau coup errors, but if you want to improve, there are a few things that could be nit-picked. You have the creative part of this down pat and that's the most important part. I look forward to the rest!

 Report Review

Review #15, by WiccanThe Council of Seven and One: The Council of Seven and One

29th June 2006:
Wonderful...I loved the pranks, but I adored the 'hats' thrown in...and the closet! LOLOLOL! Great job! Humor is so hard to write and you managed a great droll story without getting slap-stick.

Author's Response: :) I'm glad you enjoyed the pranks, I was all pranked out by the end of this story! Especially ont he inventions for the jokeshop side. I found it challenging to write a story purposely meant to be humorous and it's nice to know I managed to pull it off :) thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by WiccanShattered Prefects: Shattered Prefects

29th June 2006:
Well...I hate this guy...and I loved the story. I also have tried to get into his head and I think you've done a fantastic job of it. You made him truly believable and logical. Mmmm...maybe I would like for him to have suffered a bit more (especially at the hands of his brothers) but I truly loved this insight into the prat. Great job!

Author's Response: lol. Percy and logical don't generally live on the same plane, do they? Well, I'm glad that you enjoyed it!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by WiccanThe Bonfire Romance: A Post War Reunion: The Bonfire Romance: A Post War Reunion

29th June 2006:
Well, yeah, I did a double-take at Lupin/Hermione, but the 'post-war' addition to the title took away my fear. The difference between 15/35 and 20/40 is massive. Yes, I can see this romance and you did it beautifully.

Author's Response: Yes, I also thought 'How on earth am I supossed to do this ship, and still be TOS compliant?' lol...So I made the characters older. There is a 16 year gap between my partner and myself, so I can write from an adult PoV, in this case :)

Thank you, I'm glad you can see this romance happening. Thats what I had hoped for :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by WiccanThree Simple Words: Three Simple Words

29th June 2006:
Well, we do know they eventually 'get together', but after that scene, I'm amazed that Tonks could forgive him. His self-pity drives me nuts and you caught it well here. Someone needs to slap that boy and wake him up! Perhaps that will be your next one? ;-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by WiccanThe Solution is Murder: Chapter 7

28th June 2006:
Bravo! Or is it Brava? Wonderful fic! Yeah, there was a tiny piece of fluff in there, but this is one of the most cerebral stories I have read. Tres entertaining and engaging. Thank you so much! Now...the sequel...?

Author's Response: *bows* Thank you so much! "cerebral stories" WOW Thank you that is a lovely compliment.

The sequel has actually been started! I am only a couple of paragraphs into it so far but I have done some planning and I am really excited about the plot!


 Report Review

Review #20, by WiccanThe Solution is Murder: Chapter 6

28th June 2006:
Oh, Lordy...shades of Indiana Jones....Geesh, I love this.

Author's Response: Yes I was definitely inspired by Indy!! I love those movies!! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #21, by WiccanThe Solution is Murder: Chapter 5

28th June 2006:
Nope, didn't even try that one...so glad you gave us the answer to the decoding so soon. Er...the riddle is a toughie though. Great story.

Author's Response: Glad to see my codes werent too easy for you!! Thanks again for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by WiccanThe Solution is Murder: Chapter 4

28th June 2006:
Yes! (Happy dance...happy dance) I broke the code. Whew!, I've never worked so hard reading a story before! What complete and utter fun! (Ahem, except for the murders...sorry.)

Author's Response: Way to go!! I am glad that you actually took the time to solve the code!! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by WiccanThe Solution is Murder: Chapter 3

28th June 2006:
Oh this is so much fun...Harry Potter's Da Vinci code! LOL I think I have it figured out. V=Double U? Y=Y I love a good crypto challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am glad you had fun solving the codes!

 Report Review

Review #24, by WiccanWeird Wizard Ways: The Darker Side of Magic

26th June 2006:
Get on with it! Tee Hee...I can just see him saying that! Great update, Pru.

Author's Response: Thanks, Wiccan. I can just see him, too. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by WiccanBed No. 15: Bed No. 15

16th June 2006:
Delightful...absolutely delightful!

Author's Response: thank you, thank you... glad you enjoyed it! haha

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>