Reading Reviews From Member: BookDinosaur
  
350 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BookDinosaurBroken Crown: Chapter the Fourth

31st March 2016:
isobel

you know, i had hoped that more chapters would mean some more answers. i see now that i was foolish

i have so many questions it's difficult for me to even think about where to start? but i suppose the first question would have to be why are you so good at this

it's good to know that some of the slytherins have recovered as much as they can and made themselves successful after the end of the war. and i have to mention how much i love that theo was fighting his father during the battle of hogwarts. multi-faceted slytherins for the win! :P

and aww, the memories that olivia has of theo are so sweet ♥ maybe not sweet, but i love that they seemed to have such an understanding, and could stay with each other whether they were socialising or being silent. i think a lot of the more shallow friendships only apply to one of those aspects, if that makes sense, and feel awkward when they're doing the other aspect. (am i making sense at all, here? it's late, i'm tired, i should be sleeping but i let myself read this chapter before heading off)

but then - how does theo know about millicent? is the first question, i suppose, if we decide to do this chronologically. why is vincent so distressed at the lie that they've been seeing each other? have he and nott also been seeing each other? and what does olivia mean when she says that theo has an ulterior motive? hiding his sexuality? i feel the need to inform you that it's very unfair that you're keeping this information from us, and also that i really want the answers to all these questions :(

in light of everything that i just said, i think it's very easy for you to know that i would love for you to update soon, my dear, because this story is so wonderful and as much as i complain about how you're a miser with information, i'm definitely going to keep reading whatever you choose to grace the archives with :D :D

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaurBroken Crown: Chapter the Third

31st March 2016:
isobel

don't be angry at me for taking time out to write review - i've gotten to 3k words, so i've allowed myself some time to read more of your wonderful work ♥ :D

ah, i just really enjoy this. i'm pretty sure i've mentioned this in a review on another story but you can pull off flashbacks like nobody else. they just seem so natural and the flow isn't interrupted at all, and even though the flashbacks maybe aren't revealing as much as i hoped they would on the current situation, i suspect that's just a me-wanting-to-find-out-more thing, because it all feels entirely natural

and, as olivia said last chapter - this is feeling less and less like an interrogation, and that feeling just intensifies in this chapter. when robards is so quick to say that he's not criticising, merely observing, or when he agrees to just do it olivia's way - there is something going on here and i 'm kind of desperate to find out what it is :P why are you so good at revealing the truth so slowly?? Dx

and, of course, how could i not like the descriptions of olivia and millicent being friends ♥ i can almost always get behind friendships, and the first half of this chapter had me grinning widely, until that wedge kind of came between the two of them :( i do wonder, why olivia is so reluctant to go out with boys if she does like them. because of theo? it's interesting

ack, i cannot believe the validators are so fast; i swear, when i clicked onto the story earlier tonight there were only two chapters up, and now that's doubled. (i refreshed this chapter an embarrassing number of times when i saw the 'next chapter' button, oops). i have to say i'm very grateful for the speed, though!

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #3, by BookDinosaurBroken Crown: Chapter the Second

31st March 2016:
isobel

ahhh, i love this so much. throughout the chapter the tone was kind of changing, a little? you're pulling the veil off the situation slowly, and we can see that there's something there but we don't know what. you're just amazing at this how do you even do this.

and now you're just being mean and building up the suspense :P honestly, i need to know what's happening in olivia's mind and why she blames herself so much for crabbe's death, and everything that's happening with robards and the interview and just everything.

This is feeling less and less like an interrogation, and I don’t understand why.
this is my thought process exactly.

and i've mentioned this in a previous review, but i love how you turn the tables on the canon interpretations of slytherins - in this case, crabbe, who we all see as nothing more than a henchman to draco, but here the description of the picture he's in just brought home so vividly how he had a life and feelings and moments of happiness of his own, and i just really love that

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #4, by BookDinosaurBroken Crown: Chapter the First

31st March 2016:
isobel

ooh my, i really love this already. you seem to be able to do that :P i thought that vincent crabbe was killed in the room of requirement, so straight away we have this really interesting question of why is olivia so certain that she is the one who killed him? i'm going to try and avoid theorising since most of the thoughts i come up with seem very implausible, but know that this is something i definitely want to see how you handle.

i loved the opening sentences, by the way - I am being stared at and then expanding on the perpetrator - i don't know why, i just really liked it :P

it's interesting to wonder why olivia's trial is so markedly different from the ones her friends described. like her, it's making me a little nervous? and olivia just seems so determined that she's going to be found guilty and her wand is going to be snapped in two, and i can't help feeling like there must be more to the story than this, although maybe i'm wrong

For him to have obtained that quote means that someone has been discussing me with the Ministry.
see? someone has been discussing her. i definitely think that there is something going on behind the scenes here. i hope i'm not wrong, that would be embarrassing :P

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #5, by BookDinosaurThe Skull Beneath the Skin: I. No-One Mourns the Wicked

31st March 2016:
isobel

oh my days. i want to be repulsed - i am repulsed, by their casual arrogance and the way they look down on everybody else and this terrible, brilliant idea that tibs has had, but at the same time, these four fascinate me, and you make me want to read more about them and their beliefs and what they do. how do you do that??

posy's behaviour to the house-elf was - not very nice, to say the least? i think you've captured so well what someone would think of a house-elf if they were brought up in an environment which told them to believe that house-elves are slaves, or servants, and it's kind of horrifying?

ooh, i really really loved the scene with walburga ♥ i think a lot of people just take her image from the portrait we have from her in canon and leave it at that, the scream-y, vicious mother (and i'd love to read something which explores the differences between the person and the portrait, but that's neither here nor there). i love that you gave her more personality than that, that she still loves and worries about her son even though she doesn't understand him or his choices at all, because she's still his mother, after all.

Sirius, who continues to break his mother’s heart even after being disowned. Sirius, captivator of attentions, consumer of innocent hearts, shining brightly in these dark days and trapping Regulus in shadow.
this quote is just really beautiful ♥

and, of course, lila nott and tibs - what can i even say to that?? tobs' plan is just undeniably clever but also so cruel, and i feel so sorry for the Muggles who respond to the advert and end up caught in the trap. and tibs has thought of everything and it all ties in so neatly - it's very impressive but i shouldn't find it impressive, damnit isobel, what are you doing to me xD

and posy, right at the end:
I’ll do whatever it takes to succeed – even if it means becoming my best friend’s rival.

War begins here.


you give us such a great look at her character and her determination to succeed and i just find her so engaging. update soon, my dear, because i can't wait to see what you have in store for your characters

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaurThe Skull Beneath the Skin: Prologue

31st March 2016:
isobel

the first thing i need to do here is just marvel at the way you can explore single things, single people, so deeply - VA and TAOS and this are all about the same events within the HP world but they all tell such different, fascinating stories, and i don't know how you do it but it's so amazing to be able to see the different effects that the war had on such different people in such different situations.

you set things up so well in this chapter as well - the way that everybody behaves is just a really good indicator as to how they're feeling and their beliefs and you get that across so well. especially through the contrast of what people expect at funerals, tears and sadness, compared what went down at this one; everyone was cold, uncaring, and by showing us their actions you also get across their situation and beliefs so so well ♥

Aurelius Nott had an affair with a Mudblood, the Dark Lord found out, he was killed as punishment for betraying the Dark Lord’s wishes.
this is so terrifying?? like, the fact that voldemort was willing to kill his own supporters if they disobeyed him - kill them. just, that terrifies me. i can't imagine living under that sort of regime, oh my days

you probably know that i really love stories set in the second wizarding war because i can never get enough of that, but i really really love that you're exploring the slytherin point of view as well. one of my main gripes with the canon series is that the slytherins were all portrayed as evil and voldemort supporters, but there must have been more going on behind closed doors, right? so i'm very happy that you're writing a story about this and can't wait to see where you take it

in five years’ time, we’re all going to be dead.
what a chilling quote to end the chapter on! i don't know why, since she's probably right and they're all going to end up dead, but this just made me want to read more, even though you've effectively spoiled the story for us. what is this witchcraft? :P

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaurSilky Blue: Silky Blue

28th March 2016:
ISOBEL. I CAN'T BELIEVE I HAVEN'T REVIEWED THIS YET I'M A TERRIBLE PERSON please forgive me

you broke my heart with this, isobel i swear. this is the saddest thing - i mean, you warned me several times while you were writing it, but i still wasn't expecting this level of heartbreakery, you cruel author. :'(

your writing is so beautiful. i love your prose so so much - you set the scene so perfectly, and then add all these small details that just make it come to life.

i just have so many words so instead of saying anything productive i'll just throw some quotes at you and demand that you acknowledge their brilliance:

we went to Dublin hand-in-hand to trawl the shops for our suits, euphoria glazing our eyes to the tatty hem of my trousers and the questionable stain on the sleeve of your jacket.
this is such wonderful description. this is exactly what i mean when i say your prose just brings things to life.

Was I always destined to fall victim to your choices, utterly incapable of refusing you anything you wanted?
i don't know how to express why exactly, but these ideas - destiny and inevitability and things which were always meant to play out as they do, it always destroys me. this is wonderful

you danced around the pivotal subject that neither of us dared venture near, allowing it to become a secret that consumed us both from the inside out.

and the final line, ofc:

our fear has won and seized its crown in the gloomy graveyard of Kenmare. (You are dead, and I never got to say goodbye.)

this destroyed me. just. leave me here to die

and HE KNEW. they both knew and they both danced around the subject and missed oppotunities are so tragic isobel why are you doing this to me :'(

i cannot express how lucky or how thankful i am that you wrote this and it exists and you dedicated it to me you sweetheart thank you so so much ♥ ♥ you should most definitely be proud of this, my dear, it's a wonderful piece of work, even if i had to suffer a broken heart while i read it. thank you a hundred times ♥

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #8, by BookDinosaurVanishing Acts: Epilogue

25th March 2016:
isobel

congratulations my dear you finished an entire story. this is a feat which still manages to elude me, sadly.

this quote:
In all honestly, it doesn't seem fair to make the Muggles' terrible public transport even worse, because it wouldn't hurt the students to arrive late. However, this is the wizarding world; she can't expect the troubles of non-magical people to be considered.

this is so important - i think in a lot of stories the wizarding world kind of becomes a utopia after the war, or things just go back to the way that they were, and here you show that wizards still think themselves better than muggles, or more important, and while actively discriminating against muggleborns might be frowned on they're still treating muggles as lesser beings. it's a sad sort of conclusion, but it's probably also the most realistic. :(

awww, the message about houses can pretty much be repeated forever because it's so important ♥ billy and astra are so innocent and it makes me so happy that they're still best friends even after they were separated for a while, bless their smol hearts

and, of course, how could i not talk about sophie in this review??? she seems so happy and so at ease, and things around her seem to have slotted into place and i am so, so happy that she's managed to rebuild her life after the war and after what she went through.

(do we ever find out why sophie's memories disappeared, or am i just being obtuse and missing something obvious? was it just the bump on the head?)

and demetrius! i didn't see that one coming, but i'm terrible at seeing things coming most of the time and this seems like it could work, if their behaviour together has anything to say about it ♥ everyone in this story deserves all the nice things, oh my goodness

this quote:
she intends to seize every opportunity with both hands.

The war is over. Now is the time to be happy again.


it made me feel all warm and gooey inside, ack. this is wonderful and i'm so glad i read this, my dear. ♥ thank you for an amazing story!

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #9, by BookDinosaurVanishing Acts: Growing Up

25th March 2016:
i called sophie megan in my last review and i'm a terrible person please forgive me

eyyy, i was wrong about getting through more hogwarts memories! i don't know whether this is a good thing or a bad thing, because as much as i love reading about wartime hogwarts, i also love reading about how sophie is recovering from the war, trying to get her life back together. it must be such a difficult thing to have to do. :/

but sophie seems to be getting it together well! she has a job for now, she likes what she does - she seems happy, which: thank you for that :P

this chapter is so well named as well - we can tell that sophie truly is growing up. she's being made to consider all the possibilities and reasons that her mum left her behind, and people are giving her more information than she's ever known before, and instead of rejecting that out of hand like she might have when she was younger she's actually considering all of this. her actions, as well - confronting demetrius fawley, and going to see her mum, it shows how much she's grown and is growing and you express all of this so well, isobel

this quote:
All she can think of is the little girl who she once knew as Astra Fawley and who is now Astra Patterson, lying in a bed in St Mungo's, missing her dad and resenting the mam who took her away from him.

Sophie grew up a Roper, and she hated her mam for leaving her and Billy with their dad. If she had grown up a Macmillan, she would have hated her mam for not leaving her behind. It was a lose-lose situation; heartbreak and hatred were guaranteed, one way or the other.

In the end, there was no right choice.


it's super long, for which i apologise, but this is such an important turning point for sophie, in acknowledging that her mum is only human and made the best choice that she could - i should not be feeling this depth of emotion at this, but apparently i am, and i blame you entirely.

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #10, by BookDinosaurVanishing Acts: Seventh Year

25th March 2016:
hello again isobel

ack, this chapter is so good? i don't understand how you achieve this

i really love reading about wartime-hogwarts and here you've done such an amazing job of establishing the place and building the whole atmosphere of a country at war - i just really enjoyed reading all about it, from the rules the carrows brought in to the way they enforced them, and how the student body dealt with it, as well as the constant implications that similar things are happening outside of hogwarts.

and megan - lost her memories? that's very alarming?? i hope we get to see why soon, because this is worrying and this character has grown on me far too much because of your wonderful writing. i certainly hope that nothing terrible is behind her memory loss, but at the same time that doesn't seem very likely given the situation, does it? gah

ahhh, and the battle of hogwarts! i don't know why, but the one thing that really stood out to me was that theo nott was duelling his father - one of the few things that i disliked in the original hp series was that the slytherins were all portrayed as terrible people without exception, and i'm so glad that you changed that up a little bit because i do not believe that they were all evil, not in the least

and yay for things turning out happily for sophie! well, things look happy right now, at least, which is more than i could really say for the other two chapters xD i hope things stay this way for her, she deserves it so much, but i have a bad feeling that we're going to have to go through some more of her hogwarts-memories before things can be happy D:

this chapter is wonderful, isobel, and i love the split between the two timelines, i guess you'd call them. we know how this ends, thanks to the HP series, so where the second section might be spoilers in another story in this one it's just wonderfully gripping :D

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #11, by BookDinosaurVanishing Acts: The Trial

25th March 2016:
isobel my dear ♥

look at this look at this chapter this is amazing??? like you said, it was very long but it never felt too long, and it stayed interesting throughout, which is always a plus.

your worldbuilding in all of this is so amazing - you sprinkle so many small details in here about the world, and it's so clear that even the most minor characters have had so much thought put into them. you get everything to tie together and make sense and the love you have for the story is so clear in that sense, and just makes it a pleasure to read.

and throughout the chapter you portray sophie's emotions so so well - her panic and worry, and all the anxiety that's building up inside her because of billy's disappearance, and the trial. and even though she doesn't think she's innocent i think she is, a little bit, until by the end of the chapter she realises how far the death eater agenda extends. and in the final lines you do an amazing job at capturing how she's so scared and disillusioned, and you get all that across so well?? how

i think this quote gets a lot across about the current view most people have about the government :P
she hadn't thought that the corruption of the Ministry would run so deeply, or be enforced with such surprising speed. Governments are supposed to be slow and incumbent, with every decision heavily logged with the feared red tape, not be as brisk and efficient as this.

and somehow the fact that the ministry is so efficient makes it more terrifying. they know exactly what they're doing and what they want, and they have no morals when it comes to getting what they want, pretty much.

i want to quote the entire last couple of paragraphs at you, but i feel like that would make this review too long and you can pull them up and read them anytime you like, but they're an amazing way to end the chapter - i feel so sorry for megan, and your words just bring out all the fear, and how suddenly her illusions have been broken and how do you do this pls teach me your ways.

i'm being remarkably slow, but i want to finish reviewing this today, so onto the next chapter (and wish me luck!)

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #12, by BookDinosaurBehavioral Analysis: One

28th February 2016:
ELISABETH ELISABETH ELISABETH

you are glorious this is glorious i am grinning so much right now i missed reading your wonderful wok so much and now you can prepare for fingers of lightning and overly italicised reviews

!

lucy is so clueless and it's so endearing elisabeth you're already making me fall in love with characters and i missed this feeling so very much

In fact, even beyond the surface, she was still a pretty unlikely candidate
this is lovely, and i laughed

Emily Prentiss, and somehow during the six months she spent fetching coffee and filing reports and existing as a fly-on-the-wall in dozens of international criminal cases, Emily had seen potential. And Emily, who pulled more strings worldwide than any politician or diplomat, pulled some strings at the BAU and convinced them that her coffee-toting intern was a prime candidate to join the team. Lucy still wasn’t entirely sure what it was about her that lead to this chain of events, but she was also not about to argue with Emily.
when i grow up, i very much want to be emily prentiss.

“Are these – computers?”

“Yes they are, my sweet magical child. Lots of them."

penelope is a sweetheart and i love??? her??? what is this witchcraft you are working it should not be possible to fall in love with fictional characters this quickly

also, your humour is the best thing since the first thing, and i have told you that so many times before but when i read this i realised that it was STILL 300% TRUE

elisabeth this is making me want to watch criminal minds so? much?? this is not good for my education but i wouldn't trade it for anything because this is wonderful and i already want more story and characters and chapters

u need to update soon, elisabeth, bc i'm already in love and you wouldn't deprive me of that, would you?

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #13, by BookDinosaurVanishing Acts: Prologue

27th February 2016:
ISOBEL HELLO

i have decided to employ my fingers of lightning because, frankly, it has been far too long since i reviewed anything and this is a good place to take it up again, no?

i'm pretty sure that i read over a first draft of this when we were in the nano skype cabin, and it was great then and somehow it's even greater now? how do you achieve these things

i really love sophie in this chapter. i haven't read TAoS (yet!) so i don't have prio experience with her, but you captured her childlike train of thought so perfectly. the way that all the clues are there but she hasn't put them together, but at the same time her thoughts have this logic to them as well, you feel me? and it's just really believable and please teach me your ways

this quote is quite possibly my favourite thing:
It's rude to open other people’s post, her parents tell her, but this envelope didn't come through the letterbox and doesn't have any postmarks stamped upon it, so technically it's not post, and she's sure her dad won't mind

just. such a perfect example of baby logic. ♥

It is Christmas Day, and Sophie’s mother is gone.

wow, isobel. wow. i thought you were a nice author, and then you finish your chapters like that. just so you know, i am shaking my head disappointedly in your general direction. cruel author

in all seriousness, though, this was a great opening chapter and i'm really looking forward to seeing where the story is going from here, and how this particular (sad) event is going to be affecting the rest of the story and just everything so you need to update soon, okay? okay

♥ emily

Author's Response: EMILY HELLO

Yes, yes, it is always a good thing to employ your fingers of lightning, especially with a certain Hannah-centric novel ;) But thank you for picking my story to take up reviewing again! ♥

I had completely forgotten about posting this in the NaNo Skype cabin so thank you for reminding me -- and I'm honoured at how much better you think it's gotten despite there only being minimal edits to the whole story :P

Would it be shameless of me to recommend reading TAoS? :P I'd definitely suggest it though because there's a certain event in there that isn't mentioned in any other Sophie stories because whilst it's pivotal to her, she doesn't [spoiler]. It's ridiculos how much headcanon I have on this girl, though. She's like Harry was to JKR -- walked into my head fully-formed and expected me to write all about her (though we're not at seven books. Yet) and writing her during NaNo was so exhilarating even if I did spend most of my time complaining at /how long/ her one-shot had gotten (I didn't have a word counter at the time except for bits I wrote in Written? Kitten!). Your compliments are so wonderful ♥ but I'm afraid I can't teach you my ways because tbh it should be the other way round ;)

Ah. I hated writing the ending to this prologue, if it helps? But yes I am a cruel author as evidenced by this story as a whole, although I did try to redeem myself with the epilogue which tbh is the hardest thing ever to write because /fluff/

And as you know, chapter one's up -- and because you posted PTG2 today, I put chapter two in the queue a couple of hours ago. So yes updating as fast as I can, you'll get the final chapter soon as I see PTG3 ;)

♥ Isobel


 Report Review

Review #14, by BookDinosaur12 Days of Christmas: iv. four calling birds [december 18, 2024]

9th December 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETH

hello again. i love this. (how's that for short reviewing?)

ugh, you know how much i love the inclusiveness and the way that you have so many diverse characters populating your stories, and this is no exception. i love that this story casually has a transgender character in it, but it's not necessarily about her - it's just that she happens to be there, and she happens to be transgender. that needs to happen more often, both in media and in fic, i think

rita skeeter is great and i loved her little cameo, omg. and ginny's attitude towards rita was spot on. ginny is fearsome ♥

“Ginny probably put laxatives in her wine.”

you know, i really wouldn't put it past her. xD

also, i don't think that i've mentioned this in a review before but i very much admire how you're working in each line of the christmas song to each chapter - so far they're all very natural integrations and i'm defs looking forward to seeing where you go with some of the more out-there lines.

this was a lovely chapter and you should give us more soon!

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #15, by BookDinosaur12 Days of Christmas: iii. three french hens [december 27, 2026]

6th December 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETH

aw hello this has slightly restored my spirts they are hovering somewhere slightly below average levels of spirithood and i would like you to know that it is your fault

aaaccck, holly's dad is so sweet! it's so so obvious by the way that you write him that he loves holly so so much and that is the sweetest thing - and it says so much about you as a writer, that you can express all this love he has for his daughter without never having to resort to telling us about his love for holly, ack.

one day, he started collecting things that reminded him of her – fluffy bedsocks because she hated the cold, a teddy bear with a bowtie like the one she lost when she was seven, a tin of the loose-leaf chai tea she always ordered instead of coffee when she met him on campus, a woven bracelet that happened to be the same colours as the asexual pride flag

HE CARES SO MUCH and i am a puddle of feels omg

ahh, i hope it works out for the two of them this time? if they decide to make it a thing, ofc. my best wishes to them

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #16, by BookDinosaur12 Days of Christmas: ii. two turtle doves [december 25, 2011]

6th December 2015:
elisabethbethbeth? how?? dare? you?

i am confused this is so tragic?? chistmastime is meant to be cheerful and happy and full of love and joey and giving and all that other good stuff, but here you are breaking my heart over two little girl-twins who've lost each other during christmas and why? you are a cruel and terrible author and this is tragic.

my heart

omg, emily's child-ness (is there a word for this that i'm missing i bet there is) just broke my heart. the fact that she's so little and innocent and still a wee babby - it came out so strongly in the way that she wanted the two of them to match, and you are breaking my heart with this elisabeth no go away ur annoying

One of the turtle doves had fallen out of the tree and broken when they got home, and it was the one Laura made but their mum was about to cry again so Emily said it was hers and that Laura’s was still in the tree, and her mum took the broken dove and put it in the bin.

and as an ending, this was superb - i feel like it marks a bit of a change in her, a contrast in how she was so innocent before and now, how she's actively lying and hiding things so that her mum will feel better. :( i'm sad

ugh i am feeling so heartbroken for this character who shares my name (why did this have to happen at christmas??? you cruel author)

i feel like this maybe failed at being short but that's ok i needed to rant at you for being mean and also annoying

&hearts emily

 Report Review

Review #17, by BookDinosaur12 Days of Christmas: i. a partridge in a pear tree [december 10, 2025]

6th December 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETH

hello hello i just finished watching a creepy hannibal film so this cuteness was very very welcome in my life

ack, julia is so hardcore. tattoos and piercings and colour-changing hair, oh my. and james is so awkward that it's sweet, bless him. it's adorable, even :P also, yes, some people do go overboard with their christmas decorations but honestly that is no reason to be a misery guts about it, james. tsk tsk.

oh my goodness, i love that when lucy tells him that she wants a payrise james actually considers her taking him to court. it appears that in any universe, lucy is nobody's doormat and i love it

presents and turkey and cousins and dumb knitted jumpers with Js on them

yes, this is what christmas is all about.

he was not a sensible man, even if he had spent the last twenty-three years of his life thinking he was

bless
him. he's adorable.

elisabeth, this was so sweet and adorable and i love it, and i also managed to get my character limit to only just barely under 5000 - i'm getting there. i'm learning this art of leaving short reviews

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #18, by BookDinosaurginevra, darling: one.

4th December 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

did you think that was just a thing for the haversham westley school for boys verse? it's not. you are going to have to get used to this. yay?

omg elisabeth i love this and i love you and this is so wonderful - you tackle the challenge of writing a transgender character so so well and i believed you, in every word, and i think that counts to you as a triumph.

If I were a girl, what would my name be?

Ginevra, darling.


i know i always comment on the ending of your stories - and the ending to this was great, don't get me wrong - but i wanted to take a little space to appreciate your introduction, because here it was just lovely and so evocative. it did such a good job introducing the story and maybe it's the title drop that does it for me, idk, but i have such admiration

“Well, Molly, you have always wanted a daughter.”

aaah the weasleys are so accepting and lovely to their daughter and elisabeth i am so happy i have all the weasley feels right now. arthur's muggle knowledge did come in useful. the weasleys, and luna's mother - of course luna would get her calm acceptance from somewhere. i love that everyone was just so openminded and accepting about it. it made me happy

“And it can’t be Gin,” Fred says, joining in the conversation, “Because that’s a kind of alcohol, and that wouldn’t be appropriate, would it George?”

oh my days can i ever express to you how much i love fred and george weasley. their humour and your humour and the way you write them is just spot-on and so great

aw, percy. :( stahp. there's always one.

“I’m fearless,” says Ginny.

“Yes you are, little sister.”


bless. i love this so much

oh no, tom. tom. it's just - he violates her trust so deeply with that diary and you bring in a whole new factor of her having a secret that she's terrified people will find out, and him seeming to accept her, and then violating that - i mean, the extra factor that you brought in here just enhanced the story so much and i hate what tom does to her but you're such a good storyteller

UGH, and tom uses ginevra darling in his words and yes i hate him for corrupting that so thouroughly now. why did i decide to write about him

“He just said ‘but she’s still a girl though’ and then kept talking about how he thought bloody Malfoy was the Heir of Slytherin.”

BLESS. this is so harry it's unbelievable. and ron complaining about how he's a conspiracy theorist - like, harry's theories make sense to us but honestly i love how you show them like this from an outsider's perspective and it's the tiny touches like this that builds your world so well

“Well,” she says, “I think you’re a bit young to be dating anyone, Ginevra darling.”

omg this ending is perfect and i love it. bless the weasley family.

elisabeth i have so many weasley family feels and it is 100% your fault. i love this story and i love how effortlesly you made ginny a transgender character, and used that to enhance the story so much - you are such a great storyteller, elisabeth.

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #19, by BookDinosaurinevitable.: one.

3rd December 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

you succeeded.

could i leave that as a review? i feel like it would be such a short review but at the same time it would express everything and you, at least, would know exactly what i mean.

i considered it, for a bit, and then i realised i could never ever turn down the chance to throw your own quotes at you and flail and shriek in an unholy manner (can u hear the shrieking) so that is why this review has already gotten out of hand and is going to get even outter of hand soon. (do you see what you do to my grammar when you write lovely things like this?? do you???)

who doesn't love a context-free girl-meets-nonbinary-22-year-old-magazine-editor story amirite

who indeed

they made it impossible for anyone to think of Lys as one-or-the-other male-or-female boy-or-girl, resisted the binary with a stubbornness that reflected Lys themselves.

this description is out of this world. i cannot understand how you can write stories that are so heavy on dialogue and then bust something like this out, and there is something about that sentence which i like very much.

Essie, of course, had loved them for as long as she could remember – it had formed an undercurrent of her adolescence, a constant throughout a series of fleeting teenage crushes and abortive relationships

HOW DO YOU DESCRIPTION PLS TEACH ME

And it was simple, because they were already so caught up in each other, so embedded in each other’ lives, so entangled that there were only two possible outcomes – they would be together forever, or they would destroy each other

this is probably a more personal thing but i love this kind of description when it comes to couples. as unrealistic as it is - i love this so much. they would be together forever, or they would destroy each other. this is my aesthetic. i appreciate this so much

“Sorry for keeping you up all night.”

“You’re not sorry.”

“You got me,” she said, unrepentant.


bless these two munchkins. bless

It was a loaded question, and Lys knew how to answer it. “Inevitably.”

your endings are always so strong how do you do it elisabeth omg

you do such a good job, here, because really it isn't about essie and lys at all, but about lys, and how she factors into their life. (and she's inevitable, which is something else i adore. #aesthetic)

it probably wouldn't have taken half as much to convince me because ever since you mentioned the idea it's been germinating, but - like i said at the beginning, you convinced me.

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #20, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: epilogue.

30th November 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

i cannot believe that this is over??? like, how did this happen. it was so soon. you started such a short time ago. and now, suddenly, you're finished and this story is finished and i will have no more Haversham Westley's School for Boys in my life?? like, i hope you appreciate the fact i went to the trouble of writing out the entire name and capitalising the words because i feel so strongly about this

seriously, i don't know how you managed to write all of this is what pretty much amounted to two weeks. and then you posted it, in a minimally edited state, and somehow it was this good and caught up my emotions i>this much and broke my heart and put it back together this much.

the 2030/31 sixth years of Haversham Westley’s School for Boys had always been a bit different, so they held their first reunion in October 2031 a few days before the twins’ eighteenth birthdays at the terrifically named I Mead You bar in Hogsmeade

first thing - bless them for still being that little but different. second thing - i mead you is a terrible pun and a great name for a bar. just. i love me some bad wordplay

“If you’re not sorted into Gryffindor we’re never speaking again,” she told him with a reassuring pat on the shoulder

jesus, this is how so many next gen fics start. it made me laugh because it's how so many fics start and it's how this one ends and that's a sad but lovely touch

he was unironically referring to the cluster of Gryffindor and Hufflepuff high-flyers he hung out with as his ‘squad’, and Essie mocked him mercilessly for it

bless lys. and bless essie.

“What does that mean for us, if you take a job in the Netherlands?” Dave had asked.

Lorcan looked confused. “Why would it mean anything for us? I’ll get my international Apparition licence.”


THESE TWO ARE THE CUTEST OK

he took courage in both hands and the entire school by surprise when he marched into August’s office and asked him out for coffee; and August continued the trend of the unexpected by saying yes, of course, he thought Leopold would never ask. Coffee had turned into coffees, plural; then it was drinks, then it progressed to dinner, and the weekend before it had been brunch for the first time, after August had stayed over

everything is coming up roses elisabeth bless these two silly munchkins i love them and they're adorable

and, of course, your author's note is a treasure and ilysm.

huge massive shoutout to my dearest emily, who has reviewed every chapter as soon as it goes up and has put up with my frantic messages about writing myself into a corner. i would have given up a few chapters in if it wasn't for her so this entire story goes out to her. if you don't have an emily in your life i highly recommend it tbh.

bless you.

this was such a great ride and to be honest i can still hardly believe that it's over already. i fell in love with these characters and, yes, ok, you are justified now in calling me 'ye o little faith' because everything did turn out ok and i am so amazingly thankful for that

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #21, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-six.

30th November 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

oh man this chapter. this chapter. i have such mixed feelings about this because on the one hand - lys is improving and talking to someone about what happened and how he feels and what led up to this attempt on his own life, but then on the other hand lys is on a hospital bed for reasons that are heartbreaking and i am just. i cannot.

If Lys lived another one hundred years, he would still never forget the look on his mother’s face when she first saw him at Mungo’s. He knew she’d fought in a war, that she’d lost her own mother as a child, that she’d been able to see Thestrals since she was nine years old, but she’d always carried those ghosts with a matter-of-fact air that people who didn’t know her would mistake for apathy

have i told you how much i love your version of luna recently because i really, really do.

her capacity for acceptance extended as far as fate itself

i just. love the way you write luna so much. you do her so much justice and i am such a fan of your version of her.

“God,” was all Lys could say.

“Actually, my name’s Albus.”


o h m y g o d. that is terrible. bless albus.

It was more like he was just having a really long, really deep conversation with an older brother who told terrible jokes sometimes and dropped more f-bombs than Lys himself

i love this dynamic that you've set up here between the two of them and i wish that it could be developed a little more because albus seems like a sweetheart and also he's going out with scorpius, which is a massive number of points in his favour. scorbus.

aah, i love lucy so much. “Enjoy the calm before the storm, I’ll be back with a hurricane.” this sums her up so well. i love how you establish that she cares about lys, but she shows it in a different way, with tough love and swearwords, but at the same time you make it abundantly clear that this is her way of caring, so she doesn't come off as a one-note 'abrasive' character. pls teach me how you character

also, omg yes, lucy and essie would get along so well. you should write a novella about the two of them and the shenanigans they get up to together, later in life.

ah, i'm so sad for lys but at the same time i'm so glad that he's on the path to recovery and i can hardly believe that the end is nearing gahhh pls update soon (i don't even have to ask you that, at this point)

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #22, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-five.

29th November 2015:
ELISABETH.

did you hear that unholy screech from across the tasman because i am shrieking and it is unholy

how dare you. how dare you. i can't believe you i don't believe this he was acting so fine in the last chapter with all the banter and laughter and christmas and how dare you

drained of colour, covered in sweat, eyes unfocused. He seemed to take a moment to recognise her, then lurched forward. “Essie,” he whispered desperately, “I don’t want to die.”

okay elisabeth this is just nope i refuse this was too emotional

your description in this chapter was so heartbreakingly good - everything was shaking – her hands, her legs, even her breath as it bordered on hyperventilation.

ugh elisabeth i don't know what to say i'm so sad and heartbroken and lys the poor baby. your descriptions were amazing, and i feel like poor essie's point of view was so realistic - how is anyone meant to cope with or react to this? - but at the same time holy goodness what is this going to do to her? you were talking about her issues, and i thought that this was going to be another chapter of essie-development, and then lys

mostly, i think, i'm scared about how this will affect her. she already has a boatload of issues and she was seeming to be coping with them (does that combination of verbs make sense at all) but this might be a catalyst for something awful regarding her and ugh i hope anna can help her get through this

scorbus. that might be my one light within the whole of this chapter. no matter what universe your story is in there will always be scorbus and this makes me happy

elisabeth ok so i need to know what happens with lys and how he recovers from this (because he does recover, yes?) and how essie will deal with this and basically pls update soon ok

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #23, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-four.

29th November 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

oh my god this chapter is so great it makes me so happy elisabeth my cinnamon rolls are all happy and bantering and chatting and happy do you realise how glad this makes me? i am far too invested in the emotional states of fictional characters

as i told you in skype when you snippeted me, this review is going to be so quite-heavy. prepare for the deluge

he said “I love you” out of the blue, without planning to, it just slipped out like he couldn’t go another moment without saying it. And David had rolled over so they were face to face and said “I love you too, Lorcan,” and kissed him, and he didn’t think he’d ever felt happier than he did right then.

I AM CRYING THIS IS SO GREAT ELISABETH IM SO DEAD

“You’re in love,” his mum told him when he explained all that to her, and he just said “I know” and finished doing the dishes, and she was smiling at him though the reflection in the window by the sink.

how many times can i bless this family unit. i love this family

“I wonder which of us is going to hell first,” Essie said.

“Whoever dies first,” Lorcan said.


i love them, and your writing and your humour in this is so spot-on. i love it. this is really all that needs to be said.

“Well,” David said, “You are a witch, so that’s a big point in my favour, I think. You’d be further into the hellfire than me.”

“I’d be crispy,” Essie agreed.

“Well done,” David said. “I’d be more on the medium rare side.”

“What about me?” Lorcan asked.

“Your gay wizard butt is at the centre of the inferno,” Essie said


i'm sorry i keep censoring these but to be fair it's not my fault that there are 12+ rules on reviews and u have the pottiest mouth known to man.

your humour in this is so good. i love the banter and the interactions between all these dweebs. they're so happy and this makes me so happy as well ♥ honestly if you were to continue writing nothing but banter i would be down for that because the humour in your banter and the interactions between all of the characters are so great

update soon, elisabeth! this story is so great and i am insatiable

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #24, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-three.

28th November 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

omg this chapter is light and fluffy and happy and i am in love i'm so happy right now. i think the only thing marring my happiness is that lys did not appear in this chapter and i need to know 100% that he's ok

oh my days i love claire so much. i'm so glad that dave has someone like that in his life that he can fall back on when he needs to ♥

“You wouldn’t believe what she’s doing, though. Passive-aggressive Instagramming.”

omg this is actually such a common thing and i'm cackling

“You didn’t nearly get mauled by a Manticore, Dad,” Lys said. “You saw a Manticore.”

“That’s the same thing in practice, Lys,” Rolf said. “I made eye contact with a Manticore. It saw me. It was advancing.”


rolf is a treasure and i love him. and i love that everyone tells embarrassing stories about rolf rather than the kids. bless this family

and rolf is so worried about treating his sons right and wanting the best for them but also treating them like people in their own right and i'm so so happy that you have people like this in your story - they're human and real and they want to do their best and they're trying to do their best and sometimes not quite managing it? so they seems so much more real and lovely and how do you character

“Do you love him?”

“Yeah,” Dave said, not even having to stop and think about it.


BLESS THESE TWO CINNAMON ROLLS. I LOVE THEM SO MUCH

update soon! i want to make sure that lys is ok, yes?

♥ emily

 Report Review

Review #25, by BookDinosaurHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-two.

28th November 2015:
ELISABETHBETHBETHBETHBETHBETH

oh no this chapter was so sad. i just - on the one hand, it's a great thing that lys has told his mum and luna has just accepted it and tried her best to help him understand what he's going through. but, on the other hand, my heart just breaks for luna. her final paragraph - gah, i'm so sad for her.

on a slightly more cheerful note, i love her point of view. you strike such a great balance between the wonder and whimsy that was so obvious in canon, as well as the maturity that adulthood brings and her motherly instincts and behaviour - i love love love how accepting and beautifully openminded she is. so many people would have just dismissed lys or said something vague about teenage hormones, but she doesn't do that and i love it.

ahhh, i love that paragraph about her calling lys they and them. i love how openminded and accepting she is. the way you write luna is so great, and i love her ♥ and also, just the way that you arrange that paragraph was so lovely, and flowed so well - i can't c&p it into here because it's too long but it's definitely one of the stand out quotes of this chapter.

and your habit of ending things on immensely powerful notes - damn it, elisabeth, i'm so sad for luna. can i hug her and tell her that it's going to be okay. is everything going to be alright elisabeth, pls say yes

damn it this chapter should have been happy - lys telling luna his problems, her not dismissing him, giving him a name for what he's going through - but instead now it's sad, and i don't know what lys might do and that scares me.

update soon! i need to know that my cinnamon rolls are all okay

♥ emily

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>