Reading Reviews From Member: BookDinosaur
  
200 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BookDinosaurIcarus: Cultivated Arts

9th September 2014:
This was so weird. (It feels nice to start a review with that again!)

Wah, thank you Kristin for being such a wonderful author and leaving me all these chapters to read! :P

Baha, Lily and Al and James are all so grown up for their parents, tsk tsk. I love the family dynamic - the teasing and and the way they all try to stop the attention from being focused on them, haha! Also, I absolutely adored the Lockhart cameo, that was so in character for him and I laughed so hard at his condescending tone. Poor James, having that as his only positive review!

Ahaha, Lily and Iris can speak to one another with eyebrows! Now that's a testament to their friendship. :P

Oh Marta. Oh you silly Marta. How on earth did she think that nicking something from the Ministry of Magic would be a good idea? How how how. Someone tell me. She has as much common sense as a three year old...duck...which is molting feathers everytwhere. Gah, Marta.

Hah, Lily and Marta do have a slick act! I would've believed them if I'd met them, that's cool! And aw, now I don't know who to ship Lance and Marta or Lily and Marta because Lily balances Marta out so well and she already likes Marta but Marta doesn't really notice and gah their adventure will mean sister bonding time (I hope).

Ooh, and what on earth is happening with the cube?? What does the rune mean and where is the screen Marta was talking about? Where have the plates gone? WHY IS IT COMING TO LIFE??

Kristin, you know what this means, right? I'm going to be bugging you more. :P Update soon, I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: This was like the least weird chapter that will ever happen in this story. I don't think there were actually any weird things. So there. :p

Thanks for being such a wonderful author and friend! :)

Teehee, they've grown older but haven't grown up. I mean, at least they're past the age of sending toilet seats to one another. Ah yes, Lockhart! You know, I randomly missed writing his lovely POV and felt like I should write him again, so I just stuck him into this fic for a brief cameo for no purpose whatsoever. There's a lot of pointless scenes in this chapter actually - my forte. :P

Eyebrow speaking is totally a thing. My sister and I communicate with our eyes all the time!

You'd be a good influence on Marta. (Probably anyone would, since most people have more sense than she does.) But yeah, she's pretty selfish and doesn't really see how her actions affect others. If she'd actually thought about it, she probably wouldn't have seen it as a good idea - she just didn't think about it.

Funny thing is I could totally see Marta living in a tent and reading palms, even if she did make up that bit! Heheh, ah a mess of ships. One of those ships will probably not work out.

Your questions will (mostly) be answered in the next chapter! There are exciting things coming! :P

Yes, I do know what it means - it means now it's time for you to update Endure :P Thanks for an awesome review, Emily!! ♡


 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: A Drink With the Devil

8th September 2014:
AH HAI MALLORY! And wah, thank you for dedicating this chapter to me! Even though at the time I was shamefully behind reviewing this lovely story. ;) BUT HEY THIS TIME I GOT FIRST REVIEW!! :D

Ahh, James did change his mind about pool! I'm kind of glad, I want them to get along because I ship them already. >:D The way he tried to get to know her after their lesson was so nice, although I haven't forgiven him for torturing poor Annie so much while they were still at Hogwarts. I definitely do understand what you were complaining about in the NaNo cabin though, when you said James was being unnecessarily sweet and turning his personality around, haha!

Aw yay, I'm so glad that her dad was nice to her and that an parent in her life was nice to her because her mum and her sister sound as though they were pretty nasty to poor Annie. It's funny that the guys in the village wouldn't play unless he shot left-handed, I'm surprised nobody in The Snoozing Dog thought to tell that to Annie!

Ooh, and James gets into deeper trouble! Of course it's Freddy making the bet with James, I wonder whether that will cause Annie any trouble later in her work life? :/ I hope Freddy doesn't find out that she's the one tutoring James.

AlthoughAzkaban?? That's harsh, what on earth could James have done to land himself in that kind of trouble? Gosh Mallory, stop with the suspense already! *unhappy* You're too good at this.

One thing I noticed: when Annie said pool is fifty percent skill, thirty percent math, twenty-five percent concentration, and five percent luck,” I don't know whether she meant it or not, but that adds up to 110%. ;) Just thought I'd point it out, although if it was intentional and I missed a joke then feel free to ignore this. :P

Gah, James doesn't have a very good memory, does he? I mean, he knew her and they were in the same year, he should remember Annie. Now I'm all angry at him again, humph. But then gah, he was so cute and awkward at the end of the chapter...I don't know what to make of him, I honestly don't.

Anyway, I loved this chapter, and after catching up on all the ones I missed, I finally get to say update soon! :D

ps. YES FIRST!! :P

 Report Review

Review #3, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: Ready, Aim, Miss...

8th September 2014:
Hey again! (I ran out of witty greetings, so...a hey is the best you'll get out of me. :P)

Hahaha, Annie can be so cunning! Her lie to Mr Goldblum was very well thought-out and the whole thing about eye contact is so true (I use the technique on teachers to convince them I'm listening...), but at the same time you did bring out the Hufflepuff part in her when she tipped the cabbie because she could sympathise with him and yeah it was just a lovely way to show that not all Puffs are the stereotypical nice people. I also love how you make Hattie a Puff as well, and use her to showcase even more Hufflepuff qualities and yeah you've just done such a great job with their characters!

Ahh, James was so cute with his fear of Muggle transport! And the way he was so determined to learn pool but he didn't think it was a sport and kept insulting it - dearest James, that's only going to make your teacher angry at you. It's like authors insulting validators in their stories: you don't do it, because it's just plain rude.

Aww, Manny seems like such a nice guy! I'm glad that somebody in pool is nice to her rather than just thinking that because she's a girl she can't play pool or something like that. Hannah Longbottom seems lovely as well, it's nice to know that even if her mother's nasty, Annie does have some positive adult figures in her life. :)

Bahaha, while Annie was trying to teach James pool she honestly sounded like McGonagall. Potter, I doubt that you’re in a life-or-death situation. Pool is rarely that intense. I mean, she's giving off direct McGonagall vibes there. ;) What does she mean, she's not a good teacher?! She'd be a great teacher. :P

And good on Annie as well, telling James off when he started acting all spoilt and childish. Tell it to him like it is, Miss Eight! By the way, I absolutely love that nickname for her. It seemed natural enough and not completely weird, and the origin for it was perfect actually I loved it. :)

Your word choices and prose was perfect as usual, and this was such a brill chapter! One to go before I'm all caught up. :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: The Woes of Working Retail

8th September 2014:
O HAI MALLORY.

Wah, this is so amazing I love it! Even though it was only a bit, we got some insight into Annie's family life, and I feel so sorry fr her because it really doesn't seem like she had the happiest time at home. First her sister, now her mum, I really hope her dad was nice to her when she was younger. :(

Gah, and I absolutely loved that little play on words you came up with about Annie's night lessons, haha! Poor girl, so pressured to find a job and when she did find one it wasn't even something she liked.

I really love Annie as a character, she seems so so realistic and just someone who could honestly bump into me one day. Her voice is so defined and her character is brilliant throughout the story and I'm really looking forward to seeing more about how she reacts to the inevitable awful situations that are going to crop up for her here, especially regarding her insecurities. >:D

Ahhh, and we get to see James. :D Ahh, I love how at first he was all smooth and stuff and then with one laugh from her his facade kind of crumbles and he becomes more awkward again. Threatening her was pretty nasty though, and I think that it was a bit of bullying - she did agree to teach him, though, so I'm interested to see how that goes. :D

And why is Tuesday night going to be special? What's so special about The Snoozing Dog? Gah, need to go read more. This was a fab chapter, Mallory!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: Mint Chocolate Chip Memories

8th September 2014:
HI HI HI SORRY

I hate having no wifi. :( But on the bright side, I'm here now! I have three hours and a bit left on the internet because this place limits my Internet usage, but I can shoot off a couple of reviews in three hours, right? Right. (APH, NO FAIR!)

Wah, this chapter was amazing! I loved loved loved all the exposition you managed to bring in here, and the chapter never really felt boring or clunky amongst all that background description, which is a brilliant feat, so congrats on that!

Ahh, WE HAVE A NAME! Portia...I don't know, Portia fits her but so does Annie, so you've done a fab job of picking a name there. I feel so bad for her now, though - how on earth could her sister and James bully her enough that she feels ashamed of her own name? It's such an integral part of you and gah that's so mean of them. :(

Ooh yay and we get a Best Friend as well! This chapter is shedding loads of light on things. :D Even though we haven't seen her a lot and this is really our first time meeting her, Hattie already seems like such a real character and person and you've done a brilliant job making her come alive. Her friendship with Annie seems so realistic too, the way they sort of bonded because Hattie took Annie's side and how they got closer from there and how they're so different but alike too - it reminds me of a friend I had before moving, she was the social bird and I was Awkward Potato and she was such a lovely person who was always reaching out to others and someone who you just couldn't hate, that was so so relatable Mallory. :)

The flow throughout this chapter was really good as well, considering that the thing is broken up into several sections it all flowed really smoothly and none of it felt out of place and yeah, this was just such a fab chapter!

I can't badger you to update soon because you have (gah, hate having no wifi) so I'll say off to the next chapter!

ps. Aph, I still maintain that it wasn't fair! I had no wifi...*grumble* :P

 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

22nd August 2014:
Oh my god Louis that boy doesn't deserve to be at Hogwarts, I'm telling you. He has no idea. Does he even have any clue what that could have done to Lester? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I am legit so angry right now. >:-|

UGH ALBUS. Where on earth did he get the idea in his head that he wasn't good enough for Scorpius? And that he was the least of his family? Where on earth did he get that, it can't be something completely unfounded and it's much much bigger than the thing about subjects so why why why is he thinking like that? :(

Wah, when Al and Scorp are together they're witty and when they're apart it's just they're both so unstable and they need each other, it's as simple as that. :( And Scorp why oh why would you choose Alfie as your rebound guy?

BUT YAY AL AND SCORP MADE UP!! You are master at manipulating emotions, you know that? :P Gah, Al and Scorp got together again over old Greek epic poems, that's so sweet you are fast making them my OTP Lisa which you can't do because Jily. I am so confused right now. :P

And Alfie and Rose made up as well, so that's fun. :D

This chapter is almost all sunshine and rainbows except for that bit at the end - way, I really really hope Lester will be okay!

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

22nd August 2014:
LISA DON'T EVEN TRY TO APOLOGISE, OKAY? JUST NO. *cries* I can't. I won't. This is the second time I've read this story and I'm still so upset over this. You can't do this to me

Okay, even though I know what's going to happen I'm still so upset. :( Stop ripping my feels apart.

And Holly! I can so understand her actually, I get really sarcastic and short-tempered around exam time. But way, she and Lester and Al and Acorp and Lisa you're making them all upset and breaking my heart right now. :( At least Rose has a level head. At least Rose isn't upset. It's a good thing that she's right, and at least one person in the group is stable because if they weren't then the whole group might split apart and I DON'T THINK I COULD HANDLE THAT.

I never even considered that some subjects might be considered as better or more academic that another and poor Al is so insecure and just wah don't feel so bad about yourself it's not right. :(

I have nothing much more than this to say Lisa because you have broken my feels and I need to move on to the next chapter to make myself feel better.

 Report Review

Review #8, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

22nd August 2014:
So after a lengthy, healthy, and pelthy break from reviewing, I'm back to raise your Unanswered Review count. *waves* HI LISA!

Oh gosh, Alfie and Rose are really kind of sweet. Even if there aren't really any feelings in their relationship, it's mutual and just yeah pretty much the perfect casual relationship.

Lisa, you are a clever clever author. All that self-inspection/introspection by Rose in the Prefect's bathroom really helped us to see a different, more vulnerable side of her but at the same time it was really natural and not as though you were shoving it at us just for the sake of developing her character.

Ahhh, and now the gang is back together and I love reading them together. I missed Al and Scorp and their witty banter. I missed your witty banter in general because nobody does witty banter quite like you and I promise that's a compliment. :P "You love my beanstalk physique" "Someone has to" Hahaha, laughing so hard at that one.

Wah though, I feel so bad for poor Lester! I mean, I suppose that having a younger brother who has special needs does mean that Max gets more attention, but his parents are full-on ignoring Lester for his younger brother, and that's not right. I really hope Ginny can get over whatever she has against him, because Lester really does need someone to take care of him. It's good he has Lily and his gang. I'm glad for that. :)

Another brill chapter, Lisa! And the Eels have just beaten the Sea Eagles, which basically makes me a happy chappie. :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: A Face From the Past

10th August 2014:
YES FIRST!! xD :D

Ahh, I've been in a plane for seven hours and then a car for eight, and then I come on here and see that you've updated and it's just YAYAY!! :D It's so nice to come onto HPFF to see that you updated. :D

Squeeing aside, so YES JAMES. IT WAS JAMES. That interaction was so interesting! And we still don't know your OC's name. Is that intentional? It's sort of sad, honestly, how he doesn't remember her at all even though he had such a huge impact on her life in such a negative way. And how he seemed to tke his fame and fangirls and people doing everything he wants for granted, he did come off as spoilt. *shakes head* Oh James.

So it's a bet he needs her help for? Doesn't it always start with a bet? :P Although I'm very interested in this cousin who's betted with James. I'm guessing it's Freddy, and then if/when James convinces your OC to teach him it'll lead to a plot twist. >:D But I should probably leave the writing to you, Mallory, you're the author here. :P

I really loved how she was able to have her revenge on James though, and I do get the feeling that she'll be wanting to mke his life even more miserable after this. xD James seems harmless enough now, although what he might do to get his pool lessons sort of alarms me. And it'll be super interesting to see whether or not James finds out about why she's refusing to teach him and what he might do to try and convice her and ahh I just want the next chapter now Mallory wah *cries*

Your writing style is just so lovely, honestly, you have so much description in here but at the same time it's not really bogging down the storyline or their interaction. But then somehow you manage to slip in tiny details - like the way James pushes up his glasses when he's nervous - but at the same time you're keeping us in the dark about stuff we need to know like your OC's nme and it makes for an interesting and frustrating combination. :P I don't think that made much sense, but moving on.

Anyway, I don't really have that much more to say about this chapter because you're so good at keeping me in the dark, Miss Mystery, so I'm going to finish up this review with the often-repeated phrase of: please, please update soon, Mallory!

Author's Response: Hahaha, oh my goodness. This review still makes me laugh. :)

You are so, so nice for reviewing my story even after all of your world travelling! Thank you so much! It really made my day to get on HPFF and see this review--you're so lovely, honestly.

Yes, of course it's JAMES! Any interaction with him is bound to be interesting, just because he's a person that my OC assumes a lot of things about--not all are necessarily true. Yes, her name won't be revealed until chapter three, muhahaha! I liked preserving her anonymity because she definitely has a name, and it will become a major part of the story. Yep, James was awful to my OC, and she can't forgive him for it. Why should she? He was the King of Hogwarts, and he reveled in the attention. Why would he remember someone as lowly as she was?

Well, that'll change eventually, as these things usually do. >:D

It always, always starts with a bet. And he's landed himself in some very deep mud here. You may or may not have guessed correctly--no spoilers! :D Oooh... I should think about plot twists... As of right now, everything is going as predicted--but that could always change. :)

James will stop at nothing to get a pool lesson. He's a desperate man. And I don't think the next chapter does anything to answer any of the questions that James has about my OC's reluctance to teach him, but the chapter after that is certainly enlightening. :D Don't cry! There are three more chapters up now!

Thank you thank you thank you! I always feel like I don't include enough detail, and then when I pay attention to detail, I feel like I forget the action part of the story. So it makes me happy that you think it's lovely! :) And I love keeping people in the dark with things! >:)

Thank you thank you thank you!!! I seriously love your reviews. *hugs*

~Mallory


 Report Review

Review #10, by BookDinosaurPlaying for Keeps: Shooting Star, After Midnight

4th August 2014:
HI MALLORY!!! *hopes that this is the first review*

Wow, this is so unlike anything I've read before. And I honestly mean that as a compliment! You did such a fantastic job with everything - the narrative, the descriptions, the whole atmosphere. It was all absolutely brilliant! ♥

So the setting was laid out absolutely perfectly. Just like your main character, you pulled me in with the descriptions and the atmosphere. And yes, I've fallen for it hook, line and sinker. ;) I don't know how to describe this, but the way you've described the casino, the way that everyone acted and the games (really, gambling with Exploding Snap? Haha). I've never been to a casino before, but I can completely imagine this to be what it's like. (If I ever do go into one I'm probably going to have my heart broken because it'll never live up to this, haha.) The whole tone of this, sort of seductive and playful, it set the scene and matched the events perfectly, I can't stress this enough.

Your character, even though I still don't know her name, she already has me feeling sorry for her a bit. She definitely seems realistic; the way she's working here and doesn't like it but how she exactly how to excel at her job, luring in guys and getting their money off them. I'd love to know why she was working in a place she hated under Freddy Weasley, but that's for another day, I guess. I can't get spoilt now, can I? :P

Ugh, that patron was awful, though. It's so normal, and he seems like a normal enough guy, but the way he was always trying to assert dominance over her and show her who's boss and just generally treated her as his inferior, it just shows how much misogyny is considered to be normal in our society. :( Boo.

It's nice that she got her revenge with the win and the way his wife's going to scold him when e gets home to her though. >:D

Ooh, who's the guy coming out of the shadows? Is it James? I'm hedging my bets with both James and Freddy. And why is she so alarmed to see him?! MALLORY, DON'T DO THIS TO ME. Have you submitted the next chapter yet? :P

In all seriousness though, that cliffie is quite evil and I want to know who's coming out of the shadows. This was an amazing first chapter - It set the scene so so well and I can't wait until the next one gets validated! :)

Author's Response: HI EMILY!! *of course this is the first review, you ninja* :)

Ugh, six days later and I'm still trying to figure out how to respond to your reviews. You're so kind for saying all of these things about my story. :D

Aw, thanks thanks thanks!!! This story idea has been marinating in my brain for ages, and my first attempt to write it was really awful. So for this chapter, I really concentrated on getting the atmosphere of the fic where I wanted it to be. I'm so, so incredibly glad that you liked it!!! And I'm also glad that it's "unlike anything [you've] ever read before." Originality is my aim. :)

I've never been to a casino before, either--I'm too young! But the place in my mind is something of Gatsby-esque proportions. Insanity and madness and alcohol all swirled into one. Ahah! I've got you hook, line, and sinker? GOOD! That's my evil plan. ;) I really wanted the casino to be a mixture of Muggle things and magical things so that the playing of pool would make sense, and the Exploding Snap poker just kind of struck me as I wrote. :D Thank you, thank you so much.

Yeah... As I wrote this, I realized that there was no place for my character's name to be mentioned, and I decided that I would keep it a secret. Oh no, you feel sorry for her? That wasn't my intention, but I'm glad you thought she was realistic! Now that I think about it, she is in a position to be pitied, but I would like to think that she turns the tables in her favor. ;) Yep, the reason why she's working at the Shooting Star isn't revealed until... much much later, actually, but I think you'll find the reason quite interesting. No spoilers for you! (Although it's SUPER hard to keep quiet and not scream "HEY THIS IS WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN!" I've really got to work on that.)

Yep, I hated the guy as I was writing him. He's totally a normal guy, but more Internet research has me placing him in the category of "neckbeard." He thinks he's the manly man, the boss hog who can wear a fedora while eating sandwiches made for him by his lady love, but in the end, he's just a sad sap who goes home to get scolded by his wife. Is that a little mean of me? I wanted him to be more of a caricature than anything, though, while also conveying the utter misogyny of his actions. :P

AHAHA, I KNOW YOU FOUND OUT WHO IT WAS IN CHAPTER TWO, but this is still so funny to me. :) I SO ENJOY ENDING THINGS ON CLIFFHANGERS! The MC is alarmed because... she's alarmed. That's why. ;) Honestly, chapter two didn't do much to explain things, either. :P

Thank you thank you thank you so much for being my first reviewer and for giving me such an amazing first review. I grin like mad every time I read this. :)

~Mallory


 Report Review

Review #11, by BookDinosaurThe Girl from Slytherin : The Slytherin Boys

3rd August 2014:
So after a long and healthy break from reviewing I'm back again to pester/plague/annoy you with more gushy reviews because don't think I forgot. I did not forget. *nod*

Ergh, I almost wish that you didn't write so well because these Slytherins are perfectly in line with the books as in they're nasty and Death-Eater-to-be's and support Voldemort but you've done such a good job fleshing them out that they've become so much more human in my eyes than they were in the series when they were pretty flat and a Nazi allegory. And now I just like them and wish I didn't cause they're nasty but you've put me into a spot here, Jenna. :( I don't want to love them but I have to.

I really love how the two sisters are very different from one another and yet at the same time they both embody different Slytherin traits; while Daphne is cold and icy and remote, Tor's definitely cunning and knows how and when to suck up when she feels it would suit her. It's just interesting to see how there are quite a range of people in one house and they're definitely not all the same despite being in that one house. I hope that made some sense. :P

The tone of the story is somehow pretty light still, and that's actually really suitable since these Slytherin kids wouldn't really be feeling the proper effects of the war would they? I mean, none of the Hogwarts students are in direct danger but the other houses always fear for their family and friends who aren't in the protection of Hogwarts' walls; Tor kind of narrates all this carelessly because she doesn't know the full extent of the damage that's happening, and it's both interesting and vaguely horrible to be reading about such terrible times so lightly.

Haha, I love the shenanigans that they get up to in the dorms. ♥ It's so sweet to see them get to be kids and play tricks on one another, even if it's only for a bit. And I loved Selby as well, it's nice to know that some house-elves genuinely like their posts (unless Selby has been commanded to be happy... O.O ). :)

Ooh, so this is how it starts, hmm? I feel like Draco's trying to form some sort of anti-DA with this whole meeting thing, it'll be interesting to see how that works out. And somehow I found it funny that Astoria blamed Daphne for being "so very Slytherin" but then later exhibits completely expected/almost stereotypical Slytherin behaviour towards Professr Slughorn. ;)

Last things last, I think you wrapped this chapter up beautifully. I did laugh out loud at the poor stoned Puffs and I can definitely see some Snakes doing that to unsuspecting Badgers.

This was a great chapter, Jenna! There was definitely a lot of buildup but I do think it was necessary and you didn't make it boring at all, it was a pleasure to (re)read! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

BAM. HIT RIGHT BETWEEN THE EYES THERE, ROSE. OMG WHAT'S SHE GONNA DO? Certainly a game-changer if nothing else!

Alfie and Rose are getting cuter by the minute and I really love their relationship together! Hopefully Lara isn't *too* angry because I don't want their relationship poked at by anyone because it's just too adorable. :D And it's just nice to see how the Claws do things differently and how Alfie like watching Rose study because yeah it's just the best and so sweet. :D

Hahaha, I find it so realistic that the Professors all let their hair down during the holidays and sit at their old House tables and that's going into my headcanon straightaway! I loved the little mini-argument/mini-standoff the Transfiguration and Potions Professors had, oh dear. :P People will always find womthing to be competitive about!

Ahh, the panic attack was just so awful and you wrote it so well! I feel so bad for Rose, and oh no - I really do hope she's not developing Potion Dependency as that would be akin to drug abuse and just no, Rose, you can't do that! You wrote the whole thing so well though, and it was really realistic, as was the almost-panic attack she had and Holly coming over to try and help her through it and yeah, just props to you there!

AHH CONGRATS TO ROSE THOUGH WITH THAT OFFER! She does deserve it though, from what I've seen Llodewick is right, he'd be hard-pressed to find someons as suitable for the title of Potions Master than Rose and congrats to her, really!

And then it hits you when you least expect it - six thousand galleons. What's Rose gonna DO oh no!

 Report Review

Review #13, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xiv. the easter buns [or] don't leave me to my own devices

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Wah, I really really relly want a rabbit right now Lisa, you're doing nothing to improve upon my easily swayed desires and yeah I just really want a rabbit right now. So thanks for that, I suppose? :P

Ah, I can definitely relate to the relief of holidays, and poor Rose! Not being able to go home must be awful, especially in a time that sounds so stressful for her. Ah well, she has company in the form of her brother and *wiggles eyebrows* Alfie so hopefully she'll be able to get through the holidays without going insane, yeah? >:D

I loved that little detail about the diamond and Holly and Lester's bunny-related prank, that's a stroke of genius but now I'm just scared that the staff are going to blame Rose for this since she was the one to blame last time and gah.

Oh my gosh Rose why on earth are you taking Runes you silly thing gah if you can't handle this you will need to do something for your NEWTs unless you want to end up with a terrible result and I think I'm calling you silly way too often but you silly girl. :P

Ahh Rose and Alfie, well I think it's about time Rose got herslf a partner, everyone else (besides Holly) has and obviously it's the thing in fanfic where the main characters enter a romantic relationship, even if it's just for a while and yeah. :P But Alfie seems as though he really does care for Rose and hopefully even if they do break up hopefully they can stay friends/on friendly terms.

Gah, the story about Lester and his little brother was so sad - I have a friend who has a little brother with autism and she adores him, I can so easily see something like this happening and I'm just so glad for Lester that Hermione was there or else God knows what would have happened and yeah go Alfie I know you can get into the Muggle Department in the Ministry and judging by the sound of it they'll need someone like him there!

It is true and Rose needs to accept it - her group is very exclusive. They haven't taken the time to get to know their classmates and while her support network and strong friendship links is a good thing her lack of, well, care towards other people will come back one day to bit her in the butt.

Another great chapter Lisa, looking forward to continuing! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xiii. the smoking gun [or] i flew too close to the sun

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

So, big developments for poor old Rosie in this chapter. Will she have the mental fortitude to go on? Will she realise the full responsibility she's taking on? Will she go on to achieve her dream? I SAY YES.

I really like the distinction between Potion Master and Professor - it's something I remember thinking about fleetingly but I never put too much thought into it and so hearing Professor Llodewick explain the difference was really fascinating and added this extra layer of ddetail to your story which I really appreciate, it's so nice when an author takes the time to do that. :)

I loved Al's complaining about his names. I've always found it odd that Harry named his son, his own flesh and blood, after a man who so blatantly hated him and loved his mother and yeah just never made sense to me and so to hear Al ragging on Harry for it was actually really funny, haha. And can I just say I think Hippogryffindor would be the best name for a Hippgriff ever. Stop ragging on your mother, Al. :P

Ooh, sorry Rose, you've been caught! I love how she takes Llodewick and Vector's assumption that it was her as a compliment and Llodewick kind of forgot he was meant to be strict with a disobedient student and instead gave her roundabout praise for her thinking and theory. xD

And just, Rose's reaction to being given detention is so funny. Bahaha I know the feeling as I didn't have a detention until really late in my schooling and so yeah just that reaction was so funny to read about!

 Report Review

Review #15, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xii. the art of love [or] nothing is sacred anymore

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Oh dear what happened at Beauxbatons? I really want to know now, haha. xD

I really loved the Hollyjuice Potion, and I wish I could've seen what Rose said and did under the influence of it! Gah, I would have loved to hear those sonnets. How on earth do you come up with these things? Each stage of creating the Hollyjuice sounds so fascinating and I absolutely loved the links you had in here from the plants with the mythology and how that linked back to effects they had, it was really fascinating!

Also, I love the name Hollyjuice both pretentious and so creative!

Wah, poor Lester as I think that's just the perfect response to what Rose said about the messages that are going to pop up in Lily's valentines and why does nobody take her wishes into concern and Lester does and gah they're just so cure even when they're not together I think I have a bit of a problem here. :P

I loved how you mentioned the short straw in the staffroom every year as it helped to humanise the teachers as well and yeah, they do still have a childish side which thinks it's best to decide conflicts by pulling on straws, hahaha.

I really can't believe it took five whole minutes for someone to realise the chocolates were spiked. *shakes head* Really, the standard of student at Hogwarts is getting lower by the day. xD

Another brilliant chapter, Lisa, I loved reading it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xi. the drawing board [or] my time to shine

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Can I just start off by saying that Tom McLaggen...was raised with the firm belief that he was more brawn than brains and would go straight into Gryffindor. When the Hat dithered briefly on Tom’s head, he seized upon the mention of ‘Ravenclaw’ and yelled it triumphantly a second before the Hat did occasion is just so amazing and it had me laughing out loud. Sorry for the long quote too, btw. :P

Ah dear I love how enthusiastic Rose was about her Christmas gift and experimenting and oh dear poor Hermione, coming home to see her child experimenting with ingredients which could blow up the house. :P And tsk tsk Rose deflate your ego, you can't be cited in an OWL essay silly person, and even if you could be cited, a lunchtime conversation isn't exactly something to cite now is it? xD

Gah, the scene with the house-elves at the end was so sweet to see they don't believe in heteronormativity and just yeah. I love how friendly Rose was with them all, it's so lovely and the house-elves need more recognition in stories.

Emily is certainly a Slytherin, isn't she? Having Hogwarts resident geniuses indebted to her is certainly a comfortable position and I just hope that she's a decent enough person not to abuse that kind of power she has over them.

Hahaha, Albus was certainly the best planner in that group then! If Big. Hella big is all you have to contribut to your group Al then I'm surprised you're friends with them at all. ;)

Ahh, so looking forward to seeing what Rose's plan is going to be! I'm quite literally reliving this as I read it Lisa, and I'm not sure whether that's a good thing or a bad thing. xD

 Report Review

Review #17, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

wah, the bit at the beginning was so so so touching as Scorp and Al are already so adorable and then Al goes and says that he wants to propose and it just seems so perfect and they're perfect together and just YAAASS in a perfect world they would get married, they would so that has to happen, Lisa! And YES of course Rose has to be Best Woman! I don't even care if that's not a thing.

Ahahaha the Christmas decorations in Hogwarts sound amazing and gah, bells stuck permanently to your shoes can't be a nice thing to go through, I can just imagine how awful and obnoxious that tinkling would become. And hahaha, Al and Lester under the mistletoe must have been so awkward! And of course those five would spend nineteen hours in the library trying to find an antidote - I particularly loved the quote Sleep is Professor, overrated. Just goes to show that you will be tired after nineteen hours in the library hunting for a way to de-enchant mistletoe.

Aww, Rose's last Christmas at her house! Gah all the emotion in that was just so lovely and Hermione and Rose's hug and just wahh they're so nice, their family dynamic is the best! And, of course, Hugo and Rose's sibling relationship is amazing, even if they are jealous of Holly. :P Also, Hermione for Minister! I would totally vote for her given the chance. :D

You wrote James and the whole Weasley family really well, I think, I can definitely see Dominique as you portrayed her and GAH LOUIS STOP TRYING TO TAKE THE CREDIT FOR THE ORDER OF THE RAVEN'S PRANKS. THAT'S JUST DIRTY, YOU CHEATER. So glad Uncle George wasn't fooled!

The last part though, ALL THE FEELS: this is the first Christmas Albus and Scorpius have been able to spend properly together, surrounded by people who love Albus and welcome Scorpius into the family with open arms, and their joy is written across their faces for all the world to see. They're the best couple ever and I just feel so happy for them right now. :"D

 Report Review

Review #18, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

HAHA WHEE YESS I FEEL SO HAPPY FOR HOLLY RIGHT NOW. AND PROFESSOR HOLYOAKE DOES HAVE A NICE RING TO IT.

Aw no. Seriously though I'm so glad for Holly! Now it's Rose's turn ¬_¬ ISN'T IT, LISA. Yes, yes it is.

Wahh, I can't decide whether Professor Vector actually does trust Rose and Scorpius to hunt down and bring to justice the Order of the Raven, or whether she knows and supports them, or whether she knows and doesn't support them and wants to catch them at it. She seems really nice though in this chapter, so I'm kind of hoping it's the first or second.

Gah all the Potter feels right now because yeah I actually can understand how Al feels about Lily kind of swanning into his group and how awkward it makes it for him, but then poor Lily as she must feel so bad that his friends knew before her and gah that argument was so sad so I'm really happy they made up quickly haha. Guess my heart isn't hard enough for this, yeah? You wrote all the emotions so well though, they were so realistic!

Also, I really really loved the switching of the plants and turning the table of Louis so that he has to sing all day, I so wish I could see that! Louis got what he deserved. *nods*

Bahaha I absolutely love how they all decked out in support for Lester's game! The quotes, the obnoxious eagle, forcing Lily to be a part of their group unwillingly, it's just so nice and the camaraderie between them is as lovely as ever. Yay for supporting Lester!

Great chapter Lisa, I enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

OKAY SO THIS WAS AWESOME AND FORGET TASTING THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT I'M DROWNING IN THE STUFF.

Except this time it's with Emily and yeah she's turning out to be a really interesting character and aww if she's telling the truth about her little sister then that's so sweet and I totally get her ulterior motive! Although the boys are right, it's dangerous to trust anyone too quickly and so trailing an alliance with her is a good idea. And the whole thing about the Animagus and I don't know I'm not getting the most positive vibes from her right now I'm afraid.

Aw, Al is so protective of his little sister that's so sweet! Although I think threatening his friend with the nine circles is a little bit of overkill, I think. O.O Ah well, I love the comparisons between Harry and Ginny and Lester and Lily, it's so true and Al you just need to calm down, you should know your friend well enough to know that he wouldn't hurt Lily Ad I agree with Rose, that was a terrible overshare from Scorp's part.

I've never seen transgender Lorcan in stories before and it's a really interesting premise, actually, that's really original and something I've never seen before! I've seen Dominique as a guy before but never Lorcan as a transgendered person, so that was really interesting!

This was another really great chapter, Lisa, looking forward to more!

 Report Review

Review #20, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

I love the Ravenclaws' points of comparison. But nothing is worse than the Library of Alexandria. Even if Hogwarts was destroyed, the magical means for offering a way out would make it less catastrophic - paintings could go to their counterparts, and most people of any cultural importance would have more that one painting to go to. And then the books, I find it hard to believe that the Hogwarts library has one-and-only copies of old manuscripts or something. It is a school, and not a university, so I don't think it's be as bad as the Library of Alexandria. *nods*

Ahh the dove prank was amazing and I really wish that I could have seen that as I'm pretty sure it would have made my entire year. These ideas are so genius and Claws are the best to pull it off and just year it was amazing.

Also, I have no idea what happened with Emily either so what on earth is she on about and why does she need Rose's help and why is she so desperate to get the Patronus Charm right? Hmm, questions for the readers. Isn't she one of Louis' cronies? So maybe is she trying to undermine Rose's group? I don't know gaah. I hate not knowing.

In other business, I think Rose's save in her lesson - that she was only discussing the cultural ramifications should Hogwarts have fallen - was genius and the scholarship really is affecting her. I CAN TASTE THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

Kay onto the next chapter bai for now. ;)

 Report Review

Review #21, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Whee yay this is such a great chapter as always, Lisa! I absolutely loved the boob story, oh dear. You were inspired in that moment. And of course someone in your story who's a classicist like you, how else could you write a story? :P Scorp would be the perfect person to love ancient languages, though, since he's a Malfoy and with that ancient language knowledge he could probably pretend to be the snobbiest person ever.

So nice to hear the Potters and Malfoys getting along after the revelation of their sons! It's lovely to see that they are really trying to truly properly completely bury the hatchet and yeah I loved that.

Yay Holly and Rose having a moment 'for their future students'! I loved their little meltdown, and aww you guys don't be worried about this one year of pranking! You can go back to being model citizens next year, don't let it affect your ambitions to become teacher you silly people you! Also, I want a bunny, Lisa.

Ahh dear yes their pranks are so clever, how do you come up with these things, Lisa? Toilet paper to doves absolutely takes the mickey for BEST PRANK EVER EVER EVER in the history of Hogwarts. :D Looking forward to seeing that one play out!

PS - I really do want a bunny now, Lisa, so thanks for that, I guess? I'll have to cuddle with my dog now. :P

 Report Review

Review #22, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

WHEE AWW THIS CHAPTER ENDED SO WELL YAY IT'S ALMOST ENOUGH TO INVALIDATE THE PAIN I FELT THROUGHOUT IT.

It's really cool that the school has a newspaper but they have no business sticking their noses into other people's private (well, not so private anymore) business and Louis and Lucy are just awful and yeah they deserve a really really bad comeback prank from the Order of the Raven. *evil smile* I do believe this story is making me more ruthless towards characters.

Aww, it's really nice that Rose can calm down Scorpius like that and the way their friendship group is so tight that they all depend on each other is just perfect and so touching and yeah I love it so much. I hope Scorpius is feeling okay now, poor boy. :(

Wahh I loved the little scene with the parents in the room and this is really the perfect way to truly properly bury the hatchet and I loved Astoria's comment about how heteronormativity makes fools of us all because how true is that, honestly? And when Scorp said maybe it was time for the Malfoy name to die out and then Draco agreed it was just so touching and wahh that scene was just so amazing.

I think we got to see a more human side of the Claws in here, the part of them that's not arrogant or pretending to be a supersmart genius. It showed that they do have a side of worry and pain and panic like anyone else and really did a lot to humanise them in my eyes. So yeah, great chapter, Lisa! :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

Heh. Heh. Heh. I'm imitating Walder Frey right now and I don't even care because YAY AL AND SCORP! Goodness, I really do agree that the scholarship is changing them and all my previous pity has melted away because THEY CAN BE TOGETHER NOW!! :D Although it must be annoying to ut up with a chorus of well-meaning aww's, it's better than being in the closet, right?

The banter that you've written between the friends is just amazing and it feels all so natural and perfect and yeah, they get along so well it gives me warm fluffy feels inside, it's just so lovely and just yeah. I wish my friends and I were that witty, we'd probably spend all out free time laughing elegantly at each others' witty comments. As it is we spend our free time laughing like donkeys at mildly funny comments that aren't actually funny at all when you look back on them. xD But I keep digressing.

The Quidditch match was great! Omg, and the t-shirts were brilliant. 'You both suck' is such a lovely, uplifting message to the teams playing, and the way their brooms were charmed was brilliant. And then Louis' attempted revenge was just so ugh like I loved how you turned the whole 'revenge dating/falling in love' trope on its head through Holly's asexuality and HA LOUIS HAS BEEN THWARTED AGAIN.

Oh no, the Enemy have Felix Felicis, oh dear what are they planning to do with them? Gah gah gah *hits Louis*

 Report Review

Review #24, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Right, so I'm feeling slightly kind of almost but not really but who am I kidding completely useless because I'm literally stopping myself from JulNo'ing right now because I need to review for the HC. So I'm drowning my sorrows by leaving you lots and lots of reviews. I hope you don't mind! *paranoid*

Wahh, poor Rose and yeah she is really proud and her ego is pretty big but she's smart so her ego has good reason to be big and I just feel so sorry for her right now after that prank Louis pulled. I need to harden my heart if I want to read about prank wars, don't I? xD

I love this quote: Louis finally managed to free himself from his curse and is now stalking through the Great Hall with the sleeves of his robes rolled up in case anyone forgot he has forearms. Your narration has this sort of dry wit I’ve pointed out before and felt the need to point out again because I love it so much and makes me laugh every single time.

Ahh, Vector oh no! I don't want her to ruin everything for the Order of the Raven, and now Scorpius and Rose will be double-crossing her, won't they? I was so convinced she knew when I saw she wanted to talk to Rose about the Order of the Raven, oh dear. She certainly does sound intimidating.

Also, this group really is one of bad names, isn’t it? Roe Nymphadora Weasley, Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy, Albus Severus Potter, Lester Dante Raine and, of course, Holly Helen Holyoake. I'm laughing so hdd right now, of course all those unfortunately named must stick together. And, as short as the mention was, I got this warm fuzzy feeling inside when you mentioned how they all stuck up for each other during that awkward time they were sitting ducks for bullies. I love reading about things like that. (Also, no autocorrect, Lester is Lester, not Later *rolleyes* )

Ooooh, Holly's had an idea!! I get the feeling that these prissy Ravenclaw students have a hidden side they haven't uncovered yet and I'm so looking forward to watching them unlock there PRANKING POTENTIAL!! ...or something. Good luck doing that, Rose & the Gang!

 Report Review

Review #25, by BookDinosaurThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

"FIVE THOUSAND GALLEONS."

"FIVE THOUSAND GALLEONS."

They are indeed almost as cultish as we Claws are. CELSA SUB CONVENIANT AQUILA SAPIENTES MENTES.

Loving the family hatred (well, not loving loving it) but it's still nice to see that sometimes family members just don't get along at all, and it's nice to see that so realistically portrayed, and also that the Weasleys aren't always one huge happy happy happy family because I've always found that image to be slightly unrealistic. Also, I love the name dudebro, so props to you there!

And of course, family rags on each other all the time so I've found that blaming my parents for my failings works wonders as well, except perhaps on my grandma because she doesn't like ragging. :P But I digress.

Ohmy GOSH I loved Rose's prank on Louis. I feel sorry for the Pygmy Puffs though, how are they ever going to get their invisible Puffnip? :( And I love concerned Rose was with claiming the prank. Oh dear no, Rose, it's okay if you don't claim it, you don't want Louis and his gang down on your back now do you? DO YOU?

LESTER HAS OFFICIALLY BECOME AWESOME. ASOIAF is such an awesome series and so your littering of mentions and references of it is just perfect for a fangirl like me. xD

And of course Scorpius would forget the small fact he'd Head Boy and then later use that fact to slightly abuse his power. Tsk tsk Scorpius, I'm wondering whether the teachers really did make the right choice with you. But poor him, it can't be nice to have to hide that you're gay all the time just because some people would bully you for it. :( I feel so sorry for him and Al right now.

This was a great chapter, Lisa!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>