Reading Reviews From Member: Potterholic
  
1,568 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PotterholicAmong the Flowers: She Didn't Notice

2nd September 2009:
I love it! Your description is amazing; I could just see her sitting there with the flowers around her. And I love how you hinted on the plot in between. I so want to read more about what happened. =D All in all, this was a wonderful piece. Good job!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I try to work really hard on my description, so I'm glad it came out OK. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by PotterholicExpectations: Odd Words Goodbye

27th August 2009:
Interesting start. I like the idea of having the heart and the head talk separately like that. The chapter flowed well if a bit slow, but first chapters are always slow. ^_^ I wished there were more things going on here than just explanations, but it's the introductions after all. ^_^

I don't think you need to introduce the Marauders and Lily by explaining their characters in paragraphs, you can easily show it to us through their actions. Here it's a very common characterization of the Marauders, so it feels a little cliche at this point, but I'm looking forward to see how you will develop their characters. But all in all, I enjoyed reading this. Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: thank you so much! i could have done more with this scene, but there's not much else to be done, like you said. i look forward to your review! =]

 Report Review

Review #3, by PotterholicTo Define a Sister: One

27th August 2009:
That was really good! You captured the emotions brilliantly, and I love how you wrote it from the brother's point of view. My favorite line has to be this one: Then again, Albus figured, if the tiniest brick is removed from the tower, the top will crumble too. I was close to tears by the end. :) All in all, you did a wonderful job here. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That's one of my favorite lines too. Thanks again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by PotterholicThe Memory Box: Chapter III

27th August 2009:
Lol, can't wait to see their dates! This chapter kept me laughing the whole way through, especially when Lily and Izzy mimicked Sirius and James. I love the present day comments too. =) Overall it was a very fun chapter. I'm off to the next one!

 Report Review

Review #5, by PotterholicThe Memory Box: Chapter II

27th August 2009:
I love it! The first kiss was cute, and Sirius was a git for saying that he didn't want anyone to know about that. =P I love how they bonded, and that prank on the Slytherin was hilarious! I'm definitely looking forward to seeing what the girl pulled on the Marauders. =D One thing that bothered me, though, was the misspelling with Lucius' name. You kept spelling it Lucious. But other than that, this was really good. Keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #6, by PotterholicThe Memory Box: Chapter I

27th August 2009:
Great start! I love how light-hearted it felt, and how you introduced the girls. I love how you wrote them, by the way. I'm curious about Sirius' relationship with Izzy, and what did he mean about things being 'delicate'? Guess I'm going to find out. =P All in all, I'm hooked! Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #7, by PotterholicMaking my choice: .

26th August 2009:
Hi Lucy! Saw this in SAYS cbox and decided to drop you a review. ^_^ I like it! You wrote Fleur's voice well, and I love how she didn't quite believe that Bill loved her until he stood up for her. The argument between Bill and Molly was well written too. I think it could use a bit more description in the beginning, but the build-up toward Fleur's decision was nicely done. ^_^ Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #8, by PotterholicHarry Potter and The Twilight Dragon: Winged Beasts

26th August 2009:
Great chapter! Again, I love the description. The moment of action flowed fluidly, and you did a good job building up the panic. I like the dialogue, especially when George and Beetum were arguing. Watch out for missing punctuations too, especially the quotation marks in front of dialogues. There were some missing, and sometimes that made it hard to tell when the dialogue began and the narrative ends. ^_^ All in all, I like this chapter a lot. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Yup, I get it. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by PotterholicHarry Potter and The Twilight Dragon: Tidings of Trouble

26th August 2009:
Hello! Sorry this took a while. I've been busy with a bunch of things, but here it is. I like where the plot is going, and the description is well done. Dialogue flows well too. I don't really like Ron's characterization that much though. He seemed to be slightly too childish here, like the way he panicked when Harry hesitated about trying out in the end. But I like that he knew more than Harry about dragons. It made sense since his brother works as a dragon keeper. Harry's sudden interest in Hermione threw me off a bit. I don't mind Harry/Hermione, but since this is following canon, it feels like it comes out of nowhere. He did tell Ron in DH that he thought of Hermione as a sister. So maybe show the transition from the brother/sister feelings Harry had for her to the romantic interest more?

Other than that, this was a good chapter. Off to the next one! :)

Author's Response: O-kay, I'll bear that suggestion about Harry and Hermione in mind. Maybe, in a later chapter, I'll put in a conversation detailing Harry's developing crush on Hermione. So, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by PotterholicSaharan Lies: A Goddess's Wrath

28th June 2009:
I really like this. It's always interesting to see a fanfiction set outside of England, and Grace and Black seem to be great characters, and together they make an interesting pairing. I love your description; it really keeps me on the edge of my seat as they fought their way through the curses of the pyramid. I don't really like swearing in fics, but the plot is engaging enough for me to read past that. ^_^ Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by PotterholicEchoes of Fate: Old Vendettas

22nd June 2009:
Yay for a quick update! =D Love this chapter. Iíve got a feeling Sirius might do something reckless, despite the last line. =P The dialogue flowed really well, and Iím looking forward to see Remus and Tonks move in. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: That's Sirius for you! Glad you are enjoying it and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by PotterholicThe Trick is to Keep Breathing: Chapter Two

22nd June 2009:
Another great one! I love the chemistry between Draco and Astoria. They're not instantly falling for each other, but there's something there. I also like how Draco was working as a personal assistant and Astoria's application was immediately rejected. It shows the aftermath of the war for the pureblood family. ^_^ The dialogue flowed really well too. Looking forward to the tea with the Malfoys! Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you do! Exactly - I like to imagine that things didn't go all that well for the purebloods after the war and that people weren't all that keen with them in general. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #13, by PotterholicThe Trick is to Keep Breathing: Chapter One

22nd June 2009:
Great start! I love how you wrote Astoria's character, and the dynamic of the family is interesting and realistic. It was also fun to see her endure Nott. =D The boy just couldn't take a hint, could he? I'm looking forward to see more of her and Draco. ^_^ Keep up the good work, Steph!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think the family dynamics were realistic. It's been a bit difficult on that particular area. And nope, he could not =p Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by PotterholicThe Price Of Freedom: Fight or Flight?

22nd June 2009:
Hi! This is a great story. I love the pace you're keeping, and the description is great too. Your characters are interesting, and you introduced Ella very well. At some point it is a bit too violent for me, but overall you're doing a great job here. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.
Yeah, it is a bit violent, I apologise for that, but I'm glad you're liking it anyway :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by PotterholicSparrow: Sparrow

22nd June 2009:
Great one-shot! It's short, but you've managed to convey the emotions very well in such few words, and I just love your description. =D Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #16, by PotterholicThe Wasteland Chronicles III : Severance: II: Within

4th June 2009:
OohhhÖ Grimmauld incident? Interesting, very interesting. Anyway, I love how you wrote the attack scene. The pace was just right, and it was quite thrilling. =D The meeting wasn't boring either. With all Potters and Malfoy around, I do wonder where the Weasleys are. ;) Anyway, love it! Definitely adding it to my favorite. Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #17, by PotterholicThe Wasteland Chronicles III : Severance: I: Beyond

4th June 2009:
Great start! First of all, I love the casting list. If this were a movie, I would definitely go see it just for the actors alone. =P And to be honest, it's a little confusing right now, but it's intriguing in a good way. =D The description is brilliant, and I love how you introduced your characters. So far each and every one of them has their own unique voice, which is very important in a story with many characters like this. ^_^ All in all, wonderful job! Off to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by PotterholicLetting Go of the Moonlight: Letting Go of the Moonlight

4th June 2009:
This was really good. I love the description and the fact that you didnít use any name. =P I have a spot soft for both Luna/Neville and Neville/Hannah, so I could really see this happening. Anyway, I also really like the use of second person. I don't read it much, so itís always very interesting, and I thought you did a good job with it here. ^_^ Good work! Keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #19, by PotterholicThe Chess Set: The Chess Set

4th June 2009:
Aww, this is a really adorable one-shot. I love how you portrayed the friendship between Harry and Hermione, and the fact that it revolves around the chess set makes it even more interesting. I've always associated chess games with Ron and Harry, not Harry and Hermione, so it was different. ^_^ The story flows really well too. All in all, it was a very enjoyable read. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've always thought of Ron and chess together - so it ended up as a way for Harry and Hermione to be with the Ron they loved ... rather than the idiot he was being at the time. Thanks very much for reviewing :).

 Report Review

Review #20, by PotterholicEchoes of Fate: Mrs. Black

26th May 2009:
Yay to you for updating! I'm glad you did too, this was a great chapter. Your characterization is brilliant, and I love that closing line. =D I'm looking forward to Sirius and Lucius together, and now I really will read the present! Keep up the good work, timeturner! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you for the support here and over at the forum. I appreciate it so much! I'm actually working on the next chapter already because you guys have been so fantastic about my attempts to try this again :P

 Report Review

Review #21, by PotterholicEchoes of Fate: Betrayal

26th May 2009:
I love it! Sirius/Hermione is not a ship I'd normally read, but it's growing on me, and I love how you wrote them together here. The description is amazing, and I definitely have to go back and read the present one of these days. =D I love how the Blacks are rising to royalty status once again; I'd love to see how Hermione adapt to that. ^_^

All in all, great work! Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: The present will make it make more sense. I think it will stand alone but reading the present will definitely make you understand how Sirius/Hermione came to be in the first place.

I agree with the royalty statement and that's something I've thought alot about and want to include in this. Hermione - enjoying her new found position and Sirius always running from the Black label. I think it would be lots of fun to explore that.

Thank you for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by PotterholicWhen the World is Dressed in White: When the World is Dressed in White

25th May 2009:
Aww, what a cute story! I love how you described the setting here, and Ginny was so innocent too! I especially love the part with the Muggle couple, and the end where she saw her brothers were all home. All in all, it's a heart-warming one shot. ^_^ Good job! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks! It was supposed to be just that, a feel-goo winter story, I'm glad you mentioned noticing that!

 Report Review

Review #23, by PotterholicBlinded: Three Letters & A Sentencing

25th May 2009:
Hi! So instead of one review for each chapter, I'm doing one big review at the end, since I was so sucked into the story I didn't want to stop to write a review. Hope that's okay. ^_^

Anyway, I love it! The twist with Molly was excellently done, and I love how you explained that it happened because of Percy's death. Because otherwise I wouldn't believe it at all, but I did believe it, so good job! ^_^ I feel really bad for the family, especially Arthur. You did a great job portraying his feelings there.

Did I mention I love Hermione's characterization? She handled everything very Hermione-like and I really like that she didnít run or turn away from Sirius when she found out about everything, even though she couldn't even remember loving him. I'm really looking forward to see how their relationship would go back to that point again.

All in all, brilliant job! Keep it up, and let me know when the next chapter is up! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I'm sorry that the wait has been so long, but I have a new Ac adapter for my laptop so More will soon follow! *HUGS*

 Report Review

Review #24, by PotterholicJust Because: Miss A Quidditch Practice Or Otherwise Die

13th May 2009:
Interesting start! I really like Ellie so far, though I am a bit confused with her attitude toward Oliver. If she loathed him, she wouldn't jump up to hug him in the beginning. And he already warned her about giving him attitude, and she obviously cared about her position in the team, so why did she still ignore him in the end?

On the other hand, I really like Oliver's characterization. He's hard on his team and doesn't take excuses. =) I'm interested to see where their relationship is going.

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by PotterholicStained Masquerade: Midnight Rendez-Vous

4th May 2009:
I love this chapter! I love the way you described Hermione's attraction to Draco back in Hogwarts, and you introduced the Feldons well. I also like The Night of the Frozen Spirits part. It's creepy, but in a good way. =P Keep up the good work!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>