Reading Reviews From Member: Chivalrous
  
77 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChivalrousSurvival Instinct: How to save the day

16th April 2015:
I MISSED THEM SO MUCH OMG!

I'm so glad that they are back and I hope to see them again soon!

I hope you post ASAP!

Sincerely,
Ireland

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! :)
I'll def be updating soon. Just wanna get a bunch of writing in before I have to really crack down for finals (May is fast approaching. Yikes!)


 Report Review

Review #2, by ChivalrousMasquerade: Waltzing on Glass

16th April 2015:
Ah! I love this story! Irene is very well-composed OC and I have a soft spot in my heart for Slytherins with morals!

I love all your characters especially Blaise and Astoria!

I think the formalness of the ball and everything is very pureblood and I love it!

I hope you post soon!

Sincerely,
Ireland

 Report Review

Review #3, by ChivalrousComplicated: In Which The Moron Has A Heart

16th April 2015:
"Albus is wonderful.

Jason is wonderful.

Joe is wonderful.

Louis is wonderful.

Rose is wonderful.

Scorpius is wonderful (in a terrible way).

Olivia is wonderful.

Everyone is wonderful.

This story is wonderful.

Posting the next chapter would be wonderful."

A poem by Ireland dedicated to your story. Ha ha!

I loved this chapter!

Post soon!

Sincerely,
Ireland

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for such a kind review - I'm so glad you're still enjoying reading! I've been using camp nano to mainly do some work on my other novel here, Victoire, but am working on the next chapter of Complicated and will try to have it up in the next week. It's a big one with lots of Albus/Olivia and lots and lots of drama :)

Thanks for reviewing! Lots of love, Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Chivalrous(Don't) Panic: 4. Of Managers and Singing Envelopes

16th April 2015:
Okay first off, I love Reggie. Like a lot. Reggie is life. Her reaction is probably exactly how I would react if somehow my name got called out of the Goblet of Fire! She very believable as a character and really just one of those characters you want to root for!

I know we only saw a small bit of her, but I love Cassidy. She's very Ravenclaw and I dig that!

James and Nikola and Lorcan like please excuse me while I pass out from the wonder of them.

James is more platonic, but I just love James II because he's James bloody Potter II.

Nikola is love. That is all.

Lorcan is a good character, because he really pushes back at Regina and they have an interesting dynamic that I'd love to see more of!

I really love this story and I hope that you continue to write it! I love your style and the way you write Regina, it's very real and that's so cool!

Please post the next chapter soon!

Sincerely,
Ireland

 Report Review

Review #5, by ChivalrousThe Monopoly on Honour: Her Bellatrix Lestrange

30th December 2014:
Can I just say wow?

I absolutely loved this!

I'll just get right to the review, because I'm so ready to tell you how amazing this is.

Your attention to detail is meticulous and wonderful. The details involving the Guild are awesome and I loved that entire part of the story!

In terms of characters, Magnus Darling is very interesting and I'd love to see more from him and get more information on his background. He sparks so much curiosity from me, I love it!

Alicia is a wonderfully portrayed Gryffindor. She is brave, but she's not stupid or headstrong and that really defines her as a character and sets her apart from all the other Gryffindors we know. (I'm looking at you, Ron Weasley!)

Astoria absolutely slays. There is nothing about her that I don't love. The way you've portrayed her is wonderful and since she is one of my favorite characters from the series I thank you!

I need more Draco! He's absolutely darling and I'm dying for more!

Lucius and Narcissa are wonderfully in canon. I've always had a soft spot for them, especially Lucius. I'm dying to know what his plan is! I'm assuming that it's some sort of self-sacrifice, but part of me hopes not, because I find his character very intriguing and I want more of him.

Daphne and Theodore! I'm so upset about Theo getting chunked into Azkaban! The relationship between him and Daphne was wonderfully placed, but I kinda wanna hit you for ripping them apart... Just kidding, I love the intensity it added to the story!

I can tell that you've put an intense amount of thought into your story and that's great! Sometimes though, your pacing is a bit too fast and sometimes I felt lost in all the new information. It's not that big of a deal, but it just adds a tad bit of confusion to a wonderful story!

Your plot, on the other hand, is executed brilliantly and I can really tell that every single scene means something and adds to the plot!

I absolutely love this story! I'm so excited for it!

You're a brilliant writer and I love the tone of this story!

A wonderful read!

Sincerely,
Ireland

 Report Review

Review #6, by ChivalrousComplicated: In Which Breakfast is Traumatic

25th December 2014:
In honor of it being Christmas, could you please wrap Al up as a present and put a bow on top?

Please and thank you.

Anyways, getting on with the review!

I adore Olivia. She's just absolutely wonderful and snarky and so Slytherin it brings my heart joy.

Reading this chapter I do, however, find a couple of things that are strange. Olivia seems very quick to accept her new Gryffindor friends and there's not a lot of internal struggle for her. Maybe she's just accepting it and not really giving it much thought and that's fine! It just seems a bit strange to me at least.

You really are hitting me in the feels with this chapter! Bloody Scorpius Malfoy! His staunch loyalty to Cassie is absolutely darling and I love him for it. He was a bit nasty to Clara though, like the poor thing! He could have been rude quietly and not shouted across the Great Hall about it. Geez Scorpius!

Olivia's parents being sketchy is freaking me out... I need to know what's happening! Her Mum is hysterical like I'm torn between rolling my eyes and laughing my brains out every time she's involved!

Louis, Rose, Oz, and Joe are excellent supporting characters and I love each of them very much.

On the real though, where is Cassie!? Surprises are not fun for me, I like to know these things!

I absolutely love this story and even if you didn't like this chapter it was wonderful!

Thank you loads for updating!

Sincerely,
Ireland

P.S. Update soon! :)

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! This review is quite astonishingly generous and has made me super smiley and happy :)

I totally see what you mean about Olivia being very quick to accept her new friend. Hopefully it'll make a bit more sense when the next few chapters are uploaded - she's not fully accepted them as her friendship circle yet, she's just in shock after Scor's outburst - but I'll definitely work on that when I come back and edit.

Scorpius was fairly unacceptably mean to Clara, but I'm really glad you understand what made him do it. He's having a bit of a touch time so is allowed a few nasty moments I think.

And I'm so glad you find Pansy funny! She's a terrible mother but is a lot of fun to write.

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm really happy to hear you're enjoying reading, and will try to update asap when the queue opens again :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by ChivalrousComplicated: Complication #8

30th November 2014:
Can I just say one thing?

You're amazing!

...Okay so that's not all I'm going to say, but it was a good place to start!

First off, your characters are wonderful. Abigail is flawed and well-rounded as any amazing character should be. She is literally my favorite type of character. I like how she elevates herself to a higher standard from everyone else, but she still has her flaws and things about herself that she doesn't like.

The minor characters are all also wonderful in their own ways. They are in the action, but they don't try to steal the scene from Abigail and James. One minor character I'd like to see and hear more from is Blaise. I know that he's "the boyfriend" and so not very important in terms of Abigail and James's relationship, but I would really like to see more of him. He seems like such a sweetie! :)

The plotting is very thought-out and well executed which I love! As a 'write-by-the-seat-of-my-pants' type writer, stories that are well-planned out always gather my attention.

The overall flow of your writing is very rapid and sometimes I get lost in it. I know that's kind of a dumb critique, but maybe you could try breaking up the paragraphs of Abigail's narration to slow it down. It's really a minor thing, but it helps with the rhythm of the story!

I really love this story and I'm so excited for the next chapter!

For me, this story is kind of reminiscent of Gossip Girl which makes me so happy, because I miss that show so much! :)

You're a wonderful writer and I can't wait for chapter nine!

Sincerely,
Ireland

P.S. I LOVE your face-claims! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ChivalrousThe Red Haired Witch: Chapter One

22nd November 2014:
Oh wow...

This was amazing! Your descriptions are so tangible and realistic, it's amazing! I really loved your description of the things in Borgin and Burke's in the beginning. Also props to you for thinking of all those Dark objects. As I was reading, I was just like, "Oh my golly, you are awesome."

I'm not too much of a grammar buff, but I know a thing or two and so I can say pretty confidently that your grammar was good! Nothing at all struck me as bad!

I really love the deep descriptions of your writing style, but you may want to be wary of how wordy your descriptions become. I hate to say that, because the descriptions are amazing, but some readers may get lost in all the words which leads to them skimming over huge paragraphs of your amazing writing. I used to always do that when I wrote and then my Beta was the one who made me change my style. So now when I have huge chunks of information like that, I try breaking them up into many short paragraphs (kind of like lines of poetry) so then the reader doesn't feel so overwhelmed.

Another note that kind of coincides with what I said before, breaking it up also helps with the pacing of the story. Sometimes when I was reading I felt like the story was a bit rushed and hurried. So be careful of that as well!

But I LOVED your tone! When you write, I could feel whatever Ganymede was feeling and to be writing in third person POV that's pretty impressive!

Speaking of Ganymede, your characterization was awesome! I absolutely loved Ganymede and I honestly identified with her. I have an older sister and I used to always feel overshadowed by her (we're cool now though, like I'm not going to drain her happiness with a magical glove or anything ha ha). Ganymede was a despicable character in a beautiful way. She did these horrible things, but as a reader I felt for her. I wanted her sister to perish and I wanted Ganymede to take over the family estate. I loved the ascension and the descent of her life (before Tom freed her). It was startling and powerful.

Tom and Callista were wonderful minor characters! Tom was perfectly placed and beautifully in canon. Callista though I wished I had a little more information on. She was a villainous type, but I always wanted more from her. Why did she hate her sister so much? Why did she want the family estate so badly? I loved her as a villain, but I always want a reason for why the villain is the way he or she is.

I loved the little allusions you sprinkled throughout the story especially the ones concerning Tom. Those were excellently placed and awesome.

And that ending line! That was killer! That one line sold the story for me. I'm such an end line person. I love it when the end line just completely rips apart the whole happy ending type deal. I'm not a "happy ending" type writer and so that line just hit me right in the feels!

All in all this was a beautifully written read and I'm so glad that I chose it! I hope I wasn't too harsh and I want you to know that you're an amazing writer and please don't ever stop or let anyone tell you any different!

Sincerely,
Ireland

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review!
One of my favorite parts of writing HPFF so far is the license to paint the background with unusual objects or trinkets. They usually never serve as anything more than a descriptive tool to set a scene, but it's fun nonetheless to sit back from the keyboard and think about odd things to fill a room with. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed their presence. :)
I warned you that my work is criminally wordy at times. Haha. I agree that it can be off-putting or overly laborious for some readers, but as much as I try to whittle down long passages or break them up, there seems to be no ridding them from my work completely. I may be too in love with the sound of my fingers on a keyboard. ;)
I agree with you in the pacing. This was my first short story in a very long time, and I think some portions read at a speed that doesn't fully coincide with the pace of the story. I'll figure it out someday.
I intentionally left Callista's sins and motives a bit vague. I think it helps to subtly paint Ganymede as a potentially unreliable narrator. The goal was to give the reader pause, to wonder if Callista really deserved what Ganymede did, or if Gany was lashing out at an unkind but possibly not completely deserving sibling.
I too am fond of stories that end with a bit of a sting, that have a resolute closure that doesn't necessarily lend itself to being 'happy.' I'm pleased that you enjoyed it.
Again, thanks for the review. You weren't harsh at all, and said a couple of things that I was at least partially aware of myself.
Happy you enjoyed it! Til next time!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ChivalrousString Theory: chaos theory.

29th October 2014:
This is amazing! Please post soon, because I need more! :) This is one of the funniest NextGens I've ever read and your characters are awesome! Again post soonnn! :)

Author's Response: i'm so glad you think so! i'll try to update soon; thank you for reading and reviewing! c:

 Report Review

Review #10, by ChivalrousMy (Fake) Wedding: I Explain Everything

28th October 2014:
I absolutely adore how sweet James is to Elle! It's just precious! :) You write them both beautifully!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you think so, I always feel insecure about the two of them and whether I've made them be so contradictory through my writing.
Thanks for a lovely review!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #11, by ChivalrousEternity: Eternity

19th October 2014:
I loved it! Even though I'm still not sure who the narrator was... Please excuse me I'm a little ditsy! Haha! But really this was amazing and I loved the poetry style writing and the repeated words! You're amazing Alena! :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! This review warmed my heart. I was a bit nervous that it wouldn't make much sense, and the narrator's still a bit foggy, but I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

You really are wonderful darling.

Much, much, MUCH love,

Alena


 Report Review

Review #12, by ChivalrousMy (Fake) Wedding: 19th June 2026

14th October 2014:
I LOVE IT! Post soon!

Author's Response: YAY! So, so happy that you are! It makes me super giddy and glad on the inside whenever I read good reviews! :D

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by ChivalrousCarina: Carina

11th October 2014:
Okay first off, I can honestly say that is one of the best one-shots, I've ever read.

I came into it with a little trepidation, because I thought it might just be one of those Tom was in love and then he became evil, because this girl died, blah, blah, blah. That was not this.

I loved the way you wrote Tom. You made him so twisted and malicious that he remained canon, but I could see where you embellished him and certain traits of his.

Carina was a wonderful OC. She had her demons and her battles, and it made her seem real. She was twisted in her own way and it really made her and Tom's relationship tangible.

The pacing was perfect! It was 6000 and some odd words, but I never skimmed over one. I think that if it had been slower, it just would have dragged out a little too much. The fast pace, really kept me on the edge of my seat while reading and held my attention well.

The plot was perfectly executed. I loved how it was out of chronological order! It really added a little finesse to the story and the way it was told. That being said, it didn't even seem out of place! Everything seemed to fit together exactly like it was supposed too.

All-in-all, this was a wonderful read and I'm so glad I decided to click on this link in the forums! You are a wonderful writer and never let anyone tell you different!

Author's Response: Ahem *coughs hastily* I may or may not have jumped out of bed with a grin and a blush at your lovely review. Just a little. Basically, I can't thank you enough for your kind words especially considering how much I was bricking it when I submitted it for validation.

Ugh. I know all about those Toms you speak of. No offense to the writers who depict him like that, but my Tom doesn't fall in love and then decide to get over his heartbreak by killing people right, left and center. He prefers to obsess over Carina instead and doesn't allow her to influence his plans whatsoever. Personally, I find Tom fascinating and he may be one of my favourite characters. Is that disturbing? But anyways, he is still an insanely difficult character to write because I was panicking half of the time about whether I was even selling him as Tom. So I'm glad you loved the way I wrote him. It makes me happy to know that I am not a failure.

As for the structure of the one shot- well, lets say I'm fond of it too. I don't trust myself to be able to pull off something like their story as a novel so I settled for this. I'm glad it worked out. I think it's miles better this way.

Once again, thank you so much for the amazing review!! You are far too kind :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChivalrousGet in Line: Fire and Flight

24th September 2014:
I absolutely adore this! I just wanted to say that I totally called the Polyjuice Potion thing. I have a feeling that Mitch has thing for Hazel more than anyone else thinks. The more Jordan and James the better!!! Lovely chapter, post soon! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! And you never know with Mitch.. He's an interesting one. There will be lots of James and Jordan in the next chapter! I'll try and update soon xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by ChivalrousGet in Line: The Morning After

7th September 2014:
I love this! Post ASAP! Mose is literally queen.

Author's Response: I know, right? I love Mose to pieces. Thanks for reviewing! The next chapter is in the queue xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by ChivalrousPlaying for Keeps: Ready, Aim, Miss...

6th September 2014:
I love this! Your word choice is on point and I adore Anne. Please post soon. xx Chivalrous

Author's Response: Aw, you're so sweet! :)

Don't worry--chapter six is in the queue and it should be out within the next few days. I would love for you to keep reading, and I'd love to hear your thoughts about it as well!

Thanks so much!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #17, by ChivalrousPyrotechnics: ii.

30th November 2013:
Ahhh I love absolutely love this! Hazel is such a lovable, but believable character it's brilliant! And don't even get me started on Seamus, he's just so *sigh*... I just love Seamus, okay? Haha! Please post soon, I love it! :)

Author's Response: Awwh, thank you! I'm so glad you like it! I love Hazel, and I'm glad you think she's believable. :)

I love Seamus too! Definitely an underrated character in my opinion. :)

I will try to! Thanks for your lovely review. (:


 Report Review

Review #18, by ChivalrousThe Troubles Of Being A Malfoy: She's out of his league

9th November 2013:
I love it omg! Post soon!!!

Author's Response: Haha thanks love :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ChivalrousDefining Astoria: Wrath (Part One)

6th November 2013:
I am absolutely in love with this! Please post soon! I'm desperate to know what happened/is happening to Astoria! Astoria Greengrass is one of my favorite characters and you have done a wonderful job writing her, I think! I can't wait to read more!! :)

Author's Response: Oooh, thank you so much! The next chapter is going out as soon as the queue reopens! :D It's great to hear that you consider my depiction of Astoria wonderful, thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by ChivalrousFinding Him: Morning

1st October 2013:
Oh wow! I love this! I also love how you've portrayed Rose! This novella is bursting with potential! Post soon pleaseee! :)

-Sincerely, Ireland :)

Author's Response: First off, thanks for the first review. :)
And second off, I'm so happy that you think this novella has potential. I was very iffy on posting it. And I'll try to get the second chapter up ASAP.

~Sama


 Report Review

Review #21, by ChivalrousThe Invisible Thief : Just Friends

25th September 2013:
Ah! I loved it, because of the Bribus. Albus is so adorable when he is all awkward like aww. This chapter was swaggy n' such as per usual! ;)

Sorry about school we all dislike it! (I have a Biology test tomorrow, but yeah I'm here haha!) And yay I'm so happy we all broke the 100th review mark!! Congratulations!

And another big YAY for the Bribus friends with benefits type deal! And yes for more drama! I love it when it gets dramatic! >;)

I have no idea what's up with Amelia and Louis. They probably like each other, but like idk man.

I know you have school and that's important, so stay in school and blah blah blah, but POST SOON OKAY!? Okay yeah thanks bye! :)

-Sincerely, Ireland :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked it! I kind of am fawn of awkward Albus as well! Swaggy - I like it!

I'm so happy as well and yeah school pretty much sucks!

Drama is the best!

Idk man, either, but that seems like a good guess.

I'LL POST SOON!

xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by ChivalrousCareful What You Wish For: Quidditch Practise

15th September 2013:
Awh! I love Dani and Oliver, so cute! Great chapter! I can't wait for the next update! :)

-Sincerely, Ireland :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed - the next chapter is in the queue.
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by ChivalrousThe Invisible Thief : Run like Lightening

15th September 2013:
Ah! I love it! Amelia is my hero. I loved this chapter and I hope you get 100 reviews! Whoop whoop! :)

P.S. Sorry this one isn't long either I've got math homework I've got to do that I don't wanna do! :)

-Sincerely, Ireland

Author's Response: I did reach a 100 reviews so thank you so much! I love Amelia too - I'm glad you feel similar.

No worries girly and I know the feeling!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ChivalrousThe Invisible Thief : Sideline Kisses

9th September 2013:
BRIBUS BRIBUS BRIBUS FOR THE WIN! Ah I loved it!

Halloween man, it's great! The whole animals for Halloween thing remind me of Mean Girls ahaha! I love that movie with so much passion it's unreal!

But yeah I love this and you and how it long it is! Thank you for the Bribus!

Sorry I can't post a long review, because I have to sleep it's almost 11:00 and I have school tomorrow! So sorry!!! :(

Sincerely, Ireland

Author's Response: YAY I'm glad!

It reminded me too! Animals are just such classic halloween costumes it's not evenf unny.

You're welcome, girl!

Don't worry about it - any review is good enough for me! Good luck with school! xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by ChivalrousShut Up and Kiss Me: Shut Up and Kiss Me

9th September 2013:
AW that's precious! I can't wait for the epilogue and then the sequel! Eeeek!

Oh and I'd love for Peeves/Spoons to be together for all of eternity dat's my OTP right there! Hahahaha!

Just kidding it's James/Ellie obviously! ;)

Author's Response: the epilogue will be up soon! It's being validated as I type this response up :O

Actually, I'm more partial with the Daniel/Staring at the floor pairing. Hah.

Anyways, great hearing from you Ms. Chivalrous. I'm excited for you to read the epilogue :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>