Reading Reviews From Member: Josette_Phoenix
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Josette_PhoenixWaltz: Waltz

4th January 2014:
This was fabulous ... I almost wet myself when he kissed her "symmetrically" hahaha. Well done :)

Author's Response: Hahaha! This review actually made me laugh out loud. hehehe I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The 'symmetrically' line was one of the last little tidbits I added, but I was so happy I thought it up before submitting because it made me chuckle too. ^.^ Thank you so much for the review; I'm thrilled that you liked it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Josette_Phoenixclose your eyes, listen on up.: under the mistletoe.

4th January 2014:
This was absolutely beautiful. You've done it again :')

Author's Response: Aww you're so sweet, I'm glad you liked it < 3

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Josette_PhoenixGhosts in the Snow: The Dancing Cloak

3rd January 2014:
I've been waiting for this!!!
Such detail - in the language and history, in the characters - makes this a delight to read. You definitely know what you're talking about!! It's so polished - and I love the style of writing.
Little Helena is fascinating, and I'm nervous to see how she turns out. You've written Slytherin beautifully, exactly how I imagined him and beyond.
I can't wait for chapter 3!!!
xo

 Report Review

Review #4, by Josette_PhoenixIn A Heartbeat: In A Heartbeat

3rd January 2014:
Wow. Just wow. I wasn't expecting it, but all these chills just ran through my body as I was reading, and there were tears in my eyes. The way you incorporated the lines from DH made me smile with pride.

Excellent metaphor with the splinters of time and all the possible futures - it fit perfectly in with the battle scene, everything rushing and breaking. Excellent use of the techincal terms like ventricles and atria etc. - it added a cold, gutsy facet to the story. Just ... excellent. Excellent excellent excellent.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Josette_PhoenixThe End: Prologue

3rd January 2014:
Hey there, time for some overdue reviews!!

Zombie apocalypse! This sounds very creepy and I'm very excited to see where you're going with this. As always, your writing is succinct without being plain, yet vivid without being over-adjectivey. And well done with the creepiness.

I'm really intrigued at the lack of secrecy, too - wizards whipping out their wands in public. And I'm quite scared about Hogwarts being out of bounds!!

Can't wait to see the rest!
Cheerio!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Josette_PhoenixThe Recombination of One's Soul and the Psychological Aftereffects: a Case Study: Tom Riddle

2nd January 2014:
HELLO!!
Finally a review of this wonderful, wonderful story! I am so sorry it's taken me this long!!

I love how you've made most of this story in second person - the psychiatrist to the intern - because second person is so rare in stories and it's really hard to make it work, but you've done FABULOUSLY! It was fascinating and couldn't have worked better any other way - kudos!

I love how cold, cynical and heartless you've made Sofia/Maggie and how eventually it ironically becomes her downfall - such a Roald Dahl ending to the story (not the kids' books he wrote but his adult books - they always have a humourously sinister and ironic ending).

I also love how you've portrayed Tom - the coloured dots (especially the coloured dots - that was a stroke of genius), the sardonic insights of Sofia/Maggie, the KISSING (which made me shudder, well done) ... it was all superb. It isn't often that a FF makes me laugh even a little out loud, but this ... I was cackling. I have to admit that when I read the title and started, I was a little worried this would be a tedious and dry story - but you proved me wrong. It is witty, mordant, engaging, and a brilliant lampoon of Voldemort (I love the banner too, btw).

Even though you were the only one to submit something to the Solve the Riddle challenge (which means you get first place anyway) I guarantee that you would have place very highly even if I got dozens of stories; if you haven't already guessed by this creepily glowing review - I love this story.

Congrats on your marvellousness!
Cheerio,
Jo
xo

Author's Response: Hello!

This challenge definitely gave me opportunity to play around with several elements, including perspective. Writing in this perspective was absolutely enjoyable. I'm ecstatic that you believe that I've done it well!

Writing with an unlikable main character was also something that I really enjoyed toying with.

There were very few people who understood what I was attempting to do with the colored dots, so I'm very glad that you caught onto that. The kissing...was decidedly disgusting and thus I didn't linger around the subject for long, but it has received the reaction that I was hoping!

I thought that some of the clinical, dry writing would help balance out the slight insanity of this story.

Whoo! 1/1! Worse things could have happened ;). I'm really happy that I entered your contest, it created a story that I found very entertaining to write!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Josette_Phoenixwinter, cry.: winter, cry.

24th October 2013:
OK, so to start I'm just going to second everyting MissesWeasley & Cannons said. I don't think I can write a review as well as the previous two, haha.

Holy moly that was brilliant. You've captured the very essence of poverty, the joys and the sorrows, and the monotonous strength of being the outcast. You're so detailed without being over-complex, and simplistic without being dull. Your writing is rich and realistic at the same time, which is something not a lot of writers can boast of. That was just a beautiful, beautiful story, I can't put it any other way than that!!

But.

Then I finished it and I was like - no! what happens next???

What?!?!?!

;)

It was my pleasure to beta this, thank you :) And good luck in the challenge!! Xo

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much! I just edited it all from your beta help and put that version in the queue so hopefully soon there'll be an even better version up! I'm glad you liked it, mistakes and all, though :)

Thank you so much for this amazing review! I honestly can't handle it when people compliment my writing like this, it's insane < 3 You're the sweetest, and an amazing beta!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Josette_PhoenixUndateable : Unpersuadable

8th October 2013:
This was absolutely lovely to read!! I'm a massive fan of 10 Things I Hate About You, and as I was reading your story I felt like an old friend was waving hello to me from behind each word. The Taming of the Shrew was apparent from the very first paragraph and has been very clearly merged into this story, well done!!

Your writing style is very succinct and easy to read, which not many writers can boast - brevity is powerful! as my English teacher once put it. Your plot flows easily and the chapters are structured neatly, bravo on that as well :)

This story is a great twist on an old favourite and I can't wait until you finish the rest!! Congratulations on 3rd place and keep it up!!

PS: I particularly love how nasty you made James ... perfect!

Jo, xo

Author's Response: Thank you. I have to admit that Taming of the Shrew is possibly my favourite Shakespear with maybe the exception of Midsummer Nights Dream. I also really really loved 10 Things I Hate About You, it being one of my favourite albeit cheesiest films. I'm glad it merged well with the story, I just thought it would be easiest play to do actually.

Thank you so much for the amazing compliments on my writing style, it means a lot to hear stuff like that. I'm really glad it all worked out.

James was originally not going to be the Shrew, I was originally choosing between Molly or Victoire. But then it popped into my head that James could be like that and Albus the poor but beautiful Bianca. And I must admit I much prefer it this way.
Thank you again for the review, it really made my day.

Frances x


 Report Review

Review #9, by Josette_PhoenixTrivial Trickeries: Much Ado About Exploding Potions

8th October 2013:
This was a great read, you've merged Much Ado About Nothing very skilfully into the story and the quotes from the play were very cleverly incorporated, bravo!

You have a very sophisticated writing style that is an absolute joy to read, but at times it can get a little cluttered with over-sophisticatedness ... with polishing, your writing would be absolutely delectable!! Your plot flows well and the overall structure is good, I can't wait to see the next chapters!!

This is very original, with superb snippets of colourful and creative description, and I LOVE the mulberry tree tradition, a very clever metaphor and substitute for marriage ;)

Congratulations on 2nd place and thank you for participating in my challenge, it was a pleasure :D

Jo, xo

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! I'm thrilled with second place :)
I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. And thanks so much for the little piece of constructive criticism. I take that very seriously so I'll be trying in the future to smooth my story out a bit, not making it too cluttered. I guess I do have a sophisticated writing style (I've never really considered it before!) because my favourite authors tend to be really old ones. Writing a retelling of a Shakespeare play certainly doesn't help :P Still, I'll try to make sure it doesn't come too much.
Thanks again :D So glad I could participate in this challenge! It's been a lot of fun.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Josette_PhoenixA Selection of Yellow Things, Including Streelers and Mortimer's Socks: Loony

24th September 2013:
You did an absoultely marvellous job on Luna - just how JKR would write her!! I can't wait to see how the rest of the story pans out! I LOVE Mortimer already - and his yellow socks. Bravo, and good luck in the challenge! Xo

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!! I am so flattered that you compared my writing of Luna to JKR's - that's about the best compliment there is to a HP fanfic writer :p Unfortunately this is a one-shot so there's no more of the story, but I'm glad you liked it that much! Thanks so much for your review ♥♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Josette_PhoenixBeast: Prologue

11th September 2013:
Hi!!

I love and hate the tantalising hints about Teddy's "condition" - it makes me want to keep reading to see if there's going to be any action! Whichever way you choose to write this story, you've got a great foundation here for anything to happen. The little drops of humour, like the lead actress's shrinking dress and the director's chair afraid of being turned into kindling are great little gems - keep putting them in!!

There is a little POV issuue in the middle, however, when Victoire took a seat opposite "us" - first person, when the rest of the chapter is in third person.

Looking forward to finding out what you choose to do with the ships - personally I think a love triangle is in order here ;)

Cheerio
Jo

Author's Response: Lol, I'm surprised it isn't easy to guess his condition. Thank you so much for this review it makes me feel way better about the story. I will get on that issue. And I am thinking a love triangle. :D Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Josette_PhoenixYou Ought to Know: You Outta Know

8th September 2013:
Wow this is absolutely brilliant!! Simple, eloquently laconic, and so different from anything I've ever read on HPFF before - what an idea! Congrats on a wonderful story :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Josette_PhoenixAll The Tombs of Egypt Are Empty: Long and blue and forever is the Nile

9th August 2013:
Hi there!

You are dead-set one of the best writers I've come across on this site!! You absolutely took me all the way to Egypt with your splendid imagery, and you captured the character of Filch and Mundungus PERFECTLY. You also made me like Mrs Norris, which is quite a big feat - congratulations haha.

Your writing is just wonderfully wonderful to read :)

Cheerio!

Author's Response: HELLO! ♥

What an absolutely lovely and very flattering review! *blushes* I'm so glad you like my writing; that's one of the best compliments ever! Gaaah, this just made my entire forever! :D

I'm glad you thought Egypt was realistically depicted; I love that place a lot (I've been there once, so maybe I have a bit of an advantage here because I have an idea of how it's like). And it always amuses me whenever a reader tells me that they end up liking one of the not-very-likable characters I've written in this fic! Especially *cough* Filch and Mrs Norris. To be honest; I still dislike Filch a bit - he's such a violent, threatening man. But if I write a character, I always give them a chance, and I do my best not to judge them.

I notice you favourited my other fic 'you can write the book' as well! Thank you so very much; that is one of the stories that I'm really happy about, and it means so much that you enjoyed it, too!

Thanks again for your lovely words! I will have to swing by and read some of your work soon :D

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Josette_PhoenixDying in Consortium : Dying in Consortium

9th August 2013:
:'( Poor Marlene ... You wrote her so well!! I was right inside her head the whole time, and I was frowning the whole time as well hahaha - especially at the end when she said that Sirius doesn't love her!! Heartbreaking and really well-written - what a great quote to use as well! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was so excited when I got that quote because I had already started this, truth be told.

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Josette_PhoenixYou. (Me).: You. (Me).

5th August 2013:
Breathtaking writing :) This is as fluid as poetry but with substantial and gutty philosophy behind it. Ha - kind of like the person behind the mask you're writing about - wow, revelation! Anyway, congrats on a great piece - what a great poem to base it off as well!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I was really lucky with the poem I got for this challenge, and I had a lot of fun writing it. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! Thank you for the lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login