Reading Reviews From Member: Fonzzx
  
163 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Fonzzx19 Years: Year 7: October Storms

18th May 2016:
Oh no, poor Ron and Hermione :(

Author's Response: I know, things are not going easy for them :(

Thnak you for reading and reviewing! Xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by FonzzxFlight: Marlene

19th March 2016:
Ok so I read this when you sent it to me and meant to leave a review and then forgot so I've just read it again and my gosh, it just encapsulates the wonderful mess that is Blackinnon so perfectly!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Definitely want to write more Blackinnon soon :) x

 Report Review

Review #3, by FonzzxAlmost Doesn't Count: All of Me

23rd January 2016:
Yay, you're back! I've missed this story :)

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I'm glad to be back ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by FonzzxPride and Scorpius: Home for Christmas: Rose

19th January 2016:
I did always wonder why Scorpius was so well spoken in particular! Although it is annoying, I can totally understand Rose's position in that respect :)

Author's Response: Yes, there was a reason for why he talks the way he does, and finally I have managed to put it in the story. It has been so clear as to why in my mind, but there was no where else I could put it in till now. So the purebloods have retreated socially to a time when they were the undoubted 'lords of wizardkind' and a symptom of that is all of the proper diction and syntax.

It also fits in nicely with the Pride and Prejudice theme as well. It means that every now and then I can slip in some dialogue from that great work into my own.

Also it's a way for Scorpius to really get under the skin of Rose whilst still being scrupulously polite.

Thanks for the review, as of this response the story as a whole has had 6116 views, and this chapter has had 62; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #5, by FonzzxCold Feet: Cold Feet

16th January 2016:
You have taken my ship and sank it right to the freezing depths of the ocean.

I am not sure I can forgive you for this (I am kidding, of course I can because the writing was awesome and I can really feel Sirius' confusion at Marlene's note).

My Blackinnon/Jily for the challenge has now been validated (my character was James but OF COURSE I had to put Blackinnon in there because it's Marauders era) so it's really good to see someone else out there who writes Blackinnon, it seems to be a rare ship on HPFF.

Good luck for the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #6, by FonzzxHermione Granger: White

10th January 2016:
Poor Hermione! How awful! I hope her parents start to show her some love soon!

Author's Response: Hiya! Thank for stopping by again. This is most likely the beginning for Hermione. She doesn't want to fuss over the fact that she needs her parents. :(

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by FonzzxKiss My Lips and Swear to Die: Welcome to Reality

7th January 2016:
I'M SO CURIOUS NOW PLEASE LET US KNOW WHAT HAPPENED SOON!

Author's Response: I'M SO SORRY, BUT I'M A CRUEL PERSON. YOU WILL HAVE TO WAIT A BIT. :D

-Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by FonzzxPride and Scorpius: Home for Christmas: Albus

25th December 2015:
Hello!

This is my Christmas gift review to you, and I'm so glad this chapter was published in time. It did make my day, flicking through and going "oooh a new chapter!" I've been wondering what to leave you for the Christmas gift and now I know!

Sometimes the best chapters are not the ones with the most action, but the ones that explain well about the character and their feelings. It has been a long time since Harry has seen Draco, and I think you're right, Harry would not bear any animosity towards him. I know that Ron probably would, as their fathers hated each other and Ron is much less forgiving than Harry.

I love reading about Albus and Scorpius in any scenario, whether they are in a relationship or they are best friends, and I think they suit each other really well. Now that Albus knows everything, that raises the question (for me), does Scorpius know about his father's role in the war? I think you're right in that Draco would punish himself for his actions much more severely than anyone else would.

Anyway, merry Christmas, and please keep writing!

Author's Response: Hello again, and thank you for this wonderful Christmas gift. I am so not deserving, my own efforts this Christmas have been decidedly sparse.

It was just too good an opportunity; my very next chapter was going to be one about Albus back in time for the Christmas holidays - I just had to post it on Christmas. The next few to come will detail all of the kids and what happens to them when they come home, or at least some interesting things about their holidays. It will also give me a chance to explain a few things and to expand upon some of the reasons behind what I have posited before. Not only that, but we shall see the interactions between the kids and their parents and hence, my take upon what Ron and Hermione and Harry and Draco too are now like. I hope you enjoy them all.

Thanks so much for the praise. This chapter was one I just had to get right. It would explain just how Albus had never heard of the name of Malfoy before. I had to strike the correct balance between what Harry said to Albus and what Albus would want his father to tell him. Reviews like this tell me I just might have succeeded. You have made me very happy. In no small part the chapter was inspired by my readers and their disbelief in how Albus could have never heard of Malfoy before.

I think it's right too. We don't have it revealed much here, but I think that Draco has kept his head down and Harry hasn't really had an opportunity to come across him at all. As for Harry, I believe that he truly is the sort who will forgive and forget. He saw what Draco was struggling to be and only wished him well in his efforts to become a better man.

Ron is a slightly different matter. We will see his reaction in a chapter to come.

Albus doesn't know everything, to correct you slightly, but he knows enough. He doesn't want to know the sordid details, just in case there is something too horrible that he cannot get over - he likes Scorpius for who he is and he doesn't want to jeopardize that.

Very definately, Scorpius knows far more than Albus does about the events of the war and particularly his father's role in it. He said as much in the last chapter. What you said about Draco is spot on, but we won't find out much more about that until quite a few chapters hence. I have written it, but it comes about ten chapters after this one.

I am writing, but thanks for the encouragement and this review was just one of the ways in which I had a merry Christmas. As of this response the story has had 5194 reads in total and this chapter has had 33, thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #9, by FonzzxForever: Promise

23rd December 2015:
Hello, I'm here for the Ravenclaw Gift Thread!

First of all, I love Teddy and Victoire. I always imagine them to be fluffy with minimal angst, and that Teddy would be too shy to admit his feelings for a long time, and you've managed to capture that perfectly.

I love the little snapshots through time, starting from when they were little children, all the way through to their wedding day. I love how they always pinky swear everything, even now! I just love everything about this story.

Merry Christmas,

Fonzzx

Author's Response: Heya Fonzzx!

Thanks so much for this gift, and I'm sorry it's taken so long to reply!

This is such a cute, fluffy fic, and it always makes me happy to look back at it! I'm glad this fits in with how you've imagined it, because it's definitely my head canon as well! I'm happy that you enjoyed the style and their little ritual because it brings a huge smile to face, 4 years later!

Thanks again for the review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #10, by FonzzxYou Are Cordially Invited: "I Understand, I Do. I Love You."

14th December 2015:
I really really enjoyed this! As much as I wanted them to be together properly, Sirius could never be in a relationship. Also, when Tonks was running around screaming I was saying to Remus in my head "DUDE THAT'S YOUR FUTURE WIFE AND SHE IS AWESOME"

Author's Response: Hello there! I wished Sirius and Aurora could have been together too but I wanted the story to slot into canon directly.
I like to think that Remus struggled with his feelings for Tonks because he knew her as a child. I mean, how weird would it be to love someone you saw grow up? But that's my take.

I literally am going to submit the epilogue after this so there is one little chapter to finish it off.

MCM x


 Report Review

Review #11, by FonzzxKiss My Lips and Swear to Die: Darling, This Isn't Wonderland

13th December 2015:
WHAT HAPPENED WHY IS EVERYONE SO TIRED?! I hope we find out in the next chapter! And I am actually starting to feel sorry for Freddie now!

Author's Response: YOU WILL FIND OUT, I PROMISE.

(Eventually.)

Good. Feel sorry for Freddie, but don't completely hate Alyssa either :)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #12, by Fonzzx19 Years: Year 7: The Figure in White

4th November 2015:
WHAT DENNIS NO! I'm sad that Hermione's not pregnant yet but then I guess it's not even nearly time for little Rose to come along!

Author's Response: If only Dennis had listened to you... Yes it's a bit sad for Hermione. But we know she will end up with her children eventually. Thank you for reading and reviewing! Xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by FonzzxPride and Scorpius: Halloween

3rd November 2015:
For the Dark Lady. (Just gonna leave that there.)

Author's Response: I am handing over this response to the Dark Lady:-

One acknowledges any true supplicants, and appreciates their loyalty. A faithful reviewer such as your self does not go unnoticed and your reward shall come in the fullness of time. Before I depart I am honour bound to say that as of my address to you, this chronicle of my adventures has been read a total of 4159 times and this particular chapter has been perused no less than 17; my absolute thanks to you all.


 Report Review

Review #14, by FonzzxAbsent In The Spring: Absent In The Spring

30th September 2015:
Ok so Iíve been meaning to review all the individual entries I got for the Blackinnon Challenge for a while nowÖ I read them all as soon as they were entered, but never actually got round to reviewing and deciding on a winnerÖ until now!

First things first: McKinnon could be either a Scottish or an Irish surname. Iím guessing by the fact that Sirius uses Scottish slang to refer to her that you intended for her and her family to be Scottish. Iím part Scottish so that part of me is having a little rave! Having said that though, Sirius is from London (which you later reference) so I cannot picture him using that phrase at all.

Your description is absolutely poetic. I can really see the scene unfolding before my eyes. However, I think that the language is a little too flowery for Sirius. I canít picture him sitting down and writing about how the sun dances through the trees. Itís beautiful writing, yes, but I donít feel like it really fits with his character.

I should probably mention here that I was absolutely rubbish at English at school, at finding meaning in prose so I really did struggle to read this one shot. I had to read it over a few times before I really got a grasp of what was going on.

So, Marlene is dead, Iím guessing, and Sirius is reminiscing about the past.

The first thing on his mind is how they met. Now, Iím not sure, because I feel this is open to interpretation, but given that he talks about words and Marleneís love for them, and later on him bumping into her and her struggling to pick her things up, that she is actually, literally, blind. This is something Iíve never encountered in fan fiction before. No one ever really talks about disabilities, and they should, because there are people in the world who are disabled. This is just what I took from your piece anyway, please feel free to correct me if Iím barking entirely up the wrong tree.

ďyouíre nuts, youíre loony, clean off your trolley, mateĒ This phrase is how I imagine Sirius speaks to his peers. Itís a contrast to the rest of the piece, and at first it confused me, but I think youíve pulled it off well.

Next Sirius talks about missing Marlene when theyíre apart, comparing it to seasons. I find it at odds (in a good way) that the winter is when he talks about them being together, when I absolutely hate winter and find it absolutely unbearable as a season, and the summer is when he talks about them being apart, when I love the sun and the heat and the long days. Itís interesting to see it in a reverse perspective.

Ah, he calls her Marly. I love it. I always imagined Sirius called her Marly!

ďI also sniffed out the cold turkey, but you fed me dog biscuits instead, I still remember thatĒ I bet she would as well, for a laugh.

ďWar carries on, but war cannot be more distant.Ē Itís like time stops when someone you love dies, whether itís family, a friend, or a partner. I think this is an apt description.

Aw, they got married. You are breaking my heart here, I hope you know that. Oh boy, she had Sirius wait for sex too. Marlene my love, please teach me your secrets.

Dusk is here now, and I think itís mirroring where Sirius is going with his story. Aw, sheís pregnant too (seriously I am dead right about now). Sirius actually makes pregnancy sound romantic. I have never once read anything in my life from a manís perspective where he appreciates the beauty of his pregnant wife. This is lovely.

Elvendork. Yes Sirius, I can imagine youíd want to call your child that.

Sirius is really going into description about Marleneís death. I can see it all so clearly. (Question: if sheís blind, how can she duel?)

Iím glad that a lot of people came to her funeral to pay their respects. It shows the mark of a character, of the effect that she had on other people. My best friend died in May and Iím not joking, around 400 people turned up to her funeral. That is the influence that she had over so many people, and I feel like Marlene is the same.

ďmy brother (I suspect I was not the only one who loved you)Ē OH MY GOSH REGULUS!

Iím glad that although Sirius misses Marlene, his life hasnít come to a complete halt. He still has his friends, and still laughs. I think that she would want that.

Although I struggled with some of the language (because I am a disgrace to Ravenclaw house), I really did enjoy reading this. I enjoyed Siriusí narrative, him being romantic and I imagine that the way he was with Marlene was completely different to the way he was with his friends, as boys often are.

After I review everything, Iím going to post the results on the forums. Keep an eye out!

 Report Review

Review #15, by FonzzxSweethearts: Shatter

30th September 2015:
Ok so Iíve been meaning to review all the individual entries I got for the Blackinnon Challenge for a while nowÖ I read them all as soon as they were entered, but never actually got round to reviewing and deciding on a winnerÖ until now!

The first thing I have to comment on is the title. I think that this defines their relationship rather nicely, coming from the phrase ďhigh school sweetheartĒ. Maybe itíll last, maybe it wonít, but they only have eyes for each other, which definitely describes their relationship.

Oh, Marlene is Muggle-born here. Canonically speaking, we donít know what her heritage is, we just know that the McKinnons were a wizarding family. They could all be Muggle-born wizards. I know that Marlene is portrayed as Muggle-born in the film thatís been produced, The Gathering Storm. You should check it out if you like the Marauders, the trailer is on YouTube. Personally Iím really excited for it (and now Iím getting off topic so Iíll go back to reviewing your piece now). Also canonically speaking, Bellatrix was born in 1951 so she probably would have left Hogwarts by the time the attack happened. But itís totally something she would say to Marlene, or any Muggle-born for that matter.

I also often forget that Sirius and Bellatrix were cousins, and that he canít get rid of his family completely, no matter how much he tries. They always come back to haunt him.

Teehee, Marlene got Sirius to agree to a date without realising. Although Iíd have to agree with Sirius about Madam Puddifootís. I think Marlene agrees too to some extent, although she is obviously disappointed that it didnít turn out to be as romantic as sheíd planned.

ďSirius reaches for me handĒ I think you mean ďmy handĒ, unless Marlene talks like that, because I know I do!

Thereís a lot of speech here, of them both admitting their feelings, but not a lot of description. How does Marlene feel? Panicky? Nervous? How does the kiss feel? Are his lips soft? Thatís the only CC I have to make on this piece.

Teehee, bromance is a perfect word to describe James and Siriusí friendship!

Ack, Sirius predicts whatís about to happen! How often do we see that in real life? I do it all the time! I wish we could keep to all the fluffy stuff but sadly, this must come.

Now itís Sirius narrating and he seems a bit catatonic. Well, I would be too in his situation. Aw, Peterís upset too. At least he still cares, even if he betrays them all in the end. And Sirius is in denial too, the first emotion in the grief cycle. I was in denial for days when my best friend died in May.

ďI find nothing, but emptiness there.Ē Iím dead now. Iím curled up in a ball and my feelings no longer exist. Well, I brought it on myself for asking for BlackinnonÖ

I really enjoyed reading this piece. I enjoyed seeing the snapshots through time, of the different points in their relationship.

After I review everything, Iím going to post the results on the forums. Keep an eye out!

 Report Review

Review #16, by FonzzxCruel Inheritance: The Morning After

30th September 2015:
Ok so Iíve been meaning to review all the individual entries I got for the Blackinnon Challenge for a while nowÖ I read them all as soon as they were entered, but never actually got round to reviewing and deciding on a winnerÖ until now!

Ah, the prank! I was wondering if anyone would write about it, and how Marlene would feel about itÖ and here you are, writing it for me!

I love how Sirius acknowledges what heís done and feels bad about it. I love how the rest of the Marauders arenít letting him get away with it either. And neither is Marlene, apparently. She calls him out on it and compares him to the rest of his family.

Ooh, the next paragraph has angsty Sirius. Wonderful! I bet he was very moody as a teenager, given his home life. But the Gryffindor in him is making him set it right, as he should.

Ah, Marlene is Muggle-born in your version of events. Canonically speaking, we donít know what her heritage is, we just know that the McKinnons were a wizarding family. They could all be Muggle-born wizards. I know that Marlene is portrayed as Muggle-born in the film thatís been produced, The Gathering Storm. You should check it out if you like the Marauders, the trailer is on YouTube. Personally Iím really excited for it (and now Iím getting off topic so Iíll go back to reviewing your piece now).

She puts him in his place. Excellent. I adore this.

In the end, we see her comforting him as a friend. We know, because itís told from his perspective, that he sees her as more than that, and I think she does too. I think sheíd be too mad at him if they were just friends.

I really enjoyed this one shot. Nobody else wrote about the aftermath of the prank and it was interesting to see everyoneís reactions, although I think Marleneís was more important to Sirius at the time.

After I review everything, Iím going to post the results on the forums. Keep an eye out!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for hosting the challenge and leaving such a nice review!

I HAD NOT HEARD OF THAT FILM. GOOGLING ASAP!!!

I do imagine Sirius as a rather angsty teenager, with a cavalier facade that he doesn't manage to maintain in this scene. And I definitely agree that Marlene has feelings for him beyond friendship. I'm glad that came across for you.

I never thought of the McKinnons as a wizarding family - I know they were killed during the war, but in my mind only Marlene was a witch/wizard or involved with the Order. It's always so fun to hear how different people interpret these things!

Thanks again! I really enjoyed writing for this challenge!
~Renee


 Report Review

Review #17, by Fonzzxdeteriorating: deteriorating

30th September 2015:
Ok so Iíve been meaning to review all the individual entries I got for the Blackinnon Challenge for a while nowÖ I read them all as soon as they were entered, but never actually got round to reviewing and deciding on a winnerÖ until now!

This is a side of Blackinnon that is rarely deeply discussed. I like how itís more from Marleneís perspective, finding her family dead, how she feels, what she sees, smells, hears, etc.

And then Sirius enters the scene.

ďSirius Black doesnít love Marlene.Ē I love that line. I think it sums up their relationship nicely.

The imagery in this piece is wonderful. I have often wondered what it would feel like to die, but Iíve never really imagined it in detail. You have done a really good job here.

ďShe never gave up.Ē This shows her stubbornness that seems to be universally acknowledged within the fandom but has never outright been said by anything canon. This is Marlene all over, at least for me it is.

I have to admit, I did come across this one Tumblr before you posted it on here because I regularly check the Blackinnon tag. I did really enjoy this piece; itís very real, very heartbreaking, and totally Blackinnon.

After I review everything, Iím going to post the results on the forums. Keep an eye out!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I was very nervous about this piece, because I wanted to do her death justice. I have many headcanons about her death scene, and I think this one fit the challenge perfectly.

Thanks for choosing me as first place! I'm so honored!!

blackballet


 Report Review

Review #18, by Fonzzx19 Years: Year 6: May 2nd, 2004

2nd September 2015:
Just a quick note: fabulous chapter, as always, and I am desperate to know who is hunting down Death Eater's families! You wrote this: "Harry ... Harry". I think you mean "Harry ... Hagrid" at the bit where Hagrid leaves :) :)

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked the chapter! And that you're intrigued by the whole Death Eater situation. And yes, that should be Hagrid, not Harry - thanks for pointing it out. And thank you so much for your kind words! Xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by FonzzxUnravel. : Millicent.

14th August 2015:
Well this chapter was different again!

I'm not even sure where to start with this one. It's interesting to know the motivations behind Millicent, although she's not a character we see beyond the second book, which is a shame. I like that she notices everything, though. It's good to see someone like that around. Those are the people who win, in the end.

Do you really think she would have ended the Dark Lord? Would she have taken his place? Would she have killed him first, and then Harry? Millicent is keeping me questioning, which I like in a character. It means she's in my head now, and probably won't budge!

 Report Review

Review #20, by FonzzxUnravel. : Blaise.

14th August 2015:
This one was a much shorter chapter than the last, but again, we don't really know much about Blaise Zabini from the books. Actually, until HBP, I thought Blaise was a girl.

But here he is, being open for once (for I imagine that Slytherin's are quite private about their personal business), and I don't know if he's telling Theo in his head, or out loud, but I admire his bravery. He brings up a good point about the war though. If muggle-borns and blood traitors are being killed, what about LGBT+ individuals? How were they received by the pure blood community? How were they received by the Order? Seeing as the wizarding community in general is quite behind the times (when compared with the muggle community), I can imagine that LGBT+ individuals would be met with a certain amount of hostility.

Again, I really enjoyed reading this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #21, by FonzzxUnravel. : Pansy.

14th August 2015:
I was sent here by the Short Stories/Series thread in the Dobby 2015 section of the forums, and I have to leave a review. Well, I can tell you now, based on this chapter, I will not only be leaving this review, but two more on the other two chapters as well.
I really like what you did with Pansy. I never liked her much in the books, because she just seemed like your average mean Slytherin, but here we can start to see why. It must be tough, keeping up this charade of perfection, although we know that not everybody thinks she's pretty, especially not Hermione.

I do think that her feelings for Draco are genuine, although I don't think they're a good match. She just doesn't quite "get" him, and he would not understand this side of her.

I also really enjoyed the little bit of OCD you gave her too. It helps to explain the bulimia and I really did feel quite sorry for her when I read this.

In short, I really enjoyed this chapter, and I have a feeling that I'll enjoy the others too.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Fonzzx19 Years: Year 6: Parents

29th July 2015:
ANDROMEDA CAN'T BE A MURDERER. How does she have the time, raising Teddy?! Bit of drama thrown in there though. I love that Hermione wants a baby :)

Author's Response: I guess if you're that angry, you make the time... I'm glad that you liked that about Hermione. Let's just see how Ron feels about it, shall we...? Thank you so much for reading and reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #23, by FonzzxThe Dark Side of the Moon: St. Mungo's

26th July 2015:
WHAT I NEED TO READ THE NEXT CHAPTER AH! Please update soon, also loving S&HJ :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by FonzzxInfinitesimal: Leo Minor

25th July 2015:
I'm here for TEAM BRONZE of the review battle!

So when I first clicked onto this story, I was a little sceptical. In what universe would James and Regulus be together? I asked myself. But now I see.

I actually ended up really enjoying this one shot. Canononically (did I spell that right?) speaking, you can't deny how much James loves Lily, but you wrote that into the story as well! I also like how self aware James is of his own feelings. He never tries to deny them, which another character, such as Sirius, might.

I like that little tidbit that Professor Dumbledore had near the end. He just knows everything! And of course, in some ways what he did was worse, because he put Grindlewald in prison himself, whereas James didn't kill Regulus.

I think James is much like Harry, wanting to preserve something forever, which is why he wrote the letter. Harry of course, named his children after people who mattered to him.

Wow, I think this is my longest review ever. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts as much as I enjoyed reading your story!

Fonzz

Author's Response: Hey there, Fonzz! :) Thank you so much for dropping by! :)

Haha, no worries! I have to admit, they're a pairing I don't ship, but a pair of friends gave me the idea and encouraged me to do it, and so I just had to write it - and, in the end, it was surprisingly easy to do, despite my being a canon nut, usually :P

Yeah, it was really important to me when I started writing that I not ignore that - because James loving Lily is so big and so good that I didn't want to write it out or destroy it for the sake of something else; plus, imo, it made the story more interesting to tell. And yeah, there's something lovely about James' honesty as a character - I really liked writing him, actually, so I'm so glad you liked him! :)

So, fun story: that wasn't totally meant to be a reference to that, but it sort of turned out that way? :P OTP slipping in everywhere, not my fault... :P But yeah, he knows and understands so much - and yeah, in ways it is worse, definitely! :)

Yeah, I really loved the idea of it preserving that relationship, or giving it a kind of tangible reality now Regulus is dead, though I didn't really think of how that connects to Harry, so thanks for mentioning that! :D It's really cool! :)

Thank you so much - I'm so honoured to get your longest review yet! :D - it was such a lovely review to get, and I'm so glad you liked the story! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by FonzzxThe Art of Small Talk: Papa-Paparazzi

18th July 2015:
OH MY GOD PENELOPE CHEATED ON PERCY WITH OLIVER

Author's Response: I know!!! It all got a bit crazy quickly! :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>