Reading Reviews From Member: navyfail
  
144 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Mistake

11th February 2014:
AND IT HAPPENED. AND ANDROMEDA INITIATED IT. AND GEORGE IS BACK WITH HIS CURSING AND SASS AND CALLING HER 'PRINCESS.' GEORGE'S MUM IS LOVELY. AND ONCE AGAIN ANDROMEDA AND TED KISSED. AND SHE ALSO MESSED UP BY BRINGING UP HIS BLOOD STATUS. BUT IT ALMOST ENDED UP HAPPY. AND YOU NEED TO UPDATE ASAP. I SHOULD REALLY STOP WRITING IN CAPS BUT... TERRIFIC CHAPTER.

~Sama

Author's Response: Bahaha, YES. Caps reviews are, like, my FAVE. >:] Thank ye, thank ye for reading and reviewing and liking it and stuff. I'm aware that I've been writing kind of cruel endings for these last few chapters, so I hope to have another installment in the works SOON.

 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Refuge

11th February 2014:
This is a change for Andromeda. Eating almonds, not having a lot of money available to her and all. But it helps give a perspective on the life she lived and how she is living at the moment. And she sees George. Though he still doesn't like her all too much... not that I can blame him.

I really liked her phone conversation with Ted. It brings out the anxiousness and nervousness she's feeling and Ted's went with a smart approach on how to handle the situation. And she mentions the 'laughing' thing, so cute!

For some reason, George is growing on me. I like how he is protective of Ted and how he doesn't trust her. And Andromeda's sass: "He's paying you to help me, isn't he?" and "Why should I thank a hired hand?" She's amazing!

Great chapter!!

~Sama

Author's Response: Yesh, I can't exactly blame George, either. If there was an Andromeda in my life, I'd be super suspicious of her hanging around my friends, too. He's just looking out for his Huffly Puffly buddy.

And YAY! I'm glad you enjoyed the phone conversation, because it's been one of my favorite convos to write. I like making Andromeda a complete spazz when it comes to Muggle contraptions. Heh.

George and Andromeda have been a ton of fun to write. I'd really like to give them their own sitcom. Like The Odd Couple. Baha. Sigh. Maybe one day. In an alternate universe...


 Report Review

Review #3, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Confrontation & Contraband

6th February 2014:
I'm back! (Even though I already read up to chapter fifteen. I know I'm guilty of not reviewing but I hope this late review works.)

The break up scene was perfectly executed. Her reaction and how Rabastan tried to persuade her that it was nothing went together. And, "Men have physical needs." Really? Nice excuse, Rabastan, really nice. Because that will totallyyy win her back.

And Georgiana? Isn't she the one who also flirted with Ted at Slughorn's party?

Sirius is a sweetheart. Really! How can he be any more perfect? He brought her up some food. And he blushes around her (even though he's her cousin and all), so cute! I kind of want to pinch his cheeks for some reason.

I really liked the mention of the motorcycle. Also how she explains how he should save up for it so it will be his own is very sensible.

During all of this, Andromeda thinks of Ted! (Yayyy)

Bellatrix makes an appearance. We've already heard of her and Andromeda has already described her and now we finally get to meet her. She seems in character. She's always been a bit malicious and very cunning so how she acts fits.

10/10
~Sama
P.S. The rest of the reviews will be coming in a day or two. Hopefully that isn't too long.

Author's Response: Yeahhh, Rabastan needs to work on his apology skillz. Not that there's really anything that could've dug him out of that one, but still. Douche move. :( And yes! You've a memory of STEEL. That is the very same Georgiana who was flirting with Ted.

Daw. I'm so glad you liked the Dromeda/Sirius interaction. I love them and their relationship so much. And I couldn't resist throwing a little nod at the motorcycle. I always imagined that Sirius was pretty set in his punk ways at an early age. He just needs his cousin to help him with the fiscal side of things. Haha.

You are the absolute BEST, reviewing each chapter. You take as little or as much time as you need to leave any review whatsoever. It just makes my day reading them. :]





 Report Review

Review #4, by navyfailOne year at Hogwarts with Rose Weasley: Chapter 1

6th February 2014:
Hello!

This is a great start for a story and I can't believe this is your first since you already write quite well.

Hmm... her cat's name is Nietzsche. That's really unique. And Rose does have a sort of dilemma in her hands. She wants to break it off with someone but she can't make herself do it. This already shows that she is good at heart which is great. :)

The ending leaves this air of mystery which is good since it keeps readers thinking. It even leaves me thinking. The woman is a Muggle, I think? And somehow she knows about the wizarding world and all that. How? And who is she running away from? Is it supposed to be kind of a mystery? I do like mysteries, haha. :D

Overall, this is a nice first chapter. You have introduced your main character and maybe even started part of the plot. On the chapters to come introducing the other characters and their personalities is important but I am sure you'll do a great job of that!

Keep writing. This story has tons of potential!
~Sama :))

 Report Review

Review #5, by navyfailClash: Epilogue

6th February 2014:
THEY ACTUALLY ENDED UP TOGETHER!! This makes me so happy like omg, yes! JAGGY FOR LIFE! And James... he's so sweet to her and they said 'I love you.' LIKE CAN THIS GET ANY BETTER?? I am going to miss this fic so, so, so, so much and it saddens me knowing that I will never see this fic with another chapter posted. *sobs*

One thing I have to say is THANK YOU. For sticking with this and writing this amazing story!! It's so much more than a fic, it's kind of a life lesson.

 Report Review

Review #6, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Discovery

3rd February 2014:
She got Ted a Christmas present! OMG YES. And oh my Rabastan. WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO ANDROMEDA? Overall, this was a tremendously GREAT chapter with many quirks and twists (with Andromeda maybe having feelings for Ted and Rabastan cheating).

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Yeah, Rabastan is a stupid stupidface. -.- Glad you liked the chapter! Let me just say again how lovely it was to read through all of your reviews and reactions. Hope you continue to enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Cavorting

3rd February 2014:
They're are "cavorting." ;) Squee, this is great! It's official this is probably one of my favorite fanfics on this site. Your characters are so realistic! All of them are lovable though I don't always like some of them (*cough*Rabastan*cough*). But yeah... I love this story very much. And you have made me a hard time Ted/Andromeda shipper. Not all stories can make me fall in love with pairings the way you did so thank you so very much! :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Yes ma'am, there is most definite cavorting going on. And I'm so happy that you're having fun reading about it!! It warms my heart to know you're officially on Team Tedromeda. I love them so very much, and it's always wonderful to hear when that love is shared. YAY.

 Report Review

Review #8, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Secrets & Stipulations

3rd February 2014:
Ted is in the hospital wing. Aww. Though I am curious. What condition does he have? It's sounds serious. I mean.. he can disappear so is it a magical condition?

And Rabastan makes another reappearance. I had a feeling he was going to make a presence one time or another. Hmm... he's a bit controlling, though not borderline possessive. I like that compared to other pure-bloods he does give her more freedom but they aren't even engaged. He shouldn't be allowed to be that bossy. He sounds like he wants to have a more clueless wife so he can have more power over her.

"You seem to forget that I have a working brain above the shoulders." This is priceless by the way. And the way Rabastan reacted by turning purple... lol.

The end of the chapter is interesting. Andromeda sure knows how to make an entrance. And I love, love, love how she wants to defy Rabastan's orders... it makes her a strong, independent female character. :)

10/10 as always!

~Sama

Author's Response: I'm BACK to respond to the rest of these lovely reviews!

Ted's condition... Durn durn durn. Tis a mystery, though I promise that all shall be revealed in time!

Oh, Rabastan. Rabby, Rabby, Rab--what am I even typing? The guy has NO good nickname possibilities whatsoever. I take this as a sure sign that he was not meant for Andromeda. >:]

And yes! If there's one thing I want Andromeda to always be, in spite of all her bigotry and flaws, it is strong and independent, so I'm so glad to hear that you think so. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Rebellion, Within Reason

2nd February 2014:
And they are going to see more of each other. *grins mischievously* But one thing that's still stuck in my head is that Ted's tattoo is of a lithe bird and in her nightmare doesn't the lithe bird die? What does that signify then? (I mean according to canon he doesn't die 'til the seventh book but that's for canon). Also Sirius, yay, we got to see him again! Lovely chapter! :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Heh heh heh. But of course they must see more of each other! >:] EEP. I cannot tell you what the nightmare signifies, but you are SO observant. I can at least say that everything you've mentioned comes back around full circle. Dun dun dun. Okay, I suck when I'm enigmatic. I'm going to take a break from my loopy responses, but I really can't say how much I've loved reading your reviews. It's always such a treat to read new reader's thoughts and reactions! So THANK YOU oodles.

 Report Review

Review #10, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Slug Club

2nd February 2014:
OMG HE FLIRTED WITH HER AND IN A WAY SHE KIND OF, ALMOST FLIRTED BACK (LIKE ALMOST). AND SHE APOLOGIZED. AND HE CALLED HER GORGEOUS AND BRILLIANT (AND EGOTISTICAL AND PREJUDICE, BUT WE CAN FORGOT THOSE FOR THE MOMENT BEING).

So, as you can probably tell by the capitals, I am very giddy with excitement and very, very pleased. I still can't get over this. This is sort of a turning point. Not a huge one but a minor one that can set them up for falling for each other. I am very eager to read what happens next, lovely chapter!!

~Sama :D

Author's Response: YAY. YAY YAY YAY. I like the all caps. I like the giddy. These are my bread and butter, these giddy caps. :] This chapter has been one of my favorites to write so far, so I'm so very glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Damage Control

2nd February 2014:
She slapped him. I never thought she would loose her cool like that but it is in a way understandable since she's frustrated. But she slapped him. :( And it probably hurt.

AND WE MEET SIRIUS. AND HE SOUNDS SO ADORABLE!!

But yeah I hope things work out between Ted and Andromeda. :)

Author's Response: Oh yes. Yes, she did slap him. And I can testify as the omniscient narrator that it did, in fact, hurt. D:

YAY. I'm so glad that you like ittle bit Sirius. He's been an absolute blast to write. At this point, I'm working on Chap 15, and it's been too long without him. I'm going through little Sirius withdrawal.


 Report Review

Review #12, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Indiscretion

2nd February 2014:
And she got drunk. Poor Andromeda, her younger sister is engaged before her. But Ted was sweet to look after her. And Cissy is a good sister even if she yelled at Ted. :)

GREAT CHAPTER ^_^

~Sama

Author's Response: Gosh, Dromeda. Pull it together. D: Or let Ted pull it together for you. :] And yes! I found myself liking Cissy even more than I thought I would when I first started writing her. She genuinely cares for Andromeda. She just also happens to be a hoity-toity bigot. Alas.

 Report Review

Review #13, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Impressions

2nd February 2014:
Oh, I like the memory/flashback from her childhood. It adds to her backstory and reveals one of her insecurities: that she is just another Black sister, and the unremarkable Black sister. Bellatrix wants to be beautiful and powerful and Narcissa wants to be a princess so... what exactly does Andromeda want? I mean she wants to be different and educated but I feel like there is something more underneath the surface, you know?

Oh, I enjoyed reading her interaction with Ted! It felt realistic. And she admitted that she doesn't want children, well that's a revelation, especially to Ted. And she seems to be confused by his presence and she was admiring his back side... cute. :)

I'm getting quite hooked to this story. :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Yes! There is most definitely something that Andromeda wants that is brewing beneath the surface. It might just be that even SHE doesn't know what it is. I've always thought it was interesting that she was the middle child, and I wondered how much typical middle child insecurities played into her perception of herself. I'm glad you enjoyed it and even more glad that you're getting hooked, because I've loved reading these reviews!

 Report Review

Review #14, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Dark Arts & Doubts

2nd February 2014:
Okay, so I got my Lestranges mixed up. She has doubts about her future with Rabastan which makes sense. But from how she explains him, he seems like a good bloke. And he may have brought a ring! Well, that's exciting! But I do agree with her: I wouldn't want to be related in anyway to Rodolphous (did I spell that right?) Lestrange. And she's been asked to tutor Ted... I wonder how that is going to turn out.

Can't wait to read the next chapter. :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Haha, yes. You may've gotten them mixed up, but it's their parents' fault for giving them two similar and stupid "R" names. :) I wouldn't want to be related to Rodolphus either, if for no other reason than that he had poor enough taste to marry Bellatrix. >:]

 Report Review

Review #15, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Ambition

2nd February 2014:
Hello!

First off, I already like Andromeda as a character. She's a pureblood witch who technically doesn't have to care as much about education but she does. I love how she thinks and how she cares about her schooling and probably wants to have a job in the future. Also her interaction with Narcissa and Lucius tells a lot about her too. Yeah, she isn't completely fond of Lucius but she likes him enough since he makes her sister happy.

That brings me to another thing... how you wrote Lucius/Narcissa. Not everyone writes them as loving to each other and since I do like that ship, I LOVE that you made them care for each other. It's quite sweet.

The mention of her dad was a nice addition. I like how her dad is approving of her ambition and hope to do good in Hogwarts. And the memory of how he sat her down and talked to her about how she is different from her other two sisters is very loving.

Ted Tonks... very smiley. But he's nice so far. Does he have a sort of fascination with Andromeda or was he just being kind to her?

Rabastan... Andromeda doesn't seem very fond of him. And if my memory is correct, he's the one who ends up with Bellatrix in the end, right? Also, I wonder how long Dromeda has been dating him.

All in all, terrific first chapter!

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Eep! You don't know tickled pink I was to see all of these lovely reviews. :) Thank you, thank you, for taking the time to read and share your thoughts!

I'm glad that you like my interp of Lucius/Narcissa. I've got a soft spot in my heart for them, too, and while they may not play a huge role in this story, I wanted to give them a little bit of lovey-dovey.

And yes, I've had a fun time exploring Andromeda's relationship with her father, even if it inevitably takes a turn for the tragic. In a world that puts so much emphasis on family and bloodlines, I imagined that Andromeda's family would've had a naturally huge impact on her.

Glad you've enjoyed the story this far. On to the next review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by navyfailOf Heartburning and Other Losses: The Dinner

2nd February 2014:
And apologies are exchanged and some of the Quidditch players are met. I love how you described Fawley. She is... interesting in a different way.

Rosemary is quite straightforward with her stepdad. I kind of get why she avoids him but he seems nice if you get to know him. I feel like she doesn't let anyone in which is kind of saddening. :(

Oh, she is clever! Mentioning to Brit and her mom about Luca's additction (which he doesn't have) is smart, very smart. I see why she is trying to get Luca and Corvac off of the team but she would be short a lot of players. I guess we'll see how that turns out later on. :)

I kind of want to know how James feels about his brother and enemy being friends. Is he okay with it? And his letter was quite short. I'm guessing Rosemary's was just as short, maybe even shorter.

Lovely chapter!! :D
I hope you keep on writing. You have a lot of talent and I can't wait to see how this story ends up.

~Sama
P.S. Sorry for taking so long to review this chapter. I guess it took some time to get my thoughts together, you know?

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I can't wait to post the chapter where Rosemary's plans really start working, because those will be so fun to see people's reactions. She's quite devious, but I guess that's what comes with being a Slytherin. :P Again, thank you!! And yes, I completely understand about wanting to get thoughts together, I do it all the time. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by navyfailOf Heartburning and Other Losses: Conversational

31st January 2014:
Oh, yay! A point of view switch!

First few paragraphs and James and I already have a similarity: our love of chocolate, dark chocolate specifically.

And James does get in trouble. Cute how Albus and Lily kind of teamed up on him. That's how it is when there are three siblings: to take one down the other two have to gang up together. Psshhh, not that I would know of anything to do with that though... hehe.

Hmm.. Porter's mentioned again. He really isn't a good guy, is he? Will he be mentioned throughout the story or is it just in the beginning. The mentioning of what Porter did to the Aurors was a nice addition. I like how you also focus on what is happening around the main character, not just what it is happening to the character. :)

Omg, Harry's comments on his kids: "Mr. Potter buried his head in his hands and wondered what happened to his kids during childhood." and "They're a trio of demons, that's what they are. Can't believe James was punched today." Very giggle worthy. :)

James isn't really the smartest but I do feel that there is more to him somewhere in there. And the last scene was cute with the bromance and all.

Great second chapter! Can't wait to read the third.

~Sama
P.S. Oh and I did come across something:
"Looking back on it, maybe James' shouldn't have anything about Nott to Rosemary." I think it's supposed to be 'shouldn't have said'?

Author's Response: Ah yes, the beginning of the POV switching. Might prove to be troublesome at times but oh well!

Porter will come up in some later chapters, but his tie in to the story will come way later on. He's not a good guy, no, very manipulative but knows what he's doing. I've already decided he's a Ravenclaw, but definitely one of the more ambitious Claws.

This chapter was basically an excuse for me to cram in James' relationship with his siblings, because I love it. Al and James are kind of bros, but those competitive bros that will see which one will jump off the cliff first, you know?

Oh, thank you for pointing the missing word out! I was going over the chapter, and I noticed I missed the 'said', but when I went back I couldn't find it.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by navyfailOf Heartburning and Other Losses: Break Your Bones

31st January 2014:
Hello! Honestly when I read your uhh-amazing reviews on my story I got curious if you had anything published on this site. My curiosity landed my in your authors page and now here.

Reading you authors note at the beginning I got quite excited since stalking is always interesting, bad ideas are must-haves and Quidditch is something I like reading since I, myself, can't write it.

I really like the first few paragraphs. The contrasting of the two main characters is very effective. And when I read that Rosemary is ambitious and cunning... I was like 'oh, I smell a Slytherin, yes!'

Oh my, your ability with words is truly amazing!! I love your descriptions and how you set the mood. Honestly, I'm just... wow. Her half-brother sounds adorable too!

Pearl and Rosemary's mother are different from Rosemary. Not just in looks, but definitely in personality too. I kind of wonder what makes Rosemary be so bitter and straight forward. Is there a story behind her and the way she is?

And she punches James... I have to kind of give her a thumbs up for the execution of it but it wasn't that of a smart choice since she got in trouble for it later. But once again lovely right hook! ;)

Great first chapter! And last but not least, I have to praise you for writing third person so well. I'm not very good at writing from that point of view so I find it cool when other authors can pull it off so terrifically.

10/10!
~Sama

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! And about Rosemary's mum... there's not a specific story, just the general animosity that Rosemary has towards people that aren't like herself. She's very close-minded in that if she doesn't "approve of" or "agree" with a person's personality, then she doesn't like them. As you can already tell, she's like this with James, Pearl, etc. etc.

I honestly can't write in anything other than third person. I love reading first person, because it's so much easier to see the character's thoughts, but I can't compel myself to write in it. I look at it and say, "That's a lot of I's." One day I'd like to write a fic in first person, but that'll be some day off in the future. :P

Once again, thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by navyfailHonour Among Thieves: the end (part three)

30th January 2014:
Oh, wow... it's the end... and Hugo is dead... and Lorcan is the traitor (though I had a feeling it was him)... Rose killed someone. WOW. I can't believe this story is done, it's taking some time to sink. But the sequels are giving me something to look forward too!!

Lovely job!!

Author's Response: Carrow is actually the second person who Rose has intentionally killed, but she definitely doesn't feel guilty about this time!

Hugo is dead and Lorcan is the traitor... The one shot should be up really soon and I'll start the next novel really really soon!

Thanks for reading, reviewing and your continued support :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by navyfailClash: Helter-Skelter

23rd January 2014:
Oh...THIS CHAPTER WAS OMG... I CAN'T EVEN EXPLAIN. I woke up this morning and was on my iPod and I see an update. I actually checked three times to see if I was reading the right number. Anyway the chapter resulted in me laying in bed, reading it, staring at the end and then thinking 'Wow.'

One of the main reasons I liked this chapter is because you got to see only Aiden, James, and Aggy. It was a slight shift in focus but a good one. And Aggy was AMAZING. She was just there and shooting spells and acting all bada**... it was great. I loved how she surprised James... it was so cute. How he screamed for her to hear him even though they said they would kill him if he made a sound was adorable and risky but mostly adorable.

Overall, this was a terrific, fantastic, sweet, action-packed chapter. Can't wait to see her face Vespertine. Only two more chapters. gosh, I can't even comprehend that.

100/10
~Sama :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by navyfailWasting Time With You: History of Magic

22nd January 2014:
Okay... so I thought I would come back and review this chapter and leave the 100th review.

So yeah... I really liked how you introduced Scorpius. He sounds quite malicious and cunning... just like I like him. And hmm... her blonde hair.. I feel bad that Malfoy recognized her and now he'll be able too. He makes me curious though which is a good thing.

And that last scene is quite interesting. Vector is rumored to be nice and now Rose has got on her bad side... that isn't good. But I do like her opinionated and kind of rebellious side. It gives her a sort of edge. But maybe she did take it a little too far? However, that doesn't matter since I still like her, haha.

Great second chapter! :D

~Sama

 Report Review

Review #22, by navyfailWasting Time With You: The Time-Turner

22nd January 2014:
Okay I just noticed that this story is abandoned and I think I'm going to cry. But I do understand and respect your decision but... if you ever do come back to this story, I'll come back and read and review. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by navyfailWasting Time With You: Obsessed or Possessed?

22nd January 2014:
OMG YOU HAVE TO UPDATE SOON LIKE OMG. THEY KISSED OR ARE GOING TO KISS LIKE... HOW!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by navyfailWasting Time With You: Mutiny

22nd January 2014:
Well since I love Scorpius I must leave a review so... aw, it feels like everything is kind of backfiring in Rose's face. And that potion sounds wicked cool. But what is going on with her and Scorpius... is there almost some sort of bond... Hmmm?

Interesting and lovely chapter as always!!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by navyfailWasting Time With You: Rehearsal Of Feelings

22nd January 2014:
Oh we find out why exactly Scorpius doesn't like Rose. And they are becoming friendlier... well, a little.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>