Reading Reviews From Member: navyfail
  
174 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Irresistible

27th January 2015:
OMG, THEY ARE MARRIED. I AM CRYING SO HARD ON THE INSIDE RIGHT NOW, NO JOKE.

And she asked him and everything. That's so sweet! And I love love love the ending.

Talking to her at the beginning of seventh year not being the result of a bet just made me smile harder. And how she has her doubts in the end and how he tells her they'll be fine is perfect for them I think.

I still can't believe it is the end of this story though. I remember coming across it when it was only three chapters and I still love it as much as I did then.

You are an amazing writer and I'm going to go pop by your author's page to read your other story.

100/10
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: The Three Broomsticks

15th January 2015:
Rose is really funny in this chapter with her rambling caused by Wood. ^_^ Oh and we get to see Lily. She's very smart and observant too. She found out about the date really quick. I think I like Eric. He's nice and sort of perfect for Avery in a way. And it's cute to see how nervous he got around her.

I'm totally hooked with your story! Please update soon! I can't wait to read what happens next. :D

~Sama

Author's Response: The next chapter is in the queue! Thank you so much for taking the time to review every chapter! It was super helpful and gave me some confirmation I should stick with this story.

I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: One Day

15th January 2015:
“Aves, it’s a year. A year long difference. I can wait. I just need to know that I have a chance, that you’ll consider me. I like you. You know I do, maybe you know I always have…” This made me go aw. Not the short sudden aw but the long one that draws on forever because you find something so immensely adorable. Even though it's nice that Al will wait for her, it's not very realistic and I'm kind of surprised he thinks he even has a chance since he annoys her to no end. Poor Albus and actually Poor Avery for having to deal with such a sensitive, awkward situation.

He even remembers that she quit divination, how sweet but not sweet enough for me to ship Al/Avery. :P

And she finally tells Mcgonigall... it was bound to happen some time, no? I find it amusing that Mcgonagall asked her if she reciprocates these feelings. It's just that it is Mcgonagall, you know? She usually doesn't talk about feelings and always seems like a no-nonsense type of person. And we hear from Eric again, yay!

~Sama

Author's Response: I definitely think it was hard for Avery to tell McGonagall. She does have some sort of feeling towards Albus. He looks like James, his father, people Avery loves.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: A Very Long While

15th January 2015:
The scene where Avery is in James' flat and calls Golightly her boyfriend when he is standing right behind is perfect! And James laughing at her and Golightly's reaction is perfect! And I'm now very curious on exactly how long Albus has been into Avery.

Now onto the next chapter...
~Sama

Author's Response: Its probably my favourite scene and its important to the story. Eric is a good guy, despite laughing at her in this situation.

 Report Review

Review #5, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: You're a Professor Now Pt. II

15th January 2015:
Wood is actually really cute haha. I like that he keeps talking even when Avery wants him to be quiet and how honest he is and his conversation with Avery is interesting.

"Interesting,” He started, “Never took you for the jealous type." Aww Albus, why'd you have to say that? Now she will hate you even more. I kind of feel like this line also shows how immature he actually is too. But I still like Al! He isn't perfect and mucks everything up a lot but he means no harm (at least I think he doesn't).

I don't think Al picked the right moment to show his feelings for her. He's sweet and all but I can see how awkward this makes Avery but I love how she makes the best of the situation!

I noticed this, I'm guessing you just missed it when writing or something:
" one I did mumbled, 'Gryffindor.'"

Awesome chapter! :D

~Sama

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing that out!

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: You're A Professor Now

15th January 2015:
Oh, we get to meet another Potter/Weasley in this chapter! Yay.

McGonigall made Jonathan Head Boy? O.o Well that was sort of a shock but who knows may he is another James Potter (the first) that'll clean up his act. :) Avery's obliviousness to what happens in the seventh floor is kind of funny and cute. It makes her seem innocent in a way, if that makes any sense at all. I think Wood is starting to grow on me. He's kind of like a bunny, except he's not fluffy or that adorable... okay so maybe he isn't a bunny but he actually seems really sweet.

Great chapter as usual!

~Sama

P.S. Does Rose like Jonathan? It seems like she does but then maybe I misinterpreted the blushing and running off.

Author's Response: These things are answered in a later chapter :) You'll have to wait and see.

Avery has got to be one of the most clueless and naive characters I have ever written, especially since she is such a smart girl.

Wood is okay, I'm still undecided on him.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: Let's Be Friends!?

15th January 2015:
"'So do your teachers, Mr. Potter,' I respond coldly, 'Except they control your grades.' " Favorite part in this chapter! Score for Avery! And we get to see Nevile in this chapter! I like how you mention how their relationship wasn't always that solid but that they're good now. Background info is always great.She notices Al and said that his laugh is attractive... is this a small step toward her becoming friends with Albus? ;)

Lovely chapter once again!

~Sama

Author's Response: Avery's pretty smart for a girl who doesn't like to read.

I think Avery wants to like Al, but she can't bring herself to forgive him. Its unfortunate.

Thanks for the review! They are always appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #8, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: Play

15th January 2015:
Jameeesss!! Can you tell that James Sirius Potter is one of my favorite next gen characters? :P I like Avery and James' friendship a lot. You can just tell how close they are by listening to their conversation. It's pretty adorable that Avery's Mum and Ginny thought, or maybe still think, they're going to get married! I mean I know they probably won't since they don't seem to have those feelings for each other but mums will be mums. I totally understand Avery's fascination with the pictures instead of the actual writing. If there was an attractive guy's picture on a newspaper I would probably stare at him instead of reading the words underneath lol. :P I really like how Harry calls Avery shorty. It gives him a more lighthearted and humorous personality which is a nice change from the serious personalities he gets which is mainly due to the seventh Harry Potter books being so dark.

Anyway, great second chapter! :D

~Sama

Author's Response: James is my favourite character in this story. He is just an overall good guy and although he can be overprotective, he really cares for Avery. James and Avery were made to be friends, although it never made the chapter, I have this idea of a backstory where they kissed when they were fourteen and were so grossed out about it that they didn't talk to each other for days before finally they put in behind them and decided they were meant to be friends.



 Report Review

Review #9, by navyfailTeacher's Pet: My Seventh Years

15th January 2015:
Hello!
I actually came across your story when going through the recently added list and I saw your banner and was like 'hey, this looks familiar.' It turns out I had read this story a long time ago and decided to read it again and I'm glad I did.I really like the plot of this story. It's really cute, new and funny. Albus is kind of a jerk but it's sweet that he's still stuck on the if-you-like-a-girl-pull-on-her-ponytails thing little kids do. And I love Avery! She's witty when she needs to be and nice but also can get annoyed (with Al mostly). She's the perfect OC!

Fabulous first chapter!!!

~Sama

Author's Response: I have just come back after a long hiatus with a ton of inspiration. I have up to chapter 11 written, so my posting of those chapters should be fairly frequent. Hopefully my inspiration stays with me, but reviews always help.

I'm so glad you love Avery, and yeah, Al is a jerk, but Avery has some issues she's got to work out too.

Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by navyfailStuck: kidnapped.

11th January 2015:
Hello!
I just came across your story last night and the summary was interesting so... here I am! I was going to write a review last night but I was on my phone and it is so hard to write reviews on your phone... but anyway, back to the story.

I'll be honest I usually don't read AUs because most of them are crossovers but when I saw it was a muggle AU with the mafia and the marauders I was like 'I have to read this.'

Aw, poor Lily having to sit through a dinner with Sev's parents. They don't seem very welcoming and warm people. And hair in her food? I hate when hair is in my food, it makes me lose my appetite so I totally understand her pain. And it's even more awkward that she knows he wants to marry her in the future.

Oh, I love how you included Rosmerta! I didn't expect her to be here but yay, even if it is for a short while.

I'm a bit confused on why the men in black would want to rob a café instead of a bank or something but then... who says robbers make much sense?

I also like how you introduced the Marauders with James commenting on her hair and it's cute that James gets a tad jealous of Sirius.

Overall, great introductory chapter! I love the idea and plot of your story. I can't wait to find out how the Marauders got into this situation with the men in black. Great work and update soon!!

~Sama

Author's Response: aw, firstly, thank you so much for reviewing! (:

aha yes poor lily, she had to sit through their questions and unwelcoming behaviour. lol yes, i know, sev's thinking far ahead.

actually, now that you mention it and im glad you asked the question, why were they robbing a cafe? it seems pretty off, but not wanting to spoil, there's a backstory to this too. i guess you'll have to read and find out :P

i know, aw, isn't james just a cutie?

im so happy you like the plot, i was pretty nervous about the idea lol. i'll try my best to update soon! Thank you, again (:


 Report Review

Review #11, by navyfailKill Your Darlings: Dissonance & Resolve

9th January 2015:
About a week ago I sat down and stayed up late to catch up on the last 20 or so chapters of this story... it was definitely worth it!

Gah, I love this story and you've made me a hardcore Ted/Andromeda shipper. They both have their flaws but they are perfect for each other. You can feel how much they love and care for each other in your words. Their story just sticks to you and makes you think of it over and over. Like I kept thinking 'they made it. they finally made it.'

And I love how the dreams make so much more sense now with the blond bond and everything and when Ted tells her about his inappropriate dreams I just kept smiling at how embarrassed he was.

I got scared at the end because it seemed like it was the end of the story but then you said there are a few more chapters so yay!

I have to say that your writing is very impressive and you are very talented! It's so easy to get hooked with this story. And your Ted Tonks is definitely my man crush and I will forever and ever picture his as Sam Claflin and Andromeda as Crystal Reed because of this story.

Spectacular job so far! And I'll definitely keep an eye out if you post any other stories!

~Sama

Author's Response: I am grinning from ear to ear. Thank you for SUCH a sweet review. It always makes me happy to hear that KYD has inspired a binge read. Teehee.

YAY. Another hardcore Tedromeda shipper on board! Whoo-whoo! Haha, and I do hope the dreams make sense now. Sometimes I found myself panicking, wondering how I was going to make all the sprawling edges of this story meet. But I HOPE I made the most important ones meet at least. :)

Oops, I kind of lied? There is another chapter, but only one left! I thought it would take me longer to wrap up, but I realized the story I needed to tell here was nearly done and the best place to write up some remaining vignettes would be in a new sequel-esque conclusion. Here's hoping it pans out a-okay!

Thanks for the kind words about the writing! And bahaha, I think I will always picture the two as Sam and Crystal, too. Once it gets lodged in your brain, it just doesn't leave. :)

Thanks so much for the review--and for sticking with this story for so long! You rock.


 Report Review

Review #12, by navyfailGame Over: Two

15th August 2014:
So he was trying to steal a Basilisk Tooth and Matt is the woman's partner. Interesting...

Author's Response: Yes, that's about it. Things didn't turn out to be exactly as they seemed. I hope you keep reading.

Thanks for the review!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #13, by navyfailGame Over: One

15th August 2014:
Hi! Congrats on getting Story of the Week back in May. I'm going back and reviewing all the stories and I thought I would stop by yours.

500 words exactly in every chapter? That's an accomplishment! I don't think I would be able to do that.

The plot has already started which is great. I wonder what exactly is James' job. Something illegal probably but I wonder what. And what was the last job he did that got someone angry at him?

The story is fast paced due to the word limit but I think it fits well since it has action and action is always better done fast.

I love the small details and descriptions you managed to add in like the "coffee was black as a burnt-out cauldron" and "must, with a hint of shellfish". It kept the the story from turning out too vague.

The woman is a witch? I wonder how she knows Matt. What's she going to do with James now?

You've managed to keep me questioning on what happens next. :) Lovely idea and lovely start to a story! I'm going to keep on reading.

~Sama

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for checking out my story! And congratulations to you for attempting to review all the stories! I'm glad you stopped by!

I thought that the 500 word challenge looked interesting, but my plots seem to always run away with me, so it was definitely a challenge. I encourage you to try it some time, just for the experience. You may surprise yourself!

I was slightly worried about the vagueness, but as I wrote, the details kept slipping in. I'm glad that worked for you.

Thanks for the review, and I'm happy it got you intrigued!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #14, by navyfailHandle With Care: Meeting Charlie

15th August 2014:
Hi! Congrats on being the Story of the Week over at tgs!

Honestly, I have never read a fanfiction with Rita Skeeter as one of the main characters and likewise I haven't read one on Charlie. So this is pretty new to me.

The first thing that strikes me about this chapter is your descriptions. You don't overdo them but manage to set the scene perfectly. I've never been to Romania but I'm beginning to imagine what it's like there.

I actually like what you did with going from past to present. I sometimes feel that it's overdone but you manage to pull it off nicely. I actually went back and looked up Rita and Charlie's age. They are about twenty or so years apart, right?

Lottie seems like a character I can grow to love and Charlie seems nice. I'm really intrigued with his past. I can understand why Alfie doesn't like Lottie with her last name. It's quite an old pureblood name, right?

I love how much research you've put into this. It's really admirable. You got Charlie and Rita's ages correct and you even put in some of the Romanian language! And the fact that the Ministry owns all the dragon reserves. I actually didn't know that.

Great job with this chapter. Great summary and great cliffhanger at the end. ;)

~Sama

P.S. This is going in my favorites. Update soon!

 Report Review

Review #15, by navyfailFree Fall: Free Fall

6th August 2014:
Hey Emma! Congrats on getting Story of the Week back in May. I'm actually going back and reviewing all of them since all of the stories were so amazing.

I think I read this story a few months ago and I was really touched by it. I've never made a huge deal about the Remus/Tonks ship but this story made me see it in a different light. Now I even ship them a bit.

I honestly thought of Lemony Snicket while reading this and he is one of my favorite authors! Your writing has a way of keeping you interested in every word. I honestly re-read some parts so I didn't miss a detail.

And I love how some of the scenes aren't that long but still manage to give a good insight of that happened. Not many people can pull that off!

The scene where she is five and Sirius comes over with the rest of the Marauders has got to be one of my favorites. It shows their age difference and has this realism to it. The mention of Sirius in the scene after is sweet in a dark-ish way.

So many quotes that I love:
"Such sweet beginnings can have terrible ends, too. And for that, we are truly sorry."

"He smiles then, a half-a*sed smile, but the first you've seen from him. " Half-a*sed, such a cute way to describe it.

"Losing them is free falling. Free falling into nothingness."

"You are both broken, so perhaps that's why you let him break you a bit more. "

"There is only one way people like this burn.

Brightly."

Best one-shot I've ever read.

100/10
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #16, by navyfailJordan & Parsons: A is for Adultery, Awkwardness and Albus Potter

2nd August 2014:
Hi! Congrats on getting Sorry of the Week @tda back in June! I thought I would come back and review!

First off the summary is really interesting so I honestly was curious in where you would take this. The plot is very original. I love the mix of drama and scandal with some humor and action.

I really like how you gave Alicia a back-story. Her past relationship with Albus gives a little mysterious air to the fic. And the fact that she cheated on him is a great way to twist the usual he cheated on her. I also like that we got to know some stuff about each member of the staff. And Sophie's patronus is a giraffe? That's cool. The Mundungus Fletcher of this generation is dating the Minister of Magic's daughter? I somehow feel like they go perfectly together then. You know the criminal and the daughter of a politician. :P

Alicia seems like a reasonable character. She uses her head and knows how to deal with situations that come her way. I think she's a great narrator.

All in all, this story has a great plot and characters that are easily lovable!

10/10
~Sama :)

P.S. I love the chapter titles! It's a great idea to go with the alphabet and all!

 Report Review

Review #17, by navyfailDon't Mean a Thing: Not the One to Stay Around

2nd August 2014:
Hey Rose! Congrats on getting Story of the Wek over @tgs!

First off, this my first time reading a Lily/Sirius story. I'm a Jily shipper and I never did understand the Lily/Sirius ship but when I read those lyrics I was curious so here I am!

At the beginning it was this secret affair. And as it continued he got to know her and she got to know him. The 'You needed her' and 'She needs you' literally made me go aww.

And then in comes the ending... she must have felt so betrayed and heartbroken. Sirius really did play the jerk role nicely. But wow was he smart!

And the last line was a great way to finish the piece. "She meant the world to James but didn't mean a thing to you."

I honestly did feel that he liked her though... maybe not as much as James... maybe just a little? But then that's probably because I don't like seeing Sirius in a negative light haha.

Lovely story! Lovely concept! And great use of the second pov... I honestly didn't notice it was in second person until I went and looked back over it. You pulled it off really well! Lily's and Sirius' characterization were fun to read. I do think you managed to capture them quite well as well as adding some touches of your own.

~Sama

P.S. I do think I will check out that song now. Though when I listen to it I'll probably think of this story the whole way through. Again wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hi Sama!!

Thank you so much for picking this as tgs story of the week!!

This was my first Sirius/Lily story as well - I am glad this didn't turn you off just with the ship.

I thought it was fair to point out that they were in need of something, perhaps one another. They weren't just in a physical relationship despite what Sirius says later on.

Lily was quite heartbroken and Sirius is a very good jerk when he needs to be. It was a cruel way to help James out though.

Sirius did like her quite a bit. Not enough to work through his issues but enough to pursue her with genuine interest.

I'm so happy you liked this. ^_^ I haven't done second person much (if at all) and I'm glad it went well with this.

thank you so much for the lovely review and story rec.

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #18, by navyfaillow tide: a meditation

30th May 2014:
Hello, I'm Sama! I'm here from the review exchange!

First off, how you used so few words but still managed to make this one-shot so effective in message and emotion is amazing!

I absolutely love how you weaved all these small little memories into your words. The fish and chips, the sand castle, the boulder... they all add on and build up to the last sentence.

Another thing I like is that you didn't focus on the pain but more about the grieving but at the same time finding inner peace. The setting, in my opinion, fits perfectly with what you were trying to capture. I can imagine tides and waves coming closer and then going back, it reminds me of his breathing (which I think you mentioned in there somewhere, now that I read over it again), the inhaling and exhaling, and how he thinks of Fred but then tells himself to be calm and relax.

The castle seems to be symbolic. Angelina and Lee built it and then in the end it washed away... it represents Fred in a way I think, though I'm not sure if you meant it that way. Or does it represent what George is feeling?

My favorite lines are:

"You look back at the sand castle. The tide is coming in, and begins to wash the castle into the sea."

"And so the wheel turns."

"Focus on the waves to numb the memory of that jarring impact on the castle wall, the tumbling stones, Fred laughing, Fred motionless."

All in all, I had a great time reading this!

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Hi, Sama!

Wow, thank you so much! I am so glad to hear that despite the short length it still conveys a lot of emotion. The 500 word challenge was pretty difficult as I can be a bit of a rambler and a 500 word limit doesn't allow any room for unnecessary words!

I thought memories were essential for this because George is kind of living in his head a bit, and really the whole piece focuses a lot on the passage of time. So thank you, it's wonderful to hear that despite the sombre tone of most of the story and the slightly whimsical memories, that they integrated seamlessly.

The comparison between breathing and the waves is one of the things I was really trying to point out so I'm glad you saw that too and that you liked it!

Yes, the sand castle was largely symbolic - though honestly, it was intentionally left vague as to what it represents - I wanted to leave it open to many interpretations and up to the reader to decide. ;) Personally, I saw it as simultaneously representing the tower of Hogwarts crumbling again in George's mind, and Fred rejoining the earth as nature cycles, but also Time gently washing away the grief and leaving room for hope. But various reviewers have given other interpretations which I like just as much! So it kind of means whatever you want it to mean.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I really appreciate it, and I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this story.


 Report Review

Review #19, by navyfailWhat If?: The Trigger

10th May 2014:
Hey Kiana!
I think I remember reading this a long time ago but not finishing it for some reason. So here I am since I found it again!

Rose/Scorpius have always been one of my favorite ships and them being good friends from the start isn't a common approach. In this story it makes sense though. I like how you made her Ravenclaw since it fits with her personality (and because Ravenclaws are the best, shhh don't tell anyone I said that). ;)

The 'what if' feelings are always the worst. Looking back at the past is something most tell you not to do but somtimes you can't help it. Regretting saying yes to someone in a proposal of marriage is a really sticky situation. I kind of hope she doesn't go through with the wedding since Scorpius is back (and he is love). I guess I have to meet Xavier first. Though I wonder why she dated Scorpius' friend so quickly after they broke up. Isn't there usually a rule between friends that you don't date each others exs?

~Sama

Author's Response: Hi Sama, ah this was such a lovely surprise, so thank you for making your way back here! :D

I'm glad you liked it, it's one of my favourite ships so everytime I write them it's always a ton of fun to think of a new way to get them together. Ha, I won't ;) I always do see her as a Claw though, there's just something about her which makes her like that.

I know, especially when it's with something so big as marriage, but Rose is level-headed and a Claw so at least she'll make a somewhat rational answer (or hopefully she does!). I know there is that rule, but her and Xavier didn't have the most normal way of getting together!

Thanks for a great review, Sama!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #20, by navyfailToo Close: Mr. Tall & Mr. Small

10th May 2014:
Oh, this sounds really mysterious! I absolutely love your descriptions. And Mr. Small has authority over Mr. Tall? I would have expected it the other way around because of size but I find that really interesting. I wonder what is going to happen to Scorpius though...

 Report Review

Review #21, by navyfailThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

7th May 2014:
Hi! I'm here from the BvB Battle.

Oh, so they have done their first prank and picked their targets! This is going to interesting since it is in a way going to be Louis and Lucy vs. Albus and Rose. I'm totally rooting for Albus and Rose! And Scorpius and Albus have a thing? I'm a huge Scorpius/Rose shipper so this is new but I have an open mind about it. I wonder where it will go.

And oh gosh... their names. Now I feel bad for all of them. I think Rose got the best one!

And we got to see George! He's very nice to Rose as he should since he's her uncle and all. I absolutely love this line: "Blame Dad. He didn't raise me properly."

Something I noticed:
"Stop whingeing or I'll take the badge off you," Albus says. "Nobody will even notice."

Overall, the story is coming along! I think some more description could be helpful but I love your use of dialogue!

~Sama

Author's Response: Thank you! There is definitely an element of Louis and Lucy vs Albus and Rose, so it is a pretty personal prank war. And yes, Albus/Scorpius is a thing! I was a Scorose shipper too, but this relationship just kind of evolved out of nowhere and now I ship it more than life. I'm interested to see whether you'll warm to it as well :)

I was pretty horrible with the naming of my OCs - Holly Helen Holyoake in particular. Poor girl...

I do like George, and I hope I've characterised him accurately - he's a difficult guy to write, so I hope I did him justice!

I do agree - multi-chapter fics are absolute death to my description skills for some reason, probably because everything just becomes about characterisation and witty banter, and everything else unfortunately goes out the window. But I'll keep an eye on that in future chapters. Thanks for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #22, by navyfailA Not So Normal Life (After All): An Introduction

6th May 2014:
Hello! I'm here from the BvB battle.

The idea of this story really intrigues me. A muggle girl obsessed with harry potter who finds harry potter fanfiction and makes it her home is really unique and interesting. This is a short first chapter but a a good starting one.

G seems great so far and her love for harry potter makes her even better. The counting down til the end of school is very realistic since almost every student does that in school (even I do that haha). I get why she didn't tell the truth to Paige but at the same time it makes me wonder how deep their friendship goes. It is totally understandable why she had to lie but at the same time lying to your friends isn't the best feeling.

Great introductory chapter! It makes me want to keep reading. This is a nice start to the story. I would like to know G more. (What does G stand for? I'm curious.) And I can already tell that the plot is going to start soon. Good luck with future chapters and happy writing!!

~Sama
(Team Blue)

Author's Response: Thank you! Being a potterhead just makes a person all the more attractive I think ;). I think that is a good point about their friendship, but I also think that G is not a very open person, especially if it is about something that many people seem to be embarrassed about- although they shouldn't be. Glad you liked it! Oh, and G stands for Georgia :). Thanks again for the lovely review!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #23, by navyfailNot as Small: A Mother's Love

5th May 2014:
Hi! I'm here from the BvB battle.

This is a fantastic one-shot you have here! Molly's characterization was on spot and her interactions with the kids are great. I love Charlie and Bill's 'duelling.' It is so innocent and fresh and I can totally see most wizarding boys at their age doing that. I can see Charlie's fascination with dragons already which is sweet.

I love the mention of her weight and her slight insecurity about it. It is normal for a woman to have that but she is very strong and accepting about it. I actually didn't guess she was pregnant with George and Fred but it makes much more sense that she is. And I can see why she is so excited!!

Overall, 10/10!

~Sama
(Team Blue)

Author's Response: Hi Sama!

Thank you so much for such a nice review! It's so great to hear that the characterizations worked out well. I wasn't sure if it would be weird to have Charlie liking dragons at that young age. The dueling felt quite similar to kids playing cops and robbers or some similar playtime activity.

The weight theme was interesting to explore. We see in the books that she is quite comfortable with herself and Arthur loves her completely. Well, I didn't want to make it obvious that it was Fred and George but I thought her pregnancy could be a nice way to bookend the story.

Thanks again for the wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #24, by navyfailThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

4th May 2014:
Hello! I'm here from the BvB battle.

This is a really creative idea! A Fred Weasley Scholarship... a group of goody-goody Ravenclaws going after it = great plot! I love how Ron told her beforehand, he seems like he would. And I love how you introduced the group.

I can get some feel of their different personalities and I like that Scorpius wants it even though he is loaded.

Between the five of them, only two E's on the OWLs? My, my... they are true Ravens (which is great)! Sleeping in class is surely not going to get them the scholarship but we'll see what happens.

The end... lol, that made me smile. Does that mean they'll prank themselves?

Great first chapter and lovely story!

~Sama
(Team Blue)

Author's Response: Thank you! I must admit I am very fond of that contrast myself, and it makes this story an incredibly enjoyable one to write! While most of the group (and especially Scorpius) don't really need it from a financial perspective, a scholarship is a scholarship - and financial independence is a massive motivator for a bunch of seventeen year olds counting down the months until they can move out of home.

They really are true Ravenclaws, which of course makes the scholarship that much more difficult for them. Regarding the pranking - keep reading and you'll find out! Thanks for the review (and go team blue!)


 Report Review

Review #25, by navyfailBirdie (Speed Dating Entry): Birdie

4th May 2014:
Hi! I'm from the Blue vs. Bronze Battle.

This is a very sweet one-shot. I love how he calls her 'Birdie.' It is different from the typical 'Rosie.' I also like how he didn't know all Weasleys' names; there are a lot of them. Though, if they are engaged, I would have thought the family would have got used to him since they were dating beforehand or were they?

I love Hugo's comment about Harry Potter being the last male accepted to the family through marriage. It made me smile. And Dominique and Roxanne are great.

This is definitely my favorite line: "Good going, Rose. Snagged yourself a rich one." It's funny and cute and something I would probably say. In addition to that, I love how Harry just looked at him and then turned to Ron to try and calm him down.

Great job with this! Very cute story.
~Sama
(Team Blue)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for such a nice review!

They were dating before, but Rose had been avoiding the "big reveal". He really probably knew most of her family already, but he was just really anxious about making mistakes.

I'm glad you liked it!

-Georgia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>