Reading Reviews From Member: marauderfan
  
1,131 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marauderfanEsto Perpetua: My Side Of The Fence

5th March 2015:
Hello! I am finally here with the review you requested... many aeons ago. I'm so glad you requested - this was such a wonderful chapter and I really loved reading it!

Your characterisation is excellent. In your request you had asked about how Regulus comes across, and your writing of him fits perfectly into my own headcanon of him. I love to think that he and Sirius were close as children, and really did care about one another. The scene where they talk before dinner, and especially the scene when they play the prank at Narcissa's wedding, were just perfect. Your Regulus seems a lot like Sirius, but is afraid to stand out or cause any fuss, and therefore goes along with what his parents want, and it really fits. Also, the few little comparisons Sirius makes between Regulus and Remus did not go amiss, I thought that added a lovely aspect and showed how much Sirius really does care about his brother.

You also asked about whether Sirius seems too cowardly around his family, and I don't think he does. He's old enough by this point to know what he can get away with and what he can't, but still young enough to be afraid of what might happen if he missteps. Besides, it seems that at this point in his life he is still hoping for some affection from them and hasn't entirely given up on them yet. I loved that scene when he hugs his mother - that really tugs at the heartstrings, because I know how it all ends up but its just really sweet - he's primarily doing it to annoy her but he really does crave affection and wants a hug. Aw :(

I love your interpretation of Uncle Alphard, as well! I don't recall if I've ever read a fic that had him in it, but I like your version. He's a lot like Sirius in terms of humour and also a source for information that's not biased in the way that his parents are, and I can see why Sirius would look up to him. And is that the two way mirror I saw in there? Very clever incorporating that in ;)

Your characterisation is phenomenal, and your writing flows so smoothly. I'm really struggling to come up with some critique for you, tbh. Um... in one place you said Alphard lead Sirius along the pathway where it should say led. And... I think that's all. :p

Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! So glad you enjoyed it.

I really loved writing the exchanges between Sirius and Regulus - it's my favourite part of the story. There's so much to explore with those two. Since we know Sirius was treated badly by his parents, it's quite possible that he grew very close to Regulus since he does require some form of love from home. Ah, you picked up on those comparisons, then? That makes me very happy. I love to throw in tiny details like that in to it, and you've been the only one who's picked it up so far.

I was a bit hesitant about writing Sirius so obedient, because he's usually portrayed as rebellious and entirely too full of anger and nothing else. It's not how I see him, and I went with my own perception of him, but I was wondering if other readers would find it odd. It's good to know he comes across all right. Poor Sirius doesn't get too many hugs from Walburga - but Mrs. Potter will make it up to him soon, don't worry!

Uncle Alphard is such an underused character - so much potential to play with that I couldn't resist. He has a rather important role to play here, and not just as Sirius' mentor either. Hint: what do you think he is up to in Asia? That's actually not the two-way mirror (that will come via another father-figure). No, this object is something very, very important.

Oops. Typos always seem to escape me however much I read through before posting. I'll fic it when I go back for edits.

So happy you enjoyed the chapter. I'll be back to rerequest, and thank you so very much for this amazing review! :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by marauderfanPlay the Devil: Missing

5th March 2015:
Hi Jenna! I was thrilled to find another update on this story! It really is one of my absolute favourite stories on the archive.

The beginning part with Richard is so great. I love seeing his thought process and how he views someone from the future like Rose, and all the different pressures of society on him and how his peers would behave in similar situations. You write the historical aspect of this story so well and I love it.

Most of all I love how much depth you've gone into with the time travel! I was just glued to the screen during Rose's conversation with Archie. Besides the fact that I got a really bad feeling when Rose decided to visit him (because I knew she'd end up sticking her nose into something), I loved that conversation they had about sending a cat back in time, and the different interpretations of how time works, whether it's predetermined or in flux - gah, I just love that stuff and I found their discussion so interesting and I'm glad you went into all that detail. Awesome.

Oh no! Rose is thinking dangerous thoughts at the end there! Uggghh. Not only did she steal a potion (this could really get Archie into trouble), but the kind of flippant, entitled attitude she has about it all is very worrisome. Didn't the notes say something about it being most dangerous when it's deliberate? And I'm willing to bet that the piece of the story Archie hadn't gotten to yet is the mkst important. Rose is really blinded by her own obsession at this point and I really wonder how things are going to end up when she goes back.

this story is addicting. Keep up the awesome work!

 Report Review

Review #28, by marauderfan12 Hours: 12 Hours [or] There Are People Who Would Cause You Harm And Those Who Seek Your Undoing, But Before You Condemn Those Pitiful Souls, Be Sure Of What They're Pursuing

1st March 2015:
Hi! I'm here to review for the non-linear challenge (again)!

This was so original. I loved how you worked in towards the middle from the beginning and end - it really intensified the mystery and made each successive section like filling in a smaller and smaller gap. It was such a wonderful use of the non-linear prompt.

I also loved seeing these familiar characters show up again. It's like catching up with old friends! And even though this story isn't primarily character-development-motivated, these little snippets of their actions or dialogue tell a lot about them. They are simple details, and subtle, but make the characters feel real and complex. You're so good at that.

Sooo... What was the literary association really about? Why did Pansy organise all of this? Ahh! I'm so curious haha. But I think just enough is explained that it can be left as a mystery, more or less, and the story doesn't feel incomplete with that left untold. It just keeps up the mysterious vibe that the whole story has. The tone was really well set in this, with that eerie mansion and its labyrinthine halls. I was kind of reminded of The Shining while they were all trying to find their way out of the maze while being pursued haha.

This was so well done! Thanks for entering the challenge! I'll hopefully have the results up next week.

 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfanSomebody to Die For: I Will Let the Devil Know

1st March 2015:
Hi! I'm here to review for the Non-Linear Challenge!

Wow, this was a really unusual one. I love unusual. And your writing style in this is fantastic! You use very evocative words, and perfectly thought out details. In particular, I liked how a lot of the descriptions were of living bodies - how Theodore smells blood and sweat, how he can feel the man's heartbeat - things that stand out to him as he himself is not alive anymore and no longer bleeds or sweats or has a heartbeat. It's subtle but makes his perspective just that much more unique.

Although Harry doesn't really appear much in this story outside of Theo's thoughts about him, you've captured his personality really well, in the way he is so focused, knows that Theo is still alive. (Well, not alive, but he knows Theo is still around, I guess.) It reminded me of Harry's stubbornness in HBP that Malfoy was up to something. And how Harry is 'a boy who cares too much' -- yes! That's a perfect line.

The last two lines are also perfect, and I can't think of a better way to end this story! I loved it.

You incorporated the non-linear narative style so effectively. It was kind of tricky to piece out what happened when, but I think that really adds to the feel of the story overall, as I'd imagine that Theo, as a perennial eighteen-year-old, struggles with that very same problem and perhaps things blend together in his memory as well. He would have a different perception of the passing of time after becoming a vampire, and that's what stood out in the way you used he non-chronological order. Brilliant!

This was such an interesting perspective to read a fic from and I loved your word choice. Really well done on this and thanks for submitting it to the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfanFlicker in the Wind: Flicker on the Wind

1st March 2015:
Hi! I'm here to review for the non-linear challenge!

Okay, well to begin with, I'm pretty sure that someone is cutting onions here in the library. No? Maybe it just rained a little on my face. Either way, this is a heartbreaking story and that last section really got to me, with Hermione and George grieving together. Gah. I really liked that scene.

I'm getting ahead of myself though - this was a really lovely story overall, and just so sad! It has this raw emotional intensity to it that's very powerful and I think is the strongest aspect of the story. So many emotions are covered in here and they all felt so real. The loss and grief that pervades most of the story is even stronger because of that first flashback, a huge contrast to the rest of the piece in how wonderfully happy and hopeful it is. But it's still tinged with sadness because you already know it's not going to last. Gah, I'm rambling here but basically, you did an exceptional job setting the tone of the story.

Hermione and Draco's story is so sad in this. Just as they are both recovering from the war, Draco is killed by someone on the side he deserted :( it really makes me appreciate just how difficult Draco's life must have been after the war. He doesn't really have a side at all, he's just on his own.

I think you used the non linear structure to a wonderful advantage here, how the main story takes place after Draco's death, and as Hermione struggles to come to terms with it, she has these flashbacks of better times, as well as flashbacks of the horrible day when she lost Draco. It makes perfect sense as after something as liffe-changing and devastating as that, she'd be really inclined to dwell on better times in her memories, as well as the kind of survivors guilt/ 'what if I could have done something' thoughts that would continue to plague her.

I'm just going to reiterate how much I loved the ending. I think George was exactly who she needed to talk to, as he understands more than others might, having lost someone so close to him as well. And his words to her were spot on. That's where you really got me. :'(

Bravo on this beautiful, tragic fic. Thanks for submittting it to the challenge!

Author's Response: I'm sorry for the delayed response, but thank you so much for the long review. I'm really glad you posted the story challenge because I had a lot of fun writing the story - even if it did end up being short.

And I'm sure someone was cutting onions in the library ;) I do it quite often myself ^.^


 Report Review

Review #31, by marauderfan(500) Days of August: Many Things

28th February 2015:
Hi Joey! I'm here to review your entry for the Non-Linear Challenge!

Gay wizard adaptation of 500 Days of Summer? I can already tell I'm going to like it. :D

I really like the way you started out, with this kind of disembodied, omniscient narrator. I can't remember how the film started, actually, but I just love the casual narrative voice you use here. It reads like it's in the voice of someone telling a story out loud.

“Really?” asked Fred. “I thought he looked pretty nice.” -- Heh heh. He looks like he's a nice person, or he is nice to look at? I see what you did there, Fred. ;)

Ok, but my silly pun appreciation aside. I loved the way you adapted the film into the wizarding world, and especially how you put your own spin on it. The ending was really great. I love it when stories don't end with the hero getting the girl/guy and riding off into the sunset. And in the case of this story, Fred isn't a hero in any way, in fact he's just seeing things that aren't there, and in the end he finds himself rather than having true love make everything all better. I really appreciated that, because he's in control of his own life again rather than relying on a fantasy. And it ends on a really hopeful note. I like that.

The way you portrayed the relationship between the two was so well done. I can't fault August for breaking Fred's heart, because he was honest about his motives. And I can't blame Fred for falling in love, because that's not something you can have control over. They're both good people, and they have their faults, letting their relationship go on longer than it should, when each day was just more difficult for both of them for different reasons. They just weren't right for each other, and that's how it is sometimes. It felt very realistic (even though we're seeing it through Fred's very idealised lens.)

As for the non linear aspect of this, you did phenomenally. Most of it was consecutive, but those pieces that were out of order were placed so deliberately and so perfectly that they really enhanced the story. The juxtaposition of the two scenes when they go into the corn maze stands out in particular; it really emphasizes how the passage of time changes their dynamic as well as highlights the feelings of both of them. I can't imagine it being told as effectively any other way, it was great. And the way you put the Day 154 declaration of love right before the earlier bit where Roxanne points out that they might not have much in common. It was just so well organized! I also liked the way the Day 290 scene with Roxanne was used in both places, as her more objective POV brings out a lot and gets Fred to get out of his own head for a bit.

And lastly, Ernie and Anthony from Kaleidoscope Love! So happy to see that cameo :D

This is a wonderful fic, and I really enjoyed reading it. Thanks for submitting it for the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #32, by marauderfanHarry Potter and the Broomstick Makers: Easter Holidays

28th February 2015:
Hi! I am finally here with the review you requested! Very sorry for the long delay!

Your characterisation of the canon characters is wonderful. I especially enjoyed the end bit where George plays a prank on Malfoy just because, and Hermione kind of admonishes him because Malfoy is an Auror now. Both actions seemed very in character! And I like how even though Hermione is still at school and Harry and Ron are in Auror training, their friendship is still their greatest strength. Aw. I think you did well with Mrs Weasley as well - I'd imagine she would be kind of awkward around Andromeda for a while because of killing Bellatrix. So yeah, really well done all around with the characters' personalities.

You've got a good mix of different things going on here, from Auror Headquarters to Hogwarts to the students still in school. As for plot flow, it seemed a bit choppy to me. For example, I wasn't entirely sure why Legilimency was brought up during their tests on the broomsticks to see if they were cursed. I have a feeling it might be due to referring to past events (the previous two fics in your series which I'm not familiar with) so I was a bit confused there. If you want to make this fic stand alone, some brief explanation in the story might be useful. Or if the Legilimency bit didnt have anything to do with previous events, you could maybe provide some information as to why they discuss Legilimency at this point, maybe give the reader an idea why it's so important. The backstory about Robards and Scrimgeour was great, but it felt kind of awkwardly added in. So just a little smoothing out with the Legilimency bit would really help that back story shine even better!

Interesting that you added information about broomsticks on the Gryffindor Quidditch team. I wonder if they are involved with the cursed broomstick plot somehow!

This was a really great chapter, I enjoyed it! Keep up the excellent work :)

Author's Response: Thank you, marauderfan for stopping by. It might be complicated to read in the middle of the story. But your advice let me think to add more information about mystery of broomsticks.

Authors can keep going with kind review and some suggestion. Thank you so much for sparing time for this.

I'm working on the newewst chapter right now but I'll come back here to do more details.


 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfanHer Choice : Meeting Your Worst Nightmare

16th February 2015:
Hi Lindsey! I'm here with the review you requested a while ago. This is a huge plot point, this chapter - wow, Laynie just met Voldemort! Scary!

You mentioned the characterisation as being the thing that worried you about this chapter, particularly Voldemort or anyone acting OOC. First on this topic I want to mention that you wrote Bellatrix wonderfully - you really accentuated her eagerness about cruelty, her distrust of Snape, and her desire to impress Voldemort. None of which were stated outright, but it was obvious in her actions, so really well done.

Voldemort is the one I wanted to discuss though. You were worried about him being too nice, although I did not get that impression from him. What struck me about him that seemed off was his use of humour. In the books, I don't recall him laughing about anything, and he seems (to me) to be the sort of person who uses only as many words as necessary. So in this chapter what seemed OOC was how he kind of talks a lot, and some of it is small talk. And he chuckles once. Personally, I'd edit some of the small talk out, as well as anything that shows him having much emotion, like the chuckling. I think of him as very good at putting on a mask and being hard to read. Of course, this is just my opinion and everyone has different views on characters, so take it with a grain of salt and all that. Anyway, that's what seemed off about Voldy to me.

Potential continuity: Wormtail shows up here, but wasn't he at Spinners End wih Snape? (I seem to remember that but don't have the book with me to check)

And this: "Laynie asked questionably" is an odd choice of words. I don't think you need the word questionably.

So to sum up: I'm proud of Laynie for being such a good actress in front of Voldy. I like how you wrote Bella. And I liked the way you wrote Narcissa in the scene with Voldy, how she kind of stands up for Lucius but is mostly too afraid to say anythig too strong. And I thought it said a lot about Draco that he was willing to tell Laynie how he feels about his task and that he envies her. I'm really curious if they will grow to trust one another eventually.

This was a lovely chapter! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there,
I am so glad you stopped by, and I always love your reviews!
I am glad you addressed Voldemort because I have been wondering what else I need to do with his character in this scene. And yes, I didn't even think about that with Wormtail, he was at Spinner's End with Snape, but seeing as it was earlier in the day that Narcissa and Bella went to Snape's maybe Wormatail was told to be present for this? Lol. I don't know. I am so happy you think I write Bella and Narcissa well, they are sometimes harder to write.
Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfanA Terrible Mistake: A Terrible Mistake

16th February 2015:
Ellieee ♡ ♡
I am so sorry it's taken me so long to scrape together a few minutes of time to read this - believe me, it was not from lack of interest! Gah I am just so honoured that you wrote a story for me, particularly one as great as this! Aah! Omg I loved it.

You present such an interesting side to Lucius in this and it's exactly what I was hoping to read. I liked that you focused on his love for his family being what changes his mind, and I especially love how you didn't set him too out of character by puttting forth his changing beliefs. He still hates Mudbloods and believes them to be inferior, but he just doesn't like all the death and violence. In other words, you didn't give him any unrealistic tranformation into a 'good guy'. He's believable, and that's the best trait for a character to have.

How can he consider it fair to punish me for being out-maneuvered by the Potter boy when he himself has been thwarted by the boy more times than anyone dares point out? -- This is so great. I can certainly see how this would make him appreciate the Dark Lord significantly less. What a great point to bring up.

I just loved the end as well, how he's kind of disgusted with himself for being weak and actually hoping Potter wins, but he seems to come to terms with it in the end and I think it speaks a lot to his growth as a character that he doesn't want to be on the strong side because other things matter more to him now.

This was such a great look into Lucius' head at such a critical moment and thank you so much for writing it! Wonderful work!! ♡

Author's Response: Hey Kristin!

Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm so glad you liked it. Lucius was a little uncooperative with me at first, but eventually he let me into his mind a little. Thanks so much for giving me this prompt. It was a lot of fun to look at things from Lucius's perspective.

I'm so happy you liked it =)

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #35, by marauderfanPending Further Investigation: xiv. november twentieth [or] until death do us part

14th February 2015:
Sorry I'm not able to leave a long review right now, but I just had to tell you that omg the scene with Draco telling Scorpius to change the family motto. That was the best. Is someone cutting onions in here?

also 'queerly beloved' :D this chapter was too perfect. I loved it. ♥

 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfanEffortlessly Dead: Uneasy Alliance

8th February 2015:
Emmi! I'm sorry in advance this will be a short review as I don't have much time but I just wanted to let you know I loved this chapter! I am curious how Murdo intends to go forward with his plan, and I don't think it can be good. Also, I am soo eager to see how Galen and Menna work together because they are so opposite and already off to a rocky start and just I don't know how it's going to work! haha. I did enjoy reading their arguing. :D Awesome chapter! ♥

Author's Response: I'm so glad you loved this! I was worried it might be too heavy on the dialogue, particularly the second part. I was also worried if Menna and Galen's arguing was too tedious but I'm glad that wasn't the case! I, too, wonder how they're going to work together from now on... They don't know that themselves! As for Murdo... well, that guy always has something in his sleeve, so we'll have to see how what's going to happen next. :)

Thank you so much for reviewing!

- Emmi


 Report Review

Review #37, by marauderfanLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: Embarrassing Moments

8th February 2015:
Hi! I'm here with your review, and many thanks to you for being so patient :)

This was a lovely chapter! I love the way you write the Potters and how inclusive they are, I just love the idea of Scorpius playing Quidditch with his boyfriend's family even without Albus there - that's a sure sign that he fits right in with them :) And even though James said some thoughtless things in the last chapter, he does seem to feel really sorry about it. I think it will all turn out okay, and that the Potters like Scorpius more than he thinks. He still kind of seems to be in that phase where he's not entirely comfortable being himself around Albus' family, but at least a good game of Quidditch makes it all good again :)

Your dialogue flows really well. One thing I think might help to look at would be sentence structure, as I noticed a lot of sentences that started or ended the same way. For example this paragraph beginning with We eat some chicken sandwiches and Butterbeers in the kitchen. It's warm and cozy in their kitchen. --Both of those sentences end with 'kitchen', and the three that follow all begin with 'I'. You can vary this by joining short sentences together, or beginning some sentences with verb clauses - there are lots of ways to do this. Anyway, just something to think about. :)

As for pace, it felt a bit like filler to me as it didn't particularly advance the plot, but I do like filler chapters as it allows for fun scenes like family Quidditch :p I am eager to see what's coming up for them once they get back to Hogwarts!

This was a very enjoyable chapter! You're doing a wonderful job writing it and I like your characters a lot. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for a great review! Don't worry about the time, a review is always welcome whenever it arrives! :-)

I'm especially glad that you help me with my sentence structure. Good cc is always appreciated! I'm going to edit these sentences, and try to keep that in mind further on!

You are right, this chapter is somewhat a filler, but it is also a build up in a way, I'm going to use this as a background for later chapters. :-)

Thanks for a lovely review!

Molly


 Report Review

Review #38, by marauderfanPending Further Investigation: xii. cross the line [or] don't say the a word

30th January 2015:
Anyway, we should talk about something other than dudes because we’re failing the real-life Bechdel test.” -- I can't even tell you how much I loved this line :D

And I loved the conversation between Rose and Holly, particularly them reflecting on their past and how they now considered their pre-scholarship selves quite boring, haha. I also appreciated the bit about Rose being a bit jealous that there are things where Holly can't relate to her as well as Holly can relate to Brodie, and how she feels a bit left out but still understanding. She's a good friend and wants Holly to be happy, but at the same time she misses being the best friend Holly confides in about everything. It's a complicated but real feeling and I liked how you illustrated it.

I'm so sad that Vic isn't that accepting of Teddy being genderqueer. (my internet browser just gave that word the red underline of "not a word" and that irritates me. my internet appears to be rather unaccepting too. but off topic.) I'm hoping that given a bit of time, Vic will learn tolerance and come to appreciate Teddy for who he is again. But in the meantime OMG WHAT WAS THAT ENDING. I WAS SO NOT EXPECTING THAT. All I can say is this is a decision that will probably be regretted in the future. gah!

all in all a great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #39, by marauderfanKeep Calm and Carry On: The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Oh no! I feel like the previous chapters were almost too good to be true, and then this chapter is like... the 16-tonne weight that crashes down and is like "Oh hey. Here's reality, it's back."

I feel so bad for Rose. I mean, she's not that nice, but for her to be dumped and then fired all in quick succession is a recipe for a horrible week. And in a way, Rose is no worse than any of the other characters, who as Theo quite wisely pointed out at the end, are all a bit unscrupulous when it comes to getting ahead in the news industry. Reading from Edie's POV I sympathise with her a lot, but in the end, they're all making decisions which hurt other people, even though they're not bad people. That's one thing I love about this story because that's the way the real world works. No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something, and this chapter really shows that, in their different decisions.

What a mess, though! And poor Justin and Lisa caught in the middle of it. I don't know how Edie is going to find her way out of this, but I'm certain she will. Even though it probably means a bit of unwanted media attention and who knows what with her job.

I've got to say though, you definitely did surprise me with revealing that Theo was the one who sold them out. I suspected that Rose liked Oliver, but that didn't make it any easier to find out for sure.

This was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hiya!

It was indeed starting to feel a little too fluffy--had to get back to the "cold hard truth" of Edie's existence in which everything always goes wrong always.

I'm glad you feel bad for Rose! The last thing I wanted was to have some kind of standoff between she and Edie/Oliver, and have a clear "Ha! Rose we've finally bested you!" moment. She's having a rough time indeed, between Oliver and being fired. The tables have turned and now she's the one having rotten luck.

Yes! You really hit the nail on the head--I wanted this story progress from Edie thinking that she's so much better than Oliver, and being very high-and-mighty, and then slowly realizing that he is actually the kinder person with more integrity. Theo really spells it out for her in the end, as you pointed out. I think she needed to hear it from somebody she felt betrayed by; someone who she thought was her friend. Hearing it from her mother wasn't enough because she wrote it off, as she did with Lisa a bit.

"No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something..." Yes! I love reviews like this that allow for discussion of the plot... Aghh thank you so much.

Thank you so much for reading. The next chapter is a bit slow-going, but it's all coming to a culmination very soon ♥


 Report Review

Review #40, by marauderfanThe Worst: Settling

26th January 2015:
Hi Aditi! Here with your review!

Aah, your description of the still night in that first section is just GORGEOUS, I can picture it all so clearly. And then when Dom's transformation happens - that was incredibly well written and I feel like I was right there with her. You include all these details that just make the scene so real, I love it.

“Accio wand,” she muttered and saw it zooming towards her from the cabinet -- this stood out to me because can you summon something without a wand? (You might be right, and remembering something I'm not, but this surprised me - maybe something to have a look at.)

I really loved Dom's talk with Victoire and Julia - they are exactly what she needs. Victoire is sensitive and tactful and has all these gifts, Julia isn't tactful but she treats Dom just like normal, which I think is something Dom really craves. Everything is normal with her and her friends again and now she feels like she'll be okay -that is so great. I'm totally on the same page as Dom about the marriage, it's too much to rush into suddenly, but it definitely makes sense to talk to Teddy at this point and I'm glad Vic and Julia helped her come to that conclusion.

“That’s like my girl,” said Julia with a grin. -- here I think it might sound better to just say "That's my girl"

One area you might want to clarify is also this bit: She had braved the outside world for the first time yesterday for an interview for the Prophet. -- at first I thought she had been interviewed (about becoming a werewolf or something) and then I realized you meant she had conducted an interview (because she's a reporter). Maybe it was just me reading it wrong, but one way to clarify this would be to say "she had conducted an interview" or "she had interviewed someone about (insert random topic here)."

Hm. I don't actually remember who David Dale is but I remember the name, I think he had something to do with Delilah Jones' plan. And I think he was a werewolf. I'll look back a couple of chapters haha, as it's been a while since I read those now. I can't imagine what he wants from her though, unless he wants to apologise for something? Mystery. I like it.

Despite this being a bit fillery, I never have objection to filler chapters because I think they're important as kind of a break between really important scenes. And the first bit of this was not filler at all. I think showing her first transformation and recovery was so important and you did wonderfully with that. Can't wait to see how it all turns out! Great chapter. :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

I am pleased you liked the first section of the story. I tried my best with the descriptions so I'm glad it worked.

I think, in the HP books, someone does "Accio" their wand (though I can't remember who). I think advanced witches and wizards who have mastered spells can do this kind of magic. And I felt that Dominique could have done it so I wrote it =)

Victoire and Julia are really what Dom needs right now, and I'm glad that came across. I am also happy that Dom's reasoning for not marrying Teddy made sense to you!

I have now corrected the typo, thanks!

David Dale is a werewolf - that's all I'll say for now. More will be revealed in the next chapter. You don't have to look back if you don't want to - it'll make sense in the next chapter either way haha. I do love my mysteries ;)

I felt this filler chapter was important as well - to show Dom's transformation, its aftermath (I actually edited in some content that showed a more miserable aftermath than before) and her dealing with everything.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #41, by marauderfanSubjugo Sempiterne - Forever Under the Yoke: Part 1: Friendship and Betrayal

25th January 2015:
Hi Rose! I'm here for our swap. I remember seeing this on your page ages ago and it always intrigued me, as there's not a lot of stories about house elves, and I love that you decided to explore the origin of the subjugation of house elves.

I like how you started out (first because I love that quote) and also because it's kind of like the beginning of a fable. It gives it the properly old-fashioned feel you'd expect for something set in this era of wizarding history. The setting you began with is so interesting too, in a time where house elves and wizards were basically equal. That's such a lovely idea - as well as the fact that they became such good friends and learned from one another!

Even from the beginning you can see signs of prejudice even though their friends, with Hywel doubting Winifred's tale that she rode a dragon just because she's a small house-elf. I love the subtlety of this how it's a reminder that sometimes prejudice is there even when you don't realize it as such.

I think they could have seen through their differences if not for the intervention of Hywel's friend Rhein, who actively seeks to be more powerful and encourages Hywel to do so, as when an idea is commonly held it's a lot harder to challenge than just one individual, which is what Hywel's opinions were before Rhein supported them. I can see the beginnings of the magic is might idea in both of their reasoning, as well as how house-elf magic is more of a 'natural' magic.

Lol at Malmagus estate. I guess he had no chance at being a good wizard even if he wanted to be. :p

I like how you tied in the relations between wizards and Muggles and all the tensions that brings between not only humans but elves as well.

This is a really interesting story and you've brought up such interesting ideas. Are you planning to continue it! I"d love to read the rest!

Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: So... I should write more stories because I don't want you to run out of stuff to read. :D

I remember when I wrote this I thought it was kind of weird/experimental for me but it's quite reassuring when people say it came across as a fable rather than 'random crazy thing' they read. I think my prompt for this was to write about house elves and it's always bothered me that they are subjugated to wizards - I didn't think they had always been that way and wanted to poke at that idea.

I'm really glad the existing issues came through in the story. I don't think one friendship completed did in the elf/wizard relationships, they just kind of tipped the scale. Rhein is definitely an instigator of more trouble - he's a bit more prominent in the next part of this (which I've actually outlined now). Unfortunately, Rhein is more of the everyday wizard in this period where there are fewer tolerant and understanding ones like Hywel.

Malmagus was my extremely subtle naming sceme. :D

I remember them saying in CoS that muggles and wizards didn't get along in the founder era (which is partly why Slytherin didn't trust the muggleborn students).

I am planning on continuing this!!! I have an outline now and just need to sit down to do it.

Thank you for a wonderful, encouraging review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #42, by marauderfanChicks Before Broomsticks: Hurt Heart

25th January 2015:
I think I might have missed your review hot seat day so this is kind of to make up for that? also because I'm just really excited there's a new chapter of this omg.

I loved the blanket fort. That's the perfect way to hide from all your problems. Even better when you have a friend there too. I've said this so many times but every chapter just reinforces it - I love their friendship, and how selfless it is, esp the fact that Alec drags up his own horrible histories to make Hollie feel better. I feel so bad for Alec getting kicked off that spot because Avery came back - it's so unfair to Alec. Gah, all Avery's return did is mess up a lot of things.

I know how much it must have hurt Hollie to see Roxanne and Avery like that, but here's my opinion: since Hollie wasn't there for the whole thing, and just saw one moment, there's really no way to tell what happened. Maybe it ended in an argument between Roxanne and Avery. Or maybe, if they do get back together, Roxanne will realize how many things she dislikes about Avery. I'd be fine with either of those outcomes. :p

eee! I love that you alluded to your Dean/Seamus fic here and how Luna is Hollie's godmother! :D That was a cute scene and I'm glad that Hollie's parents are supportive and encouraging. And... I think Dean notices something about Roxanne's behaviour that might not have been obvious to Hollie. Dean saw something that wasn't fake. Aha!

Lovely chapter, Julie!! :)

Author's Response: Hey Kristin!

Okay so first of all, I am so sorry about the time it's taken me to reply to this! And I'm just happy that you could make it to read! I always love hearing what you think of new chapters!

Blanket forts are the best way to hide from your problems. Like, right now, my problem is that I really don't want to go to work. I really just want to build a blanket fort and quit my job! haha. But in all seriousness, Alec and Hollie's friendship is one of my favorite things about writing this story. His return (Avery) really did screw up a lot of things for a lot of people!

You're definitely on to something.. is all I will say! I can't give things away, but we are just getting Hollie's perspective here!

See, and here's where I thank you times a million, because I don't think this chapter would have went quite the way it did without me writing that one-shot.. so thank you for requesting it! (again)

And thanks again for this lovely review!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #43, by marauderfanKeeping Secrets: Enough

24th January 2015:
NO. WHAT.

ok, let me back up. I liked Liz's story about accidental magic. I'm glad she believes Charlie and that they're going to be okay. Which brings me to the END OF THIS CHAPTER WHAT IS HAPPENING. Not okay. Who is Amelia, really? Is she who she says she is? Or is she just angry at Charlie?

I am left wondering this: Where are the rest of the chapters because I need to find out all the things? :O Would it help if I send you annoying but supportive PM's asking you how the writing is going? :P

LOVED IT



 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfanKeeping Secrets: The Other Secret-Keeper

24th January 2015:
Whaaa?

Mulciber?

She's a witch?

Did I mention alskjdflkajsdlfa?

Talk about PLOT TWIST. I never in a million years could have seen that coming. I just... okay. I'll start at the beginning. When Amelia mentioned that she knew magic was real I was just like OMG NO WAY THIS IS SO COOL and then figured Liz must be a Squib? and wow, she's a witch but was never allowed to train as one! Did she ever make weird things happen? No releasing pythons from the zoo or anything?

I wonder if she'll recall anything when she sits down to think about it after she's no longer freaking out.

I am kind of furious at her mum though. It was a selfish move on her part to not let Liz learn about magic. But I can kind of understand it, if at that time was the worst of the war and everything.

And oh my, has she some interesting things to tell Charlie now. I wonder how he will react to the news about her actually being a Mulciber...

OFFICIALLY ADDICTED TO THIS STORY

 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfanKeeping Secrets: Secret Number 1

24th January 2015:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day!

CHARLIE. *headdesk* I can't believe he has avoided telling her for THIS LONG. But I guess once he's caught up in the lie, it's harder and harder to get out of it. I'm glad he's FINALLY TELLING HER though, it was about time he came out of the wizarding closet.

(there should totally be a term for that though, when you tell someone you're a wizard? like what type of enclosed space is distinctly magical? Ooh, I've got it: He came out of the Vanishing Cabinet.)

( /tangent. I'm sorry I have the attention span of a Pygmy Puff.)

Ahaha. Um, so Charlie didn't really do that very well, did he? I can think of a lot of better ways he could have said that. Also, doesn't the Statute of Secrecy allow him to demonstrate magic to her since they're already married? Otherwise that's a pretty harsh rule! If I were in Liz's place I'm not sure I would believe Charlie unless I saw some actual proof, so I can totally understand her reaction.

Oooh I think I know what Liz wanted to talk about, if the facts that a) she wasn't feeling well and b) she reacted really emotionally, are relevant. Hmmm...

what a mess they've got themselves in. I wonder how they are going to work this one out.

 Report Review

Review #46, by marauderfanTwo Earthly Kingdoms: To Anger a God

24th January 2015:
I'm here for the TGS review exchange. And wowww I'm so glad I got paired with you this month because this story is phenomenal.

Every single word in this story just feels so perfectly crafted, it's like reading a work of art rather than a story. (I'm sure I've said this to you before, too :p your writing is just SO GOOD and evocative and full of incredible imagery.) I want to quote back to you all the things I loved, but I think I'd end up quoting the entire story back to you because literally all of it was a masterpiece and I bow to your writing skills.

I loved all the allegories to Greek mythology here as well. My favourite being that of Lily as Persephone and Snape as Hades. Generally speaking though, all the references to Greek mythology were brilliant because it really reinforced this image Snape has of himself standing out so much above the others, and with him likening himself to Gods as he describes who he is relative to others, it just seems to fit so well, haha.

I also love how you wrote his completely twisted view of things and how it doesn't really have any logic to it but he's kind of rationalized it in his mind. Like how the sacred twenty-eight with their pureblood names are still lesser than he is despite his half Muggle heritage, because he holds on to the pureblood half of him, even referring to himself as "half a god" - just, the double standards are ridiculous. But they are SO Snape. I am so impressed with how you got into his head.

oooh, is that Regulus and Crouch in love? :D Never would have thought of that, but I like it. And Snape's reaction is perfect.

The way the two things Snape is passionate about are referred to as two separate kingdoms is so beautiful and I just love it. It really reinforces how mutually exclusive these two parts of his life are and how he can never have both of them. And then he loses one, then the other - it all builds up until that really poignant end as he can SEE how his thinking is so twisted. And I love the end - it's like the one place where this story intersects with The Prince's Tale (or whatever that chapter was called from DH) and really grounds it, as the rest of the story had been pretty much all in Snape's head. I didn't even realize until that very last line - the entire thing has no dialogue until that point, and that's so cool.

This was a fantastic fic Laura and I absolutely loved it!! AMAZING work. ♥

Author's Response: Hey there, Kristin! Thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so so much! I apologise in advance if this response is either short or really rambly because I'm really lost for words as to how to respond. I'm just so so glad you liked it - and I'm so so flattered to hear you say that! :) Really, I'm completely blown away by this! If I knew how to do that little heart thingy on here I would! :) :)

Okay, so I adore Greek mythology beyond anything, and I've kinda been going through a phrase where Oscar Wilde and the Greek myths sort of influence everything I write, hence the weird fusion in this :P That being said, this was so much fun to do - I loved making little connections and references to mythological figures (though I got so stuck on the Death Eaters, haha). And yeah, my version of Snape is a pretty self-important kinda guy :P But I liked making him less good from his own pov, tbh, I think he was very ambitious as a child, and probably pretty confident about his own abilities, hence the arrogance.

It's one of the things I like about Snape as a character, actually - how twisted his view of things is, so I'm so glad you liked it! Yeah, it's full of double standards, and I don't think he even really realised the contradictions in what he believes - he just believes them, you know? And I'm so so happy you like him - I was terrified of writing him. Just like, actually petrified. So I'm just glad he came out okay :P

Hehe... one of my OTPs. They sneak in everywhere. I claim no responsibility :P Yeah, given Snape's background and personality I really didn't want him to react well, so... that :) And I will convert you to Regulus/Barty... eventually :P

It was one of those weird ideas, the two kingdoms thing - I'd actually just been reading Machiavelli who referred to two kingdoms: one temporal, one spiritual, so I kinda took that and just applied it to Snape :P And yeah, they're completely mutually exclusive, and he doesn't succeed with either of them. By trying to have both, he essentially loses both. It's kinda sad, in ways, I think, because he ends up with nothing. Yeah, I had to include that moment - it was such a brilliant moment in the books and so important for Snape so I really wanted to reference it in this. And it had no other dialogue mostly because I hate dialogue, not gonna lie :P *hides*

Thank you so so much for the amazing review - I loved it to pieces, and I'm so sorry for the late (possibly rubbish) response. I'm so so blown away by how nice you've been about this fic and thank you so much for everything you said! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #47, by marauderfanPending Further Investigation: xi. epiphanies [or] the ace of hearts

24th January 2015:
I'm back! Ah, I'm so glad there's a sequel to TFWMS. And actually I think I like this story even MORE than TFWMS, if that's possible - mostly because the characters are older here and I can relate to them so much more, as I'm also in the seriously-what-am-I-doing-with-my-life phase. And I can so identify with the general feeling of excitement about new possibilities but at the same time a feeling of loss as the best friends you've had for years are spread all over the place and you rarely see them. Gah, my life in a nutshell. Your characters just feel SO REAL to me right now.

Also, this chapter: I love that you're giving Holly this storyline and, along with it, a voice for the struggles faced by people who are asexual. And I am so happy about Brodie/Holly omg.

So, yay! I'm all caught up, and I'll be back for the next update! :) This is a seriously amazing story and I'm so glad I spent this morning reading this fic rather than job searching. No regrets.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're back! and i know the feeling - i enjoy writing this one even more than tfwms, for the exact same reasons. i'm in the same boat as them as well, and it's really good being able to explore the myriad issues of being a young adult and staring your future in the face, i suppose.

i love holly and brodie more and more every day, and this is actually the first chapter of holly's that i've written since realising i'm on the ace spectrum. i think it reflects that, but i also hope my voice doesn't overshadow holly's here.

i'm really glad you're enjoying this story - it's my baby. go do your job searching, and i'll hopefully see you back for the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauderfanLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: A Brand New Year

24th January 2015:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review, and so sorry for taking 80 years with it :-/

Anyway! This was really well done, and I like the way you contrasted the Potter family with the Malfoys, in terms of how accepting they are of Albus and Scorpius' relationship, and how they show it. The Potters all seem to be really open minded which is so nice. And I love the way you showed how the Potter siblings and cousins all tease each other - as that's exactly how large families like that work. Lots of teasing but it's all backed with love :) I imagine that's kind of a weird thing for Scorpius to adjust to though, as an only child that must be a very new experience.

Aw, poor Albus and Scorpius in the end when James' and Fred's insensitivity got to them. I am glad it didn't have too harmful of an impact though and maybe it means that James and/or Fred will think twice before speaking, and Albus and Scorpius will become comfortable and confident enough to be okay with insensitive teasing. I mean, long term goal here :p but it will be interesting to see how this interaction impacts the future.

I know that in the previous chapter you were kind of struggling with dialogue to fill out a scene but here it was perfect. I didn't feel like anything was glossed over, and I felt fully immersed in the scene. So really well done :)

Your characterization of Albus is really strong, btw - he's clearly established as someone who's kind of insecure and how Scorpius is really supportive. It's an interesting contrast to the previous chapter when Scorpius was in the role of the nervous one (as they were meeting his parents, it made sense)

One thing I do wonder, having not read the prequel, is how long Albus and Scorpius have been together. I can tell it's just recently that they came out, but for the readers who aren't familiar with Albus's Story, a brief mention of little details like that might be nice to give some context to their relationship. As well as what year they're in (they're still at Hogwarts right?) Even though they might be things you've already covered in the previous novel, a tiny bit of recap can't hurt. :)

Lovely work on this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for a great review! I'm especially happy that you're pointing out those missing details which are confusing for anyone who hasn't read the fist fic.

I'm going to edit this chapter and add those details, but here are the answers: Albus and Scorpius is in their Seventh year. They have known each other for seven months, but only dated for four months. Pretty fast proceeding in that relationship... ;-)


 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfanSeized: When is the Timing Ever Good?

24th January 2015:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day :)

Hermione and Draco are getting very comfortable with each other's company ;) I like how they both kind of had that realisation and reflected on how odd it was that they are friends now.

I thought you incorporated the flashback really well, and it shows just how much the war changed Draco, as well as how powerful Hermione's kindness is. It was so sweet how her squeezing his hand gave him the motivation to keep going - and the fact that that motivated him rather than repulsed him really said a lot for how he'd changed.

And then how he gives her hand a squeeze as they're sitting there at lunch. Now, I'm still not converted to Dramione, but that was an adorable scene. Just saying. :p

I wonder if they'll find out anything else from Stan!

Excellent chapter :)

Author's Response: Kristin!! You are so amazing at leaving these hot seat reviews, you're honestly putting me to shame. Thank you a million times ♥

The flashback was Erica's idea, I wanted something to show that Hermione had begun to accept and maybe even forgive him a long time before their friendship started. I think of the trio she would be the one who was the most understanding of his actions from Voldemort's return and throughout the war.

Ahaha! I'm glad you liked that scene. I will have you converted to Dramione by the end of this story, I will!!

Thank you again ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by marauderfanThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

23rd January 2015:
Okay! I've now read the whole thing. Apologies on not reviewing more of these chapters - when I read a fic that's got a lot of chapters I tend to just click right on through rather than reviewing, and I did that in this case because your story is addicting. I know, I'm terrible. BUT. This story was so, so wonderful and I am going to try to find the words to describe just how wonderful.

The way you handled LGBTQ characters, first of all, was just lovely. I also liked that within this group of Ravenclaws, four of the five of them were queer so it was the norm and Lester was the one who stood out as he was straight. Not that it mattered to any of them because they're just all good friends who love each other for being good friends. But I loved that because hetero was the minority here, it turned the tables on heteronormativity. That's so important.

Also, anxiety. I think you handled the subject so well, and as this is a big deal for some people it's especially important to handle tactfully and you really did. Rose's panic attack in the staffroom was heartbreaking and while I knew what was happening outside her head, (i.e. I could tell that the teachers weren't trying to expel her), seeing it all through Rose's eyes was so powerful and I felt so badly for her. It really did feel like a scary moment and you did so well portraying anxiety in this.

Albus and Scorpius were seriously amazing. I kind of had a mini-heart attack when they broke up for that short time there. I just loved your characterisation of both of them, and their obsessions with Latin and Ancient Greek made me smile every time. Please tell me they stay together forever.

All of your characters, though, were really impressive. You put such thought into their personalities and back stories and what makes them who they are, and it shows. They were all just such a delight to read, particularly all of them interacting together as a group. What an awesome group of people. :)

I can 1000% understand why this story won a Dobby. You totally deserve it. Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: honestly it's such a huge compliment that you were so engrossed in the story that you didn't stop to review, it means a lot to me

turning the tables on heteronormativity is my mission in life. i can't articulate how happy it makes me that i achieved that because heteronormativity is such a damaging concept and it's so important to me that i challenge that. and lester being the 'token straight' is also lifted straight from personal experience - my flat is four-fifths queer too and we have the token straight guy, and nobody's queer in isolation. birds of a feather flock together and all that.

anxiety is another of those things i have a vested interest in portraying accurately because i have anxiety myself (and the staffroom scene was really draining and really helpful to write at the same time - this story has honestly taught me so much) but it was also important for me to show the value of having support networks in place - again, personal experience, because that wasn't something i had as a teenager.

albus/scorpius is endgame. they go through a lot together and some of it's worse than their brief break-up, but they do stay together forever and i don't think its spoiling anything of pending further investigation to tell you that.

i'm so glad you like them as much as i do, they really are my babies and i adore them and the way they interact. thank you so much for reading, and for this lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>