Reading Reviews From Member: marauderfan
  
1,173 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marauderfanPitfalls for the Unwary : Run

18th June 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our swap!

Wow, if you were going for the suspense/nail-biting/eeek vibe, you totally nailed it. Even though this was a short chapter, it felt like there was a lot covered in it. The first paragraph was really fast-paced and there was a lot going on in it - but it was effective because it seemed to fit with how Hermione must be processing all these events- everything is happening in such quick succession and it's all a jumble to her. I liked the way you did that.

And the way you introduced Fenrir Greyback first by his voice. Ooh, that was so creepy. Like, you could have said "the voice of Fenrir Greyback" but this is like ten times more chilling that it's the familiar raspy voice she recognizes first before she places who it is.

Hermione is a quick thinker, even under stress, and I like that you showed that here. And I love that last line, that all these things were the least of her problems - scary! It is such an effective hook though and makes me want to continue! I do wonder where Harry and Ron have got off to, if they escaped.

I'm sorry this was more of a rambly reaction than a useful review :p but I really did like it! It's super effective and I love the use of detail in everything that's happening to Hermione, it makes the scene feel that much more real (and scary!) Love it. Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much for the swap. I am really pleased that you felt that the tension and panic came across in the first paragraph. I am always really worried about the first paragraph when I write something as it sets the tone and I really didn't want to mess that up.

Thank you for the lovely comments about the way I introduced Greyback. I noticed that in the books JKR as a tendency to highlight Greyback's voice when he is in a scene (as if it is his most distinctive feature;) I suppose I just learnt from the master. Plus, by withholding his name (even momentarily) it helps to build the tension.

Thank you for your kind words regarding my portrayal of Hermione and the level of detail. So far I have written almost 30 thousand words of this story (in various sages of editing) and the biggest challenge I have discovered with writing this so far is preventing Hermione from looking weak while still maintaining a high level of apprehension. I had hoped that this introductory chapter (even though it is short) manages to reflect Hermione's strength under pressure.

I love the fact that you describe your review as a reaction - I think that is one of the best types of reviews (especially when the chapter is so short.)

Many thanks,
~Elfy


 Report Review

Review #27, by marauderfanFounders Four: Pillars of the Ages: Chapter one: The Beginning

18th June 2015:
Founders Review Swap! :p

I love Founders stories and it's always so great to find more of them in the archives as it's an era that needs more appreciation for sure! I really enjoyed what I have read of yours so far - this is a great first chapter!

What's most interesting and stands out the most to me is the way in which it's told, with the speaking directly to the reader from the narrator (i.e. "Reader, I cannot promise a happy tale") - it makes it feel like one of those old kind of dark fairy tales which is really appropriate to the time period. I also like that it starts out by saying that it will not be happy. That's honestly part of the appeal of Founder's stories for me - they always end sadly and make me feel all the feels.

Your setting descriptions are wonderful and really help set the medieval scene. and I love the introductions of Salazar and Godric! I'm not sure yet how these two scenes relate but I would imagine that some sort of connection is coming soon. The idea of a young Salazar Slytherin hiding up in a tree to read and hide from his mother is oddly amusing to me, and yet still fits what we know of his character very well. And Godric - haha, I loved that scene with Ingvar Slytherin and how Godric just pushes his buttons as if he hasn't been away for ten years. It's such a neat idea that he had a mentor - and provides a reasonable explanation for how Godric and Salazar might have become friends.

This is a great start and I love the tone you have set. That's such an important feature in Founders stories especially, because you want it to feel old-timey, and it does. Well done!

FYI, I noticed a typo in the beginning of the Godric section - "relitivly" should be spelt "relatively" ;)

Overall though this was a wonderful read! Thanks for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #28, by marauderfanAt The Lake: At The Lake

16th June 2015:
Here for our review swap!

Wow, this is really impressive the amount you have managed to put into only 500 words! Congrats on that, because I know how hard it is and you've done wonderfully. And what a lovely pairing too ♥ I don't think I had seen that before but I really love it!

Your descriptions, particularly setting the scene in the beginning, are beautiful. I particularly like the bit about the ripples in the reflection on the lake faintly echoing her appearance - what a superb visual.

I also like that you really touched on those feelings of alienation Gabrielle would have at Hogwarts, at a school where she doesn't speak the language very well, and knows no one, and is really just there to be a prop in the tournament for Fleur. Poor girl! And then Daphne arrives just at the right moment, a friendly face in a crowd that of people who don't care about her - it was a lovely moment.

While most of the relationship is behind the scenes, it's really neat the way you have interspersed their first meeting and their wedding and how you were able to convey so many emotions that way, especially how Gabrielle is just as entranced by Daphne that day as she was when they first met - how it's set up, it kind of gives this feeling of their love unchanging through the years, which is sweet.

Lovely work on this! Thanks for the swap!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the swap and the lovely review!

I actually found it pretty easy to keep this to 500 words. I have been working on keeping my writing direct and concise, and have been reading a lot of other EWC entries. Once I drafted this I think I actually had to ADD words.

I'm glad you liked the pairing! It seemed super weird at first, especially with the age and geographical differences, but once the plot bunny came it just seemed so natural.

Thank you so much for your compliments on my descriptions! That is also something I've been working on, as I historically tend to get pretty wordy describing characters' emotions, and the one-shot I did focusing on descriptions got too wordy doing that! So it's definitely good to hear that I've struck a good balance here.

Thanks again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfanAreopagitica: Prologue

16th June 2015:
Hi! I'm so glad you posted about a swap as it brought me to this wonderful story. First of all, I love the title! I was not familiar with that word before and when I got to the end and saw your authors note, well it's really just perfect and I can't think of a better title especially for something focusing on the war year at Hogwarts when students voices were censored and the Carrows had the run of the place. And being a historical pamphlet from the 17th century just fits in so well with all you were saying about history in the last paragraph of the chapter. I love that! Anyway, on to the actual story!

Actually before I even get into the plot yet I'm just going to mention how much I love Luna and there are so few stories that really focus on her so I'm really glad to see this. She is a great character and her perspective is such an interesting one as she's got this balance of eccentric and very profound/sentimental, and you've managed to touch on both of those in just a short opening chapter - her fondness for bright coloured things, gifts from her father - and the way she shares her gifts with her housemates, that is so Luna.

Those quills, though! What are they! And gloves, are those going to have blue lights too? I'm really curious what all the little gifts are for! As of now it just seems that they bring a little light in the darkness, and that alone would be such a Luna thing to do, but I can't help wondering if there's something more to it, like they all connect and pass on messages in the way that the DA coins do.

You've certainly given me a lot to think about! This is a wonderful opening chapter and I'm eager to read more of it! Thanks for the swap! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for the review!

I didn't expect many people to know what Areopagitica is or means, but I really like what it stands for once you do know the history of it - political involvement, awareness, anti-censorship, rebellion! It's perfect for what I'm writing. Actually, the word 'Areopagitica' has a longer history than what I explained in my author's note since John Milton took it from an Ancient Greek speech, but I won't get into all that now!

I really wanted to write about Luna during the Carrows year because she's such a ray of sunshine. Also, as you'll see later on, only Luna could be doing this.

Well, I won't give anymore away, but I hope you stick around to read the rest!

Thanks for the review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfanTaming the Dragon Tamer: [two]

16th June 2015:
Hi Anja! I read and loved the first chapter of this a while ago (as the Snorkack) and your status today reminded me to come back! Thanks for offering to review people's stories - it's so kind of you :)

I love how enthusiastic Charlie is talking about the dragons, and especially the back story of that Welsh Green, Miranda. It's like you're making the dragon an actual character in the story by giving it this whole history, which is appropriate given how attached Charlie is to the dragons. I'm not really sure why that whole section stood out to me so much, but I just loved that you gave them their own story.

As well as the thought you put into how the dragons have to be transported all over the place and cant all just be released in Romania. I'm glad they don't just release them. My ecologist brain was wondering about the ramifications of introducing a nonnative dragon species and what it would effect. Maybe I'm thinking too hard about this. :p Anyway, to get back on topic, I like how much thought you put into the dragons' individual stories as well as how the dragon taming business works (because it's really not described much in the books!)

Bwahaha, I really enjoyed when Christopher totally proved Charlie's unfounded assumptions wrong.
Charlie: You know nothing, Christopher Parker.
Christopher: [CALMLY DROPS THE KNOWLEDGE BOMB AND HELPS THE SICK DRAGONS.]

Your characters are wonderful so far - it's very evident just how passionate Charlie is about things that he cares about, like the dragons he considers his 'babies'. And another thing that's great about your portrayal of Charlie is how his prejudice is shown as such a character flaw and how he's not one-sided about it - he feels a lot of regret about being rude, but doesn't know how to apologise because his ego gets in the way. And in that way he's a perfect contrast to Chris, who doesn't have much of a temper or an ego, he's just pretty chill and unflappable. I think they can both learn a lot from each other. That last line is wonderful as it leaves it pretty open to lots of possibilities. This is a wonderful story Anja, and I'm so glad I came back to read more of it! :)

Author's Response: Hello again!

I really loved the Snorkacks review, thank you so much for that. I love offering reviews because feedback is so important for all of us, and it helps me find stories I probably wouldn't have come across otherwise. So you see it's mostly just selfish need to find the next great story. ;)


I'm so glad you commented on that section! I think Charlie's love for the dragons is so strong that for him they are definitely like people. Everyone who owns a cat probably knows how different they can be... mine is stubborn and crazy and flings herself at the vaccume cleaner every time trying to protect me from the fierce beast making so much noise. We got her off the street as a kitten when she was starved almost to death and it took months for me to be able to touch her without wearing thick leather gloves or she would bite and scratch me badly.

Sorry for going off on a tangent here, I guess what I wanted to say is our pets/animals do have a back story and it's important if you love them. That's why Miranda's is important to Charlie.

Hahaha yeah, I've been thinking along the same lines about letting non-native dragons roam free... kind of like introducing rabbits to Australia - that ended well too.

Chris really is a no-nonsense kind of guy. I love him, probably because he's how I would like to be myself, but I'm just not that cool about stuff.

I'm really glad people seem to enjoy Charlie's flaws just as much as his good sides. I think it makes him more real somehow, relateable.

Thank you for your awesome review, it really made my day!

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #31, by marauderfanThe Worst: From Bad to Worse

15th June 2015:
You incredibly wonderful person, leaving me all those lovely reviews. ♥ This review is for me to say thank you! (And also because I'm so excited to see another chapter on this story!!!)

This was a really surprising chapter. I couldn't think of who had written that letter - and Julia is probably the last person I would have guessed. I also don't know how Julia could possibly have thought that plan would work, since it depends on so many things happening exactly as she wants them to and life just isn't like that. *headdesk* Regardless, I'm glad the girls made up again afterwards and that they're still on good terms because I don't think Dom can lose anyone else just now, especially not her best friend. Though... I am a bit nervous to see how Julia will resolve the situation, or whether she'll muck it up even more :p I am really curious what Julia will end up saying to Teddy to explain it all, haha.

Ah! I need to know what happens! This is a great chapter and I can't believe there's only one left. You've done a wonderful job on this story so far and I'm so eager to know how it ends.



 Report Review

Review #32, by marauderfanAs Fate Would Have It: 20 Questions and Cheat

30th May 2015:
HI GRACE HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I know I'm a bit early but I won't have internet for the rest of the week and saw that your birthday was coming up so here's an early review. And it's already your birthday in New Zealand and Australia so really I'm not that far ahead with this, maybe Canada is just behind :p

Aaaanyway. I really liked this chapter, and I love how it's such a flip of the previous one - rather than despair at being stuck in the airport for Christmas (at which her despair is quite understandable - this almost happened to me once too) now she is really enjoying the time, with her airport family, so to speak. She's made some new friends and they're playing card games super competitively -sounds like a lot of fun, considering! I'm glad she stepped out of her comfort zone and went to introduce herself to a group of strangers as everyone involved was probably much happier with the companionship. Not to mention that game is pretty impossible with only two people :p

The discussion Roxanne and Alyssa had about their lives though, every minute I was worried she'd slip up! There's so much to watch out for talking about - even when she pretends she's a doctor, then she gets asked about surgery and isn't familiar enough with Muggles to know what that is. Her reaction made me laugh! Though poor Alyssa, she must have been so weirded out to be talking with someone who is (claiming to be) a doctor and has no concept of what surgery is. I'd be suspicious, haha.

A lovely chapter! Great job and hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow :)

Author's Response: OH MY GOODNESS HELLO THANK YOU! I'm so glad to hear that you liked the chapter! I'm sure if Dom hadn't had her airport family there to keep her company it would've been a very sad stay for her. It all depends on who you're spending time with really. Card games are especially fun to play at airports, especially when you're friends with super competitive people because then things get interesting.

I had the most fun writing their discussion because I knew how confused Roxanne must've been with all of the muggle stuff that Alyssa was talking about and the amount of quick-thinking that she would've had to do during the conversation to not slip up.

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW I REALLY APPRECIATE THIS!


 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfanHigh Romance: Prologue

30th May 2015:
Hi Laura :) I don't know how you do it, but all of your writing (that I've read) has such a beautiful, ethereal quality to it. Even this, which is about a delayed flight at an airport, about the most mundane, least ethereal thing that can happen to a person. But somehow you give it this really beautiful quality and that's so impressive!

Having spent my fair share of time in airports as well, so many parts of this were instantly relatable, like the way airports are hypnotic and draining and leave you feeling 'like not a person at all', and the way the lights are always harsh and you can see the tiredness on your face in the light. These tiny details you've included just make the scene so rich and relatable and I feel like I'm right there. Not only do I feel like I'm right in the scene, but also experiencing the same kind of detached, lonely and exhausted feeling Rose has.

There is so much loneliness expressed in this chapter, the last flight on a long succession of flights, alone, where Rose (well, I assume it's Rose!) has changed on her travels and is going back to a place where things haven't changed, such as (presumably) Scorpius.

This is seriously gorgeous writing. The one thing I'm left wondering is why Rose is taking an aeroplane rather than a Portkey, but I suppose that's not necessarily an important detail to include in a prologue, haha. Speaking of which, this is such a short chapter but expresses SO MUCH, and that's a mark of really grest writing.

Love it!

Author's Response: Heya! ♥

Thank you so so much for this review - honestly! I swear, all of your reviews reduce me to a blubbering mess on the floor, you are just so kind and your reviews are always so lovely and unexpected. Thank you so much ♥

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and that it was at least interesting! I was a bit hesitant because I was concerned that nothing really happens here, but as you say it is just a prologue after all! Hopefully it gives a good indication of the tone and of Rose's character :) airports are the worst, but they're also really interesting too! You're allowed to feel like a zombie in them and because they all roughly look the same I have a theory that they're all secretly one place haha. Hehe your Portkey related question will be answered soon I promise! I do have an answer to it, just not yet :)

Thanks for the really amazing review, honestly. You're the best! ♥

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfanEffortlessly Dead: Issues with Trust

30th May 2015:
Hi Emmi! I'm so glad to see another chapter on this story :)

Besides, many pure-bloods scorn Muggleborns because they canít list a magical ancestry as long as their arm. As far as Iím concerned, thatís more condemnable. We at least hate each for something weíve†done, not because of our supposed pedigree.Ē -- wow, for all the angry, short tempered things Menna says, sometimes she's got some profound points as well.

I would have guessed agoraphobia too - though that whole episode was pretty surprising! I can't blame Galen for being so shocked and unsure of how to react but he covered for her well. I love that she goes right back to her short temper and ordering him around haha. But there was a moment of vulnerability there when she thought she could trust Galen and wasn't sure what that meant, and I think that will be important later.

Eeek who was watching? That is such an eerie feeling to have when you sense that someone is nearby. Ah, it's Vance. That was a really interesting interaction between the three of them - and I definitely agree with Menna's assessment of him that he's not trustworthy. Just the fact that he's not on Murdo's side when he's supposedly working for him raises an alarm - he seems like the type of person who would switch sides at a moment's notice if the convenience suits him. Defininitely not the sort of person Menna needs on her side.

Ahahaha though I laughed so hard when Vance was trying to push their buttons and said Galen is attracted to Menna, their reactions were so awkward and she clearly felt way out of her depth. Still, I'm not giving up hope for this ship to sail eventually :p

This was an awesome chapter! I am really enjoying this story and can't wait to find out what will happen next.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry it took me a while to answer this! Real life has been pretty hectic for the last couple of days.

Menna would like for me to inform you that she can say some pretty profound things once in a while. :) Just between you and me, though, those moments are few and far between... ;)

Menna's lived so secluded life I'm surprised that she thought it would be a good idea to go in places where there's a chance to meet many people at the same time. :P Then again, she's known for doing stupid stunts like that. I think it's been pretty much established by now that the short temper and being bossy is (mostly) a facade - after all, she's only sixteen going on seventeen and alone without any support from her family (because of the aforementioned stupid stunts...) As for whether the things you listed will be important... Maybe, maybe not. ;)

I'm so glad you assessed Vance so correctly when you take into account he's only appeared three times! He's exactly as you said he is - an opportunist of the worst kind. Definitely not someone Menna (or anyone else for the matter) should trust. He's amusing, though. :)

I had so much fun writing that scene and I'm glad you enjoyed it as well! I think it was pretty obvious that Menna hadn't even considered that possibility. ;) I'd be lying if I said that I wasn't trying to nudge Menna and Galen in the romantic direction but we'll have to wait and see if that's the direction the story takes them. They're both pretty stubborn...

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

- Emmi


 Report Review

Review #35, by marauderfanFinally Reunited: Finally Reunited

28th May 2015:
Hello! I don't think I'd read any of your work before so I'm very lucky you posted about reviews or I don't know that I would have seen this - and I'm so glad I found this story!

Ahh, this is just such a cool idea and what I love is just how entirely open ended it is. There are so many possible explanations for when and where this is happening and its making me think so much, which is exactly what good writing should do. Here are my guesses.

This seems to me to be set after the deaths of James and Lily, as in the beginning James is reflecting on the good and bad in his life. And then at the end they are meeting Harry - which, ahh, so many feels. So this could be after Harry's death and he has gone to join his parents wherever they are, beyond.

Or, and I think this is my favorite interpretation of it, this takes place when Harry is looking into the Mirror of Erised in first year. The group mentioned at the end is various other members of the family, and Harry is standing in the doorway (aka frame of the mirror!) to greet them and see their faces. I just love the idea of that scene from the other side, from those who are in the mirror. It's not quite a reunion, but it's almost. Ahh.

Am I close? :p Regardless, I really enjoyed reading this. Lovely work.

Author's Response: I left it open deliberately to let people decide for themselves just because imagination is the best in these scenarios. I personally wrote it in mind of Ignotus Peverelle, the third brother, and how he 'greeted death as an old friend and went with him gladly, and, as equals they departed this life'. So this is set, in my mind, when Harry is very old and lived a long life. He's just gotten to the afterlife and about to catch up with everyone and it's just wonderful. I do like the mirror of Erisid idea as well and it's definitely an option so you're closer with the first option but it is open to whatever the reader thinks.

 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfanSaving Severus Snape : vii.

28th May 2015:
I iz in the interwebz, stealthily visiting your AP with a surprise review! ;)

This was an awesome chapter and reminded me how much I had missed this story! I love the way you write Remus, he's so sweet. I want to be best friends with him. And I love the way he and Hermione start out as such close friends right from the start.

Wow, the bit about the scar that says Mudblood on her arm and how she's gone to such lengths to hide it but in a way she doesn't want to because of all it represents - that was such a powerful paragraph and I really appreciated. In honesty I had totally forgotten about that scar, but the mention of it really drove home the idea of how much she's already been through and why being in 1976 with some relatively carefree teenagers is slightly surreal to her.

Hahaha, I love that Rita Skeeter keeps showing up. And Hermione being so rude to her in French! XD So great. I hope Rita Skeeter is in every chapter. :p I don't know what is so amusing about it honestly.Probably the fact that when she grew up she was still the same exact person.

Ooh, another thing I liked was how Hermione really struggles with pretending to not know the nonverbal spells, as she has been using them for so long. Your description of how that felt was particularly great, how Hermione equates it to holding in a sneeze and suppressing instinctual reaction. I love how much thought you put into this.

Snape is stilll being grumpy. At least he's impressed by Hermione's mad skillz. Whether that turns into respect or resentment is yet to be discovered I guess...

Awesome chapter! Love it :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by marauderfan(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

27th May 2015:
ROSE I AM SO MAD AT YOU RIGHT NOW AND IT'S YOUR FAULT THAT THE FLOOR IS COVERED WITH TINY PIECES OF MY BROKEN HEART.

Oh, and this is your first prize review for the nonlinear challenge.

I could understand both of them in that first scene when Remus wanted to leave - the Order needs people and he knows he can help. And Tonks, well she's just been through a whole lot, having a baby and adjusting to that new life and then her new family is threatened by this battle at Hogwarts, I can see how she'd react with emotion first before logic has a chance to step in, and then regret saying it when it's too late to take the words back.

I love that you showed Tonks as she fought her way through the battle, and the little details about what it was like for her - a disguise that makes her less of a target for Death Eaters, and the way she stops along the way even as she is trying to find Remus quickly because its so important to her that she lets him know she is sorry, she still stops to duel and probably saves some students' lives along the way.

That ending killed me. All they get is a glance, just a few seconds but it's not enough and her chance to apologize is ripped away from her as she WATCHES HIM DIE. AAAH D-': Too sad. And she probably died thinking that it was her fault he died, as it was just the second he turned to look at her that Dolohov got him.

Akxmfjsjgiejvnsjgjhskshf. I am sad. You have such a knack for writing stories that go right for the feels and have such real characters and emotions. I love that you wrote Tonks and Remus again after so long but I hated that it was the ship sinker. Waah :( I guess I shouldn't really be blaming you because this is what JKR gave us, but, ugh. I'm sorry I don't have more profound things to say but my feels are crushed and now I can't words.

Really well done on this story. Great work.

 Report Review

Review #38, by marauderfanKeep Calm and Carry On: Just Edie

27th May 2015:
Wow, so much has changed! Aah, I love that she's working for the FGC and doing freelance writing, I am so glad that things worked out so well and that she's doing the work she loves. I like that it's set up so that things may eventually return to somewhat-normal with Dean and Edie because I love their friendship :) but it's not an easy road and thats shown really well.

I also love that Rose and Edie are legit friends now. Rose was always an interesting character and had a lot in common with Edie in some ways, despite their differences, and its nice to see that they were able to become friends.

The part where she goes back to Hogwarts was so metaphorical of her journey over the whole story so far.So deep. I loved it. And omg I am on the edge of my seat waiting to know what will happen with Edie and Oliver. Anything could happen and I can't believe there is only one chapter left! I am so excited to know what happens but also not excited because then it will be over. It's a real dilemma. Aah! Anyway, this was a great chapter!! I love all the different themes and how well rounded this story is - it's so much more than a love story, its about finding who you are and growing up and there are so many things that go into that so I like how there were so many subplots, it made for a very rich story.

Excellent work!

Author's Response: Yes, things have finally worked out for Edie--at least in the employment department. I suppose she could have a big-shot journalism career writing about everything that interests her, but that didn't feel too realistic to me!

Dean and Edie will probably never go back to being completely normal, but they're at least talking now. Natalie is going to put a strain on things. Dean finding a new (and more compatible) love interest is really important and formative for their relationship. Edie will realize that Dean was only doing certain things for her (landing her an internship, for one) and being there for her all the time because he had feelings for her. I tried to allude to those weird, semi-jealous feelings that occur when someone who liked you unrequitedly finds a new love interest. Edie certainly doesn't have feelings for Dean, but he's being swept away much in the way that Lisa was by Justin. It sheds some light on how Dean's actions as her supposed best friend were really founded on sexual or romantic intentions, and not just friendship, which makes you feel super weird.

Yes, Rose and Edie are friends! It was important to me that this wasn't a Girl vs Girl fic--especially Girl vs Girl fighting over Boy. In a lot of ways Edie and Rose had more in common than Edie and Lisa. The former are both single (or before Conor at least), in to the nightlife scene, and writers. Lisa and Edie are meant to represent the friend you make when you're eleven, and who you grow in a different direction from. Even though Lisa and Edie will be best friends until the end of forever and always, they don't have a lot in common (unlike Rose and Edie!)

Hmmm, maybe this should become a Rose/Edie fic...

I'm so glad that this comes across as more than a love story. The second half of the fic, when Edie starts to have those ~*~fEeLiNgS~*~ for Oliver, definitely becomes more about their relationship. But it's definitely not The Most Important Thing in the story--nor is it in life!

Wow, all of my responses are kinda preachy, eh?

Thank you! ♥



 Report Review

Review #39, by marauderfanKeep Calm and Carry On: Girl Seeks General Sense of Purpose

27th May 2015:
This was a great chapter and I love that Edie is really finding her passion in life even if it isn't clearly apparent to her yet - she's realised now that journalism isn't for her (and her declining that job was really unexpected but perfect and I'm glad she did), and she seems most invested in social activism and that's where she feels most connected and that she can make a difference. I could see her working for a Wizarding nonprofit org to create change, given her attention to the Female Goblin Coalition and how much the outcome of the rally means to her, so I wouldn't be surprised to see her eventually end up with a job concerning that sort of thing. Of course, as I myself know too well, sometimes the most interersting and meaningful work means you don't make much money, but it's worth it to do what you love!

I have so many feelings about Edie and Oliver and I can't decide whether they're going to make it in the end, as there's so few chapters left. Things are pretty messed up now and it's so complicated, but it seems to be just bad circumstance and it does feel realistic.

Edie continues to have the most hilarious comments about her unlucky life and unemployment. I laughed out loud both times it was mentioned that some sort of wayward food had materialised in her hair. :p

Off to read the next chapter now!!

Author's Response: Hey you!

I'm glad that Edie not being "What I Wanna Be When I Grow Up" sits well with most readers. *Quickly uses this as an excuse to talk about self* I studied Art History in school and have been trying so hard to get a job in an art museum ever since, but the more that I learn about general philosophies and practices in the Art World, the less I want to become part of it. (This is just me here.) Edie's undergoing the same thing. After the way that Theo and Mr. Ward treated her, Edie started to have second thoughts. Now, learning that the publication she thought was so above it all really *isn't* any better, she's realized that she had grandiose ideas about people and journalism that aren't necessarily true (at least in this story.)

Yes! You're just hitting the nail on the head, with the problem in Ediver's relationship being timing and circumstance. It's been a difficult dance because I didn't want it to seem like they randomly hated each other and then it turned into love. Stories about people at odds who fall for one another are so interesting, but I was hoping to approach it from a different angle.

Oh gosh, I know that after I went through a breakup I did *not* look cute. Same hoodie for days, bloodshot eyes and swollen face from crying--like people in my classes were staring at me. It was bad, but not so bad as having cheese in your hair ;)



 Report Review

Review #40, by marauderfanGravel on the Ground: From the Ashes: Chapter 10

27th May 2015:
Hi Farmgirl! I am back on land for a few days and here to appreciate and love this chapter!

This was great. You've got Ollivander's mannerisms and dialogue down perfectly, and as always I'm really impressed with your ability to adhere so closely to canon. Ollivander is kind of weird in that his love of magic and wandlore kind of gives him a strange energy that's a bit off-putting, but in his own way he did show Sadie that she has nothing to fear from magic. It was wonderful to see Sadie face that fear, realise she has a choice, and take a step to conquer her fear - she was close to following her flight instinct but she has already changed a lot now that she has support.

As always Fred and George really shine here. I will never tire of saying how much I love your writing of the twins!

Lovely chapter and I'm so eager to read more. :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by marauderfanMurphy's Law: Chapter One

8th May 2015:
Review swap!!

I actually know someone who seems to have ALL the bad luck, similarly to Pippa in your story, and one thing I've noticed about people who attract bad luck is they always have the BEST stories to tell because their lives have so many ridiculous things. Pippa seems like this sort of narrator - she's got a sense of humour about her bad luck which makes it all really funny to hear about.

Poor thing though - I couldn't help wondering if she's got a curse on her or something! haha. The curse of her surname, maybe. I did appreciate that her surname is Murphy ;) But really - everything they do at Hogwarts involves some sort of potential danger, like the high likelihood of encountering angry magical creatures or accidentally Transfiguring tendrils onto your face or exploding a potion - how does she participate in classes at all?! haha I could see her excelling at Arithmancy though, I don't think there's anything too dangerous about numbers. :p

Love the idea that Dom uses Pippa's bad luck to drive off dates she's changed her mind about. At least it's good luck for Dom if nothing else! :p

Also, the last three lines of this chapter are genius and I love it. :D It's just so wizardy, too - I could totally see Frogbeard being a wizard surname, and Hogwarts having a frog choir - of course. Not only is it a hilarious way to end the chapter as Pippa puts things in perspective, it fits right in with the quirky wizarding world we know and love.

Way to get out of your comfort zone and post this! I wouldn't have guessed that this was a new style for you - nicely done. Thanks for the swap :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by marauderfanto the end of time: Just a Phase

8th May 2015:
since the previous chapter (and my review for it) was really short here's a bonus review to make it fair ;)

This chapter was really sweet and I love the idea of this friendship that transcends house boundaries to the point where they hang out in each other's common rooms all the time. Unity! Hurrah!

PARVATI LIKES LAVENDER :D :D :D I mean, I guess the story summary said that, but I'm still very happy about this :D Poor girl though, being pressured into saying something that's not true just because she's worried what will happen if she admits the truth. :( I mean, how do you admit your crush when they ARE IN THE SAME ROOM? so not only is it about coming out, a daunting enough task on its own, but also that her crush is her best friend.

I also liked that the name she gave them was Harry, incidentally her date to the Yule Ball the following year haha.

Love these little snapshots, this is a wonderful story so far. Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Hey, Kristin!

I figured that there was nothing in the books that said the girls didn't hang out with each other, so why not stick it in :P

Hehe, yeah, I love these two together, even if they aren't together together. And I do love Parvati, I just might be a bit mean to her at times haha.

I'm so glad that you like this! Thanks for doing the swap :)

Claire


 Report Review

Review #43, by marauderfanto the end of time: Bracelets

8th May 2015:
Review swap!

I love this chapter! The way you're developing their friendship is just so touching, and what I love most of all about it is that even though Lavender is her ditzy, giggly self, it's not annoying here as she can be in the books. Since we're seeing this scene from the perspective of her best friend, it really highlights Lavender's thoughtfulness and how she thinks of others and how to display her affection for them. I adore the idea of them having matching friendship bracelets, its definitely something they would do.

I think this short little scene does a wonderful job of showing how close they are. It's a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for doing the swap!

I'm so excited that you like this Lavender! The books always show her as being rather shallow and ditzy, but they're also all from Harry's PoV and he didn't seem all that fond of her nor did he really spend all that much time with her. I'm positive that she's really a genuinely wonderful person, she can just be a bit over-the-top at times :P

I'm glad you like this so much! Thanks again for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfanFaith: change.

7th May 2015:
Hi! I'm here with prize review #4!

Next-Next-gen! That's certainly a new thing for me, but it doesn't seem that odd because I'm so familiar with the YLYL universe by now that it didn't even occur to me how rare next-next gen is. anyway, i'm rambling.

that is unfortunate that they have to move because the rent went up. but I can totally relate. being a responsible adult and having to pay bills when you're still only employed part of the time = hard. I think you've captured the mentality of these young adults really well.

Wizards still haven't come up with anything faster than owls when Muggles have texting and who knows what else by this point in time?! haha, that's a little sad, wizards are WAY behind the times here. I wonder if they've invented their own magical version of TV yet or if they all still use just the wireless? haha. anyway, that bar actually sounds awesome. I love the description there too - of the decor, the other patrons, the barkeep, everything - I could visualize it so well. And Bloody Merlins, hahaha, props to Roisin as that's brilliant.

Cassie was not a very understanding girlfriend, what with her not trusting Faith's ability to stay faithful to her (sorry, pun totally intended) and questioning her decision to not rely on her parents forever. I could see that relationship going downhill from pretty early on in their conversation and wasn't all that surprised when it suddenly ended.

But Austin! He's so great and I love the friendship between him and Faith. Their banter is a lot of fun to read.

Haha ew their new apartment sounds pretty horrendous. But at least it's cheap! And has good acoustics for their music! What more could they ask for, it's a deal. :P Hopefully neither of them is too afraid of cockroaches or rats or Acromantulas or whatever else lives in that house that they haven't discovered yet but will find whenever they move in.

This is great so far. I love your characters and I can't wait to see what adventures are in store for them, as well as a look into the wizard music industry because that sounds really interesting. I will definitely be back when you've got a new chapter up!

 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfanWake up, Rose.: The Nightmare Before Christmas

6th May 2015:
Hey Joey! I'm here with your third prize review! I know you said chapter 4 but... technically, I have already reviewed that, just not under my own name. heh heh.

Poor Rose! I felt so bad for her, being argued about in the middle of the Great Hall, and Albus, WHO STILL HAS NOT APOLOGISED TO ROSE, is standing up for her, but so loudly that it's only making the situation more embarrassing for her. And Scorpius! Ugh! I thought he felt badly about this whole thing and I am just so irritated at those two boys for being insensitive. I can't even imagine how mortifying that would be for Rose. Hopefully (and most likely), Hogwarts will have something different to gossip about tomorrow.

Roxanne is really sweet. I like that she's there for Rose. And I'm pretty sure I've said this before but if so it deserves to be repeated, but I LOVE the wonderful sibling relationship between Hugo and Rose. They are so supportive of each other, and honest, it's really great. Though, ahaha, those rumors :p

Small detail, but I love that she pays a first year to deliver a message to Scorpius. Haha. I'm glad she confronted him because that's important, but I do hope we get Scorpius' side of the story at some point. I don't hate Scorpius, but I don't like him much either - he seems insensitive but not intentionally malicious - but at this point I really can't decide what to make of him.

Wow, I actually loved that conversation between Rose and her friends because 'school friends' is such a real thing - though, as they pointed out as well, even best friends drift apart after school and despite their optimism I can't help thinking it will happen to them too because that's just what happens.

Hugo! Omg, I felt so bad for him, poor guy! *hugs Hugo* So glad Teddy knew where to look for him, but that is just such a horrible thing to happen to him - I would be absolutely PANICKING if i were shoved into a closet and not able to move for eight hours - and I hope those bullies get put in their place and stop being homophobic bigots. Bahaha, Teddy's reaction "that's illegal... but I don't care". XD He is the greatest.

I agree with Rose, Dom's apology is nothing but selfish because she just doesn't want to get in trouble. But Dom totally would deserve it. Also, how Rose doesn't want to tell anyone because it also reflects badly on herself for being involved - this whole scene is so strong for what it says about victim blaming in society - the incident wasn't Rose's fault but it makes her look bad so she says nothing, although by keeping silent she is also kind of protecting the people who did it to her. Gah! :( Anyway, I like that you addressed that. You really are taking on some important issues in this fic and I think that's really great.

Awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #46, by marauderfanThe Story of You: The Story of You

4th May 2015:
SIAN. This is GORGEOUS. Not only do I love all things Albus/Gellert, but this is just such a beautiful representation of them and ashdfjahsdki. Teach me your ways. I'm going to try to review coherently but be warned there will probably be significant keyboard smash/gushing and mostly consist of my quoting your own incredible words back to you.

Before I even get into the story itself, your WRITING. It's better than some professional authors, I swear. It just flows so beautifully, with metaphors so evocative, and you craft such timeless art with your words. Speaking of words, I do not have enough words to describe how AMAZING your writing is. Gah.

I love the use of second person, too - it's so personal here, but a bit detached, like the narrator is writing a letter to Albus after a long time; and that POV really brings the story to life.

it was your time at school that made you realise, slowly, that you couldnít bury your nose in dusty pages and expect to live in the present -- this! ugh, I love it so much because it just works so perfectly with the narrative and I could absolutely see the young Albus being like this - and it fits in with his later assertion that "it does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live". Perfect.

I also love how there's about 6 lines of dialogue in here but in those few lines and the little character moments, their personalities are three dimensional and real and so present. You wrote their love in such a beautiful way - it was at the same time so happy and bittersweet, because Albus is afraid to write the words (which, once again, ties in to the books theme just too perfectly.)

And on the topic of the recurring theme of books and of life being a fairytale and who's the hero - I really loved that aspect because in Albus' eyes, surely Gellert was a hero for a while, as his first love and whatnot, but it all changes and then they're both simultaneously the hero and the villain (because they don't know who did it) and in the end Albus has to simultaneously listen to his heart and fight against it. He stops dwelling on the dream of his past, and on the fairytale it was once, and remembers to live for the present. It's really sad because you can tell that Albus still cares for Gellert, and maybe wishes that he didn't. THIS: Albus, as you fought your heart and your lover simultaneously; you stole the pen from Life and wrote the ending of the story yourself. -- I just love that line as it sums up so many of the themes that you've brought up in this story, not to mention is just so expressive and beautiful.

i have to quote you again: You never stopped to think that hurricanes always release the debris they have gathered up, scattering them around, miles away from their point of origin, useless and discarded. -- asdfhlahsj. JUST WOW. THAT IS ALL. UGHHH I LOVE THIS

I apologise if this review makes no sense at all, but I really did love the story so much, even if it reduced me to inarticulate keyboard smash. HULK LIKES STORY.

Please keep writing forever

Kristin

 Report Review

Review #47, by marauderfanThe Fourth Daughter: The Pavilion

1st May 2015:
Hey Cassie! I've seen this mentioned all over the place before, probably as it placed in the Keckers a few years ago, and I'm not sure how I've never read it before because I LOVE anything founders-era.

Okay, I know this is probably not even meant to be a major point, or that funny, but THEIR NAMES START WITH A B C D. hehehe :D ... but my silly observations aside, the opening to this is wonderful - I really appreciate your descriptions as I can so easily imagine this beautiful ball room and their fancy gloves and things, it's such a great image.

Omg, there are more alphabetical names. Haha, I love that more than I should.

THERE IS A SPIRAL STAIRCASE HIDDEN BEHIND A SECRET PANEL IN THE WALL. This is like all of my childhood dreams come true.

And it goes to a snowy forest? It just keeps getting better and better! Pretty sure they've ended up in Narnia.

Okay, now that I've gotten my capslock reactions out of the way, I can provide you with some more useful thoughts. I love the way you've started this. It has such a lovely old-fashioned feel, but it's not too stuffy which is something that can easily happen writing old timey things. Considering you've introduced so many characters in the first chapter, I'm really impressed with how you've managed to incorporate tidbits of their personalities so I feel like I can already distinguish between some of them. I'm really curious how they're all related to Rowena Ravenclaw, and interested to know more about their father. And of course, ALL THE THINGS ABOUT THE SECRET FOREST WITH THE SPIRAL STAIRCASE. Who's watching them? (my bets on Mr Tumnus)

Anyway, I think this is a wonderful start, and I've not seen any other fic quite like this, so I'm really excited about it. Thanks for the swap!!

Author's Response: Hello!
Haha, yes their names are alphabetical! Their mother thought it was funny, and their father thought it was practical to name them that way. (Also it helps me keep track of them all!)
Oh my gosh, your excitement about the spiral staircase and everything else they find is awesome. That's how I felt when I was writing it!
I'm really glad you like the tone of this. I'm trying to get that old-fashioned, fairytale feel, but have it feel a little modern at the same time, so it's easy to connect to the characters.
You'll find out how they're related to Rowena in a few chapters, but the other founders will come into the story even sooner!
Thank you so much for the review swap! I'm so happy you liked this chapter!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauderfanPlay the Devil: Wishes

1st May 2015:
egads it's a new chapter! *pounces*

The pigeon incident gets a mention again. Gah, you just keep drawing out this suspense. I MUST KNOW. :P

I love all the superstition about coin throwing into the St Mungo's fountain. It all just sounds so wizardy - stuff that's really silly but makes sense in a world that doesn't take itself seriously anyway.

I am really curious if there's something weird going on with Cecelia in that scene. Of course, I'd probably be embarrassed if work colleagues came up to me while I had stuffed half a sandwich in my mouth, but it seems like (or at least Rose thinks) there's something else going on. Huh... Anyway, I really like the friendship between Cecelia and Rose.

thinking of the special potion I had taken from Archieís flat the day before and feeling increasingly sure it was the right decision. -- ROSE. WHY would you think that. >__< I'm also not sure how I feel about her getting so much stuff prepared to take with her. On one hand, that's great that she's planning ahead and self sufficient and has all she needs. But on the other hand, does she really need to bring makeup to the 1400's? It sounds like more trouble than it's worth, haha. Bringing any stuff from the future to the past just sounds kind of unwise to me - like what if it gets into the wrong hands? How is she going to explain all that stuff?

but yeah somewhere in there she also mentioned something about her tie to the 14th century - how DOES she know she'll end up there? What if she ends up in the 1700s instead? Or like, the Pleistocene epoch and England is full of glaciers and mastodons? SHE HAS NOT THOUGHT THIS OUT AT ALL.

Wow, those are some harsh words from Hermione about that inmate. Is it Fenrir Greyback? I can't think of anyone else she'd hate that much.

Aw, Richard is doubting himself and pining for Rose. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, I guess. I enjoyed seeing this group again though. Lol, Sir Nicholas... I guess he's not really known for his eloquence. I can't believe you wrote out a whole song, too! I am sort of curious about the rest of it :p

Anyway, like all the others, this was a fantastic chapter and I'm so excited to see what happens next!!

 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfanPrimus: elegaics.

27th April 2015:
eeEEE aksdhfkjasd I have no words just keyboard smash. I LOVED THIS SO MUCH, THEY ARE THE MOST ADORABLE COUPLE EVER. And seeing them as ickle fourteen year olds - gah! *smushes with hugs* I LOVE THEIR LOVE. I LOVED THIS FLUFFY FIC. I AM SO HAPPY THIS EXISTS.

Sorry about the capslock! But, in case you couldn't tell - I loved ittt ♥

 Report Review

Review #50, by marauderfan[april turner]: [the library]

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your second of four prize reviews!

I really liked this story (which is no surprise, as I love everything you've written). You have a really neat ability to write these simple scenes but have so much meaning behind them - the majority of this fic is just two friends in the library, but it's so much more.

Was totally not expecting to see Roisin's Alacratus charm and recreational hexing in this story - I had this weird moment when I was like 'wait. two fanfics crossing over. what. yes.' It's so cool to see fics overlap like that and I love it! But more to the point, it really does seem like something that would have happened at Hogwarts, and unsurprisingly with James, who must feel so much pressure to be known for his own accomplishments and not just 'Harry Potter's son who doesn't quite live up to his father's accomplishments.' (But really, who could?)

Speaking of him being Harry Potter's son, I loved how you incorporated that line - both times. The first time, although the professor was not amused, I found it pretty clever :D But rhe contrast between that and the second time was really strong - in the beginning, he's a joker with some snark, remeniscent of 12 year old James in the epilogue. And then the second time he uses that line, it comes with a lot of insecurities and it really shows how much he's struggling with fame and the pressures he puts on himself to be perfect. Poor guy. I'm glad he has April there to help him through it. i love the dynamic of those two by the way - James who gets noticed anytime he walks into a room just because he's James Potter, and April, who kind of floats under the radar, invisible behind books in the library. They're a great sort of yin and yang.

lastly, I can 100% sympathise with April at not wanting to go to the desert hahaha. I live in a desert at the moment and jfkskfkajf. too hot.

wait, another thing. Novel to come?! I will keep my eyes open for that! I'm curious what's up with Albus, and I'd love to see more of James and April.

Great work!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>