Reading Reviews From Member: marauderfan
  
1,532 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marauderfanThe Harder They Fall: Poison

5th January 2017:
I love the quotes you start each chapter with. Here I'm wondering who the innocent one is that's alluded to with that quote, and I dread to think it's Brindley. Only time will tell.

I had forgotten that Finn's owl's name is Adonis and it made me laugh all over again.

Ooh, things just got interesting regarding Sebastian..

Yikes, what a time to Floo in. Poor Jameson :( I wonder if this is a turning point for Finn though. This whole story so far (and in Hero as well) Finn has been a bystander, sometimes feeling like he should do something but he never does, and this was one such example that must have hit pretty close to home. I wonder if this is what changes him - he does seem to have a lot of determination to set things aright, although whether he puts words to action is another thing.

I know this isn't really important but really, what is Fletcher writing? hahaha

Wow, back when the Hog's Head was new and people actually went there aside from Mundungus Fletcher.

That's quite a show from Tom about what happens when they disobey him. He's such an abusive friend. Also, I wonder if he found out something about Radbourne that he can blackmail him with or if Radbourne owes him for something, because Radbourne seems a lot less keen to stand up to Tom as he was in the previous chapter. Also - is this the source of the collapsed tunnel marked on the Marauder's Map? You're a genius Bianca ;)

ASDLKJFALKSJDFLK the scene in the hospital wing is simultaneously so sweet and heartbreaking. They're bonding because of their grief and they're putting their antagonism towards each other aside for a moment and it's beautiful, even if the reason for it is sad.

Poor little Hufflepuff kid :(

As for the last bit, all I have to say is this: THERE WAS FLIRTING

 Report Review

Review #27, by marauderfanThe Harder They Fall: The Ministry

5th January 2017:
DEAR BIANCA,
MERRY HOLIDAYS
I'm here with a few reviews!

I notice Tom doesn't want people reading his diary. Either it's already a Horcrux or he's been writing about his crush on someone unattainable and drawing broken hearts and writing emo poetry and he's too embarrassed to let his friends see. Obviously my money is on the latter.

This curse that Tom is looking for sounds like only bad news. I'm sure he doesn't really need to include that in his essay. He's finished with his essay, after all.

I like Radbourne. At least he has a backbone and isn't cool with just being a bystander. Can't say the same for Finn. I love that Radbourne wants to be a Healer as well. How did he get mixed up with this bunch?

“Radbourne,” Tom continued, “get a copy of Moste Potente Potions and bring it to me.” -- Where does one get a copye of Moste Potente Potionse? At Ye Olde Towne Shoppe.

Ah, no, the librarye.

[Sidenote: I sincerely apologize for this review already. It's a late night review and those have a tendencye to be weirde. I am so not a night owl.]

Hahaha, now Finn, do I detect a hint of jealousy? He does seem unreasonably irritated at seeing Brindley kissing Patrick Avery.

FINN YOU SMUG JERK. HE IS THE WORST. I don't know how Brindley didn't see it coming. Because of course he would do something like that, making an executive decision about the Ministry that favors him and totally disregarding what she wants.

I love your description of the Ministry in those days and how you used the smallest canon details, like in the books Arthur mentioned that they used to have owls delivering the memos, and here they are - and Bob Ogden is working there. Sidenote, it would be so nerve-wracking to be in an elevator while there are birds flying above you and you can't get out of their way. I feel like I'd need to have an umbrella at all times. Anyway, this has gotten off topic but what I wanted to say is I like your attention to detail.

“Well, since I’m here, might as well enjoy it,” she whispered back. -- I love her

The small medium at large XD I love that joke

Ouch! Double ouch. That's a difficult way for Finn to learn about Brindley's parents. Who does she live with? Aunt? Uncle? Also, I love how cute Finn was being with the joke about the troll cave and it kind of breaks my heart how she responded. Ugh. I am very sad. The fact that Brindley is so upbeat and positive even when she's got so much to deal with - she's a pretty amazing person. ALSO, there was some almost flirting there in that scene. And I noticed at the end that Finn used her first name! I saw it!

Excellent chapter! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #28, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: IX.

4th January 2017:
Okay, I'm back!

Sooo I take it Albus found out. Ah, yes, there's the destruction of things and even some flames as a bonus. Oh my.

I don't remember if you mentioned this before but wow Neville is the headmaster and I kind of love that idea. Especially the fact that he's filled the office with potted plants. And that when Albus is in trouble he won't let them call him Uncle Neville because he needs them to know that this is serious. Although still... no detention. (Neville, that is called playing favourites.) Also I still need to have a talk with both Scorpius and Lily and ask them why on earth they made such bad life decisions.

TJ is being a pretty bad friend here. Although I guess it's not really his fault - Lyra did have the worst possible timing to want to have an actual discussion :P For real, Lyra? She couldn't wait to vent until he was actually there to listen to her? *headdesk*

Yep, that does sound like a bad day. Hopefully things get better. Pls yell at Scorpius for me, thanks.

 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: VIII.

3rd January 2017:
The new lockers sound about 1000x better than the one I had in high school. Undetectable extension charm too! That's awesome.

For all TJ and Ben said earlier about staying in the closet, they sure aren't very good at it, haha. Maybe they both do want to come out.

I kind of love that Lyra calls Hogwarts 'Hoggy'. It sounds silly, but honestly there's something very realistic about that. Everyone at my high school called the school by a silly nickname too (which sounded totally normal to me because I was used to it, but probably sounded weird to anyone from another school who heard it) so the nickname Hoggy is such a neat, weird detail that I never would have thought of myself but it really works.

Poor Lyra. It's hard to do well in classes you don't even like. :-/

Okay but what about Albus and Scorpius? That was a big piece of news you just dropped in that last chapter and I want to know if they are okay! Did Scorpius tell Albus? Helllp I need to know. And this is the last chapter up for now so I hope you update soon!

I've had a lot of fun reading this today, and I'm so glad we were paired in the review exchange! Great story! Again, I'm really sorry it took so long for me to do it. Hope you had a good holidays. ♥

 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: VII.

3rd January 2017:
FYI I did end up having breakfast food for dinner. I made an omelette.

Back to the story.

The beginning of the chapter with this guy walking in there with shiny golden locks and the sun illuminating him ... I totally feel like this paragraph happened in slow-mo. There was probably really dramatic music playing at the time as well, something with strings. Or a powerful song from the 80s like Open Arms by Journey.

Another couple just confirmed my theory that James is the only straight character. The fact that they're both named after flowers is amusing :P

Oh wow I didn't expect that plot twist with Scorpius either. Especially after all the PDA and love confessions with those two. What could possibly have prompted him to do that? *shakes head* Ughhh, Scorpius. I can't believe Lily has that little respect for Albus either. Please tell me there's another explanation for this. Is Lyra dreaming? alskdhfahsdjk

 Report Review

Review #31, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: VI.

3rd January 2017:
A blueberry muffin sounds delicious right now and I just realized that I am hungry and should probably make dinner soon. It will probably be breakfast food because Lyra's breakfast inspired me.

SNITCH PUFFS, yes, I love really goofy analogues between the wizarding world and real one.

It's really cute that her parents showed up to see the game!

Of course the match continues as he is taken to the Hospital Wing, -- Hogwarts in a nutshell. Literally everything at the school is dangerous and no one blinks an eye at it, instead they encourage 14 year olds to play broom sports hundreds of feet in the air. I'm amazed there aren't more lawyers in the wizarding world.

Okay, so you know that thing I mentioned in my previous review about something to ground the reader really in the moment? This chapter is it. This was great! I loved the Quidditch game and how you wrote it focused on specifically the things Lyra is concentrating on - not the commentator, but on what's happening in front of her with the quaffle and who fell.

Oh no, Madam Pomfrey went a little overboard with all the details of how he might have died. haha Seriously, no one wants to hear stuff like that - no reason to unnecessarily worry people! But then again... wizarding world's sense of safety. Falling to your death is just a mundane kind of event it seems. :P

Awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #32, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: V.

3rd January 2017:
Aw, Lyra really is growing up. She didn't even break Hugo's nose. Instead she used her words. I'm proud of her.

The idea of all these wizards and witches waiting in line to sign the cast of someone they don't really know just because signing a cast is a big deal in a place where they usually have leg-regrowing potions instead of casts... that's hilarious. And also I would expect nothing less from Draco Malfoy than for him to already have the potion. It's extra funny because you just know some kid waited a really long time just to sign Lyra's cast and probably had to sign on top of some other large signature that was taking up too much space, and then it didn't matter anyway because Lyra got the cast off two hours later. Bahahaha.

Can we talk about the fact that Draco has an owl named Romeo. Headcanon: Astoria has one named Juliet.

On a scale of 1 to spatttergroit, how much do you think Draco enjoyed Lyra's response comparing him to Harry Potter? I bet he frowned grumpily and then started re-reading The Fault In Our Stars.

I'm really enjoying this fic so far, though one thing I'd love to see more of would be a bit more scene setting. I feel like it kind of hops from one thing to another pretty quickly and I never feel like I'm entirely in the moment. Maybe take time to describe what things look like, or what Lyra is feeling, or kind of get into her head more so the reader can really understand what makes her tick, as a way to complement all of the dialogue?

It's your story though so you write what you want to write - that's just a bit of CC/personal opinion if you want it. Either way, I'm definitely still enjoying the ride. :) To the next chapter! ♥

 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: IV.

3rd January 2017:
I just realized that we have the same style of summary for our stories. Except yours are definitely more comprehensive summaries, haha.

The information Ben chooses to share about the city in Italy is amusing. I mean, normally when I want to know something about a place, the first question in my mind is who is its patron saint. :P

Lyra comes off as a bit... unbalanced here. I mean, being so dramatically revolted by the couples and then actually punching Albus in the nose (possibly breaking it)? ... yikes! I can see why Draco called her a troublemaker.

Tall Awkward Gangly Friend. -- !! You've just invented a term that describes me 100%. I hella relate to this.

Wow, sarcasm does not work as well when not spoken. -- ALSO something I relate to. I have to resort to goofy looking emojis instead. See above statement about the patron saint. :P

I noticed Lyra watching Audrey walking. Do I detect a crush? I hope so because it would really round this story out into a nice rainbow. :D After all, there are no straight people in this story so far, except James.

Am I jealous or do I find love disgusting? -- She might be aromantic! Either that or she's a lonely, bitter teenager surrounded by people in love. Both equally likely options, and I'm not sure which one it is at the moment (neither is Lyra, I guess).

Hogwarts has an Orchestra! My nerdy violist self is very happy about this.

I like that you took into account how Hogwarts would have so many more students - in terms of sorting, and the number of professors teaching each class - as it'd be sort of a baby boom generation after the war, so I like that you included that as it feels pretty realistic.

I'm also excited that they're back at Hogwarts. And I'm still wondering how Lyra got the status of prefect even though she punched Albus in the face.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: III.

3rd January 2017:
Here come awkward meeting the family shenanigans! I can't wait.

Her way of helping is to just tell her parents when Scorpius has been missing for two days... Helpful!

Lyra is totally right, free food is the #1 way to get anyone to go to anything. That and an open bar.

The long string of Mr Weasley and Mrs Weasley's made me laugh. There are so many of them! And I love how Lyra just described them all as the same thing with their name as an after thought.

I like that she was accepted so easily by all the Potter/Weasley bunch. And most especially that it went over well with Scorpius meeting everyone too - that sounds like a pretty intimidating thing, even if he's known a few of them for a while through school, but this is a different context.

Yay for everyone being happy! Even Lyra, because although she has to put up with her brother and his boyfriend finishing each other's sentences, at least she got some cake out of the deal so it's fair.

 Report Review

Review #35, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: II.

3rd January 2017:
That must have been terrifying to fall out hte window! Like, that's really not a lot of time to think fast and come up with some way to not break both of your legs and/or spine. I'd be kinda angry at Ben if I were her. Also I have a feeling Ben's last minute plan was pretty ineffective because his mother would have heard a scream from outside the window, probably heard the Accio, and then seen someone fly away from below Ben's window. Good try Ben, but no. :P

Thank goodness Hogwarts now has a sex-ed class. After all the fics I've seen about teenage pregnancy at Hogwarts it was about time that they have that class XD

Albus and Scorpius really are the cheesiest :P

Onward!

 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfanThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: I.

3rd January 2017:
HI LILY!!! ♥ First of all, let me apologize for being so incredibly slow with this. I promise I didn't forget about you - I was working 50hr weeks in addition to applying to grad schools and trying to visit family. So, it was insane and I had no time but now I am very much here for this story. Here we go!

Your chapter image is gorgeous.

I love the idea of Scorpius having a younger sister! Especially one who's kind of bad at being a Malfoy, at least in the tradition of all the others - at least from the first section of this, I can tell that she's a bit of a troublemaker, as opposed to Draco and Lucius who were each really focused on their reputation. Though it seems the war and its repercussions have really changed Draco. His kids being a Hufflepuff and a Gryffindor? I love it. (I bet Draco didn't, but hey what can you do. :P) Also, I must admit I'm really curious about their family movie nights. Mostly just the image of Draco Malfoy watching muggle movies and enjoying them. Now I have a new headcanon: he would tell people he really likes serious movies like The Shawshank Redemption but secretly his favorite film is The Notebook. Am I right?

AM I PICKING UP HINTS OF SCORBUS? Seriously, how fast did Scorpius switch from surly to jumping for joy at a letter from Albus. I rest my case. :D

...Okay, so I guess I got ahead of myself there, because the subtext I was picking up on was actually just text. This is what happens when you review as you read. Anyway, yay for scorbus. I love them as a couple, but seeing them through Lyra's eyes is pretty hilarious because it's so realistic to how anyone would feel about getting TMI about their sibling's love life. It's a fun twist because I'm reading about a ship I love but through the lens of someone who is bored/disgusted by it, she's like "Get a soundproof room and leave me alone."

I’ll give you a paragraph. Read it very quickly, and imagine me talking fast. -- Lyra is such a fun narrator! This section made me laugh. It's kind of like this is her memoir or something that she just handed to the reader to read rather than telling a story, and it makes for a really fun way of storytelling.

The sibling bickering between her and Scorpius is adorable, and how they still race each other down the stairs to open the door just for the sake of competition. And Draco's half hearted attempts to get his children to shut up because their immature arguing is annoying him, even though he knows it won't work because this is literally what happens all the time. But he still makes the attempt in hopes that they'll be quiet this time, because he's trying to watch The Notebook but the room is too noisy. I know this to be true.

Hahaha, Albus and Scorpius are the worst, and couples like this in real life drive me nuts... but I love scorbus anyway.

What book is Draco reading? My bets are that he is holding up the jacket to a John Grisham courtroom novel, but inside is actually a John Green novel. That's why the jacket was upside down.

Okay, so, in summary: I really enjoyed this first chapter! Lyra's narrative voice is a lot of fun and I look forward to getting to know her and her family better in subsequent chapters! I'm so glad I got this story for the review exchange. :)

Author's Response: Hey Kristin, glad to see you here! It's totally okay, RL gets crazy for all of us.

Oh thank you, but even though I'd love to take credit for it, it is actually the lovely Callisto @ tda who made me that.

Same, though Lyra really isn't supposed to be "bad" at being a Malfoy, she's just a troublemaker. Draco was kind of a troublemaker in his own way at school, if you think about it.

No, Draco was fine with the houses of his children. He's really not like his father.

Ha ha, I never thought of that! Maybe.

Oh darling, those aren't hints, ha ha. It's okay, I review as I read too.

I definitely wanted the bickering to be believable and yet be funny. However Draco wasn't really supposed to seem half-hearted when he was trying to get them to stop fighting. Ha ha!

I know. It's my own experience with couples too. I'm not aro/ace, but I just get really annoyed when couples are all puppy puppy puppy with each other.

Ha ha, no I don't think so. They're just trying to seem as if they're busy in their books so that they don't have to deal with their teens and their angst.

Thank you very much, I'm really glad that you like it. This story is "literally" (figuratively, obviously) my child.

Thanks again for this awesome review, and have a really happy new year!

-ImaRavenclaw



 Report Review

Review #37, by marauderfanLa Salvezza: Paradiso

18th December 2016:
EEE I DID NOT REALISE THERE WAS A CHAPTER 3 ALREADY AND I AM THRILLED TO SEE IT
also happy holidays ♥

Okay. I have to say, though, before I begin - when I leave reviews for you, after reading this gorgeous work of art you've written, I feel like I'm about as eloquent as a troll. :P Be prepared for the word 'amazing' about 40x in a row because that's probably what my review will be.

This is a beautiful chapter. Once again there's a marked difference in tone between this and the previous chapter, and in a way the differences between tone in the chapters are the only way the story marks the passage of time. Otherwise, with the stream of consciousness and all the flashbacks and introspection, time is irrelevant to the story. And it's only the difference in narration between chapters one and three that indicates that a lot of time has passed,, and Gellert is still sitting there in prison, trapped with his thoughts. His earlier bitterness got him nowhere, and the lack of remorse he showed earlier didn't really get him anywhere either, as he's still there, alive but with no point to it anymore, and perhaps that's what gives him the feeling that he's still got unfinished business - like, what he's living now can't be all there is left, and I think that's what eventually drives him to feel remorse as he does at the end. In earlier chapters he kind of gave the impression that he wouldn't change a thing, but this chapter I think shows him at his most vulnerable, and I especially loved the part where he wonders how things would have been, how they could have been if only things were different. If they could have stayed together. How he would have changed and how Albus would have changed. This is such an interesting thing to think about, too, because it would have changed basically the whole course of wizarding history - Gellert and Albus' history together had a huge effect on what sort of people they turned out to be. (Like, would there even be a HP series? Probably, but Dumbledore wouldn't have been as invested in Harry's life and wouldn't be near as famous as he is. But I digress.)

I watched everything, drinking it all in: the way the candles played over the old, darkened stone, exposing the rivets carved in the columns, the cracks here and there where time had bitten down and tugged, the sunlight winking and dancing on edges and lines of gold. With every handful of halting, beating steps, stained glass windows would throw a new kaleidoscope across the stone flagons, across the benches and the statues of saints: jigsaws of blue and red, yellow and green and royal, plum purple. - this is probably the most beautiful description I have ever heard.

I don't really have anything else intelligent to say, only that I loved this so much and I'm so glad you were my gifter when we did the gift challenge - I'm very lucky. So glad I had a chance to read this. Thank you so much for this amazing (amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing) story. (I wasn't kidding about all the amazings :P )

 Report Review

Review #38, by marauderfanLa Salvezza: Purgatorio

18th December 2016:
(copying this review over from ao3 so you have it in both places :P )

Team Werewolf Review for HPFT

I'm so sorry it's taken me ages to read this chapter after all the hard work you're doing writing this story for me! But I'm here now and ready to love this chapter.

A question for the philosophers – though it will never reach them: the wind will have it first and it will vanish from me forever, lost somewhere amongst the peaks of the Alps, embedded into tiny, diamond snowflakes, coalescing around the spires of mountains ten thousand feet high and a hundred years away. -- there are about a hundred instances of your amazing imagery that I could point out but this one particularly stood out to me. If I quoted all the passages I liked it would be the entire chapter quoted back to you, but I just had to say (for like, the 1000th time I'm sure) how lyrical and beautiful and evocative your writing is. I never fail to get lost in it because it just draws me in so well.

Once again I really love the parallels of the tone of the chapter with the original work. Similarly to how the first chapter had a lot of fire imagery and felt a lot more bitter, this one is sort of... thoughtful, tired, unsure, a bit more vulnerable, and that fits so well with the idea of Purgatory (at least what I know of it.) Gellert is just stuck there, waiting, whether for death or rebirth he can't say. All he can do to pass the time is think, and naturally with not much of a future awaiting him aside from just wasting away in Nurmengard, he thinks a lot about the past. It's simultaneously nostalgic as he thinks about better days, and sad because those days are over, sort of tainted by their falling out, and the knowledge that both of them living the same life as youths went such different ways that Albus ended up respected and admired while Gellert rots in prison. Honestly, it's easy to understand Gellert's perspective here. His lack of remorse aside, he doesn't deny that they did things wrong but why is he the only one made to suffer like that for it? (Of course, he can only guess at how much Albus is tortured by what he did back then. Albus may not be in prison but he's certainly living with a weight on his shoulders.)

The stream of consciousness works SO well for this story, too. That sort of narration kind of takes the reader out of the passage of time and makes it feel unimportant, which is really appropriate for a narrator who's been imprisoned for so long he's probably lost track of time anyway.

So anyway, ah, I love this chapter. Thank you once again for dedicating such a wonderful story to me ♥

 Report Review

Review #39, by marauderfanWelcome Home: Welcome Home

14th December 2016:
I have become a gooey puddle of DNA on the floor after reading this adorable fluffathon. I love both of these characters and I'm so glad that they are going to be together forever (because let's be real: they are) and of course I loved the mention of Deamus in this as well :D I love how easy and fun their banter is, and how their new home has some weird things like a hideous (or quaint and character-providing, depending on how you look at it) chandelier, or water drips on the walls, but it's home because it has both Roxanne and Natalie in it and that's all they need. Could this story possibly be any cuter? (No. It could not.) Do you appreciate how almost all of my sentences start with "I love" ? In case it wasn't clear, I loved this story.

 Report Review

Review #40, by marauderfanGood Luck, Lily: Good Luck, Lily

14th December 2016:
I love your effective way of establishing settings. After all, one can't write a story about the 70s without a shag carpet making an appearance. :P

But anyway, this story was beautiful and sad. What I love most about it is that Petunia is so understandable here. I feel badly for her, and I can even relate to her, in a way, because this is before she becomes so entrenched in bitterness. She's just sad and left out. I think it's because at this point in Lily and Petunia's lives, there's a sense that they still could have worked things out - the feeling of "it's not too late". This is only Lily's first year, and Petunia still missees having her sister around. She's lonely, and meanwhile Lily is off exploring a whole new world that Petunia longs for but can never have. And to rub salt in the wound, Lily is spending a lot of time with someone Petunia looks down on (Snape). It really comes across that Petunia feels like she's been replaced by a more interesting world with interesting people and Petunia can never really share in that, even if she gets the letters. The letters just tell her what she's missing. Ah, it's just so sad, the way they fell apart, and this story is especially powerful as it's right on the cusp of when that happened.

And another thing that really makes it hurt the feels is because Lily clearly forgives Petunia for whatever mean things she might have said before, and is writing to Petunia because she's so excited to share all of this with her sister. She's so optimistic. It hurts!

I also admit that all Petunia's wonderings and fanciful imaginings of what her life would be at Hogwarts - it got me thinking about what house Petunia would be in, if she were a witch. I couldn't see her in Gryffindor or Hufflepuff. And the way she likes to imagine herself as being the best at what she does fits right in with Ravenclaw or Slytherin... overall I think Slytherin. Wouldn't she just love to know she would share a house with Severus Snape, haha.

The last line is so sad. Clearly Petunia cares a lot. I think she always did, to some extent, she just never really showed it - not at this point, and certainly not later in her life when she was married. You know, Petunia is such an interesting character and I honestly love reading about her. I'm so glad you decided to write about her.

You mentioned Petunia's venom in your A/N and I agree with you, I think the story is just perfect as is - after all, she's around 13 here and still getting used to the idea that her sister is special and lives a different life that Petunia can only imagine and be jealous of. I think you're right, the snappy bitterness she developed was something that took years - right now she's just lost and lonely, but too proud to show it.

This was great, and I loved the insight into the Evans sisters.

 Report Review

Review #41, by marauderfanSummer Vacation: Summer Vacation

14th December 2016:
HI PAULA ♥ I saw on your holiday wishlist that you wanted reviews on your one-shots so I am here to bombard all of your one-shots with love.

My main thoughts after reading this story are:

1) there was a lot of food described in this and now I'm hungry

2) Why is it so darn cold outside? I'm jealous of the Weasleys and their summer weather and having watermelon and a pool.

3) I love your characterisation of Percy and I love to think he was able to loosen up a little after the war and after everything that had happened with his family - he seems to value his family so much here (despite not greeting some of them when they came in :P ) and he's just really happy to spend time with all of them. And despite the drastic change in his personality, this does very much feel like Percy because of the characteristic traits of Percy that never went away: how he quadruple-checks the fence, how he's really proud of Dominique especially because of all the hard work she does, and how he still feels the impulse to check Harry and Ron and make sure they're not about to start mischief (even though they're all middle aged haha - old habits die hard).

4) And I love the way the rest of the family reacts to Percy now. Ginny's reaction was so telling. This family is adorable :)

5) Scorbus!

Okay that about sums it up. Fluffy summer fun. I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #42, by marauderfanThe Stray: The Stray

14th December 2016:
I love Sirius and I love dogs, and I love your writing, so I'm really looking forward to this story.

The woman who takes him in is so great and it just warms my heart that she brought a stray dog in from the rain. And it also makes me laugh because she talks to herself about feeding him noodles and tuna. What a character :P

Ahh! The origin of the name Snuffles! That is really sweet. Also the more I read of this woman's life I'm really glad she found Sirius because both of them were in a kind of miserable situation there - Sirius with no home, the woman with not enough food and running short on money - and so each of them made the other's day just a little bit brighter at a time when they needed it.

Some of Sirius' thoughts as a dog cracked me up, like this one: He sniffed every shelf for the dastardly creatures, but none showed their ugly faces. Probably because they could smell how dominant and fierce he was. Most likely.

AW when he pours all his money in the tip jar at the cafe ♥ And he's all sneaky about it too. I love him. This is such a great moment.

As if there weren't enough adorable moments in this story, he goes back later, when he's on the run after Azkaban! And she's still there, and she REMEMBERS HIM, and she takes him in again. That's beautiful. Everyone all together now: AWWW.

THIS STORY IS SO LOVABLE

I LOVE IT

 Report Review

Review #43, by marauderfanA Happy Holiday Indeed: Happy Christmas

14th December 2016:
I am so sad already at the thought of Dobby having to spend Christmas all by himself :( Nooo. Christmas can be a lonely season but Dobby is like the nicest and most self-sacrificing character ever and deserves the best Christmas. And wah, the idea of him sleeping in a dumpster :'( Paula I'm counting on your propensity to write fluff - I can read this sad beginning if I know it ends happily.

OKAY DOBBY GOT A THREE METER TALL TREE. That's taller than most rooms in most houses XD And way taller than Dobby. And I can't imagine it being any other way - Of course he'd get the most festive, huge tree he can possibly move! And a pinecone tree topper that he made into a star! That's awesome. (Random aside but my aunt has the coolest tree topper which is a plush owl. I feel like I need to write it into a fic.)

DUMBLEDORE VISITED, ahh this is so great, because Dumbledore probably has pretty lonely holidays as well, aside from the staff who stay on at Hogwarts during the break and so it's just lovely that he goes to visit Dobby who is also alone. I can't even imagine how starstruck Dobby would be. And then they start discussing knitting patterns omg this is so wonderful (and totally in character as well) and I love it. Also yay to Dobby getting a job!

ALL THE KNITTED BLANKETS AND JUMPERS ahh that is just so beautiful and thank you for delivering the enormous pile of fluff that I was craving when I started reading this fic. I adore it. Wonderful writing as always ♥

 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfanAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Brooms and troubles

14th December 2016:
Ahhh and now we're back to Jimmy's POV so all the answers are probably not forthcoming :P But I guess that suspense is what makes a good story!

Poor Neville :( At least I know he grows up to be a badass. Aw, but I can see why he would be so irritated at Jimmy for not writing to his father, because he sees Jimmy as not being grateful enough for the luxury he has in actually having a father who's alive (even if Peter isn't related to him). As much of a jerk as Neville is being at the moment, he is right. Jimmy really should try to talk to Peter before he sees him over Christmas holidays...

Jimmy is one angry eleven year old. He's angry at so many people in this chapter, like OotP-Harry. But in how everything turned out with the Rememberall and agreeing to the duel - Harry is still Harry, regardless of the name :D

a glacial stare -- I love this description!

I love the glimpses into Neville's POV, especially of the other Slytherins who aren't Malfoy's gang. From Harry's POV in the books, he kind of gives the impression that all Slytherins are mean-looking and also just mean. A generalization that doesn't really make much sense, but Harry's a biased narrator. And here we see what it's actually like, from someone who is an actual Slytherin. Sure, Malfoy is mean, but there are other Slytherins who are normal, nice people, and I appreciate that. I hope to see more of Samantha Rosier.

Aw, the ending of this made up for all the Jimmy Angst in the beginning. Ron and Neville are becoming friends! Or at least on the way towards that. And I also like that in this story, Neville seems to be the only one with experience with Fluffy. The others didn't really see him, just pulled Neville out of the room. Good timing on Jimmy's part though.

YAY FRIENDSHIP!

Excellent chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Ahahah! Yes, I'm sorry... :P But I can't tell you everything immediately, can I?

I love my Slytherin-Neville, even if I don't really understand him at times... but yes, he's annoyed at Jimmy right for that reason. And he is right in saying that Jimmy should try to talk to Peter.

Ahahah! Yes, Jimmy has a tendency to anger... but it's sort of understandable, isn't it? And yes, deep inside he's always the same Harry! :P

Slytherins can't all be bad, can they? ;) Sam will appear again, there is a chapter later on that's mostly from her POV. She is interesting...

Ron and Neville will get there. :D They'll probably never stop bickering, though... Yes, that was very good timing!

Thank you for another wonderful review, and Merry Christmas once again!
Tons of love and hugs,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfanAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Chance meeting in Diagon Alley

14th December 2016:
I just wrote up this whole review and then accidentally closed the browser >__< Where was I? OH RIGHT I WAS PANICKING AT PETER'S DREAM. That's quite a nightmare! Clearly Peter still has a lot of guilt over what he did - whatever he did. And is worried about how it will impact Harry.

After reading the dream segment I was really wondering if James and Lily were still alive, or whether they were in St. Mungo's, or why else would Peter be raising Harry? But then when Peter ran into James and Sirius in the street, it's clear that the Potters are still alive and well, which only makes me even more curious as to why Peter is raising Harry. Did he run away with him due to the prophecy, and that's why the Chosen One ended up being Neville - because Harry just wasn't around anymore? I'm getting ahead of myself with questions :P but honestly this chapter raised so many more questions than answers and I really want to know! *is impatient*

I loved the scene when Peter is eavesdropping on his old friends by hiding as a rat. I mean, I would have preferred he talk to them so I could find out some answers :P, but it's definitely more in his character to just scope it out and hide until he knows what sort of welcome he'd get. Mostly I just loved reading James and Sirius, long-time friends catching up over a butterbeer at the pub, because they never had that luxury in canon (at least not without worrying they were going to be Avada Kedavra'd at any moment) so it was really a joy to read :D

Ok now I'm moving on to the next chapter because I need to know what happened! :)

Author's Response: Hi, Kristin!
Finally here to answer to your lovely reviews! (You know you are awesome, right?)

Oh, no... I hate when it happens... damned technology... Anyway...

Yes, poor Peter... quite the nightmare indeed... he does have a lot of guilt...

James and Lily are fine, obviously. ;) As for why Peter is raising Harry and Neville is the Chosen One... well... let's just say you're more or less on the right track. (I'm still trying to define some details, actually... and you'll probably get your answers from Liar before than here... Am I rambling again?)

I don't think Peter would've ever gone and talked to them. And I honestly can't blame him, I wouldn't have the courage to confront them either... Glad you liked the scene and found Peter was in character, anyway. ;)

Yes, James and Sirius never got that luxury in canon... one of the best parts of writing this story (when the characters and my muse collaborate, so hardly ever...) is to give all four Marauders a chance to live a longer and happier life. And I'm happy you appreciated it as well. :)

Thank you for the lovely review. I'll answer the others soon (but right now I need to go do some errands...)

Merry Christmas, my love!
Snowball hug,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #46, by marauderfanLiar: Rebels

3rd December 2016:
Chiaraaa ♥

This may be the only story in the history of ever where I'm more annoyed at Remus and sympathise with Peter. But yeah, Remus' self-blame game and constant pushing others away would get old, and could easily make any romantic partner doubt themselves. And not everyone is as stubborn as Tonks eventually is in convincing Remus to listen to his heart rather than his head. I mean, I can understand Remus too, so well, and all his insecurities. He is so real to me. But not everyone can handle that amount of emotional baggage Remus brings along. Both of them are such great characters and their love is so tragic because despite that they have strong feelings for one another, their personalities aren't really compatible without a lot of work on their relationship.

HA, a teacher's desk?! Peter!! Hahaha *shakes head* I've never seen a characterisation of Peter quite like yours - I love the way you write him and how you give him such a strong personality that still fits into how we know him in canon.

Peter telling a Marauders secret so he can hook up with Leander in the Shrieking Shack... ahh. This is such good writing because it's so believable of him. He tells secrets when he has personal gain from it, and feels guilty about it but not guilty enough to stop him from telling. But also lol at the fact that Peter protested against the charms classroom because it wasn't romantic enough, and then led the way to the absolute least romantic place on the entire Hogwarts grounds, apart from maybe Moaning Myrtle's bathroom.

he resembled a goldfish, but a really elegant one -- for some reason I found this line absolutely hilarious XD

Sirius purposefully making the chair grate against the floor is SUCH a Sirius thing to do. You write him so well.

SIRIUS ASKS REGULUS TO COME WITH HIM WHEN HE RUNS AWAY OMG STAAHHP IT'S BREAKING MY HEART

That ridiculous gift the MArauders gave Remus - I love those boys. And I went from grinning at that to really sad in about 0.2 seconds because of Remus crying about the Ministry summons right after. Ahhh!! This story is not good for my emotional sanity but I'm too invested in it to stop hahaha

All the werewolves waiting around in the lobby forever for their turn and hating every second... this is like the wizard version of waiting in line at the DMV. Except a whole lot worse because it's about discrimination rather than getting a driving licence. *hugs Remus*

Remus is such a bad liar. I can relate. :P

Omg ♥ all the Gryffindor sixth years staging a protest this just makes me so happy and proud and I love all of them.

Their Divination predictions are hilarious. I bet that class would have been a lot of fun - if not in actually learning any Divination, it would have at least been good as an exercise in creative writing XD

ooh, what a tense family standoff there. Peter has an interesting family background and I really like these glimpses into what his family was like and how he has pretty strong forces on each side pulling him one way or the other. And so far he's firmly on the side against Voldemort, but... the way you write him and his family explains a lot about him. I know this story is AU and that Peter's fate is different in this story than it is in canon, but like... I can still see how canon Peter could have come from these same circumstances.

Great chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Hello, Kristin, my love!
Sorry if it took me so long to reply to this wonderful review...

Ah, yes... I know... Remus can be very annoying... but with everything he's gone through it's understandable that he is so insecure, isn't it? Poor Peter, though...

Ahahah! Actually, I think it was Leander more than Peter the bold one... :P Glad you like my version of Peter anyway. He surprises me as well at times. ;)

Oh, yes. That's so tipical of Peter, isn't it? Ahahah! Oh, Merlin... Moaning Myrtle's bathroom... I could die...

I'm glad you found that line hilarious, I totally meant it to be! (I have a weird sense of humour...) And I'm so glad you liked Sirius' reaction and that you found him believable!

Ah, I know... :( sorry... *hugs Sirius and Regulus*

Ahahah! Well, they are the Marauders, they are crazy that way... again, sorry for all the sudden mood changes...

Glad the scene of the werewolves waiting worked. That was exactly the feeling I wanted to convey. And you can hug Remus as much as you want, he needs it!

No, definitely not a good liar... Ahahah! I can relate too...

They are wonderful, aren't they? Fifty points to Gryffindor! :)

I love Silvia and Mary. A lot. And yes, I'm sure they did have a lot of fun in Divination class. :D

Glad you liked the scene with the Yaxleys. It is quite an interesting family background... poor Peter... I'm not going to say how things will move from there, but Alistair will still have a role in Peter's destiny.

Thank you so, so much again for this incredible review! And sorry if I took so long to answer... really, life has been crazy...

All the love in the world, my unreliable friend!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #47, by marauderfanAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: A new friend

9th November 2016:
Hi Chiara! This is one of your prize reviews for leaving the most reviews in the Halloween Review Battle on HPFT. And, of course, it's a chance for me to get back to this story which I love!

Tapestries are distracting things. I'd probably end up meeting this fate too :P Sorry I'm late for class Professor. You see, there was a tapestry...

Hedwig!

That letter makes me sad. Clearly Peter "Portman" really cares about Jimmy, but he doesn't know what Jimmy has found out yet, and Jimmy hasn't told him... which kinda makes sense, because it's not really the sort of thing you bring up in a letter, it's more of a thing you want to discuss in person! Like, I can just imagine how that letter would go: "Dear Dad, was I adopted? Also please remember to water the cactus in my bedroom. Love, Jimmy." haha But they need to talk about this. Is it going to have to wait until Christmas when Jimmy goes home?!

Neville being bullied by the other Slytherins makes me sad. I mean, Slytherins usually stuck up for other Slytherins, and I'd think they'd try and get close to Neville just because he's important, but there's also the thing about Neville defeating the Dark Lord so maybe some of the Slytherins who are Death Eater's kids (such as Malfoy) hold that against him. Either way, I feel really badly for Neville feeling so alone and alienated. But I like how he and Jimmy have become friends because they're both feeling kind of lost at this point. I love how natural their friendship is already - I enjoyed their note passing :P

Snape has figured it out. Of course, he's too smart not to. I love that he sees Neville as a lot like Remus because I think they have really similar personalities as well, and I think Neville being in Slytherin would really accentuate the similarities, esp with Neville being even more different from his peers (the chosen one rather than a werewolf, but it still makes him feel alienated) Ah, and Snape is just as much of a jerk and Neville is just as scared of him. Some things are a universal constant!

This was a great chapter! Big hugs and squishes and a snowball hug ♥

Author's Response: Hi, Kristin!
Sorry if it took me forever to answer to this review... and thank you so much for coming back here! :D

Ahahah! I totally agree! Not sure how the professor would react to the excuse, though. :P

Yes, Hedwig! I'm just reflecting that I don't know if she's the same Hedwig... probably yes, if Peter bought her as a birthday present for Jimmy... I can't remember what was my idea... ah, whatever...

No, definitely not something you would want to discuss through letters. (Love your letter by the way, lol) They might have a chance to discuss things before Christmas. Not sure the conversation will be satisfactory, though...

I think they don't see him like one of their own. Neville isn't the canonical Slytherin and he probably would tend to isolate himself anyway. Besides, as you say, there must be some resentment about the defeating-Voldemort bit...

I love Nev and Jimmy's friendship, too. They are my kids and I really love them (even if they drive me crazy... :P) Glad you found their note exchange funny. :D

He hasn't figured it out exactly. It's more like a feeling, you know? Poor Snape, they'll give him a hard time. :P

Ahahah! Yes, some things never change. Guess you meant multiversal constant. ;)

Thank you so much! Snowball hug rolling your way!!!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauderfanSaving Severus Snape : xiii.

6th November 2016:
NEW CHAPTER *POUNCES*

Severus has come so far. No more do we see the surly, bitter Severus who detests Hermione for talking to Sirius one time, here he is essentially asking her out on a date. Not in those terms, but, there's no question as to what he's implying. Also, the idea that two bookish nerds who take pride in their scholarliness spend time together by skiving off class is just too great for words. :D

Skipping class is definitely a most un-Hermione thing to do (Because you could get killed, or worse, DETENTION) but it's believable here because as she points out, she's already done this whole year. She knows all of the things. One skipped class, she'll be fine. She can be a rebel without having to miss out on learning anything!

She was grateful, but also slightly irritated. She had spent months on the run using that same exact charm. Why hadn't she thought of it? -- This is SO Hermione. I think she's really proud of the fact that she can think under pressure and is the first one to come up with logical answers, and Snape is that sort of person too so it's natural that she would feel kind of challenged by the fact that he thought of it first.

“What are you doing?” Hermione hissed. “We could be expelled for this, you know!” -- There's our Hermione! XD

OMG THEY'RE HAVING A SPLASHING FIGHT. It's weird to see either of them so... playful, but it's really nice. I think both of them are characters who could easily forget to have fun sometimes and so this is a really special moment.

LOLOLOL Hermione expects Severus to believe that she's thinking about "nothing". I don't think she is capable of not thinking. And Severus knows it, because he's the same!

Also, for someone with walls as thick as Severus has, the fact that he's taking her on a boat ride for two across the lake...! What's awaiting them on the other side, a violinist and a nice Italian dinner at a secluded table for two?!

“So - erm...you come here often?” she asked in a sandpapery voice. HERMIONE OHMYGOD AHAHAHAHA. Beautiful weather eh? How bout them Yankees? Hahaha. Well, she tried :P (actually though, I can relate. Sometimes it's hard to come up with interesting things to say during an awkward silence helllppp)

Potter and his merry gang of morons -- This is the best name I've ever heard for this group. It kind of makes James sound like a really goofy Robin Hood. Potter and the band of Merry Morons, who live in the Forbidden Forest and rob the Death Eaters and give to the Muggle-borns. Omg I need to write this AU. /tangent

I love that you include the detail of him pulling tufts of grass out of the ground. Such a small thing but it's so distinctly Severus especially when he's nervous or letting a bit of vulnerability show, and it ties right into how he acted around Lily (who, now that I mention it, has a lot in common with Hermione. Severus does have a type...)

“Like as in a date?” Her voice went up an octave in a panic. -- Has she not figured out that she's kind of already on a date? :P

And of course Lily isn't totally blind to it. I felt really bad for Lily there, as she knows Severus' true nature and doesn't want anyone else to be as let down and hurt as she was, but at the same time doesn't want to interfere with other friendships. Hermione's alter ego Hermione Devereaux isn't Muggle-born though, so I kind of wonder what how that will affect what Snape says/thinks about Muggle borns around Hermione. How much did Lily's rejection change Severus' opinion of Muggle borns, or did it just leave him sad that Lily won't talk to him? Did he see that he was in the wrong there, or just that he got rejected? I'm really interested to see the after-effects of that and kind of how (if) that changed Snape.

Some picky things, because I just happened to notice them:
unravelled the ropes which bounded the boat to the dock -- unraveling would be like, unwinding all the threads from one another. it would make more sense with "loosened" or "untied"

another one of their ludacris pranks." -- shouldn't that be 'ludicrous'?

This review is now reaching epic proportions, so I'll bring it to a close, but it was really exciting to see that this was updated, and it was a great chapter! You are such a wonderful writer ♥

 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfanGravel on the Ground: From the Ashes: Chapter 122

3rd November 2016:
YAY! OK HERE I AM! I sent in a job application and so now as a present to myself I am reading this chapter.

I liked seeing a little from Harry's POV here. This is very believable for him, that he wants to get to know Sadie but doesn't know how. Harry's not particularly social so this made a lot of sense for his character - I mean he rarely ever talks to anyone aside from Ron and Hermione, but he does have a big heart, so those few paragraphs rang really true with what I would expect from Harry - sympathy, but not really much of a clue how to go about communicating :P

Ahh and it kills me to think that Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon were keeping letters from him for so long! There is no way they'd want Harry to be in constant communication with wizards. Not at all. it just breaks my heart though that Harry had people who cared about him all that time and he didn't even know, and they probably thought he didn't care about them enough to respond to all the letters. :'(

Harry's effort to get to know Sadie may have started off with a bit of a hiccup but I really love that Harry is trying, and that whatever resent either of them is feeling is put aside so they can learn from each other. Also, Mrs Weasley telling everyone to eat - classic, and also I really love this because it makes Harry and Sadie laugh together, and that's like the first thing that cements a friendship.

It struck her that she really had come to love this Burrow and the crazy people that inhabited it. -- ISN'T THAT HOW WE ALL FEEL?? ♥

I love that Sadie feels so safe there. She deserves that.

BILL. He is so sweet. For some reason I found it really easy to imagine - not only that Bill would offer to carry laundry upstairs, but that he would be smug answering that question. And then that book for Sadie! That is just the most wonderful thing. I love how supportive the Weasleys are - even though Sadie understandably feels left out when conversations zip on by and she has trouble keeping up what with not being able to speak, the Weasleys really are trying because they want to understand her and to include her. Sadie could not have ended up living with a better adoptive family. *Hugs all of the Weasleys, and Sadie, and Harry can get in on this hug too*

So Hogwarts is coming up soon! I imagine that will be kind of a scary step for Sadie, but she has a good support system all around her which hopefully will make Hogwarts exciting rather than scary, because she's not alone anymore.

Amazing chapter! I'm so so so so glad that you updated this, it made my day :D

P.S. Just a note - this says it's chapter 122, so you may want to delete the extra 2 :P

 Report Review

Review #50, by marauderfanWhen I Go Out With You: Look of Love

27th October 2016:
SAAAM

I was so excited to see a new chapter on this! SO FLUFFY. SO CUTE. I really love what this chapter reveals about their relationship. While Neville is uninterested in a relationship with anyone else, he still respects Hannah's other relationship. And on Hannah's part, she wants Neville to see this happy world she's experiencing - something she can maybe share with Neville - but she understands that that isn't what he wants and doesn't try to push him into anything. In other words, they just show so much mutual respect even though they don't agree, they're good at communicating - it's such a healthy relationship. I love these two.

Loved this chapter!

Author's Response: YAY HI THANKS FOR COMING I LOVE YOU

I mean... *ahem* normal review response voice.

I LOVE YOU THANKS FOR COMING!!!

hehe, anyway, yes. It's really good to see Hannah building more healthy relationships. It's a fun challenge for me to show-not-tell so much about different relationships in such short chapters, so it's great to hear that you found the content revealing and interesting.

Mostly, it's really good to be writing this story again, and after all the time I spent away, I'm super glad you're still coming back for ore =) Hopefully more coming soon!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>