Reading Reviews From Member: marauderfan
  
978 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfanAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: The Mysterious Man

19th December 2014:
David's humour is so great, hahaha Professor Dire defeating an opposing Seeker just by glaring at him :P I'm glad Albus made the reserve team though! I think it's realistic that he wouldn't have made an actual position on the team, being only eleven and competing against kids who were a few years older. Still, it says a lot for him that he made it as reserve! Good for him :)

Ooh, I remember Lord Zajecfer from the beginning - sounds like he's up to nothing good. He's got some power now and isn't afraid to jump right in there with his plan of whatever he's doing, and it worries me that he wants to do whatever he's doing at Hogwarts. Scary! Btw, I tried to unscramble his name again and came up with nothing. :p

Rose is a smart one! Albus should listen to her. After all, it's not like this time they have Dumbledore on their side watching over to make sure they're safe as they poke their noses into things - they would be smart to involve adults. Yes, they've got no proof, but I think someone might listen given how scary the idea is!

Great chapter! I love the way you're building up this story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfanAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: Flying

19th December 2014:
Aw! I love that they're having tea with Hagrid :D

Wow, Fang is a super ancient dog at this point.

I love the friendship you've established between the four so far - they get on really well, and seem like a good mix of traits to balance each other out as well.

Al's desire to be good at Quidditch is really understandable given the pressures from his parents' successes in it. Likewise I really understand his desire to not be the same as them, to be his own person and not just famous for his father's fame. I think that's a very natural reeling the Potter kids would have.

Oh my goodness, how dare you leave the end of the chapter there ;) Did he get on? Aah! :p

Author's Response: Wizards live longer than normal people... so I'll just say that wizarding dogs live longer than normal dogs as well.

Yes, I like the friendship between Albus and his three friends as well. They work well together.

Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to grow up with a famous family. I'm glad I don't have to deal with that.

Chapter cliffhangers aren't bad, since there's always the next one... *nudge nudge*

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfanAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: Professor Dire

19th December 2014:
Happy Hot Seat Day!!

It's really exciting to come back to this story as I read some of it ages ago and loved it!

Haha! I loved Harry's letter, the "I sooo know you stole my map, but it's okay" :p And yay for getting the Invisibility Cloak! I guess Harry is perfectly aware that his kids are going to break all sorts of rules, so this will make it at least so they don't get in trouble as much for it :P

Poor Art, he really is having the toughest time adjusting! All the weird plants and the ghosts and Peeves (whom I was super excited to see in here haha).. it's cool because you're reminding the reader of all the magic in the wizarding world, kind of like how Harry first saw everything in the first book.

What a twist on things. A cheerful Potions Teacher, I can't even imagine what the class would be like. It just seems like such an alien idea. XD And a cold, calculating Tranfig professor, he's going to be one to watch out for. I wonder if the students will learn to just raise their hands when they don't know the answer, to avoid being called on? Kind of like reverse psychology.

Ooh, is Rose interested in Divination? I bet her mum would be thrilled. :p

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Wait, I'm on the hot seat today??? *Checks common room* I almost forgot about that!

Harry, being a known rule-breaker himself, can't really go to his kids and say "Don't break the rules."

Art isn't having a terrible time adjusting, just as much as most muggle-borns. Hermione didn't seem to have much of a problem, but she read a ton of books before school started and became like an expert on the wizarding world...

Slughorn was pretty cheerful! A cheerful Potions teacher isn't that out of the question. But Snape... *shudders*

I modeled Professor Dire off of a teacher I had when I was eleven. Reverse psychology wouldn't necessarily work... here's why: On the first few days of school, Dire takes notice of the students who seem a bit shy and not incredibly smart in his subject. He makes note of the students who seem to be doing the worse. He picks a few students out from the class, and calls on them CONSTANTLY. Once you're picked, you are doomed. You're called on like at least every other question. When tests come around, the lists of the "picked on" students might change a little bit, but for the most part they stay the same. The students who do poorly are called on to answer questions, while the students on the smarter side of the spectrum are rarely called on, since they most likely already know the answer. The teacher, in this case Professor Dire, thinks they are trying to help out the student by pushing to them to try harder, but they're actually just intimidating them and making them do worse. So later on, raising your hand won't make any difference. Luckily I did okay on my tests and things, but I pitied the two kids in my class who were subjected to the "death stare" multiple times every day.

Rose is different than her mom in a few ways... her subject interests are the most obvious difference.

Thank you thank you thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfanThrough the Black: First First Date

19th December 2014:
Here with your requested review!

Cameron is a brave soul, walking his way into a group of staring girls and asking one out! Especially as Julianne is a rather no-nonsense, intense person. I'm sure the attention from the others was really not helping him either, so yeah I'm impressed. I'd never have the nerve for something like that. Yay, Cameron!

Ahaha, those Gryffindors are taking chivalrous to the next level. I agree with Julianne here - how on earth would he hurt her? Like, I don't envision him taking his Beater's bat on the date. (Though, maybe he should have it just in case the Marauders come by and try to get too protective of her, then Cameron can ward them off... I digress.)

Huh, she didn't date because she had a huge crush on someone for three and a half years. A) I can relate and B) I think I know who it is, if her complete obliviousness to Sirius at the end is anything to note. ;)

Id just tell you to keep doing what youre doing. She seems to enjoy it so much. -- Bahaha! Julianne's snark is so great. I loved her line earlier on as well, about how Nettie was the Beater she liked. Her sarcastic humour is a lot of fun.

I like that you've pointed out that inevitable truth about new teenage relationships, how they always end up in spending 99% of time with that person and a bit less time with the friends, at least for the first little bit.

Your characterization of Julianne is really good - I think this chapter in particular showcases her difficulty with emotional depth, as she's clueless about Sirius and the way she reacts to everything is pure logic.

Ok now for the things you asked about :p the plot is starting to find a direction here, as Julianne now has a boyfriend, and as well it becomes evident that there's tension/feelings/something between Sirius and Julianne.

I'm glad we got the back story on Lily as well! I'd been wondering. :D

The pacing seems to be good. Based on your A/N at the end I assume that future chapters will be more along the lines of this pace, as opposed to the previous two chapters, which is good as I think it's picking up now that the expositions have been made.

It will be interesting to see how the Marauders react to this development and if they stop terrorizing poor Cameron with their neon spells, haha! He's willing to put up with a lot just to be with Julianne. There's a lot of potential for interesting developments in character interactions in upcoming chapters, which is cool.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!

Cameron is one of my favorite characters and he has changed so much from when I first thought him up. But yes, props to Cameron for actually getting up the courage to ask her haha.

I may have slightly overdone the overprotectiveness, but I felt like it fit with the boys. But yeah, bringing a Beater's bat might be the best idea for everyone involved.

I'm so glad that Julianne's tendency to revert to logic is coming across. I wanted her to be slightly emotional at some times, but her underlying default is always logic, which I think plays into why she is so bad at Transfiguration because most of the spells there are not really that logical. And her snark is so fun to write.

I'm so glad you like the story and the plot and pacing seem pretty consistent. I'm happy that you can see some potential in it!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfanKissing in Private: Part Three

19th December 2014:
Here with your requested review!

Haha, I loved the anecdote about the kids playing house when they were little and being all dramatic like the actors they'd seen in films. :p And the announcing to the parents and "no this is before that" just seemed very realistically kid-like, so well done writing kids that age! Ehehe. I love Ginny's response! :D

Your innocent Teddy is quite funny and relatable at the same time - he has these very on-point thoughts that are so perfect for someone his age. I think Vic just doesn't realise how lucky she is to have Teddy as a friend, and hasn't ever considered that she'd lose him - say, if he were to go out with another girl and spend less time with Vic. I think she'd realise she can't just expect Teddy to hang off her every word and wait on her hand and foot (which he does now.)

I appreciate that Runa sees Derek as a shovel as well! The only CC I have is actually in this section. As is, the few paragraphs about his study session with Runa doesn't seem to go anywhere. I think it could greatly benefit by being a longer section, as I'd love to learn more about Runa and how her friendship with Teddy is building, what they have in common (besides thinking Derek resembles a shovel). Basically- I love the last bit, but I think if you added a bit more material, it could be fantastic.

You've got a great chapter here, and your story is progressing well! Awesome job :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfanTraitorous Hearts: The Lady of Greengrass Hall

19th December 2014:
WHOOO LAST PAPER! I'm here to offer you encouragement in the form of a review :D

Okay, I know I shouldn't be supporting her choices of loyalty but I just want to say how much I love that Lavinia Greengrass was a spy for the Death Eaters. It's nice to see that the group was not only men and Bellatrix - I like to see some balance between the sexes! :D Which you have done wonderfully here by pointing out that Bellatrix was not the only female Death Eater. And I love that she was there really for her own glory and couldn't really be bothered about Voldemort. That said... I don't support Death Eaterness, but I like that you added another female to the group. Ahaha, this probably makes me sound ridiculous. Moving on. Also I like the name Lavinia.

I love the back story on Astoria and the way you've written her character - her motives are understandable given her background. She sounds like she's on her own side, and I really like that. She also seems like she's not the sort of person who can easily be swayed to one side or the other. I am curious what it was Lavinia found out! And who killed her? And what has Astoria done? Aah, you've set up this wonderful mystery and it's so captivating.

Love your character set up - your Astoria is wonderfully clever and manipulative, and the brief glimpse we got of Malfoy is spot on as well - and I look forward to finding out more! Great chapter! And good luck on your essay!! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfanDown Comes The Night: Chapter Eleven

18th December 2014:
What a beautiful ending chapter, Maggie! That letter from Salazar was so wonderful - of course he wouldn't actually say anything to her face, but it is to his credit that he said it at all - she deserved that much from him. The whole chapter gave the feelings of a new start - it's bittersweet and really quite lovely, everything form Salazar and Helga taking steps in the right direction to start over - not with love, because it's impossible now, sadly, but at reconciliation - that's important. And the baby being born at the end too, another symbolic new beginning. This was such a wonderful chapter to end a wonderful fic, and I really don't think it could have ended any better! It was such a joy reading this. You have a talent. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfanDown Comes The Night: Chapter Ten

18th December 2014:
N o o o o o o o o ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! Agh, this chapter was absolutely heartbreaking. I think your characterisations are so strong though, and Salazar was just brilliantly written in this. I think in a way, Salazar grew up to be nothing but a mask, and he'd been pretending so long that he really lost who he was, and was just holding onto this bitterness. I was sure that all the discussion with Godric, even though it wasn't shown in the story, Salazar was keeping up this peaceful, listening image, while seething inside. I wouldn't be surprised if he said he'd forgiven Godric, but really hadn't.

And THEN in the conversation with Helga... the way he kind of played with her in the beginning was so cruel, so manipulative in order to get her feeling even worse, and yet so classic Salazar. My heart broke for Helga there. It's true, she was selfish in not telling him, but I also think her reasons were valid. I wonder if it would have been different if she'd had the opportunity to tell him on her own choice rather than have the secret revealed for her. The information would have hurt Salazar anyway, given his inability to get over his bitterness, but I think it would have been a slow, angst filled process if she'd told him rather than this quick, angry fight.

In comparison you really showed the strengths of Godric and Rowena and how they were willing to take care of her. They may have their many faults but they are caring and good, and don't think worse of her for acting in a particular way.

Ah, this was so sad! I can't believe there's only one chapter left!

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfanDown Comes The Night: Chapter Nine

18th December 2014:
I love what you did with Rowena's boggart - everything from the fact that she wanted to face it just because she was curious, to the scary form and then the humourous form are so perfect to her character.

I wasn't surprised by Godric's boggart either. But... the secret is out.

This was once again a stunning chapter. I'm really impressed by the way you handle all the characters' emotions and motivations, and the dialogue. Seriously, I'm drooling over your dialogue. It's so effortless and beautiful.

Sorry this is a lame review but I want to read the next chapter now... :p

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfanDown Comes The Night: Chapter Eight

18th December 2014:
Salazar is changing! So is Helga! Everything is so happy! I just love reading about how they are both influencing each other in good ways and becoming better people. Ah, I love that Salazar is going to teach Mary the muggle-born student, and he spoke to Elaine (haha, sidenote, this trips me up because in my founders fic Salazar's wife is Elaine). And Helga stood up for herself. (ahhh WHY CAN'T IT STAY THIS WAY. I get the feeling this is the calm before the storm... or at least before Helga feels too guilty concealing her secrets any more and things go downhill. I'll shut up now and just enjoy the happiness while it lasts!)

I think my favourite line in this chapter was the bit about how Salazar had a fondness for sweets. :D It's just a tiny detail, but it's so contrary to this pompous image of himself that he projects, and I love things like that :D

Another thing I absolutely adore about this story is Helga and Godric's friendship, and how they revert to acting like children and splashing each other in the face! Ha, that was so great :D

Such a wonderful chapter!

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfanDown Comes The Night: Chapter Seven

18th December 2014:
HAPPY REVIEW HOT SEAT DAY! :D I'm so happy to be reading this right now as I love this story SO MUCHHH

This chapter made me SO HAPPY. Not because of Salazar's past obviously - that's absolutely horrible, and I'll get to that later - but the fact that he trusts Helga more than anything, he confides in her, he's starting to change... HE LIKES HER... My Helgazar-shipping heart is so glad AND THAT ENDING SCENE MADE MY WEEK. GAH!

Now that I've gotten that out. Helga continues to be such a wonderful character. At the beginning I could really identify with her and understand her frustration that everyone sees her as an innocent, naive little girl who doesn't understand, especially when she blames Godric - and knows that it's wrong to blame him, but can't help it. Her self-awareness is such a great trait and shows that even with the best intentions and a good heart, she's still just human and makes mistakes just like the rest of us.

I love that you incorporated Salazar's Legilimency as the way he informed her of his past - that was really clever and made the scene just that much more raw and intense. Poor Salazar, what an awful thing to go through at such a young age, and it certainly explains his feelings towards Muggles. Part of me really wants him to overcome his decades-long bitterness with Helga's help, but I also know that it is not going to happen since the end of this story is essentially pre-determined. Aah!

NEED TO SQUEE ABOUT THE END AGAIN, I loved her kind of sassy responses. And he thinks she's too good for him. I cant handle this. I know it's going to break my heart in the end (and theirs too) but it's perfect.



 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfanKeeping Secrets: Six Months Later

17th December 2014:
Haha, I love that he chose to get to America not on a plane, which would be the easiest, but on a ship. I mean, as a sailor I fully support this choice. But it still makes me laugh.

I can definitely understand how his planned escape from his past didn't work out as it just isolated him even more and gave him even more space to think about Fred's death, which is the opposite of what he was trying for. It does make sense for him to return now too, as Rita Skeeter probably still wouldn't be hounding him six months later. You wrote his loneliness very well, time seemed to have just gone by in a haze, and the only interesting thing is when he meets people in the bar.

The introduction of Liz was so great - she is quite a character! Telling her life story to a stranger in the bar, it was quite funny and I love that she caught herself right after it and mentioned how weird it was. She seems like the sort of person who has few secrets, if any, so she's already a perfect contrast to Charlie. I liked how instantly taken they were with each other! However it does put a spanner in the works in terms of Charlie's planned return to his family. Then again, I believe it's winter by this point in the story, and who wants to cross the Atlantic Ocean on a ship in the winter? Ew. Yeah, stay there Charlie :D I am really looking forward to see more of Charlie and Liz interacting!

Another excellent chapter, Jayde! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfanKeeping Secrets: Enough

17th December 2014:
Okay. After getting distracted at your Poe-inspired fic (and I saw there's another one! but I'll get to that next time, I guess :P ) I'm here to show some love for Keeping Secrets!

Gah, I can't even imagine how horrible it would be, not only to be suffering after your brother's death and all the other consequences that come with a huge war, but having mobs of reporters outside your house! Ugh! I don't blame Charlie for hiding.

I think it was quite sensible for him to go back to work though and I could really understand that as diving into work and having all these important distractions is, for me, a familiar antidote to grief. Well, except that then he had Rita Skeeter following him there and essentially rubbing salt into all the wounds, I can't believe she was so vicious and horrible! (actually, I can believe that) Poor Charlie, I just felt so awful for him as he completely broke down.

I'm glad he thought to leave a note for his mum when he disappeared - she would absolutely worry out of her mind and so I'm glad she's at least aware of why she won't be hearing from him.

Ahh so sad and I hate Rita Skeeter. That is all.

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfanFiery-Haired Queen (Inseparable): Fiery-Haired Queen (Inseparable)

17th December 2014:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day, Jayde! :D

I knew the instant that I clicked on your AP that I'd have to read this one as I love Edgar Allan Poe. Annabel Lee is a beautiful poem and ooh I love the twist that you wrote a Snily fic based on it. I don't like Snily as a ship but I knew I was bound to like this fic anyway, and I did :D

Dare I say it, this painted the Snape/Lily relationship in an almost beautiful way. I think this is mostly because you focused on how perfect their love was when they were young - it had this very innocent feel to it, how he loved Lily's curiosity and hand-holding and how there were no conflicts and they were just the best friends in the whole world. It was so sweet.

I also thought it so very Snape-like to not see himself to blame, towards the end - rather, it was cruel Fate who decided to separate them. You portray his transition to the dark side as a tragedy almost, an injustice to the pair of them that was fated to happen, and I must say it's very effective. I felt badly for Snape, even as he was deciding to be a Death Eater and call Lily a mudblood. How do you wield all the feels like this. I shouldn't be feeling badly for Snape.

And the end! It does make me happy to think that Snape had some peace as he died, knowing that he would be with Lily again and how he sees it, they'd never truly been separated because he'd loved her the whole time. This was a really creative take on both the Snape/Lily ship and on Annabel Lee, wonderful story Jayde! ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfanMortality: Mortality

17th December 2014:
Aah :'( I saw your status on the forums and clicked here without even reading the summary or anything, so I was not expecting it to be so sad! I have tears in my eyes right now :(

One thing I love about second person is how it can be used to convey such strong emotion, and you did that to great effect here. I could really feel Molly's pain and loss, it was so strong especially as she had been with Arthur for so many years and through so much in their lives (and I really liked the way you illustrated their lives together by pointing out things that had changed like her hair growing grey and such), and then to have him die would be so utterly heartbreaking. And of course that wish that all people get when they lose someone so close to them, that if they turn around, the person will be there. As you even pointed out in the story, Molly and Arthur had the forever type of love, and the thought of one of them dying just makes me feel all the sad feels. Gah.

This was really such a splendid one shot though, Curie. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfanSeized: What is the Definition of the Word 'Friend'?

17th December 2014:
Okay. I loved this chapter. So much. Draco and Hermione are at the point in their... friendship? acquaintance? kind-feelings-towards-one-another-ness? whatever it is, that they can make jokes and.. was Hermione flirting with him? a tiny bit? ;) Anyway, I really like that they are able to talk to each other so easily now.

I also kind of loved how annoyed Draco is by Pansy. God, Pansy really is the worst. :p

I really liked Draco and Hermione's dinner at the Leaky Cauldron, how he's finally opening up to her and wow, his future life with Astoria really sounds like it would have been terrible. Of course he's upset that she's been kidnapped as I'm sure he cares about her, but it's sad that he didn't love her.

Great work on this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfanSeized: Who is Keeping Secrets Now?

16th December 2014:
HAPPY HOT SEAT DAY!

All the things that are being concealed from this investigation are definitely going to come back and bite them. Gahh, why leave all these things out!?

I was pretty annoyed at Ron for assuming all these things about Draco, which - at this point in the story, at least - are completely absurd. They're only friends at this point (or at least I don't see anything more yet!) though I thought Hermione's responses were pretty priceless, ie. 'if it were Harry would you think they were getting cosy' haha.

Aw. It was really sweet that Draco was concerned for Hermione's well being and offered her a chance to vent about Ron if she needs, haha. I'm sure Draco would only be too thrilled to participate in that as well.

Ahaha, maybe this is just because it's been a few months since I read the last chapter but I LOVED that little 'investigation summary' sheet as it helped me remember all the important things from the past 13 chapters :p and it also seems like a pretty reasonable thing for them to do, anyway.

Great chapter! Moving on the the next :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfanComplicated: In Which Slytherins Speculate

16th December 2014:
Ok, I am the worst, I feel bad that I haven't reviewed all the chapters up until now but I just kind of read all of the chapters in this binge-reading session and now THERE'S NO MORE. No but that's good because now I have to take a breath and leave you the reviews and compliments you deserve! I'm sorry I haven't done so until this point!

I really love Ollie, I think she's a fantastic character. I love her spunky attitude, and I also love how she has all these frustrating faults (like running away from Scorpius at exactly the worst time aaah) because they make her so human. I am really worried about Cassie - although she can be a difficult person I did like her (maybe just because I'm seeing her through her best friend's eyes, haha.) and how terrifying that must be to have your best friend missing! I feel so bad for Scorpius too as he really has no one.

Although at the moment this is working against her friendship with Scorpius (though hopefully not for long?) I love Olivia's interactions with the Gryffindors and how well she fits in with them and how much they accept her. She and Al are so cute together. But mostly I love that the romance plot hasn't even started yet, how they're just building up to being friends. It goes at a realistic pace and I appreciate that.

Your minor characters are really excellent as well! Joe and Oscar are the best. Who says Slytherins can't be cuddly? :D

So glad we happened to do that review swap the other day. I've favourited this story and eagerly awaiting the next chapter. :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfanRabbit Heart: Hearts and Minds

16th December 2014:
Review tag! Aah, it's been ages since I read this story and I can't tell you how excited I am to come back to it. :D

Ahaha, so James is finally able to do magic outside of school now. Exactly how I imagine he'd use that privilege! XD

Poor Albus, I do really feel for him. It would be so much easier for him to talk to Wren if only there wasn't something weird going on with her. WHAT IS THAT RABBIT DOING TO HER.

I love the tentative, awkward relationship between Albus and Wren though, how they're used to being friends and they both have these new feelings they don't know what to do with. It's cute, and feels realistic for that sort of situation. And I love that a hug from Albus makes Wren's day so much better :)

The friendship between Scorpius and Albus is so great too, especially how Scorpius keeps prodding Albus to ask Wren out. What else are best friends for, other than to tease you with the best intentions? :D I love his characterisation though, how he's a bit of a snob sometimes (unsurprising considering who he is) but still has a good heart and is friends with all these Weasleys and Potters and Longbottoms. I wonder how his dad feels about that :p

It was nice to see Wren engaging in some amount of normal behaviour at the end there but, like Albus, I am equally nervous about Wren's strange behaviour regarding the demon rabbit. I wish Wren wouldn't keep it such a secret. Then again, if she told someone, I doubt they'd really take it that seriously.

Superb chapter and I can't wait to find out what is up with the mystery rodent. :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfanSaving Severus Snape : 2nd September 1976 - Part 1

16th December 2014:
Hermione piling on the questions in the beginning is, once again, so true to character. You have an amazing grasp on her personality!

I love your writing of young Rita, too, it's really entertaining.

Seeing all the professors twenty years younger would be kind of weird as well! I love that Hermione still wants to take like a bajillion classes because that's what she's used to. I feel like she's going to have to pretend she's a little bit behind the others at some point, especially after mastering the conjuring charm instantly, because really she's a fully trained witch with two more years of experience than the other students have, and someone is bound to notice eventually and draw attention to her.

So much for keeping her head down, that interaction with Snape (haha, one of these times she does need to meet him in a way that doesn't involve falling on the floor! :P ) and the following one with Sirius pretty much drew everyone's attention!

Her meetings with all these people from the past make me so nervous, haha! Ah, what happens when she is officially introduced to Remus? I wonder if he remembers her all those years later and is confused about the same person existing twice... I suppose I'm getting years ahead of myself here.

I really like Amelia! She seems like such a wonderful friend for Hermione. Although I can't help thinking that just by becoming such close friends with her, Hermione is changing some things. Ah, time travel XD

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfanSaving Severus Snape : 1st September 1976 - Evening

16th December 2014:
Wheee! Your lucky day, I'm on a reviewing spree :D

That first interaction with Snape was 110% exactly how I would have imagined it. He's calculating, aloof, suspicious, and certainly doesn't need help from anyone. And of course being at a position of weakness as he's lying on the floor, he couldn't be anything but rude. So yeah that was really well done.

SHE MET AMELIA BONES D': I can tell that every time I read about Hermione meeting someone who's dead later, I'm going to feel this weird combination of sad and happy. Happy because the person is alive and well and Hermione can actually get to know them, and sad because they're going to die in a few years. And Hermione knows all of it! What a weird pressure to have.

(Also, every time I see the words 'Uncle Albus' I do this kind of combined snort and laugh. I'm really glad I'm never going to be sent back in time because I'd spill all the secrets within about 10 seconds. Mad respect for Hermione, since she is able to keep such a clear head through all of this!)

I also love how the little things remind her of what she left behind, like messily eating potatoes reminds her of Ron, as this is happening pretty shortly after her last interaction with Ron who she's sure to be thinking about a lot. I think it's quite realistic. (Sidenote: can you imagine what disaster would ensue if Ron went back in time?)

Hahahah only Sirius XD He really was turning on the charm there! I loved Hermione's reactions. Especially that bit when she grits her teeth and tells Sirius it's a pleasure to meet him, because it reminded me of that scene in the first HP movie with Hermione on the train being all sniffy when Ron introduced himself. Ahaha!

RITA SKEETER :D OMG RITA AND GILDEROY ARE DATING. Omg, I'm kind of loving the idea of this relationship, too funny. The one who loves gossip and the one who loves to talk about himself, could there be a better match anywhere?

All these dead Order people in Ravenclaw! Gahh! Sad/happy!

Excellent chapter! Now I'm off to read the newest one!

 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfanSeven--Four--One--Nine--Eight--Two (Am I a Good Man?): Chapter 1

15th December 2014:
HAPPY HOT SEAT DAY! :D

Barty Crouch Sr! I don't know if I've ever seen a fic about him, so I'm really excited about this.

I liked how you led us through the events of Barty Jr's life as viewed through his father's eyes. Ah, little Barty was almost cute, in his excitement about getting a wand, and helping pay for the next customer (aw!) and how he was so close to Winky as a child. These little details were so great. Sad he grew up to be who he did, though :(

Your writing of Winky was superb - you got all her mannerism down perfectly, her crying, and the distinct third-person house elf speech. Ahaha and I loved that you put that bit from Doctor Who in there, as I read it I was reminded of the Doctor and I loved that it was intentional haha. But it was such a good spin on the situation - I like that Barty was finally beginning to question himself, and the point you made about him having no equals and few superiors was such a telling remark about how he views himself. Solid characterization. :)

Regarding your A/N. How cool, I love that you chose to write about Barty Sr despite hating him. To be honest, I love writing characters that I don't like :D Anyway, I really liked the way you got into his mind and showed the different sides of him, how he's torn between sticking to his work/his own ethics, versus reminiscing about who his son used to be and who he is now. It was really well done!

Excellent work! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfanSaving Severus Snape : 1st September 1976

15th December 2014:
I'm really excited to come back to this story!

I am like extra impressed with Hermione now because imagine all she's had to do in the past 48 hours and she hasn't eaten anything. I would seriously not even be functional if it were me in her place.

(that's about where I stopped the rolling review because I got sucked into the chapter, and I couldn't take my eyes away from it! haha.)

I LOVE going through Hermione's thoughts as she considers ALL the things that are going to be different! This is one thing I love about stories that mess about with timelines: there's so many things that can change to produce so many results, and if Hermione does one thing, she could be remembered for it later, her roommates will know her in the future, etc. so it was really neat to see her comprehend all of it. That's going to be a lot of glamour charms while she's there, though - how long do they last? I wonder if anyone will ever find out that her real hair is brown and frizzy. :p

I absolutely loved when she met with Madame Rosmerta and they chatted in the Three Broomsticks. Especially because of Hermione's grudge against her and then she turned out to be so nice. I thought that was great.

Seeing Death Eaters, aah! I guess it's not as bad in this time period as no one knows who she is, she's not the best friend of the Chosen One and all that, so she's got a bit more anonymity but still eeek it must have been so terrifying to see Bellatrix alive and well again!

LOCKHART :D AHAHA YES

And we are introduced to all our favourite Marauder era characters ;) I really can't wait to see how Hermione interacts with all of them.

Ooh, one thing that was really cool, which I only realized now - when they said "hey sorry Snivelly" I knew it was Snape, but I'd forgotten Hermione didn't know that nickname as she didn't see that scene in the Pensieve. So well done on that, how Hermione doesn't exactly pay attention to the person on the floor until she sees him at the end.

Awesome chapter! Thanks so much for the swap :)

Author's Response: I'm uber excited that you came back, too!! ♥

Oh I know! Me too! I probably would have crawled up into a ball, rocking back and forth in the fetal position by that point haha. Some Gryffie I am. ;)

Haha you're entirely too sweet!

Yeah, there is a very good chance that Hermione may (or may have already) changed quite a few things. And there is definitely a good possibility that she will be recognized by at least a few people in the future. You never know. ;) I honestly haven't been able to find how long the spell lasts, so I'm writing it as it will be on her until she takes it off. I'm going to try to dig more and see if I can get any more info on it, but as of right now, I couldn't. So for the duration of her stay, she'll have the long black hair. :)

I don't know why, but I really liked the idea of Rosmerta and Hermione becoming friendly. We'll definitely be seeing more of her during the Hogsmeade visits.

Right. She's definitely bound to run into them (and probably will again), but at least this time, she isn't known to them. She does have that anonymity, which is somewhat comforting. That was quite a shock seeing Bellatrix alive again, absolutely.

Bahaha! I fell in love with the idea of having Lockhart in this story. I just thought it would be too funny. :D

Haha they really are quite the bunch, aren't they? Hermione may have her hands full with them for a bit. ;)

Exactly! Harry never told them about Snape's memories during his fifth year, so Hermione and Ron had no idea. I knew that the reader would know who it was, but Hermione had no clue! I'm thrilled that you liked that little snippet!! :D

Thank you so, so much for the swap and another awesomely amazing review!! I'm super happy that you're enjoying this and I hope that you like the rest of the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg



 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfanComplicated: In Which Draco Malfoy Makes A Joke

15th December 2014:
eep! I couldn't help it, had to keep reading, besides this chapter needs more reviews.

I love that they all sit on the rooftop at Christmas. The roof was always my favourite part of my house growing up, haha!

I really like Scorpius and Cassie. They seem like such great people and I really love the friendship that the three of them have! I like that they and Olivia could all hang out together and I was thinking how cool it was that they never made her a third wheel, but then they did. :p Ah well, it happens :p

Omg Rita Skeeter still writing the worst gossipy excuse for news. WHY IS THIS IN THE NEWSPAPER? Tomorrow's headline: "ALBUS POTTER STUBS TOE." I swear. That woman needs to get a life :p but I kind of loved that you included her in here!

I like the way you've written Draco Malfoy. Granted we haven't seen him interacting with any of his old school enemies, but he seems to have matured a lot and is a pretty decent guy, at least at this point.

Reading this story makes me wonder why I had never read anything by you before, because you're a wonderful writer! I'm sure I'll be back :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfanComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

15th December 2014:
Review swap!

I must admit, this chapter title made me kind of happy since believe it or not, I am actually a total Scrooge. :P

Gah, who is this crazy mother who is trying to force her daughter to care about her appearance all the time? Oh. Pansy. Ok I get it. Ugh. Actually this should make for an excellent read, since I think Pansy can be a really interesting character :D

Ahaha, Olivia and Jason are such wonderful friendly cousins. Their greeting made me laugh!

Aw, that's really sad that the cursed necklace made Katie lose her chances with Quidditch. It's really sad, yet totally believable and it was such a huge event in her life so I'm glad you included a reference to it in here.

I loved Olivia and Jason's 'business transaction' for the gifts they didn't want, haha. They can actually be kind to each other sometimes, and they're really good at dissipating awkward situations by arguing with each other.

Oh no, what a horrible thing to find out on Christmas O__O I actually feel sorry for Pansy, which is not something I thought I'd say. Ahh, worst Christmas! I do really love Katie though, she is so sweet and I really hope Olivia realizes that her extended family cares about her, even if they aren't obvious about it all the time.

Awesome chapter and thanks for the swap!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>