Reading Reviews From Member: Wildmoon
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WildmoonUntil We Close Our Eyes For Good: Daring To Suck

1st February 2014:
Not being anything even REMOTELY close to sciency, I love how much science you put in here. You clearly define Snape's obvious intelligence without taking it over our heads. That's a great balance.

The flat scene is great, I could picture the scene and the impending inferno perfectly. You have the chemistry teacher surrounded by his idiot students trying to take control. It's a great picture.

I am loving this story! Can't wait to find out what happened to Snape's mom, and what this potion actually does!

Author's Response:

Ahh, science! There was a writing workshop I took a while back that stressed "never dumb down the tech!". I'm really happy you were comfortable with the sciency aspect without it feeling too overwhelming. :)

The flat scene was such a messed up combination of bad-to-worse for Severus. And frustrating, since he was fully capable of seeing how the whole thing could have been avoided.

Thanks so much for the review! It's great to have someone reading this story again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by WildmoonUntil We Close Our Eyes For Good: No Rest for the Wicked

26th January 2014:
Definitely adding this to my reading list! I have often wondered how Snape's parent's died, especially his mother since witches and wizards seem to have a longer lifespan than Muggles.

You lay out a couple of mysteries here and ask a couple of questions that really get your attention.

His take on love seems interesting. Not sure if his attitude toward Lily's memory is part of his grieving process or not, but he seems to be out of love with her? Or did I read that wrong?

Great start, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Wow! Someone's reading my Snape story!

I'm glad you are intrigued! No, you didn't read that wrong. At this point, he's a bit jaded with the experience, and more resents her for his feelings than anything else. His attitude about this becomes clearer as the story progresses. I hope you come back for more! Thanks for leaving me a review and letting me know what you thought!


 Report Review

Review #3, by WildmoonSticks and Stones: This Means War...or Friendship

17th January 2014:
I like this! It's a good story. You're clearly setting up James and Pippa for an adventure that will change both of them.

If I had to make one constructive criticism, it's that it's a bit too fast paced. The dialogue just moves, moves, moves. It could use a bit more setting. What does an office at the Daily Prophet look like? Big? Small? Old and smelly from being in business too long? Does Pippa keep a picture Rita Skeeter on her desk as her hero, or on the wall to throw darts at?

Love the ending with the threat of Felicity hanging over her! That's a great little add to keep us hooked!

Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank u! Yeah, a definite life changing thing!

Yeah, I thought it might :/ Hm, great idea! I will definitely add more in! LOL! Rita Skeeter! That is hilarious! :D :D

Thank u! I'm glad u liked it! :) Thank you for the sweet review!

-ReeBee :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by WildmoonOut Of the Ruins: Speculative Solitude

12th January 2014:
Ok, I haven't even read the whole chapter, and I need to make a comment.

I *ADORE* your treatment of PTSD. It really is marvelous. In one of JKR's interviews she said that what intrigued her was how people get past the crap that happens to them. You are showing exactly that, the decent into the darkness and confusion that PTSD entails.

Bravo, bravo, bravo. Well done.

Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go read the rest of your work.

 Report Review

Review #5, by WildmoonOut Of the Ruins: Smouldering Dangers

12th January 2014:
Interesting turn of events! I like Alexis as a character, her determination, her frustration, she's very real in that, and easy to relate to.

Harry's sudden prophetic visions are interesting, I am most curious to see where you go with it.

One correction, it is a bubblehead charm, not bobblehead. A bobblehead is those silly little toys that sit on the dashboard of your car with the head on a spring. :-)

Great story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by WildmoonRise: Let Darkness

12th January 2014:
This is a REALLY interesting perspective on Death Eater raids. We know so little about Mulicber, and the way you've fleshed him out is just great. I like that Snape's occlumency is already in place, even though at this point he's firmly in Voldemort's camp. It just makes you question him because you don't know what he's going to do next. He's methodical and compartmentalized well before he finds out that Lily's been targeted. Interesting to see him being subservient to Bellatrix. I'd always considered them equals, or him slightly superior to her. It's cool to see him still working his way up the ranks.

Oh Merlin, poor Regulus. He's in so far over his head. You are planting the seeds for his inevitable actions against Voldemort really well.

Looking forward to more!

 Report Review

Review #7, by WildmoonTiny Tim, a Shaggy Kneazle Story: Tiny Tim, a Shaggy Kneazle Story

21st December 2013:
You've got a lovely little story of redemption here, redemption on multiple levels.

Personally, I love the bit of "true love waits" that you have at the ending, it's refreshing to see.

Nice job!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I think even Harry is redeemed by turning what could be anger at Christmas around and making it a season for giving instead. In an un-posted chapter you will see how Harry decides that since he doesn't have any family to visit Christmas Eve, unlike his brothers-in-law, he is going to do something nice for his staff and work Christmas Eve.

Lilly is escaping from at least two generations of abuse, and Timothy three generations. And part of that escape for Lilly is not having sex until after she is married, being what is called in some circles a "born again virgin. I'm glad you liked it.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #8, by WildmoonMixed Feelings: Flying Forks and Bathroom Talk

21st December 2013:
I love this! I love how you've got conflict in it, but still keep it light and happy for Christmas.

I think you captured the ever-changing moods of teenagers really well, as well as the frantic goings-on that a Weasley Christmas is bound to entail. I just want to know who secretly magiked that mistletoe there. :-)

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! And no, I don't think anybody magicked the mistletoe, it was just there and Roxanne and Henry didn't notice it until later. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by WildmoonThaw: Thaw

20th December 2013:
Oh my God this is so sad and sweet! It's heartwarming in that it reminds us that Remus does find friends and love later on in his life.

I love the little textural details you put in, like the nausea, and what not. His parents could have so easily abandoned him after he was turned, and you show their devotion to him without getting sickly sweet and sappy. Very nice balance there!

Really enjoyed this, thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you actually found it heartwarming despite the angst :) I wrote this after reading Lupin's biography on Pottermore, which was so sad it made me want to lie down on the floor for a hundred years whilst I thought about it.

Thank you for the review! :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by WildmoonOh Dear, Christmas Cheer: Finishing the List

20th December 2013:
I love how you set the tone of the whole thing with sentences like "Being pureblood had not prepared him for the shock of being driven around by the barely permissible." That's great! You really capture teenagers out to have fun, and I can so easily see James being a menace on the road like his Uncle Ron.

The one thing I'm confused on is the James/Scorpius meeting on the train bit. I may well be wrong, but isn't Scorpius Albus' age? That would put James and Scorp in different years, which makes them being best friends a bit quirky.

Other than that, I love the story. The little details you put in really flesh the situation out, and I adore the little nod to Gilderoy Lockhart! I can really see Ron hamming that story up to Hermione's everlasting embarrassment. Great touch!

Very enjoyable story, I will definitely be checking out more of your work! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Author's Response: In the books yeah Scorpius is Albus and Rose's age, I just like him being older and friends with James best. :D lol. I like adding little things like the Lockhart or pureblood stuff just to lighten the mood a bit.
Thank you so much for the sweet review. I am glad that you enjoyed my story! :D Merry Christmas to you as well!


 Report Review

Review #11, by WildmoonBurning Popcorn-A Christmas Anecdote : BOOM, BOOM, POP

20th December 2013:
Wow, that is a lot packed into a short story! After the competition is over, I'd like to see you expand on this. I love the kids' POV, it would be fun to get more into the headspaces of the adults, especially Andromeda and Harry.

Well done, very emotive in such a short space!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I liked the idea and would have liked more time to edit it, but oh well. :) I'm glad you liked it, I'll try to add more later. :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by WildmoonLoved One Lost: Loved One Lost

18th December 2013:
This actually reminds me of the day I moved and my cat went missing. Looked for him (thankfully it was in the summer) for two hours before I found him sleeping in the closet. Well written! Totally realistic!

Author's Response: I just recently brought two cats into my household. They tend to go off on their own and you can call all you want. They will appear when they are ready.
Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by WildmoonMistletoe Mishaps: Christmas Trickery

18th December 2013:
I *LOVE* this!!! Really, really, really cute. I love your descriptions, and it was an easy thing to imagine being right there with the characters. Well crafted!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by WildmoonThe Bravest Man I Ever Knew: Along Came Darkness

26th October 2013:
This is great so far. I've always wondered about his thought process in becoming a Death Eater, and I hope you explore it a lot more on his journey. Hope to see more soon!

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the review! I haven't been around in a while, but that's because I had no computer of my own anymore. I have one now, so I hope to get back to this (and all the others, too)!

 Report Review

Review #15, by WildmoonSlytherin Secrets: A Risky Return

14th July 2013:
Wow, this story really has me interested. I look forward to the explanation of how a known muggle born could get to be a Slytherin Head girl, and whatever is going on with Malfoy, I really look forward to seeing how she's going to be part of it.

Definitely an interesting start!

Author's Response: Thanks a million! I'm thrilled to hear this was an intriguing beginning. An update is coming very soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by WildmoonAge of Peace and Times of Joy: Christmas Reflections

14th July 2013:
I have no problem imaging this story taking place in about 6 seconds, just a look around the room and all the emotions flooding her at once.

This was a lovely piece, I can imagine this just as easily as the epilogue we got in the book. All is well.

VERY well written!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story, tears included. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by WildmoonThe Final Journey: The Final Journey

11th July 2013:
This is BY FAR the best story I've read in the challenge so far. I'm on the verge of tears, and I'm not a crier!

I had always wondered where Fawkes went after Dumbledore's death, I always anticipated seeing him in the final battle of the books, and was disappointed when he didn't. I love the way you painted this explanation for that. He was so much more than just a pet.

I love the Aurthurian twist you put on the end, I can well imagine Excalibur thinking much the same thing if swords could think. Hopefully Fawkes won't have to wait as long for his once and future companion.

Well done!

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so, so happy that you liked the story! I'm sorry I nearly made you cry, but I'm glad that the story affected you so much. I wasn't sure it was very good at all! Thanks again for this lovely review. You made me smile. :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #18, by WildmoonA Voyage with Voldemort: Ibiza

8th July 2013:
OMG! This is great. What a creative imagination you have!

I particularly love the part about Malfoy worrying about the color of his hair and putting sunscreen in it. How very Gilderoy Lockhart!

ROFL!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you called it creative as opposed to strange, it makes me feel normal for once! I may have used Lockhart as inspiration in that part :P Thanks for the review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #19, by WildmoonMum's the Word: Romania

8th July 2013:
This is a really great piece. Lots of little terrific moments in there that kept it light hearted, like running away after he finds his trainers!

I especially loved the arrest, since that's something we've never really seen before. It's hard to take a one-shot and add significantly to our universe, but that really was brilliant! And I can totally see Arthur covering for his sons like he did, that's characterizing him perfectly.

Well done!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login