Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: Dirigible_Plums
  
235 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dirigible_PlumsPicking Flowers: Picking Flowers

29th August 2017:
Hi!

I'm here to (finally) review your entry for The Classical Fanfiction Tropes challenge. If I'm not mistaken, you had the prompt 'fake dating' and I think this is the most unique twist I've seen on it. Usually, it's a convuluted, last-minute attempt to get one of the main character's family/friends/exes off their back, but this time it's Lily's way of making sure that Scorpius doesn't go around being a git with all the girls. I was pleasantly surprised by this twist, especially because of how crafty the idea is.

I saw that this was also written for the Not Your House challenge and I'm assuming the house is Slytherin. I really liked how both Lily and Scorpius are in that house, but they embody the traits differently. They're certainly crafty, but Lily's blackmailing here is done for a good cause (i.e. to stop Scorpius from doing what he does) whereas Scorpius is really manipulative in a bad way. You didn't just portray them as evil characters as might've been tempting.

Speaking of Scorpius: what a little - grrr. *Insert mature language* The disrespect he has for girls is unbelievable! I don't know how Rose managed to fancy him - although maybe it's to do with the charming persona he has on. I'm surprised Lily let him approach Rose after their argument, especially since she's finally realised what kind of person he's like. And I'm surprised Rose started dating him eventually. I do like the mentions of how none of it came about easily though with Rose being really paranoid and Scorpius struggling to get rid of his bad habits. It makes it a lot more realistic. I'm still not sure I want it to work out between them, however, even though it does say he changed. I probably would've warmed up to it if we'd seen more of his change - but that would probably be a full-length novel haha.

That being said, I strangely liked the honesty of his internal monologue. He was so matter-of-fact about his lack of care for anyone who wasn't Rose that I was equal parts frustrated with him and equal parts glad he at least knew what he was doing and didn't try to excuse it.

Anyways, this was a really original twist of the fake dating trope and I enjoyed reading it a lot. I haven't read Scorose in a while so it was nice to get back into it again. There were some typos here and there, but those can be easily fixed.

Thanks for entering!

Plums
♡♡♡

(P.S: I absolutely love the title! What a great play on words.)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dirigible_PlumsWhat We Did Last Summer: Want to Dance?

28th June 2017:
i know it's only been one chapter so far but oh my god, i am loving everything about this fic and its characters

Author's Response: whaaat! it's no secret how much i loved your dormitory 2.6a so this means the world. like, obv all reviews do, but this especially. thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dirigible_PlumsThe Harder They Fall: Deeper Than Oceans

20th June 2017:
B!

IT'S A HAPPY ENDING. IT'S THE ONLY ENDING I EVER WANTED.

*SCREAMING INTENSIFIES*

Author's Response: Was there any doubt? ;)

Thanks Plums! I'm glad you liked it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dirigible_PlumsThis Treasure: You Make Me Smile

18th June 2017:
well, this broke my heart.

(i would have left it at that - reviewing is not one of my strong points haha - but i just have to say: i don't tend to read romione's for fear that my otp won't be done justice but this was perfect. their relationship was simple and not too showy and just amazing. romione for the bloody win.)

plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dirigible_PlumsAll is Not Lost: Girls Night In...

23rd April 2017:
Hello there!

I'm here to bash out a review for the CTF event :) This is such a big fic - damn you, Gryffies - that I honestly didn't know where to start so I just dove in. So please bear with me for being a simpleton and not knowing anything lol.

I did have a quick glance at the start of the first chapter before I decided to run over here though and I saw something about James cheating on Lily with Terese, I think? If so, Jeez Louise, I could not behave the same as Lily (but does she even know, I wonder?) and be so friendly with her. Or be Terese and not BURN with guilt during every conversation with our dear Lilykins.

Not going to lie, that bit about Terese draping her leg over Lily to put her foot on Lily's knee made me die a little inside haha. I really really don't like feet so just envisioning someone else's foot being on your knee just makes me cringe so hard. And doing their nail varnish! Even worse! *internal screaming*

Loved the little cheekiness of the girls when they realised that the men were listening in. Honestly, the competition between James and Sirius is ridiculous, even after all these years. It seems they'll never grow up (not that I want them to, of course. I live for James and Sirius acting like kids.)

I'm telling you now the girls speak true when they commend actual sweetheart Remus Lupin above all. 😜

It's nice to see how young and carefree they can still be. Since I've skipped a fair few chapters (read: 80-freaking-2) I'm not 100% sure how many years it's been but if Terese is the mother of the bride, I'm guessing it's been a while!

Plums xo
♡♡♡

Author's Response: Hey :)
Terese and James are cousins, and like brother and sister! But James had a one night fling with an old friend of Terese's. But she does feel guilty about introducing them.
Haha I don't particularly like feet but they have that sort of close friendships where there aren't many boundries with things like that haha. And Terese is the sort of person to have regular pedis so her feet wouldn't be too gross lol
And haha yes the girls' are well versed on how to out-marauder the maruaders lol! They know exactly how to make the competitiveness work for them (I think it's true about Remus too haha)
Hmmm Harry's poss about 22/23 at this point so they are mid 40s!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dirigible_PlumsOpposites attract: The introductions

17th April 2017:
Hello there!

I've come to see whether you've hidden the flag in this particular story of yours!

But first of all, I saw your author's note and 😮😮😮 NO HINNY? WHAT? But - but - they're so good together 😢

Reading on.

Sometimes, there's nothing better than a good ol' Dramione (I'm sure that Ineke is somewhere out there screaming in rage at this), and Head Boy and Girl fics have always been an interesting way to explore this. It's always intriguing to see how the author will factor in the War, have it influence everyone's behaviour and interactions with each other. I mean, it can't be easy going back to Hogwarts, can it? Of course, seeing as how this has diverged from canon, it's very probable that Hogwarts is more of an escape than a reminder.

I have to admit, however, that I've never been a fan of Hermione Grangers who have a makeover out of spite. I feel like one of the integral parts of her personality is that she doesn't care about something as unimportant as her appearance. What is that compared to her knowledge? Compared to her achievements? Her fight against Voldemort? I personally felt she just had bigger fish to fry.

Haha, I know this is an abandoned fic so you probably don't care but aren't Hermione's parents dentists? That earns you a pretty hefty amount each year already, doesn't it? Maybe not enough for a ferrari (although I have no idea what one costs so who knows?) but two dentists pretty much sets the Grangers up already. Add that to the inheritance and daaamn.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

Author's Response: Okay first off, of all the places, the flag had to be hidden here. This story is my worst piece of writing ever, and now when I go back to read it, it cracks me up. It is so, so bad. I wrote it when I was very young so I apologise for the bad writing you had to go through during the game.

I know, i know, the whole makeover thing is terrible. I cringe at it now. And um yeah I was not a very bright teenager haha. basically hermione got super rich xP


 Report Review

Review #7, by Dirigible_PlumsAnd Now A Word From Our Sponsors: Ten

16th April 2017:
Ahhh, I'm not feeling v articulate today but baaically this was amazing and hilarious and I'm really glad I've read this since it's been a while since I've read a next gen fic that I like and is actually complete!

Plums xo
♡♡♡

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it!! It's been a while since I wrote this, obviously, but I do remember how fun it was to write something besides dark, romantic angst, which was my forte. :P I'm honored that you read this all so quickly, too!

Thank you so much for your sweet reviews -- these made my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dirigible_PlumsAnd Now A Word From Our Sponsors: Five

16th April 2017:
So I've been too addicted to this story to leave reviews on the other chapters (very sorry, by the way, but they're great!) but OH MY GOD, ROSE

Author's Response: No worries at all for not reviewing every chapter! I don't expect it (or reviews at all, really), and am just happy you're enjoying the story. :)

So glad you like it! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a note!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dirigible_PlumsIn The Name of Brotherly Love: Sirius Storms Out

14th April 2017:
Hello again!

Is there any chance you've hidden the CTF in this chapter or fic? 😛

I feel like I comment this on every fic that mentions the Black brothers but: oh my gosh, what happens to them is just so tragic 😭 They were just teenagers, just KIDS and their relationship crumbled to pieces with one brother hating the other and believing the feeling to be reciprocated, Sirius never even knowing the truth behind Regulus' death. Just boys who were both influenced by the awful world they grew up in - Sirius shunning it all, Regulus embracing it - and let it dictate them. It's so awful.

Take the beginning, for example. The teasing on Sirius' behalf seems like what any old brother would do, you know? Sort of how Fred and George took the mick out of Percy for being smarmy and for following the rules. It's lighthearted. But it doesn't stay that way. Before you know, they're actually brawling and saying horrid things to each other, stuff you can't come back from.

It breaks my heart that Sirius made one last attempt to sway Regulus before he left, only to have it chucked back in his face. Yet in about three years' time, Regulus will know that he should've listened. And he'll die for it.

Again. Very upsetting.

Equally as upsetting is the way the Blacks treat Sirius. They're verbally abusive, emotionally abusive and even physically abusive sometimes if the spell Orion shoots towards Sirius suggests anything. It's definitely not the sort of environment anyone needs.

A little bit of concrit before I dash off: there are some chunks of paragraphs that haven't been double-spaced like the rest of them and it's not very easy on the eyes. It made it a little more difficult to read and digest personally.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dirigible_PlumsRon's Explanation.: Ron Explains

14th April 2017:
Hello there!

I'm here to see if you've hidden a flag in this little one shot for the CTF event :)

I really liked it too! It's no secret that I love Ron Weasley, like genuinely love him - him and Harry compete for the honour of being my favourite on the daily - so I was really relieved that this one shot did not bash him. Ugh. Ron-bashing. Please don't get me started on that.

Point is: you didn't bash him. In this fic, you can clearly see that Ron is just a scared seventeen year old kid who said some things he didn't mean, did some things he didn't mean and deeply regrets it seconds too late. It baffles me that people constantly demonise him for walking out when a) so many people have done so much worse and b) he clearly shows remorse. Once he finally manages to return, he keeps up the morale. Harry clearly loves him, Hermione clearly loves him - everybody should love him! So what if he's moody and flawed? Who isn't?

Moving on from my defence of Ron Weasley...

Another thing I really liked was how understanding Bill was. You can tell that he's the big brother here: understanding and supportive but still impressing upon him the reality of the situation. He could tell that Ron regretted it and made sure that his little brother knew his value, instead of blowing his top at him for walking out. I've never gave much thought to Bill Weasley but your portrayal of him was great.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Fear Love and Confusion

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

I have returned to see if the flag is hidden in this chapter. I fear we will never find it at all 😭

Okay so I am actually really conflicted about Aleesha. Under no circumstances do I believe that she deserves what she's going through. I think it's awful. The Death Eaters are a disgusting terrorist organisation and to be forced in their ranks in order to save the life of both yourself and someone you love... Well, let's just say I would never wish it upon anyone. It's terrible and throughout it all, she only seems to have Remus to fall back on. No wonder she's depressed.

I can't believe that she's contemplating suicide. It's honestly heartbreaking when someone reaches that point. No one should ever have to feel this way.

Onto what's conflicting me about Aleesha: her feelings. Now, I have never ever ever been one to condone cheating. It makes me intensely uncomfortable. To promise yourself to someone and then break that trust? I don't know how people do it. I know that she's technically not with anyone at the moment but having feelings for so many people and stringing them along is just plain wrong. We see later that she cuddles with Remus in the common room yet she's kissing Regulus at the Astronomy Tower, still loves and misses Sirius and apparently has feelings this Tommy, I think. I just can't fathom how.

Also, please tell me that when she says "I still felt that odd love for him", she is most certainly NOT talking about Voldemort. Because all I can say to that is ??? HOW?

It seems that Aleesha's mother is the biggest bloody hypocrite ever. She kept uprooting the family in fear that someone would find out that Aleesha is a werewolf, despises her for being a werewolf... and yet is in love with a werewolf?

All very complicated ish, really.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Midnights

12th April 2017:
*slides in*

Bet you thought you'd seen the last of me, right? 😏

Not to fear! I am back and I am loving it because my Remy boy is in this chapter. And I do love me some Remus. Honest to God, he's my favourite Marauder and I'm not really sure why. Something about him is just so loveable. He's a real sweetheart, isn't he? Always willing to see good in someone.

(Until they wrong him and his friends. Then, the wrath of God descends upon all his enemies.)

(Or so I've heard.)

My point is: I love Remus and I loved seeing him in this chapter. When I first started this fic last night, I wondered whether the couple would be these two instead of Sirius and Aleesha since they share a bond that no one else understands. They're both werewolves and both ashamed of it. They were even turned by the same person! Either way, I knew that there'd be something inherently different about their relationship.

And it seems that there really is. When everyone broke it off with her for kissing Regulus (still confused about that, by the way - can't wait until I get to see what happened), he stuck by her. And they're even cuddling in the common room. What cuties. And ahh, a kiss. How sweet.

Although I'm not sure how I feel about this, I admit. She's still in love with Sirius so it's not fair of her to string Remus along. But maybe Remus would be good for her? If her feelings for Sirius faded, he'd be an excellent choice. Someone who makes her feel good even when her world is crumbling to pieces. Someone who stays by her throughout the good times and the bad. Someone who understands.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Lifeless

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

It's me: Plums. I expect you're sick of seeing my face by now, but I am on a mission and it's to break out one of my teammates for the CTF event.

I have to admit something. I know that it's a very serious subject matter and the scene is intense but when this paragraph popped up: "Then, out of no where, a pain shot through my stomach. I screamed loudly, and doubled over in pain, falling off my seat and having the whole class turn to look at me. The pain began to spread all across my body like waves in an ocean. It was like being crucioed, except it was worse and I couldn't hold in my screams at all." my immediate thought was 'sounds like cramps' 😂😂 #darkhumour. Either way, I know that it's not cramps but I can definitely empathise with Aleesha by pretending it is (or it feels like it anyway). Like TMI alert but I have also passed out from cramps before. Aleesha, I feel you, girl. I really do.

Since this is quite a few chapters before the one I just came from (20, I believe), it's startling to see the change in Aleesha. I mean, she's well and truly happy here, you know? She's even trying to get Remus to dance for her in the middle of Potions! That's what life should be like for her. Impromptu dances in classes and whining about boredom. Not being forced into being a Death Eater. Not having all of her friends hate her. Not even contemplating suicide. It's truly saddening to see what service to Lord Voldemort does to someone. She's just a kid, after all.

Onto a little concrit: in a few of the chapters, I've seen you switch between first person for Aleesha's POV and then third person to recount what is happening elsewhere without her knowledge. I really think that simply sticking to third person would make the transition a lot more fluid. I always find it a little jarring to suddenly switch, even though it's to provide us with an insight into the bigger picture.

That's it for now!

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: The Fight

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

Long time, no see. It's Plums again with another review for CTF. Checking between the lines to see if you're hiding the flag :)

Well, this was certainly a rickety chapter in terms of emotions. It seems that all the relationships between the main set of characters are crumbling down, aren't they? Sirius and Regulus are getting even worse in their arguments which is to be expected but Sirius and Remus? I now know what the fight mentioned in the chapter was and know why Remus stuck by Aleesha even when the other Marauders didn't. He was the one actually fighting with them.

And on top of that, it seems he's her boyfriend. I confess, I am a little confused about Aleesha's feelings (probably because I'm not reading this in the right order lol). So, she's in love with Sirius to the point where she became a Death Eater to save his life, right? BUT she kissed Regulus for some reason and in the next chapter, she says she loves him. Like a lot. But she's Remus' girlfriend according to Lily. Okay. Whoa. There's clearly a lot going on here. I admit that I'm not sure why Remus would date Sirius' ex-girlfriend (who kissed his brother!) given the level of loyalty between the Marauders. (Speaking of which, where's little Peter at?) I can see him staying friends with her, especially given that she's also a werewolf but I didn't think it'd go this far.

I do feel sorry for Aleesha but I have to agree with Lily. Her actions are badly affecting the group and she needs to step up to own up to it, no matter how much it hurts. At some point, yiu just have to draw a line.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Exams

12th April 2017:
Hello there!

I have returned to see whether the flag is in this chapter or not. Let's see, shall we?

For some reason, it's dawned on me that the reason Remus probably doesn't want to let go of Aleesha and their friendship is because they're both werewolves. Support from the Marauders is one thing but to truly understand what he goes through is another. And Aleesha can provide that camaraderie for him which explains why they rely on each other so heavily. As for whether that'll extend to knowing about the Dark Mark
.. well, that's another story. (Of course, he might already know about it, but since I'm still all over the place, I'm not 100% sure so I'm just going to assume he doesn't.)

I found it interesting how she says she loves Regulus, especially in light of the whole kiss business. I mean, she was - is, even - in love with Sirius and the brothers are rather known for not getting along. This probably deepens the betrayal Sirius feels. But seeing as how I'm a sucker for some good ol' Regulus, I'm not complaining here 😜 I am concerned with how heavily she relies on him (and Remus) though. Humans are social creatures and live for interaction, no matter what shape or form it comes in. But relying on two people so heavily doesn't seem all that healthy. Especially because she believes that they're going to leave her someday (and in Regulus' case... well, we know that he does for definite).

Sidenote: I know this is abandoned but I think you used the wrong word in one of the sentences: Oh jeez, I thought smugly. Why can't I seem to remember this one? I was a little confused when I read this because I'm not sure why Aleesha would be smug that she can't remember something in an exam?

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Closing In

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

Another jump, this time backwards in time. I'm hoping to see if you've sneaked in a flag here.

Okay, so: most people aren't a fan of Aleesha right now, or at least, they haven't been for a while now. It's not mentioned in this chapter as to why that is (although I should've expected that because I'm clearly not reading this in chronological order) but I'm 99% sure that it's because of the kiss mentioned later on in the fic? The one between Aleesha and Regulus? I'm still not sure as to why she would do that, however, unless it was to push Sirius away since she's now a Death Eater and he'll be in all the more danger for it.

Strange how Remus doesn't feel all that angry towards Aleesha. I would've thought that he felt indignation on Sirius' part but maybe he's just too friendly with Aleesha to cut her off. My Remy boy is a sweetheart, after all 😜

Wow, she's only in sixth year. I can't imagine what she must be going through if she's only sixteen/seventeen years old and forced to become a Death Eater. It makes me all the more curious about her. If she's only that young, why is the Dark Lord so interested in having her in his ranks that he literally threatens to have Sirius killed? What is so special about this girl?

And oh-oh. James has found out about the mark literally two seconds after he apologised and made amends. Jesus Christ, this won't be good for their relationship. I can't imagine that he'll take her response all that happily either. If I was in his position and my cousin said they didn't mean to join a terrorist group, I'd practically scream what the hell that even meant since the mark is clearly only for the most serious members.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: One Down

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

So the previous chapter didn't have the flag. Maybe this one does?

Ooh, James is clearly not happy with Aleesha. I wonder why that is? Yesterday, when I was breaking Paula out by reviewing the next chapter, I assumed that Aleesha was undercover in the Death Eaters. But it seems that she's not? She's an honest to God Death Eater but not because she wants all Muggleborns to die or anything - but to save Sirius. I'm surprised that Voldemort wants her in his ranks so much. After all, admiration and adoration inspire so much more loyalty, don't you think? But then again, the threat of killing someone's love would be enough to turn you to the other side. It was either lose Sirius one way or the other. At least now he's still alive.

Jesus Christ, that bombshell. Her mother murdered her dad? Boy have I missed out on a lot! I can't believe that things have changed this much. I vaguely remember that Aleesha mentioned her mum usually wore the pants in the relationship and made all the decisions back in the first chapter - but I can't believe she's come so far as to kill her own husband. No wonder Aleesha hates her.

Seeing that there's fear in Fenrir's eyes makes me even more curious about what Aleesha's new power is. After all, she's still pretty young, I think, so to have that effect on someone as notorious as Greyback... Well, it's something, alright. I get the sense Aleesha is so much more powerful than she or anyone knows.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Conscience

12th April 2017:
Hello again!

It's Plums here, hoping that you're hiding a flag in this chapter. Let us see, shall we?

Ooh, I have to admit, I have never seen this 'voice in her head' thing done before. In fanfiction, the main character often argues with the voice in the back of their head but - as Aleesha tries to say - it's usually their own conscience. That is clearly not the case here and I genuinely cannot think of a viable explanation. It's not a phenomenon I've ever come across before. It reminds me of those werewolf stories on Wattpad - you know, where the 'human' form of the werewolf can hear and communicate with the wolf form in their minds? Is that what Aleesha can hear, I wonder?

I'm curious about this new power that Aleesha mentions. Unfortunately, because I'm bouncing around all over the place, I haven't seen it in action but that's probably going to change soon. I'm guessing it's not a good thing if it's triggered by anger and hurts those she's in a rage with.

Speaking of which: her mum.

WHAT HAVE I MISSED?

Last I saw, things were a little tense between them but now relations have clearly gone to hell. She hates her mother and her mother hates her, especially for being a werewolf. And who's the man her mother is so passionately in love with?

The conclusion to this chapter was upsetting. Werewolves in general aren't awful creatures. Like humans, there's good and there's bad ones. It's just a condition. I can't believe she's contemplating suicide. I hope this isn't the reason she's not around in the future for Harry.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: With Fenrir

11th April 2017:
Hello again!

Another chappie, another jailbreak. Please forgive me if this one's rubbish as sleep is catching up with me and I'm trying my best to stay coherent.

Jesus. I've just hopped on over here from chapter two and things have certainly changed, haven't they?

For one: Sirius and Aleesha. You know, I had a sneaky feeling that the two would develop feelings for each other. I felt that Remus would see a kindred spirit in her, someone who fully understood him, and Sirius would see someone who needed to be loved. And she would see the same in him too. But it looks like I've definitely missed out on some drama. Sirius claims to hate her? She kissed Regulus? Bloody hell.

Onto point two: wow. At least I know that my suspicions about her being a werewolf was right. Now it seems that she's gone undercover with the werewolves. Just how undercover is she if Sirius claims to hate her guts?

I can't believe she's been sent to turn other people into werewolves. It must be awful. After all, her life was completely turned on its head because she was turned. And now she's being expected to do that to other people. Still, I was a little surprised she tried to defy the Dark Lord's orders. I mean, arguing against them could be a matter of life and death, you know? Gutsy girl.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Stelerts Mansion

11th April 2017:
Hello again!

It seems that the flag is not in this chapter, unfortunately, which means that I have arrived on another mission to break a teammate out.

It's interesting to see how Aleesha's outlook has changed since the beginning of chapter one. In the last chapter, she argued against the move vehemently, pleading her parents not to have them pack everything up and leave. From what I remember, she even said that Canada was her favourite home so far so to leave would've been hard.

But she seems to have taken to it well enough. I mean, even her family have picked up on her good mood. What is the reason behind this, I wonder? Is it because she'll get to see James again? She's clearly fond of him if she keeps old family pictures of the two of them and refers to him as her favourite cousin. Speaking of which, in light of this, I'm actually dreading what is to come. If Aleesha loves James like a brother, surely she would've wanted to take Harry under her wing - or at least seek him out - when his parents died? Her absence suggests something sinister takes place. Of course, since this is a Marauders fic, things like that are to be expected. On the other hand, I might just be overthinking it 😜

I wonder what it'll be like when she meets James again along with all the other Marauders. Assuming she is a werewolf, I wonder if Remus will know or guess. They might even form a bond from it. As for James, well, we know he'll be understanding about it.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dirigible_PlumsDare...: Being Me

11th April 2017:
Hello there!

I'm here to break Ineke out for the CTF event :)

Ooh, poor Aleesha. It must be tough being uprooted from your home constantly and never being able to stick around anywhere for too long - I can't imagine growing up constantly on the move. Of course, it must be worse to know that the reason your family is being uprooted so much is because of you. Or so is claimed. I have no doubt that her parents honestly do it for her sake, to prevent people from finding out about her condition, but there's definitely a fear there of what people would think of them and their good name.

Speaking of Aleesha's condition... is she a werewolf by any chance? Counting down the days until some event (the full moon, perhaps?), the stigma surrounding her condition, the constant moving. It all seems very Remus Lupin-esque to me. And, considering the revelation that James is her cousin, we know that someone out there will accept her for who she is.

Lol, I wish I could've put makeup on that well the first time I tried it on. Thick, smudged eyeliner was where it was at when I first started 😂

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dirigible_PlumsCold Feet: Cold Feet

11th April 2017:
Hello there!

I've come to break Ineke out of jail for the CTF event :)

I remember this challenge! I'm pretty sure I even entered a one shot into it where I sank Jily. That's right. I sunk The Ship. Which was why I was so interested in seeing how you sank another popular ship in the fandom (I'm sure Blackinnon fans everywhere are seething after reading this fic).

Getting stood up on your own wedding day isn't something I'd wish upon anyone. It's already a terrifying leap to make, even when you're certain you want to take it with the person you love, so to have that other person simply not turn up... Well, it's pretty awful. Insert inappropriate language here.

I understand Marlene's reasoning. I mean, they're in the thick of a war and it's not pretty, especially when you're on the front lines. Death can hit anyone anywhere and it can hit hard. So she's right in saying that she's scared that the fear of losing him is what encouraged her to rush into a marriage she hadn't fully thought through.

I just wish she'd thought of that before Sirius was waiting for in front of a dozen odd people.

Regardless of that, this was certainly a compelling read and I'm glad Ineke chose to review it.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dirigible_PlumsIn Fields of Poppies: Hold it High

9th April 2017:
Hello there!

I'm here to see if you've managed to hide a sneaky flag in this chapter for the CTF event!

I've always been fascinated with this story since it's summary is a killer. It hooks you in and keeps you there. It's fascinating to see how three different generations of Evans have beem dragged into a war and how they've reacted differently to it. Phil prefers not to fight, terrified of the thought of dying; Jack is more patriotic and a lot angrier than either of the other Evans; and Lily seems more level-headed. Just as ready to be involved but still somewhat collected.

Her conversation with James brought up interesting points and both of them were right in their own ways. It's true that Muggles should know about what affects them if it puts them in danger, but removing the International Statute of Secrecy is a risky move. At the end of the day, I personally believe it will do more harm than good. Realistically, many Muggles would believe wizarding kind to be a threat: they've lived amongst us in secret, they've wiped our memory when it suits them, they can do so much more than us with just a flick of their wand. They'd be the next "enemy within".

But it's still very interesting to read about how one world affects the other. As James said, they share a country. So to see people ignore laws like ones that forbid them to get involved in Muggle wars really gives an insight into how the two communities intersect.

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dirigible_PlumsFirst Kiss: First Kiss

9th April 2017:
Hello again!

Well, wasn't this a bunch of loveliness? Honestly, Lily and James were both just too cute in this fic; I couldn't handle their adorableness. They're as sweet as sugar those two!

My headcanon is that James is this really big romantic, like even more so than Lily, which is why the fact that your James wanted his first kiss to be special just about melted my heart. Like. What a cutie. It's honestly so sweet. And there's nothing wrong with waiting! It's seventeen not seventy 😜

Lily was similarly adorable. Her babbling about first kisses and Alice and all that was a nice touch to her personality. Usually, I find that Lily is portrayed as strong and direct (which there is nothing wrong with, of course!) so it was lovely to read about a Lily who's as scatterbrained as the rest of us. She really feels like a teenage girl in this fic.

I was squealing like one when they finally kissed XD It was simple and understated but no less brilliant. Well worth James' wait too, I imagine. Especially because they're going to be together forever seeing as Voldemort doesn't exist, you know. Voldemort who? Sounds like a rock band.

Basically, this was lovely and cute (as you can see by my CONSTANT use of the word).

Plums xo
♡♡♡

(breakout review for ctf)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dirigible_PlumsKiss and Tell: Prologue: Fourth Year

9th April 2017:
Hello there!

I have arrived to break out Paula since she's landed herself in a nasty bit of trouble.

So I've seen this around a lot and me being the awful human being I am technically have it on my To Read List but... well, I'm an awful human being. Plums the Procrastinator. Which is why I'm actually pretty glad Paula chose this to review!

It's an interesting take on Jily, that's for sure. And when you think about it, not all that surprising. I mean, come on, I think the entire world is aware of the sexual tension between Lily and James, especially when they were launching into an argument loud enough to rock said world. We all suspected. So really, this development is understandable.

I can see why James would be growing tired of it, however. (Speaking of which, I like how you dumped us in with him cutting it off and then began to build it up and explain what the situation is). It must be exhausting to do this for years. I mean, they're essentially messing around with each other's feelings. Fight, yell, snog. Not exactly a healthy relationship there. Of course, I assume James' whole point is that it isn't a relationship and he just can't do this if they're not all in instead of each other's dirty little secret.

An interesting dynamic and opening chapter! I am v. intrigued :)

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>