Reading Reviews From Member: jenonymous
  
87 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jenonymousResolution: Mystery at Malfoy Manor

17th July 2012:
I was so thankful to find this story here, since OWL seems to be dead. I am looking forward to the completion of the series. You have created a very interesting AU.

 Report Review

Review #2, by jenonymousGive Me Moments: One

12th June 2007:
"his gang of croonies." What's a croonie?

It's good stuff. I love the descriptions early on of the weather and the grounds, and I like James behind and helpless. (I'm really not a big James fan, but I am a Trixy fan, so I will be following closely!)

Author's Response: pft, excuse ME little miss dictionary XP a croonie is the trix version of a cronie ^^ thanks for reviewing, Jen.

 Report Review

Review #3, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Au revoir and Adieu

5th February 2007:
Well, I thought it was a brilliant way to end. (Of course some say that you have me wrapped around your little finger, just like my real children, but I thumb my nose at them and say Phffft!) Scrimgeour was absolutely disturbing, and you've merely whetted my appetite for a sequel by giving us a glimpse of Snape at the end. I always suspected that you were interested in etymology too, and now I have proof of it. Your AN gives me too much credit, though I agree Steve's excellent. (Will you add the hits from both sites together, so that it counts toward 100,000? It's only fair!)

I will miss it terribly, now that it's done, and I didn't even write it! But I enjoyed every minute of it, F&B. As we say here, "Dude! Knuckle me! That was awesome!"

Author's Response: Despite my grumbling about the demands of writing and changing nappies at the same time, we all know that I'll end up writing the sequel. Having said that I do need a few months of and the wholly unrealistic 100,000 hits target was just a way of ensuring that. After I've written a few short stories and done a lot of reading I'll come back to this particular thread as there is still so much left undone.


The added incentive of bouncing my chapters off you is a bonus - if I can make you grind your teeth as you try to sort my tortured language, so much the better. ;-)


So a public acknowledgement of the enormous debt I owe you is to be encapsulated in a very north of England touch of the index finger to the brow with an accompanying, "Aye."


 Report Review

Review #4, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Regarding Severus

23rd December 2006:
You know, it's really nasty to leave us clinging to a cliff's edge while you take the sleeper to some backwater (it MUST be a backwater place, since there's no internet!) for the holidays.
That said, allow me to comment: The running diary that Albus made for Harry struck a particular chord with me, because each of my children have their own files filled with letters from their parents, detailing the trials and triumphs of their significant mile-markers. And Snape's diatribe was masterful. Neither a nice man nor an entirely sane one, I think your Snape is probably closer to JKR's intentions than anyone at Sycophant H. ever writes. Your A/N is funny. Absurd, but funny. Made me laugh. Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, can't wait for 28!

Author's Response: The sleeper was definitely interesting, but I'm not sure as I'd repeat the experience! Next time I'll drive or take a day train in order to miss out on the gen-yoo-ine 1970s decor. I often worry about my take on Snape as just about everyone else seems to be reforming him into some tragic hero. I've read some cracking stories from that genre, ut I see him differently - brilliant and fatally flawed at the same time. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: We Two, Part 2

23rd December 2006:
I wept. I just thought you should know that. It was poetic, to say the least, the "In, out" repetitions hypnotic and yet building tension. Incorporating the Veil and the love and the Inferi and the end of the Two all in one chapter was a feat I never imagined, much less thought possible. Is there something above excellent? Because this is.

Author's Response: Thaks for your kind words (the cheque is in the post). It was a long chapter and one which I was rushing to get out before the Christmas moratorium, so I'm glad I didn't fluff it too badly. Now, what happens next? >:-)

 Report Review

Review #6, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: The Fatal Fury

17th November 2006:
F&B, you done momma proud! (That's southern for Good show, mate!) However, your A/N was a little inaccurate. While Steve can indeed haul boody, I have been seriously outclassed. And my eyes are not beady. Except when I grin (like now), then my genetically British face (you name it, it's in the family tree) squinches my eyes up and they do indeed look beady.

Author's Response: Gimlets! That's what they're like - gimlets! :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Et tu Brute?

26th October 2006:
Love the inclusion of the T. Williams quote--that's a good one! And I love the double-agent act that the three of them pulled on Harry, the bickering between the Aurors, and the talking door. I tried to teach my kids Spanish, thinking they had more brains than a door, but it didn't go well.

I'm completely jealous of Ginny. She got to see what was in the Pensieve! And yes, that was a sneaky thing to do, ending it where you did. (You could hardly do else, so steve34 can just take a chill pill. [That is slang that REALLY dates me! Ugh, yes, I am over forty!]) And by the way, I believe "Grammar Magistra" would be more appropriate than "Grammar Master."

Author's Response: Pick! Pick! Pick! From this day forth thou shalt be known as Grammer Magistra. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #8, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Witch Hunt

11th October 2006:
Hey, I heard that, steve and fish and bird! That phony house elf voice does NOT fool me! Am I not the mother of teenagers? (^_^) HA! You guys crack me up!

So ironic that Lucius has fallen from grace, just like Lucifer. And Voldie's diatribe wasn't exactly the same old same old, was it? Oooh, but that was a surprise ending, especially for me! And enormously thrilling! Lots of exclamation points for you! I wish I could take the credit you gave me. It's all excellent!

Author's Response: As the story goes on, less and less people are enjoying it. I keep getting the '...it's too dark...' type of comment. Well, yes it is dark but it's a war so it's hardly going to be a bed of roses, is it?
We'll see what people think when it's finished.


 Report Review

Review #9, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Repercussions

1st October 2006:
I can't believe I read this yesterday and forgot to write a review! Shame on me! Ahem. I liked all of it, even confused and puke-encrusted Harry (although not so much), but I really like your portrayal of Hermione in this chapter. I can't wait to read what's going to happen next! [Chuckles wickedly, knowing the next chapter is already in my inbox, waiting to be seen!] The changes are good-- well done all the way around.

Author's Response: I hope people read this and see what a Blue Meanie you are! (for the youngsters out there the Blue Meanies were the baddies from the Beatles film, 'The Yellow Submarine') I say this because jenonymous is my long suffering beta reader who sees every chapter about a week before anyone else does. She keeps it to herself as she cackles and rubs her hands together in a passable impersonation of Ebeneezer Scrooge, all the while crying, "It's mine, all mine!"


Just joking, obviously; I'm in a silly mood after having had a coffee AND a biscuit: sugar rush.


 Report Review

Review #10, by jenonymousThe Forgotten Years: Lost...

29th July 2006:
An interesting premise. I look forward to seeing more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I hope you keep reading, chap 2 is being validated at the moment :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Good Things Come in Small Packages

27th July 2006:
Whatever he saw in the Pensieve certainly whipped Harry into submission! I wonder what it was?

I never pegged Scrimgeour for anti-Muggle sentiments. I thought the way you handled him, his characterization and dialog-- really good. A rather bellicose man forced to be dipomatic, and it chafes him terribly.

I thought Plaice catching our Boy massaging his own posterior very funny, but the former professor unnerved me otherwise. Just another case of too many secrets, so that Harry doesn't know who is on which side. Old Rufus has a point: the balkanization of the wizarding community means that in the end, Voldemort is likely to win, if the other sides can't merge.

Very insightful. Well done, as always.

Author's Response: Maybe I take it way too far, but I love ambiguity in characters. Several time in the past I've mentioned my dislike of the moustache-twirling baddies of yore who would stand cackling over the bodies of their victims. When you don't know who's good and who's not, life is ever so much more interesting!

 Report Review

Review #12, by jenonymousFlawed: Amber

26th June 2006:
Excellent. I am not necessarily a big fan of present-tense verbs in prose--most people are careless and slip into past tense, but you have handled it very well. Also, very angsty, very realistic. The Maurauders of Harry's time remember that it was fun and rebellious, but I imagine they forgot this side of it, or just buried that kind of memory. There had to be times like this, especially after the Snape incident. (In fact, I have trouble imagining that Sirius and Remus were able to remain friends after that. I don't know if I could be that forgiving, or ever trust Sirius again.) Well done, I say again.

Author's Response: Thanks Jen :) The present tense thing was so difficult. I'm kicking myself for it now, and it's such a struggle to remember what I'm doing. Anyway, I'm glad it's working! I'm with you - if I were Remus, I'd have a very hard time getting over that sort of betrayal. I just hope I can do it justice in chapter 4, that it's believable. Thanks so much for the review ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: A Yuletide Fire

8th June 2006:
Call the doctor, I think I have whiplash! That last section caught me completely off-guard! Of course, you lulled me into a false sense of peace and quiet with all the romance and camaraderie and chamber music. (I would never figure Minerva for a violin, though. She's a cat; I'd think they wouldn't like the squeak. And I'd think she would prefer the sound of, oh, say, a flute--reminds me of a mourning dove!) (Just kidding!) Well, you know how I am about Snape. I love that he snuck up on that old Auror. Even if he's just running errands for His Scaliness, I still like Snape in a story. Overall, utterly brilliant, I can't say enough good things about it. I wish, in fact, there were more descriptive words of the "brilliant" calibre, so that I could use them here. Hmm, have to Google a thesaurus....

Author's Response: You look at the world in a very interesting way: never in a million years would it have occured to me to consider which instrument Minerva McGonagall would have liked in view of her Animagus form.


We'll be seeing more of Snape in the future. I luuuuurve him and I want him to be in my story more. Cue the baddies!


 Report Review

Review #14, by jenonymousFlawed: Grey

24th May 2006:
I like it very much. (Sorry I haven't left a review before; Mac doesn't like the upgrades to the site, and my particular Mac hasn't liked Firefox up until yesterday. I haven't been able to see your story until now.) Sirius' dedication to his own righteousness, which is non-existant, his refusal to see how he hurt someone else--in keeping with his character. Good work.

Author's Response: Jen! Oh hon, haven't talked to you in forever. We need to have a good catch-up! ^_^ Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate that you took time to write!

 Report Review

Review #15, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Harry Goes Forth

23rd May 2006:
Loved the Dutch. Sorry it's taken me so long to get here and review--computer problems--old news--it isn't as if I haven't read this and told you what I think, though! Ahem. Rand Loomans is totally out of place. Reminds me a little bit of a scene from a movie. I say that with great reservations, because of the wild speculations caused by the last time I said something like that. I had to laugh at Rand accusing the English of being bad with translation spells. When I traveled in Eastern Europe, everyone was happy to practice their English with us, but NO ONE expected any of us to know a second language, because arrogant Americans usually only speak one. So what's the deal with that revealing spell, the Desvela Vinculos Alma? I'll have to go look it up. Poor Harry. The first kill is always hard to process. (At least I've been told that; I don't think killing mosquitos counts the same, because I never had much problem with that.) I'd better stop, I'm apparently in a very random mood. Good chapter! As usual!

Author's Response: Not to worry - Rand's presence will be explained in the next chapter. I would like to hear which film it reminds you of, however. I promise not to throw a wobbler like I did last time!
I couldn't resist slipping in that jibe about the English (and by inference all native English speakers) being terrible at languages. We have a new crop of young teachers here in Madrid at the moment and it's torturous hearing them trying to make themselves understood. All credit to them for trying, though!
The spell is one of my invention and is therefore very probably undecipherable to the world at large. In my false Latin it means 'Reveal Soul Link'.


 Report Review

Review #16, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Time for a Breather

23rd May 2006:
I love Moody in this chapter.



I wish I could remember all I wrote over on that other site so I could transfer it here. It's an excellent chapter, although I imagine people will be surrounding your castle with torches and pitchforks in hand, for separating Ron out and making him feel alone. I like how Minerva verbally smacks him out of his funk and at the same time builds him up. (I should think about a one-shot from Minerva's past; she's a richly detailed character who is mostly neglected.) (Or YOU could write one.) [One typo in the last paragraph, "coridoor" should probably be "corridor."]



Congratulations on your May Recommended Story! That's brilliant!

Author's Response: Don't worry so much about Rob; he's a Gryffindor and has the resilience to match his bravery. As you point out he has people like Minerva McGonagall around to cheer him up when he's down in the dumps.
Thanks for pointing out the typo - it has been corrected (red face).


 Report Review

Review #17, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Once More unto the Breach

11th April 2006:
Just excellent. (Not "just" as in "barely" but "just" as in "Words fail me!") Now I'm all worried about Percy. Harry's backbone seems to have stiffened up a little in that last section. This is such good stuff!

Author's Response: Cheers, m'dear! Your good opinion means so much to me! We'll have to see if you like what's coming next vis a vis Harry.

 Report Review

Review #18, by jenonymousWhere Do You Think We Are?: Where Do You Think We Are?

23rd March 2006:
Applause to Accapella for the splendid banner, but I rather miss the others.

Author's Response: Do you? I much prefer her ones! I can never do my own stories justice.

 Report Review

Review #19, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Dante's Inferno

16th March 2006:
Dang it, that steve34 is eloquent even in his reviews! He says his muse is on vacation, but I think she sent a telegram or a text message or something, just for that review. You do realize that I leave the glowing praise for public consumption, and save the "oh, that's the wrong word" for email? (And yes, there is one. I forgot to email this morning, I'll get right on that.) (Excellent press-release, by the way, but I think I mentioned that elsewhere.)

Author's Response: I just spotted a pair of sentences with the word 'enormous' back to back. I've corrected it already. If it's a different mistake then I'll have to hide my face in shame! <:-(

 Report Review

Review #20, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Dante's Inferno

15th March 2006:
You think on such an enormous scale. I believe JKR should sell you the rights and step aside.She definitely does not write stuff as exciting (i.e. terrifying) as this. The Fachon is a brilliant villain. Is that what made Harry's scar itch, and there isn't actually a Horcrux here? Or is it guarding a Horcrux? Surely it could not have conjured the wall. If it could wield magic, it probably would just accio its prey and be done with it. Of course, if it is not satisfied with the violence of the kill, it wouldn't be satisfied by the magnetic approach, either. You have given me all kinds of things to think about today. I believe my son would enjoy this story immensely. Because you pulled Ron back from the brink (although you toyed with my emotions for, what, two whole weeks on that note? :P), I am trusting you to do the same for Hermione.

Author's Response: I was worried about this as it was taking me such a long time to structure it. I kept second-guessing myself, tearing it down and starting again. That makes your comments all the sweeter!

I wasn't sure how people would react to the Fachan as a villain as it's outside of canon. It is a mythical beast, of course, it's just that we haven't came across it previously in the Potterverse before. As far as I'm aware the 'original' Fachan is from Scottish mythology and is 4-5 feet tall as opposed to my souped up 4-5 meteres!

As for Harry's scar...


 Report Review

Review #21, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Convalescence

4th March 2006:
A friend of mine was born in Vienna, though he has lived here for most of his life, calls beer liquid bread. Apparently my American roots come from tee-totalling trees....

Author's Response: There's nothing wrong with that! Too many people drink too much alcohol and we could all do with treating it as a 'sometimes' rather than an 'always'.

Your friend sound like an interesting chap. To date I've only ever heard the Australians refer to beer as 'liquid bread'. Check his passport!


 Report Review

Review #22, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Convalescence

1st March 2006:
I recently watched the Disney movie "Mulan" with my youngest while she was sick with p-noo-monia. Steve's comment about spitting in a manly fashion cracked me up! Of course my brothers influenced me so that I can spit rather well, for a girl, but it's true, I believe, that it is the domain of men for the most part, and does not come naturally to the rest of us. (Like beer, something that must be learned.) Also Steve's comment about the intergenerational battles was insightful. Well done, gentlemen, both of you!

Author's Response: All credit to steve34 for winkling out the interesting insights!

'Like beer, something that must be learned'?!?! You seem to forget that you're addressing a Brit, jenonymous: I was weened on beer!


 Report Review

Review #23, by jenonymousHaunted: Haunted

28th February 2006:
Excellent new banner! Your work? That early pic of Thewlis is amazing!

Author's Response: Hey Jen!! No, it's not my work, I'm not nearly that good. Acappella, she's a legend! Looks good, doesn't it? ^__^

 Report Review

Review #24, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Convalescence

24th February 2006:
Once again a brilliant chapter. I feel like a broken record. (Surely you're just old enough to understand the reference?) I feel like I write the same things over and over. I understand instinctively Ron's reasons, but I'm not sure I get it intellectually. The connections among them are becoming clearer to me, though, and your treatment of them is wonderfully insightful. One criticism: "Each had there own reasons for doing so...." Awkward as English is, this situation can be conquered. "There" isn't even a pronoun, much less the proper one. If the group was larger than the two, I'd insist "his" was correct despite the inclusion of women (I'm pretty "old school" about that), but in this case, maybe the best thing would be to rephrase to something like "Each had personal reasons for doing so...." My suggestions, as always, may be relegated to the round file, and I won't ever be offended.

Author's Response: I am old enough to remember vinyl records. Are you old enough to remember the classic film version of Robin Hood starring Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone? The denouement of said classic sees the two protagonists locked in mortal combat on a spiral staircase, swords locked and snarling into one another's faces. This is how I feel with you when you 'bust' me over my awful grammar!

I might choose 'his' over 'their', but your 'Each had personal reasons for doing so...' lacks the punch that I was looking for. I'm going to be a lacklustre moral relativist now and say that we're probably both correct as we speak different versions of the same language. You are, after all, disadvantaged by being from the wrong side of the Pond. >;-)


 Report Review

Review #25, by jenonymousHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Old Friends

10th February 2006:
"'One does not simply approach Him and ask if he has lost the plot, Lucius; not if one wishes to live out the rest of the day, at any rate,' Snape replied." Brilliant. The whole Lucius/Severus exchange is excellent. And creepy as all get-out. I wondered how Lucius, a Slytherin, could whine so much about Snape acting like a Slytherin, but of course consistency isn't one of the House traits. As for the volcano, once again an excellent image. The mythical object of Lovegood interest was very funny! A very cruel cliff-hanger--or is it a crater-hanger? Can't wait to see what's waiting! Splendid. Just splendid! I am going to have to re-read it at leisure, though. It's too rich, especially the Snape section (you know I can't resist him, good or bad). Needs two or three reads.

Author's Response: I actually wrote a different chapter before this one, (at least that's my excuse for having taken so long to post!) I thought, however, that the story needed to see what the Baddies were up to and sat down to write this one instead.

I know that you're a rabid Snape fan, but I think that everyone has secret sympathies for him to some greater or lesser degree. The Bad Guys always seem to be very popular, be they Darth Vader or Saruman. Consequently, when you write a chapter with 'ham' acting on the part of the baddies, you're always onto a winner. When I decided to put these two enemies in a situation where they had to put their cards on the table, the rest seemed to come naturally. It was a real pleasure to write and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Watch this space for more moustache-twirling badness in the future!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>