Reading Reviews From Member: typewriter
  
76 Reviews Found

Review #1, by typewriterAfter: One.

10th April 2015:
Hi Dee!

I know you've already heard my opinion on this, but I wanted to come and put my support in further writing! :D I think you've created something so beautiful here. I love the moments you chose to capture and I love the idea you had to tell this story in reverse chronological order. It's very powerful.

You've brilliantly captured so much pain and suffering. It's devastating. The nightmare gives me chills. I don't know if Amos Diggory was given to you for the challenge or if you simply chose to delve into him; either way, it was a wonderful idea with wonderful characterization. I was particularly shattered by Amos realizing it was he who had given Cedric that final push to enter the Triwizard Tournament. I have always wondered how Cedric's death would impact him after all of his boasting and pushy persistence that his son be the best. Thank you for writing this Dee! It's going to be very hard to beat!

Author's Response: AMANDA! Thank you so much for leaving this gorgeous review when you definitely didn't have to! Your help was more than enough ♥

Amos was given to me for the challenge and I'm so pleased he was because this story wouldn't have ever crossed my mind otherwise. As you know, I had a lot of concerns with this, PTSD isn't an area I'm knowledgeable in so this was totally new territory.

Thank you so much for all of your help with this and the lovely review, you're the best. ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by typewriterFaith: change.

7th April 2015:
Hi Joey! Here for our review-swap, though I really wanted to read this anyway as a proud member of your cabin. :)

First off, I wanted to say that it's a really exciting idea to go one generation beyond next-gen. I'll bet it gives you a lot of freedom as a writer, because it seems that Albus, James, Rose, Scorpius, etc. are fan favorites on the archives. While I've never written them, I can imagine that there's a lot of pressure attached to them now even though there isn't much specific knowledge known about them from the books. I think everyone has their headcanons regarding them now. Anyway, I digress. I just wanted to point out that your creativity with the plot had me immediately intrigued!

As for the story, I had a lot of fun reading it. I adore the dynamic between Austin and Faith. I think the dialogue was the best part of the chapter. They had the platonic chemistry of best friends that are more like siblings. I truly felt for them regarding their rent, because there's nothing worse than having to deal with a sudden move (especially the day you've broken up with your girlfriend or boyfriend). That just sounds terrible!

I think this update provided readers with the perfect amount of tease to draw us into the story, while still leaving us wanting more. Well done!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

On the whole I write mostly Next-Gen (with some Hogwarts era mixed in) and it's true that most people do have a lot of headcanon involved with all of those characters and expect them to roughly fit into a certain archetype, but I completely disregard that stuff :P I even go against my own headcanon. I write hpff mostly because I love the universe and I love playing with things such as pureblood culture, lack of technology, etc. So, for me, Next-Gen is usually ideal to mess around with how that could have changed. But, in one of my Next-Gen stories, I mentioned Albus' daughter and then that lead to some headcanon and from there it just snowballed into this story. SO MUCH CREATIVE FREEDOM IN THIS STORY.

I'm so glad you liked the dialogue! My stories are pretty heavy with the stuff, so I do hope that I'm doing okay with it. I have these guys going through a lot throughout the course of this story. This first chapter breakup/having to move is only the beginning, I'm afraid. I always feel bad when I make my character's lives difficult :P

I'm glad you liked the chapter! Thank you for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by typewriterKnight Takes Queen: King

7th April 2015:
Ok, now for the last chapter:

You're killing me! I want more! I can't even stand it. I'm completely intrigued by the entire era and this tiny peek into the window of it. I'm dying to know everything, but you've just handed over a snippet. I want all of the holes in the story to be filled in.

Anyway, this was absolutely outstanding. Despite my upset at not seeing the time between the second chapter and the last, I wouldn't change a thing! I think the glimpses you've provided are very powerful. You chose to focus in on the ups and downs of Rowena's spirit. From feeling like an outsider, to accepting herself, and then lastly to accepting death. I wonder if she died of a broken heart like they speculated in the book?

Thank you for writing this short story! You've introduced me to entire era, so well done! :D

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey again, Amanda! :) Thank you so so much for stopping by - and coming back for all three chapters! It was so so amazing to get! :)

Haha, I'm so sorry about that! :) Founders is a thing I love - I'm a huge history nerd - but it would be so so difficult for me to write (I've thought about it before, but my perfectionism over the details would kill me, I think :P). So I'm sorry! This is probably going to be it... :/

Thank you so so much! :) I really wanted to kinda explore the bits and the times we don't know about from the books, and her more as a person than a founder, if that makes sense? I loved writing her, though, particularly all the emotions - so I'm so glad you liked them too! :)

Thank you so so much for reading - and I'm so happy you liked it! Thank you for the wonderful reviews - they were so amazing to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by typewriterKnight Takes Queen: Bishop

7th April 2015:
Hi again!

I was hoping for more of the merman to be honest! :) Yet it's quite a testament to your writing abilities that the moment I started reading this I forgot to feel disappointed and instead became lost again in your descriptions.

I've never read a founders era fic before, so this was new to me in many ways; however, I think you did a fantastic job at capturing the mood of the time. I love the transformation Rowena makes throughout this particular chapter. She comes from a religious background in a time of the whole "She's a witch: burn her!" thing. So it makes sense that she has come to hate her differences from the rest of her family. It's an interesting thought to imagine her growing up in a family that is not like her. Does that mean she was muggle-born? It's interesting to think of all magical folk having ties to the muggle world in their ancestry. That reminds me of how all Christians have ties to Judaism.

Anyway, I'm really enjoying this! It's a wonderful glimpse into what led her to create Hogwarts, as well as what led her to accept herself as a witch. So on to the last chapter!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey again! :P Thank you so much for coming back! :)

Haha, sorry to disappoint you on that front - it was written for the House Cup, though, so I was working around a pretty specific set of prompts, if that makes it any better... :P But thank you so much - I'm just glad you enjoyed it nonetheless! :)

I've read a few, but not that many, so developing Rowena's background was mostly a culmination of history, haha. I really liked putting a slightly religious theme on it - it was necessary, I thought, given the time and all, and it made for a more interesting conflict for her. Yeah, she's muggle-born, but I suspect quite a lot of purebloods eventually were muggle born, and eventually have muggle ancestry. I really wanted to kinda show her wisdom growing along with a sort of self-love mantra, so that was sort of meant to come from that in this.

Thank you so so much - I'm so glad you're enjoying this! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by typewriterKnight Takes Queen: Rook

7th April 2015:
Hi Laura!

I'll admit to having been drawn to the story by the banner. I'm shameless when it comes to a gorgeous piece of art! :) Sometimes that doesn't work out too well for me, but I'm SO happy I started reading this short story! It was every bit as beautiful as it's cover.

I love how much detail you're able to cram into a relatively quick read. The descriptions you included of the night before she dove into the lake were really breathtaking. I think the choppiness of some of the sentences really provided a nice contrast that suited the story well, while keeping me as a reader engaged. Then, your descriptions of under water and the merman just blew me away. It was absolutely fascinating and unlike anything I've ever read before. I'm going to end up leaving you three *squee* reviews, because I'm too intrigued to let up now!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! :) Thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Haha, I can't take any credit for the banner - it was all Branwen and it really is absolutely gorgeous :) It's just so beautiful! And wow, thank you so much - that is a huge, huge compliment! :)

Gah, thank you so much! I know I've had a lot of issues in the past writing things which are shorter, so that means so much to me to hear you say that, so thank you! I really, really loved writing the merman - it was one of those scenes which sort of sprung into my head as soon as I heard the prompt, haha - so I'm so happy you liked that bit!

Ah, thank you so so much - you really don't have to do that! :) But thank you so much anyway (since I can't stop you, haha), it's so so kind of you! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by typewriterOur Brand of Normal : Chapter One

4th April 2015:
Hi Erica!

First off, wow! I have a feeling this fic is going to be absolutely fantastic, especially if the first chapter is anything to go by. You're choosing to tackle quite the project, and I respect you so much for it. This whole idea of "what is normal?" is a powerful idea. I was so drawn in from the very first sentence. By the end of the first paragraph I knew that I was going to be checking in on the fic frequently waiting for an update.

You have done a great job at providing just enough insight into Charlotte's life to intrigue me without giving anything important away! That's a wonderful talent to have as an author. I think I often throw too much detail out too quickly in my excitement to let everyone in on my (in my mind) brilliant idea! :) You've held true to the whole "less is more" mentality. I'm jealous!

Anyway, I want you to know that this is going to be an outstanding fic. I'm so excited for you! I'll be your ever-present cheerleader this month, mostly out of selfishness to get the next update :D

Thanks for writing!
Amanda

 Report Review

Review #7, by typewriterRemembrance : Remembrance

4th April 2015:
Hello! Here from Hufflepuff to give your lovely story a review! :D

Now, I read the author's note at the top of this fic, so I was prepared to be a bit confused. And I was, but I think it worked well for the mood of this oneshot. It wasn't a frustrating type of confusion, it was a bit more exciting because it seemed to encompass the chaotic nature of Hannah's feelings. It helped me sink into the tale, and it made the piece even more powerful than it already is.

I really enjoyed your writing style here. I liked the short, almost fractured sentences and the use of parentheses. Usually I don't like parentheses being used so frequently, but again this worked for the mood/tone of the story. It made the fic go by in a blink of an eye, because I was so intrigued by it. I'll have to pop over to the prequel sometime for more on Hannah. I've never read a story from her perspective before, but I think you provided a great introduction into it!

Lastly, bravo for how you captured her grief and trauma. It was extremely well done. This was a really powerful read that I very much enjoyed! Thanks for writing!
-Amanda

Author's Response: HI!

Thank you for your review! I'm so pleased it wasn't confusing because I wanted it to be a stand alone. As I think I mentioned I really had tried to make this more hopeful - in that she would be able to push forward even with all the trauma they've had to endure. It didn't quite get there, but i'm pleased that I was able to capture a life outside of the war well. It's hard for me even to imagine what it might be like - to have survivors guilt or suffer from PTSD, butI really wanted to try and explore it in a realistic way. Thank you so much Amanda for your review!! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #8, by typewriterPicking Up The Pieces: One

28th March 2015:
Hi Cassie! Stopping by from Hufflepuff! :)

I really feel like it was fate for me to run into this story. I have an older sister who paved a path very similar to Victoire's (only sadly without magic). She was a perfectionist, pushing herself to become a corporate lawyer, which is her current job. I've always been the less studious of the two of us, preferring other things to getting perfect grades.

This really hit home for me, because I think you really captured the sisterly love I feel for her no matter what, as well as the worry I feel when I watch her work herself to death. I loved the details you included, and the change in perspective. Sometimes changes in perspective seem to distract from a story and seem unnecessary, but with this it was perfect. I couldn't have loved this more. From the story itself to the writing, well done!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!
I'm really glad you enjoyed this, especially because you could relate to it so much! I don't have any sisters, so hearing that it feels real from someone who does, and from someone with a sister very much like Victoire, no less, is really nice. Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed this story so much!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by typewriterDull Ache: Oblivion

14th March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap!

This story brought on all of the feels. My sister recently had a baby, and it was not an easy pregnancy by any means. She was is lots of pain, and there were many scary moments. Now she has a wonderful baby girl, who is just the light of all our lives. It makes me so sorry to hear about your loss, and to read this and the depth of the emotion you've managed to convey. It's a terrible situation to have to go through, but I truly appreciate that you've written this and that I can now pass it along to others. Your author's note mentions that you think this is not particularly well-written. You either were being silly :) or have gone back and corrected what you deemed to be typos, because this was VERY well-written. I loved it, and look forward to reading more from you! Anyone who can convey such detailed and realistic emotion is someone I can favorite. Thank you for writing! I'm so happy I review swapped with you and got a chance to be enlightened to your writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!!

It's always nice to see/hear that people do pull through those situations. I'm currently pregnant again (it's July) and at 23.5 weeks so I'm starting to see the potential for hope after everything. I was crying when I wrote this so I really had no idea if I typed words for the whole thing, ha. I am glad it's a powerful read and not horrible with the typos. Thank you for such an encouraging and uplifting review.

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #10, by typewriterBruises : Bruises

10th March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap!

I am so happy that I hopped on board this exchange, because I enjoyed your story so much. I have never really read a fic like it. I don't often read about Sirius. I really don't often read about minor characters like Emmeline. It was fun to step outside of my usual niche! I liked the thought of Sirius dating someone who went on to be a protector of his godson later. I could see someone who loved Sirius so deeply staying near Harry as a way to stay close to him.

I'd be really interested in seeing how Emmeline reacted when Sirius broke out of prison and was holed up at the headquarters of the Order of the Phoenix. Since she was a part of the second war, they must have crossed paths! Have you thought of writing a sequel about that, or about her feelings when Sirius died? Or his feelings when she did? I like how many doors your fic has opened! :D I'm so curious now!

Anyway, I loved it. It was a tense read, solely because I knew what was going to happen and was so saddened by it. Either way, great characterization and plot flow!

Thanks for writing!
Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! Thanks so much for doing the swap with me!! :)

Aww I'm glad you enjoyed it!! :D I know that I'm always a little leery when I read something that I don't normally go for, so to hear that you ended up liking this in spite of that is really wonderful to hear! ♥ I honestly don't think I've seen any Sirius/Emmeline fics before. I'm sure they probably exist somewhere, but it was completely new territory for me. I'm thrilled that it seemed to have worked out.

As I was wrapping this up, I started to picture how it would be once Sirius ended up in her life again and she knew the truth. I don't think I could possibly *not* write a sequel to this now. I know exactly how she reacts, how he treats her, how she feels about him, what becomes of them and how she handles the news of his death. I thought it all out. I'm not going to give a definite time frame for when it will be done, but it *will* be done. ;)

Thank you so much, once again, for the swap!! And thank you for the beautiful review!! I really do appreciate all the of the kind words!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #11, by typewriterBreak Up With Him: Break Up With Him

1st March 2015:
Hello!

I really enjoyed this! I don't often, if ever, read James/Lily stories for some reason. I was intrigued by your premise, and I'm very happy I gave it a shot because it was a lot of fun. I liked the portrayal of a Slug Club meeting. My favorite description was: "It hadnít taken long to realize that he thought more was more." I got a good laugh over that, especially at how spot on it is. I loved James and Lily's dance, and how he was so honest with her. You could really tell he'd been waiting for so long to tell her honestly how he felt. I always assumed James was immature about how he went about wooing Lily, which is why she didn't like him for a very long time. I like that you gave him a moment to be raw and bare his heart to her. It was lovely. My only criticism would be that I was a little confused by Severus's part in the story. I felt that it was a bit unnecessary considering the fact she was already balancing her boyfriend and James, but in the long run it didn't take away anything from your writing and I enjoyed it all!

Amanda

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I really think that line sort of summarizes who Slughorn is as a person: bigger, louder, brighter, etc. I'm glad you like James's portrayal since I wanted to make sure he was not portrayed as a total pain. The main reason Snape was there was because I think Slughorn would choose him as a member of the club, because he is a) in Slughorn's house and b) a Potions genius. Thanks for the review Amanda! =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by typewriterSomebody's Heartbreak: Somebody's Heartbreak

1st March 2015:
Hi Ellie!

When I saw that you'd written a Fred/Hermione you know I had to swing by and read it! I love Hermione with either of the twins. This was adorable. I haven't delved very much into how a relationship between Hermione and Fred would have looked like while they were at Hogwarts, but it's an interesting thought. I loved how you demonstrated Fred's adoration for her, yet you still conveyed how he was getting to know her. I think sometimes writers fall into a trap of having the relationship they're writing about be perfect, as though both characters know everything about each other, faults included. I like that Hermione was still able to surprise Fred in this. I really enjoyed reading your take! Maybe a sequel?!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I might be able to be persuaded to do a sequel. Fremione are a lot of fun to write.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #13, by typewriterThe Family Job: The Opening Job

20th February 2015:
Hi Claire!

This was a very intriguing first chapter. I am particularly interested in the unique concept you've posed. It seems like a heist story for a good cause! I'd love to know what inspired you to delve into the social work aspect of it. I have a few friends who are social workers, and I love that there will be attention drawn to the career path. The story is also perfect because of the family component that you've added. There's nothing better than a group of family members trying to work together for a common goal while bickering incessantly with each other. It's adorable, fun, and I'm excited for when you get around to updating it!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey, Amanda!

The social worker thing actually came about because I needed a reason for Teddy to want to pull the whole Leverage thing and since he was an orphan, I felt like it would make sense that he would want to help kids like him who didn't get his opportunities.

I'm so excited to write this one because of all of the characters! I'm going to write them so different from what I normally do and I can't wait until I get going on it!

Thanks again for the swap!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #14, by typewriterUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

20th February 2015:
Hello!

I wanted to just start by saying it's so nice to come across a story that tackles the issue of bullying so nicely. I like that it was presented realistically and dealt with by someone who stood up and decided not to be a bystander. I think that's such an important message. I'm a teacher, and I find that people find it easier to be mean to each other than nice sometimes. They put each other down, even their own friends without realizing it. It's something I'm passionate about helping to stop.

As for the actual story, I loved your writing and your characterization of Justin, Eloise, and Pansy. Pansy had the perfect love-to-hate cattiness, Justin was valiant, and Eloise brought an emotional depth that was heartbreaking. It was wonderful. Thanks for writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda,

Thank you so much for swapping reviews with me!

I'm happy to hear that you liked how I handled the issues of bullying. In every story that I write, I try to address an important issue. This one followed bullying/self esteem. I imagine that working as a teacher gives you a front row seat to how nasty children can be.

I'm thrilled that you liked my characterization of the different characters. It's always fun to take a minor character and build a world around them.

Thanks again for the review!

~TreacleTart


 Report Review

Review #15, by typewriterUntil The Very End: Until The Very End

20th February 2015:
Cassie,

I'm so addicted to the friendship you've created between Hannah and Simon. I think I was initially attracted to it because I've been really delving into the idea of soul mates that are just, you know, mates. I've watched shows like Friends and Sex in the City and How I Met Your Mother, and I'm slowly becoming obsessed with that concept. I even started outlining a story last week about what would have happened if Draco had met Hermione when he was eight years old before knowing she was a Muggle. It's an idea that I'm exploring, and your story is inspirational. It's ridiculously sweet and warms the heart. Thanks for writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!
I'm so, so happy you enjoyed this! I love writing little kids, which is where the idea for this story came from, and once I started writing it I knew I wanted to take it throught Hannah and Simon's entire friendship. I'm also really humbled by the fact that you thought this was inspirational! That really means a lot, and I can't say thank you enough for your positive response to both of my Hannah and Simon stories.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by typewriterWhat It Takes: What It Takes

20th February 2015:
Hi Cassie!

I wanted to review for you in exchange for the one I asked from you. I saw that there weren't reviews for this cute one-shot so I bee-lined for it!

I haven't read your house cup entry, so I had no context for Simon and Hannah when I read this, but I have to say that I want to and will go check it out very soon. Their relationship is adorable. I really enjoyed that they were solely friends, not more. I think that's rare with men and women, especially in fanfiction (even I tend to fall victim to friends becoming more when writing). Well done!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this for me! I'm so glad you liked Simon and Hannah's friendship, and that they're just friends with no romance involved. I don't read (or honestly write) much of that, so I loved writing this pair.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by typewriterI Will Make You...: Moonlight

20th February 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for review tag!

I was sensing that the story would take a turn towards the end, because I'm fairly familiar with Ed Sheeran's work. I love him and his beautiful lyrics.

I really enjoyed the twist you gave us. It made me remember how heart-wrenching it was when I first thought about how difficult obliterating Hermione's parents had to be on her. I'm now thinking of how hard it would be to spend everyday with someone who you knew loved you, but had forgotten about it. It's so sad, but poetically so.

I'm happy I chose to read it. It was unique and lovely. I also have to say that I loved this sentence: "Hermione was writing very fast, as though she was afraid every thought she had would vanish if she didnít write it down immediately."

It seemed perfectly Hermione-like. It also is how I feel when I'm brainstorming for a story.

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!

Thank you for reviewing my story :) I love Ed too, his songs are great. Though my story wasn't inspired by any of his songs, I guess I will challenge myself to find Ed's song that would fit :)

I think Hermione was the character that evolved the most throughout the series (well her and Draco) and I think it's not impossible she would do what I made her do.

About the sentence - happens to make when I write my journal - which I don't do very often, but when I do, this is what I look like and end up with endless pages written :)

Thank you,

Monika


 Report Review

Review #18, by typewriterA Terrible Mistake: A Terrible Mistake

5th February 2015:
This was really great! I've written Lucius' point-of-view before, but I've never read another interpretation. I loved how you conveyed him for all his strengths and weaknesses. There was a wonderful balance of the love he has for his family and the cowardice he's shown over the course of the HP series. I appreciated how well you conveyed his many layers.

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked it. Lucius was tougher to write as an adult than I expected, so it;s nice to hear you think I captured his personality well!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #19, by typewriterMusing on Riddle: All he can do is think...

3rd February 2015:
Hello! I really enjoyed the intrigue in this story. There was a lot that I've lost knowledge on that was included. You actually had me on Harry Potter Wikia reading about Morfin after reading this tale, because I was fascinated! I was so thought-provoking. I absolutely adored the way that you led into Dumbledore visiting him. Well done! I've never been able to get the creative juices flowing to write about such an underrepresented character, and you did it very well.

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!

Thank you! I had to constantly check my facts while I was writing this, there was so much I had forgotten as well. :) It's great that you wanted to read about Morfin after reading this; it makes me feel that I've done something right here! And more love for Dumbledore! That's good. I really enjoyed writing Morfin because relatively little is known about him so I had some creative freedom with him. That, and writing his ramblings was so much fun. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by typewriterRoad Trip Down Memory Lane: The Trip

25th July 2013:
Jayde,

This was absolutely lovely. I thought you were spot on in capturing the feelings of someone in grieving. I loved that you wrote Ron very in-character, and he didn't know exactly how to comfort his wife at first. It's kind of nice to know that despite years of marriage, he still doesn't always know what to say Ė especially to Hermione. Though he did a much better job at holding his tongue instead of putting his foot in his mouth, which was a nice change. I generally don't read stories that are Ron/Hermione shipped, but the story behind this one made it all perfect. It was nice to read about a couple who are so in-tune with each other. Well done!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Thank you SO much for this lovely review! And I'm sorry that it has taken me so long to get back to you about it!!

Aww! I'm glad you thought it was lovely!! Thank you for your comments about Ron's characterization, as well as the portrayal of someone in grieving. They really mean a lot to me, and I'm glad you thought Ron had a nice change here.

This is my first Romione story ever, so to hear you say that you liked this one, despite the fact that you don't really read Romiones, really makes me feel good! THANK YOU! ♥



 Report Review

Review #21, by typewriterArthur Weasley Air-Bound: Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

25th July 2013:
Dee,

When reading this, all I could think about was how Arthur's love of Muggle trinkets reminded me a lot of Ariel. When he said they had funny names, I was waiting for him to start calling the artifacts thing-a-ma-bobs and whos-its. I adored the idea of Arthur getting Sirius's moterbike when Hagrid didn't need it anymore! I can't even imagine what it would be like to be with Arthur during his first trip in an airport. I laughed out loud at the "whoops" part with the revolving door. I think you captured a fun time for the family in the wake of a tragedy. It was nice that even Molly enjoyed herself, despite her sadness.

Excellent job!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Aah loving the little mermaid reference!

I'm really glad you liked the story. I think as sad as the weasleys would be after Fred's death he wouldn't want them to be moping around and a holiday would be exactly what they all needed.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by typewriterPotter's North to Alaska: Potters North to Alaska

25th July 2013:
Hello!

I thought it was an interesting pick to have the Potters and Teddy (the honorary Potter) go to Alaska of all places! It was quite funny and entertaining. The reason for the trip was hysterical and believable, what with Harry wanting to go because of a cursed Alaska pamphlet. It would make sense that he would want to follow up with something like that, as an Auror. Grammatically, there were some errors in this story that could easily be corrected with another run through over the story with a fresh pair of eyes. Also, you mis-wrote the word "Floo" as "flue", not that it's a big deal. Just pointing it out. :)

~Amanda

Author's Response: Haha the word floo is now my bane of existence, I did notice there was some mistakes and my goal in the month of august is to go through and fix it up and make it all shiny :) thanks for the review

 Report Review

Review #23, by typewriterFinal Call: Final Call

25th July 2013:
Kira,

This did something really special: it made me feel for Petunia. She's a character that I usually have absolutely no sympathy for, considering her mistreatment of a poor boy who couldn't help who his parents were nor the relationship she had with them. Nonetheless, I thought this was a very plausible situation for her to need to cope with, and I like the idea of her and Lily sharing a love of travel. I thought it was nice that she had a connection with the sister she was a bit jealous and hateful towards. It's obvious that she did, in fact, love Lily, despite the pains she goes through to hide it. I think you did a lovely job at capturing Petunia's personality, as well as Dudley's and Vernon's. Well done!

~Amanda

Author's Response: I agree; I felt the same way about Petunia as I set out to write this story. Fortunately, writing about her forced me to get to know her better. I thought about how painful it would be to not be able to go to Hogwarts when your sister got to go. It never crossed my mind for a moment that she doesn't love Lily. She clearly had a bond when they were young and that sort of thing doesn't just go away. While I think her treatment of Harry is indefensible, I do think there is a lot of tragedy in her life, so that is what I tried to capture. You do such a lovely job of explaining yourself in this review, and it has made me tremendously happy. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review it. You're fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #24, by typewriterWalk Away: Chapter Two

23rd July 2013:
Well that ended quickly! I thought there would be more time spent between them during Hogwarts, so I was very surprised when their relationship was already over before it really began. Not what I was expecting! I'm anxious to see where you're going with this!

~Amanda

 Report Review

Review #25, by typewriterWalk Away: Chapter One

23rd July 2013:
This is already a really fun read! I sense the confusion that the two of them are feeling, and I already feel terrible for Fred because it is clear that somewhere along the lines he gets ditched for Ron out of some sort of obligation that Hermione feels. I'm excited to continue on! After all, I adore the twins with Hermione. :)

~Amanda

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>