Reading Reviews From Member: typewriter
  
68 Reviews Found

Review #1, by typewriterDull Ache: Oblivion

14th March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap!

This story brought on all of the feels. My sister recently had a baby, and it was not an easy pregnancy by any means. She was is lots of pain, and there were many scary moments. Now she has a wonderful baby girl, who is just the light of all our lives. It makes me so sorry to hear about your loss, and to read this and the depth of the emotion you've managed to convey. It's a terrible situation to have to go through, but I truly appreciate that you've written this and that I can now pass it along to others. Your author's note mentions that you think this is not particularly well-written. You either were being silly :) or have gone back and corrected what you deemed to be typos, because this was VERY well-written. I loved it, and look forward to reading more from you! Anyone who can convey such detailed and realistic emotion is someone I can favorite. Thank you for writing! I'm so happy I review swapped with you and got a chance to be enlightened to your writing!

Amanda

 Report Review

Review #2, by typewriterBruises : Bruises

10th March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap!

I am so happy that I hopped on board this exchange, because I enjoyed your story so much. I have never really read a fic like it. I don't often read about Sirius. I really don't often read about minor characters like Emmeline. It was fun to step outside of my usual niche! I liked the thought of Sirius dating someone who went on to be a protector of his godson later. I could see someone who loved Sirius so deeply staying near Harry as a way to stay close to him.

I'd be really interested in seeing how Emmeline reacted when Sirius broke out of prison and was holed up at the headquarters of the Order of the Phoenix. Since she was a part of the second war, they must have crossed paths! Have you thought of writing a sequel about that, or about her feelings when Sirius died? Or his feelings when she did? I like how many doors your fic has opened! :D I'm so curious now!

Anyway, I loved it. It was a tense read, solely because I knew what was going to happen and was so saddened by it. Either way, great characterization and plot flow!

Thanks for writing!
Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! Thanks so much for doing the swap with me!! :)

Aww I'm glad you enjoyed it!! :D I know that I'm always a little leery when I read something that I don't normally go for, so to hear that you ended up liking this in spite of that is really wonderful to hear! ♥ I honestly don't think I've seen any Sirius/Emmeline fics before. I'm sure they probably exist somewhere, but it was completely new territory for me. I'm thrilled that it seemed to have worked out.

As I was wrapping this up, I started to picture how it would be once Sirius ended up in her life again and she knew the truth. I don't think I could possibly *not* write a sequel to this now. I know exactly how she reacts, how he treats her, how she feels about him, what becomes of them and how she handles the news of his death. I thought it all out. I'm not going to give a definite time frame for when it will be done, but it *will* be done. ;)

Thank you so much, once again, for the swap!! And thank you for the beautiful review!! I really do appreciate all the of the kind words!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #3, by typewriterBreak Up With Him: Break Up With Him

1st March 2015:
Hello!

I really enjoyed this! I don't often, if ever, read James/Lily stories for some reason. I was intrigued by your premise, and I'm very happy I gave it a shot because it was a lot of fun. I liked the portrayal of a Slug Club meeting. My favorite description was: "It hadnít taken long to realize that he thought more was more." I got a good laugh over that, especially at how spot on it is. I loved James and Lily's dance, and how he was so honest with her. You could really tell he'd been waiting for so long to tell her honestly how he felt. I always assumed James was immature about how he went about wooing Lily, which is why she didn't like him for a very long time. I like that you gave him a moment to be raw and bare his heart to her. It was lovely. My only criticism would be that I was a little confused by Severus's part in the story. I felt that it was a bit unnecessary considering the fact she was already balancing her boyfriend and James, but in the long run it didn't take away anything from your writing and I enjoyed it all!

Amanda

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I really think that line sort of summarizes who Slughorn is as a person: bigger, louder, brighter, etc. I'm glad you like James's portrayal since I wanted to make sure he was not portrayed as a total pain. The main reason Snape was there was because I think Slughorn would choose him as a member of the club, because he is a) in Slughorn's house and b) a Potions genius. Thanks for the review Amanda! =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by typewriterSomebody's Heartbreak: Somebody's Heartbreak

1st March 2015:
Hi Ellie!

When I saw that you'd written a Fred/Hermione you know I had to swing by and read it! I love Hermione with either of the twins. This was adorable. I haven't delved very much into how a relationship between Hermione and Fred would have looked like while they were at Hogwarts, but it's an interesting thought. I loved how you demonstrated Fred's adoration for her, yet you still conveyed how he was getting to know her. I think sometimes writers fall into a trap of having the relationship they're writing about be perfect, as though both characters know everything about each other, faults included. I like that Hermione was still able to surprise Fred in this. I really enjoyed reading your take! Maybe a sequel?!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I might be able to be persuaded to do a sequel. Fremione are a lot of fun to write.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #5, by typewriterThe Family Job: The Opening Job

20th February 2015:
Hi Claire!

This was a very intriguing first chapter. I am particularly interested in the unique concept you've posed. It seems like a heist story for a good cause! I'd love to know what inspired you to delve into the social work aspect of it. I have a few friends who are social workers, and I love that there will be attention drawn to the career path. The story is also perfect because of the family component that you've added. There's nothing better than a group of family members trying to work together for a common goal while bickering incessantly with each other. It's adorable, fun, and I'm excited for when you get around to updating it!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hey, Amanda!

The social worker thing actually came about because I needed a reason for Teddy to want to pull the whole Leverage thing and since he was an orphan, I felt like it would make sense that he would want to help kids like him who didn't get his opportunities.

I'm so excited to write this one because of all of the characters! I'm going to write them so different from what I normally do and I can't wait until I get going on it!

Thanks again for the swap!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #6, by typewriterUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

20th February 2015:
Hello!

I wanted to just start by saying it's so nice to come across a story that tackles the issue of bullying so nicely. I like that it was presented realistically and dealt with by someone who stood up and decided not to be a bystander. I think that's such an important message. I'm a teacher, and I find that people find it easier to be mean to each other than nice sometimes. They put each other down, even their own friends without realizing it. It's something I'm passionate about helping to stop.

As for the actual story, I loved your writing and your characterization of Justin, Eloise, and Pansy. Pansy had the perfect love-to-hate cattiness, Justin was valiant, and Eloise brought an emotional depth that was heartbreaking. It was wonderful. Thanks for writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda,

Thank you so much for swapping reviews with me!

I'm happy to hear that you liked how I handled the issues of bullying. In every story that I write, I try to address an important issue. This one followed bullying/self esteem. I imagine that working as a teacher gives you a front row seat to how nasty children can be.

I'm thrilled that you liked my characterization of the different characters. It's always fun to take a minor character and build a world around them.

Thanks again for the review!

~TreacleTart


 Report Review

Review #7, by typewriterHouse Cup Event Three: Until The Very End: Until The Very End

20th February 2015:
Cassie,

I'm so addicted to the friendship you've created between Hannah and Simon. I think I was initially attracted to it because I've been really delving into the idea of soul mates that are just, you know, mates. I've watched shows like Friends and Sex in the City and How I Met Your Mother, and I'm slowly becoming obsessed with that concept. I even started outlining a story last week about what would have happened if Draco had met Hermione when he was eight years old before knowing she was a Muggle. It's an idea that I'm exploring, and your story is inspirational. It's ridiculously sweet and warms the heart. Thanks for writing!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!
I'm so, so happy you enjoyed this! I love writing little kids, which is where the idea for this story came from, and once I started writing it I knew I wanted to take it throught Hannah and Simon's entire friendship. I'm also really humbled by the fact that you thought this was inspirational! That really means a lot, and I can't say thank you enough for your positive response to both of my Hannah and Simon stories.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by typewriterWhat It Takes: What It Takes

20th February 2015:
Hi Cassie!

I wanted to review for you in exchange for the one I asked from you. I saw that there weren't reviews for this cute one-shot so I bee-lined for it!

I haven't read your house cup entry, so I had no context for Simon and Hannah when I read this, but I have to say that I want to and will go check it out very soon. Their relationship is adorable. I really enjoyed that they were solely friends, not more. I think that's rare with men and women, especially in fanfiction (even I tend to fall victim to friends becoming more when writing). Well done!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this for me! I'm so glad you liked Simon and Hannah's friendship, and that they're just friends with no romance involved. I don't read (or honestly write) much of that, so I loved writing this pair.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by typewriterI Will Make You...: Moonlight

20th February 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for review tag!

I was sensing that the story would take a turn towards the end, because I'm fairly familiar with Ed Sheeran's work. I love him and his beautiful lyrics.

I really enjoyed the twist you gave us. It made me remember how heart-wrenching it was when I first thought about how difficult obliterating Hermione's parents had to be on her. I'm now thinking of how hard it would be to spend everyday with someone who you knew loved you, but had forgotten about it. It's so sad, but poetically so.

I'm happy I chose to read it. It was unique and lovely. I also have to say that I loved this sentence: "Hermione was writing very fast, as though she was afraid every thought she had would vanish if she didnít write it down immediately."

It seemed perfectly Hermione-like. It also is how I feel when I'm brainstorming for a story.

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!

Thank you for reviewing my story :) I love Ed too, his songs are great. Though my story wasn't inspired by any of his songs, I guess I will challenge myself to find Ed's song that would fit :)

I think Hermione was the character that evolved the most throughout the series (well her and Draco) and I think it's not impossible she would do what I made her do.

About the sentence - happens to make when I write my journal - which I don't do very often, but when I do, this is what I look like and end up with endless pages written :)

Thank you,

Monika


 Report Review

Review #10, by typewriterA Terrible Mistake: A Terrible Mistake

5th February 2015:
This was really great! I've written Lucius' point-of-view before, but I've never read another interpretation. I loved how you conveyed him for all his strengths and weaknesses. There was a wonderful balance of the love he has for his family and the cowardice he's shown over the course of the HP series. I appreciated how well you conveyed his many layers.

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked it. Lucius was tougher to write as an adult than I expected, so it;s nice to hear you think I captured his personality well!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by typewriterMusing on Riddle: All he can do is think...

3rd February 2015:
Hello! I really enjoyed the intrigue in this story. There was a lot that I've lost knowledge on that was included. You actually had me on Harry Potter Wikia reading about Morfin after reading this tale, because I was fascinated! I was so thought-provoking. I absolutely adored the way that you led into Dumbledore visiting him. Well done! I've never been able to get the creative juices flowing to write about such an underrepresented character, and you did it very well.

Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda!

Thank you! I had to constantly check my facts while I was writing this, there was so much I had forgotten as well. :) It's great that you wanted to read about Morfin after reading this; it makes me feel that I've done something right here! And more love for Dumbledore! That's good. I really enjoyed writing Morfin because relatively little is known about him so I had some creative freedom with him. That, and writing his ramblings was so much fun. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by typewriterRoad Trip Down Memory Lane: The Trip

25th July 2013:
Jayde,

This was absolutely lovely. I thought you were spot on in capturing the feelings of someone in grieving. I loved that you wrote Ron very in-character, and he didn't know exactly how to comfort his wife at first. It's kind of nice to know that despite years of marriage, he still doesn't always know what to say Ė especially to Hermione. Though he did a much better job at holding his tongue instead of putting his foot in his mouth, which was a nice change. I generally don't read stories that are Ron/Hermione shipped, but the story behind this one made it all perfect. It was nice to read about a couple who are so in-tune with each other. Well done!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Thank you SO much for this lovely review! And I'm sorry that it has taken me so long to get back to you about it!!

Aww! I'm glad you thought it was lovely!! Thank you for your comments about Ron's characterization, as well as the portrayal of someone in grieving. They really mean a lot to me, and I'm glad you thought Ron had a nice change here.

This is my first Romione story ever, so to hear you say that you liked this one, despite the fact that you don't really read Romiones, really makes me feel good! THANK YOU! ♥



 Report Review

Review #13, by typewriterArthur Weasley Air-Bound: Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

25th July 2013:
Dee,

When reading this, all I could think about was how Arthur's love of Muggle trinkets reminded me a lot of Ariel. When he said they had funny names, I was waiting for him to start calling the artifacts thing-a-ma-bobs and whos-its. I adored the idea of Arthur getting Sirius's moterbike when Hagrid didn't need it anymore! I can't even imagine what it would be like to be with Arthur during his first trip in an airport. I laughed out loud at the "whoops" part with the revolving door. I think you captured a fun time for the family in the wake of a tragedy. It was nice that even Molly enjoyed herself, despite her sadness.

Excellent job!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Aah loving the little mermaid reference!

I'm really glad you liked the story. I think as sad as the weasleys would be after Fred's death he wouldn't want them to be moping around and a holiday would be exactly what they all needed.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by typewriterPotter's North to Alaska: Potters North to Alaska

25th July 2013:
Hello!

I thought it was an interesting pick to have the Potters and Teddy (the honorary Potter) go to Alaska of all places! It was quite funny and entertaining. The reason for the trip was hysterical and believable, what with Harry wanting to go because of a cursed Alaska pamphlet. It would make sense that he would want to follow up with something like that, as an Auror. Grammatically, there were some errors in this story that could easily be corrected with another run through over the story with a fresh pair of eyes. Also, you mis-wrote the word "Floo" as "flue", not that it's a big deal. Just pointing it out. :)

~Amanda

Author's Response: Haha the word floo is now my bane of existence, I did notice there was some mistakes and my goal in the month of august is to go through and fix it up and make it all shiny :) thanks for the review

 Report Review

Review #15, by typewriterFinal Call: Final Call

25th July 2013:
Kira,

This did something really special: it made me feel for Petunia. She's a character that I usually have absolutely no sympathy for, considering her mistreatment of a poor boy who couldn't help who his parents were nor the relationship she had with them. Nonetheless, I thought this was a very plausible situation for her to need to cope with, and I like the idea of her and Lily sharing a love of travel. I thought it was nice that she had a connection with the sister she was a bit jealous and hateful towards. It's obvious that she did, in fact, love Lily, despite the pains she goes through to hide it. I think you did a lovely job at capturing Petunia's personality, as well as Dudley's and Vernon's. Well done!

~Amanda

Author's Response: I agree; I felt the same way about Petunia as I set out to write this story. Fortunately, writing about her forced me to get to know her better. I thought about how painful it would be to not be able to go to Hogwarts when your sister got to go. It never crossed my mind for a moment that she doesn't love Lily. She clearly had a bond when they were young and that sort of thing doesn't just go away. While I think her treatment of Harry is indefensible, I do think there is a lot of tragedy in her life, so that is what I tried to capture. You do such a lovely job of explaining yourself in this review, and it has made me tremendously happy. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review it. You're fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #16, by typewriterWalk Away: Chapter Two

23rd July 2013:
Well that ended quickly! I thought there would be more time spent between them during Hogwarts, so I was very surprised when their relationship was already over before it really began. Not what I was expecting! I'm anxious to see where you're going with this!

~Amanda

 Report Review

Review #17, by typewriterWalk Away: Chapter One

23rd July 2013:
This is already a really fun read! I sense the confusion that the two of them are feeling, and I already feel terrible for Fred because it is clear that somewhere along the lines he gets ditched for Ron out of some sort of obligation that Hermione feels. I'm excited to continue on! After all, I adore the twins with Hermione. :)

~Amanda

 Report Review

Review #18, by typewriterMemory Lane : A Very Happy Halloween

18th July 2013:
I'm so sad I caught up with this story, because I selfishly do not want to have to wait for more! I've had such a fun time reading this and watching Hermione and Draco's relationship blossom! They fell asleep on the couch leaning against each other :) So cute!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Don't worry, the next chapter shouldn't be too much longer! Glad you're enjoying so far :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by typewriterMemory Lane : A Day in Diagon Alley

18th July 2013:
When Draco was telling Jane about Hermione, I had to resist squealing because of how he has obviously changed his views of her. I hope hearing it from him helps Hermione to realize that, as well! I'm thinking Jane will be placed into Hufflepuff! But that may just be because I'm partial to the House. :D

~Amanda

Author's Response: That's what the speech was intended to do :) At this point she still has some doubts but she's definitely warming to him :) Jane is indeed a hufflepuff, I couldn't put her anywhere else :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 9: Care and Comfort

18th July 2013:
So close! But I'm happy that George didn't kiss her. It was really not the right moment. In fact, it was so far from the right moment. Such a sad chapter, but you were really successful in writing Hermione's misery and depression. I particularly loved what Fred told her before she went off with George to see her parents' grave. Very wise words.

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you for yet another amazing review, Amanda! I agree that it wasn't the time for the kiss so I'm glad you don't hate me for not writing it. Thank you so much, that is very kind of you to say. I think that the twins are a lot deeper and more thoughtful than people think someimes and like you said Fred was very sweet and smart in what he said to Hermione! Thanks a million for reading and leaving all the lovely reviews! I really appreciate all the feedback and support! Jenna :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 8: Brothers

18th July 2013:
This was swoon worthy! I just want to curl up and sigh to myself! The ending was perfect. I love the little ego boost of George realizing he had that effect on Hermione. I enjoyed reading the playful banter between the brothers at George's expense, and I thought they all made valid points regarding the situation. Especially since Ron and Hermione dated for a month. On a side note, sometimes you use words that aren't very "Wizarding World-accurate", so maybe you want to watch out for that so it seems more on base with HP? Like "Jesus" or "oh god", for instance. :) I do that, too! Like saying "Merry Christmas" instead of "Happy Christmas" since I'm American.

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What can I say? Put me in a room of Weasley boys and I'd be in heaven! There is so much uncertainty in their relationship as it is so I think you're right it gave him a bit more confidence. The talk between the brothers was just to realy open up George's eyes and as you said they made some valid points and I'm really happy that you enjoyed it. I never really think of it that way when I'm writing but you are definitely right. Thank you so much, I will be minding that in the future. On a completely irrelevent note... you don't say 'Merry Christmas' in America? It must be a million times harder trying to write a Potter fanfiction being American because there's so many little things that are different in England!
Sorry the last few lines really went off topic but oh well! Thanks a million for the great review! Jenna :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 7: Ridiculous?

18th July 2013:
Your characterization of Charlie was hysterical. I thought it was so entertaining to read. I felt so sad for George when Hermione said them as a couple would be ridiculous, so I'm glad she saved the moment and made him happier. Lee was fantastic! Bring me that box. Now put it back. Priceless!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love the Weasley boys and even though Bill and Charlie aren't really main characters I love them both and I just imagine Charlie being really funny. I know my heart broke for him in that moment but all is okay now so you needn't worry. Thanks! I love Lee as well so I'm glad you enjoyed that part! Thanks you very much! Jenna :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 6: Changes

18th July 2013:
That was really cute! I loved how dumbstruck George got upon seeing Hermione dressed up. It was really sweet. I think you're capturing the feeling of a crush really well between them. I kind of hope Bill is right in saying that they will be together by the end of the holiday. I don't want Fred to be right! That'll be painful to wait to read! :)

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks Amanda! I know it was so cute and funny and I'm glad you think so because at times I think I under and over sell their relationship when I'm trying to show it as just progressing from a crush. I know I mean to do that to you readers would be evil, wouldn't it? Sadly I'm not always nice so I guess you will just have to wait and see! Thanks again! Jenna :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 5: Time to admit

18th July 2013:
Fred has noticed! I'm impressed! Then again, maybe I shouldn't be as surprised as I am - they are twins after all. They're supposed to know each other better than anyone. I really love how you've gone about writing the twins' relationship with each other. I think you capture the range of it. How they can be serious with one another (usually when it is just the two of them), but feed off each other's playfulness when in front of others. It makes for an entertaining dynamic. I thought it was really sweet how George clammed up about Hermione, even with Fred. It was nice to see the ever-charming, confident Weasley twin in a vulnerable moment. And I can't wait for Angelina and Fred to get engaged. His comment to her at the end was very, very fluffy, but it was romantic - as Hermione stated. I liked how George was disgusted by it. We're starting to see his relationship with Hermione blossom. I'm waiting antsy for them to finally get together, or at least admit their feelings! And what happened with Ron? I can't wait for the fallout of his break up. Things are getting good!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Yes I think Fred and George are too close for something like this to go unnoticed for long. Thank you so much, I love Fred and George's relationship so I'm glad you think I've been able to capture it well! I know I think a lot of the time we forget the twins are just like the rest of us so I think it's nice to see them sad, confused or embaressed sometimes. I have to admit I wrote that moment just because I was in a fluffy mood and I had to do something to get out of it. I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks a million! Jenna :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by typewriterMore Than Friendship: Chapter 4: Not Part of the Plan

18th July 2013:
This chapter was the one I was waiting for! I've been waiting for Ron to come to his senses and break up with Lavender (that relationship is the definition of unhealthy), and I've also been waiting for someone outside of Hermione and George to realize that they like each other. Go Ginny! I was figuring it'd be her, since the others seem rather dense about it! Fred is not nearly observant enough to figure it out first :) I thought the scene where they were bringing an unconscious Hermione to the Burrow was hysterical. I'm surprised McGonagall let them go, but, then again, after all these years of their mischief she's probably used to it. There were some grammatical errors in this one that stood out, but with a re-read they should be all set. I would also watch for run-on sentences in your work. I noticed them particularly last chapter, but it's always good to be aware of. Sometimes you have a long thought in your head and when you put the thought to paper it comes out in one long strand.

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks for yet another brilliant and in depth review! I was glad to have them break up too! I have never and will never be a fan of Lavender, I always her clingy nature and I just don't see how her and Ron could work as a couple. Ginny is definitely the more observant of them so was bound to be the first to notice. I'm so happy you liked it, I was literally imagining the sceptical look on McGonagall's face as it happened! Amanda you are my saviour! Finally I have a reader that is not too afraid of offending me to let me know where I'm going wrong. By no means does that mean I'm calling you rude or whatever I am honestly so appreciative that someone is finally letting me know what I need to work on! THANK YOU! Thanks a million for all the great reviews and the support! Jenna :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>