Reading Reviews From Member: Chazzie
  
88 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Gryffindor - TidalDragon

29th July 2014:
Eeek, I loved that. It was brilliant to see Slughorn as he grew older, forging new contacts and then new beliefs. It was very IC and for that I really enjoyed it, because you showed his internal conflict in a way that made the reader feel a bond between them and Slughorn. I'm guessing that it is Slughorn, as there aren't many people who would fit the criteria set out, but if I'm wrong then I guess I've not been reading the books well enough. Really great.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter One

28th July 2014:
Ooooh, a mystery :D I love how the murderer has told us that they are the murderer, but not told us who they are. Your detail and dialogue is superb. Eek, I'm excited.

Well, let's see. We had nine possible suspects at the start.
~Parvati
~Padma
~Seamus
~Dean
~Lavender
~Michael
~Pansy
~Daphne
~Theo

So we can rule out Parvati as she's dead. (Um... We can rule her out right?)
Theo is taken for interview first, whist the narrator is not. So I think he can be discounted.
Padma, I don't think would have said to her interviewers about over hearing someone talking about her with her sister.
Michael, Dean, and Seamus seem a bit unlikely simply because I get the feeling that the narrator is a woman. But I won't discount them yet.
So my main suspects would be Lavender, or Pansy. Daphne has no connections to anything muggle as far as I'm aware, and thus this makes her less likely. Whereas Lavender has a halfblood husband and Pansy's late husband was muggleborn.
Hmmm... At the moment I think I will guess Lavender.

Hope to read the next chapter when it's posted :D
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Singularity

28th July 2014:
That was captivating, truly. I loved the way you managed to make George see reason, and Angelina basically telling him that he needs to start living again. It was also kinda cute how they both knew how Fred would have reacted about the shop remaining unopened. There was a fair bit of description going on there too, which made it a lot more solid to read. I loved the bit about Fred and George being mirror images, and Angelina pointing out that they weren't. Two sides of the same coin perhaps, but both just oh-so-slightly different. Your closing sentence was brilliant by the way. It rounded everything off just nicely. Well done with the House Cup!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #4, by ChazzieThe Lost Wolf: Atoms For Peace

28th July 2014:
Ah you updated! :D
It was a brilliant chapter, I loved it. Meh, I love all your chapters. I mentioned that before, right? Well, the backstory about the wolves and the Magoi was brilliant. I loved the way the creatures responded to the Trojans, with the rising fear that started to accumulate as they destroyed the island. And the little girl was called Cassandra too! Is Cassie named for her ancestor, or is it just coincidence?
Yay, some Cassie and Neffie (that's an adorable nickname) action! I loved the way they interacted, neither fully trusting each other. I do hope they become very good friends, because Nymphadora is headstrong and impulsive and caring - just like Cassandra! Thank you so much for writing that!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #5, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Veritaserum27

28th July 2014:
Hey there! Oh my gosh that was brilliant :') 'Winky swung across Hogwarts' kitchen on a rope made of twisted spaghetti.' I mean, is there any better way to start a story? I don't think there is. It was so randomly spontaneous that I was grinning from the start. It was adorable how all the house elves decided to work their hearts out to help those in the hall heal, forgoing sleep even though they'd also fought the battle against Voldemort. Which would make them happy I guess, as they are serving Hogwarts and its guests and making the headmistress proud. Loved it!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #6, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Hufflepuff - ohmymerlin

28th July 2014:
Hello! Well to begin with, I'll admit I did feel really sad. But then you started to weave the subtle hints of hope into the story. That today was bad, but tomorrow would be better. That they could all learn to live without Fred. That it would take time, but they could get through it together. I think that friendships would be likely forged and strengthened at the end of the battle, and families torn apart by the war could heal again. But as Ron says, eyeryone needs time to mourn. I really enjoyed this.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #7, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Lakeside Encounters

28th July 2014:
You updated! Yay!
You have no idea how much I'm grinning right now. The story is awesome and your characters perfect. Oliver is adorable really. Aww, maybe Dion will get his guy in the summer, once he takes a leaf out of James' book and throw his drink over him. Accidently-on-purpose of course ;)
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #8, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - newgenerationlover

28th July 2014:
Hello! I've got to say, this was a rather funny story. The original stories were perhaps a bit too... Gruesome? Morbid? Terrifying? for younger readers. I know that I had several nightmares as a kid from the Little Mermaid, involving jumping into the sea and turning into foam. In one dream a seagull ate me. (Yes, I have a weird imagination.) Anyhoo, back to your story. It was great! The sort of thing that could easily happen, given that it would keep the children busy whilst their parents/careers/elder friends and relatives try to help out with the dead and injured, and your character was socially awkward enough to make me wince for her. I loved that you mentioned the pureblood child along with the others, showing that not all the purebloods were evil and believed in Voldemort. Basically. Kids are funny creatures.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #9, by ChazzieRisking It All: Impulse

27th July 2014:
I love this so far! It's got the potential for a brilliant plot line, and it all in all really good. Your characterisation is brilliant, and your characters extremely life-like. Dom is perhaps being slightly childish, but I can certainly understand her frustration at Teddy, for deserting her, and at her sister, for stealing her crush and best friend. Juliet is a sweetheart, truly. Slightly reckless, but I would expect nothing less from a Gryffindor. Leah seems a bit - how to put it - self-centred? But she's also the sort of person who will be there for her friends when they need her, and whom they shall in turn forgive. This just makes the characters more human, and I like that. I'm interested to see where you take this!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi there, thank you for reading and being the first review on this chapter! This was so exciting to wake up to :)

Dom definitely is quite childish, it's apart of her character. Hopefully we'll get to see her grow up and develop as this story goes on! I'm glad you were able to tell the characters of Juliette and Leah so far, I was worried I wasn't really taking enough time in this chapter to shape their characters, but they'll definitely have their own plotlines in the future.

Thanks so much for the read/review! :)

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #10, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Timely Reminders and Clean Teacups.

27th July 2014:
Eek, only two days till the wedding! Maybe I'm jumping to conclusions here, but I get the feeling that something is going to happen whilst they're there. Hmm, hopefully something will give Scorpius a hint about who is targeting the death eaters in Percy's file. Scorpius is really sweet, and it was nice to see the background to his friendship with Milly. It's funny how everyone seems to have learnt the hard way about Rose's matchmaking skills... Or lack thereof! I kinda feel sorry for those she has tried to find partners for. Can't wait to read the next chapter!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. :) The background for Scorpius & Milly was actually kind of spontaneous, but I really like it. Rose' matchmaking skills developed while I was writing a fic about Eliza & Albus (which will be posted in the future). Hope you enjoy the next chapter, I enjoyed writing it. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by ChazzieTrying to snog Hermione Granger: Chapter Two

25th July 2014:
Hello! Chazzie here for the Slytherin July Review Exchange.
Well first off, it seems like a really great idea for the story. I'm even feeling a slight fuzziness inside for Goyle, which is not something I'd ever thought I'd say. But there we have it. Pansy was perfectly snarky in this chapter, whilst Draco was rather snobbish. And Blaise is ahead of the game, already! He didn't miss the chance when it presented itself at least. I think you flickered a couple of time between tenses, although it's not very noticeable. Your dialogue was really good, and seemed natural. One thing I would like to clarify with a bit of constructive criticism is your use of THERE, THEIR, and THEY'RE. THERE is used when talking about a place, for example, Lyra is sitting over there. THEIR is a possessive, used in a context like this: Whose cat is that? Oh it's their cat. THEY'RE is an abbreviation of they are, so would be used to say: they're taking the train to Edinburgh tomorrow. It's very easy to get these mixed up, but it will certainly help you out if you can learn the differences between them. All in all, I enjoyed this (especially learning the consequences Blaise and Draco will face if they lose the bet). Keep writing!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thanks so much!!

Your review was a inspirtaion to write more and also a little lesson, lol.
Which is something I struggle with when using those words.
I'm glad you enjoyed it!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Care to Make a Wager

18th July 2014:
Sam, that was awesome. James and Ollie are so adorable together that I just love them. I loved Ginny and Harry betting on James with the key to the fridge. I loved that James gave Oliver a camera, and that Oliver finally compiled the album for James. I'm really sorry for the repetitiveness of this review, but I truly adored it all. Baby Ryan sounded super cute too. The way that Ginny reacted to the sleeping arrangements was really funny, although I loved Harry's reaction in the previous chapter. You write in a way that grabs the reader from start to end, and is simply a pleasure to read. Now we just NEED OLLIE AND JAMES TO GET TOGETHER! :D
Loved it, Lottie

 Report Review

Review #13, by Chazzie…tincelles d'Argent: Silver Sparks

18th July 2014:
Hello there!
That was really amazing. You made me feel so sorry for Sirius - and yet you also made me laugh aloud. The way that he is trapped in a place of cold and despair but he still manages to stay strong? That is impressive. And he is still funny, albeit gallows humour. 'What are you going to do? I'm already in Azkaban.' was probably my favourite part. On the other hand we have Fudge, who is an idiot. I don't have a clue how he became minister for magic. Anyway, your descriptions are fantastic, and really add so much to the story. As such, the words created a really vivid picture in my head. Thank you very much for posting it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for the kind review. These things make my day :) And yes, Sirius shall always stay sassy and fabulous. As for Fudge, he is quite idiotic, isn't he?

Thanks for stopping by x

-Dirigible_Plums


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChazzieThe Dream Trilogy Book One: To Dwell On Dreams: Chapter Three: No Light No Light Part One

12th July 2014:
Oh my god Helen. Another cliffhanger? Gah I want to read more. And more. Forever. Just so you know ;)
Well that's a brilliant chapter. It was funny how everyone instantly hates Draco, except Hermione. She seems to be the only one (outsiders perspective I guess) who actually cares for his basic needs. Even if he was a death eater, they should be willing to hear him out. Although personally I'd check him for weapons first, and perhaps make sure there weren't any tracking spells or bugging charms on him. Then interrogate him. PETER is there! Is he still a traitor? I kinda hope he isn't, just because he so often is. Can't wait to read more!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you Lottie! Draco's entrance was one of the hardest scenes to tackle in the trilogy and I re-wrote it entirely about five times over the years. And yes, most chapters do end on a cliffhanger, what can I say, I love the drama! Hxxx

 Report Review

Review #15, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: A Family Affair

12th July 2014:
Whoop, another chapter! I really like where this is going. You've introduced quite a few characters and have started hinting towards the approaching war, the foreshadowing works really well. Its great how you've given us background information about the war from Arthur and Binns, its useful in helping the reader understand more about the story without being blatantly obvious about it. Ron's reaction to Rose's sorting is exactly as I would have imagined it, given his long standing hatred of the House. I do hope he becomes more open minded though - we aren't that bad. Her minor is ever logical, and I loved your portrayal of Ginny here. It was really sweet to see her with Lily. Can't wait to read more!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you for all of the kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I do hope you keep reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ChazzieBertie Bottís Every Flavoured Beans: Introduction

10th July 2014:
Hey there!
I like this, it sounds like it could be a really good story. And for your first ever chapter of your first ever fanfiction, it is brilliant. Congratulations for deciding to share it! Rose is the black sheep of the family huh? I've not read many like that before. I thought the 'action, explain' was a pretty good way of giving the reader some background information, before diving into the rest of the story. Your descriptions are also very good, especially with Rose describing why she loves her work.
One little detail - 'to which Lorcan took offensive.' I think you meant 'to which Lorcan took offence.'

Keep writing!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I have been super nervous while it has been in validation!

I was really nervous about making the whole first chapter being mainly backstory. I was scared that it would be a bit too boring, but it is necessary for the future chapters.

That's for picking up on that typo! I'll have to make a note of it.

Thank you again for the review Lottie :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: The Eight Families

10th July 2014:
That was great! You are doing really well with this so far, and I can't wait to see where you take it. The plot is really original, so I'm looking forward to reading more. So far we have heard about four different Wizarding Schools, and it's really interesting to read about the traditions, celebrations, and culture that each one has. In particular I liked Charlie as a character (although I may be biase from my name) as she seems pretty headstrong from what you've shown of her so far. A good ally, but not someone to cross. I've never thought about wands being made of metal before, it's an interesting concept. Would they still have animal cores, or something else given the 'man made' nature of the steel and aluminium?
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: aw, thank you so much! i'm so glad you liked it. i imagine that the metal wands might still have animal cores, among other things, but definitely still made of things with magical, natural origins. :) to me, the core is what gives it the power, and the wand casing just kind of focuses it :)
thanks for the review!
emma


 Report Review

Review #18, by ChazzieThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god. Wait, what do you mean it's done? No Lisa, bad Lisa :'( gah. I just can't believe it's complete. Congratulations, by the way, because that is a very impressive achievement. I've loved the story since the very first chapter, and I will continue to love it forever more. Not to sound stalkerish or anything. You always add in such amazing things - the bear was inspired. I loved the way that everything they had done for the Scholarship was used in the final prank. I kinda wish we could have seen how it turned out, with the teachers having to deal with all these things and the fact that their seventh years have just gone AWOL (she says, hinting at a one-shot ;) )
I'm so glad they did amazingly in their NEWTs and even got the scholarship. The money from the ministry will certainly give Lester a hand too. I'm just so glad that everything worked out in the end, even if this is the final chapter. I will miss this story. And I will definitely be back for the sequel. You are an amazing writer, and thank you so very much for giving us the chance to read it!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Legacy

9th July 2014:
WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME. GAHH THE FEELS :'( *cough* sorry. I didn't want George to die... I like George...
The fireworks were genius. It was great to see another point of view, so that we have even more knowledge about Roxanne. She is brilliantly brave and I think this shows how, since the previous chapter, she has managed to get stronger and more confident again. Expspecially using fireworks (albeit Hugo is setting them magically, but you know what I mean. Trauma like that which she experienced isn't going to be forgotten in a hurry). 'Never say you're sorry' is my favourite quote here. Hugo is so sweet, and I'm really grateful for this chapter being in his POV. He is shy and not usually the person you expect for this kind of thing, and that makes the chapter even more powerful, I think.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Bonfire

9th July 2014:
I'm crying. That was even more beautiful. Seeing Roxy growing older but still wanting to stop everyone from being harmed, it was perfect. I like the fact that she is insecure, because it shows just how human and fragile she is. Your characterisation of George is lovely, and was heartbreaking to read. That he took the fireworks out of his shop shows just how deeply this experience has affected him. Especially when he loved the fireworks and they had such good memories together with the fireworks, to begin with at least. The last part was amazing because Roxy managed to face her fear of being ridiculed in order to wear a skirt for a date. And she was perfectly right about her decision. Loved it.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

9th July 2014:
Hi there!
I have to say, that was a beautiful chapter, and a very different take on the prompt. I have only ever heard of Fwoopers once, when I was debating with my friend about the best magical creature in the HP universe. She brought them up, but I never got round to properly reading into them. From what you've written though, I think I'll need to. It was brilliantly written - the thoughts of the bird really make it stand out from the crowd. Roxie is so cute here, demanding to know why they would sell a Fwopper only for its looks and with a silencing charm. Sometimes children have a way of making you see the world differently, as everything is so straightforward to them. It seems like George and Angelina are used to her being so opinionated, which isn't really surprising. I loved that she snuck in to free the bird, it really showed the link between Roxie and her father.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by ChazzieFlutter: Flutter

8th July 2014:
Sian, that was amazing. Oh, I'm supposed to say hello first aren't I. Oops. Hi.
I loved your characterisation of Bowman, as I have never read a story in which he is featured. The mystery girl - well in a way I'm glad you didn't specifically name her. Partially because it makes it sound too final, like she has to die, and partially because I don't feel any burning need to find out who she is. Which is unusual for me. You expressed Bowman's feelings so beautifully that I was feeling heartbroken when the snidget was caught, and when he discovered that the girl had died. His reasons behind creating the snitch are infaultable, as is your writing. I seriously loved it, and your descriptions made it seem extremely realistic, very well done.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by ChazzieA Sirius Love Affair: The Mysteries of Magic

8th July 2014:
Hey there!
Well, to start with I really liked the fact that Sirius showed a muggle magician a 'magic trick' despite the fact that she is, kinda obviously, a muggle. I can see Remus' fears about her being used against Sirius though. Especially knowing what a certain cousin of his is capable of. Maggy seems a nice enough character, although perhaps not someone who is used to trusting others particularly. She seems ever so slightly on edge, although that could just be me making things up. I liked the fact that she didn't comment on how attractive he was, but insead on his clothing. Wizarding clothing does seem to be one of the main differences that muggles pick up on, and it was nice to then see Sirius in more muggle-appropriate wear.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: This is such a surprise! I wrote this a long time ago, my first hp fanfic, so it's good to see people are still enjoying it!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! The whole 'would you like to see a magic trick' really seemed very Sirius to me. +]

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ChazzieOne Crazy Moment: Being Happy

8th July 2014:
Hello!
I adore this story, it was sweet and brought out a completely different Molly to the one we saw in the beginning. I liked the fact that she wasn't running away from home, but towards a change, and I really admire that in her. Charlie got a mention, which made me really happy for some reason. You'll have to excuse me for this but - DRAGONS!!! *cough* sorry. I'll be good now I promise. Cyrus seems pretty cool, and I'm glad Molly saw the light about the centre in the end. To begin with I was worried he might just have been playing with her to get the plans approved, so I'm glad my fears were unfounded. Molly Campbell does sound sweet, and it's nice that neither of them wanted each other for the fame attached. Brilliant story!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Tired Hearts.

7th July 2014:
Personally I would love to see Lucy in orange, for the sole reason of seeing Scorpius' expression. I know we are talking about fictionally characters, but they seem very realistic. Yes, I definitely feel bad for Gwen now. "It's a cause and event thing. Like war. Soldiers aren't necessarily the killing sort." was just perfect. I am in awe of your writing skills, for provoking so many feelings in a single chapter. The humour is brilliant - and Scorpius is funny. I am admiring more and more is Milly, on account of her ability to go from work-mode to friend-mode so instantaneously. I love it when I see you have updated, it's a brilliant story.
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much, this review totally made my day! It's reviews like this that keep me focused on writing. :) I'm so glad they feel real to you! I'm also glad you like Gwyn, originally she wasn't actually going to appear again, but I really loved her and Lucy's original exchange, so I chose to weave her back in. I love Milly as well.:)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>