Reading Reviews From Member: Chazzie
  
108 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChazzieIt Is the Colour of Joy: You Smile...

20th August 2014:
Hi again :) I think I loved this even more than 'Every Song Must End' simply because of the second person. You've done a fantastic job with it!
The way you have incorporated the colour into the story is very imaginiative and interesting. I also love the way it connects to the prequel in subtle ways, such as them going back to the coffee shop and the 'bitter but sweet' way Astoria likes her coffee. And she is a healer, which seems perfect for the Astoria you have created. You have really described the characters in such a way that they become rather 3D to me, in both this and the previous one. I also like the no dialogue, simply because you have worked extra hard to compensate with descriptions for the lack of speech.
It was brilliant, I really enjoyed this!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChazzieEvery Song Must End: Bitter...

19th August 2014:
Hi there! It's Chazzie from the Pit for our August Reveiw exchange :)
Well, that was beautifully written. It flowed fantastically, and had an interesting rhythm to it. The italicised (is that a word?) sentence at the end of each segment really works, and I love the fact that you wrote this with 501 words, instead of the typical 500. In particular, your use of contrast between both short and long sentences, and between the dark and light moments in this story. Personally I feel that you've really captured Draco here, in all aspects of his personality. I love stories that are sad but carry that vein of hope throughout, and your story really did that.
Now I'm off to review the companion story to this. (I have a confession. I read it first, this second. I'm sorry.) because it was also amazing.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by ChazzieBest Day of My Life: Best Day of My Life

10th August 2014:
Hi!
That was fantastic! I loved the fact that you had little snapshots of all of their weddings, and the feelings that ensued. So many people in a little moment of happiness, despite the dark that they fought through or would soon be battling. The song choice was great too. I would say which I loved best, but I honestly cannot decide. Each and every couple was perfectly adorable.
Lottie

Author's Response: Thanks for a great review!

I enjoyed writing this very much, especially the scene with the Longbottoms, due to the fact that I've never written them before.


 Report Review

Review #4, by ChazzieDaddy's Girl: Forever Daddy's Little Girl

10th August 2014:
Hello!
Just so you know, I'm crying. That was beautiful, and the song choice was perfect. It really felt so touching and heartfelt. I loved the way that the descriptions allowed for a bit of flexibility in the reader's mind. It was nice to see a fanfic with Harry and his daughter, as I think other stories tend to focus on either James or Albus when they show a parent/child relationship. Very well written, thank you for sharing it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm sorry I made you cry! I've noticed my stories tend to make people cry...I wonder if I should be worried about that :/

I've always loved this song, and I'm glad you liked it with this story. Lily's one of my favorite Next-Gen characters, so I'm glad I got to write about her!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
~Sara


 Report Review

Review #5, by ChazzieDeepest Desire: The Mirror of Erised

10th August 2014:
I have shivers running down my spine. That was amazing and very very haunting. A 'what if' kind of tale that really spooked me out. The fact that everyone had died, and that Ginny was one of the few people left fighting. And even she gave up in the end. I love this line: 'I embrace the green like it is life instead of death.' Very chilling. Yet it also gives a hint of hope, that everything isn't quite over yet. I love this story.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #6, by ChazzieTreacle Tart and a Heart-to-Heart: An after dinner discussion

10th August 2014:
Hey there! That was a really cute story, an realistic in the way the characters acted and reacted to situations. Your dialogue worked well, and gave a lot of insight to the way they felt. I loved the way Victoire appeared with puddings. It would be great for Teddy to get to know some of the people who knew his parents. It's a shame that Harry never got to do that whilst he was young, and only began to discover what his parents were like once he reached Hogwarts. Brilliant title by the way :)
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm so happy you enjoyed it!! I'm glad that Teddy had such a different upbringing than Harry did, poor thing. He's got all sorts of people to love him, and bring him pudding! Thank goodness you liked the title...they're the hardest things to think up, in my opinion ;) Thank you again for reading my story, and taking the time to review!!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ChazzieJust for this moment: See how bright we shine

10th August 2014:
Oh. My. Goodness.
That was possibly the sweetest WolfStar I've ever read. It was brilliant and gorgeous and so unbelievably amazing. You really captured a lot of feelings, and it was adorable to read. Sirius trying to soften the pain of Remus' scars was perfect. However I did cry, because Remus and Sirius and Harry won't be a family and Sirius will die and Remus will marry Tonks and then they will die and that's within four years and Harry won't have any of the marauders to be a parental figure to him and oh my god the feels!! My heart was quite literally breaking by the end of that fantastic piece. Very well done and thank you for sharing it.
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!!! This was so sweet and amazing and it made my day when I saw it and continues to make my day as I'm rereading it!!

Thank you so so so much. Really, thank you.

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #8, by ChazzieThe Monopoly on Honour: We shall live in song

9th August 2014:
Hey Celi! Just thought I'd pop by to see what you've written so far, and boy was I impressed. Your writing flows really well from one paragraph to the next, and your characters are brilliant. I feel so sorry for them, but I think it is a very realistic take as to what could happen after the Battle of Hogwarts. The book bound with blood magic was really ingenious, was there anything that inspired it? In particular the Greengrass sisters really strike a chord with me. I am also curious to learn more about Hero, and how she got on with Draco given the age gap.
I look forward to reading more!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Thanks so much for the review - it means a lot :) I've always thought that there was so much more to the Malfoys than is mentioned in canon, and well, the Battle aftermath seemed like a good place to start! Do correct me if I'm wrong, but there don't seem to be that many stories focussing on the actual trials themselves, and so I wanted to explore that.

On the book - I don't think there was a specific inspiration for it, it just seemed to fit in with the Malfoy perception and use of magic - there'll be more on that in later chapters, and I suppose that I wanted to show that blood magic isn't necessarily equal to dark magic.

I'm glad you like the Greengrasses. Because they're basically names in the books, that gives me a lot of free rein, and they're a lot of fun to write.

Ooh... Hero. A fair few people have been asking about her. You will see more of her, I promise :)

Thanks so much for the review!

Celi :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter Two

9th August 2014:
May I say, your dialogue is extremely commendable. It is very realistic and doesn't seem forced at any point. Why is it 'necessary' to kill them, hmm? Have the Patil sisters caused offence to the murderer in some way?

~Parvati - is dead.
~Padma - is now also dead.
~Seamus - nope, he was drunk.
~Dean - a possible suspect, as it would be a fair assumption that the men would group together to play snooker (excepting Seamus who was drunk. Although why would he target his best friend's fiance, and be happy that the blame was pointing toward Seamus?) He is very plausibly the murderer.
~Lavender - no, I was wrong, she was talking to Padma when Theo and the murderer were out.
~Michael - nope, he converses with the murderer.
~Pansy - possible, and a Slytherin would know Theo quite well and go for a walk with him without arousing suspicion. She has the benefit of knowing the setting. However. The murderer says "I don't know how many staff there are." Pansy would surely know, as she came to the resort in order to check on her staff.
~Daphne - a red herring? She hasn't really been mentioned at all, which makes me slightly suspicious that it isn't her. And that makes me think that it is her. She is a Slytherin and could also go for a walk with Theo without arousing suspicion.
~Theo - no, he is mentioned separately to the murderer.

There is also the fact that the murderer didn't use poison to kill Padma, due to its association with being a woman's weapon. That would suggest that the murderer is a woman, and doesn't want the blame on them as there are only 3 remaining women left. In the previous chapter, the fake conversation that the murderer reports mentioned a 'he' being obsessed with Padma, and the murderer claimed that it was a male voice. You might just be trying to confuse your readers, but at this point, my suspicions are with Daphne.

I really love the suspense. I did think that Padma was most likely to be offed next, due to the 'conversation' the murderer reported. Other than that, the story was rather unpredictable, but very fun to read.

Lottie

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you're enjoying the dialogue! It's always something that I worry about, making it seem natural, so it's great that you think I managed that.

Hmm, the Patil sisters might well have done something that's caused them to be killed... or not? I can't tell you too much, haha!

I really love the way that you're sorting through each chapter and going through the characters so methodically! I can tell you that you're right to eliminate both Parvati and Padma since they're now dead :P Other than that I can't really comment on the other characters, but I really like your reasoning behind some of the guesses and the different characters you're suspecting!

There might be something in the idea of not using poison, but I couldn't possibly say if that reveals the gender of the killer or not!

I'm really glad that you're enjoying this story! Thank you so much for another great review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by ChazzieThe Dream Trilogy Book One: To Dwell On Dreams: Chapter Five: Shout Part One

8th August 2014:
Wow, still really enjoying this! Although I didn't realise that it had been updated, so I'm sorry about that. Poor Draco, he's really had a tough time. Parvati and Seamus are beginning to annoy me a little though. The dream part with Ron, Harry, and Alex was really good. I can't wait to read more!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie! That's wonderful to hear, thank you so much. Don't worry about not checking for updates, it means you have more to read each time :-) I was hoping to have a new part up this weekend but it got rejected because I put a riddle over too many lines (?!) so it'll probably be ages before the next part goes up now :-( Ahh well, I'm glad you enjoyed the dream sequences, and don't worry, Parvati and Seamus are supposed to be getting on your nerves at this point! Until next time Hxxx

 Report Review

Review #11, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: On The Bank Of The Nile

8th August 2014:
EMMA! YOU HAVE A NEW BANNER! WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN :O It's very cool, although I did like the previous one too. I think I'm coping with the characters, and that was only two more in this chapter. If I start losing track of who's who then I'll let you know (but that will probably be after I draw a mind map to show how they all relate, and then see if I'm still confused. I love the characters, and I am determined to remember as many as possible :D ). I liked Bill, but Fleur was rather snappy. I can understand that though, as Bill didn't tell her about the work stuff until after. I enjoyed the snippet about her favourite place being in Versailles, and then brought up again by Tahir with her accent. And that you have tied in a link to Charlie's home town with the metal wands. I seriously love the idea!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #12, by ChazzieDizzy: Dizzy

3rd August 2014:
Ah that was so cute and fluffy and awesome. Oh, hi Leigh! :D I know that hellos usually come first, but anyhoo. Well that was an adorable piece of writing. I feel all warm and fuzzy inside, and hence had to write a bit of a shamble review. I'm tired and have work tomorrow, but who cares. It was too cute not to review. I loved your charactarisation, it was brilliantly realistic. Freddie and Sweets. Eek, it was amazing. I loved it.
Lottie

Author's Response: Lottie!

Thanks so so much for such a sweet review! This put a smile on my face :) and certainly made my day. I love Freddie and Sweets are well! Thanks so so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #13, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Full Circle

3rd August 2014:
That was truly adorable and perfect. The photo album seems like such a brilliant idea, and a great way for all the 7th years to remember their time together. I liked that Melanie wasn't a totally horrible person, and that she helped James and Oliver get back together. The story was really great, I've really enjoyed reading it. Thank you very much for posting it!
Lottie

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the photo album. The finished product is something Oliver is very proud of. Yeah, she's not absolutely bad. Not very nice, but knows when to help. That's something.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: Slytherin Beginnings

3rd August 2014:
Hey Emma!
Aww poor Rose! Chucked in at the deep end with the snakes, and then left to fend for herself with a very irate head girl. I loved your description of the Slytherin common room and dorms, it was very interesting. Victoire is no doubt wondering why on earth Rose would trip up her friend, which is a shame when she didn't really. Still, I doubt she'd be willing to say that to Eleanor. I may be wrong, so if I am then just ignore me, but I'm not sure this quite sounded right - 'She knew that blood status didnít a good wizard make'. Perhaps something like 'She knew that blood status didn't determine a wizard's skill'?
I really liked the way you stepped back in time to get Rose's POV and the situation surrounding Eleanor's fall. I can't believe you're planning 100 chapters, that's amazing. :D
Lottie

Author's Response: LOTTIE :3 I love your reviews thank you so much for continuing to leave them :) I'm glad you liked this chapter as well :) and you're right! I'll go back and have a look at that line :) Also - I know I said in my response to your last review that no other major characters/settings would be getting introduced anymore BUT I OOPSED I forgot about the chapter after this one BUT I SWEAR that's it I promise.

emma


 Report Review

Review #15, by ChazziePending Further Investigation: iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

2nd August 2014:
Whoo, LISA THAT IS AMAZING SO FAR. Can't wait to see where it goes. Brodie sounds nice. It will be good that the three of them (Rose, Holly, and Brodie) will be starting together. And they'll know the most of other teachers as well I'd guess, having all gone to Hogwarts for school. I can't belive Albus and Scopius are getting married. Exciting times lie ahead.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #16, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Let Me Go

2nd August 2014:
:'( Sam! Nooo! It was going so well, all of it, and then amrkdjdos,wlz. I got so excited too, and then I was shaking my head going 'nope nope nope' on repeat. Amazing writing but still! And only one chapter left! Eek!
Lottie

Author's Response: I know! I'm a horrible person. But there's just one more conflict - Oliver himself. Gotta fix it. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: On A Winged Horse

2nd August 2014:
Ooh the other sister from the prologue! I loved the easiness with which you have written both heterosexual and homosexual relationships, it was brilliant to read. I was grinning quite happily about that, the chapter was really good. You have a lot of characters which I'm still trying to keep a track of, but you mention details about them that would make it seem odd if they weren't there. And they shall probably all be important in future chapters. So over all I was really enjoying the chapter, and then BAMN. Cliffhanger. Really Emma? Gah I need to know what's going to happen! Well... Other than a war that is.
Brilliant chapter, can't wait for the next!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi again Lottie! Thank you so much for leaving a review!! :D I'm really really glad you're still liking it :) Do let me know if there gets a point when you're like "emma there is seriously too many characters to comprehend what's going on" because I'm very worried about that. I think at this point everyone's pretty much been introduced (at least, the main players), but seriously, let me know! :)

Thanks again, lottie!!
emma


 Report Review

Review #18, by ChazzieDon't Give Me Roses: Frightening the Nitwits.

2nd August 2014:
I currently feel very stupid. It didn't occur to me that your other stories could be set in the same 'world' as 'I specialise in Murders'. Oops.
I love the story so far! Partially because there is quite a bit of Eliza/Albus interaction, and partly because of Rose. She has such bad luck setting other people up together that it's not really a surprise that she is no better with her own relationships. I particularly like the line in the first chapter - Rose was tired of being called things she was not. It shows how she has accept accepted that he is a jerk and is finally going to put her life to rights again.
Lysander's comment was hilarious. Albus and Eliza are so cute, I can't wait for your story about them :D
It good to see that Rose has got some plans for the future that don't include her Ex. Sounds like it will be an exiting story!
Lottie

Author's Response: Lol, it's only something I've done with my next generation stories. It's an idea I got. From momotwins who does the same. I've already got stories mapped out for several of the characters and I think it's really helped me to develop the supporting characters in all the stories because they all have their own stories going along. I'm glad you're enjoying Rose's story as well, it's different from 'I specialise in murders' but hopefully you will continue enjoying it. I also love Eliza/albus, I look forward to putting up their story once I've finished rose's and scorpius/Lucy's stories. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Files and an Overdose of Tea.

2nd August 2014:
Have I told you recently how brilliant this is? Well it's fantastic. The suspense is really making it difficult to not keep reading the story so far over and over. You had to leave it as a cliffhanger though, didn't you? Sigh. I suppose the next chapter will be up soon enough. I love how you have those sweet little moments like Lucy finding the file and Scorpius' comment about kissing her, or Narcissa and Scorpius having tea, or even Lucy and Molly being so sisterly in the previous chapter, that really sets this story apart. Not all the focus is on the murders and the mystery, although those bits are exciting too.
Lottie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much I am so glad you enjoy it. :) I should have the next chapter up by this weekend, I'm on holiday in Finland at the moment. Thank you also for mentioning specific scenes you like. I try to make my characters as human as possible and I think scenes like that are important in doing so. I would like to think it is first a story about scorpius and Lucy and second a murder mystery. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ChazzieA Rose by Any Other Name: A Rose by Any Other Name

1st August 2014:
Hello. That was very very sad luvinpadfoot. Although I'm very glad to have read it, don't get me wrong. Your writing is beautiful and very touching, and the charactarisation is fantastic. Word choice is really good - I liked the use of splattered, as it tends to make me think of really bright colours like orange puree on a baby, or blood on a street, or throwing paint on a blank wall. Hence the white splatter leaves a really strong impression in my mind. I also loved the repitition. It showed the reader how Ron was forgetting these details so quickly, and brought a melancholy feel to the story. I feel really bad for Ron and those around him, although Lynette seems really sweet. It would be difficult to cope with that day in, day out. All in all, a brilliant piece of writing. Thank you for sharing the story.
Lottie

Author's Response: This really was a sad piece. I got about halfway through before realizing quite how sad. The repetition comes from personal experience. I know when my grandmother was sick I would sometimes have the same exact conversation with her, word for word, three or four times in one sitting and I wanted to add that here. Glad you like the splatter. :p

I'm really thrilled you enjoyed it so much! Thanks for leaving such a sweet review. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Gryffindor - TidalDragon

29th July 2014:
Eeek, I loved that. It was brilliant to see Slughorn as he grew older, forging new contacts and then new beliefs. It was very IC and for that I really enjoyed it, because you showed his internal conflict in a way that made the reader feel a bond between them and Slughorn. I'm guessing that it is Slughorn, as there aren't many people who would fit the criteria set out, but if I'm wrong then I guess I've not been reading the books well enough. Really great.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #22, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter One

28th July 2014:
Ooooh, a mystery :D I love how the murderer has told us that they are the murderer, but not told us who they are. Your detail and dialogue is superb. Eek, I'm excited.

Well, let's see. We had nine possible suspects at the start.
~Parvati
~Padma
~Seamus
~Dean
~Lavender
~Michael
~Pansy
~Daphne
~Theo

So we can rule out Parvati as she's dead. (Um... We can rule her out right?)
Theo is taken for interview first, whist the narrator is not. So I think he can be discounted.
Padma, I don't think would have said to her interviewers about over hearing someone talking about her with her sister.
Michael, Dean, and Seamus seem a bit unlikely simply because I get the feeling that the narrator is a woman. But I won't discount them yet.
So my main suspects would be Lavender, or Pansy. Daphne has no connections to anything muggle as far as I'm aware, and thus this makes her less likely. Whereas Lavender has a halfblood husband and Pansy's late husband was muggleborn.
Hmmm... At the moment I think I will guess Lavender.

Hope to read the next chapter when it's posted :D
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to read and review this story!

I'm so glad you liked the dialogue and detail that was in this! It was a bit of a challenge for myself to write a mystery from the perspective of the murderer and I'm hoping that it works out and people enjoy guessing at the murderer's identity!

I'll tell you that yes, you can rule out Parvati as she's dead :P Other than that, I'm not going to give anything away, although your guesses are very interesting to read! I hope you like the next chapter when it's posted, and thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Singularity

28th July 2014:
That was captivating, truly. I loved the way you managed to make George see reason, and Angelina basically telling him that he needs to start living again. It was also kinda cute how they both knew how Fred would have reacted about the shop remaining unopened. There was a fair bit of description going on there too, which made it a lot more solid to read. I loved the bit about Fred and George being mirror images, and Angelina pointing out that they weren't. Two sides of the same coin perhaps, but both just oh-so-slightly different. Your closing sentence was brilliant by the way. It rounded everything off just nicely. Well done with the House Cup!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #24, by ChazzieThe Lost Wolf: Atoms For Peace

28th July 2014:
Ah you updated! :D
It was a brilliant chapter, I loved it. Meh, I love all your chapters. I mentioned that before, right? Well, the backstory about the wolves and the Magoi was brilliant. I loved the way the creatures responded to the Trojans, with the rising fear that started to accumulate as they destroyed the island. And the little girl was called Cassandra too! Is Cassie named for her ancestor, or is it just coincidence?
Yay, some Cassie and Neffie (that's an adorable nickname) action! I loved the way they interacted, neither fully trusting each other. I do hope they become very good friends, because Nymphadora is headstrong and impulsive and caring - just like Cassandra! Thank you so much for writing that!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #25, by ChazzieHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Veritaserum27

28th July 2014:
Hey there! Oh my gosh that was brilliant :') 'Winky swung across Hogwarts' kitchen on a rope made of twisted spaghetti.' I mean, is there any better way to start a story? I don't think there is. It was so randomly spontaneous that I was grinning from the start. It was adorable how all the house elves decided to work their hearts out to help those in the hall heal, forgoing sleep even though they'd also fought the battle against Voldemort. Which would make them happy I guess, as they are serving Hogwarts and its guests and making the headmistress proud. Loved it!
Lottie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>