Reading Reviews From Member: Chazzie
  
146 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChazzieDarkened Allure: Under The Starlight Gaze

19th October 2014:
HOLY HIPPOGRIFFS! AVI! WHAT WAS THAT FOR, YOU LEAD ME INTO A SENSE OF 'OH THEY ARE GOING TO GET TOGETHER AND BE HAPPY AND STUFF' AND THEN HE PUSHES HERMIONE OFF THE TOWER? NOOO :'(

*sobs*

Okay. Breathe, Lottie, breathe.

To answer your question, yes it shocked me (in case you didn't gather from that written above) and I'm so so heartbroken. Avi, that was horrible. And yet I can see why he did it. I think that is the worst part. I am sympathising with Blaise because really he is just trying to keep himself from drowning as the water rises and the stakes get higher. He tries to keep his best friend safe for a little longer.

The final sentence about Hermione before she died was perfect but so heartbreaking and ah I don't know what to say. I had felt a sense of security because although Blaise was slightly creepy then he hadn't done anything to hurt her, and he had had plenty of times to do that if he so desired. But he didn't. So I thought it was going to be okay.

That was so brilliant Avi. Really big well done, you have killed off my heart. Joking. Ish.

Lottie

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChazzieDarkened Allure: Fascination

19th October 2014:
Hey Avi!
Wow, that was amazingly scary and brilliant. I'm not quite sure what Blaise is up to. Perhaps he is just slightly creepy, but deserves a chance at redemption? I don't knows what I do know is that you write fantastically. There is so much mystery and questions that plague me. I'm really excited to read the next chapter though! Blaise has really been watching her closely. That sound very stalkerish but I don't know how else to put it. I think I do want to read more Blaise/Hermione pairings now, because you have done such a brilliant job of this!
Your use of word choice is excellent. It all adds to the darkness that surrounds the story, and the way Blaise seems so polite even as he confuses her. And no wonder she is surprised. After all, what would a friend (or companion, as Blaise prefers) of Draco Malfoy be going talking to her after curfew in the library?
Okay, I'm off to read the rest now. I don't think I can wait any longer!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by ChazzieThestrals: Hugo

19th October 2014:
Wow. Just wow. That was really amazing. I loved the way you did first person, second person, and third person in accordance to the chapter number ;) it was really brilliant. So many people wrote about Thestrals during the House Cup, and yet each story is so unique and fantastic. I don't think I'll ever get tired of reading the different takes on these creatures. These chapters were so sad and yet so beautiful. I really congratulate you, especially given that you used so few words.
Super job of this!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #4, by ChazzieThe Lady and the Friar: laughter like bells

16th October 2014:
Hi teh
I'm very sorry for being a bad person and forgetting to rate my link. I won't do it again, promise.
And so, I'm here to say sorry with a review.
What a brilliant story. You captured so much here, especially the way religion was such a large part of Hogwarts in that era. It's quite odd to think about, because magic and religion are so closely tied together in some ways, and yet they also are pole opposites in others. Still, you have made it work perfectly. I loved Brother Tuck, although it was only as I started writing this that I realised he is the Fat Friar. He was just so jolly and loud, he seemed like the sort of person you can't help but love. Helena was very aloof and you foreshadowed excellently the way she appears in cannon as a ghost. The Barron seemed to have a very subtly creepiness about him too. I love the way you've included them all in the story, and it's a shame that there is not more! Although I appreciate there is a word count limit.your descriptions were amazing, really vivid to read.
Again, my apologies,
Lottie

Author's Response: Hiya Lottie,

Awww, thank you for this absolutely lovely review! ♥ And don't worry about the link; almost everyone has forgotten at least once. :) It's a very minor infraction, but it's my job as a mod to remind y'all, so honestly, don't feel too bad!

Thanks for picking this little story of mine to review! It's my only Founders Era fic, and I really did enjoy writing these characters, and to evoke that atmosphere of magic and religion. If I have time (haha, I don't think so), someday I would love to expand on this fic. Brother Tuck was the most fun to write. He's a neat contrast to Helena, who's a bit sullen. And yeah, the baron is creepy, isn't he?

I'm glad you like the descriptive bits. :)

Once again, thank you, and really, don't worry too much. *hugs*

-teh


 Report Review

Review #5, by Chazzienotes on freefalling.: sunbeams

14th October 2014:
THAT IS THE MOST ADORABLE THING EVER RIGHT HERE.

*cries*

Maia that is so gorgeous. I love you for writing this. I want Scorpius to get raised by Parvati and Astoria BECAUSE IT IS JUST SO DAMN CUTE. Astoria deserves someone who loves her, not an idiot who is so stuck in his pureblooded ways that he doesn't even care about his son. Parvati is so sweet and lovely and gah. Your descriptions and characterisations were spot on. You write such amazing stories. When one of your own fictions gets published I hope you tell me so I can buy it ;)

Incase that made no sense whatsoever, I really loved your story. Thank you for writing it.
Lottie.

Author's Response: AH oh my god you are way too sweet ♥ I love that you loved it! I am totally forcing myself not to write a sequel about them raising scorp together because it would be SO CUTE. i have never written astoria or parvati before and it was super fun so i'm so glad you liked them both and them together!

i have a couple of things published on amazon but they're both terrible ;) if i ever publish something properly i will be bragging all over the hills, don't worry! but i highly doubt that'll happen ;P

thank you so much for this amazingly sweet review! i really wish we could do emojis in review responses bc you make me all blushy-hearts-face

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazziehow i wonder (what you are): one

14th October 2014:
Hey Lisa!
Wow. This is amazing. I've never really thought about Ginny liking Fleur before but it makes so much sense. Congratulations, you have introduced me to one of my new favourite head cannons. Ginny was seemingly very surly and grumpy, because she felt so confused by everything she was feeling. My heart broke for her :'(
Brilliant story!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #7, by ChazzieKnight Takes Queen: King

14th October 2014:
Hey Aph! :)
That was an amazingly written little story. Your prose is so poetic and lovely, it really is a pleasure to read. The second person worked really well throughout. I loved the development of Rowena through each of the chapters, from a young lady unsure to where her place in the world is, to seeing the memories of her as a little girl who feared she was the product of the devil, to a woman who has accepted herself and her magic. It is amazing. Her insecurity is really prominent in the first and second chapters, but in the third one she seems slightly more at peace. She has a family that has been forged on her own terms, not on someone else's.

The first chapter was amazing. Throughout the entire story we see Rowena's thirst for knowledge and the lengths she will go to achieve it. The merman too, he has this need to know things. Your description of him was brilliant and thrilling. You use such a variety of rich words there. I love the lake (I'm assuming it is the lake that would later lie by Hogwarts?) and the way it plays such a central role in connecting each chapter. Rowena here, she seems really sad. Broken almost. Like she has lost something or someone perhaps? I don't know. But I really like it anyway.

In chapter two, my favourite part is where Rowena has the idea for Hogwarts. Because she needs a sanctuary, a place to feel at home, and this fits in really well with the idea of the future generations of students relating to that and finding their home in Hogwarts too. There is a really interesting idea there, with the religion part of the story. And the birds! You have both the raven to go with her name, and the eagle to go with her house. All in all, a really nice way of doing things.

This chapter was beautiful. Helga was so sweet and in character, and I love the way Rowena calls her 'sister'. It was so beautiful and sad at the same time. She is not alone whilst she lies dying, and she knows that she is loved. Again, you bring in the lake and I'm so glad you do. To die with the knowledge that you should lie forever in the shade of the sanctuary given to you by nature, and the safe place that you helped create, would be a very calming thought, I should think. You know that you will be safe. I think there is a big part of Rowena that worries about all the things that she cannot control. She cannot control when she will die. And yet she knows that once she dies she will be back under the water of the lake, and this time she won't need to come up to breathe. She can control that part. So, come the flames or clouds, her body will be preserved there for eternity.

Thank you very much for swapping with me, and giving me the opportunity to read this amazing little gem!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #8, by ChazzieYour Life, Your Love: Sink or Swim

13th October 2014:
Hi Joey!
That is a really beautiful piece of writing. I think it really comes across with the voice of your Albus. He is a poet, and his voice speaks in the way I would imagine his poetry to. You have created an entire story in so few words (I gather that is the point of it being MicroFiction) but I find it really impressive. Faith is a really cute name for his daughter, and it is very sweet given it links in with Destiny's name. I'm going to completely spoil things now though and say that when I thought 'Faith Potter' I though it with Moody's voice, with a spiel about why faith was one of the only things that people have to get them through tough times. He's limping round my head now, yelling 'Constant Vigilance!'
Anyway. Al was really sweet, especially singing Destiny's favourite song to her when he is tone deaf and everyone in her flat would surely hear him. :')
I really loved it! Big congratulations,
Lottie

Author's Response: Hey Lottie!

I'm SO happy that Albus' voice as a poet comes across. I really wanted it to be believable that this is someone who does have a way with words. I just kind of let myself loose and hoped that would translate somehow.

I love MicroFiction because it enables me to write these characters and basically get them out of my system in so few words. It's like "get in, tell a story, leave asap." It's a really good exercise because you end up only putting in the things that really matter.

Haha the link to Moody is hilarious, even if unintended! I'm so glad you liked it so much, thank you for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ChazzieAlright, Alright: Alright, Alright

13th October 2014:
Hey Leigh!
That was amazing. Seriously. Emmeline was so blinded by her love for Rabastian that she didn't see his darkness. How he wanted to bring death and destruction tumbling down round them. I suppose that the way he described it though, to begin with, played with her mind and sucked her into a fantasy. Where everything was perfect, and they would have no worries. It's really rather heartbreaking that she did fall for his charm and ended up being cast away when she was no longer the adoring girl she once was. Your characterisation was brilliant. I loved the way you took Emmeline through the stages of blindness, awakening, and strength. She finally realised that he was wrong, and coming to terms with that must have been shattering. This was excellent, well done!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi, Lottie!

Thanks so much! Emmeline is a lovely character to write and I loved writing her blinded by Rab. Thanks so much for the lovely compliments on characterization.

Thanks so so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #10, by ChazzieLike Clockwork: Antiquity

13th October 2014:
Hello :)
Ooh, this looks exciting. Very dark and mysterious and fun. I love your descriptions, especially that bit at the start where she is burning. I had to keep reading: my eyes would not have lifted from the screen had I tried. The language was amazing, slightly old-fashioned and in keeping with the era and way the characters spoke. Your word choice was brilliant, and very illustrative. This looks like an excellent story so far, and I'm looking forward to reading more!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi, Lottie!

I haven't gotten to your review but I promise I will soon.

Thanks so much! I'm glad I intrigued you and drew you in. And the old-fashioned was a challenge, and will continue to be. I'm glad you thought it was well done though!

Thanks!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #11, by ChazzieI Am the Walrus: Old Brown Shoe

13th October 2014:
Hi there!
I adore this story, and I'm so impressed that you have managed to write a story to 'I am the Walrus' . I honestly wouldn't have thought it possible until I read this. You have done such an amazing job with the characterisation of the Rolf, in particular. He likes what he knows and isn't used to or good at lying, and yet since arriving in India he has begun to come out of his shell a bit more. You've captured Luna perfectly - odd, but not mad. I loved when she was talking to the guard about wands and identification, it was really funny, and your description of her sari and top was really vivid. Hmm. Is Kanwal actually Stubby Boardman? Or is he hiding something else? Just his wife staring pointedly at him, and various parts seem to suggest it...
I adore your authors notes, they are very entertaing to read. Can't wait to see what happens next!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #12, by ChazzieThe Foreigner: Chapter 1

13th October 2014:
Hi there!
Wow. Your first language is Spanish? In that case I am amazed. To write at this level of fluency in another language is really impressive, so well done!
I love the story line so far, and the way you've left a bit of a cliffhanger here before the next chapter. Honestly, the only thing I noticed that was a little off was 'I got scared'. In English you would usually say 'I was scared' instead. Tiny thing though.
I thought your characterisation of Nana was fantastically funny. She really was flamboyant and I liked that she was so over dramatic. It suited her, and makes her likeable to the readers. You showed Sam's love for her grandparents, which was really sweet too. Grandpa was lovely, and I liked that he seemed so amused and used to his wife's antics.
Lottie

Author's Response: Lottie from Scotland. With honor, I present you the title of First Reviewer of this story. You have my eternal gratitude.

Firstly, my fluency in English, well you can thank cable TV, movies and my English teachers. They greatly helped me. I am proud to say that if we were to speak face to face, you would think I was American or Canadian. It happened all the time whenever I traveled. Although thank you for pointing out the grammar error. You said it yourself, my first language IS Spanish, so grammar and syntax rules are highly different.

As for the characterization of the characters, I'm so glad you like it. I went through so much trouble to create them. I didn't have the tiniest clue on how to develop my OC's grandparents. It was very hard because of their status as minor characters. But I still had to portrayed in that chapter their attitudes, gestures and opinions according to their lives. Of course, the hardest to develop was OC, no doubt about it.

So Lottie, many thanks and stay tuned!




 Report Review

Review #13, by ChazzieSymphony: Chapter Four

13th October 2014:
Salut Celi!
Um... I think I'll stick with my last guess for the moment. Until you tell me otherwise at least. :) I really liked the slight repetition in this chapter - from the 'I suppose I was your teacher' and through the three 'I taught you' s. It is really impressive the way you link each chapter to the next when you have such different, opposing characters in them. In this chapter I felt that the death eater's dying moments were brilliantly written. He realised how replaceable, how worthless his being was to his lord. He realises that perhaps he chose the wrong side to fight on. He had a wife and a child, but he will not be remembered as a hero. That part was sad.
Can't wait to read more! Gah, I love you for writing this. Thank you so much for writing this.
Lottie

Author's Response: Salut Lottie!

Well, if I told you... :p hopefully it'll make sense - we're not far off the grand reveal now: there are seven chapters in total. You're close, very close, and you have the right concept in thinking that the narrator is not mortal, but rather some other entity.

The idea is definitely that even though each chapter is very different, exploring the first war from different perspectives - I'll leave you to guess what the last three will be :) - they should still form a coherent whole. If you read about why Nemirovsky called 'Suite Francaise' the 'Suite Francaise', that should give you a clue as to why I called this 'Symphony'.

I found the death eater hard to write - because how do you show the complexity of such an unlikeable character without falling back on the easy 'he realised he was wrong in his beliefs'? So in the end I went with him regretting being manipulated, but as to whether on not he abandons his belief in pureblood supremacy, I think is another story entirely.

You've really encouraged me so much with this - thank you. Next chapter is in the queue, and hopefully you'll enjoy it as much, even though its perspective is very different.

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChazzieSymphony: Chapter Three

12th October 2014:
Hey Celi!
I've ordered the book, but it hasn't arrived yet. So I'm still making strange guesses because I have no idea. I tend to be the sort of person that will really overcomplicate everything. :) But anyway, guesses. Hmm. The angel of life and death perhaps? That might work.
The description here is gorgeous. And word choice is spot on. I loved 'ravaged' as it has the rolling sound and then quite a sharp, guttural noise. I don't know if that made sense, but what I mean is that it suggested rocks and stone everywhere, lying broken and split just like the city. I think my favourite part is the description of the giant, it's really vivid and rather terrifying.
Loved it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Your guesses are really good - you're getting closer each time, and angel of life and death is very, very close indeed :)

I enjoyed writing this chapter a lot, because I could really let loose in terms of descriptions, because the destruction of an entire city is quite large scale, but I was slightly nervous because I was worried it was too much, so it's really nice and encouraging to hear it being appreciated!

On the word choice of 'ravaged' - I was actually looking for a way to delay the identity of the city until the very end of the sentence, so I needed an adjective that would force the reader to slow down and break the rhythm of the sentence, and I came up with ravaged. If it reinforced the whole idea of a city being destroyed, then I'm happy :)

The giant is definitely one of my favourite parts of the chapter too - the other would be the little boy with the teddy bear! The inspiration from it came from me thinking about how a giant would fight, rather than what they looked like, if that makes sense, and if it's terrifying - thank you! that was the aim :)

Thank you so much for all your encouragement!

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #15, by ChazzieWho You Are: Who You Are

12th October 2014:
Hey Kayla!
I really love this story. It is beautiful and so sweet. Annalise was so adorable and protective of Molly, it was lovely to read. 'I'm going to try and be the best that you deserve'? That was gorgeous.
My heart broke for Molly, hearing her mothers whispers in her mind and feeling so worthless. And harming herself, because she didn't feel strong. I'm so glad she has Annalise to keep her safe from now on. I really hope she finds safety with her father too, because her mother was horrible. I really detest Audrey right now. It was only Molly that got the whispers. Only her that felt worthless :( Poor Molly.
I really liked Fred too. His insomnia was a really good touch, and hinting that Molly feels she can trust him more because he has something 'wrong' with him too.
I really loved this, it was amazing. Thank you very much for writing it!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #16, by ChazzieSisters: Sisters

12th October 2014:
Hey there!
Wow. That was quite simply amazing. My heart broke so many times for the sisters, who were split apart in different directions. Annie was a really nice nickname for Andromeda, and one that I've never seen anybody use before. I thought it worked really well, especially the way they all call each other by the nicknames throughout the story. Narcissa going to the wedding, that was really sad but beautiful. The fact that she was invisible, the way Andromeda had set aside chairs for them if they did want to turn up... It was really gorgeous. I kind of thought that Sirius might have gone though, given that he got along with her as they were both disowned.
I'm so glad that they made up in the end, and got to see each other. A really bittersweet ending to a fantastically written story.
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review this. That's a very good point about Sirius, I hadn't even thought of him being there, but it would make sense. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #17, by ChazzieAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

12th October 2014:
Hi Sian!
This is an amazing one-shot, you have seriously captured Luna brilliantly. I love the way you have made her so sweetly optimistic. She sees herself in the Thestrals, the way they are both different to others, and she sees her mother. She is an adventurer, making her the forest her home, and setting off with drumsticks in her pockets. That detail showed her quirkiness without making her seem crazy, as some fics do. And it hints towards the future, where she may become a researcher or a reporter or an adventurer or perhaps a mixture of the three. I think you did an excellent job, well done!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #18, by ChazzieWake up, Rose.: It's Kind of a Funny Story.

5th October 2014:
Hey Joey!
*grins* I hope you're still writing chapter three. I would be most disappointed if you weren't. So story. I really love it so far. The way Rose says she is so close to her family, but then we realise that perhaps she needs to be a bit more wary of those she trusts. I feel sorry for poor Al, I doubt he had considered anything bad happening to Rose. Still, you should never mix your drinks. Or anyone else's. You know what I mean.
Rose waking up at the hospital was really effective. The reader instantly thinks that she is waking to find herself in Scoprius's bed, and don't really entertain much else. Then we realise just oh wrong we were. And Scor gets his little almost deceleration of love, which is sweet. Even if Rose doesn't belive him. Yet. I have a funny feeling she'll be coughing up a few galleons by the end of the year. ;)
So, you've done a fantastic job so far *hint hint* and I can't wait to read the third chapter that you are surely writing as I type this.
Your ever-encouraging-and-just-so-slightly-mean friend who hopes that you and your chapter are doing well,
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

I'm actually still working on it! I recently changed the overall direction and my edits on the first two chapters have gone through, so I have no excuse anymore.

Rose really doesn't have the greatest luck of all as far as trusting people. She's kind of at the end of her wits here, understandably. I feel sorry for Al because I know that he didn't think about any of this, but he learned a lesson about meddling in other people's lives and maybe the ethics of love potions?? I don't know, he learned a lot of lessons. Slipping things into drinks = bad 100% of the time.

Rose waking up in the hospital was my little bait and switch to twist this story away from the typical 'aftermath of the party' kind of thing. It's like, this is what would ACTUALLY happen if someone slipped you a love potion. It'd be dangerous and you'd be mad.

Thank you so much for all of the compliments! You're definitely encouraging me to get back into the writing of this story and that's just awesome and great of you and wow just thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ChazzieTraitorous Hearts: The Writing On the Wall

1st October 2014:
Hey Penny!
You know, this is a thing, I read it.


.. Okay, I wasn't that funny. Sorry. I have a weird sense of humour. Anyway, story. I really love this so far. Your Astoria is simply perfect, she is very sarcastic and relatable to the reader (or to me at least) which leaves a lasting impression.
I was very disappointed when my internet cut out, because I simply couldn't stop reading. It was full of turns and twists, sweet moments like the part with her father in the library, and suspenseful ones such as Draco using legetimency. You quite simply stole my breath away with your language. I don't remember quite the wording, but Ginny's hair being like a banner of red? That imaging worked really well. I also loved the fact that we saw the Gryffindors in a biase way, like Slytherins in most stories. Brilliant job here, thank you for the operation it's to read it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hey Lottie!

It is, indeed, a thing. And you have, indeed, read it! Thanks so much for that! ;)

First of all, it means SO much to me that you read all the way through. That is, like, the most exciting thing ever!

And Astoria love! It makes me so happy to hear that you love my baby--my snarky, morally questionable baby! And the language. Like, oh my gracious, thank you. This review is making me smile so big. You should see the smile, because it has eclipsed my entire face and I am now nothing but an enormous grin :D

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #20, by ChazzieThe Wandering One : England

30th September 2014:
Hi Lu! It's Chazzie here for our Slytherin Review Swap :)
What a brilliant story. I can't wait to read the final chapter when it is posted. Seriously, you have capture Victoire's wanderlust perfectly and also kindled it within me. I love travelling, but this? It makes me want to go and see everything that the Earth has to offer. I loved that you included stories and myths of days long past, and that you wove them so wonderfully into the plot. In particular, the soldiers were lovely. They just felt so real. I now wish they were, in a way, so that I could go visit them and make them feel just a little less lonely. Sam was adorable, and exactly how I (very stereotypically) imagine Canadians. To be fair, I only know one Canadian family where I live, and they all have personalities very similar to Sam. Anyway. Sidetracking. The owls at the beginning were funny, I can see that happening just from Bill's nature. He's very cool and relaxed, but as soon as his little girl disappears from his sight? He needs to know that she is alright. Constantly. I think it's quite endearing that he obviously cares so much for his children.
I really can't think of any constructive criticisms. It was amazing!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!! :)

Ahh, you are just too lovely!! I can't believe you read the whole story through, I'm so glad you liked this story.

I'm so glad you liked Victoire and her wanderlust and it made you want keep traveling as well - that's exactly how I feel every time I work on this. :) It was so fun writing the different stories and tying in the magical world to the Muggle one.

I loved writing the soldiers, and I'm glad you pointed them out. I felt so sad for them and how stagnant and lonely their existences were. :(

I'm glad you like Sam, he is quite stereotypically Canadian but in a good way, hehe. I'm Canadian and have met a lot of traveling Canadians so he's mostly modelled after a medley of them.

Hehe, I'm glad you laughed at Bill. It's so true, he's protective, though he does understand her need to travel. Her parents definitely just missed her as well, and wanted to know every little thing that was going on.

Thank you so much, Lottie, for this really lovely review!! :D ♥



 Report Review

Review #21, by ChazzieSymphony: Chapter Two

26th September 2014:
Hi Celi!
That was another fantastic chapter. Seriously, I love this so much. Hmm. Is the narrator an emotion or am I being an idiot? It seems to me as if 'hope' is narrating the story. I'm not really sure. I thought the way the narrator spoke to Eddie was rather haunting, and will surely stick in my mind for a long time. The flow of your writing was very beautiful, and was truly a pleasure to read.
I haven't read anything of Nemirovski's before, but I am intrigued now. Do you recommend the French or English version of Suite Francaise? At a guess I would suppose them to be rather similar, but as I can read both languages pretty fluently I thought I'd check.
Lottie
P.S. The nomination was very well deserved! You truly are a fantastic writer Celi.

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Thanks so much for your review - your encouragement means a lot to me. I'm glad you like it!

Is the narrator an emotion? That is a rather interesting idea. One of the main reasons I was so excited about writing this story was because the idea of seeing how people interpret the narrator was really intriguing. An emotion? You're definitely along the right lines, in that the narrator is somewhat abstract, but I obviously couldn't comment any further :p

Haunting was the sort of atmosphere I was going for, so thanks so much! Does that help you figure out the narrator? You are close. Seriously close :)

Ah, if you can get your hands on a copy of the French version, definitely read it in the French rather than the English. There is just something about the writing style and the words she uses that is very particular, so I'm not sure how well that would translate to another language. There's also a film version, which I haven't yet seen but is apparently very good.

It certainly has had a massive impact on this story - in terms of structure, but also in atmosphere and tone - which I don't think has happened to me before; or if it has, not to this extent. It just had a deeply profound effect on me, in that I suddenly felt that I was reading a book written by a master of the craft, and made me consider my own writing in ways I hadn't done before.

So yeah, if you can, read it :)

Thanks so much for the review and for the nomination once again - it is truly humbling: I just... WOW. Thank you :) (A smiley face seems so inadequate haha!)

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #22, by ChazzieThe disadvantages of having a Witch in the Family: Boggarts - among other things

26th September 2014:
Hi Grey!
Aww, that was so sweet. I loved the interaction between Lily and her friends, and I liked that you have shown the slight conflict with Mary. You've really shown me a different side to all the characters I thought I knew. Lily in the potions class was brilliant, and you caught Sev there too. You even hinted toward him annotating his potion book with Lily's comment about not trusting the book. It was very entertaining to read.
James and Sirius bickering over Petunia worked really well, I thought it was rather rash and characteristic that they wanted to 'wife' her before they even really knew all that much about her. Another great chapter!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #23, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Weddings and Grandmothers

17th September 2014:
Something very exciting happened at the wedding, yay! I loved how Narcissa and Lucy got on without actually really admitting that they got along. AND THE CARPETS WERE NARCISSA'S?! :') Oh me.
I seem to be finding all the stories currently where a witch has killed her husband. They are really fun to read. (Hmm. Not sure what that says about my mental state, but let's bypass that for now.) I have to say though, your descriptions in this chapter were excellent. A pleasure to read!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much. :) I must admit the carpets having originally belonged to Narcissa was a spur of the moment thing. You know when stories kind of run away and become their own entity? This one did that. :P Lol, its always a great story when the witch kills her husband. I wouldn't worry too much about your mental state. Think of all the people who actually sit down and write about people murdering other people. :P So glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by ChazzieSymphony: Chapter One

16th September 2014:
Ceil, hey!
Wow. I have no idea who is narrating, but I do know that I am totally enraptured by this so far. It was beautiful. I'm going to favourite it as soon as I have finished writing this review.
The second person view at the start of the chapter was a great way of drawing the reader in. Then we realise that there is someone else narrating the story, and we switch to first person. You do that really well, I was very impressed. Usually people stick to one POV or alternate between different characters, but you have kept the voice and changed the person. It was a really neat way of doing things!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Thanks so much for your review. It's something I've had bouncing around in my head for some time. If I told you that it was inspired by a book called Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky about the exodus from Paris during WWII, would that help you in trying to figure out who the narrator is? (By the way, if you haven't read it, I heartily recommend it. There can be no other description than 'masterpiece.')

On the POV, thank you! I've never actually written 2nd POV before, so it was a bit of an experiment. All I can say is that I chose to have the 2nd-1st POV for a very specific reason, and it's tied to the identity of the narrator.

You said you were favouriting this - thank you! It's so encouraging to hear that. And I also absolutely must must thank you for nominating me for the Dobbys. I didn't expect it at all, so it's a really nice surprise! You made my day :)

Celi xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by ChazzieDeath Eater's Kitchen: once more, with quiche.

16th September 2014:
Oh. My. Goodness.
I can hardly breathe for laughter here. You clearly have an amazing imagination in the early hours of the morning. Although I guess that would be expected, as you went sleeping and hence unable to dream...
Hmm? Oh, yes. Off topic. Sorry. Back to your story. You have so much amazingness here. I mean this - 'How dare they be prejudiced against him, those stupid, filthy Muggles' was perfect. And this - 'The blonde girl sighed and turned off her portable fan'. I was crying at some points, really. The dementor's hood revealing the formula to discover the roots of a parabola? That was genius. You've been rather tongue in cheek for a lot of the story, and it was hilarious. Teen pregnancies? Check. A Potter wandering the halls at night? Check. Popular actual/pretending-to-be American girl? Check.
It actually really reminded me of A Very Potter Musical, but featuring Barty instead. I adored your descriptions.
Thank you very much for the review swap!
Lottie

Author's Response: I tell you, sleep-deprived loopiness is somehow effective for writing a parody :p And no worries about going off topic... basically the whole fic is off topic! But ahh! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this absurd story as well as all its many cliches. :D
Wow, a comparison to A Very Potter Musical - that's high praise, my friend! Hmm, if only Barty were actually SINGING about quiche, the story would have been about 100x better. :P
Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>