Reading Reviews From Member: Chazzie
  
124 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Weddings and Grandmothers

17th September 2014:
Something very exciting happened at the wedding, yay! I loved how Narcissa and Lucy got on without actually really admitting that they got along. AND THE CARPETS WERE NARCISSA'S?! :') Oh me.
I seem to be finding all the stories currently where a witch has killed her husband. They are really fun to read. (Hmm. Not sure what that says about my mental state, but let's bypass that for now.) I have to say though, your descriptions in this chapter were excellent. A pleasure to read!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChazzieSymphony: Chapter One

16th September 2014:
Ceil, hey!
Wow. I have no idea who is narrating, but I do know that I am totally enraptured by this so far. It was beautiful. I'm going to favourite it as soon as I have finished writing this review.
The second person view at the start of the chapter was a great way of drawing the reader in. Then we realise that there is someone else narrating the story, and we switch to first person. You do that really well, I was very impressed. Usually people stick to one POV or alternate between different characters, but you have kept the voice and changed the person. It was a really neat way of doing things!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by ChazzieDeath Eater's Kitchen: once more, with quiche.

16th September 2014:
Oh. My. Goodness.
I can hardly breathe for laughter here. You clearly have an amazing imagination in the early hours of the morning. Although I guess that would be expected, as you went sleeping and hence unable to dream...
Hmm? Oh, yes. Off topic. Sorry. Back to your story. You have so much amazingness here. I mean this - 'How dare they be prejudiced against him, those stupid, filthy Muggles' was perfect. And this - 'The blonde girl sighed and turned off her portable fan'. I was crying at some points, really. The dementor's hood revealing the formula to discover the roots of a parabola? That was genius. You've been rather tongue in cheek for a lot of the story, and it was hilarious. Teen pregnancies? Check. A Potter wandering the halls at night? Check. Popular actual/pretending-to-be American girl? Check.
It actually really reminded me of A Very Potter Musical, but featuring Barty instead. I adored your descriptions.
Thank you very much for the review swap!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #4, by ChazzieThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: As Cunning as Ham

15th September 2014:
Wow. Just wow. What an amazing, unique story. I can't think of anything even remotely similar that I have read here on the forums. Annett is such a character. I love your descriptions, they are really vivid and make brilliant images in my head. Cunningham sounds really annoying. But Annett showed her. She does come across as slightly intimidating, but I think that's a good thing. Although she could perhaps benefit from more social interactions once she has cured Ronan. Al is acting up a little. I hope they make up soon. I like the Annett/Wotter interactions :)
There may be a little bit of a formatting error in chapter 13, unless it is intentional. But there is quite a bit of bold text, so I thought I'd check.
The way you have combined science and magic within your story really astounds me. Thank you for deciding to share it!
Lottie

PS I'm sorry for my rambliness in this review!

Author's Response: Dear Lottie,

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and for all your compliments, too! :D (that's what you make me do).

Perhaps she can benefit from more social interactions. . . You shall have to read on. ;) I hope they make up soon, too (They have where I have written up to ;) ).

No. All the bolded text from ch. 13 is very intention. It's how I write angry dialogue to hopefully show that dialogue a bit better. It's an effect, see?

Well, thank you for sharing your thoughts, Lottie. I really, truly, genuinely appreciate it. It means a lot to me.

Bahaha! Not too rambling at all, Lottie. Nothing to apologise for!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #5, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter Four

13th September 2014:
Ah, I was so close! Sigh. What an amazing story. You really did a brilliant job of building up all the suspense and tension, particularly amongst the guests. This is exactly what a murder mystery story should do, keep you guessing right till the end. And you went one step further than that, by writing in the point of view of the murderer. You have really done a fantastic job with this. I really can't tell you how brilliant that was to read. Thank you so much for posting it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Yes, you were close!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! It really was an experiment for me in my writing so it's fantastic that you think it worked, and that I managed to keep you guessing throughout the story, and built up the suspense and tension here.

Thank you so, so much for keeping up with this story and leaving reviews for every chapter too - they've meant a lot, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ChazzieComplicated: In Which There Are Prefect Patrols

12th September 2014:
Hey Emma!
Well personally I really enjoyed that, thank you for giving me the opportunity to read it! I don't think Olivia is really out of character in this chapter, more that you are showing how she is without such a dominating presence like Cassie around. She seems to be rather independent in her own right, and not the person who would just do what her best friend did for the sake of it. Although it is very realistic that Ollie hasn't really talked to people because of Cass.
I loved Joe. Really disliked Pansy. Thought Draco was amazing. I like Scorpius, but am scared that Cassie has been cheating on him and he's gonna be heartbroken. Thought Albus was cute, loved the nickname bit. Who doesn't like nicknames? Molly seemed nice. Rose too. Didn't like James really. Martin was horrible. I feel like Jason and Olivia may have a chance of reconciliation? Or I hope at least. He doesn't seem too bad. Katie tries her best, but sheesh Andrew was annoying. I feel so sorry for Olivia, given her parents. It's surprising she's turned out as well as she did.
Brilliant story so far!
Lottie
(Sorry it took me a while to review, I wanted to read the whole story first:) )

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Thank you for the lovely review! I wasn't expecting you to read the whole story but I'm really happy that you did :)

Thanks so much for your comments about Olivia. It's really helpful to know she doesn't seem out of character. And all your other character comments are super useful too.

I'll be getting straight to your stories now :)

Much love,

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #7, by ChazzieThe disadvantages of having a Witch in the Family: Room vs Broom

9th September 2014:
Hi there FenrirGreyback!
What a super story so far. I haven't read anything like it on the forums, and it's a really interesting, original idea. I love your characterisation of each person as it is realistic, and your dialogue is humorous enough to make the reader laugh, but not overbearing in content. I love the easy banter between Sirius and James. It was sweet how the sisters have reconciled, though I am perhaps being too optimistic in my hopes that they will remain friendly.
Do you have a nickname that you prefer to be known as, such as Grey or Fen? Or anything else? Just I hope to be reviewing as the story as it progresses, and nicknames are fun. If not I don't mind, but I thought I'd ask :)
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

You have no idea how much I appreciate the review - you've made my day!

I was nervous about writing these characters, to be perfectly honest, since so many people have done so in the past. I'm really happy that you like them so far!

Sirius and James are really fun to write, so I guess that that came across in their relationship... if that makes any sense.

I was originally set on making the story progress to Canon, but my first story was AU, and I'm thinking of making this one AU as well - we'll just have to wait and see, I guess!!

I completely understand, my penname is a mouthful, so Grey is fine by me!

Thank you so much for the review and for oficially making my day!

*FenrirGreyback
(Grey for short :P )


 Report Review

Review #8, by ChazzieYou Don't Remember: I'm Just Forgotten

7th September 2014:
Hey Bella!
Oh poor Severus, that was very sad. I thought it sounded rather poetic, and flowed really nicely. I liked hearing his thoughts in the form of an unsent letter, or a journal of sorts. A 'what if' kind of story that really brings a lot of sadness through the words. I feel so sorry that even in this universe Severus is hiding under a mask of lies and half-truths, going unacknowledged for his good actions and sneered at for his bad ones. By the Order and the Death Eaters. It was rather melancholic in the way you made him so outcast by both sides of the fighters, and forgotten by the woman he would always love. Harry would be such a different boy having not grown up with the Dursleys, and I'm unsure as to how good that would be for his character.
Anyway, really good job here!
Lottie

Author's Response: Yes, poor Severus. He really doesn't get much in life, does he? Even in an alternate universe.

I think that Harry would still be a good person if he was raised by Lily. She was described almost unanimously as a good person, and I can guarantee that she wouldn't lock her son in a cupboard under the stairs for mentioning the word 'magic'.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter Three

7th September 2014:
That was brilliant. I am most certainly still enjoying it. It is impossible not to enjoy, but I really really want to find out who the murderer is.

Character list again.
~Parvati - you've said I can discount her as she is dead
~Padma - ditto
~Seamus - nope
~Dean - I... Don't think it's him.
~Lavender - no
~Michael - nein
~Pansy - Maybe?
~Daphne - SUSPECTED
~Theo - non

Okay. Thoughts. I am going to say that I don't think it's Dean. I said previously that I thought the murderer was female, and I'm pretty certain now. They didn't step between Seamus and Theo, and their actions seem more feminine than they would if they were male. So I'll call the murderer a she until you tell me otherwise. I'm still a little suspicious of Pansy because that would give a motive behind the killing of Parvati, if she knew what she'd done to her husband. But what if - plot twist - it was Daphne that killed Pansy's husband. That could be the deep dark secret. The murderer said something about poison being unoriginal, which might hint that if they did kill Pansy's husband then they didn't use poison. Or they didn't want to use the same thing twice, incase that helped the aurors figure everything out. Or I'm reading far too much into this.

Just maybe.

Asking Daphne to go first for the interviews makes sense if she is our murderer. Because the murderer has overheard the victims talking before the Patils ended up dead and told the aurors, even if she lied about the first one actually happening. She also was the one to ask Seamus not to start blaming people. So the aurors would want to talk to her in particular. I know Proudfoot says it's not in any order, but they always say that to stop people from jumping to conclusions. My doubt comes from the fact that Pansy took Daphne and Theo with her to the hotel. That makes it seem like Daphne didn't plan it, but Pansy did. Sigh.

I think it's Daphne. Could be Pansy, but I'm hedging my bets with Daphne. Yes. I'm going to submit this review now so I can't keep doubting myself.

Loved it. I beg you (nicely, I swear) to upload the next chapter soon... I need to read it :P

Lottie

 Report Review

Review #10, by ChazzieThe Lost Wolf: Optimistic

7th September 2014:
Poor Cassie! Gosh, she's really going through a wringer at the moment. The flashback had me shivering for her. I love that Neffie is so accepting of her, I truly adore that. You said this is a Remus/Tonks universe, which could be interesting. Your old best friend dating your dad. Hmm. I wonder how Cassie will accept that. Personally I was hoping for a Cassie/Neffie world... But that's just me, because I want Cassie to feel loved. And I'm horribly selfish. So I apologise. I honestly can't wait to see what happens next. You come up with so many brilliant ideas, it is amazing to read.
It's really interesting the stance that Minerva has about Dumbledore. Almost as if she has always not quite trusted him.
Lottie
PS. I'm glad you are back!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for your review!

I have to say, when I first read your comment about an eventual Cassie/Neffie I was a bit surprised, because I had never really thought about that possibility. It would be actually a great idea and a great plot twist, and I considered it for a while, since I have been thinking about writing a F/F or M/M for quite some time now. However, after an entire day of internal monologues and debates, I came to the conclusion that Cassandra won't be part of a romantic homosexual relationship. Actually, I am starting to have my doubts regarding she being in a romantic relationship at all, due precisely to her contorted, tragic past. As you said, she has a desperate need for love, that is true, but not the boyfriend/girlfriend or girlfriend/girlfriend kind of love, not now at least. In fact, although her mind is wonderfully powerful and her external behaviour is the one of an adult, her sentimental dimension is still that of a child more than that of a teenager. She wants to love and be loved, but as a friend and as a daughter, not even considering other dimensions. I will thus focus on her development in her approach to her own relatives and friends, leaving romance behind for now. I don't exclude the possibility of including homosexual pairings in the future, though, since I truly believe they would add realism to my story :).

Regarding Dumbledore... Although I like reading bashing stories, I don't like writing them, and honestly the Headmaster is one of the good guys here! He is just manipulative as usual, and prefers to think about the "greater good" rather than the single person's situation. Remus and Minerva have to behave as his "enemies" for once, trying to bypass his control to get to the full truth, but this antagonism won't last forever.

Anyway, sorry for the long response and really, really thank you for your kind words! I will have to go on a tiny hiatus for the next two weeks, but I have a chapter halfway finished for both of my stories, and I will certainly update before the end of September :).

Maryhead!



 Report Review

Review #11, by ChazzieTurning the Tables: Turning the Tables

7th September 2014:
Hey Nix!
What a gorgeous story. I think I love reading AU stories for two reasons: 1. Anything is possible, and 2. The characters can seem so much more interesting. I usually detest stories with a 'young' Lily because she usually ends up fancying James but not telling anyone, or being horrible to Severus, or a combination of them both. I loved your Lily. She had a really strong sense of what was wrong and right, to the point of realising her boyfriend was an idiot and planning vengeance on him with a boy she had not, until that day at least, ever talked to before. Severus was adorably over-cautious about everything (although he shouldn't be walking and reading at the same time. You can't see what's coming. Especially in a school. Silly Severus.) Your word choice was fantastic, I can't commend you enough on that. And the Dr Who quote made my day, I love it when writers are whovians too :)
I really loved that, you definitely deserved first place!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi! Writing an AU is very interesting, you can do just about anything with it. I've never written Lily before so I was a bit unsure about how to portray her, and when she decided to help Severus get revenge on Potter, I was really worried about how people would take it. But weirdly enough this is the only review I've received for this story, so I still don't really know how others feel about it. My Severus is a little over-cautious, growing up in this AU without Lily for a best friend. He's very surprised to be helped by someone like her. Although, I do see him being the studious type, so I had to put that Potions book in there, lol. I loved including the Doctor Who quote too. I didn't plan to put it in there, I started saying Lily was a mystery and it just popped into my head and I had to include it.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm really glad you liked the story. I have not read your story yet (but I WILL get to it hopefully soon) but I'm sure either one of us could have won, there was a 50/50 chance.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #12, by ChazzieMorbid: Springtime

7th September 2014:
Wow. Okay. So I'm crying a little Joey.
That was beautiful. A little puzzling to start with, but I found myself unable to stop reading. Your Teddy was a new one for me - it is rare to read a story in which he isn't this 'perfect' boy. Not that I think there's anything wrong with that, but your take on him was refreshingly different. Both he and Amy were quite quirky, lovely characters. The game in the bookshop seemed to show that it was the small moments of laughter that were important to their short time together. Amy was a bit of an enigma to begin with, as she helped out Teddy when he was caught attending the funerals. Until the second chapter I had wondered why she was so eagerly spontaneous. You left little clues along the way though: 'She slowly crept over to him, as if she had all the time in world to make it there and had decided to enjoy the view on the way' and 'She did everything calmly, but with purpose. It was as if she really wanted to do everything there was, but having long since accepted the impossibility of that goal, had decided that she would simply enjoy the things she could' show the reader that they are missing something, but they don't quite know what yet.
Merlin, who at first appears to be Teddy's imaginary friend, then tuns out to have a major part in the whole story. That's what made my cry. Both of Teddy's friends are now gone.
I loved the way you made your characters so believable, and thought that the flow of the writing was truly impressive. It really held my interest right through until the end, when I didn't really want it to. But anyway, I think you have done an absolutely fantabulous job here. Well done!
Lottie

Author's Response: I have a thing about making people cry. I kind of tried my hardest to in this story if I'm being honest.

I will never tire of hearing about people's first impressions of this Teddy. He certainly isn't like many of the Teddy's I've read either. I love that people have been mentioning the bookshop scene because I really thought that be a good unorthodox first date for these two. Somehow, I can't imagine them just sitting at a restaurant.

I can't believe you picked up on those lines I wrote about Amy! I love slipping small little remarks about things like that, to give you a bit of insight into her mind, even though she isn't the main character here.

Merlin definitely does play a fairly large role in this story. And I'm glad you picked up on the sadness of both of them leaving to such an extent that you would cry over my words!! And you make me so happy saying that the characters are believable and the flow and it held your attention, just thank you so much! This review was amazing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ChazzieLightning: Five

4th September 2014:
Okay, I'm sorry it took a while, but I'm here for our review swap!
May I say wow? Because that is pretty much my reaction for this story. You have made the story seem so realistic, and the characters don't seem to be forced at any point. What I loved most was that you made Ginny a person. Quite often she appears very generic and boring, almost 'Mary-Sue'-ish in stories, but you have really bulked out her character a lot. She really denied that the world could move on and change for a long time, and in a way seemed really young again, fiery and angry that everyone wanted her to move on and forget about her late husband. You made me feel so many emotions throughout this beautiful piece of writing. Actually, I think most of your stories do. You are truly an amazing writer, and I feel very privialiged to be able to read your work.
Anyway, back to this story. Draco was sweet, but not overbearing. I loved the way he interacted with Ginny, and how he wasn't afraid to voice his thoughts. It seemed really natural the way they complemented each other. It wasn't like she was replacing Harry either, just accepting that her love for him would always be there and that she could perhaps give Draco a chance. Oh, I loved this part - 'It felt peaceful, as though this was the natural order of things. It seemed she had always been in that kitchen, washing dishes with Draco Malfoy.' Really, you made me smile there.
It's really been interesting to read a story based on a grown-up Hogwarts generation. Not when they are newly weds or sending their kids to Hogwarts, but when they are older and more mature. It's a really nice change from what I've read to date.
Lottie

Author's Response: No worries! I'm glad you liked this story. I still remember your review on A Rose by Any Other Name and it makes me smile. :)

I've always been interested in the trio as older adults, once their kids have all grown up. I'm actually taking a break from yet another story about them age 50+ to write this response!

Draco and Ginny are a lot different from canon, but I tried to change them in a realistic way as though those changes happened over the past thirty years. I doubt anyone is the same at fifty as they were at twenty.

I'm so glad you commented on Ginny not replacing Harry. That was one of my biggest worries about this story, that it would seem like they were just waiting for Harry to die to get together. I was aiming for a slower, softer type of romance here.

All your lovely comments about my writing made me blush. Thank you so much! This was a wonderful review swap! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChazzieHow to Fly: How to Fly

30th August 2014:
That was beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous. I mean, how do you manage to write so many feelings into so few words? I loved that repetition of 'I've ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon' and then the way the emphasis changes right at the end. It was really cute to read about Hermione with a young Rose, I haven't seen all to many fics with this focus. I usually find that Harry and either James or Albus are more popular, so this was a really brilliant change for me. Your characterisation was brilliant, you really captured Hermione, insecurities and all. Rose was adorable, and just their overall interaction seemed to make me feel all warm inside. Super job with this!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie,

Gosh, this review was so sweet. I'm so warmed by how kind this was. I really liked writing Hermione - it was my first story with her as anything more than a minor character and it surprises me every time I write someone knew, but I learned a lot about her while I was writing this. We only get to see her from Harry's POV in the books, and she comes off as really calm and confident, but I think that was mostly how she was on the outside.

Gah - thanks again for this. I was so excited to see this review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: Hogsmeade Weekend

24th August 2014:
Hi!
I was rather impressed with your portrayal of Teddy, especially with his drinking problem. I think it is something that could really shape his relationship with Victoire. Perhaps it also hints that Teddy will be involved with the War, fighting? Just because he currently doesn't have a job, it would likely make him one of the first recruits. Dom has been attacked? By whom I wonder. I get the feeling that there is a slight hold of information between the generation gap of 'Hogwarts Era' and elder, and the 'New Generation'. McGonagall and Bill and Arthur, for example, seem to know that War is on the horizon. In cortrast to the likes of Teddy, who seems rather oblivious to it. Although I suppose the older generation of characters have already lived through one or more war and might pick up on the signs. Great job, I loved it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you!! :3 Dominique's attack isn't very war-related but there will be some comments coming that are a bit foreshadow-ey :) Much like with Fleur in the previous chapter, this whole chapter will hopefully have some major editing done to it soon as I'm just not at all pleased with how it turned out. But thanks for another kind review! :3 I love your reviews!!!
-emma


 Report Review

Review #16, by ChazzieRemembering Dorcas Meadowes: Explosions and Light

23rd August 2014:
Hi there Meena! Review swap time :)
I loved reading this. There's something about Dorcas that instantly stands out to me. Everyone portrays her differently, and I think you have done a fantastic job here. Congratulations!
I liked that you had that exchange between Dorcas and Severus, although it was sad. I'm glad that she got to defy Voldemort one last time before she died. She just seemed to jump of the screen at me, being so brazen and brave. I really enjoyed reading it, thank you very much for posting it!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #17, by ChazzieIt Is the Colour of Joy: You Smile...

20th August 2014:
Hi again :) I think I loved this even more than 'Every Song Must End' simply because of the second person. You've done a fantastic job with it!
The way you have incorporated the colour into the story is very imaginiative and interesting. I also love the way it connects to the prequel in subtle ways, such as them going back to the coffee shop and the 'bitter but sweet' way Astoria likes her coffee. And she is a healer, which seems perfect for the Astoria you have created. You have really described the characters in such a way that they become rather 3D to me, in both this and the previous one. I also like the no dialogue, simply because you have worked extra hard to compensate with descriptions for the lack of speech.
It was brilliant, I really enjoyed this!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #18, by ChazzieEvery Song Must End: Bitter...

19th August 2014:
Hi there! It's Chazzie from the Pit for our August Reveiw exchange :)
Well, that was beautifully written. It flowed fantastically, and had an interesting rhythm to it. The italicised (is that a word?) sentence at the end of each segment really works, and I love the fact that you wrote this with 501 words, instead of the typical 500. In particular, your use of contrast between both short and long sentences, and between the dark and light moments in this story. Personally I feel that you've really captured Draco here, in all aspects of his personality. I love stories that are sad but carry that vein of hope throughout, and your story really did that.
Now I'm off to review the companion story to this. (I have a confession. I read it first, this second. I'm sorry.) because it was also amazing.
Lottie

Author's Response: Late review exchange, and an even later reply? I'm such a terrible person for doing this! So sorry about that.

I'm very glad that you liked this! This piece is one of my favourites that I've written, and I'm always inordinately pleased when others read it and like it as well. And wow! That's so amazing that you read both!

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by ChazzieBest Day of My Life: Best Day of My Life

10th August 2014:
Hi!
That was fantastic! I loved the fact that you had little snapshots of all of their weddings, and the feelings that ensued. So many people in a little moment of happiness, despite the dark that they fought through or would soon be battling. The song choice was great too. I would say which I loved best, but I honestly cannot decide. Each and every couple was perfectly adorable.
Lottie

Author's Response: Thanks for a great review!

I enjoyed writing this very much, especially the scene with the Longbottoms, due to the fact that I've never written them before.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ChazzieDaddy's Girl: Forever Daddy's Little Girl

10th August 2014:
Hello!
Just so you know, I'm crying. That was beautiful, and the song choice was perfect. It really felt so touching and heartfelt. I loved the way that the descriptions allowed for a bit of flexibility in the reader's mind. It was nice to see a fanfic with Harry and his daughter, as I think other stories tend to focus on either James or Albus when they show a parent/child relationship. Very well written, thank you for sharing it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm sorry I made you cry! I've noticed my stories tend to make people cry...I wonder if I should be worried about that :/

I've always loved this song, and I'm glad you liked it with this story. Lily's one of my favorite Next-Gen characters, so I'm glad I got to write about her!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
~Sara


 Report Review

Review #21, by ChazzieDeepest Desire: The Mirror of Erised

10th August 2014:
I have shivers running down my spine. That was amazing and very very haunting. A 'what if' kind of tale that really spooked me out. The fact that everyone had died, and that Ginny was one of the few people left fighting. And even she gave up in the end. I love this line: 'I embrace the green like it is life instead of death.' Very chilling. Yet it also gives a hint of hope, that everything isn't quite over yet. I love this story.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #22, by ChazzieTreacle Tart and a Heart-to-Heart: An after dinner discussion

10th August 2014:
Hey there! That was a really cute story, an realistic in the way the characters acted and reacted to situations. Your dialogue worked well, and gave a lot of insight to the way they felt. I loved the way Victoire appeared with puddings. It would be great for Teddy to get to know some of the people who knew his parents. It's a shame that Harry never got to do that whilst he was young, and only began to discover what his parents were like once he reached Hogwarts. Brilliant title by the way :)
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm so happy you enjoyed it!! I'm glad that Teddy had such a different upbringing than Harry did, poor thing. He's got all sorts of people to love him, and bring him pudding! Thank goodness you liked the title...they're the hardest things to think up, in my opinion ;) Thank you again for reading my story, and taking the time to review!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by ChazzieJust for this moment: See how bright we shine

10th August 2014:
Oh. My. Goodness.
That was possibly the sweetest WolfStar I've ever read. It was brilliant and gorgeous and so unbelievably amazing. You really captured a lot of feelings, and it was adorable to read. Sirius trying to soften the pain of Remus' scars was perfect. However I did cry, because Remus and Sirius and Harry won't be a family and Sirius will die and Remus will marry Tonks and then they will die and that's within four years and Harry won't have any of the marauders to be a parental figure to him and oh my god the feels!! My heart was quite literally breaking by the end of that fantastic piece. Very well done and thank you for sharing it.
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!!! This was so sweet and amazing and it made my day when I saw it and continues to make my day as I'm rereading it!!

Thank you so so so much. Really, thank you.

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #24, by ChazzieThe Monopoly on Honour: We shall live in song

9th August 2014:
Hey Celi! Just thought I'd pop by to see what you've written so far, and boy was I impressed. Your writing flows really well from one paragraph to the next, and your characters are brilliant. I feel so sorry for them, but I think it is a very realistic take as to what could happen after the Battle of Hogwarts. The book bound with blood magic was really ingenious, was there anything that inspired it? In particular the Greengrass sisters really strike a chord with me. I am also curious to learn more about Hero, and how she got on with Draco given the age gap.
I look forward to reading more!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

Thanks so much for the review - it means a lot :) I've always thought that there was so much more to the Malfoys than is mentioned in canon, and well, the Battle aftermath seemed like a good place to start! Do correct me if I'm wrong, but there don't seem to be that many stories focussing on the actual trials themselves, and so I wanted to explore that.

On the book - I don't think there was a specific inspiration for it, it just seemed to fit in with the Malfoy perception and use of magic - there'll be more on that in later chapters, and I suppose that I wanted to show that blood magic isn't necessarily equal to dark magic.

I'm glad you like the Greengrasses. Because they're basically names in the books, that gives me a lot of free rein, and they're a lot of fun to write.

Ooh... Hero. A fair few people have been asking about her. You will see more of her, I promise :)

Thanks so much for the review!

Celi :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by ChazzieDeath on the First: Chapter Two

9th August 2014:
May I say, your dialogue is extremely commendable. It is very realistic and doesn't seem forced at any point. Why is it 'necessary' to kill them, hmm? Have the Patil sisters caused offence to the murderer in some way?

~Parvati - is dead.
~Padma - is now also dead.
~Seamus - nope, he was drunk.
~Dean - a possible suspect, as it would be a fair assumption that the men would group together to play snooker (excepting Seamus who was drunk. Although why would he target his best friend's fiance, and be happy that the blame was pointing toward Seamus?) He is very plausibly the murderer.
~Lavender - no, I was wrong, she was talking to Padma when Theo and the murderer were out.
~Michael - nope, he converses with the murderer.
~Pansy - possible, and a Slytherin would know Theo quite well and go for a walk with him without arousing suspicion. She has the benefit of knowing the setting. However. The murderer says "I don't know how many staff there are." Pansy would surely know, as she came to the resort in order to check on her staff.
~Daphne - a red herring? She hasn't really been mentioned at all, which makes me slightly suspicious that it isn't her. And that makes me think that it is her. She is a Slytherin and could also go for a walk with Theo without arousing suspicion.
~Theo - no, he is mentioned separately to the murderer.

There is also the fact that the murderer didn't use poison to kill Padma, due to its association with being a woman's weapon. That would suggest that the murderer is a woman, and doesn't want the blame on them as there are only 3 remaining women left. In the previous chapter, the fake conversation that the murderer reports mentioned a 'he' being obsessed with Padma, and the murderer claimed that it was a male voice. You might just be trying to confuse your readers, but at this point, my suspicions are with Daphne.

I really love the suspense. I did think that Padma was most likely to be offed next, due to the 'conversation' the murderer reported. Other than that, the story was rather unpredictable, but very fun to read.

Lottie

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you're enjoying the dialogue! It's always something that I worry about, making it seem natural, so it's great that you think I managed that.

Hmm, the Patil sisters might well have done something that's caused them to be killed... or not? I can't tell you too much, haha!

I really love the way that you're sorting through each chapter and going through the characters so methodically! I can tell you that you're right to eliminate both Parvati and Padma since they're now dead :P Other than that I can't really comment on the other characters, but I really like your reasoning behind some of the guesses and the different characters you're suspecting!

There might be something in the idea of not using poison, but I couldn't possibly say if that reveals the gender of the killer or not!

I'm really glad that you're enjoying this story! Thank you so much for another great review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>