Reading Reviews From Member: Chazzie
  
78 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ChazzieSummer at the Abbey: Investigation Part One: Thomas, Scorpius, and Albus

19th July 2014:
I'm really enjoying this story! The crossover is an interesting idea, and not one I'd thought of before. It works really well! I like your characterisations, they are realistic and very funny. Mary can appear rather severe when she doesn't really know someone that well... And as she said in a previous chapter, the aristocrats of England knew how to hide behind a mask. She's not really someone who shows her emotions on her sleeve, so I don't think she was too OOC or the word you said that isn't 12+! I love Albus, and Fred was really funny. Always swearing when Mary enters the room! It was nice to see a, well, nice Thomas for a change, so I hope he and Fred work something out. The Doctor I thought was a little more essentric than usual (ie leaving during a murder investigation) but other than that he was fine. And all in all, I really like this! Can't wait to read more :D
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Care to Make a Wager

18th July 2014:
Sam, that was awesome. James and Ollie are so adorable together that I just love them. I loved Ginny and Harry betting on James with the key to the fridge. I loved that James gave Oliver a camera, and that Oliver finally compiled the album for James. I'm really sorry for the repetitiveness of this review, but I truly adored it all. Baby Ryan sounded super cute too. The way that Ginny reacted to the sleeping arrangements was really funny, although I loved Harry's reaction in the previous chapter. You write in a way that grabs the reader from start to end, and is simply a pleasure to read. Now we just NEED OLLIE AND JAMES TO GET TOGETHER! :D
Loved it, Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Chazzie…tincelles d'Argent: Silver Sparks

18th July 2014:
Hello there!
That was really amazing. You made me feel so sorry for Sirius - and yet you also made me laugh aloud. The way that he is trapped in a place of cold and despair but he still manages to stay strong? That is impressive. And he is still funny, albeit gallows humour. 'What are you going to do? I'm already in Azkaban.' was probably my favourite part. On the other hand we have Fudge, who is an idiot. I don't have a clue how he became minister for magic. Anyway, your descriptions are fantastic, and really add so much to the story. As such, the words created a really vivid picture in my head. Thank you very much for posting it!
Lottie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for the kind review. These things make my day :) And yes, Sirius shall always stay sassy and fabulous. As for Fudge, he is quite idiotic, isn't he?

Thanks for stopping by x

-Dirigible_Plums


 Report Review

Review #4, by ChazzieThe Dream Trilogy Book One: To Dwell On Dreams: Chapter Three: No Light No Light Part One

12th July 2014:
Oh my god Helen. Another cliffhanger? Gah I want to read more. And more. Forever. Just so you know ;)
Well that's a brilliant chapter. It was funny how everyone instantly hates Draco, except Hermione. She seems to be the only one (outsiders perspective I guess) who actually cares for his basic needs. Even if he was a death eater, they should be willing to hear him out. Although personally I'd check him for weapons first, and perhaps make sure there weren't any tracking spells or bugging charms on him. Then interrogate him. PETER is there! Is he still a traitor? I kinda hope he isn't, just because he so often is. Can't wait to read more!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you Lottie! Draco's entrance was one of the hardest scenes to tackle in the trilogy and I re-wrote it entirely about five times over the years. And yes, most chapters do end on a cliffhanger, what can I say, I love the drama! Hxxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: A Family Affair

12th July 2014:
Whoop, another chapter! I really like where this is going. You've introduced quite a few characters and have started hinting towards the approaching war, the foreshadowing works really well. Its great how you've given us background information about the war from Arthur and Binns, its useful in helping the reader understand more about the story without being blatantly obvious about it. Ron's reaction to Rose's sorting is exactly as I would have imagined it, given his long standing hatred of the House. I do hope he becomes more open minded though - we aren't that bad. Her minor is ever logical, and I loved your portrayal of Ginny here. It was really sweet to see her with Lily. Can't wait to read more!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by ChazzieBertie Bottís Every Flavoured Beans: Introduction

10th July 2014:
Hey there!
I like this, it sounds like it could be a really good story. And for your first ever chapter of your first ever fanfiction, it is brilliant. Congratulations for deciding to share it! Rose is the black sheep of the family huh? I've not read many like that before. I thought the 'action, explain' was a pretty good way of giving the reader some background information, before diving into the rest of the story. Your descriptions are also very good, especially with Rose describing why she loves her work.
One little detail - 'to which Lorcan took offensive.' I think you meant 'to which Lorcan took offence.'

Keep writing!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I have been super nervous while it has been in validation!

I was really nervous about making the whole first chapter being mainly backstory. I was scared that it would be a bit too boring, but it is necessary for the future chapters.

That's for picking up on that typo! I'll have to make a note of it.

Thank you again for the review Lottie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: The Eight Families

10th July 2014:
That was great! You are doing really well with this so far, and I can't wait to see where you take it. The plot is really original, so I'm looking forward to reading more. So far we have heard about four different Wizarding Schools, and it's really interesting to read about the traditions, celebrations, and culture that each one has. In particular I liked Charlie as a character (although I may be biase from my name) as she seems pretty headstrong from what you've shown of her so far. A good ally, but not someone to cross. I've never thought about wands being made of metal before, it's an interesting concept. Would they still have animal cores, or something else given the 'man made' nature of the steel and aluminium?
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by ChazzieThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god. Wait, what do you mean it's done? No Lisa, bad Lisa :'( gah. I just can't believe it's complete. Congratulations, by the way, because that is a very impressive achievement. I've loved the story since the very first chapter, and I will continue to love it forever more. Not to sound stalkerish or anything. You always add in such amazing things - the bear was inspired. I loved the way that everything they had done for the Scholarship was used in the final prank. I kinda wish we could have seen how it turned out, with the teachers having to deal with all these things and the fact that their seventh years have just gone AWOL (she says, hinting at a one-shot ;) )
I'm so glad they did amazingly in their NEWTs and even got the scholarship. The money from the ministry will certainly give Lester a hand too. I'm just so glad that everything worked out in the end, even if this is the final chapter. I will miss this story. And I will definitely be back for the sequel. You are an amazing writer, and thank you so very much for giving us the chance to read it!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Legacy

9th July 2014:
WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME. GAHH THE FEELS :'( *cough* sorry. I didn't want George to die... I like George...
The fireworks were genius. It was great to see another point of view, so that we have even more knowledge about Roxanne. She is brilliantly brave and I think this shows how, since the previous chapter, she has managed to get stronger and more confident again. Expspecially using fireworks (albeit Hugo is setting them magically, but you know what I mean. Trauma like that which she experienced isn't going to be forgotten in a hurry). 'Never say you're sorry' is my favourite quote here. Hugo is so sweet, and I'm really grateful for this chapter being in his POV. He is shy and not usually the person you expect for this kind of thing, and that makes the chapter even more powerful, I think.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Bonfire

9th July 2014:
I'm crying. That was even more beautiful. Seeing Roxy growing older but still wanting to stop everyone from being harmed, it was perfect. I like the fact that she is insecure, because it shows just how human and fragile she is. Your characterisation of George is lovely, and was heartbreaking to read. That he took the fireworks out of his shop shows just how deeply this experience has affected him. Especially when he loved the fireworks and they had such good memories together with the fireworks, to begin with at least. The last part was amazing because Roxy managed to face her fear of being ridiculed in order to wear a skirt for a date. And she was perfectly right about her decision. Loved it.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by ChazzieEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

9th July 2014:
Hi there!
I have to say, that was a beautiful chapter, and a very different take on the prompt. I have only ever heard of Fwoopers once, when I was debating with my friend about the best magical creature in the HP universe. She brought them up, but I never got round to properly reading into them. From what you've written though, I think I'll need to. It was brilliantly written - the thoughts of the bird really make it stand out from the crowd. Roxie is so cute here, demanding to know why they would sell a Fwopper only for its looks and with a silencing charm. Sometimes children have a way of making you see the world differently, as everything is so straightforward to them. It seems like George and Angelina are used to her being so opinionated, which isn't really surprising. I loved that she snuck in to free the bird, it really showed the link between Roxie and her father.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by ChazzieFlutter: Flutter

8th July 2014:
Sian, that was amazing. Oh, I'm supposed to say hello first aren't I. Oops. Hi.
I loved your characterisation of Bowman, as I have never read a story in which he is featured. The mystery girl - well in a way I'm glad you didn't specifically name her. Partially because it makes it sound too final, like she has to die, and partially because I don't feel any burning need to find out who she is. Which is unusual for me. You expressed Bowman's feelings so beautifully that I was feeling heartbroken when the snidget was caught, and when he discovered that the girl had died. His reasons behind creating the snitch are infaultable, as is your writing. I seriously loved it, and your descriptions made it seem extremely realistic, very well done.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by ChazzieA Sirius Love Affair: The Mysteries of Magic

8th July 2014:
Hey there!
Well, to start with I really liked the fact that Sirius showed a muggle magician a 'magic trick' despite the fact that she is, kinda obviously, a muggle. I can see Remus' fears about her being used against Sirius though. Especially knowing what a certain cousin of his is capable of. Maggy seems a nice enough character, although perhaps not someone who is used to trusting others particularly. She seems ever so slightly on edge, although that could just be me making things up. I liked the fact that she didn't comment on how attractive he was, but insead on his clothing. Wizarding clothing does seem to be one of the main differences that muggles pick up on, and it was nice to then see Sirius in more muggle-appropriate wear.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: This is such a surprise! I wrote this a long time ago, my first hp fanfic, so it's good to see people are still enjoying it!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! The whole 'would you like to see a magic trick' really seemed very Sirius to me. +]

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by ChazzieOne Crazy Moment: Being Happy

8th July 2014:
Hello!
I adore this story, it was sweet and brought out a completely different Molly to the one we saw in the beginning. I liked the fact that she wasn't running away from home, but towards a change, and I really admire that in her. Charlie got a mention, which made me really happy for some reason. You'll have to excuse me for this but - DRAGONS!!! *cough* sorry. I'll be good now I promise. Cyrus seems pretty cool, and I'm glad Molly saw the light about the centre in the end. To begin with I was worried he might just have been playing with her to get the plans approved, so I'm glad my fears were unfounded. Molly Campbell does sound sweet, and it's nice that neither of them wanted each other for the fame attached. Brilliant story!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: Tired Hearts.

7th July 2014:
Personally I would love to see Lucy in orange, for the sole reason of seeing Scorpius' expression. I know we are talking about fictionally characters, but they seem very realistic. Yes, I definitely feel bad for Gwen now. "It's a cause and event thing. Like war. Soldiers aren't necessarily the killing sort." was just perfect. I am in awe of your writing skills, for provoking so many feelings in a single chapter. The humour is brilliant - and Scorpius is funny. I am admiring more and more is Milly, on account of her ability to go from work-mode to friend-mode so instantaneously. I love it when I see you have updated, it's a brilliant story.
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much, this review totally made my day! It's reviews like this that keep me focused on writing. :) I'm so glad they feel real to you! I'm also glad you like Gwyn, originally she wasn't actually going to appear again, but I really loved her and Lucy's original exchange, so I chose to weave her back in. I love Milly as well.:)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ChazzieThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xix. the calm before the storm [or] regroup; onward

7th July 2014:
That was again, an amazing chapter. I'm glad Louis and Lucian were expelled, it was horrible what they did to Lester. Especially because they knew about his anxiety and experience with the MLE. Hermione was amazing in this chapter, and really is a lot like Rose. She appears to be doing well in the run up to the Elections, an impressive feat. I hope Rose manages to do the same with her exams. And the rest of the group too, obviously. I feel quite respectful of Lily because she wants what's best for the people she cares about, although she doesn't always look at the whole picture. I'm glad Rose managed to get through a lesson teaching without any problems. The fact that Llodewick has faith in her, coupled with the experience of successfully teaching that lesson, will probably give a big boost to her confidence.
Incase you haven't guessed by now, I love reading this story.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by ChazzieStuck in the Middle: Challenge Accepted

7th July 2014:
Hey Sam!
Well, I must say I loved this chapter. It was really cute to see the sparks flying between James and Oliver, even if they are a bit tipsy. I can't wait for them to get together. James was staring at Oliver and now Tucker has noticed, which means Sarah has someone else to work with. I had to laugh at Ryan though, giving Lily alcohol and claiming to be responsible. You have really outdone yourself weigh the descriptions, as the entire story feels so realistic. The characters, the setting, everything. The reason for this chapter being reviewed is Umbridge's rule, so I'll check out the rest later.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by ChazzieEvent 3 - Reunion: Reunion

7th July 2014:
Hiya!
Well first off - DRAGONS! I seriously love you for writing this. It was really cute how Hagrid was so persistent in getting to see Norberta, although I'm not sure that Douglas and the other keepers knew quite what they were getting themselves into! Your descriptions were fantastic, and really painted a picture of what everything looked like, without telling the reader every last detail. It also showed how Hagrid is so completely brave and idiotic (spoken as a Slytherin, I know) to try and calm a dragon. It was brilliant, thank you very much for writing it!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by ChazzieDestiny: Destiny

7th July 2014:
Hey there!
I really like the idea of this one shot - I think it suits the promt.
So far I haven't read about anyone using Hagrid as their main character, or had thought about Fluffy not being dangerous, so this is really original. In particular I liked your use of his feelings about Fluffy becoming a guard. I think the fact that the creatures Hagrid raises could be harmless is something not a lot of people think about. I love that Fluffy was supposed to be a friend for Harry, and am a little sad that it wasn't to be.
Chazzie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by ChazzieThe Dream Trilogy Book One: To Dwell On Dreams: Chapter Two: Sleeping Sickness Part Two

6th July 2014:
Wowzers. This is the best AU I've read in a while. The characters are realistic, you have some humor thrown in, and the suspense makes me want to read more and more and more. Poor Hermione :( That was so sad. I'm really glad Harry found her. Sarah sounds like she'll be a fun character to hear about. Harry got drunk with Terry Boot? That had me laughing for a while. Lily and James are alive! But the Weasleys and Neville are dead. Parvati and Seamus sound nice. And Draco's at the door! Dun dun dun! Your descriptions were great. Sorry, I'm kinda excited because that was so fantastic. Can't wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: What a lovely review, thank you so much for all the great compliments! All I can say is, we are just getting started, and there is a lot more still to come, as well as a lot more cliff hangers!! Submitting the next chapter as we speak, so hopefully you wont have to wait too long :-D

Hxxx


 Report Review

Review #21, by ChazzieThe Wizarding World War: The Gobi Academy

6th July 2014:
Wow, this is really great so far! I like it, especially the parts set in China. It's really cool to see your interpretation of magic in a country other than the USA or the UK. I thought your speech was really complimented by the descriptive words you used. In chapter 2 though, I think you may have called Albus 'James' by mistake, when he sits down with the Ravenclaws. Minor error though. All in all, I think you are doing a great job and I hope to read some more of this story in the future.
Chazzie

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much for the review!! :) And thanks for mentioning the mistake - I've gone back and re-submitted it to the queue, now. (I think they may murder me, I've got like four chapter edits in the queue and one new chapter...)

I'm so glad you like the story! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by ChazzieThe Lost Wolf: Separator part 2

1st July 2014:
Tonks has now met Cassie! They'll get on like a house on fire. Or they will once she wakes up anyway. The flashback to Cassandra's past was really descriptive, I like it a lot. It was sad, but as always you wrote it brilliantly. Cassie is very real in my head by this point. She's had a terrible childhood. Harry has had a really messed up childhood too, its quite a shame.
Chazzie

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you for the review!

I'm really looking forward to writing some Tonks-Cassandra interaction. They're about the same age, and they are both... Peculiar, so... I certainly agree with you, their relationship will be interesting.

I'm glad you liked the flashback scene! In the future I'll focus on Harry's past too... Bad childhood, as you said.

Thank you again and stay tuned, the next chapter should be posted in a couple of weeks ;) I'm sorry for the lack of regular updates, I am not at home and it's difficult to write without a computer :(


 Report Review

Review #23, by ChazzieThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

26th June 2014:
I missed four updates, and I have to say that all four chapters were brilliant. You write really well, and I'm always excited to read this!
Rose having her panic attack was extremely realistic. I love Holly, she is a fantastic character and really easy to relate to.
The fellowship could be really great, if Rose gets it. I'm really glad that she has the promise of a job at the end of it, and Holly too.
I love Lester too. In fact, I love all of them.
The prank Rose came up with for the teachers was brilliant. And then how they reversed it was even better.
Oh the Elephant :') that was funny.
I felt quite upset when they joked about Albus being not very clever, especially when he stormed out. Then Holly felt awful for saying it, although she didn't mean to. Then Lester revealed that he'd left home... That was hard hitting.
You had me seriously worried when Scorpius and Albus broke up, especially with the aftermath of destruction from Scorp. Albus hid in the Chamber of Secrets? I mean, wow. I loved them making up, it was so sweet.
Lester, oh poor Lester. I am sitting in shock as to how Louis would even sink that low. Thank goodness Rose has Hermione for a mum.
Well, it was awesome, can't wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yes, these last four chapters have been pretty full on ones - the blows have really kept coming for all of them, and I feel a bit awful putting them through all this.

I feel especially awful for Lester - and I do think Hermione will have a role to play in the aftermath of this. Thank you, as always, for reading and reviewing - and I'll hopefully see you back for Chapter 19!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ChazzieThe Lost Wolf: Separator part 1

25th June 2014:
That was awesome! Aw poor Remus :( it was so sad, and I really don't get Dumbledore. He always does things 'for the greater good' but never seems to help those who need it. A two parter? No ;) I like Cass and Harry's connection, it seems pretty interesting. Can't wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Hi! thank you for your review :).

I'm being pretty bad with Remus, aren't I ? Eheh... Things get darker before dawn :).

I'm glad you like Harry and Cassie's connection! The next part should be really interesting for you then. I'll post it in the queue tomorrow morning!

Thank you again!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #25, by ChazzieI Specialise in Murders: The Things one Finds in Knockturn Alley.

23rd June 2014:
Wow. Thats quite a turn of events. I do love how Scorpius is such a natural detective and knows lots of things about lots of people. Gwen seemed pretty evil, but I feel slightly sorry for her now.
Albus and Eliza would be really cute together. And I cant wait for Lucy and Scorpius to realise that they both like each other. A brilliant chapter, cant wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Once I'm done with this story and 'Don't give me Roses' I will be writing a story for Albus and Eliza. I secretly love them the most. :) Will hopefully get the next chapter up early next week.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>