Reading Reviews From Member: maraudertimes
  
356 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimesHanging by a Moment: Hanging by a Moment

1st April 2016:
Hiya! Here for the review swap!

This was really nice. I'm a die-hard Canon fan and I love Hinny, so I was a little skeptical going into this but I really did love this. It's great how you added a component to the story that isn't something completely out of the realm of possibility. You've also explained any inconsistencies that might come up really well, and the story line blends seamlessly with canon.

I liked that you had a 'Then' and 'Now'. It was a cool way to break it all up and kind of add a bit of confusion to the plot - something that was really beneficial for the story. It was a cool little twist when I found out that Ginny and Seamus were together. And when I found out that Harry and Ginny actually weren't. It was really cool, all the little twists and turns, and it really made the story come alive.

The ending was great. It was heartbreaking and amazing all in one go, and I loved that you brought it back to canon. :P

This was a really great story and I commend you on it! Really great job, and thanks for the swap!

Lo :)

Author's Response: Hi Lo!

Thank you :) One of the things I try to do in my stories is make them fit into canon, even if they're not. That way I sort of feel like I can get away with it a little better, you know?

I'm glad you enjoyed this though, especially as a Hinny fan :)

Thank you for the lovely review and the swap!
~Jill


 Report Review

Review #2, by maraudertimesLove Letters to the Dead: Remus John Lupin

6th March 2016:
Hi! Here for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and for our review swap!

So I really love NextGen stories so I wanted to read this, and I really enjoyed this read. It's very different from anything I would picture but I still think it's a pretty believable story.

Now, personally, I feel like Harry and Ginny would've been too young after the war to take care of baby Teddy, so they wouldn't have taken him in, but I liked that you had them do this in this story as it kind of mirrors Lily and James (the first ones) in the sense that they are young parents that are dealing with difficult situations and need to take care of a young son.

Secondly, I don't believe that Harry would keep the knowledge of Teddy's actual parents from him. However, this also mirrors Harry's childhood in the sense that he never really knew his real parents either.

So this is both something that I don't actually believe would happen in *my* headcanon, but it's also something I haven't ever thought of! I think it's really cool how this mirrors Harry's own upbringing. Even though I don't think I could write something like this, due to my own headcanons, I really appreciate this other view on how this might turn out! It's really opened my eyes to this kind of AU in my own headcanon.

Thanks for the swap, it was really fun and this was really interesting to read!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by maraudertimesL'optimisme: Silence

6th March 2016:
Hi! Here for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and for our review swap!

I don't usually read Dumbledore centric fics, but for some reason I was really drawn to this one. And I'm so glad! I really like how you really captured Dumbledore and his thoughts are really well developed and you've really done his character justice.

This story is so bittersweet, and I really love the beginning. It's a whirlwind love affair between two kids who are just beginning to figure out who they are and it's so pure and innocent in that sense. That they have to constantly sneak around makes it seem that much more normal - that Albus doesn't have a brother and sister to take care of, that they won't eventually part ways, that Gellert won't eventually turn his back on Albus. I think that it's exactly right for the situation and you've really written that well.

I really liked the ending, even if it was sad. You added detail to Ariana's death in a way that showcased the absolute insanity of the situation and Albus's deepest thoughts and fears. I was amazing to get a closer look at how he feels - obviously he feels guilty seeing as he was immensely guilty in the books - but you really added another dimension to that guilt and it made the scene that much more in every single way.

This was such a great story and I loved how you wrote in this era - it's very reminiscent of older books and letters and very proper. It really made me feel like I was in that era! Great job and thank you so much for the swap!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by maraudertimesWithout You: A Very Special Delivery

6th March 2016:
Hi this is for our (late) review swap (I guess I missed your post on my initial status update) and for the HPFF Review-a-Thon!

This was so cute! I love watching videos of soldiers coming home from war to their dogs, wives, or children, and this was like a little mini version of that in story form!

Genevieve seems like such an upbeat and happy little girl and I'm happy for her that she got her Hogwarts letter! She acts the way I think I would've acted if I had gotten mine, and it's very true to how little girls get excited! The fact that she is just kind of bouncing around everywhere and can't seem to keep the smile off her face is very cute!

I love that her brother kind of had her going about Hogwarts being closed. I understand it's because of the war, but it's also just a brotherly thing to do, I think, to just kind of get a rise our of younger siblings. It added a bit of je ne sais quoi to their relationship and just kind of subtly showed the dynamic of their sibling rivalry.

Ah and then of course the sadness that comes with her father being away. I wouldn't personally know anything about that, but when thinking about it, you've really answered any questions I would've had about why wizarding soldiers wouldn't be able to come home to their families. So kudos on that!

Oh and the ending! As soon as I read about the footsteps I knew what was going to happen and I got so happy and excited and then he was there! Aw, that scene was so cute and I absolutely adored it!

This story was so cute and I liked how your writing brought the characters to life and just kind of made the story come alive! Thanks so much for the review swap (again, so sorry it took so long to get to!).
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by maraudertimesRecipe For Detention: It All Started With Puffskein Poo

6th March 2016:
Hello! This is for our review swap and for the HPFF Review-a-Thon!

This is such a cute little fluff piece about friendship and I love it! Marauders is one of favourite eras, Sirius is one of my favourite characters as is Lily, and the whole James and Lily dynamic is one of my favourite relationships and you have them all in one story and you do them all so much justice - it's amazing!

I loved the first scene because it shows how mischievous Lily could be (anyone who would end up marrying James Potter sort of has to have some kind of prankster bone in them!). I almost feel bad for Filch, but then again it is Filch, and when's the next opportunity to put stink pellets in his office? :P

And oooh they got caught by McGonagall! I love how Sirius calls her Professor Minnie - and also that she's having none of it! I feel like that would be exactly what kind of student-teacher-quasi-friendship they would have! It's almost all one-sided but you know she secretly adores the marauders and their antics!

I really liked the camaraderie between not only Lily and Sirius, but also Sirius and James. Even though James never enters the picture (character at least - his name certainly does), Sirius's dedication to keeping his best friend's secrets secret is really nice to see. It speaks to their brotherly bond and I found it quite endearing.

I also really liked how you managed to get mention of Snape in there, and also how calm the argument was. Neither was hexing each other, which was good, but it was just fiery enough to make it believable - especially because if one friend doesn't like another you better believe there has to be tension.

All in all this was super great and thank you so much for this wonderful review swap, I had so much fun! Your writing is amazing and I think I might have to read more of your stories! :P
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey Lo! Thank you so much for stopping by :D

I'm so glad you think I do the marauders justice. That's a HUGE compliment coming from a fellow Marauders fan!

Exactly! I believe there's a bit of prankster in Lily ~ a la Ginny, you know!

We all sense there's a funny bone in dear old McGonagall as well, and while she had to be the disciplinarian, she wouldn't have minded letting them off easy once or twice, because the Marauders are so much fun, and a wee bit charming. I see Sirius toeing the line more often than not with the charm, don't you?

I'm glad you were able to sense the Sirius- James dynamics as well, despite that he was only mentioned here. While most people might feel that Remus would be the one to have this talk with Lily, I felt somewhere that Sirius would be the right one. He could have told Lily how much she meant to James, but the time wasn't quite right, and he wanted Lily to be completely sure of her feelings before she ventured into anything with James. I love that Sirius was looking out for James, and am glad you caught the undertones as well.

Ah yes - the hexing!Lily doesn't really appeal to me. I get that she's fiery but I don't picture her as a goody-goody or someone who yells around randomly. I think here, her foundation with Sirius is strong, and she does have a soft corner for James which is what makes her keep her cool. Besides, I do like to believe she had a sense of fairness that came to her rescue, and she wasn't able to wholeheartedly deny everything Sirius said.

I'm so so happy you enjoyed this one-shot and I do hope you stop by at some of my other stories! Thank you so much for the swap!

Love
Ysh


 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimesFirewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots: Firewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots

6th March 2016:
Hello! Here for our review swap and for the HPFF Review-a-Thon!

This was amazing! I'd seen it entered in the smut*tastic challenge and I wanted to look at it because I'm a sucker for Lily Evans and James Potter (honestly if I had to choose an OTP it would definitely be them). And let me just say this did not disappoint. Can you write a sequel? Please? Because I need it? I need to know if they got together? (I know they did, but for some reason I need you to write this. Like now. I need you to write it now please and thank you - NOW!) Oh and I'm favouriting this. This is amazing. Just thought you should know.

I really like the little things you gave each of the three main characters - Sirius and his need to work (I love how you worked his family kicking him out into that), Lily and her family problems (I love how you added the part about Petunia and Vernon getting engaged), and James with his smug attitude and of course the hair (also I think the only one who didn't notice he was still head over heels for her was Lily). You really wrote very substantial characters and because they're canon that made it that much more impressive because we already know some of their stories.

I'm not gonna go into detail about how that scene made me feel but darn it makes me want someone to banter with and call names before they kiss me. Oh sad and lonely Lo. And here you are capitalizing on that. I need a James Potter. That line about every time she smiles made me die inside.

The ending makes me so mad though, like obviously he still likes her, LILY GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF THE CLOUDS!!! It's so obvious that he likes her why can't she realize that and they can be happy and lovey-dovey ohmigoodness how could you do this to me. Although I must admit, it is very in-character for Lily to do that (even if I don't like it).

This was really amazing and I love it, truly. Please, please, please, write a sequel - I need a sequel to this in my life like right now. Your writing is amazing and I think you should write a sequel. Your characters are amazing and they'd do wonderful in a sequel. The ending was such a cliffhanger which means you should write a sequel. Thanks so much for this swap, it was so much fun! We should do another when you write that sequel! :P

But truly, this was amazing, thank you so much for the swap!
Lo :)

P.S. SEQUEL!

 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimesTeddy's Best Birthday Ever: Cheer Up

5th March 2016:
Hello! This is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and our review swap!

This is honestly so cute. I think my favourite part is seeing into Teddy's mind as he begins to have feelings for Victoire, even at that age. It's kind of puppy love at this point, at least for her, and I'm almost certain it's obvious to everyone else, so it's really sweet and funny to read about his point of view on the situation whenever she's near her or even when she kisses his cheek. Ugh tiny love! And the fact that obviously he likes her ugh!!!

The fact that his entire family (and yes they are his family no one can argue this with me) came together to celebrate his birthday - and at Honeydukes no less! It warms my heart and it's so cute that they know that he would obviously have a bit of a hard time around that time of year, especially with his parents being gone.

AND THEN HARRY. The map being his present for his birthday is so cute. It obviously meant so much to Harry, and he knew that, so him giving it to Teddy means that much more, because not only is he giving Teddy an amazing gift, not only is he giving Teddy something that Remus made, not only is he giving Teddy something that he himself cherishes (I am of the belief that Teddy views Harry as a father figure so this is very important), Harry is giving Teddy something that Harry's father helped create. In doing so, he is relinquishing one of the only things his father left him, all because he wants the legacy to pass on, and he believes that Teddy is worthy enough.

(please excuse me I'm going to go cry)

Ugh this was just a truly amazing and heart-warming story! You did a really good job! Thanks for the swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Ahh, you're going to make me cry too! I'm so glad you love everything I love about this story. I thought of that too, Harry giving up something his father left him, but his father also left the invisibility cloak and Teddy doesn't have anything else of his (right now, I haven't thought of anything anyway :P) so it's very important that Teddy have something to Harry. I also believe Harry really Really raised Teddy. My head Cannon is that Andromeda, though she loves Teddy, was also suffering from all she lost... I may have to write about this actually, so I'll leave it there. But I think it affected her enough she needed Harry's help in a big way.

I'm so happy you loved this and it left me with a huge grin :D
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimesHero: One Day at a Time

5th March 2016:
Hello! Here for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and for our review swap!

Wow, this is really good. You hooked me early and hooked me fast! I'm curious as to how Hero got her name, not so much because of anything that you did wrong in her characterization, it's just that it isn't a typical name you normally hear, so it would be cool to find out why. That's kinda just a personal thing, so feel free to ignore it :P

I really like Hero, and it seems that although she's a Gryffindor, she's most likely from a pureblood family. Goodness, aren't those always the characters I love? (*cough cough* Sirius) And judging from how her family treats her, I'm guessing they aren't too proud. OH WELL FAMILY I LOVE HER!!!

Okay, so something's up with Hero and Theo - did they date? Or did they do something akin to dating but not actually date? This intrigues me and I love it! Sordid love affairs are my favourite kind! Especially if Theo and Emory are siblings and Emory is Hero's best friend. (but isn't it always the best friend's brother?) If I'm completing wrong on this - oh well *shrugs* I just think your characters have chemistry. ;)

Okay, so what happened with this muggle?? You have intrigued me so! It seems as if Hero didn't have just one sordid love affair! It really speaks to the era and her family's position that - to me at least - her father is more disappointed that she kissed a muggle instead of the other thing she did (I'm not gonna leave any spoilers in the review :P). I think it's a really subtle thing you did that greatly adds to the pureblood/muggle tension that was obviously present at the time. And now I really want to know what happened with this muggle! Darn you, making me wonder all of these things and not telling me outright! Why must you be so good at this writing suspense and stuff?

Ooh Tom Riddle! This'll make it interesting. You've really captured his creepy nature of just watching and not really having any emotions to speak of - I applaud you for that, because he isn't insanely unpopular but he's still aloof. Tom Riddle was very popular, but I feel like you've written him in the perfect way - he has a lot of friends, but probably because no one really knows him and he's just so mysterious and therefore interesting.

Okay well end of the review and I must say - this was amazing! Thank you so much for the swap, I really appreciate it and I really love this story. Your writing is amazing and so are your characters - I'm hooked!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hiya Lo!

Honestly, I'm just a sucker for unusual names and Hero Blishwick fit the bill! Theo and Emory are actually dating, sorry that's not clear at first!

Oh, I guess you'll just have to read and find out! ;)

Thank you so much for your review Lo! X


 Report Review

Review #9, by maraudertimesHaunting Shadows: Shadows

5th March 2016:
Hello! Sorry, I've been having problems with my internet and it conked out before I could start on this chapter! This is for our review swap and HPFF Review-a-Thon.

Wow. This chapter was even better than the last, if that was possible. It cleared up so many questions but also left so many still unanswered and caused quite a few to be brought up. None of that is a bad thing though - you have suspense down. I'm still super intrigued by what happened with Chris - especially because of the dream, but you've given me just enough information for me to be assuaged (for the moment) while still making me need to know what happened!

I love this new little dynamic between Cate and Tommy - its quite nice that they can be so comfortable in silence while doing rounds. And that they're so candid with one another. I think it's really refreshing seeing as it doesn't seem like she's as comfortable with anyone else - even the girls.

The flashback was really well done. Well flashback/dream. I'm guessing what actually happened was that Chris drowned and they couldn't do anything to stop it? (at least not without magic which they didn't use) In any case, I thought it was really well written, and the part with the screams and such was so much like a dream - strange things are happening but you don't know why or how to stop it and then you wake up and it's not actually happening and you're so confused. I think that's been my favourite scene so far in terms of your writing, because for some reason it shines through as your best writing.

The end was heartbreaking and I just want her and Rob to get back together so they can mourn together, but I understand that there's perhaps some survivor's guilt? In any case, you've shattered me with this ending. I really feel for Cate, although I think that Lee will probably help her get some happiness back in to her life, along with the Weasley twins.

Oh and of course, OH MY GOODNESS PLEASE TELL ME THAT CHRIS DOESN'T COME BACK AS A GHOST BUT AS I'M TYPING THIS I REALIZE THAT THE TITLE IS HAUNTING SHADOWS BUT IF HE DOES COME BACK AS A GHOST I HOPE HE ISN'T MAD OH MY GOODNESS.

This is amazing, I'd love to do some more swaps later on, but even if not, I will be sure to follow this story! Thanks for the swap, it was amazing!
Lo :)

Author's Response: This review pretty much made my day; it had me smiling so wide :D

I'm glad you liked the dream/flashback! I had a bit of a struggle with it at first, but there are a number of hints about what actually happened over the summer on that day.

As far as Rob and Cate and survivor's guilt - there's a lot of that floating around!

Hahaha as far as the ghost - I guess you'll have to wait and see what happens there!

Thank you so much for the amazing review! I'd love to do some more swaps in the future as well!!

~Jill


 Report Review

Review #10, by maraudertimesHaunting Shadows: Whispers

5th March 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the review swap and also for the HPFF Review-a-Thon!

I really like this. Like so much. I'm so hooked. There's so many questions that I know you can't answer yet but ohmigoodness. So good. Okay maybe onto an actual review!

So I really like Cat? Or is it Cath? Or Cate? I'm guessing her name is Catherine - oh I guess that's my only CC then. What is her name? It's a bit unclear. I think it's Catherine and everyone has their own nicknames for her, but maybe just one instance of her full name might be helpful?

Anyways, I liked Cat a lot. She seems quite grounded and level-headed (even if it does seem like she's being haunted by a ghost), but more importantly she seems wounded. There's something about her that she hides, and obviously it has to do with her name popping up in the papers and this guy Chris, but it's just so inviting and intriguing and I want to know what happened. I want to know what made her this way. I also want to know why she isn't much of a romantic or why she doesn't open up to people that often - but keep in mind you've still opened with her character really well. These are just things that make me want to read on so I can find out :P

I loved all the dynamics in this story. Cat and Rob, and their tension, Cat and the girls and their easy friendship, Cat and the boys and the general Weasley twin teasing. I think you've developed a bunch of relationships already in the first chapter and none of it is overwhelming which I applaud you on.

There's so much mystery to this story, from the whispers, to the thing that happened over the summer, to how she thinks she's hearing a ghost - this is really well written in a mystery sense.

I really liked this first chapter, it's really hooked me on this story and I think I'm pretty much super invested now. You've spun a lovely story of intrigue and mystery and tension between ex-lovers and it's just all really well-written and all the characters are really well-rounded.

Thank you for the review swap, it was a lot of fun and I really like this story!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you for pointing out the name thing! You were right, her name IS Catherine, so I'll be sure to have someone mention that, perhaps in the next chapter ;) You can call her whatever you like, but her main nickname is Cate.

Ah, thank you! I tried really hard to work out the balance of how much to reveal, so I'm glad that it seemed to work out.

I can't say too much more without giving a lot away, so I'm really glad you're enjoying this story!! Thank you for the great swap :)

~Jill


 Report Review

Review #11, by maraudertimesRise of the Phoenix: An Unusual Party

5th March 2016:
This is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and our review swap!

I'm glad to be back to this story seeing as it ended on a bit of a cliffhanger last chapter! I really liked how there's finally some new characters! Ooh, new little playthings to meet! :) I liked how it's quite different, meeting these characters, as its refreshing after the fight scene. The calm *after* the storm, I guess I could say :P

I really like that I don't like Fudge, if that makes sense? I didn't like him in the book, and I think you've really capitalized on his demeanor in this - I would've been disappointed if I had liked his personality. But you did his character great justice! I also really like how you've shown his dedication to appearances. Especially in terms of Greyback and getting him ready for trial instead of working on the witch that the werewolf almost killed - it's very Fudge-esque and I applaud you for that! *claps ensue*

I also really enjoyed how disgruntled Theo seemed when Aurora wasn't getting treatment - it kind of showed a caring side to him where he really does care for her well-being, and I'm glad that there's this really three-dimensional aspect to him. And then he stayed with her until there was a chance someone would help her - that's dedication to a friend.

Dumbledore may have been my favourite part of this chapter. You've brought him in, and with him you've brought this air of mystery and intrigue. I'm super interested in finding out what he needs Aurora for - and why it couldn't wait for her to heal in St. Mungo's. Agh another cliffhanger - how could you do this?

Also, side note, I really like your characterization of Madam Pomfrey - kudos on that!

This was really great and I really like this story! Thanks so much for the swap, it was a lot of fun to come back to Aurora and Theo and... Greyback *shudders*.
Lo :)

Author's Response: Howdi Lo :)

Cheers for the awesome feedback. This is a slightly awkward chapter but I enjoyed writing about Fudge and Pomfrey to the point I didn't want to let it go.

All your nice words and intelligent responses are helpful.

I will post my making the reserves review today as part of the review-a-thon challenge.

Best,

Nick


 Report Review

Review #12, by maraudertimesDon't Listen: A Ball

5th March 2016:
This is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and also for our review swap! :)

This was really good! I normally don't find myself attracted to period pieces, more so because it's not something that I have much experience with, but I really liked this one because it took a lot of the things we might not understand in our time - dresses, corsets, mannerisms and the like, and kind of didn't touch base on them. Every so often something a character did or how they behaved, sometimes just their names brought me back to a point where I realized that this wasn't set in the present, but that's its charm - this story is somewhat timeless.

Hepzibah is somewhat of a woman way ahead of her time, and I really like that. I wish that this was longer, with either a prequel or a sequel, because she seems like a really interesting character and I would love to get to know her character a little bit more. I would especially love some background of her relationship with Seraphina, because their dynamic is really interesting.

I love how you've introduced the LGBT into canon characters that are forgotten about - it's a great way to show that LGBT characters exist, that they don't need to flaunt that they are LGBT, and in this time period especially, it shines light on the fact that LGBT was present in earlier times - it was just socially unacceptable and was kept a secret for safety reasons.

The ending saddens me, because Seraphina seems like a very strong woman with opinions and thoughts on serious matters, and a wit to boot, but she's kept quiet because she is a woman and a good wife is supposed to be subservient and bow down to the men. I know that something like that is to be expected at that time, and I am somewhat glad you added it, because that type of thing would happen and you haven't sugar-coated anything in this story.

This was a really good story, even though it did make me sad - although I suppose that's why it's good. Because it invoked emotion. I loved your characters and your setting, and everything about this was amazingly well written. Thanks for the swap - you did an amazing job!

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by maraudertimesDesignated Mum Friend: 2.

5th March 2016:
Hi! This is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and a review swap! (Also sorry it's a bit late - my internet got kinda wonky for a while)

Okay so I'm glad I was able to come back to this!!! I really liked the first chapter and this one sure did not disappoint. I liked the little bit with the coffee at the start - I can relate to that an insane amount unfortunately. :P I wish that Lyra had a bit more of a backbone - especially since double shifts can't be fun and then going out just to take care of others? Girl needs some time off.

Which brings me to Mai. Although maybe I should start with Healer Warrington. Ugh he irritates me. Nurses are just as important as Healers/Doctors, but obvs he doesn't get that and that just gets on my nerves. Okay, now onto Mai!

She sounds really cute at the start, and I loved how she kind of initiated everything (also her awkward bumbling is totally something that I would do), and that Lyra was a bit taken aback by it. Mai seems very straight-forward at that point, and I liked their dynamic. The only thing is that I wasn't aware that nurses could date patients, so that threw me off for a second, but then again, if there are no specific rules against it, as long as Mai is discharged I don't think it matters that much, right?

Although, I do agree with Mai that Lyra should let go a little and not just take care of her friends. But I'm also kind of on Lyra's side about not drinking - it's her choice and Mai shouldn't be judgmental about it. Now I do agree with Mai that the responsibility of taking care of friends should not lie solely on Lyra every time. That's absurd and I wish she would have some fun (although I do understand that this is called Designated Mum Friend so I did sign up for this :P). And although I wish Mai hadn't kissed another girl because she seemed very cute, I do understand why.

If I was on a date at a bar, even if my date wasn't drinking, we could still have fun. But that Lyra took her on a date and then spent most of her time taking care of her friends? Does it make me a bad person that I'm cheering for Mai in this scenario? In any case, I'm glad she was able to get a good night out of a disappointing date. Although I am sad for Lyra - I hope this kind of gets through to her and she lets go a little. I'd love to see that happen! :)

Thanks so much for the review swap, this was great to get back to and I really am getting so into this story! It's so well written and I love your characters.
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by maraudertimesAurora Borealis: If you love me, let me go...

5th March 2016:
This review is for the HPFF Review-a-Thon and also for our review swap!

Okay, so I'm really not a Dramione fan. That's not to say I go out of my way not to read Dramione (I read this one of my own accord, as you can see :P), but it's not something I avidly seek out. The reason being is that a lot of the time I can't get into the mindset where anything in a universe where Draco and Hermione are together makes sense.

HOWEVER!!! None of the above stuff is in any way bashing this - because I really liked this story. I do believe that there could have been chemistry and attraction between Draco and Hermione (I myself adore the bad boy/argumentative relationship trope in stories and my real life :P), and I loved how you played it off in this story - there is a need/want for the other, but in the end she can't do it. They have one night of fiery passion but she can't stay. That part of the story hooked me in because that's really the only Dramione type stories I end up becoming really involved in.

And then the second part with her coming back? Oh darling, you slay me. As I've mentioned, I don't normally go for the whole Dramione thing - but this aspect of the relationship really draws me in. At first she couldn't do it and it broke him. And then he couldn't do it because he couldn't let her break him again. In an odd and twisted way, I think this story capitalizes on how both of them are really intelligent people. Hermione couldn't bring herself to enter into a relationship that she thought she couldn't handle. And when she emotionally came back to him, he ended things because he reasoned that it couldn't work.

I think that because you've captured their personalities so well in that way, the story not only came alive, but it made it a story that may very well be one of my favourite Dramione's. This was incredibly well written and I loved the incorporation of the song - it truly gave something to the story and I thought the story really went well with it.

Overall this was really well done and I'm so glad I got to read it! Thanks for the Review-a-Thon swap! :)
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by maraudertimesComplicated: In Which Christmas is a Disaster

24th January 2016:
Hiya! Review swap!

Okay, so although this was tense and full of awkward family moments, holy was it good! I love the Wood family, even though I know this story isn't about them. Their dynamic is so great and it's obvious that Katy and Oliver really love each other.

I'm curious as to why Olivia is named Olivia. It's so close to Oliver that I wonder if perhaps there was a reason for it? But then again, it could just be that Pansy liked the name :P

I really don't like Pansy, and I never have. I really liked how you wrote her though, because you've kept her adoration for Malfoy intact, and you've kept her vain. The fact that she's so insecure about what her daughter looks like is a testament to how awful of a mother she is. I'm sorry for saying that, but you don't give your daughter diet books for Christmas.

Olivia's father is also somewhat of a disappointment - he doesn't even know what position she plays? I really feel bad for Olivia, having to grow up in that situation, although it doesn't seem as if she cares too much about her extended family, so maybe she makes do?

In any case, I really like Olivia and also I really love her dynamic with Jason. Them trying to relieve tension with Quidditch banter, all while it being also somewhat serious speaks to how they may not get along but they're also looking to keep the family dynamic from breaking apart.

Olivia herself is also a great character, albeit a bit ah... witchy. I mean she is a witch it makes sense, you know? But yes, I still really like her and you've really created a well-rounded character with her!

I'll review two more chapters but I'm going to do a bit of writing first - but don't worry I'll get to them ASAP! :)

Thanks for the review swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hi Lo,

Thanks for the lovely review. I'm really glad you liked Katie and Oliver. I'm enjoying them lots and have ended up putting them into my Lee Jordan story quite a bit because I wanted to write them more.

I think maybe Katie suggested to Andrew that he name his child Olivia, and he agreed without really thinking about the fact he was naming her after Oliver.

Pansy's terrible. More on that later :)

THank you for such a kind review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by maraudertimesMonochromatic: Just Lying There

24th January 2016:
Agh what is happening???

Okay, this was really great. The first part explained a bit more about Cara and David's friendship and it was really nice to get that bit of background about them. Also, the background info on Cara was really cool, especially about breaking her wand. Of course, that just makes me ask myself even more questions because it's so confusing and I don't know what's happening, but then again, I guess your A.N. dealt with that. :P

The whole James waiting outside for her kind of has me hoping that in the middle of all this despair maybe they can find each other and find some comfort in each other. For some reason I think they would work well together.

The second part of this chapter was absolutely devastating. So the plague affects only those who have magic, although I'm still left with so many questions about it! But you did answer so many and of course, the whole quarantining Hogwarts seemed true to form and the sorting the kids based on their health also. The fact that she lost both her sister and her friend - that's so harsh.

The end of this was so sad and you've just created this really bleak world. It really is so monochromatic - so kudos for that kitting name!

This was really great and I'm glad we swapped - I'm so hooked! Thanks again!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by maraudertimesMonochromatic: Just a Nightmare

24th January 2016:
OMG!!! Hi again for the review swap!

Okay, so this was really cool. I loved how the first part of the chapter was really centered around Cara and David's relationship. It's very cute and it's so sweet that she has a friend who'll bring her breakfast. When he picked up the photograph, it was so sad, especially when Cara mentioned that she had never told him about Kyla.

The facts you gave about the picture were amazing. You simultaneously gave background on Hogwarts and the Wizarding World, as well as showed a calculating and perceptive side of Cara that I really liked. It was so subtle too and I applaud you for it!

The second part of this chapter was really sad and really scary. The fact that the Hospital Wing no longer really takes care of the students is heartbreaking. When Kyla wouldn't wake up and Cara went to go find James, I was absolutely hooked and I was so scared along with them. Also, I love how you made Cara a bit out of shape - so relatable.

Now the ending has me wanting more because what are those scars on Cara's arms? Did she have a rough time when she was younger as well? AND WHAT IS THIS PLAGUE??? Darn, you're so good at this suspense thing, it's killing me.

Thanks so much for the swap, I'll be right back this is so good.
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by maraudertimesRise of the Phoenix: Tooth and Claw

24th January 2016:
Hi! I'm here for the review swap!

Okay so this story just keeps getting better with every chapter. Perhaps that has something to do with the fact that I'm a bit preferential to action scenes, although it could just be you becoming a bit closer to your character (something that plagues me too).

I liked how Greyback tried to play with her before killing her, especially when he mentioned that he was a bit dramatic because that's how he is - he's an overgrown childhood with a superiority complex. It's really great and ties in to the series marvelously.

I really like the fight scene as it's got so much action and also it's so dynamic. You don't leave anything to the imagination and you're very descriptive with what's happening, which really helps imagine the fight. The drinks from the bar were a really fun thing to add in, especially because I would probably do the same thing in that situation. It really brought some humanity to Aurora, showed how normal she really is, even if she's got immense power.

I liked the ending, it was really smart of Aurora to realize that the electricity might be able to be manipulated even without her wand, and the fact that she managed to beat Greyback because he underestimated her and overestimated his (small) victory was probably my favourite thing to happen in this story so far.

This was a great chapter and hopefully we can do more review swaps again!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Wow, cheers Lo. Awesome to hear it worked so well. I really liked the Quidditch story, I must say. Morgan's Minxes, what a name :)

Yeah, I am really glad the action and sense of creepiness worked. This is the chapter that got my rating bumped up to an M, so I am glad so far, no one has found it too gory.

I love writing fight scenes.

I am game for more review swaps, I really like your writing. One note though - some of the middle chapters are too "plot" based to a fault in my view. I need to edit them, so I apologise if they bore you to death in later review swaps :)

I also am glad the drinks thing added something to the tale too!

Aurora is unbelievably fun to write.

Cheers,
Nick


 Report Review

Review #19, by maraudertimesMonochromatic: Just the Coffee

24th January 2016:
Hello! Review swap! I might have to review all five if it continues like this! (also, my reviews might be a bit short only because the chapters are a bit short, I'm so sorry about that!)

Okay, so I really liked this first chapter, albeit it made me a bit sad. The whole eating disorder thing is not something I've personally dealt with but I know people who have dealt with it in the manner that James and Cara have. You've really managed to show their sorrow in such a short chapter and it's really powerful.

The fact that you've mentioned a plague and that Cara isn't using magic is really scary and a bit confusing, although I know I'm going to read on, as your author's note says, so I don't think that will be much of a problem. :P

This is a really cool concept and I've never read anything like it and I'm really enjoying it! Great job on the first chapter, I'll get to the second in a moment :)
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by maraudertimesDesignated Mum Friend: 1.

24th January 2016:
Hi Claire, here for the swap!

I really liked this chapter, and I really like what you have as the premise of this story. It's really funny and I think anyone who's been drunk at least once before also has a Designated Mum Friend (heretofore referred to as DMF). It's a really great concept and it's also really cool that you've created this kind of post-hogwarts scene for the Next Generation - I've read so many where they're in school that this is refreshing.

Side bar - not that I don't like NextGen fics while they're going to Hogwarts, those are some of my favourites, but I just really liked how you went against the grain for this story. :)

Lyra is really a great friend. Goodness knows I could never be the DMF. I do not have the patience she does. I mean, I guess it is true that Lyra has patients though, she is a nurse (really bad pun I know). Although I did enjoy the banging of pans, ripping away of blankets, and throwing of shoes. You can still be the DMF and still be merciless in the waking of the friends. ;)

I love the idea of a hangover potion (I want the recipe if I'm going to be completely honest), especially because *of course* someone would have created that. It's so nice of Lyra to pour that out for her friends and make coffee. I'm a disaster in the morning I probably would've set out juice and raw eggs. :P

The fact that Lyra is very strict with her friends and making sure they get to their engagements on time is really sweet and totally to character as the DMF, although I do agree with Felicity - her friends are adults now, they need to take care of themselves. Although I would always love to see bagels at my friend's house if I stayed over there! :P

This was a really great story and I really liked it! You've created a great character in Lyra as the DMF and I'm excited to see how you continue with this story! Thanks for the swap, I'm so glad I did this!

Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey, Lo! Thanks for doing the swap!

Normally when I write Next Gen it's set in Hogwarts, so this was fun to imagine them outside of school and with real jobs. And it was fun to come up with jobs outside of the usual Ministry, Healing, and teaching.

I could never be the DMF either, I'd be terrible at it. But if I did end up being one, I'd definitely find the most annoying way to wake them up.

Also, I appreciate that pun ;)

The Hangover Potion was actually something I thought up (be let's be real, I was not the first one to do that) for Felicity's story, but that's a whole other story. And I figured making that it was more for her benefit than theirs haha

Felicity most definitely has a point and hopefully Lyra figures all of her crap out, but it is kind if ingrained in her personality.

I'm glad you liked it so much! Thanks again for doing the swap!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #21, by maraudertimesSarah: [one]

21st January 2016:
:(

:( :( :( :(

Okay well this was super sad. I really liked it though, which is a bit strange. You know. Because it basically ripped my heart out.

I liked how even though this was centered around the abduction of a character no one knows about, it was still so involved with the plot of Harry Potter. I got a bit confused when Sirius mentioned that Peter was a rat for a reason, since I thought that James and Lily weren't supposed to have doubts about Peter, so immediately afterwards, those few sentences were really clarifying and also made me chuckle a bit (as much as I could given the sad circumstances).

It was a really smart move on your part to kind of slowly ease into the unease the Potters must have felt around their friends, specifically around Sirius, since it's obvious that Remus blames Sirius for the abduction of Sarah. I feel like he would still hold these feelings well after this night so I can see where Lily and James would get their suspicions about Sirius if Remus was constantly berating them about him.

That aspect was really cool because it gave a new depth to the series and gave me something to think on.

I think that Greyback took Sarah was one of the saddest parts of this story. He's caused so much grief in Remus's life and he has to inflict more pain? I really hate Greyback. And the pentagram and the bite marks just sound awful, it gives me shivers, it really does.

The ending was just heartbreaking, but I feel like if was anything but, the story wouldn't feel as complete as it does. I think your writing in this story is amazingly well done and you've really rounded out a plot point in the series that was kind of left to the imagination of the reader, and I really liked how you did that.

Thanks for the swap, I really liked this story!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by maraudertimesLivewire: Jolt

21st January 2016:
Hi hi!

Aw this was amazing, Dean/Seamus is definitely one of my favourite ships! I love how you started this and how a lot of it shows the after effects of the war, especially in how whomever one of them this was was woken up by these nightmares, but that he was glad that the other at least was having a peaceful night.

For me I picture Seamus being the one who woke up, but I really like how it's a bit ambiguous (at least that's how I read it - I might be off because I just missed a tiny detail) because it really could go either way so it's a bit like two stories in one. That's a really neat thing to see - I don't think I ever have read anything like this. I love how you did this because I could read this four times over and not be bored because every other time it happens in a completely different way.

I don't really know what else to say other than this simultaneously broke my heart and made me so happy and my heart burst with happiness. I love how the story is both sad yet full of love and passion and I think you've blended the two seamlessly.

Thanks for the swap!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by maraudertimesRise of the Phoenix: Into the Void

21st January 2016:
Werewolves and spells and muggles, oh my!

This was a really interesting chapter. I found it had a bit more action than the last one and I was a lot more interested in it. The italics have been sorted out, which made everything flow just that much better! The paragraph thing is still throwing me off a bit, but I love me some big juicy paragraphs so that's personal preference :P

I really liked the action in this chapter, and it's cool to see that your character created that spell, it seems very useful. It's a bit unfortunate that it doesn't wear off in the light, although that's probably to be expected. Although that ending was very scary.

Ugh, Fenrir Greyback is such a bad person but you wrote him really well. He scares me to be completely honest. Although the whole making a scene thing seems like something he might do. He's a bit full of himself. It added a bit of funniness to an otherwise scary situation.

Thanks for the swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hi Lo,

Cheers for the review.

I am glad I have had some really constructive feedback from you - on both chapters. Not everyone has to like my prose style or my penchant for unorthodox word choices (I did it again didn't I haha). I think at times I do it to a parodying level so I am open about that.

As for sentence stricture, it is also not a problem that you prefer bigger paragraphs and are less keen on looser sentences.

Personally I am just the other way round :)

I like that the you found the story entertaining in these parts from an action perspective. Also as perverse as it sounds, I am thrilled that Greyback was scary.

Basically, like any person on here I try and experiment. Chapter 1 was supposed to be like a drawn out horror/suspense story. Chapters 2 is more action. 3 is the creepiest thing I have ever written. Chapters 4-7 are slower and intentionally more meditative.

Though frankly, whether they work or not is another matter. :)

Yeah, I just read and really enjoyed one of your stories. Hope my review did it justice.

Thanks for the swap.

Best,

Nick


 Report Review

Review #24, by maraudertimesRoses are Red: Making Decisions

20th January 2016:
Hiya again!

This makes me so sad! Ugh just kiss and make up and be happy and married and have little ScoRose babies! Although I guess with the head injury and the memory loss, well that really can't be. I understand where Rose is coming from with the fact that she can't stand Scorpius, really, but I just want them to be in love and happy and kissy kissy be married. I guess that's the romantic in me.

I suppose what Hermione said is somewhat true. Someone who can get on your nerves so much you just want to strangle them at times can definitely be the person you love :P And although I do understand where Rose is coming from, not wanting to stay in a relationship with someone she doesn't care about, I agree with Hermione that Rose should at least give Scorpius a chance. They did get married for a reason after all.

I hope in later chapters, Scorpius tells her about their little trip with Albus, and hopefully Rose can fall in love with him again. Gosh, I'm a sucker for some good ScoRose :P

Thanks or this review swap, I really like your story, I think it's really well written!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey :) I went ahead and reviewed your story, because I'm a rebel like that.

I know! If they did that then there wouldn't be a fic though :) But I love the idea of them together, so we'll see if they end up that way. I love tragic endings so not sure yet ;)

Hermione is so logical, and Rose's guiding light :) Everyone I love I know I want to strangle a lot of the time, so that's where that came from.

Thank you so much for the compliments :) Really glad you liked it!

-Maraudergeek


 Report Review

Review #25, by maraudertimesRoses are Red: Just a Bump on the Head

20th January 2016:
Hi! For the review swap, this caught my eye immediately! I'm going to review the second chapter as well since these are so small so my reviews might be as well :S

I really love this. Ugh I adore Quidditch stories (can you tell yet by the one I asked you to review:P). This is a really great premise. It reminds me of that movie The Vow or something, except that Rose obviously remembers Scorpius.

I think the thing I really like about this story is that Rose is so hot-headed. She gets injured? "When can I play Quidditch again." She can't remember the past three years of her life? "I play for THE CHUDLEY CANNONS TELL ME ABOUT THAT." She's got a husband she can't stand but only because she doesn't remember falling in love with him? Well her last line speaks to that. ;)

I love how this dynamic will play out, the whole love-hate relationship thing. I think the funny quips and the mocking will only the help the two rekindle any romance and I'm excited for the next chapter to see some Rose/Scorpius action!!!

Thanks for the swap, I really enjoyed this first chapter!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I LOVE Quidditch too! I just had to make her a Quidditch player! And Rose is very hot-headed!

Yay! Hope you enjoy the next chapter too :) I will definitely get to your story by tomorrow, it looks super interesting! Unfortunately, school calls and a 6 AM alarm :(

Maraudergeek


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>