Reading Reviews From Member: maraudertimes
  
385 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimesThe process of becoming tamed : An apology

25th September 2016:
Hi!

I'm not super familiar with HTM (meaning, I've binged read it several times into the early morning hours over the past few years but like the idiot I am, I've never really taken the time to a) review all of it, b) actually read it when I'm very much awake and alert), but I do like how you have these small excerpts of the story. It kind of fills in the gaps and it's super cool to see the different scenarios that might play out.

I really liked the progression of this scene. It was cool to see Sirius' realization of how they treat Laura, especially because I can see him metaphorically kicking himself for not realizing it sooner. Plus, I thought that the whole James referring to Beatrice as 'the older one' was a really good way to cement that in, that they really don't treat her like an individual, but instead like an extension of her sister.

The apology was very nice. I thought that Mary was great, and the fact that you mentioned that Laura kind of softened really emphasized the fact that she took his apology to heart and really thought it was genuine. It was a nice little moment and I really liked seeing this in this way.

Also the little beauty rest quips might be my favourite thing about this entire chapter/one-shot. They are hilarious and absolutely what would happen.

Great job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by maraudertimesministry memorandums: memo: everyone's lazy and would rather form a new department than deal with a problem

24th September 2016:
Hi there!

At first I thought that the tags before each memorandum would cause a bit of confusion and break the story up in a weird way, but I started to look forward to them because of the little quips that you added about the owls. I thought it was a really nice way to keep those interesting and not break the story up too much.

I also thought that all the messages were really funny, especially how you had the different departments trying to duck out of it, and the state of the messages. It was funny to see exactly how each department would respond, some being very formal and others (*cough cough* Magical Accidents), just kind of use non-formal methods to try and get out of actually doing their work.

Michelle's notes were possibly my favourite parts of the story. The ones to her girlfriend were nice because they showed another part of the world and didn't keep the story focused on the Ministry antics, although it did make me sad that she had to postpone their movie night. The message about her getting promoted was hilarious because it's exactly what anyone else would do in that same situation. I wish that her girlfriend's messages were in this, but beggars can't be choosers and that might've distracted from the story.

The ending was great! I hadn't realized what everything was leading up to and then Arthur! And the Misuse of Muggle Artifacts Department! I thought that it was great to see how that was formed! The backstory was amazing and it was such an original way to look at the formation of a new department!

Also! The chapter name is arguably my favourite chapter name I've ever seen! And very true to the story, since everyone was too lazy to deal with the problem!

This was great and I really loved this story! You wrote it really well and even without any actual dialogue for the majority of the story, I could still kind of hear how each character spoke and their personalities shone through the messages! Great job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by maraudertimesBarbs at the Tail: The Unprecedented Event

21st September 2016:
Hel-lo one last time!

Okay, so in Chapter 2 I suspected that Oscar might be asexual but I didn't want to assume, but I really like that you've added some diversity into this story. You have one character who is bi or pan or whatever, he's a happy-go-lucky kind of guy, and one who is strictly into romance. Having dealt with some indecision on the asexual side of the spectrum myself, I really like how you've added that in, as I can relate even more so to Oscar (who is now my baby :P).

I love how they both have girl problems! And of course, the fact that whenever they're having any type of relationship problem they go and have drinks and have best friend chats. Like I mentioned in my review of Chapter 1, I think it's really cool how they're guys but can still talk about this stuff, as many stories I've read male characters aren't nearly so open.

I love Oscar and Wanda already, and it's cute that they met at work. It kind of parallels Albus and Brandon in that way, although I hope their relationship can stay together a bit longer... I think it's really sweet that although Oscar liked her at first, he didn't really do anything, but then his coworker Jerry was the one to prompt him. Again, this mirrors the first chapter and I really like that kind of parallelism between the two best friends.

Oh, poor Brandon. The boy cannot catch a break! I blame you entirely! Although, I doubt that this Moira expected anything similar to a relationship after all of those... gory details, as you've put it. But I feel really bad for Brandon as he knows she won't contact him. I did like the quip about the Quaffle being in her hands though. It kind of brings the whole thing back to the Wizarding World and I thought that little nod was cute!

But where's Albus? He's mentioned but excuse you, they aren't back together! You'll have to update soon Rose, because I must know! Again, great chapter, my only critique is that there's not another! :(

But it was amazing and I'm so hooked on these relationships! You write wonderfully Rose!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by maraudertimesBarbs at the Tail: The Self-Inflicted Wound

21st September 2016:
Hel-lo again! :P

I just wanted to point out (and you obviously know this, you wrote the story), that almost every single scene is just between Oscar (called him Oliver in the last review oops!) and Brandon. Yet somehow, you've managed to create this entire world around these two men that is entirely three-dimensional and so easy to visualize. Just from the mention that Oscar went camping with his father, the talk of how Albus's family warmed up to Brandon, the fact that aurors don't salute, they *bow*, you've created this wondrous world in little quips they give to each other, and it's amazing!

I'm sorry but WHY DID BRANDON BREAK UP WITH ALBUS?!?! I mean, I know why, you've explained it, but excuse you! They were so happy! (see what I mean about the world you've created? I totally know they were happy!) I think it's really sad that Brandon was too scared to go all in with this relationship, but I do understand. Getting your heart broken is not fun, so you'll do anything to try and avoid it. I just wish he could've given Al more of a chance.

I really liked the easy mention of James. It wasn't sudden, you really eased into it, much like Brandon tried (and failed) to do smoothly (although you executed it much better :P). I like that he plays Quidditch, following in his mum's footsteps, and the older brother intimidation tactic was hilarious! To be quite honest, I would be more scared of James than Harry-kisses-a-girl-until-she-cries-Potter, although I guess they don't know that part!

The ending of this chapter was awful, and by awful I mean heartbreaking because Oscar still hasn't managed to convince Bran to make up with Albus! Although I did like the little quip about setting Bran up with the next person his dad set him up with! It was really cool! And it's really sweet to see Oscar so worried about his friend, enough to threaten to perform a Cheering Charm on him. I need to find myself an Oscar!

Once again, great chapter, can't wait to continue!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by maraudertimesBarbs at the Tail: The Boss' Son

21st September 2016:
Hi again! I'm back for my crutch - NextGen!

I want to point out that this entire chapter is about two dude bros talking about relationships. This shouldn't be as big of a deal as it is, but I like this aspect of guys just being guys and wanting their best friend's opinion - it's kind of how girls giggle about their crushes except over drinks and with less emotion, more reason. So it really makes the characters seem that much more three-dimensional than if they were super macho.

Also, ah! Albus! I love little Al, I'm so glad he's the Potter son you've chosen to write about! Don't get me wrong, I love James, but he's much more of a trouble maker and it seems like the last think Brandon needs is someone causing trouble. Also, I love how he's kind of shadowing the Ministry because that tells me he's not currently working, so he might be either in school still or just out of work? Either way, he definitely needs someone to be a mentor (*cough cough* Brandon).

And I get where Brandon's coming from, feeling uncomfortable asking Albus out. Since he's the *head honcho's son*, it does seem like it could get awkward if a) things worked out, or b) if they didn't. Because if they did work out, any kind of special thing that Brandon would be rewarded for might be seen as *special treatment for dating the boss' son*, while if it didn't work out, there could be some really iffy HR conversations...

I really love Oliver. I don't think I've mentioned that yet. He's so level headed and a bit like me, inserting himself into his best friend's love life. I do love his idea that Brandon asks Albus out for drinks at the end of the week, that way Brandon can save face at work if he's rejected (not that he will be *knock on wood*).

All in all, this is awesome! You've got Aurors, you've got Albus, you've got a level headed character named Oliver that I may or may not identify with a little bit too much, you have potential romance, awkward inter-Ministry potential dating. I love it! This promises so much drama and cuteness and I'm so excited to come back to this story, it's going on my Reading List ASAP! Absolutely stellar job!

Lo :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimesCompendium of Unsent Letters: 1981

21st September 2016:
Hel-lo! (lol, get it?)

Okay, I came to your page and I knew I had to read some wolfstar and you do not disappoint. There's tragic loss, heart-wrenching sorrow, love that transcends not only time but so many miles and prison bars! Rose, you truly have a knack for writing the marauders, I don't know how you manage to do absolutely amazing every single time. It must be a gift!

I really like the addressing of Sirius. First with a nickname, a sign of deep friendship and love for one another. Then came his name, kind of like Remus had to remember who this person was - it wasn't his best friend anymore. And then the use of his prisoner number. That was harsh, although I suspect Remus did it to emphasize to himself (possibly Sirius as well), exactly who he was talking to. And the ending kind of mirrored that. I really like that parallelism at the start and end of the letter, it really tied the piece together nicely.

The stuff Remus said in it is gut-wrenching. The fact that he's wondering whether or not Sirius was lying to him the whole time not only (probably) eats away at him, but I can only imagine what Sirius would be going through as he read those words. And the fact that he explicitly blames Sirius for what happened to Harry is absolutely horrible. Of course, Remus has no reason to believe otherwise, but imagining what Sirius must be thinking hurts so much.

The fact that Remus is wondering if everything was one giant elaborate lie, and his reasoning, while not at all air tight (so many air holes!), does kind of make sense. I could see where Sirius might go looking for his brother, but it's just so sad that Remus could think that.

Agonizing wolfstar writer. You should write that on your resume. You really are amazing at it! This was so sad but so beautiful all at the same time! Great work!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimesBetter Dig Two: A Terrible Love

20th September 2016:
Hi there!

I don't typically read Dramiones as they tend to be, well cliche (which is funny that the Dramione cliche wasn't the one you took :P), but I thought this was well explained, not too OOC, not exceptionally unbelievable, just kind of acceptable. Meaning that I can definitely see this happening, even though it's not canon and I'm not scared away by the characters being so different from their actual selves. I actually thought you wrote them really well and everything was so well executed!

It really hurts to see Ron cheating, because I like to believe that Ron is a good man, but I've also just been told that sometimes infidelity and love aren't correlated. So I do think he still loves Hermione, he's just not the great person I thought he was (in this story). Although he's downright awful for doing something at a party that she's at! Doesn't he know she's probably going to find him? Ugh! Men!

I thought the Room of Requirement thing where a man appeared just as she was wanting one was really funny. A little cute, a little coincidental, but perfect for the story line. And obviously it's Draco, but it's cool that neither has any clue who the other is. I'm intrigued to see how that's going to work itself out! Perhaps love might bloom?

The ending was really cool. It seems like he wants to know who she is but she's maintaining this cool, collected, really aloof persona, while all the while staying in charge. I think it's true to form for her while him being a little snarky would definitely be true to form for him.

Now for those marks... I know she wants them to 'show off' to Ron, but oh goodness, that will lead to a fight! I'm quite curious to see what will happen. I do love drama! I wonder if she'll tell Ginny or Harry about her tryst too. Well, I guess I'll have to read on to know more.

This was really cool and I really liked this! You write amazingly and the scenes flow so well! Great job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimesHouse of Cards: Two of Spades

20th September 2016:
Hi there!

Well this was certainly interesting! You've got murder, you've got intrigue, you've got Sirius Black! All the makings of a very intriguing and devilish plot!

I thought it was great that you have this event that has transpired - the death, I should say - that you don't actually write. There's something so mysterious about the characters alluding to this scene that the reader is not privy to, making me so confused and interested in what actually happened. You do add some detail, such as having them remember what happened, having Druella mention that there was no blood, but I still am so interested since that's not the full story!

I think that's a cool concept as well, having an Agatha Christie type murder mystery with the Blacks. Out of all the wizarding families we know of, they're probably the most interesting ones to use for this scenario since we know so little about them other's than Sirius' obviously jaded testimonies. They aren't good people by any means, but you write them as a tight knit family, somewhat, at least in terms of most of the family (*cough cough* not Bellatrix *cough cough*).

I'm so confused! Who could it be? I could see it being Bellatrix because she doesn't really react. And I know that most of them are probably thinking it's Sirius because he's not exactly the best *Black*, but perhaps they think it's Barty or Lucius seeing as they aren't part of the family? Personally, my money's on Narcissa. I have no clue why, I just think it might be the least obvious contender.

This is a great start to a story, you've really dragged me in and I'm super intrigued! The family aspect adds a whole other element to the traditional murder mystery and I really commend you on going that route!

Great story, great writing, great job in general!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by maraudertimesSeeing Double: Prologue

19th September 2016:
Hel-Lo! (Get it? lol, I crack myself up!)

Okay, so this was... Crazy? Intriguing? Absolutely mind-blowing? Check, check, and check! Oh my goodness! I didn't understand the whole 'she' thing until right up until the very end and had to reread several instances to actually fully understand everything and it blew my mind! Holy cow, someone is living inside Molly's head? I'm super intrigued!

This scene is kind of painting itself not unlike the one with Ginny and Tom Riddle, and I'm not sure if that was your plan, but even if it wasn't, the parallelism is amazing! I like how you never really said what the book's title was, and it's never really mentioned in canon whether or not you could live in the diary world, so I choose to believe that until proven otherwise! :P

I thought that the fact that her cousins were watching her was kind of sweet in the 'family love' type of way, and if the book is some sort of diary thing, probably in Molly's best interest, but it hurts that she realizes they don't really want to hang out with her, they've just been tasked with watching over her. But it also seems like Molly isn't the type to have really close friends, apart from books, even if they are her cousins.

The ending was terrifying. No clue how Potions had anything to do with it until the mention of 'her', and that's freaky! She's so cold and calculating, and no! Molly needs to stay Molly! I really hope Molly's able to fight this mystery girl. Although it's obvious that people have noticed, so perhaps she'll be able to fight her off with some help?

Anyways, this chapter was amazing, it was so creepy and dark and cool! You've introduced Molly, this mysterious person in her head, and some sort of plot involving the fight in one's mind! I loved this and I'm super excited to continue!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by maraudertimesEidolon: Pink Silk

19th September 2016:
Hi there! I am back, back again!

Okay, so this was a bit weird at first because it's so vastly different from the last chapter, but I really like it! I was a bit thrown off at first with the word 'they' because I thought perhaps there was another party watching the scene, but then I realized what was happening and everything came together beautifully. I reread the first few lines just to understand them a bit better and I kind of love that you don't really explain the word 'they', it's just there.

I kind of understood that Cato was hurt from what you'd written already, but to know the exact injury is really heartbreaking. I am a football/soccer fan, and I know several people who've torn their ACL and/or worse, so it's really disheartening to read about such a traumatic injury, since an injury that ends a career is something I'm too aware of.

Scorpius seems like a very good and patient healer, but I can definitely see where his overbearingness could get annoying. But he seems like he's just trying to do his job and keep Cato safe and on track to heal.

And Cato, oh I feel so bad for Cato. The Golden Quaffle (I did enjoy that nod to the Ballon d'Or by the way), totally was in their grasp and they kind of blew it. I'd love to figure out what exactly happened in that accident, although it would probably break my heart. And the fact that Cato has to do all the interviews and Oliver is telling them to say that they don't know what they're going to do, also breaks my heart.

It hurts to see an amazing athlete reminisce about their lost career because of an injury, but you do it magnificently. I can only hope that something can be done to give Cato something else to do, to live for, because at the moment it hurts to see them in this amount of pain, both physically and mentally.

But this was really well written and hopefully a new chapter will be soon? Thanks!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by maraudertimesKillian Earhart Vs The Weasleys: Killian Earhart Vs Lucy Weasley

19th September 2016:
Hi hi! I am back!

So, this was hilarious! I still love the whole comic book/Harry Potter aspect and I love the whole battle against the Weasleys for Molly's hand so much!

And ah! It's against Lucy. I can understand Molly's frustration with her family, but to stare daggers at her sister? I would do that too, to be honest. Haha, I'm sure Lucy was laughing on the inside with every glare she got from her sister. I think it's hilarious that she decided to do a hot dog eating competition, especially since you mentioned that she's so small.

Also, Hugo is such a sweetie, protecting Lucy like he did against the Slytherin. I can just imagine him 'accidentally' knocking into someone to prove a point! And the fact that all the Weasleys stood behind Lucy cheering for her - there's something to be said about the Weasley blood and their support of one another.

I don't understand how more people don't back Lucy though. I mean, even if Killian is so much bigger than her, if all of her family members backed her, shouldn't they have figured it out? I guess if her sister wasn't, I can kind of understand that... But even so, she was just supporting her boyfriend.

And EW! I can't believe that they fed her slugs! That's disgusting! Molly is definitely playing dirty, and rightly so! But poor Lucy, realizing what happened. That can't be good, for her or her stomach. But with that many hot dogs already wow! If Molly hadn't intervened, she totally would've won (is it bad if I was cheering for her instead of Killian :P).

This is arguably one of the more unique pieces I've read and every time I come back to it, I remember why I like it so much! This is great!

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by maraudertimesTake Two: Act I - Epiphany

19th September 2016:
Hi there!

Okay, so this was a hurtful little chapter and I totally blame you for my heartbreak! It's one thing to read about a breakup, it's another to read about one where someone screwed up and wishes they could take it back immediately, especially when I just went through this kind of thing. But, no matter how I lament about Molly and the unnamed character's break up, you really did write it well!

From the moment those first words were uttered to the end, you wrote Molly as a scorned woman (hell hath no fury, right?) in all the right ways, and even though you didn't mention it, I'm sure it was evident on her face that although she was livid, she was devastated as well. I actually enjoyed that there was hardly any dialogue as it lent itself more to the scene that you described everything that was happening and everything the main character was feeling instead of using dialogue. You showed, you didn't tell.

Jasmine is an amazing friend! I would do the same thing, try and keep my friend's mind off of the breakup. I think it's a nice thing that she did eventually ask if the MC wanted to talk but didn't press when she didn't. She seems like a really good person to have around after a breakup.

This was a really great first chapter and I'm so curious to see what happens next! Great job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by maraudertimesChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Prologue (In a New York Minute)

19th September 2016:
Hi there!

This is a really cool concept! I love how you've incorporated an American school into this story as well (even though it's been destroyed). Although Ilvermorny has been established in my timeline, it seems totally legitimate that there's another school that was destroyed!

Also, Alex seems like a great protagonist. I feel awful for her! Did she just say that she witnessed what happened to her mother? Also, I would like to point out that this is super intriguing. Who is her mother? Why do the Death Eaters want Alex? What do they want from her? Agh, so many questions!

I thought the thing with the trace was brilliant! Of course they would have placed something like that on her, but the fact that she figured it out and realized that a) letting it stay on her was a bad idea but that b) leaving it in the washroom would be suspicious. I didn't quite think of that and as soon as it was mentioned, of course that's the right idea!

Putting on the dog was probably the best idea, but ohmigoodness! And again, Alex thinks more than I do! I hadn't thought about what would happen when the Death Eaters found the woman. Also, Alex calls Muggles by the word Mundanes. I'm wondering if that's from another series or just a word that you've picked up, but I like the difference between the words considering she's from a different country.

This was a great prologue! It really set the scene for the story and I'm super intrigued! Great job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by maraudertimesThe Ghosts of the Past: The Ghosts of the Past

19th September 2016:
Hello!

This was really sweet, albeit heartbreaking, and I think you write Sirius incredibly well! The first flashback was kind of cute, and I like how Marlene was the disdainful one. It makes sense, him being a Black and her only knowing one good member of the family - Andromeda - but considering Sirius probably doesn't normally get that type of treatment, I wonder if that's what first sparked his interest?

I loved the progression of their romance, with her viewing him as the liability what with his hot-headedness! It was a cute little development and I loved how he pursued her, since in so many Sirius Black stories he's usually the one being pursued. And also I love (well, the writing aspect of) the fact that you didn't have Sirius cheat or anything to end the relationship, and kept to canon by having Marlene die in that way. It made me sad, but it gives the relationship an out without compromising the characters of either Marlene or Sirius.

I also loved that you added in the Order and James, and that Neville's parents had just gotten married. It added a bit of extra oompf to the story given some canon information. Plus, the fighting scenes were really cool. I'm not sure if I've ever read a fight scene quite like that, and I really loved it! You have a knack for the action part of the story!

I really liked this one-shot, it was cute, had romance, had action, was intriguing, and then by the end had me almost crying. Especially with the ring at the end - that was super disheartening. And the fact that Remus told Sirius that he would find someone new, knowing what I know, was devastating! How could you do this to me??

Needless to say, I really liked this one-shot! Good job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by maraudertimesUnexpected Attraction: Unexpected Attraction

19th September 2016:
Hi hi!

This was really cool! I don't typically see Blaise stories where he's... well not necessarily the good guy but I guess the protagonist? And when I do, he's usually with Draco and the other Slytherins, but I liked how you had him somewhat on his own, a lone wolf who doesn't really care about what his housemates think. Even though he's a bit pretentious and rude, his attraction to Susan kind of softened him and I really liked that character development!

And Susan! What a beautiful girl! I love how she has several dimensions to her. One being that she is a sweet girl, who assumes that Blaise is trying to help her, even though I'm sure it was a very snarky comment. The other, that she's smart and hardworking, like when she writes in runes for fun(?!?!). And then the last, that she's very fierce, like when Blaise was 'messing' with her. I thought it was really cool to see the different sides of a Hufflepuff, to have her exemplify traits from three of the four houses.

Their little budding relationship is really cute and when he finally kissed her, agh! I'm so happy! It was a really cute/snarky moment and that's totally representative of the both of them! And the fact that it was perfect!! I'm so happy!

This was such a cute story and I'm so glad I read it! You're a great writer and the amount of character development you were able to cram in to such a small piece is extraordinary! Thanks!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by maraudertimesIntroducing...: Introducing... Meghan Abrams

18th September 2016:
Hello! (hehe, get it? because I'm Lo?... I'll stop now...)

This is great! I kind of like the whole 'moody, I'm too good for this, I hate the universe' type character you have going on for Meghan. Possibly because that's almost exactly like me, possibly because that kind of character just intrigues me! And I like how she's very critical of herself (hey, look! it's me!), while reveling in her small victories, such as having a talent for making plants die. I'm not sure why, but I find that type of self-deprecating humor hilarious!

I love how for each little fact about Meghan you also have a quote from her, kind of proof of her sarcastic wit or her inability to keep in contact with people from her primary school. It really emphasizes her personality in little tidbits, which, although leaves me wanting more, is a really simple way to establish her character early on!

Oh, what a beautiful young soul, enjoying the torment of others! And I have to add, that Professor Blackburn seems like a handful! Someone should spit in his direction! But alas, not everything is perfect in Meghan's little 'I hate everything' world because who else but JAMES POTTER (the second)! It's really cool how you've kind of given the reader just a bit to go off on in this first chapter while also giving them a hook - the entrance of a mysterious boy with a mysterious problem!

I'm excited for when I have time to come back and continue because this promises to be a drama filled and exceptionally interesting story and I am nothing if not a sucker for those! Thanks!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by maraudertimesThief: Scones And Jam

18th September 2016:
Hi there!

This was really cool! Romilda is never really mentioned, other than the whole love potion type thing, so it's nice to see her in a better light. She really does exemplify Gryffindor in her act here. I'm not sure if the rationing food ever happened in canon, but it seems legitimate (and awful by the way), and the fact that a Gryffindor, Romilda Vane at that, is willing to go out and get food is very true to form to the house.

I also love how you added in the house elves, and Winky! I love Winky, I'm so glad you've given her a sort of redemption type thing here. It's amazing to see that even in the midst of a war, they're still beautiful creatures willing to help their students. And they didn't even see what Romilda was planning on doing, sacrificing herself, those poor creatures. I could see it coming a mile away, but they're so innocent!

And oh goodness, it paused my heart when she did that, she's so selfless and, well, brave. And oh my, when she came face to face with Amycus, I was cheering for her (even though I knew what was about to happen). Her words were cutting and if only she could've said them and not been punished! Poor Romilda. :(

This was an amazing story Kaitlin! It's beautiful and striking in all the right places! I'm so in awe of, not only your ability to write so many stories, but to do so and make them all so amazing! TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!!! :P
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by maraudertimesEidolon: Yellow Cotton

18th September 2016:
Hi hi!

I love this interpretation of the NextGen! I'm somewhat of a sucker for it, so I've read a lot of it, and this is honestly one of the most intriguing adaptations of it I've ever seen. It's cool to see a NextGen character that is mostly removed from the family of their own accord. I've read quite a few where they don't enjoy the fame, but to leave and cut contact for six years? You've really intrigued me! I wonder what happened!

James and Anatole seem to have a very happy relationship. Very close, yet they seem separate in all the ways that matter. I feel like their each others support system but not each other's worlds, which is pretty important in a relationship. I wonder if the rest of James's family knows about Anatole, if perhaps that's why he's stayed away, some sort of prejudice, but I'm not too sure as it seems like Anatole is just for James.

The letter that Albus sent to Teddy was cutting and beautifully written. It shows in detail how James's distance has hurt the family without actually showing it. I thought that was a really cool way to do it, and I applaud you for that! It was also really heart-wrenching that Ginny had written the invitation and Harry had thrown it out, as it shows that even James's parents have given up on him coming home.

The end was really nerve-wracking. I thought someone was going to recognize him and then they didn't (well not at first - also can I say how much I loved your use of parentheses?). It was like I was there with James, hoping with all my heart that no one would recognize him, which truly speaks to your ability as a writer to truly draw the reader in! And then when his uncle saw him! I thought it was over, but alas! He jumped up the stairs and away from awkwardness (to be fair, I would've done the exact same).

This is such a cool concept for a story and I'm super looking forward to reading on later! Thanks so much!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by maraudertimesSeek and Chase: Arithmancy (Jacob)

18th September 2016:
Hi!

Okay, I really like this chapter because it kind of gives more backstory to Jacob than anything else. It doesn't really further the plot, more so just capitalizes on him as a character. The fact that he keeps reassuring the reader that he's not a nerd, or that he only does assignments to get them out of the way, and his grades, really emphasizes that although he likes Quidditch, he really is a smart guy. Sort of a undercover-nerd trying to reassure everyone he really is a jock!

Also, his little quips with Lily - even though he told his parents they aren't dating or anything - kind of gives me the impression that oooh, someone likes their co-prefect! I think that their interactions are going to get a lot cuter, but for now I think they're tiny little babies, super cute friends who may or may not be developing slight crushes, and that's still adorable!

I think the one thing to watch out for is that Jacob's only fault is that he's a bit lazy, and even then he just really doesn't like to wake up early. He seems exceptionally smart and great at Quidditch, but there's nothing really 'wrong' about him. Oh, and when Lily went up to drop off her book, there's no mention of her coming back.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this chapter and I'm super excited to keep reading! I just love Quidditch stories, and you write it beautifully!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by maraudertimesThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 4

18th September 2016:
Hel-Lo! Get it? Haha, I amuse myself sometimes! I am back to review away! :P

I'm very glad that Mary has Remus. It's very sad to read about how she's dealing with everything, retreating in on herself. But at least she has Remus to kind of knock some sense into her and not to take no for an answer! It's also really cute how they acknowledge that while they were dating they both had feelings for a same-gender friend that they ended up being with at the same time also. It kinda makes the whole 'figuring out who you are' quite realistic! And I love how they're technically each others support system.

Also, I feel so bad for Mary. Hindsight is 20/20 and I've totally been in that exact situation. It's always horrible to look back on something and pinpoint exactly what went wrong, even if you didn't realize it in the moment. The fact that it's about someone she loves just makes it even more heartbreaking. :(

And the scene with Lily! I absolutely can't. I just cannot. That's totally and absolutely heartbreaking. I understand wanting closure, but it physically pained me to read that scene. And the fact that Lily has fallen for James (even though she denies it) makes it even more devastating. Honestly, I think the holding hands might make it harder for Mary to let go, but I understand she needed comfort.

This chapter is so heartbreaking, I can't believe it! It brings me back to times like these, and although I love this story, and I love your writing, darn I wish I hadn't read this because *emotions*. But I'm also glad I read it because it's an amazing chapter. I loved the little quip about not wishing the feeling even on Snape - it shows just how devastated Mary is and also places light on just how much of a wonderful person she truly is.

I really loved this chapter and I'm so excited for the next one! Hopefully it doesn't breka my heart like this one :P
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by maraudertimesHero: Wake Me Up

18th September 2016:
Hi hi! No real greeting because

OHMYGOODNESS, NOAH WAS ONE OF THE BOYS THAT TOM TOOK TO THAT CAVE NO WAY!!! AND THAT BIRD AND THE FACT THAT THE DOORS WOULDN'T OPEN, EVEN FOR THE POLICE? I used to ship Tom and Hero (even though it's Tom Riddle) and now I think perhaps that Tom is actually stalking her? This is really creepy, and I actually haven't even finished the chapter yet, I just had to get that out, okay going right back up to read the rest :P

Okay, I'm back!

I really love how Hero's owl is named Villain. I briefly forgot Hero's name and got really confused as to why her owl would be named Villain, but as soon as I remembered, I thought it was the funniest thing. And the fact that Tom was also at the owlery (did I spell that right?) almost basically proves that he's stalking Hero. Ugh, he's so creepy!

I would just like to point out that I love how I seem to be living the same emotions that Hero is. At first, I think Tom might be a decent-ish person (even knowing that he is, in fact, Lord Voldemort), but now he's so creepy! Ugh! I think that this really speaks to your abilities as a writer to truly bring your readers into the story and into the mindset of your main character.

Also, I don't think Hero quite realizes Morgan's true feelings for her. I think they both might be in for a rude awakening. Hers would be that he likes her and his that she had no clue. Perhaps he thinks they're going on a date? Whatever it is, it's bound to be awkward and I am so ready for when that happens!

And oh no. I think Emory may have just gone through a breakup. UGH SO MUCH DRAMA. I love this! But also ugh, she does not deserve it. :(

Needless to say, this is a great chapter! I'm still so hooked, OMG I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED WITH EVERYTHING! Great job Bianca! This is awesome!

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by maraudertimesLong Live The Queen: I

17th September 2016:
Hi hi! Sorry this took so long, I'm horribly busy and I regret agreeing to this at the moment because I feel so awful for making you wait so long, but ohmygoodness are you ever a patient, beautiful person! *heart*

This is amazing, and I loved this concept of a Slytherin Lily who is kind of edgy and does potentially illegal things along with Hugo (who honestly does not get enough attention in NextGen fics!). It's cool to see this bad girl vibe from her and her friends, and also I really love that she's going back to Hogwarts without her older brothers around, because I always see Lily being protected, so it's cool that she won't be.

Hugo. Oh Hugo. I don't know what's happening between him and Rose, but something's up. I also like him as somewhat of a bad boy, and I can just imagine him looking off into the distance forlornly in his leather jacket and cigarette. It seems like he and Lily are super close and I'm excited to see where their friendship goes.

I hope to Merlin that Lily has some other reason for not playing Quidditch because I cannot stand when girls stop doing things because they have a boyfriend. So I hope that wasn't your reason. Because I would... well I wouldn't necessarily stop reading because I really like this story... but I would be disappointed. I could see that perhaps she stops because she has a(n illegal) problem that she has to deal with or something, but I hope it's not just because of Lysander.

Ooh, so many things happening, I can't keep my head straight! This sounds like there's going to be so much drama, and if there's one thing to know about me, I love drama! I'm super excited to continue R&R'ing this, it's amazing, and again, I'm so sorry for taking so long. My life is hectic and I shouldn't have promised something I couldn't deliver on right away, but I'm hoping to read the rest of the chapters tomorrow because I love this and *heart*

Lo :)

P.S. I realized I can't do my regular hearts and I'm too lazy to find the ones that actually work so *heart* it is :P

 Report Review

Review #23, by maraudertimesThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 3

1st September 2016:
I'm backkk! :)

This is a really cool thing to think of. I've never thought of a Mary/Lily scenario, but I really liked how you wrote it. It's almost as if they're friends, just exploring their sexuality with each other as they grow up. I know that to Mary that's not what it is, but to me, it seems like that's what it is for Lily. However, this does happen in a different time, so perhaps she did just want to keep things quiet because of the way people would treat her. Either way, this spells disaster for Mary's heart. :(

Oh goodness, the Slytherin boys are up to no good. It's absolutely awful what happened to her! No one should be so discriminated against! And Severus was also part of it because of what he saw? That's what I was talking about when I mentioned how people would treat them. But honestly, if he truly loved Lily he would want her to be happy! He wouldn't attack the girl that Lily is currently kissing goodnight!

Oh goodness. Here it is. The beginning of the end of Lily and Mary. 'James'. That one word and I already know what's about to happen. Mary is about to have her heart broken and Lily is about to realize her feelings for James.

This is such a good story and I'm so hooked. I'll come back and finishing reviewing soon (currently quite late where I am), but honestly, this is one of the best marauders fics I've seen that doesn't immediately start with Jily. And I love Jily. And even I love this Mary/Lily. So this is a big deal!

Again, great job Meg!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by maraudertimesThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 2

1st September 2016:
Hello! Here for the gift tag!

OMG!!! Okay, I loved how you introduced the concept of puberty and everyone changing, as it really help cement the fact that they are no longer children and have in fact grown up. Also, the little quip about Mary and Remus having a thing was a really smart way to introduce the fact that Remus has feelings for Sirius, so really good job weaving that into the story seamlessly.

I wish Mary could've told Remus as well. If only so that she has someone to talk to about her feelings and he has someone to relate to. But alas! I also would like to point out how strange but also how real it was that Mary seemed to just accept Remus's feelings and not her own. It resonated as a bit of internalized bi-phobia and, although that makes me sad, it's also a very real thing that many people deal with.

Oh goodness! Not the changing scene! Of course this would happen :P But I've done almost that exact same thing with friends, just not that last part. It really isn't an issue to girls who aren't necessarily super attracted to their friends, so I can understand why Lily wouldn't have a problem with it at first but Mary would.

Oh that kiss! I'm not sure if I'm happy for this or not because Mary did say she was fortunate to have been loved by Lily at some point, I just know that it won't be forever and I don't want Mary to get hurt. Oh Mary, Mary, Mary... :(

This is amazing and I'm definitely going to keep reading at some point (I have so much work these next few weeks but I'll be back soon!).
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by maraudertimesHero: Mystery

1st September 2016:
Ah!!! I'm bacck!!!

This is awesome, I can't tell if I ship them or not because it seems like Hero and Tom would be really good together (lol at the fact that Hero has a thing for orphan boys), but it's Tom Riddle for heavens sake! What are you doing to me??? I've never shipped Tom with anyone ever and now you're corrupting me by wanting them to get together and be happy forever AND THAT'S NOT PLAUSIBLE BECAUSE HE'S CRAZY!!!

Her brother is awful and so are his friends. I can't believe they would do that with the roosters. I know they're Slytherins, but come on! That's just insensitive. And he hit her! I know they're siblings but that's just insane! I would never put up with that, although then again, Hero and I are in very different positions with our families.

RUBEUS HAGRID!!! Oh, this is making me sad because I know what's going to happen, and he's just a young boy and it's obvious he's not well liked and it seems like he's suspicious but because I know what actually happens this makes me so sad!!! Poor Hagrid! I just want to yell at him to go on vacation or something to keep him safe!

And oh, the final scene. Can I just say that I WANT TO SHIP THEM AND I'M HAVING SUCH A DILEMMA HOW CAN YOU DO THIS FOR ME.

This is amazing and I'm excited to get back to it again! I'll be back later I can promise! Great job B!
Lo :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>