Reading Reviews From Member: greenbirds
110 Reviews Found

Review #1, by greenbirdsMoon and Tide: Track 1: the Black Cat

2nd November 2015:
oh my gosh! i cannot believe this is your first fan fiction attempt- it's brilliant! you're brilliant! i couldn't be happier you've decided to start writing, you're so talented- i cannot wait for the next chapter, im already hooked.

astrid is so cool, i love her narrative, and you've written her with such wit and character she doesn't need to introduce herself like other first person ocs sometimes do. her friends are big characters, you can tell already, but they don't flush her out- rather they compliment her and her persepective of things. that's such an interesting introduction plot line, between isabel and james, ive never come across anything like it! im so excited to see how that impacts james' relationship with astrid.

im just so excited for all the potential of this story. and i am so thrilled that fluorescent adolescent was one of the stories that pushed you to write! please do update soon!! and have you thought about getting a banner?

amazing amazing amazing. ive said this before but update sooon!! ♥

Author's Response: hi! I really can't say how much it means to me that you took the time to review, because youre really such a brilliant writer and Im so so in love with your stories... so thanks a million! And I'm so glad you liked Astrid, as well as the intro plot line- I'm hoping it isn't too confusing aha! Anyway, I will definitely update as soon as possible and yes haha, I've finally put a request up :) again thank you so much for being so lovely xoxo

 Report Review

Review #2, by greenbirdsThe Middle: The Kids All Dream of Making It

15th October 2015:
ohhhkaay! i haven't stopped reading this for an hour, and now it's over, i'm a bit like ? please update soon! i totally understand about prioritising real life (want to underline the totally because i really really do) but ahh! i'm so into this!

nooo. i can't believe the bet is over. it all kind of makes sense now- the bet, nat and freddie's ulterior motive, and dare's actions towards minnie as of late. (also, can i just express my admiration of the nickname minnie rather than dom? love it)- also, i'm kind of feeling james and nat together? she's SO high strung and demanding, and he's so protective and in comparison, relatively easy going... idk! it was just seeing them running trials together, i suppose. but who knows.

and oh WOW. i forgot to comment on it in my earlier review, but poor poor brain! that is so unfair of rose weasley; i really do hope she gets her come-uppance. like literally. poor brain! that is awful. it's so good of the group to take her under her wing, but minnie is right, it isn't quite enough. also a testament to how minnie is actually such a softie under all that hard, tough bravado- you can see she genuinely does care for brain. why haven't rose's older cousins intervened? or al and scorpius befriended her?

or am i reading too much into it? hahaha.

also also also let me comment on how BRILLIANT the thestral scene was between the boys, mathilda ramsey and greengrass. i loved it! it actually inspired me to start another next-gen story- obviously won't be copying, but yeah, you've definitely inspired me.

and finally- oh! /that/ what the quidditch incident! i can see why minnie disliked dare for so long, that would really get under my skin too, especially how it went so against his reputation everyone dismissed her claims. that would so annoy me!

Author's Response: Muahahah, totally got you hooked. >:)
But really, it does make me super happy inside to see that you enjoyed this chapter! I just made a goal to try and write at least a page each day, and so far so good. I'm crossing my fingers to have another chappie up within the next month but if I can get it up before the year ends, I'll consider it an improvement.

Anyway, yep the bet is officially over. It's been running for like, five chapters now? But alas, all good things must come to an end. Don't worry, there are still plenty of other shenanigans on the way. As for Nat and James... we're just going to have to wait and see on that. I don't really intend on pairing everyone off, but they might have a short-lived fling pop up. No promises, though. But they do make for an interesting match.

Yeah, poor Brain. It kinda sucks having your only friends be two years above you. She gets left all alone to face the wrath of Rose Weasley. As for why no one's intervened - it's gonna be revealed more in depth later on. The short answer however, is that we are seeing Rose from Minnie's point of view. This doesn't mean that the rest of the Weasley clan perceives her the same way. It makes for some interesting family tension. Al and Scorp haven't befriended her because they're kinda too caught up in their own Slytherin clique drama to pay much attention to any thing else. Though I do intend for that to change, so you'll just have to wait for all of the fun to unfold.

I'm so glad you liked the threstral scene! Hahaha, yeah, it was totally random. My sister actually gave me the idea - she's my beta, though she's currently on a hiatus - and I decided to stick it in there. And if you're inspired, go for it! That's super flattering to know I was actually able to inspire someone. :)

Anyway, thanks again for your great review! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by greenbirdsThe Middle: Karma's A Witch

14th October 2015:
oh my god, oh my god, oh my gooddd... whaatt!! minnie so has a thing for dare!! and he so, so fancies her back. omfg. WHAT. that was genuinely, genuinely unexpected from the beginning of the story, when the two of them are introduced. you know how some 'sexual tension' stories are so so blatantly obvious in their outcome? well this wasn't, not at all, and i loved it. i'm so glad you're back and you're updating again. i'm almost nervous to read the next chapter, as it'll be the last i'll read of 'the middle' for a while, i'd imagine, until your next update. when will that be, btw? do you know? i'm so, so hooked on this.

i love everybody. dare and minnie, obviously; nat, i adore, as i do james and eli; the relationship between scorpius and al (so well written, the best canon writing of the duo based off how rowling presented them). even matilda ramsey, who is awful, i do love, because you've written her so well and so excitedly ahhh i'm just so overwhelmed by this! amazing amazing amazing, love luv luurrvvee ♥

Author's Response: Hahaha, I'm so glad you've enjoyed the story so far! Your review totally made my day. Especially the part about Minnie and Dare being unexpected (though it still hasn't been stated that Min likes him... yet). Like, I was kinda worried that it was pretty obvious. So for you to say that it was genuinely unexpected, yeah totes made my day.
I'm glad to be back also. My hiatus was much needed, but I plan on being much more active with my writing now. Still don't promise super quick updates, but I do promise this isn't the last one. I'm not gonna say when the next chapter will be up but I will tell you it won't take two years again, haha. So no fear, proceed with reading the next chapter. ;)

And thank you for your review! It really does make me super happy seeing that you love my characters so much. Actually, everything bout your review made me super happy. Thanks again!
Love, Camila :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by greenbirdsThe Sacred Twenty-Eight Club: The Benstrument

13th October 2015:
you already know how excited i am by this story! i read your other story and whilst it was still great, obviously, i love seeing how your writing's progressed over time. it's the same with me, i just wish i haven't deleted all my old stories hahah! but honestly, this is so, so good- especially by not only the relationship between james potter and carina, but carina herself. what a great character! i like how well you've written her traits, without coming out and saying it, which is always admirable. you can see through her dialogue and interactions how much of a ravenclaw she is- intelligent, academic and special in her own right, drifting away from her family and society upbringing. yet she still has that sophistication, that elegant composure in how she holds herself- really nicely contrasted against be, who i LOVE, she's great. again, i'm so excited.

and james! that sounds really interesting. i always imagined him to be more intrigued- even attracted- to girls he doesn't quite /get/ rather than girls more like susan wilde, who, as carina and zoe said, is quite 'easy'. i like how you refrained from slut shaming, but still kept the dialogue as how normal teenagers would gossip about their class mates, it's refreshing. and levi & lily! v v v intriguing! you have got to update soon!

aaand- from somebody who is incredibly sensitive to the relationship between reviews and motivation to write, i totally get that. i love your idea of reviewing everything you read, it's a really nice idea, like we all know the excitement of seeing unanswered reviews (0) go to (1) right? i think i may join you on that one hahahah.

please update soon! i love luv luuurve this!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, my other story - especially the beginning- is a little cringe worthy! It was my first, and kind of like my baby, so I could never hate it or not finish it, but I can definitely see improvement in my writing.

I'm so happy you like Carina! I've always tried to 'show' not 'tell' like my English teachers always said, so I'm glad that's coming across!

James is into girls like Susan Wilde as more of a short term thing, which is all anyone his age is looking for. As far as long term, he's definitely into a girl who's going to challenge him!

And slut shaming is such a big deal it's getting its own paragraph! Just in recent months, I've realized what a big deal it is! Girls are treated so differently and it's not fair! We should be able to do whatever we want without being judged! Feminism for life! ! ! !

(Sorry about the side rant, I've got a bit of a feminist problem...)

No! Don't be worried about the amount of reviews you get! Girl, your story is fabulous! I will come and review every chapter if you need me too!

And you should totally join me! Until I started writing I did know how wonderful it was to get a review! It's so easy to say a couple of things after I read something. I mean where else am I going to put my thoughts on the chapter?

The next chapter is (sort of) in the works!


 Report Review

Review #5, by greenbirdsDenying Affections: Unpleasant Coincedences

6th October 2015:
oh my /god/. i LOVE it. like literally. where do i begin?

firstly, i love that pam has financial issues at home. i adore that. so many ocs- including mine, embarrassingly enough- come from wealthy families, unconcerned about money, and just generally very much out of touch with the world of finance and the economy. which is kind of pathetic, given that a few important characters in the actual harry potter series- mainly speaking of, gosh, i don't know- the ENTIRE WEASLEY FAMILY???- were obviously poor poor poor, in a manner that very much mirrors that of pam's. except, more of a rural poor, than an inner city london (love how you chose ealing! such a dynamic, multicultural, very council estatey but not quite hackney in terms of poverty place!! good shout!!).

and secondly- her relationship with louis, with her brother, with kit and with vi are just so, so cute! very realistic, even though we've only seen a few scenes with them so far, i'm very excited. i love louis, in all his ravenclaw snobbery, i'm imagining hunter parrish being lumped with that kid from love, actually as danny west? which is, obviously, a very endearing image. and speaking of face claims- kaya as pam? perfect. all of this is perfect, but especially kaya. nothing quite says gritty british teenager, kind of raw, kind of vulnerable, kind of edgy beauty like kaya.

and! as levels! love your explanation of 'newts' going from 'ewts'; makes total sense, as AS levels are a recent educational reform anyway, so not that far a stray from canon to imagine the ministry undergoing educational reform post-1990s. and this festival that pam can't afford just SCREAMS reading festival, although i suppose that's more post-owls than post-newts... i'm very excited about all of this, evidently.

and lastly- james. ahhh. could i /be/ any more excited? absolutely not. what a cliffhanger! i'm kind of assuming he's a year above? because she's got that whole fit-popular-year-above-boy excitement, despite him being related to her best friend? annyywaayy- you have GOT to update soon. i'm so obsessed ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: BEA YOU'RE THE BEST

 Report Review

Review #6, by greenbirdsYear Five: After

5th October 2015:
i keep coming back to this story- not as a whole, but fragmented into my favourite chapters and scenes, and it thrills me every. single. time. i'm still so flattered that you said my review was one of the nicest you've ever gotten, and i want to be (one of) the first to congratulate you on your dobby! i couldn't vote, but i was rooting for you- tristram, really- all the same. i couldn't be more pleased, you most definitely deserve it! this story is such a classic, and it's exciting that the rest of hpff seems to agree! massive, massive congrats ♥

Author's Response: SQUEE! Thank you so much! Man, that means a whole lot to me :)

I'm still sort of in a state of shock about Dobby. Like... REALLY?!?!?!?! I really never thought many people would like this story, and I kind of keep refusing to believe that they do.

And you were rooting for me/him?!?! AH! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by greenbirdsTraitorous Hearts: The Writing On the Wall

5th October 2015:
“I DO NOT bat my eyelashes.”

“I was talking about Potter.”

i literally laughed out loud at that! there are many witty, humorous writers at hpff, but you've managed to encompass such a rowling-esque type of humour- british (fitting for the characters), quite dry, and you know, i can imagine ginny having that conversation. which is such a testament to your talent as a writer- same goes for draco, especially his "brawn over brains" line. absolutely amazing- i ADORE traitorous hearts! it's amazing, it's brilliant, it's perfect. i'm so glad i decided to give it a read- usually i stay within the realm of next/gen rom-coms (which clearly this isn't) but there's such an essence of jk rowling's tone within your writing, i'm in love.

and astoria! what a GREAT character! i WISH i could write a character like how you've portrayed her! i love love LOVE how you've set up the dynamics between her and draco- the two teenagers caught up in this very adult war, it's spellbinding. i just couldn't be happier i have a few more chapters to read.

also- love astoria's scenes with ginny. there's a real sense of girl power (although the term 'girl power' seems perhaps a bit too adolescent, almost spice girls-esque for these two) between these contrasting, but ultimately very similar characters. and i love how you've portrayed ginny- again, so faithful to her portrayal in the books, especially how you've written her persepective on /that/ chamber of secrets scene. scenes? i'm exhausted, sorry. just brilliant.

Author's Response: Hi!

So, your review absolutely made my day. I'm sorry that it took me so long to respond to it--things have been a bit crazy around her of late, but thank you SO much!

I'm glad that you like the humor, and I'm SO excited that you think it fits in with JK's style. That's just such an incredible compliment and I'm so honored. With Astoria, I knew the humor couldn't exactly be slapstick--it just wouldn't fit her character or her circumstances. But I didn't just want it to be grim and gloomy without some jokes, even if they were drier than the Sahara desert.

Heehee, and that's one of my favorite lines :D

Honestly, I'm just so overwhelmed. Like, I don't even know HOW to give this a proper response other than to say "Thank you, thank you, thank you so much!" over and over again. But I shall make an attempt!

Ack! i'm so happy that you love my baby. She's so fun to write, though definitely a challenge. I originally had her as a total anti-heroine, but as time went on I realized how much better a person she is than she *thinks* she is. Astoria has been told all her life that she fills a certain stereotype--she's a Slytherin: ruthless, cunning, intent on saving her own neck. She's been told that she can't be a hero, and has been taught to look at "heroic" people with disdain, as idealists and hopeless romantics. But obviously a lot has happened to make her question her upbringing. She's still got a long way to go, but so far it's been a really fun journey for me, and I'm glad to see that you've enjoyed it as well!

Writing her and Draco has been fun, too, because it's definitely been a bit of a slow burn romance. They're separated by necessity and by distrust, but they are also pulled together by those things. I love getting to explore how these two kids, who have been forced to grow up very suddenly, face war in different ways.

Astoria's scenes with Ginny are some of my favorites. I knew as soon as I first wrote them into a room together that, oh, this was going to be fun. They kind of surprised me with how well they played off of each other, and it's made a huge difference in the trajectory of the story. And haha, I think girl power, works, though I see your point about the Spice Girls ;)

Ginny is another delight to write. I loved her character, but the movies never did do her justice, and even in the books we only ever got glimpses of her. So taking her character and getting to kind of flesh it out has been an absolute delight! This chapter was so important to me--it's one of my absolute favorites--because so much happens in it. I wanted to explore exactly what heading Dumbledore's Army meant to Ginny, why she was willing to put herself in so much danger, and what was driving her. Because the truth is that it wasn't just "bravery". Ginny has as much a vendetta against Voldemort as anyone, save perhaps Harry. He tried to destroy her, and she came out stronger. Getting to really show that was so important to me. And then, of course, Ginny's strength gives Astoria a reason to question what she's always thought about what it means to be "good". Ginny isn't weak. She has a reason--not so different than Astoria's own reason, when Astoria first thrown into all this--to be fighting the Death Eaters. Astoria has always thought that Slytherins were kind of on their own, the only sensible people, but she can respect Ginny. And really, that kind of changes everything.

I'm just still absolutely giddy to hear that you liked the story so much. There's a new chapter in the queue, so that should be up soon if you're interested. Thank you so much for writing this lovely review. I can't even tell you how encouraging it is. You've made me smile so much.


 Report Review

Review #8, by greenbirdsThe Human Factor : The One Where It All Begins

5th October 2015:
re-reading this again because it truly is one of my favourite fics on the archives. i loved it so much before i got an account and re-reading it, i realise i adore it even more now. how crazy is it to compare her narrative in this chapter to the most recent update?? just highlights how good and versatile of a writer you are!

this review isn't very long im afraid- i have nothing else to add apart from how much i love pippa, scorpius, damien... even albus too, i suppose, in his nebulous enigmatic way. so so excited to read more! especially as ive forgotten most of the plot by now (another testament to you as a writer- im enjoying this just as much in 2015 as i did in 2011)

 Report Review

Review #9, by greenbirdsBeat It: Beat It

5th October 2015:
i love, luv, luurrvvee this so far. ive been meaning to read it for ages, as i adore quidditch fics, and it's exciting to find one taking place post-hogwarts- especially with a woman in the lead, rather than a potter boy as it is usually! and roxanne is really, really great. fiesty, exciting and such clear sexual tension already with jason turner.

looking forward to reading the rest!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by greenbirdsDenying Affections: Cafe Girl

29th September 2015:
sophiieee!! ♥ ♥
(i haven't done double ii since my chavvy year 7 days of nike just do it bags and claire's hoop earrings. how embarrassing)
i love this so far. like LOVE. you've not only totally hooked me on pam and vi and louis but you've also put me off working all together- which wasn't that hard, really, i don't think i've ever been on working, if that makes sense. can i be in school forever pls??
i want to meet james! and find out more about the auror training week, and pam and her mum and just /everything/. please please update soon!! also i'm totally with pam on awful first names, my full name is beatrice and if that's not elizabethan era (mmm perhaps victorian- but still pre-ww1) then i don't know what is.

Author's Response: hahah thank you and love you! hahah. i guess im still in that chavy year 7 phase then, hoop earrings check. Yay so glad you like! hahaha yeah I am in a double free at school atm and writing for hpff, work far far away in the depths of my bag. james will be in the next chapter! this is the first time im actually writing with a vague plot planned out in my head that lasts more than the next chapter . also beatrice is nice!

 Report Review

Review #11, by greenbirdsThe Sacred Twenty-Eight Club: A (not so) Scandalous Train Ride

2nd September 2015:
i'm really enjoying this. i think it's an incredible idea, and so very canon, which makes it all the more exciting! it's the kind of story i wish i thought of, you know? but whatever. so clever and well-written. looking forward to the next chapter!

also, i LOVE lana del rey AND taylor swift, and reading your a/n made me smile. i'm always finding myself stealing gossip girl storylines for my own stories, so i can very much relate to this hahaha ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you think it's canon. I looked into every little thing about the pureblood families to keep it as canon as possible!
I feel that way about some stories too, and I was shocked that no one had actually thought of this idea first!
Omg Lana del Rey and Taylor Swift are my life. Especially Taylor Swift! Instead of writing the next chapter for this, I've just been watching her 'Wildest Dreams' music video!
I'm glad I'm not the only one who does that! GG partially inspired this story, and I always find myself subconsciously putting things from there into my story!
Thank you for reviewing! You're so sweet!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by greenbirdsBathing in Roses: Bathing in Roses

26th August 2015:
this is honestly one of my favourite stories on this site- if not my absolute favourite- and your characters, wit, prose and plot never fail to both impress and amuse (when appropriate of course!) you are so talented, and im disgusted at myself for taking this long to review- this may be the third or fourth time ive read bathing in roses, and it honestly gets better with every reading!

above all, the development of june as a character is what awes me the most, and really highlights your talents as a writer. i love her, i love her relationship with albus- funny and angsty and romantic and above all, just so entertaining to read- the way this story is june's story, a real coming of age if there ever was one! "growing up with romance" - yes! perfect! to be honest, BIR is always kept at the back of my mind whenever i write my own coming of age fanfiction. you're such an inspiration.

thank you so much for writing this! until next time! (is it cheesy to quote your AN and/or priscilla? who is, btw, my all time favourite OC)

Author's Response: Hi there! This review really brightened my day, so thank you :D

Thank you so much :o I can't believe you've read this so many times! This story is really special to me--I wrote it in the end of high school/beginning of college, so it's like a photograph of that period in my life. By and large, I've outgrown it, but it represents a turning point in my life and my writing, so I'm super fond of it and it makes me really happy when another person likes it too! :D

June is definitely meant to be a little annoying in the beginning, but I had so much fun "growing her up" and having her be more independent and decisive. By any chance, have you read the mini-sequel "This Time With Us"? There's much more of grown up June (and grown up everybody) because of a 7 year timeskip. Not sure if that would be your thing, but it's out there if you haven't read it and you're curious!

Thank you so much for reading! And Priscilla would be very offended if you or anybody else thought quoting her was cheesy :P Until next time!


 Report Review

Review #13, by greenbirdsKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to Keeping Calm and Coffee Stains

17th August 2015:
my dad is obsessed with in the thick of it! i suppose he's the type to be obsessed with all bbc series of a decent standard but i like how you watch it too haha, and whilst i don't follow it, j know what goes on... you know?
politics!! what a great idea!!! the characters are exciting, the plot is too- im thrilled! and really anticipating the next chapters. love it!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! :)

Haha I totally get what you mean. I'm a BBC addict and I check out most new shows to test them out. The Thick of It is definitely a favorite though! It's so terribly awkward and cringe-y but also hilarious. Although it definitely inspired KCACO, I haven't actually incorporated it that much into the story, although there will be some subplots/arcs that draw on it. (Plus...I'm writing a character inspired by Malcolm Tucker on the chapter I'm currently working on. So there's that.)

I'm glad to hear you're excited by the characters/plot! Hopefully the rest of the story will live up to your expectations! :) Hope you get a chance to check out the next chapter soon!

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by greenbirdsGet in Line: Out With The Old

13th August 2015:
(i am a major fan of scandal and just the shonda rhimes universe in general so yes i THOROUGHLY enjoyed the drinking game and the fact that the boys watch it because what else says men who respect women then men who not only stick up for moss in a time like that but who watch a show run by the queen of female empowerment and sass?)

okay soo. this was SO WORTH THE WAIT. i have so many feelings, let's gooo-

1. obviously im going to prioritise the slut shaming of cyrus and mitch. teenage boys in general have double standards regarding female sexuality- that's not a big deal, that's normal- but the way in which they spoke about their best friend was so deeply misogynistic, so disgusting that i actually flinched. luckily mose seems too strong and empowered to let them get away with an apology or whatever- well i hope so- i reckon the boys are more sorry that she heard rather than over what they said. but idk. i have a theory with boys like those two that they're really just intimidated by girls who can own their sexuality and flaunt it unapologetically- you know? but yeah, they're your characters, what do you think?

2. i LOVE love LOVE freddie and james. i LOVE them!! okay yay im really happy they've turned into the good guys here. well- obviously- but yeah. so much love.

3. mose is just so great. i have so much admiration for her. we should all strive to be less cyrus, more mose.

update soon! i so so loved this.

Author's Response: OKAY LIKE HOW GOOD IS SCANDAL?! Olivia Pope is my one true love. Like she beats out Movie Hermione and Book Ginny for me which is saying A LOT.


I totally love your thoughts on boys being intimidated by girls who can own their own sexuality! Mitch and Cyrus probably don't realize they are intimidated by Jordan but I could definitely see that. It was hard for me to write that section cause I was just so angry with the pair of them. Especially as a feminist that hates slut shaming.

AND SAME. James and Fred are my absolute baes. They are incredibly fun to write and shockingly easy to write as well.

I love Jordan too. I think, as a reader, she takes a bit to warm up to but I just think she's awesome.

SO SO happy you liked the story! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! I really appreciate it xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by greenbirdsEnemies with Benefits : The Morning After

6th August 2015:
i could not be happier you've uploaded. like i was actually beaming when reading it. dessie and freddie are SO CUTE, freddie's funny and charmingly arrogant and best of all, can laugh at himself. i love it when boys do that. or maybe it's just with dessie he can do that with?
love love love. omg omg omg. please update soon!! i couldn't stop grinning throughout the whole. I LOVE EWB YAYAYAY

Author's Response: Yay!! I'm so so happy that you enjoyed it. 1000x apologies for how long it took! I'll try and update again soon xx Look out for a new chapter of Get In Line in the meantime though!

 Report Review

Review #16, by greenbirdsRush: fall

3rd August 2015:
i am so, SO sorry it has taken me so long to review. of course i read it the second you uploaded the second chapter, and of course i loved it. i think it's one of those things where the chapter leaves you stunned and kind of speechless and really not fit for leaving a decent, deserving review. so after maybe the fifth time i've read the chapter, i think it's time i sit down and write, you know?

okay so firstly- your prose is magnificent. i'm in love, i'm besotted, i'm obsessed; you are so talented. you really capture the delicate compromise of writing the realistic narrative of a teenage girl, but also filling it with actual good writing, as opposed to the usual sarcastic one-liners you find on this site. your writing is raw and yet totally sophisticated, which is reflected in josie's character, making her all the more likeable. i love it when writers and their characters collide and the writer's talent and the character's talent entwine. you know?

also wow! cliffhanger or what? you left the last chapter on a major one, and yet the anticipation for ch.3 is still as big. so why is the scar burning? i'm so excited to find out, especially with josie and albus involved.

i LOVE josie and albus. i love all your characters full stop, but especially those two. the way you write albus is incredibly refreshing- he's very much a normal schoolboy, but there's something kind of extraordinary about him, but maybe that's just josie's narrative? or maybe it's just the summer holidays and everybody seems more exciting, more vivid when school's out. i don't know, but you're doing a wonderful job.

i'm so, so excited about this. also i LOVE the new banner! you change it quite often but this is definitely my favourite one so far. are you on tda?

FAB FAB STUFF XX i'm so pumped for the next chapter. update soon! you rock ♥ (no but seriously i am so sorry about the delay in writing this review)

 Report Review

Review #17, by greenbirdsetc. etc. (and life goes on): The Casualties of War

3rd August 2015:
oh gosh. i can't remember if this is the fifth or sixth time i have read etc. etc. all i know is that- in my opinion- it is perfect and my go-to fic when i need writing inspiration. i am so in love. when will you next update?
(this is my favourite chapter btw)
keep on rocking n rolling x x x x

Author's Response: aw thanks! I'm always trying to write;; it's just a matter of time. keep poking!

 Report Review

Review #18, by greenbirdsThe Ninth Life: Fairy Tale

30th July 2015:
im speechless. this is so bittersweet and beautiful. the imagery, first of all, is outstanding- i love the way you described the dusty room of the first chapter and contrasted it to the fairy tale imagery of her imagination- it only served to make each scene read more vividly. the dialogue between louis and cat is perfect, and i loved her conversation with rose- even the "congratulations" just highlights how low cat had tumbled in comparison to her friends. kind of where cat would or could be if she wasn't so addicted? im assuming. again, i love how you dont explicitly say what it is that's ruined her.

the ending scenes are just as beautiful to read. i love how she ended up in paris, with louis' family, and i love the ending paragraph. "dark wings against the summer sky" amazing! the narrative throughout this is so well written- dreamy and almost nonchalant in tone, which almost makes it sound lyrical, poetic. i loved this ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much- you do not know how absolutely lovely this review was. I wrote this one-shot ages ago, and then was quite nervous about posting, it being quite deep 'n' all that, but your review has made it all ok. Bittersweet and beautiful have to be the two best compliments for Cat's story- originally it was going to have a happier ending- with Louis and Cat together (although who knows what happened later...) I used to write far more things like this when I was younger, all dreamy and sad, and kind of grew out of it- so it was quite nostalgic stepping back in.. But anyway, thank you so so much- I now desperately want to write more of Cat and Louis' story, from when they were at Hogwarts, but feel like I would ruin it and regret it. Anyway I have rambled on for ages, but cannot thank you enough, literally.

 Report Review

Review #19, by greenbirdsThe Rules Of Law: Knightsbridge

28th July 2015:
im so obsessed, and im only a chapter in. the dynamics between james and octavia are brilliant- i love their unsteady banter of all new relationships you've written so well, and also the underlying attraction im feeling between the two. Lennox seems interesting, i already love pax and rei reminds me of the asian student from jack whitehall's bad education. i dont know if you've watched it (im assuming you're british from your knightsbridge reference- which i also loved because london! west london! most expensive postcode in the eu! rock on) but she really does! and she's a great character, so yeah. i love it all.

i think above all the idea of law interns is what excited me the most. there haven't been many post-hogwarts next gen stories up recently, and i miss them! and this is so great. law interns are SUCH a good idea! i admire how you've swerved the easy auror intern or healer interns- law is so interesting and there's so many stories you could craft out of it.

i know im repeating myself, but im so excited. im so excited! you've hit such a great balance between good characters, a good plot and a good narrative- this is going to be great. update soon ♥

Author's Response: Wowowow you have literally made my day I LOVE you and is it bad that I fangirled when I saw you reviewed because I'm honestly so in love with flurorescent adolescence ?? You have no idea

So happy you're liking the characters, James and Octavia already have chemistry obviously but they also have tons of issues and barriers which will be later revealed ;) pax is everything, Lennox is a babe and REI. I love Rei.

I'm not British but to be mistaken as that is so amazing because like I wanted to try and make the setting as real as possible even though I basically have no idea about London/UK geography in general (I'm from Australia)

I almost slipped down the Auror path I must admit but then I realised what I really wanted was a mixed bunch of badass lawyers (inspired by how to get away with murder which you have to watch) and law interns is really diverse and I have so many ideas in my head that actually choosing which ones to use is the real struggle but new chapter should hopefully be up VERY soon

I'm excited that you're excited and thank you so much for the review, I love hearing any feedback!

 Report Review

Review #20, by greenbirdsYear Five: Cleaner, More Brilliant

15th July 2015:
i cannot believe how entranced i was in this! i usually try not to read stories so quickly, but i sped straight through this, so eager to read more. i finished it in a day and a half. i'm absolutely speechless. i couldn't even leave reviews when i had such strong views and opinions and praise- i was so keen to carry on reading. so sorry about that, but hopefully this review will make up for it? alright, so...

1. i love isobel. i see so much of myself in her, it's almost frightening. thank you so much for creating her. i'm not going to ramble on about my personal life, but yeah, yeah, yeah, isobel is SO GREAT. i've sent several screenshots of her persepective to some friends and they completely agree- i think writing characters that readers can relate too on such a level must be one of the greatest talents a writer could possess. you're absolutely amazing. BUT the quirrell kiss plot line- oh my god! oh my GOD! that was so crazy! when i read his death scene when i was like, eight, i remember thinking he died quite sadly- but now i'm so happy, i really think he got what he deserved, especially as isobel never officially filed the action against him.

2. i love how you've written oliver. i'm personally a fan of the rom-com oliver/oc stories you find on here, but i feel like they 'james potter II' him too much (if that makes sense? sorry i'm exhausted), not giving him his own character. how you wrote him is exactly how the football captain at my school acts, and i like how you embodied the bad traits of gryffindor within him too. it was so great seein the gryffindor/slytherin conflict from the slytherin persepective, like obviously gryffindors aren't going to be complete saints.

3. the way you crafted this whole story about eating disorders, addiction and mental health is just awing. i'm sure everyone's mentioned it to you by now, but you handled it with such sensitive neutrality and simplicity it reads like a professional novel. this kind of reminds me of 'girl, interrupted' by susanna kaysen, especially the laurel storyline. so brilliant, so awing, so talented. again, i'm so tired so i'm probably doing a terrible job of expressing how impressed i am- sorry! you just need to know (hopefully you already do) how incredible this is! how incredible you are!

4. tonks and emily's friendship is so great! i loved that! i know it's a smaller detail compared to the other happenings of the story, but i loved it!

5. onto a longer point (sorry if i'm boring you by now)- i really admired how you handled the plot of tristan and his parentage. you could have easily given it a constant presence to keep readers reading, or just for the sake of a good cliffhanger, but you didn't, and it made the story- and the writing- all the more stunning. i read somewhere that a good writer doesn't need to rely on cliffhangers to keep their readers, and it's most certainly true. and on the subject of tristan's parents- i'm so happy (like i was physically beaming at my computer screen) that he got that closure with rabastan senior, and got better. not completely, fully, wholly better- that would be unrealistic, especially for a teenager- but he DID gain a lot, i think, from speaking to his father, and i'm so glad. i'm so glad in general that the four all got better and defeated their problems, but especially tristan.

6. your references to muggle culture of the 1990s is so great! i loved it! i JUST missed the 90s that tristan loved so much, but you know, i still went through my emo year 7 stage, i still spent itunes vouchers on nirvana and my chemical romance whilst talking about how much i hate my parents on myspace, i'm down with that. kind of. anyway- i just loved how you really embellished the details of his passion for muggle music and literature. and speaking of details-

7. your commitment to keeping this completely canon is unbelievable. i've run out of adjectives to describe your talent and adverbs to describe my reaction to it, so i'm starting to sound really repetitive here, but IT'S SO ADMIRABLE. you deserved all the praise you've been getting, and so much more.

above all, you're such a talented writer, and this was an absolute pleasure to read. thank you so so much for writing this. i really hope you carry on writing, i'm so excited to read more of your work! you have such raw talent, and such a way with not only prose, but characters and plot. you're awe me, and i can't praise you enough.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you SO MUCH! This is really something of a dream review, right here, and I'm kind of squeeing and jumping up and down and generally having an explosion of feels :D

I'm SO glad to hear that you read this story all at once, because that's very much how it was intended to be read. I wrote it all out and edited it before uploading, rather than writing and posting chapter by chapter, so it doesn't really have the episodic structure of a lot of other fics. Hence why there's never any cliffhangers :P

But thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to leave such a moving, insightful, thoughtful review. You've really made my day! It's just so encouraging and means so much to see that this story resonated with someone.

My first draft of this review response was WAY over the character limit, so I'm going to have to shorten everything I wanted to say! To try and keep myself from just rambling at you and shouting THANK YOU while I smash my hands on the keyboard, I'll reply number by number.

1. You have no idea how happy I am that you appreciated Isobel's character and arc! I've known a lot of people to suffer from eating disorders, so it was really important to me that I wrote about it as accurately and sensitively as possible. And I also didn't want to reduce her to her illness, and have her be a lot of other things outside of just sick, so it means so much to me that you found her perspective compelling and relatable. As for the Quirrel thing... UGH. That was NOT a fun scene to write :( But I've noticed a trend in teen stories where teacher/student plotlines are kind of shipped, or treated as romance. I wanted to subvert that here, and show that NO THAT IS NEVER OKAY (hence it being an assault, rather than a 'consensual' thing--although I think consent is always dubious when there's such a pointed power imbalance).

2. I'm so glad you liked what I did with Oliver! Yes to everything you said!

3. I'm really stoked that you used the term 'neutrality.' I never wanted to do any grandstanding in this story and I knew that readers are smart enough that they didn't need me to tell them what to think. And yeah i was DEF inspired by 'Girl, Interrupted' when it came to Laurel! Well spotted!

4. When I was planning this fic and realized they would have overlapped with Tonks I JUMPED WITH JOY

5. It's funny, because Tristan's backstory was originally going to all get revealed really early on (like, in Ch1). Then it got pushed off to Ch10, and then LAST MINUTE I decided to hold off the big reveal until the end. And I'm super glad you think I handled well, rather than just as a little hook to get readers interested. I also love what you said about him getting better, but not "completely, fully, wholly better." I wanted the ending to this story to be happy, but still realistic. Things are better, and their memories of the past will eventually take on an almost rosy.

Like, when I originally got this idea, I thought it would be a really light and funny story. I had really fond memories of my crazy teenage years. Then, once I started writing, ALL this stuff started coming back to me, and I remembered how AWFUL being a teenager was. So yeah, the happy ending is that they'll look back on this terrible time, and only see the good. And the past is the past--it's just a story we tell ourselves, so you can change the past by telling a happier story.

6. THE 90S! I was so annoyed that the films were set ambiguously present day, so I had a LOT of fun being like HEY LOOK, THE 90S! I was a baby when this story takes place, so I did a WEIRD amount of research to get it right :)

7. THE CANON! That was also incredibly fun in a kind of nerd way :) I really wanted readers to BELIEVE that this could have been happening in the background.

I too am finding myself at a loss for words with which to thank you! This might be my favorite review I've ever gotten, and you have no idea how much it means to me!


 Report Review

Review #21, by greenbirdsDebonair: One To Another

12th July 2015:
so i actually laughed out loud at "saucy salazer, racy rowena" and i practically never do that from reading. so funny!
i can't believe this is your first fanfiction! it's so good! i already love the story between lucy and asher, and gavin seems cool. we don't know a lot about the sienna (fab name) but i'm excited to learn more about her- i already really like her narrative. and her relationship (or lack of) with james is exciting- but when did they sleep together? new years or over the summer?
anyway, yeah. brilliant opening chapter, i'm excited for more! update sooon ♥

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I'm glad there's some form of comedic value - I was worried it would just be a bit drab! Also, with Sienna, she's a bit reserved, so we don't find out a lot about her outright. I'm glad you like my other characters though! :)
Sienna and James happen over New Year's - I'm assuming I've slipped up somewhere in the chapter and said summer which I will be fixing ASAP.
Thank you so much for the review!! Next chapter is up soon!

 Report Review

Review #22, by greenbirdsWildest Dreams: Ombré

7th July 2015:
i am the worst i thought i had reviewed the second i read it but it turns out i didnt and it's been up weeks now without a review :(
so i love love love this. your james is so great and attracting, kind of an enigma- you really dont know what games he's playing. arizona is, by contrast, really dreamy and stubborn- just be careful she doesn't stray into OC land of too much of the two, are they're quite common characteristics especially among potter love interests! i wrote the rule book for unknowingly following cliches and i really regret it - but already by chapter 2 arizona has such a developed personality - im just warning you in case it WAS to happen. does that make sense? idk?
yeah. i love this and i think it has such raw potential. you're so talented at writing and at capturing that perfect teenage heat of sexuality and naïveté, i love it. update soon!! and i LOVE alex.

Author's Response: aw ure not the worst, it's fine, really! (sometimes i do that too, mostly due to laziness or server error but ;o)
i love love love /you/
i'm sooo glad you like james, and yes, he /is/ sort of an enigma ;p
omg thanks for pointing out the typical OC thing, i'll try not to stray into OC land lol. i hope im not doing it .-.
i love alex too, isnt she just a little cutie? c:
thank you sooo much for such an amazing review, youre sooo lovely and nice! i love u ok. thank you, again! xx
(next update is just about to go up in the queue yay)

 Report Review

Review #23, by greenbirdsSocial Darwinism: The Other Happening That Happened on the Hogwarts Express + The Woes of a Queen

3rd July 2015:
i actually read this the second you uploaded the chapter, there's really no excuse other than laziness for my belated review. i just love what you've got going here- i think the characters are great if not kind of confusingly numerous, but obv that'll clear up in later chapters (as in we'll know the characters better and not be so confused).

your writing is amazing, love how you shift so effortlessly from persepective and each character's individual tone. this is so unique from the usual next gen cliches (including my own. guilty); im surprised that this doesn't have as many reviews as it deserves. i know ive said it before but ill say it again- you're such a talented writer! and im so excited to see what you'll come up with next.

great, great stuff. i particularly like mccartney and im SO excited to see where lily & scorpius go. please update soon!

Author's Response: I forgive you completely! I'm also guilty of giving belated reviews to authors, because of a combination of procrastination and laziness! Haha!

I know there really are so many characters! But each girl is individually different and they each have their own group of friends and people they interact with, so you've got to have at least three different friend groups for each girl! That adds up very quickly! So that's kind of my excuse as to why there's so many characters, but don't worry I'll try to help the reader out as much as I can!

*squealing and blushing* Thank you so much! You don't know what it means to me that you love this story so much! This review just made me so happy! :)

Thank you, I love Carty and her narrative is the next chapter so as soon as I get it back from my Beta it'll be in the queue!

Lily and Scorpius will have their stage time as well and their relationship is so much fun to write! Some of the best humor I've got in the story comes from LP and Scorpius so I love them!

I'll update ASAP, I promise! Thank you so much for your kind review, it made my day!


 Report Review

Review #24, by greenbirdsThe Wild Youth: Blue, Gin, Phil and Jem Part I

16th June 2015:
it's so incredible comparing where jenelle and james are now to where they were in the opening chapters. their muggle studies trip seems like a century ago, as does jenelle's intimate friendship with dom and luke. so much has changed but i'm just so excited to see where it's all headed!

i love the realness of twy- i know i've said it before but i'm saying it again, the raw teenage language and interactions and thought process of jenelle's mind is so well written and authentic, which makes twy not only that bit more unique but also that bit more exciting. you're such an incredible writer. and the way you celebrate each characters' flaws, like you don't try to hide them or excuse them- i mean, just the fact that you've included them in the first place as opposed to pretending harry potter next gen characters are either BAD CHEATERS or GOOD VICTIMS ala almost everyone else in the rom/com genre is so so SO great.

yeah i mean i LOVE this! i love james, i love freddie, i love jenelle's family we've only now been introduced to really- katie reminds me of a girl i sit next to in history so i suppose i like her in the sentimental but also pitying way, she's sweet- but above all i love jenelle! this is so jenelle's story. from the way she describes the hate she's getting at hogwarts for being the James Potter Heartbreaker to her interactions with her siblings and her friends- also the way she's presented in the opinions of other characters, such as katie, and ESPECIALLY the way she's so refreshingly unconcerned about this finn/james love triangle... i mean, you know? so done with all this teenage angst over two boys fancying a character and the said character collapsing over the pressure of it all. i just love love love jenelle. (finn seems a bit boring but obv we haven't actually met him yet so ye very excited for him in upcoming chaptahzzz)

i don't really know what else to say apart from you have GOT to update soon. and your russia thing was SO SO COOL i am so happy fluorescent adolescent inspired you does this make us friends?? i hope so??

update sooon ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: YOU'RE REVIEWS ARE ALWAYS THE BEST AND MAKE ME SO HAPPY. This is so sweet and amazing and literally everything you're saying is how I feel about Fluorescent Adolescent so ... cool. Very cool. And yesss ... Finn is quite dull right now, I actually still have no clue what kind of a person he's going to be!

I'll try to update as soon as I can! And of course we're friends! :) Thanks for this lovely, lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by greenbirdsSo Close To The Flame: Chapter 1 - Party Hardy

14th June 2015:
this is so great. i really love this. lainey's (great name) narrative reminds me of the meg cabot books which is my biggest guilty pleasure, and i really like the americanisation of hogwarts. i usually don't in fanfic, but you really make it work! lainey is amazing- feisty and independent, confident and sassy- and her two best friends are great, as is tristan. in fact all the characters so far are fantastic, and i LOVE your take on the james potter bad boy cliche. i know i've said it before in this review but i really love this! update soon, i'm so excited ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>