Reading Reviews From Member: magnifique11
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magnifique11Jigsaw: Piece #15

17th August 2015:
I would like to preface this with saying I'm not much of a mystery reader. I like a good, classic mystery TV show, but I've never really gotten into the written stuff. That being said, I loved this. I read all of it in two nights which is saying something considering how busy my life has been lately.

I love Roxanne, but you've made me love her even more because the way you've written her as a next gen character is so compelling. She's frustrating and funny and wonderful and honestly you can't help but love her and root for her - which is basically the goal of writing. To get your reader to have an emotion connection with your character. I adore her and I want to be best friends with her.

So I just have to say this really quick since I've caught on to the brilliance of this story a bit late, when Jane was gone for all that time I was so scared that she would be the next victim. I was screaming at Roxanne to go and check her apartment and make sure she was okay. I was so happy when she was, omg. That was a huge relief.

The mystery btw, WOW. I can tell that you've spent some time thinking this through, it shows in a really good way because I feel just as lost as Roxanne right now and I'm itching to know what's really going on.

Thank you so much for sharing this story, it's so wonderful and I'm so excited for more.


 Report Review

Review #2, by magnifique11Keep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to St. Mungo's and Carrying On

16th August 2015:

now that's out of the way - this is so great!
1) I love the Scamanders and I'm so glad Lorcan is your main character for this.
2) Wizarding politics are so cool and such uncharted territory, I love what you're doing with it! This is honestly such a fun/exciting idea.
3) Your approach/view on the original generation is really cool, and I also think very realistic. So many next gen stories are from family members of the trio, so having someone who isn't a family member and not necessarily influenced by that is really interesting.

Honestly, I love this, can't get enough of it. Why are there only two chapters??

Can't wait for more! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Julie! :D

OMG I'M SO GLAD SOMEBODY CAN APPRECIATE THIS. In the first chapter, he says a few things that are like painfully Collins-esque. I'm trying to reign it in but I also can't not read all of his lines in Collins's voice.

I've really liked developing Lorcan! I didn't have any idea who to write about and Kaitlin suggested Lorcan and here we are today! I don't see too many stories about Lorcan around here so I'm happy to fill that gap!

Ahhh I'm glad you like what I'm doing with it! Like the Lorcan thing, I don't see much about this so I'm excited to see how I take it. I have a fair amount of stuff planned out, but not too much, so we'll see what happens. Hopefully you continue enjoying it! :D

The other WIPs I'm working on are all Wotter-based so this is a nice break from that! There's definitely more freedom. Although Lily is a main character, so Harry is always lurking in the background haha.

Thanks so much for this review! It was so lovely and unexpected. :D I'll try to update soon! (Although I'm currently overwhelmed by plunnies for your challenge, so it may be a while!!)


 Report Review

Review #3, by magnifique11The Possibility of After: Tandem Grief

16th August 2015:
Your story is so different but so good at the same time! I love the Bones family and it's so great to see young Amelia getting some attention. Plus the Prewitts! I'm kind of hoping Molly makes an appearance sometime, I think it would be interesting to see her interacting with her brothers, (even though I'm fairly certain they die soon).

I think that overall you have a really great set-up to your story, which is awesome considering you have a colossal cliche to work with. I'm really looking forward to reading more. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by magnifique11Shenanigans and Hi-Jinks: Fruitless Research

15th August 2015:
Oh my gosh, I've never read a fic with Vic & Fred being bffs, but I love it! I need more fics like this so I can read all of them. Seriously though, I think your Vic is really unique and fun to read - if also anxiety-inducing because of that comb! I want to know how/why she has it, and I love banshees so I'm excited to see how you'll bring more of that in to the story.

I also wanted to add that I love your headcanons, especially the one about the professors and how class scheduling works because it makes so much sesne, especially considering how many students Hogwarts has. I may have to adopt some of the same ideas, (though of course I would never copy them - that's never okay).

I'm really looking forward to reading more and this is definitely a new favorite! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by magnifique11The Department of Spectral Affairs: Darkness

13th August 2015:
I feel like Regulus is usually a character who is written about as an afterthought in the background of a Sirius story or talked about in a forum post. There aren't a lot of just-Regulus stories and I don't think I've ever seen one about his afterlife or even about when he betrayed Voldemort and got the locket.

All that being said, I'm so so glad you're writing this story. This first chapter is so short but it works because it has to be with the style you're using and it's positively captivating. Really well done and I'm very much looking forward to more from you! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by magnifique11Honesty: Honesty

13th August 2015:
I really liked this! I enjoy when writers look at Pansy from different angles, and I think this one makes a lot of sense. Kids are so impressionable, I know that I've felt similarly to how you described Pansy feeling, (though in different ways as I wasn't a bully or a 'mean girl') because there's so much pressure to be someone instead of being yourself.

That being said, I can never get enough Theodore, so I thought the little tidbit with him at the end was very sweet. This was just a nice little story and I really enjoyed reading it, though if there would be one thing to critique I think that you over-explained some of Pansy's reasoning and it seemed repetitive. But that's a small thing overall. :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this as it's one of my older pieces. It's encouraging to hear that I could illicit some kind of a response in the form of a connection to the characters - I think that's one of the best things a writer can hear because it means their characters are realistic!

I've never really written about Theodore before or since this story but I loved having the chance to write him here. Thanks for the constructive criticism. I may look over this piece and try and polish it up at some point, since I haven't touched it in many years!

 Report Review

Review #7, by magnifique11Beyond the Dark: Three

12th August 2015:
Oh Theo is adorable! I love your take on him and the rest of the Slytherins. Since we didn't get a lot of Theo info from the books, I think it's very realistic to put him in kind of the anti-Slytherin stereotype role. And of course his interest in Harry is just adorable.

Speaking of, I also really like how you're writing Harry and pushing his angst and moodiness even further. With those emotions you have to go all-in for them to work and I think you're doing just that. Plus his relationship with Dean! Which is so awesome. Dean is such an underrated character and I love that you're using him and creating a voice for him.

Overall I'm really enjoying this so far and I'm looking forward to reading more and watching their relationship develop.

 Report Review

Review #8, by magnifique11The Rules Of Law: Hogsmeade

11th August 2015:
This is such an interesting concept - and I'm really enjoying your execution of it so far! I'm a little tired of the snarky James, but I think that yours is different enough to be new - especially since he has a long-term girlfriend, (though who knows how long she'll last) instead of just running around with every other witch available. Anyway, I love when people bring the Notts into the next generation. Theodore was such a mystery of a character, I love Octavia and I think she balances out the other characters well.

Overall, I'm looking forward to reading more and finding out more about this mysterious murder! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you like this enough to leave a review!!! Yeah I know what you mean about snarky James, while its fun to read it can also get super repetitive so I am aiming for the balance between cocky/confident but also like a genuine guy who can commit to people? Hopefully I can pull it off and he doesn't just turn out a disaster of a character!

I'm glad you like my use of the Notts, I feel like they are so under appreciated because obviously Theo wasn't your classic "good guy" but he didn't seem to be too invested in Slytherin either and I think it's fun to play with pure blood families who aren't all crazy .

More on the murder is coming, so keep reading and reviewing and help me make sure James doesn't turn into a cliche!!
Thanks so much for the feedback I LOVE you

 Report Review

Review #9, by magnifique11No Strings Attached: three.

11th August 2015:
1. I have an ace Scorpius, but your bisexual ones give me life as a bisexual person, (bless his little Hufflepuff self).
2. Demi Rose is what I've been waiting for and didn't know I needed - she is perfection.
3. I'm really happy you put the full blood is thicker than water saying in here because it drives me up a wall when people use it incorrectly.

In other words, this is fantastic and it fills my queer feminist heart with so much joy. Thank you so much for sharing this story and good luck as you continue it - I hope to read more soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by magnifique11Chai, Pakoras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Pakoras, and a Friend

11th August 2015:
This was so darn cute! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, and I loved your versions of Neville and Hannah, they felt so true and realistic to the characters. I'll have to check out the other Chais now, I think! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’m so pleased that you enjoyed reading it. And I hope you enjoy the rest of the Chais, too :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by magnifique11Flip.: Experimental.

10th August 2015:
I thought this was really interesting overall - and very poetic as well, which was added a layer of depth for me. I love Molly and I think it was great that you could write about her in such a dark way but maintain her vibrant personality - it also kind of gives a lot of insight into her character, that she would have those premonitions, it makes sense that later she would react even more strongly than most wizards. Overall, I really really enjoyed reading this. :)

Author's Response: I've always admired writers who could weave their words as if they were a poem and the fact that you thought this was poetic is a huge compliment for me so thank you! I feel like Molly is one of the characters from the books you can't hate, she's too friendly and caring. I think her nightmares sort of explain her boggart which was her dead family and I'm glad that it makes sense with what happens later in her life. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I loved hearing your thoughts on this!


 Report Review

Review #12, by magnifique11With Sudden Joy: With Sudden Joy

10th August 2015:
I wasn't sure about this when I first saw it because I usually don't like stories that are completely OC-centric, but I loved Henry. I think my favorite line was, "He was also dismayed to learn that running was hard." It gave me so much insight on his character and who I was going to be reading about. So, overall, I really enjoyed what you did with him because it was so fun and his journey felt so real. Plus, the ending was perfect. Henry chose what he wanted in the end, and it felt like the perfect choice.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you ended up liking the story even if you weren't sure in the beginning-- especially given that I have a whole lot of other stories on my page that deal with canon characters, it's great to hear that you gave this a chance anyway and that it paid off. It's funny, I remember writing that line, and I didn't intend it to be a super heavy thematic line, but I totally see where you're coming from with that. A lot of Henry's journey has to do with unexpectedness (whether that unexpectedness is a good thing or a bad thing) and then having the guts to give the unexpected a shot. Thanks for stopping by!

 Report Review

Review #13, by magnifique11Mean: The One Where they Return to Classes

23rd July 2014:
bisexual(bi-curious?) character. lesbian character. omgomgomg.

let me hug you. omg. I'm bi and I literally have /never/ seen a bi character (who I didn't write) on this website and tbh I'm about to cry this makes me so happy omg.

Like I was basically just going to write about how much I feel Lucy bc I've literally had someone say "you don't look gay/bi" to me before -__- but now I'm just so pumped about James being bi/bi-curious. This is a really cool moment for me, ya know? I mean, I'm a girl - but still! Someone like me in a fic is so rad.

And you know, the plot and the characterization are super rad as well! I'm just really glad that I decided to read this and I can't really reiterate my thoughts well right now but it's safe to say I will be looking forward to future updates! :)

Author's Response: omgomgomgomg

I'm not bi or gay, just straight (but there are some times where I'm not too sure because GIRLS) and I see so many things online where there are hardly any other non-straight people (I could list every single one but it'd be a pretty long response, then!) and it made me a bit sad because people of other orientations instead of straight, like yourself, and I needed that to reflect in my stories rather than having just one gay character in the whole novel, which I have done before I admit. Just having one gay character doesn't mean ~representation~ and so I wanted to expand it!

And right there, where you said: "Someone like me in a fic is so rad." is why representation is so important and hearing you say that has just made my day!!

Thank you so much for this amazing review!! So sorry for taking a ridiculously long time to respond!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by magnifique11Love in Three Acts: Epilogue: After the Curtain Fell

21st July 2014:
-sobs quietly- oh my goddd. I'm seriously in love with your version of wolfstar and this was so good. It was really heart-wrenching, but it was so good. I'm really glad that you wrote the epilogue, I thought it tied in well and brought their relationship back up to speed but now I'm just thinking about what could have been if Sirius hadn't died..

Don't get me wrong - I love, love, LOVE Remus x Tonks, but your story has just given me so many Remus x Sirius feels. I hope you did/do well in the challenge you wrote this for because it was really, really well written.

And now I just feel like I really need to go read everything else you've written because I am sure I'll love it!

Author's Response: HAI!

Oh my, you really know how to make a person's day!! When I started this, I knew it would be gut-wrenching towards the middle. I only decided on the epilogue after feeling so down after act 3. I'm really glad that tied it all together!!

Heck, I wrote two novels about Remus and Tonks :P but, I do think they can exist in the same universe. I did well in one of the challenges but I hadn't finished the whole story for the song one. Oh well, I really enjoyed writing this either way!

You're entirely too sweet!! Thank you very much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by magnifique11Background Noise: The Curse of Carkett Close

19th July 2014:
There aren't adequate words to describe how much I loved this chapter. Jo and Nora are fantastic and I adore stories that have one or both of the Scamanders in them, and Lizzy sounds just perfect.

Looking forward to the next chapter and hopefully meeting James (who sounds like quite the character) soon!

Author's Response: Hey there!

Aww, thank you for stopping by and reading and taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I'm awfully flattered to hear such a positive response for this story, which I started on a whim. And I'm glad you like the characters! Lorcan may pop up some time in the future.

I hope to get the next chapter up soon! I'm writing it. :) Thanks again, love.


 Report Review

Review #16, by magnifique11A Phoenix in the Sky.: A Phoenix in the Sky.

7th April 2014:
I really loved this! It felt so accurate and wonderful and true the characters and the books. It was honestly such an enjoyable read and it almost felt like coming home, coming back to the books, you know? Excellent job portraying the characters, especially Hermione. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review.

I write a lot about OCs and minor characters, so I'm not used to having to keep characters "in character" so much, as a lot of the people I write about don't have as much depth to their character in the books. So I'm glad to know she seems in-character, especially since I was trying to balance the fact she's clearly a very strong character in canon with the fact that what happened to her was truly horrific and is bound to have some degree of psychological effects.

Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by magnifique11Plagued By Ardor: Magical Mistletoe

12th December 2013:
Hey, it's JRose16 from over at the forums. :) Sorry it took me awhile to get to this, finals are killer! But this was not! This was a lovely change of pace, and I loved all the fluff! I think you wrote it really well, and I thought your characterization of the twins was completely on point. :) It just all made me smile and feel all gushy and happy inside. :DDD


Author's Response: Aw! Thanks so much! That was super sweet!

I hope your finals are going alright! :)

Thanks again for the lovely review!

-ReeBee :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by magnifique11Every Song Must End: Bitter...

9th December 2013:
I haven't really seen anything written in this way on HPFF before but I really enjoyed it! I think this was a great challenge to set for yourself, I know personally I would find it difficult too lol. But you pulled it off beautifully and I think the sort of raw/choppy way of writing this was really good for the story you were trying to tell. I also really liked how you didn't use names because I think that makes the characters so much more relatable, as weird as that is haha. Overall I just really liked this one-shot and I think it was very well written. :)

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much! This isn't like my usual style AT ALL, but it was fun writing something like this for a change! I could never do it for very long or on a regular basis, but it was definitely a great exercise!

I completely understand about the no names thing - I did that deliberately because I felt the same way. It felt like it could be almost anyone's story that way!

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by magnifique11We are the Broken Ones: Absence and Ghosts

8th December 2013:
I can't believe you haven't written this pairing together! I loved the way you wrote them, it was perfect and the characterization was flawless. This was so poignant and touching; I almost started crying! I also think you really did well with the quote you were given, I definitely see the connection. Good luck! I hope you do well in the challenge. :)


Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it, I wasn't sure if I'd done it particularly well. :) I should probably practice writing pairings I'm not used to...

 Report Review

Review #20, by magnifique11Like Never Before: Prologue

6th December 2013:
I'm really not kidding, reading this gave me chills. I only wish there was more! But this is a really great start. You've done everything right, in my opinion. I think you've got a great hook, and the way you've woven the words together it's like a spell that continued to draw me in as I kept on reading. I only wish there was more! Are you planning on continuing with this story? I really think that you should. I think you've got an excellent back story and base here for a really great story if you still have the muse for it.

The third brother's defining quality is going to bother me if you don't haha. Just the way you've written this is so excellent, I really can't stop praising it! It makes me want to go check out some of the other stuff you've written, so I may have to go just do that soon. :)

But really, great prologue, and I hope you continue this.


Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I still do have ideas for this piece, but I've definitely neglected it since I posted the prologue :/ But still, I'm very happy you enjoyed it! I love writing in this style, and I'm just thrilled to hear that you liked it. And if you do end up checking out some of my other stuff, let me know what you think :) A lot of it is from this era, so hopefully you enjoy that. Thanks so much for this sweet review, it made my day!


 Report Review

Review #21, by magnifique11Deception: Snitched

4th December 2013:
I absolutely adore your Rose & Scorpius. You've put such a great twist on a ScoRose and your writing is just so interesting and well-done! It draws me in and I just want to keep reading more and more. :D Fabulous job and I look forward to the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: I cannot for the life of me write typical scorose stories where they start as enemies and become lovers...hence, this. I'm glad you think so highly of my effort to be different :D.
Btw, next chapter should get into the queue sometime later today.

 Report Review

Review #22, by magnifique11Lux: Prologue

1st December 2013:
Since you left such a lovely compliment on my Seamus/OC fic, I would check out yours! :) I really like it so far, you've got an interesting premise and I'm excited to see where you go with it. :D Can't wait for the next chapter! (:

Author's Response: Thank you! And I just adore your story so it means a lot! I'll have the next chapter up soon! I've just got to edit it and then put in the queue! Thank you again so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by magnifique11A Twist of Time: Unexpected Encounters

23rd November 2013:
Oh my God, this was completely unexpected! I love where you're taking this so far, but whoa! Poor Hermione, I can't even imagine what I would be feeling in her situation. It's so weird to see Ginny as the bad guy vs. Draco as the good guy haha. But I really like it! I'm excited to see where else you take this because I think it's really awesome so far. :)

I'm normally not a big AU fan - but you might change that because I'm really loving this, if you can't already tell haha. :)


Author's Response: Your comments just made my day :) I'm so happy that you're liking my story! It's definitely fun to write the characters that we know so well in a completely different way. I'm planning on having a few other appearances over the next couple of chapters, so I'm excited to work on that. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by magnifique11A Twist of Time: A Lavender Breeze

23rd November 2013:
This is a really interesting start, and I love your premise! Your Hermione is so sweet, and I really liked her interaction with Harry and Ron. :)

I'll write a better review on the last chapter you have up when I'm done reading it, I just wanted to stop by quickly and say that first! :)

Author's Response: Hi Magnifigue11! Thanks so much for your comments. I'm glad that you enjoying my story so far :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by magnifique11Finders Keepers: No More Mr Nice Guy

23rd November 2013:
I love how she's in choir. And how that's her reasoning at the end! I just love her, actually! :) this is such a cute story so far and I love how all your characters are developing.

And now I'm off to go read more if it. :D

Author's Response: Hehe yay! Thank you! I'm so happy that you like Sophie and the other characters! Please keep on reading! :D x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>