Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: magnifique11
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magnifique11Shoulder to Shoulder: Pankhurst, Vance

7th April 2017:
This is a short chapter but I really, really enjoy the way you juxtaposed everything in it! I think that the little bits within the parenthesis really added to what was going on and also gave it a more dreamlike quality as I was moving back and forth in the reading - but in a good way. My only suggestion would be maybe to italicize them instead/as well because it took me out of the story for a second as I realized that we'd skipped in time/place lol.

Emmeline seems like a really fascinating character though - and what a namesake! I'm just kind of mad this is only a one-shot :'D because the way it sets up feels like there should be a next chapter in my mind. But! As it stands I still really, really enjoyed it, I just want more of Emmeline and her story and who she was in relation to Marlene/Dorcas and the death eaters.

Thank you for sharing it! :)

-Julie

 Report Review

Review #2, by magnifique11How to Grow a Rose : Second Year

2nd April 2017:
This is such an interesting idea for a story! I really like the idea of the small snapshots to represent the year before you go back to the other part of the story. I have to say I'm really curious to see how Scorpius x Rose will fit into that, but I like how you're setting up their relationship so far!

-Julie

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm excited to get into it and delve into Rose and Scor's relationship! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #3, by magnifique11Poison Ivy: four.

1st April 2017:
oh good! I can sympathize with the broody, I hate everything characters as much as the next person, but Ivy was getting kind of whiny, like girl, suck it up and just try to not be miserable, Neville is right you're bringing this on yourself :'D. So I'm glad James saw her and was like YEP do the thing!

I also really like their relationship so far, it feels pretty believable and not really rushed or exaggerated, like two seconds after they meet they either want to rip the heads or robes off of each other :'D. So I'm excited to see how you continue to grow that!

-Julie

 Report Review

Review #4, by magnifique11The Harder They Fall: The Beginning of the End

31st March 2017:
Ahh! I was so excited to log on and see this updated today!

And what a jam-packed chapter! I feel like everything happened all at once, but in a good way? If that makes sense? At any rate, I feel like I've got a pretty good handle on what might be about to happen next which has me both excited and apprehensive. I'm so glad that Brindley told Finn about what's actually going on with her illness but wow it's so ? sad that she has to be in such a mindset so young - very brave, but sad as well. I think that the way you wrote Finn's reaction and resulting actions was absolutely perfect and in-character; he is just very, very consistent as a character which is NOT an easy thing to do when writing as I'm sure you know, so I really commend you for that consistency as you grow and shape him.

I'm really curious to see whether or not he'll feel guilt over subjecting an innocent person in order to save Brindley - like, how will this change his character? Will it change him? And more importantly a) will it work, and b) whether or not it does, what is it going to do to his relationship with Brindley? Will his guilt make him resent her? Will she resent him if she finds out? The possibilities are endless! But I'm very excited to see the direction in which you take it.

This was very long and rambly, but I hope it made sense. tldr; I really liked the chapter :)

Julie

Author's Response: This magnificent person has a name! Hello Julie!

Ramble all you want, my dear! :D It's amazing to hear all the lovely things you say, and that you have so many questions you want answered. All in good time ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review!

♥ Bianca


 Report Review

Review #5, by magnifique11The Rejects: vi.

29th March 2017:
Welcome back! It's good to see another chapter of this, (I have also recently come back from a long absence - though I'm about graduate with my degree in literature! Wishing you the best of luck in your studies!)

The thing I love about this fic is that it's so fun and fluffy and it makes me laugh out loud because Maddie so dramatic and it just feels very high school, in the best way. I'm really glad that James is finally taking a stand and helping them though because Merlin knows they need it and I do hope the next practice doesn't end in injuries. :'D

-Julie

Author's Response: Thank you very much, it's good to be back! And thank you for your well-wishes, I'm already getting stuck into it :)

I'm so grateful you said that, honestly, I've been trying so hard to make it come across as quite angsty/teenager-y (if that makes sense) because they are quite young themselves. I can't wait to write more chapters with James and Maddie together, it's going to be so much fun :D

~Aimee xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by magnifique11If Quidditch Be the Food of Love, Play On: Begin Again

28th March 2017:
Hello! I'm a new reader! So I have no idea how it was previously but as someone currently revising her old stories/making them better, I applaud you! And I really enjoyed this first chapter!

I think my favorite line was: “You wouldn’t know pretty if it hit you over the head with your own broomstick, Wood.” YEah, that was definitely it lol but I also found your portrayal of Fred & George spot on and all of their dialogue was fantastic, so well done! :)

I'm such a sucker for the "I hate you/I love you" kind of romantic set-up, so I'm already enjoying the tension you've created between Oliver and Cee. Go figure lol. Plus Oliver is one of my favorite underrated characters, (as well as Charlie - so A+ for having both of them mentioned in the same chapter!) so I'll pretty much read and enjoy anything with him in it. It helps that your writing is really nice on top of that though.

So overall I'm glad to be here reading and I'm really excited to see where you take the story!

Best,

Julie

Author's Response: Julie! Thank you so much for this thoughtful response. I'm super excited to revise and keep posting new chapters. I hope the upcoming chapters are worth a read as well. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by magnifique11Chained and Freed: One Step at a Time

28th March 2017:
This was such an interesting start! I'm very fond of Andromeda as a character, and I like how you've already set her apart from her sisters, but not in a really rebellious way, just that she's a different kind of person - her own person. That being said I'm excited to watch her grow and distinguish herself and see what trials and tribulations you put her through. :'D

-Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie! Thanks for the review, I love the Black sisters and can promise a rollercoaster of a ride awaits them. Hope you keep following!

 Report Review

Review #8, by magnifique11The Grey Area: Two

28th March 2017:
I'm really enjoying the set up of your story so far! Dorcas is one of those characters who is really cool/interesting because you can do so much with her and I love the idea of her not quite being on anyone's side but trying to do what she feels is right anyway. I'm excited to see how you continue to incorporate the pureblood intrigue and all the characters into the plot and to see how Dorcas manages - she's doing well so far but I'm worried about what will happen if she slips up D:.

Overall a really interesting read so far and I'm looking forward to more whenever you get around to updating! :)

-Julie

 Report Review

Review #9, by magnifique11The Herd: An Introduction to the Herd

27th March 2017:
Oh I'm sure Rose is up to something nefarious and probably something she thinks is very intelligent. :'D. I loved Roxanne, she was so precious, I hope Anu doesn't eat her alive haha. I also really like the idea of "The Herd" and I think it's very Rose to come up with something like that, (and honestly #same if I were her).

This was an interesting first chapter and I'm excited to see what will come next!

Best,

Julie

 Report Review

Review #10, by magnifique11The Final Goodbye: The Final Goodbye

27th March 2017:
are those tears in my eyes? what? oh, no, there was just some dust in the room... or something.

But in all seriousness this piece brought tears in my eyes, it was so poignant and it very much felt like goodbyes I've had with loved ones and it brought back all those feelings, (not in bad way).

I just really loved this.

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

I don't want to make you cry, but I am glad that this moved you in a realistic way. That's always my goal when writing emotional things. I like them to mirror real life.

Thank you again for your kind words!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #11, by magnifique11The Next Great Adventure: Chapter 7: A Lonely Home

27th March 2017:
Okay I'm back and caught up!

First off, I think this is a fantastic/unique idea and I love your interpretation of the afterlife - it makes sense? Harry can't even get a pass when he's dead lol, but I really do like your choices in "trials" thus far. Bellatrix was a huge, huge impact on Harry, (almost as much as, if not more so than, Voldemort) and I think you handled that scene beautifully. I'm also very eager to see what exactly is the "test" aspect of this meeting with Snape, though I can only hope it doesn't end too sadly D:.

Overall, I just really enjoy the writing and planning involved in this and how you transition so smoothly between points of view, again, in ways that make sense. (I especially like the snapshots we get of Harry's other loved ones on the sidelines, desperately hoping for more information).

I'm definitely looking forward to reading more of this and I'll have to check out your other stuff in the meantime!

Best,

Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

I'm so, so happy that you're enjoying this story! It's definitely my baby and I've been working on it for such a long time. :)

I'm glad you like my interpretation of the afterlife. I worried everyone would be upset with me for putting Harry through more trials...but I think for it to be fair, everyone has to face them.

The tests will involve a series of familiar faces and with each one, Harry will be challenged with something different. I think Snape will be one of the larger challenges for Harry. I wish I could tell you if it would be happy or sad, but I don't want to give away the ending. I'm sorry.

I'm thrilled that the POV shifts are smooth. I'm not used to swapping between characters, so I was worried it might be too all over the place.

The next chapter is about 90% finished, so I'm hoping to have it up by the end of the week. :)

Thank you again for this lovely review! It's really given me a push to get this next chapter finished up!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #12, by magnifique11The Next Great Adventure: Chapter 3: The Beginning

27th March 2017:
So I'll write a proper review once I've caught up detailing everything I've been enjoying about your writing lol but I just had to pop in and tell you how happy I am that you had Scorpius/Hugo together, they're one of my FAV next gen pairings and I just love when I see other people put them together!

Alright, off to the next chapter!

(also omg Dobby, I could cry, he is so absolutely sweet)

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

Thank you for leaving a review! It makes me so happy to see what other people think of my stories. :)

Ahh Scorpius/Hugo. I don't know why there isn't more of them paired together. It seems like such a natural combination.

Dobby is the sweetest, for sure.

Thank you again!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #13, by magnifique11Just Don't Write It: Just Don't Write It

27th March 2017:
Awh :) This was so cute and fluffy! Albus getting over his grief felt a little rushed, but it was all for the happy ending so that's okay! I really enjoyed how you brought Lorcan in though, I think it's kind of odd when people just make Albus friends/in a relationship with Scorpius as if he wouldn't have other friends, so that felt very real/relateable. Overall a very cute, feel-good one shot! :)

Author's Response: Oh hello and thank you for the review. It wasn't so much about Albus rushing grief, he still has it even when he starts dating Lorcan, it's just that he thinks he should be allowed to be happy again. It's like when someone dies, even if years pass and you're happy once again you are still grieving no matter what.

Yeah, me too, I mean HE IS A POTTER, why wouldn't he have the ability to make other friends?

Thank you so much, have a lovely day!
-ImaRavenclaw


 Report Review

Review #14, by magnifique11The Harder They Fall: A Snake in the Den

27th March 2017:
So I basically binge-read all of this + Hero's story last night, but then by the time I finished it was too late to write a proper review, so here I am returned to write the kind of review this story deserves!

I will preface this by saying I usually avoid stories around Tom Riddle because he is a very complicated character to get right, (it feels like people always want to make him so much better than he is? Like no? he's an evil, genocidal monster? anyway) but I love your version of him in a "wow this guy is super messed up and that's portrayed incredibly accurately" kind of way, if that makes sense.

And don't get me wrong, I loved Hero's character and definitely teared up when Riddle betrayed her, but I think that Finn is my favorite of the two because he's such a conflicted character and you're really pushing him through a lot of moral gray areas and choices and I can just see so much growth in his character from the previous story till now - I love it because that makes me love him and root for him and really hope that things work out, (even though they probably won't - yikes D: but that's how stories go sometimes lol).

I've also been a huge Brindley fan since she appeared but that may have more to do with the fact that I'm a Hufflepuff than anything else lol. At any rate, I'm really intrigued by her mysterious illness and I'm like ?! Ahhh!

So those are my feelings. Overall a really, really well-written story and I'm definitely looking forward to more whenever you get around to it. Thank you for sharing it with everyone :)

Author's Response: HELLO! Your review has completely made my day! I appreciate your binge-reading so much. I'm so glad you like the characters, I love Finn the most too (just don't tell the others)

Thank you so so much again for taking the time to review, it means a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by magnifique11Granger's List: The Modern Don Quixote

26th March 2017:
I think it's a really interesting idea to have Dennis seeking revenge! He's an easily forgotten character but I think it's completely believable that he would almost turn into a vigilante-type character after the war, (and especially with the wizarding world crash you've set up).

Author's Response: That's exactly why I chose him. He had motive, opportunity, and enough skill to make it plausible. He also wasn't a prominent character. I could see a nice kid being led astray by his sense of justice and need to prove himself.
-Jessiy


 Report Review

Review #16, by magnifique11Caught a Ghost: Chapter Four

25th March 2017:
Oh this is such a unique idea! I don't know why I haven't seen something like this before, but I really love the way you're writing it. Gwen is such a sweet character and I think you're balancing her frustrations/longing/hopes/etc really well - she feels very real to me. I'll look forward to an update whenever life allows you to get around to it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the response! I'm glad you're liking Gwen as much as I'm liking writing her. :) I'm hoping to update as soon as possible!

 Report Review

Review #17, by magnifique11Flames: Consuming

5th June 2016:
Wow this was really interesting/different! I liked it! I don't see a ton of post-Hogwarts Draco-centric stuff unless it has to do with Dramione or him being a good guy now, but I like how this was a little twisted and dark. Definitely sad, but you took kind of a new spin on post-Hogwarts Draco and I think you really hit on some interesting characterization. The one thing I was confused on was his Dark Mark talking to him? That's what I assumed it was, but I was kind of waiting for what was talking to him to be more explicitly stated and then that didn't happen. Other than that - like I said - I thought it was really good! :)

Author's Response: Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review, I'm so glad that you liked it! I was decidedly aiming for a twisted storyline, one that wasn't clear from the outset so I reall hope that you enjoyed that aspect of it. :)
On the subject of the Dark Mark: I didn't explain what it what that was talking to him because I wanted readers to make up their own minds about what had happened. Personally, I find your interpretation a very interesting one and one that I really love, as it was not something that entered my mind when writing but I see how it would work very well. When I was writing, I had a certain mythical creature in mind as 'it', and I envisioned Draco falling under the misfortune of encountering one, and 'it' intentionally attacking him.
I will definitely work on a way of trying to explain my initial idea of what 'it' was within my story, however I still want to leave it vague as I like to leave some things to the readers imagination.

Thank you again for the review, I loved reading it!

a_r :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by magnifique11Dragons and Weasleys: Hagrid's Hut

4th June 2016:
I really love the addition of Hagrid in this chapter because I 100% see him and Charlie having been really close, (kind of like him and Harry but in a different way of course). I especially liked this line "They had this conversation at least once a year." It was just so perfect haha. Overall, once again, I really enjoyed this chapter :)

Author's Response: Haha. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #19, by magnifique11i love her most: in the meadows

3rd June 2016:
I really love the poetic style you're employing here. It's really got the romantic aesthetic to it but without feeling trite or cliched - so that's awesome! Good for you. And as a queer wlw reading this, I'm always here for more women-loving-women romance in fanfiction and I think you're really hitting it out of the park. I love how soft everything it is because that's just, it's so real and beautiful and I'm excited to read more, (hopefully soon). :3

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm also queer, and I haven't seen a lot of non-cliched queer romances, so I really wanted to bring one to life that just popped into my head. I'm really, really glad you're enjoying it so far! I apologize for keeping you waiting so long for more, I'm usually quick, but I've had a lot of family stuff going on this past few weeks but I promise the next bit will be up as soon as possible! :-)

 Report Review

Review #20, by magnifique11Venom: Venom

3rd June 2016:
First of all, I adore your author's note. It's wonderful haha. Second, I love how I didn't know who this was about until the very end because I feel like Myrtle is kind of always stereotyped and put into this really two-dimensional role but you really brought her to life and gave her a really rich and full characterization. Overall I really, really enjoyed this because it was a twist, and I loved how you turned the snake imagery on its head and gave Myrtle that edge. Awesome job! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by magnifique11Dragons and Weasleys: Care of Magical Creatures

3rd June 2016:
Well, I'm still enjoying it! I love how you've characterized Charlie and Dana, they're both such individuals even though they have similar interests and they actually seem similar, but they have great subtle differences so kudos to you! I'm also loving the little bits of figurative language here and there, like the reference to cornfields - it reminds me of home haha. Overall this is just a really cute story and I hope to see more of it soon! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I love to hear that.

 Report Review

Review #22, by magnifique11Dragons and Weasleys: The Exchange Student

2nd June 2016:
Oh my gosh, this is such a cute story so far! I love Charlie, I think that he is not written about nearly enough, and while I'm usually wary of "American-transfer" stories I really like this one so far because it's got such a unique premise. I'm really excited to keep reading and see how you develop it but really well done so far! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, your words mean everything! I'm such a Charlie fan because I relate to him so much and wish he'd been around more. I hope you continue to enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by magnifique11Jigsaw: Piece #15

17th August 2015:
I would like to preface this with saying I'm not much of a mystery reader. I like a good, classic mystery TV show, but I've never really gotten into the written stuff. That being said, I loved this. I read all of it in two nights which is saying something considering how busy my life has been lately.

I love Roxanne, but you've made me love her even more because the way you've written her as a next gen character is so compelling. She's frustrating and funny and wonderful and honestly you can't help but love her and root for her - which is basically the goal of writing. To get your reader to have an emotion connection with your character. I adore her and I want to be best friends with her.

So I just have to say this really quick since I've caught on to the brilliance of this story a bit late, when Jane was gone for all that time I was so scared that she would be the next victim. I was screaming at Roxanne to go and check her apartment and make sure she was okay. I was so happy when she was, omg. That was a huge relief.

The mystery btw, WOW. I can tell that you've spent some time thinking this through, it shows in a really good way because I feel just as lost as Roxanne right now and I'm itching to know what's really going on.

Thank you so much for sharing this story, it's so wonderful and I'm so excited for more.

Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie! I'm sorry for taking so long to reply to this wonderful review!

Wow, I can't tell you how much of a compliment it is to hear that you're not a big mystery fan and yet you enjoyed this story enough to keep reading to chapter 15! I hope you get chance to read on as well, and I'm so pleased that you're enjoying it!

Roxanne is an awesome character to write, and it's great to know that readers like her too. She's frustrating in a big way, especially as writer (sometimes she'll decide to go off and do random things that are not in the plan, which is not helpful for me :P) but it's so fantastic that you care about her!

I have put a lot of thought into the way that the mystery works and I keep going over and over the plot to try and make sure I don't have any gaping holes anywhere. That's probably the part I'm most worried about; before this novel, the most real mystery I've written is a short story that is a tenth of the length this story currently is, so I'm constantly paranoid that I've made it obvious or that the solution will let people down. Nevertheless, I'm really glad that you're enjoying it and that you're as lost as Roxanne at this point!

Thank you so, so much for this great review - it means a lot that you've taken the time to read all of this story and leave this thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by magnifique11Keep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to St. Mungo's and Carrying On

16th August 2015:
I SEE THE COLLINS IN PETER AND I LOVE IT.

now that's out of the way - this is so great!
1) I love the Scamanders and I'm so glad Lorcan is your main character for this.
2) Wizarding politics are so cool and such uncharted territory, I love what you're doing with it! This is honestly such a fun/exciting idea.
3) Your approach/view on the original generation is really cool, and I also think very realistic. So many next gen stories are from family members of the trio, so having someone who isn't a family member and not necessarily influenced by that is really interesting.

Honestly, I love this, can't get enough of it. Why are there only two chapters??

Can't wait for more! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Julie! :D

OMG I'M SO GLAD SOMEBODY CAN APPRECIATE THIS. In the first chapter, he says a few things that are like painfully Collins-esque. I'm trying to reign it in but I also can't not read all of his lines in Collins's voice.

I've really liked developing Lorcan! I didn't have any idea who to write about and Kaitlin suggested Lorcan and here we are today! I don't see too many stories about Lorcan around here so I'm happy to fill that gap!

Ahhh I'm glad you like what I'm doing with it! Like the Lorcan thing, I don't see much about this so I'm excited to see how I take it. I have a fair amount of stuff planned out, but not too much, so we'll see what happens. Hopefully you continue enjoying it! :D

The other WIPs I'm working on are all Wotter-based so this is a nice break from that! There's definitely more freedom. Although Lily is a main character, so Harry is always lurking in the background haha.

Thanks so much for this review! It was so lovely and unexpected. :D I'll try to update soon! (Although I'm currently overwhelmed by plunnies for your challenge, so it may be a while!!)

--J


 Report Review

Review #25, by magnifique11The Possibility of After: Tandem Grief

16th August 2015:
Your story is so different but so good at the same time! I love the Bones family and it's so great to see young Amelia getting some attention. Plus the Prewitts! I'm kind of hoping Molly makes an appearance sometime, I think it would be interesting to see her interacting with her brothers, (even though I'm fairly certain they die soon).

I think that overall you have a really great set-up to your story, which is awesome considering you have a colossal cliche to work with. I'm really looking forward to reading more. :)

Julie

Author's Response: Hello Julie! Thanks for the review! You'll be happy to know that Molly does make an appearance, as will some of her kids. ;)

Sorry for the delay in updates but I am working towards posting chapter three very soon!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>