Reading Reviews From Member: HeyMrsPotter
  
468 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotterA Halloween Visit: A Halloween Visit

28th June 2015:
Hi, Angie :D

I knew as soon as I clicked on this story that it was going to break my heart, and I wasn't wrong.

I think your Harry was brilliant. He wasn't overly loquacious which I think is a key thing to bear in mind when writing Harry. He said just enough for this to be realistic, and also to give me such a lump in my throat. I like the little details you've got in there like Remus and Tonks being buried near Lily and James, and Sirius having a headstone event though they couldn't find his body, and the fact that Harry wanted them to be the first to know that he proposed. His little bit about Teddy really made me laugh, the fact that the staff in the nursery kept thinking they'd lost him was hilarious! I thought the little bit of humor in there helped to balance the story out really nicely, it gave it such a bittersweet feel, which ties in nicely with how Harry is feeling about his engagement to Ginny and not having his parents there to celebrate it.

Lovely job on this, Angie! I'm glad I got to stop by your page :)

Dee

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotterLove. Lies. Monopoly.: The Party Upstairs

28th June 2015:
Hello Em, and Meg!

Having read and loved many of both of your stories before, I knew this was going to be nothing short of brilliant. I laughed so much reading this. I love how serious they were in the beginning, here was me thinking they were going upstairs for...not Monopoly. The fact that they remained so serious and flirty whilst talking about who was going to be the thimble was hilarious. The whole magical monopoly thing was so clever, I loved the magical places and the tiny goblin banker and the fact that it used wizard money. My favourite line in this had to be He felt betrayed by him thimble. LOL, the poor thimble!!

Basically, this was genius and I loved it. You two should write together all of the time.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotterThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
Hi again, Em!

Wait a minute! What are you doing giving Umbridge feelings?! She's evil, Em, EVIL!!! Seriously though, I thought you did a lovely job of writing a crush. I like that she noticed the little deails about the crush-ee, like his smile, and the colour of his clothes, and his dimples. I also liked the little dig that she had at Dumbledore, which I didn't think any thing of at the time but now I know your main character is Umbridge, that line really sticks out as a hint as to who it is. Also, loved the little testament to your username, too. You're so clever, Em! The Umbridge-hater in me is seriously hoping her crush rejected her haha! :p This was clever and beautifully written, loved it!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: DEE!!

But i gave her feelings for someone who will never love her back/have any feelings for her. :D Because he's just talking about himself. :P

I am thrilled that you thought so! It was interesting, with Umbridge to be both hateful--about Dumbeldore and blood purity--and swooning at the same time. Hints, yes, all the hints!! Many hints here. ;)

♥ Thank you so much, Dee. I tried to use "pronounced proclamations, ‘pointless proclamations,’ others who were lesser said, ‘profound proclamations,’ I thought. Perceptive and perspicacious. . ." to sort of salute to "Let us preserve what must be preserved, perfect what can be perfected and prune practices that ought to be... prohibited" quote.

Bah!! Thank you so much, Dee!!! You're the sweetest and so are your reviews. I want to hug your reviews. ♥

Thank you so much,
Em


 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotterThe Orphan's Carol: The Orphan's Carol

28th June 2015:
Hello :D I'm here reviewing for the House Cup.

Woah. Never in my life did I think I would ever feel sorry for Tom Riddle! WHAT DID YOU DO TO ME?! This was just heartbreaking from start to finish. Christmas in an orphanage like that would be difficult enough, but then the fact that he'd had to pay for his own christmas present that he didn't get, and that it was for the dog, and that he got a lump of coal when all of the others got presents, then no christmas dinner and a caning?! Awful awful awful. I'm now thinking it's no wonder he grew up to be such a horrible person :p Your description is absolutely incredible. I could almost smell the christmas tree when he was reaching under it for his present, I could perfectly picture every detail. Just amazing.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotterWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

28th June 2015:
HI AVI! ♥

It's been so long since I visited your author page and now I'm kicking myself because wow♥

The first person narrative here is so effective. I just cannot do first person and you make it so effortless and perfect. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!

I absolutely LOVE Imagine Dragons and this is such an amazing song and the story is so perfect for it. Gah♥

Your Blaise is just so amazing. I think he definitely would have felt that way about himself, not actively a Death Eater but a sympathiser and that isn't much better. I liked that Ginny made him feel better but there was definitely an ominous tone throughout that this was never going to end well and it definitely didn't!! That last section, though. Just perfect.

As always, this was incredible.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotterThis is Chemistry: SN1

28th June 2015:
HI EM!!! ♥

Wow, there are a LOT of words in here that I don't understand :') That doesn't stop me from being totally impressed by the science jargon you used all the way through though. This is definitely different to anything I've ever read on HPFF. I love the way it was linked to the chemistry made it seem like the two absolutely had to be together, like there was no other option. This line in particular was really powerful: In fact, they were polar opposites, but this is chemistry and in chemistry, opposite charges attract. That was a reference I definitely understood :p

I cannot praise you highly enough for the total uniqueness of this story, Em. You are brilliant.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: DEE! ♥

You absolute sweetheart! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! You're incredibily sweet. I am rather red right now. I am so, so happy that you shipped the two house elves throughout and that you liked THAT LINE! That was one of the first I thought of when I thought 'reaction kinetics house elf love story.'

Dee, [flies to Dee, parachutes down to Dee, lands on Dee in the most painful hug tackle ever] YOU ARE TOO, TOO SWEET!! ♥

Thank you so much for this precious review.

Love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotterThe Letter That Never Came: The Letter That Never Came

28th June 2015:
Hi, Lisa!

Wow, just go and break my poor heart won't you?! This was such a brilliant idea for a story. Mrs Figg is such an underrated character in my opinion. It must be so difficult for her to be a squib and still be immersed in the wizarding world, and then the fact that she agrees to keep an eye on Harry that whole time ♥

This is the first time I've read about a squib from a squib's point of view. I liked that you did it from her perspective as opposed to her parents. That part where they exchanged that knowing look was just so sad! I'm so cross with them for not having had the conversation with her before that day and just letting her wait around growing sadder by the minute :(

This was so sad and beautiful. Excuse me whilst I sob into my cup of coffee!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter(wake up, you're dreaming): (wake up, you're dreaming)

28th June 2015:
HAI, ERIN!

Your writing and Dramione are just the perfect combination for a happy Sunday morning :D

I love the song that you chose, it fit so perfectly with the story. The lyrics were in just the right places and didn't disrupt the flow of the story at all, which I find is always a tricky thing to do in song fics.

This whole thing gave me serious feelz. The Dramione shipper in me wanted him to run back to her and say sorry and then have them live happily ever after, but I really liked that you took the more rational route for these two. Things definitely couldn't work out for them in their Hogwarts days, especially with the impeding war. I thought you did a really beautiful job of portraying the heartbreak that they were both feeling. Just perfectly angsty!!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotterMothering Sunday: Godric's Hollow

21st June 2015:
Hi, Dan! Happy Father's Day!

It occured to me today that you wrote this on Mother's Day and tweeted me the link and like the total ditz I am, I never came to review it. Better late than never, right?

When I opened this story up I certainly wasn't prepared for the total sob-fest it would cause. This is just so heartbreaking but happy all at the same time and my poor heart just can't take it. Harry talking to his mum was so perfectly Harry. I think his dialogue is really tricky to get right, he's a man of few words but says a lot with them and you got the balance perfectly. I love that he said James had Ginny's eyes and his dad's hair, not his. It shows how much he still thinks about his parents. And of course he would mention Teddy in there, always thinking of others. And just when I had stopped tearing up after Harry's speech, Ginny's goes and sets me off again. She was also brilliantly in character, loved the little dig in there about naming the baby after Snape :p I really liked that she told Lily how she understood now about that motherly love and protection, you described that feeling so well. I also really appreciated how realistic it was that she talked about Harry's feelings about the war, and how even years later, he was still having nightmares. It's something I don't think he would ever fully get over but it makes sense that James would be a good therapy for those feelings and fears.

Your description is so incredibly beautiful. That first paragraph just throws the reader into the story with such a vivid picture of Godric's Hollow. You create such beautiful imagery all the way through this. This whole story was absolutely gorgeous from start to finish.

I hope you're having a great day with your kids and that they're spoiling you with love!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi, Dee! Thanks for stopping by.

I, um... I guess I made a fair number of people cry. That wasn't my intention, I promise! I'm glad that Harry's limited dialog seemed like the right choice to you. I obviously could have had him go on a lot longer, but that didn't feel right to me. He would have stuck to the important parts.

Ginny was more of a balance between fun and emotional for me. I liked to give her more of a spark, like when she thought she was going to win the battle over baby names with Harry. But she also had her somber moment of realization.

Whew! I really had no idea whether this story had enough detail to give the reader a good picture of the surroundings. I tried to keep everything very short and focused. I guess I did alright. ;)

I had a great day with my kids! Thanks for thinking of me and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotterTwisting In The Wind: Free

21st June 2015:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KAITLIN!

So, I'm not an avid Neville/Luna shipper, but this completely broke my heart. I think you had a really good grasp of their characters, particularly Luna, and their relationship here was exactly as I would imagine it to be. I thought Luna's reason for ending the relationship was really believable, it made total sense that Neville would want a family and Luna would want to go travelling. The bit about him going with her or waiting if she had asked really hit me right in the chest, my poor darling Neville♥

This was just so sad and lovely all at the same time.

Hope you're having a brilliant birthday!
Dee♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotterResolution: Resolution

20th June 2015:
Hola, Alo! I'm not going to lie, I didn't even know you had an author page until this reviewing task came up for the House Cup, I guess that's the beauty of it though!

This is the first time I've ever read a story with Celestina Warbeck as a main character. I think it's a really unique idea for a story :) I like her little pre-show ritual that she has going on with the peace and quiet, and the vocal exercises. I have zero experience in the performing business but I'd imagine this is exactly how a pre-show ritual would go down. I laughed so hard at the line about having banshees as back up singers, where's Ghilderoy Lockhart when you need him? ;) I really enjoyed the personality you gave to Celestina, I like that she was a little older in the story and she was feeling a little tired with all of the shows she was doing, but how all of that went away as soon as she got on the stage, I really felt her excitement.

I'm definitely going to check out some more of your stories now I know they exist!

Dee
Hufflepuff House cup 2015.

 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotterTwins and Marauders: ~One~

20th June 2015:
Hello again! I hope you don't mind me reviewing older stories, the summary for this one really grabbed my attention, I was keen to see how you wrote the twins' reaction to finding out who the marauders really were.

This is another fantastically feel-good story :D Any time I feel down I'm going to visit your author page for a good cheering up :p You have such a good knack for writing the characters, your Fred and George were totally perfect. You had their speech spot-on which is the thing I find most difficult about writing the twins, you have just the right amount of them finishing each others sentences without overdoing it. I particularly liked the part where they recited the quote from the Marauders Map when the penny finally dropped. The idea of them wanting Sirius and Remus' autographs is HILARIOUs. I also really liked Sirius and Remus' interaction with each other, Remus ever the sensible one keeping Sirius in check♥

Another lovely read :)

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotterFreshly Mown Grass: Freshly Mown Grass

20th June 2015:
Hello! I'm here reviewing for the House Cup :D

Aw, I just love feel-good, fluffy Ronmione♥ This was such a lovely idea for a story, I love how it links to that quote from the book and that you've made her reason for loving the smell of fresh mown grass down to her feelings for Ron.

Your Molly is so perfect, 'It builds character' is such a mother Molly thing to say, it cracked me up! Definitely something I can imagine her doing. This whole story could totally be canon, actually. I like that this is purely about teenagers being teenagers, Ron complaining about the chores and Hermione giving into her raging hormones, and my favourite-Ginny teasing Hermione after catching her staring. It's nice to think that in the midst of Voldermort regaining power there was just a total normal moment. This was such an enjoyable read! ♥

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotterI Love the Way You Lie: I Love the Way You Lie

20th June 2015:
YES, DRAMIONE!!! :D

Side note, that banner is BEAUTIFUL.

Good Lord, can those two not just accept that they are meant to be and that they love each other and just be together?! Though I have to admit I thoroughly enjoyed the slapping ;) I love love LOVE the relationship you have between them here, his utter frustration with her, her determination to not let him bother her and to get under his skin as much as she can, and the blatant sexual tension that just leaps out of the screen at the reader. Part of me wanted to very irrationally shout at the screen JUST SNOG ALREADY! But I like that they didn't because it leaves the reader guessing as to what has already happened or what will happen between them in that sense. Very clever!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotterTabula Rasa: One

20th June 2015:
Hi again! I calmed down from my sob fest after your last story and then throw myself straight into poor Colin Creevy's death. I think your writing might break me.

The description in this chapter about the battle is so perfect. You manage to create such a great atmosphere, I can perfectly picture in my head the chaos and devestation going on around Colin, but also I feel all of the same fear and worry and upset that he has. This line here in particular struck me: people he knows and people be doesn't blaring together until he can't make out who's friend or foe.

Your summary is really intruiging, and this is an excellent first chapter. I'm going to favourite this and eagely anticipate the next chapter :D
Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotterForever Young: Forever Young

20th June 2015:
HI SAM!
I'm here to shower your author page with love for the house cup :D Having said that and now having read this story, I feel like my plans may have changed to heading to the nearest corner and rocking whilst full on sobbing. YOU BROKE MY HEART.

Even though I'm mad at you for breaking my heart, I have to compliment you on your astounding ability to write Fred. He is so 100% in character. I love how as an 8 year old he's totally tactless and comments on Aunt Muriel's lumpy face, and how the 8 year old reminds himt hrough his life about not wanting to get old. I love that when Percy makes his comment to Pius Thicknese about quitting, he doesn't say that he's proud of Percy, he says that he isn't against feeling proud of him. That line to me out of this whole story just screamed Fred, totally perfect. Even though this story makes me want to cry from now until the end of time, it really was beautiful. I'm mourning Fred all over again.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotterThe Man: The Man

20th June 2015:
Me again :p

Wow! What an interesting and unique concept for a story! I thought this was really believable. We know from the series how impressionable the folk of the magical world are, and how heavily they rely on and instantly believe the things that are posted in the Prophet and other gossip publications. We read how they loved then hated then loved Harry again and I love that you've turned his relationship with the press and the public on its head again so that he becomes hated. Poor Harry though, can;t he have a little peace in his life? :P
I think there's a great air of detachment that you created in the story. Almost as if I don't even know Harry and his story at all, very clever! This was excellently written and not like anything I've read before!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotterWithout : Argus Filch

20th June 2015:
Hello again!

Well, goodness me. I was totally not prepared to end this story almost feeling sorry for Filch. What did you do?!?!

The first person narrative is really effective here, that coupled with the questions directly for the reader really helped me to feel sorry for Filch. It's no wonder he's so mean and bitter! I think the reasoning that you had for him being the way he is was really realistic. Of course being a squib in a long line of well-respected witches and wizards is going to make him bitter and hating of all magical children, watching them do what he never could must be awful.

You know a story is good when it changes a person's whole perspective on a character :p

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotterCapturing the Past: He Was

20th June 2015:
HI ROOTS! I'm here to review for our lovely house ♥

I knew this story was going to break my heart. Definitely still not over Colin's death and this absolutely didn't help. His death was such a big shock in the book, it was just BAM! Colin is dead, and he didn't get the send off taht he deserved. The injustice of that is so prominent in the latter part of your story, especially in the line about him just being a name on the memorial. I was very not prepared for his mother waiting at the train station every year for him to come home. Wow, adios every happy feeling I had before starting to read this :p

I think Colin was exactly the kind of person we would all be if we had gone to Hogwarts, absolutely amazed and fascinated by the whole experience and wanting to enjoy it 100%. I think that side of him really came across so well in your story, his characterisation is brilliant. In fact, this whole story was heartbreakingly brilliant.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotterZoo: C'mon, C'mon!

20th June 2015:
Hello again!

This is such a brilliant entry for the every word counts challenge, you picked such a great moment with Albus and Gellert's first meeting, and made it a great one in just 500 words, I'm super impressed! Also, I totally squaled when I read your Author Note because I adore Friends and that episode is HILARIOUS. I think you transferred it over to Harry Potter so well. When I read about Albus draggin Aberforth to the book shop for it opening it reminded me of dragging my mum to the book shop whenever a new Harry Potter book came out. The feelins of excitement were really clear and totally relatable. The part when Aberforth got scared and hid was a total laugh out loud moment! I also loved the interaction between Albus and Gellert right at the end where Albus glared and Gellert wasn't phased by it at all. This is now officially my headcanon for how these two met :D

Another great story!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Another Friends fan! :D I just collapsed laughing at that episode, I'm so glad you remember it. Other people have mentioned that this reminds them of the lines for HP books when they came out, and I'm sure that some of my own memories of that were unconsciously transferred to this story as well. If this becomes your head canon, I will be thrilled-- that's a pretty high honor. Anyway, I think this might be the last of the reviews you left me for the Amazing Race, so let me just say that I truly appreciate them. I haven't been able to be as active as I wanted to on hpff for a long time, so I rarely get more than the barest trickle of reviews, if any. It was so nice to log in and see all these lovely, detailed reviews. Thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotterFever: Fever

20th June 2015:
And I'm back!

I definitely needed this bit of lighthearted fun after that last story :p I love the creative freedom that comes with the next gen, with us knowing so little about them. I like that you played that little trick on Rose and the reader by alluding to this being a Scorpius/Rose story and then have him ask Lily to Hogsmeade! I did kind of feel sorry for Rose :p I also really liked the personality you gave Scorpius, not a carbon copy of his dad, arrogant and cocky, but actually very shy and terrified of asking a girl out at age 15. I absolutely loved the line about him ending up married to her so that he never had to ask out another girl, you've got the teenage boy personality so spot-on. Loved it!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: I definitely wrote this at the height of my bitterness about Scorpius/Rose. I don't have anything against them, but for the longest time I would get annoyed at how many people used the ship to just make a Next Gen Dramione. In reality, I have enjoyed quite a few ScoRoses, and will probably enjoy more in the future ;). But I know I made a conscious choice to try and play off people's love of ScoRose here, so I'm glad you liked that. And my bitterness was probably also the reason I tried to make Scorpius so little like the Draco we know from the books. Thank you for coming by to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotterUndeniable: Undeniable

20th June 2015:
Hello! I think this is the first time I've read anything of yours, and this is why I love the House Cup reviewing challenges. Let me start by saying I'll definitely be swinging by your author page again!

I was seriously unprepared for these feels. When I was reading this story, I did so with a smile on my face, until those last two paragraphs! You have the mother's love thing so perfectly, you've given Andromeda this fond voice all the way through when she's talking about Tonks' habits, and I especially loved that she recognised a something in tonks no matter what she looked like, that's just mother's intuition perfectly described. But then you go and break my heart by skipping to Tonks being dead and Teddy having the same abilities and habits and my poor heart just cannot take the feels. This was just gorgeous and beautiful and I loved it.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Well, I'm certainly glad you got the chance to stop by! I've been around here for quite awhile, but the last two years or so I've been a very quiet presence. I'm hoping to change that a little. I'm really glad that you felt something while reading this, that's always something I try to do, and of course it's a great day to hear that I might have succeeded. I'm not a mother but I definitely found it interesting to try and see things through Andromeda's eyes, and it's nice to hear that you did too. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotterSky and Stars: Infinite

20th June 2015:
SIAN OMG THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL!

This is the first time I've read a Seamus/Parvati story and now I want to go and read ALL of the stories! I just cannot get over how adorable this is. I love how it's so clear how much Seamus just adores Parvati throughout this whole thing, there's this gorgeous air of disbelif from him all the way through that she's really with him. It just makes my heart swell.

Also, I have to say I love how Irish your Seamus is (that made much more sense in my head) I just meant by your use of 'mam' and that's grand', I can totally hear his voice in my head and it makes this story seem all the more real to me.

Now, if you'll excuse me while I go and hardcore ship Seamus and Parvati.
Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #24, by HeyMrsPotterWorship You: Storm

20th June 2015:
SIAN &heats;

I don't know why I leave such long gaps between my visits to your author page because your writing is just so good.
I forgot how amazing your description is. How do you do it?! That first paragraph just throws the reader straight in to your story with the most vivid mental image.
I thought the first person was really effective here, especially the way you had the whole story directed at Bellatrix. The way you write about her in the battle was just amazing, this one line: Slicing through air, you pull a family apart, casting pupils and grown wizards away from you. sums her up just perfectly.
Also, can we talk about how you've managed to write a story that doesn't even have the letter e in it?!?! TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!
Impeccable writing as always, my dear.
Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #25, by HeyMrsPotterHe Never Told Her: He Never Told Her

20th June 2015:
Hello again.

Oh, my poor heart was not ready for Snape and Lily feels. It's not a pairing I actively ship but the idea of his unrequited love is just too hard to resist, I'm a glutton for punishment.

It's amazing how you managed to say so much in so few words. You've got in there all of the feelings that Snape has and has ever had about Lily and it doesn't feel rushed at all. There's just the right amount of the jealousy over her relationship with James, I liked that you didn't have him dwell on that too much either, he was still very much focussed on Lily. As much as the ending broke my heart, and boy did I feel his grief, I adored it. It was so beautifully written and that last line totally packed a punch, because of course Dumbledore would be the only one he could turn to.
Dee
Hufflepuff house cup 2015

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>