Reading Reviews From Member: HeyMrsPotter
  
260 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotterMixed-up in Magic: two

28th March 2014:
Erica! Sorry it's taken me a little longer than anticipated to get around to this review!

This was another GREAT chapter. I love that you've written it in first person, it sets apart the two points of view we've seen so far from your main characters. I liked that you wrote Albus and Taryn meeting from his point of view, it fit really well with the first chapter.

The interaction between Albus and Harry was just adorable, Harry talking about Dean's death was really in character, it's clear that he's used to death in his life but that it still affects him after all these years.

I also really liked the character you've created so far for Albus, he seems very professional and dedicated to his job, as well as a good leader. The little details like him worrying about his co-workers were nice touches :)

I'm really intrigued to find out who Taryn was kissing, and why she was doing it when she's supposed to be working!

If you're struggling to find a beta I would be more than happy to do it for you, I'm so in love with this story already :D

Dee x

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotterLying Josephine: Promises, Promises

24th March 2014:
Me again! (I'm hoping this is #100, if not, I like 101 too :P)

This was such a beautiful, beautiful chapter. I'm already hooked! Don't you know I'm already distracted enough from realy life without ANOTHER story to be obsessed with?! Ah well, too late now!

I feel so sad for everyone, for Josephine because she loves George and loved Fred and now she's lost both of them really, because wtithout Fred's threat will she ever tell George how she feels? I hope so! And poor George and all of the Weasleys. I'm in total denial that Fred ever died in the books and then I read fanfiction that reminds me and it just wants to make me cry (but that's a total testiment to your writing :P)

Fred forcing Josephine to tell George how she feels was just so perfectly Fred. There was just the right amount of humour and bigheadedness without it being overwhelming, and of wanting the best for the people he loved without him being sappy. I just love him so much in this!

Really excellent chapter, I'll be reading the next very soon :D

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotterLying Josephine: Introduction: Boxes

24th March 2014:
Hi Tanya! Here to help you reach your triple digits! (Any excuse to read your writing is a good one :P)

I think you've got a really interesting introduction to your story here, I'm immediately intrigued.

I like that you started with the end of the story (that made more sense in my head) I'm assuming that the rest of the story is whatever happened between May and December, and I'm really intrigued to find out what the story is between the two.

I thought you descibed the grief that whoever this mystery person is is feeling at Fred's funeral really well. The description was really great, how you manage this in less than 1000 words is just beyond me!

As always, I am thoroughly impressed with your work and I demand you share your talent with the rest of us!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotterMixed-up in Magic: one

21st March 2014:
Erica! This was everything I wanted to be and more :D

I really love the mix of characters you've got so far. I think you painted a good background of Taryn and her co-workers and their work relationships without having the first chapter being overloaded with informatiion. I'm definitely looking forward to learning more about them :)

I'm a little sad that you killed Dean Thomas! Could you not have picked Umbridge or someone awful? Poor Dean :( I do like that it gives Albus a personal involvement in the case, especially since Taryn has one in her need to prove herself to her boss.

I like the way you fitted the Wanderers in there and that it caused the first interaction between Taryn and Albus. Her confusion about the wand and his magic posessions was good too, I wonder if she'll mention it to the others.

Anyway, I thought this was an excellent first chapter, adding to my favourites and already eagerly awaiting the next one! And you're more han welcome for the help, it really was my pleasure :)

Dee x

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotterIt's a Date: It's a Date

4th March 2014:
Lily! I just wanted to stop by and tell you (again!) how much I love this story. I adore how much you've fit in about our wonderful house, especially the desciption of the common room and poor Ernie getting caught in the vines!

It was an excellent idea for our entry and I had so much fun working with you.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I read through it and notcied a lot of things I needed to fix (including the word apparate, like you told me, not sure what happened there). Thank you, I'm happy that you liked and, and I loved working with you too!
~Lily


 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotterFalling Leaves - Speed Dating Entry: Falling Leaves

19th February 2014:
Hello! I'm here to review your speed dating entry! It's a shame you and your partner couldn't get them posted in the thread in time. I've never in my life read a story from the point of view of a tree but I have to say I really enjoyed it! It's such an original idea, which I love.

I absolutely loved and adored all of the imagery you used in this, and how it all linked back to nature and the elements, it was just so clever. These were some of my favourites:
a laugh. It rang out into my branches almost as lovely as a star song
Ever obliging, the sun loosed its brightest gold and deepest purple onto the house and the humans and me.
it was one of those last idyllic days of summer when time seems to have frozen and my leaves were just beginning to turn red and gold


Just seriously beautiful, I'm not sure how you came up with the idea for this story but I'm so please I had the chance to read it. It was completely and utterly unique and not like anything I've ever read before.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thank you! While it was disappointing not to finish, I'm just grateful for the challenge for inspiring my partner and me to come up with this! I have never written anything remotely like this, so it was both really fun and challenging. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Originality was definitely something we were aiming for, so I'm glad you think I pulled it off here.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

Sam



 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotterMurphy's Law: Reality

19th February 2014:
Hi Tanya! I just came from reading the first part of yours and Singularity's entry and loved it. I've heard good things about both stories and neither disappointed me in the slightest.

What I loved most about this was your brilliant comedic timing, these were just some of my favourites:
much to the dismay of every toast-loving Gryffindor and an exasperated Professor McGonagall
when the closest either got was what looked like a deformed candy cane vomiting a rotten banana peel
Madame Puddifoot's looked less like an adult establishment and more like a particularly flamboyant unicorn's happy place.


There was a great continuity between the two stories, in the chronology of the stories and the little details. Each time I read a new part of the story I prayed that things would go as well in yours as the first one but then couldn't help myself from laughing when they didn't, poor James!I'm so so SO pleased that they had their happy ending though. From now on this story is canon to me, it's just so disasterously perfect!

The more I read of your writing, the more I just love it. You are seriously talented!

Thanks for a great read,

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi Dee! Ah, I'm so happy you loved Singularity's story; it's great! And you've heard good things?! That's awesome! And even more awesome that we didn't disappoint! :-p

*dies* THANK YOU! Honestly, that's so, so nice to hear. I have never considered myself to be a particularly talented comedic writer, so I was very nervous about writing my first humor-centric fic! It's such a relief to hear I didn't completely butcher the attempt! haha And I'm glad you enjoyed all of those lines; the first was intentional, but I owe the other two to my nonsensical state of sleep-deprivation! Sleepy Tanya be cray-cray. ;)

Yay! We love to hear that! We worked very hard to get them in sync and connected in as many ways as possible and it's great that the readers are picking up on that! Thank you! :-D

LOL! Awww, I feel a little bad about your continuing hopefulness when I just continued to smash it all to pieces! haha I think James is holding a grudge against me for putting him through this humiliating form of torture... hehehe But yay for happy endings! It needed to be at least a little happy for Valentine's Day, right? And OMG THAT'S SO SWEET! Yay for new canon! :-D

*blushes* Daww, you're too good to me, Dee! Thank you so much for this incredible review! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotterYhprum's Law: Expectation

19th February 2014:
Hey Singularity :D I'd heard lots of good things about yours and Tanya's entry before reading it so I was super excited, and let me just say you did not disappoint!

First off, I adore the idea that you both came up with, the whole Yhprum/Murphy law thing was nothing short of genius.

I thought James' ideal date with Lily sounded completely perfect, from the eating 17 pastries to the snowglobe, amazing! Truthfullly, I was a little heartbroken when I found out that it was all him describing it to the other boys. The transition between the two was completely effortless though. I also thought you had their group dynamic down to a tee, I can just see them all sitting in their dorm and teasing James, and then this line:
"Ugh! Five more hours before I'm due to meet Lily. That's an eternity!Ē he cried out dramatically, falling back onto his bed and effectively ending his friends' tirade. This line was just my absolute favourite.

I'm really eager to find out how the date actually goes, so I'm off to read Tanya's story now. Great job on this!

Dee :)

Author's Response: You had heard good things? That's really sweet (though super intimidating :P). I am very happy to know that you weren't disappointed :)

Tanya gets total credit for the Yhprum's/Murphy's law theme. It was completely her (brilliant) idea.

I'm really glad you liked James and Lily's fantasy date (even if it was a bit over the top). I also don't write much Marauder's era, so I'm super happy that you thought I captured a good dynamic between them.

Thanks again for reading and for leaving such a nice review. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotterBeing In Love - Speed Dating Entry: Harry and Ginny

19th February 2014:
Hi Mae :) I just finished reading the first chapter of this and couldn't wait to read yours. I forgot to sat in the last review but I adore the idea that you both came up with, having a generational link rather than the same couple, and the fountain was a lovely added touch!

I think you've captured Harry and Ginny's relationship perfectly. I loved ths story because it fit so well with my headcanon of the pair after the war. I think that Harry would have proposed fairly soon, age never being an issue, and the fact that he did it in a way that was related to his parents was just too cute. I like that you didn't disregard the war completely but showed that they were moving on in a healthy way, I especially loved this line:
To express to himself that those grim days are finally over, and everything from today onward can be nothing but truly happy days.

What really made this story for me were all of the little details you included. Like the reference to Mad-Eye when Harry put his wand in his back pocket, Mr Weasley playing with the rubber duck, and their career paths. I also loved the inclusion of the other Weasleys, the line about Ron snogging Hermione was really funny, and something I can definitely imagine Harry thinking.

The proposal itself was just as I'd imagine, no big over the top gesture or massive speech, and no soppy reaction from Ginny. OF course she would tackle him to the ground! I really love that you explained the quick development of Harry's feelings for Ginny, it made a lot of sense.

All in all, I loved yours and VioletBlade's entry. It was fluffy and romantic and a brilliant read.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey! Sorry it's taken a while to respond to such a lovely review! Oh my goodness this makes me so happy! :3 I'm so glad you adore this! :D We both absolutely loved the fountain scene, and seeing as how it's just so mentioned in the first chapter, it was wonderful making people realize just what it was all about in the second chapter! It's fun to surprise people ;).

Perfectly? :3 You're wonderful! Haha :). Oddly enough, I was gonna write this years into their future (24 or so years of age for Harry) because I always thought they'd wait it out, but I also always strongly imagined him waiting for Ginny to do most of her professional Quidditch work. So I thought maybe he'd be one of those long engagement types of people haha :).

I love tidbits! Anything that's known and fun to write while not taking too much away from my story, I'm all up in that! XD Whenever someone makes an actual book reference, I get so happy because it brings back those other good/bad/sad feelings that their story is trying to relate to. I thought those tidbits would bring a nice touch of happy memories, but yet help remind people there was a war not long ago in their lives. I'm glad you liked those bits! :)

I was so worried about writing a proposal scene with these two! Harry has always just been a generally in love person. If he likes someone, he eventually tells them and then he doesn't do much in romanticizing the relationship haha. That's why I always thought he and Cho were an awful "couple". She's a great character, but I always felt Ginny cared less about those sort of things. I mean, she made some of the first moves! Go girl, go! So to say the scene was just how you imagined it makes me positively giddy inside! I remembered the way they kissed after the Quidditch match, so I felt a nice tackle after the proposal was just what they needed haha ;).

Yay! You loved our story! That's just what we were aiming for, so it's awesome you got the vibe! :D We loved working together, and loving our common ideas were so much fun to write down! Thank you so much for such a lovely review, and for going through all the entries, too! Kudos to you! :D You're lovely, really!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotterBeing In Love - Speed Dating Entry: James and Lily

19th February 2014:
Hi VioletBlade :D I'm here contuining on my quest to review the speed dating entries.

I absolutely adore the relationship you've created for James and Lily in here, it's so clear that he would just do anything for her. Going out on a muggle date, travelling all the way from London to see her, eating ice-cream in the cold and not making remarks about Snape even when Lily took him to a place that held so many memories of him. I fell in love with James after this one line:
She made him want to fight for a future where they could live free from the persecution of those that hated people like Lily simply because of her magical origins.-Just perfect.

and then this one too!
He didn't think he'd ever get used to Lily actually using his first name, not when it had been 'Potter' for so many years, and every time she did, his heart didn't quite know what to do about it.


What I love most about this story is that you've taken a moment from the films and written about it so beautifully that it could have been canon. It was a completely adorable Jily moment, even with the threat of Voldemort and joining the Order of the Phoenix over their heads. A perfect valentine's story! I'm really looking forward to reading Mae's chapter!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotterPut On Notice: Put On Notice

19th February 2014:
Hi! I just came from reading the first half of yours and your partner's entry for the speed dating and loved it. I really like that you've used Scorpius and Rose in both but have such a big gap between the events. (Though the romantic in me was hoping your story would have been like 5 minutes later when they had kissed and made up and lived happily ever after but yours would have been a very short story!)

So, I like that your Scorpius fits well with Scorpius from the first part of the story, there's great continuity in the fact that he's a little arrogant but not overly so, and very stubborn. I love that his thought process is completely centred on Rose even though he tries his best to ignore it. And the fact that he is essentially stalking her and knows his routine just proves that he is still completely in love with her as much as he would like to not be.

What I loved most about this story though was that the ending was completely unpredictable! I was fully expecting Rose to walk in and for them to have a deep and meaningful conversation, a passionate kiss and that be the end! But no! Instead there was this brilliant plot twist! I love love LOVED it! It was clever and funny, and even though Scorp and Rose didn't get their mushy happy ending, he definitely deserved to be arrested for stalking!

Brilliant, just brilliant.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi!

You are doing an incredible thing by reviewing these entries. I can not tell you how much I (and everyone else) appreciate what you are doing. Thank you thank you thank you!!!

In the first piece, it was all Rose did: think constantly about Scorpius. This is the other side of that, where Scorpius is thinking all Rose, all the time. You're right. If I'd taken the easy way out, it would have been a VERY short story, and not as much fun to write. I'm not that big of a romantic when it comes to writing, so let's just say that I questioned my own sanity when I signed up for this challenge. I think the results were pretty good, though. :)

I am so glad to hear that you were surprised by the ending. I was surprised by it too! I had someone read it over when I first thought that I was done with it, and they were all, "that's it? that's the end?" And then I saw that I wasn't done at all, and added those last few lines. It was what my muse wanted all along, but some time in the middle of the night (morning, whatever) my brain seized up and I couldn't remember what I was doing. Anyway, it turned out pretty good, I think.

Thanks so much for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotterYou Don't Love Me On The Battlefield : Run Away Because You Don't Love Me

19th February 2014:
Hey :D I'm reviewing all of the speed dating entries and this is the onext one on my list!

The relationship you created between Rose and Scorpius bas brilliant. I like the personalities that you've given them, especially that Scorpius isn't totally smug and cocky all of the time but there's still a hint of Draco in him. I like the premises that you used for them getting together, and that it totally backfired when she actually fell for him. The ending was just heart-breaking, especially this line:
"Run away, Rose Weasley, because you never loved me anyway."-Poor Scorpius!

I also really like the different relationships you've created in this. Like with Rose and Hugo, she gives the impression that she was exasperated with his dragging them in all of the shops at Diagon Alley but there's a clear feeling of love toward her little brother, it's cute :) I like the part where she was sorted into Ravenclaw too, you managed to say a lot about her relationship with Ron and Hermione in just those few sentences. I really liked the little rebellious but she could make her mind up for herself thank you very much.

I really love your writing style, it flows really well and you have great comedic timing, lines like this:
Needless to say, Slytherin did not win the House Cup that year.- had me in stitches.

I'm really looking forward to reading your partner's side of the story, I hope it has a happy ending for the two! Thanks for a great read.

Dee :)

Author's Response: I didn't want Scorpius to be a complete replica of his father, but instead to have similarities to Draco, but still with his own personality. And for Rose to be a mix of Ron and Hermione. I figured that Rose's plan would backfire on her, otherwise where is the story? Hugo wasn't originally going to appear when I was thinking the story out, but then he just made his way in. Boy has a mind of his own. I'm so glad you found that line funny, I'm hoping to be able to elaborate more at a later date. Thanks so much for your review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotterEnduring: Enduring

18th February 2014:
Hey, I just finished reading and reviewing Claudia's part of your entry and now I'm here to do yours!

First off, I love the idea that you both came up with. I like that it was Valentines day but not a good one, it gave a good feel of how the wizarding world would have been during Voldemorts first reign of terror, that two teenagers in love couldn't even do something as simple as celebrate Valentine's Day together.I'm glad there was still a happy ending though!

The imagery you used in this was really excellent, this line in particular I loved:
An unexpected darkness invaded his memories; itís spindly fingers tearing the scene of happiness at the seams. There's just such a strong visual there of the reality of what happened interupting the memory of their kiss.

I really really enjoyed reading yours and Claudia's entry for the challenge, thanks for a great read!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotterEscape: Escape

18th February 2014:
Hi Claudia :D Long time no speak! I hope you're well :)

I think this is the first time I've ever read anything of yours, which is outrageous becuase this was SO GOOD! Siriusly.

I love that you and your partner came up with such an original idea. The situation Lily and James have found themselves in is really realistic and I found myself getting so frustrated with the Death Eaters for interrupting their valentines date!

I think you did a great job or portraying Lily's love for James, and I liked all of the little references to the days that she couldn't stand him, it was sweet how there was a hint of regret in her thoughts that she hadn't realised her feelings for him sooner.

Sirius is also perfect in this, I can just picture his grin appearing through a hole in the wall even in such a serious situation. I do hope James is alright, I'm looking forward to reading your partner's part of your entry!

Dee :)

Author's Response: I'm well. :)

Really? It's original? I haven't read many of the other speed dating entries yet, so I don't really know, but thanks for the compliment!

It was surpisingly easy for me to envision Lily's thoughts. I've never written her before, but it was a delight.

You do have to read Enduring, it's fantastic. My partner, Lauren, wrote a beautiful piece.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotterDouble Trouble: All's Fair in Love and War

18th February 2014:
Hey! It's been too long since I read anything of yours and now I'm kicking myself for that because your canon characters are just so perfectly written.

I'm not surprised at all that you and your partner wrote about the twins, and I love that you seem to be as in denial about Fred's death as I am :D The idea of the twins having a double wedding to twins that nobody knew was happening is just so original and hilarious. I adored the first part of the story and I adored yours.

I have to quote these lines back to you, just becuase they had me laughing out loud, very loud, and it's not often that happens in fanfiction:
That's a hundred years too old to be sitting cross-legged on the ground at a flim-flam festival!
"Grass mats and a llama? Tibetan chanting? Belly dancing House-elves?"
(Seriously how do you come up with things like this?)
she turned into a giddy, crying, planning monster

I'll stop now before I quote your whole story back to you.

I have to say though, the thing that I loved the most about this story was your Molly. Her frustration and exhasperation with the boys, her erratic behaviour, her changing from being furious with them to over emotional, just everything about her in this was 100 percent perfect. I adore that woman!

These two stories really were just perfect lighthearted, hilarious, valentines fun. I adored them both. Brilliant job!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reading! I love getting you reviews! And you are way, way too kind to me. *blushes*

I may have influenced my partner a bit about our characters for this challenge...just slightly. I just can't help it! I love the twins! They should have millions more stories about them! *gets off soap box and hides*

As for Fred's death? What? Who said he died? I don't believe it! The twins should both be alive and having double weddings and raising crazy kids that leave the wizarding world fearing for their very safety!

I'm really very glad you enjoyed reading this though. It was fun to work with Sarah - she's awesome! And the idea of the twins using their wedding as a giant prank was too good to pass up.

YES! It made you laugh. If it did that, then even though I wrote it way too fast, I guess it did it's job. (Oh, and the belly-dancing house-elves? That's what happens when you try to write a story at 3 AM.)

Thank you so much! This review made my day. And I'm sorry I'm so slow responding to it, but I did want you to know I loved and appreciated it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotterDouble Trouble: A Twin Affair

18th February 2014:
Hello :D I'm here reviewing all of the speed dating entries and yours is the next one on the thread! (I do have a life, I swear!)

I love love LOVE that you chose to write about the twins marrying twins! Such an original idea from you and your partner. Even better that you have an alive post-war Fred, because let's face it, who ISN'T still in denial about his death? It's too cute for words that Akila and Aziza are so similar and that they had a joke shop too, can we all say 'AW'?!

I loved the little touches of Bill in this too, he's such an under-written character in fanfiction. I can totally imagine him being in on the whole thing and him knowing about the girls opening their joke shop and not telling Fred and George :D

The fact that no-one had a clue what was going on was just hilarious, in fact this whole thing was hilarious. From start to finish it was just so Fred and George :D

I had so much fun reading this, thank you!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing!

You're so sweet! I was trying to do the same thing, but I had to take a break (or ten) so it's really slow going! Good for you!

I'm so glad you liked it, this was my first ever non-next-gen. So it was pretty tough for me to write and I was a nervous wreck that nobody would like it! So i'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks again love!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotterMatters of the Heart - Speed Dating Entry: Matters of the Heart

18th February 2014:
Hi Taylor! I just came from reading Roots' part of your entry :) I really love that you've gone for a generational theme rather than a same couple, different scenarios sort of thing, it's a great original idea for the challenge :) I also like that you've both structured your stories in a snap-shot kind of way.

I really really enjoyed this story. Astoria seems to be such a fun, down to earth kind of character in this, it's a really refreshing change from the other Draco/Astoria fics I've read where she is usually a bit of a high-society snob. I can see why Draco would love your Astoria :)

I like that after the war Draco was less concerned with the rules of pureblood society, not getting married before they moved in together and having a baby.

The Draco you've written is just like I'd imagine him to be after the war, a little more laid back but still upholding his family honor (in the fact that he wanted the Malfoy ring to propose with)

His nervousness when it came to proposing to Astoria was so cute, I can't believe it took him 2 years and a baby to do it!

This was exactly what the challenge called for, perfect valentines fluff!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotterHeart(less): Heart(less)

18th February 2014:
Hello fellow Badger :D I'm plodding on with my reviewing of the speed-dating challenge and yours and Taylors entry is next on my list :)

Lucius/Narcissa isn't a pairing I would read usually, not as the focus in a story, but that's mainly just because of my dislike for him. That being said, I thought you portrayed him and Narcissa brilliantly in this, and made me see a new side to their relationship. I always thought Narcissa was bearable, especially after her big moment in Deathly Hallows, and it was always undeniable that she loved her son and husband. I think you've done an amazing job of taking that simple fact and turning into a beautiful story that almost has me thawing a little in my dislike for Lucius.

I like that you've structured your story in a snap shot way, jumping from one important moment in their lives to the next. The one with Cedric really hit me right in the chest. It shows that Narcissa really lives for her son, and though Lucius loves Draco, that moment shows the difference between his parents.

What I love most about this is that you've given Lucius a more human side in his adoration for his wife, in the little details like this:
Her husband's voice came through the darkness, and then his arms followed, wrapping themselves around her body
and this:
"Because I know. Because itís us."

The little appearences from Bellatrix were great too, very in character, which is something I'm completely envious of because I find her impossible.

Overall, I loved this. I loved the memories you chose, the structure and the beautiful descriptions. Thank you for a great read!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Wow! I really admire your determination to read and review all of the entries!

Haha- Lucius and Narcissa isn't a pairing I typically read or write either, but it was one of the pairings that worked best with the idea for our theme.

However, even though I don't read much of them, I've always seen them as having a loving (though very private and un-demonstrative) relationship. That's the viewpoint that really came across in this story of snapshots.

I really wanted to explore their relationship on the long-term, which is why I chose to write in snap-shots. I went with the moments I felt were most important in their relationship. Even though some of the snap shots were very short, I feel as though the shortness lent more of an impact to the moment.

I'm glad that you liked the scene with Cedric. It was one of the last scenes I wrote, and I added it because it occurred to me that it could be one of the moments that helped Narcissa along the path to separating her allegiances from Voldemort. Because it showed that Draco wouldn't be safe, not really. Not if a pureblood boy was murdered simply for accidentally getting in the way of Voldemort's plans.

As I (might have) said before, I really liked exploring the more loving side of their relationship. They're most certainly not in love's first bloom, but they still very much care about each other.

Haha- I really like Bellatrix- there's just something about her, isn't there? :P Anyway, I'm so glad that you thought she was in character. I find it's easier to write her if she only appears briefly in a story. :)

No, thank you for this lovely review! I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotterSpeed Dating Entry: The Moonlit Nights: Another Day's Sun

18th February 2014:
Hello :D I just came from reading your partner's side of this story and couldn't wait to see how it turned out!

I really love that you have excellent continuation from the first half of the story, not just in the story itself but the writing style and how well you've captured the personalities of the marauders as individuals and as a group of close friends. I love love LOVE the idea that Sirius Peter and James would go to such extreme lengths and break so many rules just to help out their friend. But of course it would all have to go wrong! I really feel sorry for poor Remus (only made myself feel slightly better knowing he couldn't stay with Leanne anyway because he HAS to marry Tonks!)

The only small thing that confused me a little was that they stole the Polyjuice from Snape, as he was in the same year group as them and I would have thought it would have had to be stolen from a teacher? But it really was just a minor thing :)

The description in this is great, I could picture the scenes in the hospital wing perfectly, from Madame Pomfrey's frustration to Remus hiding under his duvet in embarrassment from his friends actions.

This was such a great entry, even with an unhappy ending for Remus, it was just pure lighthearted fun.

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotterAbout Saturday: About Saturday

18th February 2014:
Hey! I'm reviewing all of the speed dating entries and yours is next on my list :D

I just want to sat first off how much I adored the marauders in your story. You wrote them EXACTLY as I imagined they would have been at school. The friendship between them is so clear and there's just the right amount of rule-breaking and pranking without it being overdone. I especially loved this:
"Last month, you poured Itching Powder all over his sheets. He was writhing around in agony while you three were standing around laughing."-It's just so perfect it could be canon :D

I'm so happy that you chose Lupin to focus on for a marauders valentine's story, James/Lily would have been the first choice for most, or even Sirius and an OC, but Lupin deserves a little romance too! Well done to you and your partner for an original idea, I'm looking forward to reading the next part :D

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey! People like you who go through entire lists and review every single story are absolutely amazing.

Aw, thanks.

Well, seeing as you can't write a werewolf story with James or Sirius, we went with Lupin. And now you've said this I'm wondering if there are any Peter romance stories around. Probably not, but maybe.

Thanks so much for the review! Manno's part is really good (even better than mine) so I don't think you'll be disappointed. :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotterWithering: Withering

18th February 2014:
Hello! I Just finished reading and reviewing your partner's story for your speed dating entry and adored it. I was on such a high and now your story has broken my heart. (Not because it was bad, it was beautifully written!)

I really like the idea that you both came up with and having the stories showing moments from the beginning and the end of James and Lily's lives together. There was a great contrast between their happiness in the first story and the sadness in yours. I also love how you ended both stories in the same way and yet it felt totally different in your story, it felt final and sad. Poor James and Lily :(

I felt so sorry for James throughout this, all he wanted was to make Lily happy but it was impossible for him when they were in such an awful depressing situation. I thought you portrayed his sadness excellently, I really could feel how overpowered he was in this.

This really was heartbreaking but beautiful.

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotterJust a Little: Just a Little

18th February 2014:
Hey :) I'm on a mission to review all of the entries for the speed dating challenge and yours is next on my list :)

I fell in love with this story in the first 5 lines. Such a brilliant opening that is just so perfectly James and Lily.

There are just so many lines in this that I adore:
Watching Lily's pale face become a rather fetching shade of I'm-going-to-kill-you-Potter red
James had begun to believe that Lily realised that his IQ was higher than that of the average blast-ended skrewt.
"I'm not opening this door until I here snogging noises!"
Sirius asked, folding his arms across his chest, doing a pretty good imitation of a jilted boyfriend.


I'm going to stop now before I quote your entire story back to you.

Basically, I loved this. I thought you had James, Lily and Sirius perfectly right. I thought the circumstances leading up to James and Lily going out were very realistic, them becoming closer as head boy and girl is far better than Lily just one day deciding she loves James back.

This really was just the perfect Jily fluff and I really can't wait to read your parter's story to go with this!

Dee :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story! Fluff is sometimes difficult to write because how do you make a potentially boring scene interesting? And I chose a broom cupboard of all places, too! I was really worried that people were going to think that this was just too cliche.

I never understood how someone can just one day decide that they love someone else. Is this how it works in real life? I don't know. I wanted to have their relationship feel a little realistic, despite the broom cupboard.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! Unwritten Curse's story is fantastic.


 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotterAlways the Tone of Surprise: One

18th February 2014:
Kayla! Long time no speak, fellow badger! I hope you're well :)

I just came from reading Kinnu's part of your entry and I really liked it. I love how original your idea is, having Hermione be the link between the stories. I'm a huge dramione fan but my favourite canon pairing is Ron/Hermione so yours and Kinnu's entry was one I was really looking forward to. (Neither of you disappointed :D)

I just adore the pair in this story. The way they talk about the war, and their lives after it is just so natural and I actually found myself being really frustrated that they had let each other go for an entire year. Do they not know they're supposed to be together?! Phew, calming down now I swear!

Also, can we just talk about this:
They werenít doing it with the weight of the fact that they might die in a few hours over their heads. Instead of shattering rocks, shouting, and curses bouncing all over the walls, they heard a distant bird flapping its wings and the slight chatter from the pubs inside.
Literally the perfect kiss! Love the comparison to their first one :)

Superb job on this Kayla, I loved it.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Dee! I know, I've been rather busy at the moment, which sucks!

Sorry about the delay in the response! I didn't realise it had been over two weeks! D:

Kinnu's story was just fabulous. I really don't like Dramione that much but she wrote it so fantastically and I'm so glad I was partnered with her!

hahaha, I'm so glad you liked it! You review really made me smile! :D

I also loved that sentence! When I wrote it I just stared at it in awe for a while, haha! I'm quite proud of that little tid-bit :p

Thank you for the beautiful review. You're the sweetest! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by HeyMrsPotterOnce enemies, forever enemies. Or not?- Speed Dating Entry: Granger and Malfoy? On a date?

18th February 2014:
Hi Kinnu! I am a total sucker for a Dramione and surprisingly this is the first one I've read for the speed-dating challenge! (Thank Merlin for you :P)

I have to credit you for writing Draco in first person, it's something I've never been brave enough to do, but I think you did spectacularly! I love that he keeps his arrogance and smugness the entire way through the story. Yes, he's changed since the war in temrs of his prejudices but he's still Malfoy in your story.

I like the chemistry you created between Hermione and Draco, this line in particular made me laugh:
She quickly pulled her wand out of her pocket and pointed it at my nose.-Just so completely and utterly Hermione.

Their kiss at the end was a really nice way to end the story, and I like that it was her who kissed him and that he was so surprised by it at first but then went back to his usual arrogant self.

Super job, I really enjoyed this!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank Merlin I wrote a Dramione fic too! Or no one else would have represented our fav couple...

Thanks! I always wanted to write Draco in first person and now I have the speed dating challenge to thank for forcing me to write it!

Oh, phew! I was worried that Draco might come off as OOC. You've put those concerns to rest and flattered me. *blushing*

I loved the nose part too! And the Draco pushing it down so his face wouldn't get damaged...-so him!

I wanted her to be the one to initiate the kiss because if Draco had, I would have had to make her slap him to keep her in character...

Thanks so much for reviewing!
Kinnu


 Report Review

Review #25, by HeyMrsPotterScars : Lovely Lavender

18th February 2014:
Hi AlexFan! I just finished reading Lo's part of your story. I'm really impressed with the original idea you both came up with and was really excited to read things from Juno's point of view, she's a really interesting original character. Let me start by saying, you did not disappoint!

There's a great continuity between both stories in the characters, especially Juno. I love how well you've portrayed her total love and adoration for Lavender. The part when the hostess in the restaurant looked at Lavender's scars was my favourite bit, she was just so fiercely protective.

Is it sad that I was immensely proud of Lavender by the end of this? From her actually going out to a restaurant to her defiant answer given to the waiter, she was just brilliant. I could definitely see some of her more confident side from her Hogwarts days coming out there.

Again, such an original idea for a story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading yours and Lo's entry for the challenge!

Dee :)

Author's Response: The idea for this story was all Lo's idea, I only helped to tweak and expand it. It's really great to hear that I made Juno an interesting character as well!

I'm glad that you enjoyed Juno's overprotectiveness, I was a little bit worried because it looked like she might've been a little bit too protective and it might've come off as slightly annoying.

It's not sad at all that you're proud of Lavender, that's what I was actually hoping people would feel while reading this. I myself felt immensely proud of Lavender by the end of this.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>