Reading Reviews From Member: Red_headed_juliet
  
122 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Red_headed_julietL'optimisme: Württemberg

17th December 2014:
I decided to read the whole thing for our swap. +] Just yesterday I said to my hubby "I miss second person point of view" and then I find this!!

I love reading about Gellert/Albus. I'm a sucker for tragedy, and a Ravenclaw, so the abounding intelligence is just addicting.

I have to attack this review logically or it is going to make no sense. (And I'm so sorry, but this is going to be giant.)

Characterization: Your Albus Dumbledore is the perfect amount of hopeless romantic, niave lover, proud intellect, and quirky observer. Everything is just so well constructed, it would make sense that he aged into the character we know and love from the series. I also appreciate the little things. How he calls Gellert my darling when he feels sentimental, and how he apologizes for how affected he was by the loss of him. It's really very interesting to read.

I have to say that I look forward to Gellert's parts more. There's just something about him that I find addicting. The way he seems so collected and hopeful, and then out of nowhere so dangerous and unbalanced. The way Dumbledore speaks about him is only supported by his own internal musings, and it's sad to see how well they know each other. I think the line about how 'there's nothing to say or we already know all there is to say' is very accurate on how a relationship between them would've worked. With men of such intuitive intelligence, the subject matter of intimate conversations would be predictable.

I also find it noteworthy that he has never said/thought Ariana's name, and only refence he makes to her is as 'the girl'. The kind of detachment he shows towards the whole event in general pretty much showcases the difference between him and Albus.

Descriptions:

Beautiful. As an American, I have never seen Paris, Wales, Bulgaria, or any of those places, but your imagery is more than able to paint a vibrant picture. Also, the way you tie in landscape and environments with deeper moods and associations is very subtle yet impactful. It really conveys how deeply they affected each other, and how they were never able to escape from their passions.

Plot:

I've never given any thought to the interim between Ariana's death, and his downfall.

Now that you've brought that span of years to my attention, I'm very VERY interested in what is going to continue to happen. The foreknowledge is killer, it really is. The fact that they are aware of it also lends to the overall tragic tone and mood of the piece (which I absolutely love).

I'm very interested to hear more about Mathaus, for example, and I'm thinking that must have been the man that 'they' killed unjustly in Gellert's eyes...

Style:

The way you've written this, from the deeply engrained metaphors, to the duality between conversation and silence, love and passion, hope and desperation, all of it tastefully and artfully done. There is certainly a reason this got a Dobby award. You certainly deserved it.

Nothing stands out as awkward, or misplaced. The transitions are all well timed and correctly transitioned. Tense is consistent, even though foreknowledge is often very difficult to write when doing things chronologically, not to mention writing in second person point of view from two different view points!

I'm definitely so glad that I got to read this, and will be coming back for more!

Until next time!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Red_headed_julietWhen Summer Fades: syzygy

15th December 2014:
Oh man. Poor Reg. I'm going to love this story. I'm such a sucker for tragedy.

Ok, well! I enjoy the introspection and how much of Reg's thoughts we're getting in this chapter. I really feel the internal battle going on now, his struggle with morality in general.

Honestly, the only bit of CC I have is that I would like more. Lol. When you say that Sirius would like Summer, why? What about her did Reg think Sirius would like? What does Anne look like? What about her dad?

I think the more details you put in, the more immersive it will be. With this being in first person, it can start to sound a bit narrative, but the more you describe, the less it will seem like that.

The sinking feeling in my stomach when he found the thing about Horcruxes was a good thing. You subtly reminded us of how this is bound to end, and the foreknowledge plus anticipation just makes this little piece a nail biter.

I'm so happy that I'm so sad about this! Haha. Thank you so much for the swap! Until next time!

Author's Response: He has definitely changed a lot since the previous chapter, for sure! So much internal angst haha yeah. It's a huge struggle for anyone to go through.

Ah, you love descriptions too - an author after my own heart, really :D Since it's only a three part story though, it gave me limited space to describe everything. I suppose I left out some about the descriptions of Summer's parents in order to include other things. (They are briefly described in the third chapter, I believe.) I hope it didn't seem too much like telling rather than showing! :S

I'm glad you liked that part about him finding the horcruxes... although it does remind you about the inevitable sad ending, it's great to hear that it was suspenseful and keeps up anticipation!

Thanks for the swap! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Red_headed_julietpresent, past.: 1

15th December 2014:
Hello! Here for the swap!

I enjoyed how you first grabbed our attention with the mystery aspect of it. Foreknowledge is sometimes just as scary as anticipation, and you used that to your advantage. I don't think I've ever thought about Harry going through a crime scene like this before. Great idea!

I also think that switching back and forth between tenses helped to separate the two pov's, and you did it very smoothly! Everything felt like it was in the right place.

The descriptions in this were wonderfully vibrant, I felt like I could really see all the destruction. It's nice to be that included in the story, and exceptional that you managed to pull it off with such a small word limit.

All in all a great read! Thank you so much for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Red_headed_julietTwo Earthly Kingdoms: To Anger a God

14th December 2014:
This is wonderful! I believe my favorite quote would be:

"Then, at last, they were all there, anointed with blood and sworn to fervour, cloaks of ambition and promised power about their shoulders, and he looked down the line and could only see rivals, not friends any longer.

When the prize is immortality, there is no room for mercy"

I love how you managed to describe them emotionally and physically all at once. I also quite enjoyed the part with 'smoke' coming out of people when they would speak. It was so vibrant I could see the thick plums enveloping him. The entire piece has such a wonderful flow to it. Each thing moving seamlessly into the next.

Also, Holy metaphors Batman! You managed to stack those on top of one another without detracting from the storytelling at all! Nothing was confusing or overdone and everything had its purpose.

I enjoyed the internal struggle you set up in Snape, and the way it played out. The whole 'two kingdoms' thing really puts it into perspective. This was a refreshing delve into his mind. I feel like your portrayal puts the right amount of responsibility on his shoulders. You explore what he wanted, the wrong choices he made, and even explore deliberation, which is always nice to see.

This piece in particular makes me fall in love with words again. Your vocabulary, syntax, and mood are a force to be reckoned with. I enjoyed it whole-heartedly.

The piece is simply beautiful. 10/10

Oh, and this was brought to you by the B v B. +]

Until next time!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Red_headed_julietSeven: Seven is the most magical of numbers.

9th December 2014:
Hello! Here for B v B.

I love the vibrant vocabulary in this! It takes a lot of talent to adhere to a strict format while simultaneously creating a rich story that isn't hindered by the structure. This one-shot certainly benefits from it! I loved it!

"Sirius scarpers to the corner, but can't escape the despondency." I love big words!!

I also enjoyed how you used bold letters for the increasing desperation of 'no' after the Halloween night. It was a great way to shake things up without bogging them down with adjectives.

I only have one little point of CC, and that is you may want to change the POV of the middle sentence.

"The perfect combination of his mother and father, of their love and passion. But, Wormtail is still on the loose and Remus needs help. The dementors come for Sirius, but it is Harry who saves him."

All the other transitions went smoothly, but this one seemed a little off. Just a suggestion thought.

The entire piece was wonderful! I'm so glad I got a chance to stop in and read it +]

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm so sorry that it has taken me this long to respond. Thank you so much for this awesome review! I'm so glad you liked this story. It really was fun to write.

Yay! Big words! I like them too :)

I'm not exactly sure how to fix that one sentence. I was trying to imply that Remus needs *Sirius's* help - because he realized that Peter wasn't dead. I will look at that whole paragraph again.

Thanks again!
♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Red_headed_julietHurricane Luna: He Loses on an Island

3rd December 2014:
Hello! Here for the B v B review!

I miss Luna too, Rolf!

Her absence was profound, and I like the mood that you managed to keep consistent until the end. It surprised me how much time had passed, I really thought that they would kiss and make up.

It does seem more like Luna to go running off in a misguided grand romantic gesture though. And of course, her spirit of adventure coaxes him into the natural state of *drum roll* knight and shining armor! right? I sincerely hope that there's more coming.

As always, I love how you have made Rolf such a unique, quirky, and decidedly wizard character. +]

Until next time!

Author's Response: Hiya!

Eep - this review was so awesome - thanks! I'm so glad you like my version of Rolf. I know it isn't what most people think of him, but it just makes sense to me. Luna should have a passionate, deep love with someone and I think that would only happen if they were opposites.

I'm not sure that Rolf actually fits the "knight in shining armor" role - he can barely keep his thoughts straight! But everyone has their own way of showing their love.

I am planing on continuing this! The next chapter is 90% done.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Red_headed_julietEvolution: Words of Wisdom

23rd September 2014:
"Women have a gift for that, leaving the boy in the past when the man emerges."

Favorite quote. I love that. Haha.
Francis is wonderful. He seems to be a very wise man who still remembers what it's like to be young.

Hopefully I'll get a bit of free time again soon.

Until next time!

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. I don't think I'm a very "quotable" author so it's nice there was something like that you liked it there!

Francis is a good guy. I'm hoping to develop his relationship with James a little more in roughly the second half of the story, so I hope if you keep reading you find that he stays wise, grounded, and most importantly, a good dad.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Red_headed_julietEvolution: The End of the Line

12th August 2014:
I'm very excited to continue this. I was a little daunted with how many existing chapters there are, but I've been being a new addiction and the slow burn of James and Lily getting together was just too hard to resist. And now I don't have to wait for validation for awhile.

From the first two chapters, I know you're going to do it justice. This will probably end up being Canon in my head. Lily 's introspection about her relationship with Severus seemed genuine, heartfelt, and mature. Very much in sync with how I picture her temperament.

I really appreciate the distinction you made about why the slur, and that moment, served as the final straw. She wasn't so petty as to leave him behind for insulting her. That was just the manifestation of her fears, and she's a strong enough person to know when enough is enough.

The contrast between James's summer and hers wasn't lost on me. It will be interesting to see how their differing backgrounds and priorities influence the story.

Sorry I don't have any CC. It's just too good so far +)

Thank you so much for the swap, I'm certainly adding this to my reading list. (Especially since I couldn't just stop at the first chapter)

Until next time!

Author's Response: Howdy!

I'm really glad you liked it! These early chapters were not my favorites really as they were written when I was coming off a five-year hiatus from writing (and almost from even reading) fiction. I will give you fair warning that this story definitely puts the SLOW in slow burn, so be ready! But if you do carry on it would be super to even have occasional feedback from an excellent writer like yourself. There are a number of things I'm considering revising once I finish so I'd be interested to see if you agree.

That bit about Lily ending her friendship with Snape is just it! I feel like a lot of the time people get so caught up in the slur itself that a lot of what was really behind it in canon gets ignored. This is actually the first sign of a couple of things that I try to express throughout the story about Lily - first that she CAN change her mind about someone (obviously, see James), but also the flip of that - how much it takes to overcome her firmly-held opinion on someone.

You're way too kind to me, especially being as the story I read of yours was so incredibly good, but I appreciate the wonderful feedback just the same!

Thanks for swapping with me!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Red_headed_julietHow to Fly: How to Fly

12th August 2014:
This is ridiculously heart warming. I connected immediately to her in the beginning. The most trying car ride I have ever been in was on the way home from the hospital after my son was born.

The parallels you made at each interval were touching, and they really added to the timelessness feel. A mother's love never changes, it only grows. I also loved hearing about what she inherited from Ron. It was really sweet. I laughed thinking about Hermione attempting to ride a broom again, and assuring herself the dragon was much more of an accomplishment.

I didn't see any grammatical errors or spelling mistakes. Everything flowed beautifully, and you portrayed a lot of emotions in such a limited amount of words!

I think it's such a lovely idea, especially for a gift, and I'm sure she'll love it!

B v B review

Author's Response: Hello!

Haha - yeah, I think every first time parent has that complete wash of utter responsibility thrust upon them as they leave the hospital. You have to remind yourself that people have been having babies for thousands and thousands of years and they all got through it.

I put in the little snippets of Ron because I wanted to show that Hermione loves finding parts of Ron in her daughter just as much as finding parts of herself.

The broom part was to show that we sometimes do things we *really* don't want to just because our kids ask us to - haha!

Thanks again for this lovely review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Red_headed_julietThe Protector: The Protector

12th August 2014:
Oh man... all the feels. Fred is my favorite character, so this really hit home for me.

Up until I read this I always rather disliked Percy. However, your explanation of his heroism sheds him in a new light while staying completely in character, and I have developed a soft spot for him because of it. Bravo.

The inner turmoil and changing emotions were described quite well, really bringing it all home, if that makes any sense. It just broke my heart when he said "Isn't the battle over?" Man. All the feels.

I saw no grammatical or spelling errors. Tense was all correct and flow was great. None of the transitions seemed abrupt or jarring! An all around great one shot. I think you fulfilled the qualifications of both challenges beautifully!

Thanks so much for the story and the swap!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and that this helped enlighten Percy for you. It's definitely what I was trying to do - I feel like he was more villainized than he needed to be in the series, considering he really did do a lot of great things. You can thank my beta for the no grammatical errors part ;)

Thanks so much for the review and the swap, it's very appreciated!

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Red_headed_julietMorbid: Cousin Larry

12th August 2014:
First let me say so so so sorry this took so long. Computers are not my friend right now.

Anyways, I love it. Hands down absolutely love it. He is hilarious. Your characterization of Teddy is completely original and unique, and took me quite by surprise as I've never seen the movie before.

At first I thought McLaren had died from the blazing curse, and that was the funeral he was attending. I was a bit alarmed, but then it made sense. I'm going to guess that Merlin is a figment of his imagination? Amy seems quite promising and quirky as well.

I didn't notice any grammar or spelling errors, so kudos on that. I'm horrible at editing so my things are normally chalk full of them.

I will certainly be continuing with this next chance I get. Thanks so much for the swap!

Author's Response: It's absolutely fine! I've taken much longer before haha.

It makes me so happy that you like Teddy's characterization! I was afraid people would be a bit put off actually.

I never thought about people thinking that Teddy killed Michael but now that I think about it, the implication is there. Teddy isn't quite THAT dark though, luckily.

I have a solid answer about Merlin but I'm not sure if I really wrote it into this story honestly. And Amy is just a bunch of fun to write.

I'm glad you liked this, thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Red_headed_julietSing Your Aria: I'll Care For You Too

11th August 2014:
"But suddenly, Sirius realized that he couldn’t keep his promise, because on the ground was a stool and on the stool was a pale Aria and on a pale Aria was a hat that had just bellowed out to the whole wide hall and the whole wide world: “SLYTHERIN!”

^^Favorite quote of the day^^ It seems so in character with an eleven year old boy hopping and dreading at the same time. I quite like the tone it lends.

I certainly saw the poetic part of this! Is was certainly beautiful writing, and the tone and feel of it grew and changed throughout the story. I love tragedies, so the ending was sad, but very fitting. Poor Sirius.

The style was wonderful. I almost wish there were more, but the berevity also kind of underlined all the important issues. I think it kind of reflected how short and stunted their relationship was.

Very, very nice! Good luck in the challenges! This was beautiful.

B v B review

Author's Response: 3 reviews. In one day. What is this world coming to?

Thank you, thank you, thank you Juliet for the sweet review! Before this piece, my work had always been humorous and stuff so I was worried if I could capture this kind of emotion. I'm really happy that people think I got the point across.

Oh, Ravenclaws... we're just so epic. Like, a review battle? Only those colored bronze and blue. :)

-Meena


 Report Review

Review #13, by Red_headed_julietSevenfold: everything you touch, only dies

2nd August 2014:
Now that the cup is over I can finally finish this story!

I love the title, very fitting, and it set the mood off right. I like the ending. It's very tragic, but expeted, and I like how the final sentence really depicts the difference between the sevenfold killers.

Yay for James! Haha. I'm glad he got a good one, finally. +]

You did very well on this story, and hopefully as RL comes back to sanity I'll be able to get hooked on another of your fictions. +] I look forward to reading more.

Thanks for this!

Until next time.

Author's Response: Hello!! :) I'm sorry for taking so long to reply to this - I hope you know how much all your reviews and reactions to this story have meant to me over the past few months!

Whenever I hear the lyric of the title in its song now, I always think of this story and Louis and the killer. I'm pleased you liked the ending, and how it tied in with the original sevenfold killer.

Hehe, James being with Alfie was a little silver lining to the sad ending. I felt like they would be a cute couple.

I'm so honoured you liked this, truly, and thank you so very much for being so supportive and lovely. It means so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Red_headed_julietWhen Summer Fades: equinox

15th July 2014:
I'm going to review this as I go, so excuse me if I say something dumb that's explained thoroughly later.

I enjoyed your exposition in the beginning. It wasn't too heavy handed or abrupt, and was detailed, yet brief. It gives us a good basis to start out with. +] It can be difficult to get people involved in the introduction, but I'm already getting a feel for Reg. (I call him that because I can never remember how to spell his name, and I don't want to scroll up because laziness.)

I also like the 'Summer' pun. Though now I feel a bit anxious for her.

"I hate it when people are too happy." Gah, who are these losers? Oh yeah, Death Eaters. Nice introduction. "I have to go wash my hand, it's been sullied by a Mudblood." I like the semi-act he has going on. It all seems to flow so naturally.

I like how you aren't bogging down things with too much description, and when you do add things, like the pink nail polish, it flows well. Nothing seems alienated.

Yes! I just got to the part where she didn't smile at him. +] It's surprising me how emotionally invested in this I have become. Very nicely done!

Awh, man. The inner turmoil is starting to set it. I appreciate that you don't spell everything out. You let the reader come their own conclusions. A very good habit to have. He's starting to remind me a little of Draco.

Hmmm... This sentence seems a bit wonky to me.

"The next time when there was a good sunset was three days later, so I went back to the Tower then."

(figured some CC in this review might actually be nice. Haha.)

Yeah! Call him Reg. +] I feel like I'm in a special club now. (Sorry if this review degenerated into rambling. I'm just enjoying this story.)

"So I continued to stretch across the ever-widening gap between two worlds." -new favorite quote of the day. I don't know why, as it's really simple, but I think this sentence is beautiful.

Oh no. Oh no. Ok, I have more reviews for the swap, but I'm totally adding this to my reading list. I love the dynamic. The secrets, the hush hush. I love how Summer is a martyr (hopefully not literally) and I'm annoyed with Reg.

In summary, this is awesome. Your characterization is perfect. Flow (other then that ONE sentence) is amazing. Description is neither too scarce, or overbearing. Grammar and punctuation in check! Quite a nice read! Thank you!

Author's Response: This was such an amazing review, I'm sorry it took me ages to respond to it!!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed the exposition! I wondered if there was TOO much background there so I'm really happy to hear that's not the case :)

Aw, that's such a huge compliment that you're getting emotionally invested in the story ♥ that's so lovely to hear!

Ooh, I like that you compared him to Draco. I hadn't thought about it before but I definitely see where you're coming from there.

Hm, yeah that sentence is a bit wonky, haha. Thanks for pointing it out.

You are in a special club! The awesome people club! :P No worries about rambling - rambly reviews are fun and I'm just so happy you're enjoying the story!

I'm so glad you liked that sentence, that was one of my favourites as well. Due to Regulus' nature this fic makes me sound a lot more eloquent than I actually am :p

Ahh, thank you so much about the characterization and the dynamic between the two friends. I'm so glad you like the description too! I'm seriously blushing at all these compliments, you are too nice ♥ Thanks for such a lovely review and thanks for the swap!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Red_headed_julietIn the Way: In the Way

15th July 2014:
This was awesome! I never did like Percy, though it's troubling to think he'd actually put someone away in Azkaban for a murder he committed. *shivers*

Anyways!! I think this was a great little one shot. At first I wasn't sure why you were going back and forth between the present and past, but then it clicked with the dementors and stuff. I think that the style really helped with the mood. While her comments and hatred kind of foreshadow what's going to happen.

The only CC I really have is to watch your tense as sometimes it slips into present tense, and start a new paragraph when a new person delivers dialogue. When they're in the library and she says the whole thing about 'take me out, or will I have to make an appointment?' you never start a new paragraph, and it's a little disconcerting. No biggies though. +]

I really didn't see it happening like that in the end. For a while I was really scared he was going to have turned her in as a muggle born during the you-know-who regime. I'm glad he didn't though. This seems much more in character.

And the end. The end was super creepy. With the spacing, and the disjointed thoughts. *shivers*

All together very well done. Quite a nice little story you've got here. +]


BvB

Author's Response: Thanks! This was a very nice and helpful review. I really wanted Percy to seem exaggeratedly evil. I don't imagine him as that bad, but in this story I tried to make him quite evil. It's good to know I succeeded. :)

I did sort of try to foreshadow the events that would occur, I hope I didn't spoil it too much with the thoughts...

Thanks again for reviewing!
Lauren


 Report Review

Review #16, by Red_headed_julietIn The Light Of The Moon : How It All Began

14th July 2014:
Hey! Here for a swap!

This was a really cute missing moments thing! I love your internalization of Remus, I think it's quite in cannon. As well as the rest of them really. Your description, dialogue, and flow were all wonderful, and with the counting down to the change you set up an anxious tone, which went hand in hand with Remus's mood perfectly.

The little jokes, like Sirius's sarcasm and James say 'the most handsome' were all little details that added a lot of flavor, and I'm glad you didn't skip out on the opportunity to show that light hearted side they all seemed to have.

At first I wondered why Wormtail went first, then I realized that James wanted to be the finale. +]

Very nice! Until next time!

Author's Response: Hi there!!

Aww thank you so much! I really loved writing this story, so to see how warmly it's been received has been wonderful. :) Thank you for that! The best compliment, to me anyhow, is to hear you've managed to keep a character cannon. (Unless you're writing an AU, which you may not want that response haha). The Marauders are my absolute favorites - as is obvious from my Author's Page - so it's incredibly awesome to hear I was true to all of their characters. I was hoping that the countdown would add a little suspense to the story. I'm really glad that it came through!

Their stories may have all ended tragically, but their lives seemed full of fun and laughter. I wanted to show how young, carefree and brilliant they all were. Even if Remus felt anything but at that moment. That moment in The Shack between James and Sirius was my favorite part to write. I could totally see it happening that way in my head haha.

I didn't even think of it that way! With James wanting to be the finale - which I'm sure he most certainly would have wanted. The main reason I did it that way was to have their names in order. James called Remus "Moony" first. He then introduced Peter as "Wormtail", Sirius as "Padfoot" and then himself as "Prongs." Messrs. Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs. ;)

I'm happy you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the swap and such a kind review!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #17, by Red_headed_julietan interlude of you.: thoughts from a prison of stone.

9th July 2014:
I love your characterization of Gellert in this. His determination and calculating personality were all very apparent in the first section, making the descent into his self-conscioius, nervous state even more striking.

Normally I think about Gellert as always haunting Dumbledore, but here you've switched it around, and I quite enjoy the fresh perspective. Dumbledore's life went on, while Gellert's never really progressed after the duel with Dumbledore.

My favorite line was probably:

"Now and then, we would sit by the banks of the river and watch the moon's rays bleach the water a lighter hue, the soft ripples dissipating the colour until it all faded to the ebony black which now possessed my heart. "

The language and description is utterly beautiful, completely vivid and really adds to the moment.

A very wonderful job!

House Cup 2014- Decree 5

Author's Response: Hi Juliet!

I'm glad you liked his characterisation as it was different to how I had planned to write him as he is a lot more aware of himself and others towards the end and perhaps even nervous as you said. Ooh, I'm glad you liked that but I think Dumbledore probably thought the same of Gellert which makes me wonder if they had stayed together would they be happy or not.

Aw, thank you and thanks for this amazing review, it really made me smile! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #18, by Red_headed_julietThe Final Journey: The Final Journey

8th July 2014:
This was wonderful! I like how much intelligence and insight you were able to give him in so few words. I really felt as though he was a dear friend, and not just a useful pet, which is exactly how Dumbledore would've perceived him. The description is wonderful. I could really see, hear, and feel everything your described. There wasn't anything that took me out of the story.

A wonderful little one-shot! I'm so glad I got to read it!

House Cup 2014- Decree 4

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you liked the story and that you thought that Fawkes was believable. I definitely wanted to portray his friendship with Dumbledore, rather than just a human/pet relationship. Thank you so much for your compliments!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #19, by Red_headed_julietSevenfold: in the dark, count mistakes

8th July 2014:
Woo hoo!! I knew it. +] Haha. I didn't even notice the anagram. Cool!

I think this was a very fitting resolution, though I do feel very bad for Louis in all this. Hopefully he and Emily will get to holding hands next chapter. +] Progress is progress, after all. +]

I'm glad that Neville ended up practically not involved at all. Unwittingly throwin into a revenge plot for a vow he made at Hogwarts makes much more sense. Very in canon with his luck.

I did't see anything as far as CC. The resolution with Ada, and the reconciling with the ghosts of her past was just as satisfying as the identity of the sevenfold killer copycat.

The mystery was very well put together, and I was still doubting whether or not Eugunie was the killer, because you did leave room for it to be someone else.

Whew. Thank you for a wonderful story!

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hello!

You totally knew it!! Haha, I was so excited when you figured it all out and put the pieces together, it was awesome.

Louis is sort of a huge victim in this since not only was he falling for her, but he's personally and professionally implicated. She basically played him, even if her feelings grew for him by the end. I think the way he reacts in the final chapter must surprise or upset people, I'm almost a little nervous to post it.

Yes, Neville was really just a victim of circumstance. He made a lot of sense with motive and it was logical to frame him, and yes he has always been very unlucky.

I'm pleased you liked Ada's ending! It was very sad for me to say goodbye to her but her time had come, and it was a relief for her to finally die after unloading the final secret.

Thank you!! I'm so glad you liked the mystery, I loved writing it and learned a lot. I've truly loved each of your incredible reviews on this. ♥ The final chapter should be up this week!! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Red_headed_julietHurricane Luna: They Scorch in a Desert

7th July 2014:
Totally didn't see that one coming.

Your description throughout the piece was very well balanced. You made sure we understood how bothered Rolf was by the temperature without over doing it.

Arg. I can see why you wouldn't want to write this chapter. I know everyone has their fights, but he can't really think that Luna 'left him'. He told her to leave. Technically, he left her. She should be the one upset right now. I have no sympathy for you, Rolf! You made Luna cry!

Arg. I can't wait to read more, I think you've wonderfully with the quote. Until next time!

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hi!

Yes, Rolf left Luna, but he can't see it that way, can he? I was excited to read your comment about the descriptions. I was really worried that I had gone over the top with them, but I really didn't want to downplay the extreme heat and how it was affecting Rolf. I am working on the next chapter - a little more drama to come and I just wanted to extend a heartfelt thank you because you have been such a great champion for this story. It is my first novella and I was worried about the pace and well, the story overall.

Thanks again - I really appreciate the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Red_headed_juliet...Not a Twinkle...: ...Not a Twinkle...

7th July 2014:
This is adorable! I'm a huge Ginny/Harry fan, so it's nice to see this missing moment from the series.

I think the brief dialogue is very in canon, as I don't think that either one of them would feel the need to talk much after that. The inner monologue solidifies Ginny as a rather introspective character, and as the youngest in a large family, I think fits perfectly.

"Because it's love. And love is fear. And fear is always the one thing that makes hopes presence known and when hope rises above fear that's when you can reach out."

New favorite quote of the day.

Congratulations on accomplishing so much in so little words! The tone in this piece is very much apparent!

Until next time! House Cup 2014- Decree 2

 Report Review

Review #22, by Red_headed_julietTrue Romance: A View to a Kill

7th July 2014:
I'M SO GLAD HE'S NOT DEAD!!! Agh! So. Yes.

Corbin: I don't like him that much, going to be honest. It seems like he'll be supressive, selfish, and may even only be in it to get in on Scorpius's inheritance. I don't like that he had given such thought to Scorpius's standing financially. And he doesn't seem to be an honest business man. I just worry for him, that's all. (And the fact that I can be debating internal motives is a nod to your characterization, as always.)

It's good that Rose is showing at least a little more initiative to change her outlook on life and actually put forth a little effort to do what she wants, though they do have a point about her thinking it all the way through. Starting a business isn't exactly easy.

Brandon, once again, proves himself to be the best guy on the face of the planet, and Al better not hold it against him. He can't help it if he didn't know he had a kid, and like James said, why is that such a big deal when Al is comfortable with them. It's not like the existance of a daughter or previous girlfriend changes the way he thinks about him. (I'm still shipping Al/Brandon)

Very nicely done! I'm excited to know this is what you're doing for July NaNo! I can't wait to read more.

Until next time!

House Cup 2014 - Decree 2

Author's Response: I WAS GLAD TO NOT KILL HIM!!

Okay, no one likes Corbin. BUT HAS ANYONE GIVEN HIM A CHANCE?!? well, probably. but, still. Um, yeah, the greed bit kind of came through. He's not technically breaking any laws. that's all I can say about his business practices. I LOVE THAT YOU END UP DEBATING THE MOTIVIES OF MY CHARACTERS. :D

Rose is definitely taking the bulls by the horns. and, you know, giving her career a go.

Brandon might possibly be an impossibility in RL. I've come to accept this and have cried about it over my cheerios. I'M SO HAPPY YOU'RE STILL SHIPPING BRANBUS!

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!! I think I'm set up to finish by the end of the month!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by Red_headed_julietVernon's Story: Meeting Swirley Jr

7th July 2014:
This entire piece was lovely, I especially liked how the mood changed from serious to silly with such ease throughout. The style really does remind me of J. M. Bairre, so kudos for pulling off such an entertaining narrative.

I think that your portrayal of Vernon and Petunia is really spot on, complimenting the original absurdity of their characters from the first few HP books. Swirley Jr. also seems to have the right quirkiness vs sinister ration, which is always incredibly entertaining.

I'm assuming that Swirley is the kid in the bathroom, now out to take revenge on Vernon. I think this is quite an interesting take on the quote, and a great premise for a story like this.

Very well done! I was thoroughly entertained!

Author's Response: Hi Juliet!
Your review made me so happy ♥
I was a bit worried that the alternation between serious and senseless would confuse and disgruntle readers, so I'm very glad that it doesn't! Because I want to keep the serious aspects of this story without it becoming too much of a weight on the soul, you know? ^^
Wow, what a compliment! Thank you so much, you made me blush and giggle (repeatedly)!

I love and hate that Vernon and Petunia are canon, because I originally started writing this story for a Challenge called 'Canon Craziness' ^^' but somehow couldn't sway too much from the Dursleys we know (because in a way, they are fascinatingly fun to write).

Oh yes, Johnathan is very quirky. As he has waited for his revenge, he still has a bit of patience in him yet could easily lose it now that he's so close to getting what he wants. I like to see him as a tiny Moriarty but that'd imply that Vernon is a fat Sherlock and although that would be very entertaining to write or read, Vernon is Vernon and not especially the brightest ^^
And yes, Swirley is the kid that suffered a swirly in the first chapter - I like to play with the thought that they named the act after him. But shush, more about him in chapter 5 (chapter 4 is Meeting the Potters^^).

Thank you, I had (and I'm still having) much fun with the Peter Pan quotes so I'm really glad you created the challenge, even more that I got so ride the wave you created and snagged the third place ♥ It all makes me very happy ^^
I'm delighted that you liked it!!

*Gee


 Report Review

Review #24, by Red_headed_julietTrue Romance: Live and Let Die

6th July 2014:
Oh no. I'm hoping for coma in St. Mungo's and not dead. Please please please, let him not be dead.

Ok. There were a few parts in here that I think could've used a beta. Some words missing and a little incorrect tense. That's really it as far as CC goes. Nothing major.

I'm always stuck by the fallibility of your characters. They have faults. They drink when they get stood up and make decisions that might not be the best. They wrestle with their consciousness, like real people do, and it makes them endearing.

Pressing forward! And this is another for the House Cup! (And my 100th review! Woo hoo!)

Author's Response: YOU CAN HOPE ALL YOU WANT... But I won't make promises about people dying.

Ooh, yeah, thanks for pointing that out. I've gone ahead and got a beta for this so my editing will slowly be put into play.

I like writing people who make mistakes. I mean, if they were perfect then there wouldn't be a lot to write about. I'm really glad that their faults stand out as a strength in this story. :D

Yay for review 100!!!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Red_headed_julietTrue Romance: In the Waiting Line

6th July 2014:
Hello! Here with a House Cup review.

I think that Rose and Scorpius really needed this restitution. I'm glad that he didn't try to deceive her in any way, and came out with the entire truth.

*gasp* Was that a reference to the Charlie/Savage relationship? So sad! I hope that the Savage name isn't cursed to be forever in the friend-zone.

Brandon is just the best guy ever. I sincerely hope that Al ends up with him, though I can see the happiness of a Al/Scorpius one as well.

Plot seems to be progressing nicely, with the addition of Rose conflict, and as always characterization is wonderful.

Pressing onward! (after a short snack break.) +]

Author's Response: Hello!!! I'm so happy you hit this up for the HC!!

Rose and Scorpius' new understanding will be fun to play with later on but for now it's nice that they're level.

It was a reference to Charlie/Savage!!! *cough* I can't promise anything about Savages and friend-zones.

Brandon is one of my favorite people to write about at the moment. :D I am glad that you're torn between the ships.

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>