Reading Reviews From Member: GinnyPotterForever
  
63 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Answers And Avoidance

22nd July 2014:
It seems like it's been ages since I haven't written a review... And it has been! I can't remember when I last reviewed! With a summer internship and one late night when I started posting my own story (gulp!) free time has been rare.

Love the direction the story is going in...
I think Harry's knowledge of the prophecy is the major turning point of Initiate... As we know, Dumbledore blamed himself for not telling Harry earlier in OoTP, and this really takes the whole story in to a different level.
Not that it wasn't different already.I mean, Sirius is out, Harry has a family, Draco is becoming the next white sheep and Remus and Dora are already together.

Did I mention I love the world you've created? I didn't?
Oh well. I love it!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Lion Hearted

11th May 2014:
Wow... Draco really starting to resent the fact that he has to sit with the Slytherins... Poor guy's really confused.
The owl died too? What is going on? At least now Sirius can't be blamed for Morton's death. I think.
Number of freckles. That's the way he tells them apart. Wow. I can see a friendship developing there! ;)

The incantation sounds really good! Harry always talked about the line with 'fur as dark as night' but the storm and lightning one sounds much better.
Thanks for throwing in James and Sirius's incantations - they were a real treat. You put a lot of effort in the details, I think that's what draws me to this story :D

Sirius telling Harry about Marlene is so adorable! ^_^

Waiting for the next chapter! ;) (it's Sunday and it isn't here yet.)

 Report Review

Review #3, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Time To Talk

4th May 2014:
I haven't read the next chapter yet, and I'm dying to... so this is gonna be quick.

Harry and Blaise - went as well as expected. Poor Blaise. Hopefully he'll know he can trust Harry soon.

Christopher and Sirius and then Severus - Sad. And then Weird. Severus is worried about Sirius (that's a first)

Harry and Remus - They're so shocked that Sirius hasn't come to meet them yet ;)

Sirius and Remus - Punch! Yes!!! :D And they still haven't figured out the Room of Requirement isn't a garage?

Sirius and Marlene - Yay!!! Fangirling!!! :D About time really!

Great chapter, I'm off to read the next! ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Helpless, Hindered, Hero

26th April 2014:
Wow... Awesome chapter once again.

The entire business with Morton sounds really fishy.

Sirius and Marlene! (You can't see it, but I was dancing)
"That was proof that relatives have rubbish timing, no matter how old they are." I LOVE THIS.
Dora is brilliant, I love her and everything, but let's just hope she doesn't pop up in another scene like this.

When Draco helps Neville and the whole flying away thing doesn't happen, I was thinking Harry might not get into the team. But he did! :D This way was more fun, Draco gets to be on their side now! ;)

Eager for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: A Proper Welcome

14th April 2014:
Since the next chapter is out already, I'll leave a short review: LOVED THIS!!!

I like how Severus doesn't need too many words to convey his message. It's as if the two are united in the one mission - and that only.
Lucius has a soft side... who knew?

Draco might look exactly like people are expecting him to look but Harry and him entering the Great Hall together must have shocked some people to next week ;)

Tonks wrote to Harry! Aw.

Oh no... Draco is trying to fit in with the Slytherins! This is bad... At least, Blaise's questions have been answered... He now knows that it's actually Harry!

And the best part of the chapter! OMR I was sooo excited when Fred realised Harry said Moony! And then the squealing, the 'get the guy alone', and finally, they found them! THEY FOUND THE MARAUDERS!!! I think it's my one unfulfilled HP wish (except an entire book series on the Marauders) to find out how Fred and George react when they find out about Sirius and Remus in OoTP... You just made half of it come true... And the welcome! Complete with Moony laughing and apologising to a distraught McGonagall!
I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this bit.

I guess 'short review' has changed definitions now.

 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Sorting Things Out

4th April 2014:
Wow, I'm really late again. But I manage to read new chapters as soon as they are up! :)

I was going to review on April 1st, but the entire food/names thing made me go and look at some of the other stories. My favourite was James Potter as Peanut Butter Pastry and Lily Evans as Jelly Evans. That makes James and Lily 'Peanut Butter and Jelly'. :D

Anyway, on to the chapter!

Yeah, so, I didn't think there was anything going on with Morton except that he's a prejudiced pain in the - but it never hurts to be sure.
Marlene asked Sirius out! Yay! ;) It's sad that he had to postpone, but Harry will always be the number one priority for him. But now he knows that at some level, she likes him too!

Draco's in Gryffindor!!! Yippee!!! Awesome! This changes EVERYTHING!!!
Harry's sorting was different, he doesn't ask to *not* to be sorted in Slytherin, and that's what makes him "brave and stupid", the very definition of a Gryffindor (for some people). Hope that doesn't change anything.
Will we get a Blaise POV soon? How does he react to Hermione at the Sorting? He still doesn't know exactly who Harry is - so that's gonna be interesting.
The School song - nice touch ;)

Wow... Sirius telling Harry about breaking the rules... It kinda makes you see exactly how much he's grown up to become a good parent. If he was just a godfather, the advice might have been different, but here, he's a dad, with full responsibilities of a child who's been through a lot.
I like how when Sirius thinks Harry's in Slytherin, he makes sure not to show any disappointment. But then, he realises, it's Gryffindor, and we get an 'Excellent'!
Harry gets James's bed! Awww. There are six beds here though... who gets the other Marauder's beds??

Looking forward to other adventures!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: The Professor's Intervention

28th March 2014:
Sorry for the really late review... I've been caught up in a ton off stuff. Awesome chapter, by the way, but I really don't like Cliffhangers.

The compartment should be quite full, with Harry, Ron, Hermione, Draco, Hydrus, Crabbe and Goyle. I particularly like the line where Harry comments on Remus's sixth sense for detecting trouble ;)
Regulus with silver skin... that's from Brothers - like always, I love it when you do that.
Remus sees James in Harry, but Harry is not James, like he proved when he didn't argue further. Too many years at the Dursleys saw to that.
Poor Harry - he just realised he was famous :S

The last bit, where we're waiting for the verdict on Draco,I was scrolling down ever so carefully, making sure I wouldn't go to the next line before I read the one I was on, and - BOOM! Chapter's done.

Why do authors love cliffhangers???!!!???

 Report Review

Review #8, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Aboard The Hogwarts Express

17th March 2014:
Yippee!!! We're almost at Hogwarts! :D

Poor Harry... He's so accustomed to Sirius and his pranks right now that even telling him the right thing - walking through the wall - seems like an elaborate trick. He even thinks Ginny might be in on it! ;)

I would love to see the Weasleys interacting with Sirius. It seems that the younger generation has no qualms with him, but Molly is hesitant. I wonder how you will show the Harry-Molly relationship, it was an important part of the books, and Sirius taking care of Harry from the start threatens to destroy the mother-son bond - a slight example is what we see in OoTP.

The chapter is brilliant, as always. I loved Draco the most though. So contradictory ;)

I didn't remember the rat ;) It's a nice touch. Percy didn't realise that this was a new rat?

I'd love to see Blaise. He's probably in the Slytherin compartment which Draco chose to leave. I guess we'll see him at the Sorting.

The Sorting! Oh Merlin, I'm so nervous for that! You are going to stick with the canon sorting, hopefully? Nah, then Draco and Blaise end up in Slytherin. Just keep the Golden Trio together!!!
Can't wait for the next!

 Report Review

Review #9, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: A Place To Belong

10th March 2014:
What a beautiful chapter... The feelings of five different students as they pack up to go and start the first day of the next seven years of their lives...

Ron wishes Ginny were his twin... awww!!
I'm sure he really wishes she were going with him. He was so insecure about making friends. But he found Harry, and he manages to ignore Ginny. He's definitely going to have Harry with him this time around as well, and if all goes well, Hermione and Blaise too (I'm not sure about the Blaise part after reading his side of the story... more on that later.) You've captured each Weasley perfectly! I love how Percy is yet again polishing his Prefect Badge.
Hopefully, Ron won't forget Ginny this time, keep her in the loop and be as good a friend when she joins next year.

Blaise. Oh Merlin. We saw him through the eyes of Narcissa and Draco the last time, and he seemed off. But that poor boy has been through hell!! He's being forced to pretend like he's someone else for practically the rest of his life to keep his father alive. That's a lot of pressure on an eleven year old. Things like this can really affect him and actually change his personality - look at Draco.
Blaise Zabini is saying goodbye to Blaise Benson... He doesn't believe he will know anyone there... But his plans are going out the window as soon as he meets Harry and Hermione! I think he should be in Gryffindor, he is so brave and has accepted that he basically has to throw away his life to keep his father alive. And if he's in Gryffindor, he can be himself once in a while.

Hermione still thinks she won't make friends... This time, she already has a friend in Harry. She doesn't really have to worry.

The Draco part was more about showing Narcissa's worries... She knows Draco most likely won't be placed in Slytherin - or Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw. Even though Draco believes he will be in Slytherin, Narcissa knows that the very act of Draco coming to comfort her will put him in Gryffindor.

The most different story here is Harry's - in two ways. For one, he is the only out of the others who is secure in the knowledge that he knows some people there and won't be alone. He knows that even if somehow, he doesn't make any new friends,there's always Hermione, Ron and Blaise (maybe). And there's always Moony, who will be teaching him (like he has been) - I'm so excited for that!
Secondly, this is different because in canon, Harry was the most insecure. Even till the moment the Sorting Hat sorted him, he thought it might all go away. He didn't know anyone and he was all alone. I loved the contrast :D

Thanks for another great chapter, can't wait for the next!

 Report Review

Review #10, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: The Break-In

2nd March 2014:
Another great chapter... and with Dora, plus Sirius-Remus banter! :D

Goblin Inferi... that just sounds wrong. Is that even possible? I thought Inferi might have been just a human thing.
I love how the actual line of events correlates with canon. Hagrid emptying the vault (is Sirius going to figure out it was the same vault?) and then Quirrel trying to break in... with the help of Goblin Inferi. To quote Brown, Ew.

Harry meets Draco! Like in canon! ...And Hydrus.
Although this scene sounds much more comforting. They know each other, Draco is a much better person, even though he might unknowingly insult our beloved Weasleys, and we have Hydrus to fill in for meanie of the day ;) Plus, Draco just loves to throw in the fact that Harry still hasn't used that dictionary ;D

Remus and Dora sharing a bed!... Awww. that's so sweet!
The entire confrontation was very well written, hats off!
Harry's forgotten it's not full moon... He just goes around making tea... ;)
The kitchen scene was nice, with just enough humor to lighten the situation.
Sirius has picked up some new tricks, glad to see that!

Eager to know more about the case, though really, we know who's actually doing it ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Keira And The Kettle

23rd February 2014:
That was the best prank ever!!!
I thought Harry would have told Sirius what happened about Blaise - maybe he did, but not about Hermione. Harry must have been planning for the whole week and a half to make that happen :) He's so playful, because of Sirius and Remus, when actually he never really plays pranks in canon. It's so sad, knowing the life they could have had.

We get an insight into Sirius and Marlene's 'coffee breaks' *something's brewing* *pun intended* ;)
So Sirius is working on Goblin Murders for the past few months... which seem to be happening because of the dragon egg... sounds suspicious! Always eager to find out more about that.

The prank! I literally stood up and started clapping... :D
I love how Remus introduces himself as John Evans, and Hermione is trying to figure out exactly who he is... She's a very curious little girl, but she could use a fun influence. Like we see in canon, Harry enjoys her company, but not as much as Ron's, or in this case, Blaise's. Poor Hermione couldn't keep up a prank for more than a few minutes ;) She's got a lot to learn!
What was the dare Remus was talking about?

And the second prank, with Marlene! I was imagining the scene, ever since the end of 'Innocent', where Marlene comes in and can't see either of them, and Harry invites her in, like they did with Dora. But this was way better. I mean, way, way better.
Sirius was too nervous to ask her to stay for dinner. Maybe he thought about letting her eat while she couldn't see them ;) Just a tiny little thought which ran away to hide as soon as Marlene said 'yes, but only if he shows himself'. Or something like that.

You've got us hooked with the new case, but I'd love to see more Dora, and maybe some more Sirius-Remus action!

 Report Review

Review #12, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: New Names

16th February 2014:
One big chapter of the Malfoys with snippets of Snape and Harry! :)
I love the chapter name, both Harry and Blaise are introducing themselves differently - in Harry's case, the truth; and in Blaise's, the unwilling lie.
How do you come up with these names?

Harry and Hermione are so adorable. No warts or toads.
It just HAD to be Harry who let it slip. 'Muggle' is like a part of his everyday vocabulary now. And Hermione being 'a walking dictionary' is awesome.
Hermione asks about Mrs. Zabini's house and Harry answers with details about his wand... hmmm... not the sharpest knife in the drawer yet... =P

Draco's birthday... He's eleven! And Narcissa's in red robes! She's become very. I don't know the exact word I'm looking for but I'm loving her character!

What's up with the kids? I've lost touch with what happened with each individually... Why are Daphne and Astoria fighting? And it looks to me like Draco and Astoria might be the common pair you were talking about... am I right?

"It was a look Draco had directed at him frequently, by all sorts of people; his family, his social circle, and even Potter, though Potter always looked bewildered, so Draco wasn't sure that that counted."
I absolutely love this. I mean, this is classic.

Poor Blaise... He was such a sweet guy, and know he has to act superior and all... I'm hoping he gets into Gryffindor, but even if he doesn't, I think he'll still be good friends with Harry.

Author's Response: Haha, yes, it's a chapter focused on the other half of the character cast. :)
About time, too (in Harry's case), but it's a sad time for Blaise. :S Haha, chapter names are a last minute thing for me... generally, I'll go to publish a chapter and sit around wondering what to call it until I come up with something I think could work. :P

Haha, yes, they're very sweet. :) Of course; he's got muggle history, but he's very much a wizard at this point, and Hermione's too good at following rules to let something slip. :P
Haha, it was a calculated risk; if she hadn't understood, she'd have brushed it off as him being strange. :P

He is! It's not the first time she's worn red robes, but I had her do so for symbolic reasons in these particular scenes. :) I'm still having a lot of fun with her development. :)

There's always drama in the circle, but you're right that things are tense with the Greengrasses at the moment, but I won't explain it now... Interesting idea about Draco and Astoria, but I won't confirm or deny it (sorry!). :P

Haha, yes, I liked that line. :P

I know. There'll be more of Blaise later on, and hopefully that'll put his behaviour into perspective. His reunion with his primary school friends will be interesting, though, that's for sure!

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #13, by GinnyPotterForeverInitiate: Family And Friends

11th February 2014:
Wow, you're quick! Two chapters in one week! :)

Any particular reasons on why this story is called Initiate? I love the name, and the banner! :)

Harry's Animagus spell - haven't seen that since he got the stag and doe part. It sounds brilliant ;) I love how Sirius wonders whether Harry should have been studying up on his spelling instead of working on the spell ;)
Sirius gets a hint of inky smell, but doesn't realize it's on his face :D Hilarious! Judging by the fact that Sirius is willing to tell on Harry to Kreacher, and Harry is actually scared of Kreacher, I guessing Sirius has been having long nights at the Auror Office and Kreacher will not let Master Harry disturb poor old Master Sirius, oh no. ;) What's Sirius been working on?

Remus accepts the DADA position for Harry's first year! This changes everything! You know that he can't stay for more than a year, don't you? Unless... you're planning to finish of Voldemort and all the Horcruxes in one year?? Hm.

Sirius and Marlene have coffee together every day (for more than a half hour) and no one at home knows about this... Sneaky sneaky!
'I was going to say hex me, or feed me to his rubbish bins, but unimpressed works too' This line is sooo funny! :D

I feel so sorry for Blaise! this is just terrible. When I thought he was Blaise Zabini the first time we met him, I thought he and his dad might know about magic. Now, he doesn't know anything about Hogwarts, or the magical world, and everything he knows will be coming from his mother.
His horrible mother.
Will he even talk to Harry? Once Harry says he is who he is, of course. And what's gonna happen with Hermione? Hopefully NOW Harry and her will have that long awaited talk.

So, in canon: Harry turns up at Platform nine and three quarters alone, needing directions, knowing no one and having no family.
Here: Harry has loving Godparents ;) one of who is going to be his teacher, and he knows plenty of students already! Yay!!! :D

I can't wait to meet Narcissa again - she was one of my favourites!
I'm terribly worried about the sorting - so many things can go either way! Draco, who's changed so much - where's he gonna be? And of course, Harry! I can't imagine him in any other house than Gryffindor, but who knows what your mind is going to think up?
*literally biting my nails here*

Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes, I worked extra hard to get both done; I thought that might soften the blow of ending "Innocent". :P

Sort of - I wanted to keep with the "I" theme, mostly, but it's also the beginning of a few things; Sirius in the DMLE, Harry at Hogwarts, Remus as a teacher, etc. :) I thought it fit. :) I'm glad - I was pleased with the way the banner worked out. :)

Haha, yeah, he's making progress; still got a bit of work to do, but he's more than halfway, now. :) Haha, Sirius has just been working on Auror things - there'll be more of that later. :)

It does change everything... And yes, I do know. :S But, we'll cross that bridge at the end of the year...

Haha, yes, they are being a bit sneaky. :P

I know. :( Giovanna's brief appearance in her scene with Narcissa wasn't really enough to show her character, but I think this scene really showed what a piece of work she can be. :S He and Harry won't see each other for a few more chapters, but when they do, their reunion will be... interesting. :P
Harry and Hermione's handling of the situation will be addressed in the next chapter. :)

Yes, it's going to be very different. :)

You're in luck; Narcissa's back in the next chapter. :) She's a favourite of mine too. :)

The Sorting should be a very dynamic scene; I haven't decided quite how I'll do that, yet, but I do know where everyone will be Sorted... :)

The next chapter's up now. :)
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #14, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Breached Borders

9th February 2014:
Wow... you just have to keep us hanging till the last word ;)

First, about this chapter.

The Sirius and Marlene interaction was amazing. I can imagine him knocking on her door, and managing to say "Hey Marly, how are - " before she launches into her tirade against the senior Aurors.
The part where they discuss Marlene's new patronus was so cute. And then she tries to make sure he got home safe - *cough so totally spying cough*

Dolores. Can I just hate her? Don't write her a sad back-story, or some heartbreaking flashback. Ever.

' - The Department Of Mysteries issued irregularly.' I missed the 'ir' the first time. Nice ;)
Weren't Hemsley and McDuff the trainees who ambushed Sirius and James in the Arena? Whoever thinks they might click together must have a very short memory. At least they're trying to make it work, even if they know they won't ever click as well as they did with their previous partners.

And then came the huge Dragon chasing part. All I can say about that is that I definitely wasn't expecting that! It totally makes sense though, mummy dragons are supposed to be possessive about their babies. But Charlie actually meeting Voldemort and Quirrell? I wonder if that'll come up later.

Eighty chapters is a long time to keep readers hooked on fanfiction, and you've managed it brilliantly. Thank you, for giving us such a wonderful story. Even with all the twists and turns, Harry, Sirius and Remus get something they didn't have - a family. Characters like Dora, Mad-Eye, Draco and Scrimgeour who JKR didn't exploit as much as she should have; others like Marlene, Robards and Narcissa who were barely mentioned once, if at all; they came to life in this world.

I'll miss this story a lot, but at the same time I know that the sequelis up and I can't help but get excited :)

I wish I could give you a Firebolt and a ticket to Platform Nine and Three Quarters!
GinnyPotterForever

Author's Response: Haha, of course! :P

That's how I imagined it too. :P Haha, the Patronus is a sorer issue for Sirius than he probably wants to admit. :P And yes, it was spying. :P

Haha, you can hate her if you'd like. :P

Yes, I though irregularly seemed appropriate; Unspeakables are obviously quite clever, but probably tend to get caught up in what they're working on, and lose track of time/the real world. :P

They are - well picked. :D I like to think they've grown up a bit, though; look at Snape and Sirius, for example. :) They're trying, anf no, they can't replace the others, but they'll be a decent team. :)

Haha, I wasn't really expecting that either. :P I wanted to so some ominous foreshadowing with Quirrell, and then decided that I didn't want it from his point of view... and then Charlie was only two countries away, and a dragon was a perfect incentive to move him, haha. :P It sort of came out of nowhere. :P

Aww, thank you! :D You're welcome! They do get a family, and also get their development taken in a slightly different direction. Sirius, in particular, is very different from his canon counterpart. :) And all of the minor characters have been fun to play with, and to give new voices to. :)

Haha, yes, the sequel's up already, so there's no need to be sad. And this story will still be here if you want to revisit it. :)

Aww, haha, I'd love either of those! :D You can have a wand and a rememberall in return! :D

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #15, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Fallen Soldier

2nd February 2014:
OH. MY. GOD.

You mad genius.
Siriusly.

Weeks of worrying for this? To be fair, at first I thought it might have been a test, when the 'leader' said "this is all for Black". But then you sort of confused me. ;)

Sirius was hiding in Umbridge's office... hilarious, that. I wonder if she'll find out.
And that was mean, when Kreacher didn't come. I thought of that too - how Noddy had been killed so they couldn't find James. I like the idea of Harry giving him counter-orders, though ;)
I didn't know Patronuses could respond like that, but that was very clever.

"It's nothing you haven't seen before." That line is beautiful, it shouts out to "You've woken up next to me enough times to tell the difference" from 'Marlene's Revenge'. Loved it :)

And then the big reveal.
I did scream out 'What the bloody hell?', making my brother incredibly suspicious of me for the rest of the evening. It gave me an opportunity to try to get him to read your stories - again - but he stays away from any and all fanfics.
I think I mentioned Scrimgeour in one of the earlier reviews.The fact that they do this to all their trainees is scary. Yikes.
And no one's dead! Yay!
So, the arena isn't enough of a test for them? They have to totally scare everyone out of their wits???
I knew Remus wouldn't betray Sirius! He just couldn't, not after so many years! :D *over the moon*

How involved was Harry? Did he know from the start, or did he find out early that morning, after Sirius and Dora left?
Dora turning up as an injured and almost dead Sirius is just awesomeness!

And Sirius is finally an Auror! Although, he's gonna have to toe the line from now on. And he can probably find out more about Horcruxes, maybe?

I just realized something. Pettigrew is in Azkaban, so he doesn't go to find Voldemort, and Goblet of Fire doesn't happen! :D

I did read your response to another review - you're finishing this story? That's a little sad... I'll miss it. Do you have any plots figured out for the next?

And I don't know if you've heard. JKR has stated that she wishes she put Harry and Hermione together. I, for one, like the couples as they are (even the Queen can't change the law once it's out :S). I know this won't affect your future plans for Harry and his friends, maybe you could give us a hint? ;)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sorry! :P That was the intention; drop enough hints that you'd suspect it was a test, but then try to destroy that as a possibility by making it seem unlikely. :P
She'll find out... :S
I know, but I had to cover that, otherwise everyone would have been asking why Sirius didn't just ask for Kreacher to get him out... house elves are sometimes so convenient, they're inconvenient. :P

Snape's did, when it led Harry to the sword; Marlene couldn't see Sirius, but it was the same thing. :)

Haha, yes, I can't resist throwing the little reminders in here and there. :P

Haha, that's fair; fanfic's not for everybody. :P I'm glad you liked the resolution though. :P
It's terrifying; they sort of mean well, in that they want everyone to advance, but the way they went about the whole ordeal is horrible. :S I doubt all of the trainees took it as well as Sirius and Tonks seemed to. Marlene for one, will be furious. :S

No, Remus didn't. He lied to him, certainly, but it wasn't as if Sirius didn't know that; he just didn't know what Remus refused to tell him. :P And it was for a good cause. :P

Harry knew for as long as Remus did - there was a part in one of the chapters about Remus talking to Harry and him settling after that. Harry wouldn't have liked keeping it a secret, but he understood it was necessary. :)
Haha, yes, it was a bit of payback. :P

He is! Haha, yes, he'll have to be well behaved, at least for now. :P

Interesting idea... I'm sure I'll come up with something though, haha. :P

I am. :P It is sad, but it's been a very long story, and I think it's time to wrap it up and move onto Hogwarts. :) I have a LOT planned for the next one, so my updating schedule probably won't be interrupted at all; I'll just be updating a different story. :P

I have heard. Obviously Harry and Hermione were compatible (they'd never have managed to be such good friends, otherwise) but I think they were always too platonic to end up together; there weren't even flirtatious hints. :P I agree with you; I rather like the canon couples as they were. :)
Hmmm, I have decided on the pairings, even though the kids are only young (hopefully, I can set it up properly, since I've got so much time to do so) but I will say that one couple featuring reasonably major characters (or characters that will be major in this story) will be the same as in canon... as for the others, well, you'll have to wait and see. :P

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #16, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Comrades In Arms

27th January 2014:
I can't believe I'm saying this - but I sort of hate Remus now.
WHY? Why is he doing this? Doesn't he care about Sirius or Harry's safety anymore? Isn't he afraid The Serpent Sworn will kill Sirius? How can he do this? Does he want to be alone all over again???

And whatt does Kreacher know about this?? He knows something, that's for sure. And why is Harry worried as well???

What is going on?
Brilliant chapter, by the way ;)

Author's Response: A few people seem to be thinking along those lines... Poor Remus. :S
All of this will be answered in the next chapter, so I won't give anything away, sorry. :S

Kreacher knows something, yes, but I won't say what, or how much. And Harry's a bright kid... he knows something's up. :S

Good question, haha. :P But long awaited answers will be given on Sunday. :)
Thank you, haha. :P

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #17, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Trapped In The Training Room

20th January 2014:
Someone impersonating Mad-Eye Moody and tricking the people he's closest to. Now where have we heard that before? *wink wink*

Won't say much... I love your fight scenes! Glad to see Sirius has retained his awesome Auror skills - anyone who calls him a civilian should get a permanent pink hair dye - and Marlene's sticking with him! :D
I am totally confused as to what part Albus and Remus play in this -these people killed someone! Scrimgeour was definitely involved - he was the one who called Sirius in - and Remus knew about it, hence the Sneakoscope!

And the guy impersonating Mad-Eye. Sirius didn't stay long enough to find out who he is and he obviously didn't recognize him. the only thing we know is this guy has hazel eyes. I'm pretty sure he is the leader, the one who's been talking to Remus and Dumbledore.
Now, I don't know about anyone else, but as a huge fan of the Marauders, the first thing I think of when I hear Hazel Eyes is James.
And there's all the other indications - this guy knew about the Auror Training room, he has a sense of humor like the Marauders - there's too many indications towards James.
That can't be it, though, since Sirius didn't recognize this guy.
It can't be, right? These people are killing and injuring, James would never stand for that.

Oh, Rowling. This is confusing.

Author's Response: Haha, I admit, that's where I got the idea, though this imposter was found out much more quickly than Barty Crouch Jr. :P

Thank you! :D He has, haha, although he's a bit rusty. :P Definitely not a civilian though, haha. :P She is, yes; I thought it was about time those two got some time together. :P

Remus knew about it, yes. :S He has reasons for the way he's behaving, but I'll leave it up to you to decide whether they're good enough, once I reveal all... :S

The person impersonating Mad-Eye wasn't the leader, but good guess; the leader hasn't really been involved yet, but there will be a face off eventually... The guy impersonating Mad-Eye was, however, in the broom cupboard during that Serpent Sworn meeting...
I wondered if anyone would think that. :P I almost changed the hair colour, but knew if I'd made the man blond, everyone would think of the Malfoys, and if he'd been a red-head, they'd be accusing Weasleys... :P So dark hair was the way to go. :P
It's not James, I'm afraid; I don't feel like I'm spoiling anything by saying that. :P He would never stand for murder. You're right though; the impersonator does know some fairly detailed things... :S

It is confusing - sorry!

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #18, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Dystopian December

14th January 2014:
Welcome back ;) Hope you had a good holiday!

I certainly didn't expect Sirius to find Harry so quickly; I thought it would have been a long drawn out thing, but that would have been dragging. This was better, anyway, and the talk they have was just perfect. It uncovered Harry's fears, Remus's insecurities and Sirius's worries all at the same time. And, I loved the line Harry was given ;)
Remus and Sirius finally get past their differences... that's a relief. Remus still won't tell him about the Serpent Sworn, which I think is getting too far; even Dumbledore is now in contact with the 'boss' guy, for lack of better word.
I felt the best scene was when Sirius and Remus tried to imagine a future where Lily and James didn't die. It was a touching moment, and then Harry comes down with his lines.

It's Christmas again! Which means it's only few more months till Hogwarts!
I like the idea of Dora as a snowman ;) "Covered in all the little Prongses: has to be my favourite quote :)

And now comes the worrying Serpent Sworn part.
What the hell is going on???
Dumbledore is willing to blow off Sirius to talk to this guy! Remus is giving Dora a sneakoscope, which is basically saying 'Don't trust anyone!'
Who is at the Ministry so early Christmas morning??
Why won't you just give us the answers???

Author's Response: Hello! :D It was lovely, thank you. :)
Haha, no I have too many other things planned for this chapter to drag it out... :P Short and sweet, otherwise it could have been too angsty, I think. :)
It did; it was a good way to show a bit of development for them all. :) Haha, yes, Sirius strikes again, with more unorthodox parenting methods. :P

It is getting tricky; as you've said, both Remus and Dumbledore are now involved... :S

It was a sweet scene; I know they've been dead a long time now, but James and Lily were so important to both Sirius and Remus that they seem to show up in their thoughts a lot. :)

Haha, yes, nearly there. :P

I'm glad you liked her outfit; I have fun coming up with things for Dora to dress as. :P I thought that was sweet too. :)

Yes, it is worrying. :S Remus and Dumbledore are both involved, but I won't say how/why just yet; it'll be clear eventually. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #19, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Suspicion And The Scar

29th December 2013:
My predictions are somehow coming true these past few chapters... but this time, I don't like it.

How can Remus be in league with these people? No matter how he's justifying it to himself, how can he support this terrible group which is planning on taking down the Auror Department, attacking his old friends, and is probably planning something really really bad? This is so not like him - he better have a good reason for not sharing what he knows with Sirius and Dora. He's even giving the leader inside information! What the hell?
Is it Scrimgeour himself? Someone inside the department? Someone we know???
I'm pretty sure the 'cause' has nothing to do with werewolves, since who ever this guy is doesn't know when the full moon is and is scared of Remus. So what is this cause, which Remus is supporting? I can't think of anything he would want that bad and not tell Sirius.

Sirius had a long awaited meeting with Marlene - though certainly not the circumstances we would have ideally liked. What he found out there inspired the most touching scene - Sirius talking, just letting everything out to James. That literally touched my heart. He is so worried about not being able to trust anyone - like he said, the last time he suspected Remus it was a total disaster, and he doesn't want to make that mistake again. I think Remus is taking advantage of that fact, and it feels very wrong.
And then, Kreacher being so kind and sweet. It was a really strong scene.

Finally on to Horcrux-y stuff! Although this is COMPLETELY in reverse order!
They already know a little about Horcruxes, and Harry's already guessed that it's a piece of Voldemort inside him! Nothing else has happened yet! No Diary, no Ring, no Diadem, the Locket is still tucked away safely, no Nagini. I wonder how they'll figure it out, since it may have taken years for Dumbledore to realize that Harry was a Horcrux too.
And Sirius! He'so distraught! I like the fact that even with Remus acting weird, Sirius trust him implicitly, his first instinct is to get Remus. But what will they do. Harry is ten, alone, with a wand and little knowledge of how the wizarding world works. He's famous, so hopefully they can find him soon. It's going to be a weird conversation!

Enjoy your trip! (You chose the most awful of cliffhangers to leave us on - the entire chapter felt like one!) Hope you have a good two weeks! :)

Author's Response: You have been making some very astute guesses. :P

He has his reasons; they might not be clear just yet, but it will all make sense in a few chapters. :S

Someone we know, yes; you've met them, and they've had a few speaking lines. I won't say whether they're male or female, though, nor will I say how recently they last appeared. :P

He did, yes; I've been trying to have a few Marlene-scenes but she keeps evading me. :P This was a good way to include her. :) I loved writing that scene, and I was getting very emotional as I did so. Sirius talks to James quite a bit, but I don't often show it, and when I do, it's generally at a time that Sirius is scared, or confused. Aww, Kreacher was lovely in the end. :P

Haha, yes, it was a bit of a twist, and this has definitely been a divergence from canon. :)

I liked that - and felt a bit guilty for putting it in - Sirius still calls Remus for help before anyone else. It just shows how strong their friendship is... and makes what's coming up even crueler. :S

I did, I'm sorry! :P I had a lovely two weeks away. :)

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #20, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Part Of The Family

22nd December 2013:
First, of all, I want to say it was wonderful to hear back from you. You are in no way obligated to write back, and the fact that you take time to answer our questions is amazing. And even if you didn't, we'd still be writing, every week, because you've created this wonderful world where everyone in JK's universe can be a little happier :)

Now, on to the chapter: the long awaited Parent-Teacher Meeting.
Sirius feels lonely when he sees couples! *wink wink* And he wishes he brought Remus. But it is truly sad, because this is the sort of thing Lily would LOVE to attend (if James lost the war on the entire muggle school debate).
'He knew football was some sort of muggle sport - probably involving feet and a ball of some sort... going by the usual standard of creativity muggles used when they named things.' - Are you one of them too? Because seriously, only someone who's NEVER heard of football can think of something like this ;)
Dr & Dr Granger sound perfect. Hermione's already made her choice, so regardless of whether Blaise is actually Blaise Zabini or not, they'll have a friend on the first day. Plus, Ron will be there, and I can see Hermione getting mad at him and leaving the compartment and Harry completely confused, since he's already friends with the both of them.

Sirius's birthday! It's wonderful Harry thought of something so personal to give him. Even though Harry's made it quite clear that he loves living with Sirius, this gesture is like saying that he's truly accepted him.
The Animagus spell is coming on well - the part about the stag and doe was beautiful.
Remus is acting weird - he wouldn't let Dora just keep getting stressed if he could do something about it - and that means telling Sirius what he knows.
And I was right! Dora was told not to tell Sirius, so she didn't! (I love it when I guess something correctly)
Now that Mad-Eye finally trusts Sirius to check out the case, hopefully, it'll be over soon. Amelia has been attacked - they aren't even targeting Order members or anything - and that's enough to set Mad-Eye on the edge.

Please, please, please tell me Remus isn't involved. That'll be devastating.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! Again, I'm a bit delayed with these responses, so I'm sorry, and thank you for your patience! :)

He does feel a bit lonely, yes, the poor thing. :( I think he also felt out of his depth, with all the muggles around. :P I know; I really think it is the sort of thing the Potters would have loved (I think James would have been pro-muggle school, personally, but, like Sirius, would still be teaching Harry things at home too... :P).

Haha, no, I just tend to get very caught up in Sirius' mind-frame when I write him, and pretty much write down his thoughts as he says them (strange, I know. :P).

Haha, I'm glad you liked them; they were a fun little inclusion I couldn't resist. :P She has, and the Grangers are slowly resigning themselves to that. :) Haha, the first scene with the three of them together will be interesting, that's for sure. :P

I always struggle to think of gifts to give people in my stories. :P Generally I just choose something generic like chocolate, or a book, but this time I actually came up with something! :P And yes, it shows that they truly are a little family now (hence the chapter name). :)

I'm glad you liked it; I've got the whole incantation worked out, so I'm just going to add bits here and there until I think Harry's ready. :P

Yes, Remus is keeping a few secrets at the moment, which is worrying... :S More involved than you'd hope, I'm afraid. :(

Good guess! :D And not quite; Dora's taking her own initiative here... :P

Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #21, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: The Quest For Answers

17th December 2013:
New chapter, some answers, more questions!!!

I still think Scrimgeour said something important to Remus. And I'm still very suspicious of him.

Sirius went to Snape for information! That's so new! :D
At least Sirius went to Dumbledore - what's up with the locket? Did they get it back? - who told him to talk to someone Mad-Eye trusts. Dora will probably tell him, but not if Mad-Eye told her specifically not to. I mean, Scrimgeour's told Remus something, and Remus is keeping it quiet. There has to be some solid reason.

Or - and this was just my sleep deprived brain thinking the first time I read it Sunday night - the guy at the end? One of them's Remus.
Normally, villains don't have a sense of humor, at least not in the HP world. And Remus was the first person my mind jumped to. I was reading in horror before I realized it can't - it simply can't - be Remus.

It can't, right? Please just call me stupid for thinking that.

Author's Response: Probably more questions, haha. :P
Interesting theory, but I won't say anything on the matter...
He did, yes. I had a lot of fun with that scene. :)
And yes, he did. They have got the locket back, and it's mostly been forgotten, but it will likely be remembered again in the light of all of this potentially-Voldemort related stuff.
Sirius and Dora are in need of a chat, that's for sure.
There is a reason for Remus' reluctance to talk, but I won't say what Remus is reluctant to share, or why.
Another interesting theory, but you'll just have to wait and find out... :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #22, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: The Serpent Sworn

9th December 2013:
Another chapter and a new plot twist arises. This is gonna get awesome! :)

Scrimgeour is getting darker - why exactly does he want to hide that he was attacked that very morning and also keep the Serpent Sworn a secret? I sense something fishy. He told Harry easily enough - that's probably because Harry would ask about it if he didn't know. But telling a kid who's the child of - not to mention also under the care of - someone who's outsmarted the entire Auror Department since he was fifteen? Not a very smart move. (My sentence is too convoluted, even I don't really get it;))

The fact that everyone kept interrupting Sirius and Harry when they wanted to talk is awesomely hilarious!

Ron's back! Yippee!!! :) And Arthur is adorable with his muggle obsession. I'm sensing a visit to the Burrow somewhere!

There are a few questions I have in my mind:
1. What does Scrimgeour have to talk about with Remus? Nothing about the Serpent Sworn, I hope?
2. Does Sirius know what the Serpent Sworn is? He didn't give any indication.
3. Why would the Serpent Sworn be personal for Amelia, but not for Scrimgeour? Surely he fought during the last war, even if he wasn't part of the Order?
4. What's going on in the Dora and Remus front? Has she given moving in with him some more thought? ;)
5. Hermione! Will she figure out Harry's a wizard? And - something I've asked about before - is Blaise really Blaise Zabini?
6. Animagus! How's that spell coming along?
7. (Long list - coming to an end) It's been quiet on Dumbledore and Narcissa's end.

Hope the questions don't bother you much - I know you won't answer if it's too spoiler-y ;)
Looking forward to the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Yes, a new plot is born indeed. :P
Something is definitely fishy, and yes, Scrimgeour did seem quite dark in this chapter.
I felt so sorry for them - it must have been frustrating. :P
He is, yes. :) Arthur's such a lovely character. :) Haha, perhaps, but I haven't got one planned at the moment... maybe it'll be spontaneous. :P
Hmm, answers, where I can give them:
1. You'll have to wait and see...
2. No - that'll be explored more later on.
3. Yes, Scrimgeour fought as an Auror, but the Ministry was able to provide a degree of protection, and the Order was so efficient that the Aurors arrived after them. Amelia, as a member of the Order, was definitely more involved, and definitely saw more. She also lost her twin brother in the war, and lots of her friends, so it's definitely personal for her.
4. They're settling into things, and adjusting to couplehood, haha. They've been in the background, with everything else that's going on, but they'll have some page time soon, I promise! :) Haha, I'm sure she'll start staying over at some point, but I think it's too soon for her to move in. :P
5. Anything's possible, but that's reasonably unlikely; one of them is going to have to slip up for that to happen, and Hermione's usually pretty controlled, and rule-abiding, and Harry's very careful... As for Blaise... well, he goes by Blaise Benson at the moment, but whether he could be Blaise Zabini remains to be seen...
6. It's coming along slowly, but progress is being made; that's coming up in the next few chapters. :)
7. I know you've already read the next chapter, so I won't bother answering this one... :P
No, not at all - I love questions! :) Feel free to ask as many as you want, haha, but you're right that I won't say anything if they'll spoil things. :P
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #23, by GinnyPotterForeverStupid: A Barrier

5th December 2013:
I can say in all fairness that this is one of the best Lily-James I've ever read. And trust me, I've read a lot of them.
Their relationship is so perfect, so different from the usual. It feels wonderful to read such a beautiful story.
Thanks for creating magic - and making me love a fictional character I already loved even more.

 Report Review

Review #24, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Needing A Friend

1st December 2013:
Yay! The Weasleys! I guessed that:) But Harry still didn't meet them :( But he met Hagrid :)

I loved the interaction between Ginny and Molly... it was perfect. And the entire thing about Ron eating two pieces of pie at the same time was hilarious. He does seem more perceptive than usual, is the itch sort of super-power-y or just a premonition of something bad?
Poor Luna, although we know it happened, it's still sad.

I do hope Sirius gets his bike back and not confiscated by the Ministry (Arthur is really going to do anything but if Sirius starts flaunting... sigh).

I like how Sirius and Snape have- sort of - moved past their childish fights. Snape doesn't mind being called Snivellus or anything! It's cute.

Poor Draco. He wants to be a Malfoy, but also doesn't want that too. It's so sad. But I like the last conversation, with him calling Harry simple and idiotic. It's so sweet!

Thanks for a nice chapter! :) You always make my Sunday a little more interesting!

Author's Response: You did! :D No, not yet... But yes, he met Hagrid (properly) which is always exciting. :)
So did I - it bothers me when people have Ginny as a weak, always-agrees-with-Molly sort of character; I imagine the pair of them would have had some serious rows over the years. :P
Ron's wonderful, I think. :P He is a bit more perceptive than in canon; I think Ron notices things, but doesn't necessarily draw conclusions, so he doesn't mention them, or he notices so much that he forgets things. I'm not sure which, but it's just the way I've always imagined him. :)
I know - it's something I wanted to change, but at the same time, I really feel that her mother's death is an important point in Luna's development, and couldn't afford to change. :S
Haha, no, Arthur's not about to turn him in, but there will be warnings if he gets out of hand. :P
Haha, yes, sort of. They still bicker and throw barbs, but they've grown up a lot, and about time too. :)
I know. :( He's had a really rough few years. :S Haha, he's a strange character, and more abrupt than he means to be, but he's new to the whole friends thing, so I think Harry can forgive him. :P
You're very welcome!
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #25, by GinnyPotterForeverInnocent: Things To Say

24th November 2013:
Hey!... just wondering exactly when you update since it always seems like the middle of the night to me ;)

This chapter is amazing... You must be tired of hearing this, but it is true.

I can imagine Sirius and Harry laughing at Remus, waiting by the door, peeping out every few minutes, and then going pale when he hears her turn up. The scene is so classic. And then the entire thing with "These - go here." Classic Sirius.
Anyway, Dora and Remus finally kissed! Yay! *fangirl moment* Loved they way Dora handled the situation, it couldn't have been better. And then the mention of Kreacher telling Remus off for indecent behaviour in front of children had me rolling on the floor.

So Marlene gets her job back, and Sirius gets to be an errand boy in the office - hopefully not for long. He was an Auror before so I don't think he should be put through Training again. Maybe just the exams, to brush up his skills? It would be fun to see Dora and Sirius team up for the three day exam like in 'Trainee'.

Ooh, can the Weasleys come back now? That'll be awesome!

Sirius and Marlene need a forced time together. Nothing is going to work out if they keep avoiding each other.
Halloween is always sad - but they seem to love dressing up. I can't imagine Remus consenting to go as the Bloody Baron - maybe Sirius tricked him into it :P
Is that piece of paper something to do with a present for Sirius or Harry's Animagus spell? That'd be a cool birthday present too :)

Thanks for another wonderful chapter :) Waiting for the next one already!

Author's Response: My updating time varies a bit - usually, it's at some point on my Sunday (Australian time) but when exactly depends on whether the chapter's finished by Sunday, and when I'm home. There's not a set time, I'm afraid. :P
Haha, no, I never tire of hearing it - it's lovely to hear my writing's appreciated. So thank you! :D
Haha, pretty much - that's the way I pictured it anyway. :P I thought Sirius had been a bit too (forgive the pun) serious lately, and this is definitely an occasion he can afford to be silly about. It was good advice, though, in the end. :P
They did, yes! :D Finally! This has been a long time coming, and it's so nice to finaly have it happen! :D She did well, I think; she stood up for herself, without being pushy, and in the end, left the decision up to him. :) And yes, good old Kreacher, haha. :P
She does, yes, though they'll be watching her carefully, I suspect. And Sirius will be an errand boy for the immediate future, and after that... well, we'll see. They'd be a great team, I think; not quite as good as Sirius and James (who can beat that, honestly) but definitely a force to be reckoned with. :P
They might...
There was a bit of that by the graves - when Sirius offered to leave, and Marlene told him not to bother - but I do have some time planned for them, to get the last of the awkwardness out. Whether they go back to friends or not is one thing, but the skirting around each other is definitely not going to go on too much longer. :P
Haha, it is sad, but I like that they get sweets and dress up for it - it's going to become a tradition, I think. :) Haha, I suspect Sirius would have had hundreds of suggestions, and Remus picked the least horrible/embarrassing one. :P
Good guess - you'll find out in a few chapters' time. :)
You're welcome! Thank you so much for your patience with my review responses; I really do appreciate them, I'm just having trouble finding time to answer. :S
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>