Reading Reviews From Member: R o s m e r t a
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by R o s m e r t aGone: The Disappearance

16th September 2014:
Hey there! Here for our review swap :)

I'm so sorry it took me a while to get around to actually reviewing; I got caught up in real-world work (gross), but then I started reading 'Gone' and loved it so much I went on to read all of your other work before I fell asleep. I came back to review this one because it was so singularly mind-blowing. Even on the second reading it gave me chills. It's all just so well done.

First of all, I love the format and the sense that Albus is writing the letter in the hopes of preserving something about what's happened because he knows he probably won't have the mental competency to do so much longer. Against all odds, he's still holding out that little bit of hope that there's someone or something out there somewhere who might understand, even if it will be too late for him by that point. I think, as 'out there' as the premise of this story is, the way Albus handles the situation is entirely realistic.

This may be a bit odd, but I kind of enjoyed the fact that he was able to take advantage (as best he could, at least) of the fact that he no longer had any societal obligations, and did all the things he'd always wanted to do before but never had the time. Although it seems he was still in denial at that point, I'm glad there was that small sliver of light for such a good person who was subjected to quite possibly the cruelest of fates.

The photo album absolutely wrecked me. It's easy to know how Albus feels on some scale because (as I'm sure is the case with just about everyone) I've lost more than one person near and dear to me. Memories like that are always bittersweet. I can't imagine what it would be like to experience those feelings with every single person I've ever known, but you did such a great job helping the reader empathize with Albus there: the screaming, the tears, all of it.

In case it isn't obvious, I'm a huge fan of your writing. When I have more time a bit later, I'm coming back to review 'Wake Up, Rose;' I'm very intrigued by the story and hopefully can give you the push you need to update :)

Thanks so much for doing the swap, and good luck with your challenge! Xo Blair

Author's Response: I can't even begin to address the fact that you read all of my work just because you wanted to.. that makes me so, so happy. wow. thank you so much.

I wanted him to react to this situation as realistically as possible. I wanted to show a candid picture of someone slowly losing his mind. This premise didn't allow for anything else in my mind. I certainly knew from the very beginning that he'd take advantage of the time and concentration he was afforded, at least for a while.

I wanted to give this story a bit of a downer ending. A photo album was just the first thing that came to mind that would enable me to remind Albus of his life that is now gone for good. I'm so glad you were able to empathize!

You've really made my day by saying you're a huge fan of my writing! That means just SO much. And Wake Up, Rose. is the story of mine that I'm least sure about. I'm going to edit the second chapter a tad and then I was planning on continuing forward with it, but I'm really not entirely certain about it. Knowing someone is interested does help though!

Thank you so much for the swap, this review was amazing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by R o s m e r t aA Not So Normal Life (After All): A Lecture and Sneaking Out

4th September 2014:
WHAT IS THIS SORCERY?!?!? (And by sorcery, I mean AMAZING STORY.) First of all I am fully convinced that G is my kindred spirit - she's from the South, drives a Jeep Wrangler, loves ASOIAF, listens to country (sidenote: if you are referring to Hootie's version of "Wagon Wheel" I will forever disown you), reads the best HPFF fics (I mean, Hormones, am I right?), etc. We are the SAME PERSON and she's living the dream even though she doesn't realize it yet. I really like James because he's super sweet but still fun and G's interactions with him are so easy and super believable. I think if I squint I can kinda see where you're going with their similar-issues thing and I'm totally into it. I'm also really interested to see what happens for her to figure it all out and whether she completely fangirls or thinks she's losing it or what. I WANT MORE OF EVERYTHING AND LESS OF YOU NOT UPDATING. Ok sorry for yelling. I just can't even with you right now. Obsessed. xoxo Blair

 Report Review

Review #3, by R o s m e r t aHow to Become Minister of Magic: A Guide: A Couple of Firsts

4th September 2014:
I have so many feelings right now, but since you're glaring at me and making me all anxious I'll start with your questions. I. HATE. LOUIS. after this chapter! I want to say terrible things about him that are so not appropriate in this review. He is such a dude and I wish I could punch him in the face (basically because he's way too similar to too many guys I know - poor Laney!). I am Team James all the way but I just know Laney's going to break his little heart! She is ruthless and I love her because she reminds me of Blair Waldorf (who I like to believe is my namesake because I am that amazing). I kind of want Louis to turn out to be her Chuck Bass, though...maybe...bah okay I don't know what I want! I like the political aspect because it shows how power-hungry and driven she is which sets the tone for the whole James vs. Louis thing...does that make sense? It does in my head at least, which is obviously what's important. Anyway, you've done an awesome job making Laney seem like a total jerk but also completely relatable/someone to root for and I love that! I can't wait to see where you take this story so I'm going to harass you despite your genius classes and college apps (which are the literal worst, but at least you don't need to worry about your essay writing since you're clearly killin it! :)). UPDATE NOW! Please? K thx bye xoxo Blair

Author's Response: HOONNNEEEYYY!! I LOVE YOU SO FREAKING MUCH! When you said you read some of my stuff, I thought you meant that you read one of my stories, not both!! Eeee! You have made me so happy right now! ^.^ Yay! First person to answer my question!! *cheers and hands cookies* Ugh, gosh, I know right?! Even I'm starting to hate him in this chapter (but don't tell him as all of my characters are like my children, I have to love them all :P). Hehe I feel ya, hun. He is such a d-word along with other words that are very much not 15+ haha. Yes, he was modeled a bit around this guy I know so I feel ya pain gurl! Gosh, I know! I don't think James could take being told that she is dating him to use his fame. BLAIR WALDORF IS A GOD. Sorry, just had to put that out there. (Why does GG have to be over?? *cries*) Yes, I know what you mean but at the same time, though I liked Chuck and Blair, I was always a Blair and Dan fan ;) Yes, it may be strange but all these ramblings make sense to me!! (Maybe it's just because I'm a lot like that too though...) Yay! I'm so glad you are liking her. I worry about that sometimes as she could be a easy character to hate. Squeee! Literally you have made my day.
I LOVE YOU SO MUCH BLAIR (WALDORF)!
Mary xoxo
P.S. Are you on the forums?? Get on them!! That way you can PM me and we can talk and you will love the forums and just get on them!!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by R o s m e r t aLove Rules: Love rule #20

10th May 2013:
I am beyond obsessed with this story. Like I stayed up all night to finish it. Pretty please update soon!

Author's Response: Oh no, no sleep! Hehe I do that all the time with stories on HPFF.

Thank you for reading and leaving a review! It's greatly appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by R o s m e r t aIgnite: Burn Through

3rd May 2013:
Another great chapter. The bickering Marauder's Map is officially one of my favorite parts of any HPFF story. I always look forward to your updates :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked the Marauder's Map! It was fun to write, the moment it occurred the Messrs Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs rather wrote themselves. Runaway stars, those boys. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by R o s m e r t aIgnite: Powderkeg

3rd February 2013:
I just really need to tell you what an incredibly talented author you are. The intricacies of the plot and idiosyncrasies of each character really go to show the amount of care you've put into this story. Thank you for sharing it with us poor plebeians here on HPFF when you should be out there writing for the masses :) I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: I do try to write for the masses as well! We'll see how well this works out. And you folks are hardly plebeians; I enjoy thoroughly writing for fun and for an audience who's having fun along with me. That's what I love about fanfic and that's what I'll keep on putting into it - no pressure, just good yarns. Thank you very much for your kind words, your readership, and for your enjoyment!

 Report Review

Review #7, by R o s m e r t aRunning: Off to Hogwarts

23rd January 2013:
I'm definitely a fan of your writing style and the originality of your plot. Also, whenever I'm texting about someone I dislike, I use quotation marks around his or her alleged "name" (and air quotes when I'm talking about them IRL, obvs), so I'm pretty obsessed with the fact that you did that here with "Morgan"...Keep it up :) xxB

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing and it is great to hear that you like my story! The next chapter is waiting for validation.

 Report Review

Review #8, by R o s m e r t aUnexpected Blossoming Love: Awkward

23rd January 2013:
Hey Lyss! Loving the love triangle :) Your writing is becoming clearer and more coherent with each chapter, so keep up the good work! I have a few silly name suggestions for you as well:

Big sis: Lux, Barsheba
Little sis: Jewel, Safronia
Stepdad: Jarvis, Cyril
Big bro: Shadrach, Cyrus
Little bro: Sullivan, Jett
Auror: Skyla, Araminta (female)/Lamont, Porter (male)

Happy writing! xxB

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. I really appreciate it. With the names.. Im really sorry but I got impatient and published my oneshot. It should be out soon.
Lyss xxoo


 Report Review

Review #9, by R o s m e r t aDaughter of Earth: Life as we know it.

23rd January 2013:
Oooh, intrigue! I love your interesting twist with the elemental magic. I also like that you take the time to describe the setting and whatnot--that's something I never seem to have the patience for when I'm writing, and reading this just made me realize that I realy need to work on that, haha. Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: AWH! Thanks so much for this :) It's taking a while for me to get the story going, but I'm trying!! :D I'll update as soon as I can :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by R o s m e r t aNot Just a Bystander: And then I think about the world...

29th December 2012:
I wish you could understand how happy it makes me when I see that you've updated this story :) At the moment, I'm most intrigued as to how things are going to go down with the mysterious parents...

Author's Response: Awhh, thank you very much for these reviews rosmerta! They'll be more on that soon :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by R o s m e r t aHello, My Name Is...: A Chappie

1st December 2012:
I love James's attitude, acronyms, and pranking aptitude...and FYI, "I'm sorry, it's just...you're so beautiful that I forgot my pick-up line" is only the greatest pick-up line of all time. As for the Amortentia, I'd probably have to go with lavender, the ocean, and musty old books (I'm a total Hermione at heart).

Author's Response: haha, I love them too! Thanks for answering the question, it's so interesting to hear! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by R o s m e r t a12 Fail Safe Ways to Charm Witches: The Revised Edition: What Gifts to Get Her

1st December 2012:
I am loving this story so far! Besides all the character relationships, the chapter titles and acronyms for everything are really great as well. It took your mention of James and Alex in a previous chapter to make me realize that I'd also read another story of yours--"Trouble with Life"--and really liked it, so maybe I just enjoy your writing in general :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review!! Thanks for being such a loyal reader!

 Report Review

Review #13, by R o s m e r t aNot Just a Bystander: And then I accidently became a thief...

24th November 2012:
I am absolutely abysmal at reviewing, but I just need you to know that I laughed hysterically for about 15 minutes while reading this chapter. I mean, it even distracted my boyfriend from Halo 4 long enough for him to come in from the other room and check on me. Really clever stuff.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you did reviewed and aha, halo distraction? THat must have been a lot of laughing! Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by R o s m e r t aThe Other Woman: IV

18th November 2012:
I'm really enjoying your development of the story. The Rose/Scorpius pairing is one of my favourites, but is generally so overdone as to be extremely predictable and boring. However, you've taken a different tactic than most with their personalities, and - I'm not sure that "admiration" is the right word to describe each one's inclination toward the other - Rose and Scorpius seem to have a begrudging respect and understanding of each other that can ultimately lead to a deeper connection. You also don't glorify the characters as some authors tend to do - for example, Rose's nature is rather nuanced and complex compared to the typical teenaged rendering, and you're not afraid to show potential "weaknesses" on the part of any character. The intrigue outside the Rose/Scorpius pairing (e.g., getting the reader to wonder what McLaggen is up to with respect to both Rose and Lucy) provides additional incentive to stay involved with the story. There are occasional grammar and spelling errors, but overall, well done - I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hello R o s m e r t a,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story and I am so sorry it has taken me so long to respond. Rose and Scorpius are one of my favourite pairings too but like you said, most of their stories are fairly predictable so I thought I would try something a little different. I have tried to capture my characters as slightly more realistic than they are often portrayed (even if this is not a particularly realistic storyline) and I am glad you like them. I like to show their weaknesses as I feel it makes the more identifiable with the reader so thank you! A begrudging respect is probably the best way to describe the relationship between them at the moment. McLaggen is a curious character and his part in the story is far from over. I apologise for and grammar and spelling errors and I hope to edit these chapters at a later date.

Again, thank you for reading and reviewing and I hope you return to read more. The next chapter is in the queue and will hopefully be up in a day or two but I have been having a little trouble with validation. Thanks you!

Irish Myth.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login