Reading Reviews From Member: ShadowRose
  
177 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShadowRoseHome: seven

27th March 2018:
Oh I knew JJ had a thing for Carson! Bringing her a BEC last chapter was a dead giveaway, lol. Also awww look at James frowning and getting a lil jealous as a result! On a different note, I totally get where Carson's coming from in regards to not wanting sympathetic responses - I get super cringy and awkward with those too. Anyways, great chapter and I can't wait to continue following along with this story wherever you decide to post it!

Author's Response: Haha oh JJ, so obvious! Carson is definitely not a sympathy girl; she is much more a move over and on, joke about her feelings kind of gal. Glad you liked the chapter and are excited to keep up with it.. Any suggestions are welcome if you know a site you particularly like! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ShadowRoseHome: six

25th March 2018:
Another truly delightful chapter! Honestly, the whole "let's be better" followed by "no one has been better" sounds exactly like how every bottomless brunch in my life has gone, so that was hilarious. I also love Fred getting mad at Carson because she pointed out his own feelings to him. And I'm pretty sure this is eventually a James/Carson thing because of the banner? I hope so, because I already love the little moments of chemistry that they've got going on! Anyways, can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Haha I am convinced no one can go to bottomless brunch and come out on top! Def brought my own experiences into that scene and I love that yours sound just like mine do. End game is eventual James/Carson so I'm glad you like their little moments. Next chapter has some good Carson/James moments so look forward to that. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ShadowRoseHome: five

18th March 2018:
How did I just now discover that you've got not one, but two new chapters up since I read this story last?? Ahh, I'm slacking. Your whole cast of characters is constantly cracking me up and the entire thing with Al at the end was hilarious. And omg Freddy being completely unaware that he has a thing for Meg was a great addition. Oh and Drew!! Obviously we haven't seen much of him yet but I have a feeling he'll show up some in future chapters, so that'll be interesting. Anyways, another lovely chapter and I can't wait for the next one!!

Author's Response: Haha thank you; they're so fun to write! I loved bringing Al in! That was a blast. So much more to come with Freddy's thing for Meg and I'm so pumped to explore that more soon! Glad you like it; thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ShadowRoseIce Baby: period two

18th March 2018:
This story is honestly delightful. I'm not usually a big AU person but the banner pulled me in and this story is just so perfect - you've got James' and Lily's characters down perfectly and they're so much fun to read. Anyways, really lovely story and I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you ^.^ I'm glad my AU managed to entice you in haha. (It's strange, I don't usually read AUs on HPFF, but I always read them elsewhere? So tbh I sort of get where you're coming from.) Honestly, James and Lily are so easy to write for me, but I freaked out about whether people would receive the way I portrayed Lily well. Because she's not exactly a constant ray of sunshine. But I love her.

Thanks for the review!

Plums xo

(ALSO, THE BANNER IS BEAUTIFUL IS IT NOT, I WAS IN AWE WHEN I LOGGED ONTO TDA TO SEE THAT BEAUTY WAITING FOR ME)


 Report Review

Review #5, by ShadowRoseHome: three

7th March 2018:
This was another really lovely chapter! I love Carson's family so much - you've done a great job writing all of them, especially Oliver and Alicia. I also love her interactions with all the boys and her new friendships with Meg and Maeve - can't wait to see how all of those develop!!

Author's Response: Thank you; I'm glad you like it! Carson and the boys are a blast and her new friends are super fun to write too! Thanks for reviewing; hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #6, by ShadowRoseMother-To-Be: The Baby Manual : Sixteen Weeks

25th February 2018:
Hi! I've been keeping up with this story since you posted chapter 4, so I figured it's about time for me to start actually reviewing the chapters and not just lurking, lol. Anyways, this is a great story! It's an unexpected pregnancy but doesn't feel clichéd like those types of stories can sometimes get. Also, am still v annoyed at James for his behavior last chapter so I'm sincerely hoping he gets his act together and apologizes next chapter. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you reviewed and I hope I hear more from you. Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ShadowRoseHome: two

25th February 2018:
Hi!! Just wanted to pop into your reviews and tell you that I really like this story thus far. Carson's got a ton of personality and is so fun to read. I can't wait to get to know James and Fred a little better - which I'm assuming will happen in the next couple of chapters! Can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Carson is a blast to write so I'm glad she's as much fun to read! We will definitely get to know the boys a bit more soon, so look out for that! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ShadowRoseSticks in a Bundle: Shattered Perceptions

4th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the Gryffie Review Exchange (although I'm definitely a little late, so I'm sorry about that).

I'll admit, I was a bit hesitant when I saw that I'd been assigned this story. For some reason, I've never really gotten into AU's, so I wasn't sure what to make of this one. However, I was completely blown away by this story. Already you've got such a rich plot line packed with a ton of drama, and you had me scrolling as fast as I could to find out what happens next.

I absolutely adore your characterizations of the twins - it's perfectly on point with canon. They balance the witty banter and funny attitudes with their more serious sides, which kick in when they see how poorly Harry's been treated. Their behavior around Muggle objects is perfect as well - Fred's confusion in the kitchen was definitely entertaining to read.

I also think you've done a great job capturing Harry's character as well - he's got that moody element to him, as well as the self-blame and sarcasm that are so central to his character, particularly right after OotP.

You did a wonderful job with the action scenes in this chapter - they were both fast-paced enough to keep me wanting more, while also going into enough detail that I could clearly tell what was happening, something that definitely takes a good deal of skill as a writer. I was very impressed and can't wait to see how these develop in future chapters.

The last line was perfect - of course that would be something Fred was thinking.

This was an incredibly fascinating story, and I can't wait to see what happens in the next few chapters in the fallout of what has just happened here. Great job!

ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: I know I'm horribly slow getting to this response. So sorry! Sometimes, life just doesn't play fair.

I'm glad you found this story engaging and interesting to read! I really like this story, and these first three chapters practically wrote themselves a long time ago. It was so fun to explore the full range of the twins' personalities, and Harry's as well.

And then I got stuck. On plot. And this story stalled and I just haven't been able to get it going again. I was so excited to have someone looking at it again, to help me decide if it was worth trying to finish. Your review here really helped me so much. I feel like this story has some things worth finishing, and maybe I can get it rolling again!

Thanks so very much! This was an amazing review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by ShadowRoseHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Hello!

I love all Marauder stories, and this one really was no exception. Reading about James's and Sirius's antics is just so entertaining, and you did a great job of keeping them in character - they're definitely jokesters, but they're also maturing a little bit and it shows in their behavior. At least they try to make their point by writing an essay and not through some master prank.

It's nice that you show Sirius and Regulus getting along, even if it is only to get Quidditch reinstated. They never quite agree with one another, so it's nice that they're working together and behaving like brothers for a while. I also think you did a good job creating McGonagall, she definitely seems very canon and realistic particularly in her speech patterns. I do think it's a bit odd that she, a Quidditch player herself as well as a Gryffindor House team fan, would want to ban Quidditch, but you explain it well enough, and I feel like there's a bit of her that doesn't want it banned and wants the boys to get it reinstated.

Overall, this was so fun to read! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ShadowRoseOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Okay, this story was hilarious. I love seeing all of the teachers go up against Umbridge in their own different ways. I was giggling like an idiot by the end, thinking about Umbridge eating that Canary Cream. Hah, she deserved it.

I think you did a wonderful job characterizing McGonagall. You show a little bit of her softer side, as well as the conniving side that shows up whenever Umbridge is involved. I'm so impressed with her here, haha. I love the little flashback you threw in, in which she hears Dumbledore's advice from all those years ago - it shows how much she values his opinion. This sentence was perfect - "Except that you would never waste your energy or your anger on a prank. You harvest your anger, save it. Then when the time comes to use it, you have a huge reserve to draw from." - because it just summarizes McGonagall's character perfectly, but also proves to be a bit ironic, considering she does end up pranking Umbridge in a way. :)

Anyway, this story was massively entertaining - anything that results in Umbridge's embarrassment is, after all! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Thanks!!! I would pay good money to see Imelda Staunton act this scene out. :-) A writer can dream, no?

 Report Review

Review #11, by ShadowRoseA New Moon: A New Moon

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Hello Emma!

Okay, so this is a really different story than anything I've read, but I really like it. I love anything Marauder-centric, so this story is fantastic. All of the characters are portrayed perfectly - Remus is so careful and nervous about his transformation, James is kinda goofy, and Slughorn is, well, perfectly Slughorn. It's so characteristic of him to go completely off topic when talking to a student, and I found it hilarious that he tried to get Remus to have a glass of mead - he's a student, for goodness sake, haha!

Anyway, this story was so cute and definitely put a smile on my face, so it definitely fit to the prompt of a happy memory. It makes me so happy to see Remus happy about something for once, instead of constantly living in fear of his own transformation. Great job with this, I really loved reading it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review!! I'm so glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Discoveries

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Well, this certainly was an eventful chapter. Despite all of my suspicions, they did actually find Acanthus without a hitch. And judging by Rose's reaction, it was definitely worth all the work. I'm so happy - finally something went right for them! Now let's hope it doesn't all blow up in the next few chapters, haha.

Awww, Ron and Hermione are cute together. Their bickering is great, and shows that they're still the same people they were at the end of the Deathly Hallows - I love that little detail. And, of course, their personalities are perfectly canon. Hermione's still a worrywart and Ron's around to calm her down. And Hugo... my gosh, he's such a little bugger and I love him all the more for that. " 'Also, what have I told you about my body being a contamination free zone?' he moaned. 'Working in science means that I need to be in a constant germ-free environment. While I realise this isn’t always possible, I would like to refer you to the document you signed on my ninth birthday stating that contact would be limited at all times, so no hugs.' " I'm dying. I guess child genius status does come with its fair share of oddities. :P

And ok good, the spell hit the person it was supposed to. It's nice that, for a while, Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi have some relief from his creepiness. And yay! They've found (sort of) Rose and Lorcan! So at least now they know where to look for them! Of course, it's also 100 years away so that certainly complicates things, haha.

This was such an action-packed, fantastic chapter! Great job, as always!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Haha, yes, some things do have to go right in this story, and finding Acanthus was one of them here. I'm so glad that you liked it and don't worry the next few chapters are largely incident free, it's the ones after that you have to worry about ;)

Aw, thank you! I really love writing Romione as minor pairings, because while I can't ever focus on them, as background people they're so much fun to include. Bahaha, Hugo is certainly different shall we say. I just love writing child geniuses because they really are strange people when you think about it, and it means you can just write really strange things as a result.

They do have some relief and they found them (sort of...). For once, this shouldn't be too complicated for them either, and I'm not kidding, don't worry! :P

Thanks for another amazing review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #13, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Cartography

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So, I realized I misspelled my own name in my last review. That's awkward. :P

KIANNA how could you do this to me??? You're really testing my self control to review before going on to the next chapter here. Gah your cliffhangers will be the death of me.

Your details at the start of the chapter, particularly regarding the map and cartography, were just lovely. "The light of the candle flickered against the white canvas lining of the tent, causing spectres to dance and flicker across the screen." SUCH A PRETTY SENTENCE.

I'm starting to really, really like Charlotte - she seems like a genuinely nice person and she actually cares about Rose. I do feel bad for Rose though, because as sweet as Charlotte may be, it doesn't make up for the fact that she's 100 years away from the people she loves. I love the little detail about WWI you threw in - it definitely adds to the fact that they're in a different era with different issues right now. Although I do have my doubts about them reaching Acanthus in a timely manner... I get the feeling something's a little off - things are going too smoothly, and that doesn't usually ever happen... something's gotta go wrong.

Ugh, we were just about to find out more about the mysterious man, and then all the craziness happens! While I'm not too happy that we're still missing details about him, I do hope that Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi can get away from him. So let's hope that Stunning Spell hit its target!

Another awesome chapter, Kiana!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Bahahaha, I always do that too, so don't worry (plus I didn't even notice until you said :P). See it's sort of good then as you can improve your self-control which is always a good thing to do. But I'm sorry about the cliff-hangers!

Aw, thank you! ♥

Yay for Charlotte, as it's nice for Rose to have a BFF in this era because everyone wants one of those. It's just strange how you can get on with people even if you are a 100 years apart if that makes any sense? I'm really glad that you liked the WWI bit, because in my headcanon wizards took part in it too, so that's why it was thrown in there.

You will find out more about him as Scorpius gets all macho and starts being scary and asking questions, so more will be found out, don't worry!

Thanks for another awesome review, Taylor!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #14, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Plans and Preparations

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hey Kiana!

Aww, I hate that Rashidi's not well - he's such a sweetheart but I can tell he's definitely suffering. And just as they're planning a way to get out of there, the man's on the other side waiting to stop it all, which really stinks for Scorpius. And now someone else is going back in time? I'd say it's probably Scorpius, since he's destined to kill the ancestor, but hey, I've been wrong before.

Haha, I love how confused everyone is upon finding out that the people they assumed were Muggles are actually wizards. It's so funny that both groups immediately assumed that the people they'd met were Muggles, and both of them were wrong. I really like Charlotte - and I'm wondering if she's somehow related to Molly, since they're just so similar. Or maybe that's just a coincidence. And George seems a little sketchy to me. What was he doing just wandering around on his own in the desert paying no attention to anything? That seems just a little strange.

Oh gosh, I can't wait to get Hermione into the midst of all this craziness. Who knows where that will lead, haha. And I like the little detail about Rose always being the better-behaved one. She always feels like she's in Hugo's shadow, yet Hugo kind of feels the same way, for different reasons. It's pretty funny actually that both of them have the same insecurities but never see it in the other sibling.

This is building up so fast, and I can't wait to see where it goes from here!

-ShadowRose (Tayolor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

No, he's not, and it's so sad to make him like this as I do really love him and it just breaks my heart really. Ooh a very good theory is what I shall now for as you've probably guessed by now I don't give that much away, but you will find out what happens shortly, so don't worry.

Bahahah, yes, it was quite funny to write that! Ooh, I never had anyone guess that Charlotte is relation of Molly's before, so I like that idea. All I say is she has a link to someone. George is just a bit of an idiot really, he never really has a clue what's going on :P

Yay for more craziness and more characters! I think it's kinda natural with siblings to always think your parents love your sibling more than they love you, it's just with Rose that problem goes a lot deeper which is what's so sad.

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #15, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: To Anywhere

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again Kiana!

Haha, I had a feeling that the group of people Rose and Lorcan were with were wizards - if they're at all related to the unidentifiable man Scorpius is currently dealing with, which you've already hinted at, then they'd pretty much have to be magical. But now I really have to know whether or not the map works! It's not even the end of the chapter and you've already left a cliffhanger... that takes talent.

Oh, and now we're back with Scorpius and the mysterious man. My gosh, this foreshadowing is killing me! So Scorpius kills someone, but we don't know who, the mysterious man is stripped of something he was supposedly destined to have, but we don't know what, and somehow Scorpius goes back in time, but once again, we don't know how! Ack, there's so much coming up in the future chapters!

I also couldn't help but feel sorry for Scorpius towards the end - "The monster trait seemed to be a genetic thing in his family. It was as if he knew that this would always be his fate, leading that life." My heart just broke for him here - he's spent all his life trying to avoid being like his dad and grandfather, but is now destined to become exactly like them both, despite having a personality and character totally opposite to either of them. Poor guy.

This was another really entertaining chapter, and as usual, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens next!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi again Taylor!

Yes, they were because if they were Muggles it would just be a little boring for them, and magic just makes everything even more exciting really! Aw, thank you! It also helps having POV changes, because then you could have a potential 3 cliff-hangers in one chapter, but that would have been a little too mean if I did that.

I'm sorry about the foreshadowing so please don't die! Yes, this is a very key thing, very, very, very, very key thing like remember this foreshadowing and then when a certain something happens you may be able to figure it out earlier than other people did. That's all I'll say on this subject for now...

I know, he really does need a hug, as he's so different from his family and just wants to love people and be nice and then he gets haunted by all their faults. Gah, it's so just so sad, I want to hug him so much right now!

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #16, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Wicker Lines

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

Okay, so I was hoping that finally having a chapter from Scorpius's POV would explain who the voice belonged to and what on earth has happened. It did, to an extent, but I think I'm actually a bit more confused now than I was before. My gosh, be gentle on poor Scorpius! I feel defensive of him and I really don't like him being in pain - especially when it hurts his self-confidence as well! Poor Scorpius, thinking he's not brave enough...

I have to admit, I thought Rose and Lorcan had it bad, being 100 years in the past, but hey, at least the people they're with don't torture them. I'm a bit nervous for their fate though, because I feel like something bad's going to happen to them based on what the man talking to Scorpius said. Ack.

I really love the part from Hermione's POV. It's different than any of the other characters, but you really spotlight her insecurities and her worries - it's something you do anytime you're inside a character's head, and I feel like it really helps bring them to life. I feel bad that she feels like she's been a bad mother, because she really does know Rose well and definitely cares for her. I sense a bit of tension towards Scorpius though... I wonder how that one will pan out.

Overall, another great chapter - with every chapter, the tension gets even higher and this story gets even more addicting!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

I'm sorry about the confusion, but things with the voice, and the man, and the person who will later have a name tend to remain a bit confusing until you find out his name and then it all starts to make a little sense. Scorpius will be out of pain eventually, so it will all be ok.

Ha, yes, for once they actually have it better as these people are nice to them for now. Hmm, that is a good point to remember, but don't worry too much right now as it's a couple of chapters until things do start to happen.

Aw, I'm glad you liked her, as she crops up now and then from this chapter onwards. Her difficulties with Rose and Scorpius are followed up throughout this story and eventually they will be cleared up so don't worry too much.

Aw, thank you so much, you're so lovely, Taylor, because each of these reviews really are making me smile :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #17, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: A Kaleidoscope

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

It's probably a good thing that reviews are required to be 12+ because I am absolutely freaking out at the moment. OH MY GOSH. This is crazy. First of all, we still have no idea what's going on with Scorpius, and now Rose and Lorcan are 100 years back in time. You have a gift with suspense and mystery writing, because I'm almost literally sitting on the edge of my seat reading this.

The group of people - Charlotte, Anthony, David, and the others - seem okay enough, they seem nice and very characteristic of the twentieth century, but at the same time, I feel a little suspicious of them. Did they trap Lorcan and Rose on purpose or did they really just randomly stumble upon them in the middle of the desert? Part of me feels like maybe they were the ones to set up the building/trap. But then again, I'm unnecessarily suspicious of everything and everyone, so I can't really say I have any truth to my thoughts.

I'm so ridiculously excited to see how you tie this new time travel element into the story, because I get the feeling it'll be significant. Gahh, this is just so intense and I can't wait to see what happens next! It's only the fifth chapter and already the plot is so tangled and twisted - and I know there are only many more turns to come!

And, of course, there's still the question: WHERE THE HECK IS SCORPIUS???

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

Gah, I actually hate the fact they have to be 12+ in moments like these because I always have to go and and insert an M rated word here :p But anyhow, enough of that! I'm glad you liked the mystery and suspense though as it means so much to me, because dun, dun, dun they've gone to the past!

All I'll say for the group is that some are nice, but maybe be a little suspicious of them too, because that might be the best way to go about things like this. They have a sort of link to Rose and Lorcan but that's all I can say for now. There is some truth in your thoughts, don't worry!

Yay for that, because I did actually notice a drop in my readers after the time travel bit so I was like ahaha they hate me for it but it's great that you like it though! The time travel is very significant so keep that in mind.

SCORPIUS WILL BE BACK IN THE NEXT CHAPTER. I WILL PROMISE YOU THAT! Thanks for a fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #18, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Before the Storm

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

What?! Augh, that's such a suspenseful ending! I'm almost tempted to hold off reviewing just so I can figure out what happens next, but I'm harboring what little self control I might have and writing this review first.

This is such an exciting chapter! They're heading off to Acanthus with the whole gang, and we finally hear Scorpius say something about Rose! I love how direct Lorcan is - it's such a fun part of his character, and I find uncomfortable Scorpius really funny (although he's almost always uncomfortable around people so I guess I just find that amusing in general).

As I've said before, I absolutely love your descriptions. The desert is set up so perfectly and I can really picture the whole setting clearly - until the end of course, because everything's a mystery, so I like that you didn't really hover on all of the descriptions there.

Speaking of the end, MY GOSH. This has gotten so intense all of a sudden, and I was freaking out as I was reading this. The building itself was already a little sketchy since it popped up in the middle of nowhere, but what happened after was even crazier. I NEED to know what happened, and most importantly - who that voice belongs to!

Overall, great chapter, and I'm going to be quick about finishing up because I have to know what happens next ASAP!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor! Muahhahaha, this is the start of something, but what something is the question so I'm glad you enjoyed the suspense :P

Erm, yes, exciting is probably the best word for it, but what I would also say is really enjoy this chapter while you have it because all might not be the same again. I'm glad you liked Lorcan as he carries on in this story right until the end!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it, because a desert is such a fun place to set a story because they always seem so magical with all the tales and legends which go on there so it was so much fun writing one!

Intense is the best work for it and freaking out is probably a good reaction is all I'll say for now really :P You will find out a ton more about the voice later on so don't worry about that!

Thanks for a great review, it really did make my day! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #19, by ShadowRoseWho Killed Lucy?: Ruptures and Punctures

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Nadia! I figured I'd swing by and review a thing or two of yours!

OK DANG IT THIS IS 500 WORDS I SHOULD NOT BE CRYING AFTER ONLY 500 WORDS.

This was such a short, punctuated story, but it's filled with so many emotions oh my gosh. I'm entirely in awe. In just a short 500 words, you've managed to capture so much pain and hurt in the hearts of all three Weasley members, and you've made it so real and so heartbreaking that yeah, I may have cried. Oops.

I really love the choppy structure of this story, particularly at the beginning, when the grief is the strongest. It makes everything so raw and sharp, which is why I think the emotions show so strongly in this story.

This was only 500 words, but feels like 500 pages of emotion. Once again, MY GOSH. I'm just in awe.

Anyway, this was absolutely stunning and just so, so heartbreaking. You captured the intensity of the situation fantastically and I'm just in awe. I think I've said that already.

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: The Tale of Acanthus

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Ahhh, Scorpius point-of-view! Yay! I love hearing from different characters! Plus, I think this really adds to Scorpius's character, since we get to see his character and his insecurities well, as well as see Rose through someone else's eyes. For a girl who feels like she's never good enough, Scorpius sure is impressed with her social skills. I like how you've thrown in a detail from his point-of-view (Rose's behavior whenever her family is brought up), that the reader knows more about than the character does - those kind of situations always make me smile to myself, although that's probably just the book nerd in me, haha. It's funny that despite being a curse breaker, he's the one less inclined to go after Acanthus. I guess it goes to show that they both have different kinds of courage.

It's nice that Rose is getting what she wants, and gets to go on this journey to Acanthus, regardless of whatever she does (or doesn't) end up finding. Plus, Scorpius and Dalila will be there too, so that'll be fun. I really can't wait to see how this story progresses - you've just brought in this huge plot point, and I can't wait to see how you develop it as the story goes on!

Another really great chapter - I'm so excited to see what the next one brings!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Yay, hi Taylor!

Whoo, I'm glad you liked Scorpius as you do get a lot more of him throughout the story. I really enjoyed writing him for those exact reasons you listed as it just gives the story a broader perspective and I always tend to get a little bored when reading or writing from just one perspective so throwing his in was a lot more fun. Haha, yes, I think with Scorpius he's always naturally reluctant and will always wait around before deciding on things so that's why.

Erm, yes, be wary about associating happy things with Acanthus shall we say? It might not be the best idea just yet so just watch and wait really. :P

Thank you for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #21, by ShadowRoseAnamnesis: Anamnesis

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay, Sian, before I get started, let me say this. Never, EVER, did I think I would ever sympathize with Pansy Parkinson. She seemed stuck up and annoying - just like so many other Purebloods at Hogwarts. I never really thought much of her, only that she'd rather protect her own skin than take down Voldemort, as she proved at the Final Battle. Never did I think that she could be such a tragic character with such a twisted and horrifying backstory that makes any of her behaviors seem totally justifiable. But you do exactly that. Pansy becomes such a dynamic character, and I find myself understanding why she does what she does and even pitying her. All she wants throughout her life is to be loved and to be accepted, and she never gets that. She gets shuffled from place to place and mistreated constantly, that it's a wonder she manages to hold up such a great facade at Hogwarts.

I love the second person this you've got going as well. Writing in second person is really something of an art, but you do it so well, and it really places the reader in Pansy's shoes, which is, I think, part of the reason that she's so relatable. I also really like that you've included the whole "flower of remembrance" theme here - it's just this little detail that adds so much to the story.

Just, wow. This story was amazing, heartbreaking, and just overall stunning. Keep up the excellent work!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

P.S.: I'd really love to podcast this story, if you're ok with it! :)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

You know, Pansy didn't seem like the sort of person I could sympathise with either until I got the idea for this story and suddenly she had this really tragic life :P I'm not sure that any of it could actually tie in with canon but I'm glad that you thought it helped to justify what she did during the books, and why she became the person that she was.

I'm really glad you liked the second person, too! I surprised myself by how much I enjoy writing it and it's great that it worked here to help the reader empathise with Pansy more. The flower of remembrance detail wasn't something I knew beforehand, but once I found it out I just had to use it for the story!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Taylor, and I'd be delighted for you to podcast the story if you still wanted to! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Souks and Surprises

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hey Kiana - I'm back again!

Before I say anything else, I just wanna say that I really love your description style (I don't know if that's actually a thing, but I'm making it a thing). You give a ton of really great detail, but never overdo it, and you don't hang on the description when there are more important things that tie into the plot going on. It makes your writing so much fun to read!

YAY - I have to say that I'm really excited that Rose and Scorpius are friends! I feel like they always start off hating each other, so it's definitely a breath of fresh air to see that they're already friendly with one another - I love anything that breaks out of the traditional cliches. Plus, Scorpius as a character seems great. While we don't see a ton of him in this chapter, it looks like he's a really down-to-earth and sweet guy so far - which, once again, is really refreshing. I've used that phrase (or a similar one) way too many times in my reviews of these past two chapters, but it really is true - this story's definitely very different from a lot of other stories I've read, and that's a really great thing!

And I love that you've already thrown in a hint about Rose having feelings for Scorpius, even if she doesn't quite know it yet. Also, I think I like Dalila so far - she seems pretty sweet, but at the same time, I feel like she's hiding something - maybe it's just her shyness though and I'm just being overly suspicious haha. Oh well, I guess only time will tell!

Once again, I really enjoyed this chapter, and can't wait to see what happens next!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Yay, hi again Taylor!

Haha, I'm not sure if it is a thing but maybe we can make it a thing :P Thank you so much though because this was the first story where I actually decided to pay attention to description and make it happen rather than it be a fleeting thought so it means so much to me you liked it!

Yay, they are and perhaps maybe more than that later ;) Yes, I used to be a massive fan of them hating one another but I grew bored of it easily, and I just love them being together so this way it can be done quicker and there's less shouting which is always good. Don't worry, I haven't noticed you using that phrase, so it's nothing to worry about, but it means so much to me that you do think that because I thought everyone would hate me for turning next gen into this :P

Aw, poor Dalila! Everyone always suspects her when she really does do nothing, she is just shy, so don't worry about her, just embrace her and you'll be fine!

Thanks again for another fab review, Taylor! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #23, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Spectrum

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana! I've actually been meaning to read and review this story for ages, and now that the House Cup is here, I have a great excuse to finally do it!

I really love the direction you've take Rose here - so often she's the golden girl of the Weasley family who gets all the attention, so it's refreshing to see that she's more of a background Weasley, well, for now at least. But gosh, that sure is a lot to live up to, especially with Hugo being a child genius, for goodness sakes! But she's such a relatable character as well - she's so driven and motivated but still never really gets her chance in the spotlight. I also like your character of Molly - I've never really thought of there being a Squib in the Weasley family, but it's actually very realistic and makes her different than all the other Mollys in next-gen stories.

I really love the premise for this story - the magical perfume industry in Egypt? That's so unique! And, of course, since that's hardly the center of the story, I'm so excited to hear about this famed city of Acanthus as well. Plus, I can't wait to see how you portray Scorpius as well - if he's anything like your portrayal of Rose, he'll be another really refreshing and interesting character!

Also, random note - I absolutely love your detail of a middle-aged Ginny with a mild obsession with alcohol and partying with the younger generation. It made me giggle as I was reading and picturing Ginny going absolutely nuts. :P

Anyways, this was such a great first chapter and it makes me so, so excited to keep on reading!

-Taylor (ShadowRose)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor, aw, thank you so much for all those lovely reviews you left me, they were such a nice surprise so just thank you so much for them! ♥

Yes, Rose is definitely different here to how she usually is but I've already sort of done that interpretation of her in another story so I really wanted to explore a different side to her where she's perhaps the weakest of all of the Weasleys. Aw, Molly! I hate to say it but she doesn't feature in this story much more than that which is a little sad as I did like her little cameo, but I just couldn't fit her in.

Yay, I'm so glad that you're excited for it and I hope it all lives up to your expectations because it definitely was a lot of fun writing about the wizarding world in another culture. And I hope Scorpius lives up to your expectations too after reading that :P

Haha, yes, in my head canon she can never lose her party animal side and will hold onto it forever and ever so I'm glad you liked it too!

Thanks for a great review, and I hope you enjoy the rest of it! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #24, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Molly’s) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Take It Easy

16th March 2014:
Hello again!

So I don't quite know what you're talking about when you say this chapter wasn't funny, because I thought it was really hilarious!

Poor Heath, breaking his arm and then passing out in front of Molly. I felt bad for him as he tried to be manly but was almost beaten at that by Molly, who's trained in all these situations and remained perfectly calm about everything while Heath is freaking out. I love how this kind of flips the cliche - usually the guy rescues the girl, whereas here it's pretty much the exact opposite.

I love Molly and Heath's banter, since it's gotten a lot friendlier as the story has progressed. They have totally different personalities, yet they get along so well and play off of one another perfectly.

When Heath asked "what's worse than dying," I wanted noting more than for Hermione to pop out and say "expelled!" because that scene came into my mind and I couldn't get it to go away. Of course, it's probably a good thing that didn't happen, because it really wouldn't have fit with the story, but it stuck in my mind nonetheless.

Of course, my favourite line hands down was "If you Americans hadn't thrown yours in the harbour, you'd know." That was so perfect and Molly's just so sassy and smart, and it's just really great.

I've really enjoyed reading this so far, and I hope you update it soon, as I'll have to come back for the next chapter!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 20/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it funny!

I loved writing Heath at the beginning of this chapter. He's just trying to maintain his reputation, but Molly just doesn't have time for that kind of stuff. She's too efficient by half :P I couldn't really see the "typical" scenario happening, simply because the main reason Molly is along is for stuff like this. She's trained. He isn't.

The banter was a lot friendlier in this one! I was worried about progressing their relationship too fast, but there's going to be plenty of opportunities for antagonism! *cackles evilly*

Writing that scene where Heath asks what's worse than dying, I actually wrote down Hermione instead of Molly in my first draft - the importance of editing!

Molly is just lovely to write. She's everything I aspire to be in terms of sass. If only I could say some of the things she says...

Thanks so much for the reviews! And congratulations for winning the Blackout Battle!


 Report Review

Review #25, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Molly’s) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Uncharted

16th March 2014:
And I'm back again for another chapter!

I completely sympathise with Molly in the start of this chapter. People who are running late are absolutely the death of me, and even more so when they're in their own house! Well, at least she got to appreciate Raj's off-key singing while she waited. :P he's adorable and I really like him - I know they're leaving and all but I really hope he still shows up later in the story. "Raj the wannabe soprano" - that's great.

It's good that Molly at least recognises that Heath doesn't deserve the anger she's directed at him, but can't help but dislike him nonetheless. I still can't believe they had to go through training camp in a skirt and heels - I definitely wouldn't have enough grace for that!

Their tour guide is so weird, but so entertaining. He seems a bit like Trelawney, but replacing all of her phrases about death and despair with words like "rad" and "awesome." I feel so embarrassed for Molly, having this strange guy talk about her "aura" as she's surrounded by other people, and even bringing up her partner in this journey, which I'm assuming is a reference to Heath, in both the travel way and ... maybe something more?

This method of travel is really strange, and I have the feeling that because they said, "what else could go wrong," they'll end up in Antarctica or something completely off the wall like that. Oh well, I guess I'll have to wait for the next chapter to find out!

This was another really great chapter, and I'm looking forward to reading the next one!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 19/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Back again! *throws confetti*

I hate late people too! Once or twice is understandable, but you know the people who are late all the time - one of the reasons I go insane. Raj is adorable. He's such a dork sometimes. I don't really know if we'll get to see him again here - the chances are very high, though! I love him too much to abandon him.

Her dislike stems from the fact that they're still practically strangers. They just don't know each other. However time will tell if she ever gets over her dislike for him... I don't know how she managed to navigate an obstacle course in a short skirt and heels. She's obviously top Auror material!

Haha! I'd never really thought of Socks and Sandals like Trelawney, but now that you mention it, I can see the similarities. He'd be like her happier hippie twin or something! I'd be pretty embarrassed with someone talking about my aura too. She handles herself well though, in typical Molly style. And we'll just have to wait and see if Heath ever becomes something more than a travel buddy... It's early days yet :P

Whenever someone says "what could possibly go wrong?" Always expect the world to end. Molly seems to have the right idea with being a little distrustful of the rocks. I'd run screaming in the opposite direction personally.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>