Reading Reviews From Member: Eleanor Larkin
  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Eleanor LarkinA Mrs Norris Fan Fiction - English Language AS Coursework: A Mrs Norris Fanfiction

21st January 2010:
This was really cool! I've never read a fic from Mrs Norris' point of view before. It's a bit of a cliffhanger though, are you going to continue it on the site? I'd love to find out what happens!

Author's Response: I think I am going to just for fun, after this chapter is sent to the exam board :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Eleanor LarkinSirius Deception: Sirius deception

10th January 2010:
This is a really good portrayal of events. I could easily imagine Sirius' feelings as the reality of betrayal and the death of his best friend hit him all at once - and being a huge Sirius fan myself I can quite understand how you couldn't have him see the bodies! :-) Very emotive, very poignant.

Author's Response: :D I'm so glad you liked it :). This is something I'd wanted to do as a one-shot for a long time, because I adore Sirius. His story is so tragic and he's very much like Harry as an imperfect hero.
I know, I honestly could not bring myslef to have him see Jame's and Lily's bodies, I wouldn't of been able to write it lol :P Thankyou for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Eleanor LarkinTop Five: Top Five Songs To Break your Heart To

12th August 2009:
OK - you must be a High Fidelity fan right? Me too! (If not, it's a hell of a coincidence and you should read/watch High Fidelity, because you'd like it!) This is a really cool idea, I love it. Looking forward to reading more. :-)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Eleanor LarkinDemented: Welcome to My Personal Hell

6th August 2009:
This is fascinating, I'm looking forward to reading more. The line 'Please, forgive these wankers' made me laugh for some reason! So, an engaging main character, the presence of the Marauders, the mystery of Remus' behaviour - and an American who says 'Dude' all the time. Pretty good combination. :-)

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! Unfortunately, I was told that Remus punching James was a bit out of character (and after thinking about it, I agreed) so I took out that scene and added what I hope to be more believable. If you have the time, I would love for you to go back and read the first chapter again.

I'll try to get a new chapter up soon!

~TFM


 Report Review

Review #5, by Eleanor LarkinThe Day The World Came Crashing Down: That Fateful Day

6th August 2009:
Great job! A well-visualised version of events. It's just like I always imagined it. :-)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you =]]

 Report Review

Review #6, by Eleanor LarkinOverdrama: Overdrama

28th July 2009:
Well I had to check out one of your stories after all the great reviews you've done for me. I thought this was really interesting, and well written too. Your descriptions of the clouds and the sea are melodramatic, but I assume you intended this as it seems appropriate for the setting and mood of the story. Your writing conjures up an image of the scene in front of my eyes, and that's a sign of a good narrative.

I agree that Draco needs some tough love, because he's only ever had either adoration or bullying. I'm also glad you explored his grief for his friend, because most people would assume he didn't have strong feelings like that. It's good to read a view from the 'other side.' I like Astoria too!

Author's Response: I can't believe you stopped by. I'm flattered. Honestly, I'm chuffed to bits! I've really been enjoying your work this holiday, so I'm rather shocked you liked my stuff. And yes, you're right, the melodrama was intended, and purposefully overdone.

I'm really glad you felt as I did, that Draco needed the tough love. Like you, I wanted to explore grief, but in a slightly different type of grief. I was also playing with Draco and Astoria to see if I could figure-out their relationship for a different story.

Thanks so much for the review, you made my day!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Eleanor LarkinStill Waiting : Still Waiting For You

27th July 2009:
Awesome! A really interesting point of view, and well written too. Few people explore the effect Sirius had on Regulus, or the possibility that they didn't always hate each other, or that one didn't necessarily hate the other ... anyway, I'd be interested to know your take on Sirius reading that letter. Is he supposed to have received it?

Author's Response: I have found that there aren't many stories on Regulus, and the ones that are there are of him being an arrogant little so-'n'-so.
Maybe I'll do another chapter - an extra chapter - on Sirius getting the letter. It would be interesting to write certainly...


 Report Review

Review #8, by Eleanor LarkinRun Away: Reflections

26th July 2009:
I loved this, it was really well done. A slip of the grammar here & there but not intrusive. I came to this fic because you reviewed mine, I think we are on the same page Sirius-wise! Looking forward to reading more of your stuff when I have time! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks =]
Oh I know, it was the first thing I posted and I was just anxious to get it on to be honest but I have a neater, more grammatically correct version to post when I've finished editing my other WIP (also a Sirius fic, yes, somewhat of an addiction...although its more to do with being witty than in cannon until I re-edit it)
I'm glad you liked my one shot though and yes I agree, I think we have the same idea of Sirius
I'm going to also read some more of your work =]
Thanks again, it's much appreciated


 Report Review

Review #9, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the New Arrivals: Events Unfolding

7th July 2009:
That was cool. I like that Harry and Malfoy are sort of getting on now. There is a difference between ghost and poltergeist though. A ghost is what Fred is, i.e. a person who's died & their soul has not moved on, whereas a poltergeist is a sort of malignant force traditionally thought to have been created by discontented children, not an actual dead person. Having said that, there is no reason in the world why Fred shouldn't be able to move things around! I love the idea that he is still around. I hope you update soon, this is a good story. :-) And thanks for your reviews of mine, too.

Author's Response: who hated fred and geroge the most?
yeah i thought that they put their differences aside after goyle stupidly put the room of requirement on fire.
I absolutly love your story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the New Arrivals: Rest at Last

7th July 2009:
This story looks really interesting so far. I assume other reviewers have already done corrections for you since you asked for them. It's really only spelling, so if this is your first fic it's a pretty good start! The mistakes didn't stop me enjoying the chapter, but if you're worried about it go to the forums and look for a beta. I'd offer but I'm a bit bogged down with work right now. There's a lot of lovely people who do it all the time.

Author's Response: thanks hopefully the minister change did not confuse you

 Report Review

Review #11, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the Girl Who Lived: Summer after War

6th July 2009:
Isabel, you've left so many great reviews for me I thought I'd check your page out. I'm glad I did, this story is intriguing, I really enjoyed the first chapter, and I'm looking forward to reading more & finding out what happens!

Author's Response: Wow! That was SO GOOD of you! Thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you liked it! Please read and review to other chapters too!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Eleanor LarkinSleeping Beauty: A Tale of a Rose: I - SLEEPING BEAUTY IS BORN

6th July 2009:
I'm really enjoying this so far and can't wait to read more. It's a cool and original idea. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I\\\'m going to try and write the next chapter today. It\'s already been started, so hopefully, I\\\'ll be finished with it soon.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Eleanor LarkinHey, Fred: Hey, Fred

6th July 2009:
Good job - this was great!

Author's Response: thank you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Eleanor LarkinBrothers: Brothers

1st August 2007:
This is awesome - I really enjoy your stuff, because it's very Sirius-y. I like the way you depict him. My interpretation of his character is much the same as yours. In my experience, though, Sirius-obsession doesn't go away no matter how much you write about him! You're a really good, expressive writer, one of the best on this site in my opinion.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for the compliments, Eleanor. One of the best on the site, you say? You're making me blush with these words.

I'm glad you like my portrayal and depiction of Sirius ... It's always a bit nerve-wracking writing my favourite character, as I want to do him justice and whatnot.

And yes, I've now learned that Sirius-obsession, once caught, is utterly impossible to cure. ;)

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #15, by Eleanor LarkinProud: Proud

28th July 2007:
Brilliant! I really enjoyed this. It was well-written and entertaining but with a serious note too.

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks! Hehe--I had been in a slump, this was my way out, so thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Eleanor LarkinRecolitus Optimus: Part I: It All Started with a Card

25th July 2007:
This is an awesome story - your descriptions are excellent, really detailed and engaging, and I like your characterisation of Sirius. Looking forward to reading the next part!!! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks, Eleanor. All parts have been posted, now.

Glad to hear that you liked the story ... and that I characterised Sirius well enough!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #17, by Eleanor LarkinLike His Brother: Like His Brother

25th July 2007:
I was really impressed with this - I'm writing a story with Regulus as the main character at the moment, same period of time. Yours is really well-written and it gives a really interesting insight into Regulus' character and his past.

Author's Response: Thank you, Eleanor! I'm glad that you liked it. I'll be sure to check out your Regulus story as well sometime.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #18, by Eleanor LarkinStruggling Under Shadows: Sweet Beginnings

12th July 2007:
I like this so far and I'm looking forward to reading more. :-)

Author's Response: Aww Thank you so much, I'm going probably going to write a few chapters today =D



 Report Review

Review #19, by Eleanor LarkinExactly the Wrong Impression: Exactly the Wrong Impression

20th May 2007:
Hee hee - I like it. Especially the line writing part.

Author's Response: glad to hear it. xXx

 Report Review

Review #20, by Eleanor LarkinRegulus Kills Again: Chapter One

10th May 2007:
This is great - I just read your other one as well, the Drapery of Doom. It's good to see other people writing about Regulus. I reckon he's one of the most interesting characters. And anything about Sirius is always welcome! :-) I can't wait for updates on this one, it's really well written and interesting.

Author's Response: He really is one of the most enigmatic and interesting characters. Sadly, this story was supposed to be strictly a one-shot, but after deciding that I've had plenty more Regulus storylines swirling around in my head, so ... who knows?

 Report Review

Review #21, by Eleanor LarkinSirius Black and the Drapery of Doom: Chapter One

10th May 2007:
This story is awesome, can't wait for the rest!

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you're enjoying it so far. :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Eleanor LarkinSirius and the Squelshin: Ahoy, Matey!

27th April 2007:
Thanks for giving me a good laugh ... this was hilarious! :-)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks! I thought it was funny when I first wrote it, then I worried no one else would agree. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the Lost Angel: Change of name

27th July 2005:
Another great chapter! I especially like the memory guide and the French waiter.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the Lost Angel: Daddy's surprise

27th July 2005:
That's a really sweet chapter, and the headline 'THE BOY WHO SPILT' is hilarious!!! :) I'm enjoying this story a lot.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Eleanor LarkinHarry Potter and the Lost Angel: Healer Granger

27th July 2005:
Another great chapter! Good to see Sera's getting out of that awful situation. She's a really good character by the way, and I also like the older Harry, Ron and Hermione. You ought to do a fic set in that little school, it might be interesting!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>