Reading Reviews From Member: StarFeather
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: The Final Weeks

27th February 2015:
I like your describing about statistics things and made a smile again to read Ron insisted and agreed with the idea of Hermione's , they should not compare amateur ones to professional ones.

Just my guess, please don't mind, Sparks will catch the snitch, which will teach Harry something.

Author's Response: This was just a short 'filler' chapter to help move the story faster through time to the game. No, I don't mind your guessing how the game will go. I was hoping readers would all have their own idea of what might happen. I considered all the possible game endings very carefully when I planned this story before deciding on which one I would use. So I hope readers will enjoy it. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: A Worried Team

27th February 2015:
Oh, bribe things,me also have thought to put it in my story, too. And bet. I laughed again to read the conversation, "You might as well hand those galleons over right now." between George and Ron.

Poor Ron. He is a real Cannons' supporter but league leaders cheat on fans like Ron. And after hard practice to keep regular Keeper, he had to attend dance party where Hermione would wait with much expectation.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for leaving another nice note. When I decided to write this story, I didn't want it to be full of quidditch playing in every chapter. I only wanted to have one game at the end. So instead, I explored other areas of conflict like bribery and betting. Just like you, I naturally thought of those things too.

Ron's loyalty to the Cannons was another conflict I brought out that was fun to play with, and could provide a little humor. Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeatherWe Are One: All is fair

27th February 2015:
Oh, I didn't expect the end like this! I've thought kind of Voldemort or Dark wizard possessed Harry's mind and let him murder some of victims while he was in a state of blackout.

 Report Review

Review #4, by StarFeatherWe Are One: Sunshine, stay

26th February 2015:
Hi, I dropped to do our review swap from forums finally. :)

I've been curious about this story looking at the impressive banner, but I imagined frightful murder scenes so had avoided reading this. Then I've just read two chapters, felt it was just amazing! I thought there would be lots of cruel scenes before reading your story but you described about Harry's family in a way full of love, pictured emotional movement of each character as well, I really like that.

Flow of this mystery is very good, which invites readers to keep reading next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by StarFeatherYou Should Marry Me: You Should Marry Me

24th February 2015:
I've read some scenes about their engagement written by other authors, but your way to describe that is very unique.

I love the part Harry is very good at cooking crisp bacon for he was forced to do it at Dursley's. I want to read the tale about Harry's cooking ability in your other story, so please write someday including cute Ginny with him after their marriage.

Author's Response: Harry's cooking ability is awesome! I have another story that I haven't re-posted yet about him cooking Ron soup because Ron has a cold but that's not a good example because he gets angry at Ron and things go awry. Haha! I'm really glad you liked it though and caught the crisp bacon from the Dursley's, no one ever has! Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: The Firebolt Brooms

22nd February 2015:
I made a smile when I read the part George had put up a poster of black Cannon ball saying "Saturday August 1 will it be the Cannon's Finest Hour? or Their Most Humiliating Defeat?" It will likely happen that people in Diagon Alley discuss which will win on their way of shopping.

I also enjoyed the scene when the wooden crates arrived at Oliver's house as well.

And I like the part "Harry decided to keep his own broom, he knew Sirius would want him to use it, especially for a game like this".

With hunch Harry will be getting involved in trouble after Hagrid bet much money on that game, I found comfort in reading next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for another lovely review. I enjoyed reading your comments. Yes exactly as you said, I wanted to give the reader the feeling that everyone will be talking about this game. And George's shop is so popular that a lot of people would see that poster in the window every day.

When I decided the whole team needed to have Firebolt brooms, I also had to decide whether Harry would want to ride his own broom or keep it safe from any risk. In the end, I decided he'd want to ride it in honor of Sirius.

Yes, every story needs some trouble to happen, but I always think it's best if the reader can't predict what will happen, even when the plot is short and simple like this one is. So I tried to keep the plot twists a surprise right up to the end chapter.


 Report Review

Review #7, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: For the Good of the League

22nd February 2015:
I love the plot of this chapter very much. That's definitely what I wanted to read. I was so excited when Bastien told Oliver his amateur team having Harry as Seeker would play the Cannons after Seekter commented about them. And your setting up George's banter before Oliver's mentioning about a proposal from the league is brilliant!

At the same time readers understand Harry's feeling he doesn't wish unwanted publicity and worry with him what will happen during an upcoming game.

Author's Response: I've had this idea about Harry team's playing the Cannons in my head for a long time, but it took me a long time to figure out how I could make it work as a story. So all of my logic for it is written into this chapter. I didn't expect a quidditch theme to draw many readers, but I decided to write it anyway when the idea wouldn't leave me alone. So I'm glad to hear you enjoy the plot idea. I noticed you invented a similar team for Harry to play on with the aurors in your own story. I think it just makes sense that quidditch players would find ways to keep playing the game after they leave school.

After all the quidditch playing I put in my first novel, LOL - I was starting to run out of things that could happen, so I'm glad I thought of some new things that could happen in this story.


 Report Review

Review #8, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: Thundergate Stadium

22nd February 2015:
I smiled at the sight of Ginny's giving a little smirk before Harry whispered, "What's so funny?" I wondered why with Harry, and the way you showed the awkward moment of Ron, you led us to the story about Ron's lovely memory with Arthur Weasly. Your way always gives us the warm feeling, how I can say, you may be brought up with your family's love, you know what is the good relationship between a farther and a son.

You described Ron's favorite Quidditch team as well so that we can imagine the Cannon's Seeker's poster very well. We felt startled with Harry when the round belly man beside him shouted loudly like Uncle Vernon.

I'm looking forward to seeing what will happen when Harry joins the Gryffindor Alumni Team and I'm curious to know what will happen when Hermione catches George. :)

Author's Response:
Hi, thanks for reading more of this story. I just wanted to expose the reader to a new quidditch pitch away from Hogwarts in this chapter, and my idea of what it's like at a Cannons game.

Thanks for your nice comment about Ron's awkward moment. When I thought about Ron being the only Cannons fan in the Weasly house, I figured Arthur must have taken Ron to most of the games as a kid without the other kids wanting to come along. And that led me to think it could have been a nice private father-son moment between them. Ron's awkward moment in this chapter came out of my thinking that way about it.

George always gives me an opportunity to put some humor in the story, so I hoped readers would enjoy this fun little problem between George and Hermione.


 Report Review

Review #9, by StarFeatherThe Hogwarts Alumni Quidditch Team: Free Tickets

8th February 2015:
Hi, StarFeather again. I have been interested in the title of this, so I dropped by here.

I knew the word, 'abysmal' the first time from George. I laughed again, when George and Ginny bantered Ron with his Quidditch Weekly. Poor Ron, only four of them agreed to go to see Cannons. And Hermione's rooting for underdog is persuasive.

And forgery, mischief will be managed.
We, readers have hunch there lots of troubles will happen.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading and leaving comments on this chapter. I hoped readers would enjoy the humor. After putting the old quidditch team in my first story, I got the idea to write this story about them.

Abysmal - ha ha - I don't know how that word even popped into my head. But when it did, it felt like just the sort of word George would think up.

Yes, there's a bit of mischief in the air for a few chapters. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #10, by StarFeatherHarry Potter and the Wizard's Portrait: Return to the Burrow

7th February 2015:
Hi, I came back here to find why George got two house-elves as your guidance. :)

Your story is really like a model of good description. I felt it when I translated the scene of dinner table set up by McGonagall into my own language for my son. He was sleeping now, but he also enjoyed your story as a bed time story. :)

And floo powder part, it is complicated but even J.K.Rowling didn't explain how Umbridge watched the floo network in book 5, you did a good job.

I like the conversation by Weasley brothers the best in this chapter, they care George with full of affection.

And I'm glad Ron got angry saying Dumbledore was mental for he let Harry go to be killed. His loyality to Harry will be forever.

And the last part about Harry's sad feeling after so many people he loved died, I tried writing the same thing in my third story, so I felt close to your thought.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for your kind compliments. And WOW, you even translated some of this to share with your son. Now that's a real compliment. Thank you so much. It means a great deal to hear that. I hope you share your own stories with him too. He is a lucky child to have a parent who reads to him and writes stories!

I agree with you about the floo powder. I read this chapter myself just a few days ago, and had the very same thought. I rewrote that part many times already trying to make it simpler, but it's still not right. I'm glad you mentioned it. It's going on my list of things to work on when I have time to come back to this story.

I'm glad you like the Weasley brothers scene. That was one of my favorite scenes to write too.

Yes, I thought Ron would be angry when he learned the truth, since it would be such a shock. But Harry would make him understand that Dumbledore was only trying to help Harry survive a situation that was avoidable.

Harry's sadness was a natural thing for him to feel. If you write a similar scene, I'll be interested to read it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by StarFeatherHarry Potter and the Wizard's Portrait: Fred's Funeral

6th February 2015:
I really understand why George wore Fred's workrobes. And slides of Twins. I have attended the ceremony of my deceased friend, where they had slides, too. To remember the dearest deceased is show respect for them.

The scene Aunt Muriel, 107 years old sipping a flask reminds me of one scene of "the Cripple of Inishmaan" I read, there was also an old woman who loved alcohol. And the conversation of Harry and Muriel you created is marvelous. It can likely be written after Book 7.

The whole story of a dancing Irish jig goldfish made me laugh again.

One thing I might miss, why George became Master of two houseelves, Dash and Nibbot. Which chapter did you mention about them? I must go back.

And Peeves! You let him enter effectively. After his prank, the picturesque sequence of Weasleys Wizard Wheezes including Farewell Fireworks are exquisite.

Author's Response: Hi, thank you so much for reading and reviewing this chapter. It was a pleasure to read your thoughts about it.

I didn't want to write such a sad and depressing funeral chapter. I wanted to make it a chapter that people would enjoy re-reading, and not avoid because it was sad. Plus I decided that putting some humor in would be very fitting for Fred. So the slide show was a good way for me to honor Fred in a way that is also fun for the reader.

I used Muriel for some comedy too, even though she and Harry had a conversation that shows how nasty Muriel is.

And the same with Peeves. He provides some humor, but I also had a purpose for putting him in the story.

The chapter that explains how Fred and George got house-elves is Chapter 5, and then the Trio meet them for the first time in Chapter 6. One reason I put the new elves in the story was because I just wanted to practice writing an elf. The other reason was because I wanted to give the reader the idea that George would always have enough help in his shop, so that the shop would never feel like a burden to him after Fred died.

Thanks again for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by StarFeatherHarry Potter and the Wizard's Portrait: The Acquisition of Spinner's End

5th February 2015:
I tried to read next chapter after reading Harry's flight with Ginny but the title of this chapter drew me so I'll review this chapter before others.

I like the way you described how the silver patronous appeared and repeated the message to Harry and left.

I laughed again when I read George's dialogues and his gesture,"be sure to nick it for us," and deprimanded by Molly, turned back to Harry mouthing, "no, I'm not kidding."

And I was very impressed you recreated the scenery of the town Snape and Lily had lived with your ingenious pen. I also like the scene Harry recognized Snape's scribbling each textbooks to use them to plan his teaching lessons over the summer.

Climax of this chapter, pressed red rose part. Perhaps other readers left comments for this so I dare not mention in detail, readers can guess and expect this scene since when Harry entered Snape's house but still it is beautiful.

I reckon Snape used Time-Turner to be back to the spot before Lily was killed so that he could rescue her.

Author's Response:
Hi, thanks for reading more and leaving another nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I was a fan of the twins in the books. So I always looked for ways to include George in this story. So I'm glad you liked his little part in this chapter.

I was always curious to see more of Snape's house when I read the books. But I think there was only one scene of it in the books. So I decided to write a scene at Snape's house in my own story. But I really had trouble thinking of what Harry might find there, because I wanted it to be something that was important to the plot. And then I thought of Lily objects as well.

I'm glad you enjoyed some of the descriptions. A lot of this chapter was just one long description without any dialogue to break it up, which I usually don't like to do. I worried the scene might be too long and boring that way, but I wanted Harry to be alone when he made his discoveries. So I just took a chance with it, for better or for worse.

I was undecided for a long time about whether or not I might put a Time-Turner in this story, and if I did, how I was going to use it, because I didn't want make any part of this story predictable to the reader.

Thanks again for reading and for leaving another very nice review.


 Report Review

Review #13, by StarFeatherHarry Potter and the Wizard's Portrait: A Menace in the Sky (The Firebolt Ride)

3rd February 2015:
Hi, I came back to your wonderful magical world after your great comment on my blog of forums.

I really love this chapter where Harry enjoys his ride from bottom of his heart feeling of freedom having defeated Voldemort aside.

And I like the way you describe relationship between Harry and Ginny, which is not too fluffy, well balanced, which can make readers who love romance feel satisfied. And the pause you created was amazing . Readers gasp at the sight of a dark figure after their happy moment. And George's help with sending Bluders! Your lightning trick is brilliant!
And all the old Gryffindor Quidditch stars enter! I was so excited, shouted in my mind, 'Go, Gryffin, go for it!' I felt like I experienced an exciting game while I read this chapter.

And I laughed at Ron's catching Harry's wand. He nicely, saved! I love your plot.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for coming to read more of this story and for this lovely review. This was one of the chapters I struggled with the most in this story. I never tried writing any action scenes before this novel, so this chapter was part of my earliest practice. I'm still not completely satisfied with it, so I'm always glad when people enjoy it anyway.

After all Harry went through, the one way I could give him a little relief and relaxation was to put him on a broom. Better yet with Ginny. But having Ginny with him also made the pair more vulnerable when the enemies showed up. And I hoped it would raise the suspense. So thanks for mentioning it.

I also wanted to put some humor in this chapter, so I thought it would be good fun to put George and Ron on joke shop brooms, and to show George using bludgers since he has such skill, and since bludgers are pretty dangerous anyway. And I looked for a way to bring back the old quidditch team since they were my favorite Hogwarts team in the books, and I missed Oliver when he left, So I'm glad you enjoyed those too.

And Ron - well, every now and then I think Ron deserves to do something right!

Thanks again for this wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #14, by StarFeatherStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Quidditch and a Whole Lot of Tempers

3rd February 2015:
Halo :). I dropped by from Gryffindor Common Room.
I'm glad I've found your writing about Harry's trainee life.

I confess I started reading from this chapter, because I've read lots of 19 years fan fics on this site and other sites, but most of which are not completed before Harry's training would start or too focused on Harry/ Ginny romance though I admit I love their romance, too. So I wanted to check you were surely writing his training and his angst. You described his frustration caused by hard training well. So now I'm very satisfied.

And your mentioning about "against Draco's" and connection between Harry and Ginny, I have to check other chapters before this.

Thank you for your wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful comments!

 Report Review

Review #15, by StarFeatherBirthday Gift: Birthday Gift

1st February 2015:
Hi, Molly. I stopped by from Gryffindor Common Room.

I was reallly impressed by your writing about the scene J.K.Rowling wrote in Book 7, which made me think of writing the same scene from Harry's point of view for response to your Ginny's point of view. I'll promise, I'll try it and thank you!

I'll check your other stories.

Author's Response: Thank you! Please tell me if or when you post your story so I can read and review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #16, by StarFeatherchang(e): a changing chang

29th January 2015:
You portrayed his gender identity disorder beautifully in the world of HP. I was very impressed.

I like this part; Chang felt, in allowing the drowsy waves to push the boat back across the expanse of water, with lanterns bobbing along.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much! It's nice to see people onboard with the idea :)

It means a lot that you read and reviewed :D

- Jess, xo


 Report Review

Review #17, by StarFeatherKiller in Me and the Killer in You: Killer in Me and the Killer in You

23rd January 2015:
Hi,Olivia.

I stopped by from forums.

When I looked at the banner and the title of your one-shot story, I predicted I would feel the same atmosphere around Rodolphus and Bella Lestrange in my second fan fic , so I decieded to keep reading.

Would you write the sequel of this? Please write.
It's my request. I also love a story that makes a person feel sad. I felt his sadness to love Bella.
We can imagine background music of this story while we read , a minor key, sad tune expressing his unrequited love.

Author's Response: Hello there!

I haven't thought about a sequel to this story, to be honest. If I did decide to write it, it might be a while, since I have a lot of stuff lined up, specifically my three WIPs that aren't even close to being finished. But I certainly won't forget about it!

This story was actually inspired by a song - Disarm by the band Smashing Pumpkins. I was listening to it and thought 'This could make a good basis for a fic'. The title is a line from that song.

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #18, by StarFeather(4) States of Matter: Lights Out

15th January 2015:
First metaphor (am I correct?) implying their too short lives about marauders like lights, it was awesome.

A brilliant kick off as a mystery. We want to know what will happpen next. Oh, Snape plotted that, which was really likely!

Author's Response: Hey! Yes, you've got it absolutely right! I'm glad what I was trying to say got across. Writing is, after all, all about communication

thank you! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by StarFeatherDivided: The Tale of the Hogwarts Founders: Chapter V

15th January 2015:
What Gryffindore's wife fought with Vikings made me imagine Ginny who fought Death Eaters in her fourth year with Harry, and I remembered somewhere I had seen a photo of Viking's grave or something related to them in England.

And Sorting Hat's birth, the way you described about it , it was really brilliant. Its ironical personality, rudeness against Ravenclaw and Gryffindor made me smile.

And you weaved Rowena's feeling for Salazar and jealousy toward his wife well, that led us to read more, what would happen next between Salazar and Rowena?

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for coming back and reading on, it means a lot to me! :)

I really liked writing Godric's wife. She's the type of lady who does what she has to do, which is tough with a lot of Vikings invading the country as there were during this time period.

Haha, so glad you liked the Sorting Hat! I really don't know how it ended up so sassy. Despite this not being a humourous fic, silly stuff tends to end up in my stories when I least expect it haha.

Thank you, I'm glad to hear you liked the storyline with Rowena and Salazar. Definitely a lot left unsaid with those two.

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by StarFeatherDivided: The Tale of the Hogwarts Founders: Chapter IV

14th January 2015:
Hi : ) I came back to read your tale about the Hogwarts Founders. HPFF forums reminded me of your story.

I like your setting up the personality of Salazar, how he had hate feeling against Muggles, showing an incident related to snakes. The expression about snake language J.K.Rowling created the world, but you did good job which made me imagine the scene vividly.

I'm looking forward to reading Gryffindor parts next.

Ravenclaw didn't give in, good for her.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you liked the setup for Salazar and that he seemed realistic. I thought that given Salazar's connection to snakes this would make sense, especially considering that snakes would probably be viewed as evil by any religious people of the time. I'm glad you were able to imagine the scene vividly, thank you!

So glad you liked this and I hope you enjoy Ravenclaw and Gryffindor next :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by StarFeatherMisconceptions: Presumptive

7th January 2015:
Please write next chapter ASAP. Your AU story is really amazing!

Author's Response: Aww thank you!! I have much more planned! I hope you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #22, by StarFeatherMisconceptions: Perceptive

7th January 2015:
This is the best AU story I have ever read so far! I really enjoyed confusion of Snape between ignoring affection for Harry in his mind and a sudden impulse to protect him.

Author's Response: Best. Review. Ever. You make me smile!! I have coming very soon!! Keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #23, by StarFeatherFor Hope: When All Else Fails

11th September 2014:
Hi! I'm very pleased to know you're trying to write about Harry's Auror training. Many fanfic fans write about the love relation ship, yes I admit it is appealing theme always but the core of our mind can't feel content enough with only romance as a real Harry Potter fan who stuck in the J.K.Rowling's profound magical world, I think.

Please describe more about Harry's job though it is hard to create new chracters around golden trio, of course fans care Harry's love relationship with Ginny. :) StarFeather

Author's Response: I'm glad you like that element of the story. I think it is a shame when stories focus only on one element when there is so many to explore, it sort of does injustice to the story to not explore and it's fun in its own way. I'll try to include more, but the next couple chapters aren't too much about Harry. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by StarFeatherDobby: The Paid Elf: Dobby: The Paid Elf

5th September 2014:
A lovely story,indeed. I'd like to read your other stories. :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Aww thank you! Dobby is one of my absolute favorites and I loved writing him. :) I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and I hope, if you do check them out, you enjoy my other ones as well!

Thank you for reading and taking the time to review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #25, by StarFeatherThe Sleepness Notes: Quidditch (and unnecessary competitiveness)

17th April 2014:
I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter, thank you!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm writing it at the moment, so I hope it'll be up soon.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>