Reading Reviews From Member: FredWeasleyIsMyKing
  
297 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingHC Event 3: The New Addition: The New Addition

8th July 2014:
Hey Amy!

Aww this was such a cute little story for the HC! It's certainly left me with a big smile on my face. I think you got the characterisation of 9 year old Sophie perfectly! Her excitement at getting a pet is clear with the never ending repeat of asking her mum where her dad was. I also loved how long it took her to pick a name, testing so many out. Then when her dad walks in, there was a really cute moment as she finally picks a name that her parents are so unsure of! It made me laugh anyway!

This was really well written and so cute, especially with the time constraints we had! Well done!

Lauren
House Cup Review 2014
Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #27, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingEvent Three: Hope : Hope

8th July 2014:
Hello!

I really wanted to stop by while reviewing for the HC so here I am :)

Wow, this is so different to all the other HC entries I've read. I always thought Pygmy Puffs to be cute, even if a little useless! the despair the girl feels for her father though is a familiar one. How many times do we think "Really?" when our parents do something! It made me smile. I do think she was perhaps a little harsh on her dad at times... it must be hard as a single parent but you can see how much he tries. I'm so happy she realised that by the end... her dad (and Pygmy Puff) have always been there for her!

This was a great take on the prompt we had! Well done :D

Lauren
House Cup Review 2014
Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #28, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Boy and the Bowtruckle: Companion

8th July 2014:
Hey Kevin!

About time I checked out some more of your work and woah! This is so good! I can't believe you wrote it in such a short space of time.

Firstly, your idea is brilliant and so original. I love it. We know Ollivander is most definitely a skilled wand maker and so having a background like this completely fits with what we know. I can see how much thought you put behind it and I'm honestly in awe.

Garrik. He's so cute! You can tell he's still a child, and he still a little naive and afraid of the bowtruckles and I don't know, it just worked perfectly for this. I loved the spell to, so that he could speak to them. It's a really great idea!

Also, I just have to say the title of this story is lovely, it just flows and sounds lovely.

Great entry Kevin, this was brilliantly written!

Lauren
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Howdy Lauren!

Thanks for all your kind words! I'm glad you liked the idea - when I first came up with it I just couldn't get it out of my head, so I just ran with it.

My biggest worry about it (aside from the length limit) was writing such a young child, especially Ollivander since we really don't know much about his younger years at all.

I'm glad you liked the spell too - I worried when I did it if it would come across too contrived, but it's good to know it didn't!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

8th July 2014:
Hi there,

I thought the idea that George would leave a scholarship find for students who live their final year in a way that would make Fred proud really funny. I could definitely see it happening.

Your characterisation was good, although we had 5 characters to get on board with you gave us a good general gist of all of them to keep us interested. I look forward to seeing them in more depth though and seeing their different personalities come through.

I thought Rose was very narrow minded in the way she regards the other houses and the people in them. They as a group probably are the cleverest in the school or whatever but here they're also very judge-y. I know there's always competition between houses but she perhaps wt a bit far considering what house most of her family are in and what they did in their life. I hope they learn to be a little more open minded.

I'm interested to see what plan they come up with to get themselves in a prank or whatever they're going to do.

Good first chapter though :) I look forward to reading more :)

Lauren
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #30, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Diary: Lost & Found

8th July 2014:
Hey there!

You really built up the tension here in this first chapter! I think the story is a great idea and I was really curious what you would do with it. I must admit though, I was gutted it ended there! I really wanted ginny to start reading it and find out some of it's secrets! In a short opening though, I felt you did ginny justice and your descriptions were really good of the attic. I just missed the ghoul!! I liked that ginny originally thought that the whole thing would e rubbish to start with but realised that some of the stuff up there was actually cool :) great job!!

Hope you update soon :)

Lauren
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #31, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Four Hour Nap

7th July 2014:
Gahh!!! Why won't she stand up for herself? Please let her answer back to Michelle just once. It's almost painful to read, I am literally willing her with every part of me to speak up :( I must say though, Even though I can't stand her at this moment in time, your characterisation of michelle is really good. I've known girls to be like her. It's clearly driven my jealous. I just want to say HA to her. James clearly likes Abigail and not her.

Now this Isabelle seems really nice. I hope Abigail spends some more time with her :) she seems like she would be a much better friend than Michelle, and Abigail definitely deserves that.

I must say, I did did it funny though, the four hour nap. How I wish I could have so many of those!! It does tend to leave you more tired by it at the end though. You wrote it well :)

I'm looking forward to more James and Abigail in the next chapter though!!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #32, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Change In Friendship

7th July 2014:
Hey again :)

Oh my goodness. Seriously, I get so frustrated reading any part of this with Michelle! She's so horrible, can her and Abigail please stop being friends? Because right now I'm going to go and punch her for Abigail. I know she's jealous, that's clear but jeez. She doesn't deserve a friend like Abigail.

However we do have more Abigail and James action! Loving it... Please keep that coming! Bless he sat behind her. I liked to see the progress in their conversation here. It wasn't quite so awkward as before which is great. I'm definitely shipping the two of them already!

Can I just say... Honey lip balm? Parchment? Are these not things James smelt in the love potion? I'm sure they are!! Hmm definitely a good sign for the pair of them :)

I'll be back again soon!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #33, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

7th July 2014:
Hey :) I'm back for more!!

Hmm, I'm glad we got a bit more James in this chapter... And not James under a love potion! He seems really genuine and I really liked it. He didn't have to come and say sorry, especially seeing as it wasn't technically his fault. I think if it would have been me though, I would have trusted the chocolate ;)

I think my favourite thing about this chapter though was the conversation. You really nailed awkward teenager here!! I could feel myself cringing a little when James told her he would be good at stalking, it made me laugh too though. I presume this means he has his fathers cloak? That could certainly be interesting later on if so!!

Also, seriously hating on Michelle. Why is she so horrible? Eugh, I just want Abigail to tell her to leave her alone!!

Another great chapter!!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #34, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe First Kiss Series: Fred Weasley and Angelina Johnson: The Perfect Night

7th July 2014:
Hello again :)

So I noticed Fred Weasley and couldn't say no! As you can probably guess from the pen name, he's my fav character :)

This was so sweet! At first I thought it might have been a moment from the Yule ball but I liked this instead. The line about is it time to look at the stars yet really melted my heart! The whole scene was well planned and lovely to read!

I thought you did a great job of keeping Fred in character. He sometimes has that moment of arrogance about him, plenty of humor and the cheeky comments! I loved it. Angelina was a lot softer in this than we see in the books but I thought you pulled it off regardless. It was nice to see that side of her for a change.

Again, great story. All of your first kisses ones are!!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #35, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe First Kiss Series: Scorpius Malfoy and Rose Weasley: The End of a Long Tradition

7th July 2014:
Hey again :)

I'm a big Scorose fan so couldn't resist seeing what you had in store with this one. This was really sweet again, but I like how you have done this one completely from scratch, as opposed to Harry's and ginnys which we knew about before hand.

I totally agree that scorpius and rose would have had to overcome the obstacle of their fathers hating each other... And grandfathers. It was cute the way you did it though, scorpius wanting to spite them. You wrote the build up well though, with the fall out first.

I think roses characterisation was nice too, I saw little bits of both Hermione and Ron in there which was good - It definitely worked well for this!

Great one shot once again!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree 2

 Report Review

Review #36, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe First Kiss Series: Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley: Better Than Firewhisky

7th July 2014:
Hey there!!

Aww this was so cute. I mean, we know how it happened but it was lovely to read it from ginnys POV too!

I thought you characterised her well... She had that spark about her and willingness to go for it with harry. Her quick decision to leap into his arms was of course perfectly timed.

I also really liked how you integrated the things that happened so seamlessly into your story. The expressions on Ron and Hermione's faces... The wolf whistling from the crowd. It made the whole piece feel more real after knowing JKs version!

Anyway, this was really cute! Great job :)

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree 2

 Report Review

Review #37, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Love Potion

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

Woah so definitely an action packed chapter as you promised. But first, Abigail. I'm literally willing her to stand up to Michelle as I read, I really wish she would answer back. She ought to. Michelle isn't really a good friend at all.

But, the love potion. I was cringing for poor Abigail, and James too. But for her to like James and have that happen must have been awful. I thought you did a great job of writing James under the potion though, his actions and words seemed spot on with how Ron acted under it's influence.

I'm definitely not liking Barry and Elijah so far. They seem a bit too irresponsible! William on the other hand seems like a much better friend for James to have.

Great chapter again - I feel so sorry for Abigail and I hope once James is sorted it won't stop them from talking!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #38, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

7th July 2014:
Hey again :)

So I was kind of sad to read that I was right with Abigail being a push over. Michelle was a real cow in this chapter, nothing like a friend should be. I know it's easy to be mean when you're tired but that was a bit far. Michelle seems jealous to me that Abigail had that bit of time with James. I hope eventually Abigail does stand up to Michelle. She needs too.

It was really cute though, James looking at her across the hall. I hope this is the start if something and Michelle is completely wrong.

Another great chapter :)
Lauren
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #39, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One Where James Knocks Me Down

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

So I remember you started this story for NaNo and it sounded good so I definitely wanted to come and check it out. You've immediately got my interest!

Abigail's a nice character. I really like her so at. She's very quiet though which makes me feel she might get walked over a bit. Michelle seems the opposite so far... Perhaps that's why they fall out so much? Anyway, I love that Abigail likes comic books... It makes this story really stand out as it's so different and I can't wait to read more.

I liked what you did with the literal run in... It was written well and didn't get confusing at any point which exchanges like that sometimes can. I could literally see what was happening.

Great job on a good opening chapter! I will most certainly be reading more.

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #40, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

6th July 2014:
Hi there!!

So I must say, I really loved this story. You've captured something here most people wouldn't even consider happening, yet in my head now, it definitely happened. I loved it.

Your characterisation for a start is fantastic. I genuinely think Minerva is perfect and she's not an easy character to write I don't think. The way she speaks and the things she says are just perfect for the occasion so kudos to you. Lupin too is great.

I loved the scenes you took us through as well as the little extra bits of information we got. So the fact the students took to lupin so well for example. Of corse we knew it, but it was nice that McGonagall said so. Also his thoughts on James and Sirius were well written. And the fact he still called her professor. I like the little things like that and this story is truly full of them.

So yeah. I really enjoyed this, I thought you did an immense job with the time limit and prompts. The story is brilliant. I've added it to my favs :)

Well done again!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #41, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Precise Hour: Eggs and Owls

6th July 2014:
Hi Nadia!!

Eek, I hadn't had the chance to read this one so I was really excited and of course you didn't disappoint!

I think you picked an interesting character here to use, and you also pulled in a lot of the culture which is cool. I don't know if any of it is inaccurate but to me, that wasn't so important.

It' must be so hard having arranged marriages when you love somebody else. I can't imagine being in that situation though but you wrote it well. The owl exchanges were really cute until the last one - that made me sad. Mostly for the bird!!

I also liked the friendship between abduallah and hassan. Their exchanges added some humour to an otherwise fairly sad tale!!

As always, this is lovely writing. You so an amazing job of stories like this Nadia!!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #42, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingBurn Away the Darkness: Shine

6th July 2014:
Hi again!

Once more another great one shot. I love that you actually make me feel really sorry for petunia in this. You were so clever in some of the things you did with it.

Her dislike of snape is clear, I love how you use "that boy" for him all the time. Very appropriate! But then of course lily goes with him and petunia feels like she is losing her sister and best friend which is of course an awful feeling. You make it so easy for us to relate to her.

I then love the line about her wanting to love harry but finding herself hating him because he looks so much like James. That must have been hard for her. I always hated the fact she was so cruel to harry but you put a clever spin on it here.

The ending was great and I'm so happy you left it that way. Her remembering the good times and seeing her grandchildren.

Great one shot again dear... All three of your entries were just perfect!!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #43, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingWordless: Wordless

6th July 2014:
Hey Sian!!

I'm back again and once again, I love hat you've done here. In my head, I believe that Hannah and Susan would have definitely remained friends so I like that I got to read a story about just the two of them, albeit a sad one. I think it was a perfect moment to show the strength of the pairs relationship though.

I'm also so impressed you wrote this without using any dialogue at all! It didn't need it though, trust me you got all the feeling in there you needed!! My heart was breaking!

My favourite lines were at the end... So much was said with so few words. The fact they were bridesmaid and godparent for the other and were there through the good and bad. Truest what friendship is all about.

Great job dear... I thought this was great!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #44, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing a goodbye in three parts: Today

6th July 2014:
Oh Nadia. Once again the feels! WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME WOMAN!

This story &heart BEAUTIFUL.

Oh Dean's grief is so tangible in this. Like I can literally feel it as I read. It's so lovely, the idea that she helped him admit his feelings for Seamus. I could totally buy that happening. And she would have definitely helped him overcome his nightmares during the war and at shell cottage.

When she says shes added him to her wall, that's just so lovely and a great way of showing how close they are as friends.

Amazing again dear... your writing is fantastic :)

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #45, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingFlutter: Flutter

6th July 2014:
Hey Sian!

Once again I'm blown away by your awesomeness. This story is just sweet and lovely and gah. I love it so much! You've turned a simple fact from JK into something so wonderful, it was a pleasure to read!

The unknown girl reminds me a little of Luna, so carefree and in love with nature. I think you did a great job of showing us her character, despite having no name or anything. Bowman's affection for her is lovely and it's so sweet that he makes the Snitch for her and Caro (another amazing addition)

This was an amazing entry Sian, honestly! Your writing is beautiful and so easy to read.

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #46, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingWho Killed Lucy?: Ruptures and Punctures

6th July 2014:
Nadia my love! How are you so awesome? This story... eugh! It just breaks my heart and I cannot deal with how sad it is. And how amazingly well written.

The repetition of certain words is so good. The whole story has a rhythm to it that makes it so easy to lose yourself in. How do you write so well?

The A for Apple line, and when Molly realises she's going to be an only child again, eugh feels. Those lines really stood out. And then she doesn't get Lucy's cup out for the first time... I can't imagine losing my sisters so this is just heart breaking!

Awesome entry my dear, you're writing gets better and better!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #47, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingEvent Three - All Quiet on the Post-War Front: heavy bones

6th July 2014:
Hi there!

Woah, this was different to what I've read so far in the HC entries so great job. I thought you picked an usual pair but this worked so well!

I thought Hannah's character was great and I loved what you did with her, also the lead up to getting the pub, something I've never really considered, was really lovely!

Again, you portrayed Dean really well, I think he had every right to be angry after what he went through. I'm glad he didn't actually do anything though, and Hannah managed to help him. It was a sweet moment between the two of them!

Great job on a powerful entry!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey Lauren!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my HC entry! Hannah and Dean are indeed an unusual pair; I love writing minor characters interacting with other minor characters! And I'm so glad you thought that I portrayed the characters well. Thank you so much once again for reading and reviewing!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #48, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingEvent Three - Always Here: Always Here

6th July 2014:
Hi there!

Wow, this was full of feels! Poor Rolf, he doesn't have a very good time does he? I'm so happy you included his grandpa as at least a small bit of hope for him. The creatures he tells him amount made me smile, the moments between the two of them were so cute.

The dementor... *shivers* that memory was awful, bless him! I'm glad he went with the butterfly like creatures instead in the end!

Great job on a heartfelt entry!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi yourself!

No, Rolf isn't very happy at home. His grandpa is the silver lining, I guess. I always imagined Rolf's parents to be against all the Magizoology stuff, and so Rolf really enjoys his grandpa's visits.

Newt was trying to show him both sides of the creature-scope, and Rolf definitely prefers the butterfly things. I know I would!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

-Karou


 Report Review

Review #49, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingLuna : Encounter

6th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was a great story! I love second person and I think it worked really well here.

The inclusion of Ginny was sweet, even though she wasn't named (I'm presuming it was Ginny anyway!) Luna's thought on her being a good friend were lovely!

I think you captured Luna's character so well. The way she loves nature and doesn't care if she is a little bit different. You also wrote about the Thestral so well, giving it a positive instead of the negative that usually surrounds it with death!

Great job on a lovely entry!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Lauren, thank you very much! Yes, the red head was Ginny :) I didn't want to mention her by name as it seemed (to me at least) at little more Luna-ish to forget someone's name if she doesn't really know them that well. Haha, thank you for that lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingEvent 3 ~~ Sunlight, Moonlight: Sunlight, Moonlight

6th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was such a cute story! And very clever too, I love how you integrated Garrick fetching wand wood with witnessing this lovely moment.

I thought you did such a good job at describing the first few moments of the unicorns life. To be honest, your descriptions were great throughout!I really enjoyed it. I could really picture each moment in the forest with the unicorns so great job.

I thought the end closed the story really nicely. Of course, we don't know if it was the same unicorn of course, but I liked the idea it might have been. I kind of hope it was to be honest.

Great job on a lovely entry!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>