Reading Reviews From Member: FredWeasleyIsMyKing
  
374 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingI Saw Him Once : I Saw Him Once

19th July 2015:
Hi Dee!

House Cup 2015 Gryffindor!

Aww this was such a cute little story - something to make me feel better after all the heartbreak haha!

I love Luna and all her little quirks and I think you captured them perfectly here. She's in her element looking for the Crumple-Horned Snorkack and this is exactly how I pictured her to be after the war.

Ned was so cute. You could see straight away that him and Luna were lovely together. His enthusiasm for creatures and exploring... it was like the male version of Luna!

I was sad for a moment when she picked to follow the beast. I expected it, it's Luna after all but the ending made me squeal with happiness - he'd followed her! I didn't realise it was their wedding to start with the yellow dress, but it's Luna, I should have guessed haha!

Your descriptions at the start were amazing! Particularly of the forest. I felt like I was there with her, taking in all the surroundings so amazing job there. I also loved the comment about the red hair reminding Luna of Ginny... I love them two as friends!

Amazing, once again hun!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hey Lauren♥

Luna is my absolute FAVOURITE character, the idea of writing her terrified me but I really wanted to attempt it, I'm so glad you liked her characterisation. I worried that I had overdone it a little with her quirks, I think it's so hard to find a good balance of Luna-isms :p

Yeah, I couldn't really see Luna in a tradional white wedding dress, she doesn't do anything traditionally does she?

Thanks for another great review!

Dee


 Report Review

Review #27, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingLove is for Fools: Not a Fool

19th July 2015:
Dee &hearts

House Cup Review 2015, Gryffindor

Okay first wow. I had a go at the alphabetized challenge and it was so difficult and you made it seem easy here and not at one point did the writing feel forced, just so you could make it work for the challenge so a huge huge huge kudos to you. That's truly amazing.

Next, the feels. Darn woman, you've really tugged at my heart strings today! The relationship between Remus and Sirius is so sad... they know it's there and I just wished they could have had something, a moment but it was never to be. You've written Remus's emotions throughout this beautifully... him still loving Sirius despite what he thinks he did to Lily and James and feeling guilty when he finds out the actual truth.

Sirius is a little cruel here. From what I gather, he doesn't just know of Remus's feelings, he feels the same way. I understand he might be scared to show them, but either way he knows and he shouldn't flaunt the girls in front of Remus.

Your last few lines were really sweet and heartbreaking. I hope that's what it's like for Sirius too. Zonko's heaven.

Awesome one shot again - how you can write something so awesome in 500 words amazes me. You have to teach me your ways!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hi, lovely Lauren!

The alphabetized challenge was SO HARD. Honestly, when I got to X and Z, I very nearly cried.

I'm not really a WolfStar shipper, but I think if there were ever feelings between them they would be unrequited or not acted upon ones, I can't see a world where those two would work out. Sirius acting the way he did here was all about pride, I don't think he would have wanted people to discover his feelings for Remus so he acted the complete opposite.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingPrisoner 1272: Prisoner 1272

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

So coming back for more as I'm really enjoying your work! It's been great to come and read!

This was completely different to your other stuff - you mentioned it would be in your AN - but it was still just as good. I've not read anything with Barty's wife or her time in Azkaban so this was really interesting for me.

The first section made me think of les mis. The prisoner with the number... 24601... But yeah I think that was probably how it is in Azkaban. You loose everything and you made that clear.

I thought it was clever that you didn't give it away straight away who it was. Sirius crossed my mind at first but as I got more into it I realised who it was. The flashback of the memory was interesting - I can't imagine how hard it was for Barty to let her go.

You wrote the death scene hauntingly well. The whole thing of her not being her anymore and stuff. It was also kind of sad to see she still thinks of him as innocent, but I guess it must be hardest for his mother.

Once again I'm in awe of your writing! You are amazing!!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hi again, Lauren!

I'm really enjoying responding to all of these reviews, they're making me smile as much as they did the first time I read them! You're really just too nice, are you sure you're not a Hufflepuff?

Les Mis was definitely my inspiration for the prisoner number, I really wanted to strip the inmates of all of their identity.

Thank you so much again for another gorgeous review♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Namesake : The Namesake

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Oh my god Dee! What have you done to me!

So, even though i knew fred wasn't going to be around in this I still had to read it - I couldn't resist and you didn't disappoint. It was so cute and heart breaking at the same time.

Poor George. I can't even imagine how he must have suffered after the war but I was glad to see he managed to make his peace with it. I'm sure his family played a huge part of that. But who can refuse Molly Weasley when she insists he goes to the ball? And lucky she did - I liked this is how he met back up with Angelina.

And baby fred! Aww so cute. I George's speech made me tear up so much. It's so cruel that grown up fred isn't there but it's just a nice moment that George shares with his twin. He would have been an awesome uncle. He'd have been the best.

I loved the ending. It's like fred heard him and is showing him his congratulations. Amazing.

Okay I have to go wipe my eyes. Amazing job one again. Your work is truly amazing.

Lauren

Author's Response: Hi, Lauren! I'm slowly but surely getting around to answering the reviews I received during the house cup, sorry for the delay.

I always totally cringe when people review this story because it was one of the first ones I wrote and it's just SO BAD. Thank you so much for finding all of these lovely things to say about it though, you are such a nice human being♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingThe Proposal : The Proposal

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Oh my god Dee! How have I not read this before? This was incredible!

I do love Ron and Hermione and you got Ron perfectly. I've complemented you so many times on this today but you really have a gift with characterisation. You always write them beautifully so it could be an extra piece jk wrote herself.

The first part made me laugh. I thought you were starting with the proposal but then it turned out to be harry! I love that those two are still close and harry helped him so much prepare.

I have to agree with most of Rons thoughts - public is a lot of pressure unless you're sure it's going to be a yes. Also Valentine's Day is way too cheesy - I'm glad he picked the fortnight after.

The section where he talks about their home life was so cute. This is how I picture Ron and Hermione and I've loved it. They still bicker but that's part of making them them. It wouldn't be right if they didn't. And Ron loving the tv made me smile, I can imagine him watching muggle films for some reason.

Okay the actual proposal. I was basically hermione. I cried a little bit. It was so sweet and lovely and just gosh. Yes. I'm not coherent after reading it - sorry.

Honestly Dee this was so sweet and lovely, I adored every second of this!

Lauren

Author's Response: GAH, Lauren♥ You are TOO kind.

I have such a huge soft spot for Ron and Hermione so this was really fun to write. It's one of my older stories but I still really like it, I'm glad you did too! :D

Thanks so much!

Dee


 Report Review

Review #31, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingTaking the Train: Taking the Train

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Wow this was a really good oneshot and quite different to anything I've read before. You had some really original ideas included which I liked. The idea of needing someone, and picking Snape to be waiting we're all really good.

Your characterisation of Harry and Snape were both really good. I don't think snapes that easy to write so huge kudos to you. Also the mentions of Lily - still after even more time it's still her for him. It's kinda sad really. They're conversation was interesting though and it's good that despite everything that's happened they can get passed it to some degree.

I also loved your descriptions at the start. Particularly the part where harry was dying. The whole scene was really sad but beautifully written. You did a great job of putting that across.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this! Great job!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hello Lauren!

Thanks for reading this story - yours is the first review on it since 2011!

I'm glad that you enjoyed this story, particularly the characterization. I generally prefer to write minor characters, so part of my challenge for this story was to keep Harry and Snape, two somewhat difficult characters to write, in character.

Thanks for the review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #32, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: Playing by the Rules- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Okay fred Weasley? There's no way I was passing up the chance to read this.

I kinda love hermione and fred together which is weird for me because I'm a huge Romonie fan but hey, never mind.

Your fred was so well written! I loved him throughout. The jokes and the bit of cockiness, your wrote him perfectly which made me so happy. The playing chess with percy comment definitely made me laugh. The flirting definitely built up though - the spin the bottle suggestion and stuff. It was his bold move at the end though. Snog me. I actually laughed out loud at that. It's exactly something he would do. I'll never look at scrabble the same way again. Oh, and I'd definitely love to play with Fred haha!

Your hermione was well written too. Perhaps a little bolder than in canon with her romance but it a situation like this, I think it called for it. Freds different to Ron and brought out a different side to her.

Well done on an awesome entry! I loved it!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #33, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: Into the Maze - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

I like how you've taken on another task from a different point of view - I find these really interesting!

I sympathise for Fleur sometimes. To be picked for the Triwizard tournament she must be a gifted witch but I don't think this always comes across in the books. I think you got this across here really well. I'm also glad you did the book maze, rather than the movie maze - much more interesting.

The obstacles you put her up against we're really interesting - I liked the idea of the wall and her figuring it out. And the fog sounded awful. But again, you showed she was skilled and she worked it all out. The Boggart was awful for her, but I guessed that was what it was - at least it wasn't real!

But moody/crouch! Ooh! Obviously I knew this was coming but I was also nervous/excited when he did. Poor Fleur, that part was unfair for her but the whole tournament was unfair really.

Well done on another awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #34, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: Under the Lake - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

Ooh this was really interesting, seeing the second task from Cedric's point of view. I really loved what you did here.

I liked Cedric's character. What we knew from canon you kept to but you also extended his character too and gave us more about him. That's one thing that always upsets me about Cedric, we didn't get much time with him.

His care for cho was so clear and sweet, I really think those two are sweet are as a couple. The whole way through the piece he is worried about her and desperate to get her free.

I liked your description of the mermaids! They didn't sound nice at all.

Ahh I like this version of Cedric wanting to go back down and help. He comes across as that kind of guy so I like that interpretation!

Well done on an awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #35, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: The Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey,

Here for Gryffindor House Cup Review 2015

This was so clever! Once again you've come up with a clever way of using the prompt. How many games did you get in here? So many! I'm so impressed. And you used them all really cleverly to describe how love can be. I particularly liked the cat and mouse and the red light green light - I think women can particularly be bad at changing their mind on what's okay and not - I know I can be depending what mood I'm in.

I was wondering if you were going to have it relating back to someone, and I did wonder if it would be james. I think the whole idea suits him well, it was really cute in the end. I can very much imagine james thinking along these lines.

Well done on another awesome entry!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #36, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: Truth - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

19th July 2015:
Hey

Here for Gryffindor in the House Cup 2015!

This was a really clever take on the truth or dare game, using magic to ensure everyone was playing properly haha! I don't think I would be brace enough to play this game - there's literally no getting out of it. It's definitely the kind of thing i could see George coming up with. Also, it seems freds very much like his father and uncle, stealing the game.

I thought the dare and truth you came up with were funny and definitely similar to the sort of thing we get given when ive played the game before. Poor Scorpius seems to have been dragged into this a lot though! Rose was so mortified but the result was funny! Hugo's joke at the end really made me laugh.

This was really great. The idea was creative, it read smoothly and made me smile a few different times. Great job!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #37, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingMeddling with Marauders: Meeting Lily Evans

19th July 2015:
Eek Dee!

Here for Gryffindor for the House Cup 2015.

Oh man, this can't be the last chapter :( I'm enjoying it so much - I hope you'll be updating soon.

I have to now commend you Dumbledore must be near impossible to write but you pulled him off. The twinkling eyes and only seeming to give half the information was very Dumbledore like. I thought you pulled him off.

The whole situation must be so overwhelming for hermione though. Sat talking to Lily Evans who she knows is dead where she's from just must be so surreal for her. Lily was so sweet though, and I loved that. They made her feel welcome. The other girls seemed nice enough too.

But breakfast - meeting remus and sirius! Hehe aww I loved that bit. I can't imagine how shocking that must have been for her but you wrote the awkwardness really well - thank goodness Lily was there to save her. I couldn't help wondering what Lily thought though - if that was me I would have mistook Hermione's shock to be liking remus hehe!! And then sirius. His line about james and the green eyes monster was absolutely perfect. I was laughing so much

This was such a good chapter and such an excellent story overall, please update soon!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hello again!

Better late than never, but there's a new chapter as of today!

Dumbledore is SO HARD to write! Honestly this chapter took me forever to post because he just wouldn't cooperate. Thank you so much for saying you thought I pulled him off though♥

I really loved writing the breakfast scene, it was so fun. I'm glad you liked it :D

I hope you read the new chapter and that you like it!

Dee


 Report Review

Review #38, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingMeddling with Marauders: Opportunity Arises

19th July 2015:
Ahh Dee!!

House Cup 2015, Gryffindor (before I forget ewith excitement)

This is AMAZING! I wasn't expecting this to happen at all. I was so curious to how Hermione was going to go back and this was awesome. But I'll try not to get ahead of myself.

Again you have Hermione's character down so well. Her keeping the time turner secret. It's like she knows something like this moment is going to come up so she needs to be prepared. She's always one step ahead and you've used her to her full potential in this. Her Gryffindor courage also means she doesn't think twice about the dangerous mission in front of her. She just knows what she needs to do and does it. Excellent.

I love how gradually you eased us into finding out she's gone back further that intended. The hint that the time turner took longer than usual and then the unknown teacher saying "Potter and Black" I was instantly suspicious but it was fun gradually coming to the same conclusion as Hermione does when she sees a younger looking Dumbledore. The last sentence though - awesome cliff hanger. You have such a skill of getting people hooked! I love it. I'm gutted the next chapter is the last but I look forward to reading it now!

Lauren

Author's Response: LAUREN! You're killing me with kindness! (don't stop :P)

Hermione is the character I love to write, I find that I identify with her a lot so it's easy to get into her head.

Thank you AGAIN for being so kind and amazing.

Dee


 Report Review

Review #39, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingMeddling with Marauders: Too Little, Too Late

19th July 2015:
Hey again Dee :)

House Cup 2015 Review, Gryffindor

I was wondering where this was going to jump to but after reading this, I must admit I'm loving the slower build up. Most time travel fics I've read have the person (Hermione) going back straight away so this was a bit different in that respect. I like it.

Ron and Hermione were pretty cute in this. There was nothing solid between them but the care they so evidently have for each other really shone through. Hermione worrying about Ron's arms, him worrying about her pain. And the cute back pat that she couldn't bring herself to tell him was actually hurting her haha! Aww all so cute.

As minor as she was to this chapter, I thought your Madam Pomfrey was pretty spot on too. Her grumblings under her breath and actions all again felt so in character which makes this really wonderful to read.

Ahh so the five hour rule. I like that, that's interesting and very clever. If time turners could just magically fix things like that, you would think someone would have gone and stopped Voldemort before right? But how is she going to go back then? What are they going to do? I'm so intrigued by this now. You've really got me hooked!

Great chapter Dee!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hi again, Lauren :p

I had a worry when I started writing this that the time travel thing was already so thoroughly done, and I didn't want it to be totally cliche or same-y. I'm glad that's coming across.

I actually adore Ron and Hermione. Even though this is a Sirius/Hermione story, I don't ship them, it was hard not to have that moment with her and Ron :p

The five hour rule is actually a canon thing from Pottermore, but I think it makes so much sense because otherwise some serious damage could be done. I'm excited that you're excited!

Thanks again, lovely!

Dee


 Report Review

Review #40, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingMeddling with Marauders: The Last Time-Turner

19th July 2015:
Hey Dee!

Here for Gryffindor House Cup 2015!

I really loved this prologue, you've instantly got me hooked and I can't wait to read more.

I think what I loved most about this is that you kept it in canon. It's a scene I'm familiar with but seeing it from this alternate angle is really interesting. You also seem to have Hermione pretty much perfected so it read really well and it was like being back reading that scene in the books again.

Hermione finding the time turner was perfect. If anyone was going to find it, it was her. She always spots the little things that the boys in particular never notice. With all the action going on around though it was no wonder she didn't manage to tell anyone about it - again I'm so excited by how wonderfully you slotted this in. It's a good job she didn't have time to over think anything either - she just quickly pocketed it. Given a bit of time I'm not sure she would have made the same decision.

So overall, I'm excited to read more! Huge kudos to you for getting so much action and excitement into just a prologue! Great job!

Lauren

Author's Response: Lauren♥ I'm still trying to reply to all of the house cup reviews! Forgive my lateness please!

I wanted to keep the first few chapters as in line with canon as I could, I wanted the premise of Hermione going back in time to feel realistic, plus once she goes back things get about as non-canon as possible, so I wanted a bit of balance lol :p

Thank you so much, my lovely♥


 Report Review

Review #41, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingBirthday Drinks: Birthday Drinks

11th July 2015:
Hey!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

So Weasley twins - I can't pass up a chance to read them ever. Even when it's a story like this which kills me and my feels!

I thought you characterised George well here. It was nice to see that most of the time, his life is all good. He's happy with Angelina and his kids and he's got his and Fred's business on track and everything.

But then this day - I can't even begin to imagine what it must be like for him. You really captured it well though with all the memories of him and Fred together. It's so tragic they were split up but he lives on through George's memories and as painful as that is for him, it's also hopefully good too.

Hermione is the one who leaves the bottle? I wasn't expecting that at all but it was a sweet twist that she's the one who knows that's what he needs. Then she looks after him too. It's really lovely.

This was so heartbreaking and lovely at the same time. I have such mixed emotions I can't deal with it! Your writing really flowed lovely throughout the whole thing and you captured the moment perfectly. Great job.

Lauren

Author's Response: Lauren,

Thanks for the kind words! I really felt proud of myself for this one, so thank you for the affirmation.

Frankie


 Report Review

Review #42, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingPainted : Painted

11th July 2015:
Meg!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor.

Meg. My feels. What have you done?

Okay first things first, well done on 500 words! That's so difficult and you did awesome here! Second of all, I loved the idea for this. I can imagine Lily being really creative with painting and stuff, and using it as an outlet for everything.

I liked the moments you picked. I think they were all key in Lily's life and you can see why she disappears off to paint. That was the room of requirement she found right? I wonder where all her paintings went... I have visions of Harry somehow discovering it and seeing her name on the paintings. That would be so cute.

Okay, as a Jily shipper I got a tad excited when they were together and having Harry. The nursery sounds way too adorable. Little Hedwigs painted everywhere.

But then the last one. No. I didn't want to read it. The last sentence is just so brutal. It doesn't give you time to prepare or anything. It really got to me so great job on your part, even though I am a mess now!

Amazing one shot dear, beautifully written!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #43, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

11th July 2015:
Hi again Amy!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

Oh Amy... Wow again I'm blown away by how lovely and sad this was all in one go.

George... 84 for a wizard isn't that old but I hope he had a good life with his wife. It was so sad that he never went back to the shop, my heart broke at that. He never gave up though and always made products so at least it wasn't a completely hopeless situation. I just wanted to hug him so hard though.

The description of the shop with all it's noises and fun atmosphere was awesome. I could literally picture him stood there taking it all in after being away so long. Really great job with the descriptions.

But then Fred was there and the reunion was so happy and lovely and sad because Fred shouldn't have died that young. Eugh. You made my feels hurt. But they joked straight away and it was like they had never been apart. Perfect!

Great one shot hun... so much emotion! Great job

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #44, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingHC Event 3: A Mother's Burden: A Mother's Burden

11th July 2015:
Hey Amy

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

Okay, so Molly killing Bellatrix is one of my favourite moments in the books and when I saw the summary I was almost sure that this was going to be it and I'm so glad it was! It was awesome to read this from Molly's perspective! The motherly love and need for protecting was so strong throughout this. It was lovely in that sense.

But you had to mention Fred didn't you. Gah. Rip my heart out haha! It was totally needed though and I'm sure these exact thoughts were going through Molly's head. Feeling guilty... I was so sad reading that! She shouldn't but of course she's going to. She couldn't have saved him *cries*.

But her fierceness when fighting Bellatrix. Yes. This is perfect. I love that she wins fighting for her children who she loves and protects rather than someone who is obsessed with Voldemort and torture. It's perfect.

Sorry I'm rambling a bit now, I just really loved reading this, your portrayal of Molly was awesome and I can't believe you did it so quickly for the HC last year! Great job.

Lauren :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingIn The Light Of The Moon : How It All Began

11th July 2015:
Hey again Meg!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

Woah, Once again you've written another awesome missing moment type story and I loved it. This moment is so special for Remus, having his friends with him for the most terrifying and painful experiences he has to go through must be so wonderful for him and make the process that tiny bit more bearable. I think you really put that across throughout the whole thing.

Remus. His character was great. The comments as he thought about his friends were spot on to how I imagine him so that was awesome for me haha! He moans about them but you can see throughout how much they really mean to him and the fact they're brothers. It made my heart swell so much.

The other three marauders were well done too. James' introduction to Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs was amazing and Sirius. Well again awesome. The line near the beginning about Sirius looking excited leading to trouble made me laugh so much. And THANK YOU!! Peter wasn't left out or an idiot here. He was very much part of the group and important. It makes me so happy when I read Peter like that because here, he is still good and to many people forget that.

You wrote Remus leading up to his transformation well. It was really harsh the fact he was sure he was going to kill his friends. Deep down he must have known they had a good plan because there's no way he would have let them walk down with him if he thought there was any way that they were going to get killed in my opinion though... I don't know about you. The ticking clock and tingling sensations etc. are all really nice touches too.

Another great one shot hun, you're writing is really easy to read and I get hooked instantly!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #46, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingDobby: The Paid Elf: Dobby: The Paid Elf

11th July 2015:
Meg!!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

I saw this on your AP and I just couldn't resist! You wrote about Dobby!! Eek &heart

Okay, first of all wow. Dobby and Dumbledore? Both characters would scare me to write. They both have such distinct voices in the series and you really pulled that off. Both were so in character and I'm really in awe of you for that.

But Dobby. Bless him. He's so cute and to hear about his struggles for a year while he searches for paid work is so sad. You really fleshed out a line from the book so well in this so huge kudos to you! His reaction when Dumbledore offers to pay him is so adorable. I wish this could have been a deleted scene or something because it's so darn cute!

Also, I love that you mentioned Aberforth. It was just a quick thing I know but I love details and I thought that was really appropriate.

Great job Meg! This was awesome, I loved it!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #47, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingGame On: Volume II: This Is War - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hey!

House cup 2015 review for Gryffindor!

Haha aww this has made me smile so much. It's so fun, I really loved it. And seeing the Marauders get beat at their own game was so brilliant. I loved the twist that the Hufflepuffs knew where they were and worked out the spell.

Everyone seemed in character here. Sirius with his overdramatics and Remus being ever sensible, even in the middle of a water fight! Im guessing james was the spy because of his cloak?

I liked the idea of the water balloons! Is that canon? I wasn't sure. But the fact james has a thing for expelliarmus just like harry ends up having was really cute, I liked the link. Never ones to be beaten though, id love to know how round 2 pans out haha!

Great story Tammi!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #48, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingFeel Again: Feel Again

20th June 2015:
Hey

I'm here for the House Cup 2015 Gryffindor, Amazing Race Part 2.

So, I really wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading this. Immediately I could tell James had some Quidditch accident - a horrific one too with the sounds. With the not moving etc. I feel like it's probably some kind of spine injury but I guess that's not important here.

You described the pain and how quickly everything happened really well, I was instantly caught up and I really wanted James to be okay. The sign of not being able to move his toes though doesn't look good.

As I said at the start, I really didn't know what to expect from this but since reading the summary again it all makes sense. I thought we would find out more about James but instead you focused on all the houses joining together and wishing him well. This was especially more poignant as he was just feeling so low and humiliated as he made his way through the crowd but then everyone applauds him. It honestly felt like such a wonderful moment and really great for house unity - great job!

I can't believe you wrote this in the short time you did and in the early hours of the morning - you'd never know it to read it!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #49, by FredWeasleyIsMyKingLithium: Lithium

20th June 2015:
Hi,

Here for House Cup 2015 Gryffindor, Amazing Race Part 2.

Okay... completely mixed feelings here. James and Lily are my OTP so to read James acting this way really saddens me and like you said at the start, I could never ever believe this happened. However, I was really intrigued by the idea and thought you wrote it really really well!

The guilt James feels at the start and the way he wrestles with himself to finally stop using the love potion was more like the James I know. It was sad that he'd sunk so low though.

And when Lily realises what he's been doing the last five years... well. She reacted better than I think people could have expected her to but when Voldemort comes in, her feelings for Harry and even James to an extent are truly revealed.

One thing I did find interesting though was the similarities and differences between Harry and Voldemort in this version of events. Both conceived under a love potion but (if the book events are still true) Harry is still capable of love and Voldemort isn't - even though they both loose their parents. Is that because deep down Lily did love James a bit maybe? I'm not sure but I thought it was interesting anyway.

I thought the lyrics worked well in this and like I said, I thought this was a really interesting chapter and really well written!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #50, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

20th June 2015:
Hey!

Here for House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor, Amazing Race part 2.

Wow. So much sadness in this... I'm not sure where to start. I adore Tonks and Remus and I'm always sad when I read about them - particularly these moments.

I think the first section was totally believeable. The argument and them both saying things they don't mean, or interpretting the others actions wrong. It's just a complete mix up and mistakes and that's so sad.

I don't blame Tonks feeling second best - especially with all the hormones and emotions running high. It's completely what my reaction would have been too. She also still feels guilty about Sirius clearly and mistakes Remus's hesitation as him blaming her too. And Remus! I wanted to shake him so bad in this! You got his character absolutely spot on not believing he is good enough to fight for Tonks. I always wish he would see himself as we all saw him. But anyway, spot on with his character.

You also did a wonderful job of capturing the disarray and horror of the battle while still focusing on Tonks and Remus. Tonks' desperation to find Remus was clear and I really wanted her to find him before he died. I would have been gutted if they couldn't take back their fight. It was just a look but that's all they needed. I'm glad they got that, it's better than nothing. My heart still completely broke when they got hit by the killing curses. It brought back the sadness of their deaths.

You mentioned in your AN feeling this was rusty - I don't think it was at all. This was amazingly well written! You did an awesome job!

Lauren

Author's Response: Lauren!

I'm so glad their argument felt believable. I can be unreasonable and that comes through wtih my characters sometimes. Remus is very shakable in this part - just so frustrating with his communication and self-something.

it's reassuring to hear that the battle felt vivid. Giving them a look was all I could manage. A heartfelt makeup would have been very difficult emotionally but the look felt sufficient given they were going to die.

thank you so much for the kind and wonderful review!

-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>