Reading Reviews From Member: HollyStone73
  
116 Reviews Found

Review #26, by HollyStone73In His Heart of Hearts: In His Heart of Hearts

27th July 2013:
Awww!! I really liked this! I can imagine Dumbledore arguing with himself over what the right thing to do was and yet feel, through your words, the despair for the wrongs that had been done because of him. I do like how you turned it around and instead of him being upset and scared to die, having him almost look forward to it so that he could see his family again. I have always considered Dumbledore to be a very difficult person to write myself and so I think you have done very well with him here. Great job on this!!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you liked this, and that you can believe that this is something Dumbledore would do. I think that one of the things that he teaches Harry is not to fear death, and so I can't imagine him being scared to die either. He is a very complex character, and it's such a relief to think that his characterization here worked. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by HollyStone73Shattered Glass: Shattered Glass

17th July 2013:
OOO! How deliciously dark this is! A glimpse into Bellatrix's mind! How great this was! You seemed to have captured not only her feelings and emotions, but also the mess that is inside her brain. Everything seemed as though it was all jumbled up and confused with no real sense of order. The broken window seemed like it was a very good analogy of what was going on inside of her mind. Great job with this. It was fun to read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!

I loved writing about the broken window, and I do feel that sometimes something in Bellatrix's mind just kind of...shattered as well. It was a fun time to write and I am glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #28, by HollyStone73An Abundance of Harrys: An Abundance of Harrys

17th July 2013:
LOL!! I love this!! Super cute! I absolutely love that everyone chose to name their children after not only Harry, but Ron, Neville & Hermione as well! I especially love that Teddy was pretty nonchalant about it all. That he didn't realize how famous Harry actually was. The story about the mom writing to Harry about being a godfather was cute too. I love this and thought you did an awesome job with it!!

Author's Response: This is one of those plot bunnies that crawls inside your head and won't let you focus on anything else until you've written it. It was actually a lot of fun to write, though. I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it cute. :) Thank you for your review!



 Report Review

Review #29, by HollyStone73Family Reunion: A second cup

17th July 2013:
Awww! Yea!! I liked this a lot! I am really glad that Harry and Dudley managed to get on speaking terms and to be honest I was pretty upset that the Dursley's departure from Privet Drive was so seriously cut short in the file version. I think you did a great job creating such an awkward little scene between these too. I especially like how Dudley admitted asking for information about Harry and the things that he was facing and doing. Very well written! Great job!!

Author's Response: First of all, allow me to apologize for taking so long to respond to your reviews. I really have no excuse besides the fact that I'm a slacker, but I really am sorry, and I honestly do appreciate your reviews so much.

This was actually written as a companion piece to another story that I had previously written, which is basically just a longer version of Harry and Dudley saying goodbye in Deathly Hallows. It's called "Dudley Departing" if you want to check it out (shameless plug). I basically wrote that story because I, too, was really disappointed with how short their farewell was cut in the movie. Then I wrote this story when I found out that Jo said that Harry and Dudley exchanged Christmas cards as adults. I was curious as to how that came about, and this is the explanation I came up with.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #30, by HollyStone73Letting Go: Letting Go

17th July 2013:
Awww! What a heartbreaking but sweet story. Knowing of course what does end up happening to Frank and Alice makes it all the more sad! But I love this attempt of Frank's to try to keep Alice safe, and how he knows that it would be better for Alice if she just hated him. It think was a very clever and cute story. I almost wanted it to go on and see how they moved on from this! Great job!!

 Report Review

Review #31, by HollyStone73The Time of Day: The Time of Day

17th July 2013:
This was soo cute, but soo sad!! I have to admit as I read that I was torn between either Severus or Harry being the little boy in the story, but I am glad that it turned out to be Severus. This was a very unique way to write the story, but I very much enjoyed it! Your vivid descriptions painted a very clear image about what was going on and the whole thing was very enjoyable to read! I really liked it! Great job!!!

Author's Response: Thank you, Holly! I'm so happy you liked the story. I'm glad you had an idea of who the character might be, but that there was still a little surprise in it. And I'm really glad you enjoyed the descriptions as well. Thank you for taking the time to R&R!

 Report Review

Review #32, by HollyStone73He Never Told Her: He Never Told Her

17th July 2013:
Poor Severus! This was a brilliant little piece! The regret and despair that Snape is suffering with throughout this piece is very eloquently detailed that it gave me chills. I could imagine him sitting on the floor of her ruined house holding her and crying through these horrible thoughts. I especially love how you described Dumbledore as the only hope that he had left. It was a very clever way to end the story on a bit of a hopeful note. Very well done and well written! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! I really loved writing this one shot! It was fun trying to get into Snape's thoughts that night that Lily and James died. His love for Lily is something that is just so amazing and sweet and I can't imagine having to go through all of that and never having the chance to apologize or anything considering just how much he did love her! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #33, by HollyStone73The Gardener: The Gardener

17th July 2013:
Awww! Poor Hermione! Her own parents still not knowing who she was! This was such a great, but sad little one-shot. The emotions that Hermione was suffering through was described so well. You painted a very vivid picture with your descriptions and I found this very interesting and fun to read! Great job!!

 Report Review

Review #34, by HollyStone73For the Sake of Victory: For the Sake of Victory

17th July 2013:
I do love a good Snape story! I really liked what you did here. Saying that Snape could have been a Ravenclaw is pretty interesting to say that least. While I do see hi as being incredibly intelligent I never considered how he would do in any other house than Slytherin. And I love how Portrait Dumbledore takes a moment to thank Snape for the things that he has done and continues to do. This was very well written and fun to read! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. Yes, it was difficult for me to decide which other house he might could have been in. For me, Gryffindor was never an option. He just never seemed to fit there in my eyes.

Dumbledore is hard to write in character but even more difficult when he is a portrait. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.

~Celtic~


 Report Review

Review #35, by HollyStone73Waiting For a Train: you know where you hope this train may take you.

17th July 2013:
What a moving little story! You have captured the struggle that Harry could have dealt with brilliantly. While it is not a situation that anyone could have identified you managed to paint a picture of his mental struggles in such a way that I could easily begin to imagine what it was that he might have been struggling with. I absolutely love the emotion and angst throughout this one-shot. A pleasure to read! Great job!!

 Report Review

Review #36, by HollyStone73A Nearly-Headless Account: A Nearly-Headless Account

17th July 2013:
Hee Hee! This was cute! I love Nearly Headless Nick and could almost envision him puffing out his chest as he was speaking this story! LOL! I exceptionally love his little additions to the story about his thoughts and feelings about everything. Like his mistrust of Snape, his intolerance of Professor Umbridge and defense of Professor McGonagall. This was very well written and very fun to read!! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I was pretty disapointed that they left him out of the last movie, and I imagine he wouldve had something to say about it.

 Report Review

Review #37, by HollyStone73Breaking Wills: Chapter 1

17th July 2013:
As I read through this I really wanted to try to feel sorry for Lucius, but sadly found myself unable to. I like that he had spent time expecting Voldemort and the death eaters to break him out of there only to be disappointed. I think that was a great way to foreshadow Voldemort's anger at him for failing to get the prophesy from Harry. I also liked the happy memory of Narcissa and how it attracted the attention of the dementors. You descriptions painted a very dismal but vivid picture of what it was the Lucius was forced to deal with during his imprisonment. Very well done and a pleasure to read!

- Laura

 Report Review

Review #38, by HollyStone73Haven : Apologies

17th July 2013:
Aww!! Yea! I love this! I absolutely love the change in his attitude that you showed as he continued to watch and hear his mother suffer thanks to his father. Watching the transition from truly thinking that she was sorry to disgust at his mother's inaction was a very powerful way to showcase his childhood. But I love the way you introduced Lily! So assertive and kind even from the first meeting. And such a perfect ending! I loved it!! Super great job!!

Laura

Author's Response: Hi there ♥

I'm so happy you liked this story. I actually had a lot more fun writing this story than I thought I would, and I'm so excited you liked how I portrayed them both!

thank you, Laura, for this awesome review!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #39, by HollyStone73Imperfect: Imperfect

17th July 2013:
What a sweet tender moment that you painted between the two of them! I love it! The simple act of Fleur softly tracing the scars upon his face gave me chills as I read. I love how you pointed out the faults of the cottage as something that Fleur actually likes. I always had seen Fleur as an uppity girl so this was a very welcome change in how I have always seen her. Supper cute, very well written and not overdone. I loved it!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I feel like a broken record because I've been responding to a lot of reviews on this story, but I love Bill/Fleur so much, and there's so much strength in their relationship. I was one of those people who found it really easy to write her off at the beginning of HBP, but her love for Bill is very real; I find her very admirable.

Thank you for reviewing this! I'm sorry the response isn't up to par, but it really does mean a lot to me that you read this. :) I hope to see you back soon, too!


 Report Review

Review #40, by HollyStone73Battle Scars: Battle Scars

17th July 2013:
Oh no!! Poor Neville!! I guess I never really put much thought to what the students that had been left at Hogwarts would have thought of Harry calling Snape a hero, so this was all super sad for me! (Being the great lover of Snape that I am and all! LOL!) But I truly love how well you captured the emotions and frustration that Neville (and most likely everyone else in the wizarding world) was trying to cope with following the war. It always pains me when I read stories in which everyone is just suddenly happy and perfect after all of the horrible things that had happened. This was very well written and I could feel the anguish the Neville was feeling. And great touch there him running in Hannah Abbott and bonding! Loved this a lot!!

-Laura

Author's Response: I know, Poor poor Neville :/ I love him though, and I loved writing this story because it's really not something that I had ever really considered before. But he wouldn't have much love for Snape, would he? But I DO love Snape so I feel your pain! I'm glad you enjoyed this story though, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #41, by HollyStone73The Fairest: go out there and get it

17th July 2013:
This was so awesome! Much different than anything I have ever read on here! I love the whole idea and premise for the story. There is so nothing written about the Snape family and this unique take on it was so neat to read! Your descriptions and ability to paint such vivid pictures continues to stun and amaze me. The emotions that Eileen was feeling just flowed so well throughout the whole story. I really liked this!! Great job!!

Laura

Author's Response: Thanks! This is still one of my favorite one-shots that I've written and it was nice to go back and read it again after receiving your lovely review. If you're interested in the Snapes/Princes, I gotta direct you over to WeasleyTwins' page. I definitely find them to be an interesting family. Also, it's great to hear that the imagery and emotion worked here. Thanks again for your sweet review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #42, by HollyStone73Ugly Glory: Running

17th July 2013:
Poor misguided Regulus! I love how well you showcased his journey throughout this piece. His fighting with Sirius and his fall from grace gave Regulus an "opening into the spotlight", his pride for the family and need to uphold the honor and even his betrayal of the dark lord. I love your take on Kreacher and Regulus. He describes it as selfishness that caused him to turn...not concern for Kreacher. I like that. I love how vivid and emotional your descriptions were. Great job and a fun little read!

Author's Response: Yes, poor Regulus learned too late that there are some choices that you can't escape from. I'm really glad that you liked the journey I took him on- all of the things you pointed out really make him who he is, I think.

I'm not sure how much love/concern Regulus could have for a creature he's been taught is so far beneath him... But viewing him as a personal belonging... Now that, I could see. :)

Thank you for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #43, by HollyStone73One Word: One Word

17th July 2013:
Yea!! I really liked this!! There are so many stories written from Snape's perspective after the incident and this is the first that I have seen from Lily's. I absolutely love how she is so upset but is focusing on all of the horrible stuff going on around her not just what Snape had said to her. I think this is an awesome job at showcasing the depth of Lily's feelings and the struggle that she dealt with after her had insulted her. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate your compliments so much and i'm pleased you connected with the theme that was going through this story. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #44, by HollyStone73Shattered Infinity: Marked for Destruction

16th July 2013:
Awww! I so loved this! The way that you managed to cram such depth of the emotions and vividness of his memories was pure genius. You managed to capture most of the important moments in Severus's life and STILL managed to keep the word count down. The best part however has got to be that last line. I had chills as I read it. It packed a super powerful punch! Soo well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review!! I am so incredibly sorry that it's been MONTHS since you left it, and I'm only just now responding. D:

I am so glad that you liked the emotion that I put into it. I really wanted to say that I had completed the EWC challenge on the forums, and I got a plunny one night that actually started with the last line. From there, I decided that my thoughts were definitely about Snape's love for Lily, and I went about making the story happen.

Thank you sooo so so much for reviewing! :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #45, by HollyStone73Full Marks: Full Marks

16th July 2013:
Ahh!! I so love this! It is so ridiculously cute! I love that Luna is so defensive about the creatures used for potion ingredients. I actually have never even considered that before so kudos for your creativity. I also just love how incredibly annoyed Snape gets at her and her little oddities. BUT the best part of this whole little story...HAS to be her "I know, sir." Coming from any other student I think it would be taken as insulting or snide behavior, but from Luna...It just seems right! Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you! As a teacher, I know we all have students who just push all of our buttons. I know Luna has got to be that student for Snape (besides Harry, of course). And she's just oblivious to what people think about her. It was fun to write. Thanks again for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #46, by HollyStone73Harry Potter and the Princes of Slytherin: Lending an Ear

15th July 2013:
OOO! Harry is opening up to him. I almost a afraid for Harry if he continues letting himself confide in Snape, knowing what happens in canon to Snape and all. I think if he gets too close to him it would be a disaster for him later... :( But I love how things are progressing slowly for them. It makes it much more believable and realistic. I'm really liking it.Great job so far!!

 Report Review

Review #47, by HollyStone73Harry Potter and the Princes of Slytherin: Parlor Trick

15th July 2013:
I must say that I love that Snape's barrier is made of ice! LOL! Like he is cold-hearted or something. :) That was a great touch. And way to go having Harry think on his feet about the copying from Hermione thing! And best of all...discussing Ron's love life with Snape! Hee Hee!! That is priceless! I loved it! Another well done chapter!! Way to go!

 Report Review

Review #48, by HollyStone73Harry Potter and the Princes of Slytherin: Walking on Eggshells

15th July 2013:
OOO...I think Harry is starting to trust him. Yea! The message from Remus was a little odd though. A random "How ya doin?" message in the middle of the night? And Snape is going to let Harry into his mind? Yikes!! It's sure to be interesting anyway! Can't wait to see what is up. I was a bit confused by the interaction between Snape and Voldemort, but perhaps that was the point?? Anyays...on I go...

 Report Review

Review #49, by HollyStone73Harry Potter and the Princes of Slytherin: A Lesson, of a Different Sort

15th July 2013:
Wow...My mind is blown on this one. It was a little difficult to follow and imagine in my mind, but I think I managed ok on it finally. I love Snape's snide little comments in this one. Like about Harry being unable to think about more than one thing at a time or even calling Harry "idiot boy", I definitely giggled out loud several times. Great imagination and visualization with this one!

 Report Review

Review #50, by HollyStone73Harry Potter and the Princes of Slytherin: A Lesson

15th July 2013:
What?! Snape trusting Harry? Things are gonna get touch here soon! LOL! I love that Harry talked to Dumbledore about this and love that Dumbledore managed to point out Snape's inability to trust Harry. I'm kind of excited to read on and see if Snape will actually reveal some of his important secrets that we all know are revealed later! EEE! Exciting!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>