Reading Reviews From Member: HollyStone73
  
116 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Dynasty

15th March 2014:
I'm back. I'm really trying to spread these last chapters out to give me something to keep reading, but you make it really hard to stay away!

I really liked tough-girl Hermione in this chapter. Finally putting Davies in his place. Grrr! What's his deal anyway? This chapter was full of anticipation and the promise of exciting stuff to come. I have to admit that in a weird kind of way, I was kinda happy for Harry that he was finally with his parents. I mean sure they are creepy undead things bent on killing everyone and making a feast of their brains, but it's better than nothing right?! LOL! Anyways...be back tomorrow for chapter 12...

Author's Response: I enjoyed this little twist at the end tbh. I think one of my favorite parts is waking the dead haha. Isn't that awful? but it's fun. And yeah it is really super creepy ahha. But I am so glad that you like it!! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Preparations

15th March 2014:
Heh...Well that kind of addressed the whole "Hermione guilt thing". Although somehow I doubt that other wizard and witches would be as understanding as Teddy and Flitwick.

As the battle begins I cannot help but wonder who else you plan on killing off. I have some guesses, but do not want to give you any ideas if I am wrong. LOL! I am curious about Teddy's nearly emotionless demeanor though. Is that just him reacting to the severity of the situation of is he more upset with Hermione than he is willing to admit to her?

Author's Response: You're right, it does address it, and I also doubt that other people would be so forgiving, but unfortunately...or maybe fortunately for her, haha, everything is so crazy right now and they are trying to deal with the zombies that no one is really focused on how it happened you know? As for Teddy, he's very focused and just trying to get through things. But as for his thoughts on the situation, well, you'll just have to wait for those. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Escalation

15th March 2014:
Oh poor Hermione! I can only begin to imagine what she is feeling as she witnesses all of this!! I can only imagine that she must eventually face some kind of punishment for her actions. Although anyone who truly knows Hermione would probably think that her watching and dealing with all this would be more than enough of a punishment for her. Plus I really would hate to have the wizarding world find out that she is responsible for this and all turn on her. That would be the worst!!

I like that we get to be "introduced" to some of our other favorite characters and their children. But I must admit to being horribly worried about Molly & Arthur! I don't know how much more that family can take!!

Still loving it.Moving on!

Author's Response: I know, I felt so bad for her too, and that's why I am really trying to balance the action with the guilt and the feelings and all that stuff. It's really difficult I think, but I tried to make it as realistic as possible in the most unrealistic situation ever hahaha. As for the other characters, yeah. I haven't decided what I'm going to do with all of them yet but I do know that I had to make a character sheet outline so I could remember what I had done with all the current characters hahaha! Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Apprehension

14th March 2014:
Aww.I didn't think this was a boring chapter! Honestly I think this chapter was almost overdue. It gave my anxiety a chance to take a break before any more craziness happens.

I really have to admit that I have not read any next-gen stories before this one, but I am REALLY liking how you are portraying the next-fen students. You really seem to have put a lot of thought into how their personalities would mirror that of their parents while still allowing them to have their own traits. I really liked Hugo in this. He really seemed to be just the stabilizing effect that Hermione needed. (Plus the extra important zombie knowledge he provided from his video games was a very nice touch.)

Poor Draco...I'm kinda nervous to see what happens with him. OH! And Davies really does seem like a bit of a booger huh? Boo to him. Ok...reading on!

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you didn't! It might seem a little lame after everything that's happened.

To be honest, I also had done the thing where I didn't do a lot of next gen when it first became a thing but now I really enjoy writing and reading them. It's important to me to get the little details correct because I am a such a canon writer. Hugo is my absolute favorite, he is such a sweetie and he is definitely more of a comic relief, but I hope in a good and believable way.

Draco, I have so much fun with him. I'm just getting ready to write a chapter with him in it! Excellent :P

Thank you SO MUCH for your kind reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by HollyStone73Task One Challenge: Bravery and Ambition: Recklessness and Thought

14th March 2014:
This was ridiculously cute!! I loved it! Super well done and fun to read. I have not read any stories about the founders being young and think you did very well with this. You played out the Gryffindor and Slytherin traits very well in the both of them and even managed to get some foresight into Hogwart's in there!! I love the relationship between the two of them. I also very much like you giving Salazar a bit of a troubled family life. It made me think a bit of Draco and his father. I think my favorite was how you managed to work in Hogwart's motto in there. All in all a delightful little story! I loved it!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you!

It was a very fun thing for me to write; it was something new for me and it was interesting to think about how things for them would be before the school came and everything changed between them. I'm very glad you liked it. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Hot

14th March 2014:
Yeeowza!!! I have to admit. I was SUPER glad that Hermione's encounter with zombie Ron was just a dream. That was way too emotional for me. Ha Ha! I do LOVE that you managed to get Hermione to the library though. So typical of Hermione and good to see that she hasn't changed that much.

Do I see a Dramione in the works here?? Im intrigued!! Go Draco for trying to defend the castle! I guess he's gonna find out about his son and Rose soon here huh?! That'll be interesting!

 Report Review

Review #7, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Firearms

14th March 2014:
Aww...Poor Seamus! That part almost made me tear up. (Almost...) Rambo Scorpius?! Uh...YEA!! That's awesome! I love that he went to go check on Rose and rescued her from the zombies. I don't know if I could of kept reading if Rose became a zombie. Ok maybe I could, but I would be considerably sadder.

A zombie Dumbledore?! Yikes! I imagine that he would be especially terrifying considering how long he has been dead already. Now I can not help but wonder if zombie Dumbledore will be as powerful as living Dumbledore was. And what is Harry planning to do with the elder wand? Things are getting more worrisome! Wait till Hermione finds out about this!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Blame

14th March 2014:
So much tension and drama! I don't think my heart can handle it all! (At least it isn't nighttime here as I read this so I don't think I am as freaked out as I would be at night!) It's taking a lot of restraint for me to pause to write this review instead of just rushing ahead to read on. :)

I am jealous of how well your dialogue flows. I have to say that is one of my biggest obstacles when writing is to get the dialogue to flow naturally and not be all awkward. As I read through yours I barely even took notice that it was dialogue (if that makes sense) until I went back and realized how well it was written. Super awesome job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Inferno

14th March 2014:
Greyback?! Really? Hermione just can't get a break can she?! How in the world is she going to get out of this one?

I do like that you make huge efforts to make sure things stay as cannon as possible! It makes the story so much more believable. (Well as believable as it can be with an evil zombie Harry and a Hermione who messes up BIG TIME!)

On a side note...My son just asked me what I was doing on my computer. When I told him I was reading a story about Harry becoming a Zombie he tells me that I'm too embarrassing! LOL! Glad to know that I am doing the mom thing the right way! Tee Hee! Next Chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: The Zombie Queen

13th March 2014:
ACK!!! Silly stubborn Ginny! Now her kids are alone! Boo! I guess I have to put a lot of the blame on Hermione though. She probably should have just been honest with Ginny from the beginning instead of trying to save face.

I absolutely LOVE the details that you put into the beggar at the beginning of the chapter. For such a relatively insignificant character you brought him to live by giving him a back story and feelings. (Heh...Only to have Harry kill him, but still...)

Author's Response: Hahahha thanks for the review :) I love that poor little beggar, I wasn't very nice to him, was I? Ah well, he served his purpose. (I don't sound like Voldemort or anything) I'm glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: Residue

13th March 2014:
Again I am blown away by the details and descriptions you are able to conjure up. I can honestly say that I am feeling a bit anxious about what is going to happen next!

Davies...Pft...thinking he is too important to be bothered. What a bum. LOL! I do like tough Hermione here though even if it is brought of by overwhelming desperation. And YEA Neville. Oops.Sorry...Professor Longbottom.

ACK!! Zombie Harry on the loose in London. I cannot see this ending up good in any way! How in the world is Hermione planning on explaining this to Ginny?! Yikes! Reading on...

Author's Response: Awww thanks for your thoughts on my writing! I am not a big fan of Davies, which you will most likely find out if you read on :P But I do love Neville, he's been so fun to write! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #12, by HollyStone73Brain Activity: The Zombie Lord

13th March 2014:
How deliciously creepy this is!! I have to admit I am not one for creepy things (movies, books...anything), but I am ridiculously intrigued.

I absolutely LOVE your ability to paint such amazingly vivid pictures with your words. I felt as though I could truly see the events as they were happening. (Which is probably why I shouldn't be reading this so late at night, but...I'm officially hooked! LOL!)

Poor Ginny and boo to Albus for making things worse for his mother. (Although I must admit it is a very good interpretation of how one his age might react to such a tragedy...) Ok...I'm off to chapter 2 now...

Author's Response: I don't like creepy things either, tbh. So that's a rule of thumb for me - if it's too scary for me, then I'm not gonna write it haha. No horror films for me!

You are truly too kind, thank you so much for your kind words, I do really appreciate them!


 Report Review

Review #13, by HollyStone73Rise: One of Us

7th January 2014:
This is an exciting and suspenseful start to this story! I can feel the fear that Regulus was trying to suppress and feel so sorry for him. (Especially knowing what we know will eventually become of him...)

I love how Regulus ruminates on his father's insistence to never let his feeling show. That just seems so typical of the Black family.

The idea of Regulus having to kill a muggle woman, while gruesome and sad seems like it would be rather typical of what I would expect from an initiation into the Death Eaters ranks. I've always imagined it to be very similar to muggle gang activity.

The personalization of the rest of the gathered death eaters are spot on and rather terrifying. :) You have done very well with your descriptions and set the mood incredibly well. I look forward to reading on and seeing where this goes!!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for the review!

Oh, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

I never imagined it would be easy to become a Death Eater - I think you'd definitely have to prove yourself somehow to Vomdemort!

I'm really glad you liked the Death Eaters, as I had a lot of fun writing them!

Thank you again!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by HollyStone73Monster: In Sheep's Clothing

5th January 2014:
Unsurprisingly, this is exceptional. As I am sure that I have told you before, you have a gift with words and this story is further proof of this.

I absolutely love the way that you captured Hermione's passion and wisdom so perfectly. Her speech patterns and mannerisms are spot on. Her getting a job at the ministry in Magical Law is so perfect for her.

The attention to detail throughout this chapter is impeccable and so well thought out. The interactions between Hermione and the Wizengamot are so believable and spirited that I can easily picture them actually occurring.

I LOVE that you have written Albus as you have and referred to him as a protgege. What little JK wrote about him in DH, we are left to presume a lot about him, but you seemed to have captured his intuitive and pensive nature.

Furthermore, the idea of Hermione being behind the effort to rehabilitate werewolves while very typical of what she would so, the backfiring of it with Greyback just seems horrible. I look forward to reading on to see what happens!

Super great job as always. You continue you amaze and inspire me! (I will now cease to ramble on and finish this review.) :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! Thank you so much for all of the kind words!

I was imagining Hermione in the prime of her career in this. She's been with the Magical Law Department for a long time at this point, her children are grown and there's really nothing to prevent her from fully applying all of that talent and experience. I'm glad you like the way she talked and acted. I tried really hard to make her perfect.

Details are really important, I think. They sell a story every bit as much as the plot and dialog.

Albus never seemed like an Auror to me in his brief appearance at the end of Deathly Hallows. None of Harry's kids seemed like Auror material, really. I'm not a big fan of stories where half of the Next Gen kids wind up being Aurors, Unspeakables, etc.

Hermione has found herself in quite a predicament here. The law that she championed is about to set a monster loose. Let's hope she finds a way to save the day in chapter 2. ;)

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by HollyStone73Should Old Acquaintance Be Forgot: Of New Year's Resolutions

19th December 2013:
YEA! What a cute, sad and then happy little story!!! (And might I add the first Dramione story I have ever read!!) :) You were spot on with the emotions and being able to make them believable and realistic. This read very easily and while I was pretty sad that she was unable to reverse the charm on her parents I like the idea of her getting to know them again. I almost would be interested in reading more of this story to see how things progress!

All-in-all a great job!! Good Luck on the challenge!!

Author's Response: HollyStone73,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments for this story.

I tend to write stories that are quite emotional and sad with a bit of hope at the end. And I really, really try to make their feelings believable and realistic, especially when there are so many that do not like the ship. So, thank you so very much for your comment. :)

It's crazy that this is your first Dramione that you have read! Thanks so much for taking a chance on it. It really means a lot, my fellow Slytherin comrade. ;)

You leave me wonderful compliments and I appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #16, by HollyStone73Two: A Perfect Blend: Blended Christmas

19th December 2013:
I really like this!! I love how you highlight the extreme opposites in how the two of them celebrate their Christmases. More than once I felt myself feeling incredibly sorry for Scorpius! You managed to paint a very vivd picture of both celebrations and I could easily imagine the chaotic picture of the craziness at The Burrow. Of course I loved Ron's reaction to seeing Scorpius at the house and I laughed at the subtle warning he gave him! LOL!
Very good piece!! Great job! And Good Luck!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for being the first review for this Christmas story! To be honest, I don't much like writing about Christmas because: a. I don't have that much experience with it and b. there are so many ways one can get it wrong. But the writer's duel did challenge me to write outside of my comfort zone. I will admit though that I had originally wanted to write a different prompt but this story sprouted in my head. Everything was there, in full detail and I just had to write it. I'm glad that it came thru in my descriptions as that, more than anything, is what worries me. Not being able to describe what's inside my head.
Anyway, THANK YOU for the absolutely awesome review. Made me really smile. Good luck to you as well..

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #17, by HollyStone73In Hearts: Blue Roses

12th December 2013:
This is so beautiful! I don't normally read NextGen but your summary intrigued me! This was very well done with the perfect balance of emotions. Made me shiver with sadness and yet smile with the love I could feel from your words! I loved it! Awesome job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! You're too kind :) I am glad you liked it so much! Thank you again for leaving such a sweet review, it made my day!

-Kelsi


 Report Review

Review #18, by HollyStone73This Love: Chapter 1

14th November 2013:
I loved this!! I admit that I have not read too many stories about Draco & Astoria, but the ones that I have always painted Astoria as the typical Pure-Blood Slytherin who worries more about her next shopping trip than anything of real substance. So this was a very refreshing take on her and the lead-up to the relationship between her & Draco. I actually love that she had found Draco sitting at the bar, drunk and looking older than his years. I have always thought that the war took a huge toll on him, and liked that even after everything she is still very attracted to him.

This is very well-written and the emotions portrayed almost jump off the screen at me. I very much enjoyed reading it! Great job!

Author's Response: Hello :)

I'm glad you liked this. It means a lot to hear that I have created something, that you find refreshing and slightly original(?). I have't really read any Draco/Astoria myself. But I'd signed up for a challenge that gave me the inspiration to write this. I wanted to make Astoria a strong character, not someone shallow and baseless. I'm glad I got that right :)

And wow. That's one of the sweetest things ever! Thank you so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by HollyStone73All Along: Epiphany

7th November 2013:
This was really cute!! I liked this a lot! I have never read anything about Ron's time away from Harry & Hermione so this was pretty neat to read. I love how he is reflected on the times that they spent together and especially love how he feels that he is not good enough for her. Super cute while, of course still pretty sad. The description of the light going into his chest and how it cause him to feel calmer and more relaxed was just perfect. I like what you did here and enjoyed reading it!! :)

Author's Response: Hehehe! :D Ah, I'm glad you enjoyed it! And thank you for lovely sweet words! I don't even know how to respond properly! XD


Thanks for reading and reviewing! ^_^


- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #20, by HollyStone73Flowers in the Garden: Taking a Nap

7th November 2013:
This is sooo sad, but yet so innocently done. I love how you have kept the childlike innocence to Ariana despite her obvious tendencies for violent outburst. Her cradling her mother's head and singing a lullaby was just too heart breaking. I have actually never read anything about Ariana before so this was very interesting for me to read and think about how things might have seemed from her perspective. I think my favorite line has got to be, "There wasn't a danger...Just the flowers."
All in all a great job and a pleasure to read!! Great job!

For review Tag,
Laura

Author's Response: Hi Laura!

Thank you so much for picking this story. It's newer so I'm glad to get feedback on it!

"Sad but yet so innocent" is a wonderfully kind way to describe this. That made me grin quite a bit.

I am so glad you liked Ariana's characterization and actions. She was one character from DH that just popped out to me as interesting. I'm surprised there's not more about her.

Thank you so much for the very nice and thoughtful review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #21, by HollyStone73Waiting Room: Green Eyes Against Blinding White

7th November 2013:
Ok...I am REALLY going to try to get through this review without gushing like a silly schoolgirl...No promises though...

I absolutely LOVE what you have done here. While the whole concept of making James & Lily wait in a scary white waiting room for so long is really sad, I long the concept of it. The fact that Lily know that she has "unfinished business" to help Harry is just perfect.

The way that you personified James throughout all of this was simply perfect! While we never saw much of him in the novels, from what little we did see or hear of him, you have matched him as close to cannon as anyone could hope for. Him brooding over the fact the he is James Potter and he never loses, comparing Harry's weight to the quaffles & even him reflecting on the pranks that him & Sirius used to play on each other all add amazingly personal

I absolutely love the interactions between James & Lily and how willing he is to allow he to see the more fragile and broken hearted side of himself that we know he would never allow anyone else to see. The fact that he is more than willing to endure the waiting room now that he is with Lily is just priceless.

All-in-all an amazingly well-written & emotional piece. I throughly enjoyed reading it as I have other pieces you have written! You most definitely have a gift with words and I am glad that you choose to share those words with the rest of us!! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi!

I wrote this after reading a few "afterlife" stories on various sites. I thought it was a really interesting concept to explore -- what James and Lily might have made of their situation and Harry's -- if they'd had a chance to talk it over.

I'm really glad you like my take on James. Most of my head canon on the guy comes from Jami's story Before They Fall, but I did try to make him a bit more grown up and perhaps a little more emotional here. After all, he's experienced fatherhood **and** he just died. I think that would tend to make a person a bit emotional.

He is absolutely willing to show his fragile side to her, just as she's willing to share her insecurities and the part of her that's less put together with him. For the two of them, as long as they're together in the same place, well, things could be a lot worse. ;)

Thank you so much for all of the compliments. This was pretty rewarding to write, and I'm glad you enjoyed reading it. Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by HollyStone73Myrtle: Myrtle

7th November 2013:
Here for review tag!!! I really liked this despite how horribly sad & depressing it is. I have to admit that I liked what you have done with Myrtle. Showing a completely different side to her than the usual loner, depressed miserable girl that I normally see her portrayed as, you gave her a real life before she was killed. Really sad that no one talks to her anymore though. :( Very good job on this one! I'm glad I got to read it!

Author's Response: Hello :)

I'm so glad you liked my one shot and my rather different take on Myrtle. I'm happy to have given her a real life :p Thanks for your review! It made me happy :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by HollyStone73Ice to Ashes : Ice to Ashes

6th November 2013:
AHHH!H!! This is brilliant! I love this! It is so easy as one becomes so deeply involved in the novels to forget how everyone is connected to each other. I personally love Narcissa and always have so this to me was just perfect. I love how perfectly you attributed the "My voice is full of money" line to her! I think you have captured her just the way that I have always imagined her to be. The emotions that you wrote are just screaming up off the screen at me! I LOVED how you had Narcissa "spying" on Tonks as she was growing up from the playground to her Auror graduation. I think I literally "aww'd" out loud.
Overall this was just extremely well written and super fun to read! Way to go!

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, thank you so much for this beautiful review! I love Narcissa too, so I'm so honoured you think I did her justice and that you liked the Gatsby line, I thought it fit in quite nicely. :) I'm so pleased you enjoyed this and the way it was structured, I loved writing this story so it's so great to get positive feedback on it.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by HollyStone73The Writing Desk: Alohomora

4th November 2013:
Here for review tag!!

I LOVED this!! I love Sirius anyway and this just was so well written with such vivid descriptions! I could almost see the horrible scene of all of the ones he loved dead on the the floor before him.

And such a perfect little ending. Pointing out how his mother would notice the drawer opened before noticing that he was gone seemed so very typical of what I would expect from what I know of his mother. And her refusal to give it away simply because it was an heirloom...awesome!

All in all a perfectly (cute?) but creepy little story! I loved it!!

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear you liked the descriptions and felt like the death scene was effective.

I actually think the ending is one of the creepiest parts, because his mother is so nonchalant about the whole thing and yet you have this sense that she knows the desk is not something to be messed with. I'm glad you liked the "heirloom" line, too--I wanted to show that she truly values her inheritance more than her oldest son.

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #25, by HollyStone73The Joker and Her: The Dementors on the Train.

15th September 2013:
REVIEW TAG!
This is a great start! You have a gift with descriptions and paint a very vivid mental picture. The apprehension that Brienne is feeling is very real and not too overdone. I have actually never considered what would happen with students joining Hogwart's anytime after first year, so I like where you are going with this. I'm excited to read on and see where things go from here. Very well done with this, and I'm excited to have a new story to read! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>