Reading Reviews From Member: teh tarik
  
465 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarikAcanthus: The Web Thickens

20th July 2014:
HAI KIANA!

I'm back. TO CATCH UP AT LAST! It's been waaay too long since I read the last chapter, and I had to re-read that last chapter to kind of remember where I'd left off in the story because everything here is so exciting and bewildering and super fast-paced and askdjhkl this is like watching a very exciting movie! Set in Egypt! We just need a couple of mummies breaking out of their tombs now.

Waah, this chapter was just packed! Action, action, tension, and we get to know more about George's evil plans. So that explains all that stuff about the rival family! Seriously, why is George so evil and mean?! The way he just kills Edward and then proceeds to taunt Rose on and on, and then performing Crucio on Anthony just like that.

I honestly thought Anthony was dead after the impact of that fall. o.O Good to know that the death toll of your fic hasn't been upped (yet). And they left George lying there like that? I'll bet he's going to wake up when they're gone and cause more havoc. They should just transfigure him into a bone or something and carry him with them.

Scorpius is such a manly hero, bahaha! Charging off to rescue Rose, duelling the bad guys...I'm thinking of The Mummy again, Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz gallivanting through Egypt. :P

And Charlotte. I have no idea what she's up to. AM GOING TO FIND OUT THOUGH! Her and that Frederic Russell! Maybe Frederic is actually George. One of his time-travelling selves or something. After all, he had some potion for immortality or something?

Fabulous chapter, Kiana!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarikKnowing: true or not

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

So I'm sobbing a little at the perfection that is this. I love Remus/Lily, but it's ALWAYS unrequited and angsty, and it's always poor Remus who gets the heartbreak because stupid Jily (this is my unpopular opinion :P ). You have this really, really lovely way with words, of conveying characters with a startling simplicity and yet rawness that hurts. Your characters are vulnerable without being melodramatic, and I love how you write them, honestly. Despite this being such a short piece, you've really captured the complexity of the Marauder interactions, between Remus and his mates, and between Remus and Lily, and how Lily fits into their group.

I think the wedding scene just may have been the most painful to read. Poor Remus! And that dance, being is only way of letting go and getting on with his life. Your last sentences were amazing.

The most perfect moment in his life? *cries*

It should last forever. :P

Beautiful writing as always!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarikFracture: who do you see?

12th July 2014:
Hello Shiloh!

Wow, wow! This was amazingly and very beautifully written! Your prose is so graceful and fluid and delicate; I love Dominique's voice in this, how naive she is.

She is quiet and proper, her voice a lilting cadence I could never copy. My laughter is loud as the bells in the church down the street, not sweet as the tinkling silver bells on Mamanís tree at Christmas

I love reading about how Dom compares herself to Victoire! And the imagery you used about bells and the 'lilting cadence' were absolutely gorgeous!

I've come across quite a few Dom/Teddy/Vic triangles before, and none of them end happily. :P Teddy is always the player sort, and he toys with both girls, and either Vic or Dom will be left heartbroken by the end. In your story, it's poor Dom, which is so hard to read, because she's such a beautifully written character, so hopeful and earnest. And I think we can all understand her, and the immense amount of hope she must feel, and her heartbreak at the end. It's awfully sad.

This was an absolutely lovely piece! I enjoyed this!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarikThe Missing One: The Missing One

12th July 2014:
Hey Jayde!

Aww, I'm really missing Keeping Secrets (why no update!?), but I'm so pleased to discover that there's a spin-off lurking here on your author's page! Awww, I love that we see things through Molly Weasley's POV here. I've always wanted read more about Molly post-war, dealing with Fred's death and trying to care for George. And your lovely story here is so true to her character. I love the details here and there, like how she prefers to manually wash the dishes with soap and water rather than magic because she likes the routine, and it comforts her somehow, helps take her mind off the awful events of the war. Of course Molly would find comfort in her usual household chores; her household routines would be something like a comfort or safety zone for her, which she can retreat into when needed.

The reference to The Missing One was really sad. Of course we already know what's happened to Charlie (he's in Americaaa!!! Married to Lizzz!!!), but it's quite heartbreaking that Molly doesn't know, hasn't the faintest idea where he is and what he's been doing, and it's likely that when she goes to Romania, she'll be greeted by his empty place. But I love how she continues to have hope. She has so much faith in her children that it's amazing!

This was a wonderful story, Jayde! Beautifully written.

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarikEvent Three- Aperture: Focus and Exposure

12th July 2014:
Wait, wait, Adi, you WROTE A FIC ABOUT DENNIS CREEVEY!? My favouritest character to write about (and torture relentlessly)? So happy I could hug you and never let you go! :D ♥

And awww, SO MANY DENNIS feels with this one. From the opening section, the brief sentences, the memories and flashbacks of Colin, to his meeting of Romilda...I loved them all. And I love that you've chosen to include Romilda in this! I've only read one other post-Hogwarts fic on Romilda Vane, and I understand that she's not a very well-liked character both in canon and in fanfic, so it's beyond wonderful to see that you've taken her and written her so sympathetically.

I love how the two of them, lost aimless souls, get together in the end. The toasts, the drinking, how she offers to teach him photography...they'll get better, I know it. They'll seek solace in each other. YES DENNIS/ROMILDA I THINK I CAN SHIP THIS. (I pretty much ship Dennis with anyone. I'd even ship him with Umbridge. Well. That's kind of creepy, but oh well.)

You have very lovely poetic lines in this piece, Adi! I especially adore your opening lines so much:

A boy walks into a pub.
"Firewhiskey, neat with a twist."
A man walks out.


Gah, these are just too gorgeous!

Lovely writing, Adi! I really enjoyed reading your version of Dennis, and I think the world definitely needs more well-written angsty Dennis Creevey fic!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarikEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Legacy

12th July 2014:
alskdjlkjafkjsad so this is what that purple devil of evilness is for!

George is dead. :( And was that George's funeral I just read? I've read Fred's funeral so many times in fanfic and now George's too? *wails*

I love that you've introduced Hugo here, and written his very close relationship with Roxanne. Of course the whole short story collection revolves around Roxanne, and how she's seen through the eyes of those around her. It's lovely and amazing to see the two of them being so close growing up, and always being there for each other, watching out for each other. That speech Roxanne gave at the end...awww, it was so beautiful! And even Hugo was driven to tears as well. And I loved Roxanne for saying that her dad was her best friend ever. It's like the two are more partners, rather than just father-daughter. I believe they're equals, and I like to think that George somehow sees a bit of Fred I in her. You really worked the prompt well, showing the friendship between father and daughter as well as between cousins

This was such a delightful collection, Isobel! I really loved this, and I think you did wonderful work with those prompts! Lovely writing!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarikEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Bonfire

12th July 2014:
So I've already read this, when I was doing the quick beta job for you, and I absolutely loved it! It's great to see that you've kept using second person POV, even for a different character. I think second person POV works marvellously well with short pieces, and I think you did a great job with George's character. I love seeing more of Roxanne. She's definitely grown up a lot more. Her accident was so awful, and I guess it's one of the worst things that can happen to people. But Roxanne is strong; she just doesn't let the accident define her for life; she picks herself up and recovers and regains her life, slowly. I can just imagine George swelling with pride when he looks at his tough, spunky daughter.

I'm a little sad that George and Angie have divorced; George/Angie is one of my favourite Weasley canon ships, but oh well, at least they're on relatively cordial terms with each other!

This was a wonderful piece, Isobel! On to the next chapter!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarikEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

12th July 2014:
Hey Isobel!

Finally, I'm here to read and review your HC collection! I've heard of Fwoopers before when I read Fantastic Beasts, although I can't remember them at all...at least until I read this. This was lovely! I love that you've chosen to go second person on this, and through the perspective of the magical creature as well! I must say you've done a great job characterising a bird, and one with a song that drives humans insane as well! I also love the bond that Roxanne strikes up with the Fwooper. Roxy is such a little firebrand, and definitely has her father and her mother's spark in her. There's a hint of rebelliousness in her as well, and the part where she releases the bird from the cage is wonderful!

Haha, I love how that the Fwooper bit that shopkeeper! That will teach him to stock magical birds that have been plucked from their habitats and plonked into cages.

Lovely story, Isobel! I can't wait to read on!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarikEvent 3: Fear Appears: Boggart.

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

I'm glad that you chose to explore boggarts! I've always been fascinated by them, by their shapeshifting abilities, and how they can sense a person's greatest fears. Boggarts are intriguing creatures, and terrifying as well, I guess. But I like how you took this Dark creature and used it to really characterise Victoire. You showed all her greatest fears, which is pretty much seeing her whole family die before her eyes. And then she masters her fears and gets rid of the boggart, which shows that the creature did help her in some way after all. It helped her regain control over herself, and if anything, it definitely made her appreciate Dom a lot more at the end!

You had some really good descriptions in this chapter! Louis' fragility, Teddy's Caribbean blue hair, Dom's makeup running in a branch-like pattern - such vivid details, and they really brought Victoire's family to shocking life.

Anyway, I thought this was a wonderful piece! Great work!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey teh!

Boggarts have always intrigued me too. I'm terrified, even of the idea, of them. But alas they do interest me!
I hope it was able to characterise Victoire. She found the experience really difficult, but I like to think that nothing would really phase her. Well, it would but because she the eldest sibling and the eldest female cousin (Teddy being the eldest male-we all know he is, even if it is almost honorary), Victorie would feel as if the world is on her shoulders and if she can't overcome something it is likely no one else could! Even though that's probably just in her head.

I think she's a family girl, a protector almost for her entire family. Especially a protector of her brother and sister, which was why I gave them such detail in her descriptions. She loves them above anyone else, expect maybe Teddy, who is her childhood sweetheart who stole her heart before it had even developed fully. That's why he gets loads of detail too!

I'm glad you liked the descriptions though! This has to be my favourite piece of work for descriptions!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by teh tarikEvent 3: It Means Something To Us: Something's Up

12th July 2014:
Hello!

This was lovely! It's wonderful to read about a Trio moment set during Hogwarts Era; I adore these kinds of fics that show missing moments between Harry, Ron and Hermione. Anything really, that explores their characterisation further and sheds more light on their emotional states during canon events. Hermione and Ron discussing Harry and being super concerned about him was wonderful to read about, and I also love the moments of Romione banter here and there. It's also great that this piece is set during the events of OotP, especially when you take into account what's happening at the forums right now! :P

I also love Fred and George's appearance in the fic! Ah, those mischievous Weasley twins!

As the other reviewers have said, there are a number of punctuation and grammar errors, but of course it's understandable, seeing as you were probably writing under a lot of pressure (we all were!)

I enjoyed this very much; great work!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you!
This my first time writing anything other than Next Gen stuff, so I did hope it would be good! I'm glad you liked it!

I really think that this would have fit in OotP! I'm glad you thought along the same lines! I hope I did these fantastic characters justice though!

Yep! I'll sort out that once I've got time to re-write the one-shot!

Thanks again!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarikEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: And Lasts Forever

12th July 2014:
Awww, this was the perfect ending to your little collection of stories! It's been such a lovely journey for the two girls, and you really captured that with this concluding piece. All the girls' laughter and silly escapades, all their childhood experiences, and then their darker days and war experiences, and finally their golden friendship that lasted throughout the years - all the sentiments were beautifully conveyed in this piece. I absolutely adore this collection, and I think you've done an amazing job with taking the three prompts and moulding them around the lives of Hannah and Susan. You've fleshed these two out with so much care and compassion, and you've written two such lovable and relatable characters.

I've really, really enjoyed reading your Hufflepuff collection. Gorgeous writing, and well done! And Hufflepuff for House Cup!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarikEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: It Comes From Within

12th July 2014:
I was hoping you'd continue writing about Hannah and Susan in your collection, and I'm so, so glad to read this! I loved how you portrayed them in the first chapter, and to see them in this piece, which is much darker in tone, is wonderful. This is the first time I've read the Battle of Hogwarts through Hannah and Susan's perspectives and this story of yours reminds us that those two were indeed there with all the brave Gryffindors and the heroes and all. Hannah and Susan, who are just a couple of very normal girls, who are in a house, which is often ridiculed by others, and who aren't the most popular girls in school. It's absolutely wonderful to see that they haven't been totally forgotten in fanfic, and that they struggle just as much as the other major characters. Hannah's lost her mother, of course, and yet she and Susa soldier on, stand by their morals and defend Hogwarts and their friends. They're truly loyal and brave and wholly remarkable, these girls, and your writing does them justice.

This was an amazing read! I can't wait to read your last chapter!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarikEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: Adolescent Escapades

12th July 2014:
Hello there!

Awww, this was so adorable and fluffy! Hufflepuff fluff is always the best, and way too few writers here on HPFF explore the lovely friendship dynamic between Hufflepuffs, esepcially Hannah and Susan. I"m honestly so happy that you've done that here! I love how you've written these two, how fun and mischievous they are...well, at least Susan. The opening sentences made me laugh, especially with the two girls giggling as they're about to embark on something stupid. And using a Niffler to turn the common room inside out is definitely not one of the wisest things to do! But the girls know that, and still they persist. And their end plan was just to run away and pretend they knew nothing. Ooh, sneaky Hufflepuffs! Is that a glimmer of SLytherin cunning I see in Susan?

Whatever it is, I love this, and I love the girls! Excellent work!

-teh
House Cup Review 2014

 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarikEvent Three: Dragon Taming: Dragon Taming

12th July 2014:
Hey, me again! :P

Ooh, I loved this! I always love dragon stuff, and it's always fun reading about Charlie and all his dragon adventures; he's probably the coolest Weasley of all, - well, as cool as Bill - and definitely the most adventurous. This was wonderful! I loved how you wrote him, his fun-loving and slightly reckless self, and the side of him that thrives on that dangerous edge. And how he deals with Norberta! Awww, I don't think I've ever read a fic that has even mentioned Hagrid's baby dragon before, and to see her doing well and in good hands in Charlie's dragon sanctuary is just wonderful! I love that the timeline of this piece is really clear - months before the Triwizard Tournament starts. It makes this story function as a missing moment of sorts, and I always love these.

I also love that you've named one of the dragons Tiamat! It's a totally fitting name for a dragon!

This was a lovely piece, Kayla! I really enjoyed reading this as well as your other two entries for the HC! Great work, my dear!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ew it's teh... pls leave me alone

JOKES. NEVER LEAVE ME ALONE :D

Haha, thank you so much for this lovely review! AHHH! I always think Charlie is MUCH cooler than Bill, let's be real :P

Haha, I can't remember the exact meaning but I think Tiamat did mean dragon! I literally searched 'dragon names' in Google :P

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews! You're such a beautiful person! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarikEvent Three: Padfoot and Prongs: Padfoot and Prongs

12th July 2014:
Hey again, Kayla!

Awww, this was such a lovely piece about James and Sirius's friendship! You know, I've never really read a fic that focused on their friendship, despite there being thousands of Marauders fics lying around, and these two being one of the most popular friendship duos around. I guess I don't read a lot of Marauders! But gah, I loved this! I loved the humour and fun of their relationship: everyone believing they were studying early for exams when in fact they were learning how to break the law. :P And Sirius feeling like he's been sidelined like salad! Gah, that made me giggle a bit too much. Lily coming up to him and smacking him on the back of his head, telling him pretty much to stop hogging Prongs. And Sirius feeling like she is the one who's hogging Prongs. That was too cute!

And then gah, the ending. :( :( You could have stopped anywhere in one of those happy places, and you didn't. INstead, you carried on right to the bitter end. I mean, Padfoor crying by their graves and freaking barking at the moon? *sobs* Whyyy. :( :(

GAH. This is too tragic. :(

I loved this, Kayla! This was such a beautiful piece of writing!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello again!

Haha, end on a happy note? PSHH.

Haha but thank you for this lovely review! You're so sweet! ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarikOf Stars, Galaxies and Daffodils: Of Stars, Galaxies and Daffodils

12th July 2014:
Hello again, Emma!

Wow, another breathtakingly lovely story from you! This was such a vivid and heartbreaking portrayal of Andromeda and her sisters. I've seen these girls written in so many different ways in fanfic, but I really loved what you've done with them here; it's so interesting that you've written Narcissa as the most vulnerable and emotional of the sisters, with Bella and Andromeda as the more calculating and distant ones. Narcissa in the books is so aloof; maybe she became that way after Andromeda's betrayal? It's a very interesting thought.

You have such lovely and vivid descriptions, and you really know how to set the scene.

On a hill in a small wizarding sea-side town the dull grey stones and dark marbles of the structure blended in with the stormy sky above, nearly invisible through the rainís depths.

This was such a striking opening image, and I love how you can establish setting so vividly, even with such a restrictive word count.

There are a lot of other moments about your story that I love: Andromeda running back to kiss Narcissa, only to be spurned in turn by Bella. And the little French game that the girls used to play. Flowers, galaxies, stars - I can imagine the girls playing around with their names, trying to find hidden meanings out of their names, and the 'turn, turn' part intrigued me greatly. I wonder what they meant. I can also imagine them literally turning, spinning in circles and wreaking havoc during their French lesson.

The ending segment was gorgeous. As sad as the whole first section is, I love that Andromeda has finally found some measure of freedom with Ted. Turning in circles with her beloved sisters may be fun, but as she grows older, her life and her family becomes horribly restrictive, especially for such a free spirit as Andromeda. I'm kind of glad that she breaks free from all that, even if it does mean cutting ties.

Amazing story as always, Emma! You're incredibly talented!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: teh, you are so complimentary it's making me blush. thank you so much for always leaving the best reviews!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by teh tarikEvent Three: Life Goes On: Life Goes On

12th July 2014:
Oh my gosh, Kayla WHAT IS THIS.

WHAT IS THIS HUGE PILE OF SUSAN BONES SADNESS AND FEELS THAT YOU HAVE INDUCED IN ME. And why am I capslocking!? Aww, aww, where do I start. First, I love Post-Hogwarts era fic. I love angsty post-Hogwarts with minor characters. But more those, I absolutely adore and worship angsty post-Hogwarts minor character fics that end with a note of hope. Oh my goodness, the ending melted me down to puddle of slop.

I love how you wrote Susan in this. The opening was so striking, her holding some unnamed Slytherin boy, bleeding all over her, and how she tries to brush his bloody hair out of his face, and kiss his forehead. Seriously, such a horrifying image, gave me chills all over, but also one of great sadness. It's no wonder she's having such a hard time getting over the war. Especially when you take into account that her whole family was killed. Panic attacks, nightmares, reading books to find out about things that she could have done, but will ultimately be useless because the war's over now.

I love that you brought Parvati in this! She was such an unexpected addition to the story, and I love it when minor characters interact with other minor characters, and that speech that Parvati gave...well, Susan really needed to hear that. That was absolutely wonderful, that moment, all the way to the ending. I loved that ending bit so much; despite all the grief and the trauma, I feel that there's hope, genuine hope that Susan will recover and get on with her life.

Lovely fic, Kayla! I really enjoyed this!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: OH MY GOSH TEH WHAT IS THIS

Hahaha, teh, you are the QUEEN of minor characters, post-Hogwarts era, and angsty fics so hearing that you enjoyed this makes me just fgsydkjfvjsfkhdkgfhgkfhjvchvj *flails everywhere*

ahaha in my original idea, I was going to make this into a short story where Parvati and Susan become a couple but word limits and rules and what not... :P

Thank you so much for this lovely review! You're such a beautiful human! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by teh tarikEvent Three. Twin Time With Adventure: Twin Time

12th July 2014:
Hiya!

I haven't come across a story about unicorns on HPFF before, so this is a first for me! And I really enjoyed reading your potrayal of unicorns! They're such mystical and very beautiful magical creatures, unicorns. And in the books, it's mentioned that they're supposed to be very pure creatures as well. Well, I definitely think you managed to convey this purity and beauty about them. The baby unicorns are gold? That's so lovely. :) I'm imagining them losing their gold as they grow older, and start taking on a silvery glow instead.

I enjoyed reading about how you've portrayed Molly and Lucy. They're such contrasting characters, and it's nice to see Weasley twins who are not Fred and George. They're not identical either, and they're also really dissimilar in terms of personality, and even with the houses they were sorted into. But at the end, it wsas great to see that their experience with the unicorns brought back all sorts of memories of good times, and that they're a bit closer to each other again!

Great work!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

That still really surprises me! More than one person has said that and it still surprises me! I adore the unicorns as well, and describing them was really cute! I enjoyed that quite a lot! :)

I'm really glad you liked Molly and Lucy because I really enjoy writing about them, especially when they're twins and not identical!

Thanks again!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by teh tarikA New Moon: A New Moon

12th July 2014:
Hey Emma!

I loved this; this is such a unique Marauders story! There are thousands of Marauder stories out there, but your decision to focus on Remus trying out the Wolfsbane Potion for the same time was so original, and it's like a little missing moment from canon. I can only imagine what a huge relief the wolfsbane potion must be, after all those agaonising transformations he's had to endure all his life. And you characterised the Marauders perfectly! There were so many little moments that made me smile a bit, from Remus discovering the secret of ordering food from the tables, to James and Remus actually doing schoolwork, even Peter ducking behind the bush to shed his clothes and transform into a rat. These little details really make your story stand out.

I also love what how you portrayed Slughorn. You've got an excellent grasp on his characterisation and speech patterns and everything, even though he only appeared for a brief section.

This was a lovely read, Emma! I really enjoyed this! Great work.

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: i'm so glad you liked this one as well! you're the best :) thanks for all of the reviews!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarikMagical: Magical

10th July 2014:
Awww, Alayn! This was absolutely beautiful! Another wonderfully written piece by you. You're so, so good at writing these unpopular characters, giving them so much depth and portraying them with compassion. Griphook, Petunia (from last year's HC), and now Filch. It's hard not to sympathise with him, to see him in a different manner from how he's been depicted in the books, after reading this.

He's an outsider, and will always feel like an outsider right in the midst of a school full of magical students. And I love how he finds comfort in Mrs Norris! Moment of truth: I never liked Mrs Norris in the books. -hides- I'm not a cat person at all. :P But here, her loyalty to him is quite amazing, and it must be so consoling for poor old Filch, that some creature cares for him and loves him so fiercely.

I love how you ended the fic! Mrs Norris despite being the usual cat is magical for him! It's quite a defiant statement, and I love how bold it is in the face of the prompt!

Well done, Alayn! As usual, your writing is wonderful and your characters are beautifully drawn.

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by teh tarikDestiny: Destiny

10th July 2014:
Hey keyty!

Ooh, I love that you've written a fic focusing on Hagrid! I don't think I've ever read a Hagrid-centric story before, so this was great! Awww, you provided so many insightful details to his life. I love how devoted he is to the creatures of the magical world, especially those that are reviled and feared by...well, by all sane people. I love that he's such a great friend toward Lily and James! It's really lovely thinking that Lily and James confide all their secrets in him, and I can perhaps imagine Hagrid prodding them toward each other rather clumsily, and then both of them sharing the same mug of tea when they visit him!!

And then they die. :( :( I think Hagrid sees Fluffy as a sort-of replacement for his lost friends. At least, Fluffy's a creature that he can care for and protect, unlike Lily and James. Bahaha, I can't imagine Fluffy not being the terrifying beast it was in Philosopher's Stone! Hagrid is quite a skilled trainer, it seems!

The ending was so sad, but fitting. The good thing about how it's all turned out, though, is that Fluffy will be able to fend for itself in the forest since Hagrid has trained it well.

Ah, this was such a unique little story! I loved this; great work! :)

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by teh tarikUnusual : Unusual

10th July 2014:
Hello Alayn!

Aww, first of all, that dedication at the beginning was incredibly sweet. I'm so glad to be in the same house as you, and we're all glad that you're with us! ♥

I really love how original this piece is! It's really remarkable what you did with the friendship prompt; I initially thought I was reading a piece for the magical creature prompt! I loved reading about the perspective of someone who is on the outside, who doesn't personally experience friendship, but who observes it closely, watches how it changes people and transcends boundaries. I love that the friendship is between a human and a house elf, and that it's a goblin who observes this.

I've never read any fic about Griphook, definitely none with Griphook narrating. I think you wrote his voice very convincingly, and the references to the goblin rebellions and Ragnuk were hugely appropriate. I'm kind of hoping you'll turn this into a longer fic someday? You write really well, and your characters are so well-developed!

This is a great piece, Alayn! I enjoyed this very much! Lovely writing. :)

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by teh tarikDiaries: chapter 1

9th July 2014:
Hey there!

Love this! Fred and Fleur? It's a very interesting pairing, and I'd love to read further on this. Bahaha! Fred sounds like his usual mischievous self, up to pranking and Skiving Snackboxes and whatnot. And clearly has quite the thing for Fleur. I wonder how everything will turn out in the end; after all, Fleur does marry Bill? Or is this AU? I love Fleur's voice in this, how appalled she is that classes are taught by a ghost. :P

This was a very fun read! Great work!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree No. 6

 Report Review

Review #24, by teh tarikMy Inclination: A Very Unnecessary Chapter

9th July 2014:
Hey there!

Reviewing for the House Cup! I think this is a great first chapter, and I like how detailed your introduction of your characters are! It's lovely to read about students starting at Hogwarts time to time, really brings back the old magic of the early HP book days. I really enjoyed reading about the girls choosing and buying their wands at Ollivanders. They seem like a likable and very fun-loving bunch! And Weasleys Wizard Wheezes...I love it that Charlotte is buying love potion and a portable swamp! It's a strange combination; I think Charlotte has got plenty of mischief in mind. Probably about to start a pranking career at Hogwarts?

Great start! Hope you keep working on this. :)

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree No. 6

 Report Review

Review #25, by teh tarikStudents out of Bed: Mischief in the Castle

9th July 2014:
Hey there!

Oh, goodness! What a delightful chapter! I absolutely love portable swamps, and fics with portable swamps in them, and I adore AUs as well, and this chapter was an absolute treat to read! I adore the level of detail you've gone into to describe the students carrying out their covert operation with military discipline! :P And I love how creative they are. Also, I might have done a fist pump in the air when you started mentioning how the students needed to ferried and rafted across the swamp. I giggled a fair bit thinking of the students standing on rafts just to get to breakfast.

And Professors Potter and Granger? Hilarious and absolutely wonderful! It would be lovely if they all became teachers; after all, Hogwarts is pretty much a home for all of them.

Fabulous chapter; I definitely want to come back and read the rest of this! Great work.

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree No. 6

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>