Reading Reviews From Member: teh tarik
  
570 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarikNo Distance: Letters

9th May 2016:
Hello Kaitlin! ♥

I'm here to review your entry for the Epistolary Challenge (I haven't abandoned this challenge, and I'm working my way through the entries. :D ). Thank you for participating, and huge apologies for the amount of time it's taken me to stop by and read and review.

Ah, ah, ah this is such a tragic story. :( :( Ted/Andromeda is a ship I love, but sadly it ends badly in canon. There's no resolution at all for this ship in canon, because Ted's death is so sudden and so violent. In the beginning of DH he's alive and well, and the next time we hear of him, he's dead in the woods, along with a couple of others. I think this exchange of letters that you've written works wonderfully! I can definitely imagine Ted running away and leaving a note for Andromeda, not even telling her of his plans to run. I imagine that she'd want to run off with him or she wouldn't let him go, or she'd put herself in danger for him.

And Ted and Andromeda keeping in touch with each other as they're on the run...the both of them not using names was a nice detail, and definitely makes sense. I love that amidst all the fear and uncertainty they're both experiencing, there's still those moments of hope and life when they discuss Dora and their unborn grandchild. It was really heartwarming (but also incredibly painful to read). Ted saying that he couldn't wait to hold his grandson...gahhh :( :(

The last two letters were beautifully done. Very sad, of course, because we know Ted is already dead. And that last letter: Andromeda is so desperate she doesn't even care whether she's found out or not: she uses their real names in that letter. It's truly heartbreaking.

Also, nice touch, beginning and ending your story with their names.

This is an amazing story, Kaitlin! You said this is the first time using the epistolary form, but I think you've done a wonderful job with this. I really enjoyed reading.

Thank you so much once again for participating in my challenge. I WILL be posting the results. :P So keep an eye out. :)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarikFlaming Quilltips: Pensieve to Parchment

6th May 2016:
Hello Ysh!

I'm finally here at long last to review your entry for the Epistolary Challenge. First, I must apologise for taking such a long time to come by and read. So sorry! :(

But oh my gosh, this story is amazing! Seriously, THIS is what I was hoping for when I set the challenge! A long, complex story, with more than a little mystery told through the epistolary format, with several writers corresponding with each other. You did an amazing job with the form, and the characterisation of each writer really shone through their letters (or journal entries).

You've got a great sense of pacing, and you know how to unravel the details of the mystery bit by bit, and I LOVE all the references to different aspects of canon, and how you link so many different things together (e.g. Cygnus Black, the potion drunk by Dumbledore in the cave, Hokey the house elf, etc.). Suddenly you've expanded canon so much, and not just expanded, but made it coherent. I believed your story, and your characters. I felt Dorcas's obsession and how desperate she was to uncover the details of her father's murder.

I must really complement you on Dorcas's characterisation: you've portrayed her brilliantly. Her determination, foolhardiness, fixatedness, her self-destructive desire for vengeance...and I also love how you revealed other aspects of her character through the letters of Lily and Benjy. Benjy and Lily see Dorcas as a friend: a brilliant passionate student and friend. It's so sad to imagine her slowly succumbing to her own darkness over the years.

The ending of the story was so heartbreaking. :( Poor Benjy.

This was a truly phenomenal story, Ysh! I'm so glad to have read this, and to have this as an entry in my challenge. Thank you for participating, and keep an eye out for those results. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarikThe Unaccounted: June 28, 2032: SNITCHED by Lillian Potter

1st May 2016:
*hugs Alishya back*

Hey lovely! I'm here (at long, long, long last) to review your entry for the Epistolary Challenge. And I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to stop by your fic and read. I'm trying to get back on track with reading so I can get the results out, sooner rather than later.

Anyway, wow what an intriguing start! I love this first chapter and I think it's an amazing beginning to your story. And your fic sounds like it's going to be a murder mystery, in epistolary form, which is great! And I also love that it's going to have something to do with Quidditch (well, at least, Xavier was a Quidditch player!). I think a Quidditch murder mystery is such a unique idea on this site, and I really hope you continue soon!

I love Lily Potter's character already. She sounds like a journalist/reporter of some sort, digging for truth and stories, trying to unravel the mystery. I loved the way you wrote her voice through her article. Sounds like she's very dedicated to her job, and an idealistic person. I can't wait to see how you develop her character further through her articles, and other epistolary forms.

Thank you so much for submitting an entry to my challenge, Alishya! ♥ Once again I'm so sorry this has taken me so long to come by, but now that I have, I'm hooked, and I do hope to see a second chapter soon! :) Amazing work!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarikWhen I Go Out With You: You Didn't Look 'Round

30th March 2016:
...whaaa...

I DO NOT HAVE THE WORDS!!??

After Norma, Ernie can go snog a Dementor.

So all the lovingness and all the adorable affection between Ernie and Hannah was all a lie?!?! Ugh, poor Hannah! :( :( First, Ernie completely dismisses her and her desire to have a conversation about polyamory. Then the whole cheating thing. Ugh.

Still, I love the way you hint at the difference between the portrayal of polyamory as an honest, open choice between individuals, and the portrayal of that more conventional monogamous relationship, which does not have such a sturdy foundation as people would think.

Well, it's Hannah/Susan for me now. All the way! ♥

Great (but very sad) twist! Can't wait to find out how Hannah will deal with this.

-teh

Author's Response: OMG THAT REACTION IS PERFECT

I don't want to say that that Ernie and Hannah's affection was necessarily a lie. But as you say, it was not on a sturdy foundation. It was definitely conditional, I think. There is a very subtle power structure in their relationship where things or on Ernie's terms, and he has reinforced that with years of subtle emotional manipulation, which includes a lot of surface affection which Hannah has bought into. Hannah has been happy, but she has done so by focusing on what's on the surface of their relationship and her emotions, without looking too much deeper.

Also, part of the advantage of having such short chapters is that I do get to manipulate you guys a bit too. The scene in Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows was very real, but it was also very short, and just a snippet of their relationship (and a couple of readers have mentioned red flags they saw in that chapter).

Anyway, I'm glad you're so engaged by this story! ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarikWhen I Go Out With You: It's A Happening World

30th March 2016:
Hey again, Sam!

I'm back for the next chapter. And this!! Gah, this made my heart melt in so many ways. ♥ This Susan & Hannah bonding scene is too perfect for words! Susan is just such an amazing character, and she complements Hannah so nicely! I love Susan's quiet confidence, and how comfortable she is with her life and her choices. There's something so serene about her, her self-acceptance.

And your dialogue is amazing. I love your choice of lines! Your dialogue is just so smooth; everything flows perfectly, sounds so sensible and nothing is forced at all.

And that last line Susan says is kind of the perfect way to tie up this gorgeous chapter?

I really love how unique your story is, and your exploration of polyamory. I'm really intrigued to see how things will play out, and definitely adding this to my fav's list! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: I'm glad to see you back here, Teh!

And your feedback on this chapter is really good to hear. Sometimes to me this chapter feels a little filler-like, in that less happens in it than others. But like you said, it is important in building Hannah and Susan's relationship and introducing the idea of polyamory. And I'm glad I can do those things in such a gorgeous flowing way, as you say.

Thanks for the fave!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarikWelcome to the LC: Welcome to the Night Shift/There is No Escape from the Lechery

30th March 2016:
Hello! I'm back for the second chapter.

This chapter was amazing. Honestly, it took the story, and Delilah's character to a whole new level. And I love how we get to see all these different aspects of Delilah's character and her life in general. There is a lot more movement in this chapter, a lot more development, and time is kind of blurry, like the nights are smudging into each other, which is a really great way to show Delilah's drinking and partying is really getting a bit out of hand. Like, in a really unhealthy and unwholesome kind of way.

Damian is an awful character, but gosh you write him well. At first I thought he might turn out to be a possible friend for Delilah, and it's clear that Delilah thinks so, too. She definitely preferred Damian's company to Camille's. Then he turns out to be waaay creepy and completely unconcerned with Deliah's wellbeing at all.

And in a great twist of character development, you really showed Camille in an unexpected light...or at least in a way that was contrary to the character she was supposedly set up to be, and I really appreciate this. People are so much more complex than we give them credit for, and I think Delilah might have learnt a little about this, and on the matter of 'judginess'.

This was an amazing chapter; your characters are brilliant.

-teh

 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarikWelcome to the LC: The things we do for brownies and/or the electric bill

29th March 2016:
Hello!

I'm here for the Puff March Review Exchange! :)

Aww, I'm so glad I got the chance to read this story, because I absolutely love it already, from this first chapter! I love Delilah's snarky voice and sense of humour, and all the little observations she makes about her colleagues and the customers. But the funniest observations she makes are about her own self, and her own living situation:

e.g. Everyone in the future will be dying to get their hands on the autobiography of the not-even-full-time waitress at the Leaky Cauldron from 2022- to Merlin please let it be over soon.

^ This made me giggle a bit. That being said, someone like me would definitely be interested in reading the autobiography of a waitress at the LC!

I think you've done an amazing job bringing the whole breakfast-rush scene to life, through Delilah's voice, as well as through the use of plenty of details. I love how easily your characters jump to life, how realistic and easy to picture them. From Janet and Silloren and John to Timothy to the Cloak. Clearly, the Cloak is meant to be a bit of mystery, and I have a feeling he might pop up again, later on in the story? Possible future bff/romantic interest for Delilah, seeing as they're both having fun gushing about comics?

I love Hannah! Hurray for a fierce Hufflepuff who doesn't stand for people walking all over them!

And I get the feeling that Delilah's life is going to be rather different (and possibly less pleasant) with her doing the night shift. The drunk crowd is definitely VERY different from the morning breakfast crowd (and I know, because I've worked in a bar/bistro before :P ).

Ah, the things we'd do for brownies. ♥

Fantastic start to your story! I shall definitely be coming back to read more, so please do keep writing. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarikWhen I Go Out With You: Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

25th March 2016:
Hello again, Sam!

Ooh, so Hannah and Ernie are living together, and it sounds like they've been together for quite some time. I love how you've written their relationship in this second chapter! They're so loving and affectionate and completely comfortable with each other, and Ernie is a little goofy as well.

Hannah and Ernie's relationship is so completely different from how you wrote Susan and Hannah, though of course, Hannah has just met Susan after a long time. I'm interested to see how everything will turn out between these three characters (as well as any other characters I have yet to read about). And it does sound like perhaps there'll be a little tension between Ernie and Susan? It's interesting the way he reacts when Hannah tells him about meeting her friend.

Once again, another lovely chapter! I look forward to reading more. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Oh wow, thanks for coming back for another chapter so quickly!

It was definitely really fun to write the contrasts between different characters and relationships, especially in these early chapters when everything is new to the reader. They are very different people, very different energies between them, and at very different points in the relationship. It was definitely interesting to try to see how I could create that contrast with very few words. I am glad you are interested in it so far as well!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarikWhen I Go Out With You: Fools Rush In

25th March 2016:
Hi Sam!

I'm here for the Review Exchange! :)

I love femmeslash & rare pairs, so this chapter was right up my alley. This is such a great start to your story! I love Hannah and Susan already, and I can't wait to see how their relationship will develop. I love that moment of attraction, when they feel like the only people in the whole street. It's instant attraction, but because Susan and Hannah were friends for so long, even fighting alongside each other, there's also so much history between them surfacing in that moment. It's no wonder that Hannah feels a little overwhelmed.

I'm so glad Susan makes the next move and pulls her into the Leaky Cauldron. So Hannah has yet to become the owner of the pub! It will be interesting to see how she takes over the Leaky Cauldron, if you're going to explore it in your fic.

I love your style of writing; you write so delicately, and some of the phrases you use are just so gorgeous!

The words fall from our lips like petals from flowers that have gone untouched for too long.


^ This line kind of made me breathless and a little giddy, and I can SO imagine how Hannah was feeling!

I'm loving your story so far, Sam! I shall certainly come back and read more. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hey!

I am glad that you love femmeslash and rare pairs as much as I do!

I'm really glad that you are already so compelled by this story and the characters.

This story will focus pretty closely on Hannah's personal life in her early-mid 20s, so you won't so I won't get into her ownership of the LC much

Nobody has ever used the word delicate to describe my writing before! Actually, I'm not sure I've ever associated that word with writing, and it's really interesting and I love that you used it.

I am really looking forward to reading your story, though I am probably going to wait until the Quidditch match is done so I can focus on a more thought out review =)

Thanks again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by teh tarikYou Are Beautiful: Happy Anniversary

24th March 2016:
Hello Jayde! ♥

I'm here to read and review your entry for the Epistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so much for participating! ♥

Aww, Jayde, this is an absolutely beautiful fic!! You've captured Arthur and Molly's relationship so flawlessly, and I love how you started off your story with the two of them in their older years, celebrating their anniversary, and how Arthur's letters take us all back years and years into their youth.

The letters he wrote have got to be the sweetest things ever written. They're so simple but honest and adoring, which is so Arthur. And Molly frets a lot about her appearance, even when she was in school. I love how Arthur just sees through all her physical "flaws" and embraces her as the wonderful, strong, maternal woman she is. Yet at the same time, he doesn't just dismiss all her worries and her fretting; he actually acknowledges her worries and comforts them. He's got to be the best soul mate ever??!!

And the letters...I think it's brilliant how they all end with the same sentences, or variations of that sentence. Every time Arthur tells Molly she's beautiful, he's affirming her inner beauty, her character, everything that makes Molly Molly. And I thought that was so very sweet. I loved the structure of the letters!

And I also enjoyed how different the letters are from each other, despite being structurally similar. They depict Molly in her extreme happiness, her insecurities, her grief at losing her brothers (and later, Fred)...it's pretty much huge segments of Molly's life (and their relationship) in those letters! ♥ I am SO glad Arthur chose to show Molly those letters after all. Things with such beautiful sentiment shouldn't be kept hidden forever.

And that final letter is the perfect ending to this story. There's so much love, so much contentment, so much gratitude...it's an incredibly satisfying ending, and the best kind of happy ending ever.

I enjoyed reading this, Jayde! Thank you so much again for participating, and congrats on writing such an amazing story! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: TEH! ♥

Thank you SO much for hosting the epistolary fic challenge, and for stopping by to read and review this! Your challenge really pushed me to write something that I'm quite happy with and that everyone else seems to be enjoying a lot, so THANK YOU! *hug*

Awww, thank you! I'm so flattered that you think it's beautiful and that I captured their relationship well! And I'm really happy that you like the 'travel back through time' aspect of the letters! Honestly, the Anniversary bit was added in as a bit of an afterthought, but I'm SO happy that I added it in!

Eeek! I'm so thrilled that you think the letters are sweet and very in-character with Arthur! I was really, really trying to keep him in character and I'm happy that paid off! Yes, Molly does fret about her appearance a lot, but as you said, Arthur sees through all that while still managing to acknowledge and confront her insecurities. I think he definitely is a great soul mate!

TEH STAHP IT you're making me blush! I'm just on the verge of happy tears reading that you like the structure of the letters. Yes, that was really the main point of what Arthur was trying to accomplish with the letters: to affirm one more time, despite where they are in life, despite what she looks like at that moment, she is still beautiful in his eyes. I was really, really trying to convey a universal message of "You are beautiful, no matter what" to my readers, and I really hope that came through in Arthur's reassurance to Molly, but in case it didn't I'm planning on going back and adding in an Author's Note at the end ASAP.

Thank you so much for your comments about the letters being different from each other! As I said in the last paragraph of my response, I really wanted to show a message of "you are beautiful, no matter what", and I thought the best way to accomplish that was to show various moments in Molly's life, during ALL of which Arthur STILL thinks she's absolutely breathtaking. And yes, I agree, things with beautiful sentiment should never been hidden forever!

AWW, thank you! ♥ I'm so happy that you think that the final letter is the perfect ending to the story! And I could just flail at reading that this is the best kind of happy ending ever! ;( *squish*

I'm SO glad you enjoyed this! Thank you again, so much, for creating this challenge that really pushed me to write something like this, and for this amazing, squee-worthy review! ♥ *squishes*



 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarikCompendium of Unsent Letters: 1982

19th March 2016:
Ugh, I love and hate that Remus has written both his letters during Christmas Day. :( :( Poor Remus; these have to be the most depressing Christmases ever, writing letters as a pathetic form of consolation...especially letters that will never reach their intended subject/recipient.

And the way he addressed Sirius as "To the man who ruined everything", well, that was like a stab straight through the reader's heart. :( Once again, you've done a wonderful job maintaining a very bleak and cheerless tone throughout the letter, and it really shows the extent of Remus's suffering.

I loved that whole bit about Adelise and Rita Skeeter! Of course the media would approach him for some sensational details on Sirius Black. It really makes the media seem like nothing more reliable than a flock of vultures, really, circling to swoop down on the best, most dramatic stories.

And the scores of women who've come forward because they've supposedly known Sirius intimately...bahaha! I love all these little digs at contemporary media and their inaneness. But I also feel so awfully sorry for Remus, who has to deal with all this. Especially now that he reveals that Sirius hasn't been faithful during their relationship. WHY, SIRIUS!?

But I can envision Sirius's unfaithfulness; Sirius is such a flawed soul, and I think all his personal issues would definitely get in the way of a healthy, lasting relationship with...pretty much anybody. :(

This was another wonderful letter in your collection, Rose! I hope you'll continue this, because I think you're doing such an amazing job, and this is such a good way to use the epistolary format!

Thank you so much once again for submiting your entry to the challenge! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarikCompendium of Unsent Letters: 1981

19th March 2016:
Hi Rose!

I'm here to review your entry for The Epistolary Fic Challenge! ♥ And I'm really glad to be back on your wonderful AP again. It's been awhile since you submitted this chapter, and I must apologise for how long it has taken me to read, but I've been a bit slow with things.

And gah, your angst kills me. Every time. :((( This is one of the saddest things ever. Remus writing a letter that Sirius will never see?? I love the idea of this; I think it's a fantastic idea for Remus to have a whole compendium of unsent letters, trying to cope with the miserable state of his life, and how he's so badly affected by betrayal--or at least he thinks he's been betrayed. If only he knew the truth. If only he knew that Sirius is the one who is suffering more pain than he can imagine...best friends dead because of his decision, and then being framed for their murders. Ugh. :(

You've captured the incredibly sad tone of the letter really well. I love that Remus briefly recalls the time he and Sirius spent together. But I also love the very analytical tone of the letter. It's like Remus is trying to put together the puzzle that is Sirius. Perhaps there's something not quite right with the whole reality of things, and perhaps Remus feels that he's missing something, and he's just trying to understand why Sirius would do the things everyone thought he did. Poor Remus! If only he had a bit more faith in his friends...

And I love how you ended the letter, how Remus accepts that despite everything, he's still unable to hate Sirius. He's unable to reconcile the violent mass-murderer image propagated by the media with the Sirius he once knew.

There's so much depth to Remus's character, and so many details in this short letter.

I absolutely loved this chapter, Rose! ♥ Thanks for the heartbreaking read; now I'm off to read the second chapter (and possibly soak more tissues with misery and angst... :P )

-teh

 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarikLove, Lavender: Dear Diary

13th March 2016:
Hello Vicki,

I'm here to review your entry for The Epistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so much for participating! ♥

Aah I love Lavender fics so I'm so pleased to have one as a challenge entry! I feel that there can never be enough fics about post-war Lavender and the massive changes her character would have undergone after such trauma. I love what you've done with Lavender, how you've treated her with so much sympathy. I love how compassionately you write baout her. :) There's the reluctant first diary entry beginning, and I love how she quickly warms up to the habit, because writing is something that gives her peace and helps her get through her days. Really, Lavender has two forms of therapy in your fic: the actual therapy group, and writing about the therapy group in her diary.

I love some of the details you've included in your story: e.g. like how that white scarf she wears around her neck feels like a noose. And I love that you've brought up Dennis Creevey as well! ♥ Dennis is one of my favourite characters to read about, and I get ridiculously excited whenever he pops up in anybody's stories. :P And gaahhh, poor Dennis. :( :( :( And I'm so happy to see Lavender comforting Dennis! Most people look at Lavender and see only her vanity and her vapidness, but really, she's such a kind soul, with a great capacity for empathy.

Oliver Wood! I love his appearance--all brooding and surly and stuff. And the quick attraction and romance that blossoms between him and Lavender...I'm so glad that Lavender didn't listen to Alicia. I'm so glad that she took the chance and went out with Oliver. It really shows how the therapy group is healing her, how she's slowly coming to terms with herself and the world after the war. Excellent character development!

And awww, that last diary entry! That was simply gorgeous. You have a wonderful way with words, and you write romance so well. ♥

He's like you, except I can feel his arms around me when I'm upset, feel his thumbs wipe away my tears, feel his lips ghost over my own, over my scars. I can feel him heal me. I can feel his comfort.


^ I'm in love with these lines! I'm both a little sad but also happy that she won't be writing in her diary anymore. But really, it's a huge step in healing for her.

I really love this story, and I enjoyed reading, Vicki! Thank you so much once again for entering the challenge, and best of luck! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarikDear Scorpius: Dear Scorpius

11th March 2016:
Hello Bella!

I'm here to review your entry for The Epistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so much for participating! ♥

I think you broke my heart right at the beginning! :( :( Scorpius is dead? And so he'll never receive that letter Rose wrote? I always find the concept of unsent letters to be particularly heartwrenching, and Rose's letter was no exception.

One thing I really loved about your story is how all of Rose's letters are not in chronological order. I love that they've been presented as a mixture of happy and sad snapshots throughout Rose and Scorpius's relationship. I love how the last letter is such joyful news, about Rose being pregnant. But of course, this makes the ending even sadder, because Scorpius is dead, and the child will have to grow up without a dad. Also, in terms of chronological order, I love that you've numbered your letters. :)

And the letters Rose writes to Scorpius are just...gah! ♥ They contain the most intimate, most personal moments of their relationship: Rose telling him she's with child, Rose proposing to him, Rose reaching out to him for the very first time when they're both still in Hogwarts...it's clear that letters play a very important part in their relationship, and this form of communication becomes is something Rose can't stop, even when there is no longer any reply because of course, Scorpius is dead. One thing I like to see explored in epistolary narratives is, what does writing mean to the those who write and receive? How important are these types of correspondences in the lives of the characters?

And I must commend you on how much you've shown me in such a short story.

I also love how understated your writing is. Rose's letters are simple and brief, but ever so earnest and so honest. I love the clarity of emotion in your writing.

Overall, great job with this story! I really enjoyed reading this, and best of luck with the challenge!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarikLove Letters to the Dead: Remus John Lupin

9th March 2016:
Hellow Jayna!

I'm here to review your entry for The Epistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so, so much for participating!

I really enjoyed reading your story; I found it incredibly sad, because you did such a fantastic job capturing the loneliness and isolation that poor Teddy feels, and especially how he feels like an intruder among the Potters, like they're no longer his real family. I want to give Teddy a hug and tell him everything will be okay. :(

I also absolutely adore the idea of Teddy writing to his dead parents (I'm hoping he'll pen one to Tonks soon!). There's something pretty tragic about the epistolary style, especially when readers know that the letters being written are never going to be read by their intended recipients.

You had some very nice details sptrinkled throughout your fic: from Teddy correcting himself when he refers to Harry as Dad. It must have been such a shock for poor young Teddy to realise that Harry and Ginny are not his biological parents, and that his real parents are the pictures sitting on the mantel, or above the stove. It must have been such an intensely disconcerting feeling...and I think Teddy's whole world could easily come crashing down. I do rather wish that Harry and Ginny had told him earlier, the truth about Remus and Tonks. :(

I think you did a wonderful job with the story, and I really love the premise of this! I wish you could have completed this for the challenge, but even though the deadline has passed, if you update your fic any time soon, I'll be sure to catch up with it!

Thank you so much, once again for submitting an entry for my challenge! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hey there teh, thanks so much for the wonderful challenge and for this great review!

I'm really glad that this made you sad (this is probably one of the only times I can think of that it's appropriate to say this :P), and that you got the vibe that Teddy felt like an outsider. One of my friends is adopted, and as her older brother is a biological child, she sometimes feels a little out of place, so that was one of the themes I was trying to explore a little bit.

The idea came from the book that this piece shares a title with, in which the MC writes characters to various deceased celebrities. I figured that this could really be helpful for anyone going through grief.

In my headcanon, he still calls them Mum and Dad, but that they talk openly about the fact that his biological parents died trying to give him a better world. However, I decided to try something new for this story, and now that I've written it, it feels kind of plausible.

Thank you so much for all the kind words, and if I do ever end up writing that Tonks chapter (which I had planned on being next), I'll be sure to drop you a link on your profile or something.

Anyway, thanks again for the challenge and for the kind words!

-Jayna


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarikLove, Tara: Missing You

6th March 2016:
Hi Leigh!

I'm here to review your entry for the Epistolary Fic Challenge! First, thank you so much for participating!

What a heartbreakingly sad one-shot you've written here. It started so joyfully, in such high spirits. Tara's excitement with her recent move to the States was wonderful; I could her elation practically radiating from that first letter of hers. She seemed like such a happy, carefree person in a wonderful relationship. But of course, this image of her happy life started to disintegrate the more she wrote to James.

I don't know why James never bothered to write, but I have my hunch. Clearly, he's not as much in love with Tara as she is with him. And I have the feeling that he sees the great physical distance between them as an opportunity to free himself from a relationship which he does not feel strongly about. Poor Tara. I just wish that James could have at least said something...an explanation, an apology, anything, instead of keeping so coldly silent and ruining her whole experience for her.

I think you've done a wonderful, wonderful job with the epistolary format! They're all letters written by Tara, and I like that you've chosen to keep them this way, instead of having other writers. We only see things from Tara's perspective, and I really felt her deep sense of isolation, her decreasing enthusiasm for her classes and her growing misery. You've done a brilliant job using the format to complement Tara's characterisation.

That last letter of hers was heartbreaking, but it did have the tiniest seed of hope in it. Not that she and James will ever get back together or anything, but perhaps there's a good chance she'll get better once she's home. I think you've got a really strong ending to your story. One of the reasons why I stated that fics must be complete to qualify for judging is precisely because I want to see how writers resolve their stories with regards to the style. Epistolary works can be tricky to write, and to conclude in a satisfying manner, but I feel you managed it very well in your fic.

There's a sense of the bittersweet in that last letter, but there's also finality.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading your entry, Leigh! Once again, thank you so much for entering the challenge, and best of luck. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #17, by teh tarikThe Last Letter from Fabian: The Last Letter from Fabian

5th March 2016:
Hello Kenny!

I'm here to review your entry for The Epistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so, so much for participating, and for writing such a great entry. :)

I must say I found this very sad (I assume this was written before Fabian and Gideon's death?), and that this being the last letter Fabian sends to Molly means that Molly will never have the chance to reply...and Fabian will never hear from his sister again.

But I also loved this story because it wasn't all sad: it portrayed a lovely, heartwarming relationship between Molly and her brothers. It's great to know that they're still corresponding throughout the war, and that Fabian constantly checks up on Molly during the war, making sure she's OK and all.

I love the little details you included in the letter! Like all the chocolate biscuits Molly gave Fabian because she was using him as a test subject. :P She was perfecting her biscuits for Arthur!! That's lovely.

And I like that little part about the Fabian rescuing the house elf. I think the Prewett brothers are definitely the noble, Gryffindor type, always jumping in to rescue others.

And that last part of the letter was so chilling. Fabian cuts off his letter because Gideon senses movement outside the window?! It's the five Death Eaters coming to attack them, isn't it? :( I like how you ended; I think you could have built that ending a little more, but it was still a great place to end. The thing about epistolary fics is that they can end abruptly for any number of reasons. They can offer incomplete snapshots of a person's life at a certain period of time...they can reveal so much, but sometimes the opposite also happens. Secrets may never get revealed, and things may never get resolved.

Overall, I think you've got a great fic here, Kenny! ♥ I think you could have made it a bit longer, but I still enjoyed reading this very much! Best of luck with the challenge, and I hope you continue writing every day. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi, teh! Thank you for setting this challenge.
Reading your comment, I thought this review and response are also the epistolary.

I could make the letter longer, but as you noticed, mystery is ended abruptly sometimes so I tried writing in that way. But I just started writing mystery and I think it will take much time to write better storries. I need to read good stories more. I hope I can be back to your story soon. I'd like to write like you, teh. Your story is very mysterious and at the same time, it's beautiful and I can't forget it once I read.

When I find you story challenge, the vision of Molly and her brothers jumped in my mind. Most of the episodes between them are based on my experience and it was fun to write. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #18, by teh tarikThe Halls of Hogwarts - A Collection: Say a Prayer

27th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the February Hufflepuff Review Exchange, and I apologise for having left my review so late.

What a unique and utterly tragic story this is. The beginning was quite gloomy and dreary, and really set the scene for the kind of hopelessness that poor Ted has to suffer for god knows how long. I'll admit, I wasn't prepared for the level of violence that occurred while Ted was being attacked by Snatchers. It was hard to read, and I kept wincing and clutching my eye, but that's war. It's violent; it's horrible, and I'm glad you didn't shy away from it.

I also love the little details you added to really show Ted's plight, of how it's like to be constantly on the run. His gnawing hunger--the Ted we encounter at the beginning of DH has a happy home and wife and daughter, and to think that all that would be taken from him just because of his blood status is an awful, awful thing. The mention of his hunger was such a powerful image; it really heightened that sense of loss to me.

I'm curious about your OC Melinda! I think she's a very intriguing character, watching Ted (and him watching her in return), and I do hope you write more one-shots/chapters about her. It's interesting that she feels no connection to the Second Wizarding War, and I think this would be true to many of the Next Gen children...the war came before them; it would surely hold less significance to them than to their parents. And I love the hint of the story opening on All Souls Day; this is the first fic I've seen which mentions this day, and it would have been a very fitting day to remember those who have passed.

I think this is a wonderful start to your collection! I hope you keep adding more chapters, and I'm very glad to have got the chance to read this. You're a wonderful writer!

-teh

Author's Response: It wasn't as late as mine, so don't fret. Lol First of all, thank you for the review.

I love All Souls Day as it's a (small) tradition in my family. I'm happy to hear that the little details that I added didn't go unnoticed.

It's so strange to hear people tell me their curiosity towards Melinda. I do have a longer story where she's a Next-Gen main character, but just haven't gotten to posting it. I hope to do it sometime this year.

My response is all over the place right now. Lol

I knew from the get go that I had to be descriptive with Ted's suffering, and I knew that the violence would be the most important part of the story- at least it was for me. So, I definitely took it as a challenge and am glad that you liked it.

Just to add intrigue to Melinda... lol... she does suffer in a similar way as Ted.

Your review has resparked an excitement for my story that I kind of lost after joining HPFF (even though I joined somewhat for that story, amongst other things).

Again, thank you!
June


 Report Review

Review #19, by teh tarikToo Hard: Dear Fred,

24th January 2016:
Hello Kayla! ♥

I'm here to read and review your entry for the EPistolary Fic Challenge! Thank you so much for participating, btw. :D

And thank you for turning me into a complete mess with this one-shot of yours!. *sobs* This was so heartbreaking, and so amazingly written. You've captured George's voice so accurately--he sounds just like I imagine he would sound post-war, still dealing with the aftermath of Fred's death. He's all angry, and it's a furious kind of anger as well, but at the same time despite all the angst he still retains his sense of humour...and humour + angst is a combination that completely completely kills me with feels.

Gah, I love that he's written such a long, honest letter--it's heartbreaking and poignant and bittersweet and funny and yes, full of anger and loss, and it's just something George (or Fred) would never do if both were alive and well. I can imagine (and so can George, I bet) that Fred would be shaking his head in the afterlife, sniggering at George writing a letter to a dead person. But there would also be that sadness, that sense of loss. Nobody understands the twins better than the twins themselves.

I also love how you captured the personalities of the other Weasleys through the brief but very telling details and anecdotes in George's letter. Ginny is wonderfully portrayed! I love her fieriness, how fiercely sensible she is, and how she tries her hardest to whack George back into shape, back into his normal self...or as normal as he can get. And Ron, aww aww. ♥ Ron showing his sensitive and empathetic side but spending time with George is the best!! Too often Ron is written as a bit insensitive to others, but I think people forget how much he cares for his family, just like how worried he was for them in DH when the Trio were on the run.

Anyway, this was such an amazing read, Kayla! ♥ I'm absolutely depressed at the fact that Fred will never read this letter, but that's how epistolary fics go...letters don't always reach their intendent recipients. But I get the sense from this fic that George will be okay. Eventually he'll get better because he's surrounded by so many amazing people.

Best of luck with the challenge! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hello teh ♥

Thanks for hosting the challenge! Without it I wouldn't have realised that this rule had been lifted at HPFF :D

This review is so so so amazing I put off responding to it because it was so lovely and beautiful and omg teh you're a star ♥

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I can hardly respond to it but rest assured that every single word of this review has just made me happy and giddy and flaily :P

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarikThank You: You Did It Anyway

5th January 2016:
Hello!

Aww, I love me some rare ships, and Lily/Regulus is definitely one of the more unusual pairings around. This was so lovely, but also very very sad. You write both characters with a kind of sad fragility and vulnerability. Even their kissing scene was so fraught with tension, like everything was going to fall apart any time. Regulus is portrayed very well. As I wsas reading, I got the sense that there was this immense loneliness surrounding his character, that there's a barrier between him and the rest of the world, and Lily is the only person who connects him to a place beyond himself. And Lily is gorgeously written. There is a warmth to her character which I love. Makes me really really wish that Regulus/Lily were a real thing in the books!! Instead of Severus/Lily. :P

I thought this was a beautiful and heartbreaking one-shot, and I really enjoyed it. Amazing work!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #21, by teh tarikWinding Road: Finding Home

22nd August 2015:
*cries*

*cries again*

Poor Scorpius. :( :(

I definitely do not think he has recovered, or that he will recover so quickly. And Iím glad that Corbin may face prosecution. Heís such a stalker, though this is hardly surprising, given his possessiveness of Scorpius while they were still in a relationship. Once again, youíve done a phenomenal job at writing an incredibly visceral and painful portrayal of the effects of abuse. Scorpiusís fear of going out, his discomfort at the thought of sitting on a sunny patio because of the possibility he might be seen, his nightmares.

I also want to compliment you on your other characters! Draco is amazing! Iíve never seen Draco written this way before. In fact, most fics about Scorpius always portray Draco as a cold, calculating and uncaring father. But Draco definitely cares about the wellbeing of his son, even though he does retain his rigidity, and even though he does not openly and freely express affection. And his distaste toward the mention of Granger, bahaha! Amazing depiction of Draco! And I really appreciated the way you wrote Albus and Brandonís relationship. Theyíre such an adorable couple, and Iím glad Scorpius feels safe with them.

Your last sentence packed such a punch. It is such a trying time for poor Scorpius, and Iím just hoping that heíll get better, eventually, surrounded by his loved ones. Amazing, amazing story.



-teh

Author's Response: *cackles*

*cackles again*

I agree, poor scorpius.

It didn't feel right to make him suddenly better but I wanted to at least show progress wtih his emotional state. Making sure Corbin would at least face trial was important to me. I'm so glad Scorpius' emotions came through strong. :D

omg, I might die with your compliment about Draco. Making him caring in a cold way always felt right and was fantastically enjoyable to write. Oh it's so nice you liked Brandon and Albus too. ^_^ They're my favorite next gen ship.

thank you so much for a lovely review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #22, by teh tarikYou Don't Own Me: Don't

22nd August 2015:
I had a lot of trouble reading this; it was all so realistic and raw and detailed and it got worse and worse following Scorpiusís character. Iíve not read any of your Albus/Scorpius fics (I donít believe Iíve read any Albus/Scorpius, in factÖ), so I donít know anything about Corbin, but you do such an incredibly realistic job of portraying an abusive character and an abuse victim. The abuse is not just physical; itís emotional as well. Corbin preys on Scorpius psychologically and emotionally, manipulating him into guilt, into staying, into believing that despite all these awful things he does, that he still genuinely loves Scorpius. What utterly awful crap. I got so mad at Corbin at one point during the story: when after physically assaulting Scorpius, he goes and makes tea and biscuits, and expects a reconciliation. If it wasnít for the 12+ rule in reviews, Iíd be using stronger language to vent my feelings toward Corbin. I have very little sympathy toward his neediness.

And then Scorpius feeling like he needs to go down and appease Corbin by accepting freaking tea and biscuits!!

I am SO, SO glad that he managed to summon up that bit of courage, that he managed to see sense that things are only going to get worse if he stays in this horrible relationship, and that itís going to be so much harder to leave the longer he stays, the longer heís subject to Corbinís manipulations and abusive treatment. I was so relieved that Albus and his family came, and that they confronted Corbin directly.

The ending was so sad, but things are so much better for Scorpius, despite how much pain and misery heís in. Recovery is such a difficult thing for someone whoís been through so much trauma and abuse.

Youíre an amazing writer, Rose.

♥ ♥ ♥

-teh

Author's Response: teh!

I'm so thrilled this resonated with you without having read the associated stories. ♥ I really didn't think it would hit home with people who weren't already invested in the characters. the manipulation and physical abuse was so difficult to write but I'm glad it was powerful to read.

Having Scorpius leave was essential for me. I couldn't write this and leave him there. It is a thing where people have a harder time leaving relationships the longer they're in them. :-/ As much as the relationship wtih Corbin was the worse case scenario but his leaving was an idealized case of leaving with his friends coming for him and all.

thank you so much for a lovely review!!

-rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by teh tarikToo Sexy: For My Love

22nd August 2015:
Hi again, Rose! Happy Baby Shower, by the way!

Holy crap, good lord, Iím in stitches! *sobs with laughter* James and Sirius practising their dance moves to that song?! I love me some humour, and this was just perfect. I would have killed to be right there in your story, with Lily and Peter and Remus, watching those two clowns do their moves. Excellent use of the song, and hilarious Marauders capers!

I know you write a lot of angst, Rose, but Iím really hoping that you write more humour (because I love laughs) and youíre wonderful at it!

-teh

Author's Response: teh!!

:D :D I love that this made you have a fit of giggles. I mean, really. It was one of those "it's funny to me but will other people laugh or just click away??"

I will try at more humor. My mood usually dictates what I write (so get me silly more often and I'll do more humor!)

Thank you so much!!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #24, by teh tarikMorningstar: Watching You Fall

22nd August 2015:
Rose! ♥

Oh goodness, what a beautiful but very tragic story. :( I love Sirius fics, especially Sirius in the Hogwarts Era, and I think youíve done a marvellous job capturing his sense of despair and hopelessness and isolation. Somehow he sees himself as some washed-out figure, past his prime and incomparable to Tonks and her feisty, glowing youth. I felt quite sad at the thought of him watching Remus from afar, not being allowed to cross that gap between them, watching his old love fall in love with another.

ĎYou never were good at rejection but you excel at pretending we never existed.í

^ Ugh, such a painful line! ALL of the Remus/Sirius angst! And yes, I can completely picture Remus doing this. That is so like him. Iíve always found Remusís character a little bit frustrating (sorry, I know youíre a big Remus fan! :P ). Some of the things he does are pretty questionable, and he does sometimes come off as rather self-centred, probably a fixation with his own condition.

The little glance that Sirius catches just before everything erupts into action is wonderfully written. And it really does show the depth of Siriusís love and affection for Remus. The ending paragraph completely broke my heart. To be right at deathís door, and then to look for the one you love mostÖonly to find them looking at another. *CRIES* But his last words are amazingly unselfish. And so beautiful.

This was an absolutely heartbreaking and gorgeous piece, well done!

-teh

Author's Response: teh!!

Sirius is one of my favorite people to write, especially after his time in Azkaban. I think being away from society for so long made him feel more washed out than he would be just having normally gone through 13-15 years after his friends died. Tonks is quite similar to him in my headcanon so it was easy to have him draw a parallel between them.

Remus doesn't handle himself well in these situations. I am a huge fan of his but he has so many faults. He really can't get over his condition and it makes him a bit of a jerk at times (would use stronger language there but... rules).

ah! I die a bit of happiness when you compliment my writing. Just. wow. *dies*

thank you so much for a lovely review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #25, by teh tarikSweetheart Tom: A Single Red Apple

28th July 2015:
Ooh ooh oh SO MUCH MYSTERY I LOVE THIS EVEN MORE NOW

Blaise is...narcissistic. :P I've never seen Blaise written this way before, and his characterisation is amazing, if a bit creepy. And the bit about apples...I have a fascination with apples. I can't get over how beautiful they look as fruit but how sour they can get sometimes, and I love descriptions of apples, and references to apples, whether fairytale or biblical or from other mythologies.

He had always liked apples Ė red and round, hanging from the green branches like little bubbles of poison, sour inside and crunchy

^ This was so creepy! And so brilliant. I'm guessing Blaise is some kind of evil queen figure in your story! Also!! Unless I'm reading wrong, did Blaise just kill his own mother?! And got thrown into prison for it?? It would make sense for Blaise to kill her, because I remember in the books she was supposed to be a very beautiful witch with many husbands, and if Blaise is indeed the Evil Queen figure, then he'd be wanting to be fairest in all the land and all that.

And then he sees Fleur. :P That was such a cliffhangery moment!!

Speaking of FLeur, I'm so intrigued about her missing grandmother. What happened to her? And of course she's attracted to Bill. I love their little breakfast together, and awww, Bill gets up to serve her breakfast. And I laughed a bit at Fleur still feeling angry at Bill for saving her and spilling all her berries. :P And Fleur and Bill starting a fight in the village? LOVE this couple so much as well. I wonder why people wanted to arrest Fleur.

As always, your descriptions are amazing, and your writing really breathed life into the marketplace, and the deserted grandmother's house, and Bill's untidy kitchen. Scenes just jump casually to life when you write them, in so much detail, and you should be so proud of yourself, because that's an amazing skill you have.

Can;t wait for the next chapter, Laura! ♥

-teh

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>