Reading Reviews From Member: teh tarik
  
513 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarikBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Prologue

16th September 2014:
Hey there!

I'm here for the review swap. :)

Wow, what an exciting but very tragic opening scene. Katherine is such an innocent sweetheart, and it hurts a bit to see her world ripped up like that by Rowle. And...is Thorfinn Rowle the killer somehow related to Elizabeth and Katherine? I'm guessing it wouldn't be unlikely, seeing as pureblood families are all interrelated in some way. Maybe Thorfinn is Elizabeth's brother or something, and Katherine's uncle. Just making a few guesses. :)

It's lovely to see the Weasley twins' first day at school. I don't think I've read a fic about their sorting, and it was refreshing to see things through George's POV - normally the twins are so cocky and confident and mischievous and brave that it's hard to imagine them ever feeling afraid of anything. But you captured George's moments of apprehension with the whole sorting process really well. I love the banter between them!

I wondered why I've been followed about by a mirror.

^ These lines capture his character so well! LOVE how witty George is. Also, gah! Angelina Johnson! I'm so glad you included her; I really love her character.

Great chapter! I'm keen to see where this goes, and how Katherine's life will fit in with the twins. Thanks for doing the swap with me! :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarikYear Five: Three Times Charmed

16th September 2014:
Oh, hey, hey! I am BACK with another review for you.

First, yay! Year Five (and you, too!) got a score of Dobby nominations - and you completely deserve all of them! Congratulations! Your fic is absolutely wonderful, honest and very smart in its portrayal of teenagers (you've probably heard this compliment dozens of times, but it really is true!)

OK, I'm so glad we get to see things through Isobel's POV again. I know there's already been one chapter through her POV, but I felt like I didn't know her as well as I know Emily and Tristan, so this chapter was wonderful. So Isobel is a top student and a make-up expert who has some issues with body image. To the point that she feels the need to control her food intake portions. It's a little sad that she would be so insecure about her body, but gah, I remember being a teenager and feeling like I'm in constant warfare with my own body. I think you've handled the issue very well here.

And in contrast to Isobel's fixation with her body image is Laurel, who seems to be a wee bit too addicted to Cheering. It sounds like she's quite psychologically dependent on Cheering now - like she can hardly get through the day without her mind being in an altered state. I can see how she's tiptoeing on the edge of something here; there's a possibility that she be lose herself in a downward spiral anytime. After all, Laurel seems to be the most emotionally volatile of the group.

Hahaha, I'm more in love with Emily than ever. I'm guessing the only Quidditch captain she did not bed is the SLytherin one. Her being a Muggle born and all that. And Tristan going on about the othering of the non-magical world made me laugh. Isobel and Laurel's Hogsmeade trip (no pun intended) was hilarious. Shoplifting and annoying shop owners in general.

OK, in your request you mentioned suggestions on how to improve language. I'm at a bit of a loss here; I'm not sure how to advise you, because I think your language fits the tone and atmosphere of your story perfectly. Your narrative is very crisp and clean, and I don't think you should clutter it too much with too much descriptive prose and all. Though if you really want to look for things to describe, I guess you could include some details on the state of Hogwarts, especially as time passes (and time certainly is passing in your fic). If it makes you feel better, I really love your opening paragraphs! They're descriptive and detailed, and I loved reading about Isobel's careful application of makeup - the swooping cat-eyes and the way she tries to curl her hair. They're all great. You shouldn't worry too much! I think you know your story well, and what it needs.

Well, I adored this chapter! Am definitely coming back for the next one! Lovely writing, dear!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarikKeep Calm and Carry On: Chapter Twenty-Five

13th September 2014:
HELLO!! I'm back. And I really do apologise for my awfully sporadic reviewing, but ugh, I'm not so good with reviewing everything I read anymore. Just...I PROMISE YOU THAT I'M STILL FOLLOWING THE MISADVENTURES OF EDIE LENNOX. ♥

AH. AAH.

I would love some coffee.

*swoons and falls in love with this fic all over again*

OK, gah, so much fluff, and yay! All that Ediver is finally being realised.

Gah, you've written Lisa's wedding so well! All the details from the vineyard to the expensive cheeses etc.I don't think I'd believe it if you say that you've never been to a seaside Italian wedding before. :D I must say I love Lisa in these last two chapters: how collected she is despite it being her wedding day and all (well, until the makeup mishap), and how she keeps plying Edie with drinks because she can't drink herself.

GAH, I'm just going to list all the things I love about these past two chapters.

- Peter Finch-Fletchley blubbering away, arm-in-arm with Edie

- Lobster puffs sound absolutely delicious. ARE THEY EVEN A THING?

- Seamus and Oliver being such great mates and all.

- The revelation that Oliver and Rose are not a thing. And bahaha, that Edie has been an utter idiot all this while. Sometimes I feel like shaking her. Which makes me love her all the more.

- Edie's fantasies. SERIOUSLY. (Very sturdy rafters). Good god.

- ALL OF THE EDIVER. The kissings, the awkward!Edie moments, and drunk!Edie at the end practically DEMANDING that he take her home. For *cough* coffee. Yeah, right.

I think you made a good point with the whole Friendzone message. Edie feeling all uncomfortable and selfish because she's enjoying herself and not thinking about Dean. It's great that you point out that there's absolutely nothing wrong with what she's doing; it's something I was wondering about when I was reading this chapter. Then I got to your A/N and saw your message about the whole issue. It's GREAT that you bring this up; there are so many fics with OCs whose best mates are all guys, who get along with dudes but none of them really address the relationship complexities and issues that can arise with such situations. Hmmm, I wonder how things are going to turn out between Edie and sulky!Dean.

AH OKAY I LOVE THIS CHAPTER. I know you're probably hoping for useful feedback, but I don't really know what to suggest. These chapters are just fabulous! You've developed your characters so, so well, and everything flows beautifully.

Next chapter, please! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarikGone: The Disappearance

13th September 2014:
Hey crestwood!

I'm here for the review swap at last.

What a great idea for a story! The whole fic was incredibly unsettling, but it became even more and more hopeless, and the ending was pretty depressing, but I guess it's a fitting ending for a fic dealing with this subject matter. I think you did a brilliant job getting into Albus's frame of mind. You went through all his emotions: his fondness and sentimentality for Harry and their shared love in Muggle music, his mates in school, especially Scorpius, to his sense of bewilderment and increasing horror when he finds everybody is gone. And the last paragraph, where he's pretty much without hope, and he no longer tries to find out what happened to the world, and instead is resigned that he'll one day go mad. He's almost embracing the thought of madness and losing his mind, and it's easy to see why - it will be a form of escapism from this awful isolation.

Your writing is really good and your first person narrative flows really well. You've maintained a great level of suspense and tension throughout the fic, so even though Albus didn't interact with any other characters, I was still so absorbed in your fic. I really wish I knew what happened, but I guess Albus doesn't care anymore. It's a great choice to use first person POV for this story; I thought you exploited the limitations of this perspective very well.

This was an amazing and very original story! I really enjoyed reading this; thanks for doing a swap with me. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

I certainly was going for unsettling here. You're spot on about Albus' embrace of losing his mind and why; he just wants to find a way out from all of it. Granted, the ending that I originally had planned was a lot more depressing than this one.. I didn't go with it though and instead opted for a graceful fall into insanity kind of thing.

I'm so glad that the tension of the chapter wasn't lost because Albus is the only character. I was nervous with their being no real dialogue or person to person interaction of any sort in this. At first I was going to go with third person, but then I considered that maybe he could write a sort of letter to the aliens or something and this here kind of happened. For some reason, I'm such a fan of ambiguous endings and I thought this derailing Albus would give me a good reason not to explain how happened. I thought if I did explain, it'd end up being underwhelming somehow, so I just didn't.

So happy you enjoyed this, thank you for your incredible compliments! and thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarikMorbid: Cousin Larry

11th September 2014:
Hello!

I'm here with your requested review. :) I'm sorry that it has taken me quite a few days to get to your fic - RL, etc.

I've never seen Teddy Lupin characterised this way before, so bonus points for originality! I love what you've done with his character; I'm so used to seeing a perky, happy-go-lucky Teddy with blue, pink, green, rainbow-coloured hair attracting all the girls and such, so reading about a morbidly artistic Teddy who gate-crashes funerals and talks to Merlin is a wonderful breath of fresh air. It's great that, despite Teddy having a penchant for his own death and its many potential variations, he's not an angsty, brooding teenager/young adult, and that everything he does and says is fairly undramatic and matter-of-fact. And I love that your story has an element of weird in it, at least from this chapter. I always love stories which have a weird twist to them.

You've got a wonderfully striking opening scene, with Teddy completing a picture of himself hanging in an old-fashioned town square. I love that it's an old-fashioned town square! It's such a unique detail to include, and a really vivid one as well. The brief history you gave of Teddy was light and contained just the right level of detail.

You mentioned characterisation as an area of concern in your post, and I must say that you needn't worry at all! As I mentioned earlier, Teddy's characterisation is so strong and memorable. He's morbid but there's a whimsical aspect to his character as well, which I appreciate. Amy is an interesting OC, and Teddy meeting her while gate-crashing a funeral is a most wonderful way of getting to know someone. :) Amy's detachment surprised me a little, and how quick she is to wave away Teddy's offered condolences. They both are similar I guess, in that they're a bit insensitive to death: Amy because she's seen so much of it, and Teddy because the only death he seems to care about is his own, a fixation really. Anyway, I can't wait to see how you'll develop their relationship! Already, there's an interesting dynamic between the two.

And the last section with Merlin caught me by surprise. I'm wondering if it's all a hallucination, but hoping that this Merlin really is Merlin; that would be awesome! Merlin asking Teddy riddles, haha!

If I could offer you some suggestion, I'd say be careful about your use of adverbs. Sometimes, you use too many of them, especially with dialogue tags. Some of them are not really necessary; in fact, some of the dialogue tags can be removed as well, seeing as there are only two speakers in most of the scenes. It would really improve the flow of the narrative, I think.

Anyway, I think you've got a really, really fascinating start, and a very original interpretation of a canon character! I'm so glad you requested, and I really do want to read the next chapter soon! Thank you for requesting. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!

I think I ultimately choose Teddy Lupin for this story because, like you said, he's so often portrayed as that bubbly, wildly popular personality. I thought this would create some interesting juxtaposition with people's expectations. And I definitely did not want Teddy to be a depressed person in any way. I wanted him to be a very outwardly normal person, who just happened to be obsessed with his own death, among other things that set him apart.

The opening scene was the first way I thought to illustrate quickly and memorably that Teddy has this obsession. I didn't want to just say it and I'm so glad that it worked the way I intended it to!

It's super important to me that Teddy and Amy seem to work off of each other well! They do have their similarities and you really are spot on about why they both are so indifferent. Although, there's still some surprises to come, in that department.

I do very much enjoy my scenes with Merlin. He's such a fun character to write because people's reactions to him are SUPER varied.

About the adverbs thing, I actually went back and re-read this chapter and I really see what you mean. I could spruce up the way I write dialogue, especially in large bunches. Thank you so much for pointing that out! I don't know if I ever would have noticed otherwise.

Thank you for this review! You really understood everything I was trying to do here. I really appreciate all of your compliments and especially the CC on the dialogue! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarikThe Place That Will Never Be Dark: Prologue

7th September 2014:
Hey Maggie!

I'm here with your requested review! Ah, I can't say how pleased I am to read a Founders, especially one that's written by you! :) You write this era so, so well: the language, the details of setting, the atmosphere, everything.

I love this opening chapter of yours; I know it's short, and that's possibly why you feel a bit insecure about this, as per your post in my review thread, but I can assure you that this was written brilliantly, and that you've created a wonderful atmosphere of tension and mystery and drama. Using the seer was an excellent choice of opening, and it really set this whole foreboding mood to the story. I love the contrasts between the Founders, from Godric's open belief in the seer's words, to Rowena's open scepticism, which seems to be spreading to Helga, and finally, Salazar's unreadability. Somehow, I feel the seer might know more than what she lets on, and she might possibly know something about Salazar, about the rift that grows between him and the other three founders?

I love your prose. It's clean and clear and direct, there's a sparseness that's refreshing, as Founders fic are usually more elaborate in their prose and descriptive detail. But still, at times there are some beautifully poetic moments in this chapter, e.g. when the Seer speaks: A garden snake. A ship gliding over the sea. A young boy weeping. And wand combat, particularly by you, Lord Gryffindor. These are such striking images.

And to answer your question, this definitely draws me in! I'd love to read more. Despite this very brief chapter, you've provided enough detail to make the characters intriguing and fascinating, and I can't wait to see how you develop them over the course of the story!

Lovely beginning, Maggie! Thanks for requesting and I do hope you'll update this soon. :)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarikInvincible: Chapter the First and the Last

7th September 2014:
Hey there! I love fics which focus on Sirius from a non-romantic angle, so I just had to stop by and read this. And this is such a good story. Very short, but very compactly written, especially Part Two. I'm guessing that the sin you're referring to in your A/N is pride? I love the last words, in brackets, after all that tense narrative, and how it reinforces the whole 'pride comes before a fall' saying. It's so incredibly tragic. :( I absolutely loved how you wrote the duel between him and Bella; I'm always on the lookout for fics which involve this particular moment of Sirius's life, the last few minutes before he falls through the veil. And I think you've done an excellent job writing this, conveying the entirety of Sirius's life, all his recklessness and brilliance, and his growing insensitivity toward death, before the final fall. Lovely writing!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarikTales of the Death Hunters: Shades of Anger: Fury

6th September 2014:
Hey Dan!!

I've seized the moment to catch up with the last part of your fantastic fic. First, I must say that Jugson is officially my most hated character in the entirety of HPFF, possibly in all the fanfic that I've ever read. What an absolute monster. It's bad enough that we found out what he did to poor Teresa and Donny in the last chapter, but now, seeing Teresa's memories of her whole traumatic ordeal was just horrifying. I don't think I ever flinched this much reading fic. I thought you did a brilliant job interspersing those recollections with the main narrative, by the way. Especially with how Teresa's memories suddenly transition into Harry's own memories, or his own imaginings of his past and Hermione being tortured by Bellatrix etc. It's easy to see how full of rage and determination Harry is; the whole thing really is personal for him. I really like how you've shown that Harry's awful past is inextricable from the work he's doing now, to the point of incapacitating his rational thinking. It's a good job he's got the others backing him up and being so absolutely loyal to him.

The way you evoked the pureblood mansion was fantastic. The whole house seemed alive and malevolent, with the attacking furniture and the false doors and stairs, and how the house actively fights against the Aurors' magic. The house itself is like a second, lesser enemy, which Harry and co. must fight in order to get to Jugson. And another thing that I really loved was your idea about the Cloak's abilities becoming even greater for Harry, providing him with a greater degree of protection, ever since he became the master of the Deathly Hallows. I wonder what the Wand and the Stone would be like now...but of course Harry will hardly care to find out.

Anyway, the final scene between Harry and Jugson was so exciting and goodness, everything was so fast-paced and breathless. Jugson disguising himself with an illusion of Ron caught me by surprise, but Harry dealt with that in a brilliant way. And, I guess Jugson got his comeuppance, sort of, getting boiled in a sphere of bathwater. You're incredibly creative coming up with all these diverse hexes and spells and jinxes; it's great seeing what you do with Rowling's canon magic, and how much you add to this.

I just loved Harry in this. And the last scene with Ginny was a fitting conclusion for the whole fic. HArry probably needs some time off. But I'm guessing not for very long, because this is just the first instalment of your series?

This is an absolutely brilliant fic, Dan! And this chapter was wonderfully tense with a firecracker of an ending. I've enjoyed following this fic, and if you're planning on writing more of this series, well I'll be waiting! Amazing work. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi, teh!

Sometimes I'm worried that I've gotten myself into a pickle when it comes to villains. Lady Tenabra was a cold, calculating, ruthless sort of villain and Jeremy Gamp was a homicidal lunatic. Now we have Jugson, who's pretty much a monster. Where do I go from here? Maybe my next villain will develop a Cruciatus Death Ray that's powered by baby kittens...

I thought it was really interesting that you interpreted portions of Harry's "visions" as Teresa's memories. Honestly, I didn't think too much about how they should be interpreted. I just thought they made a good backdrop for the rest of the story. You could also consider them Harry's thoughts on how Jugson found Teresa and how the horrors of her captivity played out. The essential part is what you touched on: each of them ties neatly into a situation from Harry's own past.

The descriptions of the pureblood mansion weren't actually planned. That sort of happened as I was writing, but I felt really pleased with it when I was done. I hope that it created a scene of a very old, creepy haunted house, where everything you touch is potentially dangerous.

I also fell in love with the idea that the cloak would have changed after Harry became -- however briefly -- Master of Death. I never really liked the idea that you had this incredibly powerful magical object, yet something as mundane as Moody's magical eye could see through it. Or detect it somehow. Whatever the mechanism, that struck me as being rather weak compared to the amazing legacy of the cloak. So whether you want to interpret it as the cloak performing better for its true master or the cloak performing better because Harry himself was more powerful, I just thought it was fitting to eliminate those weaknesses.

I'm glad the pacing of the final confrontation worked for you. I was worried it was a little too fast. Jugson maybe could have gotten away with his ruse if he knew the difference between Ron and Justin, but he didn't. He chose incorrectly and Harry realized it was him. The sphere of bathwater was inspired by the spells Dumbledore tries to use against Voldemort in the movie version of Order of the Phoenix. I also liked the way that Harry uses water after Jugson uses fire against Susan.

Harry definitely needed some time for introspection after this story. I'm not sure where this particular plot arc will go. I wasn't planning Tales of the Death Hunters as a sequential series. I might hop around in the timeline. We'll see...

I'm really, really pleased that you liked it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarikEverto Trucido: The Trial

5th September 2014:
Hello Rumpel! Goodness, I'm sorry it's taken me so long to review your story for our swap! Especially after you've left me such a long and infinitely lovely review - thank you so much!

And what can I say about this story of yours, except I'm hooked. I love AU, and I've seen this story around, and I'm kicking myself a bit for not having read it until now. BUT that means I've got something to read in the days/weeks to come. Also, dead characters coming back to life? Check. Possible conversation with Death, a character? YES.

Grace is absolutely amazing and so intriguing as the main character, from her bloodied-up appearance, and her memory-modifying ability, and the fact that she insists on modifying the memories of the freaking Wizengamot (I hope I read that part right!). And she's friends with Dumbledore and Shacklebolt as well. As well as being James's sister, and possibly has a daughter with Severus? Clearly, there's a LOT of background information with the characters and their relationships with each other, but I think you made a very wise choice not to spill all that info right here in the first chapter, and avoid huge clunky info dumps. Also, now I must definitely read on to find out what happened. How did these dead people come back to life. And which ones never died (Regulus?!?) What did Grace offer Death in return. I'm so intrigued to find out how you've altered canon characters!

I'm so so excited for the rest of this story; I've favourited it and though it will take me some time to get through the chapters, I will definitely be reading on! Yay! Thanks so much for the swap, Rumpel! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #10, by teh tarikPainting Over: Painting Over

4th September 2014:
Hiya Meena! ♥

I'm here for our review swap. Yay! Oh goodness, this was so sad! :( And...you've made me see Rita Skeeter in a whole new different way. As an incredibly tragic character, in fact. Oh dear, oh dear. I'm not sure where to start. Rita describing her past as 'barbed wire and pain'. SUCH a great line! I love how you've written the excessive care and attention with her nail-painting. I'm imagining her being exceedingly meticulous and fussy with her nails, to the point of being trivial, just to fill that gap, that emptiness in her life.

Poor Rita and her lost child. :( Some folks recover and gradually learn to live with their grief in a gentler manner but not Rita. Nooo, Rita is ferocious and vindictive in her grief, and she takes it out on others. Man, she's a powerful woman when it comes to writing and she ain't afraid to (ab)use her powers. It's so Rita, and you're absolutely on target with her characterisation.

I'm so curious about that mutant gene. It sounds terrible, though.

You've got a lovely but incredibly sad story here, my dear! This just tore me up a bit inside, but your writing is so very good, and you've done a marvellous examination and exploration of Rita's character so well done! AND YOU ARE FABULOUS. :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarikAnd Just Like That: Chapter 1

2nd September 2014:
Hello there! :)

I'm here with your requested review. Ah, I'm so pleased you requested this! I love AU situations, especially for popular characters (popular in the sense that there's a lot of fic about them). I must confess that I actually saw this story on the Recently Added some days ago, but was turned off by the formatting, mainly the large spaces between paragraphs, and so never really got down to reading it, until now that is. It's something that you might want to consider: fixing the formatting so your story appears tidier and there's less scrolling down to be done. :)

Now to the actual story. OK, I think you've got an absolutely brilliant first chapter here. When I got to the end, I was really surprised when I read your end notes and discovered that this is in fact a WIP, and that there is more to come. This chapter feels so complete as it is, maybe because of what we already know from canon, but also because your characterisations are so detailed; the characters are so well-thought out and convincing in their developments. The one thing I like about AU fic, which extract canon characters out of the Potterverse and put them into completely different universes, is how the different situations examine the same conflicts faced by them in their original settings. There's no magic and no Voldemort and no pureblood prejudice here, but there are other ugly things like institutionalised misogyny, which is something Lily faces in her workplace.

I must say, Severus's portrayal, unlikable as he is, is brilliant. The friendship between him and Lily: no doubt he sees her as his best friend, but their friendship is a rather empty one that offers very little comfort for Lily. Severus is insensitive, or rather he's completely unable to empathise with her situation. You wrote the interactions between Lily and Severus with such preciseness, and everything feels absolutely true to canon despite the vastly different situations. The scene with James and Sirius taunting him and Remus watching on and Peter sniggering by the dishes was so tense and horrifying, and I definitely felt sympathy for Severus and quite a strong dislike toward the other three. Sirius tugging down Severus's underpants as well as Severus grabbing the knife made my mouth drop open a bit, but of course, the whole thing just makes sense. Its a brilliant AU translation of the whole canon fifth year Marauder scene.

I also really enjoyed the way you develop Lily and James's relationship. It's not all loud and full of flair, as they're portrayed in a whole load of fics; it's more a quiet, comforting affair of work breaks and companionable silences. And yeah, I think a quiet relationship like this is what Lily needs. I'm keen to see how you further develop these two. :)

You asked about the writing style, if it was too sparse, boring etc. I can assure you that it is not. It's to the point and precise, and there are occasional details splashed in here and there to give the reader sufficient glimpses of the setting and context of the story. I don't actually think your writing is that sparse; I think everything's beautifully balanced, and you write great dialogue. Flow is all good as well.

As for your use of 'And just like that', I understand that the repetition is intended, and the phrase is also the title of the story. I think it's a good phrase to repeat, and it establishes a sort of pattern throughout your story. I notice that you use this phrase mostly as a summary statement of Lily's feelings/reactions. (e.g. And just like that, her blood is boiling etc. Or And just like that she's feeling the frustration...etc.). Sometimes, though, I feel that the phrase is such a strong declarative one, that the rest of the statement following the phrase kind of lacks the impact. It doesn't follow up with the strength and imperativeness of the 'and just like that' at the beginning of the sentence.

E.g. James grins when he shrugs. And just like that, she finds herself relaxing a bit for some reason, but then the realization hits her.

^ with this sentence, I feel that the "she finds herself relaxing a bit etc." is quite a weak follow-up to the first part of the sentence. I don't know; I guess the phrase sort of sets things up for something stronger. You might want to go back through all the instances in which you've used the phrase and make sure that their use in that particular place is absolutely necessary. I'm having a little trouble explaining eep. But I hope you understand what I'm saying. Sometimes the phrase works, other times it falls a bit flat.

Anyway, it's up to you, really. :D I think you've got a brilliant story here, very fresh and original, which is kind of surprising given that these are the Marauders and Lily and Snape, and I really appreciate how you've given such a fresh spin to a story that's been written and rewritten over and over. Thank you for requesting, and I hope you update soon! I'd love to read on. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Sorry for the delayed response! I just got back to school and I'm getting settled in and organized with friends and classes.

AUs are something that I used to have no interest in but now they're my favorite genre for fanfiction; I'm glad that someone else loves them just as much as I do! I admit that the formatting was bothering me as well and it has been fixed! I think the chapter was validated a few hours after you left this review, and it's not spaced completely to my liking but it's better than it was. I'll probably go in and tweak it more this weekend.

But thank you so so so much for your kind words!!! You completely understood everything that I was going for in this AU and I really love your oneshot, Growth, so this is really exciting for me!!! (Sorry to fangirl haha)

The original plan was for this story to be a oneshot (which is why the end of the chapter feels like, well, an ending) but I showed this to some people before posting it here and they wanted me to extend it. So that's what I'm doing! And I don't want to commit to a big multi-chapter fic so it's going to be about six parts and things will be a bit condensed as a result. Hopefully, though, it won't feel too rushed.

And ah thank you James and Lily are my OTP so I'm glad to have done their relationship justice! I dislike the idea that their getting together was this big, dramatic happening and I wanted it to feel easy and natural to them (because they're soul mates and they belong together jklsadjsalkdjasldf). But even with their story being condensed in future chapters, I hope you still like their development.

And I can see exactly what you mean about the "and just like that"s; I'll have to go back and edit the ones that don't throw as much of a punch. Thank you for pointing that out!

Your feedback really means so so much to me so I really appreciate you taking the time to read and give me this wonderful feedback! Once I update, if you come to read more, I hope you continue to enjoy it!

~Jess :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarikYear Five: Loose Lips

31st August 2014:
Hey hey!

Ah, I've been wanting to get back to this story and read about the Hex Heads with all their teen angst and ganja smoke since like, forever! So yay! And hello again, Tristan. I love how downbeat and downtrodden and downcast you've written him, and what a complete contrast he is to cheerful Emily Sunshine Madley (I can't get over her brilliant name :P ). Interactions between her and Tristan are so amusing to read about, how Emily gets a tad impatient and almost indignant whenever Tristan is feeling so miserable with himself. He's such an individualistic and non-conformist character, and I appreciate how much trouble you took to researching the type of wand he should wield in order to have some match with his personality.

One of my favourite things was seeing him hex Wood. Wow, Wood is such a jerk. :P Definitely a very refreshing portrayal of Wood! You've accentuated some of his worst characteristics, which are only very briefly touched upon in the books (e.g. his Quidditch mania, bullishness and loudness etc.) and I really love this angle of his portrayal! And I was a bit startled to see him and his other Gryffindor mates threaten Tristan, who's all by his lonesome. They're such a contrast to Fred and George.

Speaking of Fred and George, am loving the way they pop up here and there, spliffing away with the Hex Heads time to time. They're kind of like news-bringers from other parts of the school, especially since these Hex Heads are so absorbed in their own selves and their own mind altering activities to care too much about other things going on in school.

And I love Tristan's Loose LIps jinx by the way. That would have been hilarious to see!

I'm wondering about Laurel and Isobel, though. There's something clearly going on with Laurel. Isobel was hardly present in this chapter; I don't know how difficult it is to ensure the characters maintain strong individual presences and characterisation each time they appear as a group, especially since these are all OCs, but I think sometimes characters can get overshadowed? Generally, though, you do a great job at writing and depicting your OCs as unique individual characters!

Great chapter; I'll be on to the next one soon!

-teh

Author's Response: OH MAN, the research. I also did the Myers-Briggs types for each of them, and figured out what day of the week they were all born on (SO disappointed that Tristan wasn't a Wednesday, as in "Wednesday's child is full of woe" from the Nursery Rhyme). BUT, Emily was "born on the Sabbath day"--making her "bonnie and blithe and good and gay." Score 1!

I'm definitely no Wood hater, but YES--I figured those qualities alluded to in canon would definitely bristle Tristan. And as a Gryffindor, no shade, BUT the characteristics for every House ('cept maybe Hufflepuff) could be either bad or good. So Slytherin doesn't *have* to be evil, just like Gryffs might totally be loudmouthed and needlessly aggressive. Gryffindor was so glamorized in canon, I definitely wanted to look at it another way.

AH! The twins--I really like that analysis actually. I sort of went to High School with a guy like that. He always knew what was going on, and had managed to steal keys to EVERY room. Plus, he had a similar sense of humor. Now that I think about it--I WENT TO HIGH SCHOOL WITH FRED WEASLEY. This TOTALLY supports my "the twins would definitely smoke spliff" claim, as that guy for sure did!!!

Laurel and Isobel will each have their hour. Over the course of the story, the characters take turns getting pulled up to the front, at other times, they are definitely over-shadowed. Or at least, I was going for that--definitely let me know how you think I balance them all out over the course of the story!

XOXOXOXO
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarikAurora and Boreas: the world suddenly turns colour

30th August 2014:
Hello Susan,

So about half a year ago you requested a review from me in my thread. o.O And I'm trying to get back into reviewing properly, so here I am at last. I'm so sorry for how long this has taken!

But I'm so so glad I had the opportunity to read this. It's been some time since I read anything of yours, and I've missed your gorgeous writing. This fic is no exception from your usual (and very high) standard. It's a beautifully vivid and descriptive piece, the narrative is very detailed and meticulous, and the characters ring true to canon.

I thought this was a very refreshing take on a popular ship; taking both Lily and James out of the usual Hogwarts setting and placing them in somewhere completely unexpected, such as a snowy mountain peak, was a brilliant decision. I love your contrasts here: how small Lily and James are, surrounded by towering mountains and a breathlessly vast sky, but instead of them both being reduced to insignificance, they're magnified by the aurora borealis phenomenon, and by their own sense of wonder. This is quite possibly one of my favourite things about this story: the imagery and the lovely colours aren't just flat dead scenery; they're meaningful to the characters; the imagery is worked into the characterisation, and James sees Lily reflected into all that cosmic grandeur, or perhaps it's the other way round.

In your request you mentioned that you'd never before written a happier-type story from a male POV. Well, I don't think you have anything to worry about. You write fluff pretty well, and in a very sensible and convincing manner, too. Setting James in an environment where he isn't initially at ease with was a great choice because it sort of opened him up, and his sense of awe of both the aurora borealis and of Lily showed a childlike side to his characterisation, an innocence which I think most people overlook in their haste to portray James as the loud conceited hero type. And I love the references to both Remus and Sirius here; of course they would follow him wherever he went - at least in his thoughts. The way he thinks about them (especially Remus) suggests a kindness and a very wholesome goodness in his character, and I'm so glad you've explored this angle of his character.

I also love how you've portrayed Lily, though we see her only through James's eyes of course. She transforms from this girl with carroty braids to something that's almost mythical in James's eyes, and I like to think that it's because she's so in tune with her environment; there's a sense of fearlessness about her, something which James admires very much, and of course with all the greatness and the external beauty of the skies somehow mirrors Lily's own inner light.

I think I'm beginning to repeat myself :P So I'm just going to finish this and say that this is an absolutely fabulous story, Susan! Again, I'm sorry I took so long to get round to reading this, but I'm ever so glad I did. Thank you for requesting! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarikRule Breaker: The Sorting Hat's Warning

29th August 2014:
Hello again, Emily!

I'm here with the second of your two prize reviews. :)

Wow, what a chapter! It was very evenly paced; there were moments with tension (e.g. the opening scene with Harry and Ron and Malfoy), and calmer moments (e.g. Hermione bringing in the first years to Hagrid), and I think you maintained a great balance between these.

I think your characterisations are very believable, and true to canon. The animosity displayed between Harry and Ron and Draco all ring true. And my, my, Draco is unpleasant, isn't he? In the carriage with Hermione, especially. I think you're writing their relationship very realistically, and without rushing things. The encounter between both of them in the carriage is certainly prickly and rather hostile, and I'm gald Hermione used her Head Girl powers to defend herself. Draco drawing his wand at her seemed rather extreme, but it's great to see that Hermione can deal with this without losing her cool or retaliating in an equally hostile manner. I guess that's why she's been picked as Head Girl!

I love the Sorting Hat song that you wrote! Wow, your rhymes are wonderful, and there's a lovely rhythm to it! And the verses do have the right amount of tension and ominousness in them; after all, there is a full-blown war going on beyond the walls of Hogwarts. You're such a talented poet, by the way! I must say, the fifth stanza (the one about SLytherin house) is my favourite part of the poem!

I also love reading Sorting Ceremonies in fanfic! I think you wrote the entire Sorting scene wonderfully!

This was an absolutely fantastic chapter, Emily! I really enjoyed reading this. When I find myself with a bit more free time in the future, I'll definitely swing by again and read the rest of your fic. It'll take me some time, but I'll be back here soon enough!

Great work! And congrats (for winning the challenge, as well as completing this novel!!)!

-teh

Author's Response: Hi again, teh!

Thanks for another great review! I'm so glad that you liked the chapter and felt that it was well-balanced. Your compliments on the characterization mean so much to me! I'm so happy that you liked everyone! And that Hat song! Oh my gosh, to this day (five years later!), I'm still proud of that song! I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks again for all your comments and compliments. I'm so happy that you liked the chapter!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarikRule Breaker: A Predictable Appointment

29th August 2014:
Hello Emily!

I'm here with the first of your two prize reviews! :D Uh, in case you don't remember, or are not sure what I'm on about, aaages ago you participated in the Crack!Ship & Rarepair Challenge and won third place, with a prize of two reviews. I am so sorry how long it has taken me to get round to reviewing! Congratulations again for winning! :)

So I've seen you promote this fic of yours very often on the forums, and I'm glad I finally got the chance to read this! I enjoy AU, and other alternative interpretations to canon events, so I think I'm going to enjoy reading about Hermione's final year at school very much. I love how you've started off the story with so much detail from Hermione's POV.

The flashback was really well-written, and I think you did a great job capturing Hermione's elation and excitement at being appointed Head Girl. And I like the idea of McGonagall creating the shared dorm for the Head Boy and Head Girl, for the sake of promoting house unity. I heard that shared dorms are a bit of a cliche in HP fic, so I think you've done great work developing this idea and making it more believable, and less of a cliche.

Haha, I guess this means Hermione will be sharing a dorm with Theodore Nott? Nott sounds like he's full of apathy. It doesn't sound like he even cares that he's Head Boy of the school. He's an interesting choice, and I can't wait to see how you'll develop things between Head Boy and Head Girl, and how they'll work together.

I love that you haven't forgotten Harry and Ron here, despite this being a Dramione. Harry and Ron telling Hermione she was becoming pompous like Percy must have been deflated her a little. Aww, poor Hermione! :P They should let her enjoy her time as Head Girl before term begins officially; pretty soon she'll be swamped with work, I think.

Oh, and Malfoy is back, I see. I love his entrance, and that snarky comment about Nott not having his charisma and whatnot. Snarky!Malfoy is always so fun to read. I can't wait to see how your Dramione ship will develop!

This was a lovely chapter, Emily! Great work. :D I'll be back for the next one!

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to reply to you! I got wrapped up in school and writing the epilogue and somehow it slipped my mind. Anyhow: thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you liked this first chapter! I was really unsure about doing a flashback, but I'm really happy that you think it worked. Shared dorms are TOTALLY a cliche! I really wanted to work with some of those cliches, though, and try to develop them into something different. I'm glad you think it seems believable. And I'm so glad you liked that Harry and Ron are in this! I really wanted to include them, even though I find them incredibly difficult to write for. Draco's entrance is my favorite part of this chapter. I really wanted him to have a ZING moment! :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing and for all your comments! I really appreciate them!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarikMottled Blue: One murderer.

24th August 2014:
Hello again, Kiana!

I'm here with the fifth and last of your five prize reviews! And it's so fitting that this is also the last chapter of this fantastic story of yours.

Fantastic and very VERY TWISTED. o.O So it was Lavender Brown after all. And Lavender really did see and embrace that connection between herself and her attacker and sought to continue inflicting her pain of her condition on others. Waah, how about you just write the twisted prequel to this story, a Lavender Brown/Fenrir Greyback fic! :P That would be so so so so creepy and awful and terrifying.

I love how you opened up the chapter with all the banging about, and Lily thinking she's on the threshold of death, and recognising her fear of death. The moment makes her especially vulnerable, which is great, because vulnerability is not something we've seen too much with Lily being all closed-off to everyone else. Victoire being alive was definitely a bit of a plot twist; I certainly thought she'd died.

My favourite section has got to be this part:

You throw your arms out with a flourish as you announce, but then you feel something slip away. Something slip far, far away. You fear it's nature coming to get back at you. Youíve taken its power, its magic, and now itís taking your life. This is its first move against you. Youíre slipping away.

^ This is amazing writing. The way you so smoothly and subtly write this, describing how Lavender let go of Victoire in an almost dreamlike move. Your writing seems to get better the more I read your stuff, especially your later works, and seriously, you're so fabulous and the rate your writing is changing and improving is so unreal.

Anyway. I was wondering what Lily would actually do once she confronted the murderer. It was never mentioned that she was very good with duelling or stuff like that, and she's not an Auror or anything. But yeah, I thought Lavender walking off the building was a very fitting end to her story.

You walk to the edge of the building and carry on when it ends.

MORE AMAZING LINES.

Also, the bit of backstory and development you gave to Lavender in her last few moments of life were wonderful. It really opened her character up, revealed her as a twisted, scarred human, war damage. Your description of her marred face was awful. And so horribly vivid. And I shuddered a bit, thinking of what she must have done to poor Victoire with her jagged stump of a nail. Argh.

The whole rooftop scene on St Mungo's reminded me of Sherlock! Especially the Season 2 finale confrontation between Sherlock and Moriarty on the roof of St Bart's hospital. Were you somehow influenced by that? All the references to 'the game' made by Lavender, and Lavender taking her own life, and Lily trying to crack Lavender...also, I mentioned in an earlier review that Lily is like Sherlock in terms of her sense of detachment and insentitivity and inability to connect with 'living people'. I definitely do see the parallels between the characters, and I think it's really unique to portray Lily in this way.

This has been an absolutely fantastic fic, Kiana! I'm so glad I had the chance to read this. ♥

-teh

PS. I see you've got a Helena story in the works? MUST READ SOON ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by teh tarikMottled Blue: One funeral.

24th August 2014:
Great to see that Albus has joined Lily in the race to solve the mystery before Lily's time expires and the murderer catches up with her. Lily's bluntness is amusing. I still find her a bit creepy, haha. But a lot less creepy now that she's actually working with someone, interacting with Albus on a fairly normal level.

Victoire is a huge mystery. I can't work out how she fits into this, but something must have happened with her and Rose over that Christmas during which they disagreed...and if I remember correctly, you mentioned a Molly and Rose disagreement as well. THERE ARE SO MANY THINGS TO CONSIDER HOW THE DEVIL ARE YOU GOING TO WRAP EVERYTHING UP IN ONE CHAPTER.

I still think the murderer's POV sections fit Lavender Brown.

All you know is that you can never be her, the great victory prize, the great beauty of the new era. You're a reminder of the damaged goods of the war, the failures.

That's why he chose you, to make you an equal, as ugly as he.

Soon your family will be as scarred as me. Soon you will learn how the great battle was far from it for some. Soon you will learn that forgetting those you once knew isnít wise. Soon you will learn that love will carry on burning no matter what.

^ Beauty, scars, tormented love...it all sort of screams Lavender to me. BUT MAYBE YOU'RE LEADING ME ASTRAY? Maybe you want us all to think it's Lavender...and it's actually...someone else?

And Hugo doesn't even notice the murderer's presence when they slipped in the poison into his drink...so...someone who's fairly close to the Weasleys, to Hugo maybe?

I shall find out right now. :P

-teh

 Report Review

Review #18, by teh tarikMottled Blue: One ally.

24th August 2014:
...flailing so much that I can't even be bothered immersing myself in deep thought so I can come up with a decent theory. So I just read your other reviewers' comments for this chapter. :P Oops, oh dear, I cheated. The idea of Lavender Brown being the killer seems to fit, at least right now.

Twisting your amulet around in your fingers you look up at the sky, your guide for everything.

^ This could possibly be a reference to Divination, or starcharts and reading the stars etc. And Lavender's a big Divination fan as far as I remember.

You haven't used a wand since it happened. You saw what he did to you without one and you knew.

^ This could be a reference to how Fenrir Greyback maimed her terribly without a wand, but with his teeth and claws and whatever. And OMG, how creepy is this, that Lavender (if it indeed is her) discovers an affinity for the vicious brute who tried to kill her and begins to imitate him and become a cold-blooded murderer. LAKJSLKFAS

Looking up at the moon, the silvery orb, you see its fullness. Its power. The twenty-ninth day in the lunar calendar is today. The night of the lone wolf.

^ Lavender developing wolfish tendencies after Fenrir's assault?

And Lavender would have a grudge on Ron and Hermione after sixth year and all that?

BUT Hugo mentioned that Rose was digging up a lot of stuff about Harry. And why would the killer (if it was Lavender) want to target Lily? Harry didn't have much to do with her, did he? Or maybe LavLav is slighted by that, I dunno.

OK, now to comment on the rest of the chapter.

Hugo's death was horrible. :( I love how you described his house and the state of mess it was in, the clutter, the slashed pages - they really do reveal his sense of desperation, and I can see that his last few days of life were terror-filled. It's an awful thought. And then to die so suddenly like that. And what's even creepier is Lily herself, who despite doing her best to save Hugo, she's still alienated from him.

The one person she sort of likes other than Albus. Not now. Not when he's telling her about Rose and what she might have known. Not when she might be able to stop this.

^ I find these lines so chilling. That Hugo is dying, and all Lily is thinking is how close she is to solving that puzzle. o.O And at the end of that section, the way you've written it: Hugo ceases to live. is just so cold and matter-of-fact.

I love your descriptive writing here. It's quick and to-the-point and yet vivid in some places, and it really gives your story a brisk pace.

I must say, the murderer's POV had supernatural references in it, and I LOVED them. This is opening up a new dimension in your story, possibly?

Next chapter!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #19, by teh tarikMottled Blue: One golden trio.

24th August 2014:
Ooh, ooh, ooh. THAT LAST SECTION was unbearably mysterious. So...the murder has something to do with The Golden Trio, directly. Harry, Ron, Hermione? OR SOMETHING ELSE? Is the murderer killing The Golden Trio's kids? And the murderer just sent Lily Potter a mysterious letter of some sort? WHAT IS GOING ON. I'm so confused but intrigued. Bah, I'm cursing your brilliant use of second person POV because it adds so much mystery and I must know right away who's next and what is this killer's motive and so on.

Lily's oddly unmoved by the death of her cousin. The only thing she can feel is sadness for the rest of the family, not for herself.

^ I'm loving how Lily's character is developing. I thought that things would become very personal for her upon discovering that her cousin Rose was the victim...and the case has indeed become personal for her, but not in the way I anticipated. I love that you gave her a sense of detachment from Rose, because Rose isn't a person anymore, but a case, a puzzle. She doesn't even feel too sorry for Rose, but most of her sympathy is directed toward Ron and Hermione and other family. I dunno, Lily is very calculating and certainly detached in a way, and I think she'll make a brilliant match for the murderer. Unless, of course, there's some massive plot twist where the murderer turns out to be her. :P Or some split personality of her...

I'm probably taking things too far.

MUST READ ON! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Whoo for mystery!!! Oooh, good clue, and yes it does have something to do with the Golden Trio, but the link is what I have to remain silent about otherwise I'll be giving far too much away :P I'm so, so sorry about your confusion but that's a lot better than you knowing everything already which would kinda suck! I'm glad that you like the killer's pov as it was far too much fun to right and now I'm considering whether I'm sadistic or not as I felt like me and the killer connected a little too much for my liking!

I'm glad you're liking Lily as I think she's been my favourite person to write because a. she's like Sherlock and Sherlock is cool and b. she's just so cray cray you can do anything with her. Bahaha, I think with Lily she always thought Rose was a disappointment and never fulfilled her potential so she obviously doesn't think the world has lost much by her death if that makes sense. Hm, interesting guesses and theories but you shall have to see!

Thanks for an ahmazing review teh! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarikThe Fourth Daughter: The Challenge

24th August 2014:
Hello Cassie!

After a long time, I'm finally back to read your latest chapter. :D And such a wonderful chapter this is! It starts off with that awful, tense dinner scene with the family, and that the lovely warm, fluffy Christmassy scene with Mistress Helga, and it got way more intense toward the end! I love Mistress Helga more than ever; the girls really, really need her - right now she's the only spark of brightness in their dreary lives. The Christmas decorating was absolutely wonderful, and the cookies and cocoa...gah!

And waah, this is where your fic starts to tie in with the twelve dancing princesses' fairytale, espcially with the challenge issued by the king. I love that we get to see the princesses' opinions about the whole challenge, or at least Dezzy's. In the original fairytale, there's none of this; the princesses are just dolls - ethereal and beautiful and silent. But I love that Dezzy is able to feel outrage at her father's decision.

AND DEZZY CONFESSED HER LOVE FOR GODRIC ASLKDJ;LDFKS;L Sorry, these two are the sweetest. And FINALLY. Why did you just stop there, Cassie!? :P Ah, that was absolutely gorgeous. Now you've got to update soon! I want to read more Dezzy/Godric!

I really enjoyed this chapter, Cassie! Lovely writing as usual! Hoping to see a new chapter soon. :)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #21, by teh tarikMottled Blue: One body.

23rd August 2014:
Hey Kiana!

I'm here with your first of five prize reviews! Er...in case you've got no idea what I'm talking about, this is from the crack!ship challenge which you won approximately two millenia ago. I'm sorry for being so terrible with this. o.O

OOH a murder mystery! And gah, what a beginning! I've never come across one opening with the murderer's POV written in second person. I love it already. Your descriptions were so...creepy, and the images of dripping blood and clumped hair and all were so vivid. And hmmm, so the murderer is someone insecure, someone who thinks that others don't believe in their abilities...I'm going to keep an eye out for insecure people in your fic. :P

I love the idea of Lily as a pathologist! A morbid job indeed.

The thing in front of her is no longer a human but a case, a piece in the puzzle, and sheís the one who puts it all together to figure out the cause of death. It's not harsh, it's mathematical almost, and if she wants to avoid any incidents of her body fluids contaminating the corpse, she has to carry on with referring to it in that way.

^ Love these lines! She sounds like Sherlock here.

And gah, Rose Weasley is the victim? I'm guessing that things have just got a whole lot more personal for Lily, and she'll be a lot more invested in this case. Poor dead Rose. :(

Such a chilling and brilliant opening chapter, Kiana! I'm off to read the next one. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

It's fine, and I have taken age responding to this so yeah I'm terrible too!

Oooh yes it is, I'm glad you liked it as it was a really fun twist to do as I could explore the psychology of a killer a lot more which turned out to be really fun albeit a bit worrying given how much I enjoyed it :P

Yes, yes, yes, she is very morbid and does love her job way too much! Ha, I guess you could call her the female version of Sherlock too so whoo for that!

Yes, it is her, and it's going to get very, very, very personal!

Thanks for such a fab review teh, and sorry for the lateness! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #22, by teh tarikOne Blaze of Glory: I Can't Control My Destiny

19th August 2014:
Hello again, Georgia!

I'm back with the last of your four prize reviews. :) (Never fear, I shall continue to read your amazing story at my own pace! I really love your characters and the whole concept of this!).

Of course, this being a werewolf-centric fic, there will be the inevitable transformation scene. Transformations are always so painful to read about (I can't even imagine the werewolf's physical pain undergoing such an awful process), and I think you did a brilliant job capturing Romulus's agony, and the shifts in his body.

He felt his spine start to stretch and pull against his skin. Romulus groaned as his legs broke and regrew into a different form in under a minute. He felt his claws pierces through the tops of his fingers. He dug his hands into the ground; he needed something to hold onto.

^ Wow, his paragraph gave me such chills. The language is sparse, but so concise and whatever details present are painful and vivid.

It was interesting getting to know some backstory about Marcellus and his family. Their parents represent some of the worst parts of ruthless pureblood society, and it was really heartbreaking to see them disown Romulus the moment he's been inflicted with lycanthropy. I love that Marcellus, feeling so desolate and lonely on New Year's Eve goes to visit his old abandoned home, before finally going to check on his parents. Despite how much he despises them and what they stand for. Ugh, I got all the feels from reading about him watching from afar.

I think it's a very interesting revelation that Bennet's pressuring his tenants is being paid for by Marcellus and Romulus's parents themselves! I wonder if they are aware of their actions, and how it's influencing their sons? I don't think they'd care a lot, really.

Marietta's backstory was really tragic. Ugh, these poor people isolate themselves because they're a danger to others around them, and they've even hurt their loved ones terribly. I can't imagine the amount of guilt some of them must be feeling. :(

And so Marietta and Marcellus and Romulus are sort of distantly related? Interesting turn!

I'll be reading on! Another fabulous chapter! :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #23, by teh tarikOne Blaze of Glory: Your Hair in the Moonlight

19th August 2014:
Wow, this chapter ended on such an intense note. Like all the other OCs introduced earlier, your two new characters, Maria and Marietta, are just as striking and so well-thought out. I love this little group of friends; you write their interactions so well, and I imagine that with their condition, they only have each other to seek solace from, seeing as they're pretty much alienated from mainstream society.

Marietta not being able to correctly use grammar and punctuation as a result of not going to school is such a realistic detail. It's something that many people writing werewolves would overlook. I'm glad Marcellus is there to help her. He certainly recognises her talent and potential; it would be a tragic thing if many werewolf children's potential were stunted because of their condition, but it's clear and ever so admirable that Marietta tries so hard here, tries to make the best of her condition.

I love how in-your-face Maria is! I feel that she could really help Romulus overcome his grief about Avril, if only he would give her a chance. She's lively and she sounds adventurous and fun! The inclusion of the Elixir of Euphoria was so intriguing. I love this expansion of canon, and I'm always interested in reading more about *cough* magical recreational substances. From what you've mentioned about Euphoria so far, it does indeed sound addictive, and I think you've portrayed the symptoms of addiction very well. Especially with Romulus: despite being clean for three months, he still can't bear the idea of not having some reserve of it close by. As though he expects to lapse right back into his habit anytime.

The counting at the end and Romulus smashing the ELixir was kind of a painful thing to read; it just makes me realise how much pain some of these characters are going through.

Fantastic chapter, Georgia!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #24, by teh tarikOne Blaze of Glory: For a Thousand Sweet Kisses

19th August 2014:
Hey Georgia!

I'm back to deliver the second of your four prize reviews! ...and you've probably forgotten that you won the challenge ages ago.I am SO SORRY for taking an age with this, but I'm BACK now.

OK, I love Aisling here; he's such a decent and caring character. I feel that if the werewolf population had more people like Aisling and fewer people like Fenrir, they would be a lot closer to their dream of Rome, or at least being a self-sufficient community like the werewolves of Rome. I love that Aisling is giving so much to educate the werewolf children, even though he himself suffers this awful condition.

And ugh, Fenrir is just downright awful. He's a werewolf, but he doesn't even treat his other fellow werewolves with much respect; he completely dehumanises them, and declares them as belonging to him. I shuddered a bit during that confrontation with Aisling, and how in the end he let his cohort beat the other guy up.

Nadia is lovely. Definitely shipping Aisling/Nadia here! I loved their fluffy romantic exchanges; it definitely set the mood for some Christmas fluff, and it was a great contrast to the darker, more violent opening section of this chapter.

I'm enjoying your fic a lot! I think you've come up with a set of really realistic and likable characters, and their problems do really fit well within the turbulent context of the first wizarding war. Great work! I'll be reading on. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #25, by teh tarikRed Dust: Red Dust

19th August 2014:
EMMA! ♥

OK, it's waaay late for me and I should be going to bed but I couldn't resist; I was so curious by your post in the New Story thread.

aslkdjlk this is absolutely gorgeous, I don't even know what to say. The pairing is amazing; I love rare pairs like this one, and I think you did a brilliant job coming up with a Ron/Pansy that's so poetic and graceful and strange. Barcelona and its red dust were so strikingly portrayed; in your gorgeous prose, I could see all the bright umbrellas and the coloured drinks and I could feel the city sifting all around them, getting into their hair and the crooks of their elbows. I always love reading about strange relationships and rapports being formed in faraway cities, and yours is the perfect fic for me. I can't even begin to pick out my favourite line - just...EVERYTHING. You're an amazing writer! ♥

-teh

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>