Reading Reviews From Member: teh tarik
  
556 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarikSweetheart Tom: A Single Red Apple

28th July 2015:
Ooh ooh oh SO MUCH MYSTERY I LOVE THIS EVEN MORE NOW

Blaise is...narcissistic. :P I've never seen Blaise written this way before, and his characterisation is amazing, if a bit creepy. And the bit about apples...I have a fascination with apples. I can't get over how beautiful they look as fruit but how sour they can get sometimes, and I love descriptions of apples, and references to apples, whether fairytale or biblical or from other mythologies.

He had always liked apples red and round, hanging from the green branches like little bubbles of poison, sour inside and crunchy

^ This was so creepy! And so brilliant. I'm guessing Blaise is some kind of evil queen figure in your story! Also!! Unless I'm reading wrong, did Blaise just kill his own mother?! And got thrown into prison for it?? It would make sense for Blaise to kill her, because I remember in the books she was supposed to be a very beautiful witch with many husbands, and if Blaise is indeed the Evil Queen figure, then he'd be wanting to be fairest in all the land and all that.

And then he sees Fleur. :P That was such a cliffhangery moment!!

Speaking of FLeur, I'm so intrigued about her missing grandmother. What happened to her? And of course she's attracted to Bill. I love their little breakfast together, and awww, Bill gets up to serve her breakfast. And I laughed a bit at Fleur still feeling angry at Bill for saving her and spilling all her berries. :P And Fleur and Bill starting a fight in the village? LOVE this couple so much as well. I wonder why people wanted to arrest Fleur.

As always, your descriptions are amazing, and your writing really breathed life into the marketplace, and the deserted grandmother's house, and Bill's untidy kitchen. Scenes just jump casually to life when you write them, in so much detail, and you should be so proud of yourself, because that's an amazing skill you have.

Can;t wait for the next chapter, Laura! ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarikSweetheart Tom: Little Red Riding Hood

28th July 2015:
LAURAA ♥

You have so many stories that I don't know what to do except I want to read them all (and also steal your skills. And your productivity omg)! But I promised I'd get to your creepy fairytale first so here I am. ♥ ♥

First, I LOVE all your stories because you're so ambitious with them; you've got such amazing ideas and plots and this AU plan of yours has got me so excited like I-don't-know-what. Plus fairytales. LOVE fairytales and fairytale retellings! And you've done an excellent job as usual with the detail and building up the setting of your story. The fairytale forest is creepy, but it definitely retains elements of the HP world, especially with references to hags and werewolves and water nixies and whatnot. Also, gah, your description! ♥ ♥ Your imagery is absolutely stunning and so vivid - especially the opening scene with moonlight and all.

Lit up by a sliver of moonlight, dappled by leaves, a patch of bluebells swayed and then crumbled as a paw and then another pressed over them.

Turning around slowly, scanning the woodland around her, eyes digging into the gloom to spot glimpses of flowers, bats winging overheard, leaves brushing as trees shook hands almost, and there there, a hooded grey shape, boulder-like in the grass, but for the two gleaming circles which flashed out.


^ I think this has got to be my favourite piece of descriptive prose in this whole amazing chapter. It's so gorgeous, so vivid and also so terrifying.

OK, let me get to your actual characters, because there's so much I wanna gush about them. FLEUR! ♥ Your portrayal of Fleur is perfection. Strong, indignant, and haughty - you've pinned her characterisation perfectly! I love the brief mentions of her grandmother's character: she sounds absolutely fascinating, and I would love to see you develop more on Fleur's Veela heritage more, because this is something that isn't explored much in ff. AND Bill!!! Bill/Fleur is such an underrated pairing that deserves waaay more love. And your Bill is just like the Bill from the books. BUT COOLER because he has a large dog that may or may not be Sirius, depending on where you take this fairytale of yours. You know, if you did nothing else with the rest of this story except turn it into an extensive Bill/Fleur, I'd still read it and be hooked on it and love it. Because your Bill and Fleur are amazing and I can't wait to see how these two develop!

The last scene was creepy. o.O And the wolf...was a werewolf? I should have expected that, but I didn't. Great twist. Also, just having a thought: if Snuffles is Sirius, could the werewolf be Lupin?!?! ASKJALSJKA I MUST KNOW.

ANyway, since I've run out of different words for 'amazing', I'm going to leave this review here. I love the premise of this story, as you know by now, and I can't wait for the other characters to appear in all their creepy fairytale selves (Tom Riddle :P ). You're a fantastic writer, and I'm so happy to be back reading your work, Laura! ♥ ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarikThe Story of You: The Story of You

27th July 2015:
Sian! ♥

Muahaha I'm here to add to your unanswered reviews!!

That's pretty much all I can say because I'm still quite blown away by this story of yours. I should probably be catching up on Jigsaw but ughjkasdjadsl I never can resist an Albus/Gellert and I adore Laura's Albus/Gellert and NOW YOU'RE WRITING THEM TOO. ♥ ♥ Not to mention this is the first piece of fic I've read in some months (500 word oneshots don't count :P ) and I don't really know why I stopped in the first place.

Your writing is absolutely gorgeous, and oh my gosh I've missed it! You write second person POV and Albus's character with so much ease and this is so amazing. The second person definitely works with the introspective nature of both the story, and of Albus's character, especially after that traumatic summer of 1899. I love how you bring out all of Albus's fears and insecurities and flaws, all the things that humanise him, make him so much more relatable than he is in the books (in the books he's pretty much a superhero with magic :P ). I think you've written teenage Albus perfectly, as well as captured the enigma and the brilliance of Grindelwald so beautifully. It's easy to see why Albus is so dazzled by Gellert. You write their relationship with so much grace and so much insight, and gah, it's just painful to read because you know how it's going to end and then it ends just exactly as you knew how it was going to end and that makes it even more painful. *cries and rambles on forever*

And all the references to books, stories, writing!!! It got a little meta in some parts, and I LOVE it.

Anyway, FAVOURITE LINES!!

you stole the pen from Life and wrote the ending of the story yourself. as;dlka;slf

Time has taught you that it had to end, that it is better that it did both for you and the world, because you shudder to think of what the two of you would have achieved had you actually carried out your plans together

^ SO TRUE. SO TRUE. I've always wondered what would have happened if Albus had gone dark and joined Gellert and both of them went on their world domination quest together. Um, maybe you could do AU?? *hint hint*

Perhaps, then, it is no surprise that when he was gone everything seemed just a few shades darker, as though his very presence had scorched your retinas and afterwards you were never able to see things the same way again.

^ The whole eclipse metaphor as;dk;alsfjkhkasd ♥

OK, I'm going to end my review here because I'm not saying much (I've totally forgotten how to say decent, sensible things in reviews. But I just wanna say, thank you for writing this, for doing this pairing so beautifully. This was such an amazing story to read after months of not reading. LAURA IS ONE LUCKY WOMAN.

-teh

 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarikGame On: Ravenclaw vs. Hufflepuff - Dojh167 - Hufflepuff

9th June 2015:
I must say I absolutely adored this! There are far too few Lee Jordan fics around, and Jordan's commentary in the books is one of my favourite thing about to read about the Quidditch matches. So thank you for writing this; you got Jordan's voice spot on. His boredom with the Hufflepuff vs. Ravenclaw match, and the way he starts spicing things up with his 'internal monologue'. :P And McGonagall's disapproving stare.

"Jordan takes possession of the Quidditch stands."

I laughed at this, and then the way he proceeds to commentate on the meeting of Cho and Cedric. And of course, that brilliant last line: One hundred and fifty points for Hufflepuff.

LOVE me some Cho/Cedric.

I'm so glad I had the chance to read this - this is fantastic! (I'm not supposed to take sides but you're doing a wonderful job for Hufflepuff!)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarikAll that Glitters : August 1979: In Blood

3rd June 2015:
Hello Zayne! I'm here for the May Review Exchange, and I'm so terribly sorry for being late with this. *hides*

Anyway, first, I'm so glad to see that you're working on this fic again! I remember reading the first few chapters more than a year ago, and reading the new revamped first chapter brought all those chills back. I think you've made this new version much darker than the old story, and I think it's a great choice, especially since this chapter is such a terrifying one.

I must say you really portrayed your main character's situation and her emotional state with so much detail; I kept wishing that there was way for her to turn back, to not choose the path that lay before her. There was a sense of horror but also despair as the chapter progressed, and I think the part where she began swearing the oath to Voldemort was such a tense, climactic and amazingly well-written moment of this chapter.

Goodness, Voldemort is terrifying! And true to his canon self. I really admire your characterisation here: how effortlessly evil your Voldemort appears to be. And of course, I love the introduction of your main character, tragic though her story may be. I want to find out her future choices, what sort of awful tasks she'll be forced to undertake as a Death Eater.

Also, this has got to be one of the best Death Eater initiation ceremonies that I've read about in fic! So many clever touches and details, e.g. Voldemort's use of Legilimency.

Anyway, this is a brilliant first chapter, Zayne! I really loved this and I hope to be able to read more soon. Great work, and I hope you continue to write and churn out these chapters! ♥

-tej

 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarikIn Fields of Poppies: Prologue: Her War

20th May 2015:
Hello Katie!

I've seen your story floating around and I've always been intrigued by the title and now I'm so pleased to finally have the chance to read it! And I must say I LOVE IT. I love this beginning; it's SUCH a wonderfully unique way to write Lily - at least I think it's Lily from this chapter. I love how you've brought in her Muggle father and grandfather! And the respective wars they fought in. Great differentiation between the wars - you really have an eye for detail and your descriptive writing was amazing. I shuddered a bit at the description of Lily's grandfather's experience in the trenches of World War I. Also, I love how you show that Lily is descended from a family of soldiers, and that she too is a fighter herself.

And gah, all those references to sounds and light and flashes - so awful!! :( :(

I must say I loved that last paragraph, and how you differentiated the characters from each other: how her grandfather went to war out of duty, her father out of honour, and she followed in their footsteps on moral grounds. Brilliant! This definitely sounds like Lily!

I know this is a really short chapter, but I must say this is such a promising introduction of Lily! Completely original and very wonderfully written!

More reviews to come as I make my way slowly through the chapters! ♥ Fabulous work, my dear!

-teh

Author's Response: Aaaah, finally responding to your review!

Thank you so much for this. It makes me smile every time!

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this! I was definitely aiming for unique, so it's always nice to hear that it's not just weird. :) The descriptive writing is always sort of a trick for me, and it's so nice to hear you think I'm doing it well! It's an especially kind compliment coming from you. :)

Thank you thank you thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarikCity of Angels: City of Liars

19th May 2015:
I'm BACK. ♥

Such an amazing chapter I don't even know how to review??!!

Ooh, is this a manipulative side to COLIN CREEVEY? He's not only seeking the Book of the Dead, but he's also using an innocent Muggle (Kaitlyn) and playing on her feelings for Dennis to help him on his very weird quest!? Ooh, this is a side to Colin I've never seen before and omg I LOVE IT. I was always wondering for the last few chapters why Colin even cared about Kaitlyn. Well, now we know. o.O

By the way, I love that play on the old Ministry motto: Magic is sight.. Awesome!

And it was really great to see Pansy really stepping up and playing her part. Love how you've brought out all the Slytherin cunning in her. I love all the detail you've gone into with the Ministry politicians, and I love how well-written the discussion is. I could never write such difficult political meeting type scenes.

And Misty Waters is really intriguing as a character. I've forgot what exactly she's meant to be doing apart from tracking down Dennis Creevey...or Colin. But IIRC, I think she's somehow affiliated with the Underworld, which explains why she was so interested in the news of the incubus attack?

Fabulous chapter, Isobel! I can't wait for more. And it says that you've got *cough* a few more pre-written chapters? WHERE ARE THEY!!!

♥ ♥

(but I totally understand, I've got all the remaining chapters of TDC already written...but never posted up...because editing... *hides* )

-teh

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarikCity of Angels: City of the Lost

17th May 2015:
ISOBEL!

I'M SORRY FOR BEING ALL SCREECHY AND SUCH BUT !!??!!??!!

a;sldk;las

I COULD HUG AND MARRY YOU FOR WRITING THROUGH THE POV OF DENNIS CREEVEY. Also, Dennis/Pansy. ♥ Dennis cracks me up, sitting on the toilet eating cheeseburger, then calling Pansy in the next room. And ooh, Pansy definitely chose the right identity to mask herself. It's so good to see these references to canon events, like Fleur being a Triwizard champion and all. I'm just trying to figure out what exactly Dennis plans to do in the Ministry.

Also, LOVED the underworld scene. Leviathans and Incubi and all! And this Dewey Morgan is such an intriguing character. So he set Colin free? Colin has the key to the book of the Dead? HOW?! And Death doesn't trust Hades? I love all these little pieces of story you hand out to your reader and I'm dying to know how they're connected. I love the details of your Underworld, how Viper dips his whip in the poisonous River Plethegon, and the broken Lift and everything.

asdaslkl;fks so in love with this story!! ♥ ♥

And I'm nearly caught up with it as well! Please do keep the chapters coming, lovely!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarikCity of Angels: City of Resurrection

27th April 2015:
ISOBEL!!!

I AM SO AWFUL.

YOU WROTE THIS CHAPTER AAAGES AGO AND I'M READING IT NOW. (sorry sorry sorry *hides* )

I just haven't been reading much at all for months, and I'm slowly coming back to the archives, and trying to catch up on all my fave stories, and of course, this one here is one of my absolute favourites and I'm so happy to be back here reading about Dennis and Pansy and the whole complex supernatural-ish plot! ♥

I think I got a bit of s shock, because COLIN CREEVEY?? HE'S NOT DEAD? OR HE'S RESURRECTED? BUT HE'S GROWN UP!!! WHAT HAPPENED. DOES DENNIS KNOW THAT COLIN IS ALIVE? ARE THEY IN THIS TOGETHER?

AND THE BOOK OF THE DEAD ♥ ♥ Thank you for writing about the Book of the Dead. OOH I HOPE SOMEONE FINDS IT AND USES IT.

I think I can see the beginnings of Dennis/Pansy. There's enough friction between the two, that might possibly lead to something more down the road. Also, Dennis stealing her bobby pins made me giggle a bit. And Pansy feeling indignant and thinking that Creevey is her servant and should address her as Mistress Pansy. LOL SRSLY SHE DOESN'T THINK OF DENNIS AS ANYTHING MORE THAN A HOUSE ELF.

Yeah, Dennis/Pansy ♥ I love them already.

I can't wait to catch up on the next two chapters, lovely! You know I adore this story, and I hope you keep working on it. Hope RL isn't being nasty to you, and that people are decent to you and stuff. I love you and your writing and your wonderful plots, and I'm honestly so happy to be reading again. ♥

I WILL BE BACK.

-teh

 Report Review

Review #10, by teh tarikThe Fourth Daughter: The Christmas Gift

25th April 2015:
I, too, am SO glad that pompous, stuffy Whitaker is gone (for good, hopefully). UGH. Even if he really did earnestly try to find out the princesses' dancing secret, I doubt he would get close, given how interested he is in himself, and nothing and nobody else. And his view of the servants, and how being kind to them would mean lowering oneself to their level, or some awful stuff like that!

The rest of the chapter, after Whitaker, was fabulous. I LOVE the Christmassy atmosphere, the sweet heartwarming meeting and gift exchange between Godric and Dezzy (I would love to see these two have more scenes together! Though I know Dezzy won't be able to, not with Rowena watching her like a hawk). And the relaxed, cheerful scene between all the sisters, AND THE YUMMY CHRISTMAS DINNER FOOD. And old Rowena being a sourpuss as usual. On Christmas night as well! Bah, humbug to her. :P

Great chapter, Cassie! I'm so pleased I caught up with your fic at last. ♥ I'm also wondering how far into the story we are; are we approximately halfway or more/less? Awesome job; I've been following this fic for ages, and I've enjoyed every bit of it, along with the AU setting the characters so much.

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
Yes, Whitaker is gone for good! But, unfortunately, there will be more suitors in the future... His view of the servants really is awful. I don't even want to think about the things he would say if he found out that Dezzy was in love with a stablehand!
The Christmas scenes were so much fun for me to write, even though it's a few months out of season! Haha. But I loved imaging such a fun, peaceful day for the girls, full of good food and laughter and time spent together. Plus, the gift exchange between Dezzy and Godric really made me smile while I was writing it.
I'm so glad you've read, reviewed, and thoroughly enjoyed every chapter of this story! It means so, so much to me! I really can't thank you enough! I'm honestly not sure how many chapters the story will be once it's complete... I post chapters as I write them, so I really can't say how long the story will end up being.
If you want a little something to tide you over until I update this, my one-shot Just A Governess is about Helga's friendship with Dezzy's mother :)
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, teh!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarikThe Fourth Daughter: The First Suitor

24th April 2015:
Hi again Cassie!

I'm slowly making my way through the rest of your chapters! :D

Uh, skipping to Lord Whitaker, because he is such a bore bahaha! Some poor woman actually has to marry him? This is unjust. :P And I can't help feeling furious at the king and Aunt Rowena for subjecting them to so much stress and inflicting all these suitors on them. I'm pretty sure more undesirable suitors will show up...sometime. :P

I absolutely love the enchanted forest and the pavilion scene. Some of your descriptions were beautiful. I loved the images of crystal flowers and gold fish swimming beneath the bridge. If you could add even more description to the whole scene, that would be great, because you've got such a mysterious and beautiful setting to develop. And ah, Salazar is as unreadable and as unsettling as ever.

I'm still wondering what is his game. I'm definitely more of a Dezzy/Godric shipper than a Dezzy/Salazar. :P

Such a lovely chapter, Cassie! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh!
Lord Whitaker is definitely not the most attractive guy in any sense of the word. I feel bad for the poor woman who actually end up with him, too! As for the king and Aunt Rowena, their both a bit blinded by their feelings (must run in the family!), and can't really see how miserable this whole plan is making the girls.
I'm so glad you liked the pavilion scene in this. I'm really trying to keep the magic alive, especially since we're twenty-some chapters into the story by now. Oh, Salazar... He's nothing if not mysterious.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you for stopping by this story once again!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarikThe Fourth Daughter: The Moment of Peace

21st April 2015:
Hi Cassie! ♥

I am so back to reading this story! I'm sorry it's taken me ages, and I had to re-read the last chapter to remember where things were at. But I'm so glad to be back in the lives of Dezzy and Godric and Mistress Helga and all the other dancing princesses.

Oh my goodness, this chapter! The Dezzy/Godric ship has finally come to town and I love it. These two are so sweet together. ADORABLE. LOVE their conversation, and their confession of feelings for each other; I thought you wrote all of that so beautifully, and I'm hoping to see lots and lots more of these two together.

I also love the fact that despite Dezzy/Godric being slowly realised, you haven't forgotten about the other girls, and Dezzy's relationship with her sisters. The way the sisters treat each other is such a big part of this story, and I'm glad that Dezzy is receiving so much support from them! I also love the development of Addie's character with that bit of heartfelt conversation between Dezzy and Addie.

This chapter ends on such a wonderfully positive note! I loved this, and I'm so glad to be reading this story again. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hi teh! It's so lovely to see you back here again!
Yay Dezzy/Godric! I love writing them because it's just so fluffy and cute and romantic. And a nice break from all the drama happening in the rest of Dezzy's life! I'm so glad that you liked the way they confessed their feelings for each other, too. Dezzy has never really talked to men before, let alone fallen in love, so it takes her a while to figure out her feelings, and she honestly has no idea what she's doing when she tells Godric.
That moment at the end of the chapter with Dezzy and Addie was also very fun to write. Addie always has to be so stern and maternal, that I thought this would be a good chance for her to be more vulnerable and have Dezzy to lean on.
I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you for the sweet review!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarikSirius Ate My Homework: Did you say that you ate my homework?

5th April 2015:
Hi Tammi!

A few weeks ago, you left a very lovely review for a certain person called rennycake, and now I'm returning the favour on renny's behalf. So I decided to stop by your page and read and review this story!

I must say I was giggling throughout the story! I love your humorous depiction of the Marauders, and I think their characterisations are perfect, and the way they interact with each other is amazing. I thought it was a very wonderful play on that old 'dog ate my homework' cliche, and I love how you put a Marauders' spin on that old excuse.

Urrgghh James pulling out a slimy, saliva-saturated ball of homework that Sirius vomited up. And Sirius retaliating in the worst possible way, by blaming James on how bad the parchment tasted. Absolutely hilarious!

Also love Remus and Sirius's interactions with each oher. Remus threatening to get Sirius a flea collar made me snort way too hard. And Remus telling James not to hurt Sirius's face too much otherwise he would be whining the whole night!!

LOVE all the dynamics here, like I said, I think you've written the Marauders wonderfully!

And hurrah for McGonagall believing James! McGonagall can certainly sense the truth when it's given, no matter how impossible it sounds. :P

This was a lovely, light read, Tammi! I loved this, and I love the way you write humour! Great work. :)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarikSilent Rumors: A Letter

4th April 2015:
Hi there! Some weeks ago you left a review for a certain someone who goes by the name of rennycake, and I want to thank you very much for your kind review and to apologise for wasting your time *hides*. So I decided to stop by your AP and read and review something of yours in return!

I must say, I'm so happy to read a story about Ernie Macmillan. I lov eminor characters, and I like how you've set him up in this opening chapter. It's a great start, and I can totally envision him trying to manage his business, working late into the night.

That mysterious note was so unsettling, and the DA seal only made me very intrigued. I also love mystery, and this chapter has got me thinking about all sorts of possibilities. Has a former DA member gone rogue and is targeting Ernie? What did Ernie do? It really is hard to imagine anyone having a grudge on him...

Anyway, fantastic start! Love how unsettling everything is, even that small shadow moving across the lawn. I hope you continue this and update soon; I'm looking forward to read the next chapter.

-teh

Author's Response: Hi Teh,

I still can't believe Renny wasn't real, but truthfully I'm kind of glad and relieved that she wasn't. She was kind of annoying, but I was trying so hard to be nice because I thought she was a very young high school girl...and I just can't be mean to a child.

I love minor characters too! Every single one-shot and short story that I've written so far revolves around a completely different character and most of them are minor ones!

Mystery and suspense are some of my favorite genres to write, so I'm happy that you think I'm doing well at it!

In regards to who sent the letter to Ernie, I think its quite a surprise when you actually find out, although you won't find out in this particular story. This is a prequel to my WIP novel Atonement Is Coming which really delves into this theme!

Thank you for the lovely review! And thank you for not making me have to be nice to Renny anymore! :D

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarik'Eyes' with an 'L': Boom

30th January 2015:
*cries*

I love this. LOVE THIS TO BITS. THIS is how I'll always see Lily Evans. Thanks for the new headcanon. :D All the careful details you wrote about signing and the cochlear implant and how Lily prefers sign to Hearing...ugh that was just so perfect. And of course, you being you, you fitted everything perfectly into the context of the wizarding world.

All your characters are perfectly written as usual, even Petunia, who only shows up a couple of times and yet Im so fascinated by her. And Lily's mother. And of course, the relationship between Lily and Sev. I don't really care much about Severus/Lily, but this is an amazing way to write these two characters. LOVE your interpretation of them, and how Sign becomes their own personal language to communicate with each other.

This is fab, as are all your stories! ♥ Thank you for writing this.

-teh

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you! Ah!

I was so excited to get this prompt, because I happened to be taking an ASL and Deaf Studies class at the time! It was such a cool way to subtly weave in all the cultural stuff I'd learned :)

Fitting it into canon was SUCH a struggle, but that actually turned out to be a good thing, because otherwise, there wouldn't have been any Plot! It was through resolving with canon that I had to make a plot, so yay for that!

I definitely don't Ship Snily, but it is an interesting dynamic. Also, I have super complicated Snape feelings, which are very much in here. He's like, sort of sweet and tragic and troubled and petty and messed up and on.

Thank you so much for this lovely review and all your kind words!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarikThe Cat Turned Werewolf: This Can't Be Happening; It Already Happened

17th January 2015:
Hi Freda or Georgina! Happy Hot Seat Day! :)

I love reading fics about the Patil twins, and I've never come across one with Padma Patil as a werewolf. This is so original and I really loved this; I also love the relationship between the Patils, and I hope you write more of them in the future? It's really horrible what happened to Padma, being attacked by Greyback, and you've shown such a brave side to her; she's come to terms with her fate, and though inexperienced, she bravely does what has to be done (even though chaining herself to the hospital bed is hardly the wisest thing to do). The appearance of Snape was a major surprise! And a great one too. I loved how he turned up with wolfsbane. He may be such a cold and sometimes twisted character, but there's some decency in him.

This is a great fic, and I really enjoyed this.

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

We signed up for the lycanthropy challenge and were given a character (Padma Patil) to write as a werewolf while keeping it canon. I like that you loved their relationship but as of now we don't have any plans for them, but who knows. The way I saw Padma was a matter of fact girl; I need a date, I'll go with the guy Paravati set me up with. I want to dance, my date won't dance, I'll find a new date. As for chaining herself to the bed, I figured it would be the most logical thing to do from the perspective of someone who does not know about the shrieking shack. Good, you didn't see Snape coming, I wanted to show him in the seventh book as a top-class actor, making sure these kids stay (relatively) safe while at the same time not appearing to care.

Thank you for the lovely review!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #17, by teh tarikWinter's Embrace: Winter's Embrace

15th January 2015:
Hi Ellie! Happy belated Hot Seat day! :)

OK, I love Lavender stories, so I'm so pleased to see one on your page. :) Aww, poor Lavender. You've really portrayed her as such a desolate character, embittered by her situation and never really able to get over the trauma of the war. Not just that, but she doesn't seem able to let go of much of the past, even the whole relationship with Ron and her childhood dislike of Lavender. I felt sorry for her here. I like how much detail you went into to portray her complex emotional state, and how you didn't shy away from writing her pain and anger.

The violin and Vivaldi's 'Winter' was a nice touch! Definitely gave your story a more personal and very original touch. I've never read a fic with Lavender displaying any talent in music at all, so this was lovely. I'm glad that her violin does provide her with some reprieve from the torment of her daily life, if only for a few minutes. If I were her, I'd probably be plaing every day for as long as I can.

Also, I love Vivaldi's 'Winter'! That's got to be my favourite part of the Four Seasons. :) And I love the way you incorporated the tone and atmosphere of the song into your fic.

Great work, Ellie! I really enjoyed this lovely one-shot of yours. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

Thanks so much for getting over to review. I know everyone is short on time. I'm always behind with hot seat and my review thread and I'm sure you have better things you could be doing than reading my ramblings =)

This one was a prompt by luvinpadfoot and tbh when I read it I thought I was going to have so much trouble with this one, but then I sat down and started writing it and it all just poured out in about an hour. =)

Thanks so much for reviewing!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #18, by teh tarikEffortlessly Dead: Death Comes Calling

15th January 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review. :) I've heard so much about this story, so I'm really excited to finally be reading this!

So, OK, this is such an amazing chapter! Even though it's the first one, I love how you plunge straight into the action and establish that sense of mystery right from the onset. The first section was so chilling to read from the assassin's perspective. And And I like how all that action and the murder that is about to take place is foreshadowed in the cat playing with its food.

Your characters are an interesting bunch. I enjoyed reading the little tidbits of info you dropped in about Galen, about his homelife and background and such. I'm keen to find out more about him. I also love that your characters work in the morgue! I have a fascination with reading morgue scenes in fic, and yours was so detailed and so chilling. I love this idea about a group of magical assassins called the Shrikes. There's so much mystery about them an their methods and history and I honestly can't wait to find out more.

This is a fantastic start; great work, and I can't wait to read on. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh! I'm glad you decided to check this story out!

Thanks for your compliments! That seemed like the perfect way to start this story and I'm glad you liked it!

I'm also glad you like the characters! OCs are always a risky business because there's no telling whether or not the readers will like them. Hopefully you'll still like Galen after you find out more about him. :p It seems like making him work in the morgue was the right decision although I'm a little surprised you found it so detailed because I didn't purposefully make it that way. Still, I'm glad to hear that!

The Shrikes are the reason I started writing this story so it makes me so happy you're intrigued by them! I hope the rest of the story will be your satisfaction!

Thanks again for reviewing!

- Emmi


 Report Review

Review #19, by teh tarikInsane like me: The First Straw

14th January 2015:
Hello! I love Ariana stories and couldn't resist stopping by. toomanycurls spoke very highly of this fic and so I just had to read.

I must say this was absolutely heartbreaking. You've written Ariana so well, and I love your interpretation of that awful, traumatic childhood incident that pretty much destroyed the Dumbledore family. It was hard to read because I felt so deeply for her; there was so much innocence and fragility about her, and the end paragraph was absolutely chilling. I think the scene with her lying motionless on the gground and her brothers running toward her...that pretty much gave me a pretty hard punch in the feels.

Your writing is so descriptive and detailed, and I really enjoyed reading this story. Thank you for writing this. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, I hope i can continue to please and surprise you

 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarikFor the Greater Good: For the Greater Good

21st December 2014:
Well hello there, did you just write my OTP, Albus/Gellert?! ♥

For some trivial reason I was skimming through the Recently Added, which is something I don't do any longer, and then I see this fic. Thank you for writing this! Albus/Gellert stories are so rare on this site that everyone of them is a treat for me.

So this was so sad, which is really true to the whole tragic nature of the Grindeldore ship. :(

Also, it has ALWAYS been my headcanon that in the final duel, Gellert surrendered to Albus, so THANK YOU for writing my headcanon ♥ Also, I've always seen Gellert as reciprocating Albus's love right from the start. I love how you wrote the conversation between them, how it ended and the sinister reference to the Elder Wand in the last line. Also, gah, the Ariana photograph made me so sad. It's good to know that Albus and Gellert did bring Ariana some happiness, at least that's what I got from that picture Albus showed him.

I found it really interesting that Albus and Gellert were duelling in a hotel room. :P So Albus was sent as an assassin, great idea! And I'm assuming Gellert must have known and come looking for him or something. The bit of McKinnon was really interesting as well. I wonder if you're going to write more? There's definitely some great material in this story that you could expand further on; I'd love to read more of your wonderful depiction of Albus/Gellert!

Anyway, this is a great story! I really enjoyed this; thank you for writing. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review and the kind words. My OTP is Harry/Luna, so I understand having problems finding your OTP.

I really, really believe that Gellert had to surrender in the end, because of the Elder wand. This is actually an old piece of mine that I re-did and put back up.

Unfortunately, this is a one-shot, so no more for this one. My next planned story is a Neville/Luna movie!canon story or a character study of Umbridge. I'm still undecided.

Thank you so much for the nice review.


 Report Review

Review #21, by teh tarikBound by Love: Things Least Expected

16th December 2014:
Hey there, lovely!

I'm here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat woohoo! CONGRATS ON THIS BEING YOUR FIRST STORY! Also, that author's note in the story summary was incredibly sweet! We're really happy to have you in the hearty, homely house of Hufflepuff!

This story, aww aww! ♥ This is such a lovely idea! Frank and Alice leaving Neville a scrapbook before the Death Eaters got to them! A scrapbook with all their memories? I'm loving this idea so much. And I can't wait to get to know more about them as Neville goes through the book. I love Neville, and I'm so glad that you're writing a story about him.

Also, the two letters in the chapter were so beautifully written! Augusta's voice was captured perfectly; I love how she tells her grandson outright that she's proud of him - she always used to be so critical and strict when he was a boy. And hahaha, Augusta has her mysterious ways, it seems! Also, the letter from Frank and Alice. That was just so heartfelt, so emotional and so full of kindness that it made me tear a up a little thinking of their horrible fates at the hands of the Death Eaters. :(

But enough of the angst stuff. I'm hoping that the memories recorded are beautiful ones, and I think it's great that Neville is going to get to know his parents through this way.

Great start! Can't wait to read more. :)

-teh

Author's Response: TEH! Hello and thank you so much for dropping by! :-)

Thank you! Frank and Alice's story is one of those that deserves to be told, and since there isn't much about them in canon, there is a little bit of free reign. I really love them a lot and I hope to do them (and in turn Neville) justice. :-)

Augusta's letter was SO much fun to write--at first I wasn't sure how to go about it but I just went with it (as far as her 'mysterious ways', I figured that as old as she is, she's probably seen and done just about everything at least twice if not three times so *lol*)

Frank/Alice's letter honestly brought me to tears too. While I was writing, I imagined Alice's voice being soft and sweet just like her personality.

Thank you so very much for the read and review! I hope that I will be able to write a good story :-) (It's like I told Emz--I can't WAIT to write their wedding! :-D)

Karen xoxo

P.S. -- Thank you for the congratulations! It was a really awesome feeling when I first saw it on the 'recently added' stories. And I am honored to be a part of Hufflepuff--everyone's SO awesome and I had to give credit where it was due :-).


 Report Review

Review #22, by teh tarikLying Josephine: Promises, Promises

15th December 2014:
HEY TANYA! ♥

Hufflepuff Hot Seat yay! I've been pretty busy the last day or so, but I must sneak in a quick review before your day on the grand throne of the hot seat ends. So here I am at last! I've heard SO MUCH about this story and about your excellent portrayal of the Weasley twins, and I've actually read the first chapter before (er...apologies for not reviewing that, but it seemed rather short, so I thought it would be better to come straight here!).

Oh my gosh, Tanya. Fred Funeral Fics? T_T Do not do this to me. I have not got over Fred's death, okay? You're awfully cruel. :( First, you had to include that lovely, lovely flashback showing Jo and Fred's adorable friendship, and how much Fred means to someone so introverted and reserved as Jo. THEN YOU HAD TO WRITE HIM DEAD. That's not fair. Poor Jo. I feel for her so much; I understand introversion really really well being a terrible introvert myself, and I can tell that her one friendship with Fred is something that means the world to her. And to lose that one connection to the world, that is honestly awful and I want to cry STOP THIS ALREADY.

BUT of course there's still George! ♥ Poor George. I find it so funny and interesting that Fred would keep a secret from his own twin just to preserve Jo's feelings; it speaks volumes about how well he understands her. And gah, how untimely his death is. Still, at least it seems to propel Jo toward a decision. I do hope she'll reach out to George a bit more. I love that part where she says she's content to love George from afar. That feeling!! ♥ But of course, now I want her to love George from nearby. Like really really nearby. :P

The last part of the chapter...:( :( :( Jo being alone with poor dead Fred again (after running away and hiding from George and waiting for him to walk off). I can't get over this SORRY NO. T_T T_T

I loved these two chapters, Tanya! This is a fab story and I must catch up with the rest of this. I love the Weasley twins, and I really love your OC Jo. She's so flawed but so realistic and all of the feels for her. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #23, by teh tarikIcarus: Cultivated Arts

14th December 2014:
Ooh, the cube steals dishes?!? Does it get its energy from dishes? AND MARTA ROBBED THE DEPARTMENT OF MYSTERIES GAHAHA. Good lord, that girl is going to be in so much trouble if anybody finds out. (Will Marta go into the parallel universe with Lily???)

Ahh, I LOVE the Potter family dinner! James the Writer whose only positive review is from Lockhart>! Albus speaking Chinese? And Lily spewing lies about her nonexistent job muahaha I LOVE THIS FAMILY. ♥

Ooh, ooh, can't wait to see what happens with the cube!!

Another amazing chapter my dear. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Who knows what the cube does. Certainly Lily doesn't. :p Wow dish powered, it'd be like totally clean energy ahaha. Marta is a loose cannon! I think she's the only one who can't see how much trouble she'll be in...

So glad you loved the Potter family dinner! :D Ahaha I love the idea of James as a kind of failing author. He should tap into the Seer/Mystic side of himself, I hear there's loads of money in that. ;)

Thanks so much for your awesome reviews, teh! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by teh tarikIcarus: Old and New

14th December 2014:
Hey again!

Ooh, Marta is such a character! Bahaha, I can so totally imagine Lily and her rummaging through Muggle rubbish bins together. And Marta trying to secretly call the paparazzi on Lily and her family just so she can have her moment of fame! And I love the story of how they gradually became friends. So Marta was like a kind of stalker back in Hogwarts, trying to snap pictures of Lily and sell them to the newspaper. She's like a crazy Colin Creevey! Love her!

And I love the contrasts between Iris and Marta as well; they're pretty much extreme opposites of each other with Lily being somewhere in the middle. Iris seems to have the most perfect life of all: she has a cool kitten-cuddling job, is engaged, has an active social life, etc. Neighbour Lance is an interesting sort of bloke...and there's possibly some chemistry between him and Marta already? :P

That silver cube! WHAT IS IT! I really can't wait until you introduce the sci-fi elements of the story! I know these chapters have been mostly setting up the characters, but I've enjoyed them! Your characters are such a unique and sometimes hilarious bunch and I can't wait to see what you do with them.

Fab chapter!

-teh

Author's Response: Haha, yeah it's sort of a compromise, because if given her own way Marta would just steal - this way is both effective and legal and keeps Lily out of the camera eye. Ooh, I love the comparison to 'a crazy Colin Creevey' - yes, I think that sums her up pretty well :D

I'm glad you like the kind of odd balance of their friendship. Lily is definitely right in the middle - she's sort of similar to Iris in personality but more like Marta in terms of her life not being entirely together :p Lance is pretty interesting. I didn't actually intend for him to become a main character, but then he decided he didn't like that and wrote himself into the plot. And yes, there's some... one-sided chemistry :p

Sci-fi elements are coming soon - I'm so glad you've enjoyed the exposition chapters and are finding them unique and hilarious, that's so great to hear. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #25, by teh tarikIcarus: Prologue

14th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat yay!

Kristin! ♥ Holy cow, how did I not know about this story of yours! Parallel universes and possible time paradoxes (at least I'm guessing what's going to happen...)? I love it.

That opening log entry was so so intriguing...what is that ship? Who wrote it? Gah, I'm hooked!

I love how you've characterised Lily so far; I'm loving her narration. There's the sense that she's definitely bored with her life and not really enjoying fame that much. I love all the references to the extended family: Molly and Arthur...and Albus of all people has taken up Arthur's hobby of plug-collecting hahahaha. :P Also, LOVE how disgruntled Lily sounds when she refers to her name, and to the names of her brothers and how they're all named creatively after dead people. I laughed quite a bit at the part about her, James and Albus being named after James I, Lily I and Snape and the whole messy triangle. She's right; I just wonder why Harry would even do this to his children. :P

Ooh, does Lily want to tamper with time just so she can meet all her dead family members? HIGHLY INADVISABLE, LILY. (But go ahead and do it, anyway, or we wouldn't have a story :P )

Brilliant start, Kristin! I can't wait to find out more. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad to hear this zany story premise sounds interesting! :D

The opening log entry is there to raise many questions and no answers, at least not for a while >:-D muahaha. But I'm so glad that it intrigues you!

Aw, thank you! I am so thrilled that Lily's narration and her resentment of fame are entertaining. I thought the idea of a plug collection was so hilarious and obviously something that had to be passed down through the generations! :D

Ahaha, yeah I really was not subtle about my distaste for all the next gen names. But I figured Lily might feel the same way, given the shadow she's grown up in because of who her parents and grandparents were.

EXTREMELY INADVISABLE but wouldn't it be exciting anyway? ;)

Thanks so much for your review and I'm so glad you liked this!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>