Reading Reviews From Member: nott theodore
  
1,012 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodoreGuilt.: Guilt.

28th July 2014:
Hi! So first of all I love minor characters and this immediately caught my eye when I saw that you'd written about Demelza and this period in her life, because I think so many people must have suffered after the war - especially the young students and everyone who had to experience hardship and pain, which was a lot of people.

I love the way that you chose to portray Demelza in this story. I feel like it's so original because there aren't many people who explore the ideas of bravery and the way that links in to being a Gryffindor. I've never really thought about it before but it makes perfect sense to think that someone like Demelza would feel unworthy if she hadn't acted like a brave Gryffindor was expected to act. Then having to return to the school knowing that you're with people who have done what was expected for them must make it even more difficult for Demelza. I really felt sorry for her.

It's brilliant that you're focusing on a character who's not suffering physically from the effects of the war (to an extent, anyway). As far as other people are concerned, she just went through the last year like all the others did and didn't lose relatives like others, or fight, so she's not got the same reasons to be experiencing panic attacks and PTSD. You portrayed Demelza's emotions and thoughts fantastically here, I thought. They all just seemed so in character but also fitting for what she's experiencing.

I liked the way that you built up the intrigue about what Demelza had actually done last year to keep me reading, because I really wanted to know. Then when she encountered that little second year it triggered the memories and overwhelmed her, and I thought that was a great way to segue into the section with Ginny.

Ginny's a really great choice to come and help Demelza! Even though there's a few years between them they know each other from Quidditch and Ginny's the sort of character who doesn't take much nonsense - she's determined enough to make sure that Demelza's alright and try and make her see that really it's not her fault. And I also like the comparisons that you were able to draw between Ginny and Demelza's behaviour, not only Demelza feeling bad for not fighting, but the time when Ginny was possessed and forced into doing things that were terrible. We see her in OotP trying to comfort Harry with that comparison so it fits really well here!

I thought this was a great first chapter to the story, and I loved your characterisation of Demelza and the way that you portrayed her suffering. Ending it on a more positive note was nice as well, because I'm hoping now that she's going to be able to start recovering, even though the process will probably be a long one!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this awesome review.

This story was written for a challenge which asked for stories that were either from the point of view of a villain or else showing a good character struggling with their dark side. And it occurred to me that being forced into hurting other people, as Neville says the Carrows made people do, is bound to be rather difficult to deal with, particularly for Gryffindors, as they have a good deal invested in being brave.

So I went looking for a Gryffindor who had not been mentioned as being part of Dumbledore's Army and whose actions in Deathly Hallows were left vague.

The connection between Demelza and Ginny was a bonus, since if anybody knows what it's like to be forced into doing harm to others, it's Ginny. It was only luck, after all, that nobody was killed by the Basilisk.

This was originally going to be a one-shot, but I was short of time before the challenge deadline, so I just posted what I had and left it open for more to be added on later.

I'm currently working on a second chapter, but it's slow going, as each line has to be carefully thought out.

Thank you so much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I enjoyed your story too and am looking forward to finding out what happens next.


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodoreActions Speak Louder than Words: Broken: Rose POV

28th July 2014:
Hi, I'm here for our review swap!

I think this is a great opening chapter for your story, especially when you say that it's your first fanfiction (I really wish my first story had been this good!)

I think the way that you started this story with the routine that Rose has to get her prepared for everything that's going to happen in the day was really interesting. At first I thought it was just someone who was extremely organised and going through their checklist, but then you developed that into someone who's experiencing panic attacks and using this routine mantra as a way to keep calm. The way that you repeated that throughout the chapter was great too, because it's making me really intrigued about what it actually was that caused this. Rose keeps referring to an event that happened in her past and I'm really curious about what it is now!

One thing I really enjoyed was the way that you managed to intersperse some of the background into the present so that we got to learn more about Rose and her history, but not so much that we were overwhelmed, and still enough to keep us interested for future chapters. I think it's quite difficult to do that but you did a great job! I like the fact that even though Rose is struggling, she's still the top of her class at Healing School just like she was at Hogwarts. That was only a small detail but it gave us an insight into her character; so far, she seems like the sort of person who looks calm on the surface, but is paddling away like mad underneath.

I really liked the way that you introduced the other characters in this as well. Dom seems really fun and a nice balance to Rose's character, and I liked the juxtaposition you used when it came to writing about Dom, with her personality and looks seeming to contrast each other.

The flashback to the sorting was very intriguing! I haven't seen both Rose, Al and Scorpius in Ravenclaw before and I can already see how Rose fits in that house, but I'm looking forward to seeing why the other characters were in there. James's reaction made me laugh, as well!

Since so far in this chapter, you've mentioned Selenia and Albus in the present, I'm guessing that the incident that happened in the past is something to do with Scorpius... Hmm, really interesting! This was a great first chapter and I enjoyed reading it - thanks for our swap!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodoreHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - MargaretLane

28th July 2014:
Hi! When I realised that we'd both written about the same moment I had to come and check this story out!

I really enjoyed reading your interpretation of this moment. You went a lot more in depth than I thought to and I think my favourite thing about it was the way that you portrayed Aberforth and explored all of his thoughts and feelings around what happened to Ariana. Aberforth's very conscious of the fact that his brother was so much more intelligent than him here in this story and I think that's an important thing to highlight - it can never be easy because of the competition between most siblings, but in this case, there's something even worse that's caused conflict.

I really liked the fact that you wrote about Albus having gone down to the Hog's Head to have a drink with his younger brother, and the fact that they did keep up their relationship even if they weren't the best of friends. It makes a lot of sense considering Aberforth was in the Order with his brother.

I really liked the dialogue that you wrote between them as well. They're such hard characters to write - particularly Albus, I think - and you managed to reflect their speech from the books and keep them in character. It was really sweet to end on such a hopeful note with the reconciliation between the brothers!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodorePlay the Devil: Richard

19th July 2014:
Hi again, Jenna!

*takes a moment to appreciate the chapter image of Richard*

Yay, another chapter set entirely in the past! I loved the way that this focused more on Richard and his version of events because it's really interesting to see how he perceives Rose, especially since he's from this era and because of that his standards and expectations would be completely different. I think it's really impressive that you'd even attempt to tackle something like that and you did it so well here!

I really enjoyed the first part of this chapter when Richard was thinking back to the fairy lady that he'd met when he was younger! I liked the fact that even though he was trying to forget about Rose and the meeting with her, but he just couldn't stop thinking about her. The way that you wove in some of his past was great too, because although I've read a lot about him, it helps a lot of people who haven't find out more. The idea that Rose's arrival when Richard was a child (so I suppose that wasn't really his first meeting with her) became a cherished memory for him and something that he's thought back to a lot when he's been growing up. That was so amazing!

Eep, that meeting was so great! I love the contrasts between the characters of Rose and Richard that we can already see, because she's trying her best to conform in some way to the society that Richard belongs to, but even though she tries to fit in there are some things that she can't manage. Her views on things are obviously so different to his, especially on things like women and equality and all those sorts of things. She's still much bolder than the sort of woman he'd normally encounter, and even though she's adjusted her clothes and her appearance, she's still addressing him as she would anyone nowadays.

It was great to find out more of Rose's history through this as well! I wondered what had happened between her and Scorpius and I suppose that it's kind of a mark of how close she and Richard will become that she confided that history in him, even if some of it was altered. (I really liked the way that she was altering some of her words to hide the way she lives in the future and the fact that she's a witch, too.) Was she actually engaged to Scorpius in the modern day, or was that an embellishment on the story to make it easier for Richard to understand? But I thought that he must have cheated on her, or tried to at least, so I can understand why Rose is feeling so angry with him and wants to get away from everything that's been happening in her life there. It sets everything up beautifully for motivating her to escape into the past with Richard and start a relationship with him soon.

And Rose is going to go live with Richard in the castle! That's really exciting, I wonder how much longer she'll stay around though, and what will happen to their relationship if she suddenly disappears and then reappears later on. Anyway, this was great and I'll be back for more soon!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodorePlay the Devil: Hedgewitch

19th July 2014:
Hi, Jenna!

Yay, I finally made it back to this story! I've been missing your writing so much but now I'm back into reviewing again I'm determined to catch up so I can read and review these updates when they're actually posted!

This was such a great chapter to come back to! I loved the way that the whole chapter was set in the past, and it feels like this time Rose spent more time in the past that she did the first time that she visited. I wonder if that pattern's going to carry on, and she'll end up aging as she spends time in the past, but since time doesn't seem to be carrying on in the present, I wonder if she'll age ahead of her time? (Does that even make sense? It did in my head but I'm not sure if it did here :P)

Anyway, moving on from the incoherent musings... I liked the way that you took us back to Rose's arrival in the past, since we saw it from Richard's perspective in the last chapter. I thought you did a really great job of immersing us in the period straight away, and also tackling Agnes's speech, because not only does it sound older but she's using a certain amount of dialect too, which she would have done in those times, so it was great to see that you'd actually made the effort to include something like that. It helped to make it a lot more believable.

I really liked reading about Rose's reactions and thoughts as she arrived. She was unsure because it was a completely different place that she'd arrived in this time, but I wonder whether it's because this time, Rose didn't have any specific destination in mind when she tried to apparate? Her confusion was really believable and I liked the way that you described Agnes, that she seemed a bit scary by today's standards but Rose could see past that and see the kindness there.

Aw, I felt so sorry for Rose when Richard dismissed her, even though I'd already read about it in the last chapter. But it was sweet that she was so hopeful, even though she really barely knew Richard, and that she's already feeling that connection with him. It's going to be really interesting because now we've seen the first time that both of them have met the other, and I can't wait to see how the relationship develops from here!

I absolutely loved the detail and thought that you've put into creating this world, and the way that the magical world integrated with the world at this point in history. I sympathised with Rose when she was trying to work out how Richard fitted in with all the kings, because they definitely are confusing (even though I'm British :P). But I absolutely loved Agnes's character and the way that you used her to explore the situation for wizards at this point in time. It's so interesting to think that the lower classes would only have been able to afford to go to Hogwarts for a few years, and the subjects that they learnt there would be tailored to their futures. And then the way that they had to hide their magic, so Agnes and all her family members had returned to normal life and acted as the village wise woman. All of that detail was just so interesting to read about and made the chapter so rich to read!

I love the fact that Agnes is a witch though and understands Rose's abilities but also has that connection to Richard, because I think that makes a lot more sense when it comes to the two of them starting a relationship together. I can't wait to see how this continues!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodoreThe Art of Small Talk: Introductory Measures

18th July 2014:
Hi Kiana!

Now I've finally finished Against All Odds I've let myself come and get started on this story - hopefully it doesn't take me too long to catch up this time!

This was such a great first chapter, and I'm so impressed with the fact that you started writing this during NaNo because you really can't tell that it's been written so quickly! The only few minor things I spotted were some missing speech marks at the end of some of Verity's sentences, but that's nothing major really.

I loved your characterisation of Audrey here. I know that this is only the first chapter but I already feel like I've got to know her well from this because you've written her so vividly. Her sarcastic narration is absolutely fantastic and I loved the way that you introduced us to different aspects of her life. The opening of this chapter was so funny, with Audrey completely forgetting the intern's name and not knowing how to address them at all. And then the fact that it was Draco just made it even better because I didn't realise who that was in the story and just expected it to be some general character that you'd made up, rather than Draco! But I think including Draco in here was great because it helps link Audrey in to the world that we know more. And her making all those accidental comments about teaching a Death Eater how to become a Potioneer really made me laugh as well.

All the other characters that you introduced at St. Mungo's were great too, and I loved the way that Audrey thought about Eileen and James!

I think my favourite part of this was the way that Audrey and Verity were talking to each other, because Verity really reminded me of some of my more pushy friends and the way that she deconstructed all of Audrey's points made me laugh a lot! And I thought it was a great way of getting Audrey somehow connected to the Weasleys - I've never read a story before when Audrey and Percy were kind of set up together, and I thought that was a fantastic idea!

The party was great as well, I loved the way that Audrey was just suddenly launched at Percy and forced to go and talk to him. And the way that the title of the story linked in straight away was brilliant. Making small talk is really difficult, especially with people like Percy, so I totally empathised with Audrey there. But Percy made me laugh, he was so obnoxious and arrogant and it was great to see the way that she turned round and proved him wrong straight away! This is going to be great!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodoreIn Azkaban: In Azkaban

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Rachel!

Once again, this was a beautiful piece of writing! I've always loved your writing and your writing style so it was lovely to get the chance to read this - you managed to write something which was much darker but really powerful too!

I loved the way that you managed to capture the atmosphere in Azkaban. It was so chilling to read all of the ways that you explored the different senses and appealed to my sense of touch and sound and sight. It was really brilliant the way that you managed to keep building up the atmosphere and write something that was so chilling! You made me really think about Azkaban and the unfairness of it as a prison, which is really powerful and impressive considering this piece was just 500 words long. It must be so terrible to be kept in a place that's impossible to escape from and somewhere so utterly devoid of hope. This was beautifully chilling and horrible but brilliant at the same time!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodoreCarpe Diem: Seize the Day

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

I love the fact that you chose to write a story about Remus and his relationship with Harry because it's always been something that's interesting to me, about how their friendship developed and taking into account what Remus knew about Harry's parents as well. I've also always thought it was really interesting that Remus was the one who chose to teach Harry the Patronus charm and it was really sweet to see that here. I actually wanted to give Remus a hug as I was reading this because I felt for him as he watched his best friend's son and reminisced about all of the memories he had with Harry's parents, Lily and James. I felt for him as he was trying to work out how much he should tell Harry too because it was a difficult situation to be in - I liked the mentions of the map, though. And I'm really impressed by the fact that this didn't include any dialogue at all, and you managed it all in just 500 words!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodoreOne Word: One Word

12th July 2014:
Hi Zayne!

This was a really enjoyable story and I found it really interesting to read! I don't think that I have ever read a story featuring Snape and Lily from the perspective of Lily before so I loved that - it was very original, I thought. And I loved the way that you selected the words in this piece so that every word really did count in this story. You characterised Lily very well in this piece and I thought that you captured Lily's feelings of betrayal and hurt very well in this as well - the emotions were explored really well and I enjoyed reading what she felt at this point. I think that my favourite part of this one-shot was the line that began 'Hatred.' and continued on listing all of the different nouns that follow it, all of the different concepts that are wrapped up together in Lily's mind when it comes to Snape. I also think the bit when she tried to remind herself that she should call him Snape instead of Severus was really effective! Well done with this!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodoreBystander: Bystander

12th July 2014:
Hi Rachel!

Your writing in this story is, like always, of a really high quality and I never notice spelling or grammar mistakes. I'm so jealous of your talents :P I loved the ambiguity in this piece - I think that it's so clever when people don't reveal who the narrator of a piece is, and it works especially well when it's a story as short as this, and I couldn't really work out who the characters involved in this story were but I loved it all the same! My only guess would be at Colin and Dennis Creevey, perhaps? But I'm not at all sure because it seemed more like a boyfriend and girlfriend to me...

The descriptions in this were really good even though it was only a short piece; I think that my favourite thing about the story was the narrative voice that you used because I loved the way that you blended first and second person together and emphasised the horror of having to watch the ordeal. But this was lovely, and the last line was really powerful!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodoreHC Event 3 - Dancing with Pixies: Not So Bad

12th July 2014:
Hi again!

For something that you've written late at night (or early in the morning), this is really well written! I don't think you should put yourself down at all, I really enjoyed reading this story! I've read quite a few house cup stories now but I haven't found any at all that involve pixies - I think it's a great idea! And I loved the way that you wrote this piece from the perspective of someone who isn't named in the story, because it left me guessing who the character was and which one of Harry's classmates was the person who really loved these Cornish Pixies. I think it was really interesting the way that you wrote about them as animals to show that they're not creatures of darkness and decay, because even though they caused a lot of chaos it wasn't really something dark that the pixies did. I loved the idea that someone enjoyed spending time with the pixies as much as other people did with the other animals. This was great!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodoreEvent 3: At Night's End: The sun sings lullabies.

12th July 2014:
Hello there!

Wow, this was a really beautiful piece of writing! I've read quite a lot of these house cup stories now and I've been so impressed with the quality of writing that everyone has managed to achieve in a week! I think that the description in this piece was really beautiful - you wrote everything so well and I could picture everything vividly in my mind. Your quality of writing was great here and I think you did a lovely job with it!

I really like the fact that you chose to write about the friendship between Ollivander and Luna. It's very original and unusual because I would never have thought of the two of them when friendship was concerned. It was lovely that you used the idea of Ollivander choosing to make Luna a wand as a mark of their friendship, but also the fact that it was a test of their friendship in a way, since he doesn't normally make wands specifically for someone. I thought you wrote their friendship really well and it made me smile so much!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! You reviewing machine! I bow down to you! I can't believe you managed to write so many reviews, and of this quality and loveliness. I appreciate it so much.

I agree with you totally - the Event 3 House Cup stories are outstanding, especially when you take into account the fact that they were written in a week, and that there were so many of them. I barely got this in, my muse was all over the place, but there were people writing one for each prompt in a day or so and still maintaining a high level of quality. I went through many edits of this, so I'm super happy you think it turned out all right.

Bonus points for Ravenclaw characters! I lurrrve Ollivander, he's so enigmatic, and so I was really keen to write about him. I got some extra info about him and wandlore from Pottermore et voila! It actually took some research, and some guessing regarding Luna's wandwood and core and everything.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodoreHC Event 3 - A as in Sexuality: Chapter One

12th July 2014:
Hi Liz!

This was a really interesting one-shot to read! I was so impressed here with your choice of character - I've written about Dorcas myself and I love seeing different people's interpretations of her character. This was actually such an interesting and original idea. I've read a lot of stories about 'coming out' as gay but I loved the twist that you took on this and wrote Dorcas as asexual, because it genuinely is something I've never seen before in fanfiction. It's so impressive that you chose to handle a theme like that and do it so sensitively in such a short amount of words. I really enjoyed reading the way that you wrote about her overcoming adversity as she managed to finally admit to herself that she was asexual - I think that is part of the problem that she had and it was fantastic to see that she was able to do that and then overcome it. I really enjoyed this and I thought it was really well written - great job!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodoreThe Quidditch Match: The Quidditch Final

12th July 2014:
Lauren! ♥ I realised that this story is the only one of yours that I've not reviewed yet and I thought I should fix that! This is also my 1000th review on the archives and I thought that it was only right for it to go to someone as special and lovely as you are!

This was such an adorable one-shot! Honestly, this was so cute and I love the fact that you wrote about James and Lily because I'm far too much of a coward to try and write about them! I think that characterisation has always been one of your strongest points and this is absolutely no exception - I think you captured both Lily and James really well in this story! I loved James's determination to win in this Quidditch match, especially since it was his last one, and his pep talk at the beginning of the story was great for that!

Of course, all of this was just even more brilliant because Gryffindor won the match and the cup ;) It was great that you wrote a Quidditch match as well, because they always look difficult to me! And then the ending was just lovely - it was amazing that Lily cared enough for James to go and rush to the hospital wing when he got injured. And I loved the line that you used in the summary, and the hope that comes for the two of them at the end. It was such a lovely one-shot! ♥

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodoreAfter - Event 3 : After

12th July 2014:
Hi again!

I absolutely love minor characters like Katie Bell and it was so great to see that you'd chosen her to write about for this task. This was actually one of the ideas that I wondered about writing myself because I imagine that it would be really difficult to recover from something as traumatic as being cursed - not only from the necklace but being put under the Imperius Curse as well. It's such an ordeal for someone so young to go through something so difficult. As a minor part of CC here, I would suggest that you go back over this and edit the spacing as the format of it makes it quite difficult to read going through the piece. Other than that I didn't notice anything to improve! I really liked the way that you characterised Katie in this story and I also thought that your exploration of her thoughts and emotions after she woke from being cursed was really well written. Overall this was a really good piece of writing, and I liked the fact she managed to look forward to returning to Hogwarts too!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodorePost-War-Problems - Event 3: Post-War-Problems - Event 3

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

Aw, this was a really cute story! In the books and films, Dobby's death is one of the ones that always gets to me every single time and has me crying like a baby, so it was actually quite nice to see the different version when Dobby clearly hadn't died - I was actually really happy to see him here and the way that you wrote Harry and Dobby together - that's quite a difference for me, because I love canon.

I really loved the way that you wrote the friendship between Dobby and Harry together here in this piece. It was so cute that Dobby was still wearing outrageous things like sandals - details like that helped to make this story really interesting and believable. But I think my favourite thing was the fact that Harry was asking Dobby for a favour when it came to one of the most important things in his life, asking Ginny to marry him, and of course Dobby would help him. It was just really cute and I enjoyed reading it a lot!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodoreEvent 3 ~~ I believe you.: I believe you.

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

Wow, this was a really interesting story to read! I think it's a fantastic choice to write about Ernie and Stan in this story, and I love the idea of writing about them for the friendship prompt. It's really so original to focus on their friendship in this piece and I loved the idea of Ernie going to visit Stan in Azkaban after all that had happened. It must have been hard for Ernie to accept what Stan had done - even if he was under the Imperius Curse when he did it - and I feel like this meeting would have helped him come to terms with that a lot. The only suggestions that I'd make as CC is that Stan Shunpike's speech doesn't really seem to echo the dialogue he had in the books, but he was quite well spoken in this story compared to the books. I know that it's really difficult to mirror his speech so it's only a minor suggestion. But apart from that I really enjoyed this story and I loved the way that you showed their friendship in this story!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodoreEvent 3: Fear Appears: Boggart.

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was a really interesting story! I liked the way that you chose to write something about Boggarts for overcoming adversity because it's a really great example of the way that characters have to overcome adversity, because overcoming a fear is such a difficult thing to do, even though, like Victoire said at the beginning, it's meant to be easy enough. I liked the way that you portrayed Victoire and all the other characters from the Weasley family, especially her brother and sister and Teddy. It was a great way of showing them and their fears, and I think you wrote the fears very realistically. It's hard to come up with a fear that suits all of the different characters in this but you did a good job of coming up with fears that suited them all well, I thought. I also really liked the ending because overcoming the fear and the Boggart was a great way to overcome adversity, and it was nice for it to end hopefully!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

(I hear you did an amazing amount of reviews for the House Cup, so first off CONGRATULATIONS and WELL DONE. I take my hat off to you! You obviously went above and beyond with this event!)

Thank you!
I really, really enjoyed writing this story... that sounds harsh because of what it was about, but still!
I found it really difficult to keep in with the allowed word count with this one to be honest, so I would have loved to go into more description with the other members of her family and not have to stop after Domi, Louis and Teddy.
I'm really, really glad you liked this though, it means a lot!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodoreDetox: Regrets

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Dan!

This was another great chapter here! I don't think it's really slow at all - at least, I didn't find it slow as I read it. Draco's return to Hogwarts is a pretty important event in this story and it was really interesting to read about it.

I think your characterisation of Draco is really brilliant. Obviously you've spent a lot of time on him with writing this story but I think that he's a very believable character from the one that we've seen in the books.

I really liked the way that here, Draco had to confront people face on - when he was in Diagon Alley he knew that people around him were looking at him and blaming him but he didn't know who they were, and didn't have to deal with them directly; that's what makes it much harder here for him to deal with. I liked the way that you wrote their reactions to Draco, though!

I am glad that there was some hope for Draco and Astoria at the end of this chapter, though - I really like the two of them as a pairing so that was great to see!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi, there!

This one was a bit slow in the sense that it was heavy on narrative and light on action, at least until the end. Still, I'm glad you didn't think that it dragged.

Whew! I always wonder how people are going to see Draco's character. Glad you thought it was believable.

Now that Draco is trying to reengage, the world is suddenly very much up in his face. It isn't pleasant for him, but I think it's necessary if he's going to find the motivation to continue down this path.

If you like the two of them as a pairing, I think you'll enjoy the rest of the story. They certainly have ups and downs along the way, but it's a canon story so you know they get there in the end.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodoreDetox: Getting Clean

12th July 2014:
Hi Dan! I figured that since I'm reviewing anyway it was about time for me to come back to this story and leave a few more reviews!

This was another great chapter! I really liked the way that you progressed from the first chapter to this one and showed that things are starting to change a little bit for Draco. The description at the beginning was fantastic and it helped me picture things really vividly, but I think that my favourite part of the chapter was the dream that Draco has which is a flashback to the war. It's really important to show that it's not only the winners who suffered like that from the war.

I liked the fact we saw parts of both Astoria and Draco at this point as well. It's nice to see both perspectives and I liked the fact that Draco's really starting to make an effort here to change his lifestyle and control his anger. I think it's a very important beginning, especially if he's going to end up with Astoria!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi, Sian!

Draco has taken the most important step, but there's obviously still a long way to go. Otherwise, this wouldn't be a very long story. ;) I'm glad you liked the nightmare. It was tricky to write because I wanted a very spartan feel to things but I also needed enough detail to make it easy to visualize. And you're right about the war, many of the Dark Lord's followers suffered just as much as the victors.

In general, you'll see things from both Draco's and Astoria's perspective in each chapter from now on. I like alternating the narrative point of view, just to give the reader a more rounded impression.

Glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodoreEvent Three- This Crup Eats Like Ronald: Alright there, Percy?

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Adi!

Ah, this was such a cute story! I loved reading something a bit happier and fluffier since I've read an awful lot of angst and darker stories recently, so it was great to read something like this!

I love the Weasley twins and I think the way that you wrote them here was fantastic. They're so in sync and mischievous and it made me laugh that you showed the way that Mrs Weasley is already despairing of them when they're only nine or ten and haven't even made it to Hogwarts yet. Poor Molly - it must have been terrifying for her to send them to school to learn magic!

The idea of the crup was so cute, and I loved the way that they used him to play a prank on Percy - that's exactly the sort of thing that they'd choose to do! And I liked the prank that you came up with - the exact sort of thing that would annoy Percy! (His dialogue and characterisation was brilliant, by the way). I loved the ending too - this fit so well the prompt and I loved the hope and happiness in it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodoreEvent Three- Aperture: Focus and Exposure

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Adi!

Ah, this was fantastic! You know how much I love minor characters and stories about them so the fact that you've chosen to write about Dennis Creevey and Romilda Vane here is just amazing. I love the choice of them for a story about overcoming adversity and I think setting it after the war just makes it a perfect idea!

I loved the way that you showed the utter despair that Dennis was feeling after the war and the death of his brother. Those short sections just gave us a snapshot of the way that he was feeling but there's definitely a loss of hope and happiness now that Colin's dead, and it's the same for Romilda who's lost her mother. Both of them are drinking to try and drown their sorrows but it doesn't help in the end.

I like the different memories that you showed of Dennis and Colin, too. They were so sad and upsetting to read because Dennis just misses him so much. But I love the way that you wrote Romilda and Dennis coming together so simply and in each other they find the silver lining - that hope was lovely to read about at the end!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodoreEvent Three- A Wolf's Best Friend: there is more to come

12th July 2014:
Hi Adi!

You know that I'm on a bit of a reviewing quest and now I'm trying to make my way through as many of the house cup entries as possible! This was a lovely story! I think that the Marauders are one of the best examples from the series that you can come up with when you're writing about friendship and it was fantastic to see the way that you wrote about them here.

I loved the idea of Remus, the last one left of the four friends, here talking to Sirius who's died. I thought that showed in itself how close they were as friends, and I loved the way that you wove in all the four friends. I thought that Sirius and Remus were especially well portrayed - their characterisation was so in line with what we know from canon that it was fantastic! I think that my favourite line was the one about man's best friend being a dog, and that Sirius was the best friend Remus could hope for. So cute! And then after that the flashback to his favourite memory of all four of them as friends jumping into the lake was just adorable, and I thought you did a great job of capturing the friendship between them!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodoreKeep Calm and Carry On: The Opposite of Dreadful

12th July 2014:
Hello there! So I should probably start by saying I found this story just after the Dobby awards started last year and read it all through then, and I've been reading most of your updates without actually reviewing *blushes* So I thought I'd rectify that now with a review!

I really love this story! I've read a fair few different Oliver Wood/OC stories but I think that this one is probably my favourite on the site at the moment, and it's definitely worth waiting for the updates. Your cast of characters is so great, and I love the way that you've slotted Edie into the world of Harry Potter by making her friends with Dean and Seamus and Lisa and Justin (well, sort of). And you write the relationship (of sorts) between Edie and Oliver really well - I love the set up of Edie working at Witch Weekly and at the bar and the way that everything's developed from there.

So onto this chapter... I wasn't expecting Oliver to have a younger sister! That makes the idea of 'Miss Ada' much more pleasant and I loved the way she was so blunt with Edie, to the point that Edie didn't know how to react. And it was lovely to see Edie going to Oliver's house and spending time with them here - I'm really hopeful for them now and I hope that they manage to get things worked out soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! Of course, I remember you Sian! And while reviews are always lovely, it's nice just to see the "Reads" count on this story. Makes my heart go pitter-pat.

I agree about minor characters! JKR is so amazing and wonderful and even the tiniest, most insignificant of her characters deserves lovin' and story time. Some readers have pointed out that this story almost feels non-HP because I am not using common characters and locations, so that's been a bit of a struggle. But I love the sprawling Magical world thank-you-JKR, so I really wanted to take advantage of it. Giggling at "sort of" friendship with Justin and relationship "of sorts" with Oliver. All very true!

I'm glad some people hadn't read the first version of "The Hanging Moon" when Oliver straight up tells Edie who Ada is. Haha. I get into these coffee-induced excitement attacks and speed write a chapter and put it into the queue without really thinking about it... that was a good example. Later I realized I wanted to have the big reveal be later, mostly because that chapter was such an information dump anyway. We already learned about his shoulder injury, and his relationship with Katie Bell, and Deverill's replacement...

Anyway!

Thank you so very much for the kind words. I'm glad you have stuck with this story for oh-so-long. ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore30 Days of You and Me: Together

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ah, I can't believe that this story has actually finished! Although I think you're right not to write an epilogue or a sequel to this story since the idea of it being told in 30 days doesn't really fit with that. You've told the story of their 30 days so well and I've really, really enjoyed this story. It's been a long time since I read or followed any Rose/Scorpius story but this one because I found that they can often get quite similar and repetitive, but this story's great and feels very different.

Rose and Scorpius are brilliant characters in this story; I love the way that you've created them as people who fit so well together but they're also great characters as individuals. The same goes for the whole cast of characters here, actually. I'm so glad that this story ended with Rose and Scorpius together - even in the 30 days that they've known each other properly they've been through a lot and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that there's a cure found for the mysterious disease that Scorpius has so that the two of them can be together for ages.

This was a great story and I've really enjoyed reading it - thank you so much for this and all your other work on the site!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>