Reading Reviews From Member: nott theodore
  
1,566 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodoreL'optimisme: Clauses

15th May 2017:
Laura! ♥ I hope you don't mind me picking L'optimisme for our swap, but I want to be able to read all of La Salvezza together, and with the speed that you're getting through the editing of this, I figured I should probably start trying to catch up :P

The opening section was so lovely, with the way that you tied in the more theoretical idea of clauses to the relationship between Albus and Gellert. It just worked so well and seemed to fit their relationship perfectly, especially with the way that Albus lingered over the ideas of certainty and uncertainty, and the fact that Gellert seemed to end each clause in his life. Gellert isn't a full stop, but a continuation, someone who helps Albus on in a way even while they're apart. There's this constant link between them and they're so bound up together.

I loved the idea of the fact that they'd been so very certain of each other in that summer of uncertainty - that in all the headiness of youth, neither of them had stopped to consider that they were the ones who might not last - at least, not together, as a couple. And yet, even though they were certain of each other and they weren't able to stay together in the conventional sense, they are perhaps more connected than they could be otherwise.

And I'm not sure if it was intentional, but I love the double meaning that you could apply to 'clauses' here - the idea that in that summer they sealed a sort of unwritten contract, and there will not be one without the other, however far apart they are geographically.

Have I told you before that I love the way that Albus kind of digresses and goes off on tangents? They're not really total tangents because they flow so well from his thoughts, but it fits his character so well. In the books you always get the impression that he's carried away by his own thoughts sometimes, and not always entirely in the moment.

I really, really like the way that you're moving the time period forward and reminding us of that with little details, like the changing fashions at the parties and the atmosphere there. It's really clever and lovely.

Ah, I kind of wanted to give Albus a hug here. He seems so lost - like he's really trying to find purpose and dedicate himself to his teaching and his research, but there's part of him that will always be connected to Gellert and he still feels his loss so much. I'm not sure that he'll really find it easier as time goes on or whether he'll just get better at dealing with it, but I love the subtle ways that you're developing his character and yet remaining true to the constants (and especially Gellert).

The moment when he confessed to Gellert that he was so worried he would be offered the Ministry of Magic post again and that at some point he would not find it easy to refuse ♥ It's kind of ironic that he's confessing to Gellert how worried he is about being in a position of power, especially since at this point Gellert is building up his own power base, but at the same time so sweet because there's nobody else he can (or wants to) share those fears with.

I loved the way that the conversation with Bathilda started off so gingerly, then just as they seemed to find themselves on solid ground, they stumbled into the danger zone again. But I thought what Gellert had said to Bathilda was so true! There are some people who present as a different person with every change of scene and group of people they're with, but it's incredibly hard to shake off and have the confidence to truly be yourself. It was wonderful to see that somehow Gellert was still reaching out to Albus though he's so far away and giving him the confidence to be a better person and be himself.

Ooh, and I forgot to mention earlier, but that question about whether or not Gellert or Albus had said a certain phrase was wonderful, because of how well it showed their similarities and the way that they're bound up together, no matter the distance between them.

This was lovely and wonderful and I'm really glad I'm finally continuing with it!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodoreJingle All the Way: Go It While You're Young

5th May 2017:
Nicole!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Now I'm the truly terrible one, I can't believe that you posted this in March and I've been so ungrateful as to leave reviewing it till May :( In my defence, I didn't have much time for reviewing in April apart from CTF, and I wanted to be able to leave a proper review on this chapter, because it deserves it (also oh my goodness, I still can't believe that you wrote a story for me *flails*, I feel so honoured!).

I love how utterly magical everything at Givesmore is. It's just there in every aspect of their work, which makes me smile so much, because it's like Givesmore has to keep up the magic of Christmas in all that it does, even if it doesn't necessarily actually make their jobs easier :P Poor Dennis, with the filing cabinets protesting just because he's trying to get them to work more quietly.

The interactions between Marietta and Dennis are really interesting, I'm wondering if Marietta is going to thaw out at all towards Dennis, because she seems to be very cold at the moment. Maybe the party will see some changes in the way they behave towards each other, especially since neither of them seem to be overly keen on the idea of the party.

The letter from Colin!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

*sobs*

Oh my goodness, that was just so sweet and cute and also more than a little bit heartbreaking to read. Seriously, how sweet is Colin? I think there's no doubt that he's a bit of a Gryffinpuff like me, it was just so lovely that he wrote to Santa and asked for something that could be for his mum, and dad, and Dennis, when so many children would just write a long list of what they want for themselves. How many children would do that? Ah, it's just so sweet and lovely of him, and it's no wonder that Dennis found it difficult to read, seeing a reminder of what a wonderful person his brother was, even when he was little, and knowing that he never got to reach his full potential.

It's so sad that Colin never got his requests because the payment was never received, though. I understand that they have to run it as a business, but it would be lovely if there was like a charity fund or something that could pay for the Muggle-born children whose parents didn't know about it - although I guess that he probably got other presents from his family :P But it was a great insight into how the business works, and it's interesting to think of how Givesmore ties into the magical world - maybe some Muggle-born children are found because of the fact they see the adverts?

Grace Givesmore is certainly an... interesting character. She doesn't seem to fit particularly well with the ethos of the company, and although I know that she's trying, in a way, to do something more fun for the employees, but since they're all so stressed already trying to get things ready in time for Christmas, it might not be the best idea. But it was so cute how the other elves were so excited about the prospect of a party. Grace definitely doesn't listen, though, and doesn't seem to care what Millicent thinks, even though Millicent is running the whole company for her. I'm not entirely sure I like Grace, to be honest, but I'm going to wait and see how the party goes before I make a proper judgement :P

Thank you so, so much for this chapter and this story, Nicole! I know I say in all these reviews, but I really mean it, and I'm so flattered and overwhelmed that you wanted to write something for me! I hope you're doing well!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodoreErasure: _ _ _

1st May 2017:
Brax!

Okay, so I think that we need to have a serious talk. I've been meaning to read some of your stories for a while now (but you know, things like CTF kind of get in the way of those intentions), and I'm so glad that I finally had a chance to. But we need to address the fact that you've been so disparaging of your own writing recently, and there is absolutely no justification for it. Repeat after me: I am a great writer. Okay?

Honestly, this was amazing!

There were actually points reading this when I was nearly in tears, because this was such an emotional story to read, and it broke my heart to see that George was so desperate to get away from the pain and grief that must have defined his life for the last year that he was willing to do this - erase all of his memories and try and start a new life without the remembrance of Fred - and I just wanted to reach out to him and give him the biggest hug.

Your description in this was just incredible, too - I would like to quote my favourite parts back at you, but I think that it would probably be most of the story, so I'm not going to do that. But really, your writing was so powerful and evoked such vivid images in my mind, and it was beautiful to read. I think I loved the description of George's hair as "Golden red-orange, like the hue of sunsets and marmalade", because it's a lovely, original way to describe his hair colour.

I loved the sense of mystery and tension through this story, too, as George felt this sense of resentment towards his "abductor", thinking of this person who had taken away all of his memories and left him with very little. I was torn from the start in believing his version of events, of having been kidnapped and had his memories taken from him, and then wondering if he'd had a role in it happening. You drew that aspect of the story out really well, so we weren't sure until the end that it had actually been George who had chosen to erase his memories, which made it even more heartbreaking at the end.

This was just so intelligently written, as well - I know that George has chosen to erase his memories, but there are still some that are lurking in the back of his mind and that he might still uncover at some point. I loved the way that certain words, like swamp and extendable, triggered a hint of a memory because of their connection to products and achievements he'd had with Fred. Even down to wanting to send his sister a toilet seat, taken from that throwaway line in the first book. It was just so clever to pack all those little details and hints in there, and made this story stand out even more.

I honestly don't think I can praise this enough, Brax, but I'm going to insist on this - please, please don't be so disparaging about your writing, because it's really wonderful, and this was a fantastic and moving one-shot that you should be very proud of.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian, you are the best!

Thank you so much for reviewing this story. I'm completely blown away by the lovely, thoughtful things that you've said here. Many apologies for the delay in responding. I have no valid excuse apart from someone constantly distracting me on twitter ;)

I found "Erasure" quite a difficult and emotional story to write, because I have such a soft spot for Fred and George, and to put George in this predicament seemed such a cruel thing to do. However, I confess; I really enjoyed injecting random, superficial bits of George's past into this story and thus taking my own trip down HP memory lane.

Thanks once again for how amazingly supportive you've been (with this story and in general).
Brax X


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: The Hogwarts Express

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

I got to read the end of this story, and earlier than I thought I would do! (I mean, I'm sure I'll still have lots more chapters to review out of order but you get the point.)

"Scorpius-Malfoy-her-boyfriend" - I really liked this, it's been like the one thing that Rose has really struggled with throughout this story and now it's the end and it feels like she has actually accepted it, and more than that she's prepared to meet his family, which is a pretty big step. I'm so proud of these two adorable characters ♥

I feel sorry for their friends, though - it must be so hard for them (particularly Albus) to be constantly hearing about their relationship. Because while the relationship bubble is pleasant for the people in it, it does get a bit wearing for the people around them who have to constantly hear about it.

I loved the meeting between Rose and Scorpius's families, though! It wasn't what I was expecting, and Ron was on far better behaviour than I anticipated, but it was so much fun to read! I really loved the way that Draco came across in particular, and how he teased Scorpius about his opinions on Rose changing so quickly. It was actually a lot less awkward than I thought it might be too, which was really nice.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: A Letter From Home

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Branwen!!

Ooh, the parents finding out! I know that it had to happen at some point, but I'm sure that Rose would have liked to keep that some point well in the future, and would have made up lots of excuses for not telling her parents anything at all. But of course that couldn't happen with so many of her cousins at school and so many ways for the information to get out haha.

I liked Ron and Hermione's reactions to the news, as well - they both seemed really in character, particularly when we get to see more of Ron's reaction later in the chapter.

Poor Albus, he just keeps getting caught in the middle of everything, doesn't he?? And it wasn't even him who was the one to tell Hermione and Ron the news that Rose was dating Scorpius. It actually seems way more like something Roxanne would do so it's very in character for her, and then it gets round the family so quickly. There's just no escaping it with these Weasleys.

I know we haven't technically met her yet in this story (or at least I haven't in these chapters) but I loved Johanna Greengrass! Her reaction to being pulled in for information on Scorpius because he's dating the boss's daughter was hilarious - that's so something Ron would do!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Pushing the Line

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Poor Rose. I mean, she's trying, she's really trying, but she's not the sort of person who's going to get over a thing like this easily. The words don't sound that hard but it's such a facing for her to bite the bullet and say them - "Scorpius Malfoy, my boyfriend". She'll get there eventually, I know she will *waves pom-poms*

At least Scorpius is able to understand it and put up with it. She's lucky with him - and she's FINALLY starting to realise it.

Interesting point at the start about the fact that her prejudices against his family are deeper-rooted while Scorpius just dislikes some of her family members. It seems like the Malfoys have done a better job bringing him up without prejudice that Ron and Hermione have for Rose.

I feel kind of sorry for Albus - I'm not sure that it's ever going to feel normal for him - at least, not for a while. But they are feeling their way into a new relationship and he's trying really hard to be good about it - and I actually think he's doing a good job of staying calm with all of their PDA that's suddenly happening in this chapter haha.

And Rose is finally realising how lucky she is to have Scorpius, and that makes me really happy!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: A Compromising Position

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again my wonderful Branwen!

Oh my goodness, Roxanne and James at the beginning of this chapter! I mean, I shouldn't be surprised because it's Roxanne and James but still, it's so annoying of them and I'm kind of surprised that Rose managed to get through that conversation without hexing them or something (though it probably wouldn't have worked would it, if they all have shield jewellery?). But it was kind of funny to see their reactions to finding Scorpius and Rose kissing in a corridor and Roxanne's complete and utter incomprehension and revulsion with finding out about it.

Aha! Rose does actually like Scorpius more than she realises, and it's not just that he's a good kisser, either. I'm glad that she stuck up for him here when her cousins found her, and his surprise that she said he wasn't that annoying - which isn't really the greatest compliment, but a big step from Rose - was pretty cute.

Albus ♥ I feel so sorry for him because he's stuck in such an awkward position. I can understand him being hurt because they didn't tell him but he's actually handled all of that really well and he's more concerned about Rose hurting Scorpius, which is really sweet.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Talking by the Lake

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

I think it's part of Rose's personality, and I like that she's flawed because it makes for a more rounded character, but she can really be a bit obtuse sometimes. I mean, of course it's a difficult situation for Albus to be in because he probably doesn't really want to hear or think about his cousin and his best friend together, particularly when his cousin is like his sister.

But I'm glad that Albus is managing to look out for his best friend as well as Rose, because it shows what a fair and nice person he is, and I don't think a lot of people would manage that.

FINALLY. Rose recognised that they actually needed to have this conversation and didn't do something highly distracting like starting to kiss Scorpius again. That's a big step for her because it's hard for her to admit that and face these conversations because of who she is, so I'm kind of proud of her.

Scorpius is so cute! It must be really hard for him to admit how much he likes her, and how long he's been attracted to her, especially because Rose knows all of this embarrassing side of things and she isn't on the same footing. But he asked her to be his girlfriend, and it was so cute! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: A Package From Fred

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

You know what, I think I agree with Albus here - it probably would be good for Rose to get a taste of her own medicine. I mean, she can't just expect Scorpius to let her hex and jinx him and all sorts of embarrassing things, and not retaliate, can she? It made me laugh to see that she was so jumpy with it and really nervous about what he might do to get her back.

The package from Fred was so great! I love the fact that he's sending them all of these things in response to Rose's need - and the fact that all of the Weasleys seems to instantly know when there's a package that's come from Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes and all just turn up on cue, ready to get their share of the goodies.

Even Lucy, the prefect. I'm shocked :P

I loved the inventiveness here, too, with all the different products that they've got at WWW. I really like the new Skiving Snackboxes - I've had to come up with a few myself for one story and it was so hard to think of names for them, so I love your choices.

Haha Lily has a wicked sense of humour, I think that girl is going to need watching as she gets older. Just wait till she's getting her hands on some of the other products!

Is it bad that I'm laughing at the fact that Rose thinks she's now safe and I know she isn't? :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Scorpius's Birthday

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Nearly at the end of this story! (I mean, I'm sure I'm going to be reviewing a lot more of it, but in the chronological order haha.)

I think Rose really needs to get over this prejudice that she has against Slytherins. I don't think that it holds up anywhere near as convincingly now that everyone knows that she's dating Scorpius Malfoy. It makes me laugh, though - she's someone who holds so steadfastly to her beliefs and it takes a lot to admit that she's wrong and to change her mind, but at least she managed to overcome her prejudices for just one morning and go and sit with the Slytherins for Scorpius's birthday.

I'm so glad that she's finally admitting to herself that she does actually really like Scorpius! And his face when he saw that Albus had managed to persuade her to join the Snakes for breakfast was just so adorable and I'm glad that she thought it was worth it for that.

The relationship is taking bigger leaps at the moment, but I don't think that they seem out of place or anything. Both of them have finally started admitting to themselves and each other (though I think Scorpius needs to be credited for getting there first) how they really feel and this just seems to flow naturally from that.

I'm looking forward to the final chapter (whenever I get round to reading it)!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: House Loyalties

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again!

Another thing I really love about this story (you are going to get sick of me saying this, I'm really sorry. This is just SO GOOD. I'm glad the Claws picked this as the flag story purely because I get to read it all again haha) is that you don't just focus entirely on the romance and the friendships and things, but the bigger picture. It's a really well-rounded story because of all the different threads going on and joining together in this.

It showed really well how we, like Rose, can get so wrapped up in the romance and the main plot and forget the bigger picture, and the reason that the Slytherins are all staring at her is because of the Quidditch match.

Ah, sport. Nothing brings out silly reasoning and harboured resentments quite like it, does it? And the conversations here really show it, because the Slytherins are being kind of ridiculous in hating the Gryffindor Quidditch team so much this year when they don't even have a chance at the cup, but at the same time it's understandable. As a sports fan, I know that there are some rivalries and matches you just don't forget and that you hold onto long afterwards.

It's possibly not the best idea for Rose and Scorpius to discuss it, though :P

I'm glad that Albus was there to make sure they didn't get stupid and properly argue over it. And it was really interesting to see that he's a hatstall between Gryffindor and Hufflepuff but chose Gryffindor - I'm always interested where people would sort him.

James and Marion are such a cute couple!

Also oh my goodness what on earth was Scorpius going to tell Rose??? I need to find this out but I don't know which chapter it's going to be in arghhh!!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Curious Cousins

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Aw, this was such a brilliant chapter! I loved the opening when Rose wasn't really sure whether or not she should introduce Scorpius to all her cousins - and understandably, because they really are a facing with the number of them and their interrogation techniques. And then little Hugo with his thirteen years of wisdom thinks that he needs to be put in a room with Scorpius so he can make sure he has the right intentions - it was cute, but it really made me laugh.

You did such a great job of writing all of the different Weasley cousins in a scene together - I find it so intimidating, and I've only managed to do it a couple of times, but you've clearly got some really strong head canons for each of them and the portrayals of them here reflect that.

Haha, I love the fact that Teddy's first question when Scorpius agrees to join them is who his Quidditch team is. That just seems like such a Weasley/Potter thing to say :P

Dominique being a football fan is so great, and I really like her character. I'm glad you got your love of football in somewhere - though, funnily enough, most of the people I know round where I live who support Arsenal actually have only been fans since they started winning a lot back in the early 2000s :P

I'm glad that Scorpius survived the interrogation by her family, and I'm looking forward to seeing his birthday present!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: The Quidditch Match

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

So I'm afraid I've missed exactly what it is that Rose has done to annoy Scorpius so much that he's kind of avoiding her, but I'm sure I'll go back and find out very soon :P But it's nice to see that she's adjusting to being in a relationship with him and giving him some space to stay annoyed at her, because she's really learning - I can't imagine that the Rose at the beginning of this story would have been able to do that.

And *flails* he's her boyfriend now! I loved the fact that she said it so reluctantly but realised how much of a difference it would make - and Scorpius, the adorable boy, can't stay mad at her past an hour when he finds out that she's admitted he's her boyfriend. Well aren't these two just the cutest.

Also slightly infuriating at times :P

The Quidditch match was so tense and well written! I really liked the way that you used the commentary to help us get a better idea of what was happening in the match, and even though I didn't want Rose to get hurt, it's a change to most stories in which the protagonist is a Quidditch star who just wins games single-handedly...

Oh for goodness' sake, Rose, how can you still be so paranoid about Scorpius knowing the Gryffindor password? :P

Aw, he's going to meet her family! He's completely right, it is very intimidating to meet all those cousins, especially given that he knows what some of them can be like, but I'm excited about it!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: One Step Forward

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again! Are you sick of me yet?

I laughed so much at James at the beginning of this chapter, especially the way he greeted Albus with his immediate denial of having done anything wrong. Yeah, James, because THAT'S believable. You suspicious, sneaky person :P

I'm with Albus on this one, I have no idea how Rose and James both manage to be so confident when it comes to things like relationships and other people liking them, but James is probably right when he says that being confident is half the battle. Annoyingly right, but right all the same :P I wonder how James will feel if Marion doesn't wait for him, though?

Rose is going to be so mean to Scorpius with all of this knowledge she's acquiring from other people haha. I just know that she's going to tease him mercilessly - I'm glad that he seems prepared to take it and can tease her back. But I think he needs some insider help with material like what she's heard here.

Aw, I think Rose is secretly really pleased that Scorpius has been referring to her as his girlfriend when people have been asking. But those girls were so annoying - I think that I'd invent some ridiculous story to get rid of them, but at least Rose has other people on her side and got rid of them fairly quickly here.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: A Break by the Lake

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again!

You know what, I've already said that I love this story and you might be fed up of me gushing about it by the end of all these reviews, but I'm not even sorry. And here's something else that I love - that even though these two are kind of impossible, and constantly teasing each other and staying in character even while they fall for each other, we get to read scenes like this one which are much calmer and show another side to Rose and Scorpius and their relationship.

It was really sweet to see the more caring side to both of them here, because as much as they've tried not to show it, they're both falling for each other and it's not just all about the kissing anymore. They like each other and want the other to be happy, which really makes me smile. It's so nice to have this more relaxed scene out by the lake and seeing them show a real interest in the other's life.

Still, we got our fill of them joking and teasing each other. And the boyfriend/girlfriend conversation! I'm so excited that that's happened and the way that it happened here felt so natural for the two of them - like it wasn't a big deal, but they were still teasing each other about it. And haha, now Scorpius has managed to say it, Rose is going to have to bite the bullet too. She doesn't like not having the upper hand, so it'll be interesting to see how she deals with this one...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Conversations with the Potter Boys

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi again!

Well, considering that Rose managed to prank Scorpius in what she'd expected would be one of the hardest ways for him to take, I think he dealt with it very well! His comment about the family reunion made me laugh as well. But I know why that is, of course, even if he has spent the whole day ranting to Albus about Rose and how annoyed he is with her - I think it's more of a surface annoyance than anything more and Rose knows that too.

Ha! Serves Rose right. The saying goes that eavesdroppers never hear good of themselves, doesn't it? And while this isn't necessarily a bad thing that she overheard, I think maybe she'd have been better not hearing it... or at least, she wouldn't have been so confused and stressed and worried about what to do.

I love her friendship with James here and the way that she can talk to him about something like this. A lot of the portrayals I see of James show him as this very overprotective "alpha male" type cousin and brother and all the females in the family just avoid letting him hear anything like this, but his concern here is more about Rose and how she feels and that's really sweet. Both the Potter boys are awesome in this story!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Flirting by the Lake

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again!

Ah, this chapter was so much fun to read! SO MUCH TENSION.

It's kind of weird because I'm skipping round different stages in Rose and Scorpius's relationship with this story, so sometimes they're together and sometimes not, but we'll roll with it.

Is it really bad that I'm kind of laughing that Rose is finally the one being affected here? Maybe it's just because I know that Scorpius has liked her for so long, or because she goes round eavesdropping on other people's conversations and she overhears things that she shouldn't, but the tables are really being turned here and it's nice to see her getting embarrassed and blushing and feeling her stomach flip when Scorpius smiles at her. SERVES YOU RIGHT, ROSE.

Part of me is glad that they've called a truce to the prank war, and part of me wishes that it was still ongoing, because it's really fun to read about them doing stupid things to each other. But the romance and the flirting is fantastic too, so I'll take it.

Rose is such a flirt! Ah, I know I said that the tables were turned here, but she was so mean to poor Scorpius at the end of this chapter as she was pretending she was going to kiss him and then walking off to Charms! Who does that? The answer is Rose Weasley, I guess :P But she's going to drive poor Scorpius insane!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: The Trouble With Cousins

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello!

I know I've skipped a couple of chapters so I have to admit that I was a little confused at the start of this chapter about why on earth Albus was annoyed with both Rose and Scorpius, but it made a lot more sense as I read on. Ah, Rose, when will you learn? It is not a good idea to tell your cousin about you and your best friend in detail. I mean, there is just no need for that and I can't blame Albus for being a little annoyed with them both, if only for the unnecessary detail that she seems to have shared with him over it.

Scorpius, at least, has some sense, it would seem. Not that that helps with Rose's big mouth.

Ah, I love the dynamic between these two - that they're nowhere near properly admitting feelings yet but they both obviously like each other, but at the same time they're behaving the same way. Rose is so snarky and so derogatory all the time about Slytherins and it really makes me laugh (because obviously I'm not a Slytherin).

Ooh, so more people are finding out about her and Scorpius and the fact that they're making out! And the scene with Alex was a bit awkward but it was great because Scorpius so clearly fancies her and these two need to get their acts together haha.

And James liking Marion, I really like this development - I'm looking forward to seeing where that goes!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Slytherins

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Okay, so I haven't mentioned this before because, as you know, I'm trying to review as fast as possible, but one thing that really makes this story stand out is the amount of little details that you pack into it. I don't know, I just love stories that have all these tiny details which relate back to canon, because they show how much thought and effort the author has put into planning the story.

Scorpius being afraid of Hippogriffs because of his dad's experience with one made me laugh a little bit. Which, you know, is probably kind of mean, but it really was Draco's fault in the first place.

Finally! Finally Rose is being a little bit more sensitive to Scorpius's moods and not deliberately trying to antagonise him all the time, which to be honest is a really nice change and a positive step forward for her character too. It means my hopes for these two are even higher. I know it wasn't really a big thing that had happened, just a build-up of small irritations, but that's what often causes bad moods and it's nice seeing Rose being able to react to that. And that Scorpius still wants her to be his girlfriend :P

Also tiny, but I liked the way that you slipped in the pureblood prejudices being there still, even if it's not on the same scale or as overt as in Harry's time. It doesn't make sense that they would have been able to erase it entirely by this point.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Apologies

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hola!

Aw, this chapter was actually really cute and I had so many feels reading it! But what I love about this story, and your characterisations and your writing is that even when we get some (kind of) fluff and romance like this in the story, Rose and Scorpius are still completely in character and snarky and sassy with each other and it makes me smile. It's just a testament to how good your writing is and even if I'm reading completely out of order, I'm really glad that I get to come back to this story now!

Rose definitely hates admitting that she was wrong. It was so sweet of Scorpius to be worried about what he'd done to upset her and it was just that she doesn't like admitting she's wrong haha.

And oh my goodness, I was smiling so much when I was reading Scorpius's confession about how long he's liked Rose! He did a really good job of keeping up with all the teasing and the sparring even when he fancied her all this time. But some of those signs that he liked her were seriously so awkward - like the fact that he said her name when he was kissing the other girl? Poor Haley!

Hopefully now they'll get their acts together and be a little more honest, haha.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: The Hospital Wing

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Ah haha, is it bad that I kind of laughed when I saw that Rose had ended up in the hospital wing and it was because of Scorpius? Not that that's probably a healthy foundation for a relationship or anything, just that, you know, he's getting her back for being kind of mean to him and she probably deserves it. A little.

Am I not supposed to think that?

Haha, I laughed at the comment about how Rose and Madam Byrd seemed to disagree so often about how long a 'long enough' stay was in the hospital wing. She clearly ends up in there quite a lot.

Albus was sweet defending his friend but he clearly doesn't realise quite how cunning Malfoy is. Scorpius must have been working on this for a while and it makes sense now that he was working out how to get her when he tested out the necklace being a shield necklace. I couldn't help laughing when he was gloating a little at being clever enough to get one over on her and have an alibi to clear his name, too. I think Rose might have met her match?

And the comment pointing out how much she was talking about kissing him. Good point, well made, Scorpius Malfoy.

James, saying that he should get Rose disowned by the family for going for a Slytherin :P But I don't think he really means it, he loves Rose far too much to do that to her. I'm loving this story so much, Branwen!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Potter Family Secrets

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen! Ah, I'm jumping around a bit in this story as jailbreaker so events are happening a bit out of order for me at the moment. Back to a point in time when Rose and Scorpius aren't getting on in many ways at all :P

Rose still hasn't lost her prejudices and I love her characterisation - I think I'm going to be saying that in pretty much every chapter I review haha. But she's so stubborn and so against Scorpius for no real reason that I can see, and I'm kind of looking forward to seeing her realise that she was wrong about him.

I really like the idea of Albus and Scorpius being such good friends and Albus trusting Scorpius enough to show him the Marauders' Map. I think because we're so used to seeing objects like it we forget how magical it really is, even to the witches and wizards in their world, so it was nice to see Scorpius's surprise and shock at seeing it.

Haha, Roxanne in the classroom putting fireworks there. I really can't wait to meet that girl. She's a bit different to my own version of her but she's making me laugh a lot - I love how neither Rose nor Albus is at all surprised :P

Ah, the necklace is a WWW product! I like the fact that Scorpius noticed and he's probably not entirely unfamiliar with their products - it says something about the Weasleys that Rose feels she needs to wear it haha!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodoreCuriosity Is Not a Sin: A Visit to the Village

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Ah, I know I said this in my earlier review, but I really love Rose's character. She's just so vibrant and even though she's not really anything like me, she comes across so well and I find her really likeable. I think I'd want to be friends with her if she were real, and to be honest I don't think I can give a fictional character much more of a compliment than that :P

I love the way that we get to see James telling Fred about all the compromising positions that Rose has been spotted in with Scorpius Malfoy - he just gets so much enjoyment from it, the gossip! And I like the fact that it's so obvious how close the family are, because while she's a bit awkward about it and a bit embarrassed, Rose isn't annoyed at James for telling Fred about her and Scorpius. I mean, it's not like she could keep it a secret anyway with this family.

The dialogue in this chapter is brilliant, too. You manage to capture each individual character's voice and it comes through really well in the dialogue, and I especially loved the part when James was talking about the time that him and Roxanne had to be given a detention for some of their pranks. I wouldn't like to get on the wrong side of those two!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodoreFortune Favors the Bold: Fortune Favors the Bold

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Aw, I really love Victoire and Teddy as a couple and I seem to remember that you enjoy writing them quite a bit, so I'm really glad to get to read this story. I thought you did such a good job of capturing the two characters in this piece and of exploring their relationship.

Like the story I read earlier, when Victoire was sneaking out (kind of) to go and meet Teddy for a first date, this is a perfect example of the way that you manage to take a small moment in a relationship (although quite a big moment for Victoire, I guess here) and explore it so well and write a lovely story from it.

Aw, Victoire arriving at Teddy's flat and being recognised as his girlfriend was so sweet - she obviously didn't expect him to have talked about her as much as he must have done, and it's lovely to see how much that means to her. She's so daring and determined to sneak out though so that she can come and see him, and with what she has planned :P Go Victoire!

Teddy's surprise and happiness at seeing her was really lovely to read as well, because he obviously loves having her around. I love the discussion too, and the way that they were so honest with each other about what they've done and where they're at in the relationship, because that's so important, and it's really helped to convince me that these two should be together forever (not that I'm a romantic at heart or anything haha). I loved reading this!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodoreThe Writing on the Wall.: Easter.

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Margaret! I'm sorry that I'm jumping in halfway through your novel here but I hope that you don't mind too much, since it's for a good cause (in Gryffindor's eyes at least).

I know I say this time and time again, but I really love the talent that you have for capturing children's characters and portraying them so believably in your stories. I really loved reading about them here, particularly Lily and Fred and Roxanne - it seemed like all they wanted to talk about was Easter Eggs and chocolate and it fit so well with their ages and how excited kids get around Easter.

There was a lot of dialogue in this chapter but I really enjoyed reading it, because I think you did a great job of capturing the interactions and the dynamics between the different characters. As well as your talent for writing children, you're great at portraying families and family dynamics. I laughed a little when James was teasing Lily about the Easter bunny and then teasing Albus about not having received a detention all year and that being an unacceptable way to get through Hogwarts. I really liked reading the family all together as well and celebrating Easter - this chapter just filled me with smiles and warm feelings for the Weasleys!

Sian :)

Author's Response: If you DO have to jump in halfway through the novel, this isn't a bad chapter to pick as it pretty much stands alone and doesn't give away too much. Even Rose's owl from Scorpius doesn't really give any details.

I'm really pleased you like the way I capture the children's characters. 11 and 12 year olds are hard to write, getting the correct balance between child and teenager. The younger children and older teens are easier.

The Easter Bunny isn't really a thing here, actually, though I think it MIGHT be coming in now. A couple of my colleagues were talking recently about whether they would "do" the Easter Bunny with their kids. I was an adult before I realised the Easter Bunny was a Santa Claus typed character. We just got Easter eggs from our parents and family members.

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>