Reading Reviews From Member: nott theodore
  
1,186 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodoreMy New Life: Beginning of Classes

19th March 2015:
Hello again! I'm here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

It was really interesting to read about Nikki's first day of classes at Hogwarts! There was lots going on in this chapter and it was so interesting to read about it all - you packed a lot of information into this chapter and it really was great to read it and find out how Nikki is gradually getting to become a part of the wizarding world.

The fact that Katie is the only one in the Gryffindor girls that year to come from a magical family is really interesting, and at least means that Nikki won't feel so out of place as she gets used to life at Hogwarts. I also like the way that the Weasley twins are both starting to notice her around and be friendly - that's definitely going to be helpful in the future, I think.

The different classes that Nikki had on her first day were really interesting, and although we know what happens in those sort of lessons, it was interesting to read about them and what happened to Nikki in them.

The one that interested me most is when the conversation was overheard by Nikki and she heard them talking about her and Lily Evans. I'm wondering now if Nikki is supposed to somehow be Harry's older sister, although I hadn't expected that before. I'm intrigued about whether we'll find out more in the future on that!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodoreMy New Life: The First Day

19th March 2015:
Hi again, here with another HPFF Fundraiser review!

Ah, this was a really interesting chapter to read as well! I was a bit worried for Nikki about what her first day would be like because she was so apprehensive and nervous before she went to Hogwarts, but I'm really glad that it went well!

I thought you did a wonderful job of describing the castle and the approach to it. It sounded so beautiful and I could picture the castle in my mind very easily. It was clear to see the sense of awe that it inspires in the young first years crossing the lake to it for the first time - it really is magical!

You also did a really good job writing Hagrid's speech, even though he didn't say much overall. He's always a difficult character to write, I think.

Ah, so Nikki's in Gryffindor! That's great (Gryffie myself :P) because it ties her in more to canon and we get to see her with characters like the Weasleys and Katie Bell, so that really places her firmly in that setting. I thought the letter that she wrote to her parents and siblings was really sweet as well, though. It would be important to keep in contact with them, especially for Muggle-borns, so it was sweet to see her thinking of them straight away on her first proper day.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodoreMy New Life: Into the Unknown

19th March 2015:
Hello again, here reviewing for the HPFF Fundraiser!

This was another really interesting chapter. Into the Unknown is a really good title for it. I can't imagine how I would have felt if I was leaving my family behind at the age of eleven and travelling on my own to a magical school. Especially when I didn't even know that it existed just a few months before. It's not surprising that it seemed to pass so quickly for Nikki and that she was dreading the day arriving. But I really thought you did a good job of writing her emotions and thoughts when she was on the train, not knowing what to expect when she arrives.

I liked the appearance of the different Weasley brothers in this story. I always like including canon characters because it helps tie a story like this into the timeline we already know, and so that was great to see here. Plus we never see enough of Charlie in fanfiction!

The question about sorting is a good one - it's a scary prospect to someone who doesn't have any idea how it's going to work!

I liked the different perspectives at the end of this chapter too. Mia seems more wary of Nikki and almost jealous of her magic whereas Wart is more supportive. I'm interested to see what it'll be like there in the holidays.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodoreMy New Life: Diagon Alley

19th March 2015:
Hello again, here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

I really liked this chapter as well! Once again (and this is the last time I'll mention it, as I think you'll get the idea from now on), I think it would be good to shorten your paragraphs and make the story easier to read. Partway through there's a really long paragraph which was kind of difficult to focus on and read.

I really liked the way that you wrote a little about the process for Muggle-born children (or in this case, someone who's grown up as a Muggle) when they start Hogwarts. They need someone to explain things to them and their family, and it would be pretty much impossible to get into Diagon Alley and get all the things you need if you've never done it before.

It was interesting to see Mia's jealousy creeping in here. She reminded me a little bit of Petunia actually, but I can understand the reason she wanted to join her parents and Nikki and I'm glad she did get to go eventually. I also liked the way that they mispronounced Diagon Alley because they'd never heard of it before.

McGonagall's not easy to write but I thought you did a good job of capturing her character in this. I also thought you did a great job of capturing the wonder and excitement that Diagon Alley holds, particularly for someone who's never been there and is visiting for the first time!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodoreMy New Life: The Final Decision

19th March 2015:
Hello again! I'm here reviewing for the HPFF Fundraiser again!

(I also realised I typed Maria instead of Mia by mistake in the last review, sorry about that!)

I enjoyed this chapter, as well. Things are moving quite slowly so far, but I think that it's really good that you're taking time to focus on the decision process that Nikki and her family are going through when she gets her Hogwarts letter. I don't think I've ever really seen it written about in detail before so I found it really interesting to read about. I don't think it would be an easy decision for any family, let alone this one. If you're adopted, the last thing you would want would be to be told you don't belong with the rest of your adoptive family.

I liked the way that her family helped her to come to terms with the fact that she needed to go to Hogwarts, though. You could tell that they really cared about her and that they had her best interests at heart, even if she didn't realise that and was maybe too young to appreciate it. Even Mia didn't betray her, but wanted to have all these fantastic opportunities, and that really shows they love her.

So now the decision's been made, and I'm looking forward to seeing what'll happen next!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodoreGoodbye Moon: Goodbye Moon

19th March 2015:
Hello again! I'm here reviewing, once again, in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

Ah, I really love Remus and Tonks as a couple and although I've read quite a few different stories about them, I still don't think that there are enough stories written about them here on the archives. It was great to read this and discover your version of their love story.

Ah, this is just such a sad moment. It's so sad to think that these were their last moments together before the battle. I don't even want to think about the fact that poor Teddy was left alone without his parents because they were both so brave and went off to fight, and that Remus didn't want Tonks to fight but she couldn't stand being away from him and not knowing if he was okay. It's all so sad but such a lovely love story too!

I thought you captured their characters really well, even though this was just a short one-shot. You definitely managed to make Tonks's motivations clear when she left Teddy behind to join her husband and I thought that, even though you didn't emphasise it too much, you really showed how much Remus and Tonks loved each other in this piece. I really enjoyed reading it, and now I'm sad all over again that they died!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian,

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to let me know what you thought of the story!

I have always been intrigued by the love between Remus and Tonks, and their selflessness in wanting to preserve one another. They are a lovely couple and I'm glad someone else shares that fascination with me.

Thank you, Sian! Your review means a lot :)

XX


 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodoreMy New Life: Maybe

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

Again, I think it would probably help if you could break up the paragraphs a little in this chapter. They're just quite long blocks of text and at times that makes them a little intimidating to read - if you change the formatting a little, it would be much more readable.

I liked the fact that Nikki wanted to talk to her siblings about the news that she's just had to discuss her options. I can understand the fact that she feels quite betrayed by her adoptive parents as they've never told her this, and she's going to be sent away to go to a school she's never heard of before. It's a scary prospect! It's great that her siblings are both close enough to her that she feels she can talk to them, though.

It was kind of sad to see that she thinks Maria is betraying her, because I think it is best for Nikki to go to Hogwarts, and in the end she'll be happy there. It's sweet to see how supportive Austin was though. And I'm looking forward to the rest of the story and seeing Nikki start at Hogwarts!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodoreMy New Life: They're Completely Mental

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here for another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

This was a great second chapter. We really seemed to delve into the action more here and we got to learn a lot more about some of the different characters. There were also lots of little references to the first Harry Potter book that I picked up on in this chapter and I thought that was a really clever way of connecting this story to canon.

I'm so intrigued to know who Nikki's parents actually were. It seems like her adoptive parents met with Dumbledore so that they could get her and that's interesting - it definitely helps to place this story in time.

I liked seeing the two siblings fighting outside the door to try and listen into the conversation. It reminded me a bit of Harry and Dudley listening into the Dursleys' conversation when Harry got his letter, although nicer. It was good to get a different insight too.

As far as constructive criticism goes, I'd suggest breaking up some of the paragraphs a little more in this chapter as some of them were quite long and a little difficult to read. You could also read through some of the dialogue again as there were several run-on sentences and some more punctuation would really help that.

I thought Nikki's reaction was believable - almost like Vernon's, in a way, actually! I'm intrigued about who her parents really are though!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodoreMy New Life: My Family

19th March 2015:
Hello there! Welcome to HPFF and congratulations on posting your first fanfiction on the site! I'm here reviewing stories for the HPFF Fundraiser!

I enjoyed this chapter - I haven't read any similar stories before so it was an interesting concept for me. I thought that there was a lot of description in this chapter; it was really detailed and that was great, because we got to have clear pictures of the different people in our minds from the beginning. The only thing I'd say is that you could probably find a way that flows a little better to show off those descriptive talents. Maybe they could all be sat round a table eating and then your protagonist has cause to describe her family?

From there I loved the idea of this big family that's a real mix of people, but that all seem to get on. Nikki seems to have had an interesting upbringing and belongs to a loving family so it's great for her. But at the same time, if you know you're adopted then it would definitely make you question who your real parents were when you receive an invitation to a school of magic! I'm intrigued to find out more about her family!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodorePure: Pure

19th March 2015:
Hello there! Welcome to HPFF! I'm here reviewing in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

I haven't ever read a story like this - not that I remember reading, anyway. I enjoyed reading this. It was like a snapshot into the Malfoy family and as a missing moment it does fit in quite well to things that happen in canon. I thought it was great to get an insight into what you think pureblood families are like as well. It's always interesting to see different people's interpretations of them.

It's interesting that Narcissa doesn't have any comfort in Lucius's return. A lot of the stories I read including them have them as a loving couple so that was an unusual take but I enjoyed reading it still.

It's so sad to think of poor Draco in this story. He's so young and innocent, and at this age he looks up to his parents - and especially his father - so much that he'd probably accept anything that they told him. The fact that Lucius is determined to introduce him to dark magic from such a young age actually makes me feel a little bit angry. Feeding a child those sorts of prejudices is really frustrating because it's so hard to escape them afterwards. With an upbringing like this, Draco never had a chance, really.

Great little story!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodoreMaybe Forever: Into the Woods

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

I really enjoyed this chapter as well! I was interested to see where things would get to in this chapter and how you would develop the plot, and in just a short amount of time (as far as the plot is concerned) you've done a good job of letting us get to know the characters better. I'm also more interested and intrigued about the plot for this story.

I like the fact that people seem to be so accepting of Albus and Scorpius as a couple. It seems that people in their friendship group have probably known for a while that the two of them like each other and so they're more prepared for two people to get together. It's going to be interesting to see how the group dynamic changes now that they're together though, since it's inevitable when two people start a new relationship in a friendship group like that.

I really enjoyed reading the scenes between Aly (who I've now realised is a girl) and Blanche in this chapter. The game of truth or dare was interesting and I liked getting to know more about the two of them. The dialogue between them was also great - you wrote it so that it seemed natural and flowed well. I can definitely see some chemistry between Blanche and Aly, and I don't think it's just because we're reading from Aly's perspective. I'm enjoying this so far!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. It's been a while since I've posted anything for various reasons, but there is another chapter coming soon! I appreciate the positive feedback.

GM


 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodoreMaybe Forever: The Transfer

19th March 2015:
Hi there! Welcome to HPFF! I'm here reviewing in support of the HPFF Fundraiser (which is taking place at the moment to help raise money to keep this wonderful site alive)!

I was really intrigued by the summary of this story and I wasn't disappointed when I read this chapter!

The introduction of the character Blanche was really interesting. From the very beginning of the chapter it was clear how struck Albany, the narrator, was with Blanche and because of that it was almost impossible to avoid being interested in her. She certainly seems to have a striking appearance and she made an impact when she joined and arrived late to the Potions class. It's interesting that she was expelled (the story kind of made me laugh) and that she was put in Ravenclaw rather than being sorted.

The only thing that I was confused about was whether Albany was male or female or whether they were intended to have no assigned gender in this chapter. It wasn't clear and I wasn't sure if you intended that or not.

The Albus and Scorpius scenes were really cute! I haven't read many stories about the two of them, but they seem to be cute together and I'm happy for them already, even though we don't know them that well yet!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodoreA Magical Hunger Games: The Portal

19th March 2015:
Hi there! Welcome to HPFF! I'm actually here leaving reviews in support of the HPFF Fundraiser that's taking place at the moment to help keep the site alive!

I have to admit that I don't really read many crossover stories because I don't know many other fandoms enough to enjoy them properly. I've still only read the first book in the Hunger Games trilogy *hides* but I was intrigued by this and wanted to read it.

I liked the way that you opened this! The animals reminded me of a chase and at first I thought there was some sort of danger, and it really gripped me and made me want to read on in the story. I liked the way that it then turned out to be witches and wizards who seemed to have Animagus forms, and there wasn't actually any need to be worried as they were all friends.

The discovery of the cave and the door there was very intriguing. It's never a good idea to open a door when you don't know what's behind it - especially in the magical world - but I'm curious about what will happen next! This was only a short chapter to open the story, but I'm enjoying the story so far!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodoreThe Night Petunia Dursley Turned Cold: The Night Petunia Dursley Turned Cold

19th March 2015:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

I really, really love stories like this one. Petunia, in the books, seems like such a one-dimensional character at times. She's often portrayed that way in fanfiction and yet she's a character who's always intrigued me. She has a story of her own and I think that it deserves to be told, as well. It was great to see this story showing another side to Lily's sister and showing someone who mourned.

I was a bit confused on a few points, like how she found out everything about the Secret Keeper business (and why she didn't then tell Dumbledore that it had actually been Pettigrew and not Sirius, who betrayed her sister) and how she got to the house in the first place, but overall I really enjoyed this.

One other suggestion that I'd make is to break up some of the paragraphs a little so that it's easier to read the story. Mostly the first paragraph, which is difficult to read as it's a long block of text, but otherwise it's not a real problem.

Apart from those minor details I really enjoyed reading this. I liked the idea that, even though she hadn't told Vernon (from whose perspective we see the first chapter of the books), she had kept in touch with Lily and slipped out to her wedding, and wanted to have Dudley and Harry playing together. It's a different side to her that we don't see in the books. I liked your explanation for her coldness, too - the fact that Harry reminded her so much of the sister she'd loved that it was painful and so she treated him badly. It's really intriguing and I enjoyed this story!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : The Day After

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

The opening of the chapter showed just how awkward things were for Sapphire after she's cheated on Harry with Draco, and I think she deserves it to be honest. I know she tried to apologise but it's not surprising that Harry isn't in the mood to listen to apologies at the moment. I'm not surprised that he stormed out of Potions class, either.

Trust Snape to give Harry the detention and take points away from Gryffindor even though Draco punched Harry as well. That seems like him. But I can understand Harry being so hurt when he found out that not only did Sapphire kiss Draco on her birthday, but before they got together as well. It's not as if it was new.

It seems like now that Sapphire's lost Harry she's going to get with Draco soon. I'm not sure how I feel about that, really.

I can imagine Hermione ignoring Sapphire for doing what she had done to Harry. Hermione's a really loyal friend and wouldn't want to talk to Sapphire after something like that. I wonder what's going to happen over the Christmas holidays.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : Happy Birthday

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

Wow, this was another chapter with a lot of drama in it! I wasn't expecting that it would be so dramatic this early on in the story, especially because there was a very dramatic chapter recently.

I thought all of the different presents that people got for Sapphire for her birthday were really thoughtful. I especially really liked the way that Harry had decided he wanted to treat her and he got Blaise to help him with the different things that he could do for her birthday, although I was surprised by the fact he was able to take her out to Hogsmeade for a birthday dinner. I really liked Blaise's present though. It shows they're so close as cousins and it was very sweet and thoughtful of him.

The party was a really nice idea. I suspected that might be happening when Harry took Sapphire out so early and it was great for her to have a surprise party when she got back for her birthday. Even though she's only been there for a few months, if that, she seems to have settled in well.

Oh dear, I didn't think that the fact of Draco giving her a present could end well. In fact, I'm sure that's probably what he wanted - Harry and Sapphire to split up - but it's not great. I feel really sorry for Harry. Sapphire needs to start thinking about what she's doing before she does things which hurt people!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : The First Challenge

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

Personally, I think you could probably just use a few sentences - sometimes even just one - to recap what's been happening. Normally people remember if they're reading and enjoying a story, so you probably don't need to state that it's a recap of events at the beginning.

I thought Sapphire's reactions when Harry was going through the task for the Triwizard Tournament were well written. It makes sense that she'd be very nervous when she's watching it, especially because she's had to watch the others go through the tasks. I was surprised about the fact that Blaise was sitting with them and cheering for Harry too, but apparently him and Hermione seem to be together so it's kind of more understandable.

The party was really nice for Harry. He definitely deserves to celebrate after managing to get the golden egg from the dragon.

The conversation between Draco and Blaise was really curious. I thought they were talking about Voldemort, which surprised me because he hadn't actually come back at this point, but I suppose there's a way he might have got a message to them and threatened the two of them. I didn't expect that part of the story.

I wonder what the gifts that Blaise and Harry got for Sapphire are, and what Draco's going to get for her too.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : Broken Hearts and New Relationships

19th March 2015:
Hello again, here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

It was good to go back to Sapphire's perspective at the beginning of this chapter. I liked being able to see what had happened in the lead up to Draco seeing her and Harry kissing. It was sweet to see Harry blurting out all of the things that he liked about her and getting embarrassed about it. I liked reading that scene but then the fact that Draco walked in on them was awkward.

Sapphire's a good liar. It's kind of horrible to see the way that she lies to Harry so easily to tell him that she just wants to stop Draco telling Blaise about her and Harry as if that will work. I did feel sorry for Draco though because she'd led him on and didn't seem to even feel bad about it.

I didn't expect things to take a different turn with Harry and Sapphire becoming an official couple, and then Blaise taking Hermione on a double date with them. The format of the narrative changed quite dramatically for the recap of the date as well, but it got the point across well.

I can understand Sapphire being nervous if the first task of the Triwizard Tournament is in a few days. I would be!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : Kiss, But Don't Tell Blaise

19th March 2015:
Hello again! Here with another HPFF Fundraiser review!

Wow, there was a lot of things going on in this chapter! I definitely wasn't expecting all of the different things that happened when I started reading it, and the drama was really increased from the last chapters that I've read.

I thought from the beginning that it was a plot by Blaise to get Sapphire and Draco spending time together and stop her from spending time with Harry. I was a bit confused about whether it was a Hogsmeade weekend or not, though? I'm also intrigued about whether Blaise really has a girlfriend or if he made her up so that he could go off with that excuse and leave Draco and Sapphire alone.

Draco was actually quite the gentleman when he was with Sapphire, paying for her sweets and things like that, giving her his jacket. It was a side of Draco that we never see in the books but I can imagine that it could exist. I was wondering what he wanted to tell her, but then Sapphire kissed him and ran away.

I definitely wasn't expecting the ending - that was probably the biggest surprise in this chapter. Even though I knew she liked them both and they liked her, I didn't think that Sapphire would kiss Draco and Harry in the same afternoon. I'm curious about what happened and what's going to happen next.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodoreWhat is Fair About Love and War? : Don't Cry Harry

19th March 2015:
Hi again! I'm here with another review for the HPFF Fundraiser!

It was really interesting to see the Goblet of Fire picking the different champions from a different perspective. We only ever see anything in the books from Harry's POV and so it was interesting here to see it from a different perspective. It was kind of sad to see the different reactions in the Great Hall to Harry being called to go and compete. It's not his fault and we got to see things from a different perspective here, the point of view of someone who believes him.

It was nice of Sapphire to go and find Harry after he'd left and comfort him. It's good for him to have some friends in this.

I was expecting Blaise to shout at Sapphire as well but it's interesting that he wants her to go to Hogsmeade with them instead. I wonder if it's a different strategy to keep her away from Harry and make her spend time with Draco.

The ending did confuse me a bit, just because you seemed to switch POV without saying it - when Sapphire went to sleep the narrative slipped into third person and there was nothing to mark that.

I'm interested to see what will happen in Hogsmeade.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodoreNot Staring: Not Staring

19th March 2015:
Hi again! Here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

Ah, I really do love James and Lily so when I came back to your page to take a peek and saw this one-shot there, I couldn't resist reading it! This was such a sweet story and even though I've read a lot of stories about James and Lily getting together before, I really enjoyed reading this one. I think you did a great job with it.

The dialogue was very realistic and believable. I could practically here the conversation between the two friends and the way that Sirius was teasing James. You could tell that they were close friends because of the way that Sirius was teasing James as well. Even though there wasn't much description in that section of the story, it was clear through the dialogue what their friendship was like.

They made me laugh when they were arguing about whether James was really in love with Lily or not, though. I can imagine that happening.

Oh, the Marauder's Challenge is a great idea! I like the idea of them not being able to get out of a dare like that as well. Poor James, he was so nervous! The things he said to himself were great, as he tried to get up the courage to ask her and then thought it was a disaster too.

It was so sweet that Lily said yes! And then James did his happy dance :P It was really just a cute story and I was rooting for them so much by the end of it. I really enjoyed this!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello again! I must say James and Lily are definitely one of my favourite pairings, they're just so cute!

One character that I particularly love writing about is Sirius, he makes an appearance in a lot of my stories. I just love his relationship with James though, it's so fun and light and happy! And they're so close.

And I have to say, when they were arguing about whether or not James loved Lily was one of my favourite parts to write, second only to his inner monologue when he's asking her out!

The happy dance just tied the whole thing together if you ask me :P You can't go wrong with a happy dance (as long as nothing sad happens of course)

Thanks again for reviewing, I was laughing all the way through it :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodoreHarry Potter And The School Play: On the train to Hogwarts

19th March 2015:
Hello again, here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

I have to admit that I don't often read many AU stories as I tend to prefer missing moments and stories that embellish what happens in canon. But as an AU story this was interesting, and I've not seen one that uses this before.

I really like the idea of Harry being able to stay at home with his parents and the fact that they didn't actually die on that night in 1981. I don't want them to have died because he'd have had a much better life. It's also a really sweet idea that Harry and Ron might have been friends before they started Hogwarts and Harry would have known a lot more about the school that he was going to and the life he was going to lead.

It's sad to think that James left the family because he became so famous. In the canon version I don't see him doing that since he cares so much about his family, but I suppose this is AU.

As far as CC goes, my suggestion would be to add a little bit more description between the dialogue as at times it seems a little chaotic and it was a bit difficult to follow who was talking. I was surprised when Hermione appeared from nowhere because she'd left and suddenly was speaking again. A bit more description would help it flow better.

I am interested by the set-up that you have here in this story though and I'm interested to see what's going to happen with all of these characters in their play.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your support!

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodoreOh I forgot: Introduction

19th March 2015:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing for the HPFF Fundraiser!

This is a really unusual and original idea! I've never seen a story like this before when I've been reading fanfiction and it was really interesting to read. I wonder how you're going to continue with the rest of the story when you switch narrators to Hermione. It's certainly going to be a challenge and really intriguing at the same time to write from the perspective of someone with memory loss.

I was kind of surprised at Lavender having decided to erase Hermione's memory. In my head canon she's a very complicated character and I did like the fact that she had a lot more ambition and intelligence here than people seem to give her credit for - she could almost be in Slytherin with her behaviour like that. I was glad that Parvati didn't agree with what she'd done or her motives.

It's a bit worrying that Ron and Harry didn't take Parvati's information seriously. I think things are going to be difficult because of that and I'm interested to see what Lavender's plan is to try and get Ron back. It could be really interesting and entertaining!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodoreRound the Table Gather: Round the Table Gather

19th March 2015:
Hello again! Another HPFF Fundraiser review!

I really liked the title of this story when I saw it on your author's page - it was so intriguing and even though it kind of sounded sad from the summary, I am glad I read this. It was a really cute story and it made me smile in the end. I liked the thought that you'd put into this and the way that every one of the characters we love is involved somehow.

Opening with Christmas at the Burrow was great. I absolutely loved the family that was gathered around the table (although I think in canon information there are some other children) and the way that James was told off for not eating his broccoli in exactly the same way that Ron was. It was so funny and I can really imagine Ron being a great uncle to all the other kids as well as a really fun dad.

I liked the switch from there to the other side, so to speak. Dumbledore would definitely be the one to lead any of the festivities on Christmas day, but I liked the way that people on that side had come to terms with their deaths and gathered together. It was so sad about Sirius, though.

Even though I kind of wish that Fred had gone on, I do love the idea of him becoming a ghost and terrorising Filch with Peeves as his partner-in-mischief. I think both he and George would be delighted with the continuation of that work :P

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm actually considering a follow-up to the Fred/Peeves angle, in which they've now become quasi-enemies and battle it out for supremacy over the pranking of Hogwarts. Kind of like a Bugs and Daffy cartoon.

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodoreWatering Hole: Watering Hole

19th March 2015:
Hello again! I'm here with another review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser!

Aw, this was such a cute story to read! I don't know why, but there really aren't many stories that seem to focus on the friendships between different characters, and I think that's really a pity. Friendship, and the power of friendship, is one of the most important themes in the series so it was great to see it here.

I had to laugh when I was reading this, though. I liked the way that Ron was there waiting, and the fact that he'd clearly aged, but he was so serious about whatever he was waiting for. And then Harry appears, ready for a drink and a game of darts with his best friend.

I loved seeing Harry as the Minister of Magic. I've never really thought that he'd want to be the Minister but I do think Ginny would be happy to see him out of the Aurors and safe again. It was really funny to see Creevey fussing over him as well and trying to all official - almost like Percy - and Harry was just there to have a drink with his best friend.

Their friendship was really well written and it made me smile to see it, and the fact that they'd made sure that they remained friends and spent time together, even though there was a lot more going on. It's so sweet to think of and I thought you captured their characters really well too.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>