Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: nott theodore
  
1,510 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodoreL'optimisme: Clauses

15th May 2017:
Laura! ♥ I hope you don't mind me picking L'optimisme for our swap, but I want to be able to read all of La Salvezza together, and with the speed that you're getting through the editing of this, I figured I should probably start trying to catch up :P

The opening section was so lovely, with the way that you tied in the more theoretical idea of clauses to the relationship between Albus and Gellert. It just worked so well and seemed to fit their relationship perfectly, especially with the way that Albus lingered over the ideas of certainty and uncertainty, and the fact that Gellert seemed to end each clause in his life. Gellert isn't a full stop, but a continuation, someone who helps Albus on in a way even while they're apart. There's this constant link between them and they're so bound up together.

I loved the idea of the fact that they'd been so very certain of each other in that summer of uncertainty - that in all the headiness of youth, neither of them had stopped to consider that they were the ones who might not last - at least, not together, as a couple. And yet, even though they were certain of each other and they weren't able to stay together in the conventional sense, they are perhaps more connected than they could be otherwise.

And I'm not sure if it was intentional, but I love the double meaning that you could apply to 'clauses' here - the idea that in that summer they sealed a sort of unwritten contract, and there will not be one without the other, however far apart they are geographically.

Have I told you before that I love the way that Albus kind of digresses and goes off on tangents? They're not really total tangents because they flow so well from his thoughts, but it fits his character so well. In the books you always get the impression that he's carried away by his own thoughts sometimes, and not always entirely in the moment.

I really, really like the way that you're moving the time period forward and reminding us of that with little details, like the changing fashions at the parties and the atmosphere there. It's really clever and lovely.

Ah, I kind of wanted to give Albus a hug here. He seems so lost - like he's really trying to find purpose and dedicate himself to his teaching and his research, but there's part of him that will always be connected to Gellert and he still feels his loss so much. I'm not sure that he'll really find it easier as time goes on or whether he'll just get better at dealing with it, but I love the subtle ways that you're developing his character and yet remaining true to the constants (and especially Gellert).

The moment when he confessed to Gellert that he was so worried he would be offered the Ministry of Magic post again and that at some point he would not find it easy to refuse ♥ It's kind of ironic that he's confessing to Gellert how worried he is about being in a position of power, especially since at this point Gellert is building up his own power base, but at the same time so sweet because there's nobody else he can (or wants to) share those fears with.

I loved the way that the conversation with Bathilda started off so gingerly, then just as they seemed to find themselves on solid ground, they stumbled into the danger zone again. But I thought what Gellert had said to Bathilda was so true! There are some people who present as a different person with every change of scene and group of people they're with, but it's incredibly hard to shake off and have the confidence to truly be yourself. It was wonderful to see that somehow Gellert was still reaching out to Albus though he's so far away and giving him the confidence to be a better person and be himself.

Ooh, and I forgot to mention earlier, but that question about whether or not Gellert or Albus had said a certain phrase was wonderful, because of how well it showed their similarities and the way that they're bound up together, no matter the distance between them.

This was lovely and wonderful and I'm really glad I'm finally continuing with it!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodoreJingle All the Way: Go It While You're Young

5th May 2017:
Nicole!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Now I'm the truly terrible one, I can't believe that you posted this in March and I've been so ungrateful as to leave reviewing it till May :( In my defence, I didn't have much time for reviewing in April apart from CTF, and I wanted to be able to leave a proper review on this chapter, because it deserves it (also oh my goodness, I still can't believe that you wrote a story for me *flails*, I feel so honoured!).

I love how utterly magical everything at Givesmore is. It's just there in every aspect of their work, which makes me smile so much, because it's like Givesmore has to keep up the magic of Christmas in all that it does, even if it doesn't necessarily actually make their jobs easier :P Poor Dennis, with the filing cabinets protesting just because he's trying to get them to work more quietly.

The interactions between Marietta and Dennis are really interesting, I'm wondering if Marietta is going to thaw out at all towards Dennis, because she seems to be very cold at the moment. Maybe the party will see some changes in the way they behave towards each other, especially since neither of them seem to be overly keen on the idea of the party.

The letter from Colin!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

*sobs*

Oh my goodness, that was just so sweet and cute and also more than a little bit heartbreaking to read. Seriously, how sweet is Colin? I think there's no doubt that he's a bit of a Gryffinpuff like me, it was just so lovely that he wrote to Santa and asked for something that could be for his mum, and dad, and Dennis, when so many children would just write a long list of what they want for themselves. How many children would do that? Ah, it's just so sweet and lovely of him, and it's no wonder that Dennis found it difficult to read, seeing a reminder of what a wonderful person his brother was, even when he was little, and knowing that he never got to reach his full potential.

It's so sad that Colin never got his requests because the payment was never received, though. I understand that they have to run it as a business, but it would be lovely if there was like a charity fund or something that could pay for the Muggle-born children whose parents didn't know about it - although I guess that he probably got other presents from his family :P But it was a great insight into how the business works, and it's interesting to think of how Givesmore ties into the magical world - maybe some Muggle-born children are found because of the fact they see the adverts?

Grace Givesmore is certainly an... interesting character. She doesn't seem to fit particularly well with the ethos of the company, and although I know that she's trying, in a way, to do something more fun for the employees, but since they're all so stressed already trying to get things ready in time for Christmas, it might not be the best idea. But it was so cute how the other elves were so excited about the prospect of a party. Grace definitely doesn't listen, though, and doesn't seem to care what Millicent thinks, even though Millicent is running the whole company for her. I'm not entirely sure I like Grace, to be honest, but I'm going to wait and see how the party goes before I make a proper judgement :P

Thank you so, so much for this chapter and this story, Nicole! I know I say in all these reviews, but I really mean it, and I'm so flattered and overwhelmed that you wanted to write something for me! I hope you're doing well!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodoreErasure: _ _ _

1st May 2017:
Brax!

Okay, so I think that we need to have a serious talk. I've been meaning to read some of your stories for a while now (but you know, things like CTF kind of get in the way of those intentions), and I'm so glad that I finally had a chance to. But we need to address the fact that you've been so disparaging of your own writing recently, and there is absolutely no justification for it. Repeat after me: I am a great writer. Okay?

Honestly, this was amazing!

There were actually points reading this when I was nearly in tears, because this was such an emotional story to read, and it broke my heart to see that George was so desperate to get away from the pain and grief that must have defined his life for the last year that he was willing to do this - erase all of his memories and try and start a new life without the remembrance of Fred - and I just wanted to reach out to him and give him the biggest hug.

Your description in this was just incredible, too - I would like to quote my favourite parts back at you, but I think that it would probably be most of the story, so I'm not going to do that. But really, your writing was so powerful and evoked such vivid images in my mind, and it was beautiful to read. I think I loved the description of George's hair as "Golden red-orange, like the hue of sunsets and marmalade", because it's a lovely, original way to describe his hair colour.

I loved the sense of mystery and tension through this story, too, as George felt this sense of resentment towards his "abductor", thinking of this person who had taken away all of his memories and left him with very little. I was torn from the start in believing his version of events, of having been kidnapped and had his memories taken from him, and then wondering if he'd had a role in it happening. You drew that aspect of the story out really well, so we weren't sure until the end that it had actually been George who had chosen to erase his memories, which made it even more heartbreaking at the end.

This was just so intelligently written, as well - I know that George has chosen to erase his memories, but there are still some that are lurking in the back of his mind and that he might still uncover at some point. I loved the way that certain words, like swamp and extendable, triggered a hint of a memory because of their connection to products and achievements he'd had with Fred. Even down to wanting to send his sister a toilet seat, taken from that throwaway line in the first book. It was just so clever to pack all those little details and hints in there, and made this story stand out even more.

I honestly don't think I can praise this enough, Brax, but I'm going to insist on this - please, please don't be so disparaging about your writing, because it's really wonderful, and this was a fantastic and moving one-shot that you should be very proud of.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian, you are the best!

Thank you so much for reviewing this story. I'm completely blown away by the lovely, thoughtful things that you've said here. Many apologies for the delay in responding. I have no valid excuse apart from someone constantly distracting me on twitter ;)

I found "Erasure" quite a difficult and emotional story to write, because I have such a soft spot for Fred and George, and to put George in this predicament seemed such a cruel thing to do. However, I confess; I really enjoyed injecting random, superficial bits of George's past into this story and thus taking my own trip down HP memory lane.

Thanks once again for how amazingly supportive you've been (with this story and in general).
Brax X


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodoreThe Writing on the Wall.: Easter.

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Margaret! I'm sorry that I'm jumping in halfway through your novel here but I hope that you don't mind too much, since it's for a good cause (in Gryffindor's eyes at least).

I know I say this time and time again, but I really love the talent that you have for capturing children's characters and portraying them so believably in your stories. I really loved reading about them here, particularly Lily and Fred and Roxanne - it seemed like all they wanted to talk about was Easter Eggs and chocolate and it fit so well with their ages and how excited kids get around Easter.

There was a lot of dialogue in this chapter but I really enjoyed reading it, because I think you did a great job of capturing the interactions and the dynamics between the different characters. As well as your talent for writing children, you're great at portraying families and family dynamics. I laughed a little when James was teasing Lily about the Easter bunny and then teasing Albus about not having received a detention all year and that being an unacceptable way to get through Hogwarts. I really liked reading the family all together as well and celebrating Easter - this chapter just filled me with smiles and warm feelings for the Weasleys!

Sian :)

Author's Response: If you DO have to jump in halfway through the novel, this isn't a bad chapter to pick as it pretty much stands alone and doesn't give away too much. Even Rose's owl from Scorpius doesn't really give any details.

I'm really pleased you like the way I capture the children's characters. 11 and 12 year olds are hard to write, getting the correct balance between child and teenager. The younger children and older teens are easier.

The Easter Bunny isn't really a thing here, actually, though I think it MIGHT be coming in now. A couple of my colleagues were talking recently about whether they would "do" the Easter Bunny with their kids. I was an adult before I realised the Easter Bunny was a Santa Claus typed character. We just got Easter eggs from our parents and family members.

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodoreDifferent Time, Different Malfoy: Different Time, Different Malfoy

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Claire! I'm really glad that I get to read more of your great writing as part of this game!

I don't know why, but I didn't expect to find a Rose/Scorpius one-shot on your page, so you kind of surprised me with that. But this was really cute and fluffy and a sweet story to read - a bit of a change from the tension that I've been getting with Lavender and Parvati the last few days :P

This was only a short story but I thought you gave us a really good glimpse into Rose and Scorpius's relationship with this piece. They clearly get on really well and are very attracted to each other, but I'm a bit unsure as to whether they're actually together at the start of this - I think there's room there for the reader to fill in the gaps and use their own imagination.

Poor Rose. I liked the way that Scorpius was so determined to find out what was wrong with her because he didn't want her to be upset, and didn't want to be the one who'd upset her. And then the fact that it's their family names seems so insignificant when he points out that they're different people to their parents, which shows how well he knows her and how easy it is for him to reassure her.

The ending was really cute - although of course there'd be a couple of annoying Weasley cousins getting in the way :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodoreOf Balls and Blood Status: Of Balls and Blood Status

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Olivia!

Oh my goodness hahahaha. You know, I really don't read a lot of Draco/Hermione (I'm not sure that that'll surprise you very much to be honest) but I've read some really good parodies of the pairing recently and I think that I might have to start looking for them when I need a pick-me-up, because this really made me laugh.

Which is a bit awkward as it's half past one in the morning and I'm alone in my bedroom and everyone in the house probably thinks I'm crazy.

From the very first sentence of this story, I had a huge smile on my face. I loved the way that you were so derisive of yourself as the author and kind of broke the fourth wall a bit there, with the way that you commented on the bad opening to the story. Let's be honest, it's not unusual for it to be raining in April in the UK - or at any time of year haha.

Then everything else - I'm so impressed by the number of cliches that you managed to pack into a story so short, but you did a great job of capturing all the stereotypes that you find in a typical Dramione. I loved the fact that there was so much excitement over the ball, and of course Draco asked Hermione, and she helpfully found out she was a pureblood anyway, so bam! The problems are all gone and they can finally be together. How wonderful for them :P

Thank you very much for making me laugh with this, you did a great job of the parody!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodoreThe Great Tale of Me, Lyra Malfoy: I.

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello! I've not read any of your stories before but I'm glad that I get a chance to now. I've seen quite a few stories around in which the Malfoys have another child, or a child who isn't Scorpius, but I don't think I've read any of them, so this was quite a nice introduction.

Lyra has a really strong voice so far. She's very believable as a teenager, she's very sarcastic and a bit dramatic, which I think fits in quite well with someone of her age.

I really enjoyed the dialogue and the interaction between Scorpius and Lyra here too, especially since you've created a character who doesn't exist in canon. I think you captured the sibling relationship here really well, and I could sense their parents frustration with them bickering. I like the fact that you've set out some of the relationships that we're going to encounter in this story already (I love Scorpius and Albus being together!) and that we got some real background to the character and her time at Hogwarts so far.

The only CC I have for you is that I did spot a couple of typos in this chapter - it might be worth going through and just correcting those so it reads smoother. But I really enjoyed this!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Oh hello, finally getting to your lovely review after about a month, so sorry about that!

First of, thank you so much for coming to review. I'm really glad that you think Lyra is believable, sometimes I get a little worried that Lyra becomes too much.

Awww thank you.

I just had to add Scorbus in. It's my kryptonite, and I love it with all of my heart. I could be in the middle of the most epic battle in history, and if some random person from the side was just like 'hey, Scorbus is canon now' or 'X Scorbus fanfic has been updated', I'd just like drop my weapons and prance of the battlefield.

Thanks for pointing out the typos. My plan is to finish GTOLM and then edit the whole thing before I start posting the sequel.

Thanks again for reviewing! Hope to see you creeping around my AP soon.

-ImaRavenclaw


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodoreThe Last Visit: Chapter 1

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Ineke.

Well, first of all you definitely deserve some love because of all the crazy reviewing that you've been doing over the past weeks, but also. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME???

You've seen the Cursed Child as well as I have (more than me, in fact) and you should know by now that I have a soft spot for Albus and Scorpius in any form, whether that's as friends or in a relationship. But this was so mean and so emotional and I'm not very happy after reading this. Deathbed scenes are always hard to read when they're written right (and of course this one definitely was) but the fact that Scorpius was so young and died playing Quidditch made me so, so sad!

I loved the way that you opened this, building up the tension because as readers we didn't really know what had happened or what was wrong, just that we were at St. Mungo's and the Potters were clearly all worried about Albus. And then we find out, and of course they're worried about Albus, and I think you should be a little worried about me too, because you've broken my heart more than a bit with this story!

I thought the dialogue here was fantastic. I honestly don't think you could have chosen a better way to capture what Scorpius means to Albus because it shows so well in his choice of final words. I loved this, but please don't do it to me again!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodorePartners in Crime: recruitment.

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Elisabeth!

Ooh, I've heard about this story and seen it on your author's page before of course, but I haven't had the chance to read it yet so I'm glad I get to do that now!

Albus! And Scorpius! And young adults not knowing what they're really doing with their lives! It probably shouldn't surprise you that this is something that makes me smile and I very much want to read it. Struggling young adults is kind of my thing because honestly, who really knows what they want to do when they leave school and has the money to do it? NOT THIS GIRL.

I loved the opening, when you were giving us some of the background to Albus and the stuff that he's been doing in the years since he left Hogwarts. Then the scene when he was staying at James's, and James just really wanted him gone because he was probably getting in the way of his relationship a bit, and also the swearing in front of a six year old thing :P I loved the dynamic between the two brothers there.

And the dialogue between Scorpius and Albus! Scorpius knows him so well, clearly, and he's so sassy and it just made me smile when I was reading it. You capture the dialogue of this age group so well (unsurprising, really) and the characterisation shines through that. I hope I get to come back and see how Albus starts with his Auror training!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodoreto the end of time: Move In

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Claire! Is there a flag lurking somewhere around here?

Anyway, I'm really glad that I got to get back to this story, because I mean, Parvati and Lavender and I am shipping both of them so badly already in this story. And considering I've read the sixth chapter and nothing else of this story, I think that you should consider that a distinct achievement and be very proud of yourself :P

I'm so glad that they're in a better place than at the end of the last chapter, when everything was so tense and worried because Parvati didn't know what had happened to Lavender in the battle. Of course, Parvati still hasn't found the time or the courage to tell Lavender that she's in love with her - I loved how casually and openly Padma could say it, so it's clearly something that they've talked about or that is obvious to her - but at least they're in a better place together.

Lavender is moving in! Yay! Does this mean there's also going to be potential for late night confessions and telling each other that they love each other, finally?? I also loved the way that you dropped in the little hints about how Lavender is different now, and Parvati doesn't see it as a big change, because she accepts it, and it seems like the effects of PTSD, which aren't generally that well understood I guess.

I'm rooting for these two a lot!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodorePride and Joy: Pride and Joy

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Olivia!

This was a super sweet story to read! I don't think I've actually read anything with Hermione and her parents, except for the stories when she's altering their memory so that they think they don't have a daughter (*sob*) or when she's going to try and find them in Australia, so this was a really lovely and refreshing read.

You did a great job of getting across how close they are as a family and how much the Grangers love their little daughter. It must be so hard for Muggle-borns' parents to deal with their children going off to school and becoming part of a world that they don't belong to, let alone understand, and I loved seeing them trying to make sense of everything that Hermione does at school.

I think the grades that she got for the year was a really great way to then go about them discussing it, because grades, although they're different, are something that most parents can understand and be proud of, so it was like a link between the two worlds. I loved the fact that the Grangers are still so proud of their daughter, even when they don't necessarily know what she's doing or realise that she gets to fly on a broomstick (in theory of course, since Hermione doesn't favour them :P). I loved this!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodoreGetting Sorted: In the Slytherin Common Room

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello! Ooh, I got to read a Scorpius starting Hogwarts and getting sorted story, and now I get to read the same with Albus! I wonder if this is your head canon for both of them, and they don't actually end up in the same house in your head canon?

Anyway, I loved the opening scene and the way that you wrote the conversation that was going on between the Sorting Hat and Albus. It's so interesting to see the way that different people reason what would make someone go into one house or another, and your reasoning here is very believable. I like the way that it wasn't easy for the Sorting Hat to decide where to place Albus, and that it clearly took quite a while (like father, like son), and then that Albus's choice was kind of taken into account. I thought you got Albus's nerves across really well here too, the poor kid. I wanted to give him a hug!

I'm glad that he had someone with him from his family at least, even if Louis did keep humiliating him when they were playing chess and poor Albus kept losing. But I suppose it was a way to get the others talking to him and help him fit in, wasn't it?

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodoreThe Ten Year Anniversary of Dumbledore's Army: Before the Party

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again!

Ah, yet another character I love on the author's page of an author whose work I love reading! I am very much enjoying this game of CTF! :)

I really liked the premise behind this story, that the DA would try and organise to meet up ten years later after everything that's gone on. Of course, it won't be easy as I imagine they'll have to realise and remember that some of them aren't alive anymore, but it's a nicer reunion than most, I imagine, and it'll be interesting to see where everyone is after this time has passed.

I loved your characterisation of Hannah! The little quirks that came through about her like the fact that she has to set her watch twenty minutes early to make sure she's on time for things really helped to bring her character to life. I also got the sense that she's quite happy with where she is now, but she's not exactly where she expected to be? She doesn't seem to see as much of the other DA members as I might have imagined, but her friendship with Tom is really sweet to read. He's a bit like a father figure to her, isn't he?

I have to admit, I'm kind of hoping that Hannah gets to see more of Neville at this reunion...

(Also I love the way that they're still using the Galleons after all this time!)

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodoreMarriage Prospects: A conversation and a letter

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi again!

Okay, I have to admit, again, that I'm not the biggest fan of pairings like this one. In fact, I don't think that I've ever read a Draco/Neville story before in my life? (And I've read quite a lot of fanfiction so that's saying something really.)

But even so, I liked the way that you wrote this piece. There's something about writing stories that are this length with unusual pairings that leaves the reader a lot of space to use their own imagination and fill in the gaps for themselves, which is what I did here - trying to imagine what their relationship might be like and how it began and developed.

The opening section was so tense to read - I loved the way that you hinted at Draco's feelings for Neville with his reactions to what his parents were saying, but he couldn't really voice them or anything and I actually felt really sorry for him. His parents have so clearly not even thought that Draco might be interested in anything but men and carrying on the family line...

The description at the end was lovely, it really showed how much Neville meant to Draco, and I liked the letter that he wrote to him as well - you could tell how they felt about each other and how much their relationship meant. An interesting read!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodoreSettling In: The Start-of-Term Feast

28th April 2017:
CTF Review

Hi again, Kapa!

Another story of yours that I'm excited to get to read! I've read Scorpius in all sorts of different houses, but I think I usually see him in Slytherin (when Albus Potter gets sorted there) or in Gryffindor (again with Albus), so it's really refreshing to see him in Hufflepuff, even though he didn't expect or even necessarily want to be there. (Although why wouldn't you want to be in Hufflepuff? They're awesome!)

I really enjoyed the scene when Scorpius was being sorted and we got to see the Sorting Hat's insight into his brain and personality. It was also really interesting that the Sorting Hat said that Slytherin and Hufflepuff can be considered quite close at times and some people are hatstalls between them, because I think I've always considered them quite far apart in terms of qualities and values. I love details like that in stories like this one!

The final scene had me laughing so much! It's going to be hard for Scorpius to keep a low profile anyway at a school like this when his family has such a reputation, especially now he's the one who stands out as he's not in Slytherin, but if he goes making snarky comments like that one he'll earn his own reputation haha :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodoreTeddy's First Letter From Hogwarts: An Important Question

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again, Kapa!

Oh my goodness, I love Teddy Lupin so much! I don't know why I have such a soft spot for him - maybe it's because he's had such a horrible start to life with his parents dying in the battle, and maybe it's because he's a Hufflepuff, or maybe it's just because he's called Teddy... anyway, I'm so excited to see some stories about him on your page, and that I get the chance to read them!

This was absolutely adorable to read! I honestly loved the way that you wrote it, because you really captured that childlike innocence that comes through and would be there because Teddy has only been at Hogwarts for two days. Then you've packed so much into this short letter - he's writing to Harry, and he knows that there's the fame to Harry's name but it's still weird for him to go to Hogwarts and know so many people with that name there, too.

I loved his lack of prejudice too, the way that he doesn't discriminate or see a difference to the people whose parents were Death Eaters because of his own family, and how he has the likes and dislikes just like any other kid. Also that he's young enough to still sign the letter 'Love you!' without caring what people might think. This just put a massive smile on my face, thank you!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodoreGrey Fire: Party Preparations

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi again! I've heard there's a flag lurking somewhere on your page...

I have to admit that I'm not the biggest fan of pairings that are explicitly non-canon, like Draco/Ginny, but with the set-up that you've got going on here it seems like Ginny has left Harry already (sorry, I jumped in on chapter 2) and so I already feel a bit more open-minded to it than I probably normally would.

The invitation seemed a bit of a surprise even to Ginny herself, so I wonder what's going to happen when she's there at Malfoy Manor. I'm intrigued because the invitation has been sent by Astoria as well, signing as Astoria Malfoy, so it seems like Draco is still with his wife...

The shorter sections worked really well to build up a sort of tension about the event that Ginny's going to and let us feel as uncomfortable as she probably does about it. I know I didn't read the first chapter, but the invite seems to have come a bit out of the blue and Ginny's not the only one who thinks that or thinks that maybe it would be better not to go. I liked her having reasons for having to go, though - it made it more plausible. And I liked Ron's characterisation, too - he was funny but not as angry as I often see, and that made me smile.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodoreAn Innocent Question: Life is good

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello! I'm so glad that I get to read some more of your writing!

You know, I honestly would never have thought to put two characters like Molly Weasley and Andromeda Tonks together as a couple, but of course you did and of course it works, because you're the one who's writing it and your writing is wonderful!

I love how short and sweet this is. It made me smile so much to think that the two of them have found each other and managed to find happiness again, since I'm assuming that Molly has been widowed and they're both looking for someone else to spend their days with. The fact that they've now been married four years is so cute, and I'm just smiling so much because they've got someone else and they're not alone.

I think the length of this story did a lot for it, too. I know you tend to write shorter pieces anyway, but I love the way that this lets you fill in the gaps yourself - it's years since we saw these characters in canon and so it's great to see them together here and imagine what's happened in the meantime.

I loved the two of them going to a pride event, too, and the young girl coming up to ask them how old they are. It emphasises the sense of community there, and the belonging and acceptance, which is lovely.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodoreto the end of time: Should Have Said

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Claire! I don't think I've ever read anything of yours before, but I've definitely been intrigued by your AP and now's a good chance to fix that!

Okay, I'm so, so excited to be reading this story because I love reading little missing moments like this one which focus on the relationship between the characters and tense and emotional times like this one, in the midst of all the fighting. Plus it's Lavender, and I have such a soft spot for her, and Parvati too, so needless to say I am very happy to be reading this story!

And... you've successfully broken my heart a little bit. Which is entirely unhealthy for this early in the morning when I've had so little sleep. But oh my goodness, the way that you built up the fact that Parvati really wanted to tell Lavender something, and she didn't get the chance, and we knew what was coming... I had a horrible swooping feeling in my stomach reading that.

Your description was beautiful here, too - just the tiny moments like the mention of the bruise on her face - but they added so much to the story.

Can I please reach through the screen to hug Parvati??? I'm so glad that Lavender's going to be okay and you've not killed her off like some writers choose to do, but honestly, this was so upsetting and stressful to read! Can I have a happy story when Parvati tells Lavender and it's all okay again?

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodoreDormitory 2.6A: NINE: Honeymoon Express

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Plums! I know I read this all a while ago, but I couldn't review it before CTF, could I? I'm glad I get a chance to show it some love now because it's a really great story!

It is really such a joy to get to read this chapter again (I feel like I'm going to have to go back and read the whole story again to be honest, it's that good). There's so much that happens in it and I kind of just want to fangirl at you, but that wouldn't end in a coherent review, so here's trying.

I love the friendship group that Nova has! They've been through so much in this story and the fact that they've got through that and are still friends is fantastic. I think so often authors forget that teen friendship isn't just about being typical 'girls', but about being there for each other through some of the hardest years of your life, and these girls have really managed that.

And oh my goodness the scene with Albus! He was so adorable and cute and I had so many feels reading it, and then you go and do that to me! You are a cruel, cruel author and I'm not sure I should praise you for breaking my heart a little bit, but you did. I get her reasons for saying no, but NOVA!!!

I'm so glad that her friends made her see sense and that they don't want her to just concentrate on them at the expense of their own happiness. Does this mean I get to reread the final chapter soon too? ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodoreSurvival of the Fittest: James keeps his spirits up

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Paula! I don't actually think I've read any of your stories before and I'm glad that I get to rectify that now - although I'm sorry for losing some of this story by coming into it partway through!

You know, I feel like a lot of the time (clearly I'm getting old) first-person narrative next generations tend to annoy me because the character is overly dramatic. But what I'm trying to say is that this is the opposite case, because even though I'm coming into this novel part of the way through, I actually already really like Riya and I think you've created a strong narrative voice for her. I want to know more about her already and hopefully I get the chance to go back and read the rest of this story when CTF is over.

Also, this chapter made me laugh so much - like the fact that James decides he has to keep his spirits up by complimenting himself outrageously. It really made me smile and even though this is the first time that I've met your versions of these characters, I got a really good sense of them from this chapter, which I think you can consider the mark of good characterisation :P

I really liked the end of the chapter and the conversation with Albus, too. He's not being overprotective and he's going about it in the right way, which to be honest is kind of refreshing to see haha. He's sweet, too.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodoreHouse of Stone: Prologue

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi!

Wow, this was a really powerful and effective start to the story! I'm not sure what I was expecting when I began reading this, but for a prologue you've done an incredible job, because I'm definitely hooked as it is and I really want to read on and find out what's going to happen next.

Also, I have to say that you have done something that is pretty rare in stories like this one - you've actually made me feel sorry for Lucius Malfoy. Draco is a character I have more sympathy with, given that he's younger when all of this begins, but Lucius is usually another matter entirely. Still, seeing him suffer so much and being clearly so terrified - not only of what Voldemort was going to do to him, but what he was going to do to his family - actually made me feel sorry for him.

Your characterisation of Voldemort was spot on in this. I don't think that he's an easy character to write, but you captured him perfectly - every single action of his, every time he moved, just felt so sinister and menacing. He had such a power in this prologue and it's easy to see why so many people are afraid of him and how he imposes his will on so many. That last line was great as well - it fits brilliantly with his character and was really chilling!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Toward the end, after Voldemort returns, I felt a lot of sympathy for Lucius. It's easy to be ruthless and stand behind ideals the first time around when you're winning the war. It's easy to be cruel and support your master while you're waiting for him to come back. It's an entirely different thing 20 years later when you have a family and said master is known for taking his rage for you out on those you care for. Lucius is no longer the young Death Eater with only himself to worry about. He has so much more to lose and it took him too long to realize it.

He IS hard! It took a while to get all this right! I was very nervous posting this when I first started, but I'm glad it comes across okay.

Thanks for visiting!
-Liz


 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodoreBodies at Rest: A Midnight Call

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi again! I'm so happy to get a chance to come back to some of your work, and this was so unusual and interesting to read! I've read a lot of fanfiction in the few years I've been part of this site, and I honestly don't think I've ever read anything like this before.

You got the sense of urgency across at the start of the chapter incredibly well. I was on edge immediately, worrying about what was wrong, and I wanted to rush with Harry and George to find out. I loved the way that you drip fed us the details and some background in that section, about the Necromancy and the history of Fred's grave. It was fascinating to read because it helped everything become clearer while I still was desperate to know what was going to happen.

I felt so bad for George! I know that I've only just met him but you did a great job in making me empathise with him - the poor kid knew that his mother was going to die and there was nothing that he could do to stop it, and he's left alone in the world because his only other family died years ago. I'm glad that Harry stepped up and tried to look after him.

All the same, I can't help but get the sense that something's going to go wrong with this situation, with Harry and the Weasleys looking after George...

Sian :)

Author's Response: It's funny, but I had a vision of a necromancer in Hogwarts for a long time, but I didn't realize it would be George Krupp for about a year after I wrote 'Graverobbers.' Then I realized that he's the perfect person to be a necromancer at Hogwarts.

George is a good kid and will have a good home with the Weasleys, as you would expect. I must admit that I started writing this years ago, and it's been arriving in fits and starts of 1-2 chapters a year.

Harry also has his troubles as you'll find out later.

So sorry it took me so long to get back to you on this.


 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodoreProtector of Mankind: The Soul of a Morph

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello! It's good to come back to this novel, even if I've skipped a few chapters ahead and probably missed some quite important content (I'm sorry, Gryffindor's in need!). I loved the title for this chapter - it really caught my eye and drew me in from the start. It sounds so intriguing and I want to find out more - I'm also a little jealous because I'm terrible at coming up with chapter titles :P

It was so great to get to find out more of Lexi's back story in this chapter! I'm really enjoying the flashbacks here and the way that you're using them to flesh out the character and her upbringing, but also to add something that's relevant to the present day (I think a lot of people seem to include them at random without the proper link to the main story). I loved finding out more about the characters we see in this chapter and it was great to find out more about the powers and everything that Lexi could come into. It was nice to see the links between Lexi's parents and Harry's parents and that generation, too - it anchors us more firmly in the world.

I did spot a couple of typos here, and my only CC would be not to have Sigardo's thoughts in italics, as I got confused a little and thought we were in another flashback.

You did a great job at the end of building up the sense of dread and the looming threat of war, too.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello again Sian! Again, much apologies with the super late response.

Oh I'm absolutely rubbish at coming up with chapter titles, let alone story names! You should've seen how much I mulled over it; my anxiety was at about 5/10. Flashbacks are nice if done tastefully, but I do see your point with the itals being confusing with Sigardo's thoughts. Thank you for pointing that out.

-ichigo


 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodorePresent and Future: Chapter 1

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello! I'm really glad that I get the chance to leave you a review after the very sweet review you left for me the other day :)

This seemed like a really original version of a next generation story. I've not read a lot of next gen for a while now, and only a couple of Victoire and Teddy stories overall, probably, but I really enjoyed this. I think you're right in your author's note at the end of the chapter - the two of them always seem to be best friends from when they were younger, but it's easily imaginable that they could have argued and started getting on each other's nerves, and they end up like this.

Victoire is certainly fiery, haha. I loved the way that even though it was her birthday, her mum was telling her off and making sure she didn't pull any of the stupid pranks that she usually gets up to. I thought that was great, because it gave us a sense of her character from the start without stating 'she does this all the time', if that makes sense. It was clear that poor Fleur was always having to shepherd the three kids around and knows their tricks. But Victoire also knows her mum's going to ask her to turn her pockets out and has cleverly prepared for the situation :P

I don't think I'd have been brave enough to write so many Weasley and Potter children in the first chapter of a story, but you did a great job of writing them as separate characters. I also like that they're not all close together in age (and Louis is the stereotypical annoying little brother), so Victoire is closer to Molly because they're similar ages.

I have to admit that I laughed a little at the prank at the end. Does that make me immature? Possibly. We won't examine that right now...

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so pleased to see you here...I feel bad now because my review was so short *makes a mental note to review more of your stories*

I always try to have some sort of original element to my stories, so it's slightly unusual. Enemies to lovers has always been interesting for me, and even if I'm not the best at it, it's really fun to write. Hence this fic :D

Lolll, I almost feel sorry for Fleur here. You're absolute right about her having to shepherd the children around. Right, Vic's an adult now...physically, at least ;)

I'm glad you didn't find all the Weasleys and Potters too confusing. I sort of paired all the kids up, because the idea just stuck to me, so maybe that helped. And about the prank...you aren't not THAT immature. Immature is if you identify most as Lily or Hugo, who spend their time playing hide-and-seek *whistles innocently*

Thanks so much for the awesome review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>