Reading Reviews From Member: Pheonix Potioneer
  
156 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: The Burned Boat

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Hmmm, Albus bullying second years. Tsk tsk. I know, it wasn't really bullying, but you shouldn't be taking advantage of their fear.

Nice, Lindy! Burning the boat! Awesome! Hogwarts will have their hands full with those four.

So to replace Divination they chose... Alchemy (and Magical Theory, which should be interesting). Alchemy! Does that even work? Yeah, I get the Flamel did it with magic, but... sorry, alchemy just seems very sketchy. I mean, in order to change an ordinary metal into gold, you'd have to change the very atoms in the metal! You'd have to change all of them! Alchemy is impossible. The only way you can get gold is if there's a magic spell that will change the very atoms of a metal.

Internships! What a great idea! I wonder who will get what internships? I'm mostly curious as to what internship Matt will get. Albus will definitely do aurors, no doubt about it.

I love how Gemma says that she will not INTENTIONALLY set anything on fire. Nice, Gemma.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Gemma Brickston

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Wow, Lily broke up with her boyfriend, but she's the one who's crying? Wow. And who is he anyway? I'm curious. To be honest, I'm surprised that Albus had snooped around and already found out. He snoops around and eavesdrops on everyone. Shouldn't he have figured it out by now? I guess he doesn't care about Lily's mysterious boyfriend than he does other things...

And Lily missed the train? Wow! Just... wow! She must care about him a lot. And she's the one who broke up with him! Maybe... there must have been a reason that she broke up with him like right before they left. And why she kept it a secret. Maybe she realized that nobody would ever approve of their relationship, so they had to break up before school started?

Gemma is such a wonderful name. Sorry, I just had to say that- the chapter is named after her. I actually wrote a story where the main character's name is Gemma.

Gemma, Samantha, Lindy, and Bethany. All troublemakers. Ugh, that sounds bad. If Albus, Matt, John, and Kaden are the modern Marauders, then Gemma, Samantha, Lindy, and Bethany will be the girl Marauders.

Wait, when Matt realized that Malfoy would be in most of their classes, Albus said, ďDepends on how he did on his O.W.L.s." But Albus knows! Malfoy told Albus, Kaden, and LIly in DIagon Alley, remember?

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Balladanis's Visit

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Poor, poor Matt. Suffering Legilimancy. Oh, and then the nightmares... I will repeat: poor, poor Matt. Let's just hope it works. Fingers crossed.

Ha ha, I find Hugo being bad at Quidditch amusing.

That's really nice of Hermione to not stop Albus and Matt from eavesdropping.

WOW Balladanis is like a double agent! Wow wow wow! I thought Balladanis's part was over. This is crazy! Balladanis's act at the Ministry is precisely that- an act! Frankly, I'm kind of surprised he's willing to play in politics. Before now, he never got involved in government, since he seems to just like catching dark creatures and dark wizards. Why is he getting so involved in government now? He never cared before. Why doesn't he just quit? I don't get it. Could he secretly be on the side of Laurentis and is pretending to be on Harry's side so he knows what is going on? Hmmm. Conspiracy theories are running amok in my head.

Great chapter! Really, really intriguing, especially the bit about Balladanis.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Occlumency

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Oh wow, I forgot that this version of Scorpius hates Albus! I'm so used to reading fics where they are best friends, so them being enemies is kind of weird. Now everything Malfoy did third year (Trying to figure out that Matt was a werewolf) and fourth is coming back. Yeah, don't like this Malfoy very much.

Lily's comeback is BRILLIANT! I knew she was smart. She made Malfoy speechless! Ha! Why is he that speechless though? Maybe because it was unexpected? Oh no, does Malfoy have a crush on Lily? Is that why he bragged about getting 8 OWLs? Hope Lily doesn't go for Malfoy. She's smarter than that. Ugh, I've gone off topic again, haven't I?

Wow, Matt did REALLY WELL on his OWLs- as well as Albus- and he isn't at school a few days a month. Since he misses so much class, that many OWLs is actually very impressive. Congrats Matt! He could actually be a really really good student, I think, if he didn't miss a lot of school and have a lot of other things on his mind.

Oooh, Occlumency lessons! I wonder if that could help Matt? I've never thought that Occlumency could help him, but maybe it could! Hooray!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Big News

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

James joining the circus would be amusing. Bit of a stretch though, unless he flew around on his broomstick and did stunts with his broomstick at the circus. I can actually see that.

So, ALbus said it was 8 o'clock in the morning, and he only got 6 hours of sleep, so... he didn't go to bed until two in the morning? ALBUS! Why did he do that! It's not like he was even doing anything really important, like homework, is it? Wow. I've turned into his mom.

Good for Gerogia! Talking sense into James! She came up with some very good arguments to get him out of that mess.

Hmm, so Harry won't be an auror anymore. I must admit, that makes sense. With the horrible hag Laurentis minister and the stupid Johnson as head auror, work must be extremely frustrating for Harry. And one thing that my parents always told me is that if you don't like your job, quit it. I doubt a job as an auror in the present climate is probably making Harry miserable, and a job at Hogwarts as DADA teacher for the great Kendrick is probably much better. Contrary to what everyone else might think, becoming a teacher would suit Harry well. I always thought that Harry would make a great teacher. The only problem is that in the original series his temper would have gotten in the way. Though I suppose much of that was stress over Voldemort.

Albus blushed when Marina looked at him! FINALLY Al is growing up and showing an interest in girls. It took him long enough.

Kaden, telling Lily that Albus snuck into Knockturn Alley last year is not cool. *groans* I just hope he doesn't turn into a Peter. I like him too much.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: A Talk With James

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Good idea for Rose to go find James- James has no quarrel with them, after all. And being "given space" might make him feel abandoned, so that's good.

The part where Rose eats the chicken is rather amusing. Nice job, Rose.

Hmmm, what does Harry want to tell the kids? Something important, obviously. Are they moving? That's what most "big announcements" are probably about. But why would they need to move? I can't think of a reason why. Hmmm. And then, Harry mentioned it being part of the Prophet. It must be something pretty big.

Why does Lily keep bringing up James? She's not stupid. She knows it's a sensitive topic.

Nice chapter! The tension builds...

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Results

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

I find Rose's worrying over the OWLs amusing. If I have a big test I worry about it crazily like she does, but I do it before, not after. After, I'm kind of like "Oh well, it's done now. Yay!"

Ugh, family fights. Not good. I hope James doesn't stay mad at Harry and Ginny for too long... and that Harry and Ginny don't stay made at James for too long.

Good job Rose- nearly all Outstandings! Just slightly worse than Hermione's results. Albus's aren't too bad either- better than Harry's, I think. Albus did have a lot going on with Boone and everything, but at least he didn't have the threat of Voldemort looming as he took his exams. I'd say that Albus and Harry are roughly the same then, when it comes to schooling.

I feel so sorry for John's mom. She must be miserable, with her kids running around destroying things half the time!

Hmm. Very sad note this chapter left off on. James running away is not good.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Flashback.

12th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015 review!

Poor poor poor poor Lydia. She really shouldn't blame herself like that. None of this is her fault, none of it. She keeps blaming herself when she shouldn't... I suppose I can't talk. Something recently happened with my friend and I keep placing blame on myself, even though my rational side of my brain is yelling at me to stop it.

Wow, Lydia is now worried that even MOPSUS, the cat, doesn't like her. She does realize that cats have no idea that she is a werewolf, right?

I hope Mopsus helps her. Mopsus is so sweet, and a wonderful cat. I wish I had a cat. I love them.

By the way, nice naming choice for the cat. Mopsus. I looked it up because it sounded Latin, and apparently Mopsus is the name of a seer. I wonder why you chose that?

Wow, Merrickson sounds wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! *Gives Merickson a hug and some flowers* Good for her! It is nice to see so many people supportive of Lydia. Werewolves twenty years ago wouldn't have gotten that support. I know there are still problems, but this is huge progress! Between Blackburn's grandma, and the seventh years letter, and Teddy and Victoire, and Merrickson, and McGonagall, and Poppy... this is wonderful.

I think it would be wise if Blackburn didn't go into her office for a while. She definitely needs a psychologist or a psychiatrist.

I know the students see Merrickson as strict, but I like her. There's a lot of teachers who students complain as strict that are nice. Sure, they may be strict, but they are still nice.

Author's Response: Sorry about whatever happened with your friend. Hope it works (or worked) out OK.

Forgot to reply to your comment about Lydia's panic attack in the other review. I hope I've managed to show that reasonably accurately. I've never had a panic attack either, so I was rather relying on second hand information, but there's been a lot of discussion about mental health issues and stuff on the forums recently and there is a thread in the St. Mungo's section asking about how to portray anxiety disorders accurately, so I got a lot of information from that.

The name for the cat basically came from googling well-known historical women in the wizarding world and finding one that both sounded interesting and like a nice name for a cat. I thought Lydia WOULD call a cat after somebody interesting. Not sure that was really the name she'd choose, but I couldn't find anything that really fit.

And she's more worried that Mopsus wouldn't want to leave the home she's spent her life in than that she dislikes her, but yeah, basically she's just second-guessing herself one everything, poor girl. She really does need help.

Yes, Merrickson is a bit like McGonagall - strict, but kind behind it. There are teachers who are strict because they just don't want the students bothering them or they don't like kids much (I think Snape falls into this category - he likes the academic side of teaching more than he likes the students) and then there are the teachers who are strict because they really care about the students and want them to do well.

And of course, in the case of Merrickson, Rose and her friends were predisposed to dislike her, because they wanted Blackburn back.

And yes, I'm trying to show that the wizarding world is moving on, but of course, things aren't going to change overnight and I think it might be harder for werewolves to gain acceptance than people like squibs, because there IS an actual danger there. Only if they aren't careful, but it still is understandable that people'd feel anxious about a werewolf teaching their kids. But things are definitely improving and Lydia has a lot of opportunities Remus didn't. A lot of people do care about her. She just need to stop feeling so guilty about needing a bit of extra support.

Thank you so much for your reviews. It great to hear what people think of this, because these two chapters weren't easy to write. I read a lot about how panic attacks and flashbacks feel and look, but it still wasn't easy to write.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Panic.

12th June 2015:
Hello! This review is for Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015.

Poor poor poor poor Lydia. I'm just going to say that all the time now.

That's really nice of Teddy and Victoire to invite Blackburn to go out with them. Wouldn't Blackburn kind of be like the third wheel though? That's probably awkward. And the fact that Blackburn use to teach Victoire. Thatís awkward too. Maybe they should have gone with more peopleÖ but then Blackburn would probably be even more stressed out about strangers. Thatís probably a bad idea, forget that.

I feel so sorry for Lydia about her parents. If my parents abandoned me- no matter what the circumstances- I think I would be psychologically broken forever.

Lydia should get a wizarding psychiatrist. It's clear that she has PTSD. She might be embarrassed, but I think it would really help her.

The Hopping Pot is such a cute name. Love it! If they truly enjoyed the story they would make it a wizarding and muggle pub (Because the Hopping Pot helps muggles), but that would probably lead to many problems. Wizards would probably forget to stop talking about magic when theyíre drunk. OrÖ how about itís an all-wizarding pub, but 5% of the profits goes towards a muggle charity? I wonder if any wizards have ever formed charities to help muggles. Like they go and fix things in Africa or something using magic, and they lie about how they did it. THat would be cool. Anyway, Iíve gotten REALLY off-topic from the point of the story.

It's very interesting to see what a panic attack is like in the person's head. I don't really have them, so i donít know what itís like. If Iím irrational scared, I have a raised pulse and subtle shaking, but thatís it.

I feel so bad for LydiaÖ once again, I must say poor poor poor poor poor poor Lydia.

Author's Response: Yeah, poor Lydia. She really DOES have a lot of problems, doesn't she? Her parents' reaction probably played a large part in how she feels about her condition and about herself. If even her parents can't accept it...

And yes, Lydia DEFINITELY suffers from PTSD. I answered an online quiz as her once. It had a scale of 0-10: PTSD unlikely, 11-13: possible, 14+: likely and she got a result of 22. Twice what would have suggested she might have it.

My interpretation though is that the wizarding world is sort of behind when it comes to mental health issues, mainly judging by things like the locked ward and the way people are divided between those who think Harry is telling the truth and those who are laughing at him or condemning him in Order of the Phoenix. Not one person thinks, "this kid is apparently hallucinating about the guy who killed his parents returning and killing his friend in front of him. Maybe he needs some kind of help." Now, this is partly because most of those who cared about him believed him, but still, imagine if a national paper started openly mocking a teenager for being traumatised. Really insensitive!

My feeling is that the wizarding world has more effective relief for the immediate symptoms of mental health problems, like calming draughts and stuff, so that sort of gives them less of an incentive to work on dealing with the issues permanently. Like everybody thought Ginny was fine at the end of Chamber of Secrets after she'd been given a few potions and stuff, but her reaction to the Dementors in the following book and her comment to Harry in his fifth year kind of imply she was finding things more difficult than anybody realised.

And yeah, I think the whole thing with Teddy and Victoire might be awkward, but I think Victoire might be a bit uncomfortable with the idea of Teddy and Lydia going out without her. And she certainly needs her friends.

I've gone out a few times with my friend and her husband, without any awkwardness, but yeah, this is a little more complicated.

And yes, I DEFINITELY think some wizards would help Muggles. I mean, there must be wizards living in places suffering famine and drought and all and I can't imagine Muggleborns letting their families starve without intervening. Like in World War II, when Belfast was bombed, they called Dublin for assistance and, even though it was TECHNICALLY a breach of neutrality, de Valera ordered every available resource be sent to Belfast immediately. Some things you just can't sit back and watch happen, even if the rules say you should.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Fear.

6th May 2015:
The moment Lydia said that sse was in the corridors of Hogwarts I knew it must be a dream, because you said this story would just go until she came back to Hogwarts. If I hadn't known; however, I would have thought it was a dream once she mentions her claws growing on her. I would have believed that the students had shouted, "IT'S THE WEREWOLF!"

Lydia seems like such a little girl in this chapter... yet in Rise of the A.W.L. she seemed like an adult despite her suffering. I guess she just composes herself for the students- after all, if they saw Lydia like this, they'd feel no protection.

When Lydia's grandmother is talking, she says, "Isn't that what grandmothers are for." It should be a question mark, not a period.

I like Blackburn's reaction when Hermione comes. She totally freaks out. I find it kind of amusing.

Mopsus is coming to Hogwarts! I wonder if Rose or Albus will ever come across Mopsus in their later years.

Very insightful chapter. Poor poor poor poor poor poor poor poor Blackburn.

Author's Response: Yeah, it occurred to me afterwards that my reply to that review had sort of given away the fact that the beginning of this chapter wasn't exactly reality. And yes, I phrased that comment by the students in such a way that it allowed for it to be interpreted as just an insult.

And yes, when I was writing this chapter, I was thinking, "gosh, she's TOTALLY reverted to childhood here." I think she is somewhat immature/young for her age anyway. Perhaps not in the usual way one means somebody is immature, because she is very responsible and stuff, but she's really lacking in confidence and looks to people like McGonagall and her grandmother for affirmation about what she's doing. She sort of manages to hold it together when she's teaching, but at this point, it's just all been a bit much.

That mistake has been rectified. Thanks for point it out.

I don't know if Albus or Rose will come across Mopsus; they might. Leonore was insisting I give Blackburn a kitty, to make her feel a little better. So I did.

The idea of the head of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement coming to your door would be a little intimidating I think. Do ye have some version of a Minister for Justice? I'm guessing it'd be a little like that. She should have guessed it was related to Hermione's campaign for increased werewolf rights, but she's not exactly thinking very straight at this point. And she's still terrified there'll be some kind of further consequences to what happened.

Yeah, poor Blackburn.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Concern.

4th May 2015:
I can totally sympathize with Blackburn barely being able to stand. I was sick a few weeks ago to the point that I could barely lift my head off the pillow without getting a massive headache. I know that's what Blackburn had, but I know the feeling. Just standing up to go to the bathroom was agony.

Poor poor poor poor poor poor Blackburn. I'll probably end up saying that every chapter now.

Wow, so now we actually get to read the seventh year's letter! That is so heartwarming, and so is Blackburn's reply. I was smiling like a maniac at that part, which probably isn't a good thing since I'm in a room with a lot of other people. Oh well.

Yeah, I think seventh years can handle her first name. The less of an age gap between the teachers and students, the less of a strictly teacher-student relationship there is. One time I was in a roomful of my teachers and it was wonderful listening to them gossip like normal people.

I wonder what Blackburn will think when she gets Angie's sugar quills.

Author's Response: Aw, sorry to hear you were sick recently. That's never fun, particularly when you feel that bad. Hope you're all right now.

One of the things that made me want to write this story was those letters, along with the night she, Teddy and Victoire go out for a drink. I had to plan more or less what they said, so that I could refer to them and I kind of wanted to write them out properly.

And yeah, the 7th years are only about 7 or 8 years younger than Blackburn, so the relationship there isn't going to be as formal as that between a 40 year old teacher and an 11 year old. I wanted to give her a nice 7th year class, since they are old enough either to be really supportive or to be really hurtful, if they were mean.

Thanks so much for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Pain

4th May 2015:
Poor poor poor poor poor Lydia. STOP HURTING HER! You never listen to me when I say that! Is it really too difficult of a command?

I like how Blackburn doesn't explicitly say that the Wolfsbane failed until later- it just says the word it with italics.

Wow, on the day that Rose saw Blackburn I didn't know Blackburn was actually supposed to be in the hospital wing. Interesting insight.

That conversation that Blackburn had with McGonagall had Rose and Albus eavesdropping on them, yes? I'm glad they didn't suspect anything.

McGonagall and Madam Pomfrey are wonderful. (I feel weird calling them Minerva and Poppy. It's as if they were my own teachers.)

Just out of curiosity, how long are you planning to make this? And will you finish this and then start The Pawn of the Game or do both at the same time?

Nice chapter! I got the impression that Blackburn is very miserable, so if that is what you were aiming for you succeeded.

Author's Response: This story will probably be about five chapters long, possibly six. I'm only planning on going as far as her return to Hogwarts. I'm going to finish this and then start The Pawn in the Game. I expect to finish it in about another month, so it's easier get it done and then move on.

Yes, that is the conversation Rose and Albus overheard and yes, they were lucky not to be overheard. McGonagall would NOT be happy. And I think Lydia would be embarrassed and upset at the thought of being overheard. She wouldn't be annoying with them, but she might be hurt.

There were some hints about the fact she wasn't supposed to be working that day, but they were subtle when I was writing from Rose's point of view. They did overhear McGonagall saying Madame Pomfrey hadn't expected her to return to work that soon and that she was in no fit state to be teaching, but it wasn't very specific.

I find it difficult to think of McGonagall and Madame Pomfrey by their first names too. I keep tying their proper titles, then realising Lydia wouldn't think of them that way after working with them for a year and a half. In chapter three, it gets MORE fun, because Hermione appears and I have to remember that Lydia'd think of her as an important Ministry official and CERTAINLY WOULDN'T use her first name.

I really am cruel to her, aren't I? Poor girl.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Midnight Feast.

4th May 2015:
Last chapter! Permission to SQUEE! (That last part was a Dcotor Who reference.)

Nathan worries about EVERYTHING. With good reason, but he still worries a lot. Nathan and Albus are both big worriers.

Ha ha, very true that Slughorn probably didn't care much about the exams. I have some teachers that are like that.

I wonder what house Lily and Hugo will be in? I'm curious. Will you go with the traditional Gryffindor, or something else?

Of course the Ravenclaws would decide not to get into any trouble whatsoever. Smart, but it wouldn't be very fun. Though Ravenclaws are known for being smart, so that makes sense.

I never thought that Angie would be much of a troublemaker. She seems very eager for the midnight feast to be somewhere forbidden.

The reason it feels like a boarding school story is because it is a boarding school story! Hogwarts is a boarding school. I suppose Angie doesn't realize that she's in a story, since she's a fictional character, but she is!

Hmmm, despite the fact that Dora seems to hate most of the Ravenclaws, she still came to the midnight feast. I wonder why. Does she want to be friends with some of them, and she refuses to admit it?

Ravenclaw won the cup! Hooray! Hufflepuff should win next year.

I love the conclusion: saying goodbye to Professor Blackburn. Awesome.

Rise of the A.W.L. is over! Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review, and all the reviews you've give me actually. I love hearing your thoughts.

Yeah, Nathan does worry a lot and that probably makes his awkwardness worse.

I wouldn't say Angie is exactly a troublemaker, but she does like a laugh and to take the odd risk.

Yeah, Dora doesn't want to be left out, even though she acts like she doesn't like or care about anybody. Interesting observation. Dora isn't exactly the world's happiest person.

I wanted to give some indication that Blackburn was beginning to recover. Of course, it's not going to happen overnight, and she'll probably always have some issues to deal with, but the fact that the school year is coming to an end and she has a few months to relax, combined with the knowledge her job is safe and knowing what happened to the Wolfsbane potion is helping her relax a little and start coming to terms with what has happened to her.

Hufflepuff might win the following year. You'll have to wait and see.

Same with the houses the younger kids are in. All will be revealed in the fullness of time.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: New Legislation.

26th April 2015:
Teddy! I don't think we see nearly enough of Teddy. Well, I don't have much of him in my stories either, so I suppose I can't talk. But still, you should include him more, simply because i like him.

Wow, it's chapters like this that your knowledge of politics shines through. You have a good point about the whole "what to charge Fairfax with" sort of thing. Nobody really thinks about that much, well, at least i don't. It's sort of a "he did a crime, he'll get a trial, and probably go to jail" sort of thing. It's easy to forget that it's more complicated than that.

Wow, I keep forgetting that Rose is smart sometimes. She has a good point about Fairfax's whole motives thing. Unlike Harry, she doesn't stop at "the culprit is caught, hooray!" sort of thing. She evaluates everything afterwards, and thinks, unlike Harry, who seems to not like thinking. Rose would have been really handy back then. I suppose they had Hermione too, but Rose seems to think a bit more about things like that Hermione... yet, Hermione doesn't have as much of a temper as Rose does... so I suppose Hermione is a little better...

I didn't even think about the possibility of using Ministry potions! Lydia only stayed with Fairfax since she trusted him so much! Oh, that makes everything much more terrible! Poor, poor, poor Blackburn! STOP TORTURING BLACKBURN. I need to start a campaign against you, with STOP TORTURING BLACKBURN as my slogan. How about I take over the series, and Blackburn is cured of lycanthropy, wiped of her anxieties, and owns a private island in the tropics and is really rich. That sounds like a wonderful idea.

I wonder what Teddy was talking to Blackburn about. Whatever it was, it must be something that Hermione wasn't allowed to overhear. I can't help remembering the Lydia-Teddy-Victoire love triangle. Did it have to do with that?

You were right, that was a very informative chapter. And only one left!

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for this review. I've read it SO many times already. I really shouldn't be this pleased to have people yell at me, but it's nice to feel people are invested in my characters.

I knew people would react to the idea that Fairfax basically manipulated Blackburn into continuing to use his potions. She is WAY too nice for her own good sometimes, and she sort of felt it would make him feel she was blaming him and that he might be hurt or offended if she said she'd prefer use Ministry provided ones. Of course, she's feeling pretty betrayed. Poor girl.

Lydia's problems aren't going to disappear quite THAT easily, but she will gradually begin to recover. Not sure about her having a private island. That reminds me a little too much of a certain politician.

I'd love to see how you would write a sequel about Blackburn though. *grins* I'm actually writing the "missing week" from her point of view at the moment, but that's certainly no more positive.

There's no real mystery to what she and Teddy were talking about. He was just expressing concern and having a chat with her. She probably got a bit emotional, mostly from the relief and he just thought she needed a friend.

The main reason Hermione didn't remain for it was just because Lydia doesn't know her that well and she's a Head of Department in the Ministry and a war hero and I think Lydia'd be somewhat intimidated by her. Not by anything she DOES, just in the sense of, "gosh, I'm talking to a woman hotly tipped as a possible next Minister for Magic and one of the people I learnt about in History of Magic when I was at school." That, and Hermione just wanted to talk to her daughter.

And yeah, it's hard to show too much of Teddy, as he's not at Hogwarts. And he is a fairly nice, and interesting, character. I think I portray him differently from a lot of people, but I'm kind of fond of my version.

Rose is different from Harry, but the circumstances are different too. Harry was dealing with people determined to kill him, whereas Rose is dealing with more ideological conflicts, so there is more to question.

Makes it less certain that the villains will be convicted too, as what happens isn't as serious.

And of course, the books weren't from Hermione's point of view, so we didn't see so much of what she thought about things. And yeah, Rose has quite a temper. *huggles her*

Yeah, just one chapter left and I think it's mostly fairly minor stuff - just the midnight feast and the exams and all. This is sort of the last revelation chapter.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Ravenclaw versus Gryffindor.

26th April 2015:
Lucy does have a point that Rose seems overly-confident sometimes and Albus is not confident at all. Rose and Albus kind of equal themselves out in that respect. It makes them reasonable friends. After all, if Albus was confident like Rose, they would be butting heads and squabbling all the time.

Rose, Slughorn treats everything like a news story. You do have a point that he shouldn't, but if he isn't directly affected, that's how he treats everything.

Hey, why is Hufflepuff in last for everything? How about you swap Slytherin and Hufflepuff's positions so Hufflepuff beats Slytherin by 300 points instead? :(

Albus did an excellent job! I'm so proud of him. :) He deserves a medal and a gold star. Congratulations Ravenclaw!

Though, even after that, Albus is STILL doubting himself. Sigh. Rose really needs to donate some of her confidence.

A midnight feast? That sounds like a great idea! Bring it on!

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose and Albus go well together in one sense, but I think there are times they make each other worse, because his admiration for her makes her even more convinced she knows it all and having her to turn to makes him less likely to depend on his own judgement.

Hufflepuff isn't ALWAYS last. They came second in the House Cup in "The Writing on the Wall." It just so happened I needed to have Ravenclaw and Gryffindor fairly close and with Scorpius as Seeker, Slytherin were always going to win. Hufflepuff is still an awesome house.

The midnight feast is solely for my own amusement and because I can't help thinking Muggleborns would be sure to come up with the idea of having one.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Really great to see you around again.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Nott to Blame.

25th April 2015:
Dora had a point, that everything always revolves around the Potter's. But Slughorn did come out of retirement just to teach Harry, so Albus's idea that Slughorn might be back for Lily isn't too far-fetched.

I can understand Rose's annoyance with Professor Slughorn, but after so many years of teaching, exams probably don't seem as important to him anymore. But for the most part, I agree with Rose: Slughorn should be teaching!

Nott does raise some reasonably points- why would he try to set a werewolf loose? If I didn't have Rose's view butting in, and I was just an ordinary wizard lounging at home, I probably would have believed Nott.

Nott seems to be a very good speaker, and he gives good replies. It's not a surprise to me that he is the leader of the AWL.

NOW we finally know who hexed the memorial. That's finally revealed! I've been wondering about that for a while.

Or, I wonder if Dora is the one who hexed the memorial, and Nott said that Fairfax did it to cover Dora's tracks. After all, Fairfax was already guilty of one offense, why not make him guilty of two? I imagine that Nott is protective of his daughter, but I don't know. We've never actually seen them together- maybe that will change next year?

Felicity's mother seems to be the default concerned parent. There are PLENTY of parents like that in the world, who will sue the schools for a little thing and make sure there are a million rules implemented.

Flitwick has a good point about Fairfax's motivations of hexing the statue. It's clear that Flitwick has thought about this a lot. I suppose the staff has had many discussions about it when the students aren't around. I wonder what they say? That would be fun to find out.

Great chapter! The one advantage of reviewing this so late is that I can go right off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* I'm actually writing a story from Blackburn's point of view, covering the week or so after the Wolfsbane failed, at the moment. So there will be a little bit about what the staff think in that. It's obviously before they know who the villain is, but stuff like the conversation between Blackburn, McGonagall and Hermione about whether or not it was deliberately tampered with will come up.

And yeah, Dora does have some reason to feel resentful, doesn't she? After all, it's not her fault what her grandfather did, but people are going to judge her by it and people like Slughorn treat the Potter and Weasley children as if they are heroes just because of the families they were born into. It isn't fair. But she really isn't helping herself by her reactions. Scorpius suffers from people's preconceived ideas of "Death Eater families" too. Even though his father and grandfather weren't actually prosecuted, there is a lot of suspicion of them, and I'm not sure if Draco ever fully recovered from his experiences. I'm not sure watching people being tortured, being pretty much forced into attempting murder, spending two years in constant fear of your life and realising everything you've been brought up to believe in and support is really the cause of all your problems is something you'd get over too easily.

Yes, I would imagine many parents would react like Felicity's mother. I wanted to show more of a middle ground than just "people who hate werewolves and go out of their way to be nasty about them" and "people who are completely reasonably about it and have no anxieties at all about what could happen if the Wolfsbane failed." Even Ron and Mrs. Weasley expressed some anxiety around werewolves and in both cases, it was completely irrational, so I think there would be a lot of concern, not all of it completely irrational.

Yeah, I just used one parent as an example, as it could get confusing if it was somebody different expressing concern each time. Plus, Rose would be more likely to take notice of a reference to somebody she has heard of before. The paper has been getting a lot of letters on the issue over the years, so you can assume she's not the only one expressing those views.

And yes, Nott is smart and very plausible, which really makes him more dangerous than a ranting irrational villain, because it means people are more likely to believe and support him.

Nott's protectiveness of Dora will actually come up in year four, so a little while away, but you've put your finger on something that will appear eventually.

Slughorn knows he's only back for a couple of weeks and, being Slughorn, is using the time to reconnect with his old favourites and find out all the gossip, rather than worrying too much about the exams. After all, the N.E.W.T. course is a two year one and the O.W.L. either a three year or a five year one - I'm never sure if they are tested on the first two years in the O.W.L.S. or if they are more a foundation and the course only starts properly in 3rd year - so it's not like a couple of weeks are going to make all THAT much difference. He still should be teaching though.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the final three chapters. The second last one reveals the final few details.

It's great to see you back. Hope there'll be a chapter of "The Chosen Four" soon.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Jelly Legs Jinx.

31st January 2015:
Oh, Rose. So naive. She thinks that since she knows Dora is wrong, the Ministry won't bother to hear Dora's side. It becomes obvious at moments like this that she's young. I'm not very mad at her this time- just surprised.

Ha ha, I find it amusing that Rose was angry about the article not being front page. I suppose the Ministry doesn't want to draw attention to it.

I'm surprised Rita Skeeter didn't find out the identity of the two thirteen-year-old girls (Rose and Dora). But how did she even find out that much in the first place?

For Professor Vector, I keep thinking of the Vector person on Despicable Me. I suppose I should take this professor more seriously.

I don't blame Rose for being annoyed about Dora getting away with everything and herself getting attention. I think it's because Dora knows how to be sneaky and subtle, while Rose does not.

One thing I am annoyed at Rose about is that she uses Dora's background and Dora's father as justification. I know Dora was doing everything of her own will as well, but still- it's like judging Sirius Black for being a Black. And Blackburn for being a werewolf. I agree with Rose, that Dora deserved it and such, but Rose really shouldn't have used Dora's father as justification. I would have said that Dora is capable of evil deeds (like what Dora did last year) and that all year Dora complained about Blackburn and made anti-werewolf remarks.

At least Rose isn't the stereotypical, brilliant protagonist. She is flawed.

Good chapter! And what was the scene that Leonore had you put in?

Author's Response: There's actually a hint as to how Rita knows what she does. There's a reference to a beetle around Hogwarts at one point.

She does know their identity, but by keeping it vague, she's both trying to create more concern among parents - it could be THEIR child that was targeted - and also making it look as if they spoke to her directly. By not citing the source, it makes it less likely she'll get called out on the fact she got her information rather obliquely.

Well, Rose meant it would be pretty coincidental if Fairfax just picked a student to bully into helping him and they ALSO had a father with similar views to Fairfax, but yeah, that's ignoring the fact that if Fairfax knows who she is, and there's a good chance he WOULD, or that he could find out, he might choose her, thinking there was a good chance she'd go along with what he asked or at least, that she'd be unlikely to have parents who'd make an official complaint about what he did.

And yes, Rose can be pretty unfair when it comes to Dora. She just looks for anything to criticise her for, even when it's something she has no control over. There were plenty of other things she could have said to back up the fact Dora is likely to do something to hurt Blackburn voluntarily.

Flawed people are so much more fun to write anyway. Characters who get everything right are boring, both to read and to write. You can do so much more with characters who make mistakes and mess up. Rose's obsession with certain things - like proving Dora guilty - can send her off in all kinds of wrong directions and affect her judgement.

Leonore wanted me to write a scene where Rose got caught hexing Dora and got punished for it, which was sort of overdue anyway. And then, when she mentioned it, it occurred to me it'd be a good way of revealing certain information.

Thank you so much for your review. Hope you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Pheonix PotioneerGive It A Go: Just A Date

26th January 2015:
Yes, finally something ORIGINAL where Rose and Scorpius aren't hopelessly in love! I'm a fan of ScorRose, but it is so common that it gets annoying after a while.

I love how realistic this is. This is what actually happens in real life.

I think everyone knows someone like Violet. I have a friend who isn't quite as bad as Violet, but she can be annoying sometimes.

Ha ha, Kenway's date puked. That's kind of funny.

I'm glad Ella and Albus worked out great- I really like them. Hooray!

Great job with this!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! We like being realistic, and ScorRose pairings often bug us at least a little, so this was our way of contrasting most stories that pair or ship them. Granted both our Rose and especially our Scorpius are both quieter, reflective characters and I guess you don't see that wih Scorpius too often.

Violet was a character we saw as very... outgoing and our characters often tend to lean towards independent with a sense of humor, but we try to get a balance of personalities because that's what's realistic. ;)

Kenway's date couldn't have ended any better in my opinion (props to Georgina) which makes it fun especially with his character. Heehee! If you liked he Albus/Ella, check out the later chapters of our story The Wizarding Life of Ella Green.

Thanks for the review!!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Place That Will Never Be Dark: Prologue

26th January 2015:
Hello! Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review.

Well... this is a bit ominous. Of course, I kind of know what happens. Salazar and Godric duel and then Salazar leaves. I don't know the circumstances though, so I'll be eager to know that! Since there's so few people who write about the founders, I basically just accept whatever you write about them as canon.

Yup, of course Rowena would be skeptical. She is a Ravenclaw- THE Ravenclaw, so I suppose she's as Ravenclaw-ish as possible! Of course a person who values their brains more than anything would be skeptical by a seer.

"A ship gliding over the sea". Interesting. Why would they be on a ship? Hmmm. I must admit, this is intriguing!

Is Salazar already building the Chamber of Secrets? I really don't like how you've described how he looks. I would not like to meet Salazar in this state. And I think he knows exactly what the seer is talking about.

Update soon! This has certainly built up tension.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pheonix PotioneerWhat Nightmares are Made Of: What Nightmares Are Made Of

24th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat review!

Okay, I'm going to guess on who is narrating each segment. It shouldn't be too hard. First one: Remus; Second, Moaning Myrtle; Third, Ron; Fourth, Harry; Fifth, Sirius. The last one I think is Sirius, but there have been many Azkaban inmates so it might not be him.

This is so wonderful, but almost every single one ends on a cliffhanger! Argh! On the plus side, I know what happens, but every single one ends with the monster. DON'T GIVE ME NIGHTMARES!

I love how you describe everything in each increment. "The decrepit wooden floors" is AWESOME. It's beautiful wording. And there are so many stories. So many. That's what I love about writing: you can write about anyone, and it will be interesting.

Nice job incorporating so many challenges. I hope you win at least one of them! You've got my vote. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Pheonix PotioneerLove is for Fools: Not a Fool

24th January 2015:
Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review!

This is awesome. Not only does it make me support Remus/Sirius now, but you made each sentence begin with the next letter of the alphabet! And it makes sense! That is truly extraordinary. If I tried this, it wouldn't flow nearly as nice. This obviously has a lot of work and care put into it, despite it being only five hundred words. In fact, that's probably why it does have a lot of care put into it.

STOP TORTURING POOR REMUS! Why does every fic make him suffer? Sure, he did actually suffer a lot, but don't make him suffer EVEN MORE! *cradles Remus*

Amazing how I'm now shipping Remus/Sirius because of five hundred words. This definitely makes "every word count"!

Thank you for such a thrilling experience.

P.S. I hope Heaven is like Zonko's too. That would be awesome. I'd never get bored.

Author's Response: CLAUDIA! ♥

This review is so beyond lovely, and I'm now feeling incredibly guilty for having taken so long to reply to it! I really enjoyed writing this, despite the stress I put myself under trying to come up with sentences for X and Z!

Remus is just the best character for an angsty fic. I totally get the need to hug him!

Your review is too nice, Claudia. I am not worthy! *bows* Seriously, thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Justice Where Justice is Due

16th January 2015:
Right... so... I started reading this because of the Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review... and I got a little carried away... Well, that's a good thing for you guys! It means I liked it.

It's awesome that you guys wrote this starting at Albus's third year- most people start at Albus's first year and do it Harry Potter-style feedback.

Speaking of which, are you doing a sequel? Sombremaitre is still out there.

If I have one complaint, it's that I have to use copy and paste each time I write Sombremaitre. Couldn't you have made it an easier name? But it is a really cool name, so I suppose that makes up for it.

I read the little Ella Green story after I finished this- I find it great that they ended up together. I actually was thinking about her maybe being a good match for Albus before I found out it actually happened. Great job! She's a lovely girl.

I'm glad Albus and Scorpius are on friendly terms- and Harry's and Draco's reactions are golden. Just golden.

This has disappointedly low reviews! Hmm. I thought it would have more. It's too good.

I love the idea of the resurrection stone as part of Lily's necklace. That is just so, so awesome and clever.

The duel was pretty epic. Just saying.

And Dunstan is a jerk.

Wonderful, wonderful story!

Author's Response: Yay, it keep you reading! With the minimal reviews I assumed it wasn't all that interesting.

We wanted to make sure the whole Weasley clan was there, including Lily and Hugo.

We do not plan to do a sequel due to lack of time (and ideas), but we do mention what happened to Sombremaitre in the second chapter of Give It a Go.

Sombremaitre is French for DarkMaster, like Voldemort is French for FlyOverDeath.

Excellent, you saw them as a perfect couple. Albus and Ella are so adorable and their first date is also featured in the second chapter of Give It a Go if you want to see more of them. (we also wouldn't mind a few reviews on her story if you had time)

Good, you liked them. We certainly didn't want them to be best friends (that idea is so overused) but our Albus and Scorpius would get along, so we make sure they did. As for their fathers, at least we don't ship Scorpius/Rose.

Aw! You are so kind! If you really think it was that good could you please recommend it? We're kind of overlooked.

Yay, you didn't think it was unrealistically dangerous! That was something we feared would lose readers.

Epicness is our middle name. Not really, I've just always wanted to say that.

Agreed.

Thank you ever so much for your review! Make my day!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pheonix PotioneerLife As We Know It: chapter one

16th January 2015:
Hello! Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat review!

What??? Malfoy saw Hermione crying? Oh, that's got to be bad... Malfoy may have been preoccupied this year, but even he couldn't miss out on a golden opportunity to make Hermione's life hell.

You do a terrific job demonstrating Hermione being heartbroken- such a beautiful piece. And I love Ron's little gesture with his hands, and his eyes looking "soft"- I can picture him so well, feeling kind of sorry for her, but at the same time wanting to snog Lavender.

Somehow I don't think Malfoy will do anything bad... seeming how I'm pretty sure this is a Dramione fic. Or maybe he will insult her, and then apologize later or something? IDK.

Brilliant first chapter- this gets straight to the action.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Following Day.

3rd January 2015:
I really like how Rose didn't tell her classmates everything that happened. Modesty! I was sure she'd be shouting it all around the school. My dear little Rosie is growing up! *hugs her* Thank you for learning how to mature! That has got to be my favorite part of the chapter: her learning how to be quiet, for once.

Madam Pomfrey actually released Rose the next day? *gasp* Oh my goodness! I can't remember if you have her as overly strict, but I know a lot of fics that do.

Nice riddle for the Ravenclaw tower. You're good with coming up with riddles. You must be a Ravenclaw or something. ;) (That's one reason I'd never be a Ravenclaw- I'd never get through the door!)

I find it amusing that kate is concerned about OWLS so much. She's a Ravenclaw for sure.

Rose, giving speculation during testimony. *sighs* She needs to watch more crime movies in order to know how to testify correctly. YOu should put Aunt Hermione on that task.

We never did find out who hexed Remus's statue. No, I haven't forgotten that.

I'm really surprised that Dora was allowed to go to classes. I though they'd at least take her out for a day or two. Maybe McGonagall doesn't really want the students to know about what Dora did, and taking her out of classes all day would be too suspicious. Although, I don't know why McGonagall would try and protect Dora.

Hmm, what will Dora's punishment be? If they don't have proof other than Rose's testimony, will Dora be punished at all? I guess I'll have to wait until next chapter...

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose keeping quiet is a new development, isn't it? It's not entirely modesty; it's largely because she's not sure exactly how much she's supposed to divulge, but that is something she probably wouldn't have considered a year before, so yeah, she's getting a bit more sense.

Yeah, Madame Pomfrey is pretty strict, but Rose was really fine since she took her potions the night before so there isn't any real reason not to release her.

Glad you liked the riddle. They are SO hard to come up with and getting harder, as I am running out of decent ideas.

Remus's statue. Hmmm. I was going to put a strong hint about that into this chapter, but then I edited some stuff and it didn't really fit any more, so you'll have to wait a little while longer. I'm not exactly sure when or how it WILL be revealed, but it will be by the end of the story. It's minor compared with the Wolfsbane, so my characters aren't AS interested.

As regards Dora, all I'll say at the moment is that I worded the conversation between her and Fairfax VERY carefully, for particular reasons.

And yes, Rose should learn to stick to the facts when giving evidence, but Rose refraining from giving her opinion? Not very likely really.

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Pheonix PotioneerSacrifice: Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

31st December 2014:
Hello! Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat!

I clicked on the story because I wanted to know what "the incident" was. Great marketing, I suppose! And I still don't really know what happened, except it seems their mom died from dark magic and their dad ran away. At least "the incident" wasn't her getting bitten by a werewolf or something, as that is what I thought "the incident" might be.

I love how this chapter is shrouded in mystery! It's practically forcing me to go click the "next chapter" button.

I like how Harry Potter is associated with them as not exactly good. I don't think of him as a Ministry person, but in AJ's eyes he is the one that could tear her life apart.

Poor, poor AJ! I can't even imagine how stressed out she must be. Hopefully it will be easier once they are all in Hogwarts. Will they just stop paying the bills then?

Wonderful first chapter! Intriguing!

Author's Response: Hi!

I have to credit my beta for putting 'The Incident' in the summary. It was her idea :) I'm glad you're putting some things together about their parents.

I tried to snap some of the stereotypes, including the whole 'omg it's harry potter!' things that the next generation kids do. So making Harry part of the case was just another way of me trying to get this as original as possible :)

Hopefully it does get easier. And yes, they will stop paying the bills :) She's getting everything to stop while they're away at school, given they won't be returning to their house until June.

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>