Reading Reviews From Member: Pheonix Potioneer
  
146 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Concern.

4th May 2015:
I can totally sympathize with Blackburn barely being able to stand. I was sick a few weeks ago to the point that I could barely lift my head off the pillow without getting a massive headache. I know that's what Blackburn had, but I know the feeling. Just standing up to go to the bathroom was agony.

Poor poor poor poor poor poor Blackburn. I'll probably end up saying that every chapter now.

Wow, so now we actually get to read the seventh year's letter! That is so heartwarming, and so is Blackburn's reply. I was smiling like a maniac at that part, which probably isn't a good thing since I'm in a room with a lot of other people. Oh well.

Yeah, I think seventh years can handle her first name. The less of an age gap between the teachers and students, the less of a strictly teacher-student relationship there is. One time I was in a roomful of my teachers and it was wonderful listening to them gossip like normal people.

I wonder what Blackburn will think when she gets Angie's sugar quills.

Author's Response: Aw, sorry to hear you were sick recently. That's never fun, particularly when you feel that bad. Hope you're all right now.

One of the things that made me want to write this story was those letters, along with the night she, Teddy and Victoire go out for a drink. I had to plan more or less what they said, so that I could refer to them and I kind of wanted to write them out properly.

And yeah, the 7th years are only about 7 or 8 years younger than Blackburn, so the relationship there isn't going to be as formal as that between a 40 year old teacher and an 11 year old. I wanted to give her a nice 7th year class, since they are old enough either to be really supportive or to be really hurtful, if they were mean.

Thanks so much for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pheonix PotioneerVisibly Scarred.: Pain

4th May 2015:
Poor poor poor poor poor Lydia. STOP HURTING HER! You never listen to me when I say that! Is it really too difficult of a command?

I like how Blackburn doesn't explicitly say that the Wolfsbane failed until later- it just says the word it with italics.

Wow, on the day that Rose saw Blackburn I didn't know Blackburn was actually supposed to be in the hospital wing. Interesting insight.

That conversation that Blackburn had with McGonagall had Rose and Albus eavesdropping on them, yes? I'm glad they didn't suspect anything.

McGonagall and Madam Pomfrey are wonderful. (I feel weird calling them Minerva and Poppy. It's as if they were my own teachers.)

Just out of curiosity, how long are you planning to make this? And will you finish this and then start The Pawn of the Game or do both at the same time?

Nice chapter! I got the impression that Blackburn is very miserable, so if that is what you were aiming for you succeeded.

Author's Response: This story will probably be about five chapters long, possibly six. I'm only planning on going as far as her return to Hogwarts. I'm going to finish this and then start The Pawn in the Game. I expect to finish it in about another month, so it's easier get it done and then move on.

Yes, that is the conversation Rose and Albus overheard and yes, they were lucky not to be overheard. McGonagall would NOT be happy. And I think Lydia would be embarrassed and upset at the thought of being overheard. She wouldn't be annoying with them, but she might be hurt.

There were some hints about the fact she wasn't supposed to be working that day, but they were subtle when I was writing from Rose's point of view. They did overhear McGonagall saying Madame Pomfrey hadn't expected her to return to work that soon and that she was in no fit state to be teaching, but it wasn't very specific.

I find it difficult to think of McGonagall and Madame Pomfrey by their first names too. I keep tying their proper titles, then realising Lydia wouldn't think of them that way after working with them for a year and a half. In chapter three, it gets MORE fun, because Hermione appears and I have to remember that Lydia'd think of her as an important Ministry official and CERTAINLY WOULDN'T use her first name.

I really am cruel to her, aren't I? Poor girl.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Midnight Feast.

4th May 2015:
Last chapter! Permission to SQUEE! (That last part was a Dcotor Who reference.)

Nathan worries about EVERYTHING. With good reason, but he still worries a lot. Nathan and Albus are both big worriers.

Ha ha, very true that Slughorn probably didn't care much about the exams. I have some teachers that are like that.

I wonder what house Lily and Hugo will be in? I'm curious. Will you go with the traditional Gryffindor, or something else?

Of course the Ravenclaws would decide not to get into any trouble whatsoever. Smart, but it wouldn't be very fun. Though Ravenclaws are known for being smart, so that makes sense.

I never thought that Angie would be much of a troublemaker. She seems very eager for the midnight feast to be somewhere forbidden.

The reason it feels like a boarding school story is because it is a boarding school story! Hogwarts is a boarding school. I suppose Angie doesn't realize that she's in a story, since she's a fictional character, but she is!

Hmmm, despite the fact that Dora seems to hate most of the Ravenclaws, she still came to the midnight feast. I wonder why. Does she want to be friends with some of them, and she refuses to admit it?

Ravenclaw won the cup! Hooray! Hufflepuff should win next year.

I love the conclusion: saying goodbye to Professor Blackburn. Awesome.

Rise of the A.W.L. is over! Congratulations!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: New Legislation.

26th April 2015:
Teddy! I don't think we see nearly enough of Teddy. Well, I don't have much of him in my stories either, so I suppose I can't talk. But still, you should include him more, simply because i like him.

Wow, it's chapters like this that your knowledge of politics shines through. You have a good point about the whole "what to charge Fairfax with" sort of thing. Nobody really thinks about that much, well, at least i don't. It's sort of a "he did a crime, he'll get a trial, and probably go to jail" sort of thing. It's easy to forget that it's more complicated than that.

Wow, I keep forgetting that Rose is smart sometimes. She has a good point about Fairfax's whole motives thing. Unlike Harry, she doesn't stop at "the culprit is caught, hooray!" sort of thing. She evaluates everything afterwards, and thinks, unlike Harry, who seems to not like thinking. Rose would have been really handy back then. I suppose they had Hermione too, but Rose seems to think a bit more about things like that Hermione... yet, Hermione doesn't have as much of a temper as Rose does... so I suppose Hermione is a little better...

I didn't even think about the possibility of using Ministry potions! Lydia only stayed with Fairfax since she trusted him so much! Oh, that makes everything much more terrible! Poor, poor, poor Blackburn! STOP TORTURING BLACKBURN. I need to start a campaign against you, with STOP TORTURING BLACKBURN as my slogan. How about I take over the series, and Blackburn is cured of lycanthropy, wiped of her anxieties, and owns a private island in the tropics and is really rich. That sounds like a wonderful idea.

I wonder what Teddy was talking to Blackburn about. Whatever it was, it must be something that Hermione wasn't allowed to overhear. I can't help remembering the Lydia-Teddy-Victoire love triangle. Did it have to do with that?

You were right, that was a very informative chapter. And only one left!

Author's Response: Thank you so so much for this review. I've read it SO many times already. I really shouldn't be this pleased to have people yell at me, but it's nice to feel people are invested in my characters.

I knew people would react to the idea that Fairfax basically manipulated Blackburn into continuing to use his potions. She is WAY too nice for her own good sometimes, and she sort of felt it would make him feel she was blaming him and that he might be hurt or offended if she said she'd prefer use Ministry provided ones. Of course, she's feeling pretty betrayed. Poor girl.

Lydia's problems aren't going to disappear quite THAT easily, but she will gradually begin to recover. Not sure about her having a private island. That reminds me a little too much of a certain politician.

I'd love to see how you would write a sequel about Blackburn though. *grins* I'm actually writing the "missing week" from her point of view at the moment, but that's certainly no more positive.

There's no real mystery to what she and Teddy were talking about. He was just expressing concern and having a chat with her. She probably got a bit emotional, mostly from the relief and he just thought she needed a friend.

The main reason Hermione didn't remain for it was just because Lydia doesn't know her that well and she's a Head of Department in the Ministry and a war hero and I think Lydia'd be somewhat intimidated by her. Not by anything she DOES, just in the sense of, "gosh, I'm talking to a woman hotly tipped as a possible next Minister for Magic and one of the people I learnt about in History of Magic when I was at school." That, and Hermione just wanted to talk to her daughter.

And yeah, it's hard to show too much of Teddy, as he's not at Hogwarts. And he is a fairly nice, and interesting, character. I think I portray him differently from a lot of people, but I'm kind of fond of my version.

Rose is different from Harry, but the circumstances are different too. Harry was dealing with people determined to kill him, whereas Rose is dealing with more ideological conflicts, so there is more to question.

Makes it less certain that the villains will be convicted too, as what happens isn't as serious.

And of course, the books weren't from Hermione's point of view, so we didn't see so much of what she thought about things. And yeah, Rose has quite a temper. *huggles her*

Yeah, just one chapter left and I think it's mostly fairly minor stuff - just the midnight feast and the exams and all. This is sort of the last revelation chapter.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Ravenclaw versus Gryffindor.

26th April 2015:
Lucy does have a point that Rose seems overly-confident sometimes and Albus is not confident at all. Rose and Albus kind of equal themselves out in that respect. It makes them reasonable friends. After all, if Albus was confident like Rose, they would be butting heads and squabbling all the time.

Rose, Slughorn treats everything like a news story. You do have a point that he shouldn't, but if he isn't directly affected, that's how he treats everything.

Hey, why is Hufflepuff in last for everything? How about you swap Slytherin and Hufflepuff's positions so Hufflepuff beats Slytherin by 300 points instead? :(

Albus did an excellent job! I'm so proud of him. :) He deserves a medal and a gold star. Congratulations Ravenclaw!

Though, even after that, Albus is STILL doubting himself. Sigh. Rose really needs to donate some of her confidence.

A midnight feast? That sounds like a great idea! Bring it on!

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose and Albus go well together in one sense, but I think there are times they make each other worse, because his admiration for her makes her even more convinced she knows it all and having her to turn to makes him less likely to depend on his own judgement.

Hufflepuff isn't ALWAYS last. They came second in the House Cup in "The Writing on the Wall." It just so happened I needed to have Ravenclaw and Gryffindor fairly close and with Scorpius as Seeker, Slytherin were always going to win. Hufflepuff is still an awesome house.

The midnight feast is solely for my own amusement and because I can't help thinking Muggleborns would be sure to come up with the idea of having one.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Really great to see you around again.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Nott to Blame.

25th April 2015:
Dora had a point, that everything always revolves around the Potter's. But Slughorn did come out of retirement just to teach Harry, so Albus's idea that Slughorn might be back for Lily isn't too far-fetched.

I can understand Rose's annoyance with Professor Slughorn, but after so many years of teaching, exams probably don't seem as important to him anymore. But for the most part, I agree with Rose: Slughorn should be teaching!

Nott does raise some reasonably points- why would he try to set a werewolf loose? If I didn't have Rose's view butting in, and I was just an ordinary wizard lounging at home, I probably would have believed Nott.

Nott seems to be a very good speaker, and he gives good replies. It's not a surprise to me that he is the leader of the AWL.

NOW we finally know who hexed the memorial. That's finally revealed! I've been wondering about that for a while.

Or, I wonder if Dora is the one who hexed the memorial, and Nott said that Fairfax did it to cover Dora's tracks. After all, Fairfax was already guilty of one offense, why not make him guilty of two? I imagine that Nott is protective of his daughter, but I don't know. We've never actually seen them together- maybe that will change next year?

Felicity's mother seems to be the default concerned parent. There are PLENTY of parents like that in the world, who will sue the schools for a little thing and make sure there are a million rules implemented.

Flitwick has a good point about Fairfax's motivations of hexing the statue. It's clear that Flitwick has thought about this a lot. I suppose the staff has had many discussions about it when the students aren't around. I wonder what they say? That would be fun to find out.

Great chapter! The one advantage of reviewing this so late is that I can go right off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* I'm actually writing a story from Blackburn's point of view, covering the week or so after the Wolfsbane failed, at the moment. So there will be a little bit about what the staff think in that. It's obviously before they know who the villain is, but stuff like the conversation between Blackburn, McGonagall and Hermione about whether or not it was deliberately tampered with will come up.

And yeah, Dora does have some reason to feel resentful, doesn't she? After all, it's not her fault what her grandfather did, but people are going to judge her by it and people like Slughorn treat the Potter and Weasley children as if they are heroes just because of the families they were born into. It isn't fair. But she really isn't helping herself by her reactions. Scorpius suffers from people's preconceived ideas of "Death Eater families" too. Even though his father and grandfather weren't actually prosecuted, there is a lot of suspicion of them, and I'm not sure if Draco ever fully recovered from his experiences. I'm not sure watching people being tortured, being pretty much forced into attempting murder, spending two years in constant fear of your life and realising everything you've been brought up to believe in and support is really the cause of all your problems is something you'd get over too easily.

Yes, I would imagine many parents would react like Felicity's mother. I wanted to show more of a middle ground than just "people who hate werewolves and go out of their way to be nasty about them" and "people who are completely reasonably about it and have no anxieties at all about what could happen if the Wolfsbane failed." Even Ron and Mrs. Weasley expressed some anxiety around werewolves and in both cases, it was completely irrational, so I think there would be a lot of concern, not all of it completely irrational.

Yeah, I just used one parent as an example, as it could get confusing if it was somebody different expressing concern each time. Plus, Rose would be more likely to take notice of a reference to somebody she has heard of before. The paper has been getting a lot of letters on the issue over the years, so you can assume she's not the only one expressing those views.

And yes, Nott is smart and very plausible, which really makes him more dangerous than a ranting irrational villain, because it means people are more likely to believe and support him.

Nott's protectiveness of Dora will actually come up in year four, so a little while away, but you've put your finger on something that will appear eventually.

Slughorn knows he's only back for a couple of weeks and, being Slughorn, is using the time to reconnect with his old favourites and find out all the gossip, rather than worrying too much about the exams. After all, the N.E.W.T. course is a two year one and the O.W.L. either a three year or a five year one - I'm never sure if they are tested on the first two years in the O.W.L.S. or if they are more a foundation and the course only starts properly in 3rd year - so it's not like a couple of weeks are going to make all THAT much difference. He still should be teaching though.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the final three chapters. The second last one reveals the final few details.

It's great to see you back. Hope there'll be a chapter of "The Chosen Four" soon.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Jelly Legs Jinx.

31st January 2015:
Oh, Rose. So naive. She thinks that since she knows Dora is wrong, the Ministry won't bother to hear Dora's side. It becomes obvious at moments like this that she's young. I'm not very mad at her this time- just surprised.

Ha ha, I find it amusing that Rose was angry about the article not being front page. I suppose the Ministry doesn't want to draw attention to it.

I'm surprised Rita Skeeter didn't find out the identity of the two thirteen-year-old girls (Rose and Dora). But how did she even find out that much in the first place?

For Professor Vector, I keep thinking of the Vector person on Despicable Me. I suppose I should take this professor more seriously.

I don't blame Rose for being annoyed about Dora getting away with everything and herself getting attention. I think it's because Dora knows how to be sneaky and subtle, while Rose does not.

One thing I am annoyed at Rose about is that she uses Dora's background and Dora's father as justification. I know Dora was doing everything of her own will as well, but still- it's like judging Sirius Black for being a Black. And Blackburn for being a werewolf. I agree with Rose, that Dora deserved it and such, but Rose really shouldn't have used Dora's father as justification. I would have said that Dora is capable of evil deeds (like what Dora did last year) and that all year Dora complained about Blackburn and made anti-werewolf remarks.

At least Rose isn't the stereotypical, brilliant protagonist. She is flawed.

Good chapter! And what was the scene that Leonore had you put in?

Author's Response: There's actually a hint as to how Rita knows what she does. There's a reference to a beetle around Hogwarts at one point.

She does know their identity, but by keeping it vague, she's both trying to create more concern among parents - it could be THEIR child that was targeted - and also making it look as if they spoke to her directly. By not citing the source, it makes it less likely she'll get called out on the fact she got her information rather obliquely.

Well, Rose meant it would be pretty coincidental if Fairfax just picked a student to bully into helping him and they ALSO had a father with similar views to Fairfax, but yeah, that's ignoring the fact that if Fairfax knows who she is, and there's a good chance he WOULD, or that he could find out, he might choose her, thinking there was a good chance she'd go along with what he asked or at least, that she'd be unlikely to have parents who'd make an official complaint about what he did.

And yes, Rose can be pretty unfair when it comes to Dora. She just looks for anything to criticise her for, even when it's something she has no control over. There were plenty of other things she could have said to back up the fact Dora is likely to do something to hurt Blackburn voluntarily.

Flawed people are so much more fun to write anyway. Characters who get everything right are boring, both to read and to write. You can do so much more with characters who make mistakes and mess up. Rose's obsession with certain things - like proving Dora guilty - can send her off in all kinds of wrong directions and affect her judgement.

Leonore wanted me to write a scene where Rose got caught hexing Dora and got punished for it, which was sort of overdue anyway. And then, when she mentioned it, it occurred to me it'd be a good way of revealing certain information.

Thank you so much for your review. Hope you enjoyed the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pheonix PotioneerGive It A Go: Just A Date

26th January 2015:
Yes, finally something ORIGINAL where Rose and Scorpius aren't hopelessly in love! I'm a fan of ScorRose, but it is so common that it gets annoying after a while.

I love how realistic this is. This is what actually happens in real life.

I think everyone knows someone like Violet. I have a friend who isn't quite as bad as Violet, but she can be annoying sometimes.

Ha ha, Kenway's date puked. That's kind of funny.

I'm glad Ella and Albus worked out great- I really like them. Hooray!

Great job with this!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! We like being realistic, and ScorRose pairings often bug us at least a little, so this was our way of contrasting most stories that pair or ship them. Granted both our Rose and especially our Scorpius are both quieter, reflective characters and I guess you don't see that wih Scorpius too often.

Violet was a character we saw as very... outgoing and our characters often tend to lean towards independent with a sense of humor, but we try to get a balance of personalities because that's what's realistic. ;)

Kenway's date couldn't have ended any better in my opinion (props to Georgina) which makes it fun especially with his character. Heehee! If you liked he Albus/Ella, check out the later chapters of our story The Wizarding Life of Ella Green.

Thanks for the review!!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Place That Will Never Be Dark: Prologue

26th January 2015:
Hello! Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review.

Well... this is a bit ominous. Of course, I kind of know what happens. Salazar and Godric duel and then Salazar leaves. I don't know the circumstances though, so I'll be eager to know that! Since there's so few people who write about the founders, I basically just accept whatever you write about them as canon.

Yup, of course Rowena would be skeptical. She is a Ravenclaw- THE Ravenclaw, so I suppose she's as Ravenclaw-ish as possible! Of course a person who values their brains more than anything would be skeptical by a seer.

"A ship gliding over the sea". Interesting. Why would they be on a ship? Hmmm. I must admit, this is intriguing!

Is Salazar already building the Chamber of Secrets? I really don't like how you've described how he looks. I would not like to meet Salazar in this state. And I think he knows exactly what the seer is talking about.

Update soon! This has certainly built up tension.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Pheonix PotioneerWhat Nightmares are Made Of: What Nightmares Are Made Of

24th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat review!

Okay, I'm going to guess on who is narrating each segment. It shouldn't be too hard. First one: Remus; Second, Moaning Myrtle; Third, Ron; Fourth, Harry; Fifth, Sirius. The last one I think is Sirius, but there have been many Azkaban inmates so it might not be him.

This is so wonderful, but almost every single one ends on a cliffhanger! Argh! On the plus side, I know what happens, but every single one ends with the monster. DON'T GIVE ME NIGHTMARES!

I love how you describe everything in each increment. "The decrepit wooden floors" is AWESOME. It's beautiful wording. And there are so many stories. So many. That's what I love about writing: you can write about anyone, and it will be interesting.

Nice job incorporating so many challenges. I hope you win at least one of them! You've got my vote. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Pheonix PotioneerLove is for Fools: Not a Fool

24th January 2015:
Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review!

This is awesome. Not only does it make me support Remus/Sirius now, but you made each sentence begin with the next letter of the alphabet! And it makes sense! That is truly extraordinary. If I tried this, it wouldn't flow nearly as nice. This obviously has a lot of work and care put into it, despite it being only five hundred words. In fact, that's probably why it does have a lot of care put into it.

STOP TORTURING POOR REMUS! Why does every fic make him suffer? Sure, he did actually suffer a lot, but don't make him suffer EVEN MORE! *cradles Remus*

Amazing how I'm now shipping Remus/Sirius because of five hundred words. This definitely makes "every word count"!

Thank you for such a thrilling experience.

P.S. I hope Heaven is like Zonko's too. That would be awesome. I'd never get bored.

Author's Response: CLAUDIA! ♥

This review is so beyond lovely, and I'm now feeling incredibly guilty for having taken so long to reply to it! I really enjoyed writing this, despite the stress I put myself under trying to come up with sentences for X and Z!

Remus is just the best character for an angsty fic. I totally get the need to hug him!

Your review is too nice, Claudia. I am not worthy! *bows* Seriously, thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pheonix PotioneerAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Justice Where Justice is Due

16th January 2015:
Right... so... I started reading this because of the Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review... and I got a little carried away... Well, that's a good thing for you guys! It means I liked it.

It's awesome that you guys wrote this starting at Albus's third year- most people start at Albus's first year and do it Harry Potter-style feedback.

Speaking of which, are you doing a sequel? Sombremaitre is still out there.

If I have one complaint, it's that I have to use copy and paste each time I write Sombremaitre. Couldn't you have made it an easier name? But it is a really cool name, so I suppose that makes up for it.

I read the little Ella Green story after I finished this- I find it great that they ended up together. I actually was thinking about her maybe being a good match for Albus before I found out it actually happened. Great job! She's a lovely girl.

I'm glad Albus and Scorpius are on friendly terms- and Harry's and Draco's reactions are golden. Just golden.

This has disappointedly low reviews! Hmm. I thought it would have more. It's too good.

I love the idea of the resurrection stone as part of Lily's necklace. That is just so, so awesome and clever.

The duel was pretty epic. Just saying.

And Dunstan is a jerk.

Wonderful, wonderful story!

Author's Response: Yay, it keep you reading! With the minimal reviews I assumed it wasn't all that interesting.

We wanted to make sure the whole Weasley clan was there, including Lily and Hugo.

We do not plan to do a sequel due to lack of time (and ideas), but we do mention what happened to Sombremaitre in the second chapter of Give It a Go.

Sombremaitre is French for DarkMaster, like Voldemort is French for FlyOverDeath.

Excellent, you saw them as a perfect couple. Albus and Ella are so adorable and their first date is also featured in the second chapter of Give It a Go if you want to see more of them. (we also wouldn't mind a few reviews on her story if you had time)

Good, you liked them. We certainly didn't want them to be best friends (that idea is so overused) but our Albus and Scorpius would get along, so we make sure they did. As for their fathers, at least we don't ship Scorpius/Rose.

Aw! You are so kind! If you really think it was that good could you please recommend it? We're kind of overlooked.

Yay, you didn't think it was unrealistically dangerous! That was something we feared would lose readers.

Epicness is our middle name. Not really, I've just always wanted to say that.

Agreed.

Thank you ever so much for your review! Make my day!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #13, by Pheonix PotioneerLife As We Know It: chapter one

16th January 2015:
Hello! Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat review!

What??? Malfoy saw Hermione crying? Oh, that's got to be bad... Malfoy may have been preoccupied this year, but even he couldn't miss out on a golden opportunity to make Hermione's life hell.

You do a terrific job demonstrating Hermione being heartbroken- such a beautiful piece. And I love Ron's little gesture with his hands, and his eyes looking "soft"- I can picture him so well, feeling kind of sorry for her, but at the same time wanting to snog Lavender.

Somehow I don't think Malfoy will do anything bad... seeming how I'm pretty sure this is a Dramione fic. Or maybe he will insult her, and then apologize later or something? IDK.

Brilliant first chapter- this gets straight to the action.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Following Day.

3rd January 2015:
I really like how Rose didn't tell her classmates everything that happened. Modesty! I was sure she'd be shouting it all around the school. My dear little Rosie is growing up! *hugs her* Thank you for learning how to mature! That has got to be my favorite part of the chapter: her learning how to be quiet, for once.

Madam Pomfrey actually released Rose the next day? *gasp* Oh my goodness! I can't remember if you have her as overly strict, but I know a lot of fics that do.

Nice riddle for the Ravenclaw tower. You're good with coming up with riddles. You must be a Ravenclaw or something. ;) (That's one reason I'd never be a Ravenclaw- I'd never get through the door!)

I find it amusing that kate is concerned about OWLS so much. She's a Ravenclaw for sure.

Rose, giving speculation during testimony. *sighs* She needs to watch more crime movies in order to know how to testify correctly. YOu should put Aunt Hermione on that task.

We never did find out who hexed Remus's statue. No, I haven't forgotten that.

I'm really surprised that Dora was allowed to go to classes. I though they'd at least take her out for a day or two. Maybe McGonagall doesn't really want the students to know about what Dora did, and taking her out of classes all day would be too suspicious. Although, I don't know why McGonagall would try and protect Dora.

Hmm, what will Dora's punishment be? If they don't have proof other than Rose's testimony, will Dora be punished at all? I guess I'll have to wait until next chapter...

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose keeping quiet is a new development, isn't it? It's not entirely modesty; it's largely because she's not sure exactly how much she's supposed to divulge, but that is something she probably wouldn't have considered a year before, so yeah, she's getting a bit more sense.

Yeah, Madame Pomfrey is pretty strict, but Rose was really fine since she took her potions the night before so there isn't any real reason not to release her.

Glad you liked the riddle. They are SO hard to come up with and getting harder, as I am running out of decent ideas.

Remus's statue. Hmmm. I was going to put a strong hint about that into this chapter, but then I edited some stuff and it didn't really fit any more, so you'll have to wait a little while longer. I'm not exactly sure when or how it WILL be revealed, but it will be by the end of the story. It's minor compared with the Wolfsbane, so my characters aren't AS interested.

As regards Dora, all I'll say at the moment is that I worded the conversation between her and Fairfax VERY carefully, for particular reasons.

And yes, Rose should learn to stick to the facts when giving evidence, but Rose refraining from giving her opinion? Not very likely really.

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Pheonix PotioneerSacrifice: Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

31st December 2014:
Hello! Here for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat!

I clicked on the story because I wanted to know what "the incident" was. Great marketing, I suppose! And I still don't really know what happened, except it seems their mom died from dark magic and their dad ran away. At least "the incident" wasn't her getting bitten by a werewolf or something, as that is what I thought "the incident" might be.

I love how this chapter is shrouded in mystery! It's practically forcing me to go click the "next chapter" button.

I like how Harry Potter is associated with them as not exactly good. I don't think of him as a Ministry person, but in AJ's eyes he is the one that could tear her life apart.

Poor, poor AJ! I can't even imagine how stressed out she must be. Hopefully it will be easier once they are all in Hogwarts. Will they just stop paying the bills then?

Wonderful first chapter! Intriguing!

Author's Response: Hi!

I have to credit my beta for putting 'The Incident' in the summary. It was her idea :) I'm glad you're putting some things together about their parents.

I tried to snap some of the stereotypes, including the whole 'omg it's harry potter!' things that the next generation kids do. So making Harry part of the case was just another way of me trying to get this as original as possible :)

Hopefully it does get easier. And yes, they will stop paying the bills :) She's getting everything to stop while they're away at school, given they won't be returning to their house until June.

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #16, by Pheonix PotioneerA Magical Christmas.: A Magical Christmas.

28th December 2014:
I never knew Angie's last name was Lewis. Angie Lewis. I never thought about her last name before. Have you mentioned her last name before?

I feel so so sorry for Angie. Rose didn't mean any harm by talking about Christmas! Angie should open up more- but I understand why she didn't.

Now I feel sorry for Angie's younger brother and sister. I really hope they end up being a witch and wizard so they can get away. I feel like it's a bit mean to leave them behind- but I understand why she did.

Here is the famous moment where Blackburn says she loves sugar quills! *squeals* Hooray!

Jordan Shacklebolt seems like a good kid. I remember you mentioning him a few times, but you've never really focused in on him before. I have a feeling Jordan sort of has an idea how Angie is feeling, and he's trying to cheer her up. He's great. Can you focus on him more in the future?

I'm so happy Angie had a good Christmas! Nothing like a happy ending. :)

Author's Response: I honestly don't know if her last name was mentioned before. Probably not. It might have come up when she was first introduced, but more likely, she was just introduced as Angie.

I've known for quite a while whether her younger brother and sister are magical or not, but it won't be revealed for a while, because her brother won't be 11 until year four and her sister until year six or seven (I've lost count on her, because there are quite a few years to go).

Angie is only 12, so not really her responsibility to take care of her brother and sister. It IS tough on them to lose their sister for a large proportion of the year, as well as everything else they have to deal with, but a 12 year old shouldn't have to raise two younger children. And the fact she's at Hogwarts would be encouragement to them to take their places if they DID turn out to have magic. Poor kids though.

I love the interactions between Blackburn and Angie. There's a real sympathy between them because they've both been through a fair amount and they're both sort of lonely people, in a way.

Jordan Shacklebolt is a nice guy. With Kingsley as a dad, he probably would be. He doesn't appear much, because as a Gryffindor and being four years older than my main characters, they don't know him that well. But he will become Head Boy in Year three, so he might appear a bit more. He's unlikely to play a HUGE part though.

Glad you liked the ending. Angie deserved a bit of fun.

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Caught Out.

16th December 2014:
It was Fairfax! It was Fairfax! I was thinking of students, so it never occurred to me that teachers could be up to no good as well! It was Fairfax! Once again, you have tricked me! I suppose that makes you a good writer, if I wasn't able to guess correctly. But I could have guessed this one... it's so obvious!

Wow, Rose's fever has really unfortunate timing. I hate it when that happens. I hardly ever get sick, but last year I got sick and had to miss a trip to Atlanta- with no refunds. I was so mad at myself for getting a 102 (fahrenheit) fever.

Was Rose's fever a coincidence? Did someone purposely make her sick, perhaps? Interesting.

FINALLY there's a story that recognizes the easiness of the pensieve! It's annoying when I read a Harry Potter fanfiction, and the main character doesn't know how to prove they are telling the truth, and they don't even think about the pensieve. If there was an explanation of why they can't use one, I'd be satisfied with that, but most people don't even acknowledge it... So congratulations to you!

I presume Fairfax will be leaving at the end of this year. This was Fairfax's first year, wasn't it? Maybe there's a curse on the Potions position like there was for the DADA position for many years...

I wonder how Blackburn will react. It will certainly rattle her. The person who is partially responsible for her health was conspiring against her all year... that would scare anyone. Poor, poor Blackburn. Do you have to torture her any more?

I wonder why Fairfax needs Dora. Any particular reason, or just because Dora is a student? Curious.

As to regards for the last review- Yes, I did mean Fairfax when I typed Fawley. Professor Fawley is a character in mine, who is also the Potions Master. I doesn't help that their names are similar.

It looks like this is nearing the end of the story, about. Seems like it, anyway. How many chapters are left?

Great twist!

Author's Response: I actually went back and forth between wondering if it was too obvious - new teacher, person with easiest access to potion, a lot of stuff simply being taken at his word - and wondering if it was too obscure - very few clues of the type I included in the last story. There were some things like the fact that that whole thing about him leaving the door unlocked and somebody slipping in was, as you pretty much pointed out reviewing the last chapter, VERY hit and miss, and really more likely to fail than succeed. And the fact NOBODY saw ANY indication of somebody approaching the office. And the whole invisibility deal earlier. Of course, somebody COULD have used Instant Invisibility Powder or an Invisibility Cloak, but it was also possible it's just a fully qualified and very competent witch or wizard who can make themselves invisible.

Rose's illness was just a plot device to a) have her awake when nobody else was, b) give her away to Fairfax, c) give him an excuse for trying to get her away from McGongall and d) give McGonagall a reason to doubt his version of events, as if Rose really had been dueling Dora and was lying to get out of trouble, why not just say she'd felt sick and was going to the Hospital Wing and Dora followed her and attacked her. It would be a much more convincing version and less likely to get her into trouble.

*laughs* I was debating whether or not to use the pensieve, since they rarely seem to in canon, even when it might be helpful, but it seemed like the best way to prove things.

The next chapter will give some information both about what happens to Fairfax AND how Blackburn reacts. Yeah, it's bound to come as a bit of a shock to her.

Yes, Dora's involvement... The question as to how involved she is remains up in the air, doesn't it? There will be a little more about that.

That's kind of funny actually. I hadn't realised until your last review that we both had Potions Masters whose names began with "Fa". Yeah, it's Fairfax's first year, but before that, Slughorn was in the position for ages, so I'd wait and see what happens to the Potions teacher in the next story before making any assumptions.

I honestly don't know how many chapters are left. It's definitely coming towards the end, but not as close as the revelation of the villain might imply. I'd guess about another five chapters. There are still more details to come out and the revelation will have some impacts.

Thank you so much for the review. It's an awesome one.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: The Clock Strikes One.

11th December 2014:
"The Clock Strikes One". Interesting title.

It's taking all my self-will to not click "next chapter". I really want to know what happens next, but I have to theorize first!

All possibilities:
Dora is headed "towards" the dungeons- but she could be going somewhere else first. On the same level of the dungeons is the Slytherin Common room, the Hufflepuff Common Room, and the kitchens. I don't think Rose knows where any of those are, but Dora might. So Dora could be headed any of those places, although it is unlikely.

Seeming how Dora left in the middle of the night wearing a hood, I strongly doubt she doesn't have malicious purposes.

I can't help remember Abric (Is that his first name?) Fletcher stealing potion ingredients. Dora could be behind that too. It's just too much of a coincidence that both scenarios had to do with Potions. Abric and Dora could have both been stealing ingredients, and only Abric got caught. Or Abric could be mostly innocent and working under Dora's orders... Dora didn't get sick. I have a feeling Dora and Abric both are tied into this somehow. Abric is the type of kid who would take a bribe, and I'm sure Dora knows that.

I still kind of like my previous idea of Dora knocking an ingredient into the Wolfsbane Potion by mistake if she was stealing things for a different purpose.

Then, there is of course the obvious solution that Dora is purposely tampering with the Wolfsbane. As to why she's tampering with it now- Fawley wouldn't be as suspicious if she was messing with it serveral weeks before the full moon.

Now, I have a few questions. How exactly is Dora tampering with the potion? If she just threw a random ingredient in, the potion would change color or texture or something. Fawley or Blackburn should have noticed. So if Dora is the tamperer, then she must be using an ingredient that doesn't change the color, the texture, the odor, or the taste. Hmmm.

I read this chapter last night right before I went to bed, so it incorporated itself into my dreams a little... I dreamed Rose was following Dora, and then Dora walked into a sunny room and Rose found out that Dora was visiting her father who was telling her stories... And Rose and Dora became friends. I don't think that will happen, but it made me realize how much I want Dora to change. Over the course of the book I started looking underneath the bitter surface of Dora, and I realized that she's just a lonely, little girl who envies Rose and her family. Dora isn't evil, and she's young enough that she can change. I hope she changes.

Very interesting chapter! I think we're nearing the climax... *bounces excitedly*

Author's Response: You've probably already read or skimmed the next chapter, which makes some of what I'm going to say here pretty pointless, but I'm going to say it anyway. You've some good theories.

I was WONDERING if people'd consider all the places Dora could be going. Of course ROSE assumes she's heading to tamper with the potion, but I've deliberately ended the chapter at a point where that may or may not be true.

Yeah, Abric Fletcher and YES, I bet he COULD be bribed. I don't think he'd necessarily take part in something REALLY harmful, but he might well be willing to just not ask too many questions and say get Dora, or somebody else, the ingredients they want without worrying what they might use them for.

And I LOVE the theory Dora (or somebody else) might have been up to something completely different and Blackburn might just have been effected mistakenly. I think that would be the best option from Blackburn's point of view, because if somebody was targeting her deliberately, it'd make her feel even more like people hate her and are out to get her and if Fairfax just made a mistake, she'd be constantly worrying that if a potioneer who got one of the highest grades even in his Potions N.E.W.T. could make a mistake, then anybody could and that the potion might fail again. Whereas if it were a combination of things - Fairfax forgetting to lock his office or stores, a student just looking to steal something that day, them knocking something accidentally and then being afraid to own up, well, it both means nobody really wanted to hurt her AND that it's pretty unlikely to happen again, as it would be unlikely the whole series of events would be repeated.

By the way, you've called Fairfax "Fawley" once or twice. Fawley's one of the teachers in your story, isn't he? I've nearly typed Blackburn a couple of times when typing something else that begins with the first few letters. My fingers just tend to complete "Black" with "burn", so if I try to type something like "Blackrock", it often goes a little wrong.

Fairfax DID claim to have seen something that COULD have been sugar, which makes Wolfsbane useless, but he wasn't sure, and he apparently thought nothing of it at the time and only thought of it afterwards, so they can't put TOO much store on that, as sometimes if you think back on something, trying to think did you see anything odd, you'll start thinking maybe you did see something. Blackburn said she didn't see anything, but she was so distraught afterwards that it's doubtful she'd have remembered anyway.

And I can't BELIEVE you were dreaming about my characters. That is so, so awesome.

Actually, there's something in there that could be considered a little prophetic. For The Pawn in the Game, not this story.

And yeah, kids don't behave like Dora does if they're really happy. She's been brought up to believe Harry Potter and his friends ruined her family's lives and she believes it and she resents the fact that she's lost out on benefiting from being a member of one of wizarding Britain's most powerful families because of something that happened before she was born. If people knew she was Notts' granddaughter, she'd probably face some of the suspicion Scorpius does, which really isn't fair, as they can hardly help what their grandparents did.

Leonore and I are talking about writing a kind of just-for-fun story/short story collection, where Callaghan (the really nice Healer guy from our Irish Ministry story) acts as counsellor to various characters from our stories. I'm working on a conversation between him and Blackburn and I'm kind of tempted to write a piece where McGonagall insists Dora see him, after she gets caught doing something like say the vandalism and all in 1st year and he sort of tries to make her see that she's reacting pretty irrationally and only making things more difficult for herself. And also that some of the views her father and others have taught her aren't the only way to look at the world.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Confidences.

10th December 2014:
The Weasley family is a near-perfect family. So is mine, as a matter of fact. Myself and the Weasleys are really lucky.

The chocolate dragon thing is so cool! I love it.

I'm glad the Victoire/Teddy/Blackburn thing is worked out. Hooray! I do hope Blackburn doesn't get her heart broken though... *worries*

I love Rose's and Angie's little interaction. I was able to read Angie's mind pretty well... hooray! It does make me thankful that my family is wonderful- Angie's right, we do actually want to be there. My cousins are awesome, and so are my aunt and uncles.

I'm glad Rose managed to convince Angie to play Quidditch.

One thing I like about chapters like this as that you make us care about the characters, like Angie and Victoire. So later, if something bad happens (Which I hope doesn't happen!) we'll be much more emotional about it.

Hmmm... Wolfsbane. Let's see... there is, of course, the possibility that Fairfax simply made a mistake. Mistakes happen. But there's also a high chance that someone tampered with it. It's assumed that the door was unlocked for some reason- but how did the tamperer know it would be unlocked? Did they unlock the door somehow? And how? I wonder if the doors are only locked to magical methods, and if you can pick it. That could be a possibility. I don't get why the only did something that one month. Perhaps they saw an opportunity, and seized it while it lasted? My brain is wrapped around in possibilities.

As for who tampered with the potion... Dora is one possibility, but for some reason I don't think it's her. The Slytherins who hexed Remus's statue is also a possibility. And then other students who dislike Blackburn- which I'm sure is plenty, since her teaching hasn't been as well this year. I'm kind of stumped.

There's also a possibility that students snuck ( into the stores for something else, and accidentally knocked an ingredient into the potion or something, and were too embarrassed or scared to say anything. Fairfax is a little intimidating, even if they weren't meant to be back there in the first place.

Well, luckily the next chapter is up, so I will read on!

Author's Response: Glad you have a great family. *grins*

And yup, that's the whole Victoire/Teddy/Blackburn thing sorted. That's about as much as will be said about it. I think Blackburn knows the score, even if she might prefer if things were different and anyway, she has rather more serious problems at the moment.

I'm glad you like Angie and Victoire. Funnily enough, they are two characters that seem determined to carve out a bigger part for themselves in this series than they were meant to have, Angie in particular. But the more I write of Victoire, the more I like her, particularly when she says things like that she feels sorry for Blackburn.

I LOVE all your theories. I particularly like the way you question how the villain, if there is one, could be sure the office would be left unlocked. The current theory among a lot of the characters is that somebody created a fuss in the corridors, Fairfax went out to investigate and may not have had a chance to lock his door behind him. Though he said he THOUGHT he DID lock it. So yeah, not exactly a foolproof plan, if that IS how it was done. You're right. It's distinctly possible that it might have been done differently. Don't take anything for granted here.

And yeah, I'm sure some students are a bit irritated with Blackburn's absences and strange behaviour on occasions. I'm not sure traumatising her further by causing the Wolfsbane to fail would be the best way of dealing with that, but then teenagers don't always think things through.

And I LOVE your final theory that it was done by accident and the person hasn't owned up because they are scared of getting into trouble. I can totally imagine a teenager being afraid to own up to breaking rules, especially afterwards, when the consequences were so serious.

Thank you so much for reviewing. Hope you like the reveal.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: King's Cross Station.

30th November 2014:
Why would anyone pretend to be drunk? To act like they're cool, older students or something? *Shakes head disapprovingly*

Albus has a point: Lily probably will be a Gryffindor. She seems the Gryffindor type to me. At least he has Rose in Ravenclaw as well.

Does Fionnuala have any friends? It just occurred to me. She seems happy enough, but still...

Wow, Hugo seems very annoying. I don't envy Rose on the brother aspect. *laughs*

I wonder what Angie is thinking during the car ride home. Probably that Rose is lucky to have a good family. I'd love to know what goes on in Angie's head. Maybe you should write a one-shot about it sometime. *hint hint, nudge nudge*

The way Angie is acting on the train before the Easter holidays reminds me a lot of scene with Albus and David in the second book. I can't help but see parallels between Rose and Angie and Albus and David.

Yes, Arithmancy and Ancient Runes sounds difficult, but extremely interesting. You just have to decide if you want to go the "interesting but hard" route or the "boring but easy" route.

Near the end of the chapter, when Rose is speaking she says "course" with a space between the "c" and the "o".

Great chapter! Love the stuff with Angie. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, basically to act cool and it's possible they might sort of have convinced themselves half a glass of alcohol would totally get you drunk. They're fairly young, after all, and probably haven't drunk alcohol before.

I like hearing what houses people think characters will end up in. Lily in Gryffindor, eh? Well, all will be revealed soon enough. I've no idea how many chapters are left in this story, but there can't be THAT many more. And then Lily starts Hogwarts in the next one.

And no, Fionnuala's sort of off in her own little world. She gets on well enough with most of her classmates, but she hasn't any really close friends. I don't think she cares all that much though.

You'll find out a little more about what Angie is thinking in the next chapter. You've it pretty accurately figured out though. Poor Angie.

I was considering writing a one-shot about Angie and Blackburn's interaction after Angie faced the Boggart. I still might, sometime.

Oooh, I'm now intrigued as to what is going to happen between Albus and David. It sounds like there might be a mystery about David, like there was about Angie.

And there are a few coincidental similarities between our two stories. I guess it's not THAT surprising, as we are both writing next generation mysteries, but it's still amusing sometimes.

Thanks for pointing out the typo. I've fixed that now.

Of course Rose is going to go the difficult but extremely interesting route. The others might be more questionable.

Thanks again for the reviews. They're really appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Ravenclaw versus Hufflepuff.

30th November 2014:
Yes! Albus caught the snitch! Of course, I'm not pleased about
Hufflepuff losing, but I'm pleased about Albus winning, if that
makes sense. I find it amusing that after he wins, he is still
worrying. Lighten up Albus! There's room for character
development, I must say. By the seventh book, I expect Rose to be
more considerate towards people with different opinions and not as
bossy, and Albus to be more confident and less of a worrier. *Looks
sternly over a pair of glasses*

Angie sounded slightly irritated! *gasp* But... but... but Angie is a
little angel! I love Angie. I suppose I can forgive her.

Well, I remember at school I never remembered when the football
games were... and then when people asked me if I was going, I'd be
like "Oh, is that today?". I totally sympathize with Fionnuala. (Her
name is really hard to spell.)

Well, I hope half of Ravenclaw doesn't have a hangover. I'm
surprised the prefects didn't turn them in. Isn't there at least one
stickler for rules?

Author's Response: I suppose I should have guessed you'd be sorry to see Hufflepuff beaten, but yeah, Albus needs a win, even if he still remains nervous afterwards.

Yes, Albus really needs to gain some confidence and Rose needs to realise she's not always right. I actually considered having Rose abducted in a later story so Albus would have to stand on his own two feet and solve things himself, but I don't think it is going to happen.

And hey, even Angie can get irritated sometimes. Nobody's perfect.

Hmm, the whole drinking thing might be a cultural difference. I get the impression underage drinking is taken WAY more seriously in America than here in Ireland. Even most of the really well-behaviour, straight A typed, kids who would have worried about being late to class or only doing one hour's study after their homework when they'd planned on doing two, in my year, were drinking by the age of 15 or 16. Generally, if people didn't drink at 16, it was because they'd made a decision not to for whatever reason, and didn't drink as adults either. Not that people'd have drunk at school, but Hogwarts students don't have much time away from school.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Weaving a Web.

30th November 2014:
When Rose was talking with Nick, at one point she said "Nicholas", and later she said "Nicolas". You should probably fix that.

I find it amusing that your version of Albus is so nervous and shy. Rose just bosses him around.

Is Blackburn always going to be nervous and jumpy? She's been like that the entire year. After the A.W.L. business settles down, will she go back to her normal self? Or is this permanent?

I LOVE Nick's beautiful little speech about change. It's marvelous. It makes a beautiful quote, too. Awesome job with that!

When Professor Fairfax is talking to them, they say, "Yes Sir", with the "sir" capitalized. Is that on purpose?

Dora is just annoying, disturbing Blackburn just for the sake of it. I think she's a bit lonely, left out, and so the only joy she really has is making Blackburn afraid. I almost feel sorry for Dora. (I said almost.)

Rose has a point- it would be nice if the person was caught. But it's good they aren't tampering with the potion either.

Smart of Nick to recruit Peeves. :)

Awesome chapter! I think the discussion about change was one of the best parts. Loved it!

Author's Response: Oh, it would be so good if I could spell. *laughs* OK, I've fixed that; thanks for pointing it out.

Your question about Blackburn is a hard one to answer without giving stuff away, as obviously what else happens with regard to her job and the A.W.L. and the revelations about the potion will all affect her recovery too. I wouldn't say it's necessarily PERMANENT, but she isn't likely to recover overnight either. She's had some bad shocks, as well as being under a lot of stress, and no matter what happens, it's likely to take her some time to fully come to terms with everything. And it's likely there will always be SOME effects. But it's also likely that when - if - things are sorted out, she's likely to begin feeling better.

Glad you liked Nick's speech. That was NOT planned, but after all, he's seen a lot of changes and how they worked or didn't work, so I reckoned he'd have some insight.

Dora's treatment of Blackburn is nothing short of cruel. Admittedly, she's only 13 and probably doesn't quite realise how traumatised Blackburn is or just how bad things like that might make her feel, but nonetheless, she is just tormenting her for her own amusement.

And yes, I think you have something about Dora feeling left out and resentful about what has happened to her family and her own unpopularity and that that is contributing to her behaviour. People don't behave like that if they're happy themselves. And she clearly has some issues.

Glad you liked the chapter. Things are quietening down for a few chapters here, but the revelations shouldn't be too far away and things will definitely get dramatic then.

Thank you so much for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Protective Potions.

3rd October 2014:
Rose, really? James may be a pranker, but he wouldn't POISON anyone. That's just not him.

I don't blame Albus for being disgruntled after Scorpius found the snitch every single time before he did. Face it, Albus- Scorpius is undefeatable.

Rose, don't get too angry at Scorpius. Not everyone is constantly suspicious of everyone *cough*UnlikeRose*cough*

Well, the answer to my millions of questions last chapter was a bit anti-climatic. I think he should have let us ponder a few more chapters.

Rose, please don't yell at Abric. He just got a huge lecture by McGonagall! The last thing he needs is another lecture.

Even though Abric was incredibly stupid, I feel a little sorry for him. He'll be doomed for potions class for the remaining five years, since Fairfax will hate his guts.

Rose, there could be a simple reason Dora didn't take the potion from Abric. She probably has seen Abric brew in potions class, so she decided it was probably rubbish. I think everyone who got sick weren't in Abric's potion class.

Thank you, Lucy, for pounding sense into Rose's head about Felicity.

I yell at Rose a lot don't I? I think it's because she's like my opposite. I'm pretty good at feeling sympathetic for others and putting myself in other people's shoes, and recognizing why people do certain things. I'm friends with people who have drastically different political ideologies and other views from myself, because I don't care. Rose, on the other hand, can be extremely narrow-minded and doesn't understand that not everybody has to share her opinion. I hope SOMETHING happens so she opens her mind a little.

For example, I can see things from Dora's view very well. She must be at least slightly embarrassed to be related to Death Eaters, otherwise she wouldn't have changed her name to Nottingham. (I just realized- Her last name is Nottingham. Like the Sheriff of Nottingham in Robin Hood. Is that intentional? I'll keep my eye out for someone with the last name of Sherwood.) When Dora came to Hogwarts she was in the same house as Albus Potter, the son of the famous of Harry Potter. Her jealousy grew, and she wanted to taint his name so people wouldn't see him as perfect. So she wrote that stuff on the walls, framed Albus, and sent him Swelling Solution for her own enjoyment. She wanted him to suffer, since he seemed so perfect. I'm not saying at all this is the right course of action (Scorpius didn't do that, and his family were Death Eaters), just I understand why Dora what she did. And since she was raised by a family who were very anti-werewolf, that explains her hatred of Blackburn. It's EXTREMELY difficult to break out of the mold of your family views, especially at a young age. How on Earth did Sirius Black do it?

Good chapter, by the way. Can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Yeah, it was a bit anti-climatic. Hope you weren't disappointed.

Yeah, there's a reason so few 2nd years were affected. That's why I mentioned in the previous chapter that most of those ill were first or third years. I think first years would be the most likely to fear Blackburn anyway, as the others would have known her as a teacher and a person before knowing her as a werewolf, but I also thought most second years would be underrepresented as they'd know what he was like. And one of those who was effected is a Hufflepuff and therefore not in his Potions class. So Danica is the only one who'd have known what his brewing was like.

I'm actually getting kind of fond of Lucy. She's smart and responsible and even a little bossy like Rose, but she doesn't have Rose's tendency to overreact and jump to conclusions.

Though I hadn't intended it, I think Rose has some similarities with me as a young teen. She isn't LIKE me. I'd never have spoken to a teacher like she does to Blackburn. In fact, I'd have been embarrassed just to know a teacher wasn't feeling well - you know, like I knew something inappropriately personal about them. But I did have a temper. I guess I still do, though I've learnt to keep it under control. And I had pretty strong political opinions. I've since come to see the opposite sides of just about everything though. Anything believed by large numbers of people has to have SOME logic behind it, since you might get a small number of people to believe something utterly ridiculous but not when it's more than say 20% of people.

She's still a young teen and I think it is fairly normal for smart, politically aware kids to come down very strongly on one side or the other of an issue at her age. It takes experience and learning more about things to see that very few issues are clear cut. I think the more you learn, the less certain you get in a lot of ways. At thirteen, it's easy to be certain, because you've only been exposed to a limited number of issues, but as you grow older, you begin to see things aren't that clear.

I've tried to show that with Hermione, when she asks Blackburn at the beginning of this, if she wants them to begin the campaign they are planning, knowing the A.W.L. will target her in response. Which is a bit change from how, at fifteen, she was trying to free the house elves against their will, not stopping to think about how they'd provide for themselves if they lost their jobs or whether or not they really wanted freedom.

No, I didn't actually mean the whole "Sheriff of Nottingham" thing, although it does kind of work in a way, doesn't it? Since she is sort of supporting a corrupt organisation or at least a prejudiced one, just as the Sheriff of Nottingham was.

I think you sum up Dora very well. She grew up seeing Harry and his friends as the ones that caused all her family's problems and she feels it's unfair she should suffer for what her grandfather did. She was raised with a lot of resentment, in a family that felt they were denied their rightful place in society due to actions that were beyond their control. After all, Theodore Nott couldn't help what his father did. It doesn't EXCUSE her behvaviour, but it does help EXPLAIN it.

My feeling is that Sirius's parents were pretty harsh on their children, maybe not actually cruel, but certainly from what we've seen of his mother, she doesn't seem like a loving parent, so he may not have been as close to them as say Draco seems to have been to his parents or Dora is to hers and if they were angry about him being sorted into Gryffindor, he might have thought, "well, not going to please them anyway, so might as well really annoy them by befriending people they'd hate." Judging by his bedroom, it seems like he enjoyed annoying them. And then hanging around with people with views they hated, he'd learn more of the other side. I do know some people who made it a matter of principal to do exactly what their parents would hate.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pheonix PotioneerThe Rise of the A.W.L.: Sudden Sickness.

3rd October 2014:
What? You have ANOTHER chapter? I haven't even reviewed this one yet!

Madam Pomfrey can be intimidating sometimes. But she does care about everyone, which is good. If you were a healer and personally didn't care whether your patient would live or die, that would be bad.

When you wrote, ""We wanted to," Nathan mumbled" I got sightly confused. I usually associate the word "mumbled" if someone's tired, or they don't want to say what they're going to say. Which kind of contradicts Nathan's statement. What do you want Nathan to say?

Fairfax is downright horrifying! I knew he was strict, but I didn't know he could contain that much anger! WOW!

I have no doubt that if he catches whoever stole ingredients, they will be sorry.

I wonder (Just like Rose!) what ingredients it were. Snape never had this violent of a reaction, even when polyjuice ingredients were stolen. And Snape is an unlikable person. So are the ingredients the student stole REALLY rare, deadly, dangerous, or something like that? It must be important ingredients, not something basic.

Albus has a point. Odd things ALWAYS happen at Hogwarts. Maybe because there's a certain author and thousands of fanfiction writers who need something interesting to write about...

Fairfax in something dodgy? Nope. I don't believe it. He would of covered it up. Unless he's trying to make a distraction... or maybe someone else is trying to make a distraction, and that's why they stole the ingredients, to cover something else up... *Mind goes haywire*

How does he lock up his storage? Can a simple "Alohomora" open the door? Or is it more complicated and incredibly difficult, and that's why Fairfax is mad?

"Elders and betters"? That's stupid. Kate's giving all the fifth years a bad reputation.

Though, Rose shouldn't have yelled at Kate like that. She should pick her battles. People angry at werewolves and want to fire Blackburn... yes, important battle. Stupid comments Dora (who nobody listens to) and Kate say? Just stay out, Rose. They're not worth it.

Rose, don't ask Fairfax about the ingredients. PLEASE. When there's an angry person, just stay out of their way so they don't unleash their anger on you. Make it so they barely notice you exist.

Ooo, Felicity is intriguing. "He said it would protect me." What would? Who said? Did she maybe buy an amulet or something? I can picture Felicity's mother buying Felicity an amulet to protect her against anything that could harm her (like a werewolf). Or it could be something else. *Mind explodes*

Who are Leona Fudge and Danica Ravensdale? Are they Ravenclaws? Most likely someone purposely poisoned them, so what relation do they all have? If it's Dora, why would she poison Felicity instead of Rose? Did Dora (or someone else) find out some secret Felicity knows or something? Or were the wrong people accidently targeted? Who else has ingested the posion? Has Blackburn? For this poison, did the person use the ingredients from Fairfax's storage?

Hmm, lots of questions. The good news is, I can read right on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, I got the next chapter up pretty quickly, partly because it's a fairly short one and partly, I think, because it follows on so directly from this one that I didn't have to start thinking where to go next. I was originally going to make all the stuff about the illness one chapter, but then decided that wouldn't leave much suspense, would it?

To mumble is to say something unclearly. Maybe it has a slightly different meaning in the U.S. than in Ireland? And Nathan is just kind of embarrassed about getting into a kind of personal conversation with a teacher. I'll see if I can make that clearer though.

Yeah, Fairfax is angry, but he's not promising to personally ensure the person is expelled like Snape did. Maybe the ingredients are dangerous, maybe he's worried because this is the second time somebody has accessed something he should have kept under lock and key and he's worried he'll be blamed, maybe he's just overprotective of his potions ingredients or maybe there is something more to it. I'm not giving anything away.

And yeah, Kate is a bit dismissive and uptight, isn't she? But yeah, Rose is overreacting too. It seems fairly normal at Hogwarts for the older students to dismiss the younger ones and if she's going to start a fight every time they do so, she'll be doing it quite a lot.

And yep, you came fairly close with the idea of Felicity buying an amulet. *grins*

Leona Fudge and Danica Ravensdale are two minor second year characters. They've been mentioned occasionally in the sorting or in class but they are easy to overlook. Leona is a Hufflepuff and Danica is a Slytherin.

*laughs at you asking if Blackburn has ingested the poison* I guess she is the obvious target for anything dodgy going on this year.

And I LOVE all your questions. It's always nice to know you've got people thinking and wondering.

Thank you SO much for your review.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Pheonix PotioneerThe British Question.: 19th June 1996

12th September 2014:
In this section here, "We are discussing how to protect our own citizens, which is very much a part of our own agenda.Surely no one is suggesting that we should completely ignore the situation" there's no space between the period and "surely". You should probably fix that.

The argument about Quidditch is awesome. Brady seems very interesting. How on Earth did he get on the Draoithe? I find the argument about Quidditch a tiny bit funny, actually.

I love how Burke questions if Voldemort can even be called a man. It sort of plays off the whole horcrux thing, even though Burke can't possibly know about the horcruxes. I think Dumbledore may have mentioned one time in the series that Voldemort was far from being an ordinary man, but I'm not completely sure.

I like how they say, "Ye-Know-Who" instead of "You-Know-Who". I like all the little Irish mannerisms and things.

Wow, it seems very difficult to keep everyone on task! O Loinsigh (I tried to make the mark on the o, but the review box only sticks with basic stuff) definitely argues a lot.

Well, I wonder what their plans will be for an invasion? Dun dun dun dun.

Are you also doing a chapter after Dumbledore dies? I'm sure they'll be much more worried about Irish students at Hogwarts then.

Author's Response: The space has been inserted; thanks for pointing that out.

As a matter of fact, how Brody got into the Draoithe is actually something we have discussed! The Draoithe are appointed by various means, including several selected by the Draiochtaire on election. Brody was picked because it was a choice between him and some vocal people with controversial views (regarding things like blood purity), and while Brody may be annoying at least he's pretty harmless. And he does make pretty good comic relief.

Burke will insult anything that moves, and a lot of stuff that doesn't. He enjoys picking fights. He wants to set the Draoithe against Voldemort, and is very anti-Voldemort himself, so he definitely sees all the atrocities Voldemort is committing. His insult happens to be more realistic even than he realises here.

The fadas tend not to work in reviews. I've noticed that when I'™ve been mentioning stuff like the Dail.

Definitely hard to keep everybody on track. Poor Claire; she has a tough job.

The plan is for this story to go right through the Voldie war, including the immediate aftermath. So yes, there should be a chapter after Dumbledore's death (this story's going to be way longer than originally planned, but oh well).

Thanks very much for reviewing!

~ Leonore and MargaretLane

P.S. Apologies for the poor code in the previous response.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>