Reading Reviews From Member: Gaius Scipio
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gaius ScipioEvent Three- This Crup Eats Like Ronald: Alright there, Percy?

19th August 2014:
Hi Randomwriter,

May I just say that this was wonderfully funny. Fred and George stories I think are so difficult to get right but as always you did great. This and "Double Trouble" by farmgirl and lightleviosa5443 are perhaps the best I've read so far.

As always keep them coming, I'll need something to look forward to as I slowly finish working my way through all the stuff you've posted.

Gaius

PS Ah almost forgot I finally have a story posted. Yippe for me. It's called "The Morning After" and centers on a mutual friend of ours (wink wink). Would you be so kind as to give it a read and let me know what you think? Be honest now, don't spare my feelings.

Author's Response: Hello Gaius! It's great to see you keep coming back :)

I'm glad you found it funny. It's so hard to get the twins right, and I was hoping that I did well. I will have to check those stories!

I'm looking to post something new soon :) So I guess I will 'keep them coming'! Thank you so much for the support you've been giving me. It's very sweet of you :)

Woohoo! Go Gaius! I'm a little busy at the moment, but I;ll be sure to check your story out the second I get a chance. Our mutual fried (;)) is all the motivation I need!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gaius ScipioDouble Trouble: A Twin Affair

14th August 2014:
Hi LightLeviosa5443,

Having read some of farmgirls work before I read her chapter of this story first. It was such a delight that I had to come and read this one as well and it does not disappoint.

The contrasting styles so similar and at the same time so different is a great way of showing the relationship between the Weasleys and their brides.

Great job all round.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gaius ScipioDouble Trouble: All's Fair in Love and War

14th August 2014:
Farmgirl this was simply amazing. You captured the personalities of Fred and George to a T. What a story funny, witty and thoroughly endearing. I believe that if JK wrote about Fred and George's wedding, that it would probably look a lot like this.

Truly a great read even if I have not yet seen the first chapter, a bit like putting the cart before the horse I know but hey for what its worth this was a great 2nd chapter.

Gaius

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gaius ScipioEvent Three- Aperture: Focus and Exposure

13th August 2014:
So Random Writer I have a beef to pick with you. Have you been going through my computer? I cannot believe you did a story on Dennis. OMG, I wrote almost eight chapters of a murder mystery with Dennis in the starring role. It's not finished so I won't put it on here yet, but I've been working on it since 2012. And now here you come with a story about Dennis and what happens after the war. How could you do this to me ;-)

Ok, so aside from beating me to the punch let me say this was a really great story. My only complaint is - I didn't write it.

I truly felt everything Dennis was going through his pain, anxiety and sadness. if anything my only other complaint would be that the emotions were too real.

Again I must compliment you on your truly fantastic writing. 10/10 as always.

Yours

Gaius

Author's Response: Hello again Gaius! It's great to have you back :)

Hahaha :p What a funny coincidence! Don't be shy. Put your story up. I would love to give it a read :) There aren't too many Dennis stories, are there? Lets fix that!

I'm glad you liked it, and I'm touched that, that is your only complaint! I'm also pretty happy that you found this realistic. That's always a relief. Phew!

Thank you so much! To a writer, those are some encouraging words!

Thank you so much for paying my page another visit and leaving me another sweet review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gaius ScipioSunshine: Hero

11th August 2014:
Hi Random Writer,

Now I know I wrote a rather lengthy review for this story but somehow it seems my computer ate it. Still as the old saying goes if at first you don't succeed get mad, scream and hit the computer.

I really liked this story and not just because it was well written (which it was), but also because it featured one of the non big three characters, namely Neville. I really do enjoy reading about some of the secondary characters and feel there just aren't enough stories about them out there.

Author's Response: Hello again :)

It was indeed a nice surprise to log in and find another sweet review from you! And I know how frustrating it is when the computer swallows a particularly long passage of text, so thank you for trying again!

Thank you so much for your words of praise :) I love Neville, and I decided to try writing about him even though I was nervous about getting it right. And as for secondary characters, I simply love both reading and writing about them! :)

Thanks again for stopping by, and for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gaius ScipioMakes Me Wonder: The Only Chapter

11th August 2014:
Hi Randomwriter,

So despite being a guy I do go enjoy fluff every now and again and this one was very enjoyable, well worth the read. It was a little risque, but I thought you pulled it off rather well. I am looking forward to reading more.

Gaius

Author's Response: Hello there :) I'm glad you enjoyed it. This review really put a big smile on my face. I admit that I don't write too much fluff anymore, but I am venturing out into the genre again. Just a little. I know this is a little risque, and hearing that I managed to pull it off is such a relief!

I hope that you will visit again sometime. This review was a treat to sign into! Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gaius ScipioWhere The Dust Blows: Crossing Lines

25th September 2013:
Hi Nadia,

I thought chapter 1 was good, but this makes me realize that you were just warming up, this was simply fantastic. Your detailed descriptions practically put me in Neville's backyard as well as the nearby town.

I also like the interplay between Edward and Neville, but I wonder if perhaps Edward didn't lower his guard a bit too soon. I mean if he thinks Neville is the personification of evil I would think he might have made at least one or two more attempts to hit Neville with a spell. But perhaps I should chalk it up to youth or maybe its strategy on his part.

All in all this was an incredibly good chapter. If you can keep this level of intensity for the rest of the story then I think you've got an award winner here.

Gaius 

Author's Response: Hello again Gaius!

I'm so happy you decided to come back, I was a bit unsure of this story and where it's going to go, but I love your feedback. Your reviews always make me so happy!

There's a reason... Edward let his guard down. But you'll find all that out later :P

Wow, such kind words! Thanks so much, you are absolutely fabulous!

Have a great day!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gaius ScipioWhere The Dust Blows: The Knock On The Door

19th September 2013:
Hi Nadia,

So I must say I wasn't sure what to expect with this story but, wow what a curve-ball. The thought of Neville being on the outside of everything like that was so sad, but at the same time refreshing. I have a hunch as to what may have happened but I'll hold my peace and see how the story progresses.

As always great stuff

Gaius

Author's Response: Hi :)

This was written for a challenge and I had to make Neville turn to the bad side :) I tried to come up with a plot and this is what I came up with, so I'm so glad you liked it! We'll see if your guess is right or not..

Thank you again! Also - your other review was deleted because it went against the rules of this site - try not to include personal info :) But thank you for this review and all the other ones, I appreciate them so much.

Nadia~


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gaius ScipioFor Them: For Them

17th September 2013:
Hi Nadia

This is Gaius, here for the review swap. Well ok so I read that at the beginning of one of the reviews in another of your stories and thought I'd start the same way.

I really enjoyed the story, I can see where Gred and Forge's personalities come from. My only suggestion is one you already mentioned, the smoothness of the combat scenes. Still all in all it wasn't bad and I haven't written any combat yet either so I shouldn't talk.

Well done

Gaius

PS By the way I'm a guy. You sorta asked about that after my Unicorn review

Author's Response: Hi :)

I'd love to do a review swap with you :) Review swaps is actually something that takes place over at the forums, where you can give a review for a review so, usually they don't work like this, but I'd be glad to this! If you'd like to do these with other people or in the proper way, join hpfanfictionforums(dot)com. It's the more appropriate way to do them :)

Thank you! I really used the twins as guidelines for the Prewetts, and worked to give them strong personalities. I'm super happy you liked it!

Yeah... the big dueling scene. Something I need to go back and edit... maybe this weekend if I'm not drowning in real life, haha.

Thank you Gaius :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gaius ScipioGravel on the Ground: As the Days Go By: Rock-a-Bye Baby

17th September 2013:
So saw you're review on missesweasleys story "Her Only Choice", liked what you wrote so decided to see if you had posted anything and voilà here I am.

I really enjoyed this very sweet, funny with some absolutely adorable moments. Looking forward to reading more.

Gaius

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's always nice when someone seeks out your stuff on their own!

Thank you for the great compliment and I hope you do keep reading.

Also, there is a companion story to this I'm currently posting as well, called From the Ashes, if you are ever interested.

Again, thanks so much for the surprise review.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gaius ScipioHer Only Choice: Her Only Choice

17th September 2013:
I know I already did a review, but I wanted to add that suicide is in the end a very selfish thing to do.

A quick escape it sounds so easy, a moment of pain and your gone. When you're at that point in your head you rarely stop to think about those your going to leave behind, which is why I say its so selfish. But there is always a way back, I know cause I have been there.

So again great story and if it gets people thinking and talking then that's all for the better.

Gaius

Author's Response: Hi again, I'm sorry I haven't gotten around to responding to your other review... I'm still trying to think of something proper to say :/

I 100% agree, it is a selfish thing to do - leaving your family behind and in despair. But some people don't understand that it is okay to talk to someone, and I tried conveying that message.

I'm glad you're doing alright, and I hope that your bad time is over, and pray that the rest of you life is a good one.

Thanks so much for another review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gaius ScipioHow Fried Chicken Killed Scorpius Malfoy: The One Where Malfoy Dies At The Hands of Fried Chicken.

16th September 2013:
Hmm it seems he actually died of Unicorn induced, cookie deprived shock. Quite a common occurrence in Dream Valley, I'm told. Pesky Unicorns the Ministry really should do something about that.

Author's Response: Well that sir (or ma'm) is an excellent theory. Consider the Ministry informed, they are preparing to take action against the pesky Unicorns as we speak.

Okay, jokes aside, I have no clue what this review means or whether you liked it or not, but this made my day regardless. Thanks for giving me a laugh, and I hope I managed to give you one too!

Nadia :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gaius ScipioEpitaph of a Good Man: Clumsy Meeting

16th September 2013:
An interesting start. I like how you've incorporated elements from the books and expanded on them filing in the gaps. You really have talent.

Author's Response: Aww, you're really sweet. thank you. I got the inspiration for this fic when HBP came out (I started writing this in 2007). I had to fit their relationship into canon - that's also when I fell in love with Remus and Tonks as characters. Hope you're able to read through their story. I'm still working on Remus' POV of their relationship.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gaius ScipioA Boy Bitten: Truth or Lies

16th September 2013:
Another excellent story. I really enjoy your writing style and am going to add you to my favorites. I had a feeling you were a mum from how much feeling there was between Remus and his Mother. It's like Stephen King says, write what you know and you'll have a great story. You have here a great story.

Author's Response: I am very flattered by your review. ^_^ Thank you very much for adding me to your favorites. I'm actually not a mum but I want be. The relationship is based on my idealized motherhood experience.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Gaius ScipioWords that linger: The Usual Fight

16th September 2013:
It seems you are as much a fan of Remus as I am of Dennis Creevey. This was a good story, really, really good. My only regret - that it wasn't longer. Looking forward to reading more of your stuff.

Author's Response: Dennis Creevey is the cutest character - I haven't read many fics about him though. I'm so glad you liked this. I definitely explore more of Sirius and Remus' relationship in my other fics. I've thought about plumping this out but it seemed like I'd be stealing from my other ideas.

Thank you again for a wonderful review. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: XV. The Next Adventure

13th September 2013:
A great ending to a great story. A pity about the wand though, but then again I felt the same way about the Philosophers stone. And now on to the next great adventure, what mysteries lie waiting for us in the Peverell Society I wonder

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews! They really mean a lot! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: XIV. The Great Plan

13th September 2013:
Well I must confess I didn't see that one coming. I really enjoyed the chapter but I think Hermione and Rose made up too soon. And Ron, I was kinda hoping he would have put up a better fight. Still the surprise more than made up for everything else

Author's Response: At the end of the day, blood is thicker than water, and I believe that family can forgive anything and not hold grudges.

As for Ron, in my vision of things, after over 30 years of knowing Harry and working with him, I believe he'd trust Harry with his life. So, there was no point in putting up a fight and getting them both killed. :)

I'm happy you liked the chapter! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: XIII. The Mission

12th September 2013:
I have been meaning to write this review for ages and finally got around to doing it. May I say another great chapter, I wondered when we might see Draco and he finally appeared. I thought however, that he was going to throw a tantrum like Ron might, but he seems to have mellowed out since Hogwarts. Some very funny moments also "Don't mention it - ever." LOL.

Author's Response: I wanted Draco to be in this, to sort of show the way in which he's grown over the years and changed. He will be featured more in the sequel :) Than you again for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: XII. Sober Truths

8th June 2013:
I was listening to DIDO's "White Flag" while reading this and I must say the two compliment each other rather well.

So there I was reading and out of the blue Scorpious says

Love, if I make it out alive today, we'll talk until you use up all your words

Classic, absolutely classic. I was ROFL with that one. I have to say I am going to be very sad when this story is finished

Author's Response: I love that song! I actually listened to "Hallelujah" by Leonard Cohen when writing the two chapters with them but "White Flag" goes just as well!

I am so happy that you liked it! And don't be sad! I already have a sequel in the works! Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: XI. Drunken Minds

6th June 2013:
This was sweet. I like how you handle the romance, just enough to tantalize without being overly dramatic. It was good, really good and I think they were both in character. People under extraordinary pressure well its much easier for them to become emotionally attached. The challenge may very well come when things settle down. So yes I think they're both acting like young people would when placed in similar circumstances.

I must say I wish I had come back to read your story sooner. Reading it was the push I needed to get back on the story bandwagon.

In fact just finished a chapter that I think you might like, especially since Prof McGonagall is pretty much the lead in it.

Author's Response: I'm so happy I contributed in a small way to getting you to write again!

The romance in this was something I was very excited about and I'm happy you liked it as well!

I can't wait to read your next chapter! So exciting!

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: X. Revelations

5th June 2013:
As always great stuff. I still prefer the wand lore and family history chapters, but this is still a solid 10/10.

Author's Response: It's always fun getting into the lore and the history of the wizarding world. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: IX. The Three Brothers

5th June 2013:
If this was one of your favorite to write, it was one of my favorite to read. This was really incredible. Well thought out, well scripted. Breathtaking really. As for the reviews and reads, don't be surprised, they were all well deserved.

Author's Response: Yay you're back! Thank you so much for following the story and leaving a comment!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: VIII. Rose's Tale

9th February 2013:
All the chapters so far have been nothing short of excellent. But there is something to this chapter that just gives it that Wow factor. I suppose its due largely to Rose's passion and fire. I loved the expansion on the deathly hallows as well. All in all I'd say this was my favorite chapter.

But I must add although you said there was no cliff hanger ending this time, somehow you couldn't resist leaving us with one in the form of an excerpt from Chap 9, you naughty girl you.

By the by I tried msging you on your authors page for help with my latest chapter but I couldn't find how to leave messages. Maybe I'm just too thick to figure it out, but could you walk me through it? I'd really like the help as I'm simply hopeless editing myself.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it. The story keeps getting more and more complex and some days I swear it has a mind of its own! DH was such a complex book and I hope to it justice with my interpretation of the cannon facts.

As for contacting me. On my author page, right underneath the links that show my numr of stories, reviews and fav author, you will find a sentence that says "click here to contact MissMdsty and learn more about their writting". That sentence contains a link to my Meet the author thread in the HPFF forums. You can set up an account (it's quick and easy!) Or just log in as a guest. Then you click on my author name and you'll find a page where you can send me a private message. :D it's a great community there and it's a lovely way of really getting in touch and brainstorming and just discussing the books and our love for Harry Potter! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: VII. The Wandlore Student

2nd February 2013:
You sly girl you. All the way up to Chap 11 eh? And here I was wondering when the next chapter might be due out, only to find it'll be sooner than I thought. Well that's good news for the fans anyway.

Well on to the review. Great Chap and I loved all the wand lore you threw in. It sounded well thought out and logical. One slightly off track question is the National Wand Registry an aleggory for the debate on Gun Control in the US. Sorry didn't meant to get political but it sounds like a great idea. Wands can be dangerous and so could guns. So we need to keep a record of who has them in case they ever fall into the wrong hands. Or am I just reading too much into it?

Well back to the review. Now I am always a bit weary of folks going further into certain areas of the HP Universe that JK didn't expand on. Not that I don't think it should be explored, just that some don't quite do it so well. But you handle it beautifully and I am anxious to learn more about how they went about copying the wands.

But question why does Scorpius think that their is a whole network out there doing this, unless I missed something.

Coming back to expanding on the HP Universe lore etc, I plan to do something similar in the story I am working on and am wondering if I'll be able to do it similar justice. So if I may, as soon as I get back to writing I'll send you the chapter to proof read .if you don't mind that is ;-)

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm really happy you liked this chapter!

As for your question on the gun policy in the US, I'm not from there, so, although I did follow the topic, I couldn't say that's what I had in mind at the time. You'll learn soon enough what I did have in mind.

I wouldn't say I'm expanding into it, not just yet of course, but all of this information is very carefully researched and it's not something I write just off the top of my head! As for Scorpius, well, you saw how much is needed to copy a wand. It can't be more than one person, and he is a smart Auror, he knows it!

I'd love to help you, but the archive doesn't allow you to contact another member, so what you should do is go to my Author Page (just click on my pen name) and there you'll find a link that says "Meet the author". Click on that and it'll take you to the forums, where you can contact me! I'd be more than happy to help with your story! :)

Ral


 Report Review

Review #25, by Gaius ScipioThe Mysterious Case of the Twin Wands: VI. Grimmauld Place, The Ministry and back again

26th January 2013:
Hi Missy, I've been away too long again but at least I knew I'd have something to look forward to when I finally got back to HPFF. This was a great chapter, I love the interplay between poor Scorpius and Rose. Very curious to know though what is cheesing off Rose, maybe more so than even who is behind the wands. But I guess we'll find out soon enough.

Author's Response: So good to see you're still following this. We've got a long way to go before we know who's behind this, but bare with me. It will (I hope), be worth it in the end!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>