Reading Reviews From Member: newgenerationlover
  
283 Reviews Found

Review #1, by newgenerationloverInfamous: I've Got Mail

28th July 2014:
NO NO NO NO NO! I DO NOT ALLOW THIS! (Warning: this review may be all in capslock, depending on how soon my feels dissipate.) I DID NOT SAY I WANTED MORE ALBUS ACTION. IT NEEDS TO BE THE OTHER WAY AROUND! HAZEL AND JAMES BELONG TOGETHER AS DOES ALBUS AND GEMMA. EACH OF THEM ARE PERFECT FOR EACH OTHER BUT YOU EVIL AUTHOR JUST CAME IN A SCREWED EVERYTHING UP! *cries* I BLAME YOU FOR THIS!! Ok, I think I got that all out. Oops, sorry. I guess that means this is a really good story if it made me shout at an author for a while... Anyway! More James and Hazel and less Hazel and Albus please ;) Can't wait for the next update!!
xoxo
Mary

 Report Review

Review #2, by newgenerationloverLethargic: But It Shouldn't Matter

28th July 2014:
Ep! Ok, so I just wanted to start off saying how much I love this story!! So it looks like I read the first chapter when it was first published and for some reason, I haven't noticed it getting updated but I am so happy that I got to binge read because I honestly didn't want it to end. This story is really unique and all of your characters are very well rounded and dynamic. You are an amazing writer!! Ok, now to the questions in your AN! I love the jokes! They make the story all the better read. Add more in! Love love love love Carrie! She is so different from anything I have really read. She has a great mixture of good and bad qualities to make her very believable and likable. I love her laziness and I love her mask that she puts on to ignore/hide all her problems. I love her relationship with Brett because it makes everything all the more complicated and really adds to her character as a whole. Ugh! That's a tough one but I think I have to go with Bret. Although I am liking James too because, though he does have his cliches like his hotness and his quiditch skills, he is also studious and a perfect (which he isn't often). He seems to be trying hard to keep all this going for him unlike the usual effortlessness that his character seems to have which is probably my favorite part about him. However, he is slightly annoying at the moment (which is good! we see him as Carrie sees him not as this amazing mary sue character that the MC just has some beef with). Bret is so complicated in his own way and I think it was this chapter that made the difference in the question for me to pick him. Him standing up for her and their conversation without the sex in the secret room just shows us his character has a lot more depth than we thought he had. I just have to say Carrie is my favorite character just because she is so amazing. I want more Brett!! That is all ;P Please please please with a cherry on top update fast! This may be my new favorite story on here and I just want to keep reading *cries* Love this so much!!
xoxo
Mary

 Report Review

Review #3, by newgenerationloverThe Three-Day Tryst: A Story of Academics and Quidditch Stars: two

24th July 2014:
Oh. My. God. They are freaking sleeping together!! Ah!!! So shipping them! I love this story so much! Sure, I've read a lot of hate/love relationship stories on this site, but this one isn't so cliched. Maybe it's just because you are such a good writer. :P Anyway, hope the next chapter comes out soon! So I know that this is prewritten, so I'm just wondering if you are uploading new chapters on a schedule (ex: every Sunday). Just wondering so I can be on a lookout certain days :P
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: Glad to hear that you are enjoying it! No schedule at the moment, I just submit the next submission every week or so.

 Report Review

Review #4, by newgenerationloverControl: "Actually no- kill Luke Charter. Make sure he dies a painful death before reaching the Hospital Wing. Okay maybe not death, but at least give him a few bruises. -Gwen Larson

24th July 2014:
Hey! Loving the story! Totally shipping James and Gwen!! :P I want to see more full conversations between them, not just them yelling at each other but being semi friendly but still very snarky and sarcastic and hilarious. Can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll definitely see a lot of James and Gwen coming up in the next chapter. Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by newgenerationloverInfamous: Aftermath

21st July 2014:
Ok, I'm sorry, but I really don't like Albus and Hazel together. She is so fun loving and sarcastic and a huge prankster, she goes so much better with James! I'm actually liking Albus and Gemma together. She seems so sweet and nice and I feel like she would fit perfectly with Albus' not-so-outgoingness... if you know what I mean. I feel like if anyone, she would be the one to bring him out of his semi-shell. James and Hazel just have all this fun together while (if I'm being totally honest here) Hazel and Albus just seem a little too forced. I think it would be easy to have Hazel and James fall for each other and Albus and Gemma the same. They can see that their childhood crushes are just that, childhood crushes and they can laugh about their convoluted love lives with their children. Doesn't that sound wonderful?? Please tell me you will think about it. I think the story would be so much more realistic if you did... there are far too many stories like this already on this site, but if you did this spin, I think you could make this story so unique and I think (with your writing skills) you could easily make more of your readers ship James and Hazel. Have I convinced you yet? ;) Can't wait to keep reading :P
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: Mary, I cannot tell you in words how much I appreciate this review. I keep going back and forth myself on how I want the story to end, so don't worry, I'm more than happy to take all of this under advisement. It makes me so happy that you've given it so much thought :) Thanks so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #6, by newgenerationloverExceptional Circumstances: Pixiedust Delirium I

18th July 2014:
Eee! Love the chapter!! Well James' teammates aren't very nice, are they? Like goodness me, they haven't even said one word to her but they still think that she is this stuck up person who is a drag when all she is doing is doing what she gets paid to do! Gosh, they need to open their eyes and see that there is much more to the world than partying and quidditch!! Sorry, they just make me so mad! Ok, so did the bartender drug her? Can't he get sued for doing something like that?? I'm pretty sure that's like the equivalent of being roofied which is a pretty serious criminal offense as it usually leads to bad things.. Ok, so the little snippet of next chapter has gotten me really intrigued. Is she kissing James?!?! Epp!! Maybe that will help all that sexual tension ;) Anyway, can't wait for the update :P
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: No, they aren't very nice. Their opinion of Addison is based entirely on what they've seen and what James' told them, which aren't all flattering things. At the same time, Addie herself hasn't tried to reach out to them. That being said, this is only the team's intro. Maybe you'll even like some of them as we go along :)

As for the bartender, that wasn't his initial intention. We'll find out more about exactly what Addie was given in the next chapter, and the effects thereof.

The secrets of the snippets shsll be revealed soon, and it shall be a surprising development, to say the least ;)

Thanks for the charming review,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #7, by newgenerationloverPrior Engagement: Daddy Issues

15th July 2014:
My only complaint is that the chapter isn't long enough. I WANT TO KEEP READING!!! *cries* So, great chapter as always ;) Ok, so I know that he was doing it to help her and that she got happy and everything. And now I can kinda see how it was a good thing what he did, but seriously, how did he not see that coming?! What child would truly like their parent to buy them a boyfriend?? Gosh, I just feel so sorry for Noah :'( But are we meeting her soon??? Pleaasseee say yes!! Can't wait for the next chapter :P
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: I'm sorry, I'll try make them longer in the future!
And thank you!
And I know mr lightwood is very silly, but he did what he thought he had to do, no matter how bad. And I've got a feeling Noah is ok now and you will find out soon!!! They've nearly found her, just writing her first scenes now so you have that to look forward to!!
I'll update soon promise, I'm just waiting for a chapter for the Quidditch cup to go through and then I'll upload the next chapter of this!
Anyway thank you reviewing again, it means a lot!! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by newgenerationloverThe Three-Day Tryst: A Story of Academics and Quidditch Stars: one

15th July 2014:
Ep! I cannot even express how much I love this story already!! Sure, it has its cliches, but first of all, who doesn't love a good cliche every once and a while and second, this story is actually very well written that those people who think they are above loving cliches would even like it. Ah, the love hate relationship. Gotta love it :P I really like all the dynamics you have already set up between her professor, her friend, and (of course and especially) James. I can't wait for the next chapter!! So happy right now that it is prewritten so updates can (hopefully) be super fast. I'll be looking out for the next chapter :D
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: Cliches are cliches for a reason, amirite? But thank you very much for your kind review! I'll try not to disappoint :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by newgenerationloverTale Of The Killing Curse [Revised]: Patience

14th July 2014:
Hey there! Great start! Its a really interesting concept to have the resurrection spell, I never even thought of there being a possibility of one, but I like it. So is Vienna a part of a Death Eater family? I'm guessing she is as that would make the most sense. She is already a very interesting character. She is strong but also caring at the same time to make her very well rounded. I'm guessing we will be seeing a lot of Soaban (is that pronounced: so-a-ban?). I like the little we have seen of her already and I'm interested into seeing her evolve as a character (that is, if she is going to be one). Great start and I'll look out for the second chapter! :P
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: oh goodness, thank you so much! As for Vienna's family and past, it's something you learn more about in later chapters as all the chapters from here on out will begin with a backstory. Soeban is pretty important too, but more as a side character to cause conflict and progress plot. Also her name is confusing, but it's pronounced like "Shevaun"!
Thank you for the compliments


 Report Review

Review #10, by newgenerationloverOf Pygmy Puffs and Lingerie: In the Hogsmede branch

14th July 2014:
hehehehe, goodness me, I love this story! You have captured the relationship that I believe George and Teddy would have and you pulled it off perfectly. It was so funnily awkward, I absolutely loved it. Harry should really stay away from giving 'the talk' shouldn't he? :P

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I love George, and I think he and Teddy would definitely be partners in crime! Hehe...judging by how awkward he is with relationships, I think Harry would make anything regarding the Talk pretty uncomfortable. Accidentally of course!! Thanks so much for taking the time to review!!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by newgenerationloverBroomsticks and Bassnotes: 1) Tiredness and Tryouts

14th July 2014:
Hi there! Great start! I already really like all your characters, especially Rose. Though she isn't the main character, something about her character just really makes me like her :P I think you have begun to set up good relationships already, although Delaney seems to be somewhat of a drag. I understand that she isn't happy about not being on the team and all that, but leaving in a huff because Albus left to go talk with Hugo? That's a little much. Also, make sure that Albus and James don't go into the Mary Sue category. They seem alright now, but don't make them too perfect. I'm mainly just saying this because of your descriptions of how amazingly hot they are. But other than that, I think they seem like pretty good characters already. I'm interested into seeing where this is going. Happy writing!
-Mary

Author's Response: Hi Mary, Thanks for the review! The next bit should be up... soon XD Don't worry, Both Albus and James are going to have their flaws I'll make sure of it haha.

 Report Review

Review #12, by newgenerationloverCollision: November 10th 2029

12th July 2014:
'Ello there! So just wanted to pop in and tell you how much I love this story! Your writing is really polished and I can tell the skill and work you put into each chapter. You really have a way with telling a story that keeps the reader enthralled the whole time. I love the beginning of the James/Freya (very pretty name, how did you come up with it? I've never heard it before so I'm just wondering if you know someone with that name or something :P) love story. You have pulled off a very believable love-at-first-sight encounter (though it isn't really love but a strong like at the moment :P) and I'm already shipping them :D Can't wait for the next chapter!
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey

Aw, thank you so much!! I'm glad you enjoyed. I don't actually know anyone called Freya, no, but I did read a fic once (on this site) where the MC was called Flora. I really loved that name and for a while I was considering naming my OC in this Flora but then I did a little digging around on baby name sites and came across Freya instead which I just adore even more :)

I ship them too. Is that bad? ;) Maybe because I know how it all pans out and I can just imagine all the fluffy moments that are going to happen! Eekkk

Thanks for the read + review! I really appreciate it

xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by newgenerationloverI am, I am, I am: I am, I am, I am

10th July 2014:
Wonderful story and so beautifully written. But first, what was Rose overcoming? It didn't say (and you know, I'm not adverse to keeping so secret from the reader), but if you're willing to tell, I'd love to hear what it is :P. I loved the imagery in this story. I felt like I could just hear the waves breaking and I could practically smell the salt of the ocean that 'surrounds' Rose. I guess it does help some that I am at the beach too at the moment... :P But I could just picture it perfectly because of the metaphor. I have never really overcome something all that huge, but I do know what it is like to try and stay above water. I think that really helps connect it to the reader. Great job!
-Mary
House Cup Review 2014

 Report Review

Review #14, by newgenerationloverAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

10th July 2014:
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful one-shot. I think you have put a voice of reason behind Luna's eccentrics. She sees things in a different light than other people and it is not surprising to see her so open to death (although she is such a lively person- though her openness to death may play a large part in that) which would make sense why she finds such solace with the thestrals. This story was so serene in a way and I really liked that. Great job on the whole thing!
-Mary
House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #15, by newgenerationloverPrior Engagement: A Cup of Coffee and a Confession.

10th July 2014:
Epp! An update *happy dance* So much happened! Goodness gracious, where should I start? I just can't believe that would happen! That is so terrible. How would a person's father do that to their child?? I mean sure, he was trying to help her, but come on, a parent must have at least some common sense to know that their child would not want their parent paying someone to date her! Poor Noah! But I'm sooo excited to meet here! Where is she?? i demand you write about her now!! ;) Ok, well I guess we have to hear about the dad first, so I guess I can settle on hearing his side of the story... but noah. soon. please? Can't wait to keep reading :P
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I know it's horrible, poor Noah... Oh well it's character building mwhahahah, me lightwood is in the next chapter so you'll get to hear his side and hopefully it will justify it to some extent...
And Noah is on her way slowly. I'm writing chapter six now and she's just about to make her appearance so it's not too far away!!
Again thank you for reviewing, it really does mean a lot! And I'll put the next chapter through, now for you!!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by newgenerationloverDiamonds: .

8th July 2014:
'Ello! So this is the last one-shot you have, and therefore the end of my reviews, as it looks like your novels (and possibly this author page too) are abandoned. Even though you may never read this, if there is some time you come back randomly and read all your new reviews, I just want to let you know that I think you are an amazing author. You truly have the writers touch. I feel like this came by some hard work, so I hope that, where ever you are, you haven't given up your writing. Show more of your work to the world. I know they, like me, will love it :)
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by newgenerationloverFor the Love of Wood: orange

8th July 2014:
BAHAHAHA! Oh my gosh! You actually had me going for a bit! I thought it was actually happening but aw shoot it isn't! So this story is quite unlike your other ones, but I like it just as much :) She is such a fangirl and I can't decide if it's lucky that she get's to be in close proximity to him (though that seems to make her go more than slightly crazy as well as make that point apparent to him) or very unlucky that she can't easily hide her love for him XD. Anyway, loved the whole orange thing, so adorable ;) I wish it wasn't a dream :P
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by newgenerationloverPretty Broken Things: .

8th July 2014:
Did I catch a little Sansa Stark ASOIF description in there ;) Anyway, great story as always. You are a wonderful angst writer. So I've never read a Tom/Minnie fic before, but, after this, I kind of want to find more :P Your descriptions are what bring this novel to life. You show all the emotion perfectly and you make your character so wonderfully grey that I can't help but love them. I do like you playing around with the fact that Minnie could have saved him but saw only darkness in him and turned her back on him. I bet she would look back on this moment and wonder what would have happened if it went differently... Wonderful fic as always :)
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by newgenerationloverCertain Dark Things: .

8th July 2014:
Wow. Just wow. I think that is the majority of my thoughts after everyone of your stories. So I'm not usually a Dramione fan. I'm not a fan of the changed personalties that lead to a happily ever after. However, with your stories, I see again why I liked the ship so long ago. You show both the good and the bad of the relationship. You show their weaknesses more than their strengthens, which they find solace in each other for, and to me, that is believable. The writing is so beautiful and your characters are so wonderfully human. I just love all your stories.
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by newgenerationloverGo On: glance

7th July 2014:
Why must you hurt me in this way?? Wha!!! Gosh, stop making me cry please! This story, like your other is beautifully written. I loved how you stayed true to the canon characters, kind of mixing both the book and movie characters together, but you gave Draco an unknown voice. He isn't a 'changed person' like in so many other Dramione fics, he is the canon Draco, and that makes me like this fic even more. I can't believe that she killed him, but maybe he was wanting death. (That's what I thought he was saying, but wasn't sure.) And then the letter. It felt like you ripped my heart out of my chest, tore it to a hundred pieces, threw the pieces on the ground, and then stomped on them. So thanks for that ;)
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by newgenerationloverDisjunction: Eloquence

7th July 2014:
Ok, so I did not expect that one coming. You seriously have made my emotions go all over the place. ajdfksdjafkdfioaweknfd. I thought that sentence was quite eloquent, don't you agree? So I came to your page because someone on the forums said you are an amazing writing, and let me just tell you, I was not disappointed. You wove a web with each word, string together phrases and sentences beautifully to make a wonderful story. I was not expecting the ending. When he started writing his last letter, I thought it was going to go to Harry, not the man Lupin loved but never did anything about. My only bad thing is that I feel bad for Tonks for how much she puts into the relationship and how much she loves him and how she will never get that in return. :'( Great job!
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by newgenerationloverThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

7th July 2014:
How on earth do you come up with these pranks?? If you were in the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship competition, you would definitely win ;) And seeing that you are putting your latin knowledge to good use here :P Question, have you read the Aeneid II in latin? Or did you just know that it loses a lot of the prose in translation? I can't wait to see what Albus and Scorp come up with to beat the drove prank :P
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by newgenerationloverThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

7th July 2014:
Great chapie as always :P Loved the left boob story. I was laughing so hard but didn't want to wake my friend but I kept laughing and... well let's just say it was a struggle. I love the dynamics this whole group of friends have. They are so real and extraordinary at the same time, I just love reading about them. Gah! Lester is so awkward and adorable at the same time I just want to give him a hug!! Love the major freakout about them being worried about being bad influences as teachers, it just shows how much they care :) See ya soon!
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by newgenerationloverThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

7th July 2014:
AWWW!! THEY ARE SO ADORABLE I'M GOING TO CRY!! But seriously, I loved this chapter. My fire of hatred to the Enemy burns more brightly, fueled by that article, but I know they will get what's coming to them in the end ;) I love that we see Scorp's backstory, though it is a rather sad one. I like how you showed all Draco's positive qualities, unlike many authors who change who he is to make him have good qualities. And the ending, shoot me in the heart why don't you?? So sad *cries* I feel so bad for anyone who would have to carry on the Malfoy name, but they can change it to make it good again!! And what about adoption?? Can't their adopted kids carry on the Malfoy name? See ya next chapie ;)
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by newgenerationloverPerfectly Pansy: A Proper Pureblood Witch

7th July 2014:
Hello! Great story! I loved the alliteration throughout the story as well as the second person which gave the whole thing a much more personal touch. Gah! You made me have feelings for Pansy! Bad you!! :P Anyway, you did a great job making a very unlikable character likable. You set up a great story where Pansy is trapped in her own society, always having to be 'prim and proper,' where no one can show any weakness at all which is terrible. Great job!
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Mary!

I'm so glad you liked the story. I really don't like Pansy, either. I was assigned her character as part of a challenge and instead of writing her as evil, I thought really hard about her reasons for behaving so badly. Perhaps she was a victim herself. Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>