Reading Reviews From Member: Lumos_x
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lumos_xEternity: Eternity

19th October 2015:
Aw, how adorable!! I had a smile on my face the entire time I was reading. I think it's very nicely written and I think you portrayed Ginny's character well, especially as she contemplates giving Robards a piece of her mind if Harry has been dragged into the office! A lovely short story. I did think the ending was quite abrupt, but apart from that I really enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! This was written for a Fluff challenge so I'm happy it made you smile!

Thank you SO much for your compliments! I'm so flattered! I'm sorry that the ending was abrupt, but I was working with a word limit and I was already EXTREMELY close to going over it! :(

Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lumos_xSurrender to the Night: What We Both Deserve

26th September 2015:

Where to begin?! Well, I'm all for the idea that Tonks can change fully into an animal and I liked how you described the transformation process she undertakes, allowing her to empathise with what she realises Remus probably goes through when he transforms.
I just loved Tonks' humour - her love life with Charlie, and Remus being masochistic - hilarious! You added dimensions to her character which I think fit very well with what we already know about her. Thank you for a wonderful story!


Author's Response: Hello, there!

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the story. I'm not sure whether Tonks could have turned into a werewolf, but I loved the idea and I ran with it. Her sense of humor was probably my favorite thing about this. It made writing the story a lot of fun.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lumos_xVague Memories and Dusty Photographs: Vague Memories and Dusty Photographs

22nd September 2015:
Wow... That was a beautiful bit of writing! So lovely. I absolutely love James and Lily and you certainly did them justice. Well chosen quotes at the beginning of every part, it gave a nice feel for the story to come. I also loved the ending, despite how bittersweet it was. Very well done! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lumos_xThe Wedding: The Wedding

22nd September 2015:
Hi! I don't usually read stories about the Blacks, but after reading your one-shot, I have no idea why I don't - I really enjoyed this! You have written both Bellatrix and Narcissa very well. I imagine them to be very similar to how you have portrayed them, particularly Narcissa and her struggle to understand her sister's passionate feelings towards Voldemort. I also like the reasons Bellatrix gives for her marriage - she is not thinking of her own happiness, but of the positive consequences of the union, such as Narcissa being able to marry the man she loves. A rather human portrayal of Bella's character as a young woman, before she turns into the blood-thirsty Death Eater she is usually portrayed as. A very believable and well written piece!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed my story! I admit, I had to go back and read through this before responding to your review -- it feels like I wrote this decades ago. I'm glad you found my portrayal of the Black sisters to be real and believable, and I truly appreciate that you think it was well-written, too. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lumos_xEvolution: We All Fall Down

25th December 2012:
The start was very random, but when I realised what was going on, I immediately got into it! Ahh, poor Ben!! I did feel for Harry. I loved the reference to Deathly Hallows with the Caterwauling Charm that the trio set off in Hogsmeade, that was really cleverly put in. Thoroughly enjoyed this chapter - I'll be reading on! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lumos_xFairy Dust: The Fighter

4th November 2012:
Hi Jchrissy, I do believe I reviewed a chapter of Before They Fall (which I'm still following, sorry about the lack of reviews - I don't usually review every chapter of someone's story :L)

I love how it's in 2nd person. It just works really well, from start to finish, it's like you're in Fleur's head, understanding how she feels about everything. I especially like her disgust at people thinking she's just a pretty damsel in distress, because it's very believable - you write Fleur really well!

Aw, poor Bill, I think he's great, he's usually the calm one, but his anguish to see his wife just give herself up like that was emotional, aw.

Also, I really liked Ginny's role because she's very understanding of Fleur's position, as in they're both used to the males in their lives wanting to protect them!

So all in all, I really liked this and I'm glad I revisited your page! :)

Author's Response: Hi there darling! I am so happy you're still following Before They Fall! A lot of the the review I get are requested, so knowing that you're reading it just because they want to makes my day ♥

I'm so pleased that you liked this one shot. It was really fun writing in second person, and for some reason it just fit. Fleur is one of my favorite characters, so it was nice to be able to show how complex I think she is.

Thank you so much for stopping by, this review was such an awesome surprise ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lumos_xThe impossible task: The impossible task

31st October 2012:
I really liked the way you wrote this, with all the different names swirling around in her head after each little paragraph. The story was flowing and made you want to read it just to find out the name they finally settled on! :P
You wrote Victoire well, she's a likeable character straight away and Teddy is a sweetie! Alicia is a nice name. Cute story! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked how I wrote this. I was playing about with different writing styles and I think it worked to some extent.

They finally found a name and I must admit it is rather sweet! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lumos_xCheating the Bet: Epilogue

28th October 2012:
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, it was very cute!

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lumos_xLoyalty: Ginny Weasley

22nd October 2012:
Wow, I happened to stumble across this and I must say, I'm rather glad I did, so I decided to leave a little note! I love Harry/Ginny and you (princesspotter?) write them beautifully!
"Merlin, what am I going to do with you?" that line made me smile! Also, the ending was really funny, Ron finally getting the door slammed in his face! :'D Brilliant writing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lumos_xShe Will Be Loved: Chapter One

15th October 2012:
I really enjoyed this, their easy banter was believable and quite cute. :P I thought 'the words tumbled out of Harry's mouth' was a very good way to describe Harry's rushed explanation as he appears on Hermione's doorstep, because that sounds like something Harry would do. :') good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Your feedback is extremely helpful, and very much appreciated! xx :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lumos_xLike Something out of a Fairytale: Like Something out of a Fairytale

15th October 2012:
Well. That was cute. :D Drarry isn't my favourite ship, but you made this sound really convincing and it was very sweet. I liked the ending! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lumos_xThe Relative Position of Celestial Bodies: The Relative Position of Celestial Bodies

4th October 2012:
Beautifully written. I loved the descriptions of how they were lying, haha! So fuzzy and fluffy and just the right length.
" "I loved it, Harry. I don't think I've ever seen anything so beautiful."
It was doubtful that she heard his whispered I have, as she continued. "
How sweet is that?!
Seriously, amazing stuff, put a smile on my face. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lumos_xFrom Nightmares To Sweet Dreams: The News

17th September 2012:
Oh my gosh, I so knew it! Haha. :D your chapters are quite short, but still good. I like how you wrote Hermione, how she's really anxious because they're not married and it was totally unexpected! So looking forward to George's reaction, I think he might be a little miffed that she was so unsure about what he'd think! Lumos_x

Author's Response: They are a bit short. With school and everything, it makes it hard to write longer chapters. I'll update very soon. Thank you soo much!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lumos_xTime-Travel Mishaps!: Funny notes.

10th September 2012:
Aww, how sweet! I always knew that Harry was going to make a brilliant godfather, and this chapter really underlines that. Also, Harry leaving his younger self a little note was genius! I read it could feel a grin spreading across my face, haha! :D Great job. :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That's so nice :) glad you enjoyed x

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lumos_xEnd of an Era: End of an Era

9th September 2012:
Wow, this was really nice. I was intrigued because Minerva McGonagall is one of my favourite characters. I really liked how you described the various generations through the eyes of a teacher who has seen a lot in her time. I had to smile at the lines - "Behind him in the great clutter of first years, a mop of untidy jet black hair stood out. Potter hair." Haha, you can almost picture her face! :) I was looking for something just like this - different, not too long, canon... etc. So yeah, thanks! :D

Author's Response: I love Minerva, she is awesome and she deserves to be recognized as such. And you just have to love the look teacher's get when they see somebody related to a person who was troublesome.

Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lumos_xThe Aftermath: Quill to Parchment

30th August 2012:
Oh no! You have to have some Harry/Ginny action when they get back! :D I'm curious as to how forgiving she will be... :P

Anyway, your ending was really good - I loved your description of Ron's eyes staring into Harry's.
"Harry let Ron go into the thickening darkness, and heard the pop that meant a young man, lost in a world of sadness, who clung to the hope of tomorrow, was gone." Wow, what a sentence! Haha. I look forward to the next chapter! Lumos_x :)

Author's Response: Haha I'm such a die hard Harry/Ginny fan that I don't know if I'll be able to resist ;)

Thank you sooo much! I was a bit worried about that ending--I'm glad that you liked it :)
Thanks for reading! I'll post some more soon :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lumos_xLove Breaks The Noble Spirit: The Kissing Gate

30th August 2012:
Hi! My favourite part of this chapter was Neville finally asking out Hannah! I liked that you included that, since you don't find out anything from the books, because it's all from Harry's POV. Oh, that's another thing I enjoyed - reading it from Ginny's perspective, with your own bits added in of course (the medallions.)
I also love the way you write Luna and how she is happy to observe a conversation, and then suddenly join in with a unexpected remark.
I thought that adding in the bit about old magic breaking the new when Harry and Ginny kiss was a nice touch. We know that Dumbledore is a great believer in love, and it seemed fitting. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your feedback; glad you are enjoying the story.

Yes, the 'kissing gate' idea was fun - two young lovers separated only by an infinitesimally-thin enchantment!

It's great that you like my take on Luna. She's quirky but she's not in Ravenclaw for nothing! She's intuitively-wise and her unusual way of looking at life gives her insights that others miss.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lumos_xBefore They Fall: The Picture of Friendship

29th August 2012:
Aaah. What a gorgeous chapter.
I loved the Petunia/Lily memory, you told it beautifully. What made me like it even more was the fact that you know what happens between them, making the last line about Petunia's apology even more emotional. As was the ending - the way you described everything through Remus' point of view made me smile. It was very sweet and touching.
A funny line from James was definitely "Maybe she can toughen you up, princess," It just seemed so perfect, because it sounds exactly like something James would say to Sirius! :D

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked this chapter!! I feel the same about the memory, and you'll actually learn my version of what happened to the sisters through those.

Hahaha I'm happy you liked that, it's important for me to keep a sense of adolescences despite all the dark things going around them, because they still deserve that.

Thank you so much for this awesome, and unexpected review ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lumos_xNatural Disaster: Rememberance

29th August 2012:
It's a really nice opening chapter. It seems bittersweet since she's only remembering what happened. The Teddy part is very cute though and I like how you added that Harry acts like a big kid himself when playing with Teddy! A nice touch. I'm interested in what will happen next... :)

Author's Response: Awe, I loved this review, it's the first I've had in months.
And Chapter two is close to being done, I think I'll start on it once I get back from class today.
College has taken over my life as of right now!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lumos_xWith All Things: Angelina, October 1995

29th August 2012:
My favourite bits from this chapter included the first line - "A pitiless wind whipped through the grey-green mist..." as it really set the scene. Plus, Fred's line about "if you're going to be reprimanded, you may as well have your entire body over the line.." was really funny and well put! I also loved Flitwick's reaction to the "show that's about to happen stage left." Brilliant, haha. I can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!! Thank you so much for this review! I love to read which lines readers enjoyed. :) I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and I hope you continue to do so!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lumos_x19 Years: What I Am

27th August 2012:
This chapter is completely brilliant. I love the way you wrote Ginny's rant/lecture at Harry, you seem to really get her emotions and her character. In a way, I was surprised at her choice of career, but then I remembered that you said you were going from what wasn't in the epilogue, and to be fair, her career choice wasn't mentioned. Plus, I think it backs up her whole speech about being just as capable as Harry. Very nice. It's a great story; I hope you get the time to update quicker soon! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login