Reading Reviews From Member: LilyLou
  
136 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyLouBeneath: do i wanna know?

11th April 2014:
Keyty, you sly dog.

I didn't even see this one coming. I thought he just wanted to, like, be her friend and rescue her, being all chivalrous and all. But oh my gosh he's in love! *sings joyous tunes*

I kind of fell behind on your quick updates, but I'll be reading on here momentarily. I just needed to compliment you on this chapter. I love how concerned Sirius is about Raine.

AH MY FAVE SHIP IN FANFICTIONS IS COMING TRUE!

Thanks!

-Janelle

Author's Response: I knew you would like this chapter! I've been planning on revealing this for quite some time. Soon you'll be able to see more of an insight on his feelings for her, because I know it was very sudden. That was deliberate because I wanted to shock everyone, but some people think it's too random so just hold tight! You'll see!

Glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyLouUpping The Ante: The Bouncing Properties of Dimes

8th April 2014:
LO!

Great start! It's definitely different than ABAO because you're missing the whole Amos ordeal. However, the beginning is definitely the same in the whole Quidditch idea, except Alexandra didn't have a huge row with Sirius and James as se did in ABAO

Honestly, it's a wonderful start to a new beginning. I'll be watching for new updates, please do so soon! Sorry for this being such a short review; I am horrible with lengthy reviews.

-Janelle

Author's Response: JANELLE!

Yay! I'm glad you liked it! Oh, don't worry, the Amos ordeal will be there, just slightly toned down. And yes, I thought toning everything down at the beginning would help compensate for everything once the story gets started, so hopefully you like it!

Thank you so much, you're making me smile! I will try and update soon, but no promises. What with the rewrite and my wonderful Beta, it might take a while for new chapters to be up! No problem with the short review! A review is a review, right?

Thank you so much Janelle, you are wonderful!
Lo :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyLouHouse of Cards: Three of Hearts

17th March 2014:
Hi, here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

Wow, another suspenseful and haunting chapter. You are wonderful at writing these kinds of stories, I've noticed. You give it a fantastic atmosphere and mood, I just keep wanting to read on.

The suspects. Hmm... Bella, of course, I think could have something to do with Cygnus's death. I wouldn't put it past her killing her own father for whatever reason she finds necessary. Definitely not Narcissa, I'd be shocked. And Reg, I hope it wasn't Reg. Pollux is definitely catching my attention, what with his cool demeanor and rushing to get the Healers there. I suppose that's natural though.. Oh gosh, all the different theories!

I cannot wait to read on and find out more about the murder. This is definitely interesting. Great chapter, yet again!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hey - thanks so much for stopping by again! :) It's so great to see you coming back, so thanks! :)

Thank you! It's kinda fun writing about old, gloomy houses, with sweeping staircases and annoying portraits :P I'm so glad you like it, though - sometimes I get worried people will get bored with the same setting and all.

Ooh, suspects! Sure it's murder? :P Bella is nuts, that much is definite, haha. So yeah, it's not impossible for her to do something like that. Funny how everyone hopes it isn't Regulus, haha - little, sweet Regulus ;) Don't worry about theories - I love hearing theories! The more the better! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely pair of reviews - they were really great to receive! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story - hopefully you'll stop by again! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyLouKill Your Darlings: Ambition

16th March 2014:
Hi there!

So I've never read anything that goes so in depth about Andromeda Black before. I love the Black sisters, but I normally tend to choose Narcissa fics, because she can be written in so many different ways. I loved her character throughout JK's stories, and I hope I like her in yours too!

Your vocabulary is so broad and full of variety! I love it so much, and I am jealous of your skill with words. You truly make me feel as though I am Andromeda, and the world is real. That Ted did approach me, myself, and Rabastan wrapped his arms around me. Your wonderful description truly made it seem real, and I admire your skills!

I cannot wait to read on, and to discover what Andromeda is truly like as a person. She seems incredible, and so much different than her sisters. I know she chose a different path, but that doesn't mean she was different. But from the way you write her, she is different.

Brilliant first chapter, and I will definitely be reading on as soon as I submit this review!

- Janelle

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad that you popped in to read and review--especially since you tend to choose Narcissa-based fics. I actually wasn't particularly fond of Cissa until I started writing Andromeda's story. As I was doing my research, I was struck more and more by just what a complex and strong character Narcissa is. So, here's hoping my particular interp does her justice!

Thank you for the encouraging words about the writing style. It's always a fine line to walk, I think--keeping the prose just detailed enough but without descriptive clutter. And it's a line I don't always walk well... Haha. But that you were able to empathize with Andromeda is JUST what I was aiming for, so that makes me extremely happy. :]

I've had such fun writing Andromeda and exploring her character, and I hope you have fun reading on about her! Thanks again for the sweet review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyLouHouse of Cards: Two of Spades

15th March 2014:
Here for the Ravenclaw Review battle!

This is so suspenseful and ominous. It have me the chills, listening to them talk about Cygnus as he lies there dead on the floor. You wrote this wonderfully, your details really adding to the dark mood of the story.

I have to agree with Barty when I say that Cygnus was probably murdered. Oh gosh, I wonder who did it! At first I suspected Barty, but now I'm not so sure. Orion gives me the creeps, I have to say.

Ooh, it's so odd seeing Sirius surrounded by all of these people. I cannot wait to see how you write him acting around these evil people! Sirius is often written as a smart-mouth and all of that, being snarky and all that jazz. Will he be like that in this story? Hmm.. The questions!

Brilliant job! I understand why this story won the Dobbys! You've got a great start here, and I will definitely continue in reading this fantastic story!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much! It was a difficult thing to do, getting the start right - I rewrote the first scene about three times, I think, just to try and get it right - so I'm so glad you like it and think it works!

Really? Interesting :P Yeah, Barty is very suspicious... and Orion... interesting idea, that! He is a bit creepy though... then again, I suppose they are all, haha! :)

Sirius is such an interesting character, and I've always found the most interesting relationships he has are with his family - to me, at any rate - so I love writing him in this. He will almost certainly be a bit darker and perhaps moodier than most Sirius's around, but I like to think he's still Sirius! :)

Haha, it didn't actually win the Dobbys - it was TGS Awards - but thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it - it really is my baby at the moment, so it means a lot! Thanks! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyLouBeneath: born to die

15th March 2014:
Hi, Keyty dear!

Another wonderful chapter! I cannot wait for more! When is Sirius going to admit to Rainne that he knows? WHEN ARE THEY GOING TO FALL IN LOVE ASDFGHJKL; I'm shipping Rainne/Sirius all the way!

Can't wait for more! Update son!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi!

I love that you're shipping Sirius/Rainne. I think you're going to LOVELOVELOVE chapter 26 (which should be up sometime today). I can't wait to see what you think of it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyLouThe Society: No Turning Back

12th March 2014:
Hi, here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

This was so interesting! You have a great deal of suspense in the words, leaving me wondering what this whole society is, and what Arnold is all about! Ooh, so intriguing.

Your detailed descriptions of everything was so wonderful, it left me with pictures in my mind. You mention her mother and father, and Annemarie (I LOVE THAT NAME), which is wonderful because you leave questions and suspense, urging your readers on, and leaving them wondering who Annemarie is, why her and Persephone's parents are relevant to the situation.

Great job! Update soon, this really is a great story.

-Janelle

 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyLoumaybe, once.: maybe, once.

12th March 2014:
Hi, here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

Wow. Wow oh wow oh wow. This was beautiful, marvelous, extraordinary... Words cannot describe this masterpiece! Oh wow!

First off, I'd like to say that this is a great interpretation of Barty Crouch Jr. I've never read one so amazing as this! Normally, I don't see one quite as in depth and full or love about Barty. I find him a cold character, normally, quite like how you wrote Reg. But the way you wrote Barty, with so much care and love and hurt! And in three days! Wow.

Reg was cold and dark in this story. I LOVE writing regulus, and I normally tend to write him more loving because of the idea that he was like Sirius. But the way you wrote him, afraid and denying Barty. Wow! I just love the way you wrote both of them!

The plot was amazing. You explained everything to us, just enough, to find this one shot filling and enjoyable. Honestly, I'm flabbergasted at the beauty!

Well done.

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

This was something really out of my comfort zone, since I'm not used to romance or really fond of it, so I'm so so glad you liked it! Thank you so so much for the wonderful compliments! :) :)

Thank you! I haven't seen him written very often, tbh, so for me it was kinda a fresh slate to work with, you know - and I used a lot of the way I wrote him in House of Cards, too, to base it, so that's sort of how he came about, really. But yeah, he's surprisingly emotive!

Gah, me too! :) Oddly enough, this is pretty much how I tend to write Regulus, haha - the antithesis of Sirius, in way. Strange, that! But I'm so happy you liked him - and yeah, he's scared and unsure and not strong or brave enough to really go after what he wants because it's 'abnormal' and all that... pretty sad.

Thank you so so much for this review - honestly, it just made my day when I got it and I still read it over because just... wow. I can't believe it! Thank you so much! :) :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyLouPure Intentions: Red Flags

7th March 2014:
Sorry for taking a bit to get to this, but I'm here for our review swap!

I've heard many things about this story--all good--and I thought maybe I should read it! So I did, and I enjoyed it.

Normally I'm not the biggest fan of slash, probably because I don't understand the whole deal with it, but I'm opening my mind up to new things as of late, and so this was the perfect oppurtunity to expand on that.

This was great. Your characterization is wonderful, and you write the boys with great detail, which can be hard from the POV and style you wrote this. 3rd in past tense, I think, can be hard to add lots of emotion into, but you did a great job on this!

I'll be reading on!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It's kind of neat that so many people have nice things to say about this story!!

Eh, slash is pretty much a romance but it has two people of the same sex. If it's well written, there shouldn't be much else that differs from other love stories. I hope you enjoy giving it a chance!

I'm really glad you liked this chapter! I do a lot of writing in 3rd person past so it was within my comfort zone at least.

Thank you so much for a lovely review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyLouThe Art of Small Talk: A Confession

7th March 2014:
Hi here for our review swap!

Oh goshhh I can't imagine why I haven't gotten to this yet! It's one of my favorites but I didn't get to it. Oh well, I'm here now!

Great, once again, all around. Your characterization is marvelous, as well as your word choice, plot, and how you managed to incorporate, like, all of your characters in this one! You added on to each part of her life in this chapter, rather than focusing on one part, and I loved that!

George and staying neutral :'D I loved that, because it was so true that Ginny would throw a fit, and Oliver wouldn't be too pleased either! That was a great humorous add-on.

OH MY GOSH HE KISSED HER AND OH MY GOSH DID SHE FAINT?! No she didn't. I don't believe it. It was a camera! Wow that actually sounds like a convincing back up.. Yeah those are my two guesses. Are they right?;D

Lovely chapter!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle!

Haha, don't worry, I have a habit of doing that as updates can just slip past so easily! (Also, thank you for the SOTM nom, it made me smile so much :D). I'm so glad that you liked the characterisation because I've never had such a large cast before but it's surprisingly fun to see how I can make sure they all make somewhat regular appearances.

Haha, yeah, I thought it would be fun to throw in some Weasley family drama because who doesn't love that? Haha, the next chapter is now up so you can find out what the bright white light is, but yay for them kissing!

Thanks for such a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyLouHamartia: ....

7th March 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

This was so beautiful!
... Well, okay, not really beautiful. The plot wasn't, it was sad and heart-wrenching, but your words and use of second point of view were wonderful! I love how you give the character depth by telling us her past, and you left tiny hints as to who it is, and I loved that! I did the same thing with a few of my stories, I like to add the element of surprise to my stories, as well as suspense, and yours had a great mix of a little of both!

Once again, great story here! You've got a great gift!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

I'd actually never written anything with an anonymous narrator before, so it was something really different, but I'm glad you liked it!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, you've made my day!

- Faith :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by LilyLouFluorescent Adolescent : crushed moon extract

3rd March 2014:
Here for Ravenclaw Review Battle!

What an amazing first chapter! I will DEFINITELY be reading on. Even though it was more of an introduction into the way things are set up, and how your version of the Next Generation World works, I am already eager to read on, and am intrigued!

I LOVE Quidditch stories, though I don't have many myself. They always add that extra bit of filler and excitement when you need a break from all the boring aspects, and you are going to be wonderful with that. I cannot wait to see how you rank your quidditch teams, how they attack, etc. It's so exciting!

I think I'm going to love Mikey.. he seems so sweet and awesome and asdfghjkl; he's going to be my favorite.. i think.

Alton is your stereotypical Quidditch Captain, and while that isn't bad, be careful to not make him too cliche.

Oh gosh darling, Oscar is fab. I just love him. I mean, I don't know him, but I love him. He's like glitter and ugg boots. Just oh my gosh darling. (Seriously though he's going to be a great minor character)

I cannot wait to read on! I'll be around sooner or later to check in on updates.

Until then!

-Janelle

Author's Response: omg wow thank you so much!
i'm so happy you liked it- i'm not too sure about this chapter, so i'll be going over it as soon as chapter 5 is published (also, chapter 5? SO much quidditch. and also referring to your cliche quidditch captain comment- chapter 5 totally tackles that. i hope.)
i'm so glad you like oscar and mikey, they're my babes! i like them too! woo!
i'm really excited to see what you think of the next few chapters! thanks again for the review :') bea xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyLouHoping for A Heartbeat : Prologue

27th February 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

Sorry for the late response to this, I was busy. But I'm here now! This was amazing. You explained greatly how Ginny always loved Harry, and how that impacted her through her life. I think your writing style is good, but you seem to have a habit for writing run-on sentences. If you could change that, it would be a brilliant prologue. Just tiny edits! ;D

Great job!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle,
Thanks so much for coming by and reviewing!
I am aware of my habit so hopefully my new beta will help me out with that. Thanks;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by LilyLouAs the Wind Blows: As the Wind Blows

26th February 2014:
Hi dear! Sorry for getting to this late, but I'm here for our review swap!

I loved this! The use of second person POV gave it so much more depth and feels. It's amazing, truly. I love how you wrote Sirius, how he couldn't hate Reg, no matter how hard jetties and wanted to.

I don't have any CC, and I enjoyed this so much! You know I love Regulus and Sirius, as you've read Meissa. This was wonderful!

Great job!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Sorry for a horrendously late response!

I'm so glad that the use of sec on person POV really improved the story. This is my first time using that style of writing and so thank you for all the praise. It really means a lot to me :) I really adore the brothers and I'm glad that you've mentioned the relationship they shared quite a bit in Meissa! Thank you so much once again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyLouOur Little Secret: IV.

18th February 2014:
Asdfghjkl;

This is amazing. Like oh my gosh. I absolutely love how you built the characters, and it certainly is a modern romance, with them being 26 years apart and all.

I cannot wait to read more. Your story has grown wonderfully! Just oh my gosh I cannot wait to read more.

Sorry this is short. I just. Ohmigosh.

-Janelle

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyLouClash: Epilogue

8th February 2014:
ASDFGHJKL;

SOBS

It's the end! The very end. It can't be. I'm in denial. This isn't it. IT CANT BE ALRIGHT.

I loved this novel so much. I'm sure you get this a lot in all the lovely reviews you have received, but I'd just like to remind you that you have an amazing talent, and that this novel made me laugh, cry, scream, and mutter insanely. Every character had such distinct characteristics, and you definitely built true characters that I feel as though I know personally.

I am going to miss Aggy. And Aiden. And Dom. And Potter. And Ryan Fisher. And Evilyn. And Fred. And every single moment in this novel, because they were all truly amazing.

Thank you for creating such a masterpiece.

-Janelle

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyLouThe Chaos Within: Choices and secrets

3rd February 2014:
Here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

Another wonderfully written chapter! You write their depression and confusion so well! I love how you write Ginny, too. Just enough temper. And when Ron pouted about not understanding the joke? Perfect! I can see him doing that!

I really want to know how Harry is going to overcome his depression. I cannot wait to see how you move this story on, and how far you'll go with it! How do you plan on working everything out?! Ahh I'm so excited to read on!

Beautiful job, yet again! I cannot wait to read on when the time comes!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! It's really sweet of you to say that Ron's characterization in this is perfect. :)

I do hope you keep reading and reviewing! This was lovely. :)

~Erin


 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyLouWhere My Heart Lies: Transfiguration Studying

2nd February 2014:
Hi, Lo!

Here with my sixth review for you winning my challenge! Not that I wouldn't have left a review on this anyway. Sorry it took so long!

Ahh thank gosh Fred was there to save her! That was kinda terrifying! A random person just showed up and shoved her off the roof!

Poor Al. Does he like Abby? Is that what's up?!

Oh my gosh the hood dude again! I have a few theories: it's Fred, it's an initiation test, or it's Riley who is secretly evil (a long shot, I know)

Update soon!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi!

It's no problem! Everything on your schedule doll! :)

Yay for Fred! He's such a doll. I love him! And yes, death threats and occurrences are going to happen quite often to Abby, I'm afraid. And maybe... I can't tell you! I'm sorry! Spoilers!

And yes! More hooded people! Well, I guess you'll just have to keep reading to see if your theories are correct! :P

Thank you so much Janelle!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by LilyLouThe Girl from Slytherin : Prologue

1st February 2014:
Hi, Jenna!

So I have been meaning to start reading this story, so here I am! This review swap was the perfect motivation to start.

This is definitely interesting! I love forbidden loves *sighs*. Or, at least I am pretty sure that this is a forbidden love.

I cannot wait to read on! This prologue was so short, and it leaves me wanting desperately to read on!

Great start to this story!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle! :)

Aw yay, I'm glad you got the chance to come check it out! :) I'm glad you liked the prologue, and yes, forbidden love is just the greatest, and this is definitely a story all about it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyLouThe Flesh of the Servant: Coward

30th January 2014:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

This was so cool! I tried to do this challenge, but it seemed so impossible to me. You succeeded! Well done! I never once thought about what would happen if Pettigrew we're caught. You answered that question in a totally agreeable way. It made complete sense, if you ask me!

Well done!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hello!

I've spent a bit of time trying to figure Peter Pettigrew out, and came up with a lot of theories. When I got this topic, I was super excited to explore it more! :D

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #21, by LilyLouVernon's Story: Caveat Smeltonia

30th January 2014:
Hello, here for our review!

This was awful! As in, wonderfully written, but an awful scene. You did an excellent job portraying how everything went down. This must have been hard to write. I don't think I could have written something quite like this.

Great job!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Thank you!!
I'm really glad you didn't like it ^^
It was a bit tough to write indeed but entirely worth it :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by LilyLouThat Idiotic Act: All Too Emotional

20th January 2014:
Curie!

Please please please update soon! I'm dying to read more! Ahh, your characters are all so wonderful! James is one of those characters that you just want to keep reading about, you know? I can't wait to find out what happens next. I'll be keeping an eye out for updates! I cannot wait to see how everything plays out!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Janelle!

I'm glad! Especially since it is one of my older works and of course, one that i am a bit skeptical about. Thank u! I hope you continue to like it! :D

-Curie :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyLouWhere My Heart Lies: Luculentus

20th January 2014:
Hi, Lo!

Oh my gosh please update soon! You will, won't you? Promise? Okay. I knew I could count on you (:

The suspense is killing me! What are the other two like? What do they look for in initiates? OH MY MERLIN WHICH ONE IS ALBUS IS? I love Albus...

Hahaha, I loved how Abby played with Riley like that. Oh, that was brilliant. She deserves a round of applause. I wish I could force tears. I'd do that to my boyfriend too. Oh that'd be great...

Can't wait for the next chapter! I'm so excited to read on!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi!

Well the other two societies are quite... different, both in good ways and bad. Aha! I love Albus too!

Ergh, Abby is quite the manipulator, but I love her! A round of applause is coming her way, don't worry!

I'm excited for you to read on as well! Thank you!

Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyLouWhere My Heart Lies: Ducibus

20th January 2014:
Hi, hi, hi!

OH MY GOSH I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!

The whole society thing is really scary. I would love to experience something like that. I'd be one of the morons rocking and crying in the corner. And hiccoughing. Although, I bet I'd be asked to join by Ducibus. Everyone's always telling me how much of a leader I am. Ooh, I can't wait to learn about the other qualities in the other societies, and which one Albus is in. Ahh it's so exciting!

You wrote their panicking perfectly, Lo! They were crazy and bumping heads and shouting and hiccoughing and everything. Ahh it was perfect. And her getting slammed by the door was funny, as well.

I love your skill of keeping the humour present. I don't know if I'd be able to keep all that humour there, to keep my reader smiling and whatnot, even during serious times. I'm pretty confident I wouldn't be able to do that, so you did a fine job!

Albus is so adorable. I wish I had a guy friend like that. And Jacob was a nice addition to keep the tone lighthearted.

I can't wait to read on!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi!

Yay! I'm glad you liked it! Yes, it can be scary, but I'm a little bit envious as well! Haha! Well, I might be crying as well - I'm not all that brave.

Oh yay! I've never really been in that situation so it's good to know I got their panicking done well!

Oh well thank you! I love to always have something to make me smile, so it's great to hear that I make others happy as well!

Ooh, Albus is so sweet! I love him, absolutely and completely! And yes, Jacob... Ah that boy!

Thank you so much Janelle!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by LilyLouTo Have and to Hold: Musical Hands

18th January 2014:
Hi!

I was going to read the story you originally requested, but I read the first chapter to this, and now that the second is up, I thought I'd read this one!

This is so beautiful! Ahh, it's so great. Gellert is so fascinating, and evil. I hate him, yet he's one of the characters I love the most... if that makes any sense whatsoever...

Anyway!

This is a great chapter. You write Aberforth marvelously. The way you write him is exactly how I'd picture him. Snarky, temperamental, and extremely protective of Ariana. He's always yelling at Albus, as expected, and he is always defending Ariana.

Great chapter! I can't wait to read on!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad this chapter held up to the last one! I was a little worried, and so happy when it placed in the Challenge!

I know what you mean about Gellert. When I started out I didn't realize how alluring he'd be. (Guess me and Albus have something in common. Lol) And though I will hate him soon (the next chapter may very well be the last), I'm content with liking him now. +]

Aberforth. I feel bad for Aberforth. He has it rough, but Albus is doing his best.

Thanks for the swap! It's always a pleasure. +]


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>