Reading Reviews From Member: Courtney Dark
  
660 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Courtney DarkHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Transitions

23rd March 2014:
Hey there!

I loved this chapter! Arabela/Lady Tenebra is like
the ultimate villain!

The scene between Neville and Harry was great. I
feel so bad for Harry and I'm so happy about the
person Neville has grown to become! I couldn't
stop thinking about how much he was mocked and
teased at school!

Aw, Octavia:) I love the way you write from her
point of view! And I'm curious to know more about
this 'mysterious voice'.

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

First off, let me say how happy I am that you tagged me. I've been the last post in the thread for over a week. I was starting to think that maybe I smell funny or something.

Lady Tenabra brings her master plan full circle in this chapter. She's disposed of the Minister that she used to claw her way to the top and now she's installed Percy, who she controls with the dark spells from Herodonthus's book, in his place.

One thing that always bugged me while reading the last three books -- and especially OotP -- was why nobody ever just grabbed Harry and shook him and yelled, "stop being such an idiot!" So now he has Neville to fill that role for him, and I really enjoyed writing that particular confrontation.

I tried really hard to keep things appropriately childlike when writing from Octavia's PoV. I'm glad that it worked. You'll find out a lot more about the mysterious voice before the end of the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Family Matters

15th March 2014:
Oh God, I love the paintings of both Gilderoy and Boris - they add so much humour to this story! It's great!

Grrr, Wendy Flourish makes me grind my teeth together. THIS IS ROSE'S SHOP! DON'T YOU DARE TRY AND TAKE IT FROM HER! Does she want to make someone else's life miserable?

And ROXANNE is Wendy's lawyer? Grrr! I like Roxanne even less now, how could she do that to her cousin?

Oho, so the truth comes out - Roxanne had a thing for Matthew! This is not going to end well!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Malfoy Manor, Again

12th March 2014:
Hey!

This was a great chapter! I can totally see Molly being a big bridezilla!

Wow, taking Jesus along to scout wedding venues is an...interesting idea. And he has a band? I think Molly's wedding will be an interesting affair!

Malfoy Manor? What on earth is Molly thinking! I loved the conversation between Rose and Draco, it was funny and sweet at the same time.

Oh wow, Scorpius. Get it together dude! And Rose is totally a softie, letting him stay at her house!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Courtney DarkThis Devilry: Chapter Eight

12th March 2014:
Wow, this was another great chapter! The whole thing was so suspenseful and well written, I just wanted to read more!

Before Bree's special form of therapy started, this knot of anxiety unfurled in my stomach and I knew something was going to go wrong - I was literally so nervous for Ginny! I loved the way you described the eerie quiet of the French/mind scene, I really felt like I was there along with the characters. And then when Bree turned into Bellatrix...there were shivers up my spine!

Aw, the graveyard scene was so nice! And sad, i still miss Fred:( And those bloody reporters, following Ginny around! I would get so mad!

Aw, Harry:) He seems to be the perfect husband!

I really liked the cryptic ending, and I am more eager than ever to read more! What does this hole/tunnel have to do with the plot, i wonder?

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hey Courtney :)

I'm so pleased the suspense worked and you really felt for Ginny during that difficult therapy scene. Poor Ginny is just really confused and lost, and the dark road she's on isn't yet ended, unfortunately.

Glad you're curious about what is to come, and thank you for this very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney DarkThe Persistence of Memory: History

12th March 2014:
Tag!

Oooh, what a creative, original idea for a story. I have certainly never read anything else like this, and I'm excited to see where it goes!

There was something so beautifully...simple about this first chapter. The descriptions were all lovely, and just so real - and the little details you added in about the garlic and onions and courgettes being chopped...I'm not sure why that stuck out to me, but I've always seen Frank and Alice as being these people with this marvelous cross between homeliness and Auror-ness, if that makes any sense. And this chapter captured this!

Okay, now I'm beginning to ramble on about nothing.

I wonder what Neville's reaction was when he found out about his parents recovery? I'm looking forward to him being introduced into the story, because he's always been a favourite of mine!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney! Ah yay, that's wonderful to hear that this fic is original! It's quite experimental for me so I'm really glad it seems creative and original.

I'm so glad you liked the descriptions, too. That's exactly what I was going for, really simple and idyllic in that first part and it means a lot to me to hear that it feels real. Haha, I've always seen Frank and Alice that way too - the type that would have a great home cooked meal in their homely cottage, then go off to battle Death Eaters lol. I'm so glad that came across!

Neville is one of my favourite characters too! I'm glad you're looking forward to that :)

Thanks for an awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Booty Calls

10th March 2014:
Hey there!

I loved the way this chapter started, with Scorpius 'Booty Call' - he really is the strangest guy I've ever...well, I was about to say met, but you know what I mean! And I can just envision the night cap and knitted pyjamas!

How the relationship between Teddy and Rose has changed! I definitely think this relationship with Matthew has really helped Rose though - she seems to be a lot more tolerant.

I laughed out loud when Rose got the address for Lockhart's house - and then I enjoyed the whole scene when she talked to him. It's so original of you, using him as a character, because you hardly ever read about him, especially not in next-gen!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Commitment-Phobes

6th March 2014:
Oh, I'm so glad that Rose and Matthew made up! I really like them together - Matthew basically seems like the perfect boyfriend - and I really don't want them to break up!

Molly, despite being rather mean sometimes, actually gives very good advice. I just love the relationship between she and Rose so much!

Wow, Roxanne's party was...a bit of a let-down. I actually really like Roxanne's character. Well, I don't like her as a person, but she definitely adds a bit of humour to the story! Her very forced sounding speech was great!

Aw, Matthew and Rose you are just too adorable! I'm glad Rose finally got those three little words out!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Orange Juice

6th March 2014:
I now have this very weird image in my head of Scorpius wrapped in a Sarong. You really come up with the most amusing situations for his character!

Hehe, I really enjoyed all the scenes at Matthew's parents house. The thought of that warm, crackling fire and homemade stew really made me miss my home!

Oh God, Matthew's Mum thought Rose was pregnant and THEN spilled Matthew's plans! She definitely seems like a blabbermouth. I actually think what Matthew was trying to do was a really sweet gesture BUT because he knows Rose so well, he probably should have consulted her about it. And then he said I love you and Rose didn't respond! I hope this doesn't start to mess up their relationship!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Bad Break-Ups

5th March 2014:
I had no idea why Henry was calling Rose into his office, but I did not expect this! This is utter crap! I don't think she realizes it properly, but Rose really loves her job, and has done a great job with the shop! I really hope it doesn't get taken away.

I loved the conversation between Rose and Matthew, especially Rose's comment: "That depends entirely on your... performance." Classic!

Oh, Scorpius. The poor guy, his life really has been a rollercoaster. A rollercoaster that has very few 'ups'. I wonder if Clara was ever serious about Scorpius at all?

Rose loves Matthew? I wonder if she's going to tell him? And I wonder what his reaction will be...

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Paper Owls

5th March 2014:
Oooh, this was an awesome chapter!

I honestly think Scorpius should see a therapist. Or get a girlfriend. Either one of those would be beneficial, because it is just downright CREEPY that he decided surprising Rose by creeping into her flat at three in the morning and lurking in the dark would be a good idea.

Oooh, did Matthew just make a declaration of love? And of course that would be something that freaks Rose out!

Ha, I loved the conversation with Boris' portrait and how he tried to sneak away into Gilderoy's. I'm so glad you kept Boris in this story in the form of a portrait! He provides a lot of comic relief.

YOU HAVE MADE ME FEEL LIKE BROWNIES NOW! Nooo! I am seriously craving them!

Anyway, I loved this chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Dancing on Tables

4th March 2014:
Oh wow, drunk Rose is quite a character! I would be absolutely humiliated and horrified if I woke up with a hangover and a bad memory and heard all of those stories about what I'd done last night. Although at least Matthew seems to find it all amusing! He really is a good boyfriend.

Operation Freckle. What an...interesting name choice. The image of Scorpius sobbing between the book shelves kind of made me laugh - Rose is really not having a very good day!

I can't wait to read more!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: A Nice Bloke

4th March 2014:
Hey there!

So this was another great chapter. As usual, I loved the conversation between Molly and Rose, and then the entrance of Matthew - I love he and Rose together, they're so sweet! And the addition of the "Busty Brides" magazine, that was great!

I also really enjoyed the scene at the Burrow. Your characterization of Hermione is very funny - I could just imagine her sweeping up the glass that Lorcan broke. And Matthew's comeback: "Well, I consider myself a reasonably nice bloke, Mrs Weasley," was great!

Poor Victoire:( I feel really bad for her, actually, her whole life has gone downhill! And I don't have any respect at all for Teddy anymore.

Keep writing!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Molly's News

2nd March 2014:
Haha, I can definitely see Albus as being the 'mathematical' type. I wish I had a cousin to do all that boring sort of stuff for me!

I really, really hope that Rose doesn't cave and give Scorpius a job at the bookstore, because I am 100% certain that he would drive her - and all the other customers - bonkers.

Lorcan proposed to Molly! Why didn't she say yes right away? What if Lorcan changes his mind or something? And I hope Rose tries her best to be happy for them, because I do NOT want another big fight between Molly and Rose. That was unpleasant enough the first time!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Courtney DarkTaking the Biscuit: Role Models

1st March 2014:
And here we go again! I cannot wait to read more of this, as this first chapter was absolutely amazing - I wonder what is going to happen in this second installment? I'm expecting it to be as funny and action packed as the first, no pressure!

So much happened in this first chapter!

Rose and Matthew are couply and sweet together - finally something good in Rose's life, so that's great! Wow, Audrey asks the most awkward questions! I would be humiliated!

Hmm...I wonder what's going on with Hugo? Is he really up to something suspicious? Or are Molly and Rose just over-thinking things?

Your portrayal of Scorpius was perfect, as always. He's just so...weird. There's really no other way to describe him! But I'm glad he and Rose are friends now!

I can't wait to read more!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Courtney DarkHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Small Victories

1st March 2014:
I loved the first section of this chapter, with the aftermath of the battle, and I loved that it was from Ron's point of view. The fighting between Draco and Ron was just fantastic and the interactions of all the other canon characters...you just write everyone so well! I love that Ron got to show how great an Auror he can be in this chapter. Poor Harry:( He has had one of the most painful lives I have ever known - he constantly seems to be losing the people that he loves.

The Dennis scene was great - I love all the Hogwarts chapters, as they make me feel very reminiscent. And I liked that there was a bit of humour injected into it. A much needed change after the events of the last chapter!

The section from Octavia's point of view was great, too. I love the way you write her voice, with her calling Arabela/Lady Tenabra the 'mean lady' and all the little comparisons she makes that only a small child would think of. Although I'm dreading finding out what's going to happen to her...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

I really liked writing Ron's PoV throughout the story and I sort of regret that I didn't have more chances to do it. By this point in his life, Ron has become an exceptionally skilled Auror, both in terms of his magical abilities and his strategic ones. Part of the point of this chapter was to show that he's completely capable of taking control of a situation when he needs to.

I really grew to like Dennis by the time I was done writing this. He starts off so belligerent and ignorant and turns into a generally likeable guy by the end of it. You'll definitely see more of him.

Keeping Octavia age-appropriate was a real challenge because she's surrounded by so many older characters. I'm glad you thought she sounded right.

Thanks so much for all of the great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Courtney DarkHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Prices Paid in Blood and Sorrow

1st March 2014:
Tag!

Oh my God this chapter was so packed with action and amazingness that I hardly know where to begin! Maybe the beginning would be a good starting point...

Rory Tennant is a vile, vile person and that's all I really have to say about the section from his point of view.

I loved the section from Harry's point of view with all the members of the Order of Phoenix - it was nice to see the appearance of some of the 'lesser' next gen characters, such as Roxanne and Dominique.

Scorpius' point of view was great! I always love to read about Draco, and the way he handled the whole situation was awesome. And as I'm sure I've mentioned before, you are fantastic at writing confrontations and action packed scenes.

The fight between the 'good guys' and the 'bad guys' was intense, dramatic and just downright amazing to read - I seriously don't know how you do it!

Thank God Rose and Octavia are alright! I loved the bit when Hermione observed Draco running unashamedly towards Octavia, that made me smile! And I am so relieved that Hermione managed to get rid of that horrible darkness inside of her.

And so Lady Tenabra reveals herself - I KNEW that she was Arabel Dynt, but that didn't stop this whole segment from being shocking. The threat to Octavia, Percy giving himself up...and then Esme's death. I absolutely did NOT see that coming and I am so shocked. But I can totally see why you did it. Poor Harry:( Poor Rose and Scorpius:( Poor Percy:( Actually, poor everyone!

Amazing chapter, as usual!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Ha! I'm pretty sure you've had Arabela figured out for a while now. Fortunately -- or unfortunately, if you're our heroes -- she always has another trick up her sleeve.

I enjoyed writing this chapter as much as anything in the entire story. The action barely stops.

Don't worry about Tennant, he'll get what's coming to him when the time is right. ;)

I pretty much threw the kitchen sink into this chapter in terms of including characters. It's the last hurrah for the huge, ensemble cast before things become a little more intimate.

Poor Scorpius is in over his head, but he follows his father's lead and makes it through. I'm sure he enjoying seeing Gamp die as much as his father.

I'm glad you liked the battle scene. If I have anything you'd call a trick to writing them, it's making sure that I can visualize what's happened and who's standing where and then trying to get that across to the reader without breaking the flow of the action.

I really enjoyed the idea of Draco sprinting across the warehouse, myself. There have to be a few things in the world that cause him to lose that stiff upper lip. The darkness is gone from Hermione, but it isn't gone for good.

Wow, you're getting close to the end! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Epilogue

28th February 2014:
Okay, this was just such a great story, I can't believe it's taken me this long to find it!

I really think this was the perfect ending. I actually like that Scorpius and Rose didn't end up together - it made this story so fresh, so different! It focused on the characters and the friendships, rather than the romantic relationships and sexual tension and...you know what else! Everything that makes a story cliche. Anyway, it was amazing. You have seriously created the most awesome characters!

I loved that this last chapter was all about family - well, the little Matthew scene was nice, too! Rose and Molly's relationship was perfect, as always, Albus is just adorable and I like that you tied up the loose ends with Rose definitely not having feelings for Teddy anymore, and seeing that she got Victoire all wrong and the mention of Gilderoy Lockhart definitely not becoming Minister for Magic, thank God! I wonder what exactly it was Hermione did...blackmailed him, perhaps?

Anyway, I can't wait to read the sequel!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Family

28th February 2014:
This was such an amazing chapter! This is going to be a very short review because I want to read the last chapter before I have to go out, but just know that I loved it!

Family is one of my favourite things in the world. And I didn't know that until I left my family, so this chapter made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside!

I am so, so glad that Molly and Rose are friends again! They need each other - and it was nice to see some Lorcan and Albus!

I loved the conversation with Victoire - I am so glad that Rose can now see that she is actually a very good person. And I like Victoire's attitude towards the baby!

Nice chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Courage

28th February 2014:
Aw, this was both a really sad and really nice chapter!

I had a feeling that not many people were going to turn up to Boris' funeral, but it still made me feel very bad when I turned out to be right. I'm really glad both Rose and Matthew were there, though, and I really enjoyed Rose and Matthew's bonding moment. They've always gotten along really well at work, but they've never really been together outside of a work setting.

Linda gave Rose the bookstore! I had a feeling that was coming! That is definitely one hell of a promotion.

I really liked the conversation between Dominique and Rose, too. It seems as though Boris' death has really opened Rose's eyes to the world, to risk sounding completely cheesy, and made her realize that - I can't believe I'm about to say this - you only live once.

I sincerely apologize for this horrible cheesy review!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: St. Mungo's

25th February 2014:
Aw, Boris! I'm a lot sadder than I thought I would be that he's dead! He was extremely weird but he was such a sweetie and a softie at heart. I'm definitely going to miss having him around the shop! And now I'm starting to speak like I actually work at the bookstore...this story is so good that I'm confusing my reality with Rose's! Haha!

I'm glad that Molly and Rose finally forgave each other, even if it took something as tragic as a death to do it. They really are better off as best friends than as bickering, arguing enemies!

Okay, Scorpius is so sweet (most of the time) but he still has some really creep qualities! Like crawling into bed and stroking Rose's face (I would be seriously alarmed) and barging in to the locked bathroom while she's taking a shower. CALM DOWN THERE SCORPIUS!

I seriously love this story so much!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Walking Away

23rd February 2014:
MOLLY AND ROSE STOP IT! JUST STOP!

Ugh, they are infuriating me so much! Don't they see that they are so much happier when not fighting? I really don't remember how their argument started anymore, who is in the right and who is in the wrong. All I know is they have both said some very horrible things that I bet they'll wish they could take back later - Molly was especially mean in this chapter!

Rose, on the other hand, had some very mature moments. I was surprised at how 'wise' she sounded when she talked to Dominique. Some good cousin-ly advice, right there!

Oooh, the conversation with Teddy with was intense! I don't blame Rose for getting so worked up...what Teddy did was just horrible, and how he was planning on forgetting about Dominique and playing happy families with Victoire...he is definitely not the person I thought he was.

This was such a dramatic chapter! I loved it!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Ridiculous Relatives

22nd February 2014:
I've already mentioned this before (sorry, my reviews are getting really repetitive and boring!) but I always adore the bookstore scenes. It's just so nice to see a bit of normal, daily life - and I LOVE bookstores. They are one of my favourite places to go!

Oh God, not more Gilderoy Lockhart! If he becomes Minister for Magic, I will be seriously concerned about the future of the Wizarding World. How old is he, anyway? Fifties? Sixties?

Lucy is right, Rose! You need to make up with Molly! Now! I am growing tired of this tiff!

Awesome chapter, as usual!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Disillusioned

22nd February 2014:
I love how Rose always ends up going back to Scorpius if she has some sort of problem. They definitely have a connection, even if he repulses her some of the time - and now that they are just friends and he isn't acting so weird and stalkerish with the shrine and all that, things seem to be going a lot better!

Ugh, I don't like it when Molly and Rose fight! So much angst, and it makes both of them such horrible people! The problem is, they're just such similar people, who both of a bit of a temper, strong personalities and a very stubborn attitude.

Hehe, the little scrabble name, and Rose's choice of words was a nice touch!

Looking forward to finding out what's going to happen next!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Courtney DarkJust Rose: Secrets

22nd February 2014:
OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD!

OH MY FREAKING GOD!

What a way to end the chapter! I'm seriously speechless! I don't know what more to say than to sit here wordlessly, staring at the screen with wide eyes.

Teddy's the father of Dominique's child? How did Rose not know that he and Dominique had a thing! It seems like everyone else knows! Does Victoire have any idea? And THIS is why Teddy acted weird when Rose brought up Dominique's pregnancy in France!

Oh my God!

Onto other matters:

I loved Rose's conversation with Albus and Lorcan. Albus is one of my favourite characters, he seems so sweet! And Rose is so insulting towards him!

The scene with Ron was great, too. That is definitely so typical, that he lost Hermione's anniversary present! And I know I say this a lot, but I love the way you make all the conversations feel so natural!

Onto the next chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney DarkGame Over: Chapter 6

22nd February 2014:
Ahhh, this was a great way to end the story! You were definitely a deserving winner of the Uncomfortable Challenge, nice job!

I think Dann and James did an excellent job covering up their tracks and keeping a completely straight face while lying to Harry and the Aurors. The only thing is I now really want to know what James and Dann would get up to next!

Thank you for sharing this awesome story with us all!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for hosting the great challenge! I don't think I'd have tried something as ambitious as this without your ideas.

I'm so glad you liked what I came up with here. And thanks again for the lovely reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>