Reading Reviews From Member: Firefly Phoenix
  
106 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Firefly PhoenixFor Your Eyes Only: March 18, 2000: Croydon

9th January 2010:
Whee! Saw you on the front page so I figured I'd see if you updated, and you had! Very exciting. As you well know, this is a wonderful chapter - plenty of exposition, but it wasn't forced down our throats and the story kept a nice flow while setting the scene for what's going on. As for specific bits, you already know what I particularly like. :] Can't wait for the next bit!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you thought so! I was a bit worried that folks might find the exposition and setting-up tedious. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Firefly PhoenixFor Your Eyes Only: March 17, 2000: London

6th January 2010:
Aw, man, it totally didn't log that as one of my reviews... said I wasn't signed in... It was such a good review! I'm not usually that thorough. Oh well. Just know that I still really appreciated this first chapter! You've got room for improvement, as I'm sure you're aware, but I just know this story is going to be delightful all the way around.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all your beautiful efforts. You're a fantastic beta reader. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Firefly PhoenixBlink: Annie

2nd January 2008:
*leapeth upon you* Wibblesmidge! I am very excited about this marvelous fourth chapter of yours... So, here I am again, to bumble my way through yet another review. Brace yourself.


It was, as always, downright scrumptious and I gobbled it all down accordingly. I just love the way you write! Gaaah, there are no words to say what I think about you sometimes. Anyways! This entire story just gives me shivers. However, this chapter was a little... sprawling. It was long, but not in a bad way, because I can understand why it had to be long. Edwin is spilling out his guts (you know, after he's gone and spilled so many others), so he's got a lot to say about everything. It's just hard to process all of that information at once, so I'm reeling afterwards. That, coupled with the fact that Healer Walker is so... I don't know, crazy, it makes it quite the job to actually understand what he's SAYING, or what he may be trying to say, or didn't really say but you think he's saying. I don't know what I'm saying at this point, but what I mean is that it's a lot to take in at once, which may be why I liked the other chapters the most infinitesimal bit more. Just the most infinitesimal bit, mind you, I love them all dearly.


So... um, because I'm still sort of trying to figure out what the heck is driving this man, I don't really have much more to say, other than 'Bravo, my dear!' for finishing up another chapter and bringing such creepy, creepy joy into my life. I do hope this was constructively criticismy enough for you; I tried! I think! *doffs hat and bows out*

Author's Response: *braces self*

Sprawling, yes. Long, yes. In a bad way, probably... Though I'm glad I manage to give you shivers, dear! Tis one of the top goals, you see. I suppose I could attempt to be less... convoluted? Circuitous? Periphrastic? Well, I'll do something to make myself and Walker a bit more understandable. Though I'm afraid he's not going to get any less nuts... Regrettably, I think it's only downhill from here, love. But I shall endeavor to improve in this regard!

Creepy, creepy joy, you say? Sounds delightfully bizarre, much like you. I thank you very much for your constructive criticism and, as I've said, I will do my best to act upon it appropriately!

*waves* Toodle-loo!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Firefly PhoenixBlink: Polly

22nd December 2007:
Aaah! You know, you put this up ages ago and I was a terrible person up until this point because I simply did not make the time to review! *grovels at your feet* Forgive me?

I... This is so... Meyah, there are no words for how splendidly you write and I just want to have more and more and more because it's so delicious and deliciously evil and wondrous and altogether slimy, though in the best way possible, of course. I think I've said it before, the way you can make things so very real it is as if I am there, just watching it from mere inches away, all of it, all at once. It's entrancingly horrible, I'll have you know. I wish I could say more - I wish I could write beautiful things about nearly every sentence, honestly - but I think I'm completely incapable of remaining coherent for one moment more, and I'm positively sure I should be abed at this late hour. So, I'll have you know I am just hoping you have something of a fourth chapter written, or at least in your head, so that I may soon see it all put together and whatnot! *scurries away*

Author's Response: ...But now you'll have to forgive me for being a terrible person and taking forever to respond! *hangs head in shame*

And when I actually do reply... All I can do is stumble all over the place, dropping things and stammering "Thank you" a million times, because your praise is just ridiculously high and undeserved by me! "Entrancingly horrible?" You astound me! Truly!
*huggin* All I can really do is say thank you again! And again! Thank you, thank you, thank you, and I hope the fourth chapter is to your liking, and I'll get to work on the fifth chapter as soon as inspiration decides to whack me over the head again! Thank you! Aaaah! *runs away*


 Report Review

Review #5, by Firefly PhoenixBlink: In the Interest of Science

6th November 2007:
Fweeble! *dances around... but not really, because one shouldn't dance around in Government* I'm dancing inside, though! I am so wonderfully overjoyed by this! He's so terribly enticing, this Edwin Walker. And I never know what I want to say about everything I like! All I know is that I loff this. Loffedy, loff, loff. Since you were so kind about posting this chapter... the next may come soon? That would be quite marvelous. *wiggles* (I can get away with wiggling. It's almost normal.)

Author's Response: Yes, I do believe Mrs. Aguilar might be a bit suspicious if you were dancing around whilst she is explaining... I don't know, bicameral legislature or something. I really loooooove that you enjoy this... And I suppose I could put up the third chapter for you, my dear... Since you'll probably be the only one waiting for the fourth chapter, because apparently no-one else reads this story.
Thank you for the review, my lovely!
*huggin*
And do enjoy your wiggle!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Firefly PhoenixBlink: Jack

5th November 2007:
Gyuh! This, my dear, this is splendifully disconcerting and alarming and wonderful. I just - Hm. I was going to say something about what I liked best, but it's very hard... I think you have this really wonderful gift to make someone so real and alive and breathable, or something. I have no helpful words at all. I wish for you to put up the next chapter, please! *huggin*

Author's Response: You're tanfastic, my darling! *huggin in return* Anything for YOU, of course - the next chapter will be up within the next few minutes! *opens up Word*
Thank you so very much for your completely needless compliments!
*doffs hat*


 Report Review

Review #7, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Several Shades of Black

23rd July 2007:
All right, so I saw your first review for this chapter, and I'm sorry to say this is going to pale in comparison - both in depth and in length. First off, hurrah and congratulations on another stunning chapter! I was beyond exhilarated to find both you and Abby had new chapters up. I did a dance of happiness in my chair, which basically consisted of a lot of wiggling, due to the fact that I have a laptop... in my lap. Okay, I swear to stop babbling now.

Really, this chapter is wonderful: one, because it's humorous (I really don't know how you can make things so funny); two, because it's serious (Ah! the DH-Snape connections! Very nice touch, especially because it just came out and already you're incorporating it into your story); three, because Basil just takes the cake on being a ridiculous little Slytherin ("and Lyric Orion" *glazed eyes* - HA!); four, because Bellatrix is a manipulative, crazed little power monster (Read the papers, Rachie! Find out the evil she wants to soak you in! She's evil! EVIL!); five, because HOW COULD IT FREAKING NOT BE?! (Really, how?); six, because this chapter is long, but not in the least bit tedious to read.

I could come up with dozens of more reasons, but I think I'll leave you with this, because I can never seem to come up with the exactly right thing to say in my reviews. I cannot wait to hear more of Arachnae's days. If I could, I would reach out into the future to read what you have written then. I suppose it is terrible luck that my paltry attempts at creating a time machine have yielded nothing but failures as of yet. Since it seems this will continue to be the case, I do hope you find the time and inspiration to write more soon! If you find yourself at a loss, have a glass of milk. It sometimes helps, and calcium is good for your bones!

Author's Response: Oh, I'm sure any review of yours will be far more than sufficient! You actually have Abby to thank for this chapter, really, since she pushed me to actually finish the monster.

1. I'm glad I can make you laugh. 2. Well, the story has to be anchored by something, right? Especially considering it's not really in the humor genre... (And I simply had to do something about Snape, he's too amazing). 3. Basil's a silly little boy (who unfortunately has no idea just how little a chance with Lyric he has... But maybe everyone else would if YOU WROTE YOUR STORY, MISSY!) 4. Yes, she is. 5. It's entirely possible for it not to be wonderful, you know! 6. Good! It's the longest chapter yet, so I was hoping that wouldn't put anyone off.

To be honest, I can't wait to write more of "Arachnae's days," but at the moment I'm just waiting for inspiration to drop from overhead, hopefully in the form of a very well-thought-out outline of a chapter. I am sorry about your time-machine attempts, though, but I might suggest somehow incorporating a bendy straw. The things work wonders, really. And if that doesn't help, you could always use said straw to drink good, wholesome milk. Now I'm all thirsty. *goes off to find milk*

Thank you very much for the long, lovely review! *bows*


 Report Review

Review #8, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Slippery

24th March 2007:
MEYAHMEYAH! *glomp* I had no idea you already had another chapter written! I will say, you're a bit cruel, just letting me stumble upon this randomly. However, you more than make up for it with the splendiformity contained within in this chapter. I like Colbert - he's frightening, but a good solid character. And the little battle between Arachnae and Snape was, no doubt, very funny. The only thing I really can't wrap my head around is that Nae can see Merlin in Remus's hair. Bit strange, a bit funny, and a bit confusing.


Oh well. I'll live.


Also, the fact that Arachnae gives Bellatrix's paper away to Basil is very entertaining. This chapter, just like any other, deserves its own little award, or perhaps a place in a hall of fame somewhere, and the rating of 10, ten times over, and then 10 times over once more. Perhaps twice more. 100 times more? I can't even fathom such a sum, because my math skills are terrible, but hopefully you're catching my drift. I am too much in love with Arachnae, and everything she has to tell me. [i]I need more[/i]... This story is my secret, blackmarket, illegal, highly addictive, wonderfully potent drug.

Author's Response: Ah, sorry I didn't tell you. I was just so excited to finally be done with the thing I just had to put it up immediately (after a brief editing session, of course).
I like Colbert, too. He didn't start out as being important or anything, and then my neurons started firing. Crazy neurons.
About Merlin - I think my sense of humor is getting too weird for anyone other than me to understand. I really have no logical explanation for that phenomenon. It's just Nae, I suppose...

Ah, Basil. I'll be using him from time to time as a convenient little plot device. And... my, my, that number seems like it would be incredibly huge, and certainly wouldn't fit on my calculator without going into scientific notation. I'm flattered!
Thanks for the review - and I'll try to be quicker about getting you your fix this time.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Firefly PhoenixA Princess at Hogwarts: An Eye for an Eye, a Tooth for a Tooth

12th February 2007:
Oh, this was, again, just as splendid as the others! Ruthie is just something else, isn't she? Expecting to be apologized to, even! I'd be at wits end if I were any of her teachers. This chapter was just flawless, and left off at just the right spot. I can only believe that Ruthie will probably have a paradigm shift of thought if Rufus Scrimgeor is going to do what I think he is. She probably doesn't even know what being put over his knees signifies, she's so spoiled rotten. Oh, this chapter was practically delicious, it was so well written!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much!! *blushes* I'm so glad you thought it was good!! It was fun to write, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Yes, she is spoiled rotten. I would flip out if I was her teacher. Thanks so much for the review!! I'm so glad you liked it!! XD

 Report Review

Review #10, by Firefly PhoenixA Princess at Hogwarts: How Gryffindors Should Not Act

12th February 2007:
What an utterly terrible child! But no matter how awful Ruthie is, this story is wonderfully well written, and very good overall. I can't wait for the next installment to come!

Author's Response: Yay!! Thank you so much!! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Yes, Ruthie is horrible. I'm going to work on the next chapter soon. Thanks so much!! XD

 Report Review

Review #11, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Superman

15th January 2007:
Man, I love the vicious notes, the suits of armor, the unfortunate deskirterizing of Tia (oh yes, she was deskirterized - whether it's a word or not, that's indeed what happened), the fact that Remus may in fact have shiny, gorgeous dandruff.

I should just huggle you forever, how's that sound? You already know that you're the queen of grammar, and description, and details, and everything, so I should just bow down before you. *prostrates self at your feet*

That's about all I've got time for. Yeah. You're just splendid, and this chapter was splendid, and I'm so happy your computer is alive and well again, without permanent brain damage.

Author's Response: Look, I'm finally getting around to responding to this review!
'Deskirterize' reminds me of 'Detrunkate.'
Jeez, I always find it very difficult to respond to your lavish praise. What am I to do with you? Perhaps I'll just give you a big hug and leave it at that. And maybe a large "Thank you" as well.
So...
THANK YOU! *squee*


 Report Review

Review #12, by Firefly Phoenix:

25th December 2006:
Oh my gosh! I waited so long! I thought this was abandoned, at best, to tell the truth.

Honestly, I can't tell you what I think (if you should post more, or what I thought about this chapter), because I waited so long for you to post another chapter, I haven't read it in ages. I just can't remember much of the storyline right now. When I re-read it, I'll leave an anonymous review, I suppose. For right now, I'm just here to say, YES you're back!

I hope you're also coming up with chapters for your other stories. They were also good. :)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm soooo sorry for being gone forever! I guess I just stopped writing one day and forgot about it. Please, do re-read and let me know what you think. =D

And I have written 6 more chapters for Snape's Revenge all ready. They'll be up when the staff starts validating again. =D

I don't know if I will continue Long Awaited Love though. I think it's my worst story and I don't like it much anymore.

Thank you for reading and for the review. I've missed writing. I'll have a new one-shot up once I can. It's all ready written and ready. =D



 Report Review

Review #13, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: A Ceremony of Sorts

25th September 2006:
Lovely! I think I like the second half better than the first, though. It does not seem so... full, perhaps.


I do wonder, however, how many times Severus has read Spells of Sanguine - seems like something he'd keep underneath his pillow for bedtime stories. ^_^


Your sorting hat poem is incredible. I bow to you for that feat. *bows* I eagerly await the next second half. I wish I had half of Dumbledore's logic. Or, at least, he's logical lunacy.


I think this was the best bit, really:
“What’s your blood like?”
“Excuse me?!”
“Blood purity.”
“Does it matter?”
“What else does?”



Until next time!

Author's Response: Hmm... I'm guessing the non-full-ness had something to do with the amount of dialogue... But I may be crazy. And I am.
Thank you for the poem-directed praise! I thought I'd never get to use that thing...
Until next time, indeed! Look both ways before crossing the street, don't drink and fly, etc., etc., ad nauseam. *salutes*


 Report Review

Review #14, by Firefly PhoenixHarry Potter And The Hot Summer Nights: Into The Void

5th September 2006:
Oh how delightful! Luna is such a thrilling character (though I can't write her at all), and she had a lovely role in this chapter. I can't believe about - well, I won't put spoilers in a review, that's not nice to anybody reading them who hasn't gotten this far. But, you know who I'm talking about! A stunning, absolutely stunning, twist.

That, and all the Ron/Hermione love agony is just the best. I do so love them, and they're such a cute almost couple.

I simply cannot wait for the next chapters!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Firefly PhoenixHarry Potter And The Hot Summer Nights: At The Inn Of The Hog's Head

4th September 2006:
Oh, well, I've just spent my morning reading through this whole story (well, I'm not done yet, but I need a lunch break), and I find it fascinating. I love the plot, and the twists. I especially liked SPQR and the eagle - I studied Roman history, and I can spot the connections. Very nicely done. However, I have one question - this is taking place during the summer, yet you wrote that Ron walked through the snow in this particular chapter. I understand my knowledge of Europe is limited, especially when it comes to snowfall (I live in Southeast America), yet is it common for there still to be "snow-laden" ground, as you described?

Other than that, spectacular tale so far! I shall probably comment again once I get to the last chapter.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Firefly PhoenixThree Words: Three Words

31st August 2006:
Absolutely splendid. I did so love this passage in the book. The way it just slips out of Ron's mouth, without a second thought - it sent me into absolute R/Hr bliss. Your version of this particular scene in book six was wonderful, and I think it was just exactly what Ron might have been thinking, what with Lavender hovering like the annoying mosquito she was. If only she had heard those three words...

I think this deserves to be on my favorites list!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this positive review!!
Annoying mosquito.. fantastic!! Perfect description of LavLav... =)

I'm really happy you like this so much and thank you again for your lovely comments.
~Mon =)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Firefly PhoenixGive Us A Kiss, Minerva!: Give Us A Kiss, Minerva!

24th August 2006:
This is absolutely the most hysterical bit of Hogwarts mauradering I have ever laid eyes on. I love it, and am actually a bit heartbroken that it was only a one-shot. However, it was a perfect representation of the four, and is beyond compare of anything I've read before. Splendid!

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- I'm glad you liked it. It was my first attempt with the Marauders and they were a ball to play with. Thanks again -- your words meant a lot to me!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Train Ride

12th August 2006:
WOO! You've enchanted me once again, just like all the other times. Sheesh. What to say, what to say... Well, you've got to know that I love, love, LOVE it; and yet, sometimes that doesn't seem like a great enough compliment. Let's see...

I love how Arachnae and her dad can discuss where Platform 9 3/4 is, because it really should be closer to 10 than to 9, and I love that Benjy Fenwick got what was coming to him (er... just kidding!), and I love that His voice was like the chiming of a million tiny bells in perfect harmony, and if you can’t recognize the infatuation of a schoolgirl crush here, then I fear you have the perception of a used match.", and I also love that the first thing you see Nicci do is attack James, and that Lyric is her, how would you say it, usual self, and that Facetia is here, and that she can make even Arachnae speak, though she swore not to say a word to boys, and that those four little words could start a whole new world of magic and mystery and joy and tragedy and entire story that I cannot summarize for the life of me.

Yeah, I only wish I could say a dozen more things about this chapter, and this entire story, but it would be overkill, wouldn't you say? Again, I love this, perhaps too much, but that's just the way it has to be. 1395739529734043...... out of 10.

Author's Response: Eeeeek! So much praise, I don't know what to do with it! I dunno, platform 9 3/4 really does seem like it'd be closer to ten, you know? I was going to say the perception of a strip of tin foil, but it was either that or the match... It's such an insignificant little bit that I don't think it matters anyway =P And speaking of Lyric being her... You know I really, really want you to write that Lyric-fic...
Oh dear. That number is far too high O_O
Thank you much too muchly much for the titanically complimentary review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Firefly PhoenixDeath Is Kissing Her Children to Sleep: <b>Death Is Kissing Her Children to Sleep</b>

6th August 2006:
Oh dear. I'm afraid I haven't a thing to say that could truly convey my utter adoration of this story. It is everything that Bella is, really, and I can't say much more than that. Never, never have I read anything like this. It is too brilliant. 10/10, of course.

Author's Response: Oh my, I'm blushing as I write. Thanks a lot for your kind words. They've really made my day!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Queens, Quods, and Transfers

28th July 2006:
WOOOHOOO! And Hogwarts emerges in the plot! So, this will take place in sixth year? I thought it was fifth. Guess I forgot. Oh well. As I've said before: "It's splendid, and wonderful, and great, and all these other worthless adjectives that cannot fully describe the splederfulness of this story."

And a whole lot more fluffy reviewness would come, if it wanted, but I don't know what else to say.

Author's Response: Well, it was fifth in the RPG, but we changed it for whatever reason. I really have no idea. But thanks so mucheddy much for the repetetive compliments! They make me quite happy.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Firefly PhoenixNothings Fair in Love and War: This is as good as its gonna get!

17th July 2006:
Hm... It sounds good so far. I would, however, suggest a beta reader for grammatical errors, like punctuation and apostrophes. Also, look into spacing your work more, a space for every new paragraph. I shall be looking for the next bit!

Author's Response: Next chapter up and spaced and sorted!!! Thanks for reviewing!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Facetia

25th June 2006:
Of course, I must pinpoint my very, very, favorite part of this story. The secretive plot. It's my fault she's dead, and I won't condone that. It's rather like a bad behavior, isn't it? "I simply won't allow this to be! You must fix it at once! I cannot condone it!" But it can't be fixed, can it, Arachnae? It can't ever be fixed. Because Facetia is dead, and you admit it's your fault. But it's more than your fault, isn't it? Isn't it...?

Arachnae has all this goodness going for her. Too bad she found darkness much too delectable. At least she had a true, real, solid friend in Facetia. If only for so long.

Author's Response: Now don't go giving away the plot! I'll have to send the gnomes after you. And the gnomes don't eat with forks and knives...
Facetia rocks, hands down. I think Nae kind of takes her for granted, but I could be wrong. *shrug* Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Catalyst

19th June 2006:
And again, again, again, I find myself simply enraptured by a lovely chapter. That attic is purely horrifying, and yet tantalizing, and all these things, and yet it really isn't the attic's fault (yet I'd much rather put the blame on an inanimate object than dear old dad), and ... it's unexplainable. This whole storyline. It's simply too good to be true. Yet, it is.

Author's Response: Eep! I do so love your reviews. They make me writhe with glee. Thanks oodles!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Firefly PhoenixOf Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

25th May 2006:
Wow! Excellently done - I have never even given thought to what Harry's teachers must have thought of him and his apparent 'oddness'! What an interestingly done piece. I thouroughly enjoyed it, and it was just the right length, too.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this wonderful review. Your comments mean alot to me, and I am very glad to know you liked it and found it interesting.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Firefly PhoenixThe Itsy-Bitsy Spider: Rewind

24th May 2006:
MAHAHAHA! Delicious. You've got a very firm grip on this Dark Art angle, miss, and I applaude you in the way that only I can. Clap, clap, claps for you. Icarus is quite the devious man. Spider hands, spider hands. Ahh he's got the spider hands. That reminds me of the Spider Man song. But never you mind that.

I eagerly await the next installment. And didn't you have a ridiculously nice banner to go with this? I'd like to see it up here. It's very well done.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so very much for the uniqueness of the Kacie-clap. And now I'm going to have the Spider Man song stuck in my head...
I don't want to put the banner up. I don't like it. >__>


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>