Reading Reviews From Member: blackballet
  
165 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blackballetHealing is a Two Way Street: Chapter 2

1st August 2015:
I like this chapter as well!

The only major thing I had a problem with was Hermione seeing Ron when she was out for lunch. I think it was a little too predictable and easy for the story. The scene might flow nicer if Hermione didn't immediately recognize Ron. It might be better if she saw a familiar gait or habit, but it doesn't really catch her eye. Something along those lines may make it a bit more subtle and make the next scene have even more power.

Other than that, I really loved the chapter! I'm so excited for Hermione and Draco to interact in he upcoming chapters!

 Report Review

Review #2, by blackballetHealing is a Two Way Street: Chapter 1

1st August 2015:
Hi there, it's me from the forums!

I really like how you've begun the story. His stint in Azkaban really helps explain his softened behavior. I think his characterization was spot on for the purpose of this story! I'm really excited to continue reading.

I think the interactions with the trio were well placed, but I think that there were a few too many times where Ron was giving a disgruntled look or acting bored. With a dramione story, it is almost built in that Ron is the antagonist, so I think that it might have been one too many times that Ron was being disrespectful.

Other than that, the story is lovely so far! I love how you explained his journey as a death eater through vertiaserum. It really worked with how he acted through HBP, and I was really invested in that. You created a great backstory for your characters already!

I can't wait to read and review the next chapter.

blackballet

 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballetA Force Of Wills: Half and Half

31st July 2015:
Hi I'm here for a review swap from the forums!

I love Astoria's character so much. I am a little confused about her half-blood status. Is she a child born of an affair, or are all her siblings half-bloods? Anyway, I'm sure that will be revealed in the future, along with more of her alleged family secrets.


I really like your characterization of Malfoy, especially the fact that he has no shame. The bit where he blatantly stares at Astoria's neck really proves his arrogance and self-confidence.

I love how you got into the action so quickly as well, and I already feel as if there is a cliff hanger! I DETEST writing first chapters, so it was lovely to see one that was so daring and inspiring. Congratulations on that front.

I was also afraid of reading such a long first chapter, as I usually stick to 2000-4000 word chapters, but this didn't seem too long at. It was the perfect length, and definitely leaves the reader wanting more.

I'm happy to say that you've absolutely made me look at Draco in a new light as a love interest. I haven't read any Draco fics since my dark dramione days back in 2012!

Thanks so much and I can't wait to keep reading
blackballet

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you for stopping by! I am happy that you liked Astoria, she's a very complicated character to write for and I'm always glad that people love her. You actually don't find out about her half=blood status until much later on in the story but it's not what you think.

The Greengrass family secrets are more disturbing than you may realize but I won't spoil it for you. Hahahaha.

Malfoy is a spoiled little rat, he wouldn't find it in himself to be discreet about anything. Hahahaha. He wants Astoria and so, he's going to do whatever he can to have her.

I always write cliffhangers because I honestly have no idea what I'm doing most of the time, especially with a first chapter. Hahahahahhh.

Most of my chapters are long, I'm glad that you survived!

I'm not sure if you'll be able to look at Draco as a love interest for long but I'm curious to know what you think about him after chapter four. Hahahah. I hope to see you again!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #4, by blackballetNutshell: one.

23rd July 2015:
This seems like it is going to be so adorable! I can't wait to see where it goes.

blackballet

Author's Response: Hi, blackballet! I think I remember you leaving me a few reviews on some of my other stories so it's great to hear from you again. It will be adorable due to the Marauders being in the story (all four of them are adorable themselves) but also some angst because of Jodie's feelings. thank you for taking the time to drop me a line! Really appreciate it!

~Sama


 Report Review

Review #5, by blackballetfirst: first kiss

21st July 2015:
I'm so obsessed! The characters really brought me in. I can't wait to read more.

blackballet

Author's Response: Catherine, you beautiful person! Thank you! :D I'm definitely going to update soon since I have the firsts drafts of the last two chapters done.:D I'm glad you like it, though. :)

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #6, by blackballetL'optimisme: Silence

19th July 2015:
Hi there! I'm here from the Ravenclaw Review Battle for team Bronze

First off, I'd like to say that I love how you've started this first chapter. I think it really helps set up the tone and mood for the story, and flows together easily. It switches perfectly from an analysis to a narration of someone's (main characters?) life It doesn't seem at all forced, and eases nicely into the beginning of your story.
The introduction to Dumbledore and Grindelwald perfectly sets their relationship as well. It explains enough without being obtuse, and also reflects the acknowledgment of same-sex relationships in the 1800s- non-existent.
When Dumbledore begins recalling the events leading up to Ariana's demise, it is also clear that the story has taken a turn for the darker. It didn't give anything away, but I somehow immediately knew that something bad was going to happen. Your technique is SO thorough and subtle!
Finally, after Ariana's death, the silence comes back into play. The fact that you tied together all of this is so fantastic. It fit so well with the beginning and was not redundant in the slightest. It also fits very well with Dumbledore's canon character, and is something I could see him calling back on.
Overall, I loved this first chapter so much! It could definitely stand alone as a one-shot, and I can't even imagine how you've expanded on it. Thanks for such a lovely piece!

Blackballet

Author's Response: Hey there - thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much! It was strange writing it - I wrote the analytical part and wasn't sure to include it or not really, since I didn't know if it really worked as a section, so I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Yeah, I really didn't want to make their relationship incredibly overt, because, as you say, it wasn't at the time - but at the same time, it needed to be overt enough, because obviously they lived it, you know? Kind of a balancing act to do there...

Thank you! :) Ariana's death was one of those scenes which was so terrifying to actually write, because it needed to be right, I felt, so it was really hard to do. I really liked getting to tie it back to silence, too - though it wasn't planned at all, haha. And yeah, writing suspensful things is something I've worked on before this, so it wasn't perhaps as hard in terms of technique as it could have been (before I practised it I was so bad at it, haha), but I still struggled a bit with that scene so I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Thank you so so much for the lovely review - and thank you again for stopping by! It was such a nice thing to get; I'm just so glad you liked the story! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by blackballetNo Strings Attached: one.

18th July 2015:
Love it! Nice twist with involving Albus already. It separates itself from the cliche already with that. The characters were both introduced very nicely, and I feel like I already know them. I can't wait to see more!

 Report Review

Review #8, by blackballetThe monster within: Impertinent brats

27th January 2015:
I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS STORY! PLEASE CONTINUE AS SOOON AS POSSIBLE. (I love your characterization of Lucius)

Author's Response: Thank you! As much as I dislike Lucius I had a lot of fun writing about him. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by blackballetFlawless: Flawless

19th June 2014:
Oh my gosh! I never even considered Bill/Fleur because I don't really like Fleur, but now it makes me so happy! My absolute favorite part is the last couple of lines. They really wrap together Fleur's thoughts really well.

I think that in some spots you were a bit rambly, like when she spoke about her family. I didn't find it relevant to the task, and it distracted a bit from the point of the story. Other than that, I really enjoyed this.

My favorite part is that Bill doesn't seem to expect that she will tell him why she loves him. I think that's a great part of his personality that you pulled in slyly. He believes her on her word, and doesn't need reasons. She feels obligated to give him reasons because she just realized why she loves him, and is desperate to voice them.

Thanks so much for pointing me towards this one shot on the forums!

Author's Response: Oh, really? :O Bill/Fleur is one of my most favorite ships from the series. But I'm glad you gave the pairing a shot and my story made you like it! That's kind of the best compliment for me. :)

Well, thoughts never take one direction in my opinion. They tend to ramble. In this story, I had to write her whole thought process. I hope you get what I was thinking about!

Yeah, that's the difference between both of them. Also, Bill had told her why he loves her for so many times that she was too eager to return the favor. :)

I'm so happy you enjoyed my story! Thanks for the lovely review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #10, by blackballetFounding Hogwarts: Normandie

19th June 2014:
Hi there! I'm here from the review battle on the forums.

This was a great characterization of Godric Gryffindor. I love it when authors describe a character without saying directly I have red hair, I have green eyes, I'm 5"2, etc. (I still have trouble with it, but your imagery is SO spot on.

I also loved the third person narrative you have going on here. It gave me the sense that Gryffindor was watching over an opening feast one night. The jab at Salazar was great too, as it gave you a sense of rebellion coming from Gryffindor, which is so like the house.

This is so great, and I'm thinking I will be reading and reviewing your next couple of chapters soon!

blackballet

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yeah, I read fanfiction for several months before I started writing it, and one thing that I saw a lot was the "telling" of physical characteristics. I promised myself that I would try not to do that if possible. :) Don't worry--it takes a bit of practice to get characterization exactly where you want it. I'm still working on it! Thanks so much for pointing my characterization of Godric out. :)

Thank you! I wanted to try something different for this story, so I wrote it in second person PoV--hence the use of "you" so very often. Godric definitely watches over everyone like the protector he is, and even though he and Salazar are buddies, he never misses an opportunity for a jest at his friend's expense. :)

Thank you so, so much! I hope that my incredible tardiness with this response has not deterred you from wishing to read on. :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #11, by blackballetAshen Petals: Chosen

23rd March 2014:
This was so beautiful! Your imagery was super on point, and I was drawn in. I was actually really surprised and upset when it ended. I guessed Draco Malfoy when I first started reading, but then changed my mind to Tom Riddle when you wrote about him controlling the fire.

I also don't think it seemed rushed at all. Each of your sentences had meaning, and it worked really well. Love this one-shot so much. You're a great writer!

Author's Response: bb,

N'aww, thank you; this review brought a smile to my face like thaaat :) It's always reassuring to hear that the imagery was able to serve its purpose by being capable of drawing the readers in with its images.

This is another proof of how upset feelings of the reader means positive feedback for the writer. It might have the feel of lack, but I guess it's short length, like the spark of a fire, is what gave the fic more power.

Despite it being super short, I'm glad you don't think it to be rushed. Thank you muchlies for taking the time to review, you flatter me too much.

You're a great person!
~ Sevvy
*offers flowers*


 Report Review

Review #12, by blackballetSweet Madness: Cauldrons and Cheese

14th February 2014:
Oh this was so good! I especially loved the beginning because I don't think we get enough of a Severus first POV. I loved that he was working on a potion. I feel like as a student potions and Lily were his motivators.

I think this is really interesting and the teasing was very true to the marauders I think. I do, however, think that Remus would have been a little more skeptical of Peter's behavior. That's just how I characterize Remus.

Overall, I think it's a great first chapter and it's something different than the usual marauder fic.

Thanks for the great read!

Author's Response: Hi there! :D

You pin-pointed Snape's motivations perfectly!! I recognize a fellow Severus lover, there! :D
I'm glad you liked the teasing between the Marauders - I agree Remus is a bit OOC but I had to make it work without having the boys go on and on about Peter for too long and spoiling my lazy plan ;)

Thank you so much for the nice review!
I'm glad you liked the first chapter already - the second is being validated as we speak ^^
I hope I'll catch you again for the next swap :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by blackballetWaiting Room: Green Eyes Against Blinding White

14th February 2014:
ugh this is so amazing! I can't believe how long this was because I felt like it went by in a flash. I love James' characterization in the beginning and the fact that he still couldn't believe that Peter would do such a thing.

I also loved how Lily was portrayed as the one who would have it all figured out, because I sometimes forget how smart she is supposed to be.

I really love this and all your details are extremely well developed and well placed.

Can't wait to see more from you!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

The length of this one really got away from me as I was writing, so I'm glad that it didn't drag. I just enjoyed all of the little thoughts and details so much, I couldn't stop myself.

The sort of complimentary personalities you see here are how I've always imagined James and Lily. The brash, impulsive, somewhat irresponsible pureblood rich kid and the cautious, thoughtful, pragmatic muggle-born. The go so well together!

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by blackballetTruth Will Out: Breathe.

6th September 2013:
I'm here for the review battle!

This is so great! I've been seeing people raving about it on the forums, and I'm so happy I got a chance to review. I was trying to think of all the Next-Gen characters it could be, and I'm glad you made a new one (Frank the II).

It was actually really unexpected and I was very satisfied. There was one word I noticed, Veala instead of Veela, but I'm sure someone has already pointed that out and you just haven't gotten around to it.

I liked your characterization of everyone, and I almost wish this was a story! I want to know your characters more from this. Her progression was awesome throughout this, and I think it would be even better in a longer story. From her doubt that anyone would believe, to the belief in the muggle saying.

You're also just a great writer! So, great job I would say. Have fun in the battle!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review, it made me day reading it :)

Ugh, yeah I noticed it. My beta just got done editing this so I'll post an updated version with Veela instead of Veala soon. Thanks for pointing it out though!

I am prolonging this to a short story series...I think that's what it's called. The next chapter will be in Frank's POV and then there will be one final chapter.

That's the nicest compliment ever so thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by blackballetIn Sickness And In Health: Perseverance

5th September 2013:
I am here with your requested review!

I don't think this chapter was too fillery at all! I think that it was obviously important Harry and Ron found out. It was action-less, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

I really like this chapter and story, but something still bothering me is the name switching between mudblood and Granger. I think Malfoy should use either mudblood and Granger or Granger and Hermione. If he was calling her mudblood left and right, I really don't think Hermione would stand for it. Sorry, just me being picky about characterization again. I also think Harry was a bit too mellow and Ron was a bit too furious. I think Ron is more of someone who bottles anger up and then explodes like in DH2. Of course, he would be mad, but I don't think he would have screamed. Remember, he's matured from sixth year.

Speaking of Ron being mad, I still am finding it distracting that you use things like capitalization for screaming and ?!? for punctuation. It's just a personal preference, but that's really all I could think about for the rest of the chapter.

I think the best part for me was the scene where Harry, Ron and Hermione were just hanging out how they usually would. It wasn't a forced conversation or anything. They were really just being friends. It was very nice.

I liked this chapter, and I can't wait to read about Blaise and Pansy!

Author's Response: Hello! Yay! Thank you for reviewing :)

Oh good! I was very seriously thinking about trashing this chapter, because even though It really had important information for later on in the story, it seemed really blah and irrelevant to me. So i'm glad its not!

I understand where you are coming from in regards to the names. I will definitely look into that :) Same with Harry and Ron. I have always seen Harry as the more logical of the two, taking into account all factors, and he trusts Hermione's judgement above a lot else. Ron has always been the explosive tempered redhead to me. But maybe i should tone it down a bit.

Fair enough, i do know that it can break up the flow, so i will look into making it flow better and describe anger minus caps :)

Its was such a cool scene to write that one, because their friendship is so important to this story, and i don't want that to be forgotten, so scenes like this are great :)

I am just finishing the next chapter at the moment! Blaise and Pansy are going to be interesting characters to add to the mix, that's for sure :P

I'm so glad you liked the chapter! Thank you for reviewing :D

Grace :)



 Report Review

Review #16, by blackballetChanged: Changed

5th September 2013:
I'm here for the review battle!

I think this is so beautiful! I mean, all of these every word count challenge entries are. I think it's great that you've challenged yourself to work within boundaries because I think it really helps develop description skills.

I love her quiet sadness. I would actually love to read a short story or something about this character! I think it's very interesting that she left the life of an Order member to become just a muggle teacher.

It would be great to see the scene with her Frank and Alice, although it would be horrible to imagine. I've never even heard of the concept that someone else might have been in the room while it was happening.

The only thing I didn't like about this was the paragraph about how she changed from school. I feel like you used much better and descriptive words throughout your story. That paragraph seemed a bit juvenile for some reason. It didn't feel like the same narrator was speaking.

Overall, I really liked it! I think your writing is definitely promising and I really would enjoy watching you grow.

Author's Response: Hey there! :)
Thank you so much! The challenge of writing a one shot of such a short length was really challenging but fun. Illeana is inspired from the interview I watched on the TV. It was a survivor's interview and it touched my heart.
As I was sure about what Illeana would be like, it was easy to describe her through her life. Though I went through the chapter again and really found the paragraph you mentioned a bit off. I'll edit it later.
Thanks for the lovely review! You really helped a lot. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by blackballetHiding In Front of You: Hiding In Front of You

4th September 2013:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review, and I apologize for it taking such a long time!

Regarding the problems you mentioned on the forums: I think this was very interesting, and I always always want to read and write more about Alice and Frank at this time. It's not really widely recognized that they must have been just as scared as Lily and James. The dialogue was good and realistic. It was a nice tilt to Peter's character when Frank mentioned something about him acting strangely during the meeting.

I think your inner monologue with Alice was definitely a strong point, because that's mostly what this consists of. One sentence that struck me as odd was: Neville made his unsteady way over to.
It should be Neville made his way unsteadily.

It even scared me a bit when Alice saw the man and then Voldemort, but I'm a bit confused as to whether or not they're both Voldemort. That doesn't really matter, but I just had to mention that part because I could really feel her fear if you know what I mean.

Overall, I really liked this and I love what you've done with the characters and story!

blackballet

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I thought that Peter had to have been showing differences in his character about that time given that everyone seemed to remember that he was weak-willed.

I've made the correction to the sentence you pointed out. Thank you!

No, the first person at the window was a Death Eater scouting out the house. Voldemort only stopped by on Halloween.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by blackballetMoney Can't Buy You Love: Instability

2nd September 2013:
I'm here from the review battle!

I think this is a really lovely one-shot. I didn't know where you were going with it at first, but I like how it ended up. I think, at times, it almost felt too much like a first chapter to me. That was mostly in the beginning when you were introducing some of the healers. The first sentence is also a bit jumbled and full of words.

Now to the fun stuff! Blaise is so well thought out in this, it's crazy. Going through the marriages helped explain why he's been this way and it's a great addition to the Family Challenge. I felt a bit of a Sirius and Blaise parallel with the ending, but that's just because I am obsessed with Sirius Black.

The best part for me was definitely when he noticed the picture of his mother and biological father. I loved how that changes his mind. It was bittersweet. Like, even though his mother is dead, she's still teaching him things.

Awesome one-shot, and I'll look forward to seeing you in the review battle!

Author's Response: Hello again blackballet :) Thank you for the lovely review!

Originally this fic was going to be a chaptered fic rather than a one-shot. I will be going to edit, so will see if I can make it seem less like a first chapter and more of a one-shot (or maybe I'll end up adding more chapters :-0 but I doubt that!) I'll also have a look at that first line, I see what you mean about it.

I'm so glad you thought Blaise had been well thought out :) I was worried about writing Blaise for the family challenge but then I thought about how many times his mother had been married. It struck me that this instability in his childhood would have had an affect on him and his decisions in life. And haha, I too am obsessed with Sirius Black, he is my favourite character ;)

I am so happy you liked that part with the picture :) It was one of the first things I thought of when planning the story and the rest of the plot came from that, so it is really great you liked it :)

Thank you again for the great review!

Haronione ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by blackballetFree Fall: Free Fall

30th August 2013:
I am here with your requested review!

I love the second person POV! I think it would be hard to do an entire novel like this, but it worked really, really well in this. It somehow multiplied the emotions and made it even sadder, more depressing. Which is unfortunately a good thing.

I think the flow of it works very well, and I love how you broke it up. However, people tell me that my stories don't flow very well so I would get a second opinion. I really enjoy the abrupt sentences and scene changes, so that's why I think it flows nicely.

I'm definitely moved by this, and I love the repetition in this. It gives it an overall sadness that one thing can fit so well into so many aspects of her life. Very well done.

The only CC I have is that it was a bit too vague in some places for me. I love your use of vagueness, and I'm not saying AT ALL to get rid of that. It's very poetic. I just think you could use a couple more literal words instead of imagery and symbolism. You also have a couple of words misspelled/misused, so scan this over for those when you have time!

I really loved this, I did. I only mentioned what I did to help you make the one-shot it's absolute best!

blackballet

Author's Response: Hi there!!

Thank you so much for the review! I will get a look at those misspelled words asap ;)

I'm really pleased you liked the POV, it's only the third time I'm trying it out, so it's still a bit rough around the edges.

Yeah, vaguenes. I get what you mean, but I really want that poetic feel to it. The metaphors and symbolisms are how I love my one shots. But I totally get where you're coming from, so thanks for the input - it's really useful!

Thank you so much for reviewing. It really means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #20, by blackballetWaiting for the Train: Waiting for the Train

30th August 2013:
Hello, I am here with your requested review!

I think this is a really good start to the story, and I like how you introduced a professor so early. The envy from the older girls to Victoire was evident and very realistic. Your dialogue is very easy-going and your description is very nice. In the very beginning you definitely had the best description. I also like your characterization of Victoire. Most people depict her as very snarky and a bit vicious, but I like her all sweet and innocent like this.

Other than that, I don't really have much to say. This was a pretty interesting start, and I am excited to read more. I'm looking forward to your re-request!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I never read any depictions of Victoire so it is sort of a surprise too learn that.

I have a number of paths this story can go so it might be a while before I continue with it, either it being a short story or even a series of short stories.

On a role-play site I play both Fleur and Roger (Professor Davies in case that fact was missed) which is why I have a bizarre affinity for writing them. I have a practice rp between the two that I thought could make a good short story or two (I can link the rp to you if you want).

Again thanks for the help :)

JP


 Report Review

Review #21, by blackballetI Saw Him Once : I Saw Him Once

29th August 2013:
I'm here with you requested review!

I definitely think this is very original. I've never read something about Luna out in the woods trying to find a creature. It's something very in character, and I love that her advanced knowledge is shown when she corrects Ned on having his wand out.

I think the song worked relatively well throughout the story. The only part that was a bit strange was the ending. it said something about her running away but then she came back and they were married. I understand that they married some time later, but when it says she ran away, it shouldn't be so literal. It's really tiny though, and I only pointed it out because you asked me to.

I generally really liked it and I thought all the regular checkpoints like flow and grammar were there and executed well. I think you could have a bit more description about how her voice was flowing and had a thin, quiet, but wise tone. Something like that to make it more Luna-esque.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this! I look forward to more being requested of me.

blackballet

Author's Response: Hello! I'm super sorry its taken a little while to respond to this, I can respond to shorter reviews on my phone but I prefer to answer longer ones on my laptop which has been broken!

Anyway, I'm really glad you thought the premise of the story was suited to Luna's character. I'm pleased you picked up on her advanced knowledge, I think Luna is portrayed in fanfiction far too often as a ditzy type but she's a ravenclaw for a reason ;)

I appreciate all of the CC, the ending definitely needs some tweaking. Description is something I'm trying to work on and your advice about her voice is great.

Thanks so much for the advice and the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by blackballetTurned to the Dark Side: Gone For Good

28th August 2013:
Hello there! I am here with the promised review from my challenge.

I think this is a good start, but I have a few things to say about it. I don't mind your POV switches, and I even use them in my own stories; it's just, I don't think it's necessary to underline everything. It seems to take away from the story and is a bit distracting. Also, in the part with the flashback, instead of using 'start of flashback' and 'end of flashback' you might consider using linebreaks which are found in the editing box on here. They are much cleaner. Some of your paragraphs, especially the one about her family, are too long. Try cutting them up a bit to make it more readable.

Other than all that, I'm really happily surprised with this. I knew Hannah would be a hard one, but you've done so well so far with the plot. I really do like it a lot, and I think you've used everyone's paranoia towards the Slytherins very well. It even seems like a Hufflepuff thing for her to be so accepting of Blaise.

Considering everything I've said, I think this is really great so far. I hope to read more of it in the future.

blackballet
P.S. I would watch out with the overuse of capitals for screaming. Try using more description instead. It will make you a more professional writer and your story will read much better. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'll take everything you've said into writing this story and other stories I'll write in the future. I'm glad you liked the story overall, and thanks for all the tips! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by blackballetIn Sickness And In Health: Healing in Hell?

27th August 2013:
I'm back again with your requested review!'

This chapter developed quite nicely, and I preferred it over the first chapter. Their interaction was very in character, so that was done nicely. I think that if anything Draco went from mudblood to Hermione too quickly. If he used another word besides mudblood at the beginning, or continued using Granger instead of Hermione it would make more sense to me.

When you said coma-lie, I'm sure you meant coma-like, but that was the only spelling mistake I noticed. Other than all that, I think you gave off the information very smoothly, and it all makes sense. It doesn't really seem too random if you know what I mean.

Thanks for requesting, and I hope you get your next chapter up soon.

Author's Response: Hi !

Oh good, I'm so glad to hear you say that!! It has been my worry about this chapter ever since i first wrote it, so its good to know it does flow okay! Okay cool, that is something that I will look at and change, thank you :)

Opps yes that's supposed to be come-like! I'll go back and change that when I put my third chapter up! Good to know that all my information makes sense! Yay!

I will try my best to get it up soon!

Blondie


 Report Review

Review #24, by blackballetGravel on the Ground: From the Ashes: Chapter 2

26th August 2013:
I'm back for your requested review!

This one was definitely the most informative, and I'm glad we got to know more about Sadie. I think you introduced her character to us (the readers) very nicely. Sometimes when I'm writing I'm bad at giving information and it comes off like I'm listing things. You've done a great job, though. Awesome Mrs. Weasley!

You have definitely got your hands full with all of the little nooks and crannies that Sadie has. What with her being unable to speak, Harry's cousin, a fourth year, etc. I would just recommend getting it all planned out if you haven't already because I know complicated OC's can get a little hairy when you reach the middle of the story. (Personal experience)

I think you've definitely got the characterization of the entire Weasley family down. Nice job! I think Harry might have been a bit more pushy, because that's around the time he got all angsty, but he's still really good. I really think you've got solid characters, especially when Hermione told them not to pry. It was very in character.

Great job once again, and keep writing this! I'm really looking forward for another request of yours.

blackballet

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to offer these reviews! They are very nice!

I have the "listing things" issue as well. I had to think for a long time to find a way to introduce Sadie without falling into that trap. Makes me very happy that you think it worked.

Oh, you liked Mrs. Weasley? Cool! I worry about writing her sometimes. I like to do it, and I feel like I understand her pretty well, but I don't want her to be too overly motherly, if you know what I mean. That's a huge part of who she is, but there's more as well.

I know. Sometimes I yell at myself and say, "what were you thinking with this plot," but I just really feel like it's how the story should go, so I'm going to try and maintain the balancing act. I have a lot of it planned out, and I actually have scenes written out for Sadie through many years, so hopefully that will help me maintain her character and keep things straight.

I do love my Weasleys, so thank you very much! And thanks so much for all the compliments! Your reviews have been so much fun to read. I will make sure to re-request when I put up the next chapter.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #25, by blackballetIn Sickness And In Health: The Battle

26th August 2013:
I am here with your requested review from the forums!

You really jumped right in! I liked that a lot, because many authors, including myself, are afraid to do that. Your description is overall very good, if not a bit spotty in some places. The part where Harry comforted Hermione was very nice, as well as when they were walking up to the castle. It's lacking in some other parts, but it's not noticeable unless you are looking for it.

I don't know if the small scene with Hermione and Draco was placed quite at the right time. It broke up the flow a bit for me, and seemed forced. I think it might go better if Hermion sees him at the end of this chapter, and it spills over into the next. But that's just my opinion! I think if you reworked it a bit it will work nicely inside this chapter.

Something else I noticed was that you refer to Hermione and Harry with their last names, which I don't think is necessary, as we are already going to assume that you are talking about them. It would've worked with an OC, but everyone knows Harry and Hermione!

Finally, your characterization was really good for the mindset that your characters are in at this point. I liked Draco's little period of reflection, and I can't wait to read more about his relationship with his father.

Very nice overall, and I'll be waiting for another request!

blackballet

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for such a great review!!
I'm glad you think that jumping right in was a good idea. I ooohed and aahhed about it for ages when i first wrote it, wondering whether or not people would feel uncomfortable starting so abruptly, but i figured because the main attention isn't on the war in this story that starting there shouldn't be too much of a problem.

I was worried about the scene with Hermione and Draco also. It is one that i'm hoping if i get a Beta i can go over with. I'm not good with plot flow, it's one of my weaknesses and i need to try and strengthen on it. Hopefully i will!

I didn't even think of that! I'm going to go back now and re-edit it! Thank you for pointing that out haha!

Oh that's awesome, i do get worried about my characterization so to hear that it seems right for the time is a good relief!

Thank you very much, i have just gone and re-requested!! Thanks for reviewing!

Blondie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>