Reading Reviews From Member: MissMdsty
  
279 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissMdstyTales of the Death Hunters: Shades of Anger: Malice

1st September 2014:
Dan!

I haven't been online in forever but seeing as tonight sleep wouldn't come without fanfiction I had to check out your AP as well.

And I was so excited to see you had a new (chaptered!) story, so of course I dove right in!

This was intense and really dark. I loved it!

One of the things I was most excited about was how it was written from an OC's POV (great job on the German inspired names, that was a nice touch). This character made no apologies and as always, you did a wonderful job of taking us for a stroll in the mind of the bad guys.

I think this really captured an aspect of the war that wasn't really developed in the books, the fact that while the trio searched for Horcruxes, a real, honest to God war was happening in Europe and that people in conflict are very ruthless and very cruel.

When he started interacting with Mary I got a huge shiver up my spine. The whole setting, the man who was getting ready to flee the scene, the woman walking inside the house where two bodies were already stashed in the basement, it felt like the start of a horror movie.

The fact that this character was given a canon background, as a Durmstrang alumni, makes it all round up very nice. I remember how Krum was saying at the wedding that some pupils of Durmstrang favored the Dark Arts.

And the Auror scene! That made my little "law" alter ego warm and fuzzy. I love a good hostage negotiation. And lastly, I just loved how Mary stood up for herself in the end and made sure he wouldn't get away with it. Lovely twist!

I haven't done this in forever and I'm probably rambling like a lunatic right now, so I'll just go read the next chapter now!

Ral

Author's Response: Ral! What a pleasure!

I felt like I was taking a gamble by writing the first chapter from the PoV of a completely unknown original character, but I'm pretty pleased with how it turned out. Kaspar is a nasty piece of work, a mean-spirited pureblood fanatic and a completely remorseless killer. You're absolutely right, there was a war going on around Harry during the horcrux hunt and it was touched on only in the barest sense in Deathly Hallows. Although I suppose DH would have had to be 3,000 pages long to give it even a halfway decent treatment. At any rate, that loss is the fan fiction writer's gain. We get to have fun exploring all of those unwritten events.

That's pretty much the reaction I was going for with the interaction between Kaspar and Mary. Just one more way to emphasize what a terrible human being Kaspar was. Of course, Mary had a few tricks of her own.

Wow, I didn't think very much about the hostage negotiation, honestly. I'm glad it was good. ;) The whole point, obviously, was to give Mary time to shake off the Imperius Curse. More on this topic in the next chapter.

Aww, you're not rambling! I really enjoyed this review. I love finding out which parts of a chapter make an impression on people.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MissMdstyDetox: Epilogue

12th November 2013:
Oh Dan! Where do I begin?

I begin by saying I know I haven't reviewed chapter 15, but I just had to get the feelings out for this. The last chapter of Detox.

It was perfect!

I loved how you described little Scorpius, who was so similar to Lucius that it gave me the creeps. It's really something that makes you think about how certain things skip a generation. And I never thought that Scorpius could have that mentality so I loved how, as always, you made me think about things.

The second part, from Draco's POV. I loved the parallels with the original epilogue, how Scorpius still had that little fear that all kids have when going to Hogwarts. And the fact that Draco had second thoughts about how his son would deal in such a world. Also, the fact that the thought of him fighting with Rose and James and Albus as making powerful enemies. That just made my day.

It was such a heartwarming chapter and the ending was absolutely perfect! This has been such a lovely journey and I enjoyed discovering Draco through your writing so much! Thank you for that! And thank you for the mention in the AN.

Again, congratulations on completing this wonderful story and I'm curios to see what you cook up next!

Author's Response: Hi, Ral!

There are feelings all around. It felt good on one level to say that I made it, but also a bit sad.

Scorpius has definitely been influenced by his grandfather, but he's a little too smart to take everything that Lucius says at face value. Scorpius had a very sheltered childhood, so he's very close to everyone in his family. Don't worry, his mentality will change a great deal after he arrives at Hogwarts. ;)

That's mainly what I was going for: showing the events of the Epilogue from a different point of view. Scorpius's fears are almost exactly the same as Albus's, and Draco's approach ends up being very similar to Harry's. Draco does think of things in very political terms, even school rivalries.

I'm so pleased that you've been there to take that journey with me. Thank you for all of the feedback and support along the way!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissMdstyThe Calendar Girls: Hirrandipopping

21st October 2013:
Hey there! I came back for some Autumn/Louis goodies and I was not disappointed. But one thing at a time.

I loved how much detail the girls put into planning the birthday party. It's so amazing to see the kind of friendship these girls have. And having Dom and Roxanne as the Weasleys who are part of it is more amazing, because I feel like they get somewhat overlooked in NextGen stories. The stories about them growing up and the trouble they made. If I were their parents I'd always have some Veritaserum at hand to get the truth out of them. Or maybe Polyjuice Potions to infiltrate enemy ranks... Yeah that's me channeling my inner RtF feels.

I liked the bit about them saying they have super human hearing abilities, as opposed to just showing the others the map. It's things like these, where we know but the character doesn't that I really like. Although, Autumn should suspect something is up, history has shown us that Filch can be avoided only by map, cloak or Felix Felicis.

And Autumn and Louis oh the shippyness. Yes, I invented a word. No, I am not sorry, because you made me search for "Hirrandipopping" and I sat there in shame as all search results lead to your story. I feel like just slipping them some Amortentia or something and getting this show on the road. The romantic tension between them is something you can cut with a knife. Maybe don't give them Amortentia, give them Kissing Concoction. Knowing these characters though, they'd probably end up mixing Pepper Up Potion or something like it by accident, so scrap that whole plan.

I really liked getting back into the atmosphere of the girls' life at Hogwarts and their wacky adventures and I will proceed to poke you from time to time to update! *pokes*

Great chapter lovely! :)

Ral

Author's Response: RAL!

Rereading this review, I sat here blinking for about a minute before remembering the context in which it was written. ;)

The girls' friendship makes me so happy. I write their interactions with a huge, goofy smile every time. Roxanne and Dom do get overlooked most of the time, I agree -- it's part of the reason I chose to write about them (and also because I felt writing an original take on Rose would be difficult and I was lazy).

Autumn will find out about the map and cloak eventually! I just feel like the way everyone in Next Gen stories knows about them is odd and that Harry wouldn't want the entire world knowing.

Hahaha, I'm not sorry you had to google hirrandipopping! All credit goes to Sophie. And I'll be stealing shipyness, it looks funky. THERE WILL BE MORE SHIPPYNESS TO COME.

*pokes back*

Thank you darling! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by MissMdstyDetox: Clarity

18th October 2013:
Hey Dan!

I read this a few days ago when it was posted, but now I've come back to review.

Where to start... This has to be the best chapter yet. It was packed with so much action and fighting and feels, I am overwhelmed! But in a good way!

I really enjoyed seeing what went on in Draco's mind as he rushed to Astoria, to save her or fix it or whatever he would find there. The tension build up was amazing and the way in which he analyzed what was going on, flawless.

I liked the fact that the whole fight between Gamp and Draco took place in front of Astoria and her family. It's the kind of "cold shower" I think she really needed, because up until this point, Draco's world was something she knew hypothetically, not something she had had a first hand experience with. Though I am sad that she had to witness it like this, with her father on the floor and her sister torn between her marriage and her family.

The duel with Avery was impeccable. It kept me on my toes and I was so nervous. It seemed for a while there that Draco did have the upper hand, but then again, Avery has been around since the First War and his skill and madness would make Draco's pale by comparison.

And then Draco told Astoria "I love you" and I just lost it. It was such an intense chapter, filled with so many emotional moments, but that one just made me tear up. Partly because of the raw emotion you managed to convey in this chapter, but mostly because I think of your Draco stories as a timeline. We started with "Marked", now "Detox" and then "Conspiracy of Blood". And that one moment, when Draco stopped and looked at her, just to tell her he loves her, it's something I can't quite express. Because he could have died. Those people wouldn't think twice about killing him, they have killed before. It was a life and death situation and he wanted his last words to her to be "I love you", beyond fear, or hate, or the struggle for power, he wanted her to know she was loved. What could be more powerful than that?

And then you changed the rules of the game again, when the real person behind this showed up!

I know you said this was originally a bigger chapter, split into two parts, and you chose the place where it should end perfectly. I'm a little sad that this story is almost done, I've grown to like Draco when you write him!

This was amazing Dan! Really! I am so blown away by how much emotion and feeling you packed up in a few thousand words! Brilliant!

Author's Response: Hi, Ral!

If you feel like the story is still getting better this late in the game, I guess I can't do much better than that. Thank you!

Everything that happens after Draco arrives in the great room was eye-opening for Astoria's mother. Her father is already unconscious by that point, unfortunately. Still, it certainly helps his case. Astoria also learned a great deal about the things Draco has dealt with in his life. Aside from her brief encounter with the Ratcliffe family, dark witches and wizards were mostly hypothetical to her up to this point. Now it's all very real.

Whee! The duel between Draco and Avery was fun to write. Avery is past his prime and not in the best physical condition, but he's still wily and vicious.

When Draco tells Astoria that he loves her, I felt like that was as close as he'd come to believing he was going to die in this story. He wanted to make sure that she understood why he'd chosen to come find her. To give you a bit of a sneak peek, Astoria has her own little "aha moment" in the next chapter on what it means to truly be in love.

The mysterious new arrival adds a twist to things. I promise not to keep you waiting too long to find out who he or she is and why they're there.

I'm really, really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MissMdstyDrafting the Script: I.

15th October 2013:
Hey there!

This was such an emotional story. It moved me and it touched me and it was just too perfect for words.

The characterization was spot on, for both Luna, who being presented in canon is always challenging to write, while keeping her true to her nature, which makes her unique.

Ollivander gave off the exact same vibe he did when I read him in the books. The kind of man who is mysterious without trying, mostly because he knows so much about obscure things like wandlore.

I liked how you made a timeline for them, starting with their imprisonment at the Manor, and the fact that they grew close, since it was only implied in DH, when he sent her a new wand. The fact that Luna chose to have him at her wedding was really sweet and something that I think she would do. I also liked how you had her tell him about Rolf, because it was really refreshing to see that despite her general personality, our Luna grew up and fell in love.

The last part broke my heart into a million pieces. It was so heartwarming how she went to his bedside, and that was the last moment they saw each other. It made for a bittersweet ending. His thoughts on Luna, as being a "bright eyed creature" made me tear up. Those three words sum her up prefectly!

This was a lovely piece of writing and I am so happy to have come across it! Good job! :)

Ral

 Report Review

Review #6, by MissMdstyDetox: A Break with the Past

2nd October 2013:
Hello again! :)

I was really happy to see that you didn't skip the whole Manor scene and just move past to the aftermath. I was really excited to see that we get to witness a fight scene and what a fight scene it was!

What I was most impressed with (because fight scenes are really hard for me to write, so any coherent fight scene, especially of this caliber, blows my mind) is the way in which Narcissa remained centered throughout. For me she is one of the strongest female characters in the series (she lied to Voldemort's face. She hid the fact that Harry was alive right under his nose... That's a horrible pun, moving on) and she sort of radiated power and self control throughout this whole fight scene and maintained balance.

Lucius losing his mind is something I expected and for him to relive the Battle of the Department of Mysteries makes so much sense, since to our knowledge it was his darkest hour and it was the starting point of his fall from grace and the troubles in his family. Following the conversation they had in the previous chapter, I think that battle made such a big impact on Lucius' subconscious because it was the source of his son's troubles. That lead to the events we saw in "Half Blood Prince" and in "Marked". I guess that on some strange and twisted level he is trying to make it right for his son by winning that battle.

Moving on from Malfoy Manor to Astoria's house, I just find her and Daphne's conversations so hilariously inappropriate. Having a younger sibling myself, I could never have those kinds of talks. It's better as the older one to keep an air of mystery around oneself and be regarded as somebody who knows what they're doing, instead of shattering all illusions that you somehow mastered the secret of life. In my opinion. Although, in the whole Astoria/Daphne dynamic, I think Astoria is the one who is "older", mainly because she realized at a young age that life isn't about being "Mrs. Somebody", but also about being your own person.

And thank you so much for the cliffhanger. I honestly missed one of those! Now go write because I need to know what happens next, the curiosity is killing me over here!

You did such an amazing job on this chapter, it was a pleasure to read! :)

Author's Response: Hi, Ral! It has taken me ages to get around to answering these reviews. Unconscionable, I say!

I never would have dreamed of skipping the Manor scene. For Lucius and Narcissa, I thought this was *the* key scene of the entire story. It shows that the Malfoy family as a whole is finally moving on from their past. Lucius might not fully realize he's doing it, but that's another aspect of the situation. Narcissa and Draco really assume leadership of the family at this point.

I enjoy writing Narcissa in anything that happens after Lucius is arrested in the Department of Mysteries. Her entire character changed for me in Spinner's End. It became plainly obvious that she really was willing to do anything to protect her son, including defying the Dark Lord's direct orders. What's a little dust-up with Gamp and Flint compared to that?

Poor Lucius has lost the plot, as the Brits say. He has moments of clarity, like we saw in the last chapter, but under duress he loses his handle on reality. To me, he was sort of careening back and forth among lots of different memories, some in the Department of Mysteries and others from the first war. The only thing that matters, I suppose, is that he kept fighting.

Daphne and Astoria have an odd relationship, no? Most of the time Daphne tries to play the protective older sister. When she's upset, however, the roles seem to get reversed. Daphne is alarmed to see her marriage in trouble after less than a week and she's desperately hoping that her calmer, more rational younger sister will think of something that she's missed.

I promise that I'm trying very hard to wrap up the next chapter. The ending is pretty easy, but getting the beginning right is killing me. Back to work...

Thanks so much for all of your awesome support and reviews!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MissMdstyDetox: Climbing Back

1st October 2013:
Guess who? :)

Dan, you are evil! I swear, you are so evil! My insides turned to ice when I read the ending of that chapter and now I'm rushing through this to get to read the next one!

I loved how you described Astoria's heartache and her depression. That's kind of how I felt at 16, 17 when I had boy trouble. You have such a way with words, that you just spin this image into the reader's head of a girl lying on the floor in her own misery and it just tugs at your heart. I felt for her, really. And the whole process, from being sad and depressed to deciding to do something to mend this, it was so natural and flowed so nicely. I'm impressed!

Draco's boss reminds me of Umbridge. She uses her power and authority to legally abuse the system. I actually think it's a form of bullying, what she's making Draco do, reliving his memories of Bellatrix. I can understand that from an academic POV she might be fascinating, but when I studied criminology we didn't look to the victims' opinions of the events. Because that is just wrong.

And I had such hope in my heart when I realized Narcissa might have the answer to all of Draco's problems. Mother knows best, after all. But that ending. I was just so excited that maybe everything would work out, and BOOM! It isn't going to because those creeps stumble in being creepy and creeping me out. You get the point.

Now I have to go read chapter 13, maybe I'll find some peace of mind!

This was an amazing chapter as usual, I'm sorry I didn't get to read it sooner! My loss :) Good job!

Author's Response: Hi, Ral!

So... about that peace of mind thing... Sorry. /shrugs helplessly

As is usually the case, I had some good pointers and suggestions on how to be a heartbroken teenage girl from Jami and sophie. I really don't know what I'd do without the two of them. I'm glad you liked all of the small details. I tried to imagine the sorts of things that you wind up staring at when you're depressed and miserable.

Madam Blishwick is a social misfit, but she's no Dolores Umbridge. I don't see her abusing the system so much as she simply doesn't comprehend how people could misuse her work to do very bad things. She's a pure academic, and dark magic is just a big, endlessly fascinating research project to her. She also doesn't see Draco as a victim, because she has no idea how awful the war was for him and he isn't about to share that with her. It's just a bad situation for him to be in.

Narcissa has the answers to *most* of Draco's problems. Unfortunately life keeps adding new problems to the list. All I can say is that things will work out. We know they do. It's just not going to be as tidy as you might like. ;)

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissMdstyReason to Fight: L'Envolée

1st October 2013:
They made it out! They made it out! I am so happy I could squeal right now!

This chapter brought me back to the first chapters of this story, when we were just getting to know these characters and each chapter had these paragraphs dedicated to just one of them.

I loved the Camille/Xavier part. It gives me the warm and fuzzies. It's like, they are all in this huge storm, but these two have each other to cling to, even if it is on a subconscious level. I think at this point each of them represents the memory of a happier time for each other and I also think this will prove important later on, as the war gets worse and worse.

I can't even begin to comment on the Simon part since it breaks my heart and oh God... it makes my skin crawl.

But the end of this chapter made me so happy! I think it's the first small silver lining we've seen in RtF in a long time. Maybe he'll meet up with the gang and they can all plan a move on the camps?

There are no more chapters? :( Well, I'm finally caught up and I can't wait for the next update, so I'll be sure to ask often! :P Great job, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MissMdstyReason to Fight: Entrée par effraction

1st October 2013:
Awww, I get a special mention! That made me blush! The nominations were well deserved.

The first part of this chapter was something taken from my worst dreams, with the lack of pain killers and everything about it. You would think that who ever gave them these missions would throw in some Healing for Beginners pamphlets.

I liked the part about the potion Camille was making. It's refreshing to be reminded that in the middle of all this chaos and death, these are still witches and wizards who can just whip up a cauldron and mix in some stuff and brew up a Potion. It gave me a very homey feeling.

The action scenes. Oh my God! I wish I could write action like you do! There seems to be such a order and a discipline in everything these characters do and I am so jealous right now of your plotting and scheming abilities!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MissMdstyReason to Fight: Je ne t'aime plus

1st October 2013:
Guess who?

First thing's first, you are the first happy recipient of a post-exam review :) Second, this is the first review I've left on the new layout. Isn't this your lucky day?

I really liked the way you incorporated the flashbacks and the periods in which the characters were lost in their own thoughts in the whole of this chapter. It's actually something I appreciate about your writing style, the way in which you incorporate these smaller story arches (like the Camille/Xavier romance) into the main story, which is of course the war and it's impact on the lives of those caught in its path.

I absolutely adored the descriptions with Camille and Xavier in this chapter. It creates such a comfortable and safe environment around the pair and your words were so spot on it made my heart ache for Camille. This, in particular, struck me as something you might read in one of those classic, epic, timeless love stories: "But she'd loved him viscerally, entirely, so badly it had hurt sometimes just to look at him, as if her heart was about to burst out of her chest."

That is just perfection in words. And that ending. Okay, I am super curious what's going to happen so I'm ending my review here and going to see what happens next!

Lovely chapter my dear! As always, great work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MissMdstyHouse Cup 2013: Scabbers' Holiday: According to Plan

30th August 2013:
Hello there! I'm here with your review for the Review Exchange!

This story caught my eye since the beginning, I haven't read a story from Peter's POV in rat form. How he managed all those years is something I will never understand.

I liked that you captured the whole atmosphere surrounding the Weasleys and their hectic home life. It's never easy when there are so many people to organize and when you put Fred and George in the mix, it's a recipe for disaster.

I didn't quite get what the crocodile deal was, but once I realized it was Charlie I think I laughed for a solid 5 minutes, just picturing him walking about like the one in Peter Pan. At least Charlie didn't tick.

There were a few things I really loved. One was the line "This never happened when Percy was my owner". Apparently, Ron was a big part of why things always happened around Harry. The second was how Ginny reminded Scabbers of Lily and he felt that little twinge inside that maybe was remorse. And lastly, the fact that the spell to make something yellow didn't work on the rat, because maybe it was a human?!? Really, a house full of wizards and nobody caught that!

That reminded me of a picture I saw online some time ago, with Molly handing Ron the rat at the beginning of the PoA movie and it was captioned "Ron, don't forget the important plot device!"

All in all, this was a very original idea, having this written from Scabber's POV and I loved everything you did with it. I think you captured the Weasleys as a whole perfectly, but still managed to keep their individual personalities.

One thing I spotted was this:

“The ministry will sought this out,” - I think maybe sort it out? Sought this out has a strange ring to it.

Good job! I really enjoyed it!

Ral

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Haha, I have to agree with you there! I wouldn't be able to cope with being so small, and missing out on all the awesome things that humans do.

Thank you! I did try to capture the family atmosphere, and I loved writing each character in the Weasleys. There's such a range of characters in that family, and it was so much fun to write each of their characters! Fred and George are brilliant, and they make the tone much lighter in stories, and their inventions are genius!

I was thinking of that crocodile when I was writing about it! But most certainly NOT a man eating crocodile! I felt so sorry for Charlie when I was writing it, it seems like the embarrassing type of thing that always seems to happen to the Weasleys!

Thank you -- I always thought of Ron not like Harry's 'sidekick' but as a person in his own right. Hahah yeah, that always seemed strange to me in the book when I reread the first one! :P Hahah that sounds like an awesome picture!

Thank you very much for such an awesome review! Yes, "sort" works much better ;)

Sophie :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by MissMdstyDetox: Errors in Judgment

30th July 2013:
Hey Dan!

So I actually started writing this review several times, didn't know what to say and just gave up after staring at it for ages! But here it goes!

I have no idea what to say! It makes sense now that they don't run away together on an unicorn, like I had imagined in my head, but boy did that go downhill fast!

I actually really loved the chapter, especially the part where Astoria just knows it's Draco! My mom once told me that we recognize the people we love no matter what and that just gave me the warm fuzzies! :)

I like how you just make things more and more complicated. I am anxious to see how Draco digs himself out of this one. I can't see a way out just yet.

One thing I like that you really brought back to our attention is the fact that even though Draco is only a couple of years older than Astoria, he has been through so much and has seen so much and that changed him. The "Marked" Draco wouldn't think twice about it, but "Detox" Draco wants to do right by her. I guess being disillusioned by his parents and seeing his whole lifestyle crumble before him made him open his eyes! But Astoria is so young and in so many ways still a child. Case and point, her interpretation of his refusal of her advances. And at that age, her reaction makes sense. Because even though she wants to understand him and be supportive and everything, she has not seen it or lived it. She is sheltered and Draco wants to keep that, that little pink bubble around her. At this point, in my opinion, Astoria is just trying so hard to break that bubble.

The end of the chapter just broke my heart, it was so emotional to see her going from that anger that we all get when we fight with somebody and we say just the things we know will get on the other's nerves (I do it all the time, myself) and then when we cool down we realize it would've been best if we kept our mouths shut! I think the saying was "It is better to say nothing and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.".

I can't wait for the next update! This was such a beautiful chapter and I can't wait to see what you have planned next for these characters!

Ral

Author's Response: Hi, Ral!

I've definitely been in that situation where I couldn't quite come up with the right thing to say in a review. Or much at all, for that matter. I'll take it as a compliment. :)

There were bound to be bumps in the road as Draco and Astoria make their way to Happily Ever After, and this was the biggest so far. You're absolutely correct that the relatively minimal age difference between Draco and Astoria and magnified enormously by the difference in their life experiences. The difference between "Marked Draco" and "Detox Draco" is huge. He's come to realize that a lot of the things that he though were important before the war really don't matter so much. He looks back at his former self and he wishes that he could go back to being that naive young man who didn't know anything about darkness and death. In his eyes, Astoria still lives in that same sort of state of grace that he once took for granted. He doesn't want to see her forced to grow up the same way that he had to during the war. It's an unusually noble thing for him to be feeling.

Astoria comes to her senses relatively quickly. She's sharp that way. But you're right, realizing what she's done actually makes it hurt more. She certainly wishes that she hadn't removed all the doubt, at least from her own mind.

I'm working my way through the next chapter now. Astoria hasn't been easy to write. I'm hoping Draco will be a little easier. Thanks for all the support and reviews!


 Report Review

Review #13, by MissMdstyHer Only Choice: Her Only Choice

29th July 2013:
Hey Nadia!

I saw this on your AP and the summary just caught my eye!

I have to say that this is some deep, dark, powerful stuff. I was shocked. My mouth was literally hanging wide open. You are good. Are you sure you just started writing? :)

I think you did an amazing job! The way in which she was so cut off from the world and even her own person, that the voices seemed distant. Those were powerful images and you did a great job of getting them across to the reader. The details of what happened were enough for a picture to be formed, but not too much, which is essential when writing something that deals with themes like this one.

All in all, I am blown away by this and I think you have some amazing potential! Keep on writing dear!

Ral

Author's Response:
Hey Ral!

I know, the banner's beautiful isn't it?

I'm blushing like, mad right now. I did just start writing, though I wish I joined this community earlier :D

Thank you for thinking I did justice to the quote, it just came to me the moment I read it. I didn't want to make any thing explicit or gory, so I'm glad you liked the lack of description and found it good enough to form a picture.

Ral, you're spoiling me! I expect reviews like this from everyone now! jkjk, but thank you, you are too kind!

Nadia


 Report Review

Review #14, by MissMdstyBefore They Fall: The Force That Drives Us

28th July 2013:
I told you once before that what really drew me in to this story was the summary! To this day, it's one of the most poetic I have come across in the archive.

And now we are at the last chapter...

I joined you on a journey that proved just as heart warming and soul splitting as you promised. I laughed and I cried, and I hated you even though you know I love you. I was scared for them and I was happy for them and I fell in love with Lily and James as they fell in love with each other.

Besides the fact that the plot was amazing, the story arches kept me on my toes every time and I was left breathless more than once as the story unfolded in front of me, I really loved that you loved these characters. The fact that they are so real to you, and you manage to send that across with the written word, made them real for me, and every Saturday was a new and amazing adventure with the Marauders and the girls.

Hemingway said that there is nothing to writing. You just sit down in front of a typewriter and bleed. And you bled and I, as your reader, bled with you and the result is something so amazing, it will live on for me. I'm sure that you'll think I'm just sucking up to you (:p) but book one became my head canon. And I cannot wait for the rest of my head canon to unfold! This is as exciting as reading the Harry Potter books all over again!

So congratulations on your work and devotion to this project, on pulling off such an amazing novel and good luck and happy plotting with book two!



Author's Response: Oh, Ral. I don't even know what to say. I can't believe what an honor it has been having you during this book, and going from reviews to friendships to chatting away on skype all the time and FEELSY JAMI.

You know more than anything I just wanted to write a story that I think does them justice. There are things I wish I'd done differently, mainly the stinkin' length, but all in all I really think I got the characters that are in my heart across to anyone who stumbled across and read it, and that's what I wanted the most. And I'm just so shocked still that it's all over and that i've met people as amazing as you to share it with ♥

Thank you so much for all your incredible support, m'dear ♥



 Report Review

Review #15, by MissMdstyBefore They Fall: Forever Frozen In Time

28th July 2013:
I wanted to skip straight to the last one with my review, but I couldn't break my record of reviewing every chapter.

I have a jar of Nutella to help me deal with all the feelings! I did not see this coming! Really and honestly! I want to say something deep and meaningful but I can't find my words. Right now I am just remembering her, the way she was when we first started this journey together, just another pretty face, with a foreign accent. I had no idea how much I would fall in love with this character and how much I would end up rooting for her and Sirius, and feeling every bump in the road she had along the way.

The journey to this place was amazing. And it saddens me that for her, this is the end. I have told you this before, it doesn't feel like BTF without her. But we will go on, like the characters will go on and you will forever have one of the most well built OCs I have ever found on the archives.

I can't say I loved the content of this chapter, but I loved the way it was delivered. You paced it and built it up, by the time Sirius found her, my heart was already aching for him.

I have no more words right now so I'll just move on! Good work Jami! *hugs*

Author's Response: I want a jar of Nutella to help deal with this chapter!!!

I wasn't expecting to bond with Belle the way I did. I knew what was going to happen from the start, but all the sudden i found myself really enjoying writing her. I was so afraid people wouldn't accept her -- a gorgeous french girl transferring into Hogwarts and wrapping Sirius around her finger. How many more cliches could I have piled on? :P So you falling in love with her just makes me so happy and feelsy and then I remember she's gone and get all sad again :(

I'm so excited that, even if the chapter itself wasn't likable, you think I did her justice with how it all unwound. Ugh, Ral, why did you let this happen? Yes, i'm blaming you :P!

Thank you so much for loving her, and accepting my little head OC and making her feel like a real person that people care about ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by MissMdstyBefore They Fall: A Test of Wills

21st July 2013:
That is ... oh my God! I have no words! I knew Bellatrix would do something horrible, but this was beyond my wildest dreams! I mean, c'mon, if you're gonna try and kill somebody, do the honorable thing and kill them to their face!

I had a suspicion about the examiner from the start, but I'm paranoid these days so I just shook it off as a feeling! But that was the most frightening thing I've read so far in your story! It never actually occurred to me until now that James and Lily hadn't exchanged Patronuses so to say, or that Lily still has no ideea about Prongs.

I was happy the potion worked though. Remus deserves a break from all that! I can keep ranting about how much this chapter terrified me, but I have a feeling what's going to follow is going to need lots of chocolate, so I'm going to read on!

Author's Response: Bellatrix is terrible and if you want to go after her, you have my blessing!

I'm so excited you had a bit of odd feelings about the examiner, even if it was just your paranoia. At least it paid off, right? ;)

Remus does deserve a break! And you were right, you needed chocolate and I am a mean for for making you need chocolate in the next chapter :(!

I think we need to all get on a private jet and fly to somewhere warm and happy, yeah?

Thank you so much my lovely Ral for all your amazing feedback!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MissMdstyBefore They Fall: The Last Match

21st July 2013:
Another brilliant chapter! I love it when you talk sports to me! :D

Let's take it one thing at a time! I'm anxious about Moody's plan about getting the Aurors to identify the mole! The part where Dumbledore thinks about what these kids are getting themselves into, that made me tear up, especially the part about them being brave as lions, but children none the less! This is something I've noticed in your writing, and it's something that your Marauder story has in common with the canon books, is those little bits and pieces that remind the reader that there is still a war out these, and people are dying and they will be forced to take up arms sooner rather than later!

Lily's attitude is very fitting of the whole ordeal she had to go through. She is still frail but you can tell she is trying to stay strong and enjoy what time she has left in school and that is amazing to see! I love how she is such a strong role model and is still a woman, with her own weak spots and her hesitations!

I just love when they make plans to move in and start their life, it's very bittersweet, because by this point I've already grown so attached to these characters, even though I know how they end up! You write these chapters and these stories, for Sirius and Belle, Lily, James, the whole group, that you make me just want to live in the moment with them and deal with stuff when it comes up!

This was a chapter so filled with emotions, since we are entering the "lasts" portion of their education. Last match, last Cup, last exams. That just makes me sad, but in a good way. That sounds strange! Amazing chapter my dear! *hearts*

Author's Response: Hi darling!!!

It's so sad thinking about how young they all are getting into this war, isn't it? I hate that they ha to sacrifice so much and saw such little improvement. But that's why there story is so tragic, I suppose.

I"m so excited that you think Lily is a strong role model with her own weak spots. I want her to be real, if that makes sense.

I wish I could say that I'm sorry it's bittersweet, but I'm still so happy that you love the characters that I can't be sorry! haha!

Ugh Ral, how do I even thank you for all the awesome review you leave? You turn me to puddles, puddles that want to hug you ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by MissMdstyBefore They Fall: Lily's Creation

20th July 2013:
So it's 4 am and since the girls decided to form a support group on Twitter for BTF I just had to see what happened! I didn't read ahead so you can smirk in an evil way while you read and nod your head knowingly at my hopes for these characters, because you've probably dashed them by now and I have yet to learn this!

Bella is absolutely scary and her plan is evil and I am scared! I hope nothing happens to Belle before the end of this book! I will cry buckets and never forgive you! I promise!

I loved the part with James and Sirius and their talk about girls. It's so sweet to see boys in these moments of honesty when they don't feel the need to act all macho and can just be human as well! I giggled at the part where James took the tie from Lily's fishbraid! Those are tricky and make your fingers cramp up if you have super long hair. I'd be mad too if somebody undid my braid!

I loved the part about the potion brewing so much, you have no idea! I just ate up every detail and I was once again blown away by how amazingly talented you are! And the part about the fish just made me tear up, thinking about how Slughorn spoke of the fish to Harry! *sigh*

I'm off to read the next one! :) *hugs*

Author's Response: Ral ♥

Ugh I can't even address the first few paragraphs of your review because you know what happens and I know what happens and ugh :(

I thought the bit of the boy moment was fun, too. I felt like we hadn't had that in a bit, and I'm excited you liked it ♥ Those are SO tricky! It takes me forever to braid my hair into one, and even then it looks sloppy!

Awww yay I'm so excited you like those details! I know that everyone doesn't love the slower bits, so having you to nerd out on details like that with me is an awesome treat ♥

Thank you so much for this perfectly awesome review, m'dear!


 Report Review

Review #19, by MissMdstyUnchained Melody: The Big Day

18th July 2013:
Hello!

This was so cute and fluffy and romantic it put a big smile on my face! My face is hurting from smiling so much!

First, I loved how nervous Rose was in anticipating what Scorpius would be doing for their anniversary. It was so sweet to see how after 5 years they still keep the passion alive and they have such a lovely relationship! And it's so typical for Ron to be the one who still has a problem with Draco after all this time!

The whole proposal idea was very romantic and so well written, it felt like I was there with them! Although I did suspect that he would be popping the question, the moment was so romantic and sweet it made me squeal and do my own little happy dance. Yes, I too do the happy dance when I am happy!

I also love Rose/Scorpius as a pairing and I could see that you took your love for this pairing and put it into this, with so much detail and emotion that it made my day just a little bit brighter!

The spelling and grammar were very good and all in all it was a very enjoyable read! Good job and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Hi there,

Scorpius, after all that time, is still unpredictable and surprising Rose. Rose usually has no idea what Scorpius is going to do or say, which is a big factor to how their relationship is working. Ron will never forgive Draco, and therefore his hatred goes down to Scorpius, it's quite funny!

I felt that it was predictable, but I don't think the one-shot would have been complete if he did not propose and it was just the perfect even to do it!
Thank you so much for your kind words, they mean a lot to me as an aspiring author! Hearing that I'm able to convey what I think and my emotions to my readers is exactly what I wished would happen when I wrote this. I was skeptical about this one shot as I had never written a one shot beforehand, but I will probably give it a bigger chance now that it seems I'm able to do it.
- Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by MissMdstyDon't tease me: 15

18th July 2013:
Hello!

This is your first fanfiction story? I don't believe that for a second!

First off, I wanna say that you did an amazing job at describing the relationship between the two. It's the kind of all consuming, burning, wrong for you and you know it kind of relationship that you can only have when you are young and have the emotional resources to deal with something like this.

It's even harder, I think, for these two, since they have all the premises to not be together. Their families hated each other, their families tried to kill each other, they were raised to fight this feeling and each other with everything they have.

Thus, this is the perfect reason for them to fall in love. "Don't get too friendly with him, Rosie!" Tempting fate, much?

The actual description of how she felt when he was around was amazing. You managed to take all the emotions a young girl feels when she is 15, 16, 17 and put them right out there. Managing to do this, and to build up such an intense relationship between this two, even before they actually talked in this story, that shows amazing talent and a lot of potential! Maybe you could consider making this a longer story? Anyway, good job and keep on writing! :)

Author's Response: I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!

Yeah, this is my first fanfiction! But I've read A LOT so I can tell the good ones from the not so good ones.
You'll be pleased to know that I have a couple of ideas for how to make this into a short story... So expect something soon!

I love Rosius too; yeah, Ron was literally ASKING for it, wasn't he? :-)


 Report Review

Review #21, by MissMdstyThe Problem With Constellations: The Problem With Constellations

18th July 2013:
Hey there!

Rose and Scorpius together are so sweet and your descriptions here in this story of them were just as I imagined them to be. True to the whole "there won't be a child in our world who doesn't know their name" theme, I think the children of the Golden Trio would have had to put up a perky and happy facade for the world to see, because really, when your parents save the world, who wants you to be ordinary?

I liked how Rose slowly grew up over the course of this story. Teenage years are so hard on a person, with finding out who you are supposed to be and all that, and I think that you did a wonderful job of showing us how, with the right entourage, a person can learn to stand up for themselves and the things they love and not care about anything besides their happiness.

The relationship basis of the two was very sweet, bonding over their love for books. Love is friendship set on fire after all!

A very sweet story with a lovely ending. I enjoyed it very much! Good job!

Author's Response: Hey! Wow! Just thank you for such a great review!!
Rose had a bunch of pressure on her from day one and she just needed learn that she didn't always have to please everyone!

"Love is a relationship set on fire." I love that! :D
Thanks so much again :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by MissMdstyFirst Kiss: First Kiss

15th July 2013:
I have never understood people and mistletoe. Like "here's a piece of weed hanging from the ceiling, let's kiss". I do however love how you incorporated the whole Lily and James relationship in this story.

Even though it was relatively short, you did manage to incorporate some of the more defining features of both characters, such as Lily's serious side and her love for books and learning magic and James' wild, Marauder side.

The setting was sweet and romantic and I loved their playful banter and the back and forth of their dialogue in the second half of the story.

There was an issue with your formatting which you might want to go back and fix, since it makes the story a bit harder to read!

Good job with this!

Author's Response: Thank you for this insightful review!!
I did indeed try portray Lily and James' personalities accurately, I'm glad you noticed!
This was my first try so I'll work on perfecting my formatting in the future.
Thanks so much again!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by MissMdstyIf I didn't know better: If I didn't know better

15th July 2013:
Hey there!

I loved the summary of this! It was what caught my eye in the first place and also the pairing since I am completely in love with Rose/Scorpius!

It was such a clever and original idea to write it in this style that brings out the differences between a Malfoy and a Weasley but at the same time, brings forth the differences between the next generation and the old one, with Harry& co who are now parents and have to deal with this.

As I said, I loved the pairing you chose, the style of the piece was unlike anything I've ever read on here and the spelling and grammar were very good. The descriptions and the bits of dialogue here and there really made it come to life! Good job!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MissMdstyThree Words: Three Words

15th July 2013:
Hello there!

An interesting pairing to say the least. I've always felt that in this context, if it had to be one of the Marauders, Remus would have been a better match for her, what with the book smarts, and loyalty and such.

I like that you kept this story short and sweet and didn't go into very much detail regarding how he came back, or what happened in between the time he fell through the Veil and when he came back!
our grammar and spelling were good and the narrative had a nice flow to it! Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing.

I didn't really want to go into detail about how Sirius returned as I thought it was irrelevant to the story. It was the fact that he had returned which was more important.


 Report Review

Review #25, by MissMdstyWhiskey Lullaby: Whiskey Lullaby

14th July 2013:
Hey there!

This was such a touching story! The song is beautiful but so sad and the way in which you depicted the love story was very touching.

It's always sad when two people who feel like they have forever fall apart and can't find a way to pick up the pieces or just say whatever it is they want to say to each other, and sadly, in this story, their loved ones were the ones who got hurt.

I loved the ending, with them finally happy and together, even though they left behind people grieving for them! Good job!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>