Reading Reviews From Member: patronus_charm
  
1,387 Reviews Found

Review #26, by patronus_charmHouse Cup Event Three: Until The Very End: Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! ♥ Woah, this was good, really, really good! I really liked how you chose to structure this story by focusing on two big events which really cemented their friendship before going onto a general overview as it really helped me understand how they were such good friends and why too and that was really good. I really liked the magic reveal secret as it was just so sweet and adorable and typical of that age. Then the one about her mother dying is what made me all sad, but Simon was so sweet about he would be there until the end and that really was the sign of friendship instead of leaving to save himself. Such a lovely story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by patronus_charmSamhain: Hecate Sits

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I loved this Astoria as she was so much fun and so different to how all the others are. The use of tarot cards was really good and effective here and I liked how it really showed Draco that he was meant to be moving on, not clinging on like he seemed to be doing desperately. I thought it was a really clever thing for Astoria too because perhaps if theyíre wizards he might pay more attention to this if it comes from a magical source. Your description in here was so amazing in here too, and it had this really great dark and bewitching air throughout and I really loved it, so amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by patronus_charmMagic: it certainly does love you

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wowowowow wowowooww wowowoowow that is all I have to say for this as it was so amazing and really showed a new Cho and made her so much more likeable than I ever could have imagined really. The idea of her being too young for all of these events to happen to her really showed the reader how much Cho had been trialled throughout her life and how it hadnít been an exactly easy one and that really made me want to reach out to her.

The use of italics here was so amazing as it felt as if it was Cho looking back on her younger self and almost pitying herself because she didnít know how much more terrible this could get and that was really powerful to do. It really did help explain so many things in canon too and I really liked that.

Ooh this line ĎSixteen is too young to feel like a widow, but that doesnít bring life to the limp limbs and still chest lying in the cool, blue-green grass at the opening of the Maze.í That was amazing and really made me full in love with it as it was just so, so, so good, amazing story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by patronus_charmDuet: Duet

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I am so sorry I am so tired because I canít formulate words properly right now and nor can I explain why this one-shot was so magical and enchanting and amazing as much as I could do when I was wide awake but I will try nonetheless.

I really loved the theme of mist and cloud and just the general idea of concealing and the other world sort of lurking away there all the time. It had such a powerful effect because it worked so well for two reasons. The first being it highlighted the obscurity of Arianaís death and how no one really did have a clue what happened and why what happened happened and I really liked the inclusion of that. Then sort of linked into Aberforth and how he just wanted to conceal it from his mind in a way.

I really loved how Ariana appeared in a vision to him as that scene was so powerful and moving and really did make me wordless. The way you started referring to her as the woman later on was another amazing thing because it showed even though she was dead, she had gotten over her death whereas Aberforth still couldnít do that and that ridiculous was written so well and I really loved it.

This was amazing and just perfect and Iím sorry for a terrible review for an excellent story, Marina!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by patronus_charmPaws Off: One

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this made me laugh way too much which was a good thing as Iíve been reading so much angst recently! I really loved Molly and Teddy as a pairing as I donít think Iíve ever seen it before but I fell in love with it straight away and immediately began shipping it. You characterised the two of them so nicely and so uniquely I couldnít not love both of them and they worked so well together.

Yay for cats! I would totally be suspected of having an affair with mine, so I loved that Teddy thought the same with Molly and the cat from Cornwall as that almost made me cry with laughter. I think that was no match for the catís POV though as that was nothing like I ever read before and I really loved it. The fact it called Teddy the angry one and threatened to hair ball in his shoes was too brilliant and Iím just dying of laughter right now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by patronus_charmForget Me Not.: if you could go back in time, what would you change?

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I have no words. No words. This was amazing, just amazing. Everything about it blew me apart and blew the bits of me to the other side of the world where they will be lost forever as this one-shot just kinda changed everything. ♥

Ok, first and foremost the use and manipulation of language and grammar was amazing and contributed so much to the story.it gave it a sort of surreal edge and feel to it, as it was all warped and mixed up and fitted Petuniaís confused mind perfectly that I loved it so much.

Another thing I loved was your analysis of Petunia and this was an amazing character study of her! I really liked how this grievance she had against Lily, and how, since her death, she would block this freakdom out of her and she would live happily ever again, but then as we saw in Harryís section it just wasnít possible and she just wanted to love him, wanted to give him more food, but this weird pull backwards didnít let her do it and just the complexity and thought behind that was amazing.

The last section was wonderful though as I always wondered what her relationship with the next gen kids would be like so I was so happy to see it how it was and that Petunia could pay it back to Lily through the next one as that was a really lovely thought and idea.

But seriously, this is possibly one of the best FFís ever!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by patronus_charmIn a Perfect World: Perfection is Over Rated

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, I had so many feels while reading this it was so insane. There were so many memories of Ronks while reading this as it felt as if he was having the same age old argument so I was like whoo Ronks then I remembered it wasnít them but another pairing so it left me feeling all confused so I had that. Then there was Remus battling with him being both a wolf and a person and which part of him controlled him at that moment and that was shown really well with when he kissed Lily and how he finally realised that was himself. Then at the end with ĎPerfection is overratedí was really good as it was all about self love and embracing yourself and I really loved this. Fab story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by patronus_charmI Left A Box Of Memories: I Left A Box Of Memories

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, normally Iím like ew, Drinny, run to the hills, but I really loved this interpretation of them as it felt as if it was some soliloquy to a lost past, almost poetical in a way too and it was really amazing. The first and last section just framed the story so well and showed how even though it felt like ages ago in his mind, the memory still haunted him so vividly. The description in both of those sections was really amazing too with the emphasis on dust and decay and that was really effective.

The flashback was really cool because even though there were hints of Drinny it was more hints of them because of what the pressures of the war forced upon them, and how the need to survive, the need to comprehend the horror of the war drew them into talking to one another. It was actually quite a deep and philosophical conversation the two of them had which was odd when you think of who it was but it fitted in well with canon too which was another amazing thing and itís what made me really love this one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by patronus_charmCloud: the blue that i am

12th July 2014:
Hey!

The title set the scene for this story so well that Iím kind of in awe of you right now as this story had an airy, dreamy air going on throughout and I really loved that. You managed to describe paint and them painting one another in so many different ways I really loved it and it just showed how much thought you put behind your use of words and writing and I really loved that.

Another thing I really loved was the pairing because even though it was never directly stated, I preferred it that way because shaping both of them up from the subtle hints and clues was much more fun. I really liked how you characterised them here too as much more free and floating in a way as it was really refreshing as these are usually quite uptight characters at times so that was cool. Amazing one-shot though! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by patronus_charmBereft: lion's pride

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, it isnít often where stories leave me clawing at words so I can somehow describe them in anyway at all but you did it here, and I just canít think of what to say as this was truly one of the best pieces of writing (fiction and fanfiction here) I have ever read and one of the best, most complex and most in-depth character studies I have read too.

Percy just had so many depths, so many complexes and just so much and you showed it so well here and Iím just so in awe. This line, this line ĎLove. Love. Love. Say it, Percy! Say it, you blundering fool, you idiot son, you unworthy brother!í woah, woah, woah my mind kinda imploded at that point as I just couldnít handle the amazingness of it.

I loved how you used a narrator to talk at Percy because it was almost as if it was his innermost mind urging him to pay attention, fix himself, be well again, but at times it felt as if it could be some higher being too, and that dualism idea was really fantastic and I really loved it. Gah, Iím sorry I canít formulate my words but you have honestly left me lost for them and I just donít know what to do, so amazing, I am in love! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

(ok, I just saw the Descartes note, it all makes sense now :P)

 Report Review

Review #36, by patronus_charmInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh, this was really cool as I never get to see Luna/Rolf stories from Rolfís perspective so I really enjoyed this. He really did seem to marvel in all of Lunaís eccentricities and really embraced, so much so, that at times I wondered if he was jealous of them and wanted some of them himself. There were just so many cute moments and images in this story Iím finding it hard to pick them out but I think it was the one were Rolf was thinking about the way Luna kissed their children and how much she loved them, and it was so bittersweet as it reminded me of how her own mother died, but so wonderful too. I just loved this so much!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing this fluffy piece. It's one of my faves. I do see that Rolf would embrace and be in wonder of Luna as opposed to thinking it strange and just accepting her weirdness. That is who I think she would marry.

 Report Review

Review #37, by patronus_charmThe Night Stands Still: midnight ponderings

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked this as it was just so poignant and really shed new light on Lily as a normal, regular person, someone on all of our level and that was shown really well with her irrational need of James and how he would make everything better for her. She almost became a little obsessed with how much she needed him before he arrived, and that just showed the power of fear in my opinion and what it can make you do and that was really well done.

Another thing I really liked was the care you took with your language and structure of this story because in a way it is simplistic (and this is meant in an amazingly good way, donít get me wrong) and that just made this story have even more wham. Wah, I just read it again with the song on and it was even more amazing and the quote was even more amazing and it had this really cool dreamy feel and was just really cool!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by patronus_charmThunderous: Shattering of the Sky

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was so heart-breaking but so wonderful but so angsty but so amazing and I loved it all so much! ♥ It was just so amazing because Hannah and Neville are fairly normal as couples go so this story was even more real for me and even more poignant read to and I went through their suffering with them and it just broke me into thousands of tiny pieces.

Your language and description, especially the harsh rain, just enhanced the angstyness of this even more as it just seemed to be saying that nature was against you and there really was no hope and it was just so sad. Another thing which made me tear up was how Hannah had that yellow baby blanket and the way she clang onto it for dear really got to me and that vision stayed in my head for a while.

This was amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by patronus_charmLight Bulb Nudity: Light Bulb Nudity

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wow, I really loved this and this new interpretation of Peter and Iím so glad that you wrote this as it really made me think in another way. It shows that he can be a good man, that he can be a funny man, and that he can be a man who loves and is loved and thatís just what made me go wow whilst reading this as the way you wrote it was all so natural and amazing and it just left me in awe really.

I really liked how you didnít directly refer to Peter whilst writing this and generally stuck to pronouns as that helped me accept that this was Peter and that it was possible that he could have these feelings and that was really great. The ending left me all mixed and broken as I just donít know how I feel so I just canít put myself together but it was so beautiful and unique and I really loved it! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #40, by patronus_charmThe Three Ds: Devotion.

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was too cute, like way too cute that Iím squeeing away like a crazy person right now. I just loved everything about it because these tiny hints of Romione are what always gets me as I was one of those rather dim-witted readers who didnít notice the ship until they kissed in the DH, so now I can relive these moments through one-shot such as these and you did it so perfectly.

The theme of apparition was so great as it always such a sore point for Ron as he always wanted to achieve and do well in it, it was rather funny seeing how it could be turned into a good thing for him here. I think Twycrossís narration just made it so great though as I always imagined him to be rather dry and boring but it was the opposite here.

This line ĎMaybe heíd apparate better, maybe heíd pass his test, if she was his destination. No splinching, no half eyebrows. Devotion.í So good and so lovely! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by patronus_charmFlight of the Heart: The Interview

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This chapter was really great for learning more about Mia and I actually really did enjoy learning everything about her. Her story with her nana was really touching and it was nice to see how much she meant to her. I canít help but wonder what happened to her though as she wasnít mentioned in the other two chapters. It seems as if she doesnít want Aidan to have the sort of deprived from joy childhood she had with the way she was going to buy him a train and it was interesting to see the cause and effect of it all there. Also, the thing about being called Mrs was really interesting again!

Ew, that woman who interviewed Mia was horrible. I just want to throw things at her so much right now (ha, this is reminding me of BTF as I did always want to do that to a few certain characters there too :P). But, aw, Claire was actually so sweet and I really love with the way she saved Mia and just wanted to make her feel good again and gave her a job. I can see how this links to Oliver so itís all very exciting! ♥

But anyhow, Jami, I miss you!! I hope these reviews encourage you to come back as that would be fab, and yeah, I need to know what happens to Oliver and Mia! :P

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #42, by patronus_charmFlight of the Heart: Boys Will Be Boys

12th July 2014:
Hi again Jami!

Aw, Mia is such an adorable mum! I really loved how she had to bribe Aidan to clean his teeth if he could do something Quidditch related because 1. That is so true for all kids and kinda bad how true it is too :P and 2. That just makes the whole Oliver thing even cuter. I really liked seeing Mia as a mum though and just having to struggle dilemmas like wanting to please her son as she never would have the money for Quidditch tickets usually, but then her moral conscience too. Gah, I feel as if Iím not expressing myself properly but you wrote her really well in my opinion! ♥

I really like the fact that you made Oliver stay a Quidditch fanatic and make him crazy about the sport still because he could have fallen into depression and just want to give up after the war but you made him carry on and drive all of his energy into this and I really liked showing there can be a positive end to things.

Whoo, onto the next chapter!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by patronus_charmFlight of the Heart: A Chance Meeting

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami! I couldnít stop myself from sneaking back here :P

Wah, I loved Oliver he was so cute and adorable and so Oliver! ♥ You just had everything right when writing him from the happiness about everything which he always seemed to have, the mention of the old team and how he still cared for them which was so sweet, and then the horrible memories of the war. You wrote those so well especially the one about Colin (my heart was breaking inside) that they really did make me tear up.

Aw, Aidan was so cute and you wrote him so well as I could imagine me doing the same if I met my idol. Oliver was so sweet about it too, especially as he had that injury too and everything was just so sweet and I loved it. Ooh, Mia sounds interesting though and I really liked how you made her a single mum as it made it a little different from the norm. I canít wait to see what happens!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #44, by patronus_charma radiance denied: (one)

12th July 2014:
Hi!

Woah, I donít even have words for this amazingness as Iím just so speechless right now as it was just so, so, so good! ♥ Seriously, you gave Cho levels of depth and complexity that I never knew could be achieved. It really felt as if I could understand why she was a Claw with the quirkiness to look out of the box and realise what life always was.

Even though I felt as if I should be sad as Choís life wasnít great, her one true love had died, her grandmother had died, she had no money, I felt oddly happy and at peace with her and the story because she had realised the true essence of life with this line ĎThere is no radiance, Cedric. It doesn't get better.í And even though that screams angst and what the horror of life was, she addressed that line to Cedric, almost as if that was a form of acceptance on what life was like and that was a really clever move.

Gah, I just loved this so much as it was just so amazing and your language was beautiful! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by patronus_charmNocturne: Nocturne

12th July 2014:
Hi!

Wow, this was such an excellent character study of Snape and it was down within 500 words so even more impressive. The thing which worked for me was how you gradually peeled back more and more of Snape until we really got into his depths and could really understand him and what Lily meant for him and that was a really cool thing to do.

The bit about Harry showed the Snape which we knew and all loved to hate so naturally I was already to go and hurl abuse at him. However, you went and changed it all with that lovely line about Lily helping him with his potions and thatís when I crumbled inside as it was just so adorable and so, so lovely it really began to show a softer side to him. Especially how you left it too with the way he did want to change his life, and he would have made it a better one and it was just so lovely! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for giving this one-shot a chance! Of course Lily and Harry occasionally pop up in his ramblings. I hate to love Snape and love to hate him, so it's all a very mixed bag. He definitely does hurl abuse at Harry in his thoughts, but as you point out, his love for Lily always redeems him somewhat in the end. And you're right -- he would change his life if he could.

Thanks so much for reading and for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by patronus_charmForever Young: Forever Young

12th July 2014:
Hi!

No, this was too sad and I wonít allow you to destroy me with all the feels! :P ♥ I really loved this idea of fear with Fred as it was just so unique and so different. I really wouldnít have seen it coming until I read this story but the weird thing is that it the fear made complete sense with the way he was always the jokier and more exuberant one of the two and perhaps that was to cling onto his youthfulness.

I really liked how you used Aunt Muriel as an example too as she must have been pretty terrifying so it was really fitting here. Gah, typical Fred making light out of his death even though I just want to cry so much right now. I guess it worked so well with his character and him no longer needing his fear I should be happy but I just canít be. Such a fab story though!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by patronus_charmDragon Fire: A living fire to light the darkness.

12th July 2014:
Hi!

No, no, no what did you do to my poor heart just then? I have so many feels and nowhere to put them so I feel all mixed up and confused right now and I think it was this line ĎďWell, you look very nice,Ē he mumbled. He wiped at his eyes. ďNymphadora.Ēí Which broke me and is still leaving me sobbing away.

I just loved this so much as it really revealed a new side to both Charlie and Tonks and their almost pairing has always been a head canon of mine so I really loved seeing it here. Charlie was always such a babe though and never tried to win her over no matter what, even when Remus had left he didnít do anything and carried on loving her in his own silent and solemn way and it was so adorable! ♥

Everything about this was just so beautiful! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by patronus_charmTaken: Taken

12th July 2014:
Hi!

This was a really different take on how Sirius/OC stories usually are and I quite liked it. It was a different twist making her be the one to outlive Sirius as usually itís the other way round which is a bit dull now quite frankly so this was a really nice change. Your use of flashbacks was really good too as it was interesting to see how Carly fitted into the past of Sirius and helped me understand her more.

You might want to think about extending this one-shot and adding more backstory into it for example because right now itís rather lacking in that front but with more details about her it would really give this some more emotional wham if that makes sense. :P Great story though!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I think that I will try and expand it a bit, you have given me some wonderful ideas to do so! Thank you for the inspiration!!


 Report Review

Review #49, by patronus_charmUseless: Useless

12th July 2014:
Hi!

Wow, I really loved this as it was such a new and inspiring version of Ariana to read. I really liked how here she had a purpose, a reason and a use to live on (albeit the living on is in her death) as sheís often passed over as a girl who doesnít really know whatís going on whereas here you completely blew away that stereotype and made her something else.

I really liked how she could see that there was no logic behind Aberforth never really forgiving Albus as she could see how Albus was mortified by what happened and never, ever forgave himself for it and that superior wisdom and knowledge she had was really admirable. I especially loved the ending with that bit about her being able to do something which would benefit everyone.

This was great! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Shay :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by patronus_charmInterrupted: Interrupted- One Shot.

12th July 2014:
Hi!

Aw, this was really cute and even though Iím not a big Hinny fan I found myself awing away while I read this one-shot. I thought you wrote Ginny really well in this bittersweet moment of her life as she had this cool and calm acceptance of what was about to happen and that fitted really well with her as she usually is quite a confident person. Another thing I liked was how much she was treasuring their final moment together and really loving it for every second that it was and holding onto it, as it was just lovely to see how much Harry actually meant to her through that.

This was so adorable! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi! You were my first reviewer ever (just so you know) and I'm really glad that you liked it as much as you did. Even though I'm not usually a Hinny fan either this was a moment that came into my head clearly. I just felt that Ginny's view of their final moment could be interpreted like this. Again, thank you for reviewing, you have no idea how much this means to me.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>