Reading Reviews From Member: patronus_charm
  
1,395 Reviews Found

Review #26, by patronus_charmWhat Makes A Man: It was too late

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was good, really good! I saw you had some reservations about this and I can swiftly dismiss them as I couldnít find a single thing wrong with this. I really loved the lyrics interweaved here as it worked so well and fitted so well with the complex figure of Voldemort. I also really liked this take on him as it was a little different to how I tend to see him. Here, it was talking about the fear of himself and I really liked that as that introduced new levels into the character I never really thought about and it was so great. Admittedly, I did feel a little bad for him at the end with the way he just wanted this horrible fear to go and he thought it would to then go and find out that it wasnít going to and it would cause what he feared but great story anyhow!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by patronus_charmWaiting on You: Waiting on You

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Iíve been looking forward to reading it ever since you mentioned it in our cabin so here I am! I really liked how you started this off with Albus just wanting to be able to accept himself fully and openly and come out with who he was as that was really sweet and kind of powerful as that self-love message isnít often shown but is so, so important to be there! Ok, all that preluding to Albus/Scorpius was so cute and I almost got my pomp oms out and started cheering them on as I love them so much and you wrote them really well, so when they finally got together you can imagine my reaction! Anyhow, I really loved this and this cute little insight into Albus Potterís mind!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by patronus_charmHC Event 3: The New Addition: The New Addition

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw, this was cute! I really loved Sophie and her excitable energy as it reminded me so much of when my siblings and I were naming our pets and you managed to create the atmosphere so well and so clearly that I really loved it. Her parentsí reactions were great too with the way they were so exasperated and just despairing away as I did begin to feel a little sorry for them.

I almost thought for a moment that there was a going to be a grand reveal thing and we would find out the dog was Sirius because of the whole Snuffles things going on, but I really liked how it was a crup too as those creatures seemed really interesting so great job on that!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by patronus_charmHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I loved this and the positive spin of death! I felt rather sorry for poor old George at first as he just seemed so bewildered and confused and that he really didnít know what was going on I just wanted to go on. I thought your description was so amazing in that bit though with surreal air it had to it, and the figuring out reality. Iím past the point where I can describe things coherently but I hope you somewhat get what I mean. I loved it when George met Fred though because Fred was so calm and at peace it was so different to how we tended to see him. Another thing I loved was how Fred was the superior one when it came to knowledge too and that just made me laugh so much. This was so great!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by patronus_charmA Glimmer of Light: What's in a Name?

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! I really loved seeing Hannah and Neville as parents as they just seemed to be naturals at it and so good already it was just so cute. Also, the fact that Neville got nervous about everything which may harm the baby too was just so adorable and also made me laugh way too much given how heís probably the one who could cause the baby the most harm if he goes back to his clumsy first year days :P

The hospital scene was just so wepderferg. I had a feeling it was coming when Neville introduced them all, but it still didnít stop my heart from swelling up like crazy and getting so many feels when it happened. That moment of clarity was just so wonderful and amazing as it really gave me hope that more of Alice could come back and Iím so glad you wrote this!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by patronus_charmMeeting Norberta: Reunion

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, I had no idea what to expect when I clicked on this but Iím so glad that I did as I really loved what I found in this story! Gah, Hagrid! ♥ He was just so cute and adorable and I just wanted to squish him or something with the way he really loved Norberta so much he made the special trip out here. I may actually adopt that as my head canon as Iím surprised Iíve never read anything like that before as it seemed so him.

You wrote him so well with his accent and all actions and Iím so impressed as he isnít an easy character to pin down. Another thing I really loved were the keeperís reactions as they seemed to suit them all so well with the way they just couldnít understand Hagridís love for a dragon and that just made me laugh so much as it was such a classic Hagrid thing. Great one-shot! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by patronus_charmA Last Goodbye: A Last Goodbye

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh I really liked this as it was really different to most friendship stories Iíve come across as a surprising low number of them actually covered one of the trioís death. I though the second person POV worked really well here with Ron because it just showed how detached and almost how much he was failing in the world right now without Harry and it just showed how much he meant to him.

Another stylistic thing I really liked was how there was only one dialogue and that was right at the end as that was just really powerful and stayed with you for a while after. It almost seemed as if Ron was refusing to accept his death with the way he couldnít cry, and his silent observations on the world but I suppose it is natural and I thought you did a great job on writing his grief!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by patronus_charmEvent Three: Diagnosed: Diagnosed

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh the build-up to the grand reveal was done really well as I was totally sucked into it! I could really feel the confusion which was going on in Hermioneís mind and how she just couldnít be certain of anything and how everything seemed to be shifting from one thing to another and that was a really interesting thing to do. The letter was a really good thing to use for over-coming adversity as Hermione always seemed to quite opening them at Hogwarts (except after Skeeter articles) so that was one change then the other having to accept her life wasnít working out then, and you wrote it really well. You might just want to lessen the spaces between your paragraphs to make it easier for reading though. :)

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by patronus_charmUnusual : Unusual

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was really interesting and unusual (ha, such a bad joke/pun/thing but reviewing has wiped me of all my good ones) and I really enjoyed reading it. I wouldnít go so far as to say this endeared me to him as I think Griphook will always be one of those characters I will irrationally hate and will always curse under my breath about but I did like this fresh perspective as we always got Harry and Dobbyís friendship from Harryís POV so it made sense there, so I liked seeing why it wouldnít make sense for some people. The pull he had towards knowing what the message was really interesting as that seemed quite human like given he was a goblin so it gave me some hope for him, a really interesting story though!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by patronus_charmHouse Cup Event Three: Until The Very End: Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! ♥ Woah, this was good, really, really good! I really liked how you chose to structure this story by focusing on two big events which really cemented their friendship before going onto a general overview as it really helped me understand how they were such good friends and why too and that was really good. I really liked the magic reveal secret as it was just so sweet and adorable and typical of that age. Then the one about her mother dying is what made me all sad, but Simon was so sweet about he would be there until the end and that really was the sign of friendship instead of leaving to save himself. Such a lovely story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I loved writing a friendship that was made up of two really different people who still get along regardless of the fact that one half of the pair is magical and the other isn't. Hannah and Simon really stay friends because at the heart of it all, they just like being around each other like when they were little kids. Thank you so much for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by patronus_charmSamhain: Hecate Sits

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I loved this Astoria as she was so much fun and so different to how all the others are. The use of tarot cards was really good and effective here and I liked how it really showed Draco that he was meant to be moving on, not clinging on like he seemed to be doing desperately. I thought it was a really clever thing for Astoria too because perhaps if theyíre wizards he might pay more attention to this if it comes from a magical source. Your description in here was so amazing in here too, and it had this really great dark and bewitching air throughout and I really loved it, so amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by patronus_charmMagic: it certainly does love you

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wowowowow wowowooww wowowoowow that is all I have to say for this as it was so amazing and really showed a new Cho and made her so much more likeable than I ever could have imagined really. The idea of her being too young for all of these events to happen to her really showed the reader how much Cho had been trialled throughout her life and how it hadnít been an exactly easy one and that really made me want to reach out to her.

The use of italics here was so amazing as it felt as if it was Cho looking back on her younger self and almost pitying herself because she didnít know how much more terrible this could get and that was really powerful to do. It really did help explain so many things in canon too and I really liked that.

Ooh this line ĎSixteen is too young to feel like a widow, but that doesnít bring life to the limp limbs and still chest lying in the cool, blue-green grass at the opening of the Maze.í That was amazing and really made me full in love with it as it was just so, so, so good, amazing story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by patronus_charmDuet: Duet

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I am so sorry I am so tired because I canít formulate words properly right now and nor can I explain why this one-shot was so magical and enchanting and amazing as much as I could do when I was wide awake but I will try nonetheless.

I really loved the theme of mist and cloud and just the general idea of concealing and the other world sort of lurking away there all the time. It had such a powerful effect because it worked so well for two reasons. The first being it highlighted the obscurity of Arianaís death and how no one really did have a clue what happened and why what happened happened and I really liked the inclusion of that. Then sort of linked into Aberforth and how he just wanted to conceal it from his mind in a way.

I really loved how Ariana appeared in a vision to him as that scene was so powerful and moving and really did make me wordless. The way you started referring to her as the woman later on was another amazing thing because it showed even though she was dead, she had gotten over her death whereas Aberforth still couldnít do that and that ridiculous was written so well and I really loved it.

This was amazing and just perfect and Iím sorry for a terrible review for an excellent story, Marina!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by patronus_charmPaws Off: One

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this made me laugh way too much which was a good thing as Iíve been reading so much angst recently! I really loved Molly and Teddy as a pairing as I donít think Iíve ever seen it before but I fell in love with it straight away and immediately began shipping it. You characterised the two of them so nicely and so uniquely I couldnít not love both of them and they worked so well together.

Yay for cats! I would totally be suspected of having an affair with mine, so I loved that Teddy thought the same with Molly and the cat from Cornwall as that almost made me cry with laughter. I think that was no match for the catís POV though as that was nothing like I ever read before and I really loved it. The fact it called Teddy the angry one and threatened to hair ball in his shoes was too brilliant and Iím just dying of laughter right now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #40, by patronus_charmForget Me Not.: if you could go back in time, what would you change?

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I have no words. No words. This was amazing, just amazing. Everything about it blew me apart and blew the bits of me to the other side of the world where they will be lost forever as this one-shot just kinda changed everything. ♥

Ok, first and foremost the use and manipulation of language and grammar was amazing and contributed so much to the story.it gave it a sort of surreal edge and feel to it, as it was all warped and mixed up and fitted Petuniaís confused mind perfectly that I loved it so much.

Another thing I loved was your analysis of Petunia and this was an amazing character study of her! I really liked how this grievance she had against Lily, and how, since her death, she would block this freakdom out of her and she would live happily ever again, but then as we saw in Harryís section it just wasnít possible and she just wanted to love him, wanted to give him more food, but this weird pull backwards didnít let her do it and just the complexity and thought behind that was amazing.

The last section was wonderful though as I always wondered what her relationship with the next gen kids would be like so I was so happy to see it how it was and that Petunia could pay it back to Lily through the next one as that was a really lovely thought and idea.

But seriously, this is possibly one of the best FFís ever!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by patronus_charmIn a Perfect World: Perfection is Over Rated

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, I had so many feels while reading this it was so insane. There were so many memories of Ronks while reading this as it felt as if he was having the same age old argument so I was like whoo Ronks then I remembered it wasnít them but another pairing so it left me feeling all confused so I had that. Then there was Remus battling with him being both a wolf and a person and which part of him controlled him at that moment and that was shown really well with when he kissed Lily and how he finally realised that was himself. Then at the end with ĎPerfection is overratedí was really good as it was all about self love and embracing yourself and I really loved this. Fab story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #42, by patronus_charmI Left A Box Of Memories: I Left A Box Of Memories

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, normally Iím like ew, Drinny, run to the hills, but I really loved this interpretation of them as it felt as if it was some soliloquy to a lost past, almost poetical in a way too and it was really amazing. The first and last section just framed the story so well and showed how even though it felt like ages ago in his mind, the memory still haunted him so vividly. The description in both of those sections was really amazing too with the emphasis on dust and decay and that was really effective.

The flashback was really cool because even though there were hints of Drinny it was more hints of them because of what the pressures of the war forced upon them, and how the need to survive, the need to comprehend the horror of the war drew them into talking to one another. It was actually quite a deep and philosophical conversation the two of them had which was odd when you think of who it was but it fitted in well with canon too which was another amazing thing and itís what made me really love this one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by patronus_charmCloud: the blue that i am

12th July 2014:
Hey!

The title set the scene for this story so well that Iím kind of in awe of you right now as this story had an airy, dreamy air going on throughout and I really loved that. You managed to describe paint and them painting one another in so many different ways I really loved it and it just showed how much thought you put behind your use of words and writing and I really loved that.

Another thing I really loved was the pairing because even though it was never directly stated, I preferred it that way because shaping both of them up from the subtle hints and clues was much more fun. I really liked how you characterised them here too as much more free and floating in a way as it was really refreshing as these are usually quite uptight characters at times so that was cool. Amazing one-shot though! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #44, by patronus_charmBereft: lion's pride

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, it isnít often where stories leave me clawing at words so I can somehow describe them in anyway at all but you did it here, and I just canít think of what to say as this was truly one of the best pieces of writing (fiction and fanfiction here) I have ever read and one of the best, most complex and most in-depth character studies I have read too.

Percy just had so many depths, so many complexes and just so much and you showed it so well here and Iím just so in awe. This line, this line ĎLove. Love. Love. Say it, Percy! Say it, you blundering fool, you idiot son, you unworthy brother!í woah, woah, woah my mind kinda imploded at that point as I just couldnít handle the amazingness of it.

I loved how you used a narrator to talk at Percy because it was almost as if it was his innermost mind urging him to pay attention, fix himself, be well again, but at times it felt as if it could be some higher being too, and that dualism idea was really fantastic and I really loved it. Gah, Iím sorry I canít formulate my words but you have honestly left me lost for them and I just donít know what to do, so amazing, I am in love! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

(ok, I just saw the Descartes note, it all makes sense now :P)

 Report Review

Review #45, by patronus_charmInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh, this was really cool as I never get to see Luna/Rolf stories from Rolfís perspective so I really enjoyed this. He really did seem to marvel in all of Lunaís eccentricities and really embraced, so much so, that at times I wondered if he was jealous of them and wanted some of them himself. There were just so many cute moments and images in this story Iím finding it hard to pick them out but I think it was the one were Rolf was thinking about the way Luna kissed their children and how much she loved them, and it was so bittersweet as it reminded me of how her own mother died, but so wonderful too. I just loved this so much!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing this fluffy piece. It's one of my faves. I do see that Rolf would embrace and be in wonder of Luna as opposed to thinking it strange and just accepting her weirdness. That is who I think she would marry.

 Report Review

Review #46, by patronus_charmThe Night Stands Still: midnight ponderings

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked this as it was just so poignant and really shed new light on Lily as a normal, regular person, someone on all of our level and that was shown really well with her irrational need of James and how he would make everything better for her. She almost became a little obsessed with how much she needed him before he arrived, and that just showed the power of fear in my opinion and what it can make you do and that was really well done.

Another thing I really liked was the care you took with your language and structure of this story because in a way it is simplistic (and this is meant in an amazingly good way, donít get me wrong) and that just made this story have even more wham. Wah, I just read it again with the song on and it was even more amazing and the quote was even more amazing and it had this really cool dreamy feel and was just really cool!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by patronus_charmThunderous: Shattering of the Sky

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was so heart-breaking but so wonderful but so angsty but so amazing and I loved it all so much! ♥ It was just so amazing because Hannah and Neville are fairly normal as couples go so this story was even more real for me and even more poignant read to and I went through their suffering with them and it just broke me into thousands of tiny pieces.

Your language and description, especially the harsh rain, just enhanced the angstyness of this even more as it just seemed to be saying that nature was against you and there really was no hope and it was just so sad. Another thing which made me tear up was how Hannah had that yellow baby blanket and the way she clang onto it for dear really got to me and that vision stayed in my head for a while.

This was amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by patronus_charmLight Bulb Nudity: Light Bulb Nudity

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wow, I really loved this and this new interpretation of Peter and Iím so glad that you wrote this as it really made me think in another way. It shows that he can be a good man, that he can be a funny man, and that he can be a man who loves and is loved and thatís just what made me go wow whilst reading this as the way you wrote it was all so natural and amazing and it just left me in awe really.

I really liked how you didnít directly refer to Peter whilst writing this and generally stuck to pronouns as that helped me accept that this was Peter and that it was possible that he could have these feelings and that was really great. The ending left me all mixed and broken as I just donít know how I feel so I just canít put myself together but it was so beautiful and unique and I really loved it! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by patronus_charmThe Three Ds: Devotion.

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was too cute, like way too cute that Iím squeeing away like a crazy person right now. I just loved everything about it because these tiny hints of Romione are what always gets me as I was one of those rather dim-witted readers who didnít notice the ship until they kissed in the DH, so now I can relive these moments through one-shot such as these and you did it so perfectly.

The theme of apparition was so great as it always such a sore point for Ron as he always wanted to achieve and do well in it, it was rather funny seeing how it could be turned into a good thing for him here. I think Twycrossís narration just made it so great though as I always imagined him to be rather dry and boring but it was the opposite here.

This line ĎMaybe heíd apparate better, maybe heíd pass his test, if she was his destination. No splinching, no half eyebrows. Devotion.í So good and so lovely! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Aaww, bless you! Thank you so much! And I doubt you could be that dim-witted - banter, bickering like an old married couple every day, THE GOBLET OF FIRE KRUM SCENARIO, THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE LAVENDER/CORMAC SCENARIO... really? I love Romione so much - the ultimate OTP for me - so it might just be me being hypersensitive to all of their moments. Maybe you're just normal.

Aaand I love minor characters! I constantly listen to the Stephen Fry audiobooks and pick up on so many things each time round, and even though Wilkie is only in it for the smallest amount of time, I just wanted to write a story about him!

Thanks so much for all your lovely comments. I'm blushing.


 Report Review

Review #50, by patronus_charmFlight of the Heart: The Interview

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This chapter was really great for learning more about Mia and I actually really did enjoy learning everything about her. Her story with her nana was really touching and it was nice to see how much she meant to her. I canít help but wonder what happened to her though as she wasnít mentioned in the other two chapters. It seems as if she doesnít want Aidan to have the sort of deprived from joy childhood she had with the way she was going to buy him a train and it was interesting to see the cause and effect of it all there. Also, the thing about being called Mrs was really interesting again!

Ew, that woman who interviewed Mia was horrible. I just want to throw things at her so much right now (ha, this is reminding me of BTF as I did always want to do that to a few certain characters there too :P). But, aw, Claire was actually so sweet and I really love with the way she saved Mia and just wanted to make her feel good again and gave her a job. I can see how this links to Oliver so itís all very exciting! ♥

But anyhow, Jami, I miss you!! I hope these reviews encourage you to come back as that would be fab, and yeah, I need to know what happens to Oliver and Mia! :P

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>